WASHINGTON (AFP) - Democratic White House candidate Barack Obama has pulled ahead of Republican John McCain in the latest Gallup voter opinion survey, published Tuesday in USA Today.
ADVERTISEMENT |
Obama lead McCain 47 to 44 percent, in a reversal from Gallup's findings a month ago, which saw McCain ahead of Obama 47 to 45 percent.
Both leads are within the poll's four point margin of error.
A matchup pitting Hillary Clinton against McCain saw the former first lady with a sharper advantage of 49 percent versus 43 for the presumptive Republican nominee, Gallup found.
Obama was favored to win Tuesday's final two primaries in Montana and South Dakota and also to clinch the Democratic nomination, possibly in the same day.
The poll found that 58 percent of Americans have a positive image of Obama, 56 view McCain favorably and 54 have a good opinion of Clinton.
But President George W. Bush's approval rating was just 28 percent.
And the poll depicted Americans as pessimistic about their buying power, with 55 percent saying they are worse off now than they were a year ago and just 26 percent saying the reverse.
Americans have not been so gloomy since 1976, Gallup said, adding that such sentiment generally leads voters to oust whatever political party is currently in the White House.
TORMENTED Sasikala Navaneethan cracked under the strain of post-natal depression and debts before stabbing her kids, it emerged last night.
The 35-year-old, who killed two of her children and left the third fighting for life, ran a grocery store with husband Navarajah.
Struggling ... family shop
But a bypass opened five months ago, destroying their passing trade.
And a newly-married relative had just quit the flat above, leaving the family without the rental income.
Meanwhile Navarajah, 39, worked from 7am to 11pm to make ends meet, leaving him little time to help with the children, a boy of five and girls aged four and six months.
Investigation ... death scene
Then last week Sasikala, who also worked behind the counter, failed her driving test continuing the daily grind of ferrying the kids around by public transport.
Yesterday family friend Jay Ranan said: Everything had been getting on top of her. Things were getting too much.
Tony Silverstein, who runs a nearby shop in Coulsdon, Surrey, said: He was happy and friendly, but she was very abrupt.
Sasikala, known as Sasi, snapped just after 10pm on Friday in their rented home five miles away in Carlshalton.
She stabbed the five and four-year-olds and slashed the throat of her six-month-old daughter.
After her knife frenzy she phoned 999 to confess but spoke only broken English and cops had to trace a Sri Lankan translator, costing vital minutes.
Navarajah came home before police and ambulance crews arrived.
He is said to have flipped at the sight of the *lo**bath and attacked Sasi.
A neighbour said: I saw a child being carried out in a white sheet. It was practically all red completely soaked in *lo**.
The four and five-year-old died later in hospital.
Sad tribute ... neighbour lays flowers outside Carshalton house
Yesterday, as Navarajah was bailed, Sasi was transferred to a secure mental health facility for tests.
Outside the £350,000 detached family home, neighbours left 40 floral tributes alongside two lit red candles.
One note read: Life lay before you both, like fresh untrodden snow, and suddenly life has been snatched from you.
The magazine is also rumored to break Kelly a large sum of money for this feature and prepare to get things ready for this Summer.
With all of the rumors in the air about this collaboration, Kelly has yet to say a word on it. The reason could possibly be because she would like to keep it as a nice surprise for her fans and management.
This may finally put Kelly into the main spotlight since her days with Destinys Child but could it also backfire on her?
Dont woman pree man to an say dem woulda f**k da yute deh? dem jus more discreet. comment
|
'Lightning Bolt' sets 100m record | ||
Jamaica's Usain Bolt is officially the fastest man on the planet after setting a new 100m world record in New York. Bolt, who's nickname is the 'Lightning Bolt', clocked up a time of 9.72 seconds, shaving 0.02 seconds off Asafa Powell's record, which was set in 2007. Amazingly, it's only the fifth time the 21-year-old's competed in the 100m! "I wasn't looking for a world record but it was there for the taking so I just went out there and ran my best race," he said. |
Bolt usually concentrates on the 200m event and a few days ago was unsure if he would even take part in the 100m Jamaican Olympic trials.
But after the race he said he would definitely be running in both the 100m and 200m events in Beijing.
"I've just got to concentrate now and work on my 200 some more, because I haven't been doing a lot of 200 work," he said.Mrs. Rita Marley, her staff as well as Nyabingi Drummers were on hand to welcome His Imperial Highness to the Bob Marley Museum. He was given an extensive tour of the property and also stopped by the Bob Marley Museum Gift Shop where he did some shopping before lunch. Before leaving, His Imperial Highness joined in on the drums with the Nyabingi Drummers.
The New National Party (NNP) government in Grenada said it was forced to caution Jamaican dance hall artiste Vegas about using offensive lyrics during his recent live performance at one of its rallies, this according to a report on radiojamaica.com
Youth Minister Senator Emmalin Pierre made her disclosure in response to public concerns as the party faced a likely fall-out over another pre-election concert.
Local media have reported that Vegas' performance featured songs promoting drug use and branding women as prostitutes in the presence of ruling party officials.
Reggae artiste Prophecy has scored big on the Italian chart with a c****ination single entitled Party In Session, a re-interpretation of the Mykal Rose hit of the same name and which is produced by Delroy Worm Nevin on his Jah Birth label.
Prophecy teams up with deejay Delly Ranxx on this song, which is now number one an Italian Reggae chart and which is receiving heavy rotation on radio there. We spoke to Prophecy, who is currently doing a promotional stint in Canada and he was quite excited about the success of the single. It feels good to know that our music is making such an impact all over the world, he said. He had words of praise for the deejay and the production team who worked on this single.
It was in December last year that Prophecy inked a deal with the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) after the single Chance: A Tribute To Lucky Dube, was scooped up by the corporation, who sent a team to Jamaica to produce the music video. The song, which was also produced by Nevin, was released simutaneously on 18 radio stations in South Africa.
We hope that the latest song, Party In Session, will score locally, as deejay Delly Ranks, who has not been in the loop lately, will benefit from this boost.
Rihanna's latest single, Take a Bow, has become her third number one single on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in America. It is the second single with the same name to top the Billboard Hot 100 after Madonna's 1995 ballad Take a Bow.
Take a Bow was written by R&B singer-songwriter Ne-Yo and production-team Stargate for the re-release of Rihanna's third studio album Good Girl Gone Bad. It was officially released to US top 40 radio on April 15 and to iTunes on May 6 where it has proven to be immensely popular both in the United States and internationally.
To date, the single has reached the number one position on iTunes in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, New Zealand, and Ireland, and has achieved top 10 chartings in ten countries across the globe. The single is currently number one on the UK Singles chart.
Rihanna's hit streak kicked off in 2005 with the catchy and bouncy Pon De Replay. She later followed up with hits including If Its Loving That You Want, Unfaithful, We Ride, Don't Stop the Music, Shut Up and Drive and Break it Off. Her number one Hot 100 hits include SOS and Umbrella featuring Jay-Z. Umbrella won the Grammy Award this year for Best Rap/Sung Collaboration.
Voice Mail shoot videos for Ganga Lee and Get The Money
With a July 16 release set for their forthcoming album Jump Off, the trio Voice Mail recently completed video shoots for the singles Ganga Lee and Get The Money. The videos were directed by Jay Will.
Jump Off which will be the trio's third set, will be released by Japan's Pony Canyon label. The label released the trio's previous sets Hey (2006); and Let's Go (2007).
The 16-track disc will feature collaborations with producers Christopher Birch, Steven McGregor, Danny Champagnie and the Ballaz.
Soca Gold 2008 loaded with hits
Since its inception in 1997, the Soca Gold compilation series has led the genre with breakthrough hits and popular tunes. The latest in the series was released on May 20.
Soca Gold 2008 contains hits from acts including EL A Kru, Patrice Roberts, Farmer Nappy, Fay-Ann Lyons, Alvarez, Roy Cape, Kerwin Du Bois, Ricky T, Mr Dale and Don Trent.
A bonus DVD is included which features live performances from Trinidad & Tobago Carnival 2008 and Crop Over 2008.
BIG AND SERIOUS SHE COULDNT CHANGE THE TITLE - The TAKE A BOW BUSINESS NAH GO WORK
Sportswear giant Nike has chosen Dancehall megastar Mavado to be a part of the largest consumer marketing campaign in the brands history.
Nike has commissioned Mavado to appear in an EPK (Electronic Promotional Kit) and make an original track to support the Jamaican efforts at the 2008 Olympics, starting 08.08.08 in China.
Whilst the project is part of a larger campaign that includes an original mix CD and an iTunes Asafa Powell Reggae mix, Mavados track, called Faster than a Bullet, is the only original music produced for the project. The fast-paced beat, produced by Shane Brown, provides the perfect soundbed for Mavados patriotic lyrics.
Mavado joins an illustrious list of music names that have collaborated with Nike, such as Nelly Furtado and Timabaland.
Footage for the EPK was directed by Ras Kassa and will be turned into a viral campaign via Nikes own websites and a myriad of other websites and blogs. Two edits will be made - 30 seconds and 5 minutes, and includes the fastest man on the planet, Asafa Powell, meeting his musical hero Mavado.
In terms of the sneakers, hundreds of fans worldwide will be disappointed, as they are not for sale.
Nike made a limited number of sneakers to help promote the campaign, which when leaked to the internet caused a frenzy, including people calling Nike to see if they will be made available at retail. Nike does not do endorsement deals with Entertainment personalities, just athletes, so they will remain as coveted limited edition sneakers.
Mavado says, "A jus four a dem (sneakers) alone mek inna di world, Asafa a get one, me, Shane Brown and Julian (his manager)."
Having Nike choose Jamaicas athletic superstar alongside one of Jamaicas biggest Dancehall stars is a huge statement, said Mavados manager Julian Jones-Griffith. Having the two of them representing Jamaica and the one of the most recognized brands in the world on a global stage illustrates just how far Mavado has reached.
Mavado says he therefore has much to give thanks for, even in the midst of his woes.
"Mi jus a wait fi overcome everything, 'cause di ting (visa) still nuh free up yet... mi a get whole heap a fight, but mi waan mi fans know mi nah lose focus an mi nah lose mi meds," Mavado said.
The artiste added, "Mi jus mek a tune called It's Raining 'cause it's raining again, di blessing a pour."
Dear Confessional,
I was born in Jamaica but now live in United states. I have been talking to this man from Jamaica. I am 21 and I have a son with him. We are thinking about getting married but I have been talking to this 18-year-old guy. He is different and I love him, but my son's father gives me what I want, no matter what. On the other hand, the boy is great in making love.
What should I do?
- Confused Lady
If you would like to share your story please sent it to confess@876radio, you don't have to tell us your name or give any personal information as all stories will be treated with anonymity.
ABERDEEN, S.D. (AP) Barack Obama has resigned his 20 year membership in the Trinity United Church of Christ in Chicago in the aftermath of inflammatory remarks by his longtime pastor the Rev. Jeremiah Wright and more recent fiery remarks at the church by another minister.
Obama campaign communications director Robert Gibbs said Obama had submitted a letter of resignation to the church and would discuss his decision in a session with reporters later Saturday.
It happened "over the last few days," Gibbs said.
Messages left for a church spokeswoman in Chicago were not immediately returned Saturday afternoon.
Comments by Wright have inflamed racial tensions and posed an unwanted problem for Obama, front-runner for the Democratic presidential nomination, as he seeks to wrap up the nomination.
More recently, racially charged remarks from the same pulpit by another pastor, the Rev. Michael Pfleger, has kept the controversy alive and proved the latest thorn in the side of Obama.
Pfleger earlier this month mocked Obama rival Hillary Rodham Clinton as a guest speaker at Obama's church.
Obama has condemned comments by both Wright and Pfleger, but the controversy has persisted.
For months, Obama has been hamstrung by the rhetoric of Wright, whose sermons blaming U.S. policies for the Sept. 11 attacks and calls of "God damn America" for its racism became fixtures on the Internet and cable news networks.
Initially, Obama said he disagreed with Wright but portrayed him as a family member he couldn't disown. The preacher had officiated at Obama's wedding and been his spiritual mentor for some 20 years.
But six weeks after Obama's well-received speech on race, Wright claimed at an appearance in Washington that the U.S. government was capable of planting AIDS in the black community, praised Nation of Islam leader Louis Farrakhan and suggested that Obama was acting like a politician by putting his pastor at arm's length while privately agreeing with him.
After that, Obama denounced Wright's comments as "divisive and destructive."
On Thursday, Obama was again forced to reject another man of the cloth, this time Pfleger, who made racially charged comments mocking Clinton in a guest sermon at Trinity United Church of Christ, Obama's church.
Obama made it clear he wasn't happy with the comments in which Pfleger pretended he was Clinton crying over "a black man stealing my show" and said he was "deeply disappointed in Father Pfleger's divisive, backward-looking rhetoric, which doesn't reflect the country I see or the desire of people across America to come together in common cause."
Pfleger, too, issued an apology, saying he was sorry if his comments offended Clinton or anyone else.
Rags to rhythms to riches: Music a way out of poverty for many
published: Sunday | June 1, 2008
Krista Henry, Staff Reporter
Serani says more people get a 'buss' through a nine-to-five job.
The story of dancehall and reggae is often one of rags to riches for artistes of impoverished origins, singing and deejaying to make a 'trailer load of money'.
It is no surprise that people turn to music as a means out of poverty, as today it provides many income-earning opportunities. Using music as a means out of the ghetto has been recurrent in the history of reggae and dancehall. Early reggae stars were those from the inner cities, 'garrisons' and rural areas, who travelled far and wide to pursue a career in music, believing that it would uplift them from the lives they were living.
Superstars such as Bob Marley, Peter Tosh and Bunny Wailer used to walk miles from their Trench Town community to Studio One every day to sing.
Producer Winston Riley of Techniques fame recently told The Sunday Gleaner that as a youth from the ghetto the easiest way out was singing. In As It Is, reggae legend Burning Spear captures the early days in the music with his struggles to be a success, as he sings "I been through di struggle like everyone, like di early musicians". He goes on to capture the journey he had to make to get a toe into the business, singing, "I was going back and forth, from St Ann to Kingston, 13 Brentford Road ... many times I ain't got no bus fare therefore I got to hitch hike on truck back ... I am di stone that di builders refuse".
struggle
It was a scenario that was captured in the 1972 movie, The Harder They Come, as Ivanhoe Martin (Jimmy Cliff) portrays the struggle of a boy who moves from the country to make it as a singer, but instead becomes a gangster. The film captures the feel of music as 'quick money', a fast break, as the youngster hooks up with a producer and makes a hit song. But then, Martin realises that music isn't all he thought it would be as he signs away the rights to his songs.
According to a study done by Michael Witter entitled 'Music and the Jamaican Economy', in many countries the music industry provides opportunities for the marginalised and the smaller entrepreneur. Witter wrote that "like bananas and coffee in the 19th century and ganja in the 20th century, the music industry was created by the marginalised social groups of the society and has been used as a vehicle of their own development. The typical artiste and musician in Jamaica, including the successful few, is from a poor economic background".
Today, there are those that still believe dancehall is the avenue of escape from poverty and strife. David 'Mavado' Brooks proudly proclaims himself the 'Gully God' hailing from Cassava Piece, St Andrew as he constantly sings about his struggles in the ghetto and the fact that he is making the money, through music, to get out of the ghetto lifestyle. In his song, Dreaming, Mavado talks about making money as fulfilment of the hopes and dreams of those persons who are struggling in the streets. He sings about looking for work but "dem turn me down"; instead, music has provided his bread and butter as he sings "making money and all is well/ and I'm a gangster for life because my song can tell ... but the music give me money".
In Don't Cry, Mavado speaks about having to make a living for his family and one of the only means he has grown up around is music. He sings, "Born from di gully an mi never choose it/We never come in no riches only music/ Just like di African Shaka and the congo music/ Di Rastaman dem bun dem fire rader gangsta music".
budding performers
When The Sunday Gleaner spoke with a number of budding performers, while some had a passion for the music, others saw it as the quickest way to improve their lifestyles. However, while music has seen its share of rags to riches stories, it isn't the way that it would appear to be. Behind the hype and the bling, the artistes have to work tirelessly to achieve the money that is sung about.
Producer and singer, Craig 'Serani' Marsh, who has helped fuel the success of Bugle as well as Mavado, told The Sunday Gleaner, "I wouldn't say music is the way out. Dem can't look at it that way. Is no easy route, music is for the talented. How much artiste deh bout right now? Not nuff compared to the amount of man in ghetto who a deejay. More people who get a nine-five buss mek more money".
As for those who are looking for the big quick break, he said, "Most of dem nuh have no passion for it, most people nuh have no drive cause not everybody willing to go through the sleepless nights over dem work."
Burton out to silence detractors
Nodley Wright, Freelance Writer
Deon Burton ... the coach called me back for this camp and as long as the coach is happy with what he is seeing, that is the most important thing for me. -file
PLANS TO retire Deon Burton or write him out of the future of the Reggae Boyz unit appear to be more than premature as one on the 1998 qualification heroes was easily the most impressive player in training at the Braco Resort last week.
"It is working time," Burton said, explaining the reason for his renewed focus.
"I have spoken to a few reporters on television and radio since I have come back to join the camp and everyone seems to be doubting me and wondering why I am here. It seems I have to be proving myself all over again and try to rise to the occasion and perform," he said.
In addition to the feeling that he had to prove himself again, the man who saw an upswing in his career after his association with the country, said he had been putting in the hard work for quite some time.
Happy to work harder
"I have been working hard and, as I said, it seems that there is a perception of me (as being past it) but I am happy to work that much harder to get back the recognition and I am relishing the challenge," Burton said.
"I really like the challenge. I like to be put under the pressure," he said with a smile.
Looking fitter, physical stronger and playing with a lot of hunger, the defenders had a hard time containing him as he held them off with his strength, showed quick feet, good dribbling skills and accuracy with his shots. That too, he said, was by design.
"I have myself under control. I have been doing work with my fitness coach back in England and I am building up my strength and power, trying to get back a little bit of the pace and, yes, I have lost a little bit of weight. Probably just about two or three pounds, not too much, just enough for me to have that strength to hold off the defenders," he said.
questions asked about recall
On his last outing, a 2-2 draw with Trinidad and Tobago in April, just under two years after his last game for Jamaica, many fans openly questioned why the former 'Goalden Boy' was recalled. His performance as a substitute did not change their minds but, according to the now Sheffield Wednesday player, it was not that bad.
"I did not think I did too badly. I got into some good positions, held the ball up well and I had two, I would say, half chances. They were on my left side. People may say one should have two good feet, but I know if they were on my right side maybe it would have been a different end product," he said.
"I did not feel too badly and I do not think I did badly as the coach called me back for this camp and as long as the coach is happy with what he is seeing, that is the most important thing for me.
"It is for the skeptics to say what they want but as long as I'm doing the right thing for my teammates and they are happy with me and the coach is, that is all that matters," he said. Ballack's strike seals win for Germany
France's Patrice Evra (right) and Paraguay's Sergio Aquino challenge for the ball during their friendly in Toulouse yesterday. The game ended 0-0. - AP
LONDON (AP):
MICHAEL BALLACK'S 82nd-minute goal completed Germany's come-from-behind 2-1 victory over Serbia, and Portugal and Romania also warmed up for Euro 2008 with easy triumphs.
Portugal beat Georgia 2-0 in Viseu yesterday although the freescoring Cristiano Ronaldo failed to hit the target and Romania outplayed Montenegro 4-0 with Nicolae Dica scoring twice.
The European Championship kicks off next Saturday and the 16 qualifiers are making their final adjustments to tactics and testing players' fitness.
Three-time champions Germany fell behind to a 19th-minute goal from Bosko Jankovic in Gelsenkirchen and trailed until the 74th against the defence-minded Serbs, who failed to qualify for the Euros.
But 35-year-old substitute Oliver Neuville equalised four minutes after entering the game and Ballack, in recent standout form for Champions League runners-up Chelsea, netted the winner with a swerving free kick.
"He drives the entire team, he goads them on and he is in a very good physical shape," Germany coach Joachim Loew said of his captain.
Germany are in the same group as Croatia, Poland and co-hosts Austria. Loew's team starts off against Poland in Klagenfurt on June 8.
Joao Moutinho (13th minute) and Simao Sabrosa (44th minute penalty) scored Portugal's first-half goals in Viseu. But Ronaldo, who has scored 42 league and cup goals for Champions League and Premier League winners Manchester United, was subdued until he had a free kick pushed on to the bar by the Georgian goalkeeper.
Luiz Felipe Scolari made nine changes after the half-time break which broke the team's rhythm. His team faces Turkey in Geneva in its first group match at the Euros and then meets the Czech Republic and co-hosts Switzerland.
"I'm happy, especially with the way we played in the first half," Scolari said. "And we can learn some things from the second half."
Romania are in the toughest of the four groups against former champions France, the Netherlands and Italy. Their first game is against the French in Zurich June 9.
Adrian Mutu gave the Romanians a 15th-minute lead and Sorin Ghionea scored the second goal in the 49th minute with a close-range header. Dica scored in the 55th and 69th minutes in Bucharest.
In late games, France drew 0-0 with Paraguay at home and Spain defeated Peru 2-1Kanye was like "How the F@#% are you gonna let Jim Jones close the show - don't nobody even know who he is." He was going on and on about how he's the biggest name in hip hop and Jim Jones was a nobody ... But after about a minute of screaming, he must have realized that Jim Jones was in the arena - cause he abruptly stopped criticizing Jim and turned his anger towards Hot 97. He was like 'No disrespect to Jim Jones or Dipset, but F@#% Hot 97, they lied to me."
This Tuesday R&B singer Ashanti is set to release her fourth studio album, The Declaration. But MediaTakeOut.com spoke to a person close to Ashanti who claims that everyone is worried that it may turn out to be a disaster.
What's the problem? It seems that despite the label's efforts, Ashanti hasn't received the expected traction on her first single The Way That I Love You. The single peaked on the Billboard charts at number 37 and has since dropped off the top 100 list (Coincidentally - Ashanti peaked on the billboard charts the week after MediaTakeOut.com posted a headline story about it. There goes that new media again...).
Given the state of the music industry, people close to the R&B songstress are worried. The insider explained to MediaTakeOut.com, "She's going to be out promoting the album, and I hope that her fans come out and support. Everyone worked hard on The Declaration - it's some of the best music that Ashanti's ever put out."
But despite their efforts, the album might still not succeed. What is the worst case scenario. The insider told MediaTakeOut.com, "With the way the music industry is right now, she could sell [as few as] 100,000 units ... that would be a disaster."
Developing...
Mi sorry mi neva come wid the Friday Juice, mi go P Splash and it never keep, and then mi go party ah Quad and never come in till 6 a.m. so mi wake up late and then mi get a phone call say one of mi friend dem get shot and dead outta Rockfort. The way mi fras, mi just go Ocho Rios fi the weekend, and try build back a vibe. Not even mi $525 Manolos mi cousin bring fi me coulda comfort me, nothing, so mi just hold a meds fi a while, but yu dun know, ah so Jamaica set right now.
REID AND BUJU SAGA TO CONTINUE A YARD?
Everyone is concerned that the Junior Reid and Buju Banton saga coulda, ah long time the bad feelings ah carry under the quiet because dem say Banton label Junior Reid, Junior Greed, so when him come over and a hail him, Reid coulden deal with the hypocrite ting anymore, him just give him a piece of his mind and the thing get outta hand. Anyway, dem ah two big man inna the business and the way Jamaica ah run right now, we need more unity and less division. Nuh Buju did a appeal for everybody fi clean up the music business, him fi just hold the big man role now and quash this vibes. What yu tink Jamaica?
MY NIKE SHOE DEAL?
Now, mi hear everybody ah talk this and that about my shoe deal with NIKE. But dont get it twisted, mi just order five custom-built shoes from Nike, mi have mi international credit card. Last year, mi and mi girlfriend feel idle and we go this store in Manhattan, and mi design mi own sneaker, and mi join the waiting list and mi just get through. I never signed no deal with Nike or nothing and mi nuh feel say Mavado do that but right now, the whole ah Jamaica feel say him get deal because dem no read. Dem fi stop try trick the people dem, ah dat mi say. And by the way, my sneakers dont say ABENA TO THE EFFING WORLD, sorry Phlex, it says Bitch With Attitude (BWA). Weh dem feel like?
P SPASH AH THE HOTTEST THING
Why Cabbage neva just pay the money fi the selector come ah P Splash come play last week? Right now, ah my favourite session right after Assassins Girls Gone Wild on Tuesdays. Ah just crazy flossing, with Mavado and Killer dem on one side ah buy crazy Henessey, and Beenie Man over the next side ah gwaan wid a bagga tings. But one of my favourite P Splash moments happened with Flippa Mafia when he arrived in the Porsche truck and the selector dem start play Mavados Make Money and him just blow the horn and the crowd just get wild. Mad tings. P Splash to the world, ah dat mi say.
HOT SINGLES TO WATCH FOR
The hottest singles on the road are songs like Early Morning by Jim Laden who rose to some amount of infamy when he appeared on the Digicel Rising Stars show almost three years ago. And a special big up to Doniki, a protégé of Jah B (Bunny Wailer) who has come into his own now with a sweet single called Gully Bank. Not known by many in Jamaica even though he has a big profile in places like France, Germany and Africa, Doniki scored a number one album in Paris in 2006 with an effort called Radikal Expression on the Ocho Rios-based Kariang label e protégé for many years of three times Grammy-winner Bunny Wailer
BUJU BANTON DROPS JAMROCK CLASSICS
Buju Banton is putting the events of last week behind him and moving on with his production work. He is getting read to drop Jamrock Classics Vol. 1 which is the third compilation from Buju Banton's blossoming Gargamel Music label. The project will be officially released on June 30th in Jamaica and the Caribbean, the UK and Europe. Hear tracks from the album @ www.myspace.com/gargamelmusicinc
DEATH OF A FASHION HERO
This was a sad weekend for me especially because of the death of one of my favourite designers Yves Saint Laurent. His gift to fashion was that he empowered women after Chanel had freed them. I was a big fan of his Rive Gauche ready-to-wear boutiques.
THE PEOPLE WAAN FI KNOW
Why French Connection get postponed?
What is the latest with promoter Rodrick Reid?
A mass study found that deaths of children fathered by over-45s occurred at almost twice the rate of those fathered by men aged between 25 and 30.
Scientists believe that children of older fathers are more likely to suffer particular congenital defects as well as autism, schizophrenia and epilepsy. The study was the first of its kind of such magnitude in the West, and researchers believe the findings are linked to the declining quality of sperm as men age.
A total of 100,000 children born between 1980 and 1996 were examined, of whom 830 have so far died before they reached 18, the majority when they were less than a year old.
The deaths of many of the children of the older fathers were related to congenital defects such as problems of the heart and spine, which increase the risk of infant mortality. But there were also higher rates of accidental death, which the researchers believe might be explained by the increased likelihood of suffering from autism, epilepsy or schizophrenia.
Most research into older parents has, until now, focused on the risks passed on by older mothers. But the new study, published in the European Journal of Epidemiology, was adjusted to take account of maternal age and socio-economic differences.
The research also found higher death rates among children of the youngest fathers, especially those below the age of 19. However, the study said these differences were explained by the risks of teenage motherhood and poorer diet and lifestyle.
Previous research using the same data found that older men were four times as likely to father a child with Down's syndrome, while other studies have found that the genetic quality of sperm deteriorates as men age.
More than 75,000 babies in Britain are born to fathers aged 40 and over each year, or more than one in 10 of all births. This includes more than 6,000 born to fathers aged 50 or over. The average age of fathering a child in this country is 32.
Dr Allan Pacey, senior lecturer in andrology the medical specialty dealing with male reproduction at the University of Sheffield, said: "A lot of people know that there are risks for the child that come from having an older mother, but children of older fathers also carry an increased risk. These sorts of results provide another good reason to have children early, when possible."
Dr Pacey, who is secretary of the British Fertility Society, said scientists were unsure exactly what impact the ageing process had on the quality of sperm, making it impossible to detect defects before conception.
Dr Jin Liang Zhu, from the Danish Epidemiology Science Centre, which carried out the research, said: "The risks of older fatherhood can be very profound, and it is not something that people are always aware of."
The mother's age still has the bigger impact on child health, however. About one in 900 babies born to women under 30 have Down's syndrome a figure which reaches one in 100 by the age of 40. The number of over-40s giving birth in Britain each year has doubled in the past decade to 16,000. The risk of miscarriage rises sharply with age.
How on earth did a peculiar kind of mockney patois become the default spoken English of a generation of British kids - white, black, Asian; rural, urban; posh, poor (and Ali G)? A new CD offers one solution. An England Story, a musical anthology that charts the impact of Jamaican reggae on British pop culture, is a fascinating survey of the musical scene in which that patois first took hold on these shores.
Jamaican MCing - also known as toasting, chatting, and, confusingly, deejaying - has been around since the late Sixties. As Jamaica's DJs invested in ever grander and louder equipment, the sound systems sought to outdo each other with both raw power and exclusive material. This led not only to the invention of the modern remix, but also the rise of the live MC, whose job was to enliven the crowd and insult rivals.
Jamaican expats in New York took these elements and turned them into something new: hip-hop. In Britain, though, their localisation was slower, more subtle, and truer to their roots.
An England Story started life as a mix by the DJ duo the Heatwave (Gabriel Myddelton and Gervase de Wilde) who wanted to make an aural history of the British reggae MC. Over the 25 years that the compilation covers, the consistent thread, Myddelton says, is "a feeling that you're the underdog and up against it. It is to some extent anti-authority, kicking out at being poor and living in some s*** place."
From Tippa Irie's Complain Neighbour ("Turn that noise down!") to Things Change, a new track by Warrior Queen ("London no bed o' roseme have to wipe me runny nose"), the lyrics contain a lingering resentment of the law, the lifestyle and the weather that greeted Jamaican immigrants to this country. Crucially, there is always humour, too - this was Saturday night music; even when they wanted to moan, MCs had to make their listeners want to party.
British dialects, particularly cockney, are a frequent source of comedy in the music, as are the delights of belonging to two cultures. "Sweetest singer is Sugar Minott/Maddest comedian is Kenny Everett," rhymes Papa Levi on My God My King, the 1984 single that put British MCs on the map. With its new, super-speedy style of MCing, it topped the British reggae charts, became the first Jamaican number one by a British MC, and had an audible influence on Jamaican stars. Soon after, Irie made the top 10, and fellow funnyman Smiley Culture won a cameo in Absolute Beginners.
That was probably the scene's pop peak. Soon, American rap would muscle in and present music-making Britons of Caribbean descent with an alternative, angrier sound to aspire to, and a harder one to make their own. Rodney P - an MC who toured with Big Audio Dynamite when he was 15, and has since worked with Roots Manuva and Björk - found a way. In 1988, his London Posse released Money Mad, a record that crudely but brilliantly spliced rap, reggae and local observation into a gleefully noisy new sound that finally gave British rap an identity of its own.
"We had been to New York by then," he recalls. "In New York, I became very nationalistic: I'm English, I'm not American. I was speaking more cockney." It's remarkably similar to the way Damon Albarn was later to define Blur's invention of Britpop as a response to US grunge.
Britpop is long gone, but the comic, kitchen-sink vernacular of British MCs still has echoes in the storytelling style of Lily Allen and Mike Skinner.
"You kind of forget, in England, that though reggae isn't really mainstream, it is all around," says Myddelton. "The places where reggae was really important - Southampton, Birmingham, London - are the places where things like garage and dubstep took off later." It's no coincidence: grime, jungle, and other dance scenes also owe the bulk of their DNA to the conventions of the reggae sound system.
An England Story is released by Soul Jazz, an independent label that, since the mid-1990s, has put out a series of compilations focused around specific strands of rap, reggae, soul, Latin and gospel music that have been otherwise neglected. "The reason we're still going," says its founder, Stuart Baker, "is that there are still areas of music that we want to go on to."
Tippa Irie's neighbour probably has some ideas for where they might look for their next release. "This reggy they play," he declares on Complain Neighbour as An England Story approaches its end, "is worser than opera."
Ok Breaking news, can I have a drum roll please this information is SO HOT we have to write it in an air conditioned room so the page don't burn up. Information reaching the offices of 876radio.com has informed us that Beenie Man and Barbee were allegedly in a fight over the weekend. The source said Barbee was at the Doctor's Bachelor Pad which he shares with is brother 'Blue' on Wellington Drive in Upper St. Andrew. The source explained to 876radio.com that this is what occured; Barbee was home relaxing and enjoying a meal, which has become a regular practice for the young singer, when Beenie came home sporting another girl on his arm, on entry to the home he allegedly said to Barbee he wanted to have a Ménage à Trois (threesome), But her reponse was "I'm not in the mood today". At this point because of her refusal the Doctor forced her to leave the house, but not before Barbee decided to put up a fight, as she was not going to sit there and allow another woman to come and take her place, (Quick flash back, didn't they both said they were NOT involved ..We are just wondering, then again that was the exact statement he uttered, earlier in the year when he was asked about D'Angel and see what that led to Macro Dean, MAFIA House getting dissolved and a slew to problems too countless to mention). Now back to the story, It's alleged that during the melee Barbee got beat up by the Doctor, before she eventually left. The irony about this whole story is that Barbee who was slated to perform in Portmore over the weekend did not show (I wonder why), and Beenie was also seen over the weekend sporting a new girl on his arm. So the big question is, Could it really be over for Ken, (sorry I mean Beenie) and Barbee even though they claim NOT to be involved?. | |
Radio personality, Nikki Z, yesterday appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court to answer to the charge of possession of ganja.
Nikki Z, whose real name is Nicole Duhaney, is to return to court in July.
When the matter was mentioned in the Corporate Area Resident Magsitrate's Court on Wednesday, her attorney, Antonnette Haughton, told the court that the policeman, a Mr Ashman, who was investigating the matter, had died and so she was not sure where the case was going.
However, the clerk of court said a Constable Gary Messam was the investigating officer recorded on the file. She told the court that they were awaiting the forensic report and so required another mention date.
It was then set for July 31. Resident Magistrate Glen Brown also extended her bail.
Moses 'Beenie Man' Davis says he wants to set the record straight, as recent reports in the media have suggested that he mocked members of the Alliance, namely Bounty Killer and Mavado, during their absence at the 'Best of the Best' show held in Miami on Sunday.
Ridiculed BountyAccording to reports, the deejay ridiculed Bounty Killer and the Alliance when he went onstage and said, "See it deh, some a dem nuh have no visa. Bounty caan guh a foreign again."
It had been reported in THE STAR (Saturday, May 24) that Bounty Killer would not be appearing on the 'Best of the Best' show, due to an inability to get a work permit application processed at the United States Consulate in Kingston in time for the show.
However, when contacted, 'The Doctor' said he meant no disrespect to Bounty or members of the Alliance by his comments and performance of 'Alliance songs'.
"Nuh represent mi guh represent fi di man dem. A entertain mi guh fi entertain, an' mi like fi si when everybody a move. Mi sey, people, Alliance nah guh deh yah 'cause dem nuh get nuh visa, suh mi do a Mavado tune an' dem (patrons) sing it from start to finish," Beenie said.
"I don't want Jamaica feel sey a mock mi a mock di people dem," he added.
According to Beenie, the fans saw nothing wrong with what he did and in fact loved it.
"Di people dem did appreciate it ... Mi sing I'm on the Rock (Mavado) and 'Waran all type a tings' fi Bounty. Then dem (the organisers) turn off di mic pon mi an' di people dem start lef' 'cause dem think sey a done di show done. But dem call up Supa Cat afta dat."
So far, there are no indications that members of the Alliance have taken offence to Beenie's actions at the 'Best of the Best' show in Miami, as a spokesperson for the Alliance said, "everybody knows a jus' Beenie dat, a jus' suh him stay."
Beenie says his focus now is simply on music and on being positive.
"Di summa a guh nice. Mi nuh need dem negative ting yah right now."
Stung by the spiralling murder tally, Minister of National Security Colonel Trevor MacMillan yesterday vowed to use the full force of the law to stop the *lo**shed he described as one of the worst in Jamaica's history.
"Let me be very clear, that this Government will not hesitate to respond with the full force of the law to bring this situation under control and ensure that stability is restored to the entire country," MacMillan said in his first statement after being sworn in by the president of the Senate yesterday.
MacMillan said that he would be announcing a multi-dimensional response to the country's crime problems within a few days, acknowledging that criminals had been operating "with impunity" for far too long and that the State would not allow itself to be overrun by them.
"Regardless of where you live, and to whom you are affiliated, we will be leaving no stone unturned to bring the perpetrators of violence to justice," he declared to the Senate.
He admitted that the country had been experiencing "one of the *lo**iest periods of its history", noting that since the start of May, 181 persons have been murdered, an average of six per day.
"We are all shocked by the wanton disregard for human life and the brazen attacks upon even the most vulnerable in our society - our women and children," he said, pointing to recent killings in Allman Town in Central Kingston, as well as St James and Clarendon.
The minister's note of urgency appeared aimed at appeasing a chorus of calls on the Government to get more proactive in the fight against crime, as the murder rate climbed towards yet another record - nearing 700 deaths since the start of the year.
MacMillan's recent appointment to replace Derrick Smith came as part of the Government's response to the worsening crime situation and amidst a quarrel with the Opposition People's National Party (PNP) over how the developments were being handled.
In his statement yesterday, the security minister also admitted that the ambush and killing of two members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) last weekend and that of a member of the Jamaica Defence Force (JDF), while on operation, had demonstrated that criminals were showing no regard for neither human life nor the rule of law.
He suggested that most of the killings stemmed from conflicts between some of over 125 criminal gangs which the police had suggested were still operating throughout the country, as well as from inter-gang reprisals.
MacMillan offered his personal condolences to the relatives and friends of all who had lost their lives in the murder toll. He stated that the Government was fully aware of the need to address "deep social maladies" underlying the current crime problem as well, and was moving quickly to implement a comprehensive social intervention programme in "vulnerable and volatile" communities. The Peace Management Initiative (PMI) had already been mobilised in several communities.
MacMillan noted that there was an accelerated deployment of security forces to such areas but pointed out that the security forces had been over-taxed for sometime now, and that the current upsurge in crime was stretching the limits of their ability to respond to the crisis.
"I want to personally thank each member (of the security forces) for continuing to go the extra mile, even as we call upon them to redouble their efforts at this time...Let me appeal to all Jamaicans to set aside their differences and come together to save the lives of our citizens who are being killed daily. The security forces are depending on all of us to play our part," he appealed....
ME SOON PACK ME BAGS AN LEAVE...
TOO MUCH *lo** IN DI STREETS!!
smaddy get f**k indeed!