Alcohol: Friend or foe Alcohol plays a significant part in the Caribbean diet and social scene. |
Saturday, July 12, 2008 |
As a recreational drug it has been found that generally poorer people consume more alcohol than more affluent persons. In the UK, studies have shown that on average men drink twice as much alcohol as women, the young drink more than the old and single persons drink more than married persons.
While not a nutrient, alcohol does provide energy to the body. However, these calories are often referred to as "empty" calories as they are not accompanied by any other nutrients. One gram of alcohol contains approximately seven kilocalories (kcal).
The amount of alcohol a specific beverage contains depends on the type of drink. Proof is the alcohol content of distilled liquors/ spirits such as whiskey, gin, rum or vodka. Proof is the percentage of alcohol (by volume) multiplied by two. For example, 100-proof alcohol is equal to 50 per cent alcohol. The alcohol content of wine is given as a percentage. White wines average 12 per cent, and red wines are around 14 per cent. The alcohol content of beer is between three to eight per cent. "Light" beers have fewer calories and have approximately per cent alcohol content.
The effects of alcohol
The acute consumption of alcohol has many immediate effects. Alcohol works on the brain and puts it to sleep.
Alcohol functions as a depressant to the central nervous system and slows down body functions. In large amounts, alcohol can cause sedation, intoxication, unconsciousness, and possible death. The affect of alcohol on a person depends on the person's gender, body size and genetics. Having large amounts of this enzyme reduces the immediate physical effects this substance has on the body.
Immediate effects of alcohol on the body includes:
. Chest distress
. Muscle weakness
. Shakes/trembling
. Stomach discomfort
. Facial flushing
. Nausea
. Dizziness/hangover
. Numbness in hands/feet
Chronic use of alcoholic beverages is associated with many harmful effects on the body. It can cause under-nutrition because of a reduced intake of food. This reduced intake may result from several factors, including decreased appetite so the person is eating less. The toxic effects of alcohol on the intestine could cause less nutrients to be absorbed or hamper the metabolism or break-down of foods in the body.
Alcohol impairs nutrient absorption by damaging the cells lining the stomach and intestines. Even if nutrients are digested and absorbed, alcohol can prevent them from being fully utilised by altering their transport, storage, and excretion. In the early stages of alcohol abuse these empty calories provided by alcohol can lead to obesity, but as time progresses the person who abuses alcohol may replace regular food intake with alcohol, this leads to weight loss as alcohol does not provide as much energy and the variety of nutrients as foods.
VAN BUREN, Ark. A man accused of assaulting and tying up his mother because he was reportedly mad about the death of his pet skunk has been arrested in Waldron, authorities said.
Authorities say 35-year-old Scott Tolles Sullivan was arrested early Saturday in Waldron. He is being held without bail in Van Buren. Authorities say he hid from police in an attic and was arrested after police shot him with a bean bag gun.
Sullivan's mother, 56-year-old Maria Sullivan, called police Wednesday night after freeing herself from duct tape and rope, authorities said. Maria Sullivan told police that her son became upset when he learned that her dog killed his pet skunk.
According to police, Sullivan said her son hit her with a homemade club and tied her up. She says Scott Sullivan also tied up a 14-year-old disabled boy who is under her care.
Scott Sullivan was arrested on suspicion of two counts of kidnapping and domestic battery.
Portia chides Peter Accepts but slaps Phillips for unprecedented challenge to sitting PNP president |
BY ERICA VIRTUE Observer writer virtuee@jamaicaobserver.com Tuesday, July 15, 2008 |
PORTIA Simpson Miller yesterday accepted Dr Peter Phillips' challenge for leadership of the Opposition People's National Party (PNP) but complained that up to the time she was issuing the statement, her rival had not officially informed her of his decision.
SIMPSON MILLER... the team that I lead is up to the task to meet this impending challenge (Photo: Karl McLarty) |
Simpson Miller, the PNP president and Opposition leader, also appeared to chide Phillips, a vice-president, for doing what no other had in 70 years of the PNP - challenge a sitting party leader.
"I have seen and heard reports throughout the media; and have received several calls from Comrades of the People's National Party and the wider citizenry of Jamaica that Comrade Peter Phillips has made known his intention to resuscitate his candidacy for the office of leader of the People's National Party," she said in a statement to the press.
"Not having heard directly from Comrade Phillips, I am relying on the truth of these reports as I acknowledge the democratic right of any member of the party to aspire to any elected position within our movement.
"The People's National Party has an enviable reputation for internal democracy; this is, however, the first time in our history that a sitting president of the party is being challenged and in the year of our 70th anniversary no less," Simpson Miller complained.
She also made a point of the fact that Phillips' challenge, "should it materialise", would also come "at the same time when all the polls have reflected what has been widely known for several months that the people of Jamaica have determined that the current administration being led by Bruce Golding is grossly incapable of meeting their needs or allowing them to realise their dreams".
That was immediately read as a suggestion that his move to oust her as president would let the JLP off the hook, by distracting party attention and resources away from the troubles of the nine-month-old government.
"Nevertheless, team People's National Party - the team that I lead is up to the task to meet this impending challenge,"
she added.
Simpson Miller's statement came a day after Phillips used a lowly divisional conference in Harbour View, St Andrew to announce his challenge, and end persistent whispers that he would be seeking the reins of the party which turns 70 years in September.
The decision is bound to reopen old wounds - which some say have not yet healed - from the bruising presidential campaign bid by the two and Drs Omar Davies and Karl Blythe, to succeed P J Patterson in 2006.
Many of Phillips' supporters turned up Sunday at Harbour View Primary to show renewed commitment. And Simpson Miller suffered her first casualty with the defection of Manchester businessman and PNP financier, Kenneth 'Skeng Don' Black who arrived at Phillips' meeting as part of an eight-vehicle entourage.
In a 35-minute speech to the PNP gathering, Phillips, who has been vice-president since 1999, said "Jamaica has always called on the PNP when the country is in crisis", and that while it was "easy to stand up and cuss Labourites", the current situation would not get any better. He said Jamaica was facing its biggest crisis since Independence, one that c****ined social, economic and political issues.
"We need a new politics that does not make election seem like war..." Phillips said.
Commenting on the challenge, lecturer in the University of the West Indies (UWI) Department of Government and talk-show host, Dickie Crawford said the challenge "could not have come at a worst time".
"The timing is awkward. We saw how fractious things became with the long, drawn out presidential campaign and there are real fears that a prolonged campaign will just worsen a very bad situation," Crawford said in an interview yesterday.
Crawford, who along with UWI professor, Brian Meeks worked on the Meeks Report to the party, expressed disappointment that the PNP had made very little attempt at healing the wounds of 2006 and the general election campaign.
"The party has all but discarded the recommendations of the Meeks report, which had several recommendations of a way forward. Instead, since the narrow election loss, sections of the PNP seemed dead set on removing the leader which, of course, is their democratic right," he said.
Simpson Miller hoped that "once this has been settled we may all refocus our attention on continuing the development agenda of our country."
But pressing ahead, Phillips is already planning his launch campaign.
"In another two to two-and-a-half weeks time, the campaign will be launched," Donovan Nelson, a Phillips aide said yesterday.
The party's executive was expected to set out the ground rules for the campaign at a meeting last night.
If Jamaica thinks enforcing some sex laws is daunting; they would have a heck of a time dealing with the following.
http://media.www.ecollegetimes.com/med
1. Oral sex is illegal in 18 states, including Arizona.
2. In Virginia, it is illegal to have sex with the lights on.
3. It is illegal for husbands in Willowdale, Oregon, to talk dirty
during intercourse.
4. Sexual intercourse between unmarried couples is illegal in Georgia.
5. Engaging in any sexual position other than missionary is illegal in
Washington DC.
6. In Connorsville, Wisconsin, it is illegal for a man to shoot off a
gun when his female partner is having an orgasm.
7. In Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, it is illegal to have sex with a truck
driver inside a toll booth.
8. Having sexual relations with a porcupine is illegal in Florida.
9. It is illegal in Utah to marry your first cousin before the age of
10.Sex with animals is perfectly legal for men in Washington state,
as long as the animal weighs less than 40 pounds.
Dear Pastor,
I am a regular listener of your programme and I would like to say that I really appreciate the work you are doing. I am an 18-year-old young woman who really needs your advice. I have been with my boyfriend for almost three years and I love him very much.
My problem is that I believe that I suffer from depression. Whenever I can't handle my problem, I feel that I'm not understood or no one cares. I often use a razor and cut myself on my arm or legs. My boyfriend was the first person I told about my problem and he encouraged me to tell my sister. I don't live with my parents. They are abroad. Pastor, I can't help it. Whenever I feel down, I turn to the razor as I see it as a way of transferring my emotional pain to a physical one. I can only feel the pain from the cut and not what was hurting me.
My mother left when I was three years old and I only see her sometimes on holidays. I have an older brother and sister who have always picked on me, saying that I was the reason my mother left. All my life I have never heard my father say that he loves me. Nothing that I did was ever good enough and my mom was never there.
'Good job'Last year, when I graduated from high school, my dad didn't even show up. My mom did, but to be honest, I don't really feel anything for her. I wanted my dad to be proud of me and I just can't seem to get that. I am the only one that has graduated from high school and received six CXCs and two A'Levels and all I heard is that it isn't good enough and that I'm wasting my time. I crave so much for them to say that they are proud of me or at least say, "Good job!". They don't want me to have a life. They expect me to stay home and go to school, nothing else. I can't go out, sleep over, nothing. I don't want to disrespect them, but I'm not a child anymore.
Secondly, I had a best friend once whom I loved dearly, but she chose another friend over me. I found out that she lied to me a lot about her sexual life and personal information. She started to hang out with other friends so we hardly talked. She was involved with about six guys at a time, which she lied about.
CheatingOne found out that she was cheating and he came to our school to beat her and I had to jump in the way so that she could get away. Another one found out that she was unfaithful too and broke up with her. They were together for about six months. He and I became friends and she heard that we were intimate (which we weren't) and she went to school and told everyone that I took her man.
This caused tension in the class. We stopped talking as I didn't like what she did and the stuff she said. She spread a rumour that I practised oral sex throughout the school and I was hurt. I ended up being good friends with her ex and later on, about five months later, we started a relationship.
Pastor, I'm not sure if I'm right or wrong for being with him, but it just happened. I didn't plan it and now I love this guy so much and I know he loves me. I know his family as he introduced me to them. My former best friend heard that I met his family and she tried to get him back, but he told her that he loves me and so does his mom. She became upset as she didn't get him to say he loved her, go to his house or to meet his family.
I tried to be friendly with her, as I missed her, and she kept writing me letters saying that she was sorry and she missed me. We started hanging out again. I invited her out with me on my birthday. My boyfriend was taking me and a group of my friends out. She got me drunk.
Later, we had a huge argument at school in front of the whole senior school where we both said some hurtful things. It has been almost two years and, honestly, I have forgiven her and myself for all the stuff we had to go through. She wants us to be friends again.
By TERENCE HUNT,
AP White House Correspondent 37 minutes ago
WASHINGTON - President Bush said Tuesday the nation's troubled financial system is "basically sound" and urged lawmakers to quickly enact legislation to prop up mortgage giants Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.
He also called on the Democratic-run Congress to follow his example and lift a ban on offshore drilling to help increase domestic oil production.
"I readily concede it won't produce a barrel of oil tomorrow, but it will reverse the psychology," Bush told a White House news conference his first since late April.
Bush said the two troubled mortgage companies play a central role in the nation's housing-finance system and that government action to help them were not bailouts because the two would remain shareholder-owned companies.
"I don't think the government ought to be involved in bailing out companies," Bush said.
Amid soaring gas prices, the toughest real estate market in decades, falling home prices and financing that's harder to come by, Bush said: "It's been a difficult time for many American families." But he also said that the nation's economy continues to grow, if slowly.
Bush said that despite the woes of Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac and the recent government takeover of California bank IndyMac, U.S. depositors should not worry because their deposits are insured by the government up to $100,000
"If you're a depositor, you're protected by the federal government," Bush said.
The administration and the Federal Reserve announced an emergency rescue plan Sunday to bolster Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, which hold or guarantee more than $5 trillion in mortgages almost half of the nation's total.
The plan would temporarily increase a long-standing Treasury line of credit that could be provided to either company. Treasury also said it would, if necessary, buy stock in the companies to make sure they have enough money to operate.
The Fed also announced that it would allow Fannie and Freddie to get loans directly from the Fed a privilege previously granted only to commercial banks until this March, when the Fed extended the borrowing to investment banks to deal with the collapse of Bear Stearns.
At the same time, a housing package was heading toward final congressional passage. It would modernize the Federal Housing Administration and create a new regulator and tighter controls for Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.
It's this legislation that Bush urged Congress to pass as soon as possible.
Congress could move as early as this week on the housing legislation to send it to Bush. First, though, House and Senate leaders must strike a deal in consultation with Treasury Secretary Henry Paulson to resolve key differences so Bush, who has threatened to veto the measure, will sign it.
"I think the system is basically sound, I truly do," Bush said. "I understand there's a lot of nervousness. The economy is growing. Productivity is high. Trade's up. People are working it's not as good as we'd like. And to the extent that we'll find weakness, we'll move."
Bush defended his insistence that the U.S. economy was not in a recession, even though many economists believe it is.
He said the traditional definition of a recession two quarters in a row of negative growth had not been met.
"I'm not an economist, but I do believe we're growing," he said. "I'm an optimist. I believe there's a lot of positive things for the economy."
He acknowledged, however, that "it's not growing as it should."
On Capitol Hill, Fed Chairman Ben Bernanke warned that inflation seemed likely to move even higher and economic growth would be "appreciably below its trend rate,"
"In general, healthy economic growth depends on well-functioning financial markets," Bernanke said. "Consequently, helping the financial markets to return to more normal functioning will continue to be a top priority," he said.
Bush acknowledged it could take years before opening the Continental Shelf to oil drilling would result in increased U.S. production. But, he said, at least it would put the nation on the right track toward reducing its reliance on imported oil.
"There is no short term solution," Bush said. "The president doesn't have a magic wand. You can't just say, 'Low gas.' "
Asked about his comment earlier this year that he hadn't heard of $4 gasoline, Bush said: "I've heard of it now."
Asked why he hasn't appealed more to Americans to conserve energy, Bush said: "They're smart enough to figure out whether they're going to drive less or not ... The marketplace works."
"If they're not in their homes, they ought not to keep the air conditioning running. There's a lot they can do," he added.
Bush's first full-blown exchange with reporters at the White House since April 29 came amid troubling developments in Afghanistan, where U.S. deaths have exceeded casualties in Iraq over the last two months. There also is turmoil in the financial markets, and the government has been forced to throw a lifeline to mortgage giants Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.
Bush opened with a statement about steps to help stabilize the housing and financial markets and his lifting of the executive ban on offshore oil drilling. He also called on lawmakers to pass long-stalled spending bills.
On other subjects, Bush:
Said the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan are both important fronts on the war on terrorism. Currently, events in Iraq are going better, and some troops are coming home "based upon success," he said. "The question really facing the country is, will we have the patience and determination to succeed in these very difficult theaters."
Declined to comment on whether he felt betrayed by a highly critical book about his administration by former press secretary Scott McClellan.
Expressed unhappiness with the casting of vetoes by Russia and China in the U.N. Security Council to block U.S.-sponsored sanctions on the government of President Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe, who was has retained power in an election that the United States and many other countries have labeled a sham. "I was displeased," Bush acknowledged.
News Brief
OutAroad.com understands that Jamaicas #1 dancehall artiste Beenie Man who recently planned on settling his taxes with the government has now decided to fight the charges as the deejay strongly believe he should not be penalized for an error created by his former Management Team (Shocking Vibes).
In recent reports it is stated that the controversial deejay owes the country J$47-million (US$ 661, 00) in taxes.
In October last year (2007) a warrant was issued for the arrest of Beenie Man after he failed to appear in court to answer to several tax evasion charges.
If Jamaica thinks enforcing some sex laws is daunting; they would have a heck of a time dealing with the following.
http://media.www.ecollegetimes.com/med
1. Oral sex is illegal in 18 states, including Arizona.
2. In Virginia, it is illegal to have sex with the lights on.
3. It is illegal for husbands in Willowdale, Oregon, to talk dirty
during intercourse.
4. Sexual intercourse between unmarried couples is illegal in Georgia.
5. Engaging in any sexual position other than missionary is illegal in
Washington DC.
6. In Connorsville, Wisconsin, it is illegal for a man to shoot off a
gun when his female partner is having an orgasm.
7. In Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, it is illegal to have sex with a truck
driver inside a toll booth.
8. Having sexual relations with a porcupine is illegal in Florida.
9. It is illegal in Utah to marry your first cousin before the age of
10.Sex with animals is perfectly legal for men in Washington state,
as long as the animal weighs less than 40 pounds.
As national obesity levels continue to rise, Southwest employees have heard more complaints about larger passengers taking up more than their reserved seat. For 26 out of 35 years of operation, Southwest-like other airlines-has had a policy requiring sufficiently overweight passengers to purchase two tickets; due to increasing complaints enforcement is now more common. The definitive gauge is whether the armrest can be lowered since it's the seat boundary. If the flight is not full then the overweight passenger qualifies for a refund.
Discrimination complaints have been voiced by those forced to purchase extra seats but southwest maintains they cannot look the other way when an adjoining passenger has an uncomfortable or even painful flight. Southwest also says changing plane configurations to include wider seating would cost far too much and would require huge price increases. So far discrimination lawsuits in the US have been unsuccessful but a new government policy in Canada will cost Air Canada $7.3 million annually for the passengers considered disabled by their obesity.
Dear Pastor,
One of our major problems in today's society is the willingness to yield to misconduct amid pressure. In times past, God gave strict orders for persons to be put to death for copulating with someone of the same sex, as with the opposite sex. In Jamaica today, there's a daily increase in homosexuality, in all walks of life. Jamaica is known for its violently homophobic culture, yet millions here are becoming gays.
Don't you think a law should be administered against homosexuals as they are already giving up their human rights by forsaking God's command and lying with another man?
O.S., St Andrew, Jamaica
Dear O.S.,
You are a nut. Yes, a nut. It is only a religious nut who would advocate that homosexuals be killed. The Bible condemns homosexuality. It is clearly outlined that that lifestyle is not sanctioned by God. Two men should not have sex with each other. Neither should two women. But you don't have the right to kill them.
The Bible says that women who commit adultery should be stoned. Would you be willing to stone our women (and men too) who have committed adultery?
Two gunmen, who attempted to break into the house of a licensed firearm holder, fled leaving a weapon after they were challenged by the homeowner in the Havendale Area of Kingston 19 yesterday morning.
Reports are that about 5:00 a.m., the occupant of the house was awakened by strange sounds and realised that intruders were trying to get in. One of the men pointed a gun at the occupant through a window. The owner of the house challenged the gunmen but they escaped.
The police were called and, during a search of the premises, the gunman's firearm, a .22 Beretta pistol, serial number DAA281084, with a magazine containing seven rounds of ammunition, was found.
The Constant Spring police are investigating.1) STAR of the Month Yendi's favourite colour is green. She is a 'nature' person and the colour reminds her of the outdoors. She finds green calming.
2) Phillipps describes herself as a daring person who loves the beach and is up for activities such as bunjee jumping, cliff jumping and other adventures. Yendi also enjoys sporting events and names cricket as her number one activity.
3) Outside of work Phillipp's favourite activity is lyming with friends. Sitting down and chatting about every - and anything. Lyming is what lightens this hectic host and beauty queen's days.
4) A sap for romantic flicks, Yendi's favourite movie of all time is Pretty Woman starring Julia Roberts. This is closely followed by Dirty Dancing, both of which she has watched numerous times.
5) An avid reader, Phillipps loves her Dan Brown novels. She cites Angels and Demons as her favourite book. After reading the novel she googled the facts in the novel and found some of them to be true.
Guyana international Howard Lowe had the dubious honour of scoring at both ends of the field, as Caledonia AIA and United Petrotrin battled to a 1-1 draw on Saturday, when the T&T Pro League resumed after an eight-day break.
At the Palo Seco Recreation Ground, the Petrotrin 'Oilmen' went into the match as losers of their last three matches after starting the season with six straight wins, but were handed the lead via an 11th-minute own-goal by Lowe which they held on to until the break.
Four minutes into the second half however, Lowe, who was in the Guyana team that went under to T&T 2-0 in an international friendly on Tuesday here, went from villain to hero when he headed Caledonia back on level terms.
On targetBoth teams then went in search of the go-ahead goal, but in the end had to settle for a share of the point.
The point earned carried Petrotrin's tally to 19 from 10 matches, four behind defending champions and leaders San Juan Jabloteh, who came up against North East Stars in the late match at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar.
Jamaican Wolry Wolfe was also on target as third-place Joe Public closed to within two points of Petrotrin after trouncing Tobago United 3-0 at the Marvin Lee Stadium, led by a double from Kerry Baptiste.
The nippy Baptiste fired in the opener after only 13 minutes and closed out the scoring in the 90th after Wolfe doubled the lead in the 29th minute.
Comfortable winFourth-place W-Connection (16 points) also enjoyed a comfortable 5-0 win over Ma Pau at the Ato Boldon Stadium.
Andre Toussaint banged two goals for the 'Savonetta Boys', while Col****ian Oscar Torijano, Teba McKnight and Hughton Hector got the other goals.
In the first match at Malabar, St Ann's Rangers whipped T&T Defence Force 4-1.
Keyon Edwards handed Rangers a 17th-minute lead before Christopher Durity tied the score for the 'Teteron Men' with a 59th-minute strike.
Josimar Belgrave restored Rangers lead in the 77th minute and Shem McFarlane made it 3-1 five minutes later before Ricky Charles completed the drubbing in the 89th minute.The site is the brainchild of Matthew Raine*, a gay Jamaican IT executive, who now lives in Canada and Andrea Rainford*, a Jamaican lesbian marketing executive who lives in Kingston, Jamaica. "The need was glaring. The nature of most Caribbean countries has made it a challenge to meet and connect face to face. Here, online, there are no limits. Having a social network of our own was something we craved ourselves and had the know how to get done, so we said let's be bold and give this Pride gift to our community." Matthew* said.
The site was launched to coincide with Pride Month, a global celebration of gay rights and culture. It already has members from over 20 countries world wide. Being picked up in the British, Canadian and Latin American press and blogging community.
Rainbowvibes.com has all the interactive features of a social network like Facebook. Members are able to create and join groups, add music, events, videos, chat, make friends, find dates, create and join discussions, write blogs and read news from around the Caribbean and the rest of the World. "Our focus is on making the site a fun,vibrant and meaningful online destination where our members are happy to spend time and tell their friends about it too." Matthew* explained.
Rainbowvibes.com went on line during Pride Month, June 16, 2008 and "we're expecting it to do great things."
And so, in 1984 Sting was born at Cinema I in New Kingston. The name was inspired by a local popular slang: "Sting yuh a sting an' a shock you a shock!". The name was further reinforced when dee jay, Michael Palmer who was famous for his hit: "Dem a Lick Shot" saw Laing and asked to be on the show. He said " a me a sting an yu a di boss!". The first year saw over 4,000 patrons turning out at Cinema II, to see top flight deejay Papa San and Junior Reid, who was a debutante on the professional stage at this time. The admission was then JA-$ 20, From the proceeds, Laing eventually bought a Toyota Corolla. What he did not expect was that he had established an event that would serve as the launching pad for the careers of hundreds of artistes. By virtue of its cultural significance, it has played an integral role in the history of Jamaica's music as"The Greatest One Night Reggae Show On Earth". Sting has become a proving ground, an exercise in one-upmanship on the stage that it is simply the calendar event that the entire entertainment fraternity looks forward to every year. It is the benchmark by which artistes are weighed and sometimes found wanting.
After 1984, Sting was subsequently held at Cinema II until 1986 when over 13.000 patrons packed the venue to see Tiger buss the place with the humorous ode against greed, "No Wanga Gut, No Wanga Belly". Given the turnout, the promoters were forced to relocate the show to the more upscale and upscale Cinema I grounds for the following year's staging of the event. In 1987, over 22,000 patrons shelled out JA-$ 40, to witness the inaugural Four The Hard Way between speed-talker Papa San and Lieutenant Stitchie, Admiral Bailey and Professor Nuts. Leading the singers' line-up were Pinchers, Leroy Gibbons and Frankie Paul, who were managed by Laings company, Supreme Productions Limited. At this time, Supreme Productions Limited had expanded, and functioned as an artiste management outfit and a booking agency, in addition to show coordination.
In 1988, the growing buzz on Sting forced the organizers to seek a larger venue to accommodate the legions of dancehall fans that began to follow the event. The National Stadium was chosen and the likes of Ninja Man, Red Dragon, Flourgon, Sanchez, and international star, Maxi Priest lit up the venue with marquis performances.
In 1988, patrons flocked to the venue to see the likes of Flourgon, Red Dragon, Ninja Man and Junior Demus. That clash got to the point where the microphones had to be turned off, a foreshadowing of darker events to come. In 1989, Barrington Levy, Gregory Isaacs, Freddy McGregor and Dennis Brown faced off to see who could be the best at serenading the over 27.000 patrons. The Fat Boys were also featured at that year's staging, which was beamed live for the first time to the USA and Canada. The following year, in 1990, over 30.000 patrons were entertained with the "Clash of the Century" between Ninja Man and Shabba Ranks, who had risen to the pinnacle of the deejay scene from the year before. This was the scene of the famous doo doo pants diss that cemented Ninjamans reputation as a lyrical assassin.
In 1991, STING had its largest crowd of over 42.000 and it has been recorded as the biggest turnout for any one day reggae event in Jamaica. That record still stands. The following year, over 10.000 children turned out for "Kiddies Sting" which was headlined by US teen stars Kriss Kross. STING remained at the National Stadium until 1992 when it was moved to Jamworld which was to be its new home for the next four years.
That year, the event celebrated its tenth anniversary in fine style, as a three part event - "Slam" on Christmas Eve at the Ranny Williams Entertainment Centre - a pre-Christmas party for teenagers; "Golden Memories Filled With Love" on Christmas Day at Jamworld. This second leg showcased Jamaica's best from the ska and vintage eras. The climax took place on Boxing Day featuring the best of Jamaica's dancehall. In 1997, STING went back to the National Stadium for another year, but due to the Reggae Boys' preparation for the World Cup, the organizers were forced to return to Jamworld in 1998.
Sting went through an uncertain period between 1999 to 2001 when Bounty Killer decided to challenge Stings supremacy as the must-attend event of the Christmas season with his own, Saddle to the East show on Christmas Day. This presented a challenge for Laing and his team because artistes often performed free at the event and then commanded large salaries at Sting, negatively affecting his bottomline. Bounty Killer also refused to attend Sting for two years as he held his event, and the third year, he showed up at Sting but he was not advertised.
In 2004, Sting achieved a new first when it got its first title sponsor, Magnum, for the 20th anniversary show. Sting also survived a near-apocalyptic ending to its show in 2003 when up-and-comer Vybz Kartel physically attacked Ninjaman onstage. After the onstage melee had ended, emcee Nuffy made an ill-timed announcement regarding Bounty Killers refusal to perform, and a hail of bottles descended on the stage. Several persons were injured, however Beenie Man was able to close the show and regain some amount of sanity to that nights proceedings and I guess one could say the rest is history.
World 100 metres record holder Usain Bolt was at his devastating best yesterday in the Greek capital Athens, venue of the last Olympic Games.
Running against a minus 0.5 metres per second wind, Bolt demolished his own national 200 metres record when he raced to a world-leading 19.67 seconds to win the event at the Athens Grand Prix.
The 21-year-old Bolt who broke the 100m world record with a 9.72 clocking in New York on May 31 and who had the world-leading 200m time of 19.83 before yesterday, went well under the previous national mark of 19.75 he set at last year's National Championships at the National Stadium.
Disappointing eightThe former William Knibb High student destroyed his opponents as second-place finisher Brendan Christian of Antigua and Barbuda was left way behind in 20.36 with Brian Dzindai of Zimbabwe taking third in 20.46.
Veronica Campbell-Brown posted a fast 10.92 to win the women's 100m ahead of Bahamian Chandra Sturrup, 11.14. Simone Facey finished a disappointing eight in 11.32.
World Championships 400m bronze medallist Novlene Williams-Mills and national 400m hurdles champion Danny McFarlane, fresh from their runs in Friday's Golden League meet in Rome, were on the podium again yesterday as they placed second in their events. Williams-Mills, who played second fiddle to American Allyson Felix on Friday, finished behind another American, Sanya Richards. Richards won in 49.86 with Williams-Mills taking the silver in 50.54. The other Jamaican in this event, Shereefa Lloyd, ended fourth in 50.89.
Good formMcFarlane continued his good form. He did 48.67 for second behind South Africa's L.J. van Zyl who won in a season-best 48.22.
National 800 metres champion Kenia Sinclair was also a medallist as her time of 1:59.94 earned third spot. Cuba's Zulia Calatayud won the event in 1:59.24
Two other Jamaicans at the meet did not fare well. Maurice Wignall continued his lean spell this season by finishing fourth in the 110 metres hurdles 'B' race in 13.65. Cuba's world record holder Dayron Robles captured the 'A' race in 13.04 .
Mario Forsythe of the MVP Track Club could only manage fifth in the men's 'B' 100m event in 10.47. His training partner, Andre Hinds of Barbados, won in 10.27. Derrick Atkins of The Bahamas took the 'A' race in 10.10. American Darvis Patton was second in 10.14.
In the women's 3,000m steeplechase Jamaicans Korene Hinds (9:32.06) and Mardrea Hyman (9:47.91) finished 10th and 16th, respectively, as Kenya's Eunice Jepkorir won in 9:26.56.
Dancehall Diva Tifa recently shot her new music video for 'Bottom of the Barrel' on Ward 21's Estrogen Riddim. The Bottom of the Barrel music video was directed by Dexter Pottinger, who was also responsible for the all-female Dem Gyal Sitt'n Medley videos 1 and 2, Bubble Like Soup, Tinky Winky and a host of other music videos. "Because the riddim has a balm yard mento feel to it, we have a lot of dancers and we are mixing the new dances with the older folk-type dances," said an enthusiastic Dexter Pottinger. The video was shot on June 27th at an undisclosed location with a "balm yard" theme and includes several cameo appearances from the Cadillac Dancers who showcased their new dance "Gweh" which was created from the actual sample in the Estrogen Riddim. Bottom of the Barrel has already been garnering much airplay in the US and UK and is currently on most major playlists including BBC1XTRA, 876radio.com and a host of other major radio stations in the UK, Europe and Trinidad. The Estrogen Riddim cleverly named after the female hormone features only female artists and is the follow up to the Dem Gal Sitt'n riddim. The riddim features 12 artists including: Timberlee, Natalie Storm,Spice, Queen Paula, Stacious, D'Angel, Macka Diamond, Lady G, Aisha, Lady Saw and Miss Thing. Tifa presently is working on her first and upcoming album entitled "Sex, Love and Lies" which will have a Japan/ European release scheduled for November 2008. With hit songs "Tinky Winky", "Kitty Police" and "Crawny Gyal" already under her belt, Tifa is ready to take the industry by storm |
Just days ago Khool Bookings agency issued a list to 876radio.com consisting of the confirmed line-up for Beenie Man's upcoming 'Beenie Sizzle' summer show slated for August 6th at the Jamalco Sports Complex in Halse Hall, Clarendon. On the list of confirmed acts were artistes such as the fire man Capleton, Sizzla, Aidonia, the energy god Elephant, the emperor from Portmore Vybz Kartel and Alliance bad boy Mavado. However yesterday Mavado's manager Julian Jones-Griffith contacted our offices an informed us that he was not aware of Mavado being booked for that show. We showed him the email that was issued consisting of the Gangster's name, but he was steadfast in refuting the claim that his artiste was not a part of that event. When we contacted Beenie Man's publicist Ray Alexander, a partially upset Ray said, it was a mere typographical error made by one of his administrative assistant and did confirmed that Mavado was NOT booked for the event. He said last he checked the official line up consisted of Macka Diamond, Aidonia, Sizzla, Vybz Kartel, Elephant Man and Capleton, with negotiation still in effect for international rap stars Soulja Boy and Lil' Wayne. |
Organisers of the annual Portland Jerk Festival are strongly dispelling rumours that they plan to take legal action against deejay Moses 'Beenie Man' Davis whose absence at the event last Sunday resulted in irate fans hurling bottles and missiles on to the stage, marring the show's incident-free image. No ounce of truth Chairman of the Portland Jerk Festival Committee, Sybil Rendle, yesterday told THE STAR that there was not an ounce of truth to the allegations that they will be suing the entertainer. "I don't know where people got the rumour from because there is absolutely no truth in that," Rendle said. "We sent a letter to his management team stating that it was an unfortunate incident that has spoiled our incident-free image. we read his apology and it came across to us as sincere. That's it." The chairman also said that in the letter sent to the deejay's management on Wednesday night, they requested that the initial payment to Beenie Man be returned to them, given that he had not turned up for the event. There are yet to receive a response. In relation to talk that Beenie Man is planning a free concert for Portland fans who were disappointed by his no-show, Rendle said that she has only heard about the 'plans' on radio, but nothing has yet been confirmed in black and white. Damage control Last night representatives from Beenie's camp also attempted to do some damage control. A photograph of the deejay's new passport, issued on July 9, was sent to THE STAR. "We got back the new passport with the new visa, and it has the copy of the emergency passport...," the representative said. The eighth annual staging of the Portland Jerk Festival, held last Sunday, was flawed by a bottle-throwing incident, shortly before midnight, after it was announced that Beenie Man would not be on the show. The entertainer's publicist, Ray Alexander, told THE STAR that Beenie missed the show because he had lost his passport while overseas and only found out after he turned up to the airport for his 8:00 a.m. flight back to Jamaica, on the day of the show. He said attempts to have emergency documents issued to him, so he could get here to perform, were also unsuccessful. No one was hurt during the incident. | |
|
|
They complain bitterly about what they see as a spike in crime caused by Guyanese and Jamaicans. They blast ''foreigners'' flooding their schools and hospitals.
In Antigua and other places in the English-speaking Caribbean, anti-immigrant hostilities are rising rapidly as leaders move closer to a 2015 deadline that would allow complete movement of certain people from one island to another.
Caribbean nationals worry that the plan would reduce education, healthcare and other benefits in wealthier islands. There are also concerns that it would reduce jobs and raise housing prices throughout the region.
''It just hurts my heart,'' one perturbed caller said on Observer Radio.
Now, after decades of pushing for total integration and free access throughout the dozens of Caribbean islands, leaders are facing a pressing dilemma while trying to create a single regional economy built around the free movement of skills, labor, goods and services.
Leaders from the 15-member Caribbean Community -- CARICOM, for short -- recently admitted that they may not be able to meet the 2015 deadline for establishing a single economy in the region -- similar to the European Union.
For example, leaders made an agreement last year to grant an automatic six-month stay to nationals entering a member country -- provided there are no security concerns. But only a handful of countries have bothered to comply with their own rule.
Such lack of action has critics questioning the Caribbean leaders' commitment to full integration.
''Given the c****ative nature of Caribbean politics, regional decisions often become hostage to domestic politics,'' said Anthony Bryan of Miami, a senior associate with the Washington-based Center for Strategic and International Studies.
``There is no super national authority with enforcement power or power to implement decisions, so CARICOM's decisions are impotent, not implemented or are soon forgotten.''
There is much fear of the unknown, which has bred discrimination and humiliation as some nationals try to visit other countries in the region.
Discussions for a unified Caribbean region began in the 1950s, with the hope that, among other things, such a plan would stem the alarming exodus of educated workers to industrialized nations like the United States.
According to a 2005 World Bank study, more than 80 percent of college-educated workers from Guyana, Jamaica and Haiti emigrate elsewhere to seek a better life.
STRONG CRITIC
President Bharrat Jagdeo of Guyana has emerged as one of the most outspoken critics of the intolerance and embarra**ment some nationals face when visiting other countries.
''For you to have a single economy, free movement of people is essential,'' Jagdeo said.
Earlier this year, Guyana requested an investigation after immigration officers in oil-rich Trinidad and Tobago refused to allow 15 Guyanese to enter the twin-island nation.
In Barbados, female immigration officials have been accused of turning back attractive Guyanese women out of concern that they will lure away the men on the island.
And in the Bahamas, where tensions against Haitian migrants have constantly run high, government officials decided against joining the free-movement arrangement, citing a concern that Haitians will flood the archipelago seeking to improve their lives.
''One of the most tragic truths is that we treat foreigners better than we treat our own people,'' Jagdeo said, referring to the hospitality shown to non-Caribbean visitors.
TAKES TIME
But some leaders say it takes time for new laws to catch on and old fears to die out.
''When you pass laws and you make decisions, it takes a little while,'' said Ralph Gonsalves, prime minister of St. Vincent and the Grenadines.
''All countries experience the problem,'' Gonsalves said.
But some countries -- notably Guyana and Jamaica, because they are among the poorest in the region -- are having the most trouble.
''Let us be honest and call a spade a spade,'' Gonsalves said. ``In a number of countries, people are not so much worried about Vicentians, Dominicans or Antiguans. In part, there are not so many of us.''
To help get around immigration officers, leaders have agreed to issue a CARICOM Travel Card called CARIPASS, which they say will provide hassle-free travel.
''You don't have to go to any immigration officer, so you don't meet any prejudices from any immigration officer,'' Gonsalves said. ``You swipe your card and you go in for your period of time.''
The cards, which would be valid for up to three years, would require prior security clearance and cost about $100.
But while the immigration card is a good start, critics say leaders have sent contradictory messages as they talk of the need to keep skilled individuals in the region.
To succeed with regional integration, Caribbean leaders must overhaul the way they do business, said Bryan, who was born in Trinidad.
Leaders say they are committed to the integration but need more time to prepare.
''As developed as Barbados is, we do not have the capacity to implement freedom of movement fully at this stage,'' Barbados Prime Minister David Thompson said. ``Nor do we have the capacity to absorb everybody who wants to come to Barbados and offer them the standard of living that Barbadians enjoy.''
Critics say such excuses are just a way for leaders to maintain control over whom they allow into the country -- and to win elections.
POLITICS FIRST
''There is a c**kfight every five years, and politicians go out,'' said George Lamming, a noted Caribbean novelist and intellectual, referring to the election cycle.
``The raison d'tre of being in politics is not the organization of social relations. The raison d'tre is to win that election at all costs.''
Lamming, a visiting professor at Brown University in Rhode Island, holds little hope that a solution will be found soon. It's a job for the next generation to solve, he said.
''The concept of Caribbean as a specific and unique cultural identity has to be planted as a lesson, one with children learning their alphabet, with the toys they use and with the games they play,'' he said.
``It is that form of absolute indoctrination which we need in order to produce, in another 20 or 30 years, the kind of Caribbean people we are.''
|