Come June 14, commuters using the services of rural bus operators and hackney carriage taxi operators will have to dig deeper into their pockets.
This as a 25 per cent fare increase granted to the operators by the Ministry of Transport and Works will take effect on that day.
Overhead costsThe ministry said the decision to grant a fare increase follows recent assessments of the overall increased operating costs the operators have to face, along with other relevant factors, including commuter concerns. Additionally, the operators also requested a fare structure review from the ministry.
Half fareThe increase will bring the base fare for travelling on rural buses to $22 with a charge of $2.83 being applicable for each kilometre journeyed. Children under 12, students in uniform, the physically challenged and pensioners are to pay 50 per cent of the approved fares.
The new rates for the hackney carriage (taxi) operators islandwide will be a base fare of $156.25, a per kilometre charge of $31.25, waiting time charge of $16 per five minutes and a long-term rate of hire of $500 per hour.
Fares for travelling on the Jamaica Urban Transit Company buses will remain unchanged.
The last general fare increase in the public transport sector was in August 2005 when the rural stage and hackney carriage, along with the route taxi operators, were granted a 25 per cent increase.Dancehall artiste Sizzla went AWOl in France where he was scheduled to perform on May 29 in Ramonville near Toulouse, then on Sunday June 1 at Montpellier. According to reports Sizzla is said to have suddenly decided to cancel the remainder of his French tour. He left suddenly for Jamaica without even giving formal notice of his decision to the organizers of the remaining concerts.
Tjenbé Rčd expressed its sadness following Sizzla's incomprehensible and hardly professional decision. According to them his action bring into question the very possibility of a dialogue with him.
YardFlex is still confused on the whole drama as the press release sent from France would indicate that his actions could have something to with the Reggae Compassionate Act (RCA) where artistes agree not to do any songs hitting out against homosexual.
An explosive drama set in 1977 against the backdrop of political gang rivalry that shook Jamaica to its core, Better Mus' Come follows Ricky (Sheldon Shepherd), a leader of a politically affiliated gang based in the southside slums of Kingston. The story charts his journey to an event that was inspired by the Green Bay Massacre.
The storyline was brought to life with the added talent of the exceptional and dynamic Nicole Grey, Roger Guenveur Smith (American Gangster, Malcolm X, Do the Right Thing), Everaldo Creary, Ricardo Orgill and Dwayne Pusey.
"Through reading about the political tensions in the seventies, I wanted to use this film to explore the root of many of our post-independence problems," commented an enthusiastic Saulter. "I became fascinated with the violent culture that was born with the arming of certain groups which has created a culture of violence that has stayed with Jamaica, and is identified with Jamaicans worldwide," he also said.
Producing any film will of course present its challenges and Better Mus Come had its own. "It was very hard to get proper special effects material and props into the island ie exploding *lo**, blank shells, fake movie guns. The people we were renting from in Hollywood thought it was too dangerous here, and that someone would steal the guns and start a militia or something - a militia with fake m16's."
In affirming its rating outlook for Digicel Group's debt instrument as stable, Fitch Ratings revealed that Digicel Group earned US$417 million (J$29.6 billion) earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation (EBITDA) from US$1.48 billion (J$106 billion) in revenue for the 12 months to December 31, 2007 from its regional operations.
The rating agency did not give detail on how much of the mobile provider's group EBITDA was earned from Jamaica but said that an "important part of group EBITDA is still linked to the Jamaican dollar" while 63 per cent of service revenues were generated either in US dollars, euros or pegged to these currencies during the last nine months of 2007.
In Jamaica, with the country accounting for approximately 1.8 million of its 6.3 million users, the acquisition by America Movil of Oceanic Digital (Oceanic), Jamaica's third wireless provider, is expected to add competition in the future as Oceanic completes its network deployment. Haiti and Trinidad and Tobago should continue growing their cash flows helping to further diversify the company's cash generation away from Jamaica.
Digicel's total consolidated debt as of December 31, 2007, however, was high at US$2.8 billion and total debt to last 12 months (LTM) EBITDA, considering Haiti and Trinidad and Tobago for the 12 months, was 6.8 times.
Digicel's financial strategy, according to Fitch, "is focused on reducing leverage after a 2007 recapitalisation which resulted in US$1.4 billion of additional debt. Digicel's total indebtedness also has grown rapidly in the past few years as a result of acquisitions and necessary funding for the rapid build out of new markets."
Over the next few years, Fitch expects increased EBITDA generation from Digicel Group to result in a reduction in the ratio of total debt-to-EBITDA to near four times.
Digicel's ratings were supported by an historical strong operating performance, its position as the leading provider of wireless services in the Caribbean (including strong market positions in Jamaica, Haiti and Trinidad and Tobago), its strong brand recognition, and an increasingly diversified revenue and cash flow stream across the Caribbean. In addition, Fitch expects the company to reduce leverage due to future EBITDA growth.
"Concerns regarding DGL's ratings reflect the company's high leverage and medium-term refinancing risk. Growing EBITDA from newer operations, such as Haiti and Trinidad and Tobago, should help to further diversify away its cash flow generation from Jamaica," Fitch added in its report.
"Digicel's operating performance continues to be strong. The company has rapidly gained leading market shares in most of the markets served by successfully executing a strategy of launching operations with extensive initial geographic coverage, good customer service, effective branding and through strong product offerings. The company has leading market share positions versus incumbent operators in most its markets. The wireless penetration level in many of Digicel's markets is high. High wireless penetration rates are the result of low fixed-line penetration, long waiting periods to get fixed-line connections, good network coverage by wireless service providers and substitution of fixed-line services by mobile."
Digicel operates as a GSM-based mobile services provider in 23 markets in the Caribbean including Jamaica, St Lucia, St Vincent, Aruba, Grenada, Barbados, Cayman, Curacao, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Trinidad and Tobago and Haiti among others, as well as El Salvador.
Digicel's operating assets are owned by Denis O'Brien. In addition to Digicel, Denis O'Brien owns Digicel Central America and Digicel South Pacific
The dead security guard has been identified as 52-year-old, Gilbert Davis of Port Maria, St Mary. Davis, who has been employed with Atlas Protection Company since November, 2007. Davis had also served in the Jamaica Defence Force, retiring at the rank of a sergeant.
Reports are that about 10 a.m., Davis and two other employees of Atlas Protection went to pick up cash from a shop at Island Village. The other two security guards had gone to collect the money leaving Davis, the armed driver, in the vehicle.
It is reported that while the car park of the Island Village Shopping Centre, two men approached him and opened fire killing him. He was then tossed from the car before the shooters drove away the vehicle with a large quantity of cash inside.
An off-duty policeman then spotted a car driving recklessly on the Drax Hall-to-Steer Town main road and gave chase.
The car later crashed into an embankment near the bailey bridge in Steer Town and the sole occupant alighted and ran into nearby bushes with what appeared to be a bag containing some of the stolen money.
The police officer, who gave chase, checked the vehicle, discovered that the car contained a large quantity of cash and called for assistance.
Police personnel later arrived on the scene and took the car to the St Ann's Bay police station where it was impounded and the cash removed.
The police are so far unable to quantify the amount of money that the robber escaped with.
THE Jamaica Teachers' Association (JTA), which represents some 22,000 teachers and principals islandwide, has called on the Government to reverse its decision to limit the 20 per cent duty concession on motor vehicles to civil servants, warning that it is not averse to taking the Administration to court.
The central executive of the JTA at a meeting held last Friday, hammered out a resolution calling on the Government to "reverse the concession to the position before the 2008-2009 [budget] presentation" arguing that "the concession in its current form will significantly affect the ability of teachers to purchase the type of motor vehicles that are suitable for Jamaican roads".
It said legal opinion would also be sought "with a view to going to court".
Finance Minister Audley Shaw, speaking in the 2008/2009 budget debate in March said the Government, in a bid to have better control over concessions, had decided to limit the 20 per cent duty concession granted to travelling officers within the public service. Shaw said it was proposed to limit this concession on vehicles to a cif (cost, insurance and freight) value of a maximum US$25,000 and an engine size of a maximum of 2,500 cc (cubic centimetres).
Shaw also said if the concession was sought on a vehicle in excess of US$25,000 and or engine size in excess of 2,500 cc duties would become payable. The effective date for implementation was May 1, 2008.
But the decision prompted an outcry from several representative umbrella groups, now including the JTA.
"We would be happy for the Government to reverse whatever it is that they have done so we can continue to benefit from what existed," JTA President Ena Barclay told the Observer yesterday.
According to Barclay, while legal action would not be the initial step, it was not being ruled out.
"We don't know yet. We are taking advice to see where we go from there. It is something we feel very strongly about and therefore something we are going to pursue in all forms," she said.
Noting that the JTA has advised the finance ministry of its dissatisfaction, Barclay said it was now adopting a wait and see attitude in the hope that there will be an early response.
"The fact is, it is something public sector workers have benefited from and the modifications that have been made would in fact be making it increasingly difficult for people to access the types of motor vehicle that they would want, and especially since some of our teachers have to go into the deep rural areas," she argued.
According to Barclay, given the modest salaries of public sector workers, the concessions which had been enjoyed by teachers for over 24 years were a well-deserved sweetener.
The JTA represents some 1,009 principals, 120 work experience teachers, between 800 and 900 guidance counsellors, 1,200 lecturers and assistant lecturers and about 200 master teachers. All persons in these categories qualify for the benefit with the exception of persons who have served for under four years in these positions.
Barclay was, however, unable to say how many persons have accessed the benefit.
Meanwhile, head of the Jamaica Civil Service Association, Wayne Jones, had warned that Government's decision, while in a bid to stem corruption, could backfire and disenfranchise bonafide persons. He said the association had made a written appeal to Prime Minister Bruce Golding and has been in discussions with Shaw and ministers without portfolio Don Wehby and Dwight Nelson to reconsider the matter.
But Shaw has said the decision, which was taken by Cabinet after much consideration, would not necessarily be reviewed on a whim.
"I am not giving any guarantee that the Cabinet would change its mind. I'm saying that just making a demand that it be reinstated is not good enough," he said. "The undeniable fact is that the privilege has been abused for too long; too many of our people have been taking the benefits and selling it to other people."
According to Shaw, what has been lacking in the representations made so far were suggestions as to how the system could be revised so as to "eliminate the abuse that has been taking place".
"I cannot pre-empt the Cabinet, but instead of them demanding that it be changed it seems to me that they would have to make submissions to Cabinet to give us the full assurance that in the future it would not be abused," said Shaw. "There was never an intention that the benefit was transferable and what has been happening is that the benefit has been transferred and therefore the abuse has been widespread. No doubt many people have been affected by the new limits, but I am not guaranteeing that Cabinet will reinstate it."
Dane Bonner, the Old Harbour murder convict who wept bitterly after being found guilty last week Tuesday for the 2002 home invasion murder of a woman in his community, is scheduled for sentencing today.
The 27-year-old Bonner was scheduled to be sentenced yesterday, but the matter was adjourned until tomorrow to facilitate character witnesses.
Bonner was found guilty for the February 17, 2002 murder of 41-year-old Shirley Powell who was found at her Succaba Pen, St Catherine home with gunshot wounds to her body.
Before Powell succumbed to her injuries she reportedly told the police that ". Dane and Bross shot mi over drugs". She went on to name and describe Bonner's mother. Bonner was arrested some time after.
Following his conviction Tuesday, Bonner wept bitterly while professing his innocence.
"Dem find mi guilty, star, and mi nuh do nuten," wailed Bonner. "Yuh honour, please, mi nuh know nutten weh dem a talk bout. It better dem kill mi."
Bling Dawg:
The first time having sex is a memory I will never forget - I just cant get enough of that feeling, I just want more and more and more and more and more
OutAroad.com:
Whats your favourite sex position?
Bling Dawg:
It all depends on the vibe of the girl - damn it nuh matter as long it feels good.
OutAroad.com:
What would be your reaction if you found out that your girl is a fan of sex toys?
OutAroad.com:
Whats the best thing a girl ever said to you during sexual intercourse?
Bling Dawg:
Let I give you this in her exact words, A fi yuh this tek it.
OutAroad.com:
Whats the weirdest place you ever had sex?
I am a 25-year-old man and I need your advice. I was with a girl and we have a son together who is six years old. She is 23. We were together for about three years.
Things were good until about two years in the relationship I found out that she was sleeping with another man. We talked about it and because of my son I looked it over. We tried to work it out. The following year she did it again, so I broke up with her.
She has a sister who is so kind and caring to me. After being around her so much, at nights I started to see her in my dreams and whenever I see us in my dream we are so happy making love. I tried so hard to hide it from her because of my son. I tried, but I could not keep it. One day I sat her down and told her about my dreams and the way she makes me feel and she got up and kissed me and told me that she loves me too and she wants us to be together. She said that she doesn't care about what anybody has to say. Pastor, tell me what to do because I really don't want to leave her.
R.M., Florida, USA
Dear R.M.,
I don't care what you say. You knew what you were doing.
You should have stopped seeing her and you should have considered that she is the aunt of your son and the sister of your son's mother. You are not a good man and you have low morals.
You shouldn't have encouraged this woman to love you either.How can this woman look her sister in the eye and tell her that she is going to bed with you or that both of you have decided to become lovers? What are you going to tell your son when he grows up? And what do you expect his mother to tell him? Would she say, "Your daddy and I broke up and your aunt and himself became lovers."
Pastor
All dem a talk, ah me ah lead. Dem caan stop read me even though dem hate me, look pon mi last article 200 posts and counting. Mi just ah do cha ching ching dance and ah laugh EVERYDAY, dem caan get mi depressed, mi laugh till water come ah mi eye everyday, and right now, mi de ya ah mi house ah hold a joy and ah plan fi get rich like Raquel and live some of her fabulous life. Well, who me ah go mud up today? Eeni-meenie-minie mo, who ah go star the Wednesday Tea show. Abena to the world, ONE876 to the universe, big up all the bloggers on the site, oonu mek this nice, and who no like me, DROP ASLEEP! Yea, ah dat mi say!
BEENIE MAN SPOTTED AT UPTOWN APARTMENT
Right now, the way mi look pon it, ah Kartel and Mavado still ah lead inna the dance, ah dem have the most song and ah get the most airplay, but Beenie Man ting still look good. How the man keep doing it? Him inna the Billboard top ten reggae artistes list fi 2007, him have a European tour line up and a US tour fi later in the year. Beenie, yu ah the man. Mi just hope say Vado and Kartel get back dem papers so dem can carry the flag fi dancehall music internationally too. We need more stars and more hits. But wait a minute, ah which uptown apartment people still see Beenie Man ah lurks roun from wah day ya? Are the rumours really true? Daggering start again?
VYBZ RUM SHORTAGE?
Mi see the Vybz Rum ah sell ah Dunrobin Tiger Mart the other day but mi never buy none, and mi sorry because mi girlfriend dem have a little get together and is when mi reach Portmore, mi figet say mi neva buy no liquor, so me go over Portmore Mega Mart fi buy a bottle of Vybz Rum and mi hear say it sell off. Wah really a gwaan? Mi just end up buy a bottle of Alize instead but mi really waan support our local entrepreneurs. Oonu free up the Vybz Rum so mi can see it everywhere nuh?
ANTHONY B S NEW VEHICLE ON THE WHARF
Mi hear say Anthony B new vehicle de pon the wharf, and it ah go mad. Memba say ah him first show the world say rasta can drive Range Rover, but like how it get common now, him decide fi step up him game. Nobody nah tell me what kind of vehicle, if is a Phantom, or a Rolls or a Lamborghini or what? Jamaica soon find out. Big up Andrea, Anthony B goody goody babymother, yu hot mi friend!
NINJAMAN REDECORATES RENTED APARTMENT
What a way Ninjaman ah redecorate him apartment? Mi hear say him lick out an entire wall and ah put up studio, but mi ah wonder why him woulda do that and is rent him a pay. Mi hear say the landlord nuh mind because him still ah get him rent and the place ah refurbish fi free. But why Ninja why? Just buy a house and do dem tings de. Somebody caan talk to him?
GAVESHA GONE A LEAD
Well judging from last Friday night,.it look like Gavesha gone a lead...I wonder what Avah a go come wid next fi top di Friday night flex. Right now, Ava try everything, she cut and paste, she sprinkle, she tell lie and caan stop Gavesha flow, ah wah she have so? The tight-o, right-o and nah go down low. Heh! Heh! Mi body! Gavesha, tek yu forward, ah yu a lead. YU shoulda see how she stick onto Mavado like a second shirt the whole night. Mavado yuh a di boss!
AIDONIA AND MAVADO IN BAD MAN PLACE
Mi neva know say Aidonia and Mavado live inna the same apartment complex. One of mi groupie friend dem go up de the other day and tell me say she see the two artiste dem ah live inna the same complex, and not far from each other either. But stick a pin there, is wah Aidonia really up to dese days? Him really a keep a low profile but watch the LOW profile ting, zeen. Can someone email mi an mek mi know is wa him up to? How him feel like how him and the Gangsta fa Life a neighbour now?
THE PEOPLE WAAN FI KNOW
How dem a go maintain dem expensive lifestyle inna dem uptown US dollar apartment and dem music nah sell?
If a really $21 million Junior Reid spend fi the convertible BMW 645? How him one so hype? Ah remix and US flex do that? JR Records to the world.
If Munchie British is really a man, and him sound like a big gal so?
I can't stand. ! |
BY Jason Tullock & Nasha-Kaye Virgo Observer TEENage writer Jamaica College & Campion College Tuesday, June 03, 2008 |
Boy meets girl. Boy likes girl. Girl likes boy. They both live happily ever after. Makes life sound sweet and simple right? Well, in real life situations like this scenario are far more complicated, especially with TEENagers. There are lots of things that come up in relationships between young males and females that could cause the union to be less than enjoyable for one or both parties.
TEENage asked a couple TEENagers for the things that they dislike most about the opposite sex when they are in relationships and the top five things from each sex are as follows.
Boys on Girls
1 Being jealous and/or clingy. Boys are said to be the more needing of their independence of the two sexes. They like to be free and want to be seen as 'a big man' or a 'boss'. So, when a boy has a girl who wants to control all his time; argues whenever he talks to or looks at another girl; and is frequently checking his phone/s, he becomes less interested. Brian from Calabar High School revealed, "I believe that my phone is for me and me alone. I had a girlfriend who would always check my phone when she was with me and call almost 24/7 to know what I was doing. It was really annoying because I really liked her and was not cheating. If I did not answer my phone after she called three times I was accused of being up to something. I could not stand it for long and ended the relationship with her."
2 They do not talk straight. Girls seem to expect a lot from their male companions. Yet, they seem to not be able to state what it is they want clearly. Micheal from Kingston College shared. "Girls expect us to be mind-readers. For example, I was making conversation with this girl so I asked what she likes. She said that she was not going to tell me, I must find it out for myself. Now, I am not sure how she expected me to do that. So, I ended the conversation then and there."
3 They do not understand sports. If you ask most girls what type of guys they like most will say something along the lines of 'an athletic guy, with a toned body and nice abs'. However, if you ask these girls something about the sports these males indulge in to achieve these 'hot bodies' most will give you a clueless stare. Alex from Campion College said, "As an avid sportsman, I find it hard to be with a girl who knows nothing about sports. I had a girl who always would say that she is watching football, but when I asked her any of the game's statistics she could not tell me. All she could tell me: who the 'hottest' guy on each team was. It was really annoying."
4 They talk too much. Now let us face it. Between teachers, parents and other random members of society telling us what we should do and telling us stories of their time, all TEENagers can agree sometimes we just want time to just chill. What better way to do this than with your significant other? Sounds good, unless your girlfriend decides to tell you about every second of her day and is trying to get you to tell her everything about yours. Adrian from Jamaica College said, "When I was doing CXC, I was under a lot of stress with studying and SBAs and when I got home I just wanted to talk to my girlfriend to take my mind off school. But this never materialised, because she kept talking about school, asking about school (even when I told her not to) and just talking, talking and talking!"
Girls on Boys
1 Sex, sex, sex! Boys seem to have this activity on their mind a whole lot. Some may argue this is typical of a healthy TEENage male but often times a boy can make his girlfriend extremely uncomfortable with heavy talk of this topic. Keriesha from Holy Childhood said, "I hate it when guys are in a relationship and they make sex the main focus of it. Sometimes after they get it [sex with you] they will end the relationship. I hate that."
2 Always trying to 'go 'round girl head'. Boys seem to feel they always need to be one step ahead of their female counterparts. So what the girls get left with are elusive, confusing responses that leave more questions than answers. Alexandria from the Pre-University school, who seemed most annoyed at this point said: "I wish guys will stop using their Star Wars Jedi mind tricks and just talk straight. I am tired of having to decode this hidden language that boys seem to always speak. Just say what you mean and move on."
3 They give in easily to peer-pressure. Have you ever been out with your male friend and everything is going really great, then one of his friends shows up and all of a sudden Mr Sweet and Caring becomes the total opposite. Most girls seem to can attest to having had such an experience. It seems that there is a stigma attached to being too gentlemanly to a young lady. Guys must always exercise a dominating stance in a relationship, especially in front of 'the boys'. Gillian from Excelsior confided, "I hate that guys don't want to show their soft sides around their friends. Like the other day I went out with my boyfriend and he did not want to kiss me in front of his friends. He is beginning to come around though.'
4 They like to womanise. In keeping with the giving in to peer-pressure, most boys seem to love to have many girls at one time. Most boys will confess to having a 'wifey' and one or more "mateys" because they feel this is the norm handed down by society. Justine from Immaculate Conception High School said, "I had a boyfriend who had lots of female friends. Some he seemed to be closer to than others. Sometimes when I noticed something "too close" I would ask him about it but he would always say that she was a best friend or an old friend and that's just how they interact. I believed him until one day I met one of his 'best friends' and she said. "Oh, you are his 'best friend'!" I was so hurt and felt stupid for believing it. So, I cut off the relationship and him altogether."
5 The one thing that both genders seemed to fully agree on is the issue of flirting. Whether it be a wink, a 'too tight' hug or the body language with a member of the opposite sex that is not the significant other, problems may arise that may affect the trust in a relationship. Continuous display of this habit may even have far-reaching effects and may bring an end to a relationship.
Christina from Campion College confided, "I've experienced a relationship where a guy kept flirting with his ex-girlfriend behind my back. My friends kept telling me. It got annoying after a while and I thought, "Boy, are you still stuck in the past?" He kept flirting with her and other girls, till the point it had me wondering what else was he was he doing when I was not around .So I gave him an ultimatum, flirt with them or stay with me. His flirting days were then over."
Dwayne from Wolmer's Boys' School shared, "I had a girlfriend who was always flirting with my one of my friends. I asked her about it, but she insisted that they were just good friends. They, however, ended up having sex when I went away so I ended the relationship with her. To me flirting is just as bad as cheating as it may serve as a predecessor to it."
NAIROBI, Kenya -- Kenyans have long watched the U.S. presidential election with special interest and, in many cases, a special sense of pride.
Barack Obama speaks to residents of Africa's largest slum, Kibera, Kenya, in August 2006.
Barak Obama is the son of a black man from Kenya and a white woman from Kansas.
"I'm excited ... because he's a Kenyan. He's a half Kenyan," a smiling woman said in a Nairobi neighborhood.
More than a few hangovers were expected Wednesday as many Kenyans celebrated the presumptive Democratic nominee's latest primary election win and him surpassing the delegate total needed to win the party's nomination.
Video from across the country showed Kenyans dancing and swilling Senator Keg Lager, which has picked up the nickname "Obama Beer" in honor of the junior senator from Illinois.
Obama is popular across many parts of the country, especially in western Kenya where many of his relatives live.
Hughley will be following in fellow jokester Mo'Nique's shoes, who hosted the show last year. The funnyman was most recently seen on HBO hosting the newly revived "Def Comedy Jam" as well as starring in his own HBO comedy special, "Unapologetic"
As SOHH previously reported, this year's award ceremony will feature performances by R&B mega star Usher, who is set to open the gala, along with Alicia Keys, Kanye West, Chris Brown and Young Jeezy. Self-proclaimed "best rapper alive" Lil' Wayne is scheduled to close out the night's festivities.
T-Pain led all artists this year with five nominations. Kanye, and Keyshia Cole followed with three nods, while Mary J. Blige, Alicia Keys and Flo Rida each received two.
Legendary soul singer Al Green will be awarded BET's Lifetime Achievement Award this year, while iconic producer/arranger/composer Quincy Jones will be honored with BET's Humanitarian Award.
The June 24 ceremony will be broadcast live at 8 p.m. from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.
David Banner's long delayed album, The Greatest Story Ever Told, which was scheduled to drop today, has again been pushed back to a later date next month.
This is not the first time that Banner has had his release date moved. As SOHH previously reported, the rapper's fourth solo album was originally scheduled for release last September.
The Greatest Story Ever Told boasts guest spots from Lil' Wayne, Snoop Dogg, Chris Brown, Jim Jones, UGK and Yung Joc, among others. Banner's lead single, "Speaker" featuring Weezy and Snoop was released last year.The Mississippi-based rapper just released a video for his latest single, "Get Like Me" with Brown and Joc.
SOHH recently chopped it up with Banner to talk about his album title.
"I think it's The Greatest Story Ever Told 'cause it's just my life," he explained. "Coming from Mississippi not having major backing, not having no dope money connected to my project. It was just a dude standing out on the corner selling his CDs. Me moving to New York homeless, I stayed in the garment district. Being in Atlanta sleeping on the floor with dogs and just pumping my stuff out of the trunks. Doing whatever it took that didn't compromise my manhood or my spirituality; I did it in order to make it." [Watch below]
"It just got to the point that when I look back on my life and dude told me 'you should write a book,'" he continued. "And all those trials and tribulations from my father dying, to Hurricane Katrina, all of that made The Greatest Story Ever Told."
David Banner's new disc hits stores on July 15th via SRC/Universal Motown.
On World Environment Day, let's think about how we can better use the earth's resources.
WORLD Environment Day this year should pierce the minds of more Australians than ever before. As we feel the pinch at the petrol pump our leaders are flinging solutions at us such as tax cuts and biofuels. In the meantime, across the globe, there is a massive food crisis brewing that is already threatening 100 million people.
The two patterns are intimately linked. In our quest for fuel we are creating a global food shortage and driving the world's poorest towards a famine. It is incumbent on rich developed nations like ours to radically rethink the way we live on this planet. There is plenty for everyone, but we will not feed the poorest in the world if we do not change the way we act both globally and locally. Globally, we must work to end market distortions.
Restrictions and bans on food exports are a growing problem. At the Food Summit in Rome this week UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon urged world leaders to stop trade barriers and price controls. This is a well-informed plea because trade restrictions push international prices up further.
Already the price of food commodities on the international market has risen by 83% in the past three years. The price of rice doubled in the first four months of this year.
Export bans are also short-sighted, because as Cambodia and the Ukraine (who have lifted their bans) have realised, in the long-term they expose their own poor to price hikes when the bans are eventually lifted.
Instead of export bans that cripple the poor, we need positive trade outcomes. Here our own Government can help by increasing its efforts to achieve pro-poor outcomes of the Doha trade round.
Another big market distortion is biofuels. This trend for "other" sources of energy is well meaning but has terrible consequences for the poor. Biofuels alone are estimated to have increased food prices by up to 30%. This is dramatic for the poor, who spend about three-quarters of their income on staple foods.
The International Food Policy Research Institute estimates that by 2008 existing plans to expand biofuel production will push the price of edible oils up by a further 19% and corn by 26%, which will directly affect Africa.
Carving up the rainforests of poor nations to grow biofuels must be the most selfish act of all, though.
Each year Indonesia loses about 2 million hectares of its rainforest, much of it to palm oil, and about 20% of it is exported as biofuel to rich, energy guzzling nations. A European company has just gained the rights to grow biofuels in Ethiopia.
Apart from the devastation mono-cultures like this have on soil and wildlife, this trend is pushing poor farmers, whose survival depends on land to grow food, onto increasingly marginal land where crops struggle to grow. We will not end the energy and food crisis by using land this way and subsidising food to fuel our engines. It makes neither economic nor ecological sense. We must stop distorting markets with things such as subsidies on food-based biofuels.
There is also much we can do by simply helping the poor grow more food.
We can increase the productivity of land in poor nations with simple changes to farming methods.
Twenty years ago the Maradi district in Niger was a dust-choked, barren wasteland. Today 5 million hectares of once degraded land is a lush, productive forest, supporting thousands of families with food, fuel and shelter.
The solution was simple. Farmers were encouraged not to cut down trees, but instead to prune them, creating fertile orchards and vegetable gardens.
Economist Jeffrey Sachs, who argues we can increase food output four to five times in poor nations with better farming practices, has called for a $US5 billion ($A5.2 billion) investment to help small farmers expand agriculture. The World Bank this week announced $US1.2 billion in agricultural grants for the world's poorest nations.
These levels of investment are exactly what is needed and could be spent on the same simple and relatively inexpensive changes to farming practices introduced in Niger, such as crop rotation and diversity, reforestation, better water management and better storage.
As much as a third of all grain grown in poor nations is lost to bad storage and infestations. These are not technically complex or particularly expensive projects. But they are smarter and will improve food supplies in poor nations.
The global food crisis and rising fuel prices are inseparable. Our heavy reliance on energy is hurting the poor and plunging the vulnerable into poverty. We must change the way we use the planet's resources - all of our children will inherit the global food and energy crisis unless we lead now.
CAPE TOWN (AFP) South African President Thabo Mbeki apologised to his Nigerian counterpart Umaru Yar'Adua on Tuesday for recent anti-immigrant attacks that strained ties between the regional giants.
The two leaders met for bilateral talks to strengthen economic and political ties as Yar'Adua began a three-day state visit, his first to another African country since taking office a year ago following disputed elections.
South Africa's anti-immigrant violence -- which saw over 60 people killed and tens of thousands displaced -- featured highly on the two leaders' agenda. Although no Nigerians were among those killed, many lost property or had their shops looted.
"We extend an apology to the president with regard to these attacks that have taken place in some parts of our country, attacks against other Africans particularly," Mbeki said.
After meeting Yar'Adua, Mbeki said he assured him that his government was "opposed to any manifestation of any xenophobia amongst our people.
"We are quite determined to make sure we protect the security of everybody but (are) also very, very keen that the process of the reintegration of displaced people within communities from which they came is done as quickly as possible," he told reporters.
Nigeria had indicated it would seek compensation for its citizens who were affected in the attacks, although the South African foreign ministry has said it has not received any such request.
Yar'Adua has said dialogue, and not retaliation, is the way to resolve the anti-foreigner sentiment.
The Nigerian president praised Mbeki's handling of the situation, offering his sympathies to the country.
"Nigeria expresses also our deep concerns not only to the victims but also to the government and people of South Africa because we have experienced these issues over the past and we know that hardly are these kind of issues spontaneous," said Yar'Adua.
He said Mbeki had made a determined effort to "put a stop to the situation," lauding his decision to deploy the army to the streets to bring the violence under control.
Yar-Adua was accorded a 21-gun salute before entering Mbeki's Cape Town residence for the talks.
Economic and trade ties between the two countries, the largest economies in their respective regions, were also addressed.
"Nigeria has the largest number of bilateral agreements with South Africa, more than any other country," said Mbeki, adding that economic development between the two countries was a prime goal.
He also said it was important to promote greater investment by Nigerian companies in South Africa, which already has many businesses operating in the West African country.
Yar'Adua called his visit a "watershed" for relations between the two nations, saying they could together promote African development.
"We are aware of our moral responsibility to the entire continent," he said, adding that the two countries would do "all we can to live up to the expectations."
Following his talks with Mbeki, the Nigerian head of state was to address a session of the South African parliament.
He is also scheduled on Wednesday to participate in a Nigeria business forum, and to address the World Economic Forum on Africa being held in Cape Town this week
So Clinton, in her speech, once again mentioned the URL of her website, while the URL was all over her podium.
You go to her website, and you're met with a petition they're asking visitors to sign:
I'm with you Hillary and I'm proud of everything we are fighting for.
If you "sign" it, does it go to a "thank you" page? Of course not. It goes straight to her contribute page.
Money. That's why she's staying in. To squeeze her hardest core supporters of the cash necessary to pay off her personal loans to her campaign
April was a busy month for cocaine traffickers, who attempted to smuggle the narcotic to North America and the United Kingdom (UK) via Jamaica. According to police statistics, narcotics detectives seized 15.44 kilograms of the drug in April.
This is almost twice the amount seized over the comparable period last year. Speaking with The Gleaner last week, head of the Narcotics Division, Senior Superintendent of Police Carlton Wilson, disclosed that a total of 98 kilograms of cocaine was seized in 2007.
Increased attempts
Up to the first calendar quarter of this year, the narcotics cops had already seized 37 kilograms of the substance.
Speaking against the background of a number of arrests last week, Wilson said as summer approaches, the police had observed an increase in attempts by air passengers to smuggle cocaine.
"The methods are not new. What we are seeing is a resurgence of some of the old methods," said Wilson.
Some of the methods include liquefying the cocaine in rum, which is then packaged in sealed, transparent bottles, as well as concealing the drug in canned juices and shoes, which are usually packed in suitcases.
Last December, a Jamaica Information Service report quoted the outgoing commander in the Jamaica Defence Force, naval Captain Sydney Innis, as saying: "I have seen a significant fall in the importation or trans-shipment of cocaine through our waters."
Innis said there was a major reduction in cocaine seizures at sea.
His comments were also endorsed by the narcotics police, who reported that since the arrests of major drug kingpins four years ago, there has been a lull in cocaine seizures.
Referring to the recent increase in cocaine finds in Jamaica this year, Wilson explained that traffickers' had sought innovative methods of smuggling as a result of increased drug interdiction.
"Drug dealers are now finding innovative ways to facilitate their trade. We recognise that over the past four months, we have been arresting a number of persons coming from the Eastern Caribbean with cocaine," said Wilson.
In the early 2000s, Jamaican law enforcement authorities, in collaboration with their counterparts in the United Kingdom and the United States, made a significant dent in the international trade in cocaine with greater networking and the implementation of cutting-edge scanning technology.
When the girl lies, the rules change. I feel sorry for this man. Whats worse, is this is the second man this lil trick has gotten incarcerated. Peep this:
ORANGE COUNTY, Fla. -- A 13-year-old girl's sexual shenanigans have put a second man behind bars. Morris Williams, 22, told the judge he thought the girl was 18-years-old, but he found out Tuesday that ignorance is not a defense.
Morris Williams' mother wailed as he went off to jail. The judge asked for media not to show 13-year-old Alisha Dean's face in court, but her pictures are all over her MySpace page and they portray a sexy, 19-year-old divorced woman.
Slap that judge too!
"When I walked into the party I ran into Usher and we immediately gave each other a hug. While he was holding me, he turned to the side and kinda put my neck in a playful choke hold and started squeezing me...
"I tried to tell him that I couldn't breathe but he couldn't hear me because the music was loud. It didn't help that he was drunk. I was yelling, 'yo, yo, yo let me go! I can't breathe!' He was excited to see me and he was just expressing himself with this gesture. He was so drunk he didn't realize what he was doing."
"I picked him up and held him over the DJ booth which had a nice little drop down below...
"When I did this, I guess his body guards felt like I was threatening his life so they came to his rescue. They came and pulled us apart which looked like a scuffle to the people around looking on.
I watched one of Usher's shows and he basically did my whole show. It was as if it was me on stage. The thing about it is, I love seeing that. It's a compliment to me as a performer.
PRISONS are so cushy that 37,000 lags have refused early release and 42 others tried to break IN, it emerged yesterday.
It comes as business leaders will today say jails are like expensive bed and breakfasts.
Justice Secretary Jack Straw revealed the figures from the past eight years during Parliamentary Questions yesterday. They showed that annually thousands of inmates would rather stay inside than take Home Detention Curfew.
Straw ... quizzed in Commons
And there were 26 incidents of break-ins including one at a high security jail and 25 at open prisons. Ladders were used by 13 and three climbed walls. Shadow justice secretary Nick Herbert last night blasted the prison crisis as a farce.
He added: How secure are our jails if criminals can break into them? Whether they are trying to return to jail or dealers trying to traffic drugs, it is ludicrous that supposedly secure establishments can be breached.
The Confederation of British Industry will today tell the Government that reoffending rates are a colossal failure. Dr Neil Bentley of the CBI will say lack of rehabilitation means jail is just a hugely expensive bed and breakfast.
Two in three ex-inmates commit another crime in two years rising to three out of four young lags.
A 40 per cent hike in spending has had no effect on reoffending in the last ten years, the CBI will say.
The annual cost of crime is now Ł60billion, it has been revealed as much as is spent on education.
Last month thief Wesley Crawford, 42, begged to be allowed back into Sudbury open prison, Derbyshire, after three days on the run.
In April Donal Kelleher, 37, who stabbed his wife, boasted of outstanding rooms and healthcare at HMP Cardiff and said he got Ł10 a week to study for a maths GCSE.
A Ministry of Justice spokesman said last night: Prison is anything but soft. He said lags who turned down early release could be unable to give an address or think they will not pass a risk assessment.
whats the most risque thing you have worn out in public?
The popular Celebrity Soccer Match which has become a staple in the tri-state area for more than a decade will take place at Roy 'Irie' Wilkins Park in Queens starting at noon.
"The Celebrity Soccer match is a crowd favorite here in New York. Fans expect to see reggae stars lace up for the big showdown each year" noted Bobby Clarke of Irie Jam Media.
The match will again be hosted by Irie Jam Media of New York and Asylum Night Club of Jamaica. Confirmed for the match are Machel Montano, Elephant Man, Ninjaman, Cobra, Mr. Lexx, Mr. Vegas, Tony Matterhorn, Assasin, Wayne Marshall, Voicemail, Bugle, Serani, Mr. Vegas, Anthony B and a host of other celebrities who will represent the Artist All Star team while Louie Grant, Bobby Clarke, DJ Roy, Chris Dubb Master, Daved Levy, Andrew D, DJ 'Spread Love' Bobby, Killa Boo, Bobby Konders, Jagga B, artiste managers and various record producers are expected to suit up for the NY All-Star team.
"The soccer match is one of two big sporting events we host each year. The other event, the Reebok Grand Prix track & field event takes place on Saturday, May 31, 2008 at Randall's Island in NY."
Sponsors Air Jamaica, Hype TV, Pay-0-matic, Grace Tropical Rhythms, Pay O Matic, Irie TV and Western Union will again lend their usual support.I frequently read your column not knowing that one day I would be writing to you. Frankly, you are doing a great job. My problem is most of my life I have been unhappy. At age 18, I met and fell in love with a guy who promised me forever. At age 20 we had a child. For seven years we stayed together and I never looked at another man. At a point in the relationship I went and further my education in the medical field and that's when things got ugly. He was jealous of me and started cheating among other things. He left me and started life with another girl. Now I am having problem trusting men and I am comparing things we used to do. I tried to move on lately, but can't seem to do just that.
Pastor, please advice me and pray for me so that I can find a real man. I am near 30 now and hope to have 1 or 2 more kids.
C. A., Ontario, Canada
Dear C. A.,
It is wrong to use the bad experiences you have had with your child's father to judge every man you meet. Some men, whose women have cheated on them, condemn all women as bad and say that no women should be trusted. That is a wrong position to take too. Your child's father and you had a good relationship, but you claim that he became jealous when you went back to school. Evidently he wanted a woman who is on his level and was threatened by you. Some men do not like their spouses to be more educated than they are. Others are happy and proud and encourage their women to excel.
You are bitter because of what this man has done, but it is time for you to put him behind you and to move on with your life. You think that you have loss a good man, but the time will come when you would realise that he wasn't such a good man at all. Don't be anxious to establish another relationship; however, go on dates and when you are convinced that you have met a good man, try and learn everything about him and both of you go for counselling before you make a commitment to him.
Pastor
After the intermission at Saturday's 'Jamaica-USA Comedy Connection', held at Backyaad, Constant Spring Road, St. Andrew, only one of the slated performers took the stage.
But before the USA (originally from Ghana) connection took the stage before a tiny audience, host Elva, who made her emcee duties into a hilarious performance in itself, put on her most extended round of comedic commentary.
And although it was funny it was about serious, current matters, as Elva noted that the deejays were concentrating on the gay men and neglecting the girls.
"Gays have always been in Jamaica. Wake up. It's not gonna change," Elva said.
She also questioned those who criticise homosexuals heavily "how yu know so much bout dem? Whe dem live, how dem dress? Me no know nutten bout no b.....!"
Elva said that there are men in belly skin shirts and cut off pants enjoying themselves in the dances, while other men are looking on angrily. "An you a go pree de same fish whole night? A man yu want!" Elva said. She said that there are sexy women walking around all night, yet "yu face ben' up like zinc inna Gilbert".
There was a burst of laughter when Elva said "de deejay whe claim dem a de bigges' gallis, yu a go dance an no woman. A pure man. An a dem a buy de drinks!"
"I don't have a problem with gay men. They make the best girlfriends," Elva said.
She also said that there were so many things happening in the country, yet some were stuck on homosexuals. "Gay man a murder people dung a Kingston 2?!" she demanded.
And Elva did not restrict her criticism to homosexuality and the ladies especially were in full support when she said "dem lick out pon bowcat, but me sey leave dem mek dem ..... me out".
She said that some of the performers who are the most vocal about oral sex are indulging, and when they go home in the evenings their woman is sitting on the stove. When the artiste asks what she is doing she says "warm up yu dinner".
The audience roared.
"Artiste, me have nothing against you expressing how you feel," Elva said, adding that when they are talking only about gay men she has a problem. >
A grief-stricken Pastor Gifton Wallace wiped tears from his eyes yesterday as he recalled the final moments of his elderly mother's life.
The 43-year-old man said it was only minutes after his mother, 76-year-old Sybil Green, knocked on his bedroom door and said goodbye that news surfaced that the elderly woman was mowed down by a minibus when it got out of control on Olympic Way in Kingston.
The conductor, who residents claimed was driving the bus at the time of the incident, fled the scene leaving the disabled minibus and the dying woman on the sidewalk shortly before 6:00 am.
"This is not how my mother should have died, My mother is an old woman, she should have died lying on her bed. Instead she was killed by some careless person rushing to make a dollar," Wallace cried angrily, as a group of teary-eyed women sang hymns and prayed at his home on Morrison Avenue in Olympic Gardens.
Wallace said that the woman was on her way to a prayer meeting at the nearby Fire Baptist Holiness Church when he was alerted by neighbours that she had been hit and was lying on the sidewalk along the roadway.
"I could not understand. My mother had just knocked on the doors to wake us up and because it was just after 5:00 am and she was ready, she decided to go ahead. Only to go out there and see my mother with her bones sticking out of her foot and *lo** coming from her head," said Wallace.
Yesterday's accident triggered a huge demonstration along the busy roadway.
Placard-bearing residents condemned the accident and called for more stringent disciplinary measures for minibus operators that ply the Waterhouse route.
"This thing should not have happened. Is an old lady the man hit down and run gone. The driver them don't have no discipline, especially on this route and is full time now the police them get them in order," a female resident shouted, as police officers tried to maintain calm.
The residents claimed that the conductor fled the scene in another minibus
BOGUE HEIGHTS, St James - Catholic lay minister John Marzouca died in a fire that razed his house yesterday, leaving the church in mourning.
Marzouca. was in good health |
According to Michael Walker, who lives at the same apartment as Marzouca, about 5:00 yesterday morning he became aware of the fire which was confined to Marzouca's room.
A grieving Walker explained that after calling out to Marzouca and failing to get a response, he tried to open the door but was unsuccessful.
Walker said that he subsequently rushed outside for a hose, and with the assistance of a neighbour attempted to put out the blaze. But they had to retreat in the face of the smoke and searing heat.
"I was trying to brace the door but I could not go in. So I ran back and woke up the youths and got out. I then ran outside for a hose. Then my neighbour and I tried to put out the fire but we couldn't stay in there for long because the heat and the smoke kept us away from the door," Walker recounted.
The fire was eventually put out by firefighters from the Montego Bay Fire Department.
The charred remains of Marzouca were discovered behind the door.
Yesterday, when the Observer visited the premises, Marzouca's burnt belongings told the grim tale.
Father Carl Clarke of the Blessed Sacrament Catholic Church in Montego Bay was distraught at the news of Marzouca's passing.
"It has caught us by surprise. Very sad," said Father Clarke. "He was in good health and everything, so to learn this morning that he went home to the Lord with no warning is sad."
He recalled that he last saw Marzouca alive last week when they attended the preparation and celebration of the Feast of the Sacred Heart.
Father Clarke was visiting yesterday at the Good Shepherd Foundation Hospice, an arm of the Catholic Church where "neglected" persons, especially those afflicted with HIV/AIDS are housed. Marzouca was an administrator at the Good Shepherd Foundation Hospice
A forensic audit is to be carried out into financial irregularities which have been uncovered at the Bellevue Hospital in Kingston.
The discrepancies, which were the substance of much discussion at a meeting of the Public Accounts Committee of Parliament in Kingston yesterday, were highlighted in the 2004/05, 2005/06 and 2006/07 reports of the auditor-general.
It was discovered, among other things, that the salaries account of the psychiatric care facility had been defrauded $15.243 million between 1999 and 2003 by a bank employee and that there had been several breaches of the guidelines for the procurement of goods and services for which millions were paid over.
Addressing the swindled funds, permanent secretary to the health ministry, which has oversight responsibility for the psychiatric care facility, Dr Grace Allen-Young, said so far the bank has made restitution of $13.1 million, leaving a balance of $2.062 million.
She said the balance was, however, still in dispute as the hospital had made a $2-million claim on the bank to cover work done to gather the data because the bank had been unable to find all the information. She said the bank had paid over the $2-million but not the balance of $2.062 million on the original amount which was defrauded.
"That is still in dispute," she said.
But PAC chair Dr Omar Davies, who said he was somewhat 'alarmed' by the situation, said it was clear that the hospital was a sitting duck for unscrupulous persons.
"The financial management of these places could do with some strengthening," said Davies. "These things should never reach the stage where it is the auditor-general who has to bring them to your attention. Seems to me you should be in a position to know.
"I am slightly alarmed that we are talking about $2 million and we don't know where it is. It would seem to me that somebody should essentially have picked that up and provided you with that information," Davies said.
"Somebody in the bank just realised that nobody was keeping check and I suspect they just milked the account each month," Davies theorised.
He suggested that the ministry seek to recover interest on the amount which had been defrauded over the period.
"It should seem to me that centrally somebody at your level should meet with the bank and say this was the interest rate over the period," said Davies. "This can't be left just like that; a bank can't just defraud you and give you a money and say hold that. One thing you can be certain, if it were the other way around there would have been some serious charges."
PAC member Dr Morais Guy, however, was critical of the monitoring being done by the health ministry.
"It would seem a little more than good news that Bellevue was able to be defrauded $15 million over three years and it didn't take until after three or four years to find out this was so, suggesting that the institution was awash with funds, but what oversight was being given to that institution by the Ministry of Health?" he queried.
Dr Allen-Young, responding to the concerns, said what had become clear was that "the ministry will have to work with Bellevue much more closely".
Allegations are that Rideout was stopped and searched when she tried to board a plane at the Norman Manley International Airport recently. A search of her luggage turned up 22.7kg (50lb) of the drug.
The lawyer for the accused woman told the court that she came to Jamaica on honeymoon after marrying a Jamaican in Canada. He added that after the honeymoon, the accused somehow allowed the man to persuade her to attempt taking the drug to Canada with her.
Resident Magistrate Glen Brown sentenced the accused woman to six months imprisonment in addition to a $15,000 fine for possession and $60,000 for taking steps to export ganja.
I am 25 and I got married a few months ago. My husband and I are Christians. The problem that I am having is that I have no sexual appetite. My husband always wants to have sex, but I am never in the mood. I love my husband dearly and I am very attracted to him, but I rather cuddle than have sex. I wasn't a virgin when I got married. However, I rarely ever had sex before because of my Christian beliefs and tremendous guilt. I really want to make my husband happy, but I am just never up to it.
He gets frustrated when I say so, so sometimes I will just give in to please him. Most of the time, I am just praying for him to ejaculate so we can get it over with. I have never had an orgasm through regular sex, only through oral stimulation. He will even volunteer to do this to me, but I am still not in the mood.
Pastor, please tell me what to do. I always envisioned my marriage filled with plenty of sex, since I was never really doing it regularly before I got married. Is something wrong with me? Why do I rather curling up and cuddling with him than having sexual intercourse?
Sexually Challenged, USA
Dear Sexually Challenged,
First of all, I want to believe that you are carrying with you guilt and that needs to be addressed. Dr. Paul Tournier, in his book Guilt and Grace, mentions that there are true and false guilt. I believe that the things you have done as a Christian are tormenting you even though you are now married. And they are tormenting you to the extent that you are finding it difficult to relate to your husband. It means then that you need therapy to deal with guilt.
The second point I wish to make is that, sex is intended for procreation and pleasure within the marriage bond. And anyone who is not prepared to have sex, should not get married. In his best seller, How to be Happily Married, Dr. E. J. Daniels lays down some rules and one is, "Be willing to make adjustments". "To be happily married", he says "a husband and wife must learn to give and take. Neither one should expect the other to make all of the surrenders. Each should be willing to concede to the other so there is a happy medium in their conduct pattern with each other."
His advice is fitting for you because you have only been married for a few months. He goes on to say "It is because of these necessary adjustments that a married couple usually find that the first year of marriage life is the most difficult one". It is quite clear that your husband and yourself are still trying to make adjustments. You are behaving as if you are still single and if you have sex, you are committing sin. I repeat, that is how you are behaving. Remember your husband will not always be very patient with you.
Daniels in chapter five of his book writes, "It is almost impossible for a couple to be happily married unless their sex life is normal. Many people, especially wives, underestimate the importance of sex. They do not realise the vital part it plays in all phases of their marriage".
I suggest that when you are not in the mood for sex, consider what the Apostle Paul has written in 1Corintians 7: 1-5. "Now concerning the matters about which you wrote: "It is well for a man not to touch a woman." 2: But because of cases of sexual immorality, each man should have his own wife and each woman her own husband. 3: The husband should give to his wife her conjugal rights, and likewise the wife to her husband. 4: For the wife does not have authority over her own body, but the husband does; likewise the husband does not have authority over his own body, but the wife does. 5: Do not deprive one another except perhaps by agreement for a set time, to devote yourselves to prayer, and then come together again, so that Satan may not tempt you because of your lack of self-control."
Remember that it is normal for your husband to want to have sex with you. It is your obligation to meet his sexual needs. If you do not try to meet his sexual needs, he may be tempted to go to another woman and may actually do so. If you feel that you can't manage, see a sex therapist.
Pastor
The Wear Black Today campaign was started by Lawman Lynch, a youth leader with the Kingston and St. Andrew Action Forum, following the shooting of seven people in Allman Town last week.
In a meeting following the shooting, he said he heard an education officer say she was upset by the shooting and just felt like wearing black. He said he got the idea from what that teacher said and decided to send out an e-mail to as many people as he knew, encouraging them to do that and pass on the message.
However, he says black is not only a sign of mourning for those who have died, but a sign of strength. "Black means more than that, it signifies strength and boldness," he told THE STAR.
Lynch feels Jamaicans can rise above the murders if everybody unites. "Crime and violence is staring us in the face and, unless we come together and stand in solidarity it will destroy us," he said.
He said since sending out the e-mail, he has received responses from persons suggesting the campaign should be more frequent, with everyone wearing black once a week or monthly to send the message that we want a crime-free society until something is done.
In the e-mail, he mourns the death of a friend killed in the recent shootings in Allman Town and calls on the society to wear black. "Let's mourn the death of so many of our Jamaican brothers and sisters, let's mourn the death of our youth and children, let's collectively make a statement; crime is out of control, but we need not block the roads, just WEAR SOMETHING BLACK," the e-mail said.
He said today, he and some other representatives from various organisations will be visiting the Denham Town Police Station to sign the condolence book. Two police constables attached to the Kingston Western Police Division were recently killed in Federal Gardens.
Although Lynch is not too sure about where the campaign will end up, he is encouraging Jamaicans to get involved in the fight against crime and make a statement discouraging the murders in the society
who will win the NBA finals 2008