Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.
shanghaiwolkenkrabbers_gr.jpg

A shanghai engineer has developed a rappel-like device that could help people escape fires in high-rise buildings.

The device, invented by Zeng Jingxiong, has passed the country's fire equipment tests and been granted a patent, Xinmin.cn reported yesterday.

It can be installed near the window of an upper-story apartment and used to lower two people at once "dozens of meters" to the ground, the report said.

Zeng said that if his invention had been used at Shanghai Business School, where four young women died on Friday when they jumped or fell escaping a blaze in their sixth-floor dorm room, the tragedy might have been averted.

The device consists of a roller framework with a reel of steel tape and a sling. The user attaches the sling around his waist and drops from his window in an emergency.

A drag mechanism slows the descent to 1 to 1.5 meters per second. A hand crank allows the steel tape to be re-rolled for future use.

Zeng said his invention costs 300 yuan (US$43.96) to make and he is seeking potential investors to help him go into production.

"Some companies have shown an interest in my device, and I'm looking for someone to turn my invention into a real product and launch mass production to serve the people living in the city's thousands of tall buildings," Zeng said.

The building escape device could play an important role in future fire safety, according to the head of the Shanghai Association of Inventions.

KABUL, Afghanistan   Gunbattles and airstrikes by NATO and Afghan troops killed 53 militants in Afghanistan, including a wanted Taliban commander who tried to hide from soldiers under a woman's burqa, officials said Saturday.

The U.S. forces targeting the commander surrounded a house Friday in Ghazni province and ordered everyone inside to leave, a military statement said.

Six women and 12 children left the building, but while soldiers were questioning the women they discovered one was actually a man dressed in a burqa, the traditional all-encompassing dress that most Afghan women wear. The man, later identified as the targeted commander Haji Yakub, tried to attack the soldiers and was killed, the military said.

Yakub allegedly directed roadside b**** and suicide attacks against Afghanistan's government and coalition forces in Ghazni, according to the statement. Three other militants were killed in the operation, it said.

Meanwhile, Afghan and coalition forces killed 33 militants when their patrol came under attack in southern Helmand province Friday, a military statement said. The troops responded to the attack with gunfire and air support,it said.

In Kandahar province, meanwhile, a three-day NATO-Afghan operation in Zhari district killed 12 militants, said police Chief Matiullah Khan. No police were killed in the operation, which finished on Friday, he said.

Police in western Farah province said they killed four insurgents setting up a makeshift base in a village, apparently aiming to launch strikes on Farah city.

Residents of Raj, about two miles north of Farah city, tipped off officials that a convoy of enemy fightershad arrived in the village, provincial police chief Gen. Abdul Ghafar Watandar said.

Afghan army and police attacked the nine-vehicle convoy, killing four insurgents and wounding another three as other insurgents fled, Watandar said. An Afghan police officer was also killed in the gunbattle, he said.

Afghanistan has seen a spike in violence over the last two years as more international troops pour into the country to battle a growing militant insurgency. Some 65,000 international forces now operate in Afghanistan.

More than 5,800 people have died in insurgency-related violence this year, according to an Associated Press count based on figures from Afghan and Western officials.

BEIJING (Reuters) China has executed the leader of a bogus scheme for breeding ants to make aphrodisiacs that conned investors out of 3 billion yuan ($439 million), the official Xinhua news agency said on Thursday.

Wang Zhendong was executed on Wednesday in the northeastern province of Liaoning, Xinhua cited an unnamed local official as saying.

The fictitious ant-breeding project that Wang fronted features prominently in posters and other government educational materials warning of the risks of pyramid schemes and other investment schemes that sound too good to be true.

Posted here...

Wide receiver Plaxico Burress #17 of the New York Giants (Jed Jacobsohn/Getty Images)

New York Giants star wide receiver Plaxico Burress accidentally shot himself in the leg Friday, according to multiple media reports.

Burress was hospitalized with gunshot injuries Friday night that were not believed to be life-threatening, FOX Sports.com reported Saturday.

A spokesman for the Giants on Saturday told PA SportsTicker that the team had no comment, although they acknowledged they are aware there was an incident.

Burress has not practice all week due to an ailing hamstring and already had been ruled out of Sundays game against the Washington Redskins.

Citing sources familiar with the situation, the New York Daily News reported that Burress was shot late Friday night, but no further details of the incident are available.

Burress, who has 41 receptions for 454 yards and four touchdowns, aggravated the hamstring injury early in Sundays 37-29 triumph over the Arizona Cardinals and has not practiced this week.

It has already been a tumultuous season for Burress, who missed the teams October 5 game against the Seattle Seahawks after being suspended for missing a team meeting.

Burress, who signed a five-year, $35 million contract extension prior to the season, also was involved in a sideline confrontation with coach Tom Coughlin during a game and has been fined multiple times.

The Record of Bergen County reported last month that police responded to two domestic disturbance calls at the home of the star wide receiver in the past six months.

15162152.jpg

Recent governments in the Caribbean nation have been reluctant to issue death warrants and the last execution was in 1988.

Human rights groups say the death penalty does not deter crime and called on the government to focus on attacking poverty and reforming the justice system instead.

But there have been demands for executions in the past few months, even by members of the clergy, after a young girl was beheaded and an 11-year-old boy's dismembered body was found in a rubbish bag.

The ruling Labour Party vowed to address the issue when it came to power 15 months ago.

Jamaica's House of Representatives voted 34-15 in favour of keeping capital punishment, with 10 abstentions.

Bruce Golding

Prime Minister Bruce Golding pledged to resume executions in response to the country's high murder rate, which has repeatedly been ranked among the worst in the world.

Opposition politician DK Duncan warned that the measure could lead to further violence, similar to what happened in the 1970s when the government authorised police to enter homes without a warrant.

"All that did was allow policemen to kick down people's doors, scare children and destroy lives," he said.

"It developed a culture of brutality, and we have to take responsibility that Jamaica has come to this."

More than 1,240 killings have been reported this year in the island of 3 million people, with a total of 1,400 murders last year.

In comparison, Chicago, a city of about 2.8 million residents, reported 443 murders in 2007.

The world's 'oldest' stash of cannabis has been unearthed inside a remote t**** in China.
The 789 grams of marijuana is thought to be about 2,700 years old and appears to have been buried next to a shaman, according to The Star.

Favourable conditions means the stash still has its green tint, although possibly disappointed researchers said its lack of odour told them immediately it was not still good to smoke.

According to an article in the Journal of Experimental Botany it's 'the oldest documentation of cannabis as a pharmacologically active agent'.

The t**** in north-west China also contained bridles, archery equipment and a harp, but no ancient cache of chocolates, crisps and biscuits.

BIG SHIP

-- Edited by owadkelly at 22:07, 2008-11-28
It was not a beating ting. I merely wanted him to leave the house and he refused, and we got into an argument and I called the police. They escorted us both to the station," she explained during an interview yesterday. "He was on his cellphone and she told him to get off, and he flashed her off and she went to arrest him. He resisted and that's how he got the second charge and then he began to curse, and that's how he got the third charge for disorderly conduct," she said.

spi4.jpgspi3.jpgspi2.jpgspi1.jpg

-- Edited by biggaman121 at 20:38, 2008-12-01

Layout1_1_P3G5VudgeJoeBAM.jpg
Judge Joe Brown - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

CRIMINAL COURT judge and television personality Judge Joe Brown has accomplished much in in 61 years. He was the first African-American prosecutor in the city of Memphis, Tennessee, and a judge on the state criminal court of Shelby County in the same state.

His syndicated television show aired on CBS, is rated in the top-10 programmes on the network and his contract extends to 2013. While on the bench, Judge Brown earned a reputation for his novel sentencing method, which gained remarkable results. A man of strong and controversial views, he candidly addressed that issue, capital punishment and more in an interview with Lifestyle Editor Barbara Ellington last Thursday.

Judge Brown, who will publish his book titled Observations next year, is in the island as the keynote speaker at the Edna Manley College of the Visual and Performing Arts' graduation ceremony yesterday, and at the colleges's fund-raising banquet at the Hilton Kingston hotel tomorrow.

I read where you give back to the community in the form of public service. What would you say is the most challenging aspect of your work with young people as you try to get them to remain on the straight and narrow?

Overcoming the fact that too many of our boys have no father around to give them their 'man training' and they have too much woman in them. Parenting needs women and men. But in the US, it's become politically correct for strong, independent women to have children and raise them without fathers. They seem to think they can do it all by themselves, but it doesn't work.

If we don't give boys the appropriate male rituals and establish the appropriate male protocols, then they tend to be cannibalistic and women don't have any idea how to put those manly qualities into boys. They need a man to do this, even if he has to beat it into them.

But they can't beat where you come from, you will lock those parents up!

I will not lock a man up for doing what he has to do with his son; I have never done that.

On that note, I also read that while on the bench, you used novel sentencing methods for non-violent offenders, but the information did not say exactly what you did. Share some of those with readers.

My novel sentencing methods are the tip of the iceberg. What I was trying to do was get someone's attention so I could focus on what I wanted to do. People need to be socialised to develop a work ethic necessary for life.

For most of history, women have been more violent than men in their daily application: Women can throw crockery, cry, shout, but boys have been told be be in control and laid-back. You hear about the manly art of self-defence, no hitting below the belt, the mandatory eight-count chivalry and fight like a man.

Boys now wear bling because they have no male role models, so they listen to their 41-year-old aunt in their mind. They go around dressing gaudily because they are thinking like girls, not men. It compares to how white slave owners kept slaves. The boys' minds are enslaved to behave like girls, and the girls, like they are boys. So boys don't take charge of anything and they think living off the women is all right.

Rap videos make some people upset because of the raw sexuality, but it's not a sexual thing. The lyrics represent what these boys' mothers and grandmothers look like at home. Mama is about 31 and she's still playing hoochie, still having babies, while grandmother is about 44, also still having babies. These are the images he has. These contribute to making men sissies.

One of the conversations I have heard on American television stations since the Obama victory is that now American black women will see in Michelle Obama another ideal of their race to emulate because of years of them being stereotyped as loud, angry and overall negative.

Yes, they have been, but they have not done anything to counter that image and it seems to have been popularised because it sells. Some black entertainment icons perpetrate that. The voice of the village that would have something to say about raising children has essentially been dysfunctional. Our news and entertainment media have been a disgrace. Those running the news are astonishingly ignorant for what they have elected to do; they are more concerned with their make-up.

It's all about the sound byte when the process took years of study. I met Walter Kronkite and Ed Bradley and these were very educated men, walking encyclopaedias. Nowadays, you run into reporters and they know more about make-up than what's going on in the world.

Let's get back to your senten-cing methods, what were some of these?

I would take a perpetrator in a burglary matter who did not get too much time. I'd let the victims go visit the defendant accompanied by deputies and a bailiff with a court order, look at his property of approximate value to what was stolen and check if it was stolen. If anyone else had a similar claim, we did the same and they took back what was theirs.

I made some of them do homework, like read the autobiography of Malcolm X and return with reports about it till I was satisfied that they had read it.

I would make young women who had been sentenced go to the library and look up the names of their children and come back and tell me what they meant. Sometimes they came back troubled because they could not find the meaning of some names. I pointed out that every name had a meaning, even if it was a diffe-rent language, so failure to find a meaning meant that they gave their children names that had no meaning.

Remnants of slavery

So the children had the wrong label to start life! If no one has taught you to think, you are at a disadvantage. We still suffer to a great extent from the remnants of slave culture in the United States. The whole country revolves around having tried to retain it or get away from the fact that it existed. The unfortunate side effect is that we had a movement in the '60s embraced by certain radical feminists who determined that the black woman was the ideal type for them. They did not pick the strong, educated black women. They took the under-educated class as a role model.

They looked at the sister down in the hood who seemed to be in charge of her men; they wanted to be badly in charge; they picked that model. So, what you have at the top is rich, white females saying you don't need a husband to start a family, just have a family and maybe later, marry a lifemate.

Homosexual couples

In the United States now we have a thing where homosexual couples are trying to marry and adopt children. And you have many people having children out of wedlock. It destroys the family.

What are your thoughts on the recent demonstrations by the homosexual community regarding their right to marry?

It's their business, but I don't understand why they need to marry. Marriage is a fundamental human organisational and reproductive unit. It has all sorts of uses. It's the way humans raise children, and you need a mother and father to properly do it and it's already in danger. So, one more nail in the coffin is something that need not be put there. Surprisingly, there were many gays who were not for gay marriage anyway. They always say why not just sign a civil contract.

Would you support civil contracts over marriages?

I don't care. The marriage bit has too many things to do with inheritance, establishing extended family units, and lots more.

I know of a fertility clinic where less than five per cent of the clients are married people with reproductive complications: 43 per cent were lesbian couples trying to get pregnant and the other 52 per cent were straight females who wanted to have a child without having a husband.

We have a problem in the United States where in the largest 50 cities in America over the last 25 years, their live birth rate has been almost 78 per cent illegitimate.

Where do you stand on the issue of capital punishment?

I have signed death warrants and the penalty does absolutely nothing to promote public safety. It is an incentive to commit murder because when you have despair, you want to kill yourself but you don't have the nerve, so you put yourself in harm's way, hoping someone will do it for you.

Do you feel any remorse or have any sleepless nights when you sign a death warrant?

No, I have none at all. I have seen people killed two feet in front of me, so I look at it all as a sort of post-natal abortion or population control. Most of the families who are aggrieved for having lost a loved one to crime take the view that nothing the law does will bring them back. Some don't care whether the right person was caught, they just want someone to die. Many times, the wrong person is sitting on death row for a number of reasons.

In that case, what do you think of the O.J. Simpson verdict?

It was one of the most ill-prepared cases I have ever seen go to trial. It was an incompetently tried case and Marsha Clarke and Chris Darden, for the state of California, are embarra**ments to the legal profession. In fact, a lot of professors use the tapes of that trial as examples of how not to do it. They (Darden and Clarke) were obnoxious, ignorant, ill-prepared and very unlearned in what they were doing.

Continues in tomorrow's GLEANER.

-- Edited by KILLAPRO at 15:03, 2008-11-30

-- Edited by KILLAPRO at 15:04, 2008-11-30

-- Edited by KILLAPRO at 15:06, 2008-11-30

-- Edited by KILLAPRO at 15:07, 2008-11-30

-- Edited by KILLAPRO at 15:09, 2008-11-30

-- Edited by KILLAPRO at 15:11, 2008-11-30

Deva Bratt free of sex charge

October 6, 2008
Started By SLICE BREAD17 Comments

Upcoming deejay Deva Bratt, whose real name is Sheldon Smith, was freed on Friday when he appeared in the St Catherine Circuit Court.

Smith was freed after the judge said there was no evidence against him as the 15-year-old complainant in the matter was said to have migrated and the investigating officer could not locate her.

Smith of Portmore, St Catherine, was charged with carnal abuse after the teen reported that he had an intimate relationship with her. The entertainer was charged by Constable Llewelyn Madden of the Waterford Police Station.

He was represented by attorney-at-law Peter Champanie.

Smith, however, has another sexual-offence charge against him.

The deejay will reappear in court on October 24 to answer to rape charges. He was granted $200,000 bail.

Smith is best known for his single, Gussie Clarke.

Multiple New Jersey SWAT teams were held off in a tense standoff at a bank this week by a woman approximately five feet tall and made out of cardboard.

Police say they may never know what set off an alarm at a Somerset County bank that led to a mistaken standoff Thursday night.

Montgomery Township Police Sgt. Robert Mitchell says that false alarms are common and can be set off by animals, wayward balloons or extreme weather.

But he says none of those is apparently to blame for the alarm at a PNC bank branch.

But what happened after the alarm went off around 8:40 p.m. is known. Authorities saw a figure inside the building, which had the blinds drawn. They used bullhorns and telephone calls to try to make contact.

When a SWAT team finally entered more than an hour later, it turned out that the only "person" inside was a cardboard cutout figure.

The cutout managed to keep 30 officers--including SWAT team members from three different New Jersey towns--in tense negotiations for more than three hours, according to NJ.com.

f**kUPAYMEUNDERRATEDOVERWORKEDUNDERPAID.jpg

The Cheetah Girls are going their separate ways.

The Disney music and movie trio has decided to disband in the wake of singer Adrienne Bailons embarra**ing nude photo blunder earlier this month.

The group, which also includes Sabrina Bryan and Kiely Williams, will officially split at the conclusion of their One World Tour on December 22.

Were like family. We always knew that this tour would probably be our last, says Kiely (The Buck-Toothed One). We were excited about going out on a high note, its sad that this negative attention put a damper on that.

TJ Records is back on the road with a spanking new riddim. Dubbed 'Beauty and the Beast', for the first time ever in dancehall, the riddim has a dual concept of light and dark. Although the riddim has the same beat and tempo, it has two versions, a 'light' side which is more of a 'clap' and a 'dark' side that sounds more military. The light side is a lyrically clean version with more love oriented songs such 'Control On Me' by Serani, 'Anytime' from Laden, 'Stay Close' by Wayne Wonder and also has songs from the likes of Mr Vegas.

On the 'dark' or war side there are explicit songs from Mavado, Vybz Kartel, Elephant Man, Black Ryno, Aidonia and more. This is the first release for TJ Records since the immensely popular Unfinished Business riddim which featured Mavado's 'So Special.' This is the first time the producer has attempted a dual riddim of this type he explained, "I wanted to do a clap riddim but a 'pretty' riddim won't work not on its own. Most people are familiar with me doing more controversial songs, so I thought how is it I can bring everybody into it, both sides that how the Beauty and the Beast came along and di name just fit. Both versions are to be played together you can't play one without the other."

TJ is looking forward to the riddim and expects it to do even better than his popular 'Unfinished Business' riddim.

-- Edited by Dj_Rubbut at 16:42, 2008-11-02

Con men trick food outlet ...

November 29, 2008
Started By PRODIGIUM2 Comments

Make off with $500, $1,000 phonecard voucher numbers

Con artists on Wednesday made off with more than $100,000 worth of Digicel Flex Card credit, after they tricked employees at four food outlets into telling them the voucher numbers for several phonecards they were selling.

Reports that the 'scammers' called fast food outlets in Half-Way Tree, St Andrew, St Ann's Bay, St Ann and Manchester and falsely identified themselves as Digicel employees before requesting the voucher numbers for their $500 and $1,000 phonecards. It is said that as much as $67,000 in Flex Card credit was obtained from one location.

confirmed the incident

When THE STAR contacted the fast food outlet's head office, the marketing manager said that she had no knowledge of the situation. However, Digicel's head of group public relations, Antonia Graham, confirmed the incident.

Graham said that Digicel became aware of Wednesday's situation when the outlet contacted the company. However, she was unable to say what was the overall value of the vouchers involved in the scam.

perpetrated on and off

In a release sent to THE STAR, Digicel stated: "The scam has been perpetrated on and off for the last couple of years. People purporting to represent Digicel, who do not in fact represent Digicel, call up reseller locations requesting voucher information."

The release continued that the company was advising its resellers "to be aware of these scams, not to give out voucher information and to always verify that the person contacting them is indeed a Digicel employee by contacting Digicel directly and going through the necessary security checks in advance."

The public relations manager said that an investigation into the matter is already under way.

wat is ur opinion pon di neverending beef? will it be resolved aftr this?.....will it result in tragic losses........wat do u hink about it?????? is it just a waste of time?????

crime_shooting2.jpg

An Atlanta man, who shot a man twice then wrote a rap about the crime and naming the victim, has been sentenced to prison time after his victim revealed the hip-hop confession.

According to the Associated Press, 25-year-old Rico Todriquez Wright has been sentenced to 20 years in prison after his victim, Chad Blue, recognized the rapper's voice on a CD.

28-year-old Blue told police that he'd known Wright before the September 2006 shooting, but that the men weren't friendly. He testified companions egged Wright on as he chased and shot his victim in the thigh and groin.

He later said he recognized Wright's voice on a CD, spitting the line "Chad Blue knows how I shoot."

Wright got 20 years for two counts of aggravated assault, and will spend another 20 years on probation.

Apple made to drop iPhone advert

November 27, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 2 Comments

An Apple iPhone advert has been banned by the advertising standards watchdog for exaggerating the phone's speed.

Apple iPhone
The advert compared the iPhone's 3G and 2G models

The advert boasted the new 3G model was "really fast" and showed it loading internet pages in under a second.

The Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) upheld complaints by 17 people who said the TV advert had misled them as to its speed.

Apple UK said it was comparing the 3G model with its 2G predecessor and its claims were "relative not absolute".

The advert repeatedly stated that the phone was "really fast" and showed news pages and the Google maps service taking just fractions of a second to appear.

Text on the screen said: "Network performance will vary by location."

After upholding the viewers' complaints, the ASA said the advert must not appear again in the same form.

It said the advert was likely to lead viewers to believe that the device actually operated at or near to the speeds shown in the advert.

The watchdog concluded: "Because we understood that it did not, we concluded that the ad was likely to mislead."

Apple said its claims were "relative rather than absolute in nature" - implying the 3G iPhone was "really fast" in comparison to the previous generation - and therefore the advert was not misleading.

The company also said the average consumer would realise the phone's performance would vary - a point they said was made clear by the text stating "network performance will vary by location".

A worker died after being trampled by a throng of unruly shoppers when a suburban Wal-Mart opened for the holiday sales rush Friday, authorities said.

At least three other people were injured.

Wal-Mart Stores Inc., in Bentonville, Ark., would not confirm the reports of a stampede but said a "medical emergency" had caused the company to close the store, which is in Valley Stream on Long Island.

Nassau County police said the 34-year-old worker was taken to a hospital where he was pronounced dead at about 6 a.m., an hour after the store opened. The cause of death was not immediately known.

Posted here...

A highway superintendent from a town in Westchester turned down a $25,000 pay raise because he didn't feel right taking the money in this terrible economy.

Eric DiBartolo, 47, of Yorktown, said that his conscience wouldn't let him take the boost to his own bottom line when so many people around the area are suffering financially.

"I took a deep breath and said, 'Is it really the right message for me to send? With things so tough, with people losing their jobs, I'm taking $25,000?' " he told The Post. "So I made the decision."

Read

-- Edited by MZJA at 22:56, 2008-11-24

A DOG walker told how a bear ripped off her face then she staggered to her car and drove four miles for help.

Brave Allena Hansen, 56, was pinned down by the 150lb beast as it crushed her skull and bit through her eye. She watched as it spat out her TEETH.

But the terrified mum-of-one managed to get away as her dog defended her.

She said: I heard kind of a squishy, crunchy pop and went, There goes my eye. Then it got a hold of my face. I could feel it tearing off.

Cop Curt Merrill, a pal in Piute, California, said: I didnt recognise her. I dont know how she drove a car

ORLANDO Hamilton, a former gang member who has shrugged off the temptation of criminality, is urging gangsters to change their ways.

Hamilton was part of an eight-member gang based in the Burgher Gully community in East Kingston. Five of his former cronies are now dead - either killed by gunmen or lawmen's bullets.

He told the story of his turn- around during the final session of a recent two-day symposium at the Terra Nova Hotel in Kingston, which was organised by the security ministry and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) to form
a strategy to prevent the formation of gangs in communities and schools.

"Jamaica is tired of the killings. Our lives are too precious to be wasted on foolishness. You should concentrate on getting some education," Hamilton said.

Hamilton told of a life of crime which began when he was influenced into peddling marijuana by a friend. He then moved on to other forms of petty crimes, before graduating into the world of gangsterism. But after three years as a full-fledged gangster, Hamilton's life took a turn for the better.

"I met Damien Hutchinson from the Peace Management Initiative (PMI) in 2002, and that's where the transformation began," he said.

Hamilton, a 29-year-old father of two, is now a volunteer with the PMI and the Dispute Resolution Foundation. He also works with the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) as a youth peace facilitator.

"I go into schools and communities to help youngsters with conflict resolution," Hamilton said.

Hamilton was also instrumental in brokering peace between warring factions in the often volatile Mountain View community where dozens of persons have been killed in the last eight years.

Mountain View has been relatively peaceful since a peace treaty was signed between warring factions from the Jacques Road, 63 Mountain View Avenue, Back Bush and Top Range communities who were at loggerheads with gangs based in the

Burgher Gully, Jarrett Lane, Thorbourne Lane and McGregor Gully communities.

He is also actively involved in the building of the security ministry-funded Ivor Rowe Basic School and plays a leading role in the Future Generation Youth Club, both based in Burgher Gully. He is also a founding member of the Eastern Peace Centre and has organised a sorrel and corn farm in the community which is manned by youths from the community, who also go to school.

"They are told to do it and they have to do it because of the respect that I have earned in the community," he said with a wry smile.

Hamilton is now pursuing a diploma in youth development at the University of the West Indies Social Work Training Centre.

Churches cross over chocolate Jesus

November 28, 2008
Started By CArlmak4 Comments

Germany's churches criticised a businessman on Tuesday for selling thousands of Jesus chocolates.

Frank Oynhausen set up his 'Sweet Lord' chocolate Jesus-making business saying he wanted to restore some traditional religious values to Christmas in Germany.

But the German Protestant Church criticised the idea as 'tasteless' and the Roman Catholic Church was not amused.

'I started thinking about how I could reintroduce traditional religious values into this commercial world,' said Oynhausen, who had been unemployed since losing a recycling business two years ago.

Together with a friend, a local chocolatier, Oynhausen, 54, developed the concept of 'Sweet Lord'.

It is terrible that Jesus is being wrapped up in gold foil and sold

It is growing fast in his home town of Duisburg and on the internet, at www.goldjesus.com.

Oynhausen said thousands of people have put in orders for the figures wrapped in gold foil. But church associations expressed dismay.

'It is terrible that Jesus is being wrapped up in gold foil and sold along with chocolate bunnies, edible penguins and lollipops,' said Aegidius Engel, a spokesman for the archbishopric of nearby Paderborn.

'This is ruining the symbol of Jesus himself,' he added.

Oynhausen is now custom-producing the chocolate Jesus figures, at a cost of 15 euros for 100 grams, but by Easter he hopes to have a partnership with a mass producer.

'We're hoping to be able to export them around the world one day,' Oynhausen said. He reckons there are parts of the United States where they will be especially popular.

In 2007, a life-size chocolate sculpture of a naked Jesus - similarly named My Sweet Lord - caused an outcry from Roman Catholics when an art gallery in New York wanted to exhibit it in a window

HELLO THERE PEOPLE BITDEFENDER PROBLEM...I CANT GO ON THE INTERNET?

hey there peeps can some plz help me.my bitdefender..won't allow me to go on the net..plz...help me..i dont want to unistal it because..it take off alot of virus..that my previous antivirus couldnt find...plz.. I HAVE TO BE USEING MY PC IN SAFE MODE *sigh* HELP

Gunmen 'still holed up in Mumbai'

November 27, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 7 Comments

India's Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has vowed to take "whatever measures are necessary" to track down those responsible for the Mumbai attacks.

He said the perpetrators were based "outside the country" and India would not tolerate "neighbours" who provide a haven to militants targeting it.

Gunmen targeted at least seven sites in Mumbai late on Wednesday, killing at least 101 people and injuring 300.

An Indian general said 10-12 gunmen were still holed up at three sites.

At one, the Oberoi-Trident hotel, flames were seen rising from the roof.

Elite commandos had begun an operation to free hostages at the hotel, where dozens of people are said to remain trapped or held hostage, reports said.

A home ministry official said between 20 and 30 people at the hotel might still be hostages, while the owners said some 200 people were trapped inside.

Police earlier said hostages had been freed from another luxury hotel, the Taj Mahal Palace, but explosions and gunfire were still being heard by witnesses outside.

A stand-off continues at a Jewish centre, where an Israeli rabbi and his family are believed to have been taken hostage.

One militant reportedly phoned local TV from the centre offering to negotiate over the release of hostages.

In other developments:

• The Indian navy said it was searching ships off the west coast following reports that gunmen had arrived in Mumbai by boat
  • The UK Foreign Office said a British national had died; a German, a Japanese man and an Italian are also among the dead
  • The Pakistan-based militant group Lashkar-e-Toiba, which has been blamed for past b****ings in India, denied any role in the attacks

In a televised address, Mr Singh said the government "will take whatever measures are necessary to ensure the safety and security of our citizens".

He described the attacks as "well-planned and well-orchestrated... intended to create a sense of panic by choosing high profile targets and indiscriminately killing foreigners".

o.gif
MUMBAI ATTACKS
Flames and black smoke billow from the Taj Mahal Palace hotel, Mumbai, on 27/11/08
inline_dashed_line.gif

The perpetrators were "based outside the country", he said, adding that they "had come with single-minded determination to create havoc in the commercial capital of the country".

India has complained in the past that attacks on its soil have been carried out by groups based in Pakistan, although relations between the two countries have improved in recent years and Pakistani leaders were swift to condemn the latest attacks.

Pakistani Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi, in New Delhi for talks, said no-one should be blamed until investigations were finished.

"Our experience in the past tells us that we should not jump to conclusions," he told Dawn television.

Amid international condemnation of the attacks, US President George W Bush telephoned Mr Singh to offer his condolences and support.

Claim of responsibility

In the attacks late on Wednesday night gunmen, using grenades and automatic weapons, targeted at least seven sites including the city's main commuter train station, a hospital and a restaurant popular with tourists.

Police say 14 police officers, 81 Indian nationals and six foreigners have been killed.

Four suspected terrorists have also been killed and nine arrested, they add.

State police chief AN Roy earlier told local television that hostages held by the gunmen at the Taj Mahal Palace hotel - one of Mumbai's most famous hotels - had been freed.

Advertisement

People escaping from the Taj Mahal Palace hotel

Witnesses said civilians could be seen running from the hotel, some with suitcases. Ambulances were also reported to be arriving.

But the BBC's Mark Dummett, outside the Taj Mahal, says the situation has since become very confused, with the sounds of explosions and gunfire being heard from within the hotel, suggesting the siege is not yet over.

Earlier in the day, Indian commandos had been seen entering the hotels but there was little detail on the operation.

Meanwhile, the bosses of the Oberoi-Trident hotel say some 200 guests may still trapped in their rooms.

Earlier eyewitness reports from the hotels suggested the attackers were singling out British and American passport holders.

If the reports are true, our security correspondent Frank Gardner says it implies an Islamist motive - attacks inspired or co-ordinated by al-Qaeda.

A claim of responsibility has been made by a previously unknown group calling itself the Deccan Mujahideen. Our correspondent says it could be a hoax or assumed name for another group.

Map of Mumbai showing location of attacks

-- Edited by rrDesignZ at 13:15, 2008-11-27

When We Having A Movie Night*-*

July 14, 2008
Started By Shem112 Comments
WHEN???

-- Edited by Shem at 12:48, 2008-11-28

STARLEFT_1_PDQKJHighlanAM.jpgSTARLEFT_1_P7IQAYardyViAM.jpg
( L - R ) Deva Bratt, Vybz Kartel - File

Incarcerated deejay Deva Bratt has verbally lashed out at fellow deejay Vybz Kartel, accusing the artiste of stealing his 'Portmore Empire'.

In February of this year Deva Bratt, real name Sheldon Smith, was taken into custody in connection with an alleged case of carnal abuse, committed against a 14-year-old girl. He was picked up by police from his home in Westchester, Portmore.

After being given bail for this incident the deejay was accused of raping another girl. He was again taken in custody and the two cases are still before the court.

Felt betrayed and belittled

In an interview published yesterday on the popular Dancehallmuzik.com website, Deva Bratt who spoke from the Greater Portmore police lock-up claimed that he felt betrayed and belittled. He said that he has been left to rot in jail by fellow deejay Vybz Kartel.

He is quoted as saying; "... A hear mi hear Kartel a seh mi not in (Portmore) Empire, but mi neva tek dat serious, cause me a think how mi fi get kick out a Empire when I am Empire? Is me start Empire years ago; yes Kartel buss di ting bigger, but how yuh fi go behind di founder back an register company in your name one?"

Get kick out

He continued; "...him go announce seh me get kick out, and now a throw word against him fren who inna jail? An yuh wonder why dem call him Judas?"

The artiste also said that Kartel along with Munga 'Honourebel' have lyrically thrown words at him with Munga referring to him as a 'pedophile.' Bratt pointed to Kartel's Never Tun A Raper on the Stimulant Rhythm as lashing out at him.

The song states, "when yuh see di gal dem, nuh hold down/ low har nuh/ nuh drape up/ let har go/ nuh bodda fi... I coulda neva tun a rapah/ bun a rapah ... mi nuh tek if yuh nuh gimme though... swear to God mi nah go a court pan no rape charge ... "

Registered trademark

THE STAR was unable to get in touch with Vybz Kartel, however in a release sent to us from his publicist, the deejay is quoted as saying, "the Portmore Empire is a registered trademark of Adidjaheim Records and was registered almost two years ago with the Jamaica Intellectual Property Office (JIPO). All Portmore Empire artistes are signed to Adidjaheim Records, and only signed artistes are allowed certain privileges or afforded access to certain resources as it relates to expenditures or liabilities incurred by said artistes."

The release further stated that the Portmore Empire does not associate itself with anyone who is involved with any case of carnal abuse or exploitation of women.

In the meantime, Deva Bratt in his interview said that his lawyers are working on getting bail and he was hoping to be released by Christmas.

'Portmore Empire does not associate itself with anyone who is involved with any case of carnal abuse or exploitation of women'

Directors of Sting 'lyming' at the launch at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel on Tuesday, November 25. From left to right are the director Junior 'Heavy D' Frazer and founding directors Dimario McDowell and Isaiah Laing. - peta-gaye clachar

There were many appeals for peace at next month's Sting 25, as the annual Boxing Day 'Greatest One Night Show on Earth' was launched on Tuesday evening to a full house at the Jamaica Pegasus' Talk of the Town.

This year's staging is dubbed 'The Final Frontier, the Settlement of all Argument'.

University of the West Indies lecturer Dr Donna Hope said Sting is always about the clash, but "we must let the better words talk at Sting 25". She closed by urging artistes to keep it lyrical and not get into the physical at the mega-concert, held at Jam World in Portmore, St Catherine.

Dancehall Baddest

Vybz Kartel, who will perform in the closing 'Dancehall Baddest' section along with Mavado, Beenie Man, Bounty Killer and Ninja Man, requested, "just keep this Sting as peaceful and amicable as possible."

Reneto Adams said "we are working towards making this one of the most peaceful Sting's ever," warning the hooligans, "we have you on our database." Goddy Goddy, who will perform in the 'True Believers' segment, prayed powerfully "that this will be a violence-free Sting."

The launch

There seems to be hardly any doubt, though, that there will be a battle on stage, although none was officially announced at the launch, hosted by Big Mac. A Sting retrospective on big screen focused on clashes of years past, the cheers going up as Ninja Man tackled Shabba Ranks in 1990 and Supercat in 1991, Bounty Killer roared "peoooople dead" as he charged on stage against Beenie Man in 1993 and Merciless took on 'the world' in 2001.

But the biggest cheers came when Mavado and Vybz Kartel's faces were put side by side at the end of the clip.

The launch was a sign of things to come on Boxing Day; the Sting ladies were out in silver and the Monster ladies in predominantly black, skimpy gear, while many other young women were 'dressed to the heels'. The music pumped after the official proceedings and many of entertainment's outstanding personalities were on hand.

Big Mac said "Sting is the only entertainment event that has been held on the same date for 24 years in this hemisphere," while Supreme Promotions boss Isaiah Laing said, "when I started Sting I never dreamt it would become the giant it is now.

"There have been many successes and challenges," he said, thanking all, but especially the loyal fans. And he was thanked in turn by the members of the Supreme Promotions team, who honoured him with an award.

Other Sting 25 segments are 'Dancehall's Starters', where Black Judah is among the performers, while Charley Black, Flippa Mafia and Shane-O are part of 'Dancehall's Future'. 'Dancehall's Divas' include Lady Patra, Lady G and Junie Platinum, with TNT and Spice among the 'Dancehall Trendsetters'. DJ Nicholas is also part of the 'True Believers', with I-Octane, Serani, Terry Linen, Etana and Queen Ifrica in the 'Dancehall's Coolest' section.

Kartel reaffirmed the stringent security measures, among which is that no entourages will be allowed on stage, saying that there will be "about 100 police around the stage alone." There were chuckles when he said there would also be police in the crowd "looking for unscrupulous people."

Sting ticket discounts

Among the sponsors whose representatives spoke on Tuesday evening were WISYNCO, Cariblink and Monster Energy Drink. Island Stubs' Noelle Nichols announced a deal with THE STAR. When Sting tickets go on sale December 19th, anyone who buys a copy of THE STAR and takes it to an Island Stubs outlet will get big Sting ticket discounts.

The regular prices are $1,500 pre-sold and $2,000 at the gate for regular admission and $5,000 for the VIP section.

Mayor of Portmore, Keith Hinds said he was taking his dancing shoes along to the concert.

Adams To Head STING Security

findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1993 At Tuesday's launch of Sting the 25th anniversary a lot of  milestones were achieved. The event dubbed the 'Final Frontier - The Settlement of All Argument'  was arguable the best launch the show had seen in its twenty five (25) years of existence.

The proceedings held at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel in New Kingston saw a respectable turn-out with a number of high profile entertainers and corporate execs in attendance, complimented by a cadre of journalist spanning the continents.

Some of those that made the trek included the Portmore Empire members, Vybz Kartel, Blak Ryno, Javinchi, Lisa Hype, controversial female deejay Spice, I-Octane, Captain Barkey and Wickerman, Junie Platinum, Zebra former dancehall first lady Patra and Renato Adams among others.

One of the night's biggest surprises came with the announcement of SSP Renato Adams as head of security for the event. In his speech Adams said he had a database of all the troublemakers and it's not in their vested interest to try to create any problems at the event. In closing he added "everything that begins must come to an end and this is going to be the settlement of all argument... STING to the world it sell off".

Kartel was also a crowd pleaser with his performance of 'Trailor Load A Money', 'Life Sweet' and 'Ramping Shop' alongside Spice but it was his command of the Queen's language that brought the house down when he said "we as entertainers should all try to be amicable towards each other.." among a plethora of other intellectual statements that was greeted with loud cheers and a comment from the far corner of the audience shouting "there he is the intelligent one".

Other speakers included Dr. Donna Hope and his worship Keith Hines, the mayor of Portmore, gospel artiste Goddy Goddy alongside members of the promotional team and sponsors.

Moments later a seven (7) minutes video clip was shown retroactively spanning the history of the event with all its infamous lyrical clashes and confrontation which came to an apex with the highly publicised showdown between Portmore Empire front Man Vybz Kartel and Alliance prodigal son Mavado. Who will win...hmmm I guess we'll just have to wait and see.

The event is slated for December 26th at Jamworld in Portmore, St. Catherine and for those who can't make it to the event the facilities for live streaming will be put it place for subscribers to purchase for more information please visit the official Sting website at www.stingjamaica.com.jm for highlights of the launch see our Gallery

Renato Adams, Isaiah Laing and Vybz Kartel

The satanic hand sign is a representation of the Goat of Mendes  or Baphomet.The two outer fingers represent the horns and the two clenched fingers with the thumb represent the goat's head & beard.

Goat of MendesIt's the hand sign that satanists use during satanic rituals to pledge allegiance to and solidarity with Lucifer. I've seen movies Satanic Ritualand still photos of satanic rituals, including human sacrifice, and that's the hand sign they hold up. They don't flash the "V" for victory hand sign at a satanic ritual.

Bush (and his family), members of G8, and satanic insiders around the world intentionally display the satanic hand sign in public in order to send a signal to other satanists of the NWO that says 'we rule', or 'we're unafraid to publicly demonstrate our allegiance to Lucifer.' The NWO satanists figure that victory is close at hand, so they've become more emboldened of late to show their colors.

Pentagram GoatA certain percentage of gullible and naive people will accept the ludicrous explanation that the Bush press people have offered that claim that the Bushes are flashing their endorsement of a Texas football team, or for Texan steers called Longhorns, but anyone who has even rudimentary knowledge of satanism knows that it's the satanic hand signal, the sign of the goat.

Goat of Mendes and PentagrammActually, there is a slightly different meaning to the satanic hand gesture depending on which hand is used. If the right hand is used, the thumb will often go under the two middle fingers and represent the horned god of witchcraft. More commonly, the left hand gesture will have the thumb over the middle fingers and represent a signal of solidarity among those in the Occult. If you point the satanic hand at someone, it's a way of placing a satanic curse.

Kidrock and ClintonIt's true that a large percentage of young people do not realize the true meaning of the satanic hand gesture and just assume that it's the "cool" way of greeting a camera or expressing a will to win at sporting events. Japanese young people, especially, are totally naive about satanism and think it's just the latest way to flash a 60's style 'peace' symbol or it's a variation on the "V" hand sign that is ubiquitous whenever young Japanese pose for a camera.

But many young people in America and Europe know exactly what the gesture means and use it because they are being drawn into satanism in a very seductive way through the example set by rock stars, especially heavy metal rockers, who are very often practicing satanists. The whole idea behind "Gothic" rock web sites and blogs is to *u*k young people into a kinky and somewhat depraved world where things dark or of a forbidden nature are bandied about and both sexes will wear black lipstick and black finger nail polish. Occult symbols are commonly posted at these web sites.

The average American has no idea how deeply satanism has infiltrated and permeated every strata of American society. Many high level politicians, world leaders, Hollywood entertainers, heavy metal rock stars, upper level military people, police chiefs, judges, doctors, lawyers, dentists, evangelical preachers, etc, etc.. You name a profession, and there are signifigant numbers of satanists within their ranks.

It's always possible that Bill Maher was using the satanic hand gesture as a way to mock Bush, but I think it's more likely that he's paying his dues to those who made it possible for him to be seen on that HBO special. Like I mentioned in the original article about Maher, most big name Hollywood entertainers are "owned" by the Illuminati; the majority being under mind control. A good percentage of the better looking women celebrities seen on television or in the gossip tabloids are either Monarch or MK Ultra sex slaves. Sometimes, due to internal psychological stress, a mind controlled personality will "sanp" in a very public way and we will read or see something on TV news that's sounds really bazarre, like that woman astronaut who went nutso a few months ago. NASA is a major mind control programming center and anybody who works for them in any high level capacity is going to be programmed

Yes, the Nazi swastica is similar to the ancient Buddist symbol, but the swastica is swirling counterclockwise (chaos, destruction), while the Buddist symbol swirls clockwise (generative, creative) if memory serves me correctly.

Symbols have POWER on the subconscious level and that's why they  are used - to generate or support a collective thought form. Satanists try to get people to REVERSE positive symbols in order to diminish their collective strength, such as the upside down cross in place of the upright cross or the use of Christmas cards that read "Merry Xmas" instead of Merry Christmas. How many of us realized that signing cards with "Merry Xmas" was LITERALLY helping satanists take "Christ" out of Christmas? 

Here are some photos of well known people gesturing their allegiance to Satan and the NWO.

Bush and wife Satanic hand signal (2005 inauguration)  Bush 2005 Satanic hand signal

Bush girl and Satanic hand signalBushes Satanic Hands

May 10, 2007 White House Reception for Queen Elizabeth and Prince Phillip

Bush & Queen Elizabeth May 10, 2007

Dan Quayle                                                              

John Edwards

Dan Quayle Satanic Hand  John Edwards, Satanic Hand

Metallica                                                                                             Bush & Tommy Franks

Metallica Satanic HandTommy Franks Satanic Hand

Amy Grant                                                        

Silvio Berlusconi, former PM Italy                     

Elizabeth Taylor

Amy Grant Satanic HandBurlescone Satanic HandLiz Taylor Satanic Hand

Nicolas Sarkozy, President of France                        Dick Cheney                                           King Abdullah & Putin

Nicholas Sarcozy of FranceDick CheneyKind Abdullah

Benny Hinn                                                         Kenneth Copeland                                           Jesse Duplantis

Benny Hinn Satanic HandKenneth Copeland Satanic HandJesse Desplantis

Pat Robertson                

Rodney Howard Browne

Pat Robertson Satanic HandRodney Howard Browne

Anton Levey, Church of Satan                 

Harley Clark, University of Texas (note tower in background from which mind controlled campus shooter Charles Whitman gunned down students in 1966, another satanic message)

Anton Levy Church of SatanHarley Clark Satanic HandLennon Satanic Hand

-- Edited by Dj_Rubbut at 12:10, 2008-11-15

Herpes Simplex Virus

July 16, 2008
Started By steppz7 Comments

breast&doctor-lawson.jpgHerpes Simplex Viruses (HSVs) are ubiquitous organisms whose antibodies can be detected in one fifth of the US population. Worldwide prevalence of HSV has increased significantly in recent decades. HSV-1 and HSV-2 are two types of this virus.

Transmission
HSV-1 infections are transmitted primarily by contact with infected saliva and airborne droplets and usually affect the surface area of the lip, nose, the oral mucosa and tonsils. Congenital (intrauterine acquired) infection with HSV-1 is rare. HSV-1 invades the trigeminal nerves (the cranial nerve the controls the most of the facial and oral region) where they lie dormant until they are reactivated by a stressor (i.e. temperature).

HSV-2 infections are transmitted sexually in adults or during passage through the genital track in the newborn. Perinatal HSV-2 infection is more common than congenital (intrauterine acquired) HSV-2 disease. Women infected in their third semester of pregnancy (congenital HSV infection) have a high incidence of premature birth and intrauterine growth retardation. Cesarean delivery is given to women with active HSV-2 genital lesion at the time of delivery. Sexual activity should be avoided in active HSV-2 disease.

Symptoms
Eighty percent of infected patients are asymptomatic. Symptomatic infections can result in complications during reactivation after primary infection. Complications include herpetic whitlow (finger ulceration), blindness, as well as painful oral and genital lesions (vesicles). Spread to visceral organs, HSV can cause arthritis, multiple sclerosis, pneumonia, esophagitis, adrenal necrosis, meningitis, encephalitis (brain matter infection).

HSV-1 can present itself as painful ulcerating vesicles on and around the lips and in the oral cavity (mucosa and tonsils). Constitutional symptoms include fever, myalgia (muscle aches), malaise, headache, itching and anorexia and intractable pain. HSV-1 can also cause urithritis (inflammation of the urinary tract). Ruptured vesicles formed by HSV-1 infections create ulcers covered with a white coating that can be confused with thrush (candidosis).

There is strong association of HSV-1 with Bell's palsy and multiple sclerosis. HSV-1 is the most common cause of Herpes Simplex Encephalitis beyond the newborn period. Patients with Herpes Simplex Encephalitis can develop memory loss, seizures, hallucination and can produce similar features of psychosis and delirium tremens. The temporal region of the brain is the most common site of infections.

Primary genital tract HSV-2 is asymptomatic in most patients. HSV-1 can also cause genital tract infection with similar clinical presentation but is less common. After the primary infection with HSV-2, it invades the sacral nerve root where they lie dormant (latent period). Recurrence is triggered by a stressor (i.e. depression, menstruation). A burning pain precedes the formation of herpetic vesicles on the labia and vestibule of the vagina. Cervical and vaginal mucosal lesions can ulcerate and progress to necrosis. Urinary retention can result from pain on urination in women. Herpetic lesions may appear on the penis, scrotum, thigh and buttocks, and the perianal area in individuals who practice anal sex. Women tend to have more complications and more severe symptoms. Individuals who have subclinical infections can still shed virus and infect their partner.

Detect, Protect, Treat Magnetic resonance imaging MRI and HSV DNA amplification by PCR are diagnostic modalities with high sensitivity.

Condoms are only protective at the surface it covers. Polymerase chain reaction (PCR) can identify asymptomatic viral shedding by detecting HSV DNA. Duration of symptoms and viral shedding from acute HSV lesions is reduced by oral acyclovir (Zovirax), valacyclovir (valatrex). Alternatively, anti-viral essential oils have been effective in treating herpes lesions and reducing their onset. Essential oils such as Melissa, Melaleuca, and Rosemary are oils that have been used successfully in clinical practice to treat herpes. By reducing foods high in the amino acid arginine (chocolate, peanuts, seeds, and other nuts) and increasing foods high in the amino acid lysine (vegetables, legumes, fish, and chicken) can effectively reduce the frequency duration and severity of recurrences can be effectively minimized. Pure uncontaminated Omega 3 fatty acids EICOSA-PENTAECNOIC ACID (EPA) and DOCOSA-HEXAENOIC ACID (DHA) derived from fish oil have been used in clinical practice to safely and effectively treat herpes infections.

breast&doctor-lawson.jpgChlamydia is the most commonly reported infectious disease in the United States causing approximately 4 million infections annually. Today, teenage girls have the highest rates of Chlamydia infection worldwide. Studies conducted show that 1 in 9 women are infected with Chlamydia with higher prevalence between the ages 16-24. Approximately 90 million people are infected worldwide. Fifty percent of the men and seventy five percent of women infected with Chlamydia are asymptomatic (present without symptoms).

Transmitted during oral, vaginal and anal sex, through the *lo** during pregnancy as well as during vaginal delivery of a newborn, Chlamydia is a curable sexually transmitted infection (STI). Chlamydia trachomatis can be transmitted via aerosolize vapors (similar to tuberculosis). This type of infection does not cause obvious clinical infection but contributes to other severe medical complications such as intractable pain syndrome, heart disease, circulatory disturbances, diabetes, reactive arthritis and cancer.
clickhere.jpg

Chlamydia trachomatis is the species that causes Chlamydia (STI), conjunctivitis (pink eye) and pneumonia in infants as well as Lymphogranuloma Venereum (LGV). Conjunctivitis (pink eye) can cause blindness in the newborn. LGV is caused by this strain of Chlamydia, that mostly affects people in the tropical climate and can invade the skin through tiny cuts, leading to inflamed rectum (proctitis), and skin ulcers. LGV can infect lymph nodes causing genital problems, pain, proctitis inflamed rectum), skin breakdown (ulceration) and swelling.

As a parasite that behaves like a virus, Chlamydia trachomatis is an atypical bacteria. Infected men can act as a reservoir of Chlamydia infection that can contribute to re-infection of their partners. Early treatment and frequent screening of susceptible individuals is critical to prevent severe complications. Inadequately treated infections and the presence of heavy metals in the body may cause Chlamydia resistance to antibiotics leading to persistence subclinical (not detected by routine diagnostic test) infections that can contribute to other medical complications.

Women can carry Chlamydia for years without knowing they are infected. Symptoms can worsen progressively depending on immune status and whether adequate treatment was initiated early enough. Symptoms can begin up to 3 weeks after contracting the infection. Signs and symptoms may present themselves as fever, milky or yellow mucus-like vaginal discharge in women and penial discharge in men. There can also be constant lower abdominal pain, urinary frequency urgency, pain during urination (urithritis), pain during sexual intercourse (dyspareunia), spotting between periods, easily induced endocervical bleeding, inflammation of the cervix (15% of women with Chlamydia infection will develop cervicitis), pelvic inflammatory disease (PID), painful and swollen testes (epididymitis) and inflamed prostate (prostitis). Chlamydia infection can causes infection of vaginal walls (mucosa) making it more vulnerable to HIV infection.

Be aware that throat infection (pharyngitis) can be caused by Chlamydia due to oral sex. The Chlamydia organism has also recently been discovered in certain plaques that cause heart disease, and circulatory disturbances. Chlamydia infection of the pancreas can contribute to the development of type 2 diabetes.

High incidents of Chlamydia infection are found within single individuals, people of poor socio-economical status, minorities - including non-white race, and those aged less than 19 years old. It is also found primarily amongst people who have multiple sexual partners, anal sexual intercourse, and those abusing drugs and alcohol. A significant number of infections are contracted during pregnancy.

In the United States 1 million women will develop Pelvic Inflammatory Disease (PID) annually and of these 20% will become infertile. Forty percent of women with untreated Chlamydia infections will develop PID. PID occurs when the infection progresses from the vagina into the tubes then invading the ovaries and pelvic cavity. Scar tissues and adhesions in the tubes and pelvic cavity result in severe pain and ectopic (pregnancy outside of the w****) pregnancies. Ectopic Pregnancy is a common cause of death among poor teenagers in the United States. Tubal pregnancy is the leading cause of first trimester pregnancy-related death in American women. Pelvic infections can eventually spread to the liver causing perihepatitis (infection around the liver).

Chlamydia infection can be diagnosed by visual inspection, culture of discharge or secretion, or DNA amplification of secretions (PCR). Recently, a new test, Amplicor Chlamydia trachomatis test, became available which is carried out using a sample of urine, a swab from a woman's cervix or urethra with available results within 4 hours. Another available test allows a woman to obtain self-administer vaginal swab and place into a container for testing.

There are one day and seven day treatments available that are equally as effective, however those infected should discuss particularly - impaired liver function, irregular heartbeat and of course pregnancy with their physician. Some treatments may cause gastro intestinal problems, while others can reduce the effectiveness of birth control pills as well as cause break through bleeding, increasing the risk of unwanted pregnancy. Those infected should continue taking their medication even after symptoms subside to avoid the emergence of resistant organisms.

Heavy metal accumulation in the body may contribute to Chlamydia resistance to antibiotics. Studies suggest the possibility of the development of autoimmune dysfunction due to mercury toxicity based on genetic susceptibility. Heavy metal like mercury, lead and aluminum are typically found in high concentration at areas of Subclinical infections caused by Chlamydia. Amalgam dental fillings constantly emit mercury vapor which is absorbed via the lung. Tap water is another good source of this toxic metal. Where there is excessive accumulation of aluminum and mercury in the brain Chlamydia trachomatis infections often coexist (think about Alzheimer's disease).

PREVENTION
Regular screening for Chlamydia infection of sexual partners (especially teenagers), reducing the number of sexual partners, the use of latex condoms (even with oral sex), and avoiding judgment altering intoxicating substances, are actions that may reduce the incidence of Chlamydia infections. Drinking and cooking with filtered water only, sweating (through regular exercise or otherwise), and using natural substances to remove heavy metals from the body can reduce the accumulation of mercury and complications associated with Chlamydia infections.

One thing to keep in mind is that antibiotics abuse makes us more vulnerable to cancers such as breast cancer and heart disease making it doubly important to avert Chlamydia infections and its subsequent treatment.

| Deva Brat is O.K.

November 25, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 4 Comments
One876 contacted a member of Deva Brat's road management team today who informed us that the deejay had survived the knife attack and emerged largely unscathed except for a 'few bumps to the head'.

"Dem use a bottle and lick him inna him head and dem run him down with knives, him run go across the road and the police dem arrest the man dem who were chasing him. The deejay alright, him a voice right," the road manager told one876a short time ago.

Weh Deva Bratt Deh Pon???

November 8, 2008
Started By Thug Lord33 Comments
This Mornin When I Arrived At Bulbie's Memorial Dance At About 7:30am In Dela Vega City Spanish Town. I Noticed I Heard Deva Bratt Dj-ing. I Jus  Recently Downloaded Two Of Deva Bratt's Recent Tunes Off Mediazoneja So I Was Suprised To See Him On Stage With The Teacher And Other Members Of The Portmore Empire Along With Beenieman.

I Heard That It Was The Teacha Who Called Deva Bratt On Stage?????

My Cuzin Point Out Deva Bratt In A Black Hat And I Flashed My Hand And Seh Him A Ediot And Guh Bill Wit Sum Gal

Mi Waan Noe Wah Really A Gwaan ???nope

Deva Bratt's New Tunes:
http://www.mediafire.com/?fnmyjfkgmdz

http://www.zshare.net/audio/51039961931c53d6/    

THIS IS A FACT THATZ WHY MI SHOCKED! CUZ THE WAR NAH GUH NICE IF DEVA BRATT GUH BAC INNA EMPIRE AS KARTEL SAYZ HE IS
-- Edited by Thug Lord at 11:40, 2008-11-08

-- Edited by Thug Lord at 22:00, 2008-11-08

-- Edited by Thug Lord at 22:07, 2008-11-08

-- Edited by Thug Lord at 22:10, 2008-11-08

CHICAGO Soon-to-be president Barack Obama said he is not worried about his own security, despite a higher level of threats against him than any other president-elect in history.

Since Obama's election, law enforcement officials have seen potential threatening writings, racist Internet postings and other troubling activity popping up. But Obama said in an interview with Barbara Walters that he never thinks about his safety.

"Part of it because I've got this pretty terrific crew of Secret Service guys that follow me everywhere I go, but also because I have a deep religious faith and faith in people that carries me through the day," he said. "And my job is just to make sure I'm doing my job, and if I do, I can't worry about that kind of stuff."

In all the stress of the transition, Obama said he's trying to eat healthy food, work out regularly and refrain from smoking now that the campaign is over, but he did not say he has quit cigarettes entirely.

Obama, a smoker who has quit but admitted occasional relapses, said in the interview that he fell "off the wagon during the campaign" a few times.

He did not directly answer her question about whether he is sneaking an occasional cigarette now amid the intense pressure of building his administration and the countdown to his swearing-in on Jan. 20.

"Part of what I think comes with this role as president is that you're not perfect but hopefully you're trying to set a good example for people, and that starts with my two kids," Obama said in the interview that aired Wednesday on ABC-TV.

He said he's been trying to stay healthy since the days of burgers on the campaign trail. The president-elect works out nearly every day, and says he's watching his diet too.

"I've been trying to stay fit," he said.

Obama's doctor said last spring that he was in excellent health at the time of his last checkup the previous year, but he has a family history of cancer.

'Mr Lex' robbed

October 31, 2007
Started By Crazypickney22 Comments

STARCover_1_PGYL5Mr2860AM.jpg

Dancehall artiste Lexxus
aka Mr Lex is pleading for the return of items stolen from him on Monday night.

Items belonging to Mr Lex was stolen from a car belonging to his friend and fellow artiste Brain Damage.

According to Mr Lex, Monday night at around 11:30 p.m., he was attending a party by Q45 studios on Burlington Avenue when the incident occurred.

"I had parked the car on the intersection of Burlington Avenue and Eastwood Park Road and went to the party. When we returned, the back windows and the right windows were broken," Mr Lex told THE STAR.

Stolen from the 2006 Altezza, was the car's stereo system, cellphones, all of Mr Lex's travel documents and Mr Lex's laptop computer containing all his production work and new juggling material.

Very shaken and upset

The incident was reported to the Half-Way Tree police station, claimed a very shaken and worried Mr Lex.

"I'm so upset and worried. there was a whole heap of travel documents that I need to travel; it would be such a hassle to get them back in time to leave.

I am pleading with the public to bring back my computer and travel documents. All of my music and production is on that computer," he said.

According to Mr Lex, he is not sure if the incident was a planned attack or if he was simply a victim of a robbery.

The artiste is offering a small reward to anyone who returns his laptop and travel documents to the Half-Way Tree police station or any other police station.

OK MEDIAZONE WHAT WOULD YOU LIKE TO HEAR PLAY ON THE RADIO ON THE REGULAR? WHAT IS WORTHY ANY GENRE MEK MI KNOW ILL BUSS IT PON MY SHOW ITS ALL BOUT WHAT THE PEOPLE WANT!!!

Beyonce Almost got shot

February 26, 2008
Started By Shem160 Comments

damn lucky

Morgan Heritage members go solo
Krista Henry, Staff Reporter

STARRIGHT_1_PFEWYMorganAM.jpg
Morgan Heritage - File photos

After more than 10 years touring the world and releasing hit albums together as Morgan Heritage, the family of singers has decided to embark on temporary solo careers, The STAR has learnt.

Known for songs such as She's Still Loving Me, Don't Haffi Be Dread,among countless others, Morgan Heritage consists of Roy 'Gramps' Morgan, Nakhamyah 'Lukes' Morgan, Memo 'Mr Mojo' Morgan, Una Morgan, Denroy 'Daddy' Morgan and Peetah Morgan.

The STAR recently spoke to the lead singer Peetah about his groundbreaking moves as a solo entertainer. Currently under the wings of Shane Brown of Juke Boxx Productions, Peetah explained the reasons for the temporary split.

"Everyone knows the group Morgan Heritage. Now we've decided to introduce each person as a single artiste to the fans around the world. We've been talking about doing this for a year now, but then we released another album this year, Mission In Progress, and we did a touring project behind it, so now we're focusing on our stuff."

Cancelled

This year, the group's European tour was cancelled due to a recurring injury that has been affecting Gramps.

According to Peetah, his brother is currently doing well, and Gramps, as well as Mojo, will also be doing solo projects.

The children of reggae veteran, Denroy Morgan, the Morgan Heritage clan has grown up with music all their lives. For Peetah, it was that inherent love of music which inspired him to become an artiste. While each member of Morgan Heritage has his own sound, Peetah describes his solo sound as more "hip-hop oriented, with R&B and, of course, a touch of reggae".

So far, Peetah has recorded over 20 singles and has released Save The World for Shane Brown, a song that he says speaks to the increase in violent crimes around the world.

Peetah has other songs on the way, including Bye Bye from producer Donovan Germaine and In Love With Ya from Brown. The artiste spends most of his time in the studio, opting to forgo some shows until his solo career is launched.

While Peetah will be spending time promoting his solo career, he still doesn't want to take himself too far way from his Morgan Heritage roots.

"I can't get away from Morgan Heritage and I wouldn't want to, but is just to let everyone know of us as individuals," he explained.

Plans for the future include a concept album from the group. Peetah explained: "We want to make a landmark album of our career, something that will stand out in the industry and will be written about decades after its release."

STARRIGHT_1_PCTOHpeter1AM.jpg
A 20min online docco outlining how everything we buy causes further global f**kery on many levels:

http://www.storyofstuff.com/

-- Edited by Krazy at 19:02, 2008-11-27

Loaded inside the Amazon

November 23, 2008
Started By dj rushie4 Comments
The 'Gully Creepa' Ice and Busy Signal at 'Loaded', held on Friday at the Amazon nightclub, Santa Cruz in St Elizabeth. - Natheniel Stewart Photos It was a 'Loaded' affair inside the Amazon nightclub in Santa Cruz, St Elizabeth on Friday night when THE STAR along with Busy Signal and other guest entertainers made the journey from Kingston. Sponsors that helped to make the event successful included, Magnum Tonic Wine, Zip 103 FM (the official radio sponsor for the Star of the Month features), Blueprint Promotions, VP Records, Stone Age Productions, Pam Miller Designs, McGowan's Security, Avah Taylor Designs, Cherry Tree Promotions and Good Company Promotions. Special thanks also to TVJ's 'Intense'. Other special guests were, Biggy of Razz and Biggy, Chromatic, ZJ Capone, Ice, Kool Kid, Danca Bling, Magnum Girls, Bugle, Raine Seville and the Daseca Family, RDX and Skeptic-St Elizabeth's top dancer.
THE RITZ'S ROOTS ROCKIN' REGGAE SUCCESS New York, NY October 2009 - Internationally acclaimed artists Mavado and Buju Banton rocked New Jersey to its core this past Sunday, attracting nearly 2,000 patrons to the landmark Ritz Theatre for an evening of roots rockin' Reggae and Dancehall at the theatre's inaugural Reggae staging, Reggae at the Ritz, presented by Road Block Radio, Race Entertainment, and CCB International. Tri-State area patrons, as well as Reggae lovers from Pennsylvania, Delaware, and Washington DC journeyed to Elizabeth, NJ on Sunday to witness the historic concert, marking the very first English-speaking Caribbean music concert to be staged at the former opera house. Special guest attendees include renowned Reggae crooner Maxi Priest and Tony Matterhorn.

Meteorite hits Canada

November 24, 2008
Started By scuppo1 Comments
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/21134540/vp/27889700#27889700

-- Edited by scuppo at 14:47, 2008-11-24

subwaygoogle.jpg

Federal authorities are warning law enforcement personnel of a possible terror plot against the New York City subway system during the holiday season.

NBC New York has confirmed that the FBI released an internal memo saying the agency has received a "plausible but unsubstantiated" report that al-Qaida terrorists in late September may have discussed attacking the subway system.

have discussed targeting transit systems in and around New York City. These discussions reportedly involved the use of suicide b****ers or explosives placed on subway/passenger rail systems," according to the document.

"We have no specific details to confirm that this plot has developed beyond aspirational planning, but we are issuing this warning out of concern that such an attack could possibly be conducted during the forthcoming holiday season," states the warning, which is dated Tuesday.

While federal agencies regularly issue all sorts of advisory warnings, the language of this one is particularly blunt.

Intelligence and homeland security officials are working with local authorities to try to corroborate the information "and will continue to investigate every possible lead," the memo says.

82 KILLED IN GUNMEN ATTACK

November 26, 2008
Started By ***DK***1 Comments

Gunmen kill at least 82 in rampage across Mumbai 

MUMBAI, India Teams of gunmen stormed luxury hotels, a popular restaurant, hospitals and a crowded train station in coordinated attacks across India's financial capital Wednesday night, killing at least 82 people and taking Westerners hostage, police said. A group of suspected Muslim militants claimed responsibility.

Parts of the city remained under siege as dawn approached Thursday, with police and gunmen exchanging occasional gunfire at two hotels and an unknown number of people still held hostage, said A.N. Roy, a top police official. Soldiers also took up positions across the city.

A raging fire and explosions struck the landmark Taj Mahal hotel shortly after midnight. Screams could be heard and black smoke billowed from the century-old edifice on Mumbai's waterfront. Firefighters sprayed water at the blaze and plucked people from windows and balconies with extension ladders.

The attackers specifically targeted Britons and Americans, witnesses said. Officials said at least 200 people were wounded.

The motive for the onslaught was not immediately clear, but Mumbai continue reading here

Hanging back in play officially.

November 26, 2008
Started By nexx2 Comments

title.gif
YES! Parliament votes to retain hanging
BALFORD HENRY, Observer writer balfordh@jamaicaobserver.com
Wednesday, November 26, 2008

20081125T230000-0500_143048_OBS_YES__PARLIAMENT_VOTES_TO_RETAIN_HANGING_1.jpg
A dejected Carolyn Gomes, executive director of Jamaicans For Justice, outside Parliament following the vote on the death penalty yesterday. (Photo: Karl McLarty)

Members of the House of Representatives voted by nearly 2-1 in favour of retaining the death penalty at Gordon House yesterday, setting off loud cheers from pro-death penalty MPs and mixed response on the streets of Kingston, including from rights advocate Dr Carolyn Gomes who described the result as a backward step.

The House was asked to vote on the following motion moved by Prime Minister Bruce Golding two weeks ago:
'Be it resolved that this Honourable House : (a) affirms its support for the retention of the death penalty as specified in the Offences Against the Person Act; (b) declares its support for the removal of the death penalty as specified in the Offences Against the Person Act.'

Two separate votes were taken, on (a) and (b) respectively, requiring an "aye" or a "nay" from each member present as his/her name was called.

On (a), 34 members voted "aye", 15 voted "nay". There were eight absentees.

Right after the vote, Government MPs Mike Henry and Othneil Lawrence entered and sided with the "hawks" increasing the victory margin for them on (b) to 36 against, 15 in favour and 8 absentees.

Prime Minister Golding ran with the "hawks" on both occasions. Leader of the Opposition, Portia Simpson Miller was absent. Opposition MP Anthony Hylton (West St Andrew) entered the chamber immediately after the final results were announced.

Gomes, the executive director of human rights group Jamaicans For Justice, said the vote was a distraction from the real work needed to fix the nation's crime problem.
"We are deeply disappointed and very unhappy that it [went] this way. It is really a distraction from the real work that needs to be done," Gomes told the Observer, her voice traced with a tinge of sadness.

According to Gomes, the "real work" to be done to ease the crime burden on the society is the reforming of the justice system, "fixing of the police force", increasing the probability of apprehending criminals and the wide-scale implementing of social intervention programmes.

"I'm very sad. It's a backward step," she said.
Yesterday, on the streets of the capital, some Jamaicans supported the decision, saying it was time to send a strong m
essage to criminals, while others said they opposed it because the justice system was imperfect.

The 15 MPs who wanted the death penalty removed were: Peter Bunting, Marisa Dalrymple-Phillibert, Dr D K Duncan, Andrew Gallimore, Olivia Grange, Maxine Henry-Wilson, Andrew Holness, Fitz Jackson, Gregory Mair, Dr Wykeham McNeill, Phillip Paulwell, Dr Peter Phillips, Dr Donald Rhodd, Ronald Thwaites and Everald Warmington.

The eight MPs who were absent for the vote were: Simpson Miller, Dr Horace Chang, Dr Omar Davies, Sharon Hay-Webster, Hylton, Derrick Smith, Noel Arscott, and Kern Spencer.

The Clerk confirmed that Chang, Arscott, Davies and Hay-Webster were abroad. Smith is recuperating from recent surgery. Spencer, who rarely attends Parliament since the Cuban light bulb issue, actually informed the House that he would be absent yesterday.

The issue will now move to the floor of the Senate, where a debate is not necessary, since there is no need to change the law, but is to be included since it was a recommendation of the Joint Select Committee which reviewed the Charter of Rights.

However, the removal of the five-year stricture on carrying out the death penalty, which was imposed by the Privy Council in England in 1993 and which is expected to be tabled in the House soon, will need a two-thirds majority in both Houses.swordsman 110x110

Embedded video from <a href="http://www.cnn.com/video" mce_href="http://www.cnn.com/video">CNN Video</a>
Rapper k-os Calls On Fans To Remix New Tracks

Wednesday November 19, 2008

Following in the footsteps of Radiohead and Nine Inch Nails, Toronto hip-hop artist k-os is encouraging fans to remix his new tracks.

The hip-hop artist released the stems, or vocal and instrumental tracks, of songs from his upcoming album 'Yes!' online for fans to download. They can then come up with their own remixes and submit them for consideration in a companion disc to the album.

There are eleven tracks in all and the winning remix of each will be included on the side album. Also, the winners will each receive a $1000 prize.

"I'm here to introduce you to my music, I'm here to let you take my music -- why I'm doing this I have no clue, I think it's an experiment," the musician said in a video posted online.

"When this idea was brought to me to give my (stems) out to people to mess with my music, I was apprehensive. But I'm also kind of a control freak and I feel like sometimes the best way to conquer these types of freakisms is to let them go."

Among k-os's hits, Sunday Morning, Crabbuckit, and Man I Used To Be.

Website Indabamusic.com is hosting the contest, which precedes the release of the album next spring.

k-os performs at the MtvU Campus Invasion Music Festival on April 29, 2007 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. (Photo by Jeff Fusco/Getty Images)

«First  <  1354 355 356 357 358524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by