Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.
Wednesday April 23, 03:21 AM

Lynchings in Congo as penis theft panic hits capital

KINSHASA (Reuters) - Police in Congo have arrested 13 suspected sorcerers accused of using black magic to steal or shrink men's penises after a wave of panic and attempted lynchings triggered by the alleged witchcraft.

Reports of so-called penis snatching are not uncommon in West Africa, where belief in traditional religions and witchcraft remains widespread, and where ritual killings to obtain *lo** or body parts still occur.

Rumours of penis theft began circulating last week in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo's sprawling capital of some 8 million inhabitants. They quickly dominated radio call-in shows, with listeners advised to beware of fellow passengers in communal taxis wearing gold rings.

Purported victims, 14 of whom were also detained by police, claimed that sorcerers simply touched them to make their genitals shrink or disappear, in what some residents said was an attempt to extort cash with the promise of a cure.

"You just have to be accused of that, and people come after you. We've had a number of attempted lynchings. ... You see them covered in marks after being beaten," Kinshasa's police chief, Jean-Dieudonne Oleko, told Reuters on Tuesday.

Police arrested the accused sorcerers and their victims in an effort to avoid the sort of *lo**shed seen in Ghana a decade ago, when 12 suspected penis snatchers were beaten to death by angry mobs. The 27 men have since been released.

"I'm tempted to say it's one huge joke," Oleko said.

"But when you try to tell the victims that their penises are still there, they tell you that it's become tiny or that they've become impotent. To that I tell them, 'How do you know if you haven't gone home and tried it'," he said.

Some Kinshasa residents accuse a separatist sect from nearby Bas-Congo province of being behind the witchcraft in revenge for a recent government crackdown on its members.

"It's real. Just yesterday here, there was a man who was a victim. We saw. What was left was tiny," said 29-year-old Alain Kalala, who sells phone credits near a Kinshasa police station.

55-y-o man stabbed to death

April 24, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper9 Comments

A 55-year-old man was stabbed to death during a dispute with another man at Luke Lane in downtown Kingston on Tuesday.

Dead is Wellesley Hill, otherwise called 'Gilly'. His address is not yet known.

Reports are that about 4:30 p.m., Hill was at a shop when an argument developed between him and the other man. During the argument, a knife was used to stab Hill. He died on the spot.

The Kingston Central police, who are investigating, are seeking a man known only as 'Bogie' of an east Kingston address. They believe he may be able to assist them in their investigations
The Consumer Affairs Commission (CAC) is warning the public to beware of a toy labelled 'Fart B****' which, on Tuesday, caused harm to approximately 40 toddlers in a school at Buff Bay, Portland. In a release issued yesterday, the CAC reported that "The toy is labelled 'Fart B****' and is packaged in aluminium foil. A child reportedly tampered with the foil wrapper and this caused the dangerous chemical inside to escape." According to the release, a doctor told the CAC that approximately 30 students from the Bradford Preparatory School experienced vomiting and diahorrea because of their exposure to the chemicals in the product. Five children were taken to the hospital for treatment and observation on Tuesday. Harmful chemicals The release further explained that the stink b**** was bought by a Portland vendor at a wholesale store in Kingston, and was being sold in Buff Bay, Portland, at the time of the incident. Although the toy label reportedly warns buyers that it should not be opened or used by children under seven years old, the CAC is insisting that no toy should contain harmful chemicals. "The FART B**** is packaged in a small aluminium foil wrapper and labelled in very fine print: MADE IN CHINA. NOT FOR CHILDREN 'UNDER 7' YEARS OLD. DO NOT TEAR OPEN FOIL PACKAGE. DO NOT PUT IN MOUTH. Also, on the back of the package is a picture of a smiling boy with his arms down and the word BOOM emitting from his bottom," the release said. It was further noted that a research done by the CAC has found that the product was subject to a recall in Hong Kong in 2004 due to similar reports of kids experiencing difficulty breathing, vomiting, nausea, headache and eye irritation. Meanwhile, the Bureau of Standards is reportedly taking the appropriate action to locate the distributor of the toy. In conclusion, the release read "In the meantime, the CAC is calling on merchants and vendors to consider the safety of their future consumers as against the economic potential of selling the product." The CAC is also urging consumers who might have seen the dangerous toy in stores or on the street to contact their officers immediately at 926-1650-2 , or email them at info_c@consumeraffairsjamaica.gov.jm.

The best is good enough

April 24, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper7 Comments

Dear Pastor,

My problem is that I have been married for almost two years, but now it's going downhill. My husband is very close to my former best friend. She calls him at all hours of the night or morning and he does the same thing. She leaves him messages and tells him that she loves him. She calls him baby, sweetheart and other love names. I overheard him telling her that he loves her. Whenever I ask him what is going on with him and her, he gets upset and shuts me out; then he calls her and they talk for hours. He has now moved into our spare room and put a lock on it. Everytime he comes in from work, he finds some excuse to go out again and he does not come back until late in the night.

Curl up and cry

Sometimes I just curl up in a ball and cry. I don't know what to do anymore. Every once in a while he will come to me and say he loves me and will ask if we can have sex. If I say no, he explodes. And if I say yes, by the time it's over he can't stand to be around me. We used to go to church and now he has stopped. I asked him to go to counselling with me and he said no. Pastor, there is so much more to say. Sometimes he locks himself in the spare room talking to this girl on the phone and I lie down in my bed and hear them talking. He even calls out her name in his sleep.

Pastor, I am awaiting your fatherly advice.

P.F., Ontario, Canada

Dear P.F.,

Evidently this man doesn't need this marriage. He believes that he can do without you because he has the woman you described as your friend. Perhaps she was, indeed, your friend, but surely not now. She has taken over your husband and she doesn't care about what happens between both of you. Your husband is not married to her; he is married to you, and so he should be respectful to you and protect his marriage if he loves you. But the message is clear.

If he loved you once, he surely doesn't love you now. If he was in love with you and he made a mistake, he would have been glad to go for counselling. He has moved out of the matrimonial bedroom, and according to you, it is only when he feels like having sex that he comes in and does his own thing then returns to his dirty ways.

See a counsellor

I want to suggest that you go and see a counsellor without him. I say that because you need to learn how to cope and to avoid becoming depressed. I know for sure that if your husband continues to ignore you and to verbally abuse you, the marriage will eventually end. Nevertheless, I want to encourage you to do your very best to see whether it can be saved. Perhaps you may ask the marriage counsellor to come to your home. Some counsellors are pastors and they can visit to see whether they can help to save and strengthen the marriage.

In the meantime, do not get into any verbal confrontation with the girl with whom he is having the affair. Keep out of her way. She is a bad friend.

Pastor
ARTISTES SING 'VISA' BLUES Krista Henry, Staff Reporter Mr Perfect Getting a United States visa is a daunting process for the average Jamaican, but for Jamaican entertainers a viable career without a US visa can be virtually non-existent. Travelling to the United States is not only beneficial for performance purposes but also in making links with American producers, record companies and spreading the Jamaican music to another lucrative market. Some artistes have been denied access to the US market and its booming entertainment business for various reasons. Singjay Mavado, whose real name is David Brooks, is the most recent Jamaican artiste to be denied a visa. In April, The STAR reported that Mavado, who had been apprehended in Jamaica recently on gun-related charges, was denied entry into New York City by the police. In a previous interview with The STAR, Mavado claimed that he was told his visa was cancelled because he was wanted in Jamaica - which subsequently caused the artiste to miss three shows in New York. Brooks was charged in connection with an incident where two persons were shot and injured on July 27 last year. Mavado is scheduled to return to the Gun Court on May 27. Currently, the remix of Mavado's On The Rock, which features top US rapper Jay Z, is heating up the airwaves, but whether the two will perform together or make a video for the song is questionable based on Mavado's present inability to travel to the US. A perfect song ( L - R ) Kartel, Mavado In Amerimaka Mr Perfect turned his denial of a US visa into a song. Perfect defiantly sings "Da one yah dedicated to the United States of America Embassy in Jamaica/Uno keep it an guh weh", he continues "They denied I a visa to travel to the USA/They say that I'm not qualified and I might run off and stay." At the time, Perfect had to miss 13 shows in the United States as a result of the denial. Deejay Vybz Kartel is another entertainer who has been constantly denied a visa to the United States. While Kartel has been in and out of court, his reasons for not getting a visa, according to the artiste, are not criminal. The last time Kartel performed in the United States was on March 13, 2005, in Washington D.C. Yet, according to the deejay, this has not affected his career. "It hasn't affected me, it's just travel. Humbly speaking I'm the hottest deejay. I would put myself in the top three deejays in Jamaica," he told the STAR. Kartel emphasised that his songs are still getting rotation on American stations and he is willing to have the patience to see his next flight to the US . Meanwhile, he says he is a Jamaican artiste and is focused on his career in Jamaica. However, he does have upcoming tours in Europe and the Caribbean. According to Jerome Hamilton of Headline Entertainment, a top- flight booking agency, while the US market is an important one, not being able to travel there will not have a crippling effect on an artiste's career. "The US, is our nearest market with a strong ethnic presence of first and second generation Jamaicans, but the beautiful thing about our music is that its bigger than the US with a strong market in Central America, the Caribbean and Japan," Hamilton said.

OFFICIALS OF the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and the Opposition People's National Party (PNP) could meet shortly to try to resolve the crisis surrounding the eligibility of some sitting members of parliament (MP).

PNP President Portia Simpson Miller has already indicated her willingness to discuss a settlement, and yesterday Prime Minister Bruce Golding announced he had mandated the party's general secretary, Karl Samuda, to enter into discussions with the Opposition.

However, if the two parties fail to agree and the courts rule that any seat should be taken away from a victorious JLP candidate and handed to a defeated PNP representative, the stage would be set for an early general election.

Looming possibility

Responding to questions during a post-Budget press briefing at Jamaica House yesterday, Golding, the JLP leader, left no doubt that early election was an option he would consider.

With political analysts arguing that the ruling in the Vaz v Dabdoub case left the Government with no option but to call a general election, the prime minister gave the clearest indication yet that such a possibility looms.

According to Golding, he was not aware that any JLP candidate was in breach of the constitutional requirements that members of parliament should not have sworn allegiance to any foreign power.

Not a cause for concern

He said other members of his party facing challenges about their eligibility might want to have their day in court and are so entitled.

The prime minister seemed in a fighting mood as he declared that the size of the Government's majority was not a cause for concern.

"My friend Dr Keith Mitchell has been heading the government in Grenada for the past four years with a majority of one and, when I see him, he doesn't seem to be anybody who is under any stress," Golding argued.

"What would give me concern is if that majority becomes uncertain. I can't run a government where I do not know at what point I will be distracted from the affairs of government to go and look at the political side," he added.

The people's decision

He charged that the JLP could have mounted challenges against victorious PNP candidates, including one person who is in a similar position to that of Daryl Vaz, having received United States (US) citizenship by birth, but travelling on a US passport.

While not naming the opposition MP, Golding vowed not to allow any defeated candidate to take a seat in the House of Representatives.

His reference was a clear knock at the PNP's Abe Dabdoub, who is expected to head to the Court of Appeal in an attempt to have the West Portland seat handed to him instead of going to a by-election, as ruled by Chief Justice Zaila McCalla.

"This is perhaps the only thing that I can speak to with the kind of absolute definitiveness - that I am not going to allow anybody to sit in Parliament who was rejected by the people at the polls," Golding said.

Open for dialogue

But even as he drew his line in the sand, the Prime Minister was clear that the door remained open for dialogue with the Opposition.

Members of the PNP have publicly said they are ready to face the electorate at any time, but have quietly admitted that administratively and financially they are not in a position to contest a general election.

In her Budget presentation, Simpson Miller had dared the Government to "bring on the election", but added that "The Opposition stands ready to respond in a constructive manner, inclusive of dialogue with the Government, to ensure that the best interests of the country and its people are protected."

False reports anger Bounty's management bounty_guyana.jpgThe management of ace deejay Rodney Pryce, aka Bounty Killer is extremely perturbed over the false reports that surfaced on the internet and in the Jamaican media that the artiste was stoned at a show in Guyana last weekend. During a radio interview yesterday, Bounty Killer's Senior Security Consultant, Mendez, said the reports in the media are totally erroneous, as he was on location at the concert in Guyana and no such incident took place. Further, Bounty Killer's manager, Julian Jones-Griffith emphasized that the reports were untrue and said he was appalled that the media houses refused to call him or the artiste before putting out such an erroneous story. All this is stemming from reports which circulated that Bounty Killer was bottled in Guyana at a concert held there last Saturday.
Stores Plant Mosquitos To Repel Youth

Thursday April 24, 2008

A noise-making device that drives away rowdy youth with an irritating high-pitched squeal has quietly landed on Canadian shores after a raucous European debut.

The Mosquito emits a high-frequency screech that can be heard only by young ears, raising claims of discrimination in some European quarters while giving hundreds of business owners peace and quiet from unruly young crowds.

Bureaucrats from the City of Montreal are studying whether the device could legally be used to clear young drug dealers and bums from scary city tunnels, but the machine is already a hit among some West Coast businesses.

So far 150 Mosquitos with a starting price of $1,250 have been sold in Canada. British Columbia has the most customers so far, although test units have also been installed in Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Moving Sound Technologies Inc., the Mosquito's Vancouver-based distributor, has set up sales offices in Toronto and Montreal, anticipating big demand will follow sunny spring weather.

"It's awesome," said Lisa Deacon, manager of the 57 Below Bar and Liquor Store in New Westminster, B.C. The bar was one of the first North American businesses to try the device, in 2006.

"It turns on at night and keeps away all the young punks who hang out at the SkyTrain station."

Two Mac's convenience stores in Victoria have used the Mosquito to clear out drug dealers while two others in Richmond, B.C., have used the squealing machine to clear massive crowds of teenagers.

"We use them to deal with a worst-case scenario," said Geoff Higuchi, operations manager for Mac's in B.C.

"We love kids, kids are huge part of our business. So it's not the be-all, end-all tool, but it's one more tool to add to the arsenal if other methods don't work, such as policing."

The Mosquito, created by Welsh inventor Howard Stapleton, emits a pulsing noise above 16,000 hertz that capitalizes on the fact most humans can catch the mind-numbing frequency only between the age of 13 and 25.

The sound is not especially loud at 85 decibels but is extremely irritating for young, sensitive ears.

The device, which disperses even the most determined youthful crowd, is designed to operate for 20 minutes, although some schools and parks use it overnight to prevent vandalism.

"I think it is a shame to add yet more noise into the environment, but it is a little bit of a case of what else can you do," Stapleton said from his home in Wales.

"It doesn't hurt them, it's simply so damned annoying that they won't hang around. They move away, customers return to shops, and people end up getting the peaceful life that they have paid for and they deserve."

The discriminatory nature of the Mosquito has raised a buzz of opposition among some European human rights advocates who say the 13-to-25 set have the right to gather in parking lots and on library front steps. Some European politicians have called for a ban.

Quebec's human rights watchdog is raising similar concerns, saying young people have the right to assemble in public places in peace and quiet, just like adults.

"What's problematic is that it targets an entire segment of population, everyone under 25 years of age, even people who have nothing to do with stories of vandalism," said Diep Truong of the province's human rights and youth rights commission.

"It aims far too widely. It presumes they're all causing disturbances."

The machine has especially caught on in the UK, where some 5,000 have been sold to counter the loutish "yob" behaviour that has become a particular problem. In many British cities, young drinkers routinely mill about on the streets after closing time, getting into fistfights and vandalizing stores.

"I get reamed out by the human rights people, but what else are you supposed to do?" Stapleton said.

"When you were a lad of 12 or 13, you wouldn't have spat into the face of a police officer and told him (where to go.) That's what's happening here in the UK. They know how far they can push without getting into trouble. There's very little police can do about general bad behaviour."

Stapleton invented the device a few years ago, after his 15-year-old daughter was hara**ed by a gang of teenage boys at a store.

When the security engineer complained to the shopkeeper, the hapless merchant challenged Stapleton to come up with a solution.

The inventor first thought of the attempts some stores in North America had made to play classical music in malls and other areas where youth congregate. But Britain outlaws playing music outside stores after 9 p.m., plus merchants would have to pay a performance licensing fee for playing the music.

That's when his mind cast back to his youth, when he was an early teen visiting a factory where he was assaulted by a high-pitched sound the adults couldn't hear.

Stapleton tested the device on his five children before using it to disperse the rowdy gang at his neighbourhood store.

"I used my children as guinea pigs because I don't actually hear the device myself," he said.

He expected he would build and install a few machines a year "to help pay for the kids' Christmas presents."

Instead, the company had nearly $2 million in sales last year.

"I never realized the size of the problem," Stapleton said.
ridebebeWOI HOPE U HAV A WICKED NIGHT AND DAY cyrude BIG UP YOURSELF BLESS

LONDON (AFP) - Former prime minister Tony Blair was left red-faced when he was caught travelling on a train without a ticket and said he had no cash to pay the fare, a report said on Wednesday.

Blair, who has earned around 500,000 pounds on the speaking circuit since leaving office in June, was confronted by a ticket inspector as he travelled to Heathrow airport to catch a flight to the United States on Monday, the Daily Mail newspaper reported.

He said he had no cash for the 24.50 pounds fare because money an aide had given him was no longer in his pocket.

The newspaper, quoting Blair's spokesman, said his bodyguard offered to pay the ticket, but the inspector said he could travel for free.

Blair, 54, has taken up a post as the Middle East envoy for the international Quartet -- the European Union, Russia, the United Nations and the United States.

He also has a lucrative part-time post as advisor to Wall Street bank JP Morgan and advises Swiss company Zurich Financial Services on a range of issues including climate change.

Blair's spokesman was unavailable for comment.

It look like some woman love beaten By: Buffilous Buffilous.jpgYeah man a mi Buffilous and dis time, mi mad, cross, angry and miserable, cause mi really, really tiad a di fool fool woman dem out deh who siddung inna situation and galang like sey dem love it. Although mi done come to di conclusion dat some woman just enjoy when dem man buss up dem face and tun dem inna a punching bag whey boxer use. But den again, maybe dem tink sey a love di man a show...mi nuh really know cause mi have dis sicko friend a mine whey meck mi feel like mi waan gi har two lick just fi have sense. Cause she claim sey nuff time she pick argument wid har man just fi him get vex and lick out har backside and den when him done him gi har a proper fixing...damn! Den she so obsessed dat she doan trust him one inch. Di minute him tun him back and left him phone careless a she dat inna it a search through it. She look fi girl names and gawn inna di message outbox, fi si if him a send out any sexy message to any woman...and if she come cross anyting suspicious, she get vex and fling it a grung and dats the last of a good working phone...mi nuh have to tell unno what come after...yeah more lick him in har backside and den dem meck up again. Jeez! But peeps, yuh know di sickest ting of all she claim sey sey she love when after him beat har, dem meck up and is a di best sex a har life she get! Lawks, a whey di world a come to man. It suh sweet dat all di nex' day she pick argument again and repeat di cycle. It get so bad, dat even if people hear him a kill har dem nah interfere cause dem know she enjoy it...somebody please help da woman yah! Me kno a nuff unnuh out deh tan like har, so some a unnuh nuh badda gwan like seh a she alone tan so. All a di ooman dem weh love wen dem man beat dem and den mek up afta, mek it known. Posted by yardFlex at April 23, 2008 10:21 AM
Microsoft Corp. CEO Steve Ballmer offered a glimmer of hope on Thursday to fans of the company's XP operating system, saying the company may reconsider its decision to stop selling XP soon.

But Ballmer was adamant that "most people who buy PCs today buy them with Vista."

"That's the statistical truth," he told reporters at a news conference at Louvain-La-Neuve University. "If customer feedback varies, we can always wake up smarter."

Fans of the six-year-old operating system set to be pulled off store shelves by June 30 have plastered the Internet with blog posts, cartoons and petitions recently. They trumpet its superiority to Windows Vista, Microsoft's latest PC operating system, whose consumer launch in January was greeted with lukewarm reviews.

Ballmer said the customers buying PCs with XP are IT departments who are having trouble shifting old machines to newer technology.

Some 160,000 people already have signed an online Save XP Web petition who want Microsoft to keep selling it until the next version of Windows is released, currently targeted for 2010.

Men and the right to abort

April 24, 2008
Started By Crazypickney0 Comments

Whenever the issue of abortion is raised, more often than not, it is seen as an issue about women, for obvious reasons.

Only women can choose (except in extreme situations of physical compulsion or threat) to terminate pregnancy, but abortion is an issue with which men, too, have to grapple. Although we do not feel physical pain, we go through emotional trauma when our partners have an abortion. Our lives are affected, too.

Role of men

Most people forget that men play an important role in childbearing. Men's views on abortion are as important as women's. Sperm is part of us. Although sometimes it may appear otherwise, we do care about the children that we father. This is why some of us are willing to accept children that women say are ours when they belong to another man, hence the 'jacket' phenomenon. Some of us even marry a woman who is pregnant for another man and willingly father the child when he/she is born as we would our very own. We love children.

Honesty of women

Men want women to be honest with us. Sometimes, we are tricked into fathering children that we are not ready for. Women tell us that they are taking birth-control pills when they are not, so they end up getting pregnant when we least expect this to happen.

Men are as divided on the issue of abortion as are women. Some of us see nothing wrong with abortion on demand while others see this as a murderous act and will only agree to an abortion if the woman's life is threatened.

For some of us, not even rape is a credible enough reason for having an abortion. It depends on who the rapist is. Let me hasten to say that rape is wrong and can never be justified under any circumstance. I am also aware of the fact that not every time a woman says that she was raped, she is speaking the truth. Sometimes, women tell lies to embarra** and humiliate men they want to hurt.

Some people may argue that abortion is an issue about 'rights', and only women should have the right to decide whether or not they want to carry a child. This is the case when women can have children all by themselves. They do not need our sperm. I don't care if they become pregnant by artificial means. Women cannot produce sperm. Eggs alone cannot produce children. Therefore, women should not be the only ones to choose to terminate a pregnancy. The father of the child should be involved in the decision-making process.

Consent for abortion

In cases where abortion is allowed, the father of the child should be required to sign a document demonstrating his consent. One may ask, what if the father refuses? In such a case, the Family Court should decide whether or not an abortion should be allowed.

The matter of the length of time it takes for a ruling to be obtained from the Family Court may be raised. The urgency of such a case is obvious. The court should deal with this matter expeditiously. Either the man or the woman will be unhappy with the ruling of the court. Obviously, both cannot win. But the views of both the man and the woman would have been taken into consideration. This is a thorny issue.

Men and women should think long and hard about the possible consequences of being involved long before there is any need to consider the issue of an abortion.

Louis Vuitton

April 24, 2008
Started By Dee Dre1 Comments
Check out this wedsite and buy all you favourate Louis Vuitton products.
All you need is your credit card, ITS THE BEST
http://www.louisvuitton.com/

PALO ALTO, Calif. - Palo Alto police are looking for a bank robber who favors a decidedly slow-speed getaway vehicle an electric wheelchair. Police said a man in his 60s with gray hair and a beard held up the Wachovia Bank branch at the Stanford Shopping Center late this afternoon with a black handgun.

ADVERTISEMENT

After the stickup, he left in his wheelchair and was last seen motoring down a nearby street toward El Camino Real, a major thoroughfare.

Witnesses say the man's legs were wrapped in bandages and his right leg was sticking straight out while he zoomed away.

Police are looking for a white Ford van that the suspect may have been hoisted into after the robbery.

Investigators don't know whether the wheelchair was just a prop or whether the suspect was truly disabled.

Sex with my second cousin

April 5, 2008
Started By alligcold33 Comments
Dear Pastor,

I am a 17-year-old girl. I am currently living in the United States. When I was in Jamaica, I had a sexual relationship with my second cousin and at the same time I had a boyfriend. I love both of them and we still in keep touch.

My problem is that I am not sure if I want to be with any of them anymore. I don't want to be in a love triangle. I love them, but I don't want to continue creeping around with my cousin and I am not sure if my boyfriend will feel the same way after being apart for two years. I talk to both of them on a regular basis, almost every night. They seem sincere when they say 'I love you'.

People may think that because you are young you don't know the real meaning of love, but I think age is just a number.

Pastor, please give me your advice on what you think I should do. Thank you and keep up your good work.

T. L., Florida, USA

Dear T. L.,

You are only 17 years old and you have made mistakes. I suggest that you stop calling these guys. Let the relationships that you had with your cousin and the other young man die.

You are not comfortable letting anybody know that your cousin and yourself had a sexual relationship. Tell him that now that you have looked back, you believe that both of you shouldn't have had sex and you don't want him to think of you as his girl.

Tell the other young man that you have your doubts about the relationship and you want to bring it to an end. You may wish to add that when you grow older, if both of you are still single and you are sure of yourself, you can consider each other again, but for now it is over.

Pastor

-- Edited by alligcold at 10:27, 2008-04-05

G Maffiah heads to Grenada 23 Apr 2008 | by Phlex, Staff Writer G_Maffiah.jpgKingston 6 recording artiste G Maffiah will be heading to Grenada for the first time this weekend. "Things have been going great, I performed in Sligoville last weekend alongside LUST, and I was in Christiana with Sizzla and Peppa before that, and I have been getting a great response from the people. My new single, 'Been Around the World' is getting good rotation on IRIE and Hitz, and the calls have been coming in for shows. I will be in New York on June 28th and I just got a call for a show in Israel in June," he told One876Entertainment.com. G Maffiah's 'Rise It' is #6 on the New York dancehall charts.
pril 23, 2008. Who said hip hop isn't real. MediaTakeOut.com has learned that hip hop star Treach from the group Naughty By Nature may have been involved in a shoot out in Newark, NJ.

According to reports, police were called to the scene when they were told a gun battle was taking place. When they arrived, MediaTakeout.com has learned that Treach was found fleeing the scene in his truck (a Hummer) wearing a bullet proof vest!!!

Treach reportedly told police he was not involved in the shooting and no firearms were found in his vehicle. One was found, however, a few yards away. No word yet on what charges, if any will be filed against Treach.

The police do not believe that anyone was injured in the shooting.

Developing...
Penthouse Records has announced an amicable separation from artiste, Buju Banton. In a statement issued recently, CEO of Penthouse, Donovan Germain said, "I have been guiding and managing the career of Buju Banton for the last 18 years and the time has come for this chapter to close." He added that having dedicated the last 18 years to building Buju Banton's career, taking him from obscurity to the pinnacle of international stardom, it was with a sense of pride that he relinquished the management of the artist, to move on to other activities. Germain further stated, "First and foremost, I am a producer and after spending so many years on the road touring, I now feel the need to get back in the studio and get really involved in the production side of the music."

split between two girls

April 20, 2008
Started By steppa31 Comments
if u had a girl from long time weh u love n go tru nuff thing but at the moment u kno really have the same feelings fi har but on the other hand you have a new girl weh u a feel oddddd n all u want do a chill with the new girl but it come 2 it where u have 2 choose 1 wat would u do........... n the opposite 4 di girls

The disaster

April 23, 2008
Started By steamj3 Comments
The diasaster which took place in Ocho Rios the other day, Was it natural or physical? give ous ur take.

BENTONVILLE, Ark. - Sam's Club, the membership warehouse division of Wal-Mart Stores Inc., is limiting how much rice customers can buy because of what it calls "recent supply and demand trends."

ADVERTISEMENT

The broader chain of Wal-Mart stores has no plans to limit food purchases, however.

Sam's Club says it will limit customers to four bags at a time of Jasmine, Basmati and long grain white rice. Rice prices have been hitting record highs recently on worries about tight supplies.

Sam's Club's restriction is effective immediately at all locations where quantity restrictions are allowed by law. It does not apply to other staples such as flour or oil.

Legalise prostitution?

April 22, 2008
Started By alligcold9 Comments

We're back! THE STAR poll is here once again and dare we say, better than ever. We 'hit' the streets with all the juiciest questions about sex, obeah, music, religion and much more and now we're ready to give you the results. Prepare to be shocked and amused like never before.

Prostitution and whether it should be legalised, has long been a hot topic. Many people believe it will never go away and, therefore, should be made legal. Others think legalising it would send the wrong message. We wanted to get more opinions, so we asked :

Do you think prostitution should be legalised in Jamaica or should it continue to be against the law? Here's what we were told :

Legalise prostitution.......12%

Continue to be

against the law.................86%

Don't Know.........................2%

Clearly the vast majority of those polled want prostitution to remain illegal. A whopping 86% of respondents said they would not want it to be legalised. On the other hand, 12% said it should be.

It would be interesting to hear this 12% explain why the trade should be legalised and how this would benefit society.

The poll was conducted on January 28-29 by Johnson Survey Research Limited.

Sample size: 1008 residents

Promoter sets Bounty/bottling incident straight 23 Apr 2008 | by K'riq Bounty_Killer.jpgOne876Entertainment.com received a release sent by Wildfire Productions, promoter of the Ignition Concert held in Guyana over the weekend. According to several media, Bounty Killer was bottled for his anti-gay lyrics during his set. In a report yesterday, One876Entertainment.com reached out to Bountys manager who gave us information on what transpired at the event, see promoters release below. As we have just concluded our IGNITION CONCERT for 2008 we would like to give an official statement about the event and some of the occurrences at the end of the show. As the production company controlling this event we accept and take blame that there was some disorder during the main and final act Bounty Killer due to the sound & light company technical difficulties. We wish to clarify what happened and make it clear as to why things unfolded the way they did. There are international news stories that have reported incorrectly based on a certain newspapers spin on the concert. We are not saying that there wasnt a problem that caused a chain reaction of events, but there needs to be some clarity as to what happened since the reporter was very inadequate in doing her job. She has made statements quoting from us when she has never officially spoken to any representative from Wildfire Productions. First of all there were no major problems for the night until the sound & light company had severe problems with their equipment. This happened about 20 minutes into Bounty Killers performance. The entire sound and lights shut down due to negligence on their part. Bounty Killer showed extreme patience and sat on the stage and waited for the power to return. It came on again for approximately 10 minutes which Bounty hyped the crowd only for the sound company to lose power again. Bounty, unlike his usual self, sat down on the stage again to show the Guyanese people that he had no intention of giving a short performance nor intended to leave. When the sound was back up again Bounty apologized for them and asked the people to please be patient and that these things happen. The crowd was with Bounty all the way, but then the sound went down for a third time. At this time it was 2:05 a.m. and the police said it was cut off time as they did not see the sound getting back up again efficiently. At this time Bounty was instructed to leave the stage, and this upset the patrons there as they wanted more of Bounty Killer. This frustration led to bottles being hurled at the stage in protest of Bounty coming off prematurely. One newspaper made it appear that bottles were thrown at Bounty Killer because of his lyrics and performance but this was not the case. As we can report the bottles were hurled as a result of the power outage from the sound system so many times, and for the fact that people did not get to see the main act Bounty Killer which they wanted to see. As there was no power for the emcee to call for order on the mic, the police took matters into their hands and fired off some warning shots to disperse the crowd and to stop the bottle throwing before someone got hurt. This worked effectively as the bottles stopped immediately and the crowd exited the venue. People left safely as there were no reports from the hospital of injuries the next day. While the problems that were encountered are not the direct fault of Wildfire Productions we do accept some amount of responsibility. We understand that we need to be more stringent with our suppliers such as the sound & light company since they have caused us much embarra**ment and potential danger for not being efficient with their equipment. Also, the bar service that were serving beverages deterred from our agreement and sold them from the bottles instead of plastic cups. This was totally unacceptable and they too had endangered persons there. However, as this has already happened we can only implement a more strict and severe penalty clause on suppliers who do not work efficiently and accordingly to our instructions. We would like to thank the thousands of fans who came out to the Ignition Concert and as reports had it, they enjoyed themselves thoroughly with the exception of the ending part of the show. We once again apologize for the chain reaction of events that occurred and will work harder to ensure that it doesnt repeat itself.

18-y-o stabbed to death

April 23, 2008
Started By Crazypickney20 Comments

A teenager was stabbed to death yesterday by a group of men including male students in the Half-Way Tree, St Andrew, area.

Police reports are that at 3:30 p.m., 18-year-old Raymond Walters also known as 'Boysie' was walking along Constant Spring Road near the transportation centre when he was approached by a group of Corporate Area students among other men.

The group, the police say, reportedly stabbed him several times in the left side of his chest before fleeing the scene.

Walters succumbed to his injuries while undergoing treatment at the Kingston Public Hospital.

Police have neither established a motive nor have they identified any suspects in connection with the killing.

According to the police, one of the alleged attackers was identified only as 'Face'.
he mother of the two-year-old boy who was left at the City Centre Police Station on Monday has been taken into custody.

Nickiesha Bucknall, 23, of Bottom Lynster, Scotts Hall, St Mary, has been charged with creating public mischief and child abandonment.

Bucknall left the child at the police station and told officers that she had done his 'mother's' hair and she had abandoned him. With the help of the public, however, investigating officer, District Constable Collin Markes, discovered that Bucknall was in fact the mother and she was arrested and charged.

She is to appear in the Family Court today.

CHAT WITH DASECA!

April 23, 2008
Started By alligcold0 Comments

STARLEFT_1_PADSNDASECABAM.jpg 

Fans, this is your opportunity for a one-on-one chat with DASECA and Bugle.

Bugle, Serani, Craig and David will be at The Gleaner offices this Tuesday, April 29, for the phone and online chat. Persons can log on to www.gojamaica.com between 5-6 p.m. for the online chat followed by the phone at 1-888-THE STAR (843-7827)

This is your chance to ask the artistes and producers all those burning questions that have been on your mind all month!!

A lucky producer will have the chance to get his or her songs heard and chosen by DASECA productions. All interested producers are being asked to submit a song he or she has produced. The song will be continuously streamed on www.jamaica-star.com.

Once your track has been chosen, it will be streamed on the STAR's online website where the public will get the chance to vote for their favourite. Once the entries have been short-listed, the DASECA producers will pick their favourite and assist the producer in getting his or her name out in the business.

Producers are to send a copy of the song on CD to 'STAR Producer's Pick', The Gleaner Company, 7 North Street, Kingston, Jamaica.

Entries close Wednesday April 23.

Send in those tracks now!

The Low Road to Victory

April 23, 2008
Started By alligcold0 Comments

The Pennsylvania campaign, which produced yet another inconclusive result on Tuesday, was even meaner, more vacuous, more desperate, and more filled with pandering than the mean, vacuous, desperate, pander-filled contests that preceded it.

Voters are getting tired of it; it is demeaning the political process; and it does not work. It is past time for Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton to acknowledge that the negativity, for which she is mostly responsible, does nothing but harm to her, her opponent, her party and the 2008 election.

If nothing else, self interest should push her in that direction. Mrs. Clinton did not get the big win in Pennsylvania that she needed to challenge the calculus of the Democratic race. It is true that Senator Barack Obama outspent her 2-to-1. But Mrs. Clinton and her advisers should mainly blame themselves, because, as the political operatives say, they went heavily negative and ended up squandering a good part of what was once a 20-point lead.

On the eve of this crucial primary, Mrs. Clinton became the first Democratic candidate to wave the *lo**y shirt of 9/11. A Clinton television ad torn right from Karl Roves playbook evoked the 1929 stock market crash, Pearl Harbor, the Cuban missile crisis, the cold war and the 9/11 attacks, complete with video of Osama bin Laden. If you cant stand the heat, get out of the kitchen, the narrator intoned.

If that was supposed to bolster Mrs. Clintons argument that she is the better prepared to be president in a dangerous world, she sent the opposite message on Tuesday morning by declaring in an interview on ABC News that if Iran attacked Israel while she were president: We would be able to totally obliterate them.

By staying on the attack and not engaging Mr. Obama on the substance of issues like terrorism, the economy and how to organize an orderly exit from Iraq, Mrs. Clinton does more than just turn off voters who dont like negative campaigning. She undercuts the rationale for her candidacy that led this page and others to support her: that she is more qualified, right now, to be president than Mr. Obama.

Mr. Obama is not blameless when it comes to the negative and vapid nature of this campaign. He is increasingly rising to Mrs. Clintons bait, undercutting his own claims that he is offering a higher more inclusive form of politics. When she criticized his comments about bitter voters, Mr. Obama mocked her as an Annie Oakley wannabe. All that does is remind Americans who are on the fence about his relative youth and inexperience.

No matter what the high-priced political operatives (from both camps) may think, it is not a disadvantage that Mr. Obama and Mrs. Clinton share many of the same essential values and sensible policy prescriptions. It is their strength, and they are doing their best to make voters forget it. And if they think that only Democrats are paying attention to this spectacle, theyre wrong.

After seven years of George W. Bushs failed with-us-or-against-us presidency, all American voters deserve to hear a nuanced debate right now and through the general campaign about how each candidate will c****at terrorism, protect civil liberties, address the housing crisis and end the war in Iraq.

It is getting to be time for the superdelegates to do what the Democrats had in mind when they created superdelegates: settle a *lo**y race that cannot be won at the ballot box. Mrs. Clinton once had a big lead among the party elders, but has been steadily losing it, in large part because of her negative campaign. If she is ever to have a hope of persuading these most loyal of Democrats to come back to her side, let alone win over the larger body of voters, she has to call off the dogs.

"A Wha duh bl**dclaat Bounty?" - Monster Shack Crew

A coulda wha duh bl**dclaat Bounty,
from DAngel f**k pon him,
him a move like a junky,
listen mi promptly,
yuh tek man fi punky,
bout man nuh badda than yuh shoes,
but yuh nuh badda than mi pumpy (gun)
When Kartel mince up yuh head wid di kitchen axe,
Yuh neva call up him name or diss him back.

OutAroad.com gets to understand that an unpleasant atmosphere has once again crept into the dancehall. What was once rumored to be a misunderstanding between the Monster Empire and Bounty Killer, the leader of the Alliance, has now blossomed into reality.

The feud began at Pashion Sundayz between Bounty Killer and Harry Toddler a.k.a. Blonde Ras. From there it took a turn for the worse when the Monster Empire voiced a song on the 90s Rhythm defining the situation; Nuh bowy (Bounty) caan juk out mi eye like Harry Toddler. The song, produced by Suku from Ward 21, got the Killer cross, angry, and miserable.

It is said that Bounty Killer heard the song and got upset over the situation and immediately recorded a counteraction that targeted the Empire. Both songs have being getting crazy rotation on the airwaves and this has pushed the situation to a boiling point.

The Monster Empire have taken it to another level as they have outright called Bounty Killer name in a song that was voiced on the Unfinished Business Rhythm, produced by TJ (TJ Records). Monster Empire plans to be the hottest dancehall group leading into the summer and have began recording a plethora of songs.

The question is, will Harry Toddler from Scare Dem Crew defend himself, as it is stink in the streets that hes a coward. OutAroad.com will keep you up to date on the situation as it develops as we were tipped off that Bounty Killer is going to hit back hard.

You can listen to Monster Empires song on the music player.

TO THE WORLD <<<>>THE ONE AND ONLY<<>> CRAFTY YUTE TO WALK THE EARTH

tumor.jpg

A Vietnamese girl with a 17-pound facial tumor is awaiting life-saving surgery that will restore her ability to eat and speak.Lai Thi Dao, 15, suffers from a Schwannoma tumor that has been growing since she was 3. The tumor has severely disfigured her face and kept her from attending school."She had been with no treatment for the last 10 years," said Dr. Jesus Gomez, who is performing the surgery. "Something that started like a small black bean at the tongue now has become this huge tumor."

Doctors at the University of Miami's Jackson Memorial Hospital said the tumor, likely the largest Schwannoma tumor ever reported in the world, has grown so large that she has difficulty talking, eating and sleeping. They said it would likely cut off her throat's passageway, which could cause her to suffocate.The tumor is scheduled to be removed in a 10-hour surgery April 29.The International Kids Fund is trying to raise money to help pay for her surgery.To make a tax-deductable donation, send a check or money order payable to the International Kids Fund at:International Kids Fund
Re: Lai Thi Dao
P.O. Box 2020
Miami, FL 33101
1-877-IKF-KIDS

Kanye West apologises...BADANG!!!

April 23, 2008
Started By lyndo 7 Comments
Kanye West apologises kanye-west-glow-in-the-dark-tour.jpgRapper Kanye West has begged concert-goers at his recent Sacramento, California gig for forgiveness, after he gave a shout out to the city during his show-- but accidentally called out 'Seattle', this according a report on Starpulse.com. The "Stronger" singer was performing at the ARCO Arena in Sacramento as part of his Glow In The Dark Tour on Friday, when he made the slip up during the song "Good Life"...just two days after playing in Seattle, Washington. West only realized his mistake when the audience failed to respond to his shout out, and he admits he tried to pretend as if nothing had happened by mumbling the words for the remainder of the song. In a new internet blog post titled 'Please forgive me Sac-Town', he writes: "I can't believe I bust a spinal tap! It's no excuse for this I wish I could sink in a black whole (sic). When I said Seattle and there was no crowd response I was up on my spaceship platform thinking damn... I think I just said the wrong city!!!!! I kind of muffled the words so I was praying nobody really caught it. I guess all those hours that me and Phill spent making my mic clear as possible back fired on me! We had a lot of problems with the video servers on the first 3 songs and that completely threw me off! Hey, I'm not perfect. Hope everybody had a good time. I'm a man, I can say it... I'm sorry." Posted by yardFlex at April 23, 2008 10:06 AM

Reggae I-Tunes website launched

April 20, 2008
Started By steppz25 Comments

reggae_itunes.jpgA new initiative has come out of the United Kingdom to boost reggae music even more. Reggae I-Tunes was launched at www.reggaeitunes.com recently and its full service website gives visitors the opportunity to above all else, access samples from international reggae artists as well as independent artists and labels from around the world.

"This has been some time in the making, and we are pleased with the launch of the site. The people told us that they wanted a full service website and we are happy to deliver. It is our intent to provide them with the best experience, while generating revenue for and from our viable industry," said Steven Angus, President and CEO of Reggae I-Tunes.

While the site is all encompassing of everything to do with the reggae culture, its online store that facilitates unrestricted purchasing of any music heard on the site, has already become a source of pride and not to mention profit for the new company owners. When music is purchased, a portion of the sales is paid directly to the artists and producer, Reggae I-Tunes reports.

The multi-faceted site allows those who log on to enjoy a diverse mix of Reggae music by way of their radio component that operates, using their extensive and growing music library.

Distribution, marketing and a wide gamut of services are available at the new Reggae I-Tunes site, making it well worth the visit to check them out.

4-16-08-cellphone-robber.jpg
Make no mistake, we've seen some fairly boneheaded moves (even someone rocking this very same gaffe!) made by technologically-illiterate bank robbers, but the latest case involves a fellow who was quite the opposite of that. Yes, the 20 to 25 year male who decided to hold up an Alabama bank the day before his taxes were due actually did the deed without hanging up his cellphone. And there's surveillance footage to prove it. Quite honestly, we can't imagine what the conversation here would've been like, but at least he made the most of whatever minutes he had remaining as a free man, right?
Tuesday Coffee Break - Royal Palm Estate and D'Angel? 22 Apr 2008 | by Abena, Freelance Writer Many rivers to cross and I can't seem to find my way overJamaica, the food prices dem a murder we, even bag juice raise to $80 fi the 12 pack. My God, the people dem ah feel it, mi feel so bad fi dem but right now ah just survival of the fittest. Mi did plan fi big up the cologne dem pon mi dressa, the Prada, the Givenchy, the Glow etcetera, but mi nah badda. But mi still plan fi talk up de tings dem 'bout some dutty gal who feel say dem fi hot inna the dance and dem pickney ah drink powdered milk fi breakfast, lunch and dinner. Abena to the world mi say, big up Claude Mills, big up K'riq, A.K.A, yu a de real boss, Phlex, yu large. Racquel, how yu like Beenie and Friends show last week? Schoolgirl, Gerricurl, and the whole entourage, love oonu! ROYAL PALM ESTATE AND D'ANGEL? DAngel2.jpgMi go Royal Palm Estate launch last night and it appears that D'Angel will debut in the show as 'Rainbow', a top international model who comes to Jamaica to interview Tanya Blackburn fi a New York cable station. Bwoy, dem caan stop dis girl, she overabundant like oxygen, her ambition is like an insatiable beast, Jamaica affi go love her when she done or mi no know wah she ah go do to herself. Mi anxious fi hear her inna the role fi see if she have the foreign accent. She is the second Bounty Killer ex-girlfriend fi mek it to Royal Palm Estate now. Grace-Ann, tek yu forward, ah yu mek it to Royal Palm first. CVM CREW STEP UP INNA LIFE How Candiece ah blast go Ochi so often inna her big bad Suzuki? Who is the mystery man? is a Beyonce-Jay Z under cover ting yu a pull off? Milk, who is this high roller mi see yu a eat dinner with at the expensive Max Chop House? Mi no know, Winford, yu a de real high roller, the new Mitsubishi Pajero ah mad dem. Tai Tai, mi hear say yu graduate to Big Man Status now because yu have a bambino who just born. Tai Tai, big man ting, when yu a go back fi the next one? BEAUTIES IN MIX UP Facebook war ah gwaan between a popular Ms. Jamaica Universe contestant and a certain well-known dancehall queen. Mi hear say the contestant come in like a big red ants inna her milk and nuh stop talk up tings about her weight and all these things, so is like some incriminating photos did emerge wid the Ms. Jamaica Universe contests which the dancehall queen did plan fi release over the Net if she did eva win the contest. Like how she finish down the track, mi no know how the picture ah go now, but Jamaica, mi still waan see dem. Buss the pictures dem, send dem to One876 please. WELL-EQUIPPED POSTPONED TILL Why the police dem mash up the Well Equipped show next week? Rachel, no mind, just get back a proper venue and do the ting over, zeen. The police dem coulda more than work with the programme, the show lock down before it even start, Jah know star. THE PEOPLE WAAN FI KNOW Why dem people de bruk fight at Beenie Man show last weekend? Why dem a try bring the funny business inna everything? Mi read say dem play cricket wid a PINK cricket ball inna England this week. Why dem bother wid dem cheesy looking crown at the Magnum Kings and Queens contest Saturday night? How Beenie Man sperm so aggressive? Ah some Muslim terrorist sperm him have, the egg dem caan escape? How much this, seven and counting
bounty_guyana.jpg
Rodney Pryce aka Bounty Killer was attacked during a performance in Guyana on Sunday night. The night was marred by a faulty music system and sporadic gunfire, this according to reports.

The performance, dubbed the "Ignition Concert" featured several top Jamaican artistes.

According to reports out of Guyana, the show was well attended but constant audio mishaps and an abrupt end to the event enraged patrons who paid up to US$25 or over G$5,000 to enter the National Park for the event.

Bounty Killer was the closing act at the concert and despite public appeals for him to tone down his lyrics, it is reported that his songs were controversial.

Gunshots reportedly rang out in the arena minutes before Bounty Killer went on stage and again when the show came to a premature end.

As a result, patrons sought shelter on some of the wooden stands during the shooting.

Managing Director of Wildfire Productions Jonathan Beepat said the police fired two warning shots to control the crowd after Bounty Killer's performance was interrupted by technical problems.

However, the police have denied firing any shots.

Prior to his performance, the local gay community in Guyana had lobbied the organizers urging them not to allow Bounty Killer to bash gays.

Passa Passa

April 20, 2008
Started By steppz16 Comments

barbie_doll.jpgWha dis we really a hear bout the DOLLY? She coulda really so fool-fool fi go mek him wid fi him history go do dat to har? A wonder if a dats why she a stay way from di Rock so long? She did fi come fi show right after British Link-Up and all now we cyan bless we eye pon har. But, as dem say, a sump'ng a come, a no sump'ng a go.

------------------------------

Beenie Man bredda deh pon rape charge

Bwoy what a way Beenie Man name can call up. All when him huh do nutten him name get inna di mix a tings. One a him bredda now before di courts fi rape cause him rape him odda bredda girlfriend. But a wha kinda wutless living dat dough eeh. Anyway yuh look at it him double wrong. Yuh wrong fi teck whey people nuh gi yuh and it wuss when a yuh owna bredda tings yuh a pouch pon.

YardFlex undastan sey inna 2004, she guh a di house and har boyfriend go out and she go drop a sleep. She feel like smady a caress har and she tink a fi har boyfriend. before she know it di odda bredda done inna three minutes...di case deh before di court...we wi tell yuh more

------------------------------

sanchez_passa.jpgBut a wha di big singer really a galang wid. It look like him is a real rolling stone. Fus, him lef yaad a follow back-a wifey gaawn a foreign, den it look like di dolly house bruck down, him run come back a yaad, buy big vehicle and claim seh him a producer. We see him di odda day and him mawga dung to skin and bone. Two tings we haffi tell him: when you a lick chalice hard you need fi eat good food, and second, you need fi tek you career serious and get a manager and while yuh at it fling in a publicist tuh!

MIDDLE-INCOME Jamaicans who benefit from National Housing Trust (NHT) mortgages will pay up to 33.3 per cent more in interest rates on loans, Bruce Golding announced in his debut Budget Debate presentation as prime minister yesterday.

The revised interest rate structure, which takes effect on June 1, will see mortgages in the five per cent interest rate band moving to six per cent, and those in the six per cent, range moving to eight per cent, the prime minister told the nation during a marathon presentation in the House of Representatives.

NHT beneficiaries who earn between $10,001-$20,000.99 will now move to the six per cent band, and persons who earned $20,001 and over per week, will, move to eight per cent.

The increase in NHT rates comes days after Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller pleaded with Golding not to raise interests.

Conflicting views

Simpson Miller told Golding during her contribution to the 2008-2009 Budget Debates last Thursday that the NHT was not in trouble.

Yesterday, however, Golding tabled a document entitled 'The Financial Viability Model: Proposals and Projections', which indicated: "For the year ending March 31, 2008, the financial projections for the National Housing Trust show the organisation registeringan operating deficit of over $500 million."

The trust's financial viability model forecasts surplus reaching $2.6 billion at the end of the 2012-2013 fiscal year. The trust had recorded a surplus of $528.1 million in the 2006-2007 fiscal year.

Golding, arguing the non-compliance of the past administration to pay over NHT deductions to the trust has contributed to its financial position, revealed the trust is owed $20 billion by Government.

The prime minister also blasted the former People's National Party government for using the Trust's funds to build houses under the Inner-City Housing Project (ICHP) and Operation Pride projects.

Use of funds

"I believe it is wrong to use NHT funds to provide houses for persons who have never contributed to the Trust, while many who have contributed are still waiting for a benefit," Golding said.

More than $2 billion in NHT funds has been spent on the ICHP of approximately $5 billion committed for the project. Another $3 billion of the trust's funds has been spent on Operation Pride projects.

The increase in the rates for NHT beneficiaries will result in increased revenue of approximately $2.63 billion over the five-year period, the document said.

In a swift response, Simpson Miller said the Opposition would be studying the NHT annual report and would be cross-referencing it with Golding's presentation.

"We are going to be double-checking what the annual report says and what Mr Golding said about the solvency of the fund. The annual report does not suggest that there is a solvency problem," Simpson Miller told The Gleaner yesterday.

After 18 years in the political wilderness, the Jamaica Labour Party has returned to the helm of government with a love affair for gas-guzzling SUVs, costing taxpayers millions of dollars.

And those who haven't, such as Energy Minister Clive Mullings, received equally pricey vehicles such as the Benz.

Documents procured under the Access to Information Act revealed that on September 25, 2007, Mullings requested a 2008 Toyota Land Cruiser. A month later, after approval was granted, the minister had a "change of mind" and requested the Benz instead.

"Our procurement members have supported/endorsed the change, as the cost for this vehicle is less than the one which was previouslyapproved," read a section of a missive addressed to the financial secretary. The vehicle, which at the time had an approximate market value of $5.35 million, cost tax-payers an estimated $2.95 million, which was $662 less than the 2008 Toyota Land Cruiser Prado bought for Karl Samuda.

One of three prados

Audley Shaw, minister of finance and the public service, now motors around in one of three Toyota Land Cruiser Prados that were bought for the three Cabinet officials at the ministry.

In his contribution to last year's Budget Debate in April, then opposition spokesman on finance, Shaw, lambasted the Government and the central bank for what he described as "extravagance and waste" and fiscal imprudence, respectively.

"In fact, the main area of growth appears to be debt corruption and waste in Government, where extravagance and waste are the order of the day, where expensive gas-guzzling vehicles are used for messenger service and the Bank of Jamaica that is to set the tone for fiscal prudence is now the seat of vulgar opulence with its fleet of expensive SUVs, BMWs and Mercedes-Benz motor vehicles," Shaw said at the time.

Increase approved

Six months later, Shaw approved an increase in the upper-limit purchase price for assigned motor vehicles that would facilitate the purchase of the same kinds of vehicles he labelled vulgar opulence. And, instead of taking the high road, the minister chose to be assigned one of the gas-guzzling, off-road vehicles that he lashed out against while in Opposition.

The official documents secured by The Gleaner revealed that the cost, insurance and freight (cif) figure was increased from US$27,800 to US$29,500. It is important to note that the cif does not represent the full cost of the vehicle, just what it cost to get the vehicle to the ports. In one instance, the ultimate selling price was over US$12,500 more.

"The ministry has observed that consequent on the rising cost of motor vehicles generally, quotations being submitted for the purchase of new vehicles for assignment to public officials have been reflecting amounts over the current approved cost, insurance and freight (CIF) limit of US$27,800," read a section of the circular signed by Colin Bullock, financial secretary.

CIF value

It added, "In order to alleviate the current problem, the honourable minister of finance and the public service gave approval effective October 1, 2007, for the upper limit to be (increased) to a cif value of US$29,500."

Shortly afterwards, two identical price invoices, dated October 31, 2007, were sent by Toyota Jamaica Limited to the finance ministry charging it approximately $6 million for two Toyota Land Cruiser/Prado SUVs.

They were bought for and assigned to Shaw and his fellow Cabinet minister, Dwight Nelson.

Another invoice, dated October 30, 2007, for another Land Cruiser Prado, was also received by the finance ministry from the same company, charging a little less than the two previous vehicles, but still close to $3 million. That vehicle is assigned to Minister Don Wehby.

Defended decision

In a written response to queries from the Gleaner, Shaw defended the decision to increase the cif.

"The nominal increase from US$27,800 to US$29,500 on the limit for the purchase of an assigned motor vehicle was occasioned by the increased cost of motor vehicles," read a section of Shaw's response.

The minister also said that Cabinet would be conducting a review of the motor-vehicle policy for assigned vehicles to all eligible public servants. The review is especially prompted, he said, because of the "energy crisis we face at this time".

Shaw argued that the SUV assigned to him was not done so at his request. "It was at the recommendation of the ministry based on the serviceability and reliability of the unit and it is a diesel model that enhances fuel efficiency," Shaw said.

Not backing down

He added that he was not backing down from comments in Parliament last year concerning the use of gas-gobblers for messenger service, and that he would ensure that the practice was discontinued. However, the minister failed to comment on the fiscal imprudence he accused the central bank of because they were purchasing SUVs and other posh cars, which is exactly what his administration has done.

Official documents revealed that Robert Montague, minister of state in the Office of the Prime Minister, who was assigned a 2004 Toyota Land Cruiser Prado, has cost taxpayers close to $50,000 a month from November 2007 to January 2008, just to purchase petrol.

Layout1_1_PCU3LSUVA2008AM.jpg

At just 1ft 11 in tall, she is dwarfed by her neighbour's baby, but Jyoti Amge is 15 years old.

The teenager, who is the world's smallest girl according to the Indian Book of Records, has a form of dwarfism called achondroplasia. Now fully grown, she weighs just 11 lb.

Jyoti Amge, the world's smallest girl
Jyoti Amge with a neighbour's 13-month old baby and with her school friends

Far from being unhappy about her tiny size, Jyoti says that she enjoys the celebrity status her height has brought her.

"I am proud of being small. I love the attention I get," she told the Sunday Mirror.

"I'm just the same as other people. I eat like you, dream like you. I don't feel any different."

Jyoti attends her local high school, in Nagpur, India, where she studies alongside classmates of her own age, though she sits at a specially made miniature desk.

Her mother, Ranjana, 45, explained that her daughter's condition was not apparent until some time after her birth.

"When Joyti was born she seemed quite normal. We came to know about her disorder when she was five," she said. "Jyoti is small, yet cute, and we love her very much."

Like any other teenager, she loves listening to pop music and watching DVDs and even hopes to become a Bollywood actress.

She has recently recorded an album with her favourite Indian pop star, Mika Singh.

Gays Vow To March

March 5, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper43 Comments

Splinter gay rights groups have vowed to march through the streets of the Corporate Area to defend gay rights, even without the full backing of J-FLAG (Jamaica Forum for Lesbians, All-Sexuals & Gays). While no date or location has been set for the march, the two splinter groups are steadfast in their resolve to take their concerns to the streets.

If J-FLAG nah go do it and get we justice against these attacks, we haffi go tek it up on weself. We pay our taxes, we are citizens of this country and we know our rights, we demand that the government does something about the targeting of gays in Jamaica, said one high-ranking member of Gays Are Innocent & Normal (GAIN).

gay_1.jpgThe gays may have been heartened by last weeks successful gay march led by leaders of the Metropolitan Community Church (MCC) in Florida on Valentines Day at the Jamaican consulates in Miami, New York, Toronto and Philadelphia. The MCC was protesting against what they said was a series of anti-gay murders and gay-bashing incidents in the island, the latest of which occurred in Mandeville, Jamaica late last month where three gay men were attacked.

Last weeks march was significant because it was on the day of February 14th two years ago that a group of gay men were attacked by the mob in HWT, so we felt it would be appropriate to march on the anniversary of the day of love, Jason McFarlane, public relations officer of J-FLAG, said.

J-FLAG is concerned that police investigations of gay bashing and murders of gays are perfunctory at best.

The police havent taken a proper statement from the persons who survived the attack in Mandeville. The police came to see them in the hospital so we hope to get  proper investigation. But unless we request a proper investigation, none is carried out because when it comes to issues relating to sexual orientation which is other than x that is the norm, not many police are willing to do the job, Mr. McFarlane said.

In Mandeville, the men were allegedly mobbed and beaten by a group of residents who demanded that they leave their home. Two of the men were critically injured and one man is still missing and presumed to be dead.
 In this decidedly hostile environment, Mr. McFarlane said that J-FLAG was not in the process of organising a local leg of the march, even though splinter groups are clamouring for it.

I havent heard of a local march, because there are challenges and repercussions to a march like that. Last year, 27 cases of gay bashing were reported through our offices, and not everyone is aware that J-FLAG exists, and there are several more that would not have been reported, he said.

THREE GAYS KILLED
Mr. McFarlane said that in 2007, three gays died as a result of mob violence, while the rest received machete and knife wounds during the attacks. Since the brutal death of vocal gay rights advocate Brian Williamson a few years ago and the rising anti-gay sentiment in the island, J-FLAG has stopped listing its address in the telephone book and even the vocal pro-gay Metropolitan Community Church (MCC) runs a roving ministry in Jamaica.

Since 2007, there have been eight cases of violence against gays, the last one was in St. Ann, near Ocho Rios. We think it is a spin off of the Mandeville incident; a march would not be a wise idea, but Nancy is coming home soon, he said.

Nancy Wilson is the leader of the MCC and she has been fearlessly fighting to secure basic human rights for gays, but she is yet to undertake the ultimate acid test a gay rights march in Jamaica. However, while J-FLAGs desire to march in order to protest the plight of gays may be flagging in the face of naked aggression from an intolerant public, at least two splinter Corporate Area gay groups are threatening to go all the way.

The first stage was the release of the gay tape. Then we plan fi march. Were coming out and we are not going to be victims anymore. We are many. We have gay politicians, gay deejays, gay media personnel, gay cops, and gay bad man, if we intend to march, nothing caan stop we, one gay activist said.

There is at least one hard truth in that assertion: there are gays in the police force. During the last few weeks, the Jamaican public was shocked when a gay cop, Constable Michael Hayden, announced to the world that he was gay and complained that he was being ill-treated by his colleagues in the force.

This is the second such public relations black eye for the police force in less than a year. In 2007, there was an incident where a senior cop allegedly forced a teenager to have oral sex with him. That cop was later transferred to a unnamed division in the JCF.

The breakaway gays say that they are more radically minded former members of J-FLAG, who go by the tag lines GAIN (Gays Are Innocent & Normal) and GAG (Gays Are Great), and are ready to join forces with other gay entities to mount pressure on the churches and government.

Speaking to XtraNews, Antonio, a spokesperson for GAIN, said that, The church, government and all who fight against gays stand to gain from us rather than to lose. We are a set of people made up of professionals who are law-abiding and doing our civic duties. We want the churches to come out strongly against crime and violence like how  they are vocal about gays.

Antonio added that criminals are allowed to live freely, while gays are being hunted and face the possibility of being killed.

It is so unfair. As consenting adults in the privacy of our homes, we have to live in fear because as soon as someone from the community suspects that you are gay, you are in trouble. It is total hypocrisy when people say that we are to keep our private lives to ourselves. Real gays do not parade their lifestyle or throw it in the faces of others. Unlike when Jamaica used to be totally homophobic, the gay community has grown over the years and you would be shocked to know who are in the closet, he said.

Mariana, who attends a tertiary institution and is a full fledged lesbian, said that as a member of GAG, she has been corresponding with gays outside of Jamaica and they are ready to help in the fight to get a listening ear from the churches and government that they too have rights as citizens.

3EC_gay2.jpg Its about time we remove the gag that limits us and start to make our voices and presence be felt. We have members in the churches, in politics and just about every strata of society. People have to start understanding that while we are not begging them to accept us with open arms, we just want them to know that we do exist and believe in the same God as they do, she said.

While not affiliated members of J-FLAG, both GAIN and GAG say they are just in the preparatory stages of forging alliances with a wider cross section of affiliates at home and abroad.

We plan to march against them soon as there are more of us in Jamaica than you think, and we intend to let our voices be heard, one GAG member said.

In an article carried in the February 15 edition of the Washington Post, a conservative Christian group criticized a large Methodist church for planning to offer services that recognize gay relationships, saying that it violated the United Methodist ban on same sex unions.

The article stated that Foundry United Methodist Church had decided to support its senior pastors decision to lead services that recognise and honour committed gay relationships.

If theyre not violating the letter, theyre certainly violating the spirit of the United Methodist standards, said Mark Tooley, executive director of UMAction, an Institute on Religion and Democracy project that focuses on the United Methodist Church.

Ceremonies that celebrate homosexual unions shall not be conducted by our ministers and shall not be conducted in our churches, church law states.

MCCs leader, Nancy Wilson, after speaking with Jamaica Consulate General Richard Allicock and three other top staff members for over an hour, told protesters that she had a frank, honest discussion. Were engaged in a long-term discussion and were not going to stop until gays and lesbians are protected in Jamaica. 

Wilson said the MCC was on the verge of calling for a global boycott of Jamaica. She said she was waiting to see how the government responded to the churchs demands, namely that the government launch an educational campaign to decry anti-gay violence in Jamaica, and that the Jamaican police begin sensitivity training regarding this group.

The MCCs Sunshine Cathedral in Fort Lauderdale runs a ministry here in Jamaica. 

Last Revised: 2/27/2008
Patrons from as far as May Pen and Negril descended on the Weekenz Bistro and Bar to watch the crowning of the ultimate Magnum King and Queen of Dancehall. Magnum Kings and Queens of Dancehall has, for the past fifteen weeks, been exposing new and diverse talent to the masses. The success of the show has vindicated the decision by the producers and the sponsors of the competition to invest millions of dollars to expose true Jamaican Sing-Jays and Dee-Jays to a world audience.

Magnum_King_Queen.jpgThroughout the past fifteen weeks, dozens of contestants from all parts of the island were whittled down to a final four who came to the Weekenz Bistro and Bar to vie for the crown in one final clash. The night began with the last ten finalists taking the stage and presenting some of the tunes that have allowed them to enter the hearts of many Jamaicans. Of note was the performance of Tellah who, eliminated on April 12th had the large crowd eating out of her hands with her captivating performance and Singer Jah who announced his arrival on stage by shouting "Rasta, Rasta, Rasta" causing the crowd to roar with excitement.

There were also cameos from mainstream artistes who came out to give their support to the young talent. Assassin graced the stage with his usual energetic performance and Ginjah pleased the audience by doing a rendition of his hit Rough Times with his brother and eventual winner Singer Jah.

Magnum Kings and Queens of Dancehall has been accepted by all levels of the society and people from all corners of the island were on location cheering on their favourite of the top four.

"The competition is a good move and I am happy that there is a competition that truly represents our music and gives our young talent a chance to shine" Minister of Culture, Olivia Babsy Grange.

The presentation of the winners of the Magnum Kings and Queens of Dancehall was filled with pomp and pageantry with Singer Jah and Baby Tash being Crown and presented with their rings by the Minister of Culture. Magnum Kings and Queens of Dancehall presented the two winners with half a million dollars each and will sponsor the production of a single and a video to kick start their careers. It was a regal affair the type never before seen in a competition on Jamaican prime time television.

The King and Queen: Singer Jah and Baby Tash now reign supreme over their competitors having amassed the wide support of Jamaicans all over the country. Based on this overwhelming support for the competition and the contestants, the producers are planning to make Magnum Kings and Queens of Dancehall 2008/2009 bigger and better.

"We are very happy with the acceptance of the competition by all of Jamaica. The talent that has come out is of the highest quality and I am confident that many of the contestants who came through the competition will go on to have great careers in the music business. We can guarantee that next year's competition will be bigger and better and will be filled with many surprises that will indeed bring joy to the fans" Mark Kenny, Executive Producer, Magnum Kings & Queens of Dancehall.
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1388 This really is the season for rumours and just as the one about Bounty being stoned in Guyana fizzles away another has cropped up this time it involves dancehall artiste Faith Eselebor Jackson more popularly known as Barbee.

Apparently there is a rumour on the mill that the tall statued singer is pregnant and hence her absence from the local arena. In an effort to set the record straight 876radio.com decided to do some investigating of our own and contacted her management .

According to Ray Alexander, her Publicist "nothing like that, it's all just rumours being spread by unscrupulous people, Barbee is off the local scene because she is overseas working on her upcoming album, and that's the truth, she is the farthest thing away from being pregnant".

These sentiments were later reaffirmed by the towering diva in an interview with a local gossip publication, So for all those who were hoping to see a little 'Zaga' on the way better luck next time.

Barbee who came to notoriety in the latter half of last year after being featured on a single with Beenie Man titled 'Give It Up' on Mario C's Revenge Riddim, is set to ink a record deal with a major label in the coming weeks.

AMY WINEHOUSE and jailbird husband BLAKE FIELDER-CIVIL have been offered £1million for a book about their stormy marriage.

The singer, 24, is in talks with Penguin, while Blake, 26, has agreed.

He is on remand in Londons Pentonville jail for alleged assault and perverting justice.

A pal said: They are prepared for it to be warts and all.

Lies, 'bun' and death threats

April 22, 2008
Started By alligcold2 Comments
Dear Pastor,

I was with a man for the past three years. He has cheated and lied, but I still stay with him. He was the only one working at the time. He never showed me any respect, but all that has changed. As soon I as I started working, he started to come home early and even cooks. All this happened for the first four months, then things went right back where it started; but this time, he stopped working. This went on for about a year. He put out no effort to look for a job. This made it very hard for me. I had to be paying the bills, finding food and everything else. And when I came home from work, he was in the bed on his cellphone talking to his girls. I made up my mind and moved out, but now, he's at my new home every day telling me that I have a man and he is going to kill me.

Pastor, I am so stressed out.

K.W., St Catherine, Jamaica

Dear K.W.,

If you are finished with this man and I mean really finished with him and you do not want him to come and visit you at your apartment, you should go and seek a lawyer and take out an injunction against him. You should not be afraid of him, but you should not take his threats lightly. He should be reported to the police. Your lawyer can help you deal with this man, but I repeat, do not take his threats lightly. On the other hand, you should not allow his threats to scare you so that you feel that you must take him back into your life.

Pastor

meaning does she got a nice body does he drive a car u no stuff like that share ur thoughts

what's yourz?

April 17, 2008
Started By ghetto_youth12 Comments
fi tell you di truth mi do sum shit whe mi nuh think have name but a backas a my thing! whats yours?
Junior Reid enters the Danger Zone 23 Apr 2008 | by Contributed Article Junior Reid's signing with The Danger Zone Music Group / SoBe Entertainment will soon bear fruit with the impending release of his latest album: Junior Reid: The Living Legend to be released through The Danger Zone Music Group / SoBe Entertainment and Leak Records. Jah_Cure_Junior_Reid.jpgThe album features tracks such as Mo Money, This Is Why I'm Hot (remix), Black Roses and Bullet and has already been featured in RollingStone Magazine. Junior Reid will soon release his new single Don't Play Me Dirty also off the upcoming album. "Its great, could not be greater. This means more strength to Junior Reid. SoBe and Danger Zone linking together with Junior Reid can open new horizons and bring greater joy to my fans all over the world" Danger Zone/SoBe Entertainment recording artiste, Junior Reid. Junior Reid has for over three decades been a regular staple in the reggae and dancehall realm. Beginning his career in the late nineteen seventies when he released tracks such as Human Nature, A1 Lover and See How Me Black See How Me Shine, Junior Reid has now begun writing a new chapter is his impressive musical history. Over the years Junior Reid has widened his horizons; his vocals have been used extensively on the hip hop scene. Noted for his collaboration with West Coast hip hop artist The Game on the Billboard hit It's Okay (One *lo**), Reid has also appeared on 'Mims' This Is Why I'm Hot (Remix), Fabolous' album From Nothin' to Somethin on the track Gangsta Don't Play and Fat Joe's track More Money to name a few. On November 18, 2007, Reid made another great step in his musical career performed alongside Alicia Keys at the 2007 American Music Awards and is also featured on a remixed version of Alicia Keys' single No One. Most recently, Junior Reid has done a track with Danger Zone/SoBe entertainment recording artiste Jah Cure titled Hot Long Time and it was through this collaboration that the alliance between Junior Reid and Danger Zone/SoBe Entertainment was minted. "We have been in the music business together for many years admiring each other's work. Through the Hot Long Time collaboration we were able to strengthen each other and out of that project came Reid's signing with The Danger Zone Music Group /SoBe Entertainment. As our creed states; Unification Through Music and through this unity we strengthen Junior and he strengthens us" Della Danger, CEO, Danger Zone Music Group. Danger Zone continues to grow by leaps and bounds and its artiste continue to make great strides by creating good quality music. Through the signing of Junior Reid fans and music enthusiasts alike can only expect more high quality material from Danger Zone.
April 22, 2008. Looks like Kanye and Alexis weren't just playing coy. MediaTakeOut.com reported to you that last week Alexis was spotted without her engagement ring. Well now Alexis has come out publicly to acknowledge her break up with Kanye.

Here's her official statement:
It's always sad when things like this end, and we remain friends. I wish him the best in his future and all of his endeavors. He's one of the most talented people I've ever met.

Hmmmmmm ... does that mean that John Legend can get back in the picture????
«First  <  1455 456 457 458 459524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by