Police crack house-breaking ring |
Monday, August 25, 2008 |
These laptop computers, cellular phones and a palm hand-held device were seized by the Flying Squad in the Corporate Area last week. The police are asking the rightful owners to go to the Flying Squad and claim their goods. (Photo: Joseph Wellington) |
Six men are now in police custody in connection with a series of break-ins in the Barbican, Shortwood and Half-Way-Tree areas of Kingston following operations by the Flying Squad in the Corporate Area last week.
The police Friday displayed seven laptop computers, 11 cellular phones and a palm hand-held device, which were seized during the operation and appealed to persons whose homes were broken into recently to visit the Flying Squad on East Queen Street to identify and claim their goods.
"We are appealing to members of the public to come and claim their belongings if their homes were broken into," Sergeant Dorel Jackson of the Constabulary Communication Network said Friday.
Police believe the six men, whose identities have been withheld pending identification parades, are part of a major house-breaking ring that has been targetting houses in affluent areas in recent weeks.
"We believe we have cracked a massive ring of thieves who have been breaking into houses both during the day and night," an investigator said.
The police recovered the stolen computers and phones at different premises after the arrest of a man two Saturdays ago at Water Lane in downtown Kingston.
The man reportedly led the cops to other locations and admitted that he had broken into several homes.
"He was the one who showed us the homes he broke into and led us to other places where the stolen goods were," the investigator said.
Three of the men were held in Downtown Kingston while the others were held in Half-Way-Tree, police said.
The 110-student school, near the border with Oklahoma, is 30 minutes from the nearest police station and officials say the weapons will ensure protection for their pupils.
School Superintendent David Thweatt of the Harrold Independent School District, said the move was designed to stop a crazed gunman rampaging through the classrooms and turning them into a *lo**bath.
"How do you stop the angry person without enough sense?" he said.
"It's not going to take very long for it to be a total massacre.''
But gun campaigners say the risks of having firearms around children outweigh the potential threat of a cold-*lo**ed killer.
Doug Pennington, spokesman for the Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence said: "Which risk is more likely? That someone is going to accidentally set off a gun in class and God forbid hit a student, or someone will come in off the highway and start a random shooting spree?''
He also questioned if teachers were trained to respond in a crisis and said the school would be better off with a security guard.
Mr Thweatt would not say which teachers were armed or how many but said all had received adequate training.
The school already has a keyless entry system, cameras, lock-down buttons and classroom telephones.
But Mr Thweatt fears he could not prevent mass murders similar to the Pennsylvania shootings in 2006 and the killing spree at Virginia Tech University in 2007 without weapons.
Each teacher who carries a gun will be approved by its school board, earn a concealed carry licence, and complete training in crisis management and hostage situations.
The weapons will be worn and loaded with ammunition designed to blast into powder.
Based on the latest information from a Hurricane Hunter Aircraft early this morning, Gustav is beginning to strengthen as it nears Jamaica in the Caribbean. Maximum sustained winds are now 70 mph.
As of 8 a.m. EDT, the center of Gustav was located about 80 miles east Kingston, Jamaica, and was moving slowly southwest. Given a recent movement and redevelopment in a more southerly direction, it now appears the center of Gustav will past east, and perhaps south of Jamaica today, before turning back to the west.
Regardless if the center misses a direct hit on Jamaica, heavy rain and the threat for flash flooding will increase over Jamaica today, along with gusty winds and increased surf.
Gustav is forecast to make a turn in a more westerly direction, and eventually a west-northwest to northwest direction over the next few days. It is also forecast to continue to strengthen, and will likely be at hurricane strength, if not today, as it approaches the Cayman Islands later Friday.Gustav is then forecast to enter the Gulf of Mexico over the weekend, and continue tracking northwest or north. It could threaten some part of the US Gulf Coast by Labor Day
There is still some uncertainty regarding Gustav's future strength; which will likely be fine tuned based on what happens today. It is forecast to be a hurricane as it tracks through the Gulf of Mexico; possibly a major one. All interests along the Gulf Coast should pay very close attention to this potentially dangerous storm.
Meanwhile, a low pressure located several hundred miles east-northeast of the Leeward Islands has become Tropical Depression Eight as of early this morning. Continued strengthening is forecast, with it likely becoming Tropical Storm Hanna today.
It is forecast to track northwest into the weekend, and become a hurricane by late this weekend. For now, it does not appear to be of any threat to land, but will need to be closely monitored beyond this weekend.Elsewhere in the Atlantic basin, a tropical wave was also located a few hundred miles west of the Cape Verde Islands. It remains disorganized for now, but it may begin to organize in the next few days. It will continue to be monitored as it moves westward.
Rachel Jones, 26, was knifed 14 times as she tried to cycle away after lobbing a missile through the front of a terraced home.
Furious Louise Gardner raced out of the house, hopped into a car driven by a neighbour then hunted her victim down, it was claimed.
Gardner caught up and allegedly plunged a folding knife into Rachels chest three times, piercing her heart.
Her face was also slashed and she was kicked and punched.
Liverpool Crown Court was told Gardner, 26, was having a bath at her mums home in the citys Kensington area when she heard the window shatter and dashed out.
Rachel rode off towards her home in nearby Anfield with Gardner in pursuit.
Prosecutor Stuart Driver QC told the jury Gardner was heard shouting, Im going to kill you.
He told the jury she then got out and attacked Rachel in front of passers-by, including children.
He added: Very few of the witnesses saw a weapon and in their statements you will hear that they thought they saw her punching Rachel.
Mr Driver said Gardner dumped the knife down a drain.
Rachel, whose reason for breaking the window was not explained yesterday, could not be saved by paramedics.
Gardner, of Kensington, Liverpool, denies murder.
The case continues.
Deejay duo the Monster Twins say that they have received a threatening phone call from a man who threatened to introduce them to gunshots when mi see oonu because the dup had dissed Kip Rich during a just-released track defending members of the Monster Empire with whom Kipo has been at odds with in the last few weeks.
Kip Rich ah diss the Monster Empire and ah defend Bounty Killer, and we step in now fi defend the Monster Empire, and den a man come page we, an upset Kevin Miller explained.
Mi anno bad man so it kinda shake me up and when mi call the other Monster (Greg Campbell), him say me muss tek it serious but were not in any war thing. Mi tell the bredda say him fi just tell Kip Rich fi do a song so we can gwaan eat a food fi help our friends and he can help his friends, he told one876entertainment.com.
The man hung up, but called back again but was more conciliatory, he explained.
So yu nah diss Kip Rich then? Is a musical thing? Ok, then, is alright but the ting shake me up mek me wonder if me shoulda even bother wid this song, the fans dem outta road tek the ting too seriousHurricane Gustav is expected to cause landslides and widespread flooding |
Hurricane Gustav has made landfall over Haiti, bringing heavy rains and winds of 140 km/h (90mph).
Haitian authorities have urged people in the poor Caribbean nation to take precautions amid fears of landslides and widespread flooding.
Haiti, hit a week ago by a tropical storm that left more than two dozen dead, is vulnerable to mudslides because of widespread deforestation.
The storm is expected to bring rainfall of 64cm (25 inches) in some areas.
Haitian officials warned people to be ready to be evacuated from vulnerable areas.Gustav has grown more powerful since it strengthened to a category one hurricane earlier on Tuesday.
Haitian Interior Minister Paul-Antoine has appealed for international bodies to help his government cope with the storm's aftermath.
'Flash floods and mud slides'
At 1800 GMT, Gustav's centre was located some 60 kms (40 miles) southwest of the Haitian capital, Port-au-Prince.
Gustav's heavy rainfall "will likely produce life-threatening flash floods and mud slides," said the Miami-based National Hurricane Center (NHC).
It was moving in a north-western direction at 16 km/h and was expected to head towards Cuba early on Wednesday, the NHC said.
Haiti is still recovering from the last storm, Fay, which swept across the Caribbean and the south-eastern US last week.
Neighbouring Dominican Republic, which shares the island of Hispaniola with Haiti, has issued a hurricane warning for the south-west of the country.
The Cuban authorities have also issued a hurricane watch for the provinces of Las Tunas, Granma, Holguin, Santiago de Cuba and Guantanamo.
Gustav is the seventh tropical storm of the Atlantic hurricane season.
Dancer Ice
Dancer Ice, whose real name is David Alexander Smith, told THE STAR in an exclusive interview that he had not received what was fairly due to him for his creation of the 'Gully Creepa' dance, even while Elephant Man has profited from the massive hit song.
Ice says while deejay Elephant Man, who made a song of the same name as the popular dance, has been reaping much success and fortune, he has been left to fend on his own.
"Mi don't get no share out a it. Nutt'n. Album launch, video mek an no money mi nuh si. I've been waiting an mi still nuh si nutt'n till all people a sey 'Ice money buy Range'. Mi get US$450 when mi guh a Antigua guh perform pon two show wid dem (Elephant Man) bout two months a back... fair share is all mi want, give unto Caesar what's due," Ice said.
According to Ice: "If wi not dancing, dat wha deejay a do not selling."
However, when contacted, Elephant Man disagreed that artistes were obligated to give dancers a cut of the profits.
"Dat a madness, dat cyan work. A we (artiste) a endorse dem (dancer), a nuh dem a endorse we. If you do a dance an we come deejay bout it, you haffi step up your own ting. Dem (dancers) need fi get dem manager fi do dem ting suh when promota call dem, dem can guh do dem ting, dem haffi mek dem owna money," Elephant Man said.
He also added: "Look how much dance out deh an dem nuh buss till when mi put pen to papa. Keiva have a store out a it - memba a me sey Log On."
According to Elephant Man, dancers dance to make money while artistes sing and deejay, so the profits should not be split down the middle.
"Me a nuh dancer, so a promota nah guh call me fi come a one show come dance, suh di dancer dem do dem ting fi mek dem money, suh fi dem money a fi dem," Elephant Man said.
In the meantime, Elephant Man says because of the exposure that Usain Bolt has brought to the Jamaican culture, specifically in doing the dance moves, there is a new craze about the dance and songs that go with them.
"Di song dem a get more airplay right now, it come in like it just do. DiSweep, di Nuh Linga an di Gully Creepa, is like dem jus do, fresh out there again," Elephant Man said.
Police were pelted with bottles during two stand-offs at the Notting Hill Carnival.
About 180 youths were stopped and seven arrested at south London's Oval cricket ground as officers stopped the group from going to the weekend event.
Later officers were hit with bottles when they clashed with 40 people in a separate incident in Ladbroke Grove.
A total of 330 people were held during carnival with weapons such as knives, a Taser gun and CS spray being seized.
One eyewitnesses described the Ladbroke Grove clash as a "full-scale battle".
One officer suffered facial injuries during the skirmish, police said.
History of disorder
In the first incident, on Monday afternoon, officers stopped a group of about 180 people in Harleyford Road, outside the Oval.
Police said 151 were taken to a police station, of which seven were formally arrested for public order offences or possession of pointed or bladed items.
Bottles were thrown at police in Ladbroke Grove |
Officers said they believed the group, which included many teenagers, were on their way to the carnival to commit crime.
Some members of the group had a history of being involved in disorder at the carnival, police said.
Later in the evening police were involved in sporadic clashes in Ladbroke Grove, near the carnival route in west London, where unprotected officers were hit by bottles and other objects.
Up to 40 people were involved in the clash, which continued for more than two hours, and one officer suffered facial injuries after being hit by a bottle.
Ch Insp Jo Edwards said: "For over two hours our officers were faced with a hardcore, mainly of young men, who came to Carnival not to enjoy the event but to fight, commit crime and cause trouble."
Pat Mason, from Kensington and Chelsea Council, was at Ladbroke Grove and saw the events unfold.
I saw one police officer with *lo** on his face and I saw people who were throwing missiles getting carried away because they were getting batoned as well Pat Mason, eyewitness |
He said: "They were all picking up bottles, throwing bottles, throwing bits of stones, throwing anything at the police they possibly could.
"I saw one police police officer with *lo** on his face and I saw people who were throwing missiles getting carried away because they were getting batoned as well.
"So we had a full-scale battle going on."
Ch Insp Edwards said the majority of the 330 reported crimes during the two-day carnival, which attracted about 850,000 people, were as a result of stop and search powers.
Last year 246 people were arrested over the same period.
Carnival organisers said the trouble which flared after the event was "extremely disappointing".
But Michael Williams, from London Notting Hill Carnival Ltd, said: "More than a million people had a great time at the Notting Hill Carnival and enjoyed an amazing spectacle of colour, energy and music."
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/7582641.stm
Last weekend saw several offerings on the City's social calendar but it was only a few that stood out. On Friday it was the Premier Super All Inclusive event dubbed 'Solstice' held in the very upscale suburbs of Jacks Hill, that saw patrons turning out in their numbers to jam to the vibes of one of uptowns' finest Richie Ras alongside members of the Coppershot team. The event had a good vibe, ample supplies of food and exotic drink mixes, especially the jello shots which were a big hit with patrons. This event could easily be considered one of the better parties to kick off the Summer season. On Saturday even though there was stiff competition from other entities it was all about the Hostess with the 'Mostess', Nikki -Z's 'Sex In The City Saturdays', held at Carlos Cafe, the first of it's kind to be staged this summer the event had all the makings of a successful venture. However special mention must be given to 'Tip Drill' held at leas flat an event to watch. At Carlos Cafe the all white decor looked like it was touched by an angel and offered a very surreal feel as though one was walking through the gates of Heaven. To compliment this was the 'Grown and Sexy' theme that had all the stars pouring into the venue as though it was the Grammy Awards. Even though 876radio.com arrived at the venue late, we were fortunate enough to catch a snippet of Rising Stars' Christopher Martin and comedian turn artiste Iceman memorizing performances that had the ladies literally begging for more. The venue was riddled with celebrities from Corporate execs to some of Dancehalls' finest. To top off the nights' proceedings was the grand entrance of the now infamous television personality Amelia 'Milk' Sewell who had all heads turning and tongues wagging, while she meet and greeted and partied like a true rockstar to the musical offerings of the 'Big Man' himself Nico Bam Bam. Some of the celebrities 876radio.com saw in the house were, Chino, Future Fambo, Esco, Milk, Danny Champagnie, Nesbeth, Mr. Easy, D'Angel, Vybz Kartel, Zip Jock Elektra, Christopher Martin, Donald 'Iceman' Anderson and Delly Ranx amongst others. According to the Z, "Next week will be even greater, Konshens will be making his debut and ladies get to enter free before 11:00pm." So with that said ladies remember to bring your sexy and let's make it an event. |
Jamaica, its 14 partners in the Caribbean Community (Caricom), as well as the Dominican Republic - known collectively as Cariforum - in late December agreed to a so-called economic partnership agreement (EPA) with the European Union (EU), which, ultimately, will lead to nearly full reciprocal free trade between the two regions. While the market for the 27-member EU is opened immediately, the elimination of tariffs of 85 per cent of the Caribbean's imports will begin in three years and will stretch for up to 25 years.
The EU had hoped by the end of 2007 to have executed six regional EPAs with regional groups in the African, Caribbean and the Pacific (ACP) grouping to replace the aid and non-reciprocal trade agreements it previously had with ACP under the Lomé Convention and successor Cotonou agreement.
But the Caribbean was the only region to complete negotiations within the deadline, sparking criticism from a group of regional academics who claim that the region struck a bad deal.
Jagdeo joins criticism
Ironically, Guyana's president, Bharrat Jagdeo, a key member of Caricom, has joined the criticism, arguing the region reached the deal under duress.
The suggestion has been that Cariforum caved in out of the fear that without a deal all its products would have been subject to the World Trade Organisation's (WTO) genera-lised system of preferences (GSP), thus higher tariffs for entry into Europe.
But Golding in his speech dismissed such criticism, saying that hand-outs and preferential trade agreements were fast becoming things of the past, to which many Caribbean leaders attempt to cling.
He suggested that people see these as being deserving because of the region's history of slavery and colonialism.
"Part of what has held back this region for so long is that there are too many of us who carry not a chip on our shoulder, but a whole light pole," Golding said. "... We need to get rid of it."
The Jamaican leader argued that the EPA, covering a market for 450 million people, provided a basis for the countries of Caricom to collectively look outwards for opportunities, rather than to compete in each other's markets - his long-time criticism of Caricom.
"We spend too much time looking at each other," Golding complained. "And as I have said before, we could see much more if we were to come together and look at the world with 15 pairs of eyes and to create a good view of what the world has to offer."
He added: "We spend too much time competing with each other, versus competing together with the rest of the world."
Not viable
An inward-looking Caribbean seeking to produce only for itself was not viable, the prime minister stressed.
"We can't do it! We don't have the market strength to support efficient production," he said.
"You can't have efficient production if you are dealing with a market of two-and-a-half million people, many of whom are poor and can't buy your products anyhow," Golding added.
In fact, the Jamaican leader said his country was already seeking to grasp the potential opportunities offered by the EPA by opening talks with European Investment Bank on funding companies which may want to locate in the Caribbean to supply the EU market.
"(Such businesses) would benefit from lower wage rates and they can export their goods from the Caribbean back into Europe duty-free, quota-free," Golding said.
I am only 15 years old and my 25-year-old first cousin is moving on me, but I think I kind of like it. I am already in a relationship with my boyfriend. He is 16 years old. My 25-year-old cousin wants to keep what he is doing on the down low. I am pregnant and I don't know what to do. What if it is my cousin's child? What should I do? This is very shameful for me, but he has money and he made a lot of promises like taking me to St Kitts. I am so in love.
P. J., St. Mary, Jamaica
Dear P. J.,
If you are pregnant or think you are, you should tell your mother. I know some people will question whether or not you are speaking the truth. I am not willing to ignore you because many 15-year-old girls have given birth.
Your first cousin should be in prison and so should the man you call your boyfriend. These men must be reported to the police and I hope you will cooperate when the matter is being investigated. Just speak the truth.
If you are afraid to talk to your mother, ask someone you trust to talk to her on your behalf.
Pastor
LOS ANGELES - A sheriff's deputy pulled a gun on members of Diddy's entourage during a routine traffic stop over the weekend, but the situation was quickly resolved and a spokesman for the entertainer said the deputy was professional and respectful.
ADVERTISEMENT |
The gun was never pointed at the hip-hop mogul, and deputies were "very respectful" during the stop early Saturday, spokesman Ed Tagliaferri said Monday.
Diddy was traveling on Sunset Boulevard in a seven-car convoy when a deputy pulled over one of the vehicles. C****s was not in the car that was stopped for having an expired registration tag.
Sheriff's spokesman Steve Whitmore says the deputy became concerned when several men approached the vehicle. The deputy unholstered his gun and the situation quickly cooled down.
No citations were issued because the car was a rental.
But because he broke the mathematical model that had fit 100-meter record data for almost a century, Bolt's incredible performance could reset how fast researchers believe humans ultimately can run.
"This trend seems to defy simple curve fitting," wrote Tatsuo Tabata, director of the Institute for Data Evaluation and Analysis in Japan.
Statisticians have used a lower limit for 100-meter times of about 9.45 seconds, according to Tabata and other researchers. The exponential curve seen above -- which is drawn from an equation calculated to fit the world record data -- had been quite successful at predicting the steady progress of faster and faster 100-meter times. But Bolt's recent string of world records was clearly not an expected event: The model didn't predict a 9.69 until almost 2030."
Vybz Kartel a.k.a Addi the Teacha is denying claims that his Honda Accord motor car was fireb****ed by thugs who allegedly came to his posh residential home in the wee hours of the morning.
"Ridiculous!" a calm-sounding Vybz Kartel told a One876Entertainment.com reporter this morning. "The Honda had an electrical problem and the fireman came and extinguished the blaze, that's all, my car was not fireb****ed."
Vybz Kartel has been involved in a lyrical clash with David 'Mavado' Brooks, a member of the Alliance in recent weeks, the two exchanging hardcore disses on the Martial Arts rhythm resurrected by Cordel 'Skatta' Burrell. Mavado's song, Dem a Fag, intimated that Kartel was a homosexual, while Kartel responded with equal vitriol in Wah Dat Fah? suggesting that he had sexual intercourse with Mavado's mother and reiterated rumours that Mavado's brother was an effeminate homosexual.
"At the end of the day, Jamaicans should know it's just music, no physical altercation. Mi no have nothing against David. If he does against me, I don't see it. My focus now is on positive songs like Money Fi Spend, Million by a Morning, and Life Sweet, uplifting songs for Jamaica, so don't expect me to perform those clash songs onstage, just regular thug anthems and daggering songs. Money over war," he said.
Breaking news reaching our offices is that seventeen (17) year old Carlton Grant Jr. more popularly known as 'Carlie', son of veteran dancehall artiste Spragga Benz (Carlton Grant Sr.) was killed by the Police in Downtown Kingston this morning. 876radio.com understands that he was he was last seen alive riding a bicycle, wearing a mesh marino and shorts heading to a party with a some friends in the downtown area where his mother resides. In the earlier hours of Sunday morning a few persons said they heard several shots being fired intermittently followed by a break then one single shot. Eyewitness accounts said when the young man was accosted by the Police he placed his hands in the air before being shot the first time. One ardent resident of downtown said after that occurred there was a break while a Police officer stood over him and proceeded to shoot him a second time, clearly with the intent to kill. The residents said they then threw his body in the back of a police vehicle and drove him to the hospital where he was pronounced dead on arrival. When asked by the residents, who were adamant that the teen was unharmed. The Police claimed he was killed because he was found with an illegal firearm. However when they asked to see the weapon no evidence was forthcoming. Spragga Benz was reportedly in New York at the time of his son's death but his mother was present at the Hospital. The teen before meeting his demise, had a bright future ahead of him being the recipient of five (5) subject passes in the recent CXC examinations. |
beijing, china
FORMER world 100 metres record holder Asafa Powell has jumped to the defence of fellow speedster Usain Bolt after the world 100 and 200 metres record holder was chided for excessive celebrations before, during and after his gold medal runs on Sunday and Wednesday by International Olympic Committee (IOC) president Jacques Rogge yesterday.
"He (Bolt) was not disrespecting anybody," Powell said yesterday.
"Usain was just doing his own thing. He was just having fun," Powell, who had just led Jamaica to victory in one semi-final of the 4x100m, said.
"He was not talking against anybody, just having fun out there and enjoying himself," Powell added.
Meeting with Rogge
President of the Jamaica Olympic Association, Mike Fennell, who is attending the Games said Friday morning here (Beijing is 13 hours ahead of Jamaica) that he will be seeking a meeting with Rogge.
"I only heard about it (the comments about Bolt) last night and I am proposing to seek a meeting with the president this morning to clarify and to know how to respond," Fennell said.
Bolt dropped his hand and beat his chest in celebration just before hitting the line in the 100 metres. Then, wrapped in the Jamaican flag, he kissed his running shoes and gave an exhibition of several local dancehall moves.
This, Rogge said, was against the spirit of the Games.
"That's not the way we perceive being a champion," an Associated Press report quoted Rogge as saying. According to the report, Rogge made his comments to three international news agencies.
The report went on to say that the IOC boss hailed Bolt's stunning achievements in the two sprints and compared him to American great Jesse Owens who won the sprint double at the 1936 Games in Berlin, Germany, but said Bolt should have cut out the look-at-me flaunting and acknowledged the other athletes.
More respect
The AP report said: "I have no problem with him doing a show. I think he should show more respect for his competitors and shake hands, give a tap on the shoulder to the other ones immediately after the finish and not make gestures like the one he made in the 100 metres."
Bolt, on Wednesday, became the first athlete in 24 years to win the sprint double at the Olympic Games. On Sunday, he won the 100 metres in 9.69 second taking three-hundredths of a second off his own mark. Then three days later he sped to victory in the 200 metres in 19.30 clipping two-hundredths of a second off the mark which was held by American Michael Johnson since 1996.
A promising young singer was headed to Miami from a music video shoot in the Bahamas when the small-engine plane she boarded exploded before ever leaving the runway.
That was seven years ago from this August day.
Aaliyah Haugton, discovered by R&B icon R. Kelly, was dead at age 22.
Seven other passengers including the pilot were also killed.
This new album is his first recorded work since his release from prison in 2007. We already know that Jah Cure has collaborated with several artists like Sean Paul, Junior Reid, Busta Rhymes, and more surprisingly, Enrique Iglesias.
Watch the new video, Hot Long Time featuring Junior Reid, the first single issued from Jah Cure's new effort.
Lead by CEO and Chairman Hip Hop entrepreneur P. Miller (formerly Master P), the family friendly TV network is also backed by actor Denzel Washington. BBTV advisory board members include Washington; Vault Load Films president Jim Finkl; NAACP executive director Vicangelo Bullock; NBA player Derek Anderson; cable industry veteran Prof. Sal Martino; hip-hop pioneer DJ Kool Herc; entrepreneur Olatokunbo Betiku; and real estate mogul Curtis Oakes, according to a press release from BBTV.
I believe that there is a market in our community for a new diverse network that provides a new brand of superior programming that caters to all aspects of television, from reality to original programming, said Miller who says the station has been one of his pipe dreams.
Miller credits BET founder Bob Johnson for setting him on his path into the TV business. I remember him telling me back in the day that if you wanted to know real estate, youve got to hang out with real estate investors. If you wanted to know sports, youve got to hang out with athletes. I wanted to know TV, so I hung out with Bob and learned the TV game from one of the best in the business.
Rapper turned reality star Da Brat will be doing time behind bars as a judge has sentenced her to three years in prison for attacking another woman at an Atlanta nightclub last year.
According to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Da Brat, born Shawntae Harris, copped a guilty plea to aggravated assault yesterday (August 22) in a DeKalb County courtroom. In addition to the jail time, Superior Court Judge Gail Flake also sentenced the rapper to seven years probation and 200 hours of community service.
Upon leaving the courtroom the popular 90s rapper - known for her collaborations with hip-hop mogul Jermaine Dupri as well as her stints in a string of VH1 reality shows - appeared confident.
I love yall, she said to about six weeping relatives as they replied, We love you too.
The prison terms come as a result of Da Brats actions at a Halloween party at Studio 72 nightclub on October 31 2007. After striking a waitress with a rum bottle due to an alleged argument, the woman was immediately hospitalized and suffered permanent facial scarring.
The star also said she did the metallic body paint stuff for her video, and not to show her body.
I didnt do it for people to like me. I did it because it was a cool visual, unexpected, and it looked hot, she said.
RELIVE BEIJING OLYMPICS NOW WWW.CORNY.ORG
Erich Scherfen says unless his name is removed from the list, he faces losing not only his job but the ability to make a living in his chosen profession."
DOWNERS GROVE, Ill. - The owners of Yoda a cat with four ears could use a couple extra hands to answer their telephones.
Ted and Valerie Rock said they've been inundated with television offers and media inquiries since their son posted a photo of their smoke-colored cat on a Web site. That turned the four-eared feline from a suburban animal oddity into an instant Internet celebrity.The Rocks, from the Chicago suburb of Downers Grove, have fielded calls from "Good Morning America," "Fox News" and "The Tyra Banks Show." The cat's photo has graced the London Guardian and a British tabloid. The Daily Mail said if Batman had a cat, it would be Yoda.
"It's amazing," Ted Rock said. "For the past few days, our phone has just been ringing off the hook."
Yoda's extra ears give him a hint of a devilish appearance. The Rocks said they found him in 2006 while watching a Chicago Bears game at a Blue Island bar.
Some in the bar were passing the then-eight-week old kitten around, making fun of his extra set of ears, mocking his appearance and calling him names such as "Devil Cat" and "Beelzebub."
It wasn't quite love at first sight, but the Rocks felt sorry for the cat and offered to adopt the kitten from the bar's owner, who kept the animal caged atop the bar for his customers' amusement.
The edition of the Peter King saga published in last Weekend's STAR is mild compared to the latest episode.
THE STAR, the actions of a male, high profile senior cop, who was involved in a threesome.
The cop, who was performing oral sex on one person, was in turn being attended to from behind by another man. When he came up for air, obviously still in the throes of ecstasy, the cop cried out, "... Kill me, kill me, kill me, breed me ..."
On another occasion, the same cop was seen dressed in a playboy bunny outfit, complete with ears and a fluffy tail. But he was not only dressed for the part as he had no problem dancing and bunny-hopping around.
Fast forward to scene two, in which a lawyer and a politician were dressed in leather and involved in a sado-masochistic adventure, with the 'stroker' shouting, "yuh see seh mi can mek politician feel good!" They seemed oblivious to the cameras as their passion mounted.
It was obvious that our 'super' cameraman, King, also loved to tape young boys. There are scenes in which they are being driven to his 'love shack' and others where they are walking towards him, while he instructs them on how to 'move'. Many young, nude boys also made appearances in his productions.
The King tape saga came to the fore after the ambassador was fatally stabbed at his upscale house off Waterloo Road in St Andrew in March 2006. King had developed a habit of videotaping homosexual acts at his house. Many of these acts are on the tapes which the police took as evidence.
Since King's murder, Sheldon Pusey, 23, was arrested but the accused man claims that he acted in self-defence after sexual advances were made at him. He has appeared in court on several occasions to answer to the charge laid against him.