Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.
12 ppl dead in one day??????? in one place??? after 4pm???? clarity please

Business next door

August 18, 2008
Started By alligcold1 Comments
Dear Pastor,

I have a neighbour who is 25 years old. She has been my neighbour for the past six months. I don't even know where to start. She's the type of girl who pleases men for money and it doesn't take much. She does this anywhere she goes. She doesn't work because she thinks getting income this way is faster. She parties a lot because this is how she meets the men. She has a boyfriend who is younger and very abusive. He doesn't love her because he has another girlfriend who he loves and she knows about. She is the one who is taking care of this abuser. It doesn't matter how many times we tell her to leave him and get a proper job before something really bad happens to her, she doesn't listen.

Abusive

This girl has had the worst experiences with relationships. All of them have been abusive. Now she is easily threatened by the intelligence of other women especially when her man is communicating with them. The women could be her friends and she suddenly dislikes them and thinks they want to steal her man. She's a person who got raped by her former boyfriend. She aborted three children and she has a bad infection. She got a job and went only a day.

Pastor, please give me some advice to give her.

N. B., Kingston, Jamaica

Dear N. B.,

How do you know these things? You claim that you have been her neighbour for six months. Did this woman tell you all these things about herself?

You know what I am going to tell you. If you are speaking the truth, mind your own business.

Pastor

High Court blocks NCN from airing Olympics

E-mail Print PDF

default_court.jpg-$1M lawsuit filed against station

Local television station, WRHM Channel 7 and regional broadcast giant, Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC) yesterday secured an injunction in the High Court here blocking the National Communications Network (NCN) from broadcasting the current Olympic Games in Beijing, China.

The state-run station began airing the Olympics on Monday and continued yesterday. However, officials at the station said that the broadcast was only for a short period. CMC and WRHM have also filed a law suit against the state-owned television network seeking in excess of $1M in damages for what they deemed as the unlawful and willful interference of their property, copyright, contractual, constitutional and common-law rights acquired from NBC Universal and sold to WRHM for exclusive purpose. The injunction was granted by Justice, James Bovell-Drakes. In the court documents filed by Senior Counsel Rex Mc kay on behalf of WRHM and CMC, it was noted that CMC is the sole legal authority by US-based NBC to broadcast the games in English in the Caribbean. Guyana Times was told that after acquiring the rights, CMC offered the signal to several television networks in the Caribbean, including NCN. However, only WRHM took up the offer. This newspaper was told that at the time when NCN was approached, its principals said that the television station was busy preparing for the Caribbean Festival of Arts (CARIFESTA) and it could not handle the Olympics. According to reports, several other local television stations, including those based in Berbice, were also approached by WRHM to jointly air the Games, but they too turned down the offer, citing financial constraints. Programme Manager of NCN, Martin Goolsarran, said the main reason the station broadcast the games was for the people of Essequibo, Linden and Berbice to have a glimpse of this spectacular event which takes place once every four years. He said that they had been receiving a number of calls from residents of the outlying regions who only access NCN since the other television stations do not have signal extending there. We really wanted the people in Guyana to see it since WHRM have a limited coverage and they would not reach such areas.we discontinued the broadcast as soon as we got the call from CMC, Goolsarran commented. WRHM is said to have paid US$60,000 to broadcast the Games.

Wife not giving any

August 22, 2008
Dear Pastor,

I am writing to you because I would like your honest opinion. I have been married to a lady who lives in Canada.

I really love her. The problem is I am not working and she helps me with money when I need it. Lately, she has not been giving me anything. She told me that I am able-bodied and should find a job. Pastor, it's not that I don't want to work. The problem is I can't find a job. I told her that I have to have a contact in order to find a job. She thinks I am lazy.

The problem is I know if I was the one in Canada, I would not have a problem supporting my wife. She makes good money so I know that she can afford to help me out. I have told her that as soon as I come to Canada I will repay her for all her kindness. I mean her well and I'm not using her. I just want her to understand that a marriage is a two-way street and one should help the other when he/she is down. She told me that I am selfish and ignorant. I know that I'm not going to Canada to be lazy and I am not the kind of man to withhold money from my woman.

G., St Andrew, Jamaica

Dear G.,

Your wife is tired of supporting you and she believes that you are not doing enough to get a job. She believes that you are lazy. But, why worry? You know that you are not lazy. Life is just tough.

You will have to learn not to look to your wife for financial support. What she earns, is not yours and you should not give the impression that she should support you. Don't demand anything from your wife.

Pastor

Wireless electricity is here (almost)

August 22, 2008
Started By GA7 Comments
" Intel on Thursday showed off a wireless electric power system that analysts say could revolutionize modern life by freeing devices from transformers and wall outlets. "

"Electricity was sent wirelessly to a lamp on stage, lighting a 60 watt bulb that uses more power than a typical laptop computer.

Most importantly, the electricity was transmitted without zapping anything or anyone that got between the sending and receiving units."

Read

Reggae veteran Ripton Hylton, otherwise called Eek-A-Mouse was allegedly arrested on charges of kidnapping, rape and possession of cocaine and marijuana in North Carolina, USA.

The artiste was arrested on Sunday August 17 at 4 a.m. in Kill Devil Hill, North Carolina. When the STAR contacted Detective MK Moye of the Kill Devil Hill police department, the officer who arrested Mouse, he explained that the artiste, who he described as a 'nice man', was charged with first degree kidnapping of a female, second degree rape and possession of cocaine and marijuana.

Moye said he could not give further details on the arrest as the case was currently under investigation. Moye however stated that Eek-A-Mouse's bond was set at US$52,000 and he was being held at the Dare County Detention Center in North Carolina.

The last time Moye spoke to Eek-A-Mouse was on Monday morning. At the time of the interview yesterday, Moye said he was unsure whether Eek-A-Mouse had made bail.

Moye, also told the STAR that Eek-A-Mouse would have to return to North Carolina to appear for his trial.

When the STAR contacted the Dare County Detention Center, a sergeant there could not give information on the case. She said only the captain or major could disclose any information and they were absent at the time. She however revealed that Eek-A-Mouse was bonded out and was no longer detained at the facility.

A popular entertainment website, quoted Lt Gene Johnson of the Kill Devil Hill police department, as saying the singer allegedly kidnapped a 23-year-old woman, holding her against her will at an Outer Banks motel. Moye confirmed that the alleged victim was, in fact, a woman.

Eek-A-Mouse, known for his signature squeaky voice, rose to fame in Jamaica in 1980 with the hit single Wha Do Dem. That was followed by Modelling Queen, another hit single which appeared on his first album Bubble Up Yu Hip. Eek-A-Mouse ruled on the music scene for the next couple of years and toured extensively throughout the early 1990s.

He made a brief reappearance on the scene when he collaborated with Damian 'Junior Gong' Marley for the song Khaki Suit. The artiste has a home in Jamaica, but is also based in the United States and travels extensively. Efforts to contact Eek-A-Mouse proved futile up to press time.

vote for bolt

August 22, 2008
Started By kalongi5 Comments
6sknc3t.jpg

Learn origami (the art of paper folding) easily with this classic book.
This book is one of the most popular books in origami, but has been out of print for a long time.
Dont miss out on this RARE book!

Rapidshare:

http://rapidshare.com/files/138222932/Origami-4_RARE.rar

How to Study

July 14, 2008
Started By Mediazone Badman6 Comments
2nssupi.jpg

Now including a stress management unit as well as suggestions for the use of the computer to improve study skills, the 2nd edition of this widely used text is an essential tool for improving the basic organizational skills needed to be a successful student.

http://rapidshare.com/files/4872624/How_To_Study_2e.rar

The 48 Laws Of Power (E-BOOK)*-*

July 27, 2008
Started By Shem16 Comments
http://booksfirst.co.ke/images/48LawsOfPower.jpg

The 48 Laws of Power is a 1998 book by Robert Greene. The book shares thematic elements with Niccolň Machiavelli's The Prince and has been compared to Sun-Tzu's classic treatise The Art of War.

• Law 1 Never Outshine the Master
  • Law 2 Never put too Much Trust in Friends, Learn how to use Enemies
  • Law 3 Conceal your Intentions
  • Law 4 Always Say Less than Necessary
  • Law 5 So Much Depends on Reputation Guard it with your Life
  • Law 6 Court Attention at all Cost
  • Law 7 Get others to do the Work for you, but Always Take the Credit
  • Law 8 Make other People come to you use Bait if Necessary
  • Law 9 Win through your Actions, Never through Argument
  • Law 10 Infection: Avoid the Unhappy and Unlucky
  • Law 11 Learn to Keep People Dependent on You
  • Law 12 Use Selective Honesty and Generosity to Disarm your Victim
  • Law 13 When Asking for Help, Appeal to Peoples Self-Interest, Never to their Mercy or Gratitude
  • Law 14 Pose as a Friend, Work as a Spy
  • Law 15 Crush your Enemy Totally
  • Law 16 Use Absence to Increase Respect and Honor
  • Law 17 Keep Others in Suspended Terror: Cultivate an Air of Unpredictability
  • Law 18 Do Not Build Fortresses to Protect Yourself Isolation is Dangerous
  • Law 19 Know Who Youre Dealing with Do Not Offend the Wrong Person
  • Law 20 Do Not Commit to Anyone
  • Law 21 Play a *u*ker to Catch a *u*ker Seem Dumber than your Mark
  • Law 22 Use the Surrender Tactic: Transform Weakness into Power
  • Law 23 Concentrate Your Forces
  • Law 24 Play the Perfect Courtier
  • Law 25 Re-Create Yourself
  • Law 26 Keep Your Hands Clean
  • Law 27 Play on Peoples Need to Believe to Create a Cultlike Following
  • Law 28 Enter Action with Boldness
  • Law 29 Plan All the Way to the End
  • Law 30 Make your Accomplishments Seem Effortless
  • Law 31 Control the Options: Get Others to Play with the Cards you Deal
  • Law 32 Play to Peoples Fantasies
  • Law 33 Discover Each Mans Thumbscrew
  • Law 34 Be Royal in your Own Fashion: Act like a King to be treated like one
  • Law 35 Master the Art of Timing
  • Law 36 Disdain Things you cannot have: Ignoring them is the best Revenge
  • Law 37 Create Compelling Spectacles
  • Law 38 Think as you like but Behave like others
  • Law 39 Stir up Waters to Catch Fish
  • Law 40 Despise the Free Lunch
  • Law 41 Avoid Stepping into a Great Mans Shoes
  • Law 42 Strike the Shepherd and the Sheep will Scatter
  • Law 43 Work on the Hearts and Minds of Others
  • Law 44 Disarm and Infuriate with the Mirror Effect
  • Law 45 Preach the Need for Change, but Never Reform too much at Once
  • Law 46 Never appear too Perfect
  • Law 47 Do not go Past the Mark you Aimed for; In Victory, Learn when to Stop
  • Law 48 Assume Formlessness

Download
https://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h163/Jamaicanshem/beastmode-1.jpg
Talented runners are identified at a young age, and the national youth track-and-field championships, held each year around Easter, draw more than 35,000 people for four days to Kingston's National Stadium, the largest crowd for any youth athletics event anywhere in the world.
July 10, 2008. MediaTakeOut.com just caught wind that actor Will Smith told the UK magazine NOW that it is O.K. to have sex with someone other than your spouse - as long as your spouse is aware of it. Here's how the paper is reporting it:
Will Smith reckons its healthy to fancy other people when you're married and has no qualms telling his wife when he does.

The actor who tied the knot with Jada Pinkett Smith 11 years ago is determined to be honest about how he feels. Our perspective is, you dont avoid whats natural and youre going to be attracted to people, Will explains.

So sometimes we have the discussion: Wow, this or that girl is freaking gorgeous. Im not going to say anything to my buddies thats any different than what I say to my wife.

And Will, 39, reckons he'll tell Jada - and she'll tell him - if they ever feel the need to have sex with others. Each will say: 'Im not going to do it if you dont approve of it, he says.
Back in May, a fire, which was ruled supicious, destroyed 50s Long Island property.

50 Cent's ex Shaniqua Tompkins, has disclosed she's suing the actor/hip-hop star for $50 million dollars in damages resulting from a fire that destroyed the home she was living in with their son under 50 Cent's name.

Tompkins accused 50 Cent on TMZ cameras of setting the fire and "trying to have her killed". She has since filed a restraining order.

There wasnt a written contract but an expressed oral agreement, which is recognized in the New York courts, Catsandonis told a reporter. "They decided years ago that she was going to be the domestic partner, and she was going to provide the domestic services while he devoted all his time to becoming a Hip-Hop artist. Whatever profits he was able to achieve would be divided equally, and he had promised her and their son that they could live in the house. He breached that contract.

We are moving into the modern era where people are not getting married anymore but are common law husband and wife, he explains. Last month, a judge ordered 50 to not sell the fire-destroyed home and barred him from collecting the insurance proceeds until an arson investigation is completed.

Following Tompkins $50 million dollar lawsuit, the restraining order, and refusal to let the rapper see his 10 year old son, 50 countered with a $20 million dollar defamation and family court suit.

The NY State Supreme Court will hear arguments on July 15 regarding the insurance proceeds on the destroyed home.
Controversial Hip-Hop artist David Darnell Brown also known as Young Buck attempted suicide last night by taking an overdose of prescription pain pills, according to a Nashville Police Department report. A copy of the report is also attached. The former member of the gangster rap group Guerilla Unit, 27, was depressed and told cops that he was trying to harm himself, the report states. A female companion of the rapper told officers that Brown last week filled a prescription for 40 pain pills, but had only taken five of the pills up to yesterday. Brown told police that he had taken the balance of the pills last night. The woman, who has been identified as Lizzie Grubman, Brown's publicist, also told responding officers (RO/S) that she observed Brown(identified in the report as "comp," or complainant) put two pills in his mouth, which she tried to retrieve by placing her fingers in his mouth. He was treated at Metro Nashville General Hospital for a drug overdose. While the police document does not name Brown, Nashville media reports (including one from WTVF Channel 5, which broke the Brown story) have identified him as the "victim" referred to in the report. Early this morning, Police reported that Brown had been taken to a hospital emergency room after suffering an adverse reaction to painkillers.

HOT MESS - Lil Wayne A Coward

July 22, 2008
Started By steppz18 Comments
findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1682 Thank goodness the weekend is over and the rain gone wid it, because mi deh deh a seh wait is like we ago get a early hurricane, but thankfully fada GOD lift up him hand and decide fi spare we  ..anyways a Hot Mess we seh so mi not even ago itch wid it.

:: LIL' WAYNE A COWARD

People how dem American rapper bwoy deh can sing and chat bout weh dem do and who dem shoot and all these thing. Nuh Weezy mi hear inna song a seh him nuh fraid a 50 Cent and him come a Jamaica fi Sumfest a behave like some big gyal out a airport bout him want 100 feet clearance round him and nobody close to him. Yuh see when dem come a REAL country wid REAL badman, how all a dem fraidy fraidy. Suppose him did buck up all one a dem real badman deh from Flankers weh tek all three star ratchet and kill cow, him woulda piss up himself. Oonu really think seh him ago come back yahso fi Beenie show. Mi almost sure when him left Mobay him did a wear diapers. Big up Akon dem man deh nuh fraid a people see him all a dive inna crowd deh.

:: GRUNG GAD GET CROSS

What a way the Grung Gad hangle the big drinks company and di fish dem ova Sumfest, mi like how him big up Bruce for him 'Not In My Cabinet' stance. Lawd, Saturday night mi see him inna QUAD mi nuh know if him did still bex after the boo, but whosoever trouble him mi sorry fi dem, cause him bodyguard dem lock off the two bathroom and him deh pon him phone a shout seh "hey gyal yuh nuh hear weh mi seh, yuh wait till mi reach home".... wooieeee, all I can seh is 'Kuff Kaff Kweff'...

:: ALLIANCE AH GO HARD

How the whole Alliance a guh so hard, everybody a drop album faster than how you can load a town bus. Mi think Busy album ago shot but Mavado might edge him out. Talking bout Alliance yuh nuh see Monsta Twinz jump inna the war and a tell Kipo seh him fi come outta it cause him only have strength fi weak fence, why him neva jump inna it when a Beenie and Bounty or Kartel and Bounty, but the answa is very simple duppy know who fi frighten.

:: QUESTION TIME

- Wah really gwaan dung a Gun Court mek dem haffi tear gas di prisoner dem and so much Police, Soldier and helicopter haffi invade di place?

- Why Kartel use recorded tracks instead of a live band dung a Sumfest, him outfit did sell of duh?

- Wah di sweety lady from Cum Video Me a duh now since dem pull har off di air?

Mini-Me Sex Tape...:lol: :rofl:

June 26, 2008
Started By Garrick41 Comments
Come on, you know you wanna watch ...
Play video
Yes, that's Mini-Me Verne Troyer in a sex tape shot with his former live-in girlfriend at the couple's apartment. A third party has snatched up the tape and although no deal has been made, we hear dealer Kevin Blatt, who brokered the deal for Paris' video, is entertaining a $100k offer from SugarDVD to distribute the nastiness. We would have thought the tape was worth at least ONE BILLION DOLLARS.

A rep for Troyer could not be reached for comment.
Ronaldo Turns Down Hilton Move
Cristiano Ronaldo has allegedly turned down not Real Madrid or Manchester United, but none other than Paris Hilton!

* »Comments (91)
* Print This Story
* Send To A Friend
* Contact Us

Ronaldo Turns Down Hilton Move
galleria zoom

The Portuguese footballer is currently single after breaking up with his girlfriend, Spanish top model Nereida Gallardo, according to news daily 24 Horas.

Ronaldo - currently on a business trip in Los Angeles - was spotted at voguish Hollywood club Villa, where celebutante Hilton apparently made a move for him.

"Paris was all over him. The moment he arrived, she went over to his private table," a source told Daily Mail.

"At one point, she pushed her chest together and made a point of trying to snuggle up against him. But Ronaldo clearly wasn't interested in Paris. He turned his back on her.

"Every girl in the club was checking him out but Paris couldn't take her eyes off him.You could tell he enjoyed the attention but he didn't really want anything to do with any of the girls.

"He just sipped vodka soda in the corner of the club with his friends."

Ronaldo is currently recovering from an ankle surgery which will keep him on the sidelines for a period of three months.

The streets are buzzing with talk that Vybz Kartel and the Portmore Empire have rekindled animosities with Mavado on a new single called Weh Dem a Go on the Day Rave riddim. Mavado's song is called Real Killa.

It sounds like a diss song because it is a counteraction to Mavados song on the same riddim, sort of what they did on the Daybreak Riddim. The streets love it, dem play it at a dance in the country and the place buss wid the tunes dem. This new yute Jah Vinci ah go dun the place, one Portmore Empire insider told one876entertainment.com

javinchi.JPGJah Vinci, formerly a member of 357 Records, is the newest member of the Portmore Empire. In the past he recorded c****ination singles with Anthony B and T.O.K. but now it appears that he is ready to go into the big times since hooking up with the Empire. He has recorded a slew of songs with Vybz Kartel and his sick, signature vocals have been creating a buzz in the Dancehall Game. The kid, whose real name is Andre Rhoden, is a beast.

Jah Vinchi ah go come tek the place, dog. Him sick, him have a new sound that ah go rock Jamaica, Vybz Kartel said of Jah Vinci.

Jah Vinchi sings in his distinctive voice: dem shoulda memba say the askella spray/where dem a go wid dem Chiney K?

Kartel chimes in with ah deadly reminder: 'mi get rifle ah USA'. And The Teacha's sick rhymes like: from mi small, mi skin cat and kill dawg/p--hole, yu coulda thick like Bling Dawg/mi ah go rise up the rifle dem from Big Yard.

In his response, Mavado promises that he will 'kill them without chorus', and says that rifle shot ah bite like dem bees.

Jah Vinchi was inspired to get involved in the music business after his brother died tragically. He was a member of a church at the time of his brothers death, but found himself trying to make sense of the awful tragedy by writing gospel songs, but the pain lingered still.

But now that this young man is out, the world better pay attention. He is hungry and the latest protégé of The Teacha himself, Vybz Kartel. Jah Vinchi plans to paint the world in the colours from his palette and there isn t a damn thing anybody can do about it. Now you know.

ShockingBREAKING NEWS: MAVADO TO REPRESENT JAMAICA AT OLYMPICS!!!

In sports news, 26-year-old Jamaican entertainer David Brooks, more popularly known as Mavado, will be representing Jamaica at next year's Beijing Olympics. The singer is preparing to compete in several swimming and diving events, and is heavily favoured to medal in the 50m men's freestyle. When contacted, Brooks said he was looking forward to the experience. We recently travelled to the community of Cassava Piece to speak with Brooks about his preparations for Beijing, starting off by asking how he first discovered his aquatic talents.

"Anyway, yu waan seet, mi neva even too use to penny butterfly an backstroke an dem ting deh, but one night mi an some bredrin deh pon di endz a reason an mi a gi Foota Hype a facial afta mi jus dun trim him, an as mi bout fi buss couple pimple pon him face mi jus guh suh boop an decide fi tek a nice refreshing dip inna di gully, yu zi mi. Gangsta for life. Cassava Piece, Cuban."

When asked to elaborate on what exactly prompted him to go swimming that night, Brooks declined to comment, stating only that "Anyway, a nuh nuttn too deep, more time mi jus look pon di gully an it jus look cool an inviting suh mi jus decide fi jump een da nite deh, yeh. Gangsta for life. Real McKoy."

At that moment, a passing car drove over an empty juice box in the road, causing a loud explosion. This was immediately followed by a splash in the adjoining gully. After the vehicle had moved off and the commotion was over, we turned back to our subject to continue our interview, but found that he had quickly returned to training and had already swum quite a far way off.

"Anyway," he shouted up to us on the gully-side in between strokes, "mi jus did memba seh mi need fi practise mi diving, sorry bout dat. Mi a tek few dozen laps an den guh towel off. Likkle more. Gangsta for life."

We bade him goodbye and wished him good luck in his athletic endeavours before leaving him to continue his training. It has not yet been verified if his Alliance colleague Busy Signal will be representing Jamaica in the marathon events, after setting the national cross-country record from Portmore to Kingston in December 26 of last year. More on this story as it develops.

dehyapondigullysidefv5.jpg
Brooks takes a break in the middle of a rigorous training regimen.

chuckoffrx1.jpg
Brooks, on the advice of friend Adidjah Palmer, practices diving. Below but not pictured is Brooks' mother Elizabeth Gordon.

-- Edited by STAINLESS at 19:36, 2007-11-17

Nikki Z and Mavado?

June 29, 2007
Started By CALOSS36 Comments
nikkizal2.jpg
Many persons in and around the Jamaican entertainment industry have been speculating about a possible relationship between dancehall singer Mavado and entertainment personality, Nikki Z for some time now.

When One876Entertainment.com contacted Nikki Z and asked her if there were any truth to the rumours she told us, Well, honestly when there is something to say... but right now all there is to it is he is someone I rate, admire and love very much but as far as reality goes he is committed to his work and so am I.

He and I are free to do as we please... but if there ever happens to be more I don't think I would let the public know until the wedding date, she laughed.

She went on to say that publicizing a possible relationship wouldnt be the best thing to do, Relationships are hard enough in the public eye but as friends I know he is someone I can count on.

NIKKY Z A PROUD MOTHER
We also recently received an email about Nikki Z hiding the fact that she has a child and not bigging him up she responded to that comment saying, I don't bring my child into my work because of private issues... My son gets his big up in the flesh... I am not sure what me saying his name on air has anything to do with anything.

My job is entertainment news I don't find my son to be entertainment... that is more personal.... but yes my son is nine and attends school overseas, she told One876Entertainment.com.

When not riding the airwaves on Zip Fm, Nikki Z can be seen on HYPE TV hosting a few shows or at entertainment scenes across the island.

Rihanna Fires Manager: Partying with the last $20,000 in the Bank (?)

Rihanna fired her business manager Patricia Williams after discovering there was only $20,000 in her bank account. Rihanna accused Williams of stealing (a lot of) money from her.

Thats the rumor thats smoldering like a West coast brush fire. Its been posted on message boards and various blogs. Page Six is the supposed source of the story, but I didnt see it on the NY Posts site.
Maybe like those brush fires, a quick call from a publicist splashed water on the story to keep it from blazing out of control.

Its the detail that makes this ring true..

But remember, this is one of those.. word on the street things.

Rihannas now ex-business manager Patricia Williams has been recently fired as she says for no good reason, all in ignorance and is livid with Rihanna & her management company Rebel Ones decision to fire her. Rihanna recently met with Willliams to check on her accounting affairs and was shocked to see that almost all her money was missing.

She instantly accused Williams of stealing her money.

Patricia Williams speaks..

Im a professional Business Manager, I have a staff of more than a dozen, I have worked for many high profile actors, musicians and multi-million dollar corporations. Why would I steal from Rihanna? I showed her all the paperwork and tried to explain to her the circumstances but she wouldnt listen. She called me all sorts of horrible names and stormed off. I now feel compelled to share with the world the background story as I will not allow my name to be slandered

The Barbados born singer has had four back-to-back albums, including a re-release since her debut of Pon De Replay in 2005. According to Willliams, Marc Jordan, manager and owner of Rebel One Management has been taking care of Rihannas financial situation with her.

Def Jam doesnt fund Rihanna properly, so Marc uses the money Rihanna makes from third-party endorsements and from tours to fund her album and music videos.

Since 2005, Rihanna has been sponsored by the likes of JC Penny, Samsung, CoverGirl, Secret, Venus Breeze etc, and has gone on two major tours, most recently label-mate Kanye Wests Glow in the Dark Tour and with p*u**yy Cat Dolls across Europe. I dont want to disrespect Marcs name. He is a fantastic manager and genuinely believes in Rihanna. But he uses her money to fund her future projects because he believes he can break her in the world-market. Her album sales are not nearly as close to her single sales and he knows that if she is only known as a singles artist she will only be as good as her last hit. Unfortunately, he didnt inform his client and Im receiving the brunt of it.

Her record label Def Jam has put out 3 albums in a time span of 2 years. A lot of that was orchestrated through her management Rebel One. It was never Def Jams intention to release so many albums back-to-back but Marc Jordan found loop holes and ways to make it happen.
A lot of the money Rihanna made was through her endorsements between CoverGirl cosmetics, Samsung.. Notice that majority of Rihannas videos have a cell phone in it?

After the release of Rihanna and Teairra Mari, Def Jam had the intention to drop both acts because their album sales were not successful. Her manager fought to get S.O.S (Rescue Me) and quickly tried to negotiate with as many companies as possible. Nike picked up the song and funded a video.

This brought the hype back for Rihanna in the companys New York office. The majority of the official S.O.S video was funded by Samsung because the record label was only willing to put up a small amount. Once S.O.S picked up digitally and at radio, Def Jam agreed to fund the rest of her album. Jordan instantly got a video shot to Unfaithful (he negotiated with video director Anthony Mandler to drop his price and would be given more videos from Rihanna in return).

Then they shot We Ride which was an extremely cheap video to create. Break It Off was released as a third album, but again, Def Jam was unhappy with the sales of her album A Girl Like Me and refused to shoot a video.

At this point Rihanna was opening up for the p*u**yy Cat Dolls in Europe. She was making 30,000 a show but she didnt see any of that money because it was needed to fund her next album. Which is now known to the greater public as a Good Girl Gone Bad.

The song Umbrella was found & Jordan fought again for Rihanna to have it. They shot the video, which CoverGirl funded half of, and the song became a success. When the record label had their meeting with Music Stores across the U.S to order her album for shipment, the numbers werent coming in the way that they expected.

When the albums first week numbers came in at less than 150,000, the label was shocked. Def Jams President LA Reid was livid! Umbrella was #1 for 11 weeks! Any other artist would have sold way more first week. T-Pain even did better in sales than her that week. Def Jam told Jordan they were no longer funding the album, so Jordan needed money again to pay for music videos Shut Up & Drive and Dont Stop The Music. Almost 250,000 was spent to have those videos created. Plus, an additional 120,000 to shoot Hate That I Love You.

Jordan was noticing that Dont Stop The Music was picking up, so he persuaded the label to support it at radio in the U.S and the remaining singles, and they did. Then came for the repackaging of her album Good Girl Gone Bad, which is called Good Girl Gone Bad: Reloaded, that entire project was funded through Rihannas money.

Take A Bow was bought through her money, the video was created with her money and so is her most recent video and single Disturbia. The label didnt even want to pay a dime for anything! Close to 750,000 was spent on those two songs alone. And now she expects to see money in her account?

Williams states that Jordan, her publicist from well-respected public relations firm 42-West, Alicia Silverman has built alot of hype around Rihannas name but the singer has only made a little bit above a million and all of it was spent on making her as big as she is now.

Its not my fault that she only has 20,000 to her name.

: Partying with the last $20,000 in the Bank (?)
Rihanna fired her business manager Patricia Williams after discovering there was only $20,000 in her bank account. Rihanna accused Williams of stealing (a lot of) money from her.

Thats the rumor thats smoldering like a West coast brush fire. Its been posted on message boards and various blogs. Page Six is the supposed source of the story, but I didnt see it on the NY Posts site.
Maybe like those brush fires, a quick call from a publicist splashed water on the story to keep it from blazing out of control.

Its the detail that makes this ring true..

But remember, this is one of those.. word on the street things.

Rihannas now ex-business manager Patricia Williams has been recently fired as she says for no good reason, all in ignorance and is livid with Rihanna & her management company Rebel Ones decision to fire her. Rihanna recently met with Willliams to check on her accounting affairs and was shocked to see that almost all her money was missing.

She instantly accused Williams of stealing her money.

PATRICIA WILLIAMS SPEAKS: 

Im a professional Business Manager, I have a staff of more than a dozen, I have worked for many high profile actors, musicians and multi-million dollar corporations. Why would I steal from Rihanna? I showed her all the paperwork and tried to explain to her the circumstances but she wouldnt listen. She called me all sorts of horrible names and stormed off. I now feel compelled to share with the world the background story as I will not allow my name to be slandered

The Barbados born singer has had four back-to-back albums, including a re-release since her debut of Pon De Replay in 2005. According to Willliams, Marc Jordan, manager and owner of Rebel One Management has been taking care of Rihannas financial situation with her.

Def Jam doesnt fund Rihanna properly, so Marc uses the money Rihanna makes from third-party endorsements and from tours to fund her album and music videos.

Since 2005, Rihanna has been sponsored by the likes of JC Penny, Samsung, CoverGirl, Secret, Venus Breeze etc, and has gone on two major tours, most recently label-mate Kanye Wests Glow in the Dark Tour and with p*u**yy Cat Dolls across Europe. I dont want to disrespect Marcs name. He is a fantastic manager and genuinely believes in Rihanna. But he uses her money to fund her future projects because he believes he can break her in the world-market. Her album sales are not nearly as close to her single sales and he knows that if she is only known as a singles artist she will only be as good as her last hit. Unfortunately, he didnt inform his client and Im receiving the brunt of it.

Her record label Def Jam has put out 3 albums in a time span of 2 years. A lot of that was orchestrated through her management Rebel One. It was never Def Jams intention to release so many albums back-to-back but Marc Jordan found loop holes and ways to make it happen.
A lot of the money Rihanna made was through her endorsements between CoverGirl cosmetics, Samsung.. Notice that majority of Rihannas videos have a cell phone in it?

After the release of Rihanna and Teairra Mari, Def Jam had the intention to drop both acts because their album sales were not successful. Her manager fought to get S.O.S (Rescue Me) and quickly tried to negotiate with as many companies as possible. Nike picked up the song and funded a video.

This brought the hype back for Rihanna in the companys New York office. The majority of the official S.O.S video was funded by Samsung because the record label was only willing to put up a small amount. Once S.O.S picked up digitally and at radio, Def Jam agreed to fund the rest of her album. Jordan instantly got a video shot to Unfaithful (he negotiated with video director Anthony Mandler to drop his price and would be given more videos from Rihanna in return).

Then they shot We Ride which was an extremely cheap video to create. Break It Off was released as a third album, but again, Def Jam was unhappy with the sales of her album A Girl Like Me and refused to shoot a video.

At this point Rihanna was opening up for the p*u**yy Cat Dolls in Europe. She was making 30,000 a show but she didnt see any of that money because it was needed to fund her next album. Which is now known to the greater public as a Good Girl Gone Bad.

The song Umbrella was found & Jordan fought again for Rihanna to have it. They shot the video, which CoverGirl funded half of, and the song became a success. When the record label had their meeting with Music Stores across the U.S to order her album for shipment, the numbers werent coming in the way that they expected.

When the albums first week numbers came in at less than 150,000, the label was shocked. Def Jams President LA Reid was livid! Umbrella was #1 for 11 weeks! Any other artist would have sold way more first week. T-Pain even did better in sales than her that week. Def Jam told Jordan they were no longer funding the album, so Jordan needed money again to pay for music videos Shut Up & Drive and Dont Stop The Music. Almost 250,000 was spent to have those videos created. Plus, an additional 120,000 to shoot Hate That I Love You.

Jordan was noticing that Dont Stop The Music was picking up, so he persuaded the label to support it at radio in the U.S and the remaining singles, and they did. Then came for the repackaging of her album Good Girl Gone Bad, which is called Good Girl Gone Bad: Reloaded, that entire project was funded through Rihannas money.

Take A Bow was bought through her money, the video was created with her money and so is her most recent video and single Disturbia. The label didnt even want to pay a dime for anything! Close to 750,000 was spent on those two songs alone. And now she expects to see money in her account?

Williams states that Jordan, her publicist from well-respected public relations firm 42-West, Alicia Silverman has built alot of hype around Rihannas name but the singer has only made a little bit above a million and all of it was spent on making her as big as she is now.

Its not my fault that she only has 20,000 to her name.
"A Cuban taekwondo athlete and his coach were banned for life
after Angel Matos kicked the referee in the face following his bronze-medal
match disqualification.

Cuban coach Leudis Gonzalez offered no apology for Matos actions during the
mens over-80 kg (176 pounds) match."

Read

"A 27-year-old Egyptian woman gave birth to septuplets early Saturday in the coastal city of Alexandria, family members and the hospital director said."

Read...

-- Edited by MZJA at 16:20, 2008-08-22
Once again, a war of words between Vybz Kartel and Mavado is brewing in the dancehall even amid all the euphoria that surrounds the phenomenal achievements in this years Olympics by Jamaican athletes.

[youtube=Once again, a war of words between Vybz Kartel and Mavado is brewing in the dancehall even amid all the euphoria that surrounds the phenomenal achievements in this years Olympics by Jamaican athletes. According to industry insiders, Mavado started the war when he voiced Dem a Fag on Cordel Skatta Burrells microwaved rhythm, Karate, which is now called the Self Defence. Mavado, in his diss song, makes references to Kartels tattoos and takes umbrage with a well-known Kartel about not wanting to know God. In the song, Mavado spits: him say dem a fag, ah man alone nuh waan know God, well bleach out and full a tattoo like Rod. However, Kartels response, Weh Dat Fah is brilliantly caustic and delivered with chest-thumping swagger and fury, and the listener is immediately keyed into the head-knocking intensity of the track. He drops a kicker of a chorus where he reveals that he is having sex with Mavados mother while repeatedly asking 'wah dat fah?'; and for the umpteenth time, makes references to Mavados homosexual brother. He questions Mavados street credentials and calls him a community barber, draws attention to Mavados potentially blasphemous title, Gully Gadd, and declares that Selassie is my Emperor. Industry insiders said that Kartel had voiced a song called 'Send a Hell' before Mavado had voiced. Efforts to get a comment from either artiste proved futile. ]

According to industry insiders, Mavado started the war when he voiced Dem a Fag on Cordel Skatta Burrells microwaved rhythm, Karate, which is now called the Self Defence. Mavado, in his diss song, makes references to Kartels tattoos and takes umbrage with a well-known Kartel about not wanting to know God. In the song, Mavado spits: him say dem a fag, ah man alone nuh waan know God, well bleach out and full a tattoo like Rod.

However, Kartels response, Weh Dat Fah is brilliantly caustic and delivered with chest-thumping swagger and fury, and the listener is immediately keyed into the head-knocking intensity of the track. He drops a kicker of a chorus where he reveals that he is having  sex with Mavados mother while repeatedly asking 'wah dat fah?'; and for the umpteenth time,  makes references to Mavados homosexual brother. He questions Mavados street credentials and calls him a community barber, draws attention to Mavados potentially blasphemous title, Gully Gadd, and declares that Selassie is my Emperor. Industry insiders said that Kartel had voiced a song called 'Send a Hell' before Mavado had voiced.

Efforts to get a comment from either artiste proved futile.

The War Hot!!! ( Kartel & Vado )

August 22, 2008
Started By Thug Lord0 Comments
Di war hot cuz mi did hear seh Jeffery Hype bounce Mavado range rover and den him guh ova constant spring station and Jeffery Hype get hype i guess thats why he got that name lol but foota and  some gully thugz fawud and beat him down ova the station infront a sum police. (Big Man Thing) Then Kartel did a speed and police carry him ova the same station at constant spring suh a bare thingz ova di station. Bare noise and cussin. Real Stuff, hear this tune weh mavado seh him box ova kartel ova the station.>>>>>>

Listen:

http://www.imeem.com/people/kWj-w2/music/E_ND5IHX/katel_and_mavado_david_vs_the_emperor_kartel_vs_mavado_ptfe/

'GAYS DIDN'T STOP MY TOUR'

Teino Evans, Entertainment Coordinator

STARCover_1_PEVH2BOUNTYIM.jpg
Rodney 'Bounty Killer' Price

(The following is the first of a three-part interview done with Bounty Killer. Look out for part two and three on Thursday and Friday.)

A cross and angry Rodney 'Bounty Killer' Price spoke out for the first time about his recent European tour that saw three shows being cancelled ,allegedly because of gay activist groups.

It was reported that gay human rights groups had coordinated a European-wide campaign to halt Bounty's Deadly Alliance tour of the Netherlands, France, Belgium, Italy, England and Switzerland, and were successful in stopping concerts in Bradford and Birmingham, England, and another in Essen, Germany.

Successful tour

However, Bounty Killer in an exclusive interview with THE STAR says on the contrary, his European tour was very much a success and that gay activist groups were only exaggerating that they were successful in stopping a number of the shows.

"It was a successful tour in terms of meeting and greeting and connecting with the people. The tour lasted for four weeks, we did a week in London and then three weeks in Europe. They (gay activists) cancelled like three concerts out of 21, so all yuh hear dem a talk bout gay dis and gay dat, they were just exaggerating, they always try to exaggerate bout they cancel show," Bounty said.

A violence thing

He continued, "Di show in Birmingham, it was a violence thing that was going on in Birmingham in the black community and they (promoters) were feeling like it was very dangerous to try and get Bounty and Mavado in dis place at this moment, it wasn't any gay-bashing thing because if that was the case, we couldn't go in London."

"London is the heart of it, yuh understand, so if it was a gay problem, why Birmingham would have a problem and London don't have a problem? London show is the biggest one and that's the most successful one, dat's di one they would have tried to stop, not the little one down Birmingham. So it was just a violence thing in Birmingham and they came 'bout it's a gay thing. Even di concert wey dem claim dem cancel a Germany, a Munich, dem cancel di show inna di day an wi have to guh to court di afternoon and won," Bounty said.

So despite these minor setbacks, Bounty says, "the tour went well, but most people never want to see it a success, but it was a success ... yea because they expect that we were going to get turn back like Sizzla an all these things, they try but it jus neva work."

Artistes Need To Unite

Bounty says he is also calling on dancehall artistes to "be more unified in the fight against gays, ca' if wi nuh unite, wi will neva win dis battle."

"The artistes, they are not for the music, they are for the success, and the wealth and all this excitement and super stardom. Ca' for instance, if there wasn't a Bounty, a Beenie, a Buju, a Ele, a Capleton, a Sizzla an it was jus a Kartel an a Mavado, where di music would be? Or if it was jus a Bounty an a Beenie an no Mavado an no Kartel an no Buju an Capleton, wey di music woulda be?"

"When these artistes see other artistes going through problems like what happening to Sizzla now, yuh know nuff a dem a laugh, like ... Beenie, mi know him a laugh. 'Cause .... sey dem ban Bounty an Mavado an dem call him (Beenie) fi do di show an him run gone pon it. How you mus ban my fellow Jamaican an den you guh bond wid dem?" Bounty questioned.

According to Bounty, some of these artistes are not concerned about their culture,"these artistes nuh care if yuh nuh love Jamaica ... 'cause dem only a do dis fi come model pon Killa, dem jus waan have more money dan Bounty Killa, dem nuh business if Jamaica sink tomorrow."

(Bounty will be celebrating his birthday this Sunday at It's Tha Pool Party at Norbury Drive in Norbrook)

STARLEFT_1_P42HEEeKaMouAM.jpg
Veteran reggae artiste Eek-a-Mouse

Reggae veteran Ripton Hylton, otherwise called Eek-A-Mouse was allegedly arrested on charges of kidnapping, rape and possession of cocaine and marijuana in North Carolina, USA.
The artiste was arrested on Sunday August 17 at 4 a.m. in Kill Devil Hill, North Carolina. When the STAR contacted Detective MK Moye of the Kill Devil Hill police department, the officer who arrested Mouse, he explained that the artiste, who he described as a 'nice man', was charged with first degree kidnapping of a female, second degree rape and possession of cocaine and marijuana.

Moye said he could not give further details on the arrest as the case was currently under investigation. Moye however stated that Eek-A-Mouse's bond was set at US$52,000 and he was being held at the Dare County Detention Center in North Carolina.

The last time Moye spoke to Eek-A-Mouse was on Monday morning. At the time of the interview yesterday, Moye said he was unsure whether Eek-A-Mouse had made bail.

Moye, also told the STAR that Eek-A-Mouse would have to return to North Carolina to appear for his trial.

When the STAR contacted the Dare County Detention Center, a sergeant there could not give information on the case. She said only the captain or major could disclose any information and they were absent at the time. She however revealed that Eek-A-Mouse was bonded out and was no longer detained at the facility.

A popular entertainment website, quoted Lt Gene Johnson of the Kill Devil Hill police department, as saying the singer allegedly kidnapped a 23-year-old woman, holding her against her will at an Outer Banks motel. Moye confirmed that the alleged victim was, in fact, a woman.

Eek-A-Mouse, known for his signature squeaky voice, rose to fame in Jamaica in 1980 with the hit single Wha Do Dem. That was followed by Modelling Queen, another hit single which appeared on his first album Bubble Up Yu Hip. Eek-A-Mouse ruled on the music scene for the next couple of years and toured extensively throughout the early 1990s.

He made a brief reappearance on the scene when he collaborated with Damian 'Junior Gong' Marley for the song Khaki Suit. The artiste has a home in Jamaica, but is also based in the United States and travels extensively. Efforts to contact Eek-A-Mouse proved futile up to press time.

Bounty back in court

August 22, 2008
news_splash.gif

After gracing the precincts of the Montego Bay Resident Magistrate's Court in 2003 for using indecent language during his performance at the 2003 staging of the annual Sumfest music festival, it was almost déjŕ vu for controversial deejay, Rodney 'Bounty Killer' Price, who made his second appearance before the court under similar circumstances yesterday.

The 36-year-old deejay pleaded guilty to two counts of using indecent language and was find $5,000 or 30 days. In addition, Resident Magistrate Winsome Henry gave him advice to keep his performances clean as she hopes this would be his final appearance before the court.

"I hope so too," Bounty Killer responded.

RM Henry also reminded him that he is a role model to many and should therefore set an example.

"You are a role model like our athletes in Beijing so you need to set an example," RM Henry said.

The Killer, who is also called the Grung God, was summoned to court after his July 17 performance on dancehall night at the festival, held at the Catherine Hall Entertainment Complex. In his 20-minute set, he used expletives to vent his frustrations at the crime situation, homosexuality and other issues.

Defence attorney George Thomas said his client committed the offence as he made 'social commentary' and thought using bad words would be an effective way of getting his point across. He said, however, that Bounty was not trying to be disrespectful and was sorry for his behaviour as he acknowledges there are other ways of venting his frustrations. He added that the artiste did not commit the offence to gain publicity or further his career and asked that the court exercise lenience.

Fireball jet crew 'refused to allow worried passenger off' after first failed take-off

Funerary vans leave Madrid's IFEMA fairgrounds, where bodies from the Barajas airport crash were identified

Last journey: A line of funeral vans leaves the temporary mortuary in Madrid

Crew aboard the Madrid holiday plane that crashed and killed 153 people refused to let a passenger off despite technical problems and a failed take-off, the mans family said today.

Two hours before the Spanair flight JK5022 crashed during its second attempt to leave the runway yesterday, the victim texted his wife, saying: My love, theres a problem with the plane.

She phoned him back and told him to get off the flight, but he said: They wont let me off.

The chilling accusation came to light after it emerged the plane, which ripped apart and exploded on the runway Barajas airport, had a faulty air valve.

Victims families reacted with anger today at the news that the plane had experienced overheating in an air intake valve before the first attempt to get airborne.

Technicians de-energised the device - that is, turned it off - and the plane was allowed to attempt its ill-fated second take-off which resulted in the fuselage being torn off.

Rescuers described the flaming wreckage, which left only 19 survivors, as a scene from Hell'.

Today it was claimed that at least one worried passenger wanted to leave the plane following the first failed take-off but was forced to remain aboard.

The story emerged at the Madrid hotel taken over by the airline to host relatives of the victims.

Spanish media said that an unidentified woman at the hotel told reporters that her husband had texted her at 12.30 reporting a fault with the aircraft.

She was alarmed when he told her that cabin crew had refused to let him off.

The womans son, who was with her at the hotel, said that the cabin crew had told the man to get back in his seat.

The body of the flight captain Antonio Luna, from Majorca, has been identified. He broke both arms in the disaster, indicating he may have attempted to brake as the flight crashed at 2.45pm yesterday.

Link to same story with video..
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/europe/article4582094.ece

-- Edited by babyblue81 at 12:34, 2008-08-22

16 signs u love someone

July 18, 2008
Started By najah24 Comments

> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>16 signs u LOVE someone...
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>SIXTEEN:
> >>>>>>When you're on the phone with them late at night and they
> >>>>>>hang
> >>>>>>up, you still miss them even when it was just two minutes
> >>>>>>ago.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>FIFTEEN:
> >>>>>>You read their Texts and Ims Over
> >>>>>>and over again.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>FOURTEEN:
> >>>>>>You walk really slow when you're with them.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>THIRTEEN:
> >>>>>>You feel shy whenever they're around.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>ELEVEN:
> >>>>>>When you think about them, your heart beats faster but slower
> >>>>>>at
> >>>>>>the same time.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>TEN:
> >>>>>>You smile when you hear their voice.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>NINE:
> >>>>>>When you look at them, you can't see the other people around
> >>>>>>you, you just see him/her.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>EIGHT:
> >>>>>>You start listening to slow songs while thinking about
> >>>>>>them.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>SEVEN:
> >>>>>>They're all you think about.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>SIX:
> >>>>>>You get high just from their scent.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>FIVE:
> >>>>>>You realize you're always smiling when you're looking at
> >>>>>>them.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>FOUR:
> >>>>>>You would do anything for them, just to see them.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>THREE:
> >>>>>>While reading this, there was one person on your mind this
> >>>>>>whole
> >>>>>>time.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>TWO:
> >>>>>>You were so busy thinking about that person, you didn't
> >>>>>>notice
> >>>>>>number twelve was
> >>>>>>missing.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>ONE:
> >>>>>>You just scrolled up to check & are now silently laughing at
> >>>>>>yourself.
> >>>>>>
as usual the hatred has started.

He still has to mature, president says about medal-winning sprinter

dv_to_getty_2138811_0.h2.jpg
ADRIAN DENNIS / AFP/Getty Images
Jamaica's Usain Bolt celebrates winning the men's 200m final on Aug. 20. His flaunting has earned him criticism from the IOC.
interactive.gif
Video
tz-spt-080820-usain-bolt-1102p.vsmall.jpg
Usain Bolt sets world record
The springer sets another world record in the 200m final. Americans Shawn Crawford and Walter Dix get silver and bronze.

NBCOlympics.com

I have no problem with him doing a show, Rogge said in an interview with three international news agency reporters. I think he should show more respect for his competitors and shake hands, give a tap on the shoulder to the other ones immediately after the finish and not make gestures like the one he made in the 100 meters.

Having built a huge lead in Saturdays 100 final, Bolt slowed, glanced around with arms outstretched and pounded his chest before crossing the finish line in a world record time of 9.69 seconds.

I understand the joy, Rogge said. He might have interpreted that in another way, but the way it was perceived was catch me if you can. You dont do that. But hell learn. Hes still a young man.

He still has to mature
Bolt, who turned 22 on Thursday, stormed to another one-sided victory Wednesday night in the 200, breaking Michael Johnsons 12-year-old record of 19.32 seconds and lowering the mark to 19.30.

Bolt made little effort to congratulate the other runners as he wrapped himself in a Jamaican flag and set off on a solo victory lap. Swaying to the reggae music on the stadium loudspeakers, he walked barefoot around the track, putting his face inches from a TV camera, raising an index finger and yelling, I am No. 1! I am No. 1!

He still has to mature, Rogge said. I would love him to show more respect for his competitors. Thats not the way we perceive being a champion. But he will learn in time. He should shake hands with his competitors and not ignore them. Hell learn that sooner or later. But (hes) a great athlete, of course.

American sprinter Shawn Crawford, who crossed the line fourth in the 200 but was upgraded to the silver medal after the disqualifications of Wallace Spearmon and Churandy Martina, said he saw nothing wrong in Bolts showboating celebrations.

I guess theres mixed feelings among athletes, he said. To me, I dont feel like hes being disrespectful. If this guy has worked his tail off, every day, on his knees throwing up like I was in practice, he deserves to dance.

Bolt became the first man since Carl Lewis in 1984 to win the 100 and 200 golds at a single Olympics, and the only man ever to do it by breaking world records in both. Owens completed the 100-200 sweep at the 1936 Berlin Olympics, adding golds in the long jump and relay.

photo_icon_v2.gif
Slide show
Image: Rohullah Nikpai
  Day 13's emotional moments
First medal ever for Afghanistan; beach volleyball finals.

more photos

Bolt is in another dimension in sprints, Rogge said. Bolt must be considered now the same way like Jesse Owens should have been in the 1930s. Bolt has a bigger edge than Owens on his rivals. Of course, Owens had the long jump too, so you cant compare people. If he maintains that in the future, Bolt will be someone that probably leaves a mark like Jesse Owens.

Were not naive
Also in the wide-ranging interview, Rogge said he was very happy with Chinas organization of the Beijing Games but will withhold his final verdict until Sundays closing ceremony.

He reiterated his defense of the IOCs decision seven years ago to take the Olympics to Beijing, which continues to draw fire from critics of Chinas record on human rights.

Were not naive, nor blind, Rogge said. We knew there would be criticism.

I believe these games have opened up the country, he said. On one hand, people will understand China better with all its challenges. They will remain critical on many issues, that is their right. On the other hand, the Chinese definitely have experienced that they cannot live in splendid isolation.

Rogge said he expects China to finish first in the Beijing gold medal tally with between 50 to 60 golds and the United States to top the count in overall medals. Midway through Thursdays competitions, China had 45 golds and 81 total, while the United States had 27 gold and 83 overall.

Rogge said Chinas dominance is likely to continue for years to come.

I think they are getting there on the top and its going to be extremely difficult to change that, he said. The world has to learn to live with a change of geopolitical nature.

Rogge also cited the surprising success of Britain, with 17 gold medals so far, as a boost ahead of the 2012 London Olympics.

They have a generation that is already OK and ready for London 2012, he said.

Rogge said the relatively low number of doping cases in Beijing so far four athletes expelled and a fifth, heptathlon silver medalist Lyudmila Blonska of Ukraine, awaiting a ruling on a positive test showed that pre-games testing and other deterrents were paying off.

I expect more international athletes got really frightened and scared about using doping, he said. We are making progress. Its becoming far more difficult to cheat than it was before.

Oral sex linked to throat cancer

July 16, 2008
Started By steppz23 Comments
A virus contracted through oral sex is the cause of some throat cancers, say US scientists. HPV infection was found to be a much stronger risk factor than tobacco or alcohol use, the Johns Hopkins University study of 300 people found. The New England Journal of Medicine study said the risk was almost nine times higher for people who reported oral sex with more than six partners. But experts said a larger study was needed to confirm the findings. HPV infection is the cause of the majority of cervical cancers, and 80% of sexually active women can expect to have an HPV infection at some point in their lives. It is important for health care providers to know that people without the traditional risk factors of tobacco and alcohol use can nevertheless be at risk of oropharyngeal cancer Dr Gypsyamber D'Souza, study author The Johns Hopkins study took *lo** and saliva from 100 men and women newly diagnosed with oropharyngeal cancer which affects the throat, tonsils and back of the tongue. They also asked questions about sex practices and other risk factors for the disease, such as family history. Those who had evidence of prior oral HPV infection had a 32-fold increased risk of throat cancer. HPV16 - one of the most common cancer-causing strains of the virus - was present in the tumours of 72% of cancer patients in the study. Risk factors There was no added risk for people infected with HPV who also smoked and drank alcohol, suggesting the virus itself is driving the risk of the cancer. Oral sex was said to be the main mode of transmission of HPV but the researchers said mouth-to-mouth transmission, for example through kissing, could not be ruled out. Most HPV infections clear with little or no symptoms but a small percentage of people who acquired high-risk strains may develop a cancer, the researchers added. Study author Dr Gypsyamber D'Souza said: "It is important for health care providers to know that people without the traditional risk factors of tobacco and alcohol use can nevertheless be at risk of oropharyngeal cancer." Co-researcher Dr Maura Gillison said previous research by the team had suggested there was a strong link. But she added: "People should be reassured that oropharyngeal cancer is relatively uncommon and the overwhelming majority of people with an oral HPV infection probably will not get throat cancer." A vaccine which protects against cervical cancer caused by HPV strains 6, 11, 16 and 18, and also against genital warts is available and the researchers said the study provided a rationale for vaccinating both girls and boys. But whether the vaccine would protect against oral HPV infection is not yet known. Dr Julie Sharp, science information officer at Cancer Research UK, said: "There is conflicting evidence about the role of HPV, and this rare type of mouth cancer. "As this was a small study, further research is needed to confirm these observations." "We know that after age, the main causes of mouth cancer are smoking or chewing tobacco or betel nut, and drinking too much alcohol."

You have to see this

August 21, 2008
Started By Gehto Travler17 Comments
Paste the link in ya web search or browser and tell me what una tink cute or wack!!!! jah bless!!!

http://wpgc955.com/The-Most-DISTURBING-Video-You-Will-EVER-SEE-/2819344

it's going to be a video post on a web radio station bless~!!!!!e3

Creeping and cheating

August 12, 2008
Started By alligcold6 Comments
Dear Pastor,

I am 26 years old and married. I have a problem with my husband. He is 32 years old and he doesn't make love to me, even if I caress him. I cheated on him with a guy who is 23 and it was the best time I have ever had in my life. The guy even performed oral sex on me. He makes me weak and I love him.

Pastor, I don't know what to do.

Naughty wife, England

Dear Naughty wife,

Are you saying that your husband has caused you to be unfaithful to him? What do you believe is the problem? When did you cheat? Often when a spouse is not happy with his/her partner, it is difficult to relate to each other sexually. Therefore both of you must settle your differences early.

Time is a factor

I must ask this question again: When did you cheat? Could it be that your husband suspects that you are cheating? I believe he has. You may be doing something outside the ordinary.

If you want to save your marriage, end the relationship with the 23-year-old man. You should suggest to your husband that both of you should see a marriage counsellor for help.

Pastor

record shops in london...

May 2, 2008
Started By jrbrown18 Comments
i've been here like 4 months and seen most big record shops here ina london
and would appreciate some advice bout a few more...

here the ones i been to already:
Blacka Dread, Supatone, DubVendor, Peoples Choice, Regal Records

i know jetstar have biggest collection but they recently moved so everyting still inna di boxes.... :(

ALSO WOULD LIKE TO KNOW ABOUT GOOD ONLINE SHOPS
my best ones -> soundquake, oj36records, ebreggae, selectors choice

im looking mostly for raggamuffin & rub-a-dub (volcano, Jammys, digital b etc.)
only 45's

Respect 4 ya help

nh

bolt seh em ago sort it out

August 18, 2008
Started By zaparu13 Comments
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/pzQFBKRsQ-A&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/pzQFBKRsQ-A&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Olympics boss rebukes showy Bolt

August 21, 2008
Started By steppz10 Comments

Olympics boss Jacques Rogge has told Usain Bolt to show more respect for opponents after the Jamaican claimed the first sprint double for 24 years.

Bolt showboated at the start and finish of his world-record breaking 200m race and slowed up yards from the line in the 100m final so he could celebrate.

"That's not the way we perceive being a champion," Rogge told Associated Press.

"I've no problem with him doing a show. But I think he should show more respect and shake hands after the finish."

Rogge said Bolt should "not make gestures like the one he made in the 100m", adding: "He might have interpreted that in another way, but the way it was perceived was 'catch me if you can.' You don't do that. But he'll learn. He's still a young man."

The other runners in Wednesday's 200m did not seem upset with Bolt's antics American silver medallist Shawn Crawford telling reporters afterwards: "I love watching him when he does his thing.

o.gif

BBC Sport's Tom Fordyce has
no problem with Bolt's antics

"When he was introduced, he was dancing, and the crowd loves it. It adds a bit of sparkle and cheer."

Bolt told reporters he had "no regrets" about his showy 100m finish, or his antics after setting a new world best of 19.30 secs in winning the 200m.

"That's just how I am," he said. "I love to dance and show people my personality. It's fun and the crowd loves it."

Rogge's comments did seem out of kilter with the mood in the Bird's Nest stadium, where the crowd appeared to lap up his childlike joy at becoming the first man since American Carl Lewis in 1984 to win an Olympic double in the 100m and 200m.

Bolt won by the biggest margin since the 200m came on the Olympic scene 108 years ago, beating the field by two-thirds of a second to break Michael Johnsons 12-year-old record by two hundredths of a second.

And others will also argue Bolt is simply continuing an Olympic sprinting tradition of colourful, showy champions such as Carl Lewis, Maurice Greene and Johnson, who called Bolt "Superman 2".

o.gif

BBC Sport's Steve Cram said:
"There was nothing wrong with it (the celebration).

"If Bolt was being disrepectful, then fine, but he's just done something that no other sprinter has done before.

"He is very good for the sport, he's a young man, it's his birthday and he's just become a legend in the sport.

"He is an exuberant character and if he wants to have fun, let him do it."

"Lightning" Bolt, as he says he prefers to be known, had brought the 91,000-seater stadium to its feet, running a record first 100m and then chasing down Johnson's mark over the final 50m, his eyes flicking left all the time as he checked the trackside clock.

When he dipped his lanky 6ft 5in frame for the line, the crowd erupted and Bolt embarked on a triumphant victory lap to the sound of reggae music, dancing a barefoot jig around his golden spikes while draped in Jamaican flags.

"It's just a dance from back home," he said in explanation of one knock-kneed display.

There was even a special rendition of 'Happy Birthday Dear Usain' played over the public address system he is 22 on Thursday.

"I'm number one," the joyous athlete mouthed at cameras, thumping his chest and blowing kisses.

In his post-race interview, Bolt admitted he could barely believe his achievement.

"Everything just came together," he said in amazement. "I blew my mind, I blew the world's mind.

ahead of his rivals in his 200m final

"I was looking at the replay and thinking, 'Hey - I look cool!' I was thinking, 'Wow that guy looks fast!' It's just a great feeling.

"It wasn't easy. It felt like I was swimming. I just kept telling myself, 'Don't die, don't die.'"

And he was reluctant to play the "I am the greatest" card.

"I would not compare myself to Michael Phelps - to win eight golds nobody has done that. Plus I am on the track and he is in the water. He's a great athlete and I congratulate him on what he has achieved."

He added: "Lots of people compare me to Michael Johnson but I do not compare myself to other people, I am just trying to be myself. Michael Johnson is a great athlete and he revolutionised the sport, I just changed it a bit."

But in Jamaica, Bolt's exploits have brought the island nation to a standstill and a huge victory parade is planned for the return of the successful Olympic team.

Jamaican Prime Minister Bruce Golding phoned Bolt as he left the track, telling him his exploits had sent the country into raptures.

"Usain Bolt is a super human being. The world has never seen anything like him," said Golding.

"Not only is he physically the best in the world, but he has supreme confidence in himself and he knows how to deliver."

Bolt family friend and member of the local municipal council, Phillip Service, told Reuters news agency that Falmouth town square was blocked by convoys of cars celebrating.

"Some persons have placed desks in the road and placed a vast amount of liquor on them for everyone to drink and be merry. It is just like carnival down here," Service said.

Bolt's second gold took Jamaica population 2.7m - briefly to the top of the athletics medal table and they now sit second behind Russia population 142m million but ahead of the US population 305m.

"Jamaica is the sprint factory of the world," said Sports Minister Olivia Grange.

And Jamaicans will have hopes of finishing top with more chances in Thursday's 200m women's final and the four relays on Friday night.

Bolt, meanwhile, said he was going to spend his 22nd birthday sleeping and "letting it all soak in".

"I just want to chill out and sleep. I wish it was the weekend, so I could chill out in some sandals. But we have the 4x100m relays and I have to focus on that. The boys are excited about it and I want a third gold medal."

Rogge did concede that Bolt's double now put him on a par with other previous Olympic greats. "Bolt is in another dimension in sprints," said Rogge.

"Bolt must be considered now the same way like Jesse Owens should have been in the 1930s. Bolt has a bigger edge than Owens on his rivals.

"Of course, Owens had the long jump too, so you can't compare people. If he maintains that in the future, Bolt will be someone that probably leaves a mark like Jesse Owens."

WA UNNU TINK BOUT DI TUNE DEM PAN DI SELF DEFENCE RIDDIM..........IT CLEAR SEH VADO DRAW FIRST *lo**..........NOW KATEL RESPON AND ITS ALL OUT WAR NOW............ZONE MEK MI KNOW WA UNNU TINK BOUT THE NEW CHAPTER IN THE KATE - VADO WAR

Can you do the Bolt?

August 21, 2008
Started By steppz5 Comments

Usain Bolt

You may not be able to run as fast as him, but can you dance like Usain Bolt?

Jamaica's Usain Bolt has secured his title of being the fastest man on earth by winning a second Olympic gold and setting a new world record time in the 200m men's final.

As part of his celebrations, Bolt performed his second dance for the Olympics called the "nolinga", which is Jamaican patois for 'don't linger'.

When Bolt won his first gold medal, for the 100m sprint, he danced the "Gully Creaper".

Can you dance like the Bolt? We want you to send in your pictures and video of you doing the Nolinga and the Gully Creaper.

Usain Bolt-ian

August 21, 2008
Started By nexx0 Comments
SI.com a CNN website for the Beijing Olympics as come up with a new term for leading your competition by a outrageous  margin (Usain Bolt-ian) 

Bolt - 'I left it all on the track'

August 21, 2008
Started By STUWY771 Comments
STARRIGHT_1_PLPUSBolt20AM.jpg
Usain Bolt celebrates a gold medal and world record in the 200 metres yesterday in the Games of the XXIX Olympiad in Beijing, China - ap

beijing, china (cmc)

Fatigued after running seven races in four days prior to the men's 200 metres final, Jamaican Usain Bolt said he decided to give the big race one last blitz yesterday.

The effort not only yielded the 200 metres title and the Olympic sprint double for the 22-year-old, but saw him smash American Michael Johnson's 12-year-old record of 19.32 seconds, posting a new mark of 19.30 seconds.

"Well, I wasn't really expecting it (record), but I told myself I was going to come out here and I'm going to leave everything on the track and I did just that. yesterday I was a little bit tired, but I decided that last night [I would give it everything]," Bolt said.

Did what I had to do

"I told my roommate Maurice Smith who is coming up, I told him that I'm going to come out here and leave everything on the track and he said 'go do what you have to do'. so I came out here and did what I had to do," he added.

Bolt had a superb start, leaping from the blocks and bursting through the curve to establish himself as the clear favourite heading into the stretch.

Aware the field had been reduced to simply admirers for most of the final stretch, Bolt raced against the clock to set his second world record of the Games.

"I looked and I was like, I can do this, so I just started leaning. I just wanted it real bad. It means a lot to me, so I'm happy with myself," said Bolt.

The performance follows on from his fabulous run in the 100 metres at the weekend, where he set a new world and Olympic record in capturing that title in 9.69 seconds.

Birthday present

Wednesday's victory also meant that he became the first runner in 24 years to achieve the Olympic sprint double. The feat was the perfect birthday present for Bolt who turned 22 yesterday, but he said his mind might be on getting much needed rest, not birthday celebrations.

"I don't even know [about celebrations]. Right now I'm just thinking about getting some rest. I'm so tired, my body is tired. I'm just trying to get some rest, now pretty much," Bolt said.
Winners of the 100 and 200 races in the same Summer Olympics:

Year Name Country 100 200

2008 Usain Bolt Jamaica 9.69 19.30

1984 Carl Lewis United States 9.99 19.80

1972 Valeriy Borzov Soviet Union 10.14 20.00

1956 Bobby Morrow United States 10.5 20.7

1936 Jesse Owens United States 10.3 20.7

1932 Eddie Tolan United States 10.3 21.2

1928 Percy Williams Canada 10.8 21.8

1912 Ralph Craig United States 10.8 21.7

1904 Archie Hahn United States 11.0 21.6

Casey Anthony arrested

ORLANDO, Fla. -- A bondsman posted bail Wednesday for the Florida mother of a missing toddler and said he hoped her release would help lead investigators to the girl, officials said.
Casey Anthony has been jailed on $500,200 bail since mid-July. Police say Anthony lied to them and didn't report her 3-year-old daughter, Caylee, was missing for more than a month. She faces charges of child neglect, making false statements and obstructing an investigation.
The earliest Casey Anthony could be released from the Orange County Jail is Thursday morning, jail spokesman Allen Moore said in an e-mail.

"They're extremely pleased, this is what we anticipated," said Larry Garrison, a spokesman for the Anthony family. "We want what's the best for Caylee. We want Caylee found."
A group from a California bail bonds company flew to Florida on Sunday to help Clearwater-based bondsman Albert Estes, who shares the same surety group, post the bond. They said they believed the 22-year-old mother might be more likely to talk about her daughter's disappearance if she were released from jail.

"It's not about getting Casey out to make sure she feels better," bondsman Tony Padilla said. "It's all about the interest of finding Caylee. Hopefully, she will get us some information."
A hearing in the case is scheduled Thursday morning, but Anthony is not expected to appear.
"OK, folks, this is not O.J. Simpson," her attorney, Jose Baez, said. "I'm not going to parade her out there."
Still, a throng of reporters gathered outside the jail Wednesday evening as Baez spoke and thanked Padilla for posting the bond.
Anthony told detectives she didn't immediately call authorities to report her child missing because she was conducting her own investigation, according to the charging affidavit.
The apartment where she said she dropped off the girl hadn't been occupied in months, and Anthony gave detectives a bogus employer, manager's name and work telephone number, according to the affidavit.
A mugger runs off with an elderly woman's cane and purse after he choked her out in her Brooklyn apartment building elevator. Apologetic Suspect Claimed He Was High On Crack Cocaine ReportingJay Dow NEW YORK (CBS) The NYPD has arrested a man who they say assaulted and robbed an 85-year-old woman in her Brooklyn apartment building elevator, CBS 2 has learned. Police identified the suspect as 26-year-old Cornelius Abson and he is also accused of attacking 11 other seniors in Flatbush, Crown heights, and Kensington, taking everything from cash, Medicaid cards, even groceries. Detectives say additional criminal charges are likely as those victims are brought back in today to look at suspect lineups. Abson, police say, is an ex-con with prior robbery convictions and numerous other arrests.Police believe on Aug. 14, Abson attacked and robbed 85-year-old Lillian France of $900 and her cane in her own building, a vicious attack that was caught on surveillance camera.Officials say Abson admitted to the attack and said he did it because he was apparently high on crack cocaine. In fact, during his interview with police, he apparently said he wrote an apology letter to France."He was sorry and [wrote] he had a drug habit and the person that did this is not necessarily the person that he is," a police spokesperson said.It was the latest in a string of attacks and robberies of elderly people.The victims range in age from the mid-50s to the mid-80s. Most of the victims are women, and many of the attacks happened in elevators. France told the New York Times she had planned to give the $900 to relatives. But the other victims have lost other valuables, including food stamps, Medicaid cards, cell phones and even groceries. "He attacks from behind, therefore he's a coward," said council member Leticia James. "In the days after the attack, she was suffering from the physical symptoms of the attack. Subsequently she has been suffering from the emotional - psychological impact of the attack," said Claire France, Lillian's niece. In a building on E. 18th Street, a 76-year-old woman was similarly robbed in the lobby. She was standing by her mailbox, when she says she was attacked by a man who squeezed her neck and stole not only her purse, but her eyeglasses. Another victim, 73-year-old Helene Sargent, was attacked on July 25 on Bedford Avenue. Her granddaughter, Chelsea Phillips, says she was robbed of $300 on her stairway. "The man attacked her from the back, punching her in the face, bruising her face," she says.Stay with wcbstv.com and CBS 2 for the latest in this developing story.
"The jetliner that crashed in Madrid experienced overheating in an air intake valve before a first attempt at takeoff, but it is not clear if that had anything to do with the disaster that killed 153 people, its owner Spanair said Thursday."

The ques is how can a jet with over 170 on board be overheating and not grounded for a full inspection...just amazing!!!

Read

Beenie Man Attacked At Show

August 21, 2008
Started By RiddimRyder0 Comments
Tuesday, August 19 - Beenie ManIt has been reported that 'the doctor', Beenie Man, was involved in a fight backstage with a woman at a show in England over the weekend.

Checks made by THE STAR revealed that the woman, who is a sister of D'Angel, had an argument over some money that was owed.

Patrick Roberts, who was present at the show, said, "The stage show finished 10 minutes to four in the Monday morning, London time."

"When we were leaving, Michelle's sister came and said to Beenie, 'Moses mek mi talk to yuh'. They were reasoning for a little while and I overheard them saying something about some money thing that he had for her. Him seh him wi talk to her when he came back to England because they were leaving for Germany. When Beenie Man a guh walk off, she pulled his chain an it buss off and the body guard den intervene."

COULD Not Confirm Up until press time, THE STAR was unable to make contact with Beenie Man for a comment on the situation.

His publicist, Ray Alexander, said that he could not confirm what had happened, as Beenie Man had not mentioned anything to him.

"To my knowledge, I don't know anything about that because he (Beenie Man) spoke to me at 8 o' clock (yesterday morning) and he was on his way to Germany and he was telling me the show they had in Stratford Rex in London was sold out and how they had a good show. He didn't mention to me about any squabble that he had with a female backstage. Honestly, I couldn't say if that were the case. I would have to talk to him when he gets to Germany, which would be tonight, or tomorrow morning, to see if there is any truth to it," Alexander told THE STAR.

Guarantee Safety According to Alexander, Beenie Man hadn't performed in London in over two years. "Last year, he (Beenie Man) was suppose to perform at that same venue, but there was a threat on his life and the police said they couldn't guarantee his safety." Beenie Man, who is currently on a month-long tour of Europe is scheduled to be in Germany today (August 19) at Hamburg, Dortmound on Wednesday, Stuttgart on Thursday, and Chiemese on Friday.

The tour then moves to Holland on Saturday, August 23 at Den Haag, Oudenaarde; Belgium on Sunday, August 24; then back to Amsterdam, Holland, on Tuesday, August 26; culminating in Tilburg on Wednesday, August 27.

Teino Evans

I'm stuck btwn the two. I know some studies "claim" that a baby can be branded as heterosexual or homosexual while in the w****....but how true is this? There's also the theory about soy milk. Too much soy milk given to male babies produces too much estrogen and can cause them to act feminine....hmmmm intersting. However, what about those people who just choose to be gay. They have been hurt by one particular gender countless of times and just decide that they should date within their gender.

What are your views?
«First  <  1377 378 379 380 381524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by