Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

LONDON (AFP) Barcelona striker Thierry Henry has paid his ex-wife a divorce settlement of eight million pounds (9.2 million euros, 11.8 million dollars), a report said.

Citing unnamed friends of Henry's former spouse, The Sun newspaper said the sum was close to the 10 million pounds British model Claire Merry had been seeking following their divorce in September 2007.

"It was settled at the end of last week," Merry's friend was quoted as saying. "Claire is delighted."

Read

Man May Serve Christmas Jail Time

December 4, 2008
Started By Dj Quami4 Comments
Four months after he was released from prison, Desmond Stewart of Mount Salem, St James, may be on his way back to spend Christmas behind bars.

Stewart who pleaded guilty to robbery with aggravation and was sentenced to six months in prison in February, found himself before the Montego Bay Resident Magistrate's Court just four months after his release.

Leaping from the third floor

The accused, who still bears the scars from injuries he sustained after leaping from the third floor of the court building in February, pleaded guilty to simple larceny. Stewart said he stole a Motorola Razr cellphone valued at $18,000 'for the sake' of his children.

"You honour mi woulda like yu fi give mi a suspended sentence and I promise that I would not present myself back here cause I do this just for the sake of the kids them," he said.

Family afraid

However Resident Magistrate Winsome Henry responded, "I may have to send you to prison for the sake of other people's family who are afraid of being robbed of their property."

She however remanded him until December 15 for her to decide an appropriate sentence

Allegations are that on November 19, the complainant was standing next to her delivery truck near Church Street and St Claver's Avenue, when the accused went into her truck and stole her Motorola cellular phone. She raised an alarm and he ran. A policeman on patrol called out to Stewart, who ran. The police gave chase and Stewart was held.

Cop charged with wife's murder

Published: Friday | December 5, 2008

WESTERN BUREAU:

Constable Raymond Campbell, formerly attached to the St James Police Division, has been charged with the murder of his wife, Kerry-Ann Brown-Campbell, who went missing a year ago.

Assistant Commissioner of Police Les Green, head of the Serious and Organised Crime unit, confirmed Wednesday that Constable Campbell, 28, was officially slapped last Friday with charges of murder and conspiracy to murder his wife. He said the conspiracy charge arose, as investigations indicated, so far, that the constable had colluded with person(s) to murder his wife.

"There are other persons, who, we believe, were involved in the murder," Green said.

"We are interviewing a number of persons, whom we believe can assist us in the matter and that is ongoing."

He added that the police were hopeful that charges would be proffered against other suspects. He emphasised, however, that he could not say definitively, at this stage, if they would be charged. Campbell is to face the court as soon as the Director of Public Prosecutions makes a ruling.

Brown-Campbell, 28, went missing in August last year. Following investigations, burnt human remains were found in Belmont, St James, a few days later, and forensic tests carried out in Jamaica and the United Kingdom confirmed they were Brown-Campbell's. The couple was married on July 25 last year.

Constable Campbell was also charged earlier with illegal possession of firearm and ammunition and shooting at a police party, after he was allegedly involved in a shoot-out with the police in Amity Hall, St James. He was later found in possession of his firearm and an illegal firearm.

He is also being investigated in relation to the murder of Waldane Scott, who was shot dead on January 14, 2007.

O.J get 9 yrs

December 5, 2008

LAS VEGAS A weary and beaten-looking O.J. Simpson was put away Friday for at least nine years and perhaps the rest of his life for an armed robbery in a hotel room, bringing a measure of satisfaction to those who believed the football star got away with murder more than a decade ago.

The 61-year-old Hall of Famer listened stone-faced, his wrists in shackles, as Judge Jackie Glass pronounced the sentence 33 years behind bars with eligibility for parole after less than a third of that.

Moments before, Simpson made a rambling, five-minute plea for leniency, simultaneously apologizing for the holdup as a foolish mistake and trying to justify his actions.

He choked back tears as he told her: "I didn't mean to steal anything from anybody ... I'm sorry. I'm sorry for all of it."

The judge said several times that her sentence in the Las Vegas case had nothing to do with Simpson's 1995 acquittal in the slaying of his ex-wife Nicole Brown Simpson and her friend Ronald Goldman.

"I'm not here to try and cause any retribution or any payback for anything else," Glass said.

But Goldman's father, Fred Goldman, and sister, Kim, said they were delighted with the sentence.

"We are thrilled, and it's a bittersweet moment," Fred Goldman said. "It was satisfying seeing him in shackles like he belongs."

Simpson said he and five other men were simply trying to retrieve sports memorabilia and other mementos when he stormed a Las Vegas hotel room occupied by two dealers on Sept. 13, 2007. He insisted the items, which included his first wife's wedding ring, had been stolen from him.

But the judge emphasized that it was a violent confrontation in which at least one gun was drawn, and she said someone could have been shot. She said the evidence was overwhelming, with the planning, the confrontation itself and the aftermath all recorded on audio or videotape.

Glass, a no-nonsense judge known for tough sentences, imposed such a complex series of consecutive and concurrent sentences that even many lawyers watching the case were confused as to how much time Simpson got.

Simpson could serve up to 33 years, according to Elana Roberto, the judge's clerk.

In state prison, he will remain in his own cell protected from the general prison population because of his celebrity.

Simpson's lawyer suggested again that his client was a victim of payback for his acquittal in Los Angeles.

"It really made us all aware that despite our best efforts, it's very difficult to separate the California case from the Nevada case," attorney Yale Galanter said.

Some people who followed the case said justice had finally caught up with Simpson.

"You do things and you've got to expect karma to come around," said Greg Wheatley, 32, of Los Angeles.

Simpson was led away to prison immediately after the judge refused to permit him to go free on bail while he appeals.

Simpson's co-defendant and former golfing buddy, Clarence "C.J. Stewart, was sentenced to up to 27 years in prison but would be eligible for parole after 7 1/2 years, court officials said.

The judge could have sent both men to prison for the rest of their lives. The state parole agency recommended at least 18 years. The defense pushed for the minimum six years.

District Attorney David Roger revealed that Simpson and Stewart had both been offered plea agreements during the trial that would have resulted in lesser sentences. He would not provide details.

The prosecutor also said that because the crimes were considered violent felonies, Simpson and Stewart will not be eligible for good-behavior credits to lessen their sentences. He did not expect them to be immediately released when they do seek parole.

The Goldmans took a share of the credit for Simpson's fate, saying their relentless pursuit of his assets to satisfy a $33.5 million wrongful-death judgment "pushed him over the edge" and led him to commit the robbery to recover some of his valuable sports memorabilia.

Nicole Brown Simpson's sister, Denise Brown, released a statement from her family referring to the date her sister and Ron Goldman were killed.

"Allowing wealth, power and control to consume himself, he made a horrific choice on June 12, 1994, which has spiraled into where he is today," the statement said.

Simpson and Stewart were both brought to the courtroom in dark blue jail uniforms, their hands chained to their waists. Simpson, who had not been expected to speak, delivered his statement to the judge in a hoarse voice before a hushed courtroom.

Both men were convicted Oct. 3 of 12 criminal charges, including kidnapping and armed robbery.

"We were preparing Mr. Simpson for the worst," Galanter said. "We felt we did really well. Obviously, he's upset about the possibility of doing nine years."

Galanter planned to file a notice of appeal later Friday. He believed the Goldman family's presence in the courtroom was inappropriate.

Most of the 63 seats in the courtroom were taken by media, lawyers and family members of the defendants. Fifteen members of the public were also allowed.

After sentencing was over, the Goldmans left the courtroom and Kim threw her arms around her father and wept.

Simpson's sisters declined to comment, but Shirley Baker said on her way out: "It's not over."

Jurors who heard 13 days of testimony said after the verdict that they were convinced of Simpson's guilt because of audio recordings that were secretly made of the robbery at the Palace Station casino hotel.

The confrontation involved sports memorabilia brokers Alfred Beardsley and Bruce Fromong. It was recorded by collectibles dealer Thomas Riccio, who was acting as middleman.

"Don't let nobody out of this room!" Simpson commands on the recordings, and he instructs other men to scoop up items.

On Tuesday, the judge is scheduled to sentence four former co-defendants who took plea deals and testified against Simpson and Stewart.

Former Wake Forest star and 12-year NBA veteran Rodney Rogers has been paralyzed from the shoulders down, according to his former coach.

Dave Odom, who coached Rogers in college, broke the news to the News & Observer in Raleigh, N.C.

Rogers was injured when he fell off the ATV he was riding in rural N.C. last week.

He was transferred Wednesday from Duke Hospital to Atlanta's Shepherd Center, which specializes in recovery from catastrophic injury.

Rogers was drafted ninth overall by the Nuggets in 1993, after a standout college career with the Demon Deacons.

He played for seven NBA teams before retiring in 2005.

More

More than 20 female passengers who arrived in Barbados on a flight from Jamaica on November 30 are now claiming that they were abused and 'touched' on their private parts by immigration officials.

They also say that after going through the abuse, they were sent back to Jamaica without any explanation.

Immigration requirements are that all persons who wish to enter Barbados are required to hold a valid passport and a valid return ticket. But, despite fulfilling these requirements, they were still denied entry.

One passenger, *Angella Bassy, said she was assaulted and disgraced by a policeman. "I felt so humiliated as we sat there for over three hours waiting on Immigration to address us. When the police approached us, one said to me, mi hear seh you have drugs inna your. I said to him 'excuse me? It's my husband who sent me on a vacation. I have no such thing on me'. He then said 'so how youso fat?"

Bassy said the policeman then walked off and a lady came and addressed the group saying they would not be permitted to enter the country and that they would have to board the next flight back to Jamaica in the morning.

Bona fide visitor

Halle Sprint*, another passenger told THE WEEKEND STAR that when she decided to visit Barbados for a month she did not know that she would be treated like an animal.

"The plane arrived in Barbados some minutes after 7 p.m. When we checked in, we were told that immigration needed to speak with us. One lady told me that I don't look like a bonafide visitor and as a matter of fact she sending us to detention," Sprint said.

She added that her nightmare started when she was locked up in a cell with three other women. "The cell had one little cot, some of us had to sleep on the floor and I was even denied a shower. That was devastating for me as I practice to bathe twice daily and my skin itched me for the entire night. Trust me, it was horrible and all now I don't know why I was treated that way," she said.

In the case of one of the other victims, Lacy, she claims that she was punched in her mouth because she was chewing a gum. "The officer asked me to stop chewing the gum and I didn't, as me look a him come over and give me one 'thump' inna mi mouth, mi shock," she said.

Like dogs

She said that she was also placed in a room for approximately three hours where an immigration officer questioned her. "... I must say that them treat we like dogs, I didn't even get anything to eat."

The women say that no one told them why this treatment was meted out to them and they were not charged for any crimes.

When THE WEEKEND STAR spoke to Herman Lamont, assistant director of the Diaspora and Consular Affairs Department at Jamaica's Ministry of Foreign Affairs, he said that he had no knowledge of this particular incident.

Lamont said that the passengers should however make a formal complaint to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the matter will be investigated. He added that some months ago one passenger had made a complaint that the Bajan immigration department treated him unfairly and that this particular matter is now being investigated.

Efforts to reach the Bajan immigration department proved futile as the numbers were unavailable.

*Names changed on request

Eminem Rushed To The Hospital

January 8, 2008
Started By ZJSnyper16 Comments

Click here to find out more!

Daily Hip-Hop News:

Eminem Rushed To The Hospital

written by Janelle Griffith

Tuesday - January 8, 2008
Eminem

Slim Shady may not be known as such for much longer. The rapper's weight is said to have surpassed 200 lbs. which may be the least of his health concerns.

According to TMZ, Eminem was rushed to a Detroit-area hospital over the holidays due to a serious heart condition and pneumonia.

This health scare comes just a month after Eminem's mom, Debbie Nelson, released a book where she claimed her son had lost control of his life.

As SOHH previously reported, Nelson recently released the tell-all-book, entitled My Son Marshall, My Son Eminem in the U.K. In it, she claimed Em has battled depression for quite some time. Nelson also alleged that her son's mood was at its worst following his 2006 break up with long-time girlfriend and mother of his only child, Kim.

Eminem's publicist told TMZ: "Over the holidays, Marshall Mathers, aka Eminem, was under doctor's care at a Detroit-area hospital for complications due to pneumonia. He has since been released and is doing well recovering at home."

http://www.lakendralewis.com/images/bag_of_diamonds_zpqn.bmp

PARIS (AFP) Armed robbers pulled off one of the world's biggest jewelery heists at a famed Paris store, making off with 80 million euros (102 million dollars) in diamonds and valuables, investigators said Friday.

A gang of four thieves -- two of them disguised as women -- on Thursday stole nearly all the jewels on display at the Harry Winston boutique just off the Champs-Elysees avenue, which attracts a wealthy international clientele.

The heist was well-planned, a source from the investigating team told AFP. The men knew the names of some of the shop's employees and the location of some hidden storage cases for jewellery.

The robbers managed to elude the high-security surveillance system and burst into the boutique at 5:30 pm (1630 GMT), at the height of the holiday shopping season.

Brandishing weapons, they threatened some of the dozen employees and customers and herded them into a corner, while some of the staff suffered blows, according to investigators.

The loot initially estimated at up 62 million euros was revised early Friday to 80 million euros, making it by far the biggest jewellery heist yet in France.

Police said they were dealing with "major pros" who had meticulously planned their crime and knew the boutique's lay-out well, suggesting it may have been an inside job.

The thieves, who apparently were French-speaking, stuffed brooches, rings, necklaces and other finery in bags and quickly left, without firing a shot. The whole operation lasted just 15 minutes.

No leads were ruled out including the possibility that the robbers may have connections in eastern Europe, where the loot could be sold, contrary to western Europe where such high-value stolen goods would be quickly detected.

Police described the eastern European market as a "new El Dorado for traffickers" trying to get rid of high-end stolen goods.

Investigators were Friday questioning customers, employees and pedestrians and studying surveillance camera tapes for clues, while Harry Winston's head branch in New York said it was working closely with the French authorities.

"We are cooperating with the authorities in their investigation. Our first concern is the well-being of our employees," the company said in a statement.

The Harry Winston store on Avenue Montaigne, which specializes in ultra-luxury jewellery, was hit by another heist in October last year when armed robbers stole an estimated 10 million euros worth of valuables.

An insurance company offered a 500,000-dollar reward for information leading to the thieves' arrest but they were never found.

The US jewelery chain has sold precious stones to royal families and lent them to film stars for events such as the Cannes film festival or the Oscars in Hollywood.

Riddim of the year

September 10, 2007
Started By skendon49 Comments
which three riddims wud u give for the top 3 riddims of the 1st - 3rd quarters of 2007?
name your favourite culture riddims  fire

Transit 2008

December 5, 2008
Started By pwacut2 Comments
transit

STARRIGHT_1_PXQTRIScreaAM.jpg
Shaggy - contributed

World famous reggae artiste Shaggy is to stage a concert early next year, to raise US$2 million to buy much needed equipment for the Bustamante Hospital for Children in St Andrew.

Shaggy told THE STAR he recently had a meeting with some corporate sponsors and it was decided that a concert would be held on the lawns of Jamaica House on January 3, 2009.

He said the idea came to him while visiting the hospital recently. While there, he said, a man came up to him and asked if he could visit his daughter, an eight-year-old girl who had a bullet in her head, in the intensive care unit. Shaggy said he was told that the life-support machine the girl was on, was one that he had bought.

Rotated off dialysis machines

Shaggy was also told that children with kidney ailments were being rotated off dialysis machines - that he also bought - every four hours and realised that more needed to be done for the hospital.

"I realised I had to do something else," he said. "I called some of the best corporate sponsors to a meeting in my living room and basically said we are going to throw this concert on the third (of January)," Shaggy said.

This drive, he said, would form part of his campaign this Christmas to raise money for the hospital and raise awareness of the problems that the hospital faces so that more people can come onboard. He said the US$2 million (approximately J$154 million) is what is needed to acquire the equipment.

Shaggy first became involved in charitable projects for the children's hospital several years ago when the son of noted producer, Tony Kelly, was admitted there. However, the hospital did not have the necessary equipment to help Kelly's son. It was then that he made the commitment to provide much needed help for the hospital. He also helps with other charities.

In light of the help needed to improve the conditions of institutions like the children's hospital, Shaggy said Jamaicans needed to start doing more to help each other. "It's time that we Jamaicans fix things for ourselves and stop sitting down and waiting for hand-outs," he said.

STARRIGHT_1_PHSDCShaggyAM.jpg
Shaggy during one of his visits to the Bustamante Hospital for Children.

Bar-Bee bounces back

December 4, 2008
Started By PRODIGIUM2 Comments

STARRIGHT_1_PLBCVBARBEEAM.jpg
Bar-Bee - ian allen

Statuesque singer Bar-Bee is back on the Jamaican musical scene with a new outlook on life and her career.

THE STAR sat down with an obviously more mature singer yesterday to speak with her about the accident that changed her life and her new musical ventures.

Having been in New York and other locations outside of Jamaica since March this year, the singer recently returned to the island to continue pursuing her career.

Bar-Bee's advent on the Jamaican music scene was surrounded by much controversy. She was frequently seen around town in the company of Beenie Man and was heavily touted as one of the reasons for the break-up of his marriage with D'Angel. Bar-Bee has, however, denied her involvement in the break-up.

Now, the starlet has kept her profile on the low. According to Bar-Bee, she and Beenie are still good friends, noting that he has been supportive of her career.

"I've been in the studio, sitting down and trying to figure out which direction I want to take my music, I want to focus on the musical side of things. I've tried to keep out of the mix-up and negativity that have surrounded my name. I want to be viewed as an artiste and not someone that is surrounded by gossip," Bar-Bee said.

Reassessed life goals

It was after a car crash in June this year when the singer was admitted to the intensive care unit at a New York hospital, that Bar-Bee reassessed her goals and life plan.

She admitted, "The accident made me realise, who's gonna be there for you? When the situation happened, my parents and my family were by my side. It made me realise a lot of different things in life - family and friends are really important. Hype isn't everything. Music is not a beauty pageant or a fashion show and it should be fun ... I feel like I'm 10 years older in one year. When I came into the business, I was really naive. I felt people were gonna be nice to me and that everything was really pretty," she said.

Time spent evaluating her life seems to have done the singer a world of good. A trimmer Bar-Bee has been globetrotting, performing at different events and doing charity work.

Since being in Jamaica, she has visited numerous schools including Charlemont High and St Mary Technical, to perform and motivate the students. According to Bar-Bee, the experience has been a fulfilling one and has shown her the importance of being a role model.

As for her music, the singer has recently completed her music video for her bittersweet reggae love song I Love You Anyway. The video was shot in Brooklyn and in Ocho Rios, Jamaica, and is directed by Jamaican Tarik Zawdie.

Bar-Bee is experimenting, mixing her different musical tastes with a little reggae, R&B and her African influences. She is currently working on completing her debut solo album on which she is working with persons such as Dean Fraser.

For the future, however, the singer hopes that persons will recognise her solo work rather than her collaborative efforts.

Kartel reveals life story(part 2)

November 29, 2008
Started By PRODIGIUM33 Comments

STARRIGHT_1_PKGGQmfestfAM.jpg

Part 2 of 5

Today we continue a five part interview with deejay Vybz Kartel conducted by reporter Krista Henry. Today, Kartel discusses his beginnings in Portmore, life at school and his initial meeting with then musical 'father' Bounty Killer.

"Becoming Vybz Kartel of di Portmore Empire yuh done know that's more of a family unit but at the same time a musical unit."

KH: How influential was Bounty to your career?

VK: "In my initial stages 'bout 90 per cent and den afta dat Vybz Kartel was always Vybz Kartel from day one. When I meet him as a young artiste is not like mi come wid nuting. I had tons of energy to offer, tons of lyrics, I had the energy and the resources I just needed the avenue, that was Bounty Killer."

KH: Why did you leave the Alliance?

(In 2006 Kartel left the Bounty Killer-led Alliance, in order to start a new journey. He subsequently changed his name to Addi Di Teacha, although most still refer to him as Vybz Kartel.)

VK: "You kno seh Vybz Kartel must become his own big man, just like wid life you grow up, you get a job and you move on, you don't stay in di house otherwise yuh a idler."

KH: Are you still friends with anyone from the Alliance?

VK: "Vybz Kartel nuh beg fren."

KH: Would you ever think about rejoining the Alliance?

VK: "Why would I want to go backwards in life? Mi grandmodda would say that's for cruffs."

KH: After leaving Alliance did persons say to you that you were ungrateful to Bounty Killer for leaving?

VK: "Inna di early stages dem would seh that. Dem couldn't seh it to my face cause that would be disrespectful."

KH: What did you say to the naysayers?

VK: "There's always two sides to a story."

KH: Would you ever consider clashing Bounty on stage?

VK: "Vybz Kartel fears no one."

KH: Do you think he could defeat you?

VK: "Vybz Kartel is undefeatable."

KH: So if you were at an event and saw Bounty would you greet him?

VK: "I only greet females."

KH: What do you think was the turning point in your career?

VK: "Becoming Vybz Kartel of di Portmore Empire yuh done know that's more of a family unit but at the same time a musical unit."

(Shortly after leaving the Alliance, Kartel formed his Portmore Empire in early 2007, with himself at the helm. The Empire consists of persons primarily hailing from Portmore who Kartel considers to be talented.)

KH: Lyrically is there anyone you consider to be as good as you?

VK: "Blak Ryno (laughs)."

(Kartel's latest prodigy)

KH: You are regarded as an excellent lyricist, do you think this is from street smarts or from school, or both?

VK: "From both. But mi pay more attention to school. A lot of people have lyrics and don't know how to express it cause they don't have the academic knowledge."

KH: Do you read a lot?

VK: "Every day, every second, every minute. Mi read everything and believe me, mi mean everything."

KH: What was the last book you read?

(Sounds of him going to get the book)

VK: "Boy mi not even done it yet, it's called Egyptian Philosopher, a one Rasta yute mi buy it from."

KH: Do you watch a lot of TV?

VK: "Not really yuh know. Mi more into di computer ting. Yuh can get a lot more information on the Internet."

KH: What inspires you?

VK: "People, life, events."

KH: Do you write your lyrics down or does it come from the top of your head?

VK: "Top of my head for the last two years, before dat mi used to write some stuff down but mi dash dat weh."

KH: Do you think the current crop of deejays has raised the standard, that they are on your level?

VK: "Well music is not always bout lyrics but mi nuh see no one raise di standard lyrically. Noboddy don't do it. Ryno here have him own style, otherwise all of dem use my style and don't pay mi homage. Dem use ego and hype, but when dem go to bed dem haffi seh a likkle prayer to di teacha."

KH: A lot of people think you're a lyrical genius but say your brain is wasted on gun and girl songs. Is this true?

VK: "Yuh haffi look on di track record. If it's working, would I change the formula?"

KH: Would you consider making a CD of conscious songs?

VK: "Yeah man, soon, as a matter of fact we have one wid Not Nice now called 'Pon Di Gaza', which is not released as yet."

In the next instalment Kartel talks about clashing with Ninja Man at Sting and the prospects of a Sting 2008 clash with his arch rival Mavado.

STARRIGHT_1_PXQTRIScreaAM.jpg
Shaggy - contributed

World famous reggae artiste Shaggy is to stage a concert early next year, to raise US$2 million to buy much needed equipment for the Bustamante Hospital for Children in St Andrew.

Shaggy told THE STAR he recently had a meeting with some corporate sponsors and it was decided that a concert would be held on the lawns of Jamaica House on January 3, 2009.

He said the idea came to him while visiting the hospital recently. While there, he said, a man came up to him and asked if he could visit his daughter, an eight-year-old girl who had a bullet in her head, in the intensive care unit. Shaggy said he was told that the life-support machine the girl was on, was one that he had bought.

Rotated off dialysis machines

Shaggy was also told that children with kidney ailments were being rotated off dialysis machines - that he also bought - every four hours and realised that more needed to be done for the hospital.

"I realised I had to do something else," he said. "I called some of the best corporate sponsors to a meeting in my living room and basically said we are going to throw this concert on the third (of January)," Shaggy said.

This drive, he said, would form part of his campaign this Christmas to raise money for the hospital and raise awareness of the problems that the hospital faces so that more people can come onboard. He said the US$2 million (approximately J$154 million) is what is needed to acquire the equipment.

Shaggy first became involved in charitable projects for the children's hospital several years ago when the son of noted producer, Tony Kelly, was admitted there. However, the hospital did not have the necessary equipment to help Kelly's son. It was then that he made the commitment to provide much needed help for the hospital. He also helps with other charities.

In light of the help needed to improve the conditions of institutions like the children's hospital, Shaggy said Jamaicans needed to start doing more to help each other. "It's time that we Jamaicans fix things for ourselves and stop sitting down and waiting for hand-outs," he said.

STARRIGHT_1_PHSDCShaggyAM.jpg cp
Shaggy during one of his visits to the Bustamante Hospital for Children.

Deejay Wayne Makes Furious Return "No other disc jockey could fill his space" By Krazy Katty OutAroad.com Writer deejay-animation.gif Ire Fm's hot spanking disc jock DJ Wayne, returned from a six-week suspension last weekend with a bang. The disc jock came firing as he lyrically threw words at DJ Smurf, who played in his slot during his suspension from the airwaves. The move to attack fellow radio mate, DJ Smurf, has left many industry professionals shocked. It was all too obvious as to whom his dub selections were aimed. DJ Wayne played a dub by Assassin, which got straight to the point; A coulda wha do dem guy deh, how dem a juggle like dem waan come tek yuh Friday This was followed by a Munga Honourable a.k.a. the Gangsta Ras dub plate that also took aim at DJ Smurf, with Munga chanting; Deejay Wayne come to take his place no other disc jock could fill that space... DJ Wayne was slapped with six weeks suspension after playing an unedited version of Mavados Money Changer, which contains several expletives. During his absence, DJ Smurf was summoned by company representatives to fill DJ Wayne now voided slots. When OutAroad.com got in touch with DJ Smurf, he declined to give a comment on the matter. Several attempts by OutAroad.com to get a comment from DJ Wayne proved unsuccessful.
sobbingangry nobdEWD

Chicago Police have arrested William Balfour, the estranged brother-in-law of R&B Singer and actress Jennifer Hudson. He will be charged with three counts for the October slayings of Hudsons mother, brother and young nephew, authorities said today. He was released to Chicago detectives, Chicago Police Department spokeswoman Monique Bond said. Balfour, 27, who was married to Hudsons sister Julia, was a person of interest after the slayings and was detained and questioned by police but not charged. Balfour, who was also imprisoned for violating his parole on a previous attempted murder conviction, and was scheduled to have a hearing on Wednesday. Police did not reveal the evidence that led to Balfours arrest but he is now faces charges for the slaying that tore the Oscar winners family apart and grabbed the attention of the nation in late October. Balfour will be charged for the shooting deaths of Hudsons mother, Darnell Donerson, 57, brother, Jason Hudson, 29, and 7-year-old nephew, Julian King. Donerson and Jason Hudson were found shot to death on October 24 in Donersons home on the South Side of Chicago. Four days later, Hudsons young nephews body was found in a stolen sport utility vehicle parked on the abandoned on the West Side of the Windy City. A gun reportedly used in the slayings was found close to the SUV.

Teflon Says "Jail House Rock"

October 18, 2008
Started By Spade4 Comments
Teflon.jpg(Kingston, Jamaica)

Dont get it twisted but it seems for most artists a visit to the penitentiary or jail house always calm the meds and allows them to come back with some strong musical content. Teflon who recently had his woos with the law is now on bail and out the studio is his new song "Jail House Rock".  

The song which has a catchy groovy vibes sees Teflon putting his best foot forward speaking of his life behind iron bars. among other things the deejays slews lines of "It nuh pretty behind bars". Not afraid to tell the full story Teflon dives into the experiences of not being able to enjoy his freedom.

"three day mi nuh eat, all mi belly empty, mi so called friends dem neva help me, mi remember all di days the sun a pelt me, times when money inna me wallet but now it empty".

Other deejays like Aidonia have displayed similar characteristics in songs recorded after being release from incarceration. Donia recorded "Jail Story" shortly after being released from jail and the song was deemed one of his most profound songs while Vybz Kartel who recently was release from jail has a similar success with his prison single.

CHECK OUT TEFLON - JAIL HOUSE ROCK
http://www.sendspace.com/file/8wsjg8

MYSPACE is for Cretins

December 2, 2008
Started By GA10 Comments
Michael Wolff, whose new, lascivious Rupert Murdoch bio The Man Who Owns The News has taken the New York media industry by storm, stirred up some social-networking class warfare in an interview Monday with BusinessWeek's Jon Fine.

"If you're on MySpace now, you're a (expletive) cretin. And you're not only a (expletive) cretin, but you're poor," said Wolff, whose previous book Burn Rate chronicled dot-com excess in the late '90s and who openly attests to hating the word "blog."

"Nobody who has beyond an eighth grade level of education is on MySpace. It is for backwards people," added Wolff, who is also the founder of Newser.

Read more

Acclaimed musical director Nordia Rose will reunite with deejay Vybz Kartel to shoot his Ramping Shop c****ination single with Spice, a song which has created a firestorm of controversy, and dominated headlines in entertainment since its release a week ago.

This is gonna be one of the classics, both the song and the video judging from all the indications so far. Dancehall is lacking in good production and promotion where singles are concerned. All avenues will be exhausted to ensure Ramping Shop becomes the mega hit that it is destined to be, Vybz Kartel told one876entertainment.

The video will begin shooting tomorrow in the Corporate Area.

Vybz Kartel has already scored three number ones this year and his Million By a Morning, produced by Don Corleone, is presently at #14 on the Jamaica Music Countdown charts and peaked at #11 on the RE TV dancehall charts. Another single, Life Sweet, is at #19 on the RE TV dancehall charts as well. He is the frontrunner for this years Deejay of the Year title.

Kartel's controversial song, A Wah Do Dem, is also a favourite in the dancehalls all around Jamaica.

art_3436_1.jpg Pop sensation Michael Jackson has OFFICIALLY changed his name and religion. He's reportedly now a Muslim and his new name is Mikaeel.

Jackson, 50, donned Islamic garb to pledge allegiance to the Koran in a ceremony at a friends mansion in Los Angeles.

He sat on the floor wearing a tiny hat after an Imam was summoned to officiate days before the singer is due to appear at Londons High Court where he is being sued by an Arab sheik.

Jackson was brought up in Jehovahs Witness but decided to convert as he used a studio at the home of his chum to record a new album.

A source revealed that: They began talking to him about their beliefs, and how they thought they had become better people after they converted. Michael soon began warming to the idea.

An Imam was summoned from the mosque and Michael went through the shahada, which is the Muslim declaration of belief. Mikaeel is the name of one of Allahs angels.
Jacko rejected an alternative name, Mustafa meaning the chosen one.

Farmer Killed In Motorcycle Crash

December 4, 2008
Started By Dj Quami8 Comments
Yet another resident of St Elizabeth was killed over the weekend in an accident in the parish.
A motorcycle crash claimed the life of Ewan Grant of Myersville Housing Scheme, a 24-year-old farmer, on Sunday.

Failed to negotiate a corner

According to police reports about 6:10 p.m., Grant was driving a red motorcycle along the Myersville main road when he failed to negotiate a corner, lost control of the vehicle and fell. He received multiple injuries and was taken to the Mandeville Hospital where he was pronounced dead. The Santa Cruz Traffic Department is investigating.

Last Saturday night, a 23-year-old man was killed and a 12-year-old boy was injured in a car crash on the Lacovia main road in St Elizabeth. Dane Bennett was killed while his brother Kemar Dennis was taken to hospital with serious injuries.

Police reports are that about 7:30 p.m., a red Toyota truck travelling along the Lacovia main road collided with a red Suzuki Swift car going in the opposite direction. The occupants of the Swift also sustained multiple injuries and were taken to the Black River Hospital where Bennett was pronounced dead and his brother admitted in serious condition.

STARLEFT_1_P5EQJYLTeaseAM.jpg
Elephant MAN ... To have a Grammy unda my belt would be the best. - File

When the 51st reggae Grammy nominations were announced on Wednesday, for dancehall's 'Energy God' Elephant Man, it was a night that acknowledged his many years of hard work in the business.

The deejay is the only dancehall artiste in the category and is receiving his first Grammy nod for the album Let's Get Physical. The other nominations include Burning Spear with Jah Is Real, American rapper-turned-reggae artiste Heavy D for Vibes, Lee 'Scratch' Perry for Repentance, Shaggy for Intoxication and Sly & Robbie for Amazing. With the exception of Heavy D, Elephant Man is the only other artiste in the category who hasn't already won a Grammy.

While the other Grammy nominees might find next year's ceremony another walk in the park, for Ele, winning a Grammy would be the crowning glory of his musical career.

Given that there is never a dull moment in his life, it was in the midst of a party that Ele learnt of his nomination.

He said, "I was at Cuddy'z wid my girlfriend and her friends. It was ma girl's birthday and we were all celebrating when a bredrin called me and told me I was nominated. I was excited, same time mi buy a bottle of champagne and make a toast to the Grammys. We just a party and enjoy wi self. It's good to know mi hard work pay off. It pay off to stay focus, do positive good music."

Ringing off the hook

Since hearing the announcement, the artiste's phone has been ringing off the hook with persons calling to congratulate him. Ele says even Diddy, who distributed the album through his Bad Boy label, called to give him his best wishes.

Let's Get Physical is Ele's first album to be released on the Bad Boy label owned by Diddy. While some naysayers might believe it was the push of Diddy's influence that propelled Let's Get Physical to 'Grammy-dom', Ele disagrees, explaining that in the past other artistes have had major labels behind them without being nominated.

Ele is optimistic that his album, which was his first album to ever debut at number one on the Billboard Reggae Top 10 charts, has a good shot at winning the Grammy. Even though the artiste has a number of achievements under his belt, for Ele, winning the Grammy would be on the top of the list.

Grammy unda my belt

He said, "It would mean a lot caw if you ask anyone mi always a bring the energy, a jump and entertain di people. It would be di biggest achievement. Music carry me overseas and let me see di world. To have a Grammy unda my belt would be the best. No one can seh mi don't deserve it. Caw even when mi tek weh miself or mi deh bout, mi always have good music."

Beneath the surface of his brightly coloured hair, outrageous clothes, bling and hilarious lyrics, Elephant Man has been one of the most consistent and positive deejays in the business. While some have taken the watered-down route to success internationally or the extensively violent one for street credibility locally, Elephant Man has maintained his playful side with songs for the ladies and signature dancing tunes that have hit in both markets.

Versatility of his music

According to Ele, his major contribution in the business has been the versatility of his music to move any type of crowd. "I record songs where kids and everyone can relate to. It's positive. I can perform for parents, I can perform at charity shows, I can perform anywhere and send a message," Ele told THE STAR.

Regardless of a win, Elephant Man plans to continue working hard. For the Christmas season, Ele is releasing a new dancing Christmas carol for TJ Records, titled Christmas Swagger. He is also voicing for Stephen McGregor, Firelinks and a slew of other popular producers.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/ewdhdjid4dj/ciara_nude_nake_artiste_singer.jpg R&B singer Ciara posed nude on Vibe Magazine cover to dismissed rumors of her being a man. The 22-year-old singer told Vibe Magazine that, I was meticulous about the things I would share, but people are gonna say what they wanna say they said I was a man! It doesnt get any worse than that. But it seems as if Ciara is on naked spree as she recently posed butt naked on her latest CD cover. Industry insiders are saying that the singer is over doing it, while others are saying it might help boost sales
OK now this whole 50 cent - Papoose - Fat Joe drama is getting out of hand. It is reported  that Fat Joe is looking to confront 50 Cent - at Wrestlemania.

Word going around town is that Fat Joe and a group of his pals are going to buy front row tickets to wrestling's top show and chastise 50 as he stands ringside during Floyd Mayweather Jr's match with The Big Show.
  1. Clay Aiken - Clayton Holmes Grissom
  2. Akon - Aliuane Badara Thiam
  3. Tori Amos - Myra Ellen Amos
  4. Trey Anastasio - Ernest Joseph Anastasio III
  5. Adam Ant - Stuart Leslie Goddard
  6. Marc Anthony- Marco Antonio Muniz
  7. Frankie Avalon - Francis Avallone
  8. Baby Face - Kenneth Edmonds
  9. Erykah Badu - Erica Wright
  10. Ginger Baker - Peter Edward Baker
  11. Syd Barrett - Roger Keith Barrett
  12. Ol Dirty Bastard - Russell Tyrell Jones
  13. Pat Benatar - Patricia Andrejewski
  14. Tony Bennett - Anthony Dominick Benedetto
  15. Dickey Betts - Forrest Richard Betts
  16. Jello Biafra - Eric Reed Boucher
  17. Bo Bice - Harold Elwin Bice
  18. Marc Bolan - Mark Feld
  19. Michael Boltin - Michael Bolotin
  20. Jon Bon Jovi - John Francis BonGiovi
  21. Bono - Paul David Hewson
  22. Sonny Bono - Salvatore Bono
  23. David Bowie - David Jones
  24. Jackson Browne - Clyde Jackson Browne
  25. J.J. Cale - John W. Cale
  26. Irene Cara - Irene Escelera
  27. Eric Carr - Paul Charles Carravello
  28. 50 Cent - Curtis Jackson
  29. Ray Charles - Ray Charles Robinson
  30. Cher - Cherilyn LaPierre
  31. Charlotte Church - Charlotte Reed
  32. Gene Clark - Harold Eugene Clark
  33. Patsy Cline - Virginia Patterson Hensley
  34. Ry Cooder - Ryland Cooder
  35. Alice Cooper - Vincent Furnier
  36. Elvis Costello - Declan MacManus
  37. Peter Criss - George Peter Criscuola
  38. Ice Cube - Oshea Jackson
  39. Bobby Dall - Robert Harry Kuykendall
  40. Bobby Darin - Walden Waldo Robert Cassotto
  41. Dimebag Darrell - Darrell Abbott
  42. Mac Davis - Morris Davis
  43. Taylor Dayne - Leslie Wonderman
  44. Mos Def - Dante Terrell Smith
  45. John Denver - John Deutschendorf
  46. Rick Derringer - Rick Zeringer
  47. Buck Dharma - Donald Roeser
  48. Snoop Dogg - Calvin Broadus
  49. Thomas Dolby - Thomas Robertson
  50. Mickey Dolenz - George Michael Braddock
  51. Dr. Dre - Andre Young
  52. Bob Dylan - Robert Zimmerman
  53. Sheena Easton - Sheena Orr
  54. Falco - Johann Holzel
  55. Fergie - Stacy Anne Ferguson
  56. Flavor Flav - William Drayton
  57. Flea - Michael Peter Balzary
  58. Ace Frehley - Paul Daniel Frehley
  59. Kenny G - Kenneth Gorelick
  60. Crystal Gayle - Brenda Gail Webb
  61. Boy George - George ODowd
  62. Gary Glitter - Paul Gadd
  63. Macy Gray - Natalie McIntyre
  64. MC Hammer - Stanley Burrell
  65. Faith Hill - Audrey Faith Perry
  66. Billie Holiday - Eleanora Gough
  67. Buddy Holly - Charles Holley
  68. Englebert Humperdinck - Arnold Dorsey
  69. Janis Ian - Janis Eddy Fink
  70. Vanilla Ice - Robert Van Winkle
  71. Billy Idol - William Broad
  72. Tito Jackson - Toriano Jackson
  73. Rick James - James Johnson
  74. D.J.Jazzy Jeff - Jeff Townes
  75. Joan Jett - Joan Larkin
  76. Grace Jones - Grace Mendoza
  77. Tom Jones - Thomas Woodward
  78. Elton John - Reginald Dwight
  79. Wynonna Judd - Christina Ciminella
  80. Juvenile - Terious Grey
  81. R.Kelly - Robert Kelly
  82. Alicia Keys - Alicia Cook
  83. Chaka Kahn - Yvette Marie Stevens
  84. Lil Kim - Kimberly Jones
  85. B.B, King - Riley B. King
  86. Uncle Kracker - Matthew Schafer
  87. L.L. Cool J - James Tood Smith
  88. Patti LaBelle - Patricia Holt
  89. k.d.lang - Katherine Dawn Lang
  90. Queen Latifah Dana Owens
  91. Mario Lanza - Alfred Cocazza
  92. Geddy Lee - Gary Weinraub
  93. Julian Lennon - John Charles Julian Lennon
  94. Huey Lewis - Hugh Craig
  95. Liberace - Wladziu Valentino
  96. Ludacris - Christopher Bridges
  97. Mama Cass - Ellen Cohen
  98. Barry Manilow - Barry Pincus
  99. Yngwie Malmsteem - Lars Lannerback
  100. Manfred Mann - Manfred Lubowitz
  101. Marilyn Manson - Bruce Warner
  102. Mick Mars - Robert Deal
  103. Dean Martin - Dino Crocetti
  104. Ricky Martin - Enrique Jose Martin Morales
  105. Paul McCartney - James Paul McCartney
  106. Meat Loaf - Marvin Lee Aday
  107. Freddie Mercury - Farrokh Bulsara
  108. George Michael - Yorgos Panayiotou
  109. Joni Mitchell - Roberta Anderson
  110. Miley Cyrus/Hannah Montana - Destiny Hope Cyrus
  111. Moby - Richard Melville Hall
  112. Van Morrison - George Morrison
  113. Nas- Nasir Jones
  114. Rick Nelson - Eric Nelson
  115. Nelly - Carnell Haynes
  116. Vince Neil - Vince Neil Wharton
  117. Juice Newton - Judy Newton
  118. Nortorious B.I.G. - Christopher Wallace
  119. Ric Ocasek - Richard Otcasek
  120. Billy Ocean - Leslie Sebastian Charles
  121. Tony Orland - Michael Anthony Orlando Cassivitis
  122. Ozzy Osborne - John Michael Osborne
  123. Robert Palmer - Alan Robert Palmer
  124. Gram Parsons - Cecil Ingram Connor
  125. Pink - Alecia Moore
  126. Iggy Pop - James Osterberg
  127. Puffy/Puff Daddy/Diddy/P.Diddy - Sean C****s
  128. C.J. Ramone - Chris Ward
  129. Dee Dee Ramone - Douglas Colvin
  130. Joey Ramone - Jeffrey Hyman
  131. Johnny Ramone - John Cummings
  132. Marky Ramone - Mark Bell
  133. Richie Ramone - Richie Reinhart
  134. Tommy Ramone - Tom Erderlyi
  135. Lou Reed - Louis Firbank
  136. Busta Rhymes - Trevor Smith
  137. Nick Rhodes - Nicholas Bates
  138. Smokey Robinson - William Robinson
  139. Henry Rollins - Henry Garfield
  140. Axl Rose - William Bailey
  141. Johnny Rotten - John Lydon
  142. Ja Rule - Jeffrey Atkins
  143. Mitch Ryder - William Levise
  144. Sade - Helen Adu
  145. Boz Scaggs - William Scaggs
  146. Bon Scott - William Scott
  147. Seal - Henry Samuel
  148. Gene Simmons - Chaim Witz
  149. Sir Mix-A-Lot Anthony Ray
  150. Nikki Sixx - Franklin Ferrana
  151. Slash - Saul Hudson
  152. Grace Slick - Grace Wing
  153. Fatboy Slim - Quentin Cook
  154. Paul Stanley - Stanley Eisen
  155. Ringo Starr - Richard Starkey
  156. Cat Stevens - Steven Georgiou changed name to Yusef Islam
  157. Sting - Gordon Sumner
  158. Michael Stipe - John Michael Stipe
  159. Joss Stone - Jocelyn Eve Stocker
  160. Joe Strummer - John Mellor
  161. Donna Summer - LaDonna Gaines
  162. Ice T - Tracey Marrow
  163. Timbaland - Timothy Mosely
  164. Peter Tosh - Winston Macintosh
  165. Tina Turner - Anna Mae Bullock
  166. Shania Twain - Eileen Edwards
  167. Conway Twitty - Harold Jenkins
  168. Steven Tyler - Steven Tallarico
  169. Dionne Warwick - Marie Warwick
  170. Roger Waters - George WAters
  171. Fee Waybill - John Waldo
  172. Bob Weir - Robert Hall
  173. Leslie West - Leslie Westein
  174. Jack White - John Gillis
  175. Hank Williams - Hiram Williams
  176. Paul Williams - Billy Paul
  177. Peter Wolf - Peter Blankfield
  178. Stevie Wonder - Steveland Morris
  179. Zakk Wylde - Jeffrey Wieldlandt
  180. Bill Wyman - William Perks
  181. Xzibit - Alvin Joiner
  182. Rob Z****ie - Robert Cummings

Konshens DROPPED!!!!!

December 4, 2008
Started By serjizzle23 Comments

Konshens DROPPED!!!!!

Konshens

Only one day before the first anniversary of being in the dancehall industry, Natural Bridge Records CEO Mark Pinnock has decided to drop Konshens from the label.It's also been said that Konshens may be opting to quit the music industry as well!!

"Tomorrow would be the one year anniversary of a five year contract that I signed with Konshens, At the time the contract was signed, I had something to prove, because the artiste I had before lacked vision and the drive to move forward. I got him out there in only eight months, but now, Konshens is showing that he's self-centred, egotistical and full of himself and he still has no clue of the business," the chief executive officer Mark Pinnock said.

"Konshens has no conscience. The artiste is a major disappointment. I am part of a dying breed, people like Skatta and Wayne Wright who are willing to spend time and money to develop an artiste and send them on the road. This is the last artiste that I am going down this road with."

"I don't want to be a part of this anymore, if it is not moving, not going anywhere, I cannot be a a part of a 'dumbed down' industry that has no backbone...it is all a facade, it took US$15,000 to break Winner and I only made US$4,500, I call that a dumb down, it is not practical. We are no longer producers, just promoters."

Best New Dancehall Artist

October 21, 2008
Started By Dw DesignZ45 Comments
List of the new danchall artist inna di business. sorry if mi couldn't cover some off your opinions but if i didn't, tell me so i can put together a better one
STARLEFT_1_PTM7HBIGSIP2AM.jpg
Producer Stephen Mcgregor at home in Big Ship studios - Krista Henry

The STAR sat down with Stephen McGregor, the 18-year-old son of veteran singer Freddie McGregor. Stephen is hailed as a musical genius, and is widely sought to produce rhythms for some of the hottest local and international acts.

These are his responses to some questions about his life and music.

STAR: Seeing that you are already making money is school important?

Stephen: "Yeah it is, but it's just the time factor and my working schedule why I haven't gone to university. That was the intention, in high school. I wanted to do marketing but in the latter part of high school I did the music thing seriously and it took off."

STAR: As a young person who grew up in the business producing violent songs, how has this affected you and are your parents concerned?

Stephen: "It doesn't affect me or my parents. We on the inside understand that its just a lyrical ting, a oral description of their past and them singing about it. People would be surprised to know that people like Bounty and Kartel they are not like violent, they like to chill and have fun."

STAR: What are your thoughts on the state of the music?

Stephen: "I mean its getting on a more international level, bigger and bigger. The artistes have to keep the music to the standard of people like Bob Marley, Shaggy, Sean Paul, who steer it in that direction and look at how they deal with the business."

STAR: If you could change anything about Jamaica, what would that be and why?

Stephen: "I've never thought about it. Apart from the obvious like violence, Jamaica is a unique place and I wouldn't change us. The stuff that happens here makes us unique."

STAR: With all the time dedicated to music, do you think you're denying yourself some of the pleasures of youth?

Stephen: "For me, my type of personality is not the going out sort. From I was like five I've loved being in the studio learning new stuff, that is me. That's what I love so I don't think I'm denying myself anything."

STAR: With artistes banging down your door, how do you deal with it? Do you work with all of them?

Stephen: "I try to work with as much people as I can, its different with a lot of people. Jamaica has a lot of talent, a lot of artistes. Sometimes we know some people are talented and keep them in mind for future projects. I try my best to work with new artistes, my riddims usually have one or two unknown persons."

STAR: Do you think your genius will run out?

Stephen: "I don't think so cause is not something I try to do or think hard on. I go to the studio and be me and it comes out."

STAR : Any international artistes have contacted you to work with them?

Stephen: "Yeah mainly companies, I'm now making negotiations. Recently I did three tracks for Matisyahu, I did most of the work on Sean Paul's new album."

STAR: Is there any song or rhythm produced by an international or local act that you've heard and wished you had produced?

Stephen: "Probably a Timbaland beat or one of those songs."

STAR: With you putting out most of the rhythms and songs out there, do you think you are monopolising the business and that there isn't enough variety?

Stephen: "Yeah I think there is enough variety. It kinda help the business, cause when one man put out a 90s vibe song then everyone start do it. I help to set the pace for other producers."

Wildest Sex Place?

April 16, 2008
Started By SHERRY39 Comments
Whats the wildest/ weirdest place you ever had sex? ride for me it was a lifeguard tower

STAR SUSS.....12-05-08

December 5, 2008
Started By ***DK***2 Comments
STAR SUSS

What a gwaan massive? Oonu good? Mi say all now mi still a celebrate mi birthday from lass week Friday! An fi go Lucea lass week, mi go do mi hair and cut off everything like di old Toni Braxton hairstyle. Mi hot yuh backfoot!

Lucea and Club 300 massive, oonu sell right aaff! See oonu again at Club 300 on Friday December 19, fi wi end of year "All Star" party wha name "Frost Bite". This week mi a announce three set ah people who confirm already: One Third, Senita from Magnum Kings and Queens, and D.A.J. Nex week oonu know di ress! Alright suss time. Link mi pon hotgalcherry@hotmail.com.

ENDORSING THE WHISPER 2000

Lookyah Nikki Z, mi love yuh; yuh ah mi fren an everyting, but wha di backfoot really happen yesterday morning (again)? So soon woman? Aftah mi lobby and lobby and cuss fi dem put yuh back cause mi feel like yuh did gone fi too long; loeth and beholdeth as Blak Ryno wudda say: "seeeet deh!" Yuh ah stress mi out man! Mi haffi a siddung pon di edge a mi bed a pray say nuttin nuh go wrong when yuh deh pon air.

Yuh nuh go tru di sinting dem ah yuh yard when yuh ah prepare di mix dem? If yuh dare tell mi "yes" mi haffi go buy and ship one Whisper 2000 hearing aid to yuh immediamente! Lookyah man, nuh feel no way cause ah di same ting mi wudda do wid Kaboom, Mucho Mucho, Witch, TAE or Ragashanti. Mi cyan tek di stress.

ADDI, ADDI, ADDI

Yes mi haffi call yuh name three time cause ah three time di c**k crow innah di Bible before Peter deny Jesus. Mi say yuh grieve mi spirit when me read yuh comment dem bout Jesus and God. Ah fi yuh bizniz wha yuh waah do wid Jesus and if yuh believe say yuh a devil, but nuh drag di whole human race inna yuh war wid Jesus wha yuh a try justify bout Jesus inna "WE" mind and ah "WE" create Him. Not a bit ah dat! Change yuh speech: it inna fi YUH mind. Mi might rail to one an two ah yuh song dem. But yuh cross di bordah line mah brotha. You march gwaan armed wid yuh tattoo dem inna warfare wid principalities and powers, but nuh come pluralise nuttin like WE and YOU hol' no conversation bout dat an yuh a issue press release on behalf a di nation.

Wha you waah do inna your ting ah juss dat - YOUR ting; but nuh when yuh inna one influential position whe di young yute dem a gih yuh a listening ear. Tek heed Addi.

ANDREA AND OBAMA

Massive, mi a tell yuh say Jamaicans deh everywhe! An oonu know from when mi fi show oonu di pic? See it yah: is a past student of Glenmuir High School by the name of Andrea Oliver and USA president-elect, Barack Obama, during him campaigning when dem tek a break fi some pictures. Oonu did know say quite a few Jamaican deh pon him campaigning team? Truss mi, we sell off: we are a nation of great people! Nuttin cyan stop wi if wi have a goal! Mike Bolan bless up for sending your past classmate, Andrea's pic!

MI WAAH FI KNOW:

Wha Baby Tash mean say dem nevah tell her bout dis year's Kings and Queens launch and dat's why she did absent?

Is it di whole Empire whe nuh believe inna God or a juss Addi? A wonda if dem believe say him a di devil too?

Massive, tek care! Latah!

Is Mariah Carey Pregnant?

December 4, 2008
Started By Dj Quami3 Comments
Ellen DeGeneres put Mariah Carey on the spot today regarding rumors that the songstress is expecting her first child with hubby Nick Cannon. When Mariah insisted that's not the case, Ellen pretended to let her off the hook, but then handed the Grammy winner a glass of champagne and suggested that they toast to her ... not being pregnant. Um, awkward!

The flustered singer hesitated, noting that bubbly is fattening. "This is peer pressure!" she exclaimed. As Carey pretended to sip her drink, Ellen declared, "You're pregnant."

"No, no, no," said Mariah. "We will let you know when we're going to have a family."

Then why refuse a drinky drink? "It's too early for me. I only drink after 3 p.m.!"

I love Ellen, and Mariah has opened up to her in the past, even saying that both she and Nick do want kids, but c'mon. I don't think anyone should be forced to announce their pregnancy before their ready. Of course, I still can't resist asking the question: do you think Mariah is preggers?

Scuba diver instructor killed in front of children

Noel Thompson, Star Writer

WESTERN BUREAU

At press time last evening, the distraught family was still wrestling with the reality that one member's life was snuffed out by gunmen.

Investigators, on the other hand, were still in limbo as to the motive behind the brutal slaying of Richard Farrier, 36, a scuba diver instructor from Orange Bay Road in Logwood district, Hanover.

The father of five was at home with four of his children and his common-law wife when gunmen forced their way into his unfinished three-bedroom concrete dwelling, as they slept at 1:30 a.m. yesterday. They were awaken by the gunmen, three of whom were armed with guns.

Demanded money

The men demanded money, but Farrier told them he had none. His youngest child - nine months old and the eldest, 10, were awaken during the ordeal and reportedly watched as the marauders pumped five bullets into his body - two to the head, two to the back and one to his neck. The men escaped taking a Nokia cellular phone.

"I have no idea why they wanted to kill him," said a relative.

Police were still treating as speculation, reports that Farrier may have discovered something of value at sea, which his killers believed he had in his possession. "We have heard it, but there is nothing to substantiate that," an officer told The Star.

"If him did have money him would a finish him house fi him family long time," remarked a family member, a point stoutly supported by neighbours. Farrier had been struggling to complete his house since 2004.

Baby is born pregnant

November 28, 2008
Started By CArlmak45 Comments
A baby has had a bit of an irregular start to life - she's been born pregnant. Doctors in Saudi Arabia discovered that when the mother was pregnant she had two foetuses inside her. But one of the foetuses grew inside the other to create what has been described as a 'unique case in the world'.
Prisoners at the privately-run HMP Addiewell in West Lothian will also be able to check dinner menus and order their meals in advance. The first 30 prisoners - who volunteered to be housed there - will arrive next week. Politicians have raised concerns over the level of comfort at the jail, but the new governor defended the modern facilities. While many prisoners in Scotland still suffer Victorian conditions, the inmates at Addiewell will enjoy facilities including a Microsoft computer room, a library and a gym hall and fitness suite. The 12 wings also have "electronic kiosks" so that prisoners can check menus and order meals, check how much money they have in their accounts, top-up phone accounts and order goods from the canteen. Audrey Park, the prison director (governor), said that only flatscreen televisions were available to purchase, they were "only 15in" and they came with Freeview built in. She added: "You can't not have it. I would describe the cells as decent cells for a 21st-century Scotland where prisoners have the ability to shower in their cell. "At the end of the day, any prison cell is a concrete box which we shut at night. The punishment is losing one's liberty. "I'm always hoping for innovation and prepared to try things without getting lambasted by the media." But Bill Aitken, the Scottish Tory justice spokesman, questioned whether the conditions would provide a real deterrent. He said: "I do not wish prisoners to live in Dickensian squalor, but there does come a time when the level of comfort does not provide any real deterrent to offending. "By the sounds of Addiewell, we have reached that stage there. "There are many people who might think that in these times of financial hardship, prisoners are getting a chance to live in conditions not available to the poorer, law-abiding sections of our society."

Boy Hires Hitman To Kill Parents That Took Away His PlayStation. November 13, 2007

Next time your moody teenager is acting up, dont take away his console whatever you do.

hitman.jpg

A 16-old boy in the US was arrested recently after hiring a hitman to kill his parents after they confiscated his Playstation and stopped him watching the telly. Luckily, Mom smelled a rat and set up a sting of her own, getting a cop to go undercover as the hitman.

The kid, Cory Ryder from Maryland, allegedly told the fake hitman: Two bullets is all it takes. He was planning to pay for the hit by offering the killer his Dads new pick-up truck but now hes up for charges of attempted murder.

But did he get his PlayStation back?

SPRINGFIELD, Ohio -- A Tri-State woman is in critical condition Wednesday after police say her husband shot her while they were having sex.
Timothy Havens, 38, told Springfield police he was reaching for something on the nightstand when the pistol went off, hitting his estranged wife Carolyn in the upper chest.

Carolyn Havens, 42, is being treated at Miami Valley Hospital in Dayton.

This is isn't the first time there's been trouble for the Havens. Court documents showed Timothy served 60 days in jail for assaulting his wife and was ordered to go to anger management classes.

His arrest Tuesday for the weekend shooting was for violating a civil protection order that Carolyn had taken out against him earlier this year.

Bond was set at $75,000 after prosecutors asked for a high bond, "due to alleged prohibited contact between the parties (and) the suspicious nature of the circumstances surrounding (her injury)."

Listen to 911 call here
arconstructural.jpg
Left to fend for himself after budget cuts, His tests cost over $500 a year to print, but this year he only got $316, one calculus teacher resorted to selling ads on quizzes and tests to cover his printing costs. $10 for quizzes, $20 for tests, and $30 for a final.

After a local newspaper featured his story, the offers rolled in and he sold out his semester. Most of the ads are positive messages bought by parents, while others are from local businesses.

While the story is cool, it does raise the concern that other schools and teachers might get inspired and start renting out space to more sophisticated clients, like McDonald's or Coke.

"The advertisers are paying for something, and it's access to kids," said Robert Weissman, managing director of Commercial Alert, a non-prof that c****ats commercialization in the classroom.
Hey, my celebrity peeps, it is I, Abena and mi come fi talk the tings dem. I know I know I know, the suss is late again but mi nah go mek dem fire me and den mi de home and nothing nah gwaan fi me. Mi haffi secure mi day job that pays the bills and all these things, and mi know say mi caan come ah none ah oonu yard and beg a heel of bread, or a drink of water because mi know say mi ah go see it pon moutharoad or bait76 the next day. Mi ah hot gal, mi nuh run up inna people, no new friends, ah just mi famous 876friends dem and mi friend dem from UWI and high school. Ready fi mi mud dem up?

NIKKI Z IN HOT WATER AGAIN
See it de, wah dis mi a hear pon the grapevine? The Broadcasting Commission has swooped down on ZIP FM once again because of the shenanigans of the 'hostess with the mostess' Nikki Z who played a Munga song this morning with the 'rooster' word in it. Word is that ZIP FM has been apologising profusely for this latest snafu from the popular disc jock. Nikki has been in hot water before several times for  these offences and one wonders if she is going to shave her beck for the drop of the guillotine this time.

RAS ONEILLY HEADING TO AFRICA
A.K.A tell me say the little rasta yute name Ras Oneilly will be heading to Africa in the new year but before that, him have a show this weekend in St. Lucia alongside Lady Saw and Fantan Mojah. Big up Ras Oneilly, yu a come from far, yu madda muss proud ah yu now and we love how yu roadie, Matthew from Westchester ah pilot yu career. Big up.

EMPIRE HEADS TO ST. LUCIA AND GRENADA
Mi hear say Vybz Kartel and the Empire roll gone ah St. Lucia fi a show this weekend with Coco Tea, and then dem a go Grenada fi lock the place by demself. The man dem ting sell off, it nuh normal, Ramping Shop and Million by A Morning ah get crazy airplay, Ryno de pon RE charts with So Yardie Stay, and dem de pon crazy show fi the Xmas. The Empire ah tek over the ting, dem coulda deal!

BEENIE AT THE AUDI DEALERSHIP
Three weeks ago, mi see Beenie Man at Nico Bam Bam birthday party and him de pon the mike and ah talk say him drive all the latest car and SUV dem already so people fi low him mek him drive a normal vehicle, so yu woulden believe my surprise when one of mi girlfriend dem from Motor Sales call me and tell me say she spot Beenie Man ah look pon the new Audi dem. Stay locked to this spot fi more news. It look like the deejay want a new hype fi the Xmas.

VIDEO SHOOTS GALORE: MAVADO, D'ANGEL, DI
How so much people ah shoot music video? Mavado shoot Am So Special on Wednesday night, big up TJ Records and the whole entourage. Mi hear say a Ras Kassa shoot it and dem a go fi BET quality worse the song de pon the Billboard and all these things. RDX shoot fi dem video fi Daggering last week, D'Angel ah shoot her video fi First Lady today up at Sterling Soundstage on Red Hills Road with Julia Braham. And tomorrow, Ras Tingle ah go christen him new camera pon Daniella a.k.a DI fi her new song, Flip It/Pat It.

BIG UPS
Big up Shane O who will be celebrating a birthday on December 9th. Big up Mendez from the Alliance, yu show never sell off the other day, but yu still ah one good yute. Big up Sonny Spoon, it look like yu one drop coulda be the top one fi the year. Big up DocMac Entertainment, we love how yu handle Stacious career, she gone ah Jerusalem and all these places.

Women Charged For Weed In Shop

December 4, 2008
Started By Dj Quami1 Comments
Two women charged jointly after police found ganja amounting to three ounces at a shop they operated were fined $1,200 each for the offence.
The women, Ladonna Henry and Angella Roach, both pleaded guilty when they appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court facing a charge of possession of ganja.

Reports in that matter are that the police found the drug wrapped in 33 small parcels while searching a shop operated by the accused women. They were then charged and brought before the RM.

Dominica against Mavado's music

June 30, 2008
Started By linko10 Comments

Mavado is again facing problems in regards to his lyrics. This time around it's from a prominent radio Disk Jockey, in Dominica, who has become a Christian. He has raised concerns as to whether Mavado should be allowed to perform at a show scheduled to be held in July.

There was an article published in Dominica addressing Mavado's lyrics and how negatively his blasphemous message has influenced the youths.

One of the writer's major concerns was why Mavado has to sing songs with lyrics suggesting he is above God. A typical example he explains is the popular church song entitled I am under the Rock. In this song he changes around the words to convey his message, the song now named "On the Rock." He explains that the song was originally written in relations to 1 Corinthians 10:4 which states that the children of Israel "Drank water from the Spiritual Rock that accompanied them, and that Rock was Christ." He has concluded that many countries refer to "crack/cocaine" as "rock" thus interpreting the song to mean "I am on crack."

In another Biblical reference the writer refers to the fourth line of the same song which goes "My name is so excellent." This he believes is blasphemous as Almighty God is the only one whose name is excellent. In Matt.12:32 the bible clearly states that "anyone who speaks blasphemously against the Holy Spirit will never be forgiven."

The other Mavado song he made reference to was the popular hymn "Amazing Grace" to which he has added his own lyrics converting it to a gun tune. The chorus of his rendition states: "Amazing grace, shot fly tru face, the bwoy dem a trace, shoot up dem base, have the K's (AK47 assault rifle) dem in case, dem try fi escape, none cyaa escape, when me gun blaze." He explains that because of this and Mavado being so influential, the Minister of National Security in Dominica has been discussing implementing harsher penalties for the possession of illegal firearm and ammunition. If they are trying to do this "isn't it contradictory to bring in an artistes who sings about the same thing we are trying to put a stop to?" he asked.

Dominica isn't the only country that has taken actions against Mavado. Disk Jockeys in Trinidad and Tobago have stopped playing Mavado's lyrics on their radio stations as they blamed his lyrics for a stabbing incident that took place. Guyana and Barbados have also taken actions against him.

"This type of action does not do anything to cease Mavado's momentum and popularity, if anything, it just adds to his legend." This was a statement made Jones-Griffiths, Mavado's manager in the Jamaican Star. The writer feels that artistes are using their violent lyrics to influence youths to perform deviant behaviours and are simply using the media as a tool launch their career and make them more popular. What he can't seem to understand is how the government claims that thay want to lower the level of deviant behaviour in the country and still allow songs that glorify and encourage crime, drugs and violence to be aired daily?

Anyways Fellows what do yu do to make sure that a girl is all turned on and ready fi the BIG THINGS!! ** mi jus wan cause some mischief** ro

GAMEPUN leaving the zone for good

December 2, 2008
Started By Gamepun38 Comments
ive been on the zone for awhile, ive had few friends and most enemies...ive given alot to the site...but yet still im bieng disrespected...for posting already...id ont feel welcomed here...honestly....im not the type to complain.....but i think enough s enough....i wll ask admin...to delete my account and if possible all my post....

sorry for the inconvenience zone....im out

Quad experiences a whiteout

October 21, 2008
Started By rrDesignZ 8 Comments

STARRIGHT_1_PE2QEAllWhiAM.jpg
These women had a different take on the same trend as they prepared to party at Levels. - Winston Sill photos

The Quad in New Kingston was glowing last Sunday night with Levels: The All-White Edition.

Voted the best club party of 2007, Levels lived up to its reputation as a crowd puller over the Heroes weekend.

The party, which started off slowly, was packed by the end of the night with persons vying for a spot to dance.

True to its name, Levels allowed patrons to party on two levels inside the club, the Voodoo Lounge with Darkcide and ZJ Chrome and the Oxygen club with Nemesis, ZJ Ice and Coppershot.

After midnight, inside the Voodoo Lounge was still scanty but the patrons were enjoying the old dancehall/soca vibe created by Darkcide. One woman had the men hypnotised as she utilised the mirrors in the Voodoo Lounge, wining while watching herself pull up her dress and exposing her upper thighs.

With most persons sticking to the dress code and coming dressed in full white or partial white, the Oxygen club glowed when the club lights hit the outfits.

With college students free before 11 p.m, the crowd at Levels was a young one. ZJ Ice got a nice vibe going, as he teased with some new songs, touched on some Kartel classics and early Mavado before switching to rap with T.I's Whatever You Like.

When Nemesis took over on the turntables, the vibe changed, as they selected tunes from Bob Marley, Gyptian, Tarrus Riley and Pressure. Nemesis also educated the crowd with new songs such as Laden's Time to Shine.

Push and shove

At this point, patrons just entering the club were struggling to get through the crowd to find a spot. THE STAR team observed a number of close encounters with patrons pushing on to those in front and behind him. Some persons shoved others out of the way to get through the crowd.

After making an impression in their skimpy white outfits, women soon kicked off their high heels to better accommodate the dancing segment that followed.

Coppershot started with a slew of hardcore hits and more wining tunes. Rhythms such as 'Day Rave' and 'Work Out' got the most forwards for the night. A daggering segment followed as the crowd got own to some serious dancing.

Upstairs in the Voodoo Lounge, Chrome carried patrons through a daggering segment as well, and there patrons were behaving even wilder, given that they had more space available.

STARRIGHT_1_PBFIOAllWhiAM.jpg
White-clad beauties all in a row.

STARRIGHT_1_PBXJJAllWhiAM.jpgSTARRIGHT_1_PQDFSAllWhiAM.jpg
Skin was definitely in at the all-white party.

STARRIGHT_1_P6XX7AllWhiAM.jpg
A plunging neckline was as good as any accessory.

STARRIGHT_1_PZK4EAllWhiAM.jpg
No matter how many turned up, they were beauties to behold.

MALE DANCERS GET THE 'GUN' -- OF THE ASS
Mi cousin who have a girlfriend who work at the major STI centre in Kingston told me that the other day, a very well known male dancer came in to be treated for gonorrhoea -- of the butt. Him and two other male dancers also came in at the same time for treament which leads to the obvious question, how much ah dem dancer bwoy out de have rude bwoy face and man heart? From the time wid the dancer at Westmoreland who claim say dem did drug him off and put him inna funny man blues, mi no truss dem bwoy de. Dem too licky licky, and dem wi do almost anything fi a Nike Air, mi have two higgler friend who love freak dem out, fly dem come a foreign and siddown inna dem face, and dem tell me say dem do it straight, but nothing no wrong wid dat, but the funny man business, mi caan excuse it. FIRE PON DEM!!!!

WHY AIDONIA STOP LINK WITH KARTEL?
Why is Needlez coming on the site and asking this question over and over again? People ah call in to one876 and ah say Donia do song with Bounty ah call up Teacha name but ah lie, nutten like that. The man dem still good, Addi ah still him daddy, straight!

FRESH MONEY SUNDAYS SELL RIGHT OFF
How Fresh Money Sundays over Cookies Nightclub so nice? Mi say the Hothead girls dem from Spanish Town put on a piece of dancing de, especially when Gary Chucks hold the mike and a preside over Daggering segment, it was really crotches morning inna the place. Right now, mi haffi give it to the Hothead girls dem, ah dem a tek it right now as dancehall girls, and no argument no inna dat.

STING LAUNCH WAS OFF THE CHAIN

On Tuesday November 25 at The Jamaica Pegasus The Greatest One Night Reggae Show on Earth STING, announced the twenty-fifth (25th) staging of the show. The theme dubbed for this year is The Final Frontier The Settlement of All Arguments The theme was reflected through a 7 minute presentation of Famous STING Clashes listed below:

The capacity filled launch was definitely STINGing with artistes, media, and well wishers. The artistes in attendance included Vybz Kartel, Spice, Patra, Lady Junie, Assasin, Goddy Goddy, Dj Nichalos, Zebra, Monster Hemp Higher, Black Ryno, Chi Ching Ching, I-Octane, Nesbeth, Duane Stephenson, Tifa, Natalie Storm, Shane O, Mikey Pelpa, Alibra, Pretty Kitty and others.

Persons attending the launch included Renato Adams who will head security at STING. the Mayor of Portmore, His Worship Keith Hinds, and Dr. Donna Hope who was the guest speaker. Others included Leachim Semaj, Clifton Specialist Dillon, Sara Lawrence, Donovan Germaine, representatives of the media, sponsors and the entire entertainment fraternity.
 We'll put up the pictures later.

PEOPLE WAAN FI KNOW...
How Mumsel from Swizzle Body girls just drop back on the scene so? She go hard over RDX video shoot mi hear.

Why Einstein ah try look a hype offa the Empire? Him new song nah gwaan wid nothing. The man boring like Asylum Anniversary last week Saturday.

Talking about Asylum anniversary, the show did just alright, Shaggy, I-Octane, Nesbeth, and some other artistes come do a ting, but it never spark. And why Hezron never perform and we see him inna the place.

Irish & Chin presents Timberlee

December 1, 2008
Started By biggaman1214 Comments

tIMBEREEE.jpgWatch out dancehall a huge talent Timberlee - has descended with beauty, brains and flaming hits like, Bubble Like Soup and many more. She really needs no introduction as Ms, Hot Gyal a Hot Gyal sweet like a honey has been steadily rising to her current spot at the forefront of the female dancehall scene for some time now.

Making her mark in scorching performances, coupled with an inner determination and dedication to her craft, Timberlee is about establishing a prosperous career and cranking out the best hits.

The new Irish and Chin super talent is a winner, with the gift of penning infectious lyrics and of course, her red-hot delivery of them.

Friday Juice - Kartel and Mavado buck up at Bembe
28 Nov 2008.

BATTLE LINES DRAWN AT BEMBE
Last night, selector Boom Boom and Jigsy team up and ah play some Kartel and Mavado. Before that, Jigsy did a play some girls tune and a nice up the place, but Boom Boom come in and change the vibes, dem play two Kartel but  dem play the  Mavado song, Real Killer, and Boom Boom wheel it up and talk over it. Kartel and Spice were in the house and Mavado was there chilling as well.  Later when Mavado walk out, mi see about 80 plus man ah walk out behind him. The ting set a way. Sting ah go hot.

KARTEL AND EMPIRE FOR CVM HITLIST TODAY
Kartel, Blak Ryno and the Empire will be appearing on CVM's Hitlist programme later. Dem a premiere the new video for the Remand Medley and ah talk about the accomplishments of the Empire. Ryno career ah tek off, him ah get crazy show from wah day ya, him de pon a ting name Pre-Valentine's Walk Out in Negril and him ah go perform at a Ruseas High fete on December 13th with Wonder Woman and some other Bay artistes.

RDX SHOOTS DAGGERING VIDEO
Mi hear say the Daggering and Bend Over video shoot at Sugarman Beach sell right off. Crazy girls ah dance and all these things and RDX dem did a dagger the girls like some true Daggamasters. Mi see say the Daggering tune enter the Jamaica Music Countdown charts like a rocket and some record company start call already.

PEOPLE WAAN FI KNOW...
How Bembe ah get so scanty from wah day ya?

Why is Peach warring with everyone? I thought that she and Keisha Jaguar were friends but it come in like even that friendship mash up now.

What a go gwaan now that Lynch Mob and Deva Brat ah spar now?ds
BATTLE LINES DRAWN AT BEMBE
Last night, selector Boom Boom and Jigsy team up and ah play some Kartel and Mavado. Before that, Jigsy did a play some girls tune and a nice up the place, but Boom Boom come in and change the vibes, dem play two Kartel but  dem play the  Mavado song, Real Killer, and Boom Boom wheel it up and talk over it. Kartel and Spice were in the house and Mavado was there chilling as well.  Later when Mavado walk out, mi see about 80 plus man ah walk out behind him. The ting set a way. Sting ah go hot.

KARTEL AND EMPIRE FOR CVM HITLIST TODAY
Kartel, Blak Ryno and the Empire will be appearing on CVM's Hitlist programme later. Dem a premiere the new video for the Remand Medley and ah talk about the accomplishments of the Empire. Ryno career ah tek off, him ah get crazy show from wah day ya, him de pon a ting name Pre-Valentine's Walk Out in Negril and him ah go perform at a Ruseas High fete on December 13th with Wonder Woman and some other Bay artistes.

STACIOUS FLOSSING IN JERUSALEM
Mi hear say Stacious tun tourist inna the Promised Land, she ah tour Jerusalem, the Dead Sea and all these place. Big up Stacious, Goodas Clap de #6 on the Jamaica Music Countdown charts, the ting fully sort out.

RDX SHOOTS DAGGERING VIDEO
Mi hear say the Daggering and Bend Over video shoot at Sugarman Beach sell right off. Crazy girls ah dance and all these things and RDX dem did a dagger the girls like some true Daggamasters. Mi see say the Daggering tune enter the Jamaica Music Countdown charts like a rocket and some record company start call already.

PEOPLE WAAN FI KNOW...
How Bembe ah get so scanty from wah day ya?

Why is Peach warring with everyone? I thought that she and Keisha Jaguar were friends but it come in like even that friendship mash up now.

What a go gwaan now that Lynch Mob and Deva Brat ah spar now?

All rings for the McGregor clan

November 28, 2008
Started By steppz16 Comments

STARLEFT_1_PQXNSchat332AM.jpg
Freddie McGregor interacting with one of his many fans.

Phone and online chat sessions gave the McGregor family an opportunity to interact with fans and well-wishers on Tuesday at the Gleaner Company.

"The boss," Freddie McGregor and his children Shema, Chino and Stephen, spent two hours talking to fans via the Internet and telephone.

During the online chat session, the McGregors were flooded with questions, Shema especially.

Big Ship artiste

"Shema, how the boyfriend get pass daddy and the brothers, dem protective?" was one of the many questions the budding Big Ship artiste was asked.

Others asked her about her beautiful skin, touring and a prospective album.

On the telephone lines, the questions were similar.

Freddie was asked many questions about his musical journey. He was also asked about the child (Shema), whom he had with singer Judy Mowatt.

Chino said his questions were ridiculous. He was asked what he would do if he was police commissioner for a day. His response, "free up the 2 o'clock curfew."

On the phone he received calls from many female fans.

"I got all female calls. Somebody ask mi if mi nuh want a wife, somebody fi cook mi cornmeal porridge and plait mi hair," said Chino.

Stephen was asked mainly business questions. There were several persons apparently calling to get a 'buss' in the music business or simply asking for advice.

At the end of it all, the McGregor bunch really enjoyed the session.

"It was nice. Everything criss. Mi enjoy the online chat. We were getting a chance to talk to our fans and to interact with them. I am glad we did that," Freddie McGregor told THE STAR.

STARLEFT_1_PPC2Qchat223AM.jpg
Shema chats on the phone while her brothers, (from left) Stephen and Chino, sit by her side. - teino evans photos

Guinness Sting 2008

November 28, 2008
Started By djmaster15 Comments
Guinness Sting 2008 will be held on Dec 26, 2008 as usual. The question is what kind of Mix Up and blender we should expect this year. I think the stage is deliberately being set for clash between Movado and Vybz Kartel.

-- Edited by djmaster at 12:11, 2008-11-28
«First  <  1352 353 354 355 356524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by