[Click image above to READ MORE ] |
In an effort to divert police attention, some powerful area dons in the island are turning to producing music, THE WEEKEND STAR has learnt.
Dons from Kingston and St Catherine, St Elizabeth and Westmoreland have taken to the music business as they put up a 'front' while seeking profits to fund their criminal operations.
Although criminal elements have been known to seek profits by hosting events such as stage shows and parties, music production is relatively new.
Checks have revealed that at least three record labels have been associated with dons. There are also at least two songs which are high-riding on local charts that were produced by one of these labels.
aware of scheme
Assistant Commissioner of Police Les Green, head of the Serious Crimes Division (which networks with the Major Investigation Task Force and Organised Crime Investigation Division) said the police are aware of the activity.
He said certain people in the music industry along with their entourages are always under scrutiny.
Bling, the 'second in command' for a volatile east Kingston community, admitted to their involvement in music production.
"A deh suh di ting deh now eno ... If wi can mek money from show and party, it only natural wi try fi di bigga money and try di music ting straight," he said while pointing out that his boss is one such community leader who has gone into music production.
But there is a twist in the gangsters' involvement. Investigations revealed that the criminals do little or nothing in order to complete the productions.
Blacka Dog, a highly respected community leader from St Catherine, said persons are simply ordered to perform musical favours. "We nuh know how fi build riddim, suh wi jus beg a one producer sort out one fi wi. Afta dat wi link di artiste dem an tell dem seh wi have a bad riddim fi dem voice pon and wi a beg dem put sup'n pon it," he explained.
Threats take care of the promotion of the finished products. One popular selector said 'young' selectors in the business are sometimes threatened to play tunes on the thugs' labels.
"Di man dem come out inna dem numbers when dem ready but a normally di likkle man dem get dem treatment deh still... Di bigga man dem probably inna di link already so a phone call can mek and everyting sort out," said the selector.
Although profits from the new-found enterprise are not made in an instant, the thugs nevertheless say it is a good way of diverting unwanted police attention while travelling on the road to get 'real money'.
In explaining their theory, Bling said: "A real money wi want eno, an dis is a good way to it... Di money might nuh deh pon spot like when yu keep a dance but afta a while a good food can eat."
Despite their belief that this is a good way to elude the police, law enforcement officials said they are aware of the activity.
ACP Green said the police are also aware that other forms of criminal acts come into play with the new development.
"That's nothing new to us and we know that it involves human and drug trafficking," ACP Green said, while adding that the police are not easily tricked and once there is enough evidence to bring someone to justice, putting up any business venture as a front will be futile.
Young Money's Nicki Minaj recently updated fans on what she has going on as 2011 progresses including work on a sophomore album and plans to temporarily leave the United States.
Minaj said she is interested in packing up and traveling throughout Europe.
"Well, of course we're going to do the tour with Britney [Spears]; the Femme Fatale Tour. I'm super excited about that. Good Morning America in the summer as well, and just starting to work on my sophomore album. I'm really really excited about it. Of course we just put out 'Super Bass,' which is the Number One record on Rap/Hip Hop on iTunes, and it got up to Number 12 on the Hot 100 on iTunes. So I'm just working on that and I'm super excited about continuing what I started with Pink Friday and then going all over the world next year. You know, I think the United States has had enough of me for a little bit, and I think I can now pack my bags and go to France and the UK and everywhere else. Just everywhere."
Last month, the self-proclaimed Barbie promised to announce her Pink Friday follow-up release in September.
"You'll get another album within 12 months," she told KIIS FM's JoJo. "You'll get the announcement for the next album in--and I'm saying the announcement--that you'll get the announcement in September. That's all." But for now she'll stay busy promoting her new single "Super Bass" and its video, set to arrive in the next week. Videos for "Did It On'em" and "Fly," her collaboration with Rihanna, have also been shot.
In March, Minaj said an album release date would cause her competition to alter their projects.
However, she already has a release date in mind for her sophomore set -- though she's reluctant to broadcast the info. "I can give you an idea," she said, coyly. "But I don't want to. I'd rather not right now. Because then everybody is gonna jump on the bandwagon and say they're putting out their album the same day."
Along with a platinum-selling debut album, artists like Lloyd Banks feel her impact on the rap game far exceeds just record sales.
"[Nicki's] very lyrical and creative with how she puts words together, I think she's going to open up the minds of girls who are opposed to just looking like a Barbie. I think the idea is not just the excitement of having the clothes and the look and everything. I think that she's making girls want to actually put words together."
Model Amber Rose opens up about fans' misconception of herself and why she continues to be associated as a celebrity groupie in the new issue of KING magazine.
Based on an excerpt from her interview, Rose reveals her confidence in showing off her body.
"I spoke to people, asking why do I constantly get ridiculed. Is it because I was a stripper? But they said, 'No, people don't care about that, it's that they think that you're with all these men, when you're not." I'm only taking that from certain people that I spoke to. Maybe it's that too, or that I'm very comfortable with my body. I can be topless on Miami Beach, that doesn't make me a whore. That's an everyday thing on Miami Beach. It's just such a big deal because I'm in the public eye."
In March, the video vixen hit up Twitter to slam groupie rumors.
"Morning Twit Fam, [I] didn't really wake up in a good mood today. I'm just so sick of being ridiculed. [People] assuming things without knowing. I'm super nice to everyone I meet. I'm a very caring compassionate person. I don't deserve to be talked about so negatively. I really hate explaining myself that's why I stay so quiet but I will say this..... I was with my ex for 2 years and now I have a new Love. [Two People] that's it. If that makes me a whore then so be it. I have NEVER slept with Fabolous, Drake, Chris Brown, Amare, Lebron, Cassidy etc nor have I ever been a Prostitute." (Amber Rose's Twitter)
She also recently dismantled hopes of fans one-day catching her in a leaked sex tape.
"Didn't you see my t*tties on South Beach? There ain't gonna be no sex tape, I'm not into that sh*t," Rose explained. "I've been offered a lot of money but I chose not to do it. I chose to take the high road and I feel like just because of my past and my profession and what I did in my past doesn't mean that I [would do that]. I was a stripper since I was 15 years-old. South Philly. I was a South Philly hood rat my whole life. I feel like I grew up. [I'm] more cultured. I've traveled the world now, I've learned more things [and] I've learned how to speak well."
Last summer, Rose discussed her anxiety over paparazzi and confidence in showing off skin.
"I'm very comfortable with my body, even in my home I'm always naked. I love being free - no hair and no clothes!," she revealed in an interview. "The thing that people don't understand when it comes to a relationship with a man or woman is that it's not about sex at all, even though that's the first thing that pops in your head. It's about the love and the vibe you get from the person, and I believe you can find that in anyone... Sometimes [the fame] does get overwhelming because, for example, I like to be on the beach with my man with no top on...I'm very comfortable with my body...But there's no privacy - that's the only thing that overwhelms me. Every time I see a light flash I think it's the paparazzi. Those f*ckers give me anxiety
The amount Danny Lee and Shane Lowry banked between them when winning the Johnnie Walker Classic and 3 Irish Open respectively. Both amateurs when they scored their maiden European Tour wins they subsequently turned pro and are slowly coming to terms with their new status.
Number one: Lee Westwood who won two of his last four starts of the season to clinch the Race to Dubai title. His consistency in the last half of the season was extraordinary: two wins, another three top three finishes and a total of 10 top nine finishes in 12 events from July.
Number Two: Rory McIlroy who in only his second full season of professional golf came so close to withstanding Westwood's late charge for the number one spot. He topped and tailed his year nicely - four early top five finishes (including a maiden win in Dubai) started the season well and then he concluded with six top seven efforts in his final seven tournaments.
Three wins: Gregory Bourdy's European Tour career total after claiming the Hong Kong Open in November. In doing so he became the first Frenchman to win in three consecutive seasons.
Four second place finishes: Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano's 2009 season total. In April he was actually the runner-up for three tournaments on the trot: at the Estoril Open de Portugal, the China Open and the Ballantine's Championship. He completed the unwanted but lucrative quartet in the Scottish Open at Loch Lomond.
Five matches: And a mammoth 126 holes was what it needed for Ross Fisher to claim the re-branded and re-located Volvo World Matchplay Championship. Using a Champions League style format, and moved from Wentworth to the Costa del Sol, it had some pros and some cons, but Fisher loved every second of it. He defeated Anthony Kim 4&3 in the final to claim the 750,000 Euro cheque for first place.
Six stroke victory: The largest winning margin of the season claimed by three players - Argentina's Daniel Vancsik trounced the field in the Italian Open at Royal Park I Roveri, Sweden's Christian Nilsson did the same when collecting the St Omer Open in June and - most impressively of all - Westwood did the same to the elite field in the Dubai World Championship on the final weekend of the season.
Double bogey seven: Oskar Henningsson's score on his first hole in the Moravia Silesia Open. 71 holes later he was crowned champion, completing the transformation from Nordic League nobody to European Tour winner in less than 12 months. The Swede had become the first player to win all three stages of Q-school at the end of 2008 before his maiden tour win came, fittingly, at the Prosper Golf Resort.
8 under par for 8 holes: The best eagle/birdie streak of the year came from Spain's Jose Manuel Lara. At the Moravia Silesia Open one eagle and six birdies allowed him to play seven holes (from the seventh) in eight under par.
9-iron: The club Argentina's Ricardo Gonzalez hit from trouble on the final hole of the SAS Masters at Barseback. It was the shot of the season: having blasted his tee-shot through the dog-leg he was left in the rough, with trees blocking his view of the green. The conservative approach seemed obvious but he thrashed at the ball with the 9-iron, the ball soared above the trees and implausibly it landed it like a butterfly, a mere five feet from the flag.
10 players under par: At the end of the Ballantine's Championship on Jeju Island in April. The conditions all week were horrendous - viciously windy and wet - and in the third round only Frenchman Francois Delamontagne was able to break par (and only 11 players signed for less than 76!). Thailand's Thongchai Jaidee eventually prevailed after a three-man play-off.
11 under par: Rafael Cabrera Bello's score when shooting a remarkable final round of 60 to win the Austrian Golf Open in September. He even had a 30-foot putt for eagle (and a 59) on the final green but settled for the 60 which helped him turn an eight shot deficit after 54 holes into a one-shot victory over Benn Barham.
12 years: The gap between Michael Jonzon's first European Tour win and his second. The Swede finally claimed October's Castello Masters by holing an 18-foot birdie putt on the 72nd green after having lost three shots to par on the previous three holes.
13 shots difference: Between Christian Cevaer's final score in the 2009 European Open at the London GC and Ross Fisher's winning total at the same venue 12 months earlier. It was a remarkable win for the Frenchman. Everyone agreed that the winner needed to be a long-hitter and yet the shortest driver of the week ground the big men down!
14 strokes: the number Stewart Cink needed to complete the four-hole play-off in the Open Championship at Turnberry. It was six shots less than Tom Watson required. Watson had defied Father Time for 72 holes, playing more like a 29-year-old than a 59-year-old. In extra time he aged visibly and played like a 69-year-old. Few said as much - there was so much else to say - but it actually put his 72-hole effort into perspective and made it all the more extraordinary.
15th lead after three rounds of a major: Is what the 2009 PGA Championship was for Tiger Woods. On every previous occasion - all 14 of them - Woods had won the tournament but Korea's YE Yang stunned the world number one - and the world too. Not only did he do something no-one else had done but he did it in style: playing alongside Woods and beating him by five shots to earn a three-shot tournament victory.
16 rounds: Is all it took for 20-year-old Tano Goya to collect victory in his rookie year on tour. He played three times in South Africa, returned home to Argentina, warmed up with a start in Mexico on the PGA Tour and then won the Madeira Island Open at Porto Santo - only his fourth start of the European Tour season (and only his sixth start at that level).
17-under-par: The most common winning score of the season. Six winners completed their week on that figure: Richard Sterne (Alfred Dunhill Championship), Anthony Kang (Maybank Malaysian Open), Danny Lee (Johnnie Walker Classic), Shane Lowry (3 Irish Open), Paul Casey (BMW PGA Championship) and Phil Mickelson (HSBC Champions).
18 greens in regulation: The number Ross McGowan posted in his second round 66 during the Madrid Masters in October. Ironically next day he missed more greens and shot 60. His long game was imperious all week and, together with a putter purchased on Ebay (the same model he used as a junior), it produced a week of stunning golf to complete a highly impressive maiden European Tour win.
Europe Tours
European Tours
20 April 2010
|
An on-field kiss between two UK soccer stars has caused a massive media sensation.
Manchester Uniteds Gary Neville kissed teammate Paul Scholes square on the lips for a prolonged period of time after Scholes scored a late goal to give Manchester United a key win last Saturday.
While kisses of congratulations are pretty routine on the soccer field, especially in Europe, the Neville smooch has drawn headlines across the UK including these gems: "When mens lips meet. By kissing Paul Scholes, Gary Neville declared war on homophobia. Kiss and hell. Eternal Scholes gives United kiss of life. Kiss of life.
The Guardian reported on the kiss as a massive step towards combating homophobia in a sport that is renowned for homophobia at the highest levels.
"Neville may be married with two kids, but if this crazy, untamed, obsessional partisan feels that the only way of truly conveying his feelings is to lock lips with a bemused redhead then surely theres a broader message that could be made from it? The Manchester Pride event runs through the last 10 days of August this year. Neville should be invited as a guest of honour."
To date, homophobia in English soccer has reached the point where they cant get players to speak out against it publicly lest they be ridiculed and labelled.
Early next month almost 30 Australian AFL sportsmen and coaches will take part in the inclusion and diversity" campaign aimed at battling homophobia in sport. The campaign coincides the International Day Against Homophobia on May 17.
Brad Sewell, Neil Balme, Joel Selwood and Brownlow medallists Jimmy Bartel and Adam Goodes are among nearly dozens of participants who will be photographed holding handwritten signs calling for acceptance and understanding of homosexuals.
An attempt at a similar campaign by English soccer authorities failed earlier this year because players would not take part.
It's been an interesting week for sports. Also on the weekend, Olympic champion Daniel Kowlaski came out publicly as a gay man.
The 34 year old spoke about the pressure of being gay and an elite sport person.
"I often think that if I had had people to look up to, to read about, who were elite athletes and were easily accessible - people who had lived some of my experiences as an athlete - then it would have helped the situation. It would have made it easier. But having lived it, I do understand why so few elite athletes have come out."
MICHAEL JACKSON
MICHAEL "CAKE SOAP" JACKSON
Mi nah 3 believe
Grammy-winning rapper Eminem will have to make space for another platinum plaque, as his 2000 Marshall Mathers LP has now officially reached diamond status with over 10 million copies sold.
According to reports, Em's latest achievement was officially reached on March 9th.
Here we go again. In March this year, Eminem's fourth studio album The Eminem Show was awarded Diamond status by the RIAA. Now their freshly updated database has declared his third one The Marshall Mathers LP also as a Diamond selling album in the United States which translates to more than 10 million copies sold. The controversial album was released in May, 2000 and sold 1.7 million units in the first week itself.
Em's sophomore album focused heavily on his personal life.
Eminem is all about blurring the distinction between reality and fiction, humor and horror, satire and documentary, so it makes perfect sense that The Marshall Mathers LP is no more or no less "real" than The Slim Shady LP. It is, however, a fairly brilliant expansion of his debut, turning his spare, menacing hip-hop into a hyper-surreal, wittily disturbing thrill ride. It's both funnier and darker than his debut, and Eminem's writing is so sharp and clever that the jokes cut as deeply as the explorations of his ruptured psyche. The production is nearly as evocative as the raps, with liquid basslines, stuttering rhythms, slight sound effects, and spacious soundscapes.
Despite the album sales achievements, Em previously said he does not focus on records sold.
"I don't think I've actually stopped to think about it," Eminem said referencing being named artist of the decade in June 2010. "I never thought that my life would amount to this. But to be able to sit back and digest it is so strange to me, because I still feel so regular. I don't understand what people think the big deal is about me. It's a very strange relationship that I have with fame...Honestly, as long as people enjoy the music, that means the most to me. I could sell 80 million records in the first week, and if my peers or fans of real hip-hop didn't like it, it really wouldn't mean anything." (Billboard)
Em's latest album has sold over three million copies to date.
Grammy-winning rapper Eminem's Recovery moved down four slots to No. 33 with 14,200. Headed into his 44th week, Slim Shady's latest offering stands at 3,802,700 sold units.
Young Money's Nicki Minaj is far from finished giving surprise "I Am Still Music II" tour guests lap dances, however, her latest "victim" has come forward to discuss surviving the on-stage rump attack.
After receiving the publicized lap dance this week in Arizona, NBA star Steve Nash tweeted his post-grind reaction.
"RT @Sunsbouncer: my boy @ concert has a clear video of @SteveNash getting a lap dance from @NICKIMINAJ cant wait to see it! #NASHTY(me too!)," he tweeted April 20th.
"RT @NICKIMINAJ: Haha! Give it up for Steve Nash yall!!!; RT @SteveNash: I think I just got a lapdance from @nickiminaj?(oh, so it IS real?)
"Aight aight! I met @liltunechi and got a lap dance from @nickiminaj! No big deal.....@JaredDudley619." (Steve Nash's Twitter)
Minaj also playfully acknowledged her lap dance spectacle.
"Haha! Give it up for Steve Nash yall!!! ---> RT @SteveNash: I think I just got a lapdance from @nickiminaj ?," she tweeted April 20th. (Nicki Minaj's Twitter)
Footage of the grinding session circulated online throughout the week.
TMZ has posted video from Tuesday's Lil Wayne tour stop at US Airways Center that clearly shows Nicki Minaj and her "famously plump caboose," as they call it, performing a lap dance on Steve Nash. The video shows him seated in a chair on stage as Minaj runs her hand through his hair and caresses his chest from behind before straddling the chair and grinding into Nash while he just sits there with a look that says, "I wonder if I should have let this happen?" (AZ Central)
Last week, Minaj turned heads after giving fellow NBA point guard Chris Paul an on-stage lap dance.
New Orleans Hornets baller Chris Paul's fiancee/baby momsJada got a sneak peek at what his bachelor party would be like last night. Nicki Minaj pulled him on stage for her nightly lap dance. Watch Nicki make Chris blush inside.....The I Am Music Tour II rolled into New Orleans--Lil Wayne's hometown--for one of their largest tour stops. And, of course, NBA baller Chris Paul was at the New Orleans arena to support Young Money.
While G-Unit leader 50 Cent may not have a Before I Self Destruct follow-up album title yet, he is currently in the midst of putting together a new film.
Breaking the news via Twitter, 50 said his film project could drop on the same day as his next LP and be a visual representation of his 2009 War Angel.
"I'm writing another movie. Ill put it out the same day as my new album. I started last night," 50 tweeted Thursday (April 14).
"I have two ideas what do you think about a film based on war angel ?"
"I'm gonna make it 10 times better then before I self destruct that was my first time writing and directing" (50 Cent's Twitter)
In summer 2009, 50 said his War Angel mixtape would spark a return to non-commercial rap.
"I think it will change [rappers' direction] when they see the public respond to it in a positive way that'll actually allow them to be creative in different areas again and just do what they want," Fif explained. "It's all by example. When Get Rich Or Die Tryin' came out, everything shifted, because they watching it be the largest debuting album to date. 822,000 copies the first week and then another 800,000 copies the next week, they go, 'Ah man, that's what I wanna do.' And then the other artists start doing their version of 50 Cent, we don't want that but we want them to be able to write their actual story or what they see going on around them." (This Is 50)
He also previously said War Angel extracted a new passion out of him and into the music.
"I'm ambitious," Fif said in an interview. "I don't think I'll ever achieve enough. I'll always be after something or I'll find a new interest or a new passion to establish something else...At this point, I wanted to do something that wasn't commercial, the whole CD pretty much...The guy that's trying to get a record deal right now, he should be writing with very strong passion...Right now, he's in competition with 50 Cent, and I'm writing like I need a record deal. It's tough for him...I can write at that pace and achieve what I want. You won't say there's a lack of quality in [War Angel]." (MTV)
Last January, 50 hinted at plans to recruit Eminem, Lil Kim, Lloyd Banks and more artists for his next solo album.
50 Cent stormed Sundance over the weekend to announce his latest film ventures. While there, he also shared some other exciting news, revealing that he's reuniting with Eminem for his next album. "I just flew from Detroit. I'm working with Em on my new album," 50 told a reporter during the Park City festival. The hip-hop mogul has already collaborated with an impressive cast for his fifthstudio album including Lil' Kim, Akon, Swizz Beatz, Busta Rhymes, and Lloyd Banks.
Television actor/rapper Nick Cannon is not letting his past feud with Eminem go away by targeting his hip-hop rival on an upcoming Showtime comedy special.
Weekend reports claim Cannon will mock Em on his May 14th special, "Mr. Showbiz."
"Nick Cannon: Mr Showbiz" will see the rapper and comedian tackle a wide range of topics, from his marriage to Mariah Carey to his rivalry with controversial rapper Eminem. "In his first ever comedy special, the popular comic actor and musician reveals surprisingly edgy, hysterically honest tales of his failed attempts at being a gangster, his humble roots, marriage, fatherhood, and his thoughts about the rapper Eminem," a spokesperson for the network confirmed through Starpulse. (Digital Spy)
Cannon's special is reportedly based out of Las Vegas, Nevada.
In an interview with The Hollywood Reporter, Cannon will make a return to stand-up May 14 at 9pm on cable network Showtime with the hour-long special Nick Cannon: Mr. Showbiz, which was recorded at the Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas. Cannon apparently intends to use the platform to let his hair down a bit - and he apparently addresses Slim Shady publicly during his act. (RapFix)
Last summer, Cannon dropped the diss record, "I'm A Slick Rick," accusing Em of avoiding a face-to-face confrontation.
"Now once upon a time in a far away life," Nick raps using Slick Rick's tone of voice. "There lived a young man who was so outstanding, to make it interesting it's me, Nick Cannon -- Now here's a little something that needs to be heard/Yo I'ma serve this clown, now/Word, Nick?/Word/I don't know if I should hit him because he's feminine Slick, excuse me Eminem why you lying on your d*ck?/Erectile dysfunction, you wanna get 'em up -- I see your mouth moving but you soft, Teddy Ruxpin/I tried to holla at you at the BET show, but you were scared of the trouble/More security than the Pope/And while you was in your bubble, I was rolling dolo, any time your face is in the streets is some signs for promo/Oh no, there's been a mistake, see my name is Slick Nick, not Shady Flakes/I'ma mop you up with my wop like it's '88..." ("I'm A Slick Rick")
Em's Shady Records labelmate and D12 group member Bizarre later responded to Cannon.
"I heard it," Bizarre told radio host Angela Yee. "It was absolutely terrible. Terrible. He was trying to act like he was Slick Rick. He was terrible and [just] a God awful rapper. But him trying to do a Slick Rick accent was just absolutely horrible...You don't want that one-on-one with Marshall. Nick, you don't want that one-on-one." (
PHILADELPHIA, USA (AP) The money might not have been dirty but a man trying to get more than US$10,000 to Jamaica decided to use soap anyway.
Customs officials say they seized the money from a man trying to fly from Philadelphia to Jamaica on Saturday after discovering cash stuffed into boxes of Irish Spring soap.
Customs and Border Protection officials say the man told officers he had US$3,000 on him but a search revealed a total of US$11,343 concealed on his person and in envelopes and soap boxes in his luggage. International travellers must declare amounts exceeding US$10,000. Officials did not release the man's name.
For more information on Karamanti visit: www.reverbnation.com/karamanti or download her EPK here: http://www.mediafire.com/?2kkq6ctvqlyczda
IAN Thomas, the co-accused of convicted Jamaican reggae star Buju Banton, was yesterday sentenced to 51 months' imprisonment in a federal court in Tampa, Florida.
The sentence was more than the 18 months that Thomas had requested in court documents last week for co-operating with the prosecution against Banton.
"Mr Thomas requests that the court deem a sentence of 18 months more than reasonable in this case," according to the papers filed in the Sam M Gibbons Federal Court last Friday.
Yesterday's sentence follows Banton's conviction in the said court in February on charges of conspiracy to distribute five or more kilogrammes of cocaine, possession of a firearm in the furtherance of a drug trafficking crime and using the wires to facilitate a drug-trafficking offence.
The Grammy award-winning artiste was acquitted of a fourth charge of attempted possession with the intent to distribute cocaine.
Banton, whose real name is Mark Myrie, is to be sentenced on June 23. He faces upwards of 15 years in prison.
Thomas, who is a long-time friend of Banton, was arrested in an undercover operation in a warehouse in Florida along with a man by the name of James Mack in December 2009. Banton was arrested hours later at his south Florida home. Both Thomas and Mack pleaded guilty on the charges against them. They were scheduled to give evidence in Banton's trial but were not called.
Although Thomas did not give evidence in court, his briefing, according to the court document filed last Friday, has tremendously benefited the prosecution.
Thomas said in the filing that he did not stand to benefit from any sale of cocaine and that his only function was to seek a buyer for the cocaine that the Government's confidential source had presented.
"After consideration of the factors enumerated... this court should find that a sentence below the advisory guideline range is sufficient but not greater than the necessary to achieve the purposes of sentencing," said the document.
Hollywood couple Nick Cannon and Mariah Carey officially welcomed twins over the weekend as the renowned R&B singer/actress gave birth to a boy and girl in Los Angeles.
Details of the birth landed across the Internet Saturday (April 30) afternoon.
It's official -- Mimi is now a mama! Mariah Carey gave birth to twins - a boy and a girl - on Saturday. The 41-year-old singing superstar gave birth at 12:07 p.m. EDT at an undisclosed hospital in Los Angeles, Mariah's rep, Cindi Berger, told the Associated Press. Nick and Mariah's baby girl was reportedly born first, weighing 5 pounds, 3 ounces, and was 18 inches long; while her brother was next, at 5 pounds 6 ounces, and was 19 inches. The twins coincidentally arrived on the couple's fourth wedding anniversary. (Access Hollywood)
Cannon also confirmed being a father via his Twitter page.
"Congratulations to Mariah & Nick on the birth of#dembabies!!" a rep wrote on the singer's Twitter page. "Born, April 30th at 12:07pm ET. Mommy, Daddy & #dembabies are all doing fine!" Cannon added his sentiments on his Twitter page: "My wife just gave me the most incredible anniversary gift ever in life! I won't ever be able to top this!"
The actor/rapper predicted Carey's delivery would take place sooner than later.
And it was just as Cannon, 30, predicted. "I'm not trying to be a psychic, but we renew our vows every year so ... It's probably going to be in the hospital this year. I can feel it," Cannon said Thursday when he guest-hosted The Talk. "We got the minister coming in, so this gown will not be a wedding gown, but a hospital gown." (
Last October, Carey revealed that she experienced a miscarriage around 2008."The way it happened, so quickly at first, I didn't know what to expect. That was not easy," she admitted. "I've never really been a very forthcoming person about my personal stuff. It kind of shook us both and took us into a place that was really dark and difficult. When that happened ... I wasn't able to even talk to anybody about it. That was not easy.
The Chinese official news agency Xinhua is reporting that Osama Bin Laden was killed by Pakistani forces, and U.S. forces merely swooped in the pick up the body (via @crampell).
The report also claims that the helicopter that was shot down was Pakistani, not American.
This contradicts U.S. reports that U.S. special forces entered the compound and killed Bin Laden.
From Xinhua:
At about 1:20 a.m. local time a Pakistani helicopter was shot down by unknown people in the Sikandarabad area of Abbotabad. The Pakistani forces launched a search operation in the nearby area and encountered with a group of unknown armed people. A fire exchange followed between the two sides.
When the fire exchange ended, the Pakistani forces arrested some Arab women and kids as well some other armed people who later confessed to the Pakistani forces they were with Osama Bin laden when the fire was exchanged and Bin Laden was killed in the firing.
Local media reported that after the dead body of Bin Laden was recovered, two U.S. helicopter flew to the site and carried away the dead body of Bin Laden.
The report also suggests that Bin Laden may have been killed in the air crash, rather than in a fire fight.
China has a growing relationship with the Pakistani government, and is also expanding its influence into Afghanistan.
Ace deejay Bounty Killer decisively dismissed the notion that he can't help but being 'cross, angry and miserable' when he surprised fans with an incredible 'culture-lace' set at Western Consciousness 2011, which climaxed at Paradise Park, in Westmoreland, early Sunday morning.
With fans already in a tizzy following earlier high-calibre performances by the likes of the time-less Freddie McGregor, Luciano, reggae icon King Sounds, D'Angel, the classy Dubtonic, risqué female deejay Tanya Stephens and House of Leeds recording star Iyahblazze, the nattily attired Bounty Killer, clad in his trademark full black, hit the stage with authority, declaring himself, "Rodney Pryce (his correct name) in hi-definition."
good songs
Bounty Killer soon had the fans rocking gleefully to his lyrics as, in between declaring that, 'a long time me a sing good songs but it's like them like when me get cross, angry and miserable,' he rolled steadfastly through songs like, Poor People Fed-up, Cyaa Believe Me Eye, Originality, Down In The Ghetto and Before Dem Seek God.
After declaring that, "they can take away my visa but they can't stop my voice from leave yah," Bounty Killer got even hotter, reeling off, Born As A Sufferer, The Country Mash-Up, Book,Cellular and Too Dangerous, before taking a break to encouraged parents to send their children to both regular school and Sunday school, arguing that the children should be exposed to God as well as a good education.
After a lyrics-filled half hour, Bounty Killer exited the stage. However, the appreciative fans demanded more and the clearly pleased deejay unleashed, Gimme Back Me Hennessey, and after briefly speaking about his recent run-ins with the law, fired off the song, Stronger, as his parting shot.
Beenie Man, who closed the show in the aftermath of Bounty Killer's stellar performance, was quite generous in congratulating his former arch-rival, getting the crowd to join him in applauding the performance. Following that, Beenie Man played a tidy set, reeling off several hits as he enjoyed himself with the fans, especially the ladies.
After watching fellow female deejay star D'Angel playing a restrained set during which she held her own with songs like, Hot Gal A Road, First Lady, and Time Of My Life, a less than subtle Tanya Stephens came close to the edge on a few occasions with her thought-provoking lyrics.
"I will be celebrating the un-celibacy of rasta tonight", the lyrically astute Tanya Stephens bypassed and in some instances switched words as she skilfully delivered songs like, Cyaa Handle De Ride, Goggle, Mr. Mention, Bomb Wuk, Tek Him Back, These Streets and It's A Pity, in a non-controversial manner.
London-based King Sounds was velvety smooth. Sharing his set with deejay Supa Sass he was absolutely masterful. Clad in full white and looking almost biblical with his flowing white beard, the veteran singer was as crisp as a compact disc, churning out hits such as, Book of Rules, Games People Play, Give Dem Love and I Shall Sing, which was complemented by the blazing lyrics of Supa Sass.
Reggae messengers
Reggae messengers Luciano and Big Ship captain Freddie McGregor were both masterful and composed in their respective sets. Luciano was quite clinical in his cover of Peter Tosh's, Legalize It, during which he puffed on a spliff, much to the delight of the fans while the elder statesman McGregor, kept them dancing with songs like,Africa, Push Come to Shove and Big Ship.
From a roots music perspective, House of Leeds recording star Iyahblazze and Lutan Fire, who is recovering from a recent bout of illness, were both very good. Lutan Fire was crisp on songs like, St Jago Dela Vega and *la*hd Stain while Iyahblazze got an encore after belting out, What If, Rasta and Woman I Need.
On a night when musical instruments were solidly represented, top-flight show band, the potent Dubtonic and Uprising Roots both played pleasing sets, combining sweet vocals with soul-stirring instrumental delivery. After their set, Dubtonic left no doubt why they were recently voted the top reggae band in the world.
With others acts like the solid Droop Lion, the velvet-smooth Hezron, the lyrically potent Little Hero, a mature-sounding Harry Toddler, the resurgent Turbulence, the Canada-based Jah Cutter and the deejay policeman Stamma T also chiming in with good performances, it would appear that promoter Worrell King got the mix just right.
A Montana dad is claiming that medical marijuana helped cure his 2-year-old son's massive brain tumor.
Mike Hyde, 27, said he slipped a little cannabis oil into his toddler Cash's feeding tube after the boy stopped eating for 40 days. Chemo treatments were making him too sick to eat.
"Not only was it helpful, it was a godsend," Hyde told ABC News.
Hyde had used medicinal marijuana to treat his own attention deficit disorder, and he got Cash a card after doctors found a malignant brain tumor on his optic never in 2010.
After doctors started an aggressive chemo treatment, the tot lost his appetite and threw up 10 times a day, his dad said. The little boy also suffered septic shock, a stroke and internal hemorrhaging.
"When he started the chemo, he was so sick," Hyde said. "For the first six weeks, he was blind...It's the nastiest thing to see someone you love go through this."
After doctors inserted a feeding tube into Cash's stomach, Hyde said he boiled up a little weed with olive oil and poured tiny doses into it, hoping to ease the boy's nausea and get him eating again.
Hyde never told doctors, because medical marijuana is illegal in Utah, where the boy was being treated. It is legal in Montana, where the family lives.
Miraculously, the boy recovered last fall.
"In two weeks he was weaned off all the nausea drugs, and he was eating again and sitting up in and laughing," Hyde said.
Doctors said the dad's impromptu pot treatment was surprising, but risky.
"I think that the fact that he didn't have the rapport and ability to be honest with the doctor is very troubling," Dr. Linda Granowetter, a pediatrics professor at NYU, told ABC.
"It's awfully hard to gauge if a child would have a bad reaction," she added. Granowetter said the idea that pot can cure cancer is "ludicrous."
Medical marijuana is legal in 16 states and commonly used to treat nausea associated with cancer treatments, as well as glaucoma and other stomach illnesses.
It has not been tested on children.
Hyde said his doctors called the recovery "miraculous," but warned him that there was a 50-to-80% chance that the cancer would come back.
Hyde and his wife set up a foundation to help children with cancer, and said doctors at the hospital told him he was "one of the best dads."
"I was told he was going to die, but I knew he hadn't stopped the fight," he said.
Afghan President Hamid Karzai said he hopes the world believes that his country is "not the place of terrorism" after the announcement that the al Qaeda leader was killed in neighboring Pakistan.
"If the international troops/forces are true allies of the Afghans - they should come out and say that the killing of Afghans, children and elders which took place over the many years on a daily basis was not a good idea," Karzai said Monday on state television.
Bin Laden eluded capture for years, once reportedly slipping out of a training camp in Afghanistan just hours before a barrage of U.S. cruise missiles destroyed it.
Prior to masterminding the September 11, 2001 attacks on the United States, bin Laden had been implicated in a series of deadly, high-profile attacks that had grown in their intensity and success during the 1990s. They included a deadly firefight with U.S. soldiers in Somalia in October 1993, the bombings of two U.S. embassies in East Africa that killed 224 in August 1998, and an attack on the USS Cole that killed 17 sailors in October 2000.
In his speech, Obama reiterated that the United States is not fighting Islam.
"I've made clear, just as President Bush did shortly after 9/11, that our war is not against Islam. Bin Laden was not a Muslim leader; he was a mass murderer of Muslims," Obama said.
CABINET has approved amendment of the Registration (Births and Deaths) Act of 1881, to provide for the registration of the names of unmarried fathers.
The act also specifies that no child will be registered unless the father is named at the time of registration and that penalties be included for misrepresentation or refusal of the mother to name the father.
Under the proposed amendments, if the mother is unable to declare the fathers name, she would have to provide the reason on the appropriate section of the relevant form.
In cases where the paternity of the child is disputed, provisions will be made for temporary registration and the issuing of a Provisional Birth Certificate pending an Order of the Court," said minister of information Daryl Vaz who announced the change at the regular post-Cabinet Press Briefing held today at Jamaica House.
Vaz said the act, which was amended in 1980, widened the scope for registering the father of a child born out of wedlock by empowering the Registrar to include particulars relating to a person named as the father of the child in certain circumstances.
Think Extreme Sports. Start maybe with a group of heat loving Jamaicans crammed into a narrow Bobsled on an icy track. Slide through a kaleidoscope, see the Reggae Boyz rocking an entire nation and imagine the floating skirt tails of the Sunshine Girls. Pass by the polo fields rich with manure and imagine a two hundred meter sprint from the perspective of one of Usain Bolts over active muscles. All those images we see readily. But it is a bit more difficult to picture a Lawn Bowls Green.
A Jamaican on a Lawn Bowls Green, is definitely akin to a Jamaican in a Bobsled. It almost never happens. There is however one Jamaican man who has successfully become the perfect exception to the imperfect rule.
London born Andrew Newell, the offspring of an St. Elizabethan father and a Clarendonian Mother, is as close to Jamaican as it gets. Apart from being well versed in Jamaican values, music, food and culture, he is an avid supporter of Jamaica in any sporting events that happen to be broadcast on television.
Andrew began playing a sport called Lawn Bowls seven years ago after having seen it on television and having watched it live in parks around London. He was instantly interested and went to a local club and joined. He has winned a few semis and finals in regional competitions and is now inspired after his rapid progress in the sport, to pursue the international bowls tournament. Newell though is such a patriot, that he can not imagine playing this sport without representing Jamaica while doing so.
Newell says that research he conducted has revealed that due to the lack of a Jamaican governing body for the sport of lawn bowls, it is impossible for him to represent Jamaica as a member of the World Bowls Organization. This organization demands that there be a common interest in the sport in Jamaica, before anything can get started. To date, Newell has not found a Lawn Bowls Green in Jamaica, however he plans to find or create one and create a high profile invitational competition featuring the worlds best and raising awareness of the sport in his families homeland.
Newell will be visiting the island between the 24th of July and the 10th of August and would like to meet anyone with an interest in assisting him pursue his dream of placing Jamaica on yet another world stage.If you are interested in assisting him please contact OGNR @ myognr@gmail.com
Here's to the spirit of Jamaican sport and success. In a country that does not even have one bowling alley, but ample open green land, instead of just squatting and throwing parties, lets give Lawn Bowls a thought, and a few actions. Who knows which latent world champions are playing marbles in Jamaican streets, unknowingly practicing in preparation for an opportunity to beat the world's best skippers at Lawn Bowls.
Bowls is a sport in which the objective is to roll slightly asymmetric balls, called bowls, so that they stop close to a smallernormally whitebowl called the "jack" or "kitty". Bowls, either flat- or crown-green, is usually played outdoors, on g**** or synthetic surfaces. Flat-green bowls can also be played indoors on synthetic surfaces. Both variants are collectively known as "lawn bowls".
Bowls belongs to the boules sport family, and so is related to bocce and petanque. It is most popular in New Zealand (where the natural playing surface is called cotula,Australia, the United Kingdom, and in other Commonwealth Nations.
USE THIS LINK TO LIKE ON YOUR FB http://on.fb.me/iIOncu LETS MAKE IT HAPPEN!!!
Young Money's Drake has explained his recent new look with thick hair and a beard by hinting at a new film being in the works.
While not revealing what the film's title is, Drake said he would be hitting the big screen.
Nicki Minaj then asked Drake about the beard-and-curly-hair look he's been rocking lately, and he revealed that it was for a film role. In January, it was reported that the former "Deg****i: The Next Generation" star was joining the cast of "Arbitrage," which is set to star Susan Sarandon and Al Pacino. However, Drake relayed that he has "decided to work on my album instead of doing that particular film." (MTV)
Drizzy's manager, Cortez Bryant, recently discussed the rapper's emphasis on not taking typical acting roles.
"We wanna start entertaining these movie offers," Bryant said in the summer of 2010. "Drake is looking to come out with the role no one else expects. He's not gonna be the teen heartthrob or the college kid. He wants roles where he can show his acting skills. Like a sci-fi or action picture." (VIBE)
Last spring, Drake opened up about his disappointment in movie role choices.
"That's probably my biggest goal is to get back into acting and really pick the right projects," he said in an interview. "I've been reading different scripts but I know what I want to do and what type of project I want to be involved in and I've just been getting the typical projects that they'd offer to a new rapper, and it's like, ehh. That's not really what I want to do, or how I see myself...I can actually act. I've studied acting. I've studied the craft and I'm also very open to receiving a role and committing my time whether it's two weeks, a month, two months, before the movie starts shooting to really get into that role. Like I know what it is to do character research and really live as someone else in preparation for a movie, so that's something I'm willing to do. I care about acting a lot so I'm excited to get back into it." (XXL Mag)
Last summer, Drake said he envisioned himself playing United States' President Barack Obama in a film.
"I hope somebody makes a movie about Obama's life soon because I could play him. That's the goal [laughs]. I watch all the addresses. Anytime I see him on TV, I don't change the channel, I definitely pay attention and listen to the inflections of his voice. If you ask anyone who knows me, I'm pretty good at impressions. Slowly but surely, I'm not in the study mode because nobody's called me about anything, but I just pay attention so when the day comes I'm not scrambling to learn how to speak like him. I want to be involved in great film projects. I don't want to do the basketball movie that everyone does. I don't want to do the typical black film that everyone expects. I think that I have enough experience to actually be involved in a real meaty project full of substance." (Paper Mag)
To date, Drake has acted in Canadian-based television show "Deg****i: The Next Generation" and a 2007 film called Charlie Barlett.
So apparently, President Obama has given in and decided that the birther issue has leaked enough toxic goo in the media world that he had to release his long form birth certificate to prove for the millionth time that yes, he was born in Hawaii and yes, hes eligible to occupy his office. You can thank the various airheads who had so much time invested in the issue, whether it was on the far right fringe which collapses into a maelstrom of rage and fury when its views arent accepted as the divine truth, or the political strategists and pundits on the left who wanted to exploit the issue to show how crazy the opposition must be. Funny enough, after all the years of indulging birtherism, Republicans now blame Obama for not being focused enough on the economy and wasting time on spurious nonsense rather than fixing the nation. Hypocrisy, thy name is the GOP. But all predictable partisan sliming aside, does this now mean that were done with this birther thing? Like finished, beyond it, done for good? Not a chance. Conspiracy theories are like zombies without heads; invulnerable.
You see, theres a reason why even years of growing and ever more vocal skeptical movements havent yet brought down egregious alt med crankery, New Age woo abusing physics with unholy fervor, and pockets of terrified, paranoid anti-vaccinationism in society. Were arguing with people for whom reality and facts are optional at best or a sign to change the goalposts and challenge us to meet the impossible goal of proving a lack of existence for something. And thats if were lucky. Often, conspiracy theorists will use negative evidence to bolster their case, arguing that because we cant find proof of alien saucers on Air Force bases or that alien cabals are culling the human population with toxic vaccines, we must either be part of that globe-spanning and nefarious New World Order merely repeating what our handlers told us to say, or showed just how great the Freemasons/Fourth Reich Nazis/Illuminati/Reptoids are at covering up their trail. Whatever you present, a conspiracy theorist will find a way to either rationalize it away or mangle it as supposed proof that she was on the mark all along. And how can you possibly participate in a debate with no rules and prove a point when you are essentially arguing against those who can simply change the topic on a random whim?
So was it really a surprise that the instant the birth certificate hit the web, hordes of birthers descended on it to find a reason to reject it? Was anyone actually shocked that they started complaining that African should not have been the recorded ethnicity for his father, that they were suspicious of mysterious layers in PDFs, that it must have been a hoax by the CIA or the NSA covering up for the president, and that it must have taken him so long to release it because he was covering his bases to release a fake. But the problem is that even if Obama released the long form birth certificate the minute he was asked for it, the conspiracy theories would not have abated, just like 9/11 Truthers and Moon hoaxers are still going strong. How many people asked for Clintons birth certificate? How many people are wondering if John McCains citizenship is not legit because he wasnt born in the United States but to U.S. citizens overseas? Clearly theres a very specific motivation to believe that Obama is not a legitimate president and when you have the predispositions to accept the notion that the FEC didnt care to properly screen the paperwork of someone who could well be the commander-in-chief of one of the worlds biggest and best armed militaries, no amount of proof will be sufficient to dissuade you.
Just consider that anyone who applies to any post requiring security clearances has to fill out a huge form full of questions about almost every job hes had and virtually every place he lived, provide a birth certificate, social security card, a passport, and depending on the clearance level, also account for his overseas travel. And that applies not only to scientists or researchers working in defense, but also to fresh out of high school would-be soldiers before they can depart to boot camp. And herein lies my biggest problem with any birther argument. If teenagers go through such scrutiny, how and why would the Powers That Be just slip up and forget to do the same thing for a senator and then a presidential candidate whose decisions would shape military policies? It would be in their interests to do everything they can to make sure he wouldnt be a threat and Im supposed to simply accept that the same people who will ask to sign your full, complete name with a middle initial so they can formally approve all of the twenty forms filled out that afternoon, will just throw a folder with a lawmakers or a presidential frontrunners file in an box and say forget it? But I suppose if you let partisan loathing take precedence over what should be Civics 101, you can buy pretty much anything that paints your object of hate in the most negative possible light. And thats because birtherism is about ideology first and foremost, just like a whole lot of conspiracy theories which envision subterfuge and villainy on a national, if not global, scale
SASCOO *la*hOD STEEEEEEM...SIIIIIIIIIIIIIK
Model Amber Rose has broken her silence on the rumored showdown between ex-boyfriend Kanye West and current lover Wiz Khalifa during this month's Coachella festival in California.
Rose downplayed rumors claiming a heated exchange between Yeezy and Wiz took place.
The woman caught in the middle was a little hesitant striking down the rumor. "Was there a confrontation at Coachella?," Amber asked, repeating the question. There is a long pause. "Rumors are crazy and people want things to happen and make it their real life and I guess that's all I can really say about that."
During his "Stronger" Coachella performance, Ye took a subliminal shot at his ex.
After an energetic hour long set at the Californian music festival, West and rapper Wiz Khalifa nearly came to blows in an ugly confrontation over Khalifa's current girlfriend, the model Amber Rose. West, who used to date Rose, took a dig at his ex during a performance of his hit song 'Stronger.' The original lyrics of the song includes a line which says: "I'd do anything for a blonde dyke. And she'll do anything if the time's right". Yet, with Rose standing on the side of the stage, West altered the word to: 'I did anything for that blonde dyke. And she did anything when the time's right.'
Additional reporting claimed a possible verbal altercation may have followed the performance.
Afterwards, sources claim, Wiz confronted West about the lyrics, explaining, "Wiz didn't want to fight, he just wanted all this catty bulls**t to end." But the source says that there was no peace made. "Kanye said something to Wiz and next thing you know security and people's entourages were everywhere pushing and shoving. It could have got real ugly."
Last month, Rose discussed the possibility of reuniting with West.
"No, I don't think so. You know in every relationship you have problems and you try to work through and then sometimes things don't work out. But it was very real for me. I was very much in love. I was with him for two years. We lived together, we traveled the world together, we had a lot of fun together. A lot of really cool moments...I was the ill b*tch to a rock star."
Kanye West may not have healed from his publicized break-up with Amber Rose yet, as he was heard throwing verbal jabs at her during the Coachella festival last weekend.
While performing his set, Yeezy stirred speculation after changing a few choice lyrics from his "Stronger" record.
After an energetic hour long set at the Californian music festival, West and rapper Wiz Khalifa nearly came to blows in an ugly confrontation over Khalifa's current girlfriend, the model Amber Rose. West, who used to date Rose, took a dig at his ex during a performance of his hit song 'Stronger.' The original lyrics of the song includes a line which says: "I'd do anything for a blonde dyke. And she'll do anything if the time's right". Yet, with Rose standing on the side of the stage, West altered the word to: 'I did anything for that blonde dyke. And she did anything when the time's right.
Additional reporting claims a possible verbal altercation may have followed the performance.
Afterwards, sources claim, Wiz confronted West about the lyrics, explaining, "Wiz didn't want to fight, he just wanted all this catty bulls**t to end." But the source says that there was no peace made. "Kanye said something to Wiz and next thing you know security and people's entourages were everywhere pushing and shoving. It could have got real ugly." (Zimbio)
Last month, Rose discussed the possibility of reuniting with West.
"No, I don't think so. You know in every relationship you have problems and you try to work through and then sometimes things don't work out. But it was very real for me. I was very much in love. I was with him for two years. We lived together, we traveled the world together, we had a lot of fun together. A lot of really cool moments...I was the ill b*tch to a rock star.
In August 2010, West confirmed speculation claiming his run with Rose had ended.
"Yeah man, it was an amazing time and it came to an end," West said in an interview with radio host Angie Martinez. "One of the greatest things that she showed me was just to be a nicer person because she was so disconnected from the concept of celebrity when I first met her...A celebrity could be talking to people crazy and everyone's used to it at the label like, 'He's wildin' out. It doesn't matter.' [Amber] be like, 'What?! You just talked to your fans so crazy right now. I'm not even talking to you right now.' ... I grew from that. I think that was the greatest growth that I got from that experience...My goal in life is to really have an amazing woman and have a family, but I think I had to go through these different things to grow...That was a one-off...I'm not trying to dive into anything unless I really, really think that I can marry this person. I look at this person and I say, 'This is how I want my daughter to be.'"
With Lil Wayne's Tha Carter IV now pushed back over a month, Young Money president Mack Maine provides the real reason behind keeping fans' anticipation growing.
Despite tracklisting and cover art leaks, Maine said the delay was in relation to Wayne's need to modify the LP.
"He's still perfecting a few things, he's a perfectionist ... changing a few lines," Maine said in an interview. "We also have a huge record that wasn't done yet. We're in L.A. right now. We have a little studio time and it should be done probably by Monday...If you calculate all of [the guest appearances], by the time we would've finished mixing, we wouldn't have met the [original] due date to turn in the album. So we had to push it back."
This week, Maine confirmed the album's leaked cover art was authentic.
Earlier this week, rumors hit the 'net that Lil Wayne's highly anticipated album, Tha Carter IV, was pushed back from May 16 until June. XXLMag.com has learned exclusively, that the claims are indeed true. Young Money president, Mack Maine, informed XXL that Weezy's follow up to 2008's multi-platinum selling Carter III LP will be hitting shelves on June 21. We also confirmed that the graduation photo of a pre-teenage Wayne, sporting his signature facial tattoos that leaked online earlier this week, as well, is the official cover art to the disc. (XXL Mag)
Wayne's new album artwork hit the Internet around mid-week.
Despite the album being pushed to June 14th, the official album artwork for the Young Money CEO Lil Wayne's Tha Carter IV LP has hit the interwebs and has the net talking. Following on from the tatted up baby picture used for Tha Carter III, this installment of Tha Carter series features a slightly older version of young Weezy with his trademark tattoos added. Go Weezy.
Last week, an alleged Carter IV tracklisting leaked online.
An unofficial tracklist for one of the most, if not the most, anticipated hip-hop albums of 2011 landed on the internet this week. Lil Wayne's Tha Carter IV is scheduled for a May 16 release date, and on Thursday, Complex.com released what is a rumored album tracklisting for the Cash Money/Young Money superstar's upcoming project. The tracklist reveals Jay-Z, Eminem, Drake, Nicki Minaj, Birdman, Gucci Mane, Rick Ross, Swizz Beatz, Kanye West, Game and more as speculated contributors.
As the water continues to boil over Krayzie Bone's unexpected departure from Bone Thugs-N-Harmony last week, two remaining group members have lashed out at their ex-group mate.
Remaining members Flesh-N-Bone and Layzie Bone said Krayzie is hurting the group's legacy.
TMZ spoke with two of the remaining members, Flesh-n-Bone and Layzie Bone -- who told us they think Krayzie is a "dumb f**k" for leaving the group because Bone Thugs "made him who he is." In fact, Flesh tells us, "Krayzie might as well say 'F**k Eazy-E' because he is disrespecting Eazy-E's legacy by leaving the group." FYI -- Eazy-E is credited with discovering the group back in the early '90s. Flesh says the group will continue to record music -- adding, "Let [Krayzie] walk away ... Bone Thugs will be here regardless. The group will not be affected by Krayzie going ... he knows where home is." (TMZ)
Earlier this week, Flesh also hit the airwaves to dish out his personal feelings toward Krayzie.
"What the f*ck do people mean it ain't no Bone Thugs-N-Harmony, because Krayzie's b*tch a** decided he wanted to quit? Man f*ck Krayzie homie. Put that in the paper. Check this out, check this out...Bone Thugs-N-Harmony gonna keep moving as Bone Thugs-N-Harmony man...Bone Thugs-N-Harmony don't consist of no mother f*ckin Krayzie Bone man, it consists of Flesh,Bizzy, Wish -- and Layzie. Just because one n*gga decided to quit don't mean its over for Bone Thugs-N-Harmony...Listen to what I'm telling you, Bone Thugs-N-Harmony is on a world wild motherf*cking tour." (Z-107.9)
Prior to Flesh's remarks, Bone Thugs issued a statement on their former group member's decision.
"Let's be clear, Bone Thugs n Harmony the band/brand did not and does not break up. A single member has parted ways on another mission in life and we wish him love and success," a spokes person told AllHipHop.com exclusively. "BTNH World Wide the brand continues to functions 307 days a year globally, and will continue to do so with respect to its business partners and the great Fan Family." (All Hip Hop)
Krayzie turned heads after announcing his departure and said it was a natural part of his growth as an artist.
"I will no longer be a part of Bone Thugs-N-Harmony," Krayzie revealed in a video. "Due to uncontrollable circumstances, it's basically time for me to move on and just start embarking on different endeavors I've already had planned in my life. Just trying to go to a whole other level in the music game, I am trying to grow and become greater at what I do." (
One is not quite sure but by the looks of things Star Bwoy is a mega hit for Mavado..we say so because of the number views the tune has gotten on worldstarhihop.com in just a matter of days. Now some may argue that its the captioned pick that may have triggered the frenzy of clicks... even if that's the case im very sure this has to be a record for any Jamaican artiste.. not even if they just release a Bob Marley he would get over 7 million views in a few days. Though it could be some other technically glitch we will feel better if we know that its because the man a pepper mek di people want to see him ... congrats gully ghad... this is rather ghadly.
The AMAs were last night! Did you watch? Rihanna opened the show with a three song medley of Love the Way You Lie, Whats My Name, and Only Girl (In the World). At first she was sitting inside a halfAvatar, half Tron LCD/crystal future tree, having a kind of mellow Taylor Swift moment. But then she took her newly burgundy mop-top into fully World Cup 2014 ready Josephine Baker mode and did her best impression of some of Beyonces greatest moments-in-thighs. See:
Rihanna stepped out in a red Elie Saab couture gown. The long-sleeved sheer frock was covered in subtle floral appliques and accented with sparkly hoop earrings. An important note: the songstress went curly seemingly switching 'dos with T-Swift.
Jada looked alternately fierce and regal in her golden Emilio **** getup. That breastplate can't be comfortable, but at least it looked cool and matched her metallic shoes. Jada pulled back her hair to show off the dress's unique neckline and accessorized with a beaded cl**tch.
Not to be outdone by her stylish mom, Willow busted out a custom-made grey and yellow romper for the occasion. The gloves and military touches seemed to be a bit of an ode to the King of Pop, and her hair certainly looked whippable.
We're sorry, Miley we think you stepped on some toilet paper in the bathroom! Oh, wait. It's just the train to your Marchesa dress. Yikes. This is another case of Marchesa getting lost in translation. We wish the dress was longer or the train was nonexistent, but we do like her wrist baubles.
Fergie chose to outfit herself in a minidress by Indian designers Falguni and Shane Pea****. The busy piece incorporated beading, feathers, sheer paneling and fancy football shoulder pads. Our favorite thing about her ensemble, however, is undoubtedly her decision to don sick spiked shoes.
Though Katy's pink Badgley Mischka dress was definitely not boring (it was covered with sequins, flowers and beads, after all), it was a far cry from her usual red carpet wackiness. She paired the embellished strapless dress with nude peep-toe pumps.
West Coast rapper Game's detainment in Canada yesterday (April 20) was reportedly the result of his alleged involvement in criminal activity.
According to reports, Game's criminal activities restricted him from entering Canada.
A rep for Substance Entertainment Group -- the promotion company behind Game's tour in Canada -- tells TMZ, the tour promoter got a call from Canadian Customs while Game was on the plane on his way to Canada. We're told customs informed the promoter that Game would be denied entry "due to new information received that Game is affiliated with organized crime and is an active member of the *la*hds street gang." The rep claims Game was blindsided by the last-minute red flag -- telling us, concert organizers had secured all permits and approval weeks ago to get Game into the country. (TMZ)
Yesterday, Game revealed what went down in Canada.
"This just in: I'm being detained in Canada for 14 days until they process my inadmissability then I'll have a hearing heard by a judge," Game tweeted April 20th.
"At that point the judge will decide to either deport me or give me a sentence for violating Canada's immigrant entry laws."
"F%cked up situation !!! But at least they let me call home, &tweet before they lock a n!gga up !!! Gotta turn in my property, y'all be kool"
"Gotta give up my phone & property. This some straight bullsh*t ! Flew all the way from LA to be denied and detained ?!?! WTF" (Game's Twitter)
Last December, Dipset's Cam'ron and Vado were banned from entering Canada after a run-in with customs.
"my *igga @VADO_MH aka "sliiiiiiimmmmeeeee in customs wit me http://plixi.com/p/63337398," Cam tweeted Thursday (December 16).
"they just told @VADO_MH he has a felony, he cant come in da country and my dj either, im waitin to here to see what they tell me. SMH"
"they just told me NO!!! this some real bullsh*t!! we just was here a couple months ago! sayin i had machine gun in 03. f*ckin makin sh*t up" (Cam'ron's Twitter)
Outside of immigration complications, Game is currently preparing his upcoming R.E.D. Album.
"The 'R.E.D.' album is going to remind everybody of what hip-hop is supposed to be in its prime," says Game. "The 'R.E.D.' album will be the best album this year hands down. There's nobody putting out an album this year that will even be able to compete with the skill level-- the bar is gonna be set after this album drops. I guarantee it now from start to finish."
Atlanta rapper Soulja Boy Tell Em recently revealed his past contemplation of quitting the rap game despite only four years and three solo albums.
Soulja said last year's disappointing DeAndre Way record sales ultimately sparked his retirement option.
"[I stopped Twittering when my sales came back because] I just needed to take a break. I needed to think about things. I needed to evaluate my camp and what was going on in my circle. I had to talk to my family, the label, and my management. I had a big talk with the big bruh 50 Cent. I'm going to forever thank 50 because he guided me. When I was at my lowest point in my career and I just felt like I ain't really want to do this music no more. I was like, 'Man, I'm still young. I made enough money.' My head was on a whole different radar, but he was like, 'Man, you tripping little bro. You've got to keep it going.'"
Advice from 50 Cent ultimately motivated him to take a new approach to music.
"He was like, 'You've got to keep doing what you're doing. You're Soulja Boy, you're here for a reason. Everybody's not going platinum. Everybody didn't do what you did. Everybody didn't come in on the Internet. You're the one that started the Internet. You're the one that got me on the Internet. You're the one that got us on blogs, on YouTube, and on Twitter.' I was like, 'Man, you know what? You're right.' He wasn't doing nothing but speaking true knowledge to my head and it got me right back in the studio. So I ain't going to never quit. I'm going to stay in this music industry. I'm going to stay making hits, and I'm going to do what I've got to do, and I thank 50. I really needed that at that time."
Earlier in the week, Soulja Boy discussed surviving recent hardships
"I've been through situations that were crazy, but I felt like everything turned out to be great. I went through a situation I've never gone through in my life, and [thankfully] even 50 Cent reached out to me. Now, I'm in a very great position. I'm grateful for my family, keeping me grounded, and all of the fans that stuck through it all with me -- everyone that kept it real with me, that messed with my music and me as a person."
Last November, Soulja Boy's third solo album pushed just over 13,000 copies in its first week.
Rapper Soulja Boy Tell Em's The DeAndre Way also debuted on the chart at No. 90. With seven days down, the rapper's new album has sold 13,400 copies.
Atlanta rapper Soulja Boy Tell Em recently described his past relationship with hip-hop groupie Kat Stacks and how the Miami Internet sensation ultimately tried to end his career.
Admitting a brief run with Stacks last year took place, Soulja Boy said he was ultimately used as a ploy.
"I was going through some personal things in my career that I had never been through before and it was being displayed in public," he explained in an interview. "I just felt like the b*tch [Kat Stacks] tried to end me. [Laughs.] She set me up on some dirty sh*t and she tried to frame me. I felt like she swayed a lot of people's opinions and I just felt like the b*tch tried to end me. She set me up in front of the whole world. My true fans were riding with me throughout and I got through it. But it just goes to show you've got to be careful out here man. Motherf*ckers will try to end you. I'm a young, positive black male, just trying to do good. I ain't shooting people and I ain't selling drugs. I'm making good music, trying to do something good, and she comes in with some foul-a** sh*t like that. It'll just mess you up for a little bit. But you grow, you learn, and you get through it. The lesson you take from that is f*ck these b*tches. [Laughs.]"
Last summer, Stacks accused the rapper of being a cocaine user.
"What up y'all, this Kat Stacks b*tch," Stacks said in a bathrobe recording herself. "Can't really speak loud right now because Soulja Boy's in the shower. Anyway though, I'm here at the motherf*cking hotel, at the Intercontinental Buckhead in Atlanta right across the street from Soulja Boy's condo. Anyway, I been here kicking it with this motherf*cker. Yo, this motherf*cker is a motherf*cking coke head. This motherf*cker's been doing dope all motherf*cking day. That's why n*gga can't f*ck me right. I f*cked this n*gga three times. The first two times he came in five seconds, the third time he couldn't get hard and the n*gga still came. This n*gga's a motherf*cking coke head yo. Yo, check this out yo. Look at this sh*t man, this n*gga's a motherf*cking coke head yo. It's funny as h*ll." (World Star Hip Hop)
Soulja Boy later came forward to clear the air and deny Stacks' accusations.
"Man, from the whole situation, I learned that one, you gotta watch who you associate yourself with once you become a celebrity," Soulja Boy told radio host Funkmaster Flex. "Two, everybody don't have your best interest at heart, and three, it's just crazy being a celebrity, period. A rumor or source can go crazy on your name and that's just something that's been like, 'Wow.' I've been a celebrity for like, what, three years and this was just one of the craziest things that just had my name all out in the media, so, I don't know. It's not true, at all, 100 percent. We can go ahead and put that on the radio or wherever you want to put it at. What she said is not true at all. And just to all my fans that's waiting on my album, I want to make that clear. I was set-up. I was framed. And right now, we in a good position because we moved past that and all my fans still rocking with me and they seen past it. But, for anybody that ain't seen past it, I'm making it clear right now that it was all a lie.
In October, Soulja Boy spoke on dodging media gossip and rumors.
"To be honest with you, sometimes when you sit and think about it, it can get scary," Soulja Boy admitted. "You know what I mean? It's like the media can create a lie and sway, like, 80 percent of the general population to believe it. And there's really not anything I can do about it but deny it and denounce it -- but when you got them pushing forward and just steady trying to embed in people's heads, there's nothing you can do about it...You know what I'm saying? You see me on the BET red carpet. You see me doing my thing. You see me staying consistent with the music, staying with working with bigger and better artists in hip hop. I think that speaks for itself."
has come forward to address accusations made by Mobb Deep's Prodigy in his new book, My Infamous Life, claiming he testified in court against Havoc's brother years ago.
Sending a warning shot, Capone lashed at Prodigy in a new video.
"I'm talking to you, p*ssy P," Capone said. "Karrine Steffans...F*ck is wrong with you? Look where I'm at. Look where I'm at. What you want me to do, walk around this b*tch? I ain't got to prove to you I'm from QB or my n*ggas hold me down in my hood, n*gga. I'll be in this b*tch dolo, n*gga, on a beach chair before anything happen to me in my motherf*cking hood n*gga. Let me tell you something. N*ggas don't rat on my side. Listen man, you a f*cking f*ggot. But at the end of the day, I ain't even gonna call you all that because we got a lot of things in store for you. This is just the beginning.
Prodigy claims Capone previously took the stand to testify against Havoc's brother.
"I can't tell you why he did it, or why he said what he said afterwards, but all I can tell you is that really happened. I was thinking when I was writing it like, "Oh he's going to take some offense to this." But when I think about it, this is a story that really happened, so I'm not going to leave out something that's part of my life story, something of major significance that happened, just because he's going to be upset about it. Like, dude you should be upset about what you did, not that I'm telling my life story. [Laughs.] So that's why I put the %&%* in there, because it's just crazy that he did that. I didn't write it in my book trying to target him, or "I've got beef, f*ck him," or trying to ruin his career. It ain't nothing like that. If he feels some type of way about it, basically he needs to take that up with the man in the mirror."
Last week, CNN's N.O.R.E. spoke out in defense of Capone.
"[Prodigy's] trying to sell his book, so he threw in a couple jabs," he explained in an interview. "Capone's a grown man. I wasn't there. But if that was the case, then why are there seven Mobb Deep and Capone-N-Noreaga records that exist. If a dude snitched on my man, I ain't hanging with him, let alone getting in the studio with him."
Despite being on better terms these days, Prodigy reveals his past issues with N.O.R.E. in the autobiography.
"One night that winter, Hav and I were on the block with Karate Joe, Gotti, Nitty, Trip, this kid we called Bill Cosby, and this other kid Johnny. Havoc started flipping out, saying he heard Tragedy was f------g with his lady Shawna on the low and he wanted to step to Tragedy about it. We all walked over to Capone's building next door where Tragedy, Capone, and N.O.R.E. hung out. Hav knocked on Capone's door and asked him to tell Tragedy to come outside. Tragedy came out with N.O.R.E. and Capone. "What's up, man, you f------g with Shawna?" Hav asked. Tragedy said it wasn't true but Hav wasn't trying to hear it. "I know you f------g with Shawna, stop lying!" Hav punched Tragedy in the face and knocked him down. While he was getting back up, Karate Joe warned Tragedy, "You better not hit him back!" Hav punched Tragedy and knocked him down again while we surrounded them, watching. N.O.R.E. was getting nervous seeing the n---a who he thought had strength in QB getting his ass beat--he was worried he was gonna be next. So he reached for his gun, pulled it out, and shot one bullet at the ground in between all of us."
Controversial rapper Game has spoken out on being detained by Canadian customs officials last week in relation to his prior offenses.
While initially expected to remain in Canada for two weeks, Game said his camp managed to get him freed within 48 hours.
"It ended up being two days man because my people, everybody was on it, man," Game told radio host Funkmaster Flex. "From my girl to just everybody was on it. We finally had to get a signature from the secretary of state saying that all of my crimes I committed in the past were done with. I served my time, I was off probation, no parole, everything was dead so they ended up letting me go. It was crazy. They let me see the paperwork for why they were holding me and it said like, 'This person is in Canada. He's kingpin of a gang of *la*hds and he came to rally up *la*hds and to bring new *la*hds to the concert. They just made it seem like it was a cult. Like I'm trying to bring people in the name of my music to come and just pray for the *la*hd gods or something. I didn't show no passport, they was waiting on me soon as I got off the plane so somebody knew something about something." (In Flex We Trust)
Game also spoke on leaving Canada and making it to Lil Wayne's Los Angeles "I Am Still Music II" tour stop.
"They let me out and everybody was showing love from Tunechi [aka Lil Wayne] Birdman to Snoop [Dogg] to all my homies, everybody from Nelly, showing love on Twitter," Game added. "Everybody was checking on me. Once I was able to turn my phone on, messages came through and I knew [Lil Wayne] was in Los Angeles and Travis Barker had asked me to come to check out the show since they were home." (In Flex We Trust)
The rapper informed his fans of what went down last week.
"This just in: I'm being detained in Canada for 14 days until they process my inadmissability then I'll have a hearing heard by a judge," Game tweeted April 20th.
"At that point the judge will decide to either deport me or give me a sentence for violating Canada's immigrant entry laws."
"F%cked up situation !!! But at least they let me call home, &tweet before they lock a n!gga up !!! Gotta turn in my property, y'all be kool"
"Gotta give up my phone & property. This some straight bullsh*t ! Flew all the way from LA to be denied and detained ?!?! WTF" (Game's Twitter)
Later reports revealed Game's criminal background forced his detainment.
A rep for Substance Entertainment Group -- the promotion company behind Game's tour in Canada -- tells TMZ, the tour promoter got a call from Canadian Customs while Game was on the plane on his way to Canada. We're told customs informed the promoter that Game would be denied entry "due to new information received that Game is affiliated with organized crime and is an active member of the *la*hds street gang." The rep claims Game was blindsided by the last-minute red flag -- telling us, concert organizers had secured all permits and approval weeks ago to get Game into the country.
Tennis super star Serena Williams is reportedly trying her luck at a hip-hop career with the assistance of renowned radio host/producer DJ Clue.
According to reports, Serena is looking to test out her microphone skills.
Tennis superstar Serena Williams doubles as a fashion designer, spokeswoman, and part owner of the Miami Dolphins -- but now TMZ has learned she's adding RAPPER to her resumé. We're told Serena hit the studio last week to lay down a few tracks ... and is working with a record label owned by Minnesota Vikings star Bryant McKinnie. During the session, we're told Serena did some work with renowned hip-hip producer DJ Clue ... and she wasn't half-bad.
Williams is widely known for her intimate relationship with Chicago rapper Common.
Looks like things are on again between Serena Williams and Common, who split up a few months ago after two years together. They were spotted leaving the Dolphins-Patriots game in Miami last night. And earlier in the day, they were seen having fun on the beach together. (USA Today)
She and Common reportedly broke up for a short period of time last year.
Serena Williams and rapper Common have had an off-and-on relationship for a couple of years. Despite Common saying he planned to get married back in May (though not specifically to Serena), the couple split later in the month. Serena explained that Common's demanding schedule made it tough for him to maintain their relationship. Well, only a few months later it seems like the two could not live without one another.
Outside of romance, Williams teamed up with rap star Ludacris for a music contest in 2009.
The nationwide songwriting competition invites independent musicians, songwriters, producers, rappers and singers to submit original music inspired by and about Serena Williams. Ms. Williams will select her personal favorite songs as Finalists, and the winner will be chosen by the online communities at WeMix.com and Ms. Williams redesigned and anticipated website serenawilliams.com. The musician with the winning song will be taken into the studio to professionally record what will become Serena's official theme music.
50 Cent is outspoken in his lyrical content, but when it comes to potential, previous or rumored relationships, the rapper is a little more guarded.
In the latest issue of Vibe magazine, the 35-year-old is setting the record straight about relationships with Ciara, and the most recent media storm caused after he linked with comedian Chelsea Handler. The duo was continuously spotted out together, and were said to be in talks to work on a project together, but their public companionship seems to have fizzled in recent months.
"I don't speak to her as much as I did," he told Vibe. The Queens MC also slammed reports that the E! star turned away his gifts. "Chelsea is wealthy," he revealed. "What gift can't she buy? That was an assumption to write that. That was an easy shot to say she can buy her own gifts.
"Chelsea is confident. I think confidence is the sexiest thing about a person. She's the kind of person that if you're blessed with the opportunity to hang out with her, you'll enjoy it. I'm not sure you'll look at her and actually want to jump over the table and f--- her, but you might. You would leave after talking with her feeling that she is a cool person."
As for Ciara, 50 maintains that they too are friends. Their rumored relationship has been on-and-off for years, starting when the two appeared topless in the singer's 'I Can't Leave 'Em Alone' video. "She's a friend," the 'Before I Self Destruct' creator said. "She's been a friend. You know? And it's like, I don't know what to expect of people. I've been surprised a lot. You think you know what to expect out of people but ... I don't know how I respond to that without being the bad guy."
Young Money's Nicki Minaj has decided to keep fans on their toes by promising to announce the title of her Pink Friday follow-up next September.
Promising a September announcement, Minaj said her sophomore album would be released within a year.
"You'll get another album within 12 months," she told KIIS FM's JoJo. "You'll get the announcement for the next album in--and I'm saying the announcement--that you'll get the announcement in September. That's all." But for now she'll stay busy promoting her new single "Super Bass" and its video, set to arrive in the next week. Videos for "Did It On'em" and "Fly," her collaboration with Rihanna, have also been shot.
Last month, Minaj said an album release date would cause her competition to alter their projects.
However, she already has a release date in mind for her sophomore set -- though she's reluctant to broadcast the info. "I can give you an idea," she said, coyly. "But I don't want to. I'd rather not right now. Because then everybody is gonna jump on the bandwagon and say they're putting out their album the same day." (MTV)
To date, Minaj's debut album has sold over 1.3 million copies.
Young Money star Nicki Minaj's Pink Friday fell from Top 20 this week moving down five slots to No. 31 with 14,900. With 21 weeks knocked out, her debut album rests at 1,313,200 sold copies.
Earlier this month, the rap star opened up about her fame.
"To know that I'm 'making waves,' it feels good but it gives me a little more pressure. Because before, I would do things without thinking," she said. "I would do an interview without thinking or wear something without thinking, but it makes me put a lot more thought because now, I know people are going to pick it apart. Whether they love or hate it, people are going to pick it apart...It comes with the territory. You want to be one of those females in the business that people want to see what you're going to wear and what you're going to do and what you're going to say...I just take the good with the bad. I cannot complain. I've been living my dream, and I wouldn't trade it for the world."
Almost two years after they released Trial & Crosses Stir It Up Vol. 8, the comedic dancehall duo, Twins of Twins, will be releasing volume 9 (Trial & Error) of their on-going Stir It Up saga soon.
Platinum Camp Records, in association with Twin of Twins (Kingston13) and Black Roses Entertainment, are collaborating to release Stir It Up Vol. 9 in an animated (cartoon) format, followed by the production and development of a thirty minute animated sitcom for television. The sitcom will be based on the characters already made famous by the Twins, and will reportedly be aired for a season.
The C.E.O of Platinum Camp, Daddy Bigg$, reportedly said, Its a first of its kind deal, which is structured for a multiple of years, during which the entire Caribbean will be entertained by the hilarious antics of the Twins. You will have to set your alarms, and stop whatever youre doing to run to your television sets once per week for about thirty minutes, in order to catch what they say will be the funniest animated sitcom of all time.
Longtime Twin of Twins manager, Henry K., who helped structure the deal, said we have been offered deals before, but Platinum Camp came to the table with the right combination of creative freedom and financial backing. Platinum Camp has the vision of creating a multi-media empire combining film, music, and digital media that is consistent with our vision and what we have been building.