The Police Public Complaints Authority (PPCA) is reviewing a case involving a female corporal of police who owes her landlord more than $1 million in rent and, despite an order from the Sutton Street Civil Court, has refused to make payments.
The corporal, who reportedly has more than 35 years of service in the force, rented the four-bedroom house, located in Pembroke Hall, in December 2002. According to Carmen Tomlinson, whose sister owns the house, and who has power of attorney, the policewoman stopped paying rent in October 2003.
The monthly rent of $22,000 therefore accumulated to an outstanding figure of $1,172,863. This is the amount owed for the period November 2003 to October 2007. The corporal was evicted in January 2008.
Tomlinson, who took several documents to support her claims, also told THE STAR that the corporal failed to pay the utility bills and allowed electricity and water supply to be disconnected. She added that although several summonses had been prepared, she only made two appearances in the Sutton Street Civil Court.
Tomlinson told THE STAR, "We got a lawyer and we couldn't find her to serve the summons. Nobody knows where she is living and no one has a contact number for her."
She said the place was left in a deplorable state, and added that the policewoman was still in possession of the keys. She said several attempts made to locate her and retrieve the keys were unsuccessful. She added, "She chain up di gate, so everytime we want to go into di yard. we have to jump the fence. We wanted to get in after the hurricane to see the damage and we couldn't."
The family is frustrated and Tomlinson explained to THE STAR that her sister, who lives overseas, has several outstanding medical bills which she is unable to pay because of the loss of this revenue. She said, " She's not making any efforts to make the payments and when we could get her on the phone, she kept telling us that she was coming with the keys. We want to know how she plans to pay this money. Right now the house is up for sale, because my sister doesn't want to rent it anymore and we don't know what to do."
The matter was brought to the attention of the Police Complaints Division (PCD), which carried out its investigations and referred the file to the PPCA. A representative from the PPCA told THE STAR that the file was at present being reviewed, to see what suggestions or recommendations had been made by the PCD.
He said the review was being conducted to determine if the PPCA was in agreement with the suggestions made by the PCD, before the file was returned to them for action to be taken. He, however, could not say what action had been suggested.
Obesity high among young children
published: Monday | July 7, 2008
Tendai Franklyn-Brown, Staff Reporter
Soares-Wynter
Nearly one-fifth of Jamaican children, aged three and four years old, are clinically obese, an unpublished study has revealed.
The study, conducted in 2007 by the University of the West Indies UWI, revealed that 17 per cent of the children in that age range are overweight.
Dr Leslie Gabay, head of obstetrics, gynaecology and child health at the University of the West Indies (UWI), told The Gleaner that obesity was likely to follow children into adulthood. The incidence of obesity in Jamaican women is twice that of men.
He appealed to educational institutions to develop healthy meal plans for students at lunchtime to curb the spiralling rate of obesity in the country.
Global epidemic
Jamaica struggled with malnutrition as recently as 15 years ago, but has now become part of a global epidemic of obesity.
Gabay explained that excessive portions and an imbalance of fat, protein and carbohydrates were major contributors to obesity here.
He also highlighted the importance of sustained exercise, as many children were now spending much of their time in sedentary activities, such as watching TV and playing video games.
"The other part is that PE (physical education) and extra-curricular activities, for most of the children at school is almost non-existent. That creates a situation where, in fact, energy expenditure is less than (food) intake and these children are at risk of obesity," Gabay stated.
Stunted growth and early puberty, in addition to health-related problems such as cardiovascular disease and hypertension, are some disorders expected. Gabay said more children are showing signs of Type Two diabetes, commonly found in adults.
The Tropical Medicine Research Institute (TMRI) at the UWI, Mona, has been conducting research on obese children by identifying diet plans, consumption patterns and lifestyle behaviours.
Suzanne Soares-Wynter is leading the research at TMRI, which aims to devise preventative measures for obesity and intervention at an early age. She stressed that such measures would have to be culturally appropriate.
Alternative ways
"Obesity interventions used in schools in the United States, such as swimming, would not necessarily work in our school settings. We don't have a lot of gyms and they are expensive, so we need to find alternative ways," Soares-Wynter explained.
She suggested, instead, that specific areas of playing fields at schools and in communities be designated for children to go jogging or walking to encourage physical activity.
Gabay told The Gleaner that many of the convenience meals, such as sodas, patties, snacks and fried food, sold at schools are high in fat content and calories.
"In those situations, the children are getting exposed to foods which have high-calorie density and high volumes. The other problem is that they are not getting a good balance in their nutrition," Gabay said.
A SUICIDE car b**** exploded outside the Indian Embassy in central Kabul today, killing 40 people and wounding 141 in the deadliest attack of the year in the Afghanistan capital.
The massive b**** exploded near a row of metal turnstiles outside the embassy, where dozens of Afghan men line up every morning to apply for visas.
The embassy is located on a busy, tree-lined street near Afghanistans Interior Ministry in the city centre.
Several nearby shops were damaged or destroyed in the blast, and smouldering ruins and wounded Afghans covered the street. The explosion rattled much of the Afghan capital.
Pain ... injured child calls out
"Several shopkeepers have died. I have seen shopkeepers under the rubble, said Ghulam Dastagir, a shopkeeper wounded in the blast.
Abdullah Fahim, the spokesman for the Ministry of Public Health, said the explosion killed at least 28 people and wounded 141. The ministry collected information from the scene and several Kabul hospitals.
The explosion was the deadliest attack in Kabul this year and the worst since a suicide b****er attacked an army bus last September killing 30 people.
Afghanistans Foreign Minister Rangeen Dadfar Spanta visited the embassy shortly after the attack, ministry spokesman Sultan Ahmed Baheen said.
India and Afghanistan have a deep relationship between each other. Such attacks of the enemy will not harm our relations, Spanta told the embassy staff, according to Baheen.
The Indian ambassador and his deputy were not inside the embassy at the time of the blast, Baheen said.
Militants have frequently attacked Indian offices and projects around Afghanistan since launching an insurgency after the ouster of the Taliban at the end of the 2001.
Many Taliban militants have roots in Pakistan, which has long had a troubled relationship with India.
NEW YORK - Weeks after giving birth to daughter Maddie Briann, Jamie Lynn Spears is showing off the newborn, sharing memories of a "perfect" delivery and longing to be a Southern soccer mom.
Spears and fiance Casey Aldridge welcomed Maddie at a hospital in McC****, Miss., on June 19. The younger sister of Britney Spears poses with her on the cover of OK! magazine as expected, given the fact that Spears announced her pregnancy through an article in OK! and reportedly was to receive a large payday for exclusive pictures of the baby.
The photos were taken at the pair's Mississippi home. The magazine does not comment on the terms of its deals with celebrities.
In an interview with OK!, the 17-year-old Jamie Lynn said she had been nervous about giving birth "but it all fell into place. I was right on schedule. I had a perfect pregnancy and a perfect delivery. I was very blessed."
Jamie Lynn said watching Aldridge, a pipe-layer from Liberty, Miss., hold Maddie for the first time "was the coolest thing. ... He was so happy, and that made me the happiest person alive."
Jamie Lynn's immediate family including big sister Britney were there for the birth, though Aldridge was the only one allowed in the delivery room.
"It was such a big day," she said. "And being able to have your sister there, your whole family there, meant a lot. Everybody flew in to celebrate."
Lynne Spears, already grandmother to Britney's young sons, told the magazine: "You never remember how little they are, and then you hold them. I purred like a kitten, and I remember saying, `Jamie Lynn, she's so beautiful.'"
Jamie Lynn thinks Maddie takes after daddy.
"As much as I'd like her to look like me I just carried her for nine months she looks like Casey! He reminds me of it every day," she said.
Jamie Lynn said Maddie sleeps in a bassinet by the couple's bed because she's "not ready to put her (in the nursery) all the way across the house."
She said Lynne Spears is a hands-on grandma.
"Mama has been here a bunch," she said. "She wants to see the baby all the time. She told me the doctors are always going to be real strict and tell you, `Don't do this and don't do that.' Just follow your instincts. You're the mother and you know what your baby needs. That's what I've done and it seems to have worked."
Jamie Lynn, who recently starred on the Nickelodeon sitcom "Zoey 101," said she plans to raise Maddie down South where "the focus is family."
"I would love being the soccer mom," she said. "They don't have soccer down here, but I would love being the softball mom driving the kids around."
___
Rice was speaking at a news conference in the Georgian capital of Tblisi after Iran test-fired a long-range missile. According to Iranian state media, Iran conducted more test-firings Thursday.
Rice said the United States has been working with allies to "make certain that they are capable of defending themselves" against any threat from Iran.
"We take very strongly our obligation to help our allies defend themselves and no one should be confused about that," she said.Damion McIntosh, a Jamaican recipient of the prestigious Fulbright Graduate Student Scholarship in 2006, has been selected by the Southern Illinois University Carbondale (SIUC) as the Most Outstanding MBA student for the academic year 2007/2008. He was selected from a field of hundreds of distinguished scholars enrolled at the SIUC's School of Business.
Damion, in his thanks to the US Embassy for selecting him for the Fulbright Scholarship, said that studying at SICU is an "amazing opportunity" and an "enriching experience".
Damion has been accepted into SICU's Ph.D. Business Program where he will specialize in Finance. As a reward for completing his MBA in one year instead of the usual two his Ph.D. tuition will be waived. He will also receive a grant renewable for up to three years.
Damion who expects to complete his doctorate in 2010, plans to return to his position at Bank of Jamaica as Assistant Director in the financial institutions supervisory division.
An argument between a Russian couple may have gotten out of hand.
A woman in St. Petersburg was reportedly angry with her husband for being drunk and refusing to get up off the couch, a hide-a-way that folds up into the wall.
In concluding the run-in, she is said to have kicked the handle that flips up the couch-bed, and her husband went with it.
She left the room, returning three hours later to check on her mate - who she thought was unusually quiet.
Rescue service workers say the man got caught between the mattress and the back of the couch, killing him instantly.
St. Petersburg media reported the incident Wednesday, saying police refused to comment.A taxi operator from Clarendon is facing rape-related charges after he and another man allegedly abducted and raped a teenage girl in the parish on Tuesday.
The man's identification is being withheld pending further investigations.
Police reports are that about 8:00 p.m., the complainant was in May Pen and boarded a taxi which was destined for Chapelton in the parish.
While travelling, the teenager reportedly fell asleep and passed her destination.
Further reports are that upon awaking the teenager asked the taxi man to take her to her destination.
At that point, the driver was also accompanied by another male passenger.
The driver then, allegedly, disregarded the girl's wishes and took her to a house in Crofts Hill where they reportedly sexually assaulted the girl.
After the ordeal, the girl was then taken to a main road in the parish where she was left.
The teenager, however, alerted a family member who then summoned the police who intercepted the taxi.The driver was arrested but the other man reportedly managed to escape.
Dancehall Queen Carlene asks "What would you do if you found a used condom in my bag?" Beenie Man replies "Me woulda kill yu!" This is after returning from a three-day trip to New York when she finds a used condom in his luggage.
When Milton Wray, author of the book Who Am I? The Untold Story of Beenie Man ended his reading of a passage from the ace deejay's biography with that exchange from dancehall's once hottest couple, there was a collective laugh at the Devonshire, Devon House, Hope Road, St Andrew last night.
And the first passage he read had ended on a similarly, sexually tense note, as after detailing Moses Dean Anthony Davis' birth and the joy of his parents, Wray read that that joy soon turned to suspicion after people questioned "whether Lloyd was truly the biological father of the child".
Who Am I, dubbed the first dancehall biography, was launched to a full house, music being as much a part of the evening as literature. Beenie Man walked the red carpet into the Devonshire to King of the Dancehall and ended the official launch, hosted by Empress, with a freestyle jam encouraging all to "buy de book".
In between, guest speaker Professor Carolyn Cooper said "Milton's style is gripping. Him catch you and him not letting you go 'til you finish the book" and complimented publisher Michael Grant of Great House Omni Media on having the foresight "to see that Milton's book is guaranteed to be an international bestseller".
And Grant said Who Am I? The Untold Story of Beenie Man, "has created a touchstone, something people are going to refer to for a long time".
Writer Joan Andrea Hutchinson did the bulk of the reading from Who Am I? last night. That excerpt recreated the initial meeting between Beenie Man, Little Kirk, then five and eight years old, respectively, and Patrick Roberts, after the two had done very well on a concert. When Beenie Man checked the money Roberts had given them so they could take a bus to Craig Town to deejay on Staxx sound system: "Beenie Man quickly counted the cash. It was six dollars".
Beenie Man indicated the root of the openness shown by the Carlene and the used condom saga, saying that when he sat down with Wray to do the initial interviews for his biography, Wray said "de greates' ting is to interview people who know yu personally. Turn him over to Carlene. When she mad, she no hide nutten, 'bout me condom an' one bag a tings.
"It is good to have a book written about you when you is not a dead man," Beenie Man said, to applause.
Manchester's flagship youth football tournament, the Porus Under-15 Championships, sponsored by Western Union, will kick-off this Sunday at the Porus Community Centre.
Action kicks off at 2 p.m. with the Group A clash between Rising Stars and Christiana Strikers.
The feature game is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. when defending champions Tuff Gong tackle newcomer Los Perfectos. Consistent with previous years, an all-female team is included and Los Perfectos will fill that category this year.
Other participating teams are Broadleaf, Connection, Settlement, Harmons (Zone A), Berrydale, Studds, Russia, Young Diamonds and Genius (Zone B).
- RB
A Portmore senior citizen, who allegedly dressed as a woman in an attempt to attack another elderly man recently, found himself in trouble with the law.
On June 27, Glenmore 'Gabba' Johnson, 65, of Garveymeade, Portmore, St Catherine, reportedly uttered a serious threat to a man with whom he had an argument.
The police report that Johnson had an argument with one of his friends. During the argument, Johnson allegedly threatened the man and left. He reportedly returned later dressed as a woman in a black spandex dress, a multicoloured wig and a walking stick.
The police reported that Johnson told the man in their presence, "a must kill him today, a must kill him, him nah get weh." Johnson was subsequently charged.
When the case appeared in the Spanish Town Resident Magis-trate's court on Tuesday, the senior citizen did not answer to his name. The police, however, promised to locate him.Sweet $2.7b sugar payout Sugar workers to get redundancy package by Sept |
PATRICK FOSTER, Observer writer fosterp@jamaicaobserver.com Thursday, July 10, 2008 |
A $2.7-billion redundancy package will be made to sugar workers by September 30 this year, upon divestment of the Government-owned sugar estates, Prime Minister Bruce Golding disclosed yesterday.
Golding, addressing his first annual general meeting of the Jamaica Agricultural Society (JAS) as prime minister, at the Denbigh show ground in Clarendon, assured the
farmers grouping:
"At the end of September, we will be in a position to make redundancy payments to sugar workers. It will cost in excess of $2.7 billion."
He said that two-thirds of the redundancy package was being funded by the European Union and the other third by the Jamaican Government.
The Brazilian-owned Infinity Bio Energy Limited will take over five state-owned sugar estates - Bernard Lodge, Frome, Hampden, Monymusk and St Thomas (Duckenfield) - on September 30.
Yesterday, Golding told the farmers that he could not say how many workers would be rehired by the new company after the redundancy, but said that provisions were being made to assist displaced workers in starting new business ventures.
"It's not that we are going to hand you the redundancy money and walk off," Golding said, adding that funds allocated through the Development Bank of Jamaica (DBJ) would be on-lent by
PC banks and credit unions for the displaced workers.
"We have put in place an alternative option for persons who may not want to be re-employed or are not re-employed by the new company," Golding said.
He advised that sugar workers could present their redundancy cheques to the specified financial institutions and make applications for assistance through the programme.
"Just show your redundancy cheque and a viable project and you will be able to get a loan to start a new business venture," said Golding. He, however, cautioned that trading would not be accommodated in the projects for funding.
"We are not into buying and selling," the prime minister declared. "It has to be either producing goods or a service."
Under the terms of the sugar industry divestment, sugar factories would be sold to the Brazilian company, but sugar-producing lands were being leased, the prime minister said, noting that the Jamaican Government would retain 25 per cent equity in the venture.
Wireless giant Rogers Communications Inc. continues to be buffeted by rumours as it prepares the Canadian launch of Apple Inc.'s much-ballyhooed iPhone on Friday.
With criticism of its iPhone rate plans simmering for over a week in some quarters of the Internet, a high-profile website that focuses on Apple gossip took things a step further yesterday when it claimed Apple was "disgusted" with Rogers' approach and is responding by shelving plans to sell the iPhone in its Canadian Apple stores.
But it's not clear whether Apple actually planned to sell the iPhone in its Canadian stores in the first place.
Unlike the United States, the iPhone is not available in Canada without a contract through Rogers or its Fido subsidiary.
"Apple stores don't have our activation systems and it needs to be purchased with a plan," said Rogers spokesperson Liz Hamilton.
She added that Rogers would announce retail availability today that would be "unchanged from our original distribution plans."
A representative for Apple in Canada declined to comment about claims the two companies were at odds over the iPhone's Canadian pricing. Apple's Canadian website indicated yesterday customers will only be able to buy the iPhone at Rogers or Fido stores.
Earlier this month, Rogers unveiled iPhone rate plans that began at $60, plus fees and taxes, for 150 minutes of weekday talk time and 400 megabytes of data.
While that's cheaper than existing Rogers plans for competing devices such as Research In Motion's BlackBerry lineup, it's not as generous as the plans offered in the U.S. by AT&T Inc.
Some prospective iPhone buyers have voiced their displeasure on a Web-based petition that, as of yesterday, claimed more than 50,000 signatures, although its impossible to know whether they are all from Canadians.
Industry insiders say Rogers may have misjudged the public's mood, but the dust-up is unlikely to have much impact on iPhone sales.
One of the difficulties when it comes to evaluating the value of the Rogers plans is the lack of a clear standard when it comes to determining how much data the average iPhone user is likely to burn through.
The iPhone's focus on mobile Web browsing and multimedia make it more data hungry than most cellphones, but even the entry-level 200 megabyte plan would allow subscribers to view between 1,400 and 3,400 Web pages a month.
John Henderson, an analyst at Scotia Capital, said in a recent research note that most iPhone users won't come close to exceeding their data-usage cap.
Andrew Bradford, the 19-year-old charged with the murders of three women, will return to court on July 30 as the case against him continues in the Mandeville Resident Magistrate's Court.Bradford, 19, of Great Ground in Manchester, is accused of stabbing his victims and slitting their throats after allegedly raping them and then having sex with their bodies.
The women's murders took place during a 20-month period. All the bodies had multiple stab wounds and their throats were slit.
Yesterday, scores of curious onlookers gathered at the Mandeville RM Court to catch a glimpse of the alleged teenage serial killer.
When Bradford appeared before RM Frank Williams, he was remanded until July 30.
Bradford allegedly murdered 30-year-old Bridgette Bryan of Three Chains District whose body was found in bushes with multiple stab wounds on December 15, 2006. In October 2007, the body of 60-year-old Vera Bradford (the accused cousin) was found in bushes. And earlier this year, 41-year-old Patricia Clayton, also of the same address was also found dead in a similar fashion.Parents of secondary-school children are this year forced to dig deeper to pay auxiliary fees, with at least one school charging $15,500.
When the Government last year abolished tuition fees in secondary schools, many parents expected a reprieve from exorbitant rates.
But, Nadine Molloy, president of the Jamaica Association of Principals of Secondary Schools, says increased operational expenses have made fee hikes inevitable.
"I am not aware that there is any hike. We are facing increasing operation costs, based on an increase in inflation," Molloy told The Gleaner Tuesday.
Auxiliary fees, which generally cover developmental, Parent-Teacher Association, insurance and laboratory fees, range between $2,000 and $20,000. These fees are not mandatory, but schools usually request that parents pay them at the beginning of each school year.
Inadequate funding
Molloy argued that government funding for the education sector was inadequate, adding that schools make up the shortfall by using the auxiliary fees.
"We are trying to meet the needs of our students. If you don't spend, you don't earn," Molloy said.
Meanwhile, Dr Walton Small, principal of Wolmer's School for Boys, says while his school was charging $13,000 for development fees and $2,500 for PTA fees, it was done in consultation with parents and members of the board.
No penalties
He said some parents were even willing to pay more than the specified amount.
Small said students, who cannot afford to pay, will not be penalised.
"They are not mandatory. The Ministry of Education has mandated that parents, who cannot afford to pay, their children should not be turned away," the principal said on Tuesday.
Lee lands gold Blake finishes 4th in Men's 100m final |
PAUL A REID, Observer Writer reidp@jamaicaobserver.com Thursday 10, 2008 |
BYDGOSZCZ, Poland - Men's 100-metre champion, Dexter Lee, celebrates with the Jamaican flag on the second day of the IAAF World Junior Championships at the Zawisza Stadium yesterday. Lee clocked 10.40 seconds for victory. (Photo: Paul Reid) |
BYDGOSZCZ, Poland - World Youth 100m champion, Dexter Lee, created an upset yesterday when he sped to victory in the Men's 100 metres here at the Zawisza Stadium on the second day of the IAAF World Junior Championships.
The strapping 17-year-old, who qualified for the semi-finals via the best losers' route and was second in the second-round race, got off to a brilliant start and left the quality field for dead as he crossed the line in 10.40 seconds, on a cool evening as the entire Jamaican delegation cheered him on.
Lee became only the third male athlete to win both the Youth and Junior titles in consecutive years, joining Great Britain's Mark Lewis Francis in 1999/2000 and Trinidad & Tobago's Darrell Brown in 2001/2002.
Lee, who is eligible to defend his title in Moncton, Canada in 2010, is also the first Jamaican male to win the World Juniors 100m title, following bronze medals by Dwight Thomas in Annecy, France, in 1998, Remaldo Rose in Grosseto, Italy, in 2004, and Yohan Blake in Beijing, China, in 2006.
BYDGOSZCZ, Poland - Jamaican quarter-miler Latoya McDermott looks back at the stadium clock after being eliminated in the semi-finals of the 400m event at the Zawisza Stadium yesterday. (Photo: Paul Reid) |
South Africa's Wilhem Van der Vyver was second in 10.42secs and American Terrell Wilks third in 10.45. Lee's teammate and bronze medallist in 2006, Yohan Blake, was a disappointing fourth in 10.51.
Blake, who sat out three months due to injury, set himself up as a favourite for a medal after an easy semi-final victory the previous day.
Lee was the man of the moment, however, and lifted a slight gloom that had settled over the Jamaican team after long jumper Tarik Batchelor failed to make the last eight of his event, and quarter-miler Latoya McDermott dropped out in the semi-finals of the 400m earlier.
After two less than perfect starts in the previous two rounds, Lee got the start he needed and by the 30-metre mark had edged to the front and would not be denied as he outleaned the South African at the tape.
Not a man of many words, Lee told reporters after the race he knew he would win.
"I just came out here to do my best and it paid off," the Herbert Morrison High student said. "I was relaxed as I knew I could win all the time."
He said while 10.40 seconds was not fast, he was happy with the time as "conditions were not favourable, but you can't think about that when you are at the starting line."
He admitted he was "a bit anxious" at the start, but once the gun went off he was in control.
Claude Grant, Lee's high school coach and a member of the coaching team here, described the victory as a "job accomplished".
Grant said that "in terms of execution, we worked on the first 40 metres. I told him no one has ever beaten him over the first 40 and just to go there and keep the body moving and the race is his to win".
While saying he was pleased with Lee's win, head coach Danny Hawthorne said he had expected both Jamaicans to finish with a medal.
Blake blamed a bad start but extended congratulations to Lee. "I am proud of Dexter. I got a medal in my first year as well, really proud of him, trust me."
Earlier in the day, Jamaica's two intermediate hurdlers, Nikita Tracey and Shana-Gay Tracey, both advanced to today's semi-finals as automatic qualifiers.
Nikita Tracey of Edwin Allen High ran the fastest time of the morning, pushed in lane eight to a personal best 57.58 seconds by Trinidadian, Janeil Bellille (58.40) in the fastest heat of the day, which provided six qualifiers.
Tracey was happy with her race, saying, "I think it was a good race. I broke my personal best, so I am doubly satisfied."
Looking ahead to the semi-finals she said, "I would like to run as well as I can in the semi-finals and maybe get to the final."
Shana-Gay Tracey, who ran in an earlier heat, was second in 58.95 seconds behind Canadian Sarah-Lynn Wells' season best 58.89 as both crossed the line together.
Shana-Gay was tentative in her race, according to her coach at Manchester High and the technical leader here, Jerry Holness. He said she was working her way back to fitness after being sidelined last month with a hamstring injury.
Today, both athletes will run out of lane seven in the semi-finals set for 12:10 pm local time (5:10 am Jamaica time). Nikita will run in the first semi-final heat, with Shana-Gay in the second.
The first three from each heat and the next two fastest will advance to the finals tomorrow.
Latoya McDermott, Jamaica's only 400m semi-finalist, finished a disappointing fifth in her heat in a season best 54.15 seconds, but said she was not satisfied.
She had crossed the line in sixth place, but Trinidad & Tobago's Britany St Louis was later disqualified.
The World Youth silver medallist told the Observer she was aiming to run sub-53 seconds and her training was geared towards that.
"The time is not acceptable," she said. "I didn't come here to run 54.00 seconds; I was aiming at a 52-seconds time," she pointed out.
Batchelor failed once again in a major final when he finished a disappointing 11th, after jumping only 7.02m on his third effort and did not advance to the final eight.
Batchelor, who finished seventh in the final at the World Youth Championships last year, fouled on his first attempt, just inches over the board, in what appeared a big jump in excess of 7.80m.
His second attempt was cautious and got him only as far as 6.93m, while his third was just over 7.00m - well below his best.
An obviously distraught Batchelor was seen about 45 minutes after the event, walking and talking to himself. He did not respond to the Observer's attempt to get a few answers from him, instead walking straight ahead.
"What makes RTI special is the fact that people can look forward to exclusive parties. Stages is only held once a year, and the same can be said about Colours, Pretty in Pink and Wild Sides. We are the inventors of the original event and concept. We bring people to Negril to party for a weekend. When I said that I was going to have nine parties in one weekend they used to laugh at me and say that I was mad," reasoned Alex Chin of Absolute Entertainment.
Seven years later and the Negril invasion is still going strong. With Red Stripe as its partner, the Absolute Entertainment family has once again set its focus on the Western-most end of the island.
Red Stripe officially launched Red Summer on Tuesday night atop the NHT roof, New Kingston, with the Bredren Summer Kick Off Party. If the stylish and fashionable launch was anything to go by, then one can expect great things from parties that Red Stripe is aligned with throughout the summer.
The setting was soothing and reflected the Bredren theme under which Red Stripe now stages its events. The cool wind, the music and the people were wonderful and so, too, were the food and beverages.
The dance floors were strategically placed in central locations to the 'Bredren Endz', which means that everyone was involved in the continuous action throughout the night. Although the focus was to be on what Red Stripe had planned for the remainder of the summer, the patrons seemed locked in time and were making the most of the moment. For those of us who went to get information, it was hard trying to keep focused. The partying was happening and the vibe breathtaking.
Red Summer was launched in an unprecedented manner at 10 p.m. Patrons were told to look on screens located throughout the venue and within 10 minutes Safia Cooper, brand manager for Red Stripe, and Alex Chin had explained everything. Then the partying, which did not really stop, was on again.
Red Stripe Temptation Isle will be called 'Destination RTI - where the world parties this year and will feature a global theme fused with Red Stripe's Bredren theme. All individual events being staged will adopt a popular party location from various spots across the world and theme their décor, music and vibe accordingly.
From July 31 to August 3, Negril will be buzzing with parties that will feature the likes of DJ Pro Style from 106 & Park, DJ Lennox from West Palm Beach and DJ Entyce, none of whom is affiliated with Jamaica. And if Kurt Riley and Nico Bam Bam, who were in the house pumping the beats, are in Negril, then the musical vibes are sure to 'sell off.'
Jamaicas newest female star Stacious who recently shoot a video for her hit single Fallen Down is presently the talk of the town both locally and international. This over night controversy all started when Stacious video premiered on a local TV network which features the Gully 'God' Mavado making several cameo appearances.
OutAroad.com has received multiply emails from readers wishing to know if Mavado and the curvy Stacious are intimately involved. Recently Mavado performs in the Asylum Night club and then moments after he called up Stacious to take a piece of the action.Jamaicans have a tendency to believe that if it nuh guh suh, it near guh suh, this was when OutAroad.com decided to step in to investigate if there is any such truth about Stacious being involved in a relationship with the Gangsta For Life from the Gully Side.
The only relationship I shared with Mavado is friendship, so I cant see the reason why people are making a big deal out of this just because he makes an appearance in my video. Once again, we are just friends and I am not going to allow this rumour to mash up our association as artistes, Stacious explains to OutAroad.com.
Yendi Phillipps - Peta-Gaye Clachar
STAR of the Month Yendi Phillipps is offering one special male fan a date.
The talented and fun beauty queen represented Jamaica proudly at the Miss World pageant recently.
Her most recent undertaking is that of presenter on the island's most popular television show, Digicel Rising Stars.
If you are a 'tall glass of handsome' and between 18 and 30 years old, this is your chance to get up close with the starlet. To enter to win the date, email a photo of yourself, along with the answers to the following questions about Yendi, to: entertainment@gleanerjm.com.
Answer correctly for a one-of-a-kind date with the beauty:
1) What is Yendi's middle name?
2) What is Yendi's zodiac sign?
3) What year did Yendi win the Miss Jamaica World title?
4) Which area did the funds of Yendi's 'Hurricane Dean relief' benefit?
5) What was Yendi's place in the Miss World Beach Beauty competition?
Deadline for entries is Friday, July 11.
According to STAR of the Month Yendi Philipps, she has a 'serious sweet tooth', loving all kinds of sweets, but regards herself as a chocoholic. On occasion, Yendi also loves strawberry, whether it's ice cream, jam or syrup.
It must have been a New Years resolution for G-Unit to shake things up. Think about it, they start the year with a brand new mixtape series, and conspicuously Young Buck is left out. It sounded like Buck was given his discharge, and lo and behold, by June, there are multiple diss tracks and taped conversations all over; from print to pixel.
Like battle hardened soldiers, G-Unit seems the best when they are in battle. General 50 Cent is a mastermind of controlling the heat and keeping the beef fresh in peoples minds. Hate it or love it, it has kept us talking about them even after a relatively quiet 2007, whose high point was CURTIS.
As such, their latest offering, T.O.S. (G-Unit), probably has more press based on the conflicts and beef than the actual music. Fans expecting the same as their first commercial outing, Beg For Mercy, may find themselves a bit out of sorts. However, those whove enjoyed the recent tactical barrages of Whoo Kid tapes will find themselves at home within T.O.S.s musical trenches.
The opener, Straight Out of Southside pays homage to N.W.As original gangster posse cut Straight out of Compton with each member giving their toughest introductions to their personas. Banks takes the cake with harsh lines like F*** the police with an HIV carrier / No Vaseline and an M-16. If you need another reason to realize that Banks is the lyrical sharpshooter within the clique, look no further than T.O.S., where Banks delivers potent bar after bar with deadly accuracy.
No Days Off features elements that made G-Unit famous in the first place. The gloomy harp and tapping bass resembling rain creates a terrific drop for a sinister track. Also the smoothly produced Piano Man catches the entire Unit dropping potent verses. Fan Favorite Rider Pt. 2 made the album, featuring 50 on a synthesizer and some nowironic lyrics from Buck like If 50 ever dropped me, I still wouldnt sign:
This isnt to say this disc is all grit grime and good times. There are two songs (The Way She Do It, Kitty Kat) are just down right awful. You can tell that 50 and company aretrying to recreate a "Wanna Get to Know You," but the magic just seems to be missing in action.
By the time Money Make The World Go Round delivered by sergeant at arms Tony Yayo finishes the disc, you have an idea of what they have been building towards with the mixtape push and makeover they experienced this year, shedding some of their commercial feel and replacing it with more hardcore sound.
Is the mission accomplished? Not by any means, as some of the forgetful tracks (Close To Me) on this album makes their flaws that much more visible. However, Terminate On Sight at its best, creates the sound their hardcore fans felt their individual albums were missing. While it does not win the war, its at least a tactical victory.
If yes, ur my type of girl.
Our star reporter beat scores of entries to become one of two winners awarded this year for her article, Why its a Secret Mums Dying from Aids- How the Young deal with the issue. The article appeared in The Voice in December 2007.
The fpa, one of Britains leading sexual health charities, gives the award for the best published newspaper or magazine article on a sexual health topic.
The fpa said Trudys article tackled and dealt with a sensitive issue in a very thoughtful and elegant manner. It challenged people and their attitudes towards HIV and could really help change peoples behaviour and attitudes.
Jamaica born Trudy also won the award in 2007 for her article Theres life after HIV and it can be good.
Trudy, who previously worked at the Jamaica Gleaner newspaper, will receive the award and a cash prize at the fpas annual summer reception at the House of Lords next month.
Protest at dump as smoke blankets capital city |
COREY ROBINSON, Observer staff reporter robinsonc@jamaicaobserver.com Thursday, July 10, 2008 |
A worker carries out his duties as Jamaica Defence Force soldiers keep watch over activities at the Riverton landfill yesterday. (Photo: Garfield Robinson) |
THE National Solid Waste Management Agency's (NSWMA) efforts to control a blanket of thick smoke over sections of Kingston, caused by a huge fire at the Riverton City Landfill, were disrupted yesterday by men who prevented heavy equipment from entering the area.
The men, said to be associated with the scrap metal trade, set up roadblocks along the road leading to the dump to protest against the clampdown on the island's scrap metal industry by the Government.
The blockages were, however, removed and the NSWMA's efforts to bring the fire under control continued following the deployment of a large contingent of police and soldiers to the area.
"The man them a prevent the truck them from go down at the dump cause them cannot make any money because of the pressure on the scrap metal business," said one resident of Riverton Meadows, a poor community that sits next to the city's dump.
"Right now if it was not for the police and soldiers in the place nothing could pass go down there," the resident added, as heavy duty equipment and several trucks loaded with silt entered the landfill, while the heavily armed soldiers and police looked on.
Inspector Everton King of the Hunts Bay Police Station said that more than a dozen policemen and about 89 soldiers were deployed to ensure that there were no further interruption of work being done to bring the fire under control at the dump.
The fire, which started Monday morning, pushed smoke to as far as New Kingston and sections of Portmore in St Catherine, according to the NSWMA. The dump was on Tuesday closed because of the fire.
Winston Wilson, the manager for the Riverton Landfill, said Tuesday that during the hotter periods, methane gas coming from underneath the garbage will ignite in sections of the dump that are not covered with dirt and sand.
Yesterday, rush hour traffic on major roadways leading into Kingston, the Jamaican capital, came to a creep yesterday as visibility was greatly reduced by the blanket of smoke over the city.
Several pedestrians were also seen holding handkerchiefs to their noses to prevent breathing in the noxious fumes.
While there were no reports of the smoke coverage interfering with air traffic at the Norman Manley International Airport, travel at the Tinson Pen Aerodrome along Marcus Garvey Drive in Kingston was made difficult by the hovering smoke.
"Earlier, during the morning hours, visibility at the airport went down to nil because there were no wind to blow off the smoke but during the afternoon, however, when the wind came the problem was not so bad," said Keston Witter, an air traffic controller. He added that pilots were asked to use the other end of the runway for take-off and landing.
Spanish Town calm amid threats of protest |
Karyl Walker Thursday, July 10, 2008 |
SPANISH Town remained calm yesterday after dozens of police and soldiers descended on the old capital and held positions in communities 'controlled' by the Klansman criminal gang, amid threats of protest to free alleged gang leader Tesha Miller from police custody.
Streets in the usually bustling town were quiet and the few vendors who came out to do business were on edge.
"This is Spanish Town and anything can happen. Me a keep my eye open as the man dem out yah nuh business but we just hope say the place stay quiet so me can eat some food," one vendor said.
Meanwhile, only a few children and some women were seen in sections of De La Vega City, which police say is the main base of the Klansman gang, while Rivoli, Brunswick Avenue, Jones Avenue and New Nursery, all said to be communities supportive of the gang, resembled ghost towns.
"It better to stay off the street if you have no business doing," a resident of New Nursery said.
The municipal bus park was also noticeably quiet while some residents who waited at the Jamaica Urban Transit Company (JUTC) bus stop next door only nodded their heads slowly when asked if they felt safe.
There was also a noticeable absence of vendors who sell in front of the bus depot where former JUTC chairman Douglas Chambers was killed two Fridays ago. Burnt wood was all that was in the area where the vendors used to sell their wares.
Holness top of the class Education minister rated as best performing Cabinet member |
Thursday, July 10, 2008 |
EDUCATION Minister Andrew Holness is perceived to be the best performing minister in the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) Government, the latest Observer/Don Anderson Poll has shown.
According to Anderson, 17 per cent of the 1,000 Jamaicans polled between June 25 and July 2 islandwide, rate Holness as outperforming his peers, as they see in him a genuine interest in improving the country's education system.
"It is not surprising that Holness should be so rated, as one of the strong positives that people generally associate with the JLP Government is free education," said Anderson. "But the general feeling is that he is not only very visible, but that he also appears to be rising above political lines and is genuinely interested in moving education forward."
The poll, which has a margin of error of plus or minus three per cent, said that 10 per cent of respondents placed Transport Minister Mike Henry as the second best performing member of the executive, while Finance Minister Audley Shaw, Tourism Minister Ed Bartlett and Health Minister Ruddy Spencer each received eight per cent rating.
Holness, a protégé of former prime minister and JLP leader Edward Seaga, came to national prominence when he beat the People's National Party's Warren Blake to take the West Central St Andrew seat in the 1997 general elections. At the time, Holness was 25 years old. Between 1999 and 2002 he served as Opposition spokesman on land and development, after which he shadowed the housing portfolio for the Opposition between 2002 and May 2005. In June 2005, he was given the education portfolio and was eventually appointed minister in September last year when the JLP won the general elections after 18 1/2 years in Opposition.
For the two years that he served as Opposition spokesman on education, Holness demonstrated a deep understanding of the issues affecting the sector and often articulated a credible vision for the island's education system.
His ability to rise above the sharp political divide was often displayed during his regular appearances on the popular morning radio talk show The Breakfast Club as both a club member and co-host.
Anderson, in his analysis of the poll results, said that
"Holness has good support amongst all the socio-economic groups, but moreso amongst females, younger persons and those in the lower socio-economic group".
Anderson noted that rating the performance of government ministers is also a function of their visibility as well as the respective portfolios they hold. "Generally, it is easier to rate the more visible ministers," he said. "At the end of the scale, therefore, persons such as Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Affairs Minister Ken Baugh, Works Minister Horace Chang and Attorney-General Dorothy Lightbourne receive relatively low ratings for this reason.
"By extension, Industry Minister Karl Samuda and Energy Minister Clive Mullings, it is felt, are being judged purely on the basis of their performance and in this regard they receive relatively low ratings."
Anthony Bourdain of the Emmy nominated Travel Channel series, "No Reservations" has stirred up controversy with remarks he made about women and dancehall, on the Jamaican themed episode of his show.
"There's no rootsy, laid back Rasta vibe," he says. "This ain't about standing up for your rights or praising Jah or anything like that. Like Reggaeton, its mutant cousin, dancehall is the hardcore beat behind lyrics concerning for the most part: acquiring possessions, getting respect on the street, beating down perceived enemies and enjoying the physical charms of varied, if not multitudinous bitches."
Asked how she felt about Bourdain's statement, veteran dancehall reggae artiste, Nadine Sutherland says that she was offended but not angry at him as "...that is what is being perpetuated (by our music) so why is it a foreigner can't do it?"
Stahhr says that female artistes such as Lady Saw and Sasha use derogatory terms in their music when referring to other females. Sutherland has also acknowledged that demeaning terms such as 'sketel' and 'gyal' which is similar in meaning to bitch are used in dancehall music. Stahhr also says, "I guess its like the N-word ...some women feel the entiltlement to use it on each other."
DENVER - A man accused of checking out hundreds of books and DVDs from libraries around the Denver area and then trying to sell them will be doing all his library borrowing from now on behind bars.
Denver prosecutors say 34-year-old Thomas Pilaar was sentenced to 10 years in prison and ordered Tuesday to pay $53,549 in restitution. He pleaded guilty in May.
Of an estimated 1,400 books and DVDs that were taken, about 500 have been recovered.
Denver Public Library estimated it had lost $35,000, while Douglas County said it had $11,000 worth of overdue items.
Authorities were tipped off by a woman who recently bought books on Craigslist and noticed the library identification stamps.
Only 9,000 troops of a planned 26,000-strong force have been deployed |
Six members of the joint United Nations African Union peace mission in Sudan's Darfur region have been killed in an attack, a UN source has told the BBC.
Those who died included four Rwandan peacekeepers, one policeman from Ghana and another from Uganda.
State media reports that a convoy of 40 armoured vehicles ambushed the peace force while on patrol in North Darfur.
The UN-AU mission has been struggling to contain the violence and has just 9,000 of the planned 26,000 troops.
Reports say at least seven other peacekeepers were wounded and a number of others remain missing.
'Outraged'
Ten vehicles from the UN-AU Mission in Darfur (Unamid) were destroyed, Sudan's state media reports.
"The mission is obviously outraged by the attack," Unamid spokeswoman Shereen Zorba told Reuters news agency.
It is unclear who was responsible. Numerous armed groups operate in Darfur - rebel factions, pro-government militias and criminals.
Last week, Burkina Faso's Foreign Minister Djibril Bassole was appointed as the new UN and AU Darfur peace envoy.
Two outgoing peace envoys have questioned whether armed groups in the region are committed to ending the conflict.
Talks have been complicated recently because the rebels have split into more than a dozen factions.
Since the conflict began in Darfur five years ago, the UN estimates that some 300,000 people have died and two million have fled their homes.
The conflict began when rebels took up arms in protest at alleged government discrimination against the region.
Pro-government Arab militias have been accused of widespread atrocities against the black African population.