True Story a mix tape created by New York based disc jock Max Glazier of the Federation Sound System who has a reputation for exposing some of dancehall's most elite. Wayne who is among several local talents featured on the mix tape spoke with worldflavas recently about the project.
"The True Story mix CD, is the first of its kind. This CD will not only features my new music but will features a mix of many artists doing dubplates, exclusive freestyles and creative skits all in the name of True Story. The beats and songs are going to be unpredictable delivering hip hop, dancehall and reggae riddims. This CD is strictly for promotion and will be distributed extensively over the internet and on the streets.
"Some of the songs featured are brand new jams never before heard on the road, Bounty killer has a serious high grade medley, Busy kicks a freestyle collabo with me, Sean Paul and myself present our new c****ination entitled As Far As I See, Mavado and Jay Z are on the rock in a different style, Junior Gong and Steve Marley represent for True Story dub plate style. Along with the likes of Bling Dawg, Demarco, Esco, Dr. Evil, Future Fambo and much much more. A lot of work has been put into it to give every music lover something to write home about. The interludes are hilarious, the tracks are hot and the mixing is on point".
The True Story Mix Tape is also complimented by a DVD showing behind the scenes clipping of the whole project. As usual 876radio.com have embedded a link to the coveted disc for all your musical connoisseurs to download. Another first brought to you by the good folks at 876radio.com (click here to download Marshall's True Story Mix CD)Normally, virgins I know can hardly take one finger much less two, but my girl said that it was her first time. Anyway two weeks later we ended up having sex. When I inserted my penis it went in with ease and there was no sign of *lo** or anything. When I saw that I asked if she was lying to me about her virginity and she said no. Since then I don't know if she is telling the truth or not.
Could she be a virgin, pastor?
K.F., Kingston, Jamaica
Dear K.F.,
If the girl said she was a virgin, accept what she said. No big deal. You talk as if you are a man of great experience. You are giving the impression as if although you are only 19 years old, you have gone to bed with many virgins. What are you trying to do or prove? Are you trying to receive a prize for having sex with many virgins?
Generally speaking a woman who has never had sexual intercourse is considered a virgin and it is generally believed that her hymen should be intact.
The hymen is the traditional proof of a woman's virginity. And if the hymen is penetrated the woman would experience some bleeding. However, women who are very active in certain sports can accidentally break their hymen. Women who use a tampon or perform vigorous activities such as bicycle riding, may break their hymen.
Even when a woman's hymen has been broken, she is still a virgin if she has never had sexual intercourse.
Whether or not this woman is speaking the truth, leave her alone and stop behaving as if you have the right to know whether or not you are the first man to have gone to bed with her.
Dancehall artiste Mavado had the gun-related charges against dropped earlier today when he appeared in the Gun Court in Kingston.
According to IrieFM, the director of public prosecution made an order that the proceedings should not continue after the police told the court this week that the witnesses had migrated.
These charges were the reason for him being refused entrance to the US awhile back. Hopefully, with the charges dropped, the DJ will once again be able to travel to the US.
July 27th last year, it was alleged that Mavado was involved in a shooting incident on Mannings Hill Road in St. Andrew.
The Festival, in celebration of Crown's 17th anniversary, promises to be chock-full of excitement. Billed as Japan's largest Reggae Festival, Yokohama Reggae SAI attracts revelLers from around the world. The highly anticipated event boasts an intense roster of Japanese Reggae/Dancehall artists and surprise guest artists from Jamaica. In recent years, the likes of Beenie Man, Tony Matterhorn, Voicemail and others have taken center stage.
Mighty Crown is the key source of Reggae/Dancehall entertainment in Japan. Through many business outfits (sound system, record label, clothing line, magazine, etc.), Mighty Crown permeates Japan with Reggae/Dancehall music and culture. Partly because of Mighty Crown's following and the Japanese Reggae movement, fans turn out to the Yokohama Reggae SAI in record breaking numbers. Last year, 40,000 patrons inundated the stadium, and the surprise Jamaican artists added a unique twist.
Mighty Crown was founded in 1991 by brothers Simon and Sami. The sound's undeniable grasp on the Reggae/Dancehall industry was culminated after their stunning victory at Irish and Chin's World Clash New York in 1999, where they defeated a roster of heavy contenders. The world stood still as these non-Jamaican DJs mastered the art of sound clashing. Winning such a coveted award thrust Mighty Crown into the limelight -- enabling their career to reach countless milestones including victories - Death Before Dishonor (World Clash Jamaica), U.K. Cup Clash, World Clash Antigua among many others.
Yokohama Reggae SAI was jumpstarted in 1995 by Mighty Crown as a means of celebrating their anniversary in the business and highlighting Reggae/Dancehall entertainment in Japan. Each year, the festival grows in popularity and visibility. To learn more about Yokohama Reggae SAI, log on to www.yokohamareggaesai.com.
See video of Mighty Crown in perfomance at the previous festival (see video below)Even though for weeks she's been wearing loose-fitting clothes that hide her tummy, Beyonce has no announcement to make - but one of her friends does! "I can definitely say she is not pregnant," former Destiny's Child bandmate Michelle Williams, 27 told Life & Style
The mother of two children who died from knife wounds at their home has been detained under the Mental Health Act.
Sasikala Navaneethan, the 35-year-old mother of three was arrested over the deaths of her five-year-old son Shanjayan and daughter Sharani, four.
Her six-month old baby daughter who was also injured is critically ill following emergency surgery.
Mrs Navaneethan was taken to hospital on Friday after police were called to her home in Carshalton, south-east London.
She was taken to a secure mental health unit.
The children's father, 39-year-old Navarajah Navaneethan, was also arrested but has been released without charge to return on bail at a later date.
If you listen to Hillary Clinton talk, it is clear that there is an ugly, lingering element of sexism in the world today. But liberation is only a radio dial away based on the buzz around Alibra's coming-of-age female empowerment anthem, 'Clearly', Alibra is on the verge of flipping the reggae world on its ear.
The single hit the Jamaica Music Countdown chart last week and has confidently moved up to #19 on the charts. "I am just pleased with the success of the single, people are recognizing me in the streets, and the disc jocks are showing me love, and I have been getting requests for shows," she said.
The video for the single is also getting excellent rotation on cable stations such as RE, HYPE, and JUICE. In the meantime, her follow up single In My World is doing very well in South Florida, getting spins on urban stations, sparking calls for bookings for shows in the United States.
She recently made a series of well-received performances at the KLAS-In Season school tour. Here are the words to Clearly, her first hit song of what promises to be many more in her arsenal.
Yea, mi ready fi talk di tings dem, yu nuh hear the new dubplate by Natalie Storm, we nuh par wid DAT SITE, one876 ah the site of the year. But mi nuh understand how nobody nuh big me up inna dubplate? Weh dem feel like? Big up same way. Some people ah talk say mi hype and nuh have no money, but dem need fi know say mi comfortable. Mi no live inna tenement yard and ah hear mi neighbour ah scream dont stop, dont tek it out inna the early morning. Yea, ah dat mi say. Enough about me, ah time fi the people dem article. Yea, BUSS DEM BUSINESS!
WHO HAVE THE HYPEST VEHICLE INNA THE BIZ
Who have the hypest vehicle? Some people ah say ah Killa wid the white Range Over (because is the Range over all others) or Mavado with the black one. But to me, right now ah Junior Reid ah lead with the BMW 645 that cost US$75,000 inna the US, but people ah say ah over 14 million when yu add in the duties and the shipping and insurance and everything. And Flippa Maffia de second wid the Porsche Truck that him buss P Splash wid earlier this year. Mi hear say Beenie want to buy a new vehicle but the tax cloud just force him fi gwaan sim simmer inna the Kingfish.Lena British have a green Range Rover, Anthony B have the silver Range, Marshall have an X5, Kartel have a Lexxus jeep, Lady Saw have the X3, and mi hear say Shaggy have some mad vehicle ah foreign. If me miss none, just email and blog it and mek me know.
NIKKI Z GOES TO VISIT HER MOM
I would like to extend a special shout out to Nikki Z who I know is going through some personal struggles right now. She left Jamaica this week for the United States to spend time with her mother who is recovering from cancer-related treatment. Our prayers go with her at this time.
RDX SHOOTS DANCERS ANTHEM
Dancehall's hottest duo RDX and their team set out to shoot the video for their super hot single 'Dancers Anthem' in Pembrook Hall. The video was directed by Rick Elgood. Over forty (40) Dancers and Dance Groups turn out to support the duo, namely:- RDX Prodigy dancer 'BERMUDA KID', Kadillac Dancers, Black Blingas, Timeless, Docta Bird, Dance Xpression and Ms Right who played the role of a school teacher. There was also a special cameo appearance by top Dancehall Group T.O.K. who appeared on set well attired in their 'T.O.K. High' school uniforms.
BOOTCAMP DROPS WONDERLAND RIDDIM FEAT. LADY PATRA
Computer Paul has just released the tracks from his new Wonderland rhythm with songs like Lady Patras First Night, MBCs One More Try, Red Roses Cities Dont Sleep, DYCRS Love is the Answer featuring Singing Melody and Icemans I Want Her Back.
RICH AND HAPPY WE SAY
What a way Bounty Killer just look happy from wah day ya? The man ting sort out, everywhere yu see him, ah just pure teeth, when dem say RICH and HAPPY, dem fi just have a big picture of Bounty Killer fi show the world. Talking about Rich N Happy, DJ Flames have an event that ah kick off this Saturday at the Destiny Mall named (what else) Rich and Happy Satdaze, check it out. Next week ah Night of the Applebottoms.
LIL LION FOR SUZIE Q THIS SATURDAY
Look out for Lil Lion on Suzie Qs Reggae Trail Big Up video segment this Saturday on TVJ and in New York at 11 p.m. on CIN, channel 73. And on Sunday, it will be repeated in the afternoon at about 1 p.m..
BIG UPS
Big up to Patriot who scored his first chart hit with Looking For Love that debuted at #18 on the Jamaica Music Countdown charts this week. It also de #7 on Stampede Street Vibes chart.
Mavado popular hit 'On the Rock' will be the featured track on the mixtape produced by Dancehall kingpin Baby G.
The tracks presently burning up the local airwaves and party circuit was recently remixed by Hip Hip Rap star Jay-Z, and will be featured on Mavado upcoming album set for release later this year. Sources close to the deejay also informed us that a possible video may be in the works and they are hoping for the Jigga Man to make a cameo alongside the gangsta.
Other contributors to the mixtape include Lenny Kravitz, Kanye West, Jay-Z, Common and Mos Def. over 100,000 copies of the CD will be printed and given away as part of the campaign.
A NEW breed of childcare robots being developed in Japan and tested in American schools could lead to a "generation of social misfits".
Thats the warning from robotics professor Noel Sharkey of the University of Sheffield.
Professor Sharkey says he fears parents will simply leave their children in the hands of "robot role-models" while they work.
Speaking ahead of a seminar on robotics at Cheltenham Science Festival, he said: "These robots are great for monitoring children.
"Adults can log into the robot from the internet or from their mobile phones.
"They can direct the robot and see through its cameras, they can even speak to the children through the robots voice.
"This new generation of robots can also monitor the whereabouts of children via radio frequency tags worn by children, plus they can keep children entertained by playing games.
"Currently it would not be legal to use these robots to mind children in a nursery without adults being present; but it would be perfectly legal to use them in the home.
"I can see the benefits of these childcare robots for busy professionals working from home. But my concern, is that they may prove to be too useful.
"With more and more people working from home on their computers, it would be all too easy to leave the kids with a robot and watch what is going on in the corner of your computer screen.
THE parents of a two-year-old boy who died after collapsing at home have been arrested on suspicion of neglect.
Toddler Dylan Hughes was taken to hospital from his home in Pricetown, near Nantymoel, Bridgend, South Wales, just before midnight on Wednesday last week but later died.
The cause of his death is not yet known and toxicology tests are being carried out.
South Wales Police confirmed today that two people have been arrested on suspicion of wilful neglect.
Dylans parents, Paul and Crystal, were taken to hospital earlier this week after a suspected drink and drugs overdose, and were released yesterday.
Mr Hughes was arrested on Monday, and the boys mother was arrested today.
A South Wales Police spokeswoman said: "In relation to the death of two-year-old Dylan Thomas Hughes, police can confirm that a 30-year-old man and a 24-year-old woman have been arrested on suspicion of wilful neglect.
"They have both been released on bail pending further inquiries. Officers are continuing to investigate the circumstances surrounding Dylans unexplained death."
The spokeswoman would not confirm if police were probing reports that the two-year-old died after accidentally swallowing heroin substitute methadone.
AS Jamaicans join others around the world in praising the United States' first black Presidential nominee Sen Barack Obama for his historic win on Tuesday, at least one professor is urging the Caribbean region not to expect any windfalls.
Rather, Professor Rupert Lewis of the University of the West Indies (UWI), Mona, said the region would have to set its own agenda in terms of what it wants from the United States.
In fact, the professor told the Observer that he did not expect Obama's presidency to alter US foreign policy. "Obama is not going to be playing any black role; he's going to be pursuing America's agenda, which will need to be strengthened by black Americans, but I don't see an advantage for the Caribbean - the Caribbean will have to define what it wants from the States," he said.
And the push to further Jamaica's interests was not lost on Junior Foreign Minister Ronald Robinson. He reminded that it was against the country's foreign policy to involve itself in the politics of a sovereign state, but said that government would seek to meet with the Obama and McCain campaigns, beginning later this month at the New York Conference on the Caribbean.
"We would like to sit with both candidates and their representatives and get a feel. We will be seeking to do that through our ambassador in Washington or through the ministerial level and introduce them to what Jamaica and Caricom are doing," Robinson told the Observer yesterday.
In welcoming Obama's win, he said Jamaica celebrated with him, given his bi-racial status.
"We are hoping that it will mean a better understanding of how we as a people exist and the struggles that we have to go through. We do hope that we will be at the forefront of the thinking of the United States," he told the Observer.
Deputy general secretary of the Opposition People's National Party (PNP), Julian Robinson (no relation), acknowledged the historic nature of the win, coming 40 years after suffrage was extended to all black Americans. However, he cautioned that other than the optimism for change associated with Obama, there remained little indication of his policies regarding Jamaica and the Caribbean.
"I think it's going to be difficult to say what this means for Jamaica because we haven't seen from his foreign policy, what his approach to Jamaica, the Third World and the Caribbean will be. So, apart from the emotion of his winning, I think it's hard to say what his Presidency could mean," the PNP general secretary said.
Barack Obama on Tuesday beat Hillary Clinton to the Democratic nomination, following months of rigourous campaigning across the US. The 45-year-old will face Republican nominee John McCain, a 71-year-old Vietnam War veteran, in the November 4 presidential elections.
Political historian, Troy Cain described the win as "a monumental, historical event".
At the same time, Cain noted that there could be no question of Obama's nomination being a source of pride for Caribbean people.
"I am sure it will mean some degree of pride for the people in the Caribbean in terms of how they relate to a similar situation since the majority of people in the Caribbean are black people," he said.
Anthropologist Herbert Gayle also noted the significance of the win.
"First of all, it flies in the face of a lot of what has been said about racism in the United States. Here is a black man who is now the primary nominee. It says that the United States is maturing. There is no doubt about it. That is the greatest political statement that the United States has made since its abolition of slavery. It is a powerful message to the world," he said.
Technical director Rene Simoes has always valued the importance of the supporters in the journey towards success of the national football team, but for the current campaign, he is moving to make that recognition official.
According to the Brazilian, in his second stint in charge of the country's national football programme, if he has his way, no player will again wear the number 12 jersey. That, he said, would be reserved for the '12th man' - the fans.
"One of the things that I want to revive is the vibes of the Jamaican people. I took a decision to ask Captain Horace Burrell and Horace Reid to never allow our players to wear the number 12 jersey. We are going take away the number 12 from our players and give it to the fans," Simoes told STAR Sports recently.
"The number 12 will be only for the fans and I want them to understand that we did it together once and we can do it together again, and for that, they will officially be the 12th man and they will have to play with the team," added Simoes.
BOO OPPONENTSThe supporters, Simoes continued, will have to play a major role in making the visitors uncomfortable, within the laws of the game, while they are on the field of play.
"Sometimes, people don't like when I say this but they will have to boo the opponents, make them uncomfortable during the game," he explained.
"When the game is finished, let them enjoy the spirit of Jamaica and the hospitality."
Showing an appreciation for other sports and their meaning to the country, Simoes said the crowd involvement in football is much different to cricket and tennis.
"In cricket and tennis, you cheer after certain plays, but in football, you can participate in the game throughout as fans. Of course, we do not want anything impolite, we will do what the other teams do, like in Mexico," he added.
Teams playing against Mexico in the famed Azteca Stadium in the capital city have no doubt that they are the visiting team when they go up against the Central American giants at that venue, Simoes reminded.
"It is impossible to talk to the players during the game. You have to draw something for them to understand because you cannot talk to them as they cannot hear you.
"Every time that the fans observe that the coach is going to talk to his team, they boo you, they make noise, so in Jamaica, I want visiting teams to see our 12th man wave the sea of yellow, green and black at the National Stadium. We have to bring that back," he argued passionately in his improving English.
RECIPROCAL RELATIONSHIPBut while the fans are being asked to support the players on the field, Simoes made it clear that he has impressed upon his players the importance of reciprocity in a relationship.
"We do not have as much time as the last time (1998) to take the players all over the country to get people to see and meet them personally because when people see you and get to know you, it is easier for them to identify with you," he noted. "We still have to do our best to make that link stronger and I hope the players understand that.
"I encourage them every time when they talk to fans and give autographs to ask the name of the fans, give a smile, look them in the eye and not just sign. This is not a one guy come to bother you, I tell them. You are ambassadors of your country, so I think it can happen again," he added.Former prison doctor, Raymoth Notice, yesterday asserted that many convicted criminals are leaving the penal system more brutal than when they went in, and called for greater emphasis on the correctional system under the new crime plan.
Notice, a former mayor of Spanish Town, was commenting on the findings of a study conducted by a group of psychiatrists.
Permanent psychosis
It revealed that a significant number of incarcerated inmates have suffered from permanent psychosis, meaning they are out of touch with reality.
"Instead of being rehabilitated, a large number of inmates are leaving the penal system more hardened, cold and vicious than before they went in," Notice said.
Notice, who worked as a senior medical officer at the St Catherine Adult Correctional Centre for seven years, believes the rehabilitation programmes in the penal system have not been effective because enough resources are not provided.
Lack of resources
Yesterday, the head of the Department of Correctional Services, Major Richard Reece, agreed that the lack of resources has restricted inmate participation in rehabilitation programmes until it was almost time for them to be released.
He told The Gleaner that his biggest challenge includes men aged 35-40, some of whom are repeat offenders.
"This group has been categorised as career criminals. They are hardened and cannot be changed," Reece told The Gleaner.
In a move to correct the issue, Reece has accelerated the classification process in the prisons.
"As soon as new inmates come into the system, we process them, reducing the level of exposure and influence," he said.
According to the Reece, based on their classification, the inmates are either sent to low, medium or maximum security facilities.
Despite the country's high crime rate, Reece stressed that last year the penal system admitted 200 fewer inmates, while the population at the two maximum security prisons at Tower Street and St Catherine continue to decrease.
Antisocial personalities
Dr Wendel Abel of the Department of Community Health and Psychiatry at the University of the West Indies, said 75 per cent of prisoners have antisocial personalities.
In addition, he argued that a criminal subculture has developed in some inner-city communities, with children being exposed to crime and violence daily.
"It breeds criminals, it breeds a lot of people with personality disorder and antisocial personality problems which contribute significantly to crime," Abel said.
"Me and Lindsay got really, really close ... She followed me into the bathroom during a private party and, well, we basically got together." ...
"I think she knew who I was when she first saw me," Landon explained, "We were just staring at each other and she walked by. Then she turned around and she was just ready to party. I walked into the bathroom and she followed me in."
After that night, the couple never pursued a relationship, which he regrets, he says. "It didn't end badly, but it did end weird," said Landon without elaborating. "I'm actually trying to get back in touch with her - really soon."
All dem a talk, ah me ah lead. Dem caan stop read me even though dem hate me, look pon mi last article 200 posts and counting. Mi just ah do cha ching ching dance and ah laugh EVERYDAY, dem caan get mi depressed, mi laugh till water come ah mi eye everyday, and right now, mi de ya ah mi house ah hold a joy and ah plan fi get rich like Raquel and live some of her fabulous life. Well, who me ah go mud up today? Eeni-meenie-minie mo, who ah go star the Wednesday Tea show. Abena to the world, ONE876 to the universe, big up all the bloggers on the site, oonu mek this nice, and who no like me, DROP ASLEEP! Yea, ah dat mi say!
BEENIE MAN SPOTTED AT UPTOWN APARTMENT
Right now, the way mi look pon it, ah Kartel and Mavado still ah lead inna the dance, ah dem have the most song and ah get the most airplay, but Beenie Man ting still look good. How the man keep doing it? Him inna the Billboard top ten reggae artistes list fi 2007, him have a European tour line up and a US tour fi later in the year. Beenie, yu ah the man. Mi just hope say Vado and Kartel get back dem papers so dem can carry the flag fi dancehall music internationally too. We need more stars and more hits. But wait a minute, ah which uptown apartment people still see Beenie Man ah lurks roun from wah day ya? Are the rumours really true? Daggering start again?
VYBZ RUM SHORTAGE?
Mi see the Vybz Rum ah sell ah Dunrobin Tiger Mart the other day but mi never buy none, and mi sorry because mi girlfriend dem have a little get together and is when mi reach Portmore, mi figet say mi neva buy no liquor, so me go over Portmore Mega Mart fi buy a bottle of Vybz Rum and mi hear say it sell off. Wah really a gwaan? Mi just end up buy a bottle of Alize instead but mi really waan support our local entrepreneurs. Oonu free up the Vybz Rum so mi can see it everywhere nuh?
ANTHONY B S NEW VEHICLE ON THE WHARF
Mi hear say Anthony B new vehicle de pon the wharf, and it ah go mad. Memba say ah him first show the world say rasta can drive Range Rover, but like how it get common now, him decide fi step up him game. Nobody nah tell me what kind of vehicle, if is a Phantom, or a Rolls or a Lamborghini or what? Jamaica soon find out. Big up Andrea, Anthony B goody goody babymother, yu hot mi friend!
NINJAMAN REDECORATES RENTED APARTMENT
What a way Ninjaman ah redecorate him apartment? Mi hear say him lick out an entire wall and ah put up studio, but mi ah wonder why him woulda do that and is rent him a pay. Mi hear say the landlord nuh mind because him still ah get him rent and the place ah refurbish fi free. But why Ninja why? Just buy a house and do dem tings de. Somebody caan talk to him?
GAVESHA GONE A LEAD
Well judging from last Friday night,.it look like Gavesha gone a lead...I wonder what Avah a go come wid next fi top di Friday night flex. Right now, Ava try everything, she cut and paste, she sprinkle, she tell lie and caan stop Gavesha flow, ah wah she have so? The tight-o, right-o and nah go down low. Heh! Heh! Mi body! Gavesha, tek yu forward, ah yu a lead. YU shoulda see how she stick onto Mavado like a second shirt the whole night. Mavado yuh a di boss!
AIDONIA AND MAVADO IN BAD MAN PLACE
Mi neva know say Aidonia and Mavado live inna the same apartment complex. One of mi groupie friend dem go up de the other day and tell me say she see the two artiste dem ah live inna the same complex, and not far from each other either. But stick a pin there, is wah Aidonia really up to dese days? Him really a keep a low profile but watch the LOW profile ting, zeen. Can someone email mi an mek mi know is wa him up to? How him feel like how him and the Gangsta fa Life a neighbour now?
THE PEOPLE WAAN FI KNOW
How dem a go maintain dem expensive lifestyle inna dem uptown US dollar apartment and dem music nah sell?
If a really $21 million Junior Reid spend fi the convertible BMW 645? How him one so hype? Ah remix and US flex do that? JR Records to the world.
If Munchie British is really a man, and him sound like a big gal so?
High-grade water
A woman who attempted to smuggle five pounds of marijuana to Antigua pleaded guilty when she appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday.
Chantal Royal is charged with possession of, dealing in and taking steps to export marijuana. The court was told that on the day in question, Royal was preparing to board a flight to Antigua when she was stopped and searched. The drug was found in a box labelled Catherine's Peak spring water.
When she appeared before Resident Magistrate Glen Brown, Royal said she was promised US$800 to deliver the drugs and said she wanted the money to pay for her daughter's graduation and ball.
She was fined $8,000 or six months for possession of drugs, admonished and discharged for dealing and was ordered to pay $24,000 or serve six months for taking steps to export the drugs. In addition, she will have to serve a mandatory two months in jail.Dear Pastor,
I have a boyfriend and he is putting a lot of pressure on me to have sex. I love this guy dearly and want to do anything for him to make him feel comfortable. I really want to do it, but at the same time I do not want to. I am 17 and I am a Christian, but he is not. Pastor, I really cannot wait until marriage and he also cannot wait. I think we both are ready for this step in our lives.
Sir, I need your help in telling me what to do. I am really confused. Please, help me.
J, J., Panama City, Panama
Dear J.J.,
Never allow anybody to pressure you into having sex. If you are a Christian, you should try your best to please the Lord.
The Bible says that sex outside of marriage is sin.
Read your Bible and pray. This guy is not a Christian. He is going to lead you astray.
Pastor
Hugo Chávez is known as a revolutionary in many contexts, especially his defiance of the United States. In recent years, however, he's also broken ground on a far less well-exposed subject: the question of race in Latin America. The saga began two years ago, when, during a tour of Gambia, Chávez surprised observers by declaring that "I've always said that if Spain is our mother, Africa, mother Africa, is much more so." Since then, the Venezuelan leader has often revisited the theme at home, even drawing attention to his own African roots. It may not sound shocking. But such language would have been inconceivable from a major Latin American leader just a short time ago.
That's now changing, due to a black-consciousness movement stirring in Central and South America. Emboldened by the success of their indigenous countrymen in pressing for resolution of long-ignored grievances, Afro-descendientes (people of African descent), as they are known, are now lobbying for recognition of their own communities' land rights and for increased spending to improve living conditions in urban slums and rural villages. Local activists have begun urging Latin blacks to take pride in their culture, and with the help of the Internet, leaders are reaching across borders to share tactics and compare notes with their brethren in the Caribbean, the United States and Africa. This "black-power movement has gone way beyond anything that has happened in the past," says Ann Farnsworth-Alvear, director of Latin American and Latino Studies at the University of Pennsylvania. "People are making critiques of racism in their own societies, and there's been a real shift in black consciousness and involvement."
Black power isn't entirely new to the region; for some time now the descendants of African slaves have wielded political clout in a few corners of the hemisphere. That's especially the case in the English-speaking Caribbean, where black heads of state are the rule. And in Brazil, where nearly half the country's 192 million people have African ancestry, Joaquim Barbosa, arguably the most influential member of the Supreme Court, is black; so is recording artist Gilberto Gil, who served as Culture minister under President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva for five years. Moreover, Lula's predecessor, Fernando Henrique Cardoso, once announced that he himself had "one foot in the kitchen"a colorful way of admitting intermarriage among his ancestors (albeit one that earned him criticism at the time).
In the rest of Latin America, blacks remain a small (they're thought to number about 20 million, though activists claim the figure is much higher) and marginalized minority. Demographics highlight their second-class status. For example, Ecuador's blacks, who make up 5 percent of the population, suffer a 14.5 percent unemployment rate, higher than that of the country's nonblack majority and twice that of indigenous groups. In neighboring Col****ia, which is home to 10.5 million Afro-descendientesgiving it the third largest black population in the hemisphere, after Brazil and the United Statesonly one in five blacks has access to electricity and running water (compared with 60 percent of the rest of the population), and the black infant mortality rate is more than three times the white level.
Now, however, black communities are organizing and pressing for change. In Honduras, for example, locals of African descent, who are known as Garifunas, have staged protests in Tegucigalpa, the capital, against a proposed constitutional amendment that would permit foreigners to purchase property along the Atlantic coast, a region the Garifunas have called home since 1797. And in Ecuador, more than a hundred black housewives and working women joined forces in 2006 to seek more government assistance for housing to c****at racial discrimination in the rental market.
The epicenter of the new black activism, meanwhile, is Col****ia. That's due as much to circumstance as design: more than a third of the 3.2 million Col****ians uprooted by the country's long-running civil war are of African ancestry, as are many of the ragged street vendors and beggars who approach motorists at busy Bogotá intersections. Foreign and local NGOs are now working hard to publicize their plight. Though a landmark 1993 law enshrined the right of Afro-Col****ians to obtain formal title to their ancestral lands, including 5 million hectares along the Pacific coasta unique experiment in ethnic self-governmentimplementation has lagged, as unscrupulous agribusinesses and paramilitary warlords have seized communal property with near impunity. But recently, as part of its ongoing effort to win U.S. approval for a free-trade agreement, the government of President Alvaro Uribe has begun to expel these companies and restore 8,000 hectares of stolen land to Afro-Col****ian community councils
Interviewer: Chilli was quoted as saying you were the one she truly did love. Im not in love with him anymore, but I cant say I dont love him. Do you think its appropriate for her to make these comments considering youre married with a child?
Usher: I mean, I think its a little unrealistic, Im married (laughs), Im not a boy. Its been three years past, you know? But we all have unrealistic goals too. Like shoot, I will always forever love Katie Holmes and Halle Berry. I dont feel anyway about it. It does appear maybe to be a plug for something. She got a record coming or something?
EXCLUSIVE NBAS FINALS DRAMA!!! KEVIN GARNETT BUSTED HAVING A RELATIONSHIP WITH FORMER TIMBERWOLVES CHEERLEADER |
June 04, 2008. MediaTakeOut.com just caught wind that a scandal is brewing in the ranks of the Boston Celtics. Word going around is that Celtics superstar Kevin Garnett may be been carrying on a long-term relationship with a former Minnesota Timberwolves dancer named Krissy. The relationship, according to the rumors, has been going on for nearly 4 years. And get this - MediaTakeOut.com has learned that she and Kevin are so tight that she moved to Boston when Kevin was traded from Minnesota to the Celtics. Gee .. wonder what Kevin's wife Brandi - who just gave birth to their first child - has to say about all this. To be continued... |
William Rogers and his wife, Annette, were threatened by three Robert Mugabe supporters, who told them: "We are like hungry lions."
Dozens of Zimbabwe's last white farmers have suffered similar ordeals since Mr Mugabe lost the presidential election's first round in March. Scores of black opposition supporters have been murdered and thousands beaten, abducted or tortured.
After defying the two-minute warning to leave, Mr and Mrs Rogers took refuge in their home on Chigwell farm. A gang of a dozen men soon gathered outside.
"They started smashing windows and the front door was smashed open," said Mr Rogers. One of the men produced a gun and opened fire. "He fired a shot directly at us which went just over my head and close to my wife's head," said Mr Rogers. "He obviously intended to kill us."
The couple retreated upstairs and listened, terrified, as the gang began heaping together a fire in their living room, using the wreckage of their back door.
"We thought we would be burnt alive, which is when I said that we would come out," said Mr Rogers. He grabbed a shotgun and led his wife downstairs. The ringleader ordered him to hand over his weapon. Men seized Mrs Rogers and grabbed her by the throat.
Then the mob set upon both the farmer and his wife with sticks and pipes. "They dragged my wife outside and they were trying to strangle her," said Mr Rogers. "She managed to bite the hand of the man who was grabbing her round the throat.
"He started to beat her. At one time, there were at least four men beating and kicking her."
Bruised and bleeding, the couple were tied up and hurled into the back of a pickup. Finally, at least five hours after the first calls for help, the local police responded. Four armed officers freed Mr and Mrs Rogers, who were taken to Harare, the capital, for emergency treatment. They are now recovering.
Wednesday, June 4th 2008, 4:00 AM
Yosef Abrahamson, 16, with plaque designating him as essay winner and commanding officer for a day of 71st Precinct.
He's someone everyone should be able to agree on.
Yosef Abrahamson, an African-American Hasidic Jew, took his place as commanding officer of a Crown Heights precinct for a day Tuesday.
It's a symbolic gesture that the 16-year-old Brooklyn boy hopes could heal rifts in the neighborhood racked by fresh violence between the cultures he claims.
"There's a lot of trouble in my community," said the teen, who wears the distinctive black suit and fedora of the Chabad Lubavitch Orthodox Jews.
"But I'm willing to do anything to help," he said.
Yosef won an essay competition for the honor of being named the top cop of the 71st Precinct.
He joined 120 other city teens who won similar recognition for a ceremony yesterday at Police Headquarters.
The Yeshiva student never intended on becoming outspoken on the issue of bias violence in Crown Heights - nor was his unique background known to the judges who selected his essay as a winner.
"Some people become leaders, some people are drafted," said Rabbi Chaim Perl, the administrator of Yeshiva Darchai Menachem, where Yosef studies. "We're drafting him."
Yosef arrived last year from Nebraska, where he was home-schooled by his mother, Dinah Abrahamson - the daughter of a Jewish woman who fled Nazi Germany and an African-American father.
When he landed in Brooklyn, Yosef was the subject of innocent curiosity from both the Hasidic and black residents of Crown Heights.
But as instances of ethnic violence erupted, he became keenly aware of the simmering tensions.
In April, a 20-year-old son of a black cop was assaulted by several men believed to be members of an Orthodox neighborhood watch.
Last month, a 16-year-old Jewish boy was robbed and beaten by two black teens.
The violence has led to protests from both communities and accusations that the NYPD has favored one group over the other.
Yosef was subjected to sharp comments about his mixed heritage. Some Jews have told him he doesn't fit in and some African-Americans have warned him that his schooling is turning "him into a Jew."
But for the most part, "People have been very welcoming of us," said the boy's mother.
"I hope I can make some difference," he said. "Things have to change
The mother of Evander Holyfield's 10-year-old son one of nine children he's fathered says the boxing icon has missed two child-support payments, filing a petition for contempt in the Fayette County Superior Court.
Toi Irvin, who lives in Clayton County, said she was told by Holyfield's representatives not to expect the payments $6,000 total for May and June.
"It wasn't so much that he didn't pay," said Irvin's attorney, Randy Kessler. "She was told they didn't know if she would be paid at all."
The former heavyweight champion appears to be in serious financial trouble. His palatial estate in Fayette County is under foreclosure, according to a legal notice that appeared in a local newspaper, and is set to be auctioned by Washington Mutual Bank on July 1. The home is worth an estimated $10 million.
The defense team in the R. Kelly child pornography trial had relatives of the alleged victim testify today that she is not on the tape in question, while a law clerk told jurors the prosecution's key witness sought money in exchange for silence.
According to the Associated Press, Shonna Edwards, told jurors she first saw the tape several days ago in a lawyer's office and that the body of the girl on it was too developed to be her relative at that age.
"It definitely wasn't her," she testified.
Edwards claims she met Kelly on numerous occasions and she sang in a music group with the alleged victim in the 1990s.
To date, seven family members of the alleged victim have testified-four prosecution witnessesidentified her as the female on the tape and today three relatives said it was not. One witness admitted this ordeal has split their family apart.
As SOHH previously reported, the prosecution rested their case on Monday (June 2) after their key witness Lisa Van Allen identified both Kelly and the alleged female on the tape and admitted to having at least three sexual trysts with the pair.
Today a law clerk for the defense, Jason Wallace, testified that Van Allen and her fiancé, Yul Brown sought $300,000 from Kelly to keep from testifying.
According to Wallace, in a meeting with a Kelly attorney last month in Georgia, Brown said, "Lisa doesn't have to testify in court if things are made right."
Yesterday Judge Vincent Gaughan said The Chicago Sun-Times reporter Jim DeRogatis, who is responsible for passing the sex tape on to the police in 2002, was not protected under the law as a reporter.
DeRogatis declined to answer questions during this morning's hearing citing an Illinois law that protects reporters' rights and the First and Fifth Amendments. Today the judge ruled that he could use only his Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimination. DeRogatis did so and avoided answering questions.
Kelly faces 14 counts of videotaping, producing or soliciting child pornography. He pled innocent to all charges and if convicted could face up to 15 years in prison.
Stay tuned To SOHH as the story develops.
Apparently there is a fraudulent Lil Wayne Diss Record going around by Lil Flip. Flip did a record with another dude and made a reference to never kissing a man and everybody took that as a diss to Lil Wayne. WONDER WHY? But, Flip said that he freestyles his stuff off the top of the head and some times stuff just comes out! No harm no foul. Now, I am hearing that Waynes Young Money gang is apparently about to diss Lil Flip over the misunderstanding. I heard G. Brisco or Brisco dissed a bunch of people like T.I., Flip, Yung Berg, Bugsy and more. Hopefully, he never releases the record now that Flip has cleared his own name.
Again, click here to hear Lil Flip talk about Lil Wayne.
Get better Flipperoo:
KINGWOOD, TX June 4, 2008. Houstons platinum recording artist, Lil Flip, was involved in a car accident late Tuesday night, June 3. Lil Flip was taken to the hospital were he was treated for neck and wrist injuries. His car was totaled in this accident which occurred on the southwest side of Houston, TX
WASHINGTON - Barack Obama turned in earnest to the general election and the hunt for a running mate Wednesday, embraced by Democratic leaders who signaled forcefully and sometimes impatiently to Hillary Rodham Clinton that her marathon duel with Obama was over. Clinton kept her silence in public, while supporters made a case for her as Obama's No. 2.
Obama himself moved to link himself more closely with a young Democratic hero of a half-century ago, picking President Kennedy's daughter Caroline to help him choose a vice president.
While Clinton still wasn't conceding, even after Tuesday's primaries and a flood of "superdelegate" endorsements of Obama sealed the nomination, there were signs aplenty that she was closing shop. She began bidding campaign staff members farewell, and a number were told not to come to work after Friday. Last paychecks were expected to go out June 15.
The primary rivals ran into each other backstage at a hall where both spoke to Jewish leaders, but Obama said there was no mention of how or when she would formally end her long campaign to become the nation's first female president.
Obama showed no impatience, merely smiling and accepting congratulations from colleagues in both parties as he returned to the Capitol for a Senate vote. But other Democrats urged her to get out of the way.
"I don't see why we don't get on with it and endorse" Obama, said Rep. Charles Rangel, a congressman from Clinton's home state of New York. He said it was only a matter of time before he and other Clinton supporters formally back Obama.
Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin, an Obama supporter, said Clinton's non-concession "creates a pretty delicate situation here, an awkward situation."
"I don't want to push her. Nobody is going to push her," Durbin said on MSNBC. "But the sooner she does, I think the more likely we're going to be organized and ready to win in November."
Obama began focusing on who will join his ticket in the fall. His campaign said the vetting of potential running mates was to be managed by a three-person team of Caroline Kennedy, former Deputy Attorney General Eric Holder and longtime Washington insider Jim Johnson.
Clinton has told lawmakers privately that she would be interested in the vice presidential nomination. Obama was noncommittal after his chat with her behind the scenes at the American Israel Public Affairs Committee.
"We're going to be having a conversation in coming weeks, and I'm very confident how unified the Democratic Party's going to be to win in November," he told reporters after a vote in the Senate where he received congratulations from all sides.
Meanwhile, the dam holding back endorsements broke from coast to coast on the day after the primary elections concluded.
Seven senators who had stayed out of the matter said they were giving Obama their commitment and would work toward uniting Democrats for the election, now exactly five months away.
In Nashville, Tennessee Gov. Phil Bredesen was joined by two other superdelegates to say they hoped to bring the party behind Obama even though Clinton won their state. Former Vice President Walter Mondale, who had been a Clinton supporter, announced he was backing Obama.
It hardly mattered in terms of delegate math after months of struggle, Obama had more than enough to prevail at the party convention in Denver in August. But Obama's new backers were also sending a message to Clinton that her race was over.
Bob Johnson, the founder of Black Entertainment Television, was lobbying members of the Congressional Black Caucus to urge Obama to place Clinton on the ticket. He said he was doing so with her blessing.
Rangel, a founding member of the caucus, expressed doubts that Johnson's approach would work. "I don't really think that the way to get Obama to (choose) Clinton would be to put pressure on him. I think it would have the opposite effect," Rangel said.
The Obama camp's disclosure about the three-person veep vetting team was an effort to change the subject from the long, divisive primary campaign toward the general election.
Kennedy's name came as a surprise, although she endorsed Obama at a critical time last winter, saying he could be an inspirational leader like her father. She also campaigned for Obama.
Holder is a former federal prosecutor and District of Columbia Superior Court judge who held the No. 2 job at the Justice Department under President Clinton.
Johnson is widely known among Democrats for having helped previous candidates, including John Kerry four years ago, sift through vice presidential possibilities. He is a former chief executive officer for the mortgage lender Fannie Mae.
Clinton visited her campaign headquarters in suburban Arlington, Va., where she thanked staff members for their work. Aides said she was also phoning superdelegates and supporters, and planned to host an 89th birthday celebration at her Washington home for her mother, Dorothy Rodham.
Several high-dollar fundraisers who had spoken to the former first lady described her as upbeat and realistic about what she faced.
"She's very resolved, but open minded about whatever's coming. She's going forward with an optimistic eye," said Susie Tompkins Buell, a San Francisco-based fundraiser who flew from New York to Washington early Wednesday morning.
Some lawmakers showed deference to Clinton, an indication of the political and fundraising power that she and her husband still wield.
House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer of Maryland, an uncommitted superdelegate, said he will be supporting Obama but declined to make a formal endorsement. "I expect Mrs. Clinton to say some things over the next couple of days and I think that's appropriate for her to do. And I expect her to say that, at which time I may make a more formal" announcement, Hoyer said.
Zip FM sizzling hot ZJ Elektra was relentless last Saturday night at Hillview Anvenue, as she played an electrifying set that ignited the patrons at Chi Ching Ching Splash.
The sole female selector for the night, Elektra, took the stage after veteran selector Sky Juice, who seemed intimidated by her presence: A three more tune mi have left fi play but me a go play more tune cause mi nah mek nuh female DJ come done di dance, a usually good-humoured Sky Juice argued.
Despite the aggressive comments, that did not go down well with some of the patrons, ZJ Elektra still managed to create a storm. Torrential mixes rained from the turntables and the patrons stuck to her side as she electrify their dancing nerves.
She had some of the female patrons li, li, li, licking to Lil Wayne's smashing single Lollipop, while the men were flossing to 50 Cents I Get Money.
Before premiering Chi Ching Chings new tune featuring Flippa Mafia and female singer Bay C, she had the entire crowd shouting to Konshens hit single Winner (This Year Mi Haffi Be Di Winner).
Several of dancehalls hottest stars came out to support Chi Chi Ching including Junior Reid and the One *lo** Family, Blonde Ras aka Harry Toddler, Voicemail, Natural Black, Bescenta, Kiva the Diva, and videographer extraordinaire Jay WillYea, mi ready fi talk di tings dem, yu nuh hear the new dubplate by Natalie Storm, we nuh par wid DAT SITE, one876 ah the site of the year. But mi nuh understand how nobody nuh big me up inna dubplate? Weh dem feel like? Big up same way. Some people ah talk say mi hype and nuh have no money, but dem need fi know say mi comfortable. Mi no live inna tenement yard and ah hear mi neighbour ah scream dont stop, dont tek it out inna the early morning. Yea, ah dat mi say. Enough about me, ah time fi the people dem article. Yea, BUSS DEM BUSINESS!
WHO HAVE THE HYPEST VEHICLE INNA THE BIZ
Who have the hypest vehicle? Some people ah say ah Killa wid the white Range Over (because is the Range over all others) or Mavado with the black one. But to me, right now ah Junior Reid ah lead with the BMW 645 that cost US$75,000 inna the US, but people ah say ah over 14 million when yu add in the duties and the shipping and insurance and everything. And Flippa Maffia de second wid the Porsche Truck that him buss P Splash wid earlier this year. Mi hear say Beenie want to buy a new vehicle but the tax cloud just force him fi gwaan sim simmer inna the Kingfish.Lena British have a green Range Rover, Anthony B have the silver Range, Marshall have an X5, Kartel have a Lexxus jeep, Lady Saw have the X3, and mi hear say Shaggy have some mad vehicle ah foreign. If me miss none, just email and blog it and mek me know.
NIKKI Z GOES TO VISIT HER MOM
I would like to extend a special shout out to Nikki Z who I know is going through some personal struggles right now. She left Jamaica this week for the United States to spend time with her mother who is recovering from cancer-related treatment. Our prayers go with her at this time.
RDX SHOOTS DANCERS ANTHEM
Dancehall's hottest duo RDX and their team set out to shoot the video for their super hot single 'Dancers Anthem' in Pembrook Hall. The video was directed by Rick Elgood. Over forty (40) Dancers and Dance Groups turn out to support the duo, namely:- RDX Prodigy dancer 'BERMUDA KID', Kadillac Dancers, Black Blingas, Timeless, Docta Bird, Dance Xpression and Ms Right who played the role of a school teacher. There was also a special cameo appearance by top Dancehall Group T.O.K. who appeared on set well attired in their 'T.O.K. High' school uniforms.
BOOTCAMP DROPS WONDERLAND RIDDIM FEAT. LADY PATRA
Computer Paul has just released the tracks from his new Wonderland rhythm with songs like Lady Patras First Night, MBCs One More Try, Red Roses Cities Dont Sleep, DYCRS Love is the Answer featuring Singing Melody and Icemans I Want Her Back.
RICH AND HAPPY WE SAY
What a way Bounty Killer just look happy from wah day ya? The man ting sort out, everywhere yu see him, ah just pure teeth, when dem say RICH and HAPPY, dem fi just have a big picture of Bounty Killer fi show the world. Talking about Rich N Happy, DJ Flames have an event that ah kick off this Saturday at the Destiny Mall named (what else) Rich and Happy Satdaze, check it out. Next week ah Night of the Applebottoms.
LIL LION FOR SUZIE Q THIS SATURDAY
Look out for Lil Lion on Suzie Qs Reggae Trail Big Up video segment this Saturday on TVJ and in New York at 11 p.m. on CIN, channel 73. And on Sunday, it will be repeated in the afternoon at about 1 p.m..
BIG UPS
Big up to Patriot who scored his first chart hit with Looking For Love that debuted at #18 on the Jamaica Music Countdown charts this week. It also de #7 on Stampede Street Vibes chart.
Math scores in further decline |
Wednesday, June 04, 2008 |
THE already dismal pass rates in mathematics at both the primary and secondary school levels are in further decline, officials involved in the education transformation process revealed on Monday.
Only one in nine students in the grade 11 cohort were successful in mathematics in last year's school-leaving Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) exams, while the average score in the Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT) is under 50 per cent and falling, the officials said.
The acute shortage of specialist math teachers at all levels of the system is partly to blame, educators gathered at a national math workshop learned.
"Less than 12 per cent of the (grade 11) age cohort is attaining passing grades of one to three. This is poor, this is unacceptable", said Frank Weeple, executive director of the Education Transformation Team. He was speaking at the conference entitled 'Numeracy Counts' at the Hilton Kingston Hotel.
National mathematics co-ordinator, Tamika Benjamin said the national average in GSAT mathematics fell from 53 per cent in 2006 to 46 per cent in2007. She said 49 of the more than 800 primary schools averaged below 30 per cent, while only 135 averaged above 50 per cent. Benjamin said only 14 per cent of the age cohort achieved passing grades in CSEC math last year.
Reasons given for the poor performance included large class sizes, overcrowded classrooms, a shortage of trained math teachers, inefficient teaching methods and inadequate resource materials.
The national math strategy has set a number of targets including increasing the GSAT average by 10 per cent over two years; increasing the CSEC pass rate to at least 45 per cent; and increasing the number of students sitting CSEC maths by at least 2,000 candidates in two years.
The strategy will involve the clustering of schools in groups of three to seven to create learning communities, professional development workshops, cluster- based specialist math teachers, school-based math specialists for schools in critical need, fortnightly workshops for teachers, and math camps for students during summer.
Weeple underscored the importance of mathematics to national and personal development.
"Economic data shows strong correlation between countries that demonstrate fast economic growth and their mathematical performance...Research shows persons without math skills are less likely to be employed or promoted, or to receive further training," he noted.
The poor performance in math at the secondary level is having an effect on the quality of students being trained as math teachers, Weeple said. "We must focus on the issues of recruitment, retention and remuneration of teachers," he said.
A leading human rights organisation and a church supporting the rights of gays and lesbians in Canada have issued a May 12 ultimatum on the Jamaican Government with regard to protecting the human rights of these individuals.
If the ultimatum is not met, the groups promise to make a public announcement on May 17, the International Day Against Homophobia, calling for, among other things, a Canadian tourism boycott on Jamaica and a boycott of goods and services from here.
In an open letter to Anne-Marie Bonner, Jamaica's consul general in Toronto, spokespersons for the organisation Egale Canada and a senior pastor from the Metropolitan Community Church (MCC) of Toronto, listed their concerns. The representatives - Helen Kennedy and Akim Ade Larcher of Egale Canada and the Reverend Brent Hawkes of MCC Toronto, also met with the consul general last week.
They want the Government of Jamaica to produce public service announcements denouncing homophobic/transphobic violence. They are also calling for a national homophobia/transphobia education cam-paign, and the repeal of the buggery laws and other legislation that further stigmatise, discriminate and criminalise consensual same-sex acts.
The groups further state that they also want to see a public education campaign aimed at sensitising members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force to deal with the victims of violence around lesbian, gay, bisexual, and trans-identified people and their families across Jamaica. They are also calling for government policy to protect human rights and the inclusion of sexual orientation as a ground for non-discrimination in the Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Additionally, they want to see a focus at the Canada-CARICOM 2008 Summit to include human rights for lesbian, gay, bi-sexual, and trans-identified people.
The groups are planning to make an international call for the lesbian, gay, bi-sexual and transsexual community to support the boycott and the suspension of Jamaica from the Commonwealth for human rights abuses.
Their demands follow a recent public panel discussion in Toronto which focused on homophobia in the Caribbean, especially acts of violence against homosexuals in Jamaica.
When contacted, Bonner's response was: "I have communicated the information to headquarters (the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade) and I'm awaiting a response."
Meanwhile, one individual who has been involved with Jamaica AIDS Support for Life and the Jamaica Forum for Lesbians, All-Sexuals and Gays since 1998 and is now in Canada seeking asylum along with his partner, said: "It's not just that we're singling out Jamaica, and it will only be about Jamaica, but as soon as the issues in Jamaica have been addressed, then we'll move on to another country. We're not only looking at Jamaica but also the region, the 11 other countries that have the sodomy laws on their books."
Nonetheless, he described Jamaica as the most homophobic of all the Caribbean countries.
A prominent high school in St Thomas was the scene of high drama yesterday as a female student allegedly 'got into the spirit' because demons were said to be at the institution.
One community member said that, "The girl get inna spirit over deh (the school), cuz dem a dig up the land and dem mussi touch a grave and the duppy get loose inna the school, so she had to counter the duppy spirit as she a Christian".
The STAR understands that about 10 a.m., a grade-nine female student started speaking in tongues as a spirit (ghost) had entered the school compound.
Demon possessed?Students say it was a frantic moment, as they were not sure whether it was demons that had possessed the girl or if she was getting mad. Some other students, however, found it to be rather amusing.
When THE STAR visited the institution, many students were seen going home, however, it could not be ascertained whether they were on the morning shift or whether they were going home because of the excitement that had occurred.
The school's principal confirmed the incident saying, "I am not sure what took place here this morning because I was not in the classroom. The only thing I know is that everyone had a different version of what happened. I called my teachers into a meeting and discussed how we should approach the issue and we decided the best way is to make everyone have their say as there is no truth or fact to the existence of demons."
*lo** ritualThe principal also told THE STAR that people are concluding that the student 'got into spirit' as the school is currently undergoing some building construction which would require a '*lo** shedding process' of an animal being killed so as to satisfy the demons.
The principal confirmed that he had heard that *lo** should be shed when a construction is taking place, but he does not know whether that has caused the student to react the way she did. He said he had not met with the student as yet but there are people who are saying she may need counselling or prayer. He said the school will be willing to help in this regard.Gargamel Music will be dropping their newest compilation titled Jamrock Classics Vol. 1 in North America today, June 3. The compilation will be available in stores and online in the US and Canada.
Produced by Banton at his Gargamel Music studio in Kingston, Jamrock Classics Vol. 1, features stellar guest turns from the legendary Pinchers, George Nooks, Terror Fabulous, Ghost, Jah Cure, Yami Bolo, Tony Curtis and Lutan Fyah. Buju has two tracks on the compilation on with Gargamel artiste New Kidz on the deadly c****o "Curfew" and the other with the timely anti-gun tune "Cowboys,"