Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.
Serani inks two-album deal Teino Evans, Staff Reporter Serani - Ricardo Makyn One of dancehall's hottest new artistes, Craig 'Serani' Marsh, has signed a two-album deal with Japan label JVC Entertainment. The producer, now turned singer, says, "It's exciting for me because since I took the decision to add singing to my repertoire, the response has been great." Serani gained public recognition as a singer when his voice featured in Mavado's Dying. Helater moved on to collaborate with Bugle on their mega hit single, DOH. After reaping success there, Serani went on to record a number of other hit songs, among them, Stinking Rich, She Loves Me and Study People. According to Serani, "People have taken on to my songs very quickly, which I am very thankful for." Now, as Serani focuses his attention on his new two-album deal in Japan, he will be moving full speed ahead to ensure the success of these albums. He admitted to being, "very very driven, when it comes on to music whichever aspect I am devoted to, making dancehall and reggae bigger worldwide." The 11-track album, which will be the first of two, is entitled Serani - The Future and will be released exclusively in Japan in May. It will feature all of the hits that have rapidly driven Serani up the dancehall ranks, such as DOH featuring Bugle, Stinkin' Rich and She Loves Me. According to a release issued by Serani's management team, "Japan is one of the few places people still actually buy CDs and is a major market for dancehall. And Serani will be going on a promotional tour of Japan to support the album at the end of June." Already very active on the live scene, Serani is currently off the island on a promotional trip to Florida. He is later expected to make stops in New York's Borough of Manhattan Community College to perform there on Friday night.
I believe so cauze he crossing over mainstream in the music industryAUTObrickoU SELL OFF GULLY GOD
4-15-08-kegerator-cooled-pc.jpg
Okay, so Jared Bouck's kegerator-cooled PC doesn't really sip on Hennessy, Bud Light or even Milwaukee's Best, but it sure does a good job of pretending to be 21. Essentially, this here mod is more for show than anything, but when all's said and done, you do have a liquid-cooled gaming rig and a nearby locale to stock your favorite beverages. After all, it's common knowledge that you can't stray too far to replenish your fluids during an all-night WoW raid, right? With $180, a bit of patience and some good old fashion work, you too can replace that vanilla cooling setup with one the boys are sure to swoon over.

roro THIS IS CRAZYYYY
Down Sound recording artiste and former Scare Dem member Harry Toddler has entered the musical fray with a bang. He penned a song to answer the disses hurled at him by the Monster Empire which made glib references to his much publicized falling out with the Killer early this year.

Harry_Toddler4.jpgI did not want to get drawn into a name-calling thing with these guys, but the fans have been demanding the song, and management Joe (Bogdanovich) even said that I should reply, so we just give it to them, Toddler told One876Entertainment.com yesterday.

The song name Shoulda Say War and it was written by me and my songwriter Fire, and it is produced by Ward dem. DJ Liquid wheel it up several times yesterday, dem ah go sick ah it, we inna the money lineage, Monster Empire caan diss the link.

Toddler, whose single Dont Run In, is presently number one on the RE TV dancehall charts, headed to Barbados today to perform at a show and will return this weekend.

How Monster Empire fi de pon my name so long like dem a rejoice? Mi get three call from England, one from Canada ah ask if mi eye juck out. Dem yute de a joker, talk 'bout dem clean everyday, we no clean nowhere, we no say to the world, mi say to mi girl.

In the meantime, Ghost declined to give an interview saying that the reasons behind the friction were extensive and would take too long.

Ah Bounty Killer start this thing, so we need fi see you fi give you the fullness of what a gwaan. Nuff set up ting a gwaan, Killer and Toddler ah try go round the ting, Ghost said.

The feud has been simmering for the past two months. Monster Empire first did a song on the Nineties rhythm which declared : no bwoy caan juck me inna mi eye like Harry Toddler', then did http://www.one876entertainment.com/audio/Monster_Shack_Bounty_diss.mp3 on the Unfinished Business rhythm for TJ Records.

The lyrics of Toddlers c****ative http://www.one876entertainment.com/audio/Harry_Toddler_Shoulda_Say.mp3 is a hard-hitting, bruising dismantling of the Empire with choice phrases like: people what a guy lie, bout dem juck out my eye/how dem so bad mind, and grudgeful,, dem dry eye/tell dem fi try high, marrow fly sky high/like a bird weh up inna the hair ah fly high.

He says that General B wants a funeral free and sideswipes all three stooges with the line: General B pick him name off General Trees/Monster caan scare Scare Dem, dat never shall be. He even says Monster is not an empire yet, ah talk bout money dem no acquire yet. Toddler also calls their bluff on their empty money boasts.

The Monster Empire is reportedly writing a song to counteract Harry Toddler's attack on them.

Click song titles in article to hear tracks
April 17th, 2008 | Author: Paul W Arnold

As was reported here at HipHopDX.com earlier today, Hip Hops hook king, Akon, has been revealed to be exaggerating about his criminal past [click here to read].  

HipHopDX
caught up with Kardinal Offishall, who is signed to Akons Konvict Music label, late today to get his thoughts on TheSmokingGun.coms report that has cast his label leader as nothing more than a savvy con artist who couldnt be more fake.

I thought it was kinda funny, Kardinal said to DX about the report. Because its like, just knowing Kon and just following his career, I dont think he ever based his whole career off of making people think he was in jail for 10 years and selling crack on the side and this, that and the next thing.

While Akon has never suggested he did that kind of time, it has been sufficiently proven by TheSmokingGun.com that he didnt serve the three plus years in the pen he claimed to have in countless interviews, but rather what some consider a more paltry term of five months in the DeKalb, Georgia county jail.

Kardinal insists the amount of time Akon actually spent Locked Up is irrelevant, because contrary to suggestion, Akon and Konvict Music are not in the business of glamorizing going to prison.

He did what [amount of time] he did, said Kardinal, He did his time, but basically the whole Konvict movement has been based on the total opposite [of that], off of staying out of jail. If you look at even the Konvict symbol, its all about breaking the shackles, and you can see the music thats wrapped around it.  

Kon is definitely a dude thats trying to focus on the positive, Kardinal continued, so I mean its kinda hilarious to me [that theres] like a expose [on him]. Its not like hes [Young] Jeezy or somebody whos claiming some crazy shit.

Some may argue that indeed Akon had made claims of doing some crazy shit, but Kardinal remains adamant that his fans shouldnt care that Akon appears to have been lying about the length of his bid.

It shouldnt matter at all, said Kardinal. No matter what jail time he did, anybody thats really been to jail knows that it aint the place to go. It aint like we talking about he was going on vacation somewhere, were talking about jail. All my niggas that I know thats been to jail [know] its not the place to be. I aint never been to jail, and I aint trying to go. So whether he was there for a few months, or whatever the scenario [was], he did his time and let the nigga live.

Kardinals Konvict Music/Interscope Records debut album, Not 4 Sale, is due in June. The albums first single, Dangerous, featuring Akon, is available for sale right now on iTunes.

i heard this track playin on our local radio station this morning. its reggae. a line goes

"whish that i wud fly away with my baby someday to a place and never return"

anyone knows the name of the artiste and the song? help will be greatly appreciated....cry
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1376 Songbird Alaine has been wowing crowds home and away with hit tracks from her new album, Sacrifice released in 2007 on Don Corleone Records. Now the songstress is preparing for a number of major festivals and tours in the coming months, including the Reggae on the Hill Festival, later this month in Barbados, UCLA's Reggae and Jazz Festival, in late May in California, and promotional tours in Europe and Japan slated for the upcoming months.

Bellowing notes in a pitch many of us will never be able to mimic, Alaine's success did not occur overnight. She's been hitting the grind ever since childhood, first as a child actress, starring in numerous television programs and commercials that aired across Jamaica. She even copped a role in the acclaimed Hollywood movie, Clara's Heart, starring opposite Whoppi Goldberg.

Alaine left Jamaica to continue her college education in New York, only to move back, realizing her passion for music was far greater than her academic achievements. It has been a life-changing decision for her, and for the thousands of fans who hail Alaine as the best female vocalist coming out of the Caribbean today.
Alaine was just bestowed with the nomination for "Best Female Vocalist" in the 2008 International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA's), which will be held on Sunday, May 4 at the Apollo Theatre in New York City.

Stephen 'Di Genius'

April 17, 2008
Started By Ricky9 Comments
Nuh body nuh know if if genius soon drop a riddim? Cuz him did say him a go drop a riddim every month, from him drop Daybreak riddim me nuh hear nutten else. and it buss from di end of february. probably him cant keep him words

Clean Your PC

March 15, 2008
Started By djmercenary10 Comments
Programs to use Free just google to find them!
Spyblaster
Spybot

http://www.sendspace.com/file/ecq4gn
as of 04/15/08

Thie section below was taken from user/member Owadkelly Blog/post 04/1708 on this site....
"There's McAfee FreeScan, Symantec Security Check, and Trend Micro's HouseCall. If one doesn't find anything, try two. In fact, running a free online virus scan is a good way to double-check the work of your own local antivirus program. When you're done, buy or download a real antivirus program"

-- Edited by Dj Rohan at 06:31, 2008-03-17

ELES RELEASE PARTY FLOPS AT KARMA
How Elephant Man Lets Get Physical release party flop at Karmas the other day? Not even 50 people inna the club, but mi a wonder if is a show did plan or something because mi hear say him was supposed to get paid. Anyways, congrats on the Bad Boy album release, mi see Ele on BET website, and mi hear say yu get reunited with your daughter at the autograph signing at the Moodies Records the other day. All the best Ele.

TYRICALS GHETTO PRAYER GETS HOT 97 PLAY
Tyrical.jpgHow Tyrical Ghetto Prayer ah go so hard? Mi hear it play on Hot 97 inna New York the other day, and is like Bobby Konders get a dub plate wid it because mi hear it often pon the radio. Plus, mi hear say it ah play pon Mix 96.1 inna Florida too, so it look like Tyrical who first hit it big with Guerilla War buss now.

LOST AND FOUND: Where is Latiesha Flawless? After she try diss the Killa by posing up with Beenie Man, yu nuh realize say Latiesha Flawless drop offa the face of the earth?

CONGRATS TO LIQUID AND RICHIE B
Big up DJ Liquid, his second child was born last week Saturday and is reportedly healthy. The mother of that child is Mia Jae. Big up mi disc jockey. Also special props to Richie B whose wife had a successful delivery over two months ago. Richie B is reportedly handling his fatherly duties with a lot of of pride, but him have to learn how to change diapers all over again.

NEW YORK ROUND UP
Well, hell just turned into a refrigerator dealership. Bad and Ready Karen find a job. Normally, dem people de no work, but she was forced to after the police dem run down pon her and tell her fi sort out her employment life. The hype ting no mek it ah foreign, yu haffi work and pay Uncle Sam him taxes.

Talking about hype, wah happen to GQ? Mi hear say the dancer yute get hold inna one store ah shoplift. A wah happen to dem hype man ah New York who no waan work fi dem owna money?

Ruff deh a Jamaica, and she look mash up .Mi see Ruff pon a DVD ah spar wid Lady Rose and Little Miss, Willie Haggart babymother and mi almost never recognize her the way her skin rough like crocus bag. Everybody ah say Ruff look well rough. From she get dip back to Jamaica after she stab up Vivienne, she just pap down inna life so.

What a way life full ah comedy? Memba Jojo, who was one half of last years Dancehall Couple of the Year? Well, she lef day yute de and now she a breed fi the big man. Some people say is a upgrade she get because her life sort out, crazy shopping, expensive ride and all these things. Gwaan Jo Jo.

How some radio personality switch from one radio station to another so, and she used to over the first one ah diss up the people dem? Mi not even a call her name fi give her a hype, worse mi hear say she involve inna certain workings.

HOT OIL ATTACK AT FOOD OUTLET

By Sheena Gayle and Marlon Vickerman, Star Writers

Two employees of Burger King's St James Street branch in Montego Bay, St James, were hospitalised yesterday after they were doused with hot oil by a co-worker.

The STAR understands that the incident occurred approximately 2 p.m. yesterday, after the management at the fast-food franchise reprimanded two employees for company breaches, resulting in one of them being fired.

Decision not taken well

According to an employee who does not wish to be named, this decision did not go down well with the fired employee, who reportedly used a container of hot oil to burn the other employee who was not fired.

The hot liquid, however, is reported to have also injured another co-worker, who was not involved in the dispute.

While most of the other employees were tight-lipped about the incident, an eyewitness revealed that "me only see when one a de worker run out a de building and then me see two other employees come out with burns on dem face and body, mi nuh know wha happen."

When THE STAR contacted Burger King's Hope Road head office, Communication Manager Diana Blake-Bennett said it was too early for the office to comment on the incident.

"We are aware of the incident and are investigating it. A manager has been dispatched and he is travelling to Montego Bay by car, so we won't be able to comment until he arrives there," she said. "Right now, we don't know the details."

Checks made by this newspaper revealed that the matter is yet to be reported to the police.

The restaurant was closed for two hours as a result of the incident.

RZA Talks Album, Tour Dates

April 18, 2008
Started By RiddimRyder1 Comments
April 18th, 2008 | Author: Slava Kuperstein

RZA is assuming the role of his alter-ego Bobby Digital for the third time in Digi Snax, the rapper/producer's upcoming album.

The album is due July 1 via Koch; the first single, "You Can't Stop Me Now," features fellow Wu-Tang member Inspectah Deck.

"This album is simply fun Hip Hop," told RZA to Billboard.com. "It's a perfect blend of reality, fiction, sci-fi and martial arts."

Other tracks to be included on the album include social commentary on "Drama," the intimate "Good Night Kiss" and "Straight Up the Block," produced by none other than David Banner (and may be the second single). Other producers for the album include King Tech and California producer Pana.

RZA will tour in support of Digi Snax starting April 25 in Europe, and June 10 in North America. In the performances, he will be backed by soul band Stone Mecca, and occasionally Wu-Tang members and affiliates.

North American Tour Dates
June 10: Houston (Warehouse Live)
June 11: Austin, Texas (Emo's)
June 12: Dallas (Palladium)
June 14: Denver (Cervantes Masterpiece Ballroom)
June 15: Salt Lake City (Urban Lounge)
June 17: Tucson, Ariz. (Rialto Theatre)
June 18: Phoenix (Brickhouse)
June 20: Los Angeles (Henry Fonda Theatre)
June 21: San Francisco (1015)
June 23: Portland, Ore. (Hawthorne Theatre)
June 24: Seattle (Showbox)
June 25: Vancouver (Richard's on Richards)
June 27: Calgary, Alberta (Sled Island Festival)
June 30: Minneapolis (First Avenue)
July 1: Chicago (House of Blues)
July 2: Pontiac, Mich. (Crowfoot Ballroom)
July 4: Ottawa, Ontario (New Capital Music Hall)
July 5: New York (Webster Hall)
July 7: Philadelphia (Trocadero)
July 8: Washington, D.C. (9:30 Club)

The police suspect foul play in the death of a 55-year-old woman whose body was found at her house in Hampton Green, St. Catherine Tuesday.

It is believed that the woman died have being struck in the head with a toilet tank cover.

Dead is Pauline Lewis a former Customs Broker.

Miss Lewis, who was recovering from a stroke, was alone at home.

Neighbours reported seeing a man leaving her house shortly after midday.

They went to investigate and found her body in one of the rooms.

A smashed toilet tank cover was found near the body.

Some 300,000 United States troops are suffering from major depression or post-traumatic stress from serving in the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, and 320,000 received brain injuries, a new study estimates. Only about half have sought treatment, said the study released yesterday by the RAND Corp.

The report is titled Invisible Wounds of War: Psychological and Cognitive Injuries, Their Consequences, and Services to Assist Recovery. It was sponsored by a grant from the California Community Foundation and done by 25 researchers from RAND Health and the RAND National Security Research Division, which also has done work under contracts with the Pentagon and other defence agencies as well as allied foreign governments and foundations.

"There is a major health crisis facing those men and women who have served our nation in Iraq and Afghanistan,'' said Terri Tanielian, the project's co-leader and a researcher at the non-profit RAND. "Unless they receive appropriate and effective care for these mental health conditions, there will be long-term consequences for them and for the nation,'' she said in an interview with The Associated Press.

A teenage rugby star sleepwalked to his death through a London hotel window 50ft above the ground after a late-night drinking session, an inquest heard.

Ross Kimpton, 17, had just begun a tour of the UK with his New Zealand school team when he plunged four storeys from the Paddington hotel.

He and his friends had been secretly drinking in the hours before his death and he was twice over the drink-drive limit, the hearing was told.

Alcohol, jetlag and disorientation all increased the risk of Ross sleepwalking, a condition he had suffered from as a child, Westminster Coroner's Court heard.

A teacher told how he raced out of The London Lodge hotel after hearing a thud and found his "favourite student" lying in a pool of *lo** at around 1.15am.

Brett Rossoman, who was in charge of last September's tour, said earlier that Friday evening he had given the 25 boys Ł10 each to buy dinner and told them not to drink alcohol.

Later he found 16 of the boys, aged 15 to 18, in Ross's six-bed room. Three had cans of beer in their hands, breaking the rules of the tour and the hotel.

He said: "Straight away I gave them a warning. I dealt with them quite severely and told them to go to bed.

"It is my belief that they went to sleep after that."

Photos taken after the tragedy showed a bin in the room full of empty beer cans.

Mr Rossoman said: "Ross was one of my favourite students. I knew him very well. From what I hear he was not naive as far as alcohol is involved. He used to drink socially."

Recalling how he found the body, he said: "Two of us ran outside. We found him face down. I took a pulse on his wrist and his neck, but I could not find a pulse. There was no breathing."

The London Lodge Hotel

The youngster fell to his death from a window at the London Lodge Hotel

He was pronounced dead at the scene. Ross's parents, Murray and Theresa, flew to London from their Auckland home to hear coroner Dr Paul Knapman record a verdict of death by misadventure.

Mr Kimpton said: "There is no doubt Ross was happy and pleased to be going on the trip. He had been talking about it a great deal for months."

He thought Ross had grown out of sleepwalking. A post-mortem examination found Ross's skull had been fractured in three places, but the cause of death was aspiration of gastric contents due to head injury.

A sleep expert told the court that it was "very likely" that the death was down to a tragic episode of sleep-walking.

Dr Irshaad Ebrahim, a consultant at the London Sleep Centre in Harley Street, said: "Alcohol is a priming factor for sleepwalking. If there is a precipitating event, something such as a loud bang, someone snoring in the room that disturbs someone in deep sleep, that could precipitate a sleepwalking episode.

"The window was open and there could have been a loud noise coming from outside.

"He was in a strange environment, in a different bed in one of the busiest cities in the world. These are factors in sleepwalking."

Police ruled out murder or suicide and did not believe Ross had climbed out of the window as a prank while drunk, the inquest heard.

Gallup Daily: Obama 51%, Clinton 40%

Both Democratic candidates have 46% to 44% margins over McCain

PRINCETON, NJ -- Barack Obama is maintaining his lead over Hillary Clinton among Democrats nationally in the latest Gallup Poll Daily tracking, with a 51% to 40% margin in the April 12-14 average.

041508DailyUpdateGraph1_nmbvcdf.gif

The current 11 percentage point lead is the largest for Obama this year, and marks the ninth consecutive day in which Obama has led Clinton by a statistically significant margin. The current Gallup Poll Daily tracking average is based on interviewing conducted Saturday, Sunday and Monday -- after the initial reports of Obama's controversial remarks about "bitter" small-town residents began to be reported in the news media.

The two candidates will hold a nationally televised debate in Philadelphia on Wednesday night, and it is possible that this confrontation -- plus any delayed impact of Obama's controversial remarks -- may affect Democratic voters' perceptions in the days to come. (To view the complete trend since Jan. 3, 2008, click here.)

In general election trial heat match ups, both Democratic candidates now have identical, and slight, 46% to 44% margins over presumptive Republican nominee John McCain. -- Frank Newport

041508DailyUpdateGraph2_fgeikmd.gif

041508DailyUpdateGraph3_oilkdfn.gif

041508DailyUpdateGraph4_bnpormd.gif

041508DailyUpdateGraph5_wpslcob.gif

Survey Methods

For the Gallup Poll Daily tracking survey, Gallup is interviewing no fewer than 1,000 U.S. adults nationwide each day during 2008.

The Democratic nomination results are based on c****ined data from April 12-14, 2008. For results based on this sample of 1,312 Democratic and Democratic-leaning voters, the maximum margin of sampling error is ±3 percentage points.

The general election results are based on c****ined data from April 10-14, 2008. For results based on this sample of 4,446 registered voters, the maximum margin of sampling error is ±2 percentage points.

In addition to sampling error, question wording and practical difficulties in conducting surveys can introduce error or bias into the findings of public opinion polls.

To receive Gallup Poll Daily tracking reports each day as soon as they are published, please register here and add Gallup Daily to your e-mail subscriptions.

A Russian man trying to sleep off a night of after-work drinking failed to notice a six-inch (15-cm) knife in his back - until his wife woke him up.

Yuri Lyalin, 53, took a bus home, ate breakfast and apparently slept like a baby before his spouse noticed a handle sticking out of his back.

He was rushed to casualty but doctors found no vital organs damaged.

Mr Lyalin shrugged the episode off but the drinking partner who stabbed him faces trial, Russian media report.

"Unique and intriguing the case may be, but the accused faces a severe punishment," said Pavel Vorobyov, a deputy prosecutor in the northern city of Vologda.

'We were drinking'

Mr Lyalin, an electrician, had spent the evening drinking with a watchman at his workplace when they got into an argument, Interfax news agency reports.

The morning found him waking up in the watchman's office but instead of going back to work, he decided to take the bus home.

At home, Mr Lyalin had some sausage from the fridge and lay down to sleep, the Komsomolskaya Pravda newspaper says.

After a couple of hours, his wife noticed the handle sticking out of his back and called an ambulance.

Viktor Belov, a surgeon who treated him, found a kitchen knife in Mr Lyalin's back but "by good fortune, it had gone through soft tissue without touching vital organs".

His alleged attacker reported the crime to the police himself, Interfax adds. Mr Lyalin apparently feels fine and bears no ill-will.

"We were drinking and what doesn't happen when you're drunk?" he was quoted by Komsomolskaya Pravda as saying.

published: Friday | April 18, 2008

WASHINGTON (CMC):

United States marshals have added a Jamaican man to their 'Most Wanted' list, offering a US$25,000 reward for information leading to his capture.

A statement issued by the United States authorities said that David Clarke, 26, was on Tuesday placed on the list of 15 most wanted fugitives for the 'heinous' double murders of a South Florida couple on June 16 last year.

Still on the run

According to the release, two other men involved in the shooting deaths were arrested just weeks after the incident and charged with first-degree murder, but Clarke is still on the run.

"Being added to the Marshals' 15 most wanted list is a wake-up call to all fugitives like Clarke to put them on notice that it's only a matter of time before we come knocking," said US Marshal Christina Pharo of the Southern District of Florida.

"Our reputation of being the best in fugitive apprehension can be backed up with results, and we are hoping to add Clarke's apprehension to the numbers."

Officials allege that the three men stuffed Chris Thompson and Cassandra Williams in a car trunk after shooting them and then abandoned the vehicle in Sunrise, Florida, where authorities made the discovery.

WHY DO JAMIACANS HAVE TO BE INVOLVED IN ALL THE f**kERY DAT GOES ON
grinnup

-- Edited by Garrick at 12:40, 2008-04-19
April 16, 2008. Looks like Ashanti may be ready to open up about what went down between her and rapper Nelly. MediaTakeOut.com has exclusively learned that in upcoming interviews, Ashanti is expected to directly discuss her relationship with Nelly - and how it made its way into the lyrics on her new album The Declaration.

We spoke with a person from Ashanti's camp - and according to them Ashanti's looking to come clean about everything. The insider told MediaTakeOut.com, "Ashanti's been very guarded in the way she discusses her personal life - and I think that's hurt her. In her new album [The Declaration] she's not afraid to open up and let fans into her life."

And we asked directly whether Ashanti's new song The Way That I Love You was . The insider told us directly - "Yes!!" Here are some of the lyrics to the song:

After all of these times that we've tried
I found out we were living a lie
And after all of this love that we made
I know now you don't love me the same

The way that I love (The way that I love you)

I woke up kinda early today
And something told me from that moment
It wouldn't be the same
It felt like you were hiding something
But I didn't push it
I didn't complain or say nothin
I tried to act like I didn't see it
Cause deep down I knew I didn't want to believe it

But there it was, it was you and her
You left your sidekick on the nightstand
And I read

Everything you did, and everything you said and
And now I'm standing here looking like damn..
I thought it was you and I
Now all I got to say is why?

We gotta say, this is a very courageous move for Ashanti - putting your business out there like this. But you know girl, with record sales being what they are - we think it's a smart move. And besides, it makes us like this song all the more
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1246 Last weekend at Fashion Sundays a weekly event held on Hillview avenue off Eastwood Park Road there were some tense moments.

The event which was dedicated to the memory of former Alliance member Rraw Dawg who passed away after being gunned down in the streets while on the way from a popular night club in Washington D.C.

Monster Empire formerly known as 'Monster Shack Crew' (Round head, General B, Ghost) recently recorded a track which sees the group taking a subliminal swipe at Alliance members Bounty Killer and Harry Toddler.

The tracks pokes fun at the unfriendly exchange between Bounty and Toddler weeks earlier at the said event that saw Toddler being dosed with Hennessey before getting poked in the eye.

"No bwoy cyaah juke mi inna mi eye like toddler" is the line that seems to be causing all the commotion after it was played and pulled up to the amusement of all. However not everyone found it funny because a message was sent to desist it's continuation by men allegedly aligned to the Warlord.

This brought a few tense moments but was quickly ousted as the party continued. It's still not clear if the men were just loyal fans of the Warlord or actual entourage members, but one thing was certain once the Warlord made his entrance the track stopped abruptly.

Many Dancehall insiders are speculating that there may be an underlying feud brewing between the Warlord and the Monster Camp. But earlier today in an effort to put these claims to rest 876radio.com tried to contact both parties but proved an unfruitful endeavour.

Needless to say, we will kept you posted as the saga unravels.

Cash Plus boss Carlos Hill and his brother Bertram Hill will have to spend another month behind bars as they were yesterday denied bail in the Half-Way Tree Resident Magistrate's Court.

Resident Magistrate Glen Brown, however, offered bail in the sum of $5 million to their co-accused, Peter Wilson. Their next court appearance has been scheduled for May 14.

Carlos Hill is facing four counts of fraudulent conversion and four counts of obtaining money by false pretence. He is also charged with one count of conspiracy to defraud.

Bertram Hill and Cash Plus executive Peter Wilson are each charged with one count of conspiracy to defraud.

Flight risks

Prosecutor Dianne Clarkson, who moved for the denial of bail for the Hill brothers, said her request was based on the magnitude of the offences for which they are charged and the belief that both were flight risks. She also claimed Carlos Hill was in danger of public retaliation and was capable of tampering with evidence and witnesses.

The defence, comprising Hugh Thompson, representing Bertram Hill; Deborah Martin, representing Peter Wilson; and K. Churchill-Neita and Valerie Neita-Robinson for Carlos Hill, unsuccessfully argued for house arrest and the surrender of travel documents for the ruling.

Timeline 2002: Cash Plus Ltd, led by Carlos Hill, started operations in Jamaica.

May 2007: Attempted to purchase the Hilton Kingston hotel.

July 2007: Attempted to acquire Drax Hall Estate, St Ann.

September 2007: The Financial Services Commission (FSC) issued cease-and-desist orders on Cash Plus, its CEO, Carlos Hill, and Kahlil Harris.

February 2008: Cash Plus announced plans to resume payments of monthly returns by March 31, but indicated that this was contingent on FSC approval.

April 9: Court-appointed receiver-manager announces that Cash Plus is broke.

April 10: Carlos Hill arrested.
When businessman Terry Collins was offered the chance to buy the Ritz Hotel for a knockdown price of Ł250million it was an opportunity that sounded too good to be true.

And it was indeed too good to be true. The hotel, with an estimated market value of around Ł600million, was not on the market.

Yet two conmen managed to persuade Mr Collins, co-founder of a large and reputable property company, that the hotel's owners, the Barclay brothers, were prepared to sell it at a bargain price.

Scroll down for more ...

the ritz london

Con: Terry Collins believed he was buying the Ritz for a knockdown price of Ł250million

Anthony Lee and Patrick Dolan convinced an intermediary that they represented the Barclays and even had a team of lawyers on board to give the plan respectability.

Negotiations went on for months and eventually Mr Collins, of London Allied Holdings, borrowed Ł1million from Dutch businessman and financier Marcel Boekhoorn to pay Lee a deposit in December 2006 for the release of 27 boxes of purchase documentation held by his solicitors.

But the papers did not exist and the Barclays were oblivious of the ruse.

Lee turned out to be an unemployed lorry driver and bankrupt with no connections whatsoever to the brothers.

Dolan, too, was unemployed.

The elaborate fraud emerged yesterday in a judgment handed down at the High Court in London as the two victims of the fraud battled over the Ł 1million which was immediately spent by Lee and Dolan.

Lee, 47, bought a Ł55,000 Land Rover as a Christmas present for his girlfriend Jennifer Hodgson, then took her on a luxury cruise.

He sent Ł59,000 to his creditors and paid rent arrears on his Yorkshire bungalow.

Dolan, 66, bought a Mercedes for Ł43,000 and splashed out on a lavish day at Cheltenham races, where he bet and lost heavily.

He paid off the Ł30,000 mortgage on his house in Barnet, North London, and paid Ł293,410 to his wife.

In yesterday's judgment, Mr Justice Henderson said: "The Barclay brothers were known by Mr Collins to have the reputation of being extremely secretive in the conduct of their business affairs, and it did not strike him as implausible that they would wish to structure a transaction of this sort through an intermediary such as Mr Lee."

For five months Mr Collins was engaged in extensive and detailed negotiations with Lee and his solicitor.

To clinch the deal Lee convinced Mr Collins that another buyer was on the scene.

It was at that point that Mr Collins contacted Mr Boekhoorn, of a firm called Apvodedo, and outlined the opportunity. An agreement was reached.

The judge continued: "Readers of this judgment will perhaps have guessed by now that Mr Collins and London Allied Holdings (and indirectly Apvodedo and Mr Boekhoorn) were the victims of an elaborate fraud.

"Mr Lee and Mr Dolan were not currently involved in the property business, nor were they authorised in any way to act as intermediaries on behalf of the Barclay brothers.

"Mr Lee was an unemployed HGV driver and was an undischarged bankrupt throughout his dealings with LAH.

"Mr Dolan was a former contracts manager for a construction company-who had also been unemployed since 2000."

Mr Collins sued the pair as soon as he realised he would not receive the documents or a refund, and a High Court judge agreed an order allowing the tracing of funds.

Originally, Apvodedo helped LAH in its efforts to recover the money, but in October 2007 issued a claim for Ł1million against Mr Collins and LAH.

Mr Collins says he is not liable for the money because both he and Mr Boekhoorn believed the deal was genuine.

Mr Justice Henderson dismissed Mr Boekhoorn's application for an immediate ruling over the money and said the case needed to go to full trial.

North Yorkshire Police said an inquiry was continuing, although no arrests have been made.

Mr Collins said it was the legal element of the deal that had been so convincing.

"If the lawyers hadn't been there we would have laughed in their faces," he said.

"We are still very angry."

Mr T, 1980s TV icon, best known for his role in the A-Team, has jumped back into action in a graphic novel.

Kown for his signature muscles and Mohawk hairstyle, Mr T has collaborated with author Christopher Bunting and illustrator J.L. Czerniawski to again take to fighting bad guys, this time starring in a graphic novel.

A limited set of 4,000 novels are available now through a publishing house named after Mr T's hairstyle, Mohawk Media.

Voted the fourth 'Greatest American' in a recent global BBC poll, Mr T has contributed interviews to the graphic novel, which is to be released this summer, and acts as its executive editor.

Mr T, who said he had reached out to old and new fans because of A-Team reruns, his cartoon show reruns, and the renewed interest in Rocky III, said: "I'm so proud of all my life's work, but to see myself in this book feels extra special. I've always strived to be a good role model to children and adults alike."

Comebacks

Christopher Bunting said: "We've seen comebacks happen over and over again in the entertainment industry, whether it's John Travolta, the Spice Girls or fictitious characters, such as Indiana Jones or Rambo. Now it's Mr T's time."

He added: "I'm often drawn to writing 'mystery' dramas, where threads weave a much larger tapestry, with the core being the human journey, in the vein of Lost or Heroes. Therefore, my attention had increasingly turned to novels and scriptwriting, and away from the shrinking comic industry.

"And, besides, when Mr T calls you personally, wanting you to do it, you don't dare say no!"

United States marshals have added a Jamaican man to their 'Most Wanted' list, offering a US$25,000 reward for information leading to his capture.

A statement issued by the United States authorities said that David Clarke, 26, was on Tuesday placed on the list of 15 most wanted fugitives for the 'heinous' double murders of a South Florida couple on June 16 last year.

Still on the run

According to the release, two other men involved in the shooting deaths were arrested just weeks after the incident and charged with first-degree murder, but Clarke is still on the run.

"Being added to the Marshals' 15 most wanted list is a wake-up call to all fugitives like Clarke to put them on notice that it's only a matter of time before we come knocking," said US Marshal Christina Pharo of the Southern District of Florida.

"Our reputation of being the best in fugitive apprehension can be backed up with results, and we are hoping to add Clarke's apprehension to the numbers."

Officials allege that the three men stuffed Chris Thompson and Cassandra Williams in a car trunk after shooting them and then abandoned the vehicle in Sunrise, Florida, where authorities made the discovery.

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Actor Wesley Snipes should serve a maximum three-year prison term and pay a $5 million fine for failing to file his income taxes, U.S. prosecutors recommended in a tax-season court filing.

Making an example of Snipes, after years of "brazen defiance" of U.S. tax laws aimed at cheating the government of $41 million, would help deter other tax avoiders, U.S. Attorney Robert O'Neill of Florida wrote in a court document.

The recommendation was filed on Monday and released Tuesday on the annual deadline for filing U.S. income taxes.

"This case cries out for the statutory maximum term of imprisonment, as well as a substantial fine, because of the seriousness of defendant Snipes' crimes and because of the singular opportunity this case presents to deter tax crime nationwide," O'Neill wrote.

Snipes, who starred in the "Blade" movies series, was convicted in February on three misdemeanor counts of willfully failing to file federal tax returns for 1999-2001. Each count carries a maximum sentence of one year. Snipes was acquitted on two felony charges of filing false claims and fraud in seeking millions of dollars of refunds in other tax years.

Two men affiliated with American Rights Litigators/Guiding Light of God ministries, a Florida-based tax protest organization, were convicted at the same trial, on conspiracy to defraud and false-claims charges.

The sentencing recommendation said Snipes, with the aid of the other two men, "brazenly waged a campaign" against the Internal Revenue Service by sending phony claims, filings and demands to the agency and making "frivolous" Freedom of Information Act requests for IRS records.

(Reporting by Randall Mikkelsen; Editing by Eric Beech and Bill Trott)

Dancehall's warhead Merciless is dismissing rumours that he has been given a long prison sentence for a serious crime in the United States. In a recent radio interview, the deejay who is presently in Miami, Florida says the rumours are untrue. He explains that he has been sorting out his immigration papers and is working on his music. Further, he added, "People will always be negative and say negative things, but for all those who would want to see me get a prison sentence, well it's their bad luck. I'm spending time with my children and my family; Leonard is riding high right now, doing my music as always." . Posted by yardFlex at April 17, 2008 11:59 AM
i have  a n80 and the upper board is bad...im havin a bit of difficulty getting a board for it online...anyone got suggestions of sites that i can check?

jacket

June 11, 2007
Started By toya_attitude5 Comments
your a jackasshow would yuh feel if yuh get yuh best friend jacket???????? ,what and wah yuh a guh duh when yuh find out????????????mad
Marilyn Monroe sex reel sells for 1.5 million dollars According to a report in the New York Post a 15-minute film clip of late movie legend Marilyn Monroe giving oral sex to an unidentified man was sold Monday to a businessman, who chose to remain anonymous, for 1.5 million dollars. The film is a copy of a 1950s black-and-white 16-millimeter clip owned by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, whose first director Edgar Hoover tried but failed to prove the man in it...who never shows his face was US president John F. Kennedy. According to the daily news, the clip was sold through an intermediary identified as Keya Morgan, who apparently found it while filming a documentary on Monroe, who died in 1962. Kennedy, who was rumored to have had a sexual relationship with Monroe at some time, was assassinated in 1963.
Rising Dancehall phenomenon Colin Edwards more popularly known as Demarco has received a nomination in the category for Best Newcomer at the first annual Caribbean Urban Music Awards.

He is joined in this category with other entertainers such as Collie Budz, Munga and Sean Kingston.

"This is really an honour, it shows that I'm making my mark not only in Jamaica but in the Caribbean as wellI truly appreciate the nomination", says Demarco
The first annual Caribbean Urban Music Awards will be held at Reggae Beach in St. Ann on Saturday April 26.

Demarco recently returned from Barbados where he was well received and will leave the island again this weekend for performances in Connecticut and Rhode Island.

T.I. to Headline National Hip-Hop Summit in Philadelphia to Give a Positive, Non-Partisan Message to Young Voters
Wednesday April 16, 7:00 am ET

PHILADELPHIA--(BUSINESS WIRE)--In a special appearance, Grand Hustle/Atlantic recording artist, film star and hip-hop icon Clifford T.I. Harris, Jr. reaffirms his commitment to community service by participating in the upcoming Turn Up the Vote National Hip-Hop Summit at Temple University on Sunday, April 20, 2008 in Philadelphia, PA. The Summit is sponsored by The Hip-Hop Research and Education Fund (HREF), PowerPAC and the Hip-Hop Summit Action Network (HSAN).

ADVERTISEMENT
I am pleased to have the opportunity to travel to Philadelphia to participate in the Hip-Hop Summit, T.I. emphasized. We are going to encourage young people to go out to vote. I personally know the value of having the right to vote and it taken away from you, but I will add my voice to help inspire others to take seriously this right and responsibility.

Russell Simmons stated, T.I.s commitment to serve and to give back to the community is a shining example of the best of hip-hop. The Hip-Hop Summit Action Network and the Hip-Hop Research and Education Fund continue to provide opportunities for artists and others to empower youth. T.I. will join me, Ciara, Jim Jones and a host of other artists to get out the vote across the state of Pennsylvania.

The Turn Up the Vote National Hip-Hop Summit takes place two days before the Pennsylvania primary and will educate young adults on the issues in the upcoming Presidential election. 2008 has been described as the Year of the Youth Vote. Millions of 18-35 year olds across America are being encouraged to go to the polls and vote in record numbers.

T.I. has supported the Hip-Hop Summit Action Network from the beginning. We are pleased to salute and recognize his leadership and commitment to help others. His presence with us in Philadelphia will greatly enhance our ability to mobilize young voters, declared Valeisha Butterfield, Executive Director of the Hip-Hop Summit Action Network.

America is undergoing a profound change led by a cadre of young, talented and inspiring hip-hop leaders. The Philadelphia get-out-the-vote Hip-Hop Summit will be truly historic. Thousands will be gathered and their voices will be heard and felt by millions of young voters, concluded Dr. Benjamin Chavis, President of the Hip-Hop Research and Education Fund.

T.I. will headline the event with entertainment mogul and philanthropist Russell Simmons and R&B superstar Ciara to discuss topics that effect American youth, including: Overcoming Poverty, Healthcare, Education, Alcohol and Drug Prevention, Stopping Violence in Urban Communities, Ending the War in Iraq and the importance of Civic Engagement.

Additional confirmed panelists include: Jim Jones, Flo-Rida, Webbie, Lil Boosie, Rosci and Terrence J (hosts of BETs 106 & Park), Chrisette Michelle, Rich Boy, Styles P, Lyfe Jennings, Lil X, Green Lantern, Gorilla Zoe, Latino hip- hop/reggaeton stars Alexis y Fido; ONeal McKnight; Emily King and NAACP National Director, Youth and College Division, Stefanie Brown.. Doors open at 12:30pm. For more information and to download free tickets, log onto: www.hsan.org.

On this rare occasion, competing radio stations, Clear Channels Power 99 and Radio Ones 100.3 THE BEAT, have come together for this historic mobilization, under a common cause, to get young people out to the polls on April 22nd.

Young, gifted and Strapped

April 16, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 5 Comments

Dear Pastor,

I've been plagued with this problem since I was 14 years old. I'm now a 27-year-old man. I've been blessed (or cursed) by the good Lord with an oversized penis. It has ruined my sex life.

Women claim they like it big, but not this big. I've lost many women whom I've loved, due to my inability to have consensual sex with them. The pain is just too overbearing. I've been to the doctors, and there is some deformity, but I'm afraid to go ahead with the surgery. I have a sick obsession, as I've grown pretty fond of my package. To add to my woes, I have an interest exclusively in white women. They are especially disinterested in my manhood.

Please, pastor, should I risk the surgery and possibly go impotent for the remainder of my life? Please remember that I'm still young! Or should I continue looking for that particular woman who won't laugh when I remove my fruit of the looms?

D. B., St. Andrew, Jamaica

Dear D. B.,

You are pretending that you are seeking suggestions from me. Whether you are sincere or not, you are very proud of the massive size that you are carrying. You claim that you have gone to see doctors and they have advised you that your problem can be corrected with surgery. It is up to you whether or not you want to do the surgery. If you know that you have something that is an embarra**ment to you, you should listen to your doctor.

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Actor Wesley Snipes should serve a maximum three-year prison term and pay a $5 million fine for failing to file his income taxes, U.S. prosecutors recommended in a tax-season court filing.

Making an example of Snipes, after years of "brazen defiance" of U.S. tax laws aimed at cheating the government of $41 million, would help deter other tax avoiders, U.S. Attorney Robert O'Neill of Florida wrote in a court document.

The recommendation was filed on Monday and released Tuesday on the annual deadline for filing U.S. income taxes.

"This case cries out for the statutory maximum term of imprisonment, as well as a substantial fine, because of the seriousness of defendant Snipes' crimes and because of the singular opportunity this case presents to deter tax crime nationwide," O'Neill wrote.

Snipes, who starred in the "Blade" movies series, was convicted in February on three misdemeanor counts of willfully failing to file federal tax returns for 1999-2001. Each count carries a maximum sentence of one year. Snipes was acquitted on two felony charges of filing false claims and fraud in seeking millions of dollars of refunds in other tax years.

Two men affiliated with American Rights Litigators/Guiding Light of God ministries, a Florida-based tax protest organization, were convicted at the same trial, on conspiracy to defraud and false-claims charges.

The sentencing recommendation said Snipes, with the aid of the other two men, "brazenly waged a campaign" against the Internal Revenue Service by sending phony claims, filings and demands to the agency and making "frivolous" Freedom of Information Act requests for IRS records.

(Reporting by Randall Mikkelsen; Editing by Eric Beech and Bill Trott)

McNair Says Goodbye to Ravens, NFL

After 13 years as one of footballs best quarterbacks, Steve McNair is retiring. by Mike Duffy
Apr 17, 2008, 3:07PM
Font Size: 

When Steve McNair told his teammates that he was ending his illustrious 13-year career Thursday morning, a packed auditorium of emotional Ravens stood to give their quarterback a standing ovation. 

Some players in the room had known McNair personally for just a short time.  For others, the bond with No. 9 was forged years ago.

Still, the boisterous reaction to the saddening news was a testament to McNair and the impact he had on the football community.

I can look back on my career, and I wouldnt change a thing, McNair said in a press conference flanked by general manager Ozzie Newsome and head coach John Harbaugh.  The way I played the game, the way I approached the game, the love I have for the game I wouldnt change that. 

I played the game with a lot of passion, I played the game with a lot of heart, and it showed over the course of my 13 years.

The decision came as a surprise to all parties involved.  Newsome spoke with McNair, who had been working out regularly at team headquarters in Owings Mills, Md. this offseason, on Wednesday and gave the veteran some time to sit on the idea. 

We talked about the hard work, how much he had put in, explained Newsome.  Through that and having him take 24 more hours to think about it, he came in with even more resolve that its time for him to step away.

Even McNair admitted that he was eager to return from a disappointing 2007 campaign, where he injured his groin on the second play of the season opener and never returned to full health.  McNair developed back and shoulder injuries that limited him to six games, throwing only two touchdowns and four interceptions during the Ravens fall to a 5-11 record.

I came up with [the decision] two or three days ago, but it was still lingering since December, when I had the [shoulder] surgery, McNair said.  All the things going through my mind, if I cant compete like I used to, with a healthy mind and body, I was not going to put this team in jeopardy.

McNair, 35, fought through countless injuries since the Houston Oilers made him the third-overall pick in 1995 out of Division I-AA Alcorn State, where he was the only player in NCAA history to gain 16,000 total yards. 

Since then, he led the Tennessee Titans to a Super Bowl, was the 2003 NFL co-Most Valuable Player and earned four Pro Bowl berths. 

When he was traded to the Ravens in 2006, he brought that success to Baltimore.  His first season in purple and black saw the Ravens post a franchise-best 13-3 record and win the AFC North.  McNair was the unquestioned leader of the offense, starting all 16 games for the first time since 2002.  He added his name to the record books by completing 295 of 468 passes for 3,050 yards, second-most in Ravens history.

For Baltimore, to make it my last stop, what a great ride, he said.   It was a great ride here for these two short years.  Youre talking about family.  Youre talking about respecting each other.  The love in this building is unbelievable. 

That love showed when Samari Rolle and Derrick Mason, who were both in Tennessee with McNair for the majority of their careers, took the podium on behalf of their longtime teammate and friend.

I want to tell Steve that I love him, I appreciate him and I enjoyed the 11 years I played with him out of the 12 Ive been able to play, Mason said.  I really enjoyed it, especially his friendship. I enjoyed everything about it.

"He's the best player I've ever played with, opined Rolle.  He's a sure-fire Hall of Famer. This hurts."

To close out his remarks, Mason then faced his former quarterback and said, You are a true competitor. And, I know you will continue to be a competitor at whatever you do.

Much of McNairs post-football life is going to be spent with his wife, Mechelle, and four sons. 

Its a sad day for me, a very emotional day for me, he said.  Im trying to do the best I can to hold it in, but at the same time, Im opening up a lot more doors for the future Ive got ahead.  I can become now the father I need to be to my kids. I can see them grow up, I can do the things I want to do personally in life that I couldnt do during the football season. 

Family is very important to me, and now I can relate to how well my family understood when I was playing the game for 13 years.  Sometimes you take things for granted, and you just live and just live.

Judging by the way McNair was sent off by such thunderous applause and emotion, the Ravens are very much going to miss an integral part of their family.

He is a she--- 'He/she' and me

April 16, 2008
Started By alligcold12 Comments
Dear Pastor,

I am a 23-year-old female living in the USA. I just found out that my boyfriend was actually a female. I have been with him for a few months now. I am really close with his friends and this is how I heard about this. I was with a friend and his girlfriend when I overheard her asking him if I knew that he was a female and he said no. After that evening I have not spoken to him about it as yet, and I don't have the strength to face him again. Although I think he/she has the right to know my reason for not speaking to him.

I would like to know if it also makes me a lesbian. Please tell me what to do?

R. S., California, USA

Dear R. S.,

I think I understand what you are saying. You should not blame yourself for something you were not aware of. This person evidently had a sex change and appeared to you as male. In a discussion I had with a psychiatrist, he said that people who have had sex change are homosexuals. I have thought about that statement so many times and wonder whether he is correct. Why would a woman become a man or a man become a woman?

Do not consider yourself a lesbian because you were totally ignorant of what this man did. You probably should consider ending the relationship with him.

Pastor

what is ur favorite color?

April 9, 2008
Started By sexi_tash31 Comments
thanx for replying!blankstare.gif smile.gif

-- Edited by sexi_tash at 16:07, 2008-04-09

No 'creeping' around - Producer defends rhythm

Teino Evans, Staff Reporter

STARCover_1_PHQMGElephaAM.jpg
Elephant Man

Producer Sean 'Seanizzle' Reid says he would like to set the record straight and make it clear to the public that he is the one who created the Creepa rhythm and also produced Elephant Man's hit single Gully Creepa.

According to Seanizzle, there seemed to have been some misunderstanding in the streets, as persons thought it was Daseca who produced the song.

"From wah day since mi touch di road an' a campaign an' a tell people sey a me produce Gully Creepa,dem a sey if mi sure sey a me like a some clown ting, but right now, mi would a like fi mek di clarification," Seanizzle said.

Seanizzle, who has been in the music business professionally for four years, says he has created a number of other popular rhythms, including songs on the Stepfather rhythm (produced by Mr G), Fast Lane, a single on Buju Banton's Too Bad album, which was also produced by himself and Mr G and the Reverse rhythm, which featured songs like Beenie Man's Reverse Di Ting and Tony Matterhorn's Si Down Pon It.

Diva lyrics

Seanizzle also said he produced a song for Keiva 'The Diva' called Problem and now his latest 'creepa' rhythm, which features Elephant Man's popular Gully Creepa song, Dear Mama by Kapri and Ghetto Prayer by Tyrical.

So now, after having worked so hard, Seanizzle says he is only left to ponder, "how dem come about fi a tek claim an dem don't even know di stress mi guh tru fi build dah rhythm yah an' voice di artiste dem?"

When contacted, Craig of Daseca confirmed that the rhythm did not belong to them and that it must have been a misunderstanding. He says Daseca helped to build a rhythm called Gully Creature (not gully creepa), which featured Mavado's Touch Di Road.

Now, Seanizzle says he will have to embark on a new campaign, but things should flow easier since Elephant Man's album is now released.

"Now Ele album release an' mi song deh pon it, suh that is major proof. In addition, the song is out now on 45 and every day, Ele in the streets promoting it, so even now, the more we promote it, the better our chances of getting someone to do over the video and even get it on BET," Seanizzle said.

Lollipop

STARCover_1_PTDIEseanizAM.jpg
Sean 'Seanizzle' Reid, the producer of the Creepa rhythm, which features Elephant Man's 'Gully Creepa'. - Teino Evans

But that is not all that Seanizzle is currently focused on, as he says, "American rapper Lil' Wayne has a new single out called Lollipop on a rhythm that sounds very similar to my creepa rhythm. The melody is the exact same, only thing dem use a different instrument to play it. So my publisher has made a link with Lil' Wayne's representatives to work out some agreement, because we don't want to have to sue and even if we could get them to do a remix with Ele for Gully Creepa,then we would settle with that".

Seanizzle says his rhythm has been playing since November of last year, "but it was released on 45 over three months now and Lil' Wayne's song (Lollipop) is out around a month and a half now".

So far, Seanizzle says, "we have not received any hostile response from Lil' Wayne's representatives," so it appears quite likely that they are willing to cooperate.

Police are currently putting in place strong security measures for Carlos Hill's planned appearance in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court tomorrow. Carlos Hill, founder of Cash Plus Limited, his brother Bertram Hill, a director of Cash Plus Developments Ltd, and Peter Wilson, chief financial officer for Cash Plus, were all charged by investigators yesterday. Hill was charged under the Larceny Act with four counts of fraudulent conversion and four counts of obtaining money by false pretence. He is also charged under Common Law with one count of conspiracy to defraud. Bertram and Wilson are both charged under Common Law, each with one count of conspiracy to defraud. At a press conference at the police commissioner's Old Hope Road office, Assistant Commissioner Les Green said they were ensuring that security measures were in place for Hill to go to court. "To ensure appropriate security measures can be put in place, arrangements will be made for the first appearance to be made at Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court on Thursday. I again urge restraint by the public and thank them for this so far," he said. He said since the police searched Hill's premises among others last Thursday, they have identified some new areas for investigation. As a result yesterday morning the police searched another property outside the Corporate Area. Garwin Davis, a freelance journalist and public relations consultant for Cash Plus was arrested and charged after one of these operations by the Organised Crime Investigation Division (OCID). He has been charged with possession of a forged United States passport, forgery of a United States passport and false declaration. Davis, from Ocho Rios, St. Ann, is accused of travelling on the forged US passport with his photograph and bearing the name of Timothy Earl Mitz extensively especially during the period 1992-1995. The police are also investigating other persons, however Green declined to name them. Green said investigations so far have revealed that the company was operating a 'pyramid' scheme. The police say that it also appears that the company knew for a while that the scheme could not be maintained any longer. Investigators are still appealing for information about the accounts and transactions and as well as for investigators to come forward. "I would urge any person with information regarding these accounts and transactions or related activity to contact the Organised Crime Investigation Division (OCID) on 922-7052 or 811, 311," ACP Green said. He said it was essential for investigations to continue without any distractions so any assets could be identified and secured quickly. Complainants are also being encouraged to complete the form on the Ministry of National Security's website and post it to the Jamaica Constabulary Force, PO BOX 462, Kingston. Persons can also collect forms at the Commissioner's office at 101-103 Old Hope Road. Other collection sites will be released next week.
STARLEFT_1_PNDMLDaseca2AM.jpg
From left Bugle, David, Serani and Craig. - Ricardo Makyn

When it comes to Daseca, most of their days are simply spent making hot rhythms and hit songs.

Even so, when THE STAR went to hang out at their studio recently, it was a relaxed vibe, as Bugle, Serani, David and Craig enjoyed some down time before getting back to work.

Craig told THE STAR most of their time is usually spent in studio or in the general environs as, "day to day we make new songs mainly with Bugle and Serani. But Assassin come tru regular, Mavado, Voicemail and some others."

The studio, which is located off Red Hills Road, is shared by Daseca and Razz and Biggy, but you might not find the latter in studio until after midday.

"Wi reach from anytime after 12, an wi deh yah till all 2 a.m. But if wi have anything fi deal wid on the road, wi jus run out quick an come back. But here is like the base, it's always a good vibe," Craig said as he relaxed in a salon chair, while a young lady braided his hair.

Serani and Bugle, who were outside the studio listening to a new track that was thumping through Bugle's car stereo, also agreed that the 'vibe' there was always a good one.

"Yuh have nuff people weh pass tru, sound man come cut dub plate...a nuff vibe an hype. Si Nicky Z deh, Rum *lo**, TJ, a next young producer...an wi all have a store upstairs, anything wi want wi get it up deh," Bugle said.

Nice vibe

Adding, "Boom Dandimite, Tornado, everybody just link wi yah suh, cause is a nice vibe...young artiste, old artiste, producers, everybody link yah suh."

But having down time is never overdone, as Bugle said, "likkle from dis wi a guh back inna di studio guh voice couple more tune."

Serani, who was also enjoying some free time outside the studio told THE STAR he too was not much for idling, "I'm ever a working person, that's my typical day." He continued, "the most you will catch me hanging outside the studio is ten minutes, I have no time to waste, there's money to be made."

The singer went on to explain that he is not always at their studio, as he works out at other places. Basically, he says wherever the work takes him, but he still remains somewhat selective.

"...It's not any and every studio I work at, so, I've recorded for example at Shane Brown and Casper and mix at Mario C's studio," he says.

In addition to that, the singer said that he is most comfortable building tunes from his van. "I've done songs in my van, that's where I get the real vibes." He said hits such as What I'm Gonna Do and Journeys were actually conceptualised in his van.

In his typical day, Serani says, "the first part is used to run errands, pay bills and stuff like that during business hours and then in the later part of the afternoon, we focus on the music."

Later on while THE STAR was still at the studio, Bugle and Serani went back to work with Bugle voicing a couple 'dubs' with Biggy at the controls.

David, who was busy in the second studio with Assassin, took time to point out that it was like working with Bugle and Serani, and how hectic the Daseca schedule was.

"Bugle and Serani come in like mi bredda dem, they are the in-house artistes and there's no ego when it comes to voicing them," he said.

David says for the Daseca family, "it's usually work non-stop. Usually wi out at nights, because promotion is a part of the work."

So according to David, parties like Uptown Mondays, Hot Mondays, Asylum on a Tuesday night, Weddy Weddy and Quad and sometimes Passa on a Wednesday, Bembe Thursdays then Asylum, Dutty Fridaze, Feeling Fridays and then party uptown on the weekend, is usually their regular routine.

No wonder their typical day begins at noon.

David says, "because wi do all dem ting deh, wi usually wake up late ..., although wi trying to improve that and get things started earlier."

Step through the studio doors and link with STAR group DASECA

STARLEFT_1_PPO3HDaseca2AM.jpgSTARLEFT_1_PATVMDaseca2AM.jpgSTARLEFT_1_PZSTDDaseca2AM.jpg
( L - R ) Bugle, Craig, David, Serani - Ricardo Makyn photos

Informer fi Dead?

April 15, 2008
Started By Ambassidah27 Comments
i know that a lot of ppl say bun out pon all informers. but i want to hear your say on it. would u inform or this kind of action will never enter your thoughts

STARCover_1_PZJ6LSynergAM.jpgSTARRIGHT_1_PG7T2AP0711AM.jpg
(L - R ) Mavado, Jay-Z - Nathaniel Stewart

Dancehall artiste Mavado was recently lauded by Billboard Magazine for attracting the attention of uber rapper, Jay-Z, who subsequently did a remix of the deejay's song On The Rock.

According to the article published in Billboard Magazine's latest issue, dated April 12, 2008, "For most Jamaican dancehall artistes, securing a successful rapper on a song's remix is a hard-won seal of approval. So when Jay Z, who has never recorded on a reggae track, rhymed on a remix of singer Mavado's current hit, On The Rock, it became arguably the greatest endorsement ever given to any dancehall record."

The article in the Billboard Magazine said that it was Jay Z who heard Mavado's song playing on Hot 97 and "thought the songs 'roc' metaphors provided appropriate references for rapping about his invincibility in the hip-hop world."

So far, the response has been incredible and the song has been getting heavy rotation.

Mavado, who has had to be dealing with a series of negative issues recently says, "It's always positive whenever one of the mainstream media houses from overseas throws a spotlight on Mavado or Jamaican music."

"Billboard Magazine is the biggest music industry magazine out there and is good that they are recognizing the strides we are making. It shows that not just me but dancehall on a whole is gaining popularity in the US and other major markets around the world," Mavado added.

Mavado also admitted that, "the whole hype with Jay Z jumping on my record has also helped push my name to new ears and this feature can only further that."

Now, Mavado says he is working on his new album, which is almost finished.

"It is to be released early summer so the exposure is good for that also. The article was done when I took part in the "Buy a Brick" charity event in Negril recently. As you know I have my own Connect Jamaica charity where we donate computers and printers to schools and the Buy a Brick organization is aimed at schools and children also so I was keen to be a part of that," Mavado said.

Mavado's manager, Julian Jones-Griffith, was also pleased with the focus on Mavado shifting to a positive light for a change as he says, "it's good that the media overseas and locally has picked up on the positive work and contributions that Mavado makes, which often go unnoticed amongst the clamouring for them to find another negative headline for Mavado."

He adds, "He has done and will continue to do much charitable work especially for children and young people, and we appreciate that being highlighted, as his detractors often criticise him and his music, which at the end of the day is entertainment made for adults to hear in an adult environment."

Doctors say infant with rare condition is doing well

613a0661-232d-4b56-98e6-a0d02bdd9af8.hmedium.jpg

SAINI SUNPURA, India - A baby with two faces was born in a northern Indian village, where she is doing well and is being worshipped as the reincarnation of a Hindu goddess, her father said Tuesday.

The baby, Lali, apparently has an extremely rare condition known as craniofacial duplication, where a single head has two faces. Except for her ears, all of Lali's facial features are duplicated she has two noses, two pairs of lips and two pairs of eyes.

"My daughter is fine like any other child," said Vinod Singh, 23, a poor farm worker.

Lali has caused a sensation in the dusty village of Saini Sunpura, 25 miles east of New Delhi. When she left the hospital, eight hours after a normal delivery on March 11, she was swarmed by villagers, said Sabir Ali, the director of Saifi Hospital.

"She drinks milk from her two mouths and opens and shuts all the four eyes at one time," Ali said.

Rural India is deeply superstitious and the little girl is being hailed as a return of the Hindu goddess of valor, Durga, a fiery deity traditionally depicted with three eyes and many arms.

'Leading a normal life'
Up to 100 people have been visiting Lali at her home every day to touch her feet out of respect, offer money and receive blessings, Singh told The Associated Press.

"Lali is God's gift to us," said Jaipal Singh, a member of the local village council. "She has brought fame to our village."

Image: Two faced baby.
Gurinder Osan / AP
The baby's rare condition is often linked to serious health complications, but Lali is doing well, a doctor says.

Village chief Daulat Ram said he planned to build a temple to Durga in the village.

"I am writing to the state government to provide money to build the temple and help the parents look after their daughter," Ram said.

Lali's condition is often linked to serious health complications, but the doctor said she was doing well.

"She is leading a normal life with no breathing difficulties," said Ali, adding that he saw no need for surgery.

Lali's parents were married in February 2007. Lali is their first child.

Singh said he took his daughter to a hospital in New Delhi where doctors suggested a CT scan to determine whether her internal organs were normal, but Singh said he felt it was unnecessary.

"I don't feel the need of that at this stage as my daughter is behaving like a normal child, posing no problems," he said.

Teenagers arrested as cops seize 1,500 bulbs believed part of batch from Cuba
KARYL WALKER, Crime/Court Co-ordinator walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com
Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Two teenagers, one of them believed to be the son of a People's National Party (PNP) councillor, are now behind bars after police seized 1,593 light bulbs they suspect are linked to the Cuban light bulb saga and recovered a stolen motor vehicle.

According to head of the St Andrew North police division, Superintendent Anthony Morris, the two teenagers were stopped along Stony Hill Road during a routine spot check.

"They were driving a grey Totoya Yaris and when we checked we found that the plates were not consistent with the car. It was discovered that the car was reported stolen in the St Andrew Central division and the two were taken into custody," Morris told the Observer as officers counted the light bulbs last night.

After questioning the teenagers, the cops went to a house in St Andrew where the teenagers live and found the bulbs, Morris said.

Police say they believe the bulbs are part of a shipment of four million energy-saving fluorescent light bulbs donated by the Cuban Government.

Former junior minister in the PNP Administration, Kern Spencer, his personal assistant Coleen Wright and businessman Andrew Chin are out on bail facing corruption, money laundering and fraud charges in connection with what has become known as the Cuban light bulb scandal.

In January, the auditor-general reported that about 176,380 of the four million bulbs, costing about $92 million, could not be found. There are also allegations that the contracts to distribute the bulbs were unfairly granted and that Spencer had unlawfully meddled in the allocation of the contracts.
The distribution project reportedly cost taxpayers $267 million.

D'Angel just love di video light suh

d_angel_passa.jpgBut a wha suh mi a hear bout D'Angel, sey she love di video light bad. She go a Vybz Kartel party and she did a guh walk somewhey and nuh cameraman nor nuh video light nuh deh deh and she tun back and head fi one next entrance. Anyway, now mi si di connection wid har and Beenie Man...memba sey dem call him Michael cause him caan bear fi nobady else get di mic.

The Noise Abatement Act of 1997 was not upheld last Friday at the Vybz Rum Mix Up Party staged at Weekenz, Constant Spring Road, despite the presence of several police officers. There was also the case of gunshots being fired by the officers in a bid to quell boisterous patrons who wanted to enter the venue without paying.

When mediazone team arrived at the venue at 11:30 p.m. it was like a ghost town. When we revisited at 1:30 a.m. there w as a handful of patrons rocking to the music being played by members of the Realistic Sound System.

The presence of a number of patrons sporting 'dark glasses' in the night not only told the tale of their folly, but also that of where the party was heading. At 2:30 a.m. selectors from the Hard Rock crew were outlining that: "The party early same way." Soon after they received the first forward of the night when they played a song from Vybz Kartel's catalogue. An officer complaining that the unrest at the gate should discontinue or else the partying would be stopped, soon interrupted the proceeding. The police again disrupted the partying once more to reiterate their statement.

BIG PENIS --Dear Pastor

April 16, 2008
Started By Shottess 5 Comments

Young, gifted and Strapped

Dear Pastor,

I've been plagued with this problem since I was 14 years old. I'm now a 27-year-old man. I've been blessed (or cursed) by the good Lord with an oversized penis. It has ruined my sex life.

Women claim they like it big, but not this big. I've lost many women whom I've loved, due to my inability to have consensual sex with them. The pain is just too overbearing. I've been to the doctors, and there is some deformity, but I'm afraid to go ahead with the surgery. I have a sick obsession, as I've grown pretty fond of my package. To add to my woes, I have an interest exclusively in white women. They are especially disinterested in my manhood.

Please, pastor, should I risk the surgery and possibly go impotent for the remainder of my life? Please remember that I'm still young! Or should I continue looking for that particular woman who won't laugh when I remove my fruit of the looms?

D. B., St. Andrew, Jamaica

Dear D. B.,

You are pretending that you are seeking suggestions from me. Whether you are sincere or not, you are very proud of the massive size that you are carrying. You claim that you have gone to see doctors and they have advised you that your problem can be corrected with surgery. It is up to you whether or not you want to do the surgery. If you know that you have something that is an embarra**ment to you, you should listen to your doctor.

Pastor

Little Hype It and his popular DJ father (Little Beela) have been invited to appear on the star-studded Starjam 2K8 set for April 26 at the Aqua Sol Theme Park on Gloucester Avenue in Montego Bay.

This father and son c****ination will be sharing the stage with blockbuster Bounty Killer and his awesome Alliance Crew, Munga (the gangsta ras), Assassin, Zumjay, Fanton Mojah, Serani, DJ Flex, Einstein, Bingy Iron, Teflon, Warface, Fire Lion, Mr. Chumps, Real Sheriff, Serial Killer, Adrenalin, Mad Dog, Cordelia, Major Lloyd, Peter Lloyd, Merrital Family, TQ, Lazer Matrix and the talented Mixing Lab.

The five-year-old Little Hype It and Beela have been turning heads at every show in St. James since last year. It is not an uncommon sight to see photographers and journalists rushing towards them when they exit the stage after another scintillating performance. The word has since spread like chlorine gas and other promoters now seek them for islandwide shows.

It will be a pleasure for either emcee Brian Bowen or Allan Ranks to introduce them to the public at Star Jam which will end at 2 a.m. according to new and strict police directive.

Providing the music for Starjam are the sound systems Pure Playazz, Studio Mix, Full Blast, Classique and Bass Odyssey.

MediaTakeOut.com just received some STARTLING NEWS. We spoke with a person extraordinarily close with Beyonce who claims that she's planning to QUIT MUSIC after her next studio album (due out this year).

According to the Knowles camp insider, who agreed to speak on the condition of anonymity, Beyonce is ready to settle down and have a family. The insider explained to MediaTakeOut.com, "Beyonce has one more album under her current deal and then she's looking to take a lot of time off ... She's been either in the studio or on tour for almost two years, she needs the time off. Besides, she and [Jay Z] are interested in a family."

But Beyonce isn't looking to give up working altogether. While Beyonce's tending to her new family, she'll have a new job - as a talent recruiter for Jay's new label. Cousin Angie is reportedly going around saying that Beyonce will be "spending her days scouting talent for new hubby Jay-Z's upcoming label, The Carter Music Group."

Mariah smashes Elvis Presleys record of Hot 100 hits

Friday 4 April 2008 @ 5:16 pm

Mariah Carey

Mariah Carey has surpassed Elvis Presleys record 18 number one hits on the Billboard Hot 100, this with her new single, Touch My Body.

She reaches a once-in-a-lifetime career achievement as she is now the only active recording artist in the 50 years of the Hot 100 (which began in 1958) with the potential to surpass the Beatles all-time high of 20 number one hits.

Touch My Body is number one with an all-time record-setting debut week at number one on the Billboard hot digital songs chart; and a Hot 100 airplay radio audience exceeding 115 million. The video is now at number one on the Yahoo Music Video Chart.

The first single from Mariahs highly anticipated hot new album titled E=MC˛, Touch My Body, will be available in stores as of April 15. Pre-orders are now underway for E=MC˛, with iTunes customers receiving Touch My Body instantly with their pre-order.

Touch My Body was produced by Mariah Carey, C. Tricky Stewart, and fellow Island Def Jam artist The-Dream. Other guest producers joining Mariah on E=MC˛ include Jermaine Dupri, DJ Toomp, Stargate, Will I Am, Bryan Michael Cox, Nate Danjahandz Hills and James Poyser. The album is executive produced by Mariah Carey and Antonio LA Reid, Chairman, Island Def Jam Music Group.

As the 11th studio album of her career, E=MC˛ follows The Emancipation Of Mimi, Mariahs worldwide 10 million selling number one album, that generated three Grammy awards - including Best Contemporary R&B Album, two number one singles, and countless more honours during its 18-month stay on the charts. Released April 12, 2005, Mimi was an industry phenomenon for the mega-platinum award-winning superstar. Soundscans biggest-selling album of the year, it brought total sales of Mariahs albums, singles and videos to over 160 million worldwide, making her the top-selling female recording artist in history.

Officer, leave selectors alone! - Wee Pow says

Teino Evans, Staff Reporter

Veteran selector and owner of Stone Love Sound System, Winston 'Wee Pow' Powell is calling on police to not arrest sound system selectors when sessions run over the 2 a.m. end time.

Powell says the selectors are just employees of the promoters and that it is the promotors who should be held accountable.

According to Powell, "the policemen are going around and locking up the sound system selectors. The latest one occurring in Dunkirk, where they locked up a sound man for breach of the Night Noise Act."

"There is no way, especially when we are playing in certain type of areas, that we can take it up on ourself an say lock off. It's the promoter! Just like me, I have a weekly event, Weddy, an we taking it back to an earlier time," Powell said.

He also added: "It's the promoters who take out the permits, so the police should ensure that they issue these permits to law-abiding citizens and the police should also ensure that the promoters adhere to the law."

Powell says there is already a general agreement among sound system selectors where, "basically, everybody feels the same way in which we normally comply (with the law) and when it reach certain time, we tone down the music. But the police, too, they are enforcing this Noise Abatement Act sometimes in areas where the noise doesn't bother anybody."

Over the past few weeks, at least two sound system selectors have had problems with the law. David McNaughton, a music selector was arrested while he operated the Jam Rock Disco at a dance in the Bryden Street area of East Kingston and another selector, playing for a sound called Qwalitex, was reportedly arrested at another street dance called 'Froggy Saturdays' in the east Kingston area.

However, the police say they are taking a zero tolerance approach to night noise.

Commissioner of Police, Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin said, "the matter of night noise is distressing not to just me personally, but to those people who have to suffer underneath it, and we have to put a stop to it."

Under the Noise Abatement Act, it is an offence for a person to sing or play any noisy instrument at any time of the day or night so that the sound can be heard beyond a distance of 100 metres and can be reasonably capable of causing annoyance to persons in the vicinity.

«First  <  1458 459 460 461 462524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by