Dr Wei Sheng pierced his head with 2008 needles in a hotel room in Nanning, Southern China. The tips were in the colours of the Olympic ring
You've heard of thieves breaking into a home to steal jewellery, money, TVs, collectibles and cars - but a quick rinse?
That's what police in Wichita, Kansas are dealing with, after a bizarre robbery on Friday. A woman came home to find a real mess in her laundry room and went upstairs to call her absent husband. But as she reached for the phone, a stranger appeared from out of nowhere giving her the fright of her life.
Not only was the man an intruder, but he was half naked, wearing only a pair of blue boxer shorts. The streaking crook came upstairs from the basement, grabbed the woman's purse and bolted out the door.
Cops believe he simply needed a place to wash his clothes and broke in a window to get inside.
The breathless victim was shocked but it didn't take her long to recover. She chased the man for a short distance, forcing him to drop the purse and its contents, which she recovered.
And while he was able to sprint away and disappear, cops say the fact he didn't escape with her valuables, apparently took nothing else, and left his pants and a belt behind means only one thing - despite doing his laundry, it wasn't exactly a 'clean' getaway.
JACKSONVILLE, FL -- Someone smashed their way into a gun shop in Arlington and walked out with 21 guns.
The burglary happened at the Bullseye Gun & Pawn at Atlantic and University.
According to the store's owner, Jackie Miller, the thieves broke through the store's steel, roll-down door and smashed the glass front door.
They smashed in four display cases and selectively removed 23 guns. Two weapons were recovered at the scene. They did not steal any cash.
The thieves made off with several 9 mm pistols, a .50-caliber handgun, semiautomatic pistol, a pump action shotgun, two .38-caliber revolvers with pink pearl grips, and a number of other weapons.
The Magnum Research .50 Action Express Desert Eagle pistol was the most expensive taken--retailing above $1400. The .50 AE is a large caliber handgun with a six inch barrel. The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms labels the prototype of the pistol as a "destructive device," because of a bore larger than a half-inch, putting it in the same category as hand grenades. Subsequent makes have been below the half-inch barrier.
Miller tells First Coast News that this is the fourth time her gun shop has been burglarized in four years. However, the burglaries have never been this severe.
The store has a security system provided by IDS Alarm, including motion sensors. According to the police report, the alarm did not sound. IDS Alarm employees are working to find the problem.
Bullseye's gun shop has no video surveillance system.
If you have any information call our partner First Coast Crime Stoppers at 1-866-845-TIPS.
You'll remain anonymous and could receive a cash reward of up to $1,000 if your information leads to an arrest.
BEIJING Usain Bolt, the Jamaican sprinter who has crashed the international sprint scene this year, obliterated his own world record by winning the gold medal in the 100 meters in theatrical fashion Saturday night at the Beijing Olympics.
Starting in Lane 4, Bolt had an average start but blew away the field in the final 50 meters, spreading his arms with three strides to go and pounding his chest before crossing the line in 9.69 seconds. If he had held his form through the tape, he might have run under 9.6.
Richard Thompson, the N.C.A.A. champion from Louisiana State who competes for Trinidad and Tobago, finished second in 9.89 seconds. The American Walter Dix, who competed at Florida State, won bronze in 9.91.
Next for Bolt is the 200 meters, in which he will be even more of a prohibitive favorite. Carl Lewis was the last sprinter to win both the 100 and 200 in the same Games, at the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics.
Bolt had run the most impressive preliminary rounds and seemed the most relaxed and confident among the sprinters before the race, dancing around near the starting blocks.
With a body seemingly ill-suited for the blink-and-its-over 100-meter dash, the 6-foot-5 Bolt won track and fields marquee event in front of more than 90,000 fans at the Birds Nest, just 10 weeks removed from his breakthrough performance in New York City. On May 31, competing in the Reebok Grand Prix on Randalls Island, Bolt ran a 9.72, breaking Asafa Powells record of 9.74. Powell, also from Jamaica, was fifth Saturday night, in 9.95.
The mens 100 final was missing one of the top contenders, the American record holder and defending world champion Tyson Gay. He failed to advance out of his semifinal heat Saturday night, finishing fifth in 10.05 seconds and stealing the final of some of its anticipated luster. Gay finished behind Powell, Richard Thompson and Darvis Patton in the semifinal heat. Gays only chance at Olympic medals will be in the relays.
I dont really have any excuses, I just didnt make it, Gay said. My hamstring felt good. It didnt bother me. I wasnt too overwhelmed with this being the Olympics. Maybe I could have used some more training or more races but besides that, I was just trying to get my rhythm through each round.
Powell, 25, who held the world record from June 2005 until May, won his semifinal heat in 9.91. Bolt, 21, ran a 9.85 seconds despite slowing toward the end.
Bolts height makes him somewhat of an unlikely success in the 100, a burst that typically favors shorter, stockier runners. But he manages to reach blazing speed with unusual stride length and stride frequency.
The meet in New York in May was only the fifth time Bolt had run the 100 professionally, but he could boast two of the three fastest times ever. Although he was not yet an international star before 2008, Bolt has long been highly regarded in the track community. He won the world junior championship at 200 meters at age 15. He later was the first junior sprinter to break 20 seconds for the 200.
876radio.com has just received some exclusive information that Vybz Kartel is busy in the studio putting the final touches on his brand spanking new album set for release later this year. Last Saturday when 876radio.com interviewed Chimney Record Executive Jordon McClure aka 'Jordan' he gave us the low down on the project. According to Jordan the album will be called "Trailer Load A Money" and will feature fifteen (15) solid tracks executively produced by him. He said the tracks are all exclusive never before heard material and is sure to take the market by storm on it's released. The release date is set for October. Jordan and Hizzle two of the fastest rising producers in the industry are responsible for some of the biggest hits presently gracing the local and international airwaves including the Shooter Riddim, Soul Seeka Riddim and the most recent Heat Stroke Riddim one of their biggest singles to date is Vybz Kartels' 'Trailer Load A Money', when played garners some of the biggest forwards on the entertainment circuit. Chimney records is a joint venture between Jordan McClure and David Hayle both music lovers from a tender age who decided to pursue their dreams of becoming music producers. |
National Aquatics Centre, Beijing
Last night I watched Usain Bolt do the most remarkable thing I have ever witnessed.
I, like many around me, could only laugh when I saw Bolt's new 100m world record flash up on the scoreboard. I was laughing at the words-fail-me joy of it all.
This morning, I have just seen Michael Phelps claim his eighth gold medal of these Games and 14th of his career.
So which performance was better?
Stupid question, right? Yes, of course it is. But it's not going to stop me from posing it, just as it won't stop sports fans all over the world from debating it.
Comparisons may well be odious but they're also addictive and inevitable. We simply can't help it and, like Pringles, once you've popped 'em you just can't stop.
While the "Baltimore Bullet" lacks "Lightning Bolt's" sense of theatre, Phelps' record-breaking display was undeniably magnificent. And it's not his fault he couldn't coast to the wall, while smiling for the cameras and beating his chest - he was swimming the third leg.
But for me, Bolt's performance was the pick of the two. It had everything. I won't go over ground my colleague Tom has already covered, but I have never seen anything like that before.
Of course, it's not just one performance with Phelps, is it? You are really looking at the body of his work, in every sense.
Gold number eight - a lucky number here, in case you missed that - came in the 4x100m medley relay. The US has won this race at every Olympics it has contested, so for many pundits this gold was a "gimme".
But that was always being a tad dismissive of the Australians and Japanese, and Phelps himself never talks about a gold until it is around his neck.
As it happened, the race was a classic, and the 23-year-old phenomenon's part in it was decisive.
Swimming the butterfly leg, Phelps took off from the blocks in third place after superb breaststroke shifts from Japan's Kosuke Kitajima and Australian Brenton Rickard.
No matter. Phelps simply steamrollered the field as he did in all five of his individual wins apart, ironically, from the 100m butterfly.
His split was three-quarters of a second faster than the next best swimmer and a US victory was now in the capable hands of Jason Lezak, the man who kept the Phelps' record bid on track with a stunning final leg in the 4x100m freestyle.
And that was that. Cue richly deserved celebrations, massive grins and the Stars and Stripes for the 12th time in the Water Cube this week.
Did this, though, elevate Phelps to a new level? In beating Mark Spitz's 36-year-old record of seven golds from a single Games, was he now more than just the greatest swimmer of his generation?
For Spitz he is. The American legend had already crowned his successor before number eight was in the bag.
"He is the single greatest Olympic athlete of all time now," said Spitz, speaking to US television on Saturday.
"He will probably be the single greatest athlete compared to anybody in any century - the 20th, the 21st, whatever."
That's a big claim, as "whatever" is a very long time.
Phelps is certainly the greatest swimmer of all time. And he would be justified in being miffed if he doesn't get the world athlete of the year accolade when those gongs are handed out.
But is he really what Maurice Greene has tattooed on his shoulder - the Greatest Of All Time? How can you possibly define that? How can you compare the apples and pears of so many different sports and eras?
You can't. But it's not going to stop people trying.
I'm not going to attempt to come up with definitive criteria for judging this or suggest a list of candidates - I'll only forget something or somebody. I'll leave that to you.
What I will do, however, is suggest where the biggest problems will come in really nailing this down.
The first major head-scratcher is the barriers to entry for each sport. To put things crudely, far more people can aspire to running fast than swimming fast.
Rightly or wrongly, swimming is still, by and large, a middle-class sport done well by a few wealthy countries. Yes, there are exceptions to this and 21 different countries that did win medals in the pool in Beijing.
But the fact remains over half of the 96 medals on offer were won by Australia and the US. Throw in China, the rest of the G7 and Russia, and you're up to more than three-quarters.
There will be a far greater spread of medals in athletics.
Another way of looking at this is the availability of opportunities. Even in a wealthy country like the UK, there is a postcode lottery element to swimming success due to our shortage of 50m pools and the concentration of top-notch coaching around those pools.
And perhaps another way of looking at this is to compare Phelps' achievements to other dominant sportsmen and women in fields that require a high degree of coaching expertise and technical input.
Putting aside the inevitable "are they really sportsmen, though?" claims, Tiger Woods is as dominant in his sport as Phelps is in his (and will break all of golf's records before he's done), and Michael Schumacher was one helluva driver.
But can "athletes" like that ever really claim to the "greatest"? What they are doing is such a specific thing and is only open to a minority of the global population.
It's a tricky one, however, because you cannot completely dismiss the achievements of somebody from one of these more esoteric disciplines just because not everybody has had a turn. Phelps, Schumacher, Woods and many more besides could all still be the greatest.
But it's a difficult argument to make stick for most people, which is why the majority inevitably come back to more accessible sports.
And why whenever I'm asked for my greatest sportsman of all time, I usually say Diego Maradona. Who, strangely enough, is rumoured to be in town and desperate to meet Bolt.
Fair play to Phelps, though. Perhaps we should postpone this debate until he's done. He's not finished winning Olympic medals yet, and neither is Bolt.
SO PEOPLE WHO'S PERFORMANCE IS THE GREATEST PLSE DNT BE BIAS!!!
The WPC, 28, offers her services as a Ł100-an-hour escort on a website.
She was one of eight women and six men arrested by officers investigating prostitution and police corruption across Greater Manchester, Northumberland, Cleveland, Co Durham and the Scottish Borders.
The cop, a member of the Northumbria force, is one of the so-called Notorious Girls on a website run by Neil Lock and wife Natalie.
The WPC is believed to be a hazel-eyed brunette who features on the site with the working name Kelly but with her face blanked out.
A source said: It is amazing that a serving officer got mixed up in this. She must have known she was gambling with her career.
"If she is found guilty in a court or of an internal disciplinary offence then she is finished. She could never work as an officer again.
The site boasts: The Notorious Girls offer the finest value for money. Your satisfaction is guaranteed!!!
The girls pay Ł117.50 a week to be registered on the site.
Their charges range from Ł50 for half an hour to Ł1,650 for two girls for 24 hours.
Bentley-driving Mr Lock and his wife, both 27, live in a villa in Galashiels, Selkirkshire, with their two young children.
They insist they are not acting illegally. They claim payments to the escorts are for companionship only and anything else is a matter of choice between two or more consulting adults.
Northumbria Police said of the investigation: We can confirm that one of those arrested is a serving woman officer.
New York, Miami, Spanish Town, Atlanta, mi nah stop talk di tings dem, oonu haffi go obeah me. Mi no have no problem wid my self-esteem, what yu mean by breaking point? Mi nuh haffi hype, mi have money fi LEND. Claude Mills ah pay mi bills, and mi no fraida people because Kriq have the mattic weh never stick, and mi head back secure by A.K.A, diss one time and shot wi spray. Weh dem feel like? Big up mi real fans dem like Racquel, Spanish Town, Tee Tee, Candy, Missy, Jean T, Out and Bad, Zagga Zow and mi fashionista friend, Barbee**
BEENIE MAN SET TO GO ON EUROPEAN TOUR
Beenie Man is poised to embark on a major four-week tour of Europe this week, and will arguably be his biggest foray on the continent in his career. He will be doing quite a few festivals, including the world-famous Uppsala Festival in Sweden. He will be swinging through Toulouse, France, the state of Belgium, stops such as Hamburg, Chiemsee and Stuttgart in Germany and London, Birmingham, Bradford in England, as well as Lisbon, Portugal and Lecce In Italy. The Doctor ah show dem how fi do a dancehall tour and it wont be like Bounty Killer pap down tour that him do inna some small venues and without any band. No. Real tour we ah talk. Bands. Proper promotion. Press tents. Five star hotel. The whole nine yards.
JESUS AH COME FI HIM WORLD
When mi watch the news the other day and watch how the man chuck offa the building, something inside ah mi move. People, these are the wicked days . Mi get an email say ah baby born inna India with him hands dem clasp up and when dem operate and open him hand, dem see the words Jesus is Coming written in English in the child hand middle dem. The message was written in both hands. If that anno sign, mi no know what is.
FINAL SUPER TUESDAY PUSH
OK, so the Democratic presidential nomination race is drawing towards a close, and by the end of the week, Obama should wrap up this thing and turn his attention towards McCain. But what I cant get over is all the animosity from women. I had a big argument with my girlfriends last night about this, they are saying how could I support a black man over Hillary. I am like, bitch, shes WHITE. And furthermore, I feel it is kinda insulting for women and the media to believe I will automatically line up behind Hillary just because she happens to have two X chromosomes. That is not only insulting, it is sexist, too. Personally, I think Obama is the better candidate, Hillary just sounds a lot like the female version of George Bush with all her warmongering and promises to obliterate Iran. She could make a good vice president though but Obama would have to watch his back. A lot.
TO THE NEW YORK TIMES JRNLST
Well, how do I say this without appearing to be rude? Bitch, shut the #@$% up. I dont care what you wanna say about me, mi ting sort out, mi have a loyal fan base, mi have mi owna furniture, mi bed no de pon four block like some gal round ere. It stands to reason that if you are indeed a New York Times journalist, and reading my Jamaican articles, youre obviously the obligatory minority hiring at the company and youre not all that great, else you would have the time to be on one876 reading my s#$%^. Anyways, I think you just need to forget about this website and put your shoulder to the wheel working for the white man.
THE PEOPLE WAAN FI KNOW
When we ah go hear if Worldwise inna problem or not? Ah just pure whisperings, and no knowings.
Who is Malika Aroud, a 48-year-old Moroccan-born Belgian woman, who is rising through the ranks of Al Qaeda? What woulda happen if a woman ah run Al Qaeda?
Why Abena ah big up Yves Saint Laurent? Yes, the man did live wid a man name Pierre and we no condone dem living de, but the man did great in other ways and we big enough to recognise that.
How Benzly Hype is doing? Mi hear say the lungs dem a heal up and ting and everything criss like Royal.
Fresh out the lot with a brand new album project, veteran deejay Alley Cat is taking his music to the next level. Dancehall Knowledge Vol. 1 which was recently released by the savvy songwriter is boasting some uplifting and rebellious music something that Alley admits was deliberate. " Its inspiring with a little bit of rude bwoy touch but 95% reality based defending the struggles of the people, all songs except track 11 was created and written by me". - He told 876radio.com Alley Cat who has been working behind the scenes as a producer / artists says everything is in place to make the album a successful one. "The first video single has been out and has been doing well on RETV and CVMTV top ten countdown. Several radio stations has also been giving some great rotation and I'm not just talking locally but overseas as well. everyone who has hear the album has been giving me positive feedback for which I am grateful". As far as guest appearances goes Alley was quick to point out that they're would only be a handful."I have appearances by Red Square, Mitch, Fiona, Tenor Blue who comes all the way from Miami Florida and also new comers Badd Cash, East Coast and Scorpion". In giving his final word on the new project Alley promises anyone who hears Dancehall Knowledge Vol.1 that they will have nothing but high praises to sing. "The song are really good and will stick with the people, this is not a bubble gum album, this album is strong from start to finish and will seal and gain the respect of music critics everywhere". |
Zhang Zi Lin, Miss China and Miss World, with world record holder Usain Bolt at last week Tuesday's unveiling of Puma's new speed suit for the Jamaica Olympic team in Beijing, China. - Contributed
BEIJING, China
Usain Bolt, Jamaica's 100 metres world record holder, says despite the hype surrounding track and field's glamour event - the 100 metres - at the Beijing Olympics, his focus is not lost.
Bolt, who mixed patois (Jamaican Creole) with English while speaking to journalists after a training session at the stadium warm-up track yesterday, said he is just enjoying himself.
Asked about his preparation, Bolt replied: "Good so far, 'yu si weh mi a seh, mi just a train and a gwaan enjoy di thing'."
Regarding the conditions Bolt, who is the world record holder for the men's 100m at 9.72 seconds, said: "It is all right, the condition is neither hot nor humid, so it's all right for me."
Asked if he considered himself in top shape, Bolt smiled before saying: "I'd better be ... well, I am in good shape still."
American Tyson Gay, who along with Jamaica's Asafa Powell rank among Bolt's top contenders, told a press conference on Monday that "there is pressure on Bolt".
Gay noted: "He's a young guy and he likes to have fun. People are expecting him to win the gold medal. I'm in the (background), but I've had some good practices."
Gay also said it will take a timing inside the 9.7s to win, as he predicted a very fast 100m final.
Asked about Gay's thoughts, Bolt replied: "Mi nuh know. Pretty much ... I don't know, I can't tell. Hopefully I am in the best form of my life and just go out there, stay focused and run."
Bolt, who chases the sprint double - a feat if accomplished would be the first in Jamaica's history - says he is not worried.
"I don't put myself under pressure ... I am not worried (about anything)," said Bolt, who aims to become the first sprinter to achieve the Olympic double since American Carl Lewis in Los Angeles in 1984.
The 100m heats start on Friday with the final set for the following day (9:30 a.m. Saturday morning Ja time).
Wellesley and Jennifer Bolt, parents of Usain at home - Ricahrd Morais
WESTERN BUREAU
Former world-record holder, Asafa Powell will never beat the new holder - Usain Bolt.
At least that's what Bolt's mother Jennifer says. And as they say, mom knows best.
Mrs Bolt said her son is too focused and can manage the crowd, the criticism, the big occasions and, unlike Asafa, can never be intimidated by anyone.
"Bolt will beat him, there is no way Asafa can win," she said when THE STAR visited Bolt's family in Sherwood Content, Trelawny, yesterday. "Asafa (is) too nervous and that is what is failing him now."
She believes that when it comes to the big occasion, Asafa will crack under the pressure, but says her son is a survivor.
"He has gone through it before, so he knows what it feels like," Mrs Bolt explained.
Usain Bolt knocked 0.02 seconds off Powell's 9.74s to set his name in the record books Saturday night as the fastest man in the world.
His parents, and literally everyone in Sherwood Content, were elated.
Powell hailed Bolt's historic achievement yesterday but vowed that he would reclaim the world record. "I know I can run in the 9.6s," Powell said in a statement.
But Mrs Bolt advises that if Powell is harbouring thoughts of taking back the spotlight, it would be best for him to keep those thoughts to himself.
"Him must tek time and talk and don't say so mek anybody hear," she warns Powell. "Him have to keep it a secret, 'cause if Bolt know, Bolt will prepare for him."
The dressmaker says she is confident her son will win gold in the sprint double in the Beijing Olympics in August and at the World Championships next year.
Bolt's father, Wellesley, recalls the final moments before his son's record-breaking run.
"When the race false-start, I began to fret 'cause I know the weather condition was not one he was very comfortable with. When it started the second time, I heard that he had a good start then I hear, 'Gay is gaining', then 'Bolt is moving away'. I didn't hear the end of the race because I started screaming because I know he couldn't be caught."
William Knibb Memorial High School (WKMHS) Class Two 200m boys' finalist Davion Wint, who lives in the Trelawny district, said, "I am going to work harder knowing that my community member is the world record holder. It will make all of us at his past school work harder."
Usain's neighbour, George Lewin, said, "From he was growing I knew he had the spirit in him to do anything. We are proud of him."
Another neighbour, Beverley Farquharson, said: "From he was small him used to train, him used to run from here to Windsor and back (about a two-kilometre distance), the mountain and the breeze help him, we proud of him."
Trelawny Custos Roylan Barrett added to the avalanche of tributes.
"I was not feeling well and remembered about the race and turned to the BBC. Immediately I heard the news, I felt better, knowing that a young person from my parish can perform such a fantastic feat," Barrett said.
Usain at 10 years. - Contributed
Eight-year-old Usain and his sister Christine - Contributed
1. The shape of the galaxy
The galaxy we live in is called the Milky Way. It is shaped approximately like:
The Milky Way has four spiral arms radiating out from a central cluster of stars or "nucleus". Our solar system is located on one of the spiral arms, quite far from the center.
JACKSONVILLE, Fla. -- A Jacksonville man who admitted to police that he strangled and killed a puppy he had been asked to watch for the night was recently arrested.
Investigators with the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office said Jacob Lee strangled a dog to death because it had an accident in the house.
"The suspect lost it. He grabbed the dog and squeezed the life out of it -- literally," said JSO spokesman Ken Jefferson.
Police said the puppy didn't even belong to Lee. The pet's owner, who is on vacation, told Channel 4 by phone that her friend was watching the dog and it was that friend who left the dog with Lee.
The owner said the puppy was a female red-nosed pit bull that she only had for one week.
According to a police report, Lee admitted "the dog p***** on my bed," and then he went "ballistic killed the dog snapped its neck."
Police said Lee admitted he messed up and that he killed the dog in anger. They said he did so by squeezing its body.
"He literally just crushed the life out of the little puppy," Jefferson said.
Investigators said the dead puppy was discarded like trash. They said Lee put the puppy in a plastic bag, and then left it behind his house.
That's where investigators said they found the evidence to arrest Lee.
"Animal cruelty is a serious offense, up to the point where it's a third-degree felony. He could really spend sometime in jail," Jefferson said.
Lee remains in jail on animal cruelty charges. His bond has been set at $25,000.
|
Here's the official report: Two Northern California men and two Georgians say they've got a body, a photo and DNA evidence pertaining to the elusive forest-dwelling man-ape and that they'll reveal all at a press conference in Palo Alto, Calif., on Friday. We'll see how this one turns out... | |||
Jamaica Beverages recently answered Grange's call for financial support for skier Michael Kerr, shelling out US$65,000 towards his preparations for the Alpine and Freestyle ski competitions at the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver.
Grange also noted Jamaica Beverages' sponsorship of the Busta High Schools' Martial Arts League.
"I am aware that there is rapid growth in a number of the non-traditional sports and I am convinced that sport is a fantastic school of life that shows no gender bias. Sports speak to almost every aspect of our daily lives and to the codes and values that should guide our actions in society," the sports minister pointed out.
"Having the league in the schools is a good starting ground for any sport and we know sponsors are always on the lookout for success," she said.
Jamaica Beverages, through the foresight of general manager Paul Shoucair, has sponsored the c****ined team since 2004. The team is unbeaten in 34 international team-fighting bouts since.
The team defended its world team fighting title in Orlando in June, beating European champions Germany before facing Argentina, the world champions, in the final.
Jamaica enjoyed tremendous success at the Open. Fighters, drawn from Jamaica Taekwon-do, Rising Sun Karate and Ningen Martial Arts, returned from Orlando with a total 52 individual medals, in addition to the c****ined team's victory.
Jamaica's black belt seniors confirmed their class by adding 10 individual medals to the successful defence of their World Continental Team Fighting Championship.
Among the seniors, Wolmer's Boys' sixth-former Nicholas Dussard won that group's only individual gold medal, taking the lightweight points sparring event.
Jamaica's junior ranks continue to build a solid foundation, returning with 42 medals.
Grange said Jamaica's success at the US Open was further proof of the country's sporting prowess.
"The team's success is yet another indication of just how talented we Jamaicans are and also that we have an excellent martial arts programme here in Jamaica," she said.
Nine alleged murderers are among 21 policemen wanted for various criminal offences, who are on the run.
NEW YORK -- Horrified bystanders banded together to lift a 5-ton school bus off a pregnant woman pinned underneath, enabling doctors to save her son.
Donnette Sanz, 33, a traffic agent for the city police department, was pronounced dead Thursday, shortly after her baby's birth by an emergency Caesarean section. The 3-pound, 6-ounce boy was in critical condition.
Sanz was walking across a Bronx street around lunchtime Thursday when she was struck by a van that pushed her in front of the bus.
"I ran out of my house to join 10 people trying to lift up the bus," said Cheryl Brown, 47. "At first, we couldn't get it up, so then another 10 people ran over to help, and we got the bus up and the lady out."
The van's driver, Walter Walker, was arrested on charges of criminally negligent homicide and driving without a license, police said.
"My brakes went out," said Walker, 72. "The light turned red, and I couldn't stop. ... I tried to miss her."
Police Commissioner Raymond W. Kelly said Walker had 20 suspensions to his driver's license.
Mayor Michael Blo****erg met with Sanz's husband, Rafael, at nearby St. Barnabas Hospital.
"It's a terrible poignancy that Donnette's son's birthday will now coincide with the day his mother died," Blo****erg said in a statement.
Sanz's sister, Beverly, said the baby was named Sean Michael.
St. Barnabas Hospital spokesman Fred Winters said Friday that the baby, while still in critical condition, "shows some signs of improvement and is basically healthy."
A man is being divorced by his wife after his penis extension snapped off during sex.
Doctors in Voronezh, southern Russia, had fitted the special prosthetic when Grigory Toporov, 47, told them he didn't measure up to his wife's expectations in the bedroom.
But she was horrified when the extension broke off during a wild sex session.
"I told her I would get a new one but she wasn't having any of it. She said she was fed up with my failures in bed and wants a divorce," said Toporov.
why do men cheat? i always wonder and i always ask men the same question and wasnt able to get an answer. why do ya'll cheat? cause most men have a good girl that they respect but they still cheat so iw ant to know why ya'll cheat??????????????????????????????
Dr. Dennis J. Woods had written a book and screenplay entitled 'Love and Charity' the life of Ms. Louise Hunter who is the mother of 21 natural children, (18 living today) 61 grandkids, and 55 great-grandkids. I believe that this story needs to be heard around the world, and you can help by profiling this remarkable and inspirational story on News to me by Eric Lanford, Moring Exprss with Robin Meade, Larry King, Anderson Cooper, and Lou Dobbs. One of these shows need to book Dr. Woods and Ms. Hunter on the show for a live interview.