Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.
OK, IM PUTTING ON MY SHIELDS.....CUZ I KNOW IM GOING TO GET SOME HARSH COMMENTS.......

IVE BEEN HERE FOR A YEAR I THINK LOL......

IVE HAD FRIENDS AND BITTER ENEMIES..........

IVE BEEN BANNED FOR DISRESPECTING SUM "THING" WHEN I WAS DEFENDING MYSELF.............

IVE LEAD A "FREE-GAMEPUN" CAMPAIGN......WHICH HASNT GONE WELL....BUT WHO CARES? LOL..........

ANYWAY I WUD LIKE TO KNOW WHATS UR OPINION OF ME AND WHATS UR RECOMMENDATIONS?............

NUFF RESPECT TO CRAZYPICKNEY(GOOD FREIND) STAINLESS(MI dUPES).....DJOP(THE REALEST).......DAPPAWIFE(GOOD LINKIE)........MIGGS.......SHOTTESS.....AND LAST BUT NOT THE VERY LEAST ANGELINA MONTANA(BEST FRIEND, MENTOR, FAVORITE SELECTOR AND ALL OF THE ABOVE)..............

ANYWAY PPL WAT U THINK ABOUT ME?........................
news_splash.gif

Isaiah Laing, now mostly known as the man behind the Sting show, may have been off the police front-line duties since 1996, but like many Jamaicans he is concerned about the sky rocketing crime rate.

The 'old call of duty' seems to be stirring again for the ex-cop who only a week ago was named in a Gleaner article as a 'super-cop'.

When THE STAR asked in a recent interview if he would come back on board as a crime-fighter, Laing paused and said; "Yes, I will. Because this crime rate, this murder rate, the kind of crime that going on in Jamaica, we can't sit around and allow it to go on. No, it's unbearable right now".

With some five months left in 2008, there has already been approximately 800 murders in the island.

Laing who served in the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) from 1976 was removed in April 1996 after the JCF said they had infromation from credible sources which alleged that he was involved in drug activites. He took the JCF to court over the decision to axe him but lost in the Supreme Court.

But despite his removal from crime-fighting, the man who has remained in the public's eyes, mostly through his association with Sting, has a keen interest in the escalating crime situation.

"Well the crime situation right now, I don't think it can get worse," he told The STAR. I think that the police really, really have to get back to basics and do detective work, the work that detectives used to do in the days gone by," he told The STAR.

"From what I am seeing now detectives out there not detecting; they're only investigating. And some of them investigating not even know how to investigate, or where to begin. And a next set of them very lazy."

"In my day, back in the day, when we have a murder to investigate, we nah stop till we find somebody. Back in the days I am almost sure you would have 60 to 70 per cent clear-up. I was really listening the other day, the clear-up thing and murder, most times the clear-up don't mean somebody been charged..."

So what would Laing want to do if he returns to the force, "Honestly, I'm not sure I would really want to hit the streets - I would get the intelligence for them. That, I know I can do better than any police there right now. I can get more intelligence than any police that is in the force right now."

"Yeah, I'll do that. Get the intelligence, tell them how to approach and how to do what. Give me a team of men that I am in charge of, I will deal with it," he said.

Also see a six-part inetview with Laing beginning on Monday.

help kill battyman

February 28, 2008
http://killbattymans.blogspot.com/ 
 , February 21, 2008
Rise the Machine

Nearly a year ago there was a war going on between the NORMAL world versus the International Batty Mafia led by Rear Admiral Peter Tachell and his vast army of gays.

This war (which began in Biblical days when gays could not so easily have sponsored batty parades) , is a war that continues today in every aspect of our lives.

It is on the TV. It is on the Internet. It is on movies and sometimes even in church where there is molestation by false prophets and lesbians.

In this war, the normal people have won some battles but the International Batty Network is more powerful than ever and unless someone stands up to this deadly batty army, it will soon be the law that the gays may molest our boy-children in public and we can't do nothing.

This is why http://killbattymans.blogspot.com/ has returned. To fight these batty powers, one gay at a time.

Reload.
http://www.mediatakeout.com/25435/mc_beyonce_bey_records_a_rap_song_with_jay_z.html
The image http://graphics8.nytimes.com/images/2008/07/17/us/17toilet_02_650.jpg cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

Seattle is getting rid of its five automated public toilets.
The toilets, which look like big soda cans, open with the touch of a button and are supposed to self-clean themselves after every use. Unfortunately, things didn't work out as planned. Ah, such is life.

First of all, people threw so much trash on the ground that the automatic floor scrubbers were disabled. What do you get when you mix failed sanitation with crack use and prostitution? Probably the most horrible place imaginable -- Hell excluded.

But don't fret! Seattle's failure isn't deterring New York, Los Angeles and Boston from trying out various versions of the failed port-a-potty. All of this will be coming to a city near you real soon.
KNOXVILLE, Tenn. - A gunman opened fire at a church youth performance Sunday and killed two people, including a man who witnesses called a hero for shielding others from a shotgun blast.

Seven adults were also injured but no children were harmed at the Tennessee Valley Unitarian Universalist Church. Church members said they dove under pews or ran from the building when the shooting started.

The gunman was tackled by congregants and eventually taken into police custody.

Jim D. Adkisson, 58, was charged with first-degree murder and was being held on $1 million bail, according to city spokesman Randy Kenner, who did not know if the suspect had retained an attorney. Authorities were searching Adkisson's home in the Knoxville bedroom community of Powell, Kenner said.

The man slain was identified as Greg McKendry, 60, a longtime church member and usher. Church member Barbara Kemper told The Associated Press that McKendry "stood in the front of the gunman and took the blast to protect the rest of us."

Linda Kreager, 61, died at the University of Tennessee Medical Center a few hours after the shooting, Knoxville city spokesman Randall Kenner said.

Five people remained hospitalized, all in critical or serious condition. Two others were treated and released.

The gunman's motive is not yet known. The church, like many other Unitarian Universalist churches, promotes progressive social work, such as desegregation and fighting for the rights of women and gays. The Knoxville congregation has provided sanctuary for political refugees, fed the homeless and founded a chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union, according to its Web site.

Kemper said the gunman shouted before he opened fire.

"It was hateful words. He was saying hateful things," she said, but refused to elaborate.

The FBI was assisting in the case in case it turns out be a hate crime, Police Chief Sterling Owen said. Police were taking statements from witnesses and collecting video cameras from church members who taped the performance.

There were about 200 people watching a performance by 25 children based on the musical "Annie" when the shooting took place.

Church member Mark Harmon said he was in the first row. "It had barely begun when there was an incredibly loud bang," he said.

Harmon said he thought the noise was part of the play, then he heard a second loud bang. As he dove for cover, he realized a woman behind him was bleeding. She looked like she was in shock, touching her wound, he said.

"It seems so unreal," Harmon said. "You're sitting in church, you're watching a children's performance of a play and suddenly you hear a bang."

Harmon said church members just behind him in the second and third rows were shot. His wife told him that she saw the gunman pull the shotgun out of a guitar case.

Witnesses reported hearing about three blasts from the .12-gauge shotgun, which spreads pellets out when the shot leaves the barrel. Witnesses said they did not recognize the gunman.

Church members said the gunman was tackled by John Bohstedt, who played "Daddy Warbucks" in the performance. He declined comment when reached by phone at his home.

Friends of McKendry said he was friendly with everyone.

"Greg McKendry was a very large gentlemen, one of those people you might describe as a refrigerator with a head," said member Schera Chadwick, whose husband, Ted Lollis, arrived at the church just after the shooting. "He looked like a football player. He did obviously stand up and put himself in between the shooter and the congregation."

McKendry and his wife had recently taken in a foster child.

The church's minister was on vacation in western North Carolina at the time of the shooting but returned Sunday afternoon.

"We've been touched by a horrible act of violence. We are in a process of healing and we ask everyone for your prayers," the Rev. Chris Buice said in a statement outside the church. "I will tell you we love Greg McKendry. We are grieving the loss of a wonderful man."

Dis sweet me!

April 14, 2008
Started By Jamecho26 Comments
Dis sweet me!
Mi deh yah ah tink and realize seh Jamaican people dem different yuh nuh?> Mi love dem .. still dere are some tings yuh woulda neva see wi a do, hear> seh wi ah seh or even attempt fi try.

Tek fi instance ..Yuh eva see Jamaicans a climb mountain wid flag and claim victory when dem reach de top?

Yuh eva see we ah hang out inna di miggle ah di Amazon jungle? Fi wah reason

Yu ever see we a jump outta plane wid one parachute or a boast seh we going bungee jumping next Sunday?

Yuh eva see we inna sea, bout we looking fi di Great White Shark? No sah - wi watch it pon TV

Yuh eva hear a J'can in ah Search & Rescue pan mountain? A mi sen dem up mountain? Dem find dem self way up, dem fe find dem way back again. Idiat dem!. A nature way fe feed de weak and hungry animal up deh!

Yuh eva see a Jamaican acting pon big screen going into a haunted house and asking . Trevah you in deh? If him foolish enuf fi go ina di haunted house him an di duppy dem can tan in deh.

Yuh eva hear a Jamaican man seh ... 'no honey .. no need to cook rice and> peas wid oxtail and a little chicken pon a Sunday ... mek wi eat a light> salad instead.'> Try yuh best ... not pon yu life.

Yuh eva si a Jamaican come a work an tell everybody dem bizniz .. how dem> neva bade dis mawnin, jus brush teet and wash face.

Yuh eva si a Jamaican wey luv talk over people food ... put dem face inna it> an sey dat looks and smell good?> No sah! Dat wi cause fight.

Yuh eva see a Jamaican go inna di company fridge and go tek weh next person> sangwige and nyam it off?

Yuh eva hear Jamaican pickney tell dem madda fi shut up and di Madda go tek seat inna kitchen, tek out cigarette start smoke and seh she nuh know wah fi do wid di pickney? No. One bax cra** him face fi sure. An if dem live inna farign dem sen dem to> Jamaica fi di summer and den di odder relatives fix dem bizniz and dem go back> wid mannaz.

Yuh eva see Jamaican tek meat outta fridge and stick it inna oven widout lickle seasoning?

Yuh eva hear Jamaican inna di werk place ah talk bout how much time him wife mek him sle ep pon di couch? Crazy tings dat, cause even if she shut di door she expect him fi kick it open.

Mi neva hear a Jamaican seh dem woulda rather put dem parents inna retirement home dan mek dem live wid dem. Only those who migrated to foreign lands will do dem tings.

Yuh eva see Jamaican people a cook and dem stir di pot, taste di food and put di same spoon right back inna di pot an nuh wash it off

Yuh eva si a Jamaican have dem dog a lick dem face? Yuh mad?

Yuh eva see yawd people have dem dog sleep inna di same bed wid dem? Or dawg inna di couch and when dawg get up dem go lay down innna di same couch inna di same spat? Yuh eva see yawd people kiss dem dawg pon di mout?

Yuh eva hear seh yawd people tek 5 days off from work because dem p*u**y dead?

Yuh eva hear a Jamaican madda innna a store a tell dem pickney 'no sweetheart, you can't have that, please put it back on the shelf' Instead, yuh will hear someting like dis ... 'lissen yah pickney, mi nah walk a street an pick up money, put dung di sweetie dem an no badda mi peace tiday, yuh hear mi'?

Yuh eva see Jamaican do any wuk afta dem get pay pon Friday. All di manager dem a play domino round a back, not to mention ludo and draft.

We a Jamaican .. ah suh wi d'weet. Wi nuh normal . wi well different from all odda people! A so di ting set. A so di ting stay.

Finally, you can learn all about three separate DJ disciplines in one convenient place! Get a jump on everyone else and learn what you need to break in and succeed as a radio DJ, a nightclub DJ, or a private party DJ.

This amazing book tells all the secrets that DJs have been hiding for years. Now you can have all the information it took us years of trial and error to perfect right at the start.

Learn all about beatmixing, the basics of scratching, how to get a job in radio, how to properly DJ a wedding, super secret marketing techniques, sound system basics, the MP3 craze, different music, and effective letters and forms.

Download

beastmode-1.jpg Promo Style picture by Jamaicanshem

6jn0izm.jpg

Create, post, and promote your own videos on the worlds most popular online service! How to Do Everything with YouTube explains how to shoot and edit videos, insert titles and captions, add special effects, and upload content. Youll learn how to set up a YouTube channel and integrate YouTube videos into your websites and blogs. Youll also discover the success secrets behind YouTube celebrities and breakout videos. Share your unique video creations with millions of viewers with help from this easy-to-follow guide.

* Navigate the YouTube interface, play videos, and set up an account
* Shoot professional-quality videos with a camcorder, Web cam, or camera phone
* Get the lighting right and add sound and special effects
* Create a short film, vlog, or video mashup
* Edit your videos with Windows Movie Maker, iMovie, and Remixer
* Add audio tracks with AudioSwap
* Optimize your videos and upload them to YouTube
* Join the YouTube community, create playlists, subscribe to channels, and participate in groups
* Customize your YouTube channel
* Promote your videos to a huge audience

http://rapidshare.com/files/111688000/How_to_Do_Everything_With_YouTube.rar

What is a NFO File?

An nfo file, is a file packed with a release by a group when they release things on the Internet. The files are designed by ASCII artists and can be read with notepad. They contain release information. For example, the runtime of a movie, how to install if it's software, producer, label, tracklists and so on. It's like an identification file, there is always an nfo file packed with a release unless you rip it yourself or get it from a studio or something.  The best way to view this info is using a NFO Viewing program.  I use DAMN NFO Viewer which u can get here:

http://www.softpedia.com/get/Office-tools/Text-editors/DAMN-NFO-Viewer.shtml

What are SFV files?

SFV (Simple File Verificator) files are used to ensure if files are:
- not corrupt
- not missing

For example, with RARs it's important that we got all the parts and that none of the RAR files is corrupt... If it is RAR will tell us (if its new RAR that is). However to know that rar file 020 is corrupt we need to have previous 19 files to test... SFV allows us to test any file at any time without the need to have other files.

Further more for mp3s we might never notice a file missing (afterall, other songs will play allright) but thanks to sfv its easy to spot which file is missing.

A nice little program I use for this is QuickSFV.  You can grab it here:

http://www.quicksfv.org/download.html

Note: these programs work on Vista

Hope you find this informaiton useful...I know I have,

Bless Zone
10 ways to help teens stay smoke-free

Saturday, May 31, 2008

Teen smoking might begin innocently enough, but it can rapidly become a lifelong habit that is hard to beat. Help your teen resist taking that first puff with these 10 tips from the Mayoclinic, medical centre in the US:

Understand the attraction
Sometimes teen smoking is a form of rebellion or a way to fit in with a particular group of friends. Some teens light up in an attempt to lose weight or to feel better about themselves. Ask your teen how he or she feels about smoking. Ask which of your teen's friends smoke. Applaud your teen's good choices, and talk about the consequences of bad choices.

20080530T190000-0500_136208_OBS____WAYS_TO_HELP_TEENS_STAY_SMOKE_FREE_1.jpg
Most people start smoking before the age of 18

Say no to teen smoking
You may feel as if your teen doesn't hear a word you say, but say it anyway. Tell your teen that smoking isn't allowed. Your disapproval may have more impact than you think.

Set a good example
Teen smoking is more common among teens whose parents smoke. If you don't smoke, keep it up. If you do smoke, quit - now. Tell them how unhappy you are with your smoking and how difficult it is to quit.

Appeal to your teen's vanity
Remind your teen that smoking is a dirty, smelly habit. It gives you bad breath, makes your clothes and hair smell, and turns your teeth yellow. Smoking can leave you with a chronic cough and less energy for sports and other activities you enjoy.

Do the math. Smoking is expensive
Help your teen calculate the weekly, monthly or yearly cost of a pack-a-day smoking habit.

Expect peer pressure
Friends who smoke can be convincing - but you can give your teen the tools he or she needs to refuse cigarettes. Rehearse how to handle tough social situations.

Take addiction seriously
Most teens believe they can quit smoking anytime they want. But teens become just as addicted to nicotine as do adults, often quickly and at relatively low doses of nicotine.

Predict the future
Teens tend to assume that bad things only happen to other people. But the long-term consequences of smoking - such as cancer, heart attack and stroke - may be all too real when your teen becomes an adult.

Think beyond cigarettes
Smokeless tobacco and candy-flavoured cigarettes (bidis) are sometimes mistaken as less harmful or less addictive than traditional cigarettes. Like traditional cigarettes, these products are addictive and can cause cancer and other health problems.

Get involved
Take an active stance against teen smoking. Participate in local and school-sponsored anti-smoking campaigns. Support bans on smoking in public places.

S Africa Chinese 'become black'

June 23, 2008
Started By kalongi2 Comments

S Africa Chinese 'become black'
Man in Chinatown
Chinese activists say they also fought against apartheid

The High Court in South Africa has ruled that Chinese South Africans are to be reclassified as black people.

It made the order so that ethnic Chinese can benefit from government policies aimed at ending white domination in the private sector.

The Chinese Association of South Africa took the government to court, saying its members had been discriminated against.

An estimated 200,000 ethnic Chinese live in South Africa.

The association said their members often failed to qualify for business contracts and job promotions because they were regarded as whites.

The association said Chinese South Africans had faced widespread discrimination during the years of apartheid when they had been classified as people of mixed race.

The BBC's Mpho Lakaje in Johannesburg says the Broad-Based Economic Empowerment and the Employment Equity Acts were designed to eradicate the legacy of apartheid which left many black people impoverished.

The laws give people classed as blacks, Indians and coloureds (mixed-race) employment and other economic benefits over other racial groups.

The Black Economic Employment concept was initiated by the governing ANC to help previously disadvantaged individuals - to start their own businesses or become part of existing companies - thus redressing the country's historic inequalities.

Whites still on top

Our correspondent says the ruling provides clarity for corporations in South Africa on the rights of their Chinese staff - who were declared "coloured" under apartheid but are generally regarded as white today.

An example cited in court papers includes an oil company that disqualified Chinese citizens from getting a slice of its biggest empowerment transaction to date.

The company says the group is not catered for in the Black Economic Empowerment codes.

Another example includes a Chinese national who was refused an opportunity to buy shares from the Johannesburg Stock Exchange two years ago.

None of the three government departments cited as respondents in the court case opposed the application.

A study released last month revealed that white South Africans still earn around 450% more than their black counterparts, 14 years after the end of apartheid.

what are ur views?
Teen Dies After Being Buried Under Hot Asphalt

Friday July 25, 2008

A 15-year-old boy died in a horrific construction accident Friday when he was buried under a mountain of searing-hot asphalt.

The boy, too young to work on construction jobs under Manitoba labour laws, was part of a paving crew working on a parking lot in the Winnipeg bedroom community of Stony Mountain.

"I believe (the truck) dumped off way too much asphalt unexpectedly," said Stony Mountain fire Chief Wallace Drysdale.

"I was one of the first members on scene and we just saw the hair sticking out of this individual. It was extremely hot asphalt. Our crews, when we were digging out, had to shuttle different members in and out in about four- or five-minute intervals because our feet were burning."

Police and labour officials were investigating.

Richard Hill, who lives less than 100 metres from the accident scene, heard the boy screaming and ran over.

"I guess it was the truck driver that said, `There's a guy buried in here' and I ... found a shovel, and me and another guy tried digging him out," Hill said.

It took about 15 minutes to get the boy out. He was pronounced dead at the scene.

"We got to the back of his head and there was no movement," Hill said. "We pretty much knew there wouldn't be any hope because of the heat and the weight of that (asphalt).

"There's no way a person can breathe with asphalt."

RCMP said they had identified the boy but were not releasing his name immediately at the request of his family.

Manitoba workplace health and safety officials were trying to figure out how the accident occurred and would not comment.

Having teenagers work such jobs is not uncommon, according to Drysdale.

"It's usually a good summer job for them."

However, Manitoba's Employment Standards Code bars young people under 16 from working on construction sites, as well as other industrial locations where there are drilling rigs and scaffolding. RCMP didn't say whether charges would be laid.

The death has touched everyone in Stony Mountain, Drysdale said.

"Our (fire department) members knew this person, 'cause it's a small town," he said. "It's very hard."

Hill said there were a lot of stories floating around the community as to how the asphalt got dumped on the boy.

"One rumour I heard is that asphalt sticks in the box (of a truck), and I guess he banged it and the whole load came down on him," Hill said.

"I never really talked to the driver or anybody there. There was nothing really being said ... the truck driver was in shock."

NAPLES -- Forty-two cents won't get you very far these days, but for a Southwest Florida man, it was enough to send him to jail.
Naples police said 43-year-old Laslo Mujzer swiped 42 cents from the Coastland Center Mall in Naples on Monday. Officers arrested Mujzer after a mall customer saw him fishing around in the fountain.
A sign attached to the fountain said that all coins thrown into the water are donated to Habitat for Humanity.

Mujzer was charged with petty theft under $100, a misdemeanor, then booked into the Collier County Jail.
Sheriff's officials on Wednesday said a judge had released Mujzer on his own recognizance but said he was in jail on an immigration hold.

Church used as toilet WTF

July 26, 2008
Started By alligcold15 Comments
STARLEFT_1_P4UUUChurchDAM.jpg
St Mark's Anglican Parish Church, Mandeville, facing the bus park. - Norman Grindley photos

Worshippers at the St Mark's Anglican Parish Church in Mandeville say unscrupulous persons have turned the place of worship into a public bathroom.

A low fence separates the church from the area where taxis to May Pen pick up and let off passengers. Consequently, the house of God has become a chosen spot for persons wishing to 'relieve' themselves, THE STAR has learnt.

One member of the church, Mrs James, explained that a gate leading from the church into the taxi park made for easy access. Not even signs and a padlocked gate have discouraged persons from relieving themselves on sacred ground.

"The church used to be so pretty, and now nobody don't even walk through that gate. It's terrible," she said, before noting that she had been worshipping at the church for some 40 years.

Ignore urinal

STARLEFT_1_PTIANChurchBAM.jpg
This man was caught on camara urinating in the St Mark's Anglican Parish Churchyard.

Despite the erection of a urinal in the taxi park, persons choose to urinate and defecate elsewhere, including inside the churchyard.

Upon walking through the park en route to the church, an unbearable stench defiled the air. church members say this is also a problem.

"Yes, sir, it is a big problem for us. It has been a problem for some years now," one church member said when asked about the stench.

Not even the dead have been shown the least bit of respect as even graves and other prepared burial spots are regularly used as toilets.

During a tour of the churchyard, faeces covered by dirt and walls stained by urine marks were noticed.

Created a mess

Miss Margaret, who has been a member of the church for 24 years, also pointed to a tiled area, just in front of the church kitchen, in which she claims the alleged intruders have, on a number of occasions, created a mess.

She also pointed to a burial spot where a known drug addict relieves himself daily while he carries out his illicit act.

These actions have even forced Miss Margaret to grille her grandmother's grave.

"Yu lucky seh since me and unnu deh yah, yu nuh si dem jump ova di wall and come stoop down," she said in a disgruntled tone of voice.

In just a matter of moments, however, THE STAR team would get a picture of the tales that were being told.

Upon leaving the churchyard, an individual was noticed urinating just beside the front gate of the church, in full view of about four church members, after which, the man simply turned around and sat beside the spot where he had just urinated.

"Unnu si him! Ketch him! Ketch him, nuh!" yelled two elderly men as they urged the photographer to take the man's photograph.

Brenda Ramsay, mayor of Mandeville, said the council, through the municipal police, had tried to deter the practice; however, despite arresting a few persons, the problem continued.

Low fines

She also said the fines were not high enough to deter those held. Ramsay said getting people to respect the church is the only way to stop them from using the churchyard as a toilet.

In the meantime, church members with whom THE STAR spoke, said that there was very little they could do.

"If yu eva si dem and try talk to dem, yu wouldn't believe di words weh dem tell yuh," James said.

JUST GIMMI THE NAME OF YOUR FAVORITES RIDDIM IN 2008 FOR THE MOMENT :
Fi Mi It's :

Workout Riddim 2008

Daybreak Riddim 2008

Sexy Girl Riddim 2008

And You ??

http://www.reuters.com/article/marketsNews/idUSN2340120020080724?pageNumber=1&virtualBrandChannel=0
what you think, considering martin lawrence, criss rock, tucker, bernie mac, foxx, hugley, harvey, cedric the entertainer, etc etc etc who is the best?
confusedweirdfaceconfusedweirdfaceconfusedweirdfaceconfusedweirdfaceconfuseddwinedwinedwine
Digital Domain

First It Was Song Downloads. Now Its Organic Chemistry.

27digi.xlarge1.jpg 

The Pirate Bay site includes a scanned copy of a college textbook with an exhortation to share.

AFTER scanning his textbooks and making them available to anyone to download free, a contributor at the file-sharing site PirateBay.org composed a colorful message for all publishers of college textbooks, warning them that myself and all other students are tired of getting ripped off. (The contributors message included many ripe expletives, but hey, this is a family newspaper.)

All forms of print publishing must contend with the digital transition, but college textbook publishing has a particularly nasty problem on its hands. College students may be the angriest group of captive customers to be found anywhere.

Consider the cost of a legitimate copy of one of the textbooks listed at the Pirate Bay, John E. McMurrys Organic Chemistry. A new copy has a list price of $209.95; discounted, its about $150; used copies run $110 and up. To many students, those prices are outrageous, set by profit-engorged corporations (and assisted by callous professors, who choose which texts are required). Helping themselves to gratis pirated copies may seem natural, especially when hard drives are loaded with lots of other products picked up free.

But many people outside of the students enclosed world would call that plain theft.

Compared with music publishers, textbook publishers have been relatively protected from piracy by the considerable trouble entailed in digitizing a printed textbook. Converting the roughly 1,300 pages of Organic Chemistry into a digital file requires much more time than ripping a CD.

Time flies, however, if youre having a good time plotting righteous revenge, and students seem angrier than ever before about the price of textbooks. More students are choosing used books over new; sales of a new edition plunge as soon as used copies are available, in the semester following introduction; and publishers raise prices and shorten intervals between revisions to try to recoup the loss of revenue and the demand for used books goes up all the more.

Used book sales return nothing to publishers and authors. Digital publishing, however, offers textbook publishers a way to effectively destroy the secondary market for textbooks: they now can shift the entire business model away from selling objects toward renting access to a site with a time-defined subscription, a different thing entirely.

The transition has already begun, even while publishers continue to sell print editions. They are pitching ancillary services that instructors can require students to purchase, just like textbooks, but which are available only online on a subscription basis. Cengage Learning, the publisher of Professor McMurrys Organic Chemistry, packages the new book with a two-semester access card to a Cengage site that provides instructors with canned quizzes and students with interactive tutorials.

Ronald G. Dunn, chief executive of Cengage Learning, says he believes the printed book is not about to disappear, because it presents a large amount of material conveniently. Mr. Dunn predicted that textbook publishers were headed for a hybrid market: print will do what it does best, and digital will do what it does best.

Whether students will view online subscriptions as a helpful adjunct to the printed textbook or as a self-aggrandizing ploy by publishers remains to be seen.

As textbook publishers try to shift to an online subscription model, they must also stem the threat posed by the sharing of scanned copies of their textbooks by students who use online publishing tools for different purposes. The students who create and give away digital copies are motivated not by financial self-interest but by something more powerful: the sweet satisfaction of revenge.

Mr. Dunn says that online piracy is a significant issue for us. His company assigns employees to monitor file-sharing sites, and they find in any given month 200 to 300 Cengage textbook titles being shared. The company sends notices to the sites, demanding that the files be removed and threatening legal action.

Textbook Torrents, a site that opened last year and was wholly dedicated to arranging peer-to-peer sharing of textbook files, closed without explanation this month. But other sites continue to rely upon similar technology for disseminating unauthorized copies of textbooks, facilitating the piece-by-piece movement of copies of files found on the computers of participants.

The Pirate Bay, which is based in Sweden, presents a devilishly fearless challenge to American textbook publishers. It describes itself as an anticopyright organization and offers music, movies, television shows and software, as well as e-books like textbooks not a single item of which, it boasts, has ever been removed at the request of a copyright owner.

When a copyright holder sends the Pirate Bay a removal request, the letter is posted on the site with a sarcastic response, like inquiring where an invoice should be sent for the costs of Web publishing and hosting services that Pirate Bay incurred when it posted the notice. I corresponded last week with Peter Sunde, a Pirate Bay founder, asking about evidence of greater interest in textbook titles. He said his site does not collect statistics about downloads because of privacy concerns, but generally, he said, the volume of e-book downloads had increased.

The textbook publishers have abundantly good reasons to promote e-books. When Cengage sells an e-book version of Organic Chemistry directly to students, for $109.99, it not only cuts out the middleman but also reduces the supply of used books at the end of the semester.

THE e-book is wrapped with digital rights management, which, history indicates, will be broken sooner or later. But as long as it does work, digital publishing with a subscription model is a much fairer basis for the business. Such an arrangement spreads revenue across multiple semesters, so it isnt the unfortunate few students in the first semester with a new edition who shoulder the bulk of the burden.

A one-semester e-book subscription does require a change in expectations. Students cannot sell their texts at the end of a course, so buying one cant be viewed as a short-term investment to be cashed out. But as students show no attachment to textbooks in any case, the loss of access after semesters end seems likely to go unlamented.

http://realitycheck.typepad.com/

July 20, 2008

Death of Free Internet is Imminent- Canada Will Be Test Case

In the last 15 years or so, as a society we have had access to more information than ever before in modern history because of the Internet. There are approximately 1 billion Internet users in the world and any one of these users can theoretically communicate in real time with any other on the planet.

The Internet has been the greatest technological achievement of the 20th century by far, and has been recognized as such by the global community. The free transfer of information, uncensored, unlimited and untainted, still seems to be a dream when you think about it. Whatever field that is mentioned- education, commerce, government, news, entertainment, politics and countless other areas- have been radically affected by the introduction of the Internet.

And mostly, it's good news, except when poor judgements are made and people are taken advantage of. Scrutiny and oversight are needed, especially where children are involved. However, when there are potential profits open to a corporation, the needs of society don't count.

Take the recent case in Canada with the behemoths, Telus and Rogers rolling out a charge for text messaging without any warning to the public. It was an arrogant and risky move for the telecommunications giants because it backfired. People actually used Internet technology to deliver a loud and clear message to these companies and that was to scrap the extra charge. The people used the power of the Internet against the big boys and the little guys won.

However, the issue of text messaging is just a tiny blip on the radar screens of Telus and another company, Bell Canada, the two largest Internet Service Providers (ISP'S) in Canada. Our country is being used as a test case to drastically change the delivery of Internet service forever. The change will be so radical that it has the potential to send us back to the horse and buggy days of information sharing and access.

In the upcoming weeks watch for a report in Time Magazine that will attempt to smooth over the rough edges of a diabolical plot by Bell Canada and Telus, to begin charging per site fees on most Internet sites. The plan is to convert the Internet into a cable-like system, where customers sign up for specific web sites, and then pay to visit sites beyond a cutoff point.

From my browsing (on the currently free Internet) I have discovered that the 'demise' of the free Internet is slated for 2010 in Canada, and two years later around the world. Canada is seen a good choice to implement such shameful and sinister changes, since Canadians are viewed as being laissez fair, politically uninformed and an easy target.

The corporate marauders will iron out the wrinkles in Canada and then spring the new, castrated version of the Internet on the rest of the world, probably with little fanfare, except for some dire warnings about the 'evil' of the Internet (free) and the CEO's spouting about 'safety and security'. These buzzwords usually work pretty well.

What will the Internet look like in Canada in 2010? I suspect that the ISP's will provide a "package" program as companies like Cogeco currently do. Customers will pay for a series of websites as they do now for their television stations. Television stations will be available on-line as part of these packages, which will make the networks happy since they have lost much of the younger market which are surfing and chatting on their computers in the evening. However, as is the case with cable television now, if you choose something that is not part of the package, you know what happens. You pay extra.

And this is where the Internet (free) as we know it will suffer almost immediate, economic strangulation. Thousands and thousands of Internet sites will not be part of the package so users will have to pay extra to visit those sites! In just an hour or two it is possible to easily visit 20-30 sites or more while looking for information. Just imagine how high these costs will be.

At present, the world condemns China because that country restricts certain websites. "They are undemocratic; they are removing people's freedom; they don't respect individual rights; they are censoring information, are some of the comments we hear. But what Bell Canada and Telus have planned for Canadians is much worse than that. They are planning the death of the Internet (free) as we know it, and I expect they'll be hardly a whimper from Canadians.

It's all part of the corporate plan for a New World Order and virtually a masterstroke that will lead to the creation of billions and billions of dollars of corporate profit at the expense of the working and middle classes. There are so many other implications as a result of these changes, far too many to elaborate on here.

Be aware that we will all lose our privacy because all websites will be tracked as part of the billing procedure, and we will be literally cut off from 90% of the information that we can access today. The little guys on the Net will fall likes flies; Bloggers and small website operators will die a quick death because people will not pay to go to their sites and read their pages. Ironically, the only medium that can save us is the one we are trying to save- the Internet (free).

This article will be posted on my Blog, www.realitycheck.typepad.com and I encourage people and groups to learn more about this issue. Canadians can keep the Internet free just as they kept text messaging free. Don't wait for the federal politicians. They will do nothing to help us.

I would welcome a letter to the editor of the Standard Freeholder from a spokesperson from Bell Canada or Telus telling me that I am absolutely wrong in what I have written, and that no such changes to the Internet are being planned, and that access to Internet sites will remain FREE in the years to come. In the meantime, I encourage all of you to write to the media, ask questions, phone the radio station, phone a friend, or think of something else to prevent what appears to me to be inevitable.

Maintaining Internet (free) access is the only way we have a chance at c****ating the global corporate takeover, the North American Union, and a long list of other deadly deeds that the elite in society have planned for us. Yesterday was too late in trying to protect our rights and freedoms. We must now redouble our efforts in order to give our children and grandchildren a fighting chance in the future.
080726055403_82.jpg
080726055509_82.02.jpg

Dr. Harry Reinstine has a 6th degree black belt in karate at age 82.

080726055509_82.02.jpg

Dr. Harry Reinstine has a 6th degree black belt in karate at age 82.

JACKSONVILLE, FL -- Retired surgeon Harry Reinstine started taking karate lessons at age 63. 19 years later, he's earned a 6th degree black belt at 82.

Dr. Reinstine practices about three days a week at Pak's Karate. He says that this hobby is great exercise.

To watch an interview with inspirational octogenarian, click on the video link on the right side of this screen.

©2008 First Coast News. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, rewritten, or redistributed.

Pregnant man Thomas Beatie unveils first baby photos

Wednesday, July 23rd 2008, 3:24 PM

The pregnant man is no longer pregnant ... and he's showing off his baby daughter to the world.

Thomas Beatie, 34, has released photos of his new daughter, Susan Juliette Beatie, to People magazine.

Beatie reportedly endured 40 hours of labor before a midwife delivered the baby naturally on July 3. And, after just four days at the hospital, the little one and her family were able to return home.

Beatie, who was born a woman but had surgery and gender reassignment which legally makes him male, decided to carry the child for his wife Nancy because she had a hysterectomy years before. However, Nancy is able to breastfeed the baby thanks to a process known as induced lactation.

Beatie says that he kept his reproductive rights because "wanting to have a biological child is neither a male nor female desire, but a human desire."

http://www.nydailynews.com/gossip/2008/07/23/2008-07-23_pregnant_man_thomas_beatie_unveils_first.html

WHATTS GOING ON??? WAT DO YOU THINK???
WOMAN TURN MAN BUT STILL WANT TO CARRY A CHILD?
MAD? OR ACCEPTABLE?
LEAVE A POST
THIS SHOULD B GOOD CANT WAIT TO HEAR WHAT YOU HAVE 2 SAY!!!!!!!

Man shoots his lawn mower

July 26, 2008
Started By alligcold14 Comments
Keith Walendowski told police he felt he had a right to shoot his mower.

MILWAUKEE, Wisconsin (AP) -- A 56-year-old Milwaukee man is accused of shooting his lawn mower because it wouldn't start.

Keith Walendowski has been charged with felony possession of a short-barreled shotgun or rifle and misdemeanor disorderly conduct while armed.

According to the criminal complaint, Walendowski says he was angry because his Lawn Boy wouldn't start Wednesday morning.

He told police: "I can do that, it's my lawn mower and my yard so I can shoot it if I want."

A woman who lives at Walendowski's house reported the incident. She says he was intoxicated.

Walendowski could face up to an $11,000 fine and six years and three months in prison if convicted.

whats your best t-pain track

April 2, 2008
Started By Gamepun4 Comments
whats your favorite t-pain song and why?

Truckback hauls music only

July 27, 2008
Started By Chabee3 Comments

Making music from the back of a truck seems like a notion straight out of a strange cartoon, but for the Locke brothers of Truckback Productions it's a regular day at work.

Based in the container of a former moving truck, the studio of Truckback Productions is a stationary wonder. Owned and operated by brothers, Steven, Andrew and Adrian Locke, Truckback Productions drove full force into dancehall at the end of 2007 with the 'Gearbox' rhythm, featuring Erup's Click Me Finga, Harry Toddler's Don't Run In and other hits.

Cement steps lead into the back of the truck where a small, but equipped office is situated, complete with a computer with high-speed Internet connection. Then it's into the largest room (where the air conditioning is on full blast), which looks into a small voicing room. A keyboard, equipment, computer and mixing devices are littered around the main room, with the signatures of a number of artistes all over the walls and ceiling.

In the voicing room is a microphone, drums, keyboards and other instruments, as the producers prefer to work with live instruments.

While the space might be small, according to Steven a whole band can hold in the studio at one time. However, he joked that the voicing would have to done at a later point due to space challenges.

It was the force of nature that inadvertently caused the development of Truckback Studio in 2004. Adrian tells The Sunday Gleaner "the actual studio got started in 2004. We were doing pre-production inside the house, my father had the truck. When Ivan came it blew off the roof of the studio, so we moved into the truck two days after." full-time producing

The idea of moving into the truck came from Steven, who had seen, while in the United States, bands that practised in trucks and confined spaces and he expanded the idea to apply to a studio. For the brothers, music was always an interest having learned to play from some of the top names in the business including Marjorie Whylie, Jon Williams and Mikey Fletcher, among others. Among the three they can play the keyboards, guitar and drums.

Steven started the Kaushon Band, which broke up, before he began producing full-time.

After doing a lot of work with Elephant Man in the early days of Truckback Studio the trio decided to spread its wings. It started off by building two rhythms, 'Train' and 'Mous Mous', that got some response on the radio, but really hit it big with 'Gearbox'. From the onset, Adrian knew there was something special about it.

"I felt that buzz in the early stages; I felt confident in it. Didn't know it was gonna blow di world, but knew it was a good rhythm. It was not until we put out Gearbox and got the buzz on the streets that we decided to stick to the evil we know, producing," he says.

Since Gearbox, the group has given all its rhythms truck allusions, including the 'cl**tch', featuring Capleton's Gimme Di Tings, Spragga's Inna Di Club and Monster Empire's Di Tings. Its latest rhythms are called 'Oleaxle' and 'Springblade'. It is currently working on the album for its artiste Baijie, after having successfully got Monster Empire off the ground and doing the majority of dancehall songs from Trinidadian artiste Bunji Garlin.

Truckback Productions prides itself on its originality, as it won't work with someone who has a song written already, but prefers to work with people who will build a song for its rhythms in order to ensure a 'new' sound. For the future the brothers see themselves at the top of the game, always releasing new music.

lclclclclc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GDMIfZemy2E&feature=related

-- Edited by Gangsta Natz at 23:44, 2008-06-06

-- Edited by Crazypickney at 23:46, 2008-06-06

Things did not turn out as planned for a man who attempted to break into a home in the Eastwood Park Gardens community of Kingston 10 on Friday morning.

The would-be robber was stopped in his tracks by a policeman, who happened to be present at the home. He was shot dead.

Reports are that about 3:30 am, the man who was attempting to enter the house through a window, was accosted by the policeman. The robber reportedly chopped at the officer, who backed away in order to escape the blow. The man reportedly kept advancing towards the policeman who then opened fire hitting him.

He was taken to the Kingston Public Hospital where he was pronounced dead. He has still not been identified.

A biology teacher in Brazil is being sued for asking students to masturbate for a class project.
The teacher asked three teenagers to provide sperm samples (in other words: masturbate) so the class could study sperm under the microscope.

One of the students told his parents about the incident. His shocked parents immediately notified the police.

A spokesman for the police said: "It is a disrespectful and bizarre thing to ask a student, we are all horrified."

The school, located in Campo Grande, Rio de Janeiro, says it's equally appalled by the biology teacher's behaviour.
July 16, 2008. ATHENS (Reuters) - Nine British women were facing prostitution charges after being arrested at the weekend for taking part in an oral sex competition in the Greek holiday island of Zakynthos, police said on Monday. Six British and six Greek men, including two bar owners, were also charged in the incident, which took place at Laganas beach in the south of the Ionian island, which lies off the west coast of mainland Greece, police said. The women, who came to the popular resort on holiday, had been paid to take part in the competition, which was video recorded and was to be posted on the Internet, police said. The men were charged with encouraging obscene behavior. In recent years, Laganas has established itself as one of Greece's most popular destinations for twenty-something holidaymakers and is known for its wild party scene. Around 15 million people -- a fifth of them British -- visit the eastern Mediterranean country each year, drawn by its soaring summer temperatures, azure waters and sandy beaches

A 24-year-old man was killed by a sexually aroused horse after he tried to calm the beast down.

Horse
The twenty-four year old polish man Robert R. was bitten to death after he tried to calm down his horse that was uncontrollably sexually aroused by a nearby mane.

While pulling a farm cart through the village, the horse became wild and started to buck.

An autopsy will reveal if the man died from a severed jugular vein or a spinal injury.

Sex Addiction

July 26, 2008
Started By alligcold0 Comments
Dear Pastor,

I am a guy of just 24 years old, not much life lived, but I feel like I have been living a long time because of the fact that I became a man too soon.

Play women like a game

I started out having sex at a very young age. I thought it was great that I could do that, but now I have a problem that I can't seem to get rid of. I can't find love, or should I say, I don't know how to love, or even if I can, I have become this person that only wants women for sex, and after I have got what I worked for, I keep moving on. I play women just like a game that I have played over and over again and know all the levels by heart, and they always fall for it.

Wanting new women

In high school, I had girls in all grades, while I was just in first form. I have left Jamaica and this problem has followed me even here. I met a woman, who has been there for me for a long time, and I know she really cares for me, but I just can't stop wanting more new women. I treat her nicely and make her feel special, but that is how I treat every woman I talk to.

Pastor, I am miserable. I am not able to have one woman that I can say is truly mine and be faithful to her, but I am not in denial that I am addicted to sex. But the problem is, pastor, I am addicted to sex and new women. Please, help me.

P.K., Nassau, Bahamas

Dear P.K.,

Men who believe that they are sex addicts should seek psychotherapy. They are not just having a physical problem, but a mental disorder.

I therefore suggest that if you are serious about getting help, you ask your doctor to refer you to someone, who can go through the long process of therapy with you.

I must add that in the USA, there are support groups for sex addicts. I do not know if there are such groups in the Bahamas.

Pastor

Man Buying 5 Kilos For $100K Shows Up With $200

Phillip Tramine Wilson
Nassau County Sheriff's Office booking photo of Phillip Tramine Wilson

A Jacksonville man who attempted to rip off 5 kilograms of cocaine from undercover members of the Drug Enforcement Administration narcotics task force was arrested on three felony charges, according to the Fernandina Beach Police Department.
Police said Phillip Tramine Wilson, 27, agreed to purchase the cocaine for $100,000, but showed up to make the buy with only about $200.
Fernandina Beach Capt. David Biship said that Wilson, a convicted felon, hoped to confuse the seller long enough to get away with the cocaine.

When the scheme failed, police said Wilson attempted to flee on foot. He was taken into custody within 30 seconds.
Wilson was charged with trafficking cocaine, possession of a firearm by a convicted felon and resisting officers without violence.
i think di sexiest girl in di world is pamela anderson and di ugliest is uuuu lol jus kidding mi nuh kno caz my eyes caah si ugly girls lol
every month a utility company takes reading from the meters of homeowners.The company then processes all the reading to calculate every homeowners monthly bill,prints the bill and post them.

A. State the name given to the type of processing that allows multiple tast to be processes as a group.

mi just want to know this answer cuz i put Multi-Tasking Processing?

June 23, 2008
Started By Atamic K1 Comments

-- Edited by Atamic K at 12:33, 2008-07-27
machel montano 2007 album do anyone have it?

plzz link with d link a need it

wats your fantasy T.V size

February 28, 2008
Started By DekaNo 2 Comments
wat T.V size do you want

CHUNE(S) ID

June 29, 2008
Started By gangstaras5851 Comments
ME DID A LISSEN ZJ CHROME PON ZIP FM AND ME HEAR HIM PLAY 2 CHUNE WEH ME NUH KNOW WHO SING

"LOVE WHEN HIM A BEAT IT BEAT IT"

AND DI NEXT ONE GO

"WALK OUT AND CALL YUH MAN NAMEEEEEEEEEE..GOODY GOOD"

WHO THESE 2 SONGS?

Babylon holding us to ransom for food in the future?: From Greenpeace

Will Food be their weapon of choice?

[More:]

A documentary
If you have access to ARTE tv, and have some free time Tuesday evening, then don't miss this important documentary: "The World According to Monsanto".

A groundbreaking TV documentary about the chemical and biotech industry giant, Monsanto, airs for the first time on pan-European television station ARTE, March 11 at 9pm.

Made by French filmmaker Marie-Monique Robin, winner of the 'Albert Londres' award for journalists, the documentary paints a grim picture of the world's biggest and most invasive chemical and biotech multination that will leave you feeling angry.

US-based Monsanto provides 90 percent of the world's GM seeds -- and seems set on gaining complete control of the world's seed and food markets. By aggressively buying up seed companies, Monsanto will ensure that natural seeds are replaced with their genetically modified crops.

Because Monsanto's seeds are patent protected, farmers will not only have to pay for their seeds, they will become dependent upon them -- beginning the slide into poverty and being exposed to the health impacts of agro-chemicals associated with Monsanto's GM crops.

Numerous health and environmental nightmares have been linked to the company. Marie-Monique Robin traces Monsanto's disastrous legacy; interviewing witnesses from around the globe, confronting government officials and GM promoters, and trying to speak with Monsanto bosses themselves. Monsanto, of course, refused to provide an interview.

Mark your diary: The full movie will be broadcasted on ARTE TV (in French and German) on Tuesday 11 March at 21:00.
* Further information and a preview video clip (in English)
* English language DVDs from the movie can be ordered from ARTE

130,000 people joined our cyberaction against GM crops in Europe. Commissioners know we are watching them. But massive pressure from the GM industry and the European Commission's President Barroso is threatening to let GMOs pass into Europe, to roll over Environment Commissioner Dimas' objections and our rights.

Thanks again,
Greenpeace GE campaign team

simple question after bruk out wednesday
rickross2.jpg
Incarcerated former drug kingpin Freeway Ricky Ross has decided to break his silence on the recent revelations into the past of the rapper that bears his name, Miami artist Rick Ross.

Since the rappers debut, many have wondered of a possible connection, since the artist not only bears the name of the former kingpin, but also sports a similar beard and cites stories of extensive drug and criminal activity in his rhymes.

Now that the rapper, real name William Roberts, has been confirmed to have worked as a correction officer, the original Ricky Ross tells AllHipHop.com that he attempted to steer his rap counterpart away from public embarra**ment.

After seeing all the stuff that has been going on with the Correctional Officer (William Roberts) that stole my name, [it] makes me think back to a year and a half ago when we spoke, Ross explained to AllHipHop.com. I tried to talk to him like a big brother and let him know to be you, and that he couldnt be me. And that if he wanted to rap the lifestyle that he couldnt frame it based on my life.

Roberts has repeatedly denied that he based his music persona on the real Ross criminal exploits.

Ross, who today regrets the actions that helped destroy his community and land him in prison, can only shake his head at the unnecessary predicament Roberts has put himself in.

How different his life would have been if he would have taken my advice, Ross reflected. You can fool some of the people some of the time, but you cant fool all the people all the time.

In the early and mid 80s, Ross controlled most of the Los Angeles drug trade, and had ties to the Iran-Contra scandal due to his suppliers.

In 1996 Ross was sentenced to life in prison for attempting to purchase over 100 kilos from a federal agent.

He successfully appealed and had his sentence reduced to 20 years.

Ross is scheduled to be released on August 13, 2010.

Is hip hop dying?

April 2, 2008
Started By Gamepun9 Comments
nas said that is hip hop is dead...alotta artist tend to disagree...wat do u think?

Is Jamaica Full of Hate ?

July 25, 2008
Started By kolonji10 Comments
With every country you have a problem that can be identified with that country as the main reason they wont progress. In America you will find racism killing that country, Brazil car b****ings, Iraq religious war, you get my point but what is Jamaica problem ? I feel we are a country of "crabs in di barrel" you have to remember we came up with the talk "badmind" so we knew what was the problem. I feel this is the 1 if not the main reason we as a country wont progress, even in my family you have "crab in di barrel" going on and even in the world cause black people refuse to unit and work together like whites, Jews, muslims, chineese and even cubans. Our country feeds off of not letting a next man prosper or you can be general blacks in the world dont like to see a next man make it e.g remember slave days they said house slaves was look at by field slaves as sell outs, why ? cause they came out the sun and could read a book. What do you think ?

FAVOURITE RIDDIM

March 31, 2008
Started By Pimping2 Comments
What is ur most favourite riddim
gunn

-- Edited by Dane at 20:58, 2008-07-14
IPB Image
While industry insiders are whining about the decay in traditional values in reggae music, dancehall youngbloods Kartel and Mavado keep upping the ante in their personal beef.Kartel recorded a single called Mofraudo last week in the wake of a pair of drive-by shooting incidents which were tentatively linked to the entertainers ongoing friction.

This latest song is a searing examination of Mavados personal life with abrasive lines such as Dis Kartel yuh ah go get murder like yuh father, real life war unnuh rather and oral sex references pertaining to Mavados babymother, Dahlia. There are also physical jibes relating to a scar in Mavados face and to the well-publicised incident where Mavados fingers were damaged during an altercation with members of the Constant Spring police.

However, perhaps the most damaging comment alleges recent infidelity by Mavados babymother. The lines go:
Wi chop man, wi nuh chop furniture
Di gyal yuh ah min' ah try mek her richer
She ah f---k one a my friend in your apartment, pon your bed under your picture

For his part, Mavado straight up disses Kartel as Mavado makes inferences to reasons behind Kartels parting of ways with long-time friend, Patrick Roach Samuels with the line, Roach ketch him a bow and stop par wid him
Mavado makes references to DAngel as being the instigator of the present rift shaking the industry through her use of black magic. The lines go:
Di same witch innah di kitchen
A season up di same oxtail and chicken
Ah must dat dem use trick him
Mek him sell out di don true him nyam

However, the most scathing diss is reserved for one of Kartels babymothers where Mavado deejays:
Up to the time, start war and come give yuh ****ing life up
...wid di suck ****y gyal yuh ah wife up

How far will these entertainers go in this feud? What is particularly depressing is that only a few months ago, the performers had recorded eight songs together, one of which was the ironically titled, Happiest Days.

In the meantime, rumours continue to crackle on the grapevine about these two marquis entertainers who are on top of their game. The problem is that given the high stakes involved in this feud, it is hard for anyone to back down first. And unless one side or the other blinks, the matter could end in bloodshed.

Boys' home scandal

July 25, 2008
Started By djruggz7 Comments

A pastor of a church in rural Jamaica, who is also a supervisor at a boys home, has been charged with 30 counts of buggery, allegedly committed against boys at the institution.

The accused, who was originally charged with one count of buggery, appeared in the Richmond Resident Magistrate's court on Wednesday.

It was during the proceedings that it was revealed that other incidents had allegedly taken place between the accused and other boys at the institution.

After investigations, the pastor was slapped with 29 additional charges by the St Mary police.

The St Mary police confirmed that a man has been arrested and charged in relation to the allegations of buggery against children at the home but could not provide details.
The police said the accused has been remanded in custody and will return to court next Wednesday, July 30.

When contacted, Rasheda St Juste, communications officer at the Child Development Agency (CDA), which has responsibility for children who are in need of care and protection, said the CDA was aware of the latest charges that have been laid against the supervisor.

St Juste said the supervisor had been under investigation since March 2008 when the CDA reported a case of sexual abuse of a ward of the state to the police.

"The incident, which took place at the facility in February 2008, was reported to us by the victim himself," St Juste said in an e-mail response. "The CDA simultaneously began an investigation into the matter and reported the incident to the Office of the Children's Registry, as well as the Centre for the Investigation of Sexual Offences and Child Abuse (CISOCA). The manager has been on suspension since March when we made the report to the police. He was subsequently arrested, charged and released on bail."

St Juste said the child in the first case has been reintegrated with his mother and is receiving treatment from the CDA's clinical psychologist.

«First  <  1389 390 391 392 393524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by