The woman discovered she had an identical twin when she was mistaken for someone else in a shop in 2001.
The two sisters , who were not named, found they were born in the same hospital in 1973 around the same time and a DNA test subsequently showed they were identical twins.
"In 1973 there were two assistants and one supervisor for 60 babies," Densi Calero, who worked in the maternity unit of the clinic at the time, told local radio. "It's not impossible to imagine something like this could happen."
The woman is suing the Canary Island health services for 3 million euros (2.38 million pounds) for emotional trauma, El Pais newspaper reported. "I wish I'd never found out about it," her lawyer quoted her as saying.
Her sister was brought up alongside another girl, believing they were twins.
His victim managed to call the police while his back was turned and officers recorded Paramasivam Sivasothy as he carried out the "brutal, ugly and repugnant" attack.
Southwark Crown Court was told that Sivasothy, 44, recited lines from Othello at the terrified woman before raping her.
A tape of the woman screaming in pain and begging to be left alone was played to the court yesterday.
Hannah Llewellyn-Waters, prosecuting, said: "He pushed her into the bedroom of her flat, and pushed her backwards on to the bed.
"She managed to get to the telephone and call 999 but the phone disconnected."
She managed to convince Sivasothy to leave the room briefly and was able to call the emergency services and give her address, then dropped the receiver when he came back. The operator recorded the call as police raced to the flat.
Sivasothy, from Southgate, north London, initially denied the allegations of rape, attempted rape and assault by penetration but admitted the charges in court.
Judge Deborah Taylor said they were "brutal, ugly and repugnant" offences. She ordered that Sivasothy serve a minimum of three years and 40 days before being considered for release.
A MUM who gave birth to a stillborn boy is taking legal action against a hospital trust after she found out the body had been kept in a jar for FOUR years.
Jo-Ann Burrows, of Netley View, Hythe, Hamps, said that she was "disgusted" at the news as she had believed the body was cremated.
The 44-year-old mother-of-five is now organising a naming ceremony and funeral for the stillborn whose twin sister survived.
Ms Burrows said: "This experience has made me suicidal, if it wasnt for my friends and family I wouldnt be here.
"I kept asking for my babys funeral papers because I was always worried that he might be in a jar somewhere. I still couldnt believe it when I found out."
Ms Burrows gave birth to daughter Ellie on April 26, 2004 at the Hythe Birthing Centre, but gave birth to the stillborn twin two days later at home.
She said that an ultrasound scan taken the previous December had not revealed that she was carrying a twin.
After the stillbirth, Ms Burrows was taken to the Princess Anne maternity hospital, in Southampton, where she gave her consent for the body to be cremated but has spent four years asking for the funeral papers and ashes.
She was informed through her solicitor in February that the hospital still had the baby and has now filed a medical negligence claim against Southampton University Hospitals NHS Trust
It claims the trust failed to exercise reasonable care and skill when performing the ultrasound and also focuses on Ms Burrows repeated requests for confirmation of the cremation.
A Trust spokeswoman said Southampton University Hospitals NHS Trust confirms that legal proceedings have been brought against it by Ms Jo-Ann Burrows.
"The matter currently remains subject to formal legal proceedings and the trust is not in a position to comment any further at this stage.
"The chief executive has already written to Ms Burrows apologising for shortcomings in the treatment provided to her and, in particular, for the circumstances which led to Ms Burrows second twin not being cremated in 2004 as they had previously advised and for the distress this discovery may have caused."
Ms Burrows and the father Rodney Wheeler have decided to name the baby Haydon Rodney Wheeler at a baby naming ceremony on June 3 two days before he is to be cremated.
A GIRL of nines face was torn apart by a huge cross-bred Japanese fighting dog at a childrens birthday party yesterday.
The akita-alsatian mix locked its jaws around Zoe Stentons face after she clambered over a garden gate to join the celebrations. The attack left her cheek hanging off.
Last night Zoe was facing five hours of surgery to piece her face and nose back together.
Neighbour Emma Cutting, 28, and partner Dave Murdoch, 30, had been holding a party for their six-year-old lad in Castleford, West Yorks.
A witness said: As soon as Zoe came over Spike jumped. There was *lo** all over her. Her cheek was hanging off.
Zoes dad Wayne said last night: She is in pain, trying to be brave and joking with nurses.
The doctors say the scarring will be limited.
It is not yet decided whether the dog, who was taken away by police, will be destroyed.
But neighbour Mandy Smith, 36, said: Its gone for me before. Ive thought before it could do some damage
A MAN almost died when he stopped for a roadside toilet break and was bitten by a deadly snake - on the end of his manhood.
The poisonous brown snake darted between his legs and dived at his penis as he crouched on the roadside near Cairns, Australia, before fleeing.
Emergency workers rushed to the scene and wrapped the man's member in plastic in case it was infected with poison.
But the tourist - suffering from a wound, vomiting and stomach pain - was given the all clear after tests.
An ambulance spokesman, who described the victim as "lucky," said: "It certainly had a swipe at him.
"But it didnt envenomate him. As it came through it must have got a bit of a shock.
"I think he was a bit shocked and embarra**ed."
Michel Fourniret, a diminutive, bespectacled man, was dubbed the "Ogre of Ardennes" for the crimes he committed alongside his grey-haired wife, Monique.
Fourniret confessed to the murders and will not appeal his sentence |
He has been found guilty of murdering seven girls and women aged between 12 and 22 from 1987 onwards.
By his own admission, however, he has killed more - strangling, shooting or stabbing his victims with a screwdriver.
From their chateau on the forested border region between France and Belgium the pair would head out in their small van, sometimes with their baby son in the vehicle, looking for victims.
Monique Oliver and Michel Fourniret had signed a criminal pact: she pledged to help him find the young women he sought; he, in return, promised that he would kill her former husband.
But only Monique carried out her role, presenting the picture of domesticity that lured young women into trusting the couple.
Pen-pals
Prosecutors said Fourniret was "obsessed" with virgins.
Wife Monique faces at least 28 years in prison for her role as an accomplice |
Monique, meanwhile, defended her actions, saying her husband manipulated and terrified her.
"The fear was constant, it lived within me" she told the court.
The 66-year-old Fourniret, a forest warden, first made contact with Monique while he was in detention, awaiting trial for a sex crime.
He is reported to have placed an advert in a Catholic magazine for a pen-pal. She replied and they began a correspondence.
When he left prison, in 1987, they moved in together in a house in the south of Paris, before later purchasing the castle surrounded by woods in France's Ardennes region, near the border with Belgium.
The killing spree began just two months after Fourniret was released. Monique reportedly later told police that her role had been to "hunt virgins" for her husband.
Forest burials
Travelling in their van, the couple approached 17-year-old Isabelle Laville, who was on her way home from school.
Under the pretence of asking her directions, they managed to persuade her to travel with them to show them the way.
Her remains were found at the bottom of a well almost two decades later.
A year later, 20-year-old Fabienne Leroy was seized from a supermarket car park east of Paris. Her body was found near a military base the day after she disappeared. She had been shot in the chest.
The bodies of Fourniret's other victims - all of whom he admitted to killing but denies raping - were found in the grounds of his chateau, on a beach or deep in the forest.
Unco-operative
Fourniret was discovered when, in 2003, a 13-year-old girl he attempted to abduct managed to escape.
She managed to bite her way through the ropes around her wrists and flee, having the presence of mind to make a note of his registration number.
Under questioning, Monique Olivier confessed, apparently fearing she would face a conviction similar to the 30-year sentence handed down to the spouse of Belgian paedophile and murderer Marc Dutroux.
Indeed the French court later ruled that she must serve at least 28 years of her life sentence, after being found guilty of acting as her husband's accomplice in five of the murders.
Fourniret - who is described as of above average intelligence - was unco-operative during his two-month trial.
He unsuccessfully tried to have the media and press removed from the courtroom and often refused to speak, passing secret notes to his lawyers and the judge.
Fourniret still denies having committed any crime between 1990 and 2000 but is suspected of being involved in the murder of a Leeds university student, Joanna Parish, who disappeared in Burgundy in 1990.
The christening service for a five-year-old at a church in Waterloo district, St Elizabeth, was recently the scene of chaos when a fight broke out among the child's parents and another woman who attended the service with the child's father.
Information reaching The Star is that about 1:50 p.m., the mother of the child, who is from Westmoreland, brought her baby to the church to be christened. While there, awaiting the arrival of the child's father, who is a police officer, it is said that he showed up at the church with another woman, much to Jones' disapproval.
Both women then got involved in a heated argument, which later developed into a brawl inside the church, in full view of those in attendance. It was at this point that the child's father intervened, beating up his babymother.
When contacted, the Santa Cruz police said that the details on the matter would be available at a later date. However, one policeman at the station confirmed that the incident took place and that child's father was a member of the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF). He was reluctant to divulge any further information on the matter.FAMOUS COUPLE DAGGERING AGAIN
Somebody please say it aint so. I heard this rumour weeks ago but just totally ignored it, but now, a confidante of mine informed me that even if they had not officially got back together, they were at least daggering. You can just imagine my shock and consternation that this could have actually happened. What would Racquel say? How would Schoolgirl take the news? And of course, wah Zagga Zow haffi say about this? Dem say ole fire stick ketch quick, but this ah one fire mi no waan see start, it woulda too much fi me. Daggering, daggering, daggering...maybe ah next baby coulda soon be on the way....daggering daggering daggering. Worse like how ah pure rain inna Jamaica now.
THIS JUST IN...NIKKI Z IN 'LANDLORD PASSA PASSA'
Cops were spotted outside the residence of radio personality Nikki Z this morning as the controversial disc jock appeared to be in some sort of dispute with her landlord.
One876entertainment understands that she was handed a notice to vacate the property even though she hadnt occupied the property for more than four weeks. We understand that the problems began when the Z acquired a stove and proceeded to put the landlord's stove outside the house, and the dispute began to mushroom from that incident. We were unable to get in touch with the landlord, or Nikki Z to get a comment. But what a gwaan Nikki Z, first the police ah pressure yu 'bout spliff and now this, dem a hand yu notice , wah really a gwaan?
POISON DART SHOOTING BAFFLES DANCEHALL
Everybody is on me about this Poison Dart shooting say how mi no have the story, but me have a policy, when it come to bad man ting, mi no talk about it unless mi know exactly where it ah come from. Let me tell yu what mi hear on the streets when I was in Fort Lauderdale wid mi girlfriend dem last week. First, mi hear say dem shoot this Poison Dart selector yute ah one dance inna the Ft. Lauderdale region, then last weekend, two other selector get shot at a dance in Tampa, so everybody ah wonder who declare war pon the sound. When the first man get shot, people did feel say it was a personal ting wid him and some other man, but after this shooting, it leave everybody fi wonder if is a personal vendetta against the owner of the sound or what. Thats all mi know, as mi say, ah bad man ting so we no linger inna dem people de affairs. Ah party we say.
NINJAMAN CRITICISES BUJU BANTON AND JR. REID
What a way Ninjaman mash up the Buzz on IRIE FM the other night when him start criticize Junior Reid and Buju Banton fi a buss fight as icon inna the business because it just nuh look right. Him mek the show nice because him all a crack joke say him like IRIE FM because no fight caan bruk inna the studio, when mi hear that, mi laugh so till mi bellybottom cramp. But why him ah talk about an issue like this when him buss tjhe biggest fight inna the history of dancehall wid Vybz Kartel at Sting 2003?
ASSASSINS GIRLS GONE WILD SELL OFF
Mi go Assassins event at Weekenz on Tuesday night and it sell right off. The week before, it never hype, but this week, mi no know, crazy tings gwaan over de. The girls dem get mad, and crazy bruk out ting gwaan. Yu shoulda see me a do the Gully Creeper inna mi Jimmy Choos, yea, ah straight creeping, and mi buss the uptown linger, weh some gal feel like? Yea, mi have the moves like that.
RICH N HAPPY SATDAZE TO START NEXT WEEK
Rich and Happy Sat'daze ah go sell off. The spokesperson for the event spoke to one876 and explained the reasons behind the event.
The event is so aptly titled because we are celebrating not only our financial status, but our spiritual status....I know it sounds like a contrast, but hey with all thats happening now in Jamaica, we need a clean, violence free outlet to vent, and Fyahskymedia has chosen a series of sessions of this nature to do just that, the spokesperson said. There will be 13 themed out events for the course of the summer, starting with a "Pull-over Party" on June 7. Mi nah go miss Night of the Applebottoms on June 14, memba.
BIG UPS
Big up Charly Black, yu mash up St. Vincent the other day, big up the selector Fire Oneil and Mr. Bling, ah oonu mek Passion Sundays ah No Limit nice, gwaan blaze it, mi miss it last week but this Sunday, yu dun know. Big up the Bembe Squad, the pre-Labour Day show did mad!During the show [at Prince's house last week], they laughed and held hands. At one point, while Diddy sipped a Grey Goose, Cameron told him he "must" try her bread pudding, which she proceeded to spoon-feed him. After some whispering, Diddy nodded toward Prince's mansion.
Once inside, he led Diaz by the hand through its labyrinthine corridors to Prince's basement. That's where we came upon the entranced twosome standing in the theater's doorway. Diddy was bringing his lips toward hers when he realized someone was approaching. Smiling, they closed the theater's door and locked it. We heard them giggling inside.
I have a problem and I hope you can give me some good advice about what to do. I have a son with a guy whom I love so much, but we have a big problem. His mother is always in our business. She can tell when we have sex and when we don't. If I leave to go anywhere, she would call her son and tell him that I am gone to look man when she doesn't know where I went. These things caused him to tell me it's over between us which I didn't want, but it happened.
Anyway, I went to visit my mother in another country where I met another guy. He really loves me. We started dating and recently he asked me to marry him. I told him that I have to think about it. I told him that because I still love my baby father. I do love this guy, but I don't know what to do.
Pastor, please, I need your help please.
K. K., Clarendon, Jamaica
Dear K.K.,
Your child's father in the ass, and he is not going to change. He will always be listening to his mother. Therefore; if you truly love the guy you met and you are convinced that he loves you, and both of you can have a future together, accept his proposal, go for pre-marital counselling and marry him.A BOY of 14 was chased and stabbed to death by a teenage gang because he gave them a dirty look, a court heard yesterday.
Martin Dinnegan is said to have repeatedly screamed please help me as he tried to outrun at least four youths riding bikes and mopeds.
He was cornered then punched, kicked and stabbed in the back four times, the jury heard.
He bled to death just an hour after the row began.
Prosecutor Aftab Jafferjee QC blamed the killing on the growing scourge of urban posturing.
He said it involves aimless meandering by groups prepared to exploit any pretext to engage in violence.
Martin and his pals were on a bus in North London when dirty looks were exchanged with another group on bikes, the Old Bailey heard.
The gangs later clashed on an estate in Holloway and a boy of 16 was stabbed in the shoulder.
Martin fled but the other gang armed with screwdrivers and knives followed and rained blows on him, the court heard.
A witness heard an attacker say: You want to play with knives, I will show you what knives are, it was said.
One blade passed right through Martins body. He also had a cut between his thumb and forefinger typical of a defence injury.
Rene John-Baptiste, 21, of Plaistow, Sean Clark, 19, of Holloway, a 17-year-old and a 16-year-old all deny murder.
The trial continues.
A TODDLER has died after allegedly swallowing heroin substitute methadone.
Dylan Hughes, two, mistook the drug for a fruit drink, neighbours said.
Frantic parents Paul and Crystal called 999 but the lad died later in hospital.
A post-mortem yesterday was said to be inconclusive and toxicology tests have been ordered.
Dylans playgroup and other pals left teddies at his door. He died near Bridgend, South Wales, where 20 youngsters have been found hanged since the start of last year three in Dylans village Nantymoel.
Methadone is taken mixed with fruit juice by addicts trying to come off heroin.
Police said Dylans parents were cooperating with the investigation. No one had been arrested last night.
A neighbour said: Weve had our share of tragedies but this is so unfair. Its one thing after another.
The second annual staging of Jah Cure's CureFest has been put on hold. This move comes as a result of the numerous overseas engagements the artiste has. Since the staging of CureFest in October 2007, Jah Cure's career has grown by leaps and bounds and for the last six months Cure has been touring consistently.
Delmar Drummond, CEO Danger Promotions, explained the decision: "The demand for Jah Cure is extremely high right now. So many promoters from all over the world have been requesting him to perform. We decided to venture to Europe to give him more exposure there. Unfortunately the dates of the Europe tour coincide with the dates proposed for CureFest 2008. We are hoping that we still may be able to host CureFest after the Europe tour but we cannot be sure just yet. If not, we will definitely schedule it for next year as we are committed to making CureFest a calendar event in Jamaica. We apologize for all Cure fans who looked forward to CureFest this year."
CureFest 2007 was the 3-day event staged between Friday October 12 and Sunday October 14, and began with Jah Cure's birthday celebration dubbed Reflections at the Starfish Hotel. This was followed by 45 Cure's on Saturday October 13 at Pier 1, Montego Bay where Radio DJ's and sound systems came out to show their support. The event climaxed with the Longing For concert at the Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium on Sunday, October 14 where Jah Cure performed a full set for the 1st time in Jamaica in 8 years. Jah Cure will however, perform on Sumfest Reggae Night, Friday July 18 in Montego Bay, Jamaica.
This June Jah Cure will begin his first full European Tour. This will be the biggest tour Jah Cure has done to-date and will take him to all the major cities in Europe including states in Scandinavia.
The promoters of CureFest are assuring fans that when CureFest returns it will be bigger and better than its inaugural staging.
Lisa Van Allen, 27 - who claimed Kelly videotaped some of the alleged trysts - was the last witness before prosecutors rested their case.
She told jurors that Kelly had offered her $250,000 to recover one of the tapes.
During cross-examination, a defence attorney accused Van Allen of plotting to extort money from the singer, a claim she denied.
Under further questioning she admitted she once stole Kellys $20,000 diamond-studded watch from a hotel.
"Van Allen is an admitted thief and liar who wouldnt know the truth if she tripped over it," Kellys business manager, Derrel McDavid, said in a statement.
Kelly, 41, faces as many as 15 years in prison if convicted of child pornography on suspicion of videotaping himself having sex with a female who prosecutors say was as young as 13.
He has pleaded not guilty and both he and the alleged victim, now 23, deny being on the video - which is separate from those Van Allen testified to being on.
The defence will begin presenting its case on Wednesday.
Van Allen told jurors on Monday she first had sex with Kelly and the alleged victim in 1998.
Kelly would have been around 30-years-old at the time, Van Allen about 18 and the alleged victim would have been 14, according to prosecutors estimates.
Van Allen said Kelly told her at the time that the alleged victim was 16. The age of legal consent in Illinois is 17.
The three-way sex took place in the same home on Chicagos North Side where prosecutors say the sex tape at the centre of the case was made, Van Allen told jurors.
She said she began crying during a second sexual encounter in 1999 with Kelly and the alleged victim, causing an upset Kelly to pick up the video camera and leave the room.
"I started crying ... because I didnt want to do it," Van Allen testified.
She said Kelly complained that her crying ruined the footage and that he never kept tapes during which she cried.
A final three-way encounter took place in a trailer during a video shoot in Chicago in 2000, Van Allen said. When someone came to the trailer door, the alleged victim "had to run into the bathroom naked" because Kelly did not want others to see her there, she told jurors.
Van Allen portrayed Kelly as obsessed with videotaping his sexual exploits, testifying that he even carried around a duffel bag with his homemade sex tapes in it.
"He carried it everywhere with him," she said.
"Wherever he was at, the bag would follow him."
Van Allen said she first met Kelly at the making of a music video in Georgia about ten years ago
The brave seven-year-old is only the SECOND child in the world to be cured of the genetic disease called NEMO.
It crippled his immune system, leaving him close to death, and doctors decided his only chance was a risky pioneering treatment - where he was kept in a bubble.
Pioneering ... Rhys is his bubble room
Wales News Service
For two months Rhys was sealed into a space-age airtight chamber where even his parents Dawn and Kevin were not allowed to touch him.
Just one kiss from his mum could have killed him as his entire immune system was killed off by chemotherapy.
Rhys then underwent a complete bone marrow transplant to put a new immune system into his young body.
And seven months later he is finally preparing to go home to Newbridge, Gwent, with doctors delighted at his progress.
NEMO as a condition was only discovered recently and Rhys was diagnosed with it when he was three.
Victims have a deficiency in their immune system which puts them at deadly risk from even the most common childhood infections.
It is called NEMO after the name of the gene that doesnt function correctly in the immune system.
FIVE children and an adult were killed when a school coach collided with a train on a level crossing yesterday.
Another six people were left fighting for life after the crash on a mountain road in Mesinges, in the French Alps.
There were 50 children on the bus which was hit by an express train travelling at 60mph.
One witness said the coach driver "jumped" a red light. The crossing did not have a barrier.
The passengers are all thought to be from nearby Margencel.
The driver is said to be "traumatised". Police are investigating but say he may have been shown a green light in error.
THE devastated dad of two kids stabbed to death by their mum wept to relatives yesterday: Why did she do it?
Navarajah Navaneethan, 39, is keeping a vigil at the bedside of his six-month-old daughter, fighting for life after her neck was slashed.
Son Shanjayan, five, and daughter Shajrani, four, were found slaughtered at the family home in Carshalton, Surrey, on Friday night.
Their shopkeeper mother Sasikala, 35, has been sectioned under the Mental Health Act.
Navarajah is staying with relatives in Forest Hill, South East London.
He is on bail, accused of beating up his wife after discovering what she had done.
A man who answered the door yesterday said: He is too distressed to talk. He is crying and screaming because of the pain. He doesnt know why she did it and hasnt spoken to her since it happened.
It will haunt him forever. He is travelling to the hospital every day.
SELITA Ebanks isn't crying over ex-fiancé Nick Cannon, who just married Mariah Carey. The Victoria's Secret hottie partied with Kanye West, who recently split with his fiancée, at Tenjune Saturday night. They were spotted trying to sneak out together late that night after dining upstairs. They looked "cozy" when they left, according to a spywitness outside. "They were trying to be inconspicuous, but they were smiling and walking real close, and they hopped in a waiting car together laughing and took off."
THE man who invented the Pringles tube was so proud of it he has been BURIED in one.
Designer Fred J. Baur asked for some of his ashes to be put in a can and interred in a grave in his home city.
Baur, who died at 89 in Cincinatti, Ohio, created the tube and the curved system for stacking the potato snacks inside it in 1966.
At the time he was a chemist for Procter & Gamble, who still make Pringles.
He also asked for some of his ashes to be given to his grandson.
And nearly 5,000 of those had to be admitted to hospital.
About 1,000 of the latest patients to be admitted in 2006/07 were KIDS.
The figures, from the British Medical Journal, were for England only.
I am 25 and I got married a few months ago. My husband and I are Christians. The problem that I am having is that I have no sexual appetite. My husband always wants to have sex, but I am never in the mood. I love my husband dearly and I am very attracted to him, but I rather cuddle than have sex. I wasn't a virgin when I got married. However, I rarely ever had sex before because of my Christian beliefs and tremendous guilt. I really want to make my husband happy, but I am just never up to it.
Plenty of sexHe gets frustrated when I say so, so sometimes I will just give in to please him. Most of the time, I am just praying for him to ejaculate so we can get it over with. I have never had an orgasm through regular sex, only through oral stimulation. He will even volunteer to do this to me, but I am still not in the mood.
Pastor, please tell me what to do. I always envisioned my marriage filled with plenty of sex, since I was never really doing it regularly before I got married. Is something wrong with me? Why do I rather curling up and cuddling with him than having sexual intercourse?
Sexually Challenged, USA
Dear Sexually Challenged,
First of all, I want to believe that you are carrying with you guilt and that needs to be addressed. Dr. Paul Tournier, in his book Guilt and Grace, mentions that there are true and false guilt. I believe that the things you have done as a Christian are tormenting you even though you are now married. And they are tormenting you to the extent that you are finding it difficult to relate to your husband. It means then that you need therapy to deal with guilt.
make adjustmentsThe second point I wish to make is that, sex is intended for procreation and pleasure within the marriage bond. And anyone who is not prepared to have sex, should not get married. In his best seller, How to be Happily Married, Dr. E. J. Daniels lays down some rules and one is, "Be willing to make adjustments". "To be happily married", he says "a husband and wife must learn to give and take. Neither one should expect the other to make all of the surrenders. Each should be willing to concede to the other so there is a happy medium in their conduct pattern with each other."
His advice is fitting for you because you have only been married for a few months. He goes on to say "It is because of these necessary adjustments that a married couple usually find that the first year of marriage life is the most difficult one". It is quite clear that your husband and yourself are still trying to make adjustments. You are behaving as if you are still single and if you have sex, you are committing sin. I repeat, that is how you are behaving. Remember your husband will not always be very patient with you.
Daniels in chapter five of his book writes, "It is almost impossible for a couple to be happily married unless their sex life is normal. Many people, especially wives, underestimate the importance of sex. They do not realise the vital part it plays in all phases of their marriage".
conjugal rightsI suggest that when you are not in the mood for sex, consider what the Apostle Paul has written in 1Corintians 7: 1-5. "Now concerning the matters about which you wrote: "It is well for a man not to touch a woman." 2: But because of cases of sexual immorality, each man should have his own wife and each woman her own husband. 3: The husband should give to his wife her conjugal rights, and likewise the wife to her husband. 4: For the wife does not have authority over her own body, but the husband does; likewise the husband does not have authority over his own body, but the wife does. 5: Do not deprive one another except perhaps by agreement for a set time, to devote yourselves to prayer, and then come together again, so that Satan may not tempt you because of your lack of self-control."
Remember that it is normal for your husband to want to have sex with you. It is your obligation to meet his sexual needs. If you do not try to meet his sexual needs, he may be tempted to go to another woman and may actually do so. If you feel that you can't manage, see a sex therapist.
PastorMany producers have been claiming the limelight in the music business locally, yet there are still countless others who remain behind the scenes.
Stephen McGregor, Don Corleon, DASECA and Baby G have been hailed in the most popular songs, thus ensuring that their names are first and foremost recognised as rhythm producers.
However, there are some producers like dancehall artiste Demarco who has not fully established himself as a rhythm creator but has been making many rhythms for other people to claim as their own.
"I don't sell the rhythm to them (other producers). I get the publishing rights. More time yuh can't do everything fi yuhself, yuh haffi spread di thing. Dem might be able to voice somebody that you can't," said Demarco.
He added, "Dat mek yuh name get out there. When di producers put out things an' mek it reach far, yuh get the credit."
He says he has done rhythms for other people in the industry. He did the 'Mission', 'Supercharge' and 'Gang War', rhythms for Baby G. Gang War features Mavado's The World Is Mine and 'Supercharge'.
Demarco has also done rhythms for Jam 2 like 'Sidewalk University' which features Vybz Kartel's Beyonce Wine as well as 'Splash Out' and '*lo** City' rhythms. He has also done the 'Shoot Out' rhythm for John John.
In addition, he did the 'Warning' rhythm for Shane Brown of Juke Boxx Productions. It features Demarco's Sort Dem Out, Mavado's Money Changer and Bounty Killer's Dem Nuh Bad; along with Busy Signal's single Unknown Number.
For those to whom he has sold rhythms, Demarco says the prices vary.
"It depends on what purpose. For big labels in the US (United States) yuh haffi deal wid it different. Like a local company a 2 or 3 grand (US dollars)," said Demarco who produced his single Fallen Soldiers and Busy Signal's Wine Pon De Edge.
Serani of DASECA Production said the group has sold rhythms because people want rhythms from them and that is another way of making money. They sold 'Wipe Out' rhythm to Danger Zone and 'Gully Creature' rhythm, which features Mavado's Touch The Road, to Foota Hype.
Despite selling the rhythm, DASECA maintains publishing and musician rights to it.
When asked about the price the rhythms are sold for, fellow producer Serani said, "Yuh pushing it now".
Shane Brown says he has also bought rhythms but he does not sell rhythms. However, he is occasionally hired to produce songs for other artistes.
"Different people have different vibes and different concepts. As a producer, artiste manager (For Busy Signal) and engineer sometimes with the amount of work that comes in I can't produce so much," Brown told THE STAR.
When he buys the rhythms he says those who create them still get their publishing and writer's rights.
Like Shane Brown, Adrian Locke of Truckback Records says he does not sell rhythms.
"We don't do it as practice. Many Japanese producers want to get the real Jamaican beats so they would come here. I would produce the track for the artiste and they would put it on their album," said Adrian whose Truckback Records produced the 'Gearbox' rhythm which featured Erup's Click Mi Finger.
He added, "If I am to sell a beat it means that I sell my royalties, unless we work out something with them for the royalties like composership rights."
A youth leader is encouraging all Jamaicans to wear black today as a statement against the increasing murders since the start of the year.
The Wear Black Today campaign was started by Lawman Lynch, a youth leader with the Kingston and St. Andrew Action Forum, following the shooting of seven people in Allman Town last week.
UpsetIn a meeting following the shooting, he said he heard an education officer say she was upset by the shooting and just felt like wearing black. He said he got the idea from what that teacher said and decided to send out an e-mail to as many people as he knew, encouraging them to do that and pass on the message.
However, he says black is not only a sign of mourning for those who have died, but a sign of strength. "Black means more than that, it signifies strength and boldness," he told THE STAR.
SolidarityLynch feels Jamaicans can rise above the murders if everybody unites. "Crime and violence is staring us in the face and, unless we come together and stand in solidarity it will destroy us," he said.
He said since sending out the e-mail, he has received responses from persons suggesting the campaign should be more frequent, with everyone wearing black once a week or monthly to send the message that we want a crime-free society until something is done.
In the e-mail, he mourns the death of a friend killed in the recent shootings in Allman Town and calls on the society to wear black. "Let's mourn the death of so many of our Jamaican brothers and sisters, let's mourn the death of our youth and children, let's collectively make a statement; crime is out of control, but we need not block the roads, just WEAR SOMETHING BLACK," the e-mail said.
Condolence bookHe said today, he and some other representatives from various organisations will be visiting the Denham Town Police Station to sign the condolence book. Two police constables attached to the Kingston Western Police Division were recently killed in Federal Gardens.
Although Lynch is not too sure about where the campaign will end up, he is encouraging Jamaicans to get involved in the fight against crime and make a statement discouraging the murders in the society.WASHINGTON - Barack Obama effectively clinched the Democratic presidential nomination Tuesday after a grueling marathon, based on an Associated Press tally of convention delegates, becoming the first black candidate ever to lead his party into a fall campaign for the White House.
ADVERTISEMENT |
Campaigning on an insistent call for change, Obama outlasted former first lady Hillary Rodham Clinton in a historic race that sparked record turnout in primary after primary, yet exposed deep racial and gender divisions within the party.
The tally was based on public declarations from delegates as well as from another 15 who have confirmed their intentions to the AP. It also included 11 delegates Obama was guaranteed as long as he gained 30 percent of the vote in South Dakota and Montana later in the day. It takes 2,118 delegates to clinch the nomination.
The 46-year-old first-term senator will face John McCain in the fall campaign to become the 44th president. The Arizona senator campaigned in Memphis during the day, and had no immediate reaction to Obama's victory.
Clinton stood ready to concede that her rival had amassed the delegates needed to triumph, according to officials in her campaign. They stressed that the New York senator did not intend to suspend or end her candidacy in a speech Tuesday night in New York. They spoke on condition of anonymity because they had not been authorized to divulge her plans.
Obama's triumph was fashioned on prodigious fundraising, meticulous organizing and his theme of change aimed at an electorate opposed to the Iraq war and worried about the economy all harnessed to his own innate gifts as a campaigner.
With her husband's two-White House terms as a backdrop, Clinton campaigned for months as the candidate of experience, a former first lady and second-term senator ready, she said, to take over on Day One.
But after a year on the campaign trail, Obama won the kickoff Iowa caucuses on Jan. 3, and the freshman senator became something of an overnight political phenomenon.
"We came together as Democrats, as Republicans and independents, to stand up and say we are one nation, we are one people and our time for change has come," he said that night in Des Moines.
A video produced by Will I. Am and built around Obama's "Yes, we can" rallying cry quickly went viral. It drew its one millionth hit within a few days of being posted.
As the strongest female presidential candidate in history, Clinton drew large, enthusiastic audiences. Yet Obama's were bigger still. One audience, in Dallas, famously cheered when he blew his nose on stage; a crowd of 75,000 turned out in Portland, Ore., the weekend before the state's May 20 primary.
The former first lady countered Obama's Iowa victory with an upset five days later in New Hampshire that set the stage for a campaign marathon as competitive as any in the last generation.
"Over the last week I listened to you, and in the process I found my own voice," she told supporters who had saved her candidacy from an early demise.
In defeat, Obama's aides concluded they had committed a cardinal sin of New Hampshire politics, forsaking small, intimate events in favor of speeches to large audiences inviting them to ratify Iowa's choice.
It was not a mistake they made again which helped explain Obama's later outings to bowling alleys, backyard basketball hoops and American Legion halls in the heartland.
Clinton conceded nothing, memorably knocking back a shot of Crown Royal whiskey at a bar in Indiana, recalling that her grandfather had taught her to use a shotgun, and driving in a pickup to a gas station in South Bend, Ind., to emphasize her support for a summertime suspension of the federal gasoline tax.
As other rivals quickly fell away in winter, the strongest black candidate in history and the strongest female White House contender traded victories on Super Tuesday, the Feb. 5 series of primaries and caucuses across 21 states and American Samoa that once seemed likely to settle the nomination.
But Clinton had a problem that Obama exploited, and he scored a coup she could not answer.
Pressed for cash, the former first lady ran noncompetitive campaigns in several Super Tuesday caucus states, allowing her rival to run up his delegate totals.
At the same time, Sen. Edward M. Kennedy, D-Mass., endorsed the young senator in terms that summoned memories of his slain brothers while seeking to turn the page on the Clinton era.
In a reference that likened former President Clinton to Harry Truman: "There was another time, when another young candidate was running for president and challenging America to cross a new frontier. He faced criticism from the preceding Democratic president, who was widely respected in the party."
Merely by surviving Super Tuesday, Obama exceeded expectations.
But he did more than survive, emerging with a lead in delegates that he never relinquished, and proceeded to run off a string of 11 straight victories.
Clinton saved her candidacy once more with primary victories in Ohio and Texas on March 4, beginning a stretch in which she won primaries in six of the final nine states on the calendar, as well as in Puerto Rico.
It was a strong run, providing glimpses of what might have been for the one-time front-runner.
But by then Obama was well on his way to victory, Clinton and her allies stressed the popular vote instead of delegates. Yet he seemed to emerge from each loss with residual strength.
Obama's bigger-than-expected victory in North Carolina on May 6 offset his narrow defeat in Indiana the same day. Four days later, he overtook Clinton's lead among superdelegates, the party leaders she had hoped would award her the nomination on the basis of a strong showing in swing states.
Obama lost West Virginia by a whopping 67 percent to 26 percent on May 13. Yet he won an endorsement the following day from former presidential rival and one-time North Carolina Sen. John Edwards.
Clinton administered another drubbing in Kentucky a week later. This time, Obama countered with a victory in Oregon, and turned up that night in Iowa to say he had won a majority of all the delegates available in 56 primaries and caucuses on the calendar.
There were moments of anger, notably in a finger-wagging debate in South Carolina on Jan. 21.
Obama told the former first lady he was helping unemployed workers on the streets of Chicago when "you were a corporate lawyer sitting on the board at Wal-Mart."
Moments later, Clinton said that she was fighting against misguided Republican policies "when you were practicing law and representing your contributor ... in his slum landlord business in inner city Chicago."
And Bill Clinton was a constant presence and an occasional irritant for Obama. The former president angered several black politicians when he seemed to diminish Obama's South Carolina triumph by noting that Jesse Jackson had also won the state.
Obama's frustration showed at the Jan. 21 debate, when he accused the former president in absentia of uttering a series of distortions.
"I'm here. He's not," the former first lady snapped.
"Well, I can't tell who I'm running against sometimes," Obama countered.
There were relatively few policy differences. Clinton accused Obama of backing a health care plan that would leave millions out, and the two clashed repeatedly over trade.
Yet race, religion, region and gender became political fault lines as the two campaigned from coast to coast.
Along the way, Obama showed an ability to weather the inevitable controversies, most notably one caused by the incendiary rhetoric of his former pastor, the Rev. Jeremiah Wright.
At first, Obama said he could not break with his longtime spiritual adviser. Then, when Wright spoke out anew, Obama reversed course and denounced him strongly.
Clinton struggled with self-inflicted wounds. Most prominently, she claimed to have come under sniper fire as first lady more than a decade earlier while paying a visit to Bosnia.
Instead, videotapes showed her receiving a gift of flowers from a young girl who greeted her plane
WASHINGTON - Hillary Rodham Clinton will concede Tuesday night that Barack Obama has the delegates to secure the Democratic nomination, campaign officials said, effectively ending her bid to be the nation's first female president.
ADVERTISEMENT |
The former first lady will stop short of formally suspending or ending her race in her speech in New York City. She will pledge to continue to speak out on issues like health care. But for all intents and purposes, the two senior officials said, the campaign is over.
Most campaign staff will be let go and will be paid through June 15, said the officials who spoke on condition of anonymity because they were not authorized to divulge her plans.
The advisers said Clinton has made a strategic decision to not formally end her campaign, giving her leverage to negotiate with Obama on various matters including a possible vice presidential nomination for her. She also wants to press him on issues he should focus on in the fall, such as health care.
Universal health care, Clinton's signature issue as first lady in the 1990s, was a point of dispute between Obama and the New York senator during their epic nomination fight.
Hillary Clinton has summoned top donors and backers to attend her New York speech tomorrow night in an unusual move that is being widely interpreted to mean she plans to soon suspend her campaign and endorse Barack Obama - not tomorrow night but within a day or two.
Obama and Clinton spoke Sunday night and agreed that their staffs should begin negotiations over post-primary activities, according to reliable sources. In addition to seeking Obama's help in raising money to pay off some $20 million-plus in debts, Clinton is known to want Obama to assist black officials who endorsed her and who are now taking constituent heat, including, in some cases, primary challenges from pro-Obama politicians.
"This has never happened before," one donor said, referring to the personalized request by email to attend the event in New York Tuesday night.
Obama is expected to claim enough delegates to put him over the top that night at a separate event in St. Paul.
In an afternoon conference call today with about two dozen top fundraisers, Clinton strategist Harold Ickes spoke in very conciliatory terms about Obama, in contrast to his tougher rhetoric in public and on television, according to sources. He told the participants that Clinton wants to "significantly" help Obama, but he did not go so far as saying that she will announce withdrawal -- that is the prerogative of the candidate.
Ickes told the group to "take a deep breath" and let Clinton proceed in her own fashion.
Earlier in the day it was reported that Clinton staffers were being urged by the campaign's finance department "to turn in their outstanding expense receipts by the end of the week," another sign that the run at the White House was nearing an end. In addition, Politico wrote that members of Clinton's advance staff had received calls and emails Sunday night, summoning them to New York City and telling them their roles on the campaign are ending.
As the Democratic nomination marathon neared a potential finish line, key senators said the results of Tuesdays South Dakota and Montana primaries will have a domino effect on uncommitted superdelegates quite possibly clinching the nomination for Barack Obama.
We want this locked up sooner rather than later, said Sen. Tom Harkin (D-Iowa), who has remained undeclared. Lets have the nominee and lets move on. Thats the common thread among the uncommitted superdelegates. I will be ready after tomorrow night.
With only 31 total pledged delegates at stake in the two states, Obama cannot win enough in the final two primaries to reach the 2,118 necessary to clinch the nomination. But Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), one of Obamas strongest Senate supporters, said that she had spoken to enough uncommitted superdelegates around the country Monday to determine that he will reach the threshold necessary to claim the Democratic nomination by the end of Tuesday evening.
I think tomorrow will be a very big day. Ive spoken to 10 uncommitteds, and theyve said yes, theyll be committing [to Obama], and theyll be committing sometime tomorrow.
The magic number has been shrinking so quickly, McCaskill said.
Eight superdelegates announced their choices Monday six for Obama and two for Sen. Hillary Clinton (D-N.Y.). In addition, House Majority Whip James Clyburn (D-S.C.) confirmed that he will endorse Obama on Tuesday.
A group of 15 uncommitted Senate superdelegates met on Capitol Hill Monday to discuss how to proceed on making their endorsements.
It was a dialogue about how people are feeling, said Sen. Ken Salazar (D-Colo.), who noted that no decisions were made at the meeting Monday. For me, its who I think can win this thing in November.
When asked who that was, he said: I could make the argument for either one of them.
Salazar said there will be another meeting of uncommitted superdelegates Wednesday.
Sen. Benjamin Cardin (D-Md.), agreed that superdelegates must make their decisions this week, but he said its not up to superdelegates to come out with a unified decision. Rather, Obama and Clinton will have to mend the fences and move the party ahead, Cardin said.
Im going to pick the person who has the most support and has the best chance of winning, Cardin said.
At Mondays meeting, Cardin said there was no lobbying on behalf of Obama or Clinton, and there was no push for a unified statement among the remaining superdelegates. But Cardin said he emerged from that meeting believing the superdelegates would rapidly begin making their decisions public in order to close out the nominating process.
Sherrod Brown, also uncommitted, said, I told both Barack and Hillary that Id make a decision by the end of the week.
At least one Senate superdelegate, Sen. Carl Levin (D-Mich.), said hes not committing because he wants to get his delegation seated with full votes. The Democratic National Committees Rules and Bylaws Committee agreed Saturday to seat Michigans full delegation, but each delegate including superdelegates will only receive a half vote.
Im sticking to it, he said.
Sen. Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.), a Clinton superdelegate, said Monday that her colleagues should remain patient for now.
I think if they decided to do anything today, it would be precipitous, she said. They should do it when the process of electing delegates is over.
As to Clinton superdelegates like herself: We are unwavering. We will go through tomorrow night and well see where Sen. Clinton is.
The Phoenix Mars Lander's robotic arm was making a test run, just one week after its landing. The spacecraft, which is also its own laboratory, will soon start scooping up soil and ice and running tests on it.
"This first touch allows us to utilize the robotic arm accurately," said David Spencer, Phoenix's surface mission manager at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif.
"We are in a good situation" for the future testing, he said.
NASA on Saturday showed sharp images of what appeared to be ice exposed under the lander. The mission's main goal is to test ice for evidence of organic compounds that are the chemical building blocks of life.
The University of Arizona in Tucson is leading and NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory is managing the three-month scientific mission.
A bodyguard for Harlem rap star Jim Jones was arrested following Jones peaceful performance during Hot 97s annual Summer Jam concert last night (June 1) at Giants Stadium in New Jersey.
After the show ended around 10:30 PM, the rappers entourage became involved in a skirmish with police officers, who accused Jones' entourage of attempting to incite a riot, by making references to the Sean Bell shooting.
According to The New Jersey Record, police officers arrested Charles Chandler, 26, for allegedly grabbing a troopers head and face with both hands.
Another officer intervened and restrained Chandler, who was arrested and released on $15,000 dollars bail.
Other than the fracas backstage, Hot 97s Summer Jam was relatively peaceful.
Over 44,000 people showed up for the annual concert, which featured performances by Ray J. and Yung Berg, Alicia Keys, Raekwon, Method Man, Ghostface, Funkmaster Flex, Lil Wayne, Kanye West, Young Jeezy, Public Enemy and numerous others.
Only six people were arrested on a variety of misdemeanor charges.
Video-sharing startup Veoh has blocked visitors from all but 33 countries from accessing its site, a spokesperson confirmed to NewTeeVee today.
Veohs Gaude Paez told NewTeeVee, The markets we are exiting collectively represent less than 10 percent of our viewer base. She maintained that the decision was not about saving resources but rather re-focusing those resources. Paez was not able to immediately provide the list of countries where Veoh is still available.
Competition is high in the video space and we want to make sure were differentiating ourselves in terms of products and ad platforms to monetize. As a startup we just have to make choices.
Paez said the company would soon be enhancing its ad targeting and working to expand access beyond the PC.
Users flooded the Veoh forums with complaints over the weekend, saying they felt discriminated against for being from certain countries: Im from Dominican Republic, and when I saw that message I really wanted to cry I still want to, wrote one user, and this is very unfair not even an email alert i just couldnt enter, its sucks!!! said another.
According to Wikipedia, users report being blocked from Lebanon, the United Arab Emirates, Malaysia, Indonesia, Chile, Argentina, St. Kitts and Nevis, Guatemala, Luxembourg, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Venezuela, Brazil, Puerto Rico, Guam, Jamaica, Barbados, El Salvador, Hungary, Malta, Macedonia, Slovenia, Slovakia, Ukraine, Col****ia, Cyprus, Romania, the Cayman Islands, Guadeloupe, Saudi Arabia, Peru, Panama, Czech Republic, Turkey, Croatia, Lithuania, Jordan, Egypt, Bulgaria, Serbia, Iceland, Bermuda, Thailand, Brunei, Honduras, the Bahamas, Nicaragua, Anguilla and Guyana.
Paez said Veoh is absolutely not running out of cash, but she did confirm the company is looking for funding. Were in the midst of talking to additional entities, partnerships and looking at strategic things as well, she said. Veoh has raised more than $40 million from Goldman Sachs, Tom Freston, Jonathan Dolgen, Shelter Capital Partners, Spark Capital, Michael Eisners Tornante Company, and Time Warner Investments.
We wonder if Veohs move portends a long-expected shakeup in the online video industry after all, these services arent paying for themselves yet. Lack of overseas revenue is hardly their only problem. Earlier this year, when DivX shut down Stage6, its high-quality video-sharing option, it cited operating expenses. Ironically enough, Stage6 (now just a landing page) prominently recommends Veoh as an alternative for its users (Stage6 is introducing Veoh Networks Inc. as a site that promises to offer our users a smooth transition. Millions of people use Veoh each month and we feel it is a great fit for our users.).
Island Def Jam Music Group (IDJ) has announced that Shakir Stewart will effectively fill the vacancy left by rapper/mogul Jay-Z, who announced his resignation as President of Def Jam in December of 2007.
Stewart, who was senior VP of A&R, was named Executive Vice President of Def Jam Recordings Antonio L.A. Reid announced today (June 3.)
Stewart will report directly to Reid and Steve Bartels, Chief Operating Officer of IDJ and will be responsible for all day-to-day matters regarding Def Jam.
His responsibilities include signing new talent, overseeing producers and guiding the creative vision of the legendary label.
"The bold young management style that Shakir has established at Def Jam is one of the major reasons behind the label's success today," IDJ CEO L.A. Reid told AllHipHop.com in a statement. "From his solid roots in music publishing, he has grown to master the world of hip-hop and urban music."
Stewart has worked closely with Reid and Steve Bartels in the past and helped guide the label to win 26 Grammy nominations during 2007s award ceremonies.
"The past four years have been an unforgettable experience for me," Stewart said. "Having the opportunity to work with a brilliant music man such as L.A. Reid, along with the most amazing team in the music business, has afforded me the knowledge and inspiration to take the next step in my career and continue to amplify and expand Def Jam's stellar reputation in the industry."
Stewart, an Oakland, California native, got his start in the music business promoting shows for a variety of artists, including Nas, Luke, Too $hort and others.
Shortly after graduating with a Bachelor of Science in Marketing, Stewart formed Noontime Music and landed a joint venture deal with Epic Records.
He later signed on as Creative Director for Hitco Music Publishing, a company owned by Reid.
Stewart has signed or worked with a number of influential artists, including Destinys Child, Ciara, Outkast, Usher and others.
JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - Bo Diddley, a founding father of rock 'n' roll whose distinctive "shave and a haircut, two bits" rhythm and innovative guitar effects inspired legions of other musicians, died Monday after months of ill health. He was
Diddley died of heart failure at his home in Archer, Fla., spokeswoman Susan Clary said. He had suffered a heart attack in August, three months after suffering a stroke while touring in Iowa. Doctors said the stroke affected his ability to speak, and he had returned to Florida to continue rehabilitation.
The legendary singer and performer, known for his homemade square guitar, dark glasses and black hat, was an inductee into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, had a star on Hollywood's Walk of Fame, and received a lifetime achievement award in 1999 at the Grammy Awards. In recent years he also played for the elder President Bush and President Clinton.
Diddley appreciated the honors he received, "but it didn't put no figures in my checkbook."
"If you ain't got no money, ain't nobody calls you honey," he quipped.
The name Bo Diddley came from other youngsters when he was growing up in Chicago, he said in a 1999 interview.
"I don't know where the kids got it, but the kids in grammar school gave me that name," he said, adding that he liked it so it became his stage name. Other times, he gave somewhat differing stories on where he got the name. Some experts believe a possible source for the name is a one-string instrument used in traditional blues music called a diddley bow.
His first single, "Bo Diddley," introduced record buyers in 1955 to his signature rhythm: bomp ba-bomp bomp, bomp bomp, often summarized as "shave and a haircut, two bits." The B side, "I'm a Man," with its slightly humorous take on macho pride, also became a rock standard.
The company that issued his early songs was Chess-Checkers records, the storied Chicago-based labels that also recorded Chuck Berry and other stars.
Howard Kramer, assistant curator of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, said in 2006 that Diddley's Chess recordings "stand among the best singular recordings of the 20th century."
Diddley's other major songs included, "Say Man," "You Can't Judge a Book by Its Cover," "Shave and a Haircut," "Uncle John," "Who Do You Love?" and "The Mule."
Diddley's influence was felt on both sides of the Atlantic. Buddy Holly borrowed the bomp ba-bomp bomp, bomp bomp rhythm for his song "Not Fade Away."
The Rolling Stones' bluesy remake of that Holly song gave them their first chart single in the United States, in 1964. The following year, another British band, the Yardbirds, had a Top 20 hit in the U.S. with their version of "I'm a Man."
Diddley was also one of the pioneers of the electric guitar, adding reverb and tremelo effects. He even rigged some of his guitars himself.
"He treats it like it was a drum, very rhythmic," E. Michael Harrington, professor of music theory and composition at Belmont University in Nashville, Tenn., said in 2006.
Many other artists, including the Who, Bruce Springsteen and Elvis Costello copied aspects of Diddley's style.
Growing up, Diddley said he had no musical idols, and he wasn't entirely pleased that others drew on his innovations.
"I don't like to copy anybody. Everybody tries to do what I do, update it," he said. "I don't have any idols I copied after."
"They copied everything I did, upgraded it, messed it up. It seems to me that nobody can come up with their own thing, they have to put a little bit of Bo Diddley there," he said.
Despite his success, Diddley claimed he only received a small portion of the money he made during his career. Partly as a result, he continued to tour and record music until his stroke. Between tours, he made his home near Gainesville in north Florida.
"Seventy ain't nothing but a damn number," he told The Associated Press in 1999. "I'm writing and creating new stuff and putting together new different things. Trying to stay out there and roll with the punches. I ain't quit yet."
Diddley, like other artists of his generations, was paid a flat fee for his recordings and said he received no royalty payments on record sales. He also said he was never paid for many of his performances.
"I am owed. I've never got paid," he said. "A dude with a pencil is worse than a cat with a machine gun."
In the early 1950s, Diddley said, disc jockeys called his type of music, "Jungle Music." It was Cleveland disc jockey Alan Freed who is credited with inventing the term "rock 'n' roll."
Diddley said Freed was talking about him, when he introduced him, saying, "Here is a man with an original sound, who is going to rock and roll you right out of your seat."
Diddley won attention from a new generation in 1989 when he took part in the "Bo Knows" ad campaign for Nike, built around football and baseball star Bo Jackson. Commenting on Jackson's guitar skills, Diddley says to him, "Bo, you don't know diddly."
"I never could figure out what it had to do with shoes, but it worked," Diddley said. "I got into a lot of new front rooms on the tube."
Born as Ellas Bates on Dec. 30, 1928, in McC****, Miss., Diddley was later adopted by his mother's cousin and took on the name Ellis McDaniel, which his wife always called him.
When he was 5, his family moved to Chicago, where he learned the violin at the Ebenezer Baptist Church. He learned guitar at 10 and entertained passers-by on street corners.
By his early teens, Diddley was playing Chicago's Maxwell Street.
"I came out of school and made something out of myself. I am known all over the globe, all over the world. There are guys who have done a lot of things that don't have the same impact that I had," he said.