R&B singer Keyshia Cole finally tied the knot with NBA star Daniel Gibson in Las Vegas this weekend after being romantically linked to him for the past few years.
Cole broke the news early Sunday (May 22) morning about their unexpected ceremony.
"@BooBysWorld1: It's OFFICIAL!!!!! #Done & #TrulyBlessed.. Mr. & Mrs. Gibson. We appreciate all the Well Wishes!"... Yeees.," she tweeted May 22nd. (Keyshia Cole's Twitter)
Gibson also confirmed the marriage took place and promised to show proof soon.
"So the World ain't end. Not yet.. But a brand new world for me and my family has just Begun! #Blessed Wedding Pics coming 2morro! B E Z," he tweeted Sunday.
""Trust in the Lord with all your heart; & lean not onto your own understanding. In all ways acknowledge Him & He will direct thy paths." (Daniel Gibson's Twitter)
According to reports, the couple became engaged over a year ago.
The couple got engaged in January 2010 after meeting the year before. They have a 14-month-old son Daniel Hiram Gibson Jr., named after his father. Keyshia's close friend Monica was among the first to send her best wishes. "Congratulations to @keyshiacole Wishing u guys a lifetime of happiness," she wrote.
In March 2010, Cole and Gibson welcomed their first child together.
Congratulations go out to singer Keyshia Cole and her fiance Daniel "Boobie" Gibson! Insiders tell me that just after 1am this morning (March 3rd), Keyshia gave birth to a healthy baby boy, the couple's first. Gibson, a basketball player with the Cleveland Cavs, was by Keyshia's side for the birth, which took place in Cleveland, OH.
West Coast rapper Snoop Dogg may have more reasons to smile moving forward as a Los Angeles judge has reportedly ended his five-year probation earlier than expected.
Thursday (May 26) reports claim Snoop Dizzle is no longer required to complete his probation.
Snoop Dogg caught a big break in court today ... nearly 5 years after he was arrested in L.A. for allegedly possessing drugs and a gun -- because TMZ has learned, the judge ended his probation early. He was originally sentenced to 60 months probation back in 2007 over the incident -- but now that a judge ended his probation today, Snoop only had to complete 49 months. Snoop's attorney Donald Etra tells TMZ, he's "pleased" the court granted the rapper's petition -- even though we're pretty sure this had zero impact on Snoop's life.
Incarcerated Baton Rouge rapper Lil Boosie continues to bolster his 'Bad Azz' rep by piling on charge after charge, while awaiting trial on an initial first-degree murder charge in an Louisiana prison.
The rapper, born Torrence Hatch, has been charged, along with two other inmates, for attempting to smuggle codeine syrup -- a Southern rap staple -- into the Louisiana State Penitentiary at Angola, where Boosie is currently housed, according to local CBS news affiliate WAFB 9.
Boosie, 28, and two fellow convicts, Titus Franklin and Arthur Stewart, both 27, were reported to Louisiana State Penitentiary detectives and the East Baton Rouge Violent Crimes Unit for conspiracy to smuggle codeine into the prison, and were subsequently busted by an undercover official, and charged with conspiracy to introduce contraband into a penal institution.
Boosie received an additional charge of inciting a felony. The 'Wipe Me Down' rapper already faces possession and distribution charges for marijuana, ecstasy and codeine, and has pleaded not guilty to the murder of a Baton Rouge man named Terry Boyd, for which he may face the death penalty.
Controversial deejay Vybz Kartel claims that the first batch of his cake soap was completely sold off within a few days of being released last Friday.
The deejay began limited distribution of the product after only publishing an advertisement in THE WEEKEND STAR.
"Since we did the advert in the newspaper, the first batch, which was well over 2,000, has disappeared," the deejay said in an interview yesterday.
He said that they had advertised that the product would be on sale at locations in Kingston and Falmouth, Trelawny. However, according to the deejay the product which is manufactured in Falmouth didn't even get a chance to reach Kingston.
"We didn't anticipate that the units would move so quickly," he said while explaining that the more than 2,000 units were sold off in Falmouth.
When THE WEEKEND STAR contacted one of the stores advertised as a sale point for the product, a representative confirmed that there was a demand for the product with quite a few customers entering the establishment requesting the product.
So now based on his analysis after observing the demand for the first batch of products, Kartel says he will now be manufacturing more soaps and increasing the awareness of the product.
success
"With the success of that single bit of advertisement, albeit not surprisingly so because after all it was THE WEEKEND STAR, we wanna go all out on radio and television," he said while pointing out that he is waiting on a few more equipment to aid in manufacturing more soaps to feed the demand.
The deejay, who claims that the product is of Bureau of Standards quality, said that in the future he is trying to corner the 'cake soap' market. "Coupled with the fact that I'm a celebrity I think I will pull off the job," he said.
In terms of export, Kartel said that he will be focusing on first establishing a national distribution network.
Click link below to watch the match live.
http://www.indstreetz.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=530&Itemid=63
Max Element - Wash cook and clean (Prod. by Icon/X Ray Records)
Watch it here: http://youtu.be/5_EyA7gcZIo
Download it here:
http://www.mediafire.com/?h6y9t0g66433u7p
Bless
Anyone here vinci cut like a razor yow anyone know if this is real or fake cause the talk is that a corey tod n milla 9 a manage him now
Tuesday night during business man Corey Todd television interview, several startling revelations were made which has left a dark cloud looming over the career and business endeavours of Gaza boss Vybz Kartel.
Kartel who is booked to perform live via satellite from the Building Night Club, New Kingston to the audience at the 2011 staging of the Best Of The Best concert in Miami will have to find another venue after his former business partner informed the nation that the club was closed for the foreseeable future and hence derailing Kartel plans.
"The building is close for the foreseeable future, so I think he will have to find another venue, but it won't be the Building because his name is not on the lease nor does he have the keys to the property. If he enters the club it would be breaking/entering and trespassing on private property." - Corey Todd stated during the interview.
Aside from claims of being the puppeteer behind Kartel's rise to stardom, Corey said Kartel never had an integral role in the daily running of their companies affair as started in a previous interview. Todd said - Kartel was more the campaign face of the brands while he (Corey) bankrolled the projects but later offered the entertainer a partnership deal with the Street Vybz Rum project.
Now with the bitter split; the Daggering Condoms venture rolled up; the Building nightclub closed; Street Vybz Thursdays and other Gaza affiliated events on infinite pause; doubts about the ownership of the S Class Benz; rumours about Jah Vinci departure and a dwindling fan base, a mammoth task lies ahead for the self-proclaimed dancehall hero.
Meanwhile, if the split is not enough drama for Kartel; his former friend turn nemesis Aidonia was recently overheard during a studio session penning some venomous lyrics seemingly aimed at the controversy.
-- Edited by showsky on Wednesday 25th of May 2011 02:15:12 PM
Italian champions AC Milan have completed the full signing of Ghana's Kevin-Prince Boateng from Genoa.
The 24-year-old played for Milan last season but was part owned by Italian rivals Genoa, who bought him from English club Portsmouth a year ago.
Genoa president Enrico Preziosi said a deal had been struck for Milan to buy out the striker's contract.
"Two clubs like Genoa and Milan can't argue so we've made an agreement, he is entirely a Milan player," he said.
The two clubs also reached a similar deal for Nigeria's Nnamdi Oduamadi to join Milan as well, he too had been co-owned by the two clubs.
Preziosi didn't divulge any details of payment between the clubs.
Last week both Milan and Genoa had accused the other of trying to move the goalposts on an agreement struck a year ago.
Sourc: BBC Sport
COREY TODD CALLS IT QUITS WITH VYBZ KARTEL...BUSINESSMAN THREATENED |
Written by AKA | |
Monday, 23 May 2011 | |
American businessman Corey Todd has chosen to immediately dissolve his business partnership with Adidja Palmer a.k.a Vybz Kartel in the wake "I cannot be associated with or do business with someone I don't trust. Kartel and I haven't seen eye to eye in a while, and late last "I am my own man, I have never worked for Vybz Kartel, I helped to Todd and Palmer started the Unlimited Daggering company three years Todd sought to reassure his workers that he would find employment for 'I am not keeping any events at the Building nightclub for the |
A 35-year-old rastafarian male student is claiming that he was expelled from his school because he is heterosexual. Vavadean Dennis recently told THE STAR that in a class of about 24 male students, he was pressured by a group in the class who constantly made sexual advances at him. "About 20 times dem mek sexual advances at me and a tell me seh I must change my heterosexual ways. I got expelled because dem call me into a meeting and they didn't even ask me anything, dem just start attacking me saying that mi come fi mash down di school." THE STAR understands that Dennis who is pursuing a certificate in plumbing at a Kingston training institute, had several confrontations with administrators at the school. However, it climaxed last Thursday as he was called in a meeting and told to apologise to his teacher for some recent disrespectful remarks; failing to apologise, Dennis was given a one-week suspension. compromising position "Just because me tell dem seh mi nuh want nuh man feel me up, di teacher run me out of the class. When I am in class doing my work, there is a group of guys who try to get me in a compromising position. There was this one time, this 18-year-old youth tried to come up between my legs and so I had to create a scene in the class and all of a sudden mi hear dem a seh mi refer to my teacher as 'teacher bwoy'." He further stated, "sometimes you will look over one side of the classroom and you will see some of the boys exposing them private parts. There was this other time, this next male student was wheezing in my ears, dem even threaten me saying that dem ago hurt me and I want to know if the teachers dem never hear that." "I was expelled. Dem call me inna a meeting saying that they are giving me an ultimatum and that I should apologise to the teacher and to the class but I don't do anything, and I don't see dem doing anything about these boys who are making sexual advances at me." In the meantime, when contact was made with the coordinator at the school, she told us that Dennis was not expelled, instead he was asked to apologise to his teacher and given one-week suspension. "Dennis is a student who can manage his schoolwork, however, the only problem we have with him is that he is extremely homophobic. Once you are a part of any school you have to interact with other students, and if a male student even walk too close to him, it is a problem and he starts to behave boisterous. It is not the first time a rastafarian has enrolled in the school, but this is the first time we have had complaints about homosexuals causing trouble at our school. We have no evidence of what Dennis is complaining about. She further lamented, "He needs help, we have tried with him. We are here to help and offer training; but we cannot offer more than what we were equipped to offer. He needs some psychiatric help."
A sick Salt Lake City mom tried to sell her 13-year-old daughter's virginity to a man for $10,000, cops said.
The woman, Felicia Rae McClure, 32, was busted by her boyfriend on May 18 after he allegedly spotted several texts on her cell phone discussing the deal with a man named "Don."
Cops said that "Don" took McClure and her daughter to Victoria's Secret to buy lingerie, and that mom and daughter posed for pictures in bras and thongs.
She also sent the pics to other men for money, cops said.
Authorities say the girl agreed to the sex, but later changed her mind.
McClure was charged with two counts of aggravated sexual abuse of a child and two counts of sexual exploitation of a minor. Bail was set at $250,000.
Entry into the Mile High Club - REJECTED.
The FBI hauled a Florida man off a flight after fellow passengers spotted him masturbating in his seat.
Kyle Pearce, 25, was arrested after United Airlines Flight 340 landed in Denver from Spokane, Wash., on May 19, The Smoking Gun reported.
Authorities were alerted to Pearce's perverted proclivities when the 18-year-old woman sitting next to him told investigators she saw him pleasuring himself.
"I heard a noise and looked over and saw his penis," the woman said, according to the criminal complaint. "He ejaculated and got some on the seat. Then he went to the bathroom for a long time."
The man sitting behind Pearce - who was wearing blue jeans tucked into cowboy boots and a Carhart jacket - reported spotting similarly sordid conduct.
"My friend Zach turned to me and said, 'That man is masturbating' and in disbelief, I looked and saw his penis," Grayson Miller said. "I hit him with a book in the arm, which caused him to stop and leave to the bathroom."
Pearce was held without bail following a hearing Monday in Denver federal court. He faces up to 90 days in jail.
On his MySpace page, Pearce wrote that he attended Pensacola Junior College and that his interested are "bull riding, music, movies, extreme sports, girls, dirt bikes,and partying."
Mavado forms own label - Set to release new single soon | |||
Sadeke Brooks, Staff Reporter
Dancehall artiste Mavado is taking his career to a new level with his own label, Mansion Records. Speaking with THE STAR yesterday, the artiste, whose real name is David Brooks, said he will be releasing his first song, Delilah, on the label next week. He added that he started the label to assist himself and other artistes. "I just start this record label because I have a lot of young artistes around me and I think I can do so much for them," Mavado said. some international acts In addition to artistes from the Gully Squad, Mavado said he would also be doing work with others like Assassin, Munga and members of the Alliance. He said there was also the possibility that he would be working with some international acts on the label. "Right now, I have a lot of international connections. It's a lot of them, so I am not sure who will be first," he said. But this is also Mavado's first time trying his hands at producing. "I will be producing, and we have more things like promoting. It's a great feeling. It's a great honour. It's not about the money, we still haffi inna it (music) and try build it," Mavado said. few remixes His manager Julian Jones-Griffiths added that Delilah was produced by Mavado and co-produced by Logwood Productions. In addition, he said there were two mixes of the song, one from Stephen McGregor and the other from Jeremy Harding. Both mixes will be released exclusively on iTunes on May 24. He said a few remixes would also be done, with the first one coming from international producer Diplo. "It's like two interpretations of the same song. We just wanted to do something different. It's nothing unusual internationally, it is just something we really don't do here," he said. Meanwhile, Mavado says he will also be doing the music video for Delilah that will be shot by Better Mus' Comedirector Storm Saulter in another couple weeks. In addition, he says he will be releasing another song called Do Road and a single with members of the Gully Squad. |
Rap rivals Game and 40 Glocc reportedly got into an altercation over the weekend which left the former G-Unit member looking down at 40 in defeat over an alleged chain snatching.
Game broke the news of what took place early Sunday (May 22) morning.
"@ComptonMenace why you beat the f*ck out that boy like dat *la*hd. You know better than picking on lil n*ggaz ha ha ha," he tweeted.
"Hood news: 40 **** goes down in the 1st round at the hands of the real "Big Baby" @ComptonMenace ha ha ha.... BUSTER (Mc Eiht voice)" (Game's Twitter)
40 hit up Twitter to offer more explicit details of what went down.
"THAT WASN'T NO MENISHA FIGHT THAT WAS 30b!$%hES ON 1 CRIP..LOL! N*GGAZ AINT BUILT FOR N*GGAZ OF MY BREED u can't get this juice cuz!"
"U SEE THAT N*GGA AINT POST THAT CHAIN!!I TOOK THAT SH*T ON MY MAMA!!&THREW IT!!IF HE GOT IT BAK HIS HOMIES MUST WENT CASED IT DOWN" (40 Glocc's Twitter)
Game's Black Wall Street group member Menace took credit for attacking 40.
"Lol got both my chains and a b!$%h n*gga *la*hd all over me lol real n*gga Sh*t," he tweeted.
"i got my chains at home im put a pick up soon as i get back there... b!$%h nigga broke one of my links"
"all the crips should beat you up next for blowing crippin up..." (Menace's Twitter)
Outside of rap disputes, 40 recently spoke to SOHH about changing his rap moniker to "Big Bad 40."
"It's 'Big Bad 4-0' and 40 Glocc is my alter ego," 40 told SOHH. "It's not laid to rest or nothing like that. It pretty much has to deal with me being a business man and I gotta recognize that name carries a certain way of violence. No matter what I would say, even though it's an acronym, Ghetto Legally Oppressed with Crooked Cops, [it didn't matter]. Other people aren't going to see that no matter what I say. So when the radio hears the name they start looking at all of the violence going on and then they try to match it up with my past history or what they 'think' my past history is. They can even Wikipedia the name and say, 'Ah nah, I'm running away from this.' So I decided to go with the 'Big Bad.'
Timothy Ray Brown, 45, tested positive for HIV in 1995, but the virus is now completely non-existent in his body, in what doctors have hailed as a functional cure.
In 2007, while living in Berlin, Mr Brown received a bone marrow stem cell transplant, as he was suffering with leukaemia as well as HIV, and it had quite remarkable results.
Watch videos//Read More: http://thehypelifemag.com/newspost/video-man-cured-of-aids-i%E2%80%99m-cured-of-hiv-i-had-hiv-but-i-don%E2%80%99t-anymore-timothy-ray-brown
Osama Bin Laden's Black mistress is making headlines after she says she's been shunned and called a liar for years.
Kola Boof first made headlines years ago when London's The Guardian broke the story that the poet/television writer and activist was the terrorist leader's mistress.
After being put through the wringer by the press including Connie Chung who she says openly questioned why a man of Bin Laden's wealth and stature have a black mistress, she released a book titled "Diary of a Lost Girl: The Autobiography of Kola Boof" and spoke on their relationship in detail.
Boof says however the hard facts of her story were ignored and instead trivial facts were enjoyed including Bin Laden's love for Whitney Houston and penchant for marijuana. Now with the man she affectionately called "Somi" dead, Boof is speaking out to clear her name.
She recently released a statement to a number of press organizations including The Daily Voice who published her words in full.
In the statement she calls Osama a "monster, a genius, a poet, a racist woman-basher and a very passionate, deeply sensitive confused being" but adds for emphasis, Like all of us, he was somebody's child.
According to Kola they fell in love under nontraditional circumstances---after he raped her the first time they met.
Boof says however that she learned to love him "survive" and they soon became close with her doing his hair and going on lavish shopping sprees to Milan on his dime.
"Osama raped me the first night we met. But out of my fear and determination to survive we became comrades; lovers; we wrote poetry together, I did his hair, I cooked for him, he gave me jewels and money; sent me to Milan on shopping sprees; buried one of his guards that I killed and made it so I only did one night in jail. Living at La Maison Arabe was hardly the life of a slave--I wasn't in chains, honey.
I supervised Osama's men despite not being allowed to leave Osama. And let's not forget that half the wives of Arab rich men live that exact same way--many are married against their will, fathers give away daughters, women are snatched off the streets. Women had no rights in the Arab Muslim world when I was there modeling, acting and "hostessing."
According to Kola she was torn down because she was a Black woman of Egyptian/Sudanese descent and not what white powerful news controllers" wanted to promote. She adds that one of Osama's wives Najwa Bin Laden referred to her as his "n*gger slave whore" a term she obviously didn't appreciate from the "pitiful-head covered door mat jockey."
It hurts to have so much valuable information; so much intelligence and to be so truthful and articulate--yet have "white powerful news controllers" decide that you're not the right image for what they'd like to promote. Therefore, part of history is always missing.
A rasta man buy a bike from a man di bike couldnt go over 10 miles a hour so him go to him obeah man cousin an tell him that him want di bike fi fast, anyhow di obeah man do him ting an seh when yu want it go fast cuss a badword an when yu want it stop call out jesus, di rasta pick up him woman an seh mums watch diss an shout b*m**o hole di bike tek off di way di bike a move di rasta seh *la*hdc**t di bike pick up more speed di rasta start lose control an nuh know weh fi do dem start head to a precipice an as dem almost run over it di woman bawl out jesus di bike suddenly stop di rasta catch him breath look over di precipice turn to him woman an seh cassy wi lucky nuh b*m**oCLAAaaaaat
the guy's name is camping, and according to wikipedia this is how he knows the world is ending tomorrow
Examples of how Camping's teachings vary from past conventional doctrines are:
Entertainer "Risto Benjie" was shot and killed in Old Harbour, St. Catherine Monday night.
The 36-year artiste, whose given name is Michael Benjamin of Unity in St. Andrew was shot dead by a gunman in an area known as "Vietnam" in Church Pen about 10:00 p.m.
It's reported that Mr. Benjamin was sitting outside a house when the man walked up.
He opened fire hitting Mr. Benjamin several times.
He later died at hospital.
Nigeria defender Taye Taiwo has finalised his switch to Italian champions AC Milan, completing a three-year deal on a free transfer.
The left-back successfully underwent a medical at the club on Wednesday and sealed the move from French club Olympique Marseille on Thursday.
The 26-year-old told the BBC he is delighted with the transfer.
"I thank God for this move, joining another big team like AC Milan is a dream come true," he said.
"I am leaving a big club for another one, one I was only able to dream of playing for as a kid.
"I will surely miss the city and Olympique Marseille, the fans, players, management and French football in general.
"It is emotional and sad to leave a place I have come to call home but I'm taking a piece of Marseille with me."
The Super Eagle regards the move as a new chapter in his life and says he is excited about the challenges ahead.
"I hope to bring my best to a team that's parading great players already," he added.
"The three-year deal is signed now and all I can do is give my all to a dream club and win trophies to complete the union.
"I am a happy man and my immediate target is to be a winner here."
Taiwo becomes the fourth African player on Milan's books - joining Ghana's Kevin-Prince Boateng, Sierra Leone's Rodney St****er and fellow Nigerian Nnamdi Oduamadi.
The defender played a pivotal role in Marseille's first league title in 18 years last term and scored the only goal in last month's League Cup final victory.
He joined Marseille, his first European club, in 2005, going on to make more than 200 appearances for them, while also gaining Uefa Champions League experience.
Milan will contest next season's Champions League after wrapping up their first Serie A title in seven years.
Source: BBC Sport
With the prophesied second coming of the Lord less than 24 hours away, at least one reverend has admitted that he has been contacted by 'unsaved persons' expressing interest in baptism.
Reverend W A Blair of the New Testament Church of God explained that as the May 21 deadline draws closer, he has received an increase in calls from persons desirous of baptism. "I have had an increase in calls yesterday and today (Wednesday and Thursday) from persons expressing interest in baptism but I have advised them not to panic," Blair said.
A surprised Blair has never experienced such an expressed interest of unsaved persons to become Christians before. "It is unscriptual and it is not right for the people to be frightened ... the panic now is unparalleled because I have never seen it like this before ... I am amazed that the frenzy has been taken up by so many people," said Blair who points out that while the calls have increased he has not seen an increase in the attendance of unsaved persons to church.
not biblical
He is not convinced that 'Judgement Day' will arrive on the given date but maintained "The coming is extremely near," as represented by signs outlined in the Bible. "It is not biblical and therefore it is not real," he added. "Whose report do you believe, the word of the Lord Jesus Christ or the man who is prophesying?".
At the same time, THE WEEKEND STAR has received unconfirmed reports that a church in rural Jamaica baptised 1000 persons in a single night earlier this week. THE WEEKEND STAR also visited the streets of the Corporate Area to garner the views of unsaved persons.
"No. I don't believe nothing, it is said in the Bible no one knows the hour or night God is coming," one woman said. A man explained that " Hell no, God alone know wen him a go come fi him world yah,".
The prophecy was put forward by an American religious group from Pennsylvania that announced Judgement Day to be May 21 followed by total destruction of the world by fire five months later on October 21.
According to Harold Camping, president of Christian radio network Family Stations Inc, on May 21, 2011 two events will occur. A great earthquake will occur, the Bible describes it as "such as was not since men were upon the Earth, so mighty an earthquake, and so great." This earthquake will be so powerful it will throw open all graves. The remains of all the believers who have ever lived will be instantly transformed into glorified spiritual bodies to be forever with God.
unsaved people
On the other hand, the bodies of all unsaved people will be thrown out upon the ground to be shamed.
The inhabitants who survive the earthquake will exist in a world of horror and chaos beyond description. Each day people will die until October 21, 2011 when God will completely destroy the Earth and its surviving inhabitants, Family Station Inc said on its website".
Bishop Rowan Edwards, president of the Jamaica Full Gospel Assembly of Churches, described the prediction as untrue. "It's utter madness I tell you," he said. "It's a facade ... The God that I serve sent his only begotten son and he says that no man knows the time nor the hour of His coming ... the coming of the Lord is sure but nobody knows when."
Similarly, Reverend Jim Parkes of the Christ Church in Vineyard Town is not persuaded. "I would be quite reluctant to accept any date given by anyone because that would not be consistent with Jesus' words," he said.
A member of "Teach Me How To Dougie" group Cali Swag District was reportedly fatally shot last night (May 15) while in his hometown Inglewood, California.
According to reports, group member M-Bone suffered multiple gunshot wounds.
M-Bone -- one the of the members of the rap group Cali Swag District -- died last night ... TMZ has confirmed. Cali Swag District shot to stardom with their hit, "Teach Me How to Dougie." M-Bone -- real name Montae Talbert-- was 22. (TMZ)
M-Bone's death was also confirmed by group member C-Smoove.
"Ma life changed drastically in the. Blink of an eye rip mbone," he tweeted Monday (May 16). (C-Smoove's Twitter)
The group consisted of M-Bone, C-Smoove, Yung and JayAre.
Cali Swag District is an American hip hop group from Inglewood, California, founded by former Death Row artist Big Wy and Dairold Potts. The group is best known for the single "Teach Me How to Dougie", which debuted at number 91 on the Billboard Hot 100. The song remained on the chart and climbed steadily during the weeks that followed, rising to number 28 by its thirteenth week. "Teach Me How to Dougie" reached number 1 on Billboard Heatseekers, holding the number 2 position for six consecutive weeks before claiming the number 1 position in its seventh week. The group is signed with Capitol Records' Checkmate Entertainment imprint.
Still awaiting a release date for their Kickback album, Cali Swag District's Yung recentlyt talked to SOHH about why fans should support the debut.
"The number one reason why you should go out and buy The Kickback is because "Teach Me How To Dougie" is on the album. And I know everybody loved that song, so if you want to cop that, put it in your CD player and bang that out, you'll get to hear that. We're not gonna try to put the record on too early because the fans have been hearing it the whole time we've been out. So we're not gonna give it to them too early on the album, they're gonna have to wait."
M-Bone of the rap group Cali Swag District, which scored a hit last year with the song "Teach Me How to Dougie," was killed in a weekend drive-by shooting as he sat in a car outside a liquor store, police said Monday. [ Click image above to READ MORE ] |
Last year at the BET Awards, Chris Brown performed an emotional tribute to Michael Jackson. It marked the beginning of a comeback for the embattled pop star. [ Click image above to READ MORE ] |
Grammy-winning singer Rihanna raised a few eyebrows over the weekend after following ex-boyfriend Chris Brown on Twitter and lashed back at criticism from her fans.
Responding to a fan asking if her following Brown was a sign the two would romantically reunite, RiRi turned down the speculation.
"@iStan4Rihanna_ its f*ckin twitter, not the alter! calm down," she tweeted May 14th.
"@iStan4Rihanna_ babygirl I'm sorry, I didn't mean to hurt or offend u! Just needed to make it clear to the Navy! I still Stan for u xoxo" (Rihanna's Twitter)
Rihanna and Brown began following one another over the weekend.
Exes Chris Brown and Rihanna are following each other on Twitter -- and the fans aren't very happy about it. On Saturday, people began to notice that Brown -- who beat his then-girlfriend Rihanna on the night of the Grammy Awards in 2009 -- started following Rihanna on the social media website. In turn, she followed him as well.
Earlier this year, RiRi talked about her lack of motivation to hook back up with her ex.
"We don't have to talk ever again in my life," Rihanna explains. "I just didn't want to make it more difficult for him professionally. What he did was a personal thing -- it had nothing to do with his career. Saying he has to be 100 feet away from me, he can't perform at awards shows -- that definitely made it difficult for him ... But you can never please people. One minute, I'm being too hard, and the next minute, I'm a fool because I'm not being hard enough."
A few months ago, Brown made headlines for causing mayhem following a "Good Morning America" interview where he was asked questions about Rihanna.
Chris Brown exploded in rage behind the scenes at "Good Morning America" this morning ... smashing a window and storming out without a shirt ... sources tell TMZ ... and it was triggered by on-air questions about the Rihanna incident. ABC sources tell TMZ ... Brown performed and was interviewed by Robin Roberts live from the Times Square studio when she began asking about the infamous incident. Brown tried to redirect the questions to focus on his album -- but Roberts continued to ask about Brown's legalissues stemming from the Rihanna incident.
Last February, Chris Brown had his restraining order downgraded but is forbidden from annoying, ha****ing and stalking ex-girlfriend Rihanna.
|
Supa Dups, from the Miami-based dancehall sound system Black Chiney, has added Eminem to the list of international acts that he has produced songs for.
The selector recently produced a song called Fast Lane for Eminem and Royce Da 5'9". It is the first leak off the rappers' upcoming Bad Meets Evil's Hell: The Sequel album.
In an interview with THE WEEKEND STAR last night, Supa Dups explained that he produced a song on Eminem'sRecovery album for which he won a Grammy award earlier this year. Subsequently, he said he sent the beat to Eminem and it was used on this latest project.
He said he is especially pleased to work on the project because after doing the Bad Meets Evil, there was a split between Eminem and Royce Da 5'9" and they have just decided to do the sequel more than a decade later.
"Mi feel very fortunate 'cause dem decide fi remake this album 12 years later. I am not even a hip-hop producer, so I don't know how I even end up on there," Supa Dups laughingly told THE WEEKEND STAR, noting that the beat was made by him and his production partner Jason 'JG' Gilbert.
While he feels fortunate and is sure it will be a hit, Supa Dups said he was not expecting much commercial success.
"I don't expect it to be a huge commercial single but it is something the hardcore hip-hop fans will appreciate. I expect it to be huge but not commercially, but I would like it to be," said Supa Dups who was also responsible for the remix of Eminem's White Trash Party with Vybz Kartel.
As for his Grammy win earlier this year, Supa Dups said he is also pleased.
"It felt good still. A lot of people go through their entire careers without even smelling or seeing one. It feels good but mi nuh comfortable yet. Mi waan win bout three more," said the producer, who has also worked with other international acts like John Legend, Estelle, Cardinal Offishall, Sean Paul, Buju Banton and Bruno Mars.
While he could not disclose much, Supa Dups said he recently did work with artistes like Akon and Melonie Fiona.
"A lot of stuff is recorded but you don't know when they are coming out till they come out," he said, noting that he has plans of coming to Jamaica to do some work later this year.
Kingston, Jamaica: Legendary artist manager Copeland Forbes, Managing Director at Comar Productions LTD recently announced that he has signed talented Canadian female reggae singer Bonnie Casey to a five year management contract. Forbes, one of the most experienced and knowledgeable artist managers in the industry has worked with reggae icon Bob Marley, Jimmy Cliff, Luciano, Bunny Wailer, Peter Tosh, Marcia Griffiths, Garnett Silk and the late Gregory Isaacs.
I see Bonnie as the female version of Bob Marley" Forbes said. "Not only does she have an incredibly vocal range but she has passion, charisma, beauty and a stage presence that is magical."
Casey garnered major attention last year with a stellar performance at the annual Jamaica Day Celebration in Toronto, Canada where she entertained thousands of screaming fans who cheered as she belted out a heartfelt rendition of the Jimmy Cliff classic 'Many Rivers to Cross.' She again turned heads with a smashing performance of "Willow Tree" and "Tune In" at the November 20th 2010 tribute concert for the late Gregory Isaacs at The Ronnie Williams Centre in Jamaica. Now that she is signed to Comar Productions, Forbes is predicting an extremely busy 2011 for Bonnie as he coordinates tours and performances for her in Europe, Asia and North America.
"In my almost fifty years in the reggae business, and for the hundreds of talented individuals I have discovered, managed or worked with, I must say I have an eye for spotting talent. Bonnie is an extremely talented artiste. We have a lot of touring and recording to do this year and I see an extremely bright future for her" he said.
Bonnie who was born to an Irish father and a Jamaican mother is described by those around her as vibrant, outspoken, unique, and as having a caring personality. She began singing at the age of 5 years old and benefited from voice and drama lessons at the Beckett School for the Arts in Toronto. The former Miss World Canada Beauty pageant finalist and fashion model draws her influences from Etta James, Bob Marley, Alton Ellis and Gregory Isaacs. She sings jazz, blues and contemporary songs but is focused on lovers rock and rock steady rhythms as she seeks to build a long term career in the reggae industry. Her fresh approach to music, her unique song writing ability, along with her versatile vocal range will no doubt give listeners that 'wow factor' that has been missing with many young acts currently in the industry. Using music as a communication tool, she intents to write and perform songs that music lovers can relate to. Her debut album is set to drop in late 2011 and will feature Sly & Robbie and Dean Frazier, who are short listed as producers for the project.
I feel excited and very optimistic to be working with Copeland and his team" Bonnie said. "He is one of the best in the business. God has blessed me with a great voice and with Copelands guidance, the sky is really the limit.
Singer Bonnie Casey (l) and her mom Paulet Casey (r) consoles artiste manager Copeland Forbes at the funeral of the late Gregory Isaacs in Jamaica recently.
CHECK OUT THIS TUNE HERE: IT MODD MODDD
DAR ES SALAAM (Reuters) - Hundreds of albinos are thought to have been killed for black magic purposes in Tanzania and albino girls are being raped because of a belief they offer a cure for AIDS, a Canadian rights group said on Thursday.
At least 63 albinos, including children, are known to have been killed, mostly in the remote northwest of the country.
"We believe there are hundreds and hundreds of killings in Tanzania, but only a small number are being reported to the police," Peter Ash, founder and director of Under The Same Sun (UTSS), told Reuters.
"There is belief that if you have relations with a girl with albinism, you will cure AIDS. So there are many girls with albinism who are being raped in this country because of this belief, which is a false belief."
Around 1.4 million Tanzanians among a population of 40.7 million have the HIV virus that leads to AIDS.
Albino hunters kill their victims and harvest their *la*hd, hair, genitals and other body parts for potions that witchdoctors say bring luck in love, life and business.
"(It is believed) a person with albinism is a curse. They are from the devil, they are not human, they do not die, they simply disappear," said Ash.
Ernest Kimaya, head of the Tanzania Albino society and a sufferer of the pigment disorder, said social stigma prevented many girls from reporting rape, making it difficult to say how many albinos had been sexually abused.
"These things are taking place underground. Even the albino killings started quietly, before the atrocities were finally exposed in public," Kimaya told Reuters.
Activists last week reported three murders of teenage albino boys from the same family in northern Tanzania, who were poisoned and their bones later robbed from their graves.
The Tanzanian government says it is determined to halt the macabre killings, but has been widely criticised for inaction.
Many people are familiar with Ruben I from his years of touring with reggae super star Warrior King. The two became friends over a decade ago when Ruben met and encouraged Warrior King to continue in music. After the success of virtuous woman, Warrior King was thinking of giving up on music and it was a conversation with Ruben I that got him to discard those thoughts and stay the course.
Shortly after meeting they starting spending a lot of time together as Ruben I would accompany Warrior King on his shows. Together they toured Germany, Paris, Switzerland, Denmark, America, Japan and several other countries. For the most part, Ruben I acted as Warriors flagman but as the years went on he started to perform with the artist, and in some cases even opened up for him. The two eventually recorded a single together entitled love Rastafari.
Due to personal family issues, Ruben I stepped away from the music, touring and limelight for a while. Being a father of one girl and three boys he felt that he needed to turn his attention to his children. He stopped touring with Warrior King and did not record any new music for a period of time.
Having resolved all family concerns, Ruben I is now back in the studio compiling tracks for his first album, which will be called Hard Times Passing Through. Ruben states that things he has seen both in Jamaica and abroad inspired the name of the project. The lead single, which is called hard times is available for free download to the public. Persons simply have to click on the following link to download http://www.mediafire.com/?7i2kmd722zayawa
The album will be released on Black Tibet Records. The label is hoping to have all songs ready for release by mid June but acknowledges that it could be delayed until the end of June. Ruben-I and his team are also working on the synopsis for the first video, which will be shot by Colby Vintage Boss Graham.
DJs wanting jingles or dubs at no cost from this artist simply have to email their sound/DJ info to mariajackson27@yahoo.ca. Free dubs and jingles will be done on a first come first serve basis and we do reserve the right to end this offer without prior notice.
To listen to the single, hard times, visit: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPS0h9P4BNs
A higgler who tricked a woman into believing he was a photographer at a modelling agency and took nude pictures of her, then distributed them when she wouldnt have sex with him, was sent to prison yesterday. [ Click image above to READ MORE ]
There is an ongoing debate within the music industry in Jamaica regarding the state of dancehall. Some are of the belief that this genre has become too negative and should not be allowed airplay on commercial radio. Regardless what your thoughts are about this form of expression, we all have to agree that dancehall has become a force to reckon with.
Investors are now looking at emerging dancehall artists as lucrative investments. Equally, major commercial brands are putting money in dancehall events and labels. As such, Maria Jackson Entertainment Company has decided to do a mix CD dedicated to the artists, producers and record labels that are actively working within the dancehall community.
Yellow Yam and Green Kalaloo is an hour and twenty-four minutes of hardcore underground dancehall music. It features rhythms from Big Ship, Phamily Productions, Frenz For Real, Board House and other labels. This mix features songs by some of dancehalls best-established and emerging artists alike.
It is also important to acknowledge the producers of dancehall. Because they are always locked in the studio working on creating the music, they are never given the same spotlight as the artists. This mix CD has productions from Steven the genius, Digital Sham, Red Boom, Version and other amazing producers.
Yellow Yam and Green Kalaloo was mixed by King-Arts (also known as DJ number One) with additional production and mastering by Maria Jackson Entertainment Company. Promotional sponsorship provided by Seven Music Promotion, Reggae Tapes, Blakkwuman22 Music and Maria Jackson Entertainment Company.
Listen to snippets from Yellow Yam and Green Kalaloo here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_PmgSNru-3o
Download the entire mix CD at http://www.mediafire.com/?nriyat9xzhr8268