Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

DNS- (Dohlance & Saylah) Dancehall Duo

December 29, 2008
Started By PahmaG2 Comments

Dohlance and Saylah stars un the making

Their seriousness mixed with a touch of humour, and a skill at riding a riddim, somewhat similar to that of a young Shabba Ranks, have set the duo Dohlance and Saylah in a class above the rest.The two have been creating waves on the local entertainment scene with outstanding performances since the start of the year at shows such as Spectrum, Follow Di Arrow and Mountain Dew Stunt Festival. As a testimony to their on-stage performances, they have been receiving rave reviews and garnering more fans on each occasion. Dohlance and Saylah has also made a name for themselves at the Crowing of Shane-O, Galidaz Bounce and Spring Break.A few weeks ago at Spring Break, the duo created much excitement when they performed in the midst of Dancehall's biggest acts. What should have been a short stint was extended into a six-song set, as the duo was called back for encore after encore. Their popular songs in the Dancehall are currently, "Be Yuh Please," "Wine Pon Me," Yuh Look Good," "Buck Yuh," "Slap It," and "Give It Up."In an interview with YardFlex, Dohlance revealed that he and his teammate are focused on making their mark in the industry in 2000&LOVE. "We are in the laboratory developing our unique sound, because that's one of the tings that the people really love about us," Dohlance explainedDohlance and Saylah will be featured on a soon-to-be-released Reggae compilation album, produced by the production company, Rise Above It International, based in Toronto, Canada. The duo has three songs on the album, which, will feature 40 artistes, predominantly foreign Reggae acts.Born Norwayne Hills (Dohlance) and David Reynolds (Saylah), the two met at a show in 2002 and have been performing together ever since. Dohlance, who is 24 years old, hails from Trelawny, where he was introduced to music by playing the drums and keyboards in church. Being shy was his greatest obstacle, as he realized his talent involved delivering his performances for huge audiences. With the support he received from friends and family, he finally conquered his fears.Saylah who is 21 years old is from Mavis Bank in St.Andrew. He also discovered his talent in the church and started penning his own songs from the age of 13, drawing inspiration from artistes Sizzla Kalonji and Bounty Killer.Since teaming up with their manager Palmer G in 2004, the duo has been doing numerous recordings at the Vendetta, Orange Hill and Di Endz studios.Their big break occurred with the release of the single "Wine Pon Me", which struck a responsive chord with the massives and was given power play on radio in the latter part of 2007. The accompanying video received heavy rotation on RE TV, Hype TV, Portmore Cable Channel, Music Plus and even on youtube. Their songs can be heard internationally in dollar vans in New York, the clubs in Canada, United Kingdom and Japan.Dohlance and Saylah are taking advantage of the increased momentum on their career, and promise to make 2000LOVE a very big year for them.You can check out their myspace pages http://
www.myspace.com/dohlance and http://www. myspace.com/saylahman
FI REAL NUH LIE MI WOULD A SEH MUNGA BUT DEVA LYRICS TUFF STILL

Kiprich did well at sting

December 27, 2008
Started By jamaicandude21 Comments
All who just saw sting did you think kiprich did well at sting? i thought his clash tunes were good.

tupacbiggie2

We are anxious to see the new Notorious film and see how Biggie is represented on screen. The death of Biggie is still a mystery for a lot of people but here is what we think really happened based on extremely reliable sources. Biggie and Pac were both murdered by the South Side Crips in Compton. There is no conspiracy theory!

First, Diddy and Biggie were loosely affiliated with the South Side Crips in Compton. Orlando Anderson (Baby Lane) who Tupac and Deathrow beat down that night was a member of this gang. After getting beat down, Baby Lane found his homies who were in Vegas and laid down Tupac that night with Suge just escaping death. (Orlando Anderson later was killed in Compton).

Aware of the ongoing Deathrow/Badboy beef, the crips saw the killing of Tupac as a business opportunity. They approached Biggie and indicated they had killed Tupac for him and wanted some money and Biggie told them he wasnt paying them sh*t and didnt tell them to murder Pac. It was on after that and the crips killed Biggie when he came back to LA. This is all based on information Bossip has obtained from highly placed sources who were in the know at the time of Biggies death.

It is an absolute myth that Pac and Biggie died over Hip-Hop or beef. As a member of the Outlaws said, they died over some street shit and the chain of events kicked into gear the night when Deathrow attacked Baby Lane in Vegas.

Its unfortunate two great talents met death so early. RIP.

Apple iPhone vid / review

December 29, 2008
Started By djshadow1 Comments
Heads exploded around the tech world today after Apple CEO Steve Jobs finally announced the long-awaited Apple iPhone during his Macworld 2007 keynote in San Francisco.
The iPhone, as Jobs proudly dubbed the device to thunderous applause , will be three devices in one: a cell phone, a wide-screen iPod with touch controls, and an Internet communications device. Cingular is the lucky carrier (apparently the companies have patched up their relationship following the Motorola Rokr bust).
Availability
As has been widely rumored for months, Cingular (soon to be AT&T) will be the sole iPhone carrier. Both Apple and Cingular stores will sell the phone starting in June. Europe will get it in the fourth quarter, and Asia will have to wait until next year. Finally, the U.S. gets something first!
Good thing we have a few months to save our pennies. The 4GB model will cost $499 with a two-year contract and $599 for the 8GB version (also with a two-year contract). Again, that's a bit high when compared to other carrier-supported music phones such as the Sony Ericsson W810i, particularly since you're locked into a contract with one carrier.
Design
To be successful, an Apple phone has to sport an iconic Apple design--the Rokr's dull design did it no favors. Fortunately, Apple fulfilled our expectations this time with a smooth design and an innovative interface. Say goodbye to traditional cell phone buttons--this phone is all touch screen, all the time.
With only one hardware control (a "home" key), iPhone's real estate is dominated by a huge, 3.5-inch display. From what we call tell, the device looks beautiful with a resolution of 320x480x160 pixels per inch (the highest iPod resolution yet, according to Jobs). The videos and photos look great, and we love that the "smart" screen shifts automatically to a landscape orientation when you start to play a video. One giant touch screen controls the phone, and no stylus is needed ("Yuck," Jobs said). Use your fingers to type messages and e-mails on an onscreen keyboard--Jobs promises onscreen typing will be faster than on a standard smart-phone keypad, but we'll believe that theory when we actually get a device in our hands. (And speaking of yuck, what about all that finger grease?) But we admit the scrolling feature looks especially promising as Jobs had only to slide his finger across the display.
Of course, such a large display makes for a large phone: the iPhone measures 4.5x2.4x0.46 inches. No, it won't slide into smaller pockets, but it joins the similarly sized Palm Treo 750, and its weight (4.8 ounces) is mostly standard for a handset of this size. Of course, the slim profile is noteworthy as well. We're a tad surprised Apple has jumped on the thin phone bandwagon, but trim design, after all, is the cell phone trend of the day. As Jobs made clear, iPhone is thinner than both the Motorola Q and the Samsung BlackJack.
Features
Though we're pleased Apple made it a quad-band (GSM 850/900/1800/1900) world phone, we're disappointed the iPhone's data support tops out at 2.5G EDGE networks. Considering the multimedia-friendly feature set, the omission of any 3G compatibility is a bit bizarre, particularly since Cingular now offers UMTS and HSDPA.
We wouldn't normally spend much time on voice mail, but Apple pulled a new trick out of its hat with Visual Voicemail. Rather than forcing you to call your voice mail and waiting to browse through multiple messages to hear the one you want, Visual Voicemail displays all the messages you have in a list, similar to an e-mail in-box. All you have to do is select the message you want and listen away.
It's tough to truly evaluate the iPhone's capability as a music and video player without some hands-on experience, but a cursory look at the product shots and details gives us some idea; that, and the fact it's closely related to the highly rated iPod music player iPod. In short, the iPhone is sure to offer an easy-to-use media playback interface, and the breadth of content offered by iTunes (its compatible service) ensures you'll never be wanting for music or video files. Of course, the touch-screen interface will take some getting used to for users who are accustomed to the iPod's Clickwheel.
The iPhone, which will be offered in 4GB and 8GB capacities (flash memory), doesn't have any restrictions on how much of that memory you choose to fill up with media content--no 100-track limit, as is the case with the Motorola Rokr. The convergence device also takes a step away from its iPod brethren by offering a built-in mic for audio recordings. And unlike most cell phones, the iPhone offers a standard 3.5mm audio jack, which will work with all mainstream stereo headphones. There's no FM radio but that's nothing new from Apple.
One thing is for certain: the 3.5-inch wide-screen display is much better for full-length movie viewing than the 5G iPod's comparatively paltry 2.5-inch screen. And Apple's new partnership with Paramount really helps to fill out the movie category in iTunes. If there's anything we have to complain about, it's that the video player isn't offered as a standalone device, sans the phone capability, (which is sure to mark up the premium on the price). Of course, if that happens, we'd like to see something above the max 8GB of memory. iTunes content and video load on the phone via a USB computer connection--unfortunately, as far as we know there are no wireless downloads--and the iPhone comes with an iPod connector.
Beyond the music player, the iPhone runs on Mac OS X and promises a 2-megapixel camera, a photo-management tool that rotates the display for landscape photos (like with videos), support for Google Maps, conference calling, a speakerphone, and text and multimedia messaging. We imagine there will be personal organizer applications as well, but Jobs kept mum on such fine details. Connectivity options also look promising with stereo Bluetooth (thankfully), Wi-Fi (a huge plus), POP3 and IMAP4 e-mail, and a Safari Web browser. The free push Yahoo e-mail app looks especially cool since we won't have to wait for syncing with a PC.
The iPhone also comes with some unique sensors that detect how you're using the phone and change the display accordingly. A proximity sensor knows when you bring the phone to your ear and then dims the screen and shuts off the touch screen. The ambient light sensor adjusts brightness and saves power, and the accelerometer knows when to switch between landscape and portrait orientation.
Outlook
After months of iPhone speculation, we were sick of the device even before it came out. But now, well, we have to admit it's quite lovely. The vivid display is especially attractive, and we like the sleek, minimalist design. The touch screen may involve a learning curve, but we're excited to try it out. The iPod functionality will no doubt draw many, and in particular, we're glad to see world phone support, the Yahoo e-mail app, stereo Bluetooth, and Wi-Fi.
On the downside, we were hoping for wireless iTunes music downloads. And it's too bad Apple stopped short of 3G support. Also, we're hoping that Apple introduces a standalone touch-screen iPod without the phone element as not everyone will want a convergence device. And here's the biggest caveat: Phones are only as good as the calls they make, so we'll have to wait for our final assessment once we get a review product. As for battery life, Apple is promising five hours for calling or video and 16 hours in music mode.
Overall, however, and despite the high price, we predict an iPhone success. The iPhone will garner interest simply because it exists and, as such, has great potential to move music phones into the mainstream. Nokia's Xpress music phones and Sony Ericsson's Walkman handsets present a strong challenge on some level, but Samsung's new Ultra Music probably stands to take the biggest hit if the two devices go head to head.

<object width=" mce_src="" alt="" border="" hspace="" vspace="" width="" height="" align="" />

Lawyers for rapper Lil Wayne are seeking more time to turn over documents for a lawsuit that accuses the artist of copyright infringement.

A federal lawsuit filed in May claims Lil Wayne didn't have permission to sample Karma Ann Swanepoel's song "Once" in one of his own songs, "I Feel Like Dying."

The suit says Lil Wayne's record label, Cash Money Records, tried but failed to negotiate a license to use Swanepoel's song before millions of people downloaded "I Feel Like Dying."

A court filing yesterday (Dec. 16) by Lil Wayne's attorneys asks a judge in New Orleans to extend a Friday deadline for turning over documents and other material requested by lawyers for Urband & Lazar Music Publishing.

sizzlakalan.jpgSizzla Kalonji arrived in The Gambia on Sunday December 20 and was given a welcome fit for a hero as The Gambian President, Ministers of his Cabinet and many of the countrys citizens gave him a warm and hearty welcome.

Treated like a head of state himself, the reggae star was invited to the Juramba Farm of His Excellency, Alhaji Ya Yah Jammeh along with his entire entourage where Sizzla spent the day getting down and dirty as he experienced harvesting rice on a multi-acre rice field, exchanging agricultural expertise and discussing issues ranging from repatriation to reparation and education.

Committed to the philosophies and teachings of Rastafari, Sizzlas interest in networking with key individuals, able to facilitate the Rastafarian goals, like getting the Diaspora to Gambia, became heightened on this visit.

He met with the Minister of Health, the Honorable Dr. Mbowe who facilitated a tour of the Royal Victoria Hospital where Sizzla gave support and showed love to those ailing there. Another official meeting took place with the Major General of The Gambian Army and Sizzla was presented with an award for his work. More important linkages were created when the Honorable Fatim Badjie, Minister of Information and Communication invited the reggae star to be chief guest at her wedding alongside the Vice President of The Gambia, Her Excellency Isatou Njie Saidy.

In the five days that Sizzla had to visit The Gambia, before his concerts, that are scheduled to start tonight, he was able to fulfill his aim of making solid connections as he began to carve a future in line with his Rastafarian reality.

Committing also to become a musical ambassador for The Gambia, Sizzla will serve as a bridge between the Gambia and the Diaspora. One of his main goals is to help the music industry there by building a studio for the youth. He has expressed the desire to become an honorary citizen and plans on helping with the schools, with building hospitals and assisting in other areas of The Gambias development.

Everywhere he went, Sizzla was greeted by hundreds of The Gambian community members, who flocked to get a glimpse of him and to touch his hands.

This will be Sizzlas first performance in Africa and the shows will be held at the Independence Stadium on December 25th and 29th and at Brikama Mini Stadium on December 27th.

Members of Sizzlas entourage include Firehouse Band, Jesse Jendah, Princess Menen, Bretts Promotion staff, Rebel T Music staff and Kalonji Records staff.

1227_chyna_ex_1.jpgWe've learned Chyna was rushed to the hospital early Saturday -- her birthday. She was so drunk when was admitted, the shrinks at hospital couldn't even do a psych evaluation.

Paramedics were called to her home in Burbank just before 5:00 AM. Saturday. She was celebrating her birthday with a few friends and had a way too many drinks -- which didn't mix well with her prescriptions.

Friends found her passed out with cuts on her arms and were so worried, they called 911. After she was taken to the hospital, doctors wanted to perform a psych evaluation, but her *lo** alcohol level so high they had to wait.

We spoke with Chyna in the hospital -- She said, "All I really want right now is a hamburger and fries right now."
this is my view wen i hear about sting and the clash with movado and kartel sting 2k8 should never keep at jamworld . ok let me put it that some ppl can overstand it easyer..  putting movado  to clash kartel over portmore is like u going to kill some one in der own place and u get back up wid all the man them from that place find u out and the all them jus come fi done u like that.its the same at sting more of portmore ppl was der cuz its der it keep so they get to full up the place and thats a fact right? ok so i think it should have keep at a dff place where if mavado dead we say yeah him dead ..next thing clash was tooooooooo short. plz let know wat u think ok ppl>>

Raw deal for JLP government

December 28, 2008
Started By Garrick4 Comments

WITH ONLY a four-seat majority in the House of Representatives, socio-economic and environmental conditions have dealt Prime Minister Bruce Golding what some commentators have described as "a bad hand."

Golding came to power on the back of Hurricane Dean and ended his first year mopping up the horror of Tropical Storm Gustav, which ravaged eastern parishes. In between, world oil and commodity prices spiked to unprecedented levels.

And then there was the world economic meltdown that is threatening to run many countries into the ground. In this regard, Finance Minister Audley Shaw could be looking at revising his $489.5 billion budget which was tabled in April.

Last month, at a Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) conference in Tivoli Gardens, senior party member Pearnel Charles said, "No other government in the history of Jamaica has had to face the turbulence of hurricane last year and hurricane this year and all of the other problems."

Things were bad

General Secretary Karl Samuda also told the Labourites, at the same event, that "while we were campaigning, we thought things were bad. In fact, we knew that they were bad, but Labourites, let me tell you, we had no idea how bad it was."

In addition to the socio-economic difficulties, Golding is politically handicapped by the constitutional motions brought against four elected JLP members of Parliament (MPs), which might force him to call a general election should the court declare them ineligible to sit in the House of Representatives.

The Court of Appeal has heard arguments brought by the JLP's Daryl Vaz and the Opposition People's National Party's (PNP), Abe Dabdoub, and will shortly determine whether Vaz remain MP for West Portland.

Dabdoub had convinced Chief Justice Zaila McCalla that Vaz, who was at the time of his nomination an American citizen, is not eligible to sit in the House. McCalla has ordered a by-election, but Dabdoub wants the seat to be handed to him. The decision in the Vaz case could impact three other JLP MPs - Gregory Mair, Shahine Robinson and Michael Stern.

Under-estimated governance

Political analysts Richard Crawford believes the JLP under-estimated the job of governance while it was campaigning.

"The Government went overboard and promised what it could not deliver," Crawford says, while adding that "it does not appear that the Government has done its homework and is capable of managing the country properly".

According to Crawford, should Golding choose not to go the route of a coalition government, or is saved from an election, he must find a way to make his government more effective.

"He needs to revamp and reconstitute his entire government and come out with a dynamic plan and team and perform in a way necessary to remain in office as a successful government," Crawford suggests.

But for political analyst Kevin O'Brien Chang, this major revamp is not necessary. He says crime is the only issue he is willing to blame the JLP for, but notes that "neither the PNP nor the JLP are willing to touch it".

In the meantime though, Chang says it is high time that Golding move decisively to replace Colonel Trevor MacMillan as the minister of national security.

"He has been a disappointment. We are not getting anything out of him," Chang says, reflecting a view which Crawford shares.

MacMillan was added to the JLP's Cabinet earlier this year and given the job of national security minister after Derrick Smith fell ill and was relieved of the portfolio.

p1.villa.jpg

WALPOLE, Mass. (AP) -- Police are searching for former New England Patriots player and high school football coach Danny Villa, who is accused of raping a child.

The Wrentham District Court on Friday issued a warrant for Villa's arrest on for three counts of rape of a child over 14 and three counts of enticing a minor.

The 44-year-old Villa had been working as a football coach at Walpole High School. He resigned Tuesday, hours after the school superintendent confronted him over allegations of criminal misconduct filed by a parent a day earlier.

Villa led one of the most successful high school football programs in the state, capping an undefeated season with a championship earlier this month.

Villa played in the NFL for 12 seasons, including six with the Patriots.

A 19-year-old woman who allegedly tied up her two-year-old daughter and left her at an abandoned animal hospital on Spanish Town Road in Kingston to attend a dancehall concert, spent last night in police lock-up and is expected to be formally charged tomorrow.

According to the police, Nicolette Lettford on Friday allegedly bounded the baby's hands and left her on the old hospital compound so she could attend 'Sting' - a popular stage show - that night.

A passer-by, police said, heard the child crying and alerted a police officer from a nearby community.

Fire-fighters were also alerted and, upon their arrival at the premises, which is located opposite the May Pen Cemetery, they found the child in a section of the abandoned building. The toddler was stooping and her wrists were bound with elastic bands, the police said.

She was handed over to the Denham Town police and later taken to the Bustamante Hospital for Children for examinations.

Late yesterday afternoon, the police told the Sunday Observer that doctors suspect that the child might be bleeding internally.

Lettford was later arrested on Friday when police - after searching her home on Goffe Way in Denham Town - found her getting dressed shortly before 9:00 pm at her friend's house on nearby Albert Street in the community.

"We will have to wait until Monday when all of the tests and diagnosis come back from the doctor before we can know exactly what are the charges against her," head of the Kingston Western Police Division, Superintendent Delroy Hewitt, told the Sunday Observer yesterday.

"What we understand is that the child might also be suffering from internal bleeding, probably there was some amount of abuse," said Hewitt. "So when all the results are in
we will know what to do exactly. Right now she is being held for child abandonment."

Hewitt said that Lettford was being detained in the female lock-up at the Central Village Police Station in
St Catherine.

weirdlc she fi dead.gif

alliance hit billboard

December 23, 2008
Started By dj rushie23 Comments
While the rest of Dancehall seems to be focusing on lyrical confrontation, Alliance members Serani and Mavado are scaling international heights.With the hotshot debut (highest new entry) on the Billboard Hot 100 Hip Hop and R'n'B chart this week, Serani's "No Games" continues to show the promise of being Dancehall's next big crossover hit.

Mavado's anthemic "I'm So Special" has also re-entered the same chart, even higher, at # 53 while Serani's "No Games" seems to be following the same path standing firm in the #55 position. Both songs were produced by TJ (TJ Records) on the Unfinished Business riddim.
"This is what we've been working for," said Serani. "The song is locking the NE and the plan is to impact the song across the US and then the rest of the world." Having formed a new partnership with Phase One Communications, Serani and his manager Julian Jones-Griffith are confident that this is just the beginning. Julian has been in New York speaking to several major labels and a deal seems imminent.

rip fraudo

December 27, 2008
Started By kichan3 Comments
kartel kill him people u no movado run and get booo,,,,,, ninja think kartel tell him guh *u*k him mother and start diss im,,,,,,, rip baber

At the annual Island Explosion show held last night in May Pen, Clarendon, deejays Bounty Killer and Movado didn't seem to be pleasing the crowd as much as they were booed off the stage, while Beenie Man and Kartel seemed to rule the night.

Mavado was booed soundly by a throng of patrons  last night. He went on the stage making comments like "Kartel ah *u*k Spice inna the Ramping Shop" and the people responded by booing him. Beenie Man also performed alongside Kartel and Spice, deejaying a verse on the Ramping Shop, before Kartel styled him wicked by deejaying that if he made a move on Spice, he would get gunshot. The crowd loved it.

It was a rude awakening for Mavado who struggled to find any songs that connected with the people, especially with the people clamouring for a clash at Sting 08. Word on the street yesterday was that Mavado had planned to tell the media he would not clash unless he got more money, even though Sting promoters have already paid him a hefty sum already.

Mavado vs Kartel

December 27, 2008
Started By Chabee4 Comments
Polwat Chino (second from right) re-enacts his attack on a Taxi driver in Bangkok

One of the largest video game distributors in Asia has halted sales of the Grand Theft Auto IV in Thailand after a teenager confessed to robbing and murdering a taxi driver while trying to recreate a scene from the game.

New Era Interactive said it had sent a note to all of its Thai stores telling them to pull the game off the shelves after a 19-year old high-school student confessed to killing a taxi driver with a knife he bought at a local branch of Tesco.

Police in Bangkok said that the youth "had wanted to find out if it was as easy in real life to rob a taxi as it was in the game."

Polwat Chino, described by his parents as polite and diligent, was arrested late on Saturday after he was found trying to steer a cab backwards out of a Bangkok street with the severely wounded driver in the back seat, according to local newspaper reports.

He had paid to play the game at a local shop in Bangkok, and said he had needed more cash to continue playing it and that the taxi driver looked like an easy target.

Neighbours in the Bang Phlad district in central Bangkok called police after Mr Chino was heard pressing the car's horn while reversing down a dead end street. He had been trying to drive away - apparently in an attempt to recreate a scene from the game in which a criminal steals a car to evade police - but was unable to control a real car, police said.

The victim, a 54-year-old man from the poor northern province of Maha Sarakham, had been stabbed ten times.

"I needed money to play the game every day. My parents give me only 100 baht a day ($2.97), which is not enough. I am also fed up with them fighting. They are civil servants and do not make good money."

"My mother gave me 500 baht ($14.85), so in the evening I went to the Tesco Lotus superstore and bought two knives." Police have charged Mr Chino with robbery, causing death and possessing offensive weapons. If gound guilty, he faces death by lethal injection.

Informers get viagra as payment...

December 27, 2008
Started By GA8 Comments
Embedded video from &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.cnn.com/video&quot; mce_href=&quot;http://www.cnn.com/video&quot;&gt;CNN Video&lt;/a&gt;

Spice Christmas Eve

December 26, 2008
Started By Thug Lord8 Comments
Mi see Spice christmas eve a half way tree eno

mi feel sumbody bounce me and me see seh a she, suh mi seh spice everything nice she a seh 'yea mon, alrite babez'

suh mi seh "RAMING SHOP ENO MON" b4 she step weh and she a seh 'yea yea' and mi fren a tel mi seh ar man did a screw eno mon lol 

Keyshia Cole Leads Week #1 Album Sales

December 28, 2008
Started By Garrick0 Comments

keisha-cole-album-cover.jpg?w=420&h=429

Keyshia Cole, Jamie Foxx, Plies, Anthony Hamilton, and Soulja Boy all dropped albums this past week:

Coles newest and third album A Different Me lands at no. 3 on this weeks charts, selling 322,000 copies, the best sales week of her career to date. Her 2007 album, Just Like You, also debuted at no. 2, but sold just 281,000 units.

Right behind Keyshia Cole is a new one from actor Jamie Foxx. His album, Intuition, scanned 265,000 units to put it at no. 3 during its first week. His previous album, Unpredictable, opened at no. 2 two years ago with 598,000 copies, but rose to no. 1 the following week.

Singer Anthony Hamilton returned to the charts with The Point of It All, selling 133,000 copies to put him at no. 12.

At no. 14 is Florida rapper Plies, and his third album, Da REAList, selling 114,000 copies This is Plies second album this year. In June, he released Definition of Real, which debuted at no. 2 with 215,000 copies sold.

Thats it for the top 20.

Later down the line, Soulja Boy Tellem opens at a disappointing no. 43 with iSouljaBoyTellEm, despite launching his Lets Go Platinum In A Week Campaign in November. The new album sold just 46,000 copies. His 2007 debut, SouljaBoyTellEm.com, began at No. 4 with 117,000, thanks to the runaway success of his hit single Crank That.

Those arent bad numbers with the economy being the way it is. We know someones out there making that special edition, deluxe cd that includes all of the artists albums mentioned above, and we want a copy, minus the Soulja Boy. Much appreciated.

Man Shot For Talking at the Movies

December 28, 2008
Started By Garrick12 Comments

james-cialella2

It looks like Netflix and On Demand movie orders will be skyrocketing:

A man angry that a family was talking during a movie threw popcorn at the son and then shot the father in the arm, according to police in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

James Joseph Cialella, 29, was charged with attempted murder, aggravated assault and weapons violations, a police report said.

Cialella told the family sitting in front of him in the theater on Christmas Day to be quiet, police said.

An argument ensued while others at the Riverview Movie Theatre watched The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, starring Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett, The Philadelphia Inquirer reported.

Cialella then approached the family from the left side of the aisle and shot the father, who was not identified, as he was standing between Cialella and his family, according to the police report.

The victim was taken to Jefferson Hospital with a gunshot wound to his left arm, police said.

Cialella was carrying a Kel-Tec .380-caliber handgun clipped inside his sweatpants, police said. He was arrested and taken into custody.

Foolish stuff like ignoring people, switching seats, or just asking for a refund are things of the past. Why, yall?

Kanye West and TMZ -- Nothing But Lies

December 28, 2008
Started By Garrick0 Comments
Catching Kanye West in a good mood is always a sight to behold and cherish -- but we had to ruin the moment by lying, telling him his new album is good. But then he lied right back at us re: his airport fight with the pappers.

1227_kanye_video.jpg
Relationships should be built on honesty.

WHATS WRONG WITH STING?

December 27, 2008
Started By Enterprise11 Comments
I was very dissappointed with sting. Laing need fi sort out di ting. Everybody knows the spirit of sting is to take the two hottest artist of the year or the two biggest rivals and mek dem face off. However, the clash needs to have rules.

1. Time rounds. DJ caht fi a set time and reel off lyrics. When time up next DJ

2. have a final round weh dem chat till dem eeda get a farwund or a boo. basically di punch line round 

3. Ninja is the king of sting...him nuffi inna di clash he should be di EMCEE but certainly not the judge since there is no ra** way him did ago open him mouth and seh kartel win.

4. Why dont the have a trophy for sting...afer 25 years...

Once again I thing sting was very unprofessional and poorly executed.
eg. With all the technology out there why are we still waiting 10 minutes for a band change?

And why cat we have clashes all night. eg Spice Vs Makka - Ladies Clash;  Kippo Vs Monsta (dem nuh ready fi bounty) Bounty Vs Merciles - Veterans clash; San vs Stitchie -Gospel clash (ok now I am fishing. LOl Once agen Ninja needs to retire and just be di god of sting and nuh badda wid di clash ting.

FinallI amd proposing a ban on leather, fur, cashmere and any othe hot ass fabric at sting...it makes us look like poppyshow.
NEW YORK Eartha Kitt, a sultry singer, dancer and actress who rose from South Carolina cotton fields to become an international symbol of elegance and sensuality, has died, a family spokesman said. She was 81.

Andrew Freedman said Kitt, who was recently treated at Columbia Presbyterian Hospital, died Thursday in Connecticut of colon cancer.

Kitt, a self-proclaimed "sex kitten" famous for her catlike purr, was one of America's most versatile performers, winning two Emmys and nabbing a third nomination. She also was nominated for several Tonys and two Grammys.

Her career spanned six decades, from her start as a dancer with the famed Katherine Dunham troupe to cabarets and acting and singing on stage, in movies and on television. She persevered through an unhappy childhood as a mixed-race daughter of the South and made headlines in the 1960s for denouncing the Vietnam War during a visit to the White House.

Through the years, Kitt remained a picture of vitality and attracted fans less than half her age even as she neared 80.

When her book "Rejuvenate," a guide to staying physically fit, was published in 2001, Kitt was featured on the cover in a long, curve-hugging black dress with a figure that some 20-year-old women would envy. Kitt also wrote three autobiographies.

Once dubbed the "most exciting woman in the world" by Orson Welles, she spent much of her life single, though brief romances with the rich and famous peppered her younger years.

After becoming a hit singing "Monotonous" in the Broadway revue "New Faces of 1952," Kitt appeared in "Mrs. Patterson" in 1954-55. (Some references say she earned a Tony nomination for "Mrs. Patterson," but only winners were publicly announced at that time.) She also made appearances in "Shinbone Alley" and "The Owl and the P**ycat."

Her first album, "RCA Victor Presents Eartha Kitt," came out in 1954, featuring such songs as "I Want to Be Evil," "C'est Si Bon" and the saucy gold digger's theme song "Santa Baby," which is revived on radio each Christmas.

The next year, the record company released the follow-up album "That Bad Eartha," which featured "Let's Do It," "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes" and "My Heart Belongs to Daddy."

In 1996, she was nominated for a Grammy in the category of traditional pop vocal performance for her album "Back in Business." She also had been nominated in the children's recording category for the 1969 record "Folk Tales of the Tribes of Africa."

Kitt also acted in movies, playing the lead female role opposite Nat King Cole in "St. Louis Blues" in 1958 and more recently appearing in "Boomerang" and "Harriet the Spy" in the 1990s.

On television, she was the sexy Catwoman on the popular "Batman" series in 1967-68, replacing Julie Newmar who originated the role. A guest appearance on an episode of "I Spy" brought Kitt an Emmy nomination in 1966.

"Generally the whole entertainment business now is bland," she said in a 1996 Associated Press interview. "It depends so much on gadgetry and flash now. You don't have to have talent to be in the business today.

"I think we had to have something to offer, if you wanted to be recognized as worth paying for."

Kitt was plainspoken about causes she believed in. Her anti-war comments at the White House came as she attended a White House luncheon hosted by Lady Bird Johnson.

"You send the best of this country off to be shot and maimed," she told the group of about 50 women. "They rebel in the street. They don't want to go to school because they're going to be snatched off from their mothers to be shot in Vietnam."

For four years afterward, Kitt performed almost exclusively overseas. She was investigated by the FBI and CIA, which allegedly found her to be foul-mouthed and promiscuous. 

"The thing that hurts, that became anger, was when I realized that if you tell the truth in a country that says you're entitled to tell the truth you get your face slapped and you get put out of work," Kitt told Essence magazine two decades later. 

In 1978, Kitt returned to Broadway in the musical "Timbuktu!" which brought her a Tony nomination and was invited back to the White House by President Jimmy Carter. 

In 2000, Kitt earned another Tony nod for "The Wild Party." She played the fairy godmother in Rodgers and Hammerstein's "Cinderella" in 2002. 

As recently as October 2003, she was on Broadway after replacing Chita Rivera in a revival of "Nine." 

She also gained new fans as the voice of Yzma in the 2000 Disney animated feature "The Emperor's New Groove.'" 

In an online discussion at Washingtonpost.com in March 2005, shortly after Jamie Foxx and Morgan Freeman won Oscars, she expressed satisfaction that black performers "have more of a chance now than we did then to play larger parts." 

But she also said: "I don't carry myself as a black person but as a woman that belongs to everybody. After all, it's the general public that made (me) not any one particular group. So I don't think of myself as belonging to any particular group and never have." 

Kitt was born in North, S.C., and her road to fame was the stuff of storybooks. In her autobiography, she wrote that her mother was black and Cherokee while her father was white, and she was left to live with relatives after her mother's new husband objected to taking in a mixed-race girl. 

An aunt eventually brought her to live in New York, where she attended the High School of Performing Arts, later dropping out to take various odd jobs. 

By chance, she dropped by an audition for the dance group run by Dunham, a pioneering African-American dancer. In 1946, Kitt was one of the Sans-Souci Singers in Dunham's Broadway production "Bal Negre." 

Kitt's travels with the Dunham troupe landed her a gig in a Paris nightclub in the early 1950s. Kitt was spotted by Welles, who cast her in his Paris stage production of "Faust." 

That led to a role in "New Faces of 1952," which featured such other stars-to-be as Carol Lawrence, Paul Lynde and, as a writer, Mel Brooks. 

While traveling the world as a dancer and singer in the 1950s, Kitt learned to perform in nearly a dozen languages and, over time, added songs in French, Spanish and even Turkish to her repertoire. 

"Usku Dara," a song Kitt said was taught to her by the wife of a Turkish admiral, was one of her first hits, though Kitt says her record company feared it too remote for American audiences to appreciate. 

Song titles such as "I Want to be Evil" and "Just an Old Fashioned Girl" seem to reflect the paradoxes in Kitt's private life. 

Over the years, Kitt had liaisons with wealthy men, including Revlon founder Charles Revson, who showered her with lavish gifts. 

In 1960, she married Bill McDonald but divorced him after the birth of their daughter, Kitt. 

While on stage, she was daringly sexy and always flirtatious. Offstage, however, Kitt described herself as shy and almost reclusive, remnants of feeling unwanted and unloved as a child. She referred to herself as "that little urchin cotton-picker from the South, Eartha Mae." 

For years, Kitt was unsure of her birthplace or birth date. In 1997, a group of students at historically black Benedict College in Columbia, S.C., located her birth certificate, which verified her birth date as Jan. 17, 1927. Kitt had previously celebrated on Jan. 26. 

The research into her
There is going to be some uproar about a song dissing Obama that was given out as a christmas gift by a US politician the song is called "Barack the Magic Negro" 

-- Edited by scyaffy at 19:08, 2008-12-26

your most painful experience

July 15, 2008
Started By Sound P40 Comments
???

speak on it. physical pain, emotional pain, whatever.

-- Edited by Sound P at 01:39, 2008-07-16

A clash between students from Calabar High and Kingston College resulted in one student being injured yesterday.

The fight, which occurred at the Half-Way Tree Transport Centre involved a number of boys from both schools. THE STAR understands that some of the boys from Calabar were taken to the Half-Way Tree Police Station where they were cautioned and sent home.

Meanwhile, a Kingston College student that was allegedly injured with a T-Square claimed to be unable to identify his attackers. The Half-Way Tree police are investigating.

Is Micheal Jackson Dying

December 22, 2008
Started By scyaffy12 Comments
Is Micheal Jackson Dying..?

there have been reports since yeaterday speculating MJ is on his death bed

http://daggering.blogspot.com/2008/12/micheal-jackson-dead.html

weird

-- Edited by scyaffy at 19:06, 2008-12-26
I TINK A BRAGGA DAT ...UR VIEWS?
give some me of your hottest ram mix plzz help me out

-- Edited by Dj Method at 15:09, 2008-12-26
mi still a search fi one
While Kanye West got into a war of words with 50 Cent over album sales last year, the Chicago rapper isnt concerned about doing big numbers for his latest effort, 808s & Heartbreak.

While the work, Wests fourth studio effort, is sure to be in the running among top selling albums, creating great art trumped commercial success this time around. 

"You know people sometimes don't understand great art when they first hear it, but I am very confident in it, West told the Associated Press. Whether it sells as much as the last one, or way more, I feel like I am just successful in doing something I felt really good about."

History may be on the side of outside the box album projects from Hip Hop artists. Cee-Lo and Danger Mouse found commercial success via Gnarls Barkley and Andre 3000s The Love Below helped push OutKast to diamond status on the Billboard charts.

http://www.hiphopdx.com/index/news/i...artbreak-sales

MAGNUM XTRAVAGANZA SELL OFF

Mi neva go but mi girlfriend dem say GT Taylor show sell off. Mavado gwaan good inna the early morning and get him forward dem, dem say Beenie performed well but him still ah do the same set after three years and people ah get bored with it. Him start the same way, do couple new tune and the same antics. Beenie Man, change yu game! Dem say Spice mud up Macka Diamond mad over de and all these things. The whole venue over de ah wait pon Kartel but him never forward last night and nuff people ah wonder what happened and dem disappointed. Worse, Bounty never forward either. Mavado promise fi kill and bury Kartel inna him owna hometown. Ninjaman gwaan good, him bring up a little girl who him claim say ah him daughter and she dun the place.

PEOPLE WAAN FI KNOW...

Who kill Ice and why? Ah just the other day mi spot him a Weddy and him did a push down a kriss Bimmer jeep and now this. Why, people why?

What a go gwaan over Sting later? Who shall kill who?

How dem a run off dem mouth about say Mavado dem no get boo? So much people can tell lie? Dem ah call up mi boss name and a bagga tings, dem worried eh! All argument ah go settle at Sting tonight, memba!

The Human Beat Box is taking a financial beating. 

Rap icon Doug E. Fresh - best known for his '80s hit "The Show" - has been socked with three foreclosure actions by banks looking to collect more than $3.5 million in unpaid mortgages on a trio of his Harlem homes. 

The rapper, 46, also is being chased by American Express for nearly $60,000 in credit-card debt, and the IRS just slapped him with a $367,000 tax lien on top of more than $40,000 owed to the state tax collector, records show. 

The golden-voiced rapper, whose real name is Douglas Davis, grew up in Harlem. After his skill at vocally imitating drumbeats and percussion sounds made him famous in the 1980s, he stayed in the neighborhood, investing in local real estate and raising five sons. 

He fell behind in payments and, according to a foreclosure suit filed in Manhattan in late August, 2008, he now owes more than $1.73 million. 

Davis is putting the finishing touches on Doug E's Chicken and Waffles, a new Harlem restaurant slated to open next month. 

He declined to comment on his woes.

http://www.bgol.us/board/showthread.php?t=334713
SAN ANTONIO A San Antonio fast-food restaurant cashier laughed at a robbery suspect and told him to get a job if he wanted money during a failed holdup on Tuesday evening.

Police said the suspect approached the worker and demanded money, but the cashier laughed and apparently didn't realize the man was trying to hold up the place.

The suspect then allegedly pulled out a box cutter and demanded the cashier's wallet. The employee complied, but had no money in his billfold.

The suspect fled, but was caught by police who responded to the robbery call.

San Antonio police said the suspect is expected to be charged with aggravated robbery.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20081218/...XOmec3bUsuQE4F
Hip Hop mogul Sean "Diddy" C****s has made a bold offer to remake the traditional Times Square New Year's ball - and is willing to donate $1 million to charity of the proposal is approved.

According to reports, Diddy and Ciroc Vodka want to redesign the current ball, which drops down the flagpole on top of One Times Square every New Year's at midnight, to the brand's blue circle.

"As the official vodka of New Year's Eve, it's only fitting that we take over New York, the most iconic New Year's city in the world," said Diddy in a statement. "I'm going to give every adult in America a taste of what it's like to enjoy a sophisticated celebration with Diddy, and what better time than while ringing in the New Year."

If the plan is approved, the $1 million will go to needy charities in New York city. It is, as of yet unknown whether the city has given the go-ahead for the redesign.

Regardless of the decision, Diddy will be hosting a New Year's party in Miami, FL next week at the Fontainebleau nightclub with Maroon 5's Adam Levine and Chace Crawford.

http://www.hiphopdx.com/index/news/i...new-years-ball
DJ Scratch has clarified his surprising comments about EPMD's lackluster sales of their latest album, We Mean Business. 

Last Firday (Dec. 19), radio personality Miss Info revealed via her blog an email from DJ Scratch with such comments as "EPMD stands for Erick and Parrish Making Diddly Squat," making light of their record sales.

DJ Scratch, who was not involved in the album, explained later via Miss Info that he didn't write the letter himself:

I didnt make or write that statement about EPMDs record sales. A fan on myspace wrote that statement and sent it to me. I was shocked about what he wrote so I copied and pasted it and sent it to my friend Miss Info and a few other friends to show them how some people are still angry about our split. It was my fault to not explain in the email 'yo, look what someone wrote to me'. Its hard express emotion via text. So I apologize for the miscommunication to Miss Info, EPMD & the fans.

But since I have the floor I will make a statement..

If I was involved with the new EPMD album the result of the record sales wouldve been the same. I listened to the album. Its better than the last two weve dropped.

I would be crazy to think that people wouldnt buy EPMDs album because I left the group. I only produced one track per album (except Business As Usual where I produced four tracks). So that wouldnt make any sense.

Our split was very public, I only did two interviews about our split (allhiphop.com and nodfactor.com). Anything else are not my words or opinions. We both have fans as a group and fans individually. I reached out to them when I saw the result of the sales to ask if theres anything I can do to help. Even though we have our problems, I dont want to see them fail, as I expressed in a earlier myspage blog."

DJ Scratch continued, explaining his actual thoughts on EPMD's latest album's sales.

"Usually when a artist drops an album after a long hiatus (Hip Hop, R&B).. The record sales will not be as huge as when you first came out.

The main reason for that is the times have changed, the era has changed. The attention span of the younger fans are shorter. So you have to consistantly put out material to stay current.

The advantage that EPMD and other Legends like LL Cool J, Wu-Tang, Rakim ect is that when you have CLASSICS.. you can tour forever!!! So the poor record sales are not a factor in making money. 'Hit records last six months, but classics last forever.'

Our core fans are in their late 30s.. early 40s. So all we ask is to support our Legends and go out and buy the new EPMD, Wu-Tang, LL, Diamond D, Q Tip, Busta, DJ Quik, Pete Rock and Large Professor albums. Because at the end of the day.. The fans make us or break us.

No matter what, you cant take away our classic EPMD records, the groundbreaking scratches on the hooks and the ill DJ routines at our shows. So regardless Im DJ Scratch of EPMD for day one to day done.

http://www.hiphopdx.com/index/news/i...nts-about-epmd

Lil Wayne Copyright Suit Continues

December 26, 2008
Started By djshadow0 Comments
Billboard reports Lil Wayne's lawyers have asked for more time to provide documents in the ongoing copyright infringement case against the multi-platinum rapper [click to read]. The suit was filed in May, on behalf of Karma-Ann Swanepoel (formerly of the South African Pop band Henry Ate). In the suit, Swanepoel maintains that producer Jim Jonsin either sampled or interpolated the song "Once" in Lil Wayne's "I Feel Like Dying" [click to read].

The suit also states Jonsin and Cash Money/Universal unsuccessfully attempted to negotiate a license to use "Once." The recording in question was never released on a proper Lil Wayne album, although it was included as a free download on free mixtapes including C3: The Leak and The Drought Is Over 2.

Papers filed in a New Orleans court Tuesday state the deadline for Wayne's attorneys to turn over the necessary documents are Friday, December 19. If the extension is granted, it is not known when the documents would need to be turned in. The amount Swanepoel and her attorneys are seeking has not yet been made public.

http://www.hiphopdx.com/index/news/i...suit-continues
OK....... @ SCHOOL(UWI) THERE IS A TREE CALLED THE KC TREE CAA A BEER MAN ......A MEAN KC MAN PAR UNDER THERE. UPON THEIR ARRIVAL @ SCHOOL ON MONDAY MORNING, ALREADY SADDENED BY THEIR PREVIOUS DEFEAT @ THE BOYS CHAMPIONSHIPS......ONLY TO C THEIR PRECIOUS TREE PAINTED IN GREEN AND BLACK  .......... QUESTION???? WHO TAKES PAINT TO SKULE???? BUT N E WAY BY THE ENDING OF THE SCHOOL DAY THE CALABAR COLOURS WHERE PAINTED OUT WITH WHITE PAINT..........THIS I MIGHT ADD IS SO HUMOUROUS..........BUT FEW DAYS LATER........THE WHOLE SCHOOL WAS GRAFFITTIED BEARING THE MARK "CALABAR RULES" ALL OVER THE SCHOOL N I DO MEAN ALL OVER

COULD THIS BE A ACT OF SABOTAGE ON THE PART OF THE KC OLD BOYS??????

R COULD IT BE A DELIBERATE ACT OF THE RABALAC BOYS TO SMUTHER THE TASTE OF VICTORY IN THE FACES OF THEIR AGE OLD RIVAL KC ??????

WHO TO TELL......... C PART FEW OF THE NEVER ENDING DRAMA ON FRIDAY AS I WILL C WAT THE RELEVANT AUTHORITY WILL DO IN CONFLICT WITH THE SITUATION

WILL THE FUED END .............. DUM DUM DUM

P.S FEEL FREE TO LEAVE UR COMMENTS ON THE MATTER

IPB Image
Mi tell everybody say Clarendon and all of Central Jamaica ah Beenie Man and Kartel country and now the whole a Jamaica know. Mavado was booed soundly by a throng of patrons at the Island Xplosion show last night. It was a rude awakening for Mavado who struggled to find any songs that connected with the people, especially with the people clamouring for a clash at Sting 08. Word on the street yesterday was that Mavado had planned to tell the media he would not clash unless he got more money, even though Sting promoters have already paid him a hefty sum already. Things look sticky for the Gangsta for Life and he looked shaky onstage like he had no game plan for what the crowd wanted. Soon link yu back, mi a go drink some sorrel and deal with some ham.

-- Edited by rrDesignZ at 12:34, 2008-12-25

Ready fi dun dem' (Vybz Kartel)

December 24, 2008
Started By PRODIGIUM11 Comments
STARLEFT_1_PNBEHStingD2AM.jpgSTARLEFT_1_PUH56ChampioAM.jpg
( L - R ) Vybz Kartel, Mavado

Deejay Vybz Kartel is ready and lyrically loaded to settle all arguments at Sting this Friday at the Jamworld Centre, Portmore.

When THE STAR spoke with the deejay yesterday, he said that while he has no new songs prepared for the event, it will be "just hit song and hit slang".

The deejay did not hold back when asked about his preparation for the clash against Mavado. "Me want them line up together fi me dun dem, 'cause they have been slandering my name for two years and so they have no choice but to defend their argument Friday."

After nearly two years of recorded lyrical clashing between the two entertainers, Sting 2008 is billed as the event to settle the warring for good. Jamaicans, locally and abroad, are looking forward to the clash which will see the promoters having security personnel and possibly barriers placed between the artistes while they trade tunes.

But while Kartel is prepared and waiting for Sting, the reactions from the other camp are not so clear. Several attempts by THE STAR to get Mavado to comment on his plans for Sting were unsuccessful.

However, just over a week ago while on a popular entertainment programme, he appeared to be unreceptive to the clash. On the show, Mavado said: "... Two hundred police 'round stage, barriers and cage and beer ting, mi seh hold on, if two artiste a go clash den, and yuh waan barriers, cage and beer tings, den yuh know how dangerous it is ... . Yuh a boost clash, artiste a go confront artiste. Mi nuh know nuting 'bout dat ... mi nuh waan be di one who have the fall of Sting on my name."

Mavado further stated on the show that he does not know about any clash and had not spoken to anyone affiliated with Sting about a clash.

Avoided confrontation

Prior to the interview, it was reported that Mavado had avoided a confrontation onstage with Kartel at a stage show in St Elizabeth. It was rumoured that Mavado had spoken about Kartel onstage but when the artiste tried to defend himself, Mavado hastily left the stage. This has led to speculation in the industry that Mavado is not entirely willing to clash at Sting despite throwing words at Kartel in November on another popular entertainment programme.

In November on that show, Mavado had said, "Kartel don't even five per cent near to my level to reach a 100. Mi nuh go nowhere and hear nobody talk about Kartel, Jamaica alone ... . When mi step pon people, mi deal wid it different mek dem cry. Yuh see how dem cry ova Champions."

When THE STAR spoke to sources close to Mavado yesterday they claimed that the singer was ready for the clash with new and exciting material.

During an interview he said growing up he was a huge fan of KG,he has followed him his entire career.Greatness meets greatness. They are shooting a Gatorade commercial today.

CHURCH IN DEN OF SIN

December 24, 2008
Started By STUWY774 Comments
STARCover_1_P473QChurchIM.jpg

The Delano Avenue branch of the Church of Christ is located in what some would describe as a den of sin. The church is flanked by a motel and a strip club off Hagley Park road, St Andrew.

Although this could be a source of contention, the parties have so far managed to co-exist in somewhat of a harmonious fashion.

The church was established more than 20 years ago, but recently, these establishments have set up shop along the avenue, bringing to the area persons seeking something other than salvation.

Major problem

Peter Brown, assistant pastor of the church, told THE STAR that the church once had a major problem with the strip club as its music would often disturb services and meetings. He however admitted that this has not been the case for sometime and the owner has been considerate. He however added that there was still some discomfort.

Brown said, "We do have a problem because we don't feel comfortable knowing that these practices are going on nearby. On one and two nights, you know the go-go club is there, so some of the girls will come outside in their panties and that type of behaviour, and we don't really appreciate that. And you know people will say things like since it's a church why is there a motel and a strip club nearby."

He said those in the church try to spread the word to the club's patrons and visitors. "We try to talk to dem and encourage dem to be a part of the church, but it's not so convincing," he said. "As far as the noise though, they realise that we don't like it and they try not to play it so loud, especially on Sundays, Tuesdays and Thursdays when we have our services. The owner also told us that he would talk to his workers, so they wouldn't play as loud when we have our worship."

He said no one has been turned off from attending the church because of its location.

When THE STAR contacted the owner of the club, he said the church usually calls and complains if the music is too loud. He added however that this has not happened for a while. He said, "Mi mek sure when dem a play dem turn di music low and there are times when dem have dem service, dat mi tell dem fi turn it down or turn it off."

He said he has even gone as far as to erect a notice in his music room, so new selectors can be made aware of the situation. As it relates to girls parading near the church, he told THE STAR that he is hardly at the establishments and has no knowledge of that. He said he offered to purchase the church and help them to relocate but the offer was not met with much agreement.

He added, "Di problem is seh di pastor live dere too. But mi all offer fi sound proof di pastor room, an mi nuh memba wha im did seh." He told THE STAR that in the past, he has also offered to pay for the pastor and his wife to spend the night at a hotel, if they are disturbed by the music.

YOUNG GIRL SPANISH GIRL FROM ENGLAND WAS REPORTED MISSING IN JAMAICA FROM DECEMBER 18 2008. SHE IS  DANIELLE RODRIQUEZ 20 YEARS OF AGE LIGHT COMPLEXION AND SHORT. LAST SEEN IN THE SPANISH TOWN KINGSTON JAMAICA AREA(WATFORD ROAD) PLEASE CONTACT HER FAMILY AND FRIENDS IF ANYONE KNOWS OF HER. THIS IS A SERIOUS MESSAGE AND SHOULD NOT BEEN TAKEN FOR NO JOKE THANKS MUCH.

Singer Tarrus Riley's newest album, scheduled for a March 2009 release, will feature collaborations with Jnr Gong, Etana, Allison Hinds and Demarco.

20081218T220000-0500_143902_OBS_PRODUCER_DEAN_FRASER_UPBEAT_ABOUT_NEW_TARRUS_RILEY_ALBUM_PROJECT__1.jpg
RILEY... album scheduled for a March 2009

It's the crooner's first album in three years, and currently Riley is recording at Grafton Studios in Kingston.

"We are 50 per cent complete, at least. We have come a far way," manager and producer Dean Fraser told Splash.

They are currently working on a track with soca songstress Alison Hinds.

"We hope to do a collaboration with Hinds. So we are writing the song right now," said Fraser. "And we are going to do a song with Jr Gong. We have other plans we are thinking about, including a collaboration with Tarrus, Etana and Dwayne Stephenson."

Fraser was unable to disclose the title of the album at that moment (he forgot it). "You know the record label just ask me that. I can't remember."

The Riley team wants a Grammy with this one. "We hope that come 2009 we will definitely be there," said Frazer of his artiste who rose to popularity with Parables (2006). That album was not an instant hit, but snowballed with some of the biggest reggae tunes of 2007; including the eventual Song of the Year for 2007, She's Royal.

This year VP Records reissued Riley's first album, Challenges (2004). Frazer asserts that Challenges was Grammy worthy but no one heard it. "The first album really and truly was a wicked works. And is only now start to creep up on people. We regret it still," he was alluding to the fact that re-issued albums are ineligible for Grammy nominations. "But a lot of times, really good albums are not nominated. We hope that come 2009 we will definitely be there."

But don't expect the next album to be similar to previous releases. "We are not trying to compete with Parables or anything like that but we should come up with something unique and musical," noted Frazer, most known as a renowned saxophonist.

A departure from the norm may see the inclusion of the trendy T-Pain voice effects.

"Maybe, we will use it on one song. He has a c****ination with Demarco and we might do a little bit of that just for variation and to keep the thing on a level. We don't want to appear as if we are very old fashioned and don't want to include (effects). So we have to give them a touch (of it). So that dem understand that we understand dem."

The album will have mostly original tracks and utilise local musicians.

"We have to keep the music rich and rolling over and of course we have the support of the Jamaican musicians," he said.

There will be a few covers. Fraser would not disclose the names of the covers.

"On this album we are doing two cover songs... (also) there is a Bob Marley rhythm that we are going to use. But otherwise straight original tracks," Fraser concluded.

STAR SUSS

August 22, 2008
Started By alligcold2 Comments
What a weeeeeeeeek! Mi a tell yuh is like di Olympic team mek Konshens song 'Winner' dem theme song! Wi get medal till wi weak! And what a way some a dem overseas media deh badmind! Mek dem gweh! But massive, mi a say a piece a dancehall clash soon start yuh see! Mi say di song dem sickkkk an deadly! Lawd! Email me pon: hotgalcherry@hotmail.com. Suss time yaw man.

'STITTING' DI PAST TOGEDDA

Now lass week mi mention say mi did hear one ting wha did mek mi vex like 'twiss up face Stit' and mi get a email a ask mi who name so. Is a joke or wha? Oonu nuh know ugly Mumraw from Thunder Cats? Well, a him uglier brodda! Lawd gawd! A joke. But oonu really nuh know bout King Stit, di veteran DJ who look like Ninja Man, Shabba Ranks and Predator c****ine? Well if oonu nuh know, oonu check google. But wha really a happen wid Stit?

Di lass time mi talk to him a bout two year ago aftah mi hunt him dung like Sherlockeena Holmes, di way how mi vex mi cudden even deal wid no interview. If ah one ting mi hate is smaddy wid more problem dan me and problem-machine, Norris Man, c****ine! When mi call smaddy fi bung bang out one interview, mi nuh waah hear bout 'wha me can do fi you'. If mi cudda do summen fi nobaddy but miself, mi wudden a wuk! But it juss raise di point wha mi did mention one time bout di ole time artiste dem who nevah have nobaddy back den fi help dem set up dem finances proppa and deal wid royalties so dem can alright now. Smaddy caan start some series of oldies shows (but nuh kill wi wid dem tho) fi help out dem people deh?

COLLO WHE YUH CLOTHES DEH?

STARRIGHT_1_P3J2PStoneLAM.jpg
Dancer Collo Collo - file

Collo Collo mi laugh so till mi nearly bawl when me an Kaboom an Pinky British see yuh outta Half Way Tree lass week Friday! Mi say when Kaboom touch mi an say 'look pon Collo Collo', mi stan up fi bout 3 minute a try find yuh! Mi did really see di big nose smaddy inna merino an 3/4 pants tan up an a cuss one invisible smaddy, but mi did tink a one of di usual HWT psycho dem.

Whe yuh 'men in black leather tights and matching leather vest outfit did deh'? Whe yuh usual weird follower dem deh; all di brown yute who eva a wear di ole slavery time hat dem wha yuh flip one side, but him go put a twist pon it an add loop earring? How yuh mean wha wi stop an a look pon yuh fah? A true yuh flop as dancer now, yuh start charge tax fi people a look?

Nuh blame we when yuh cyaan wear yuh usual leather clothes an Grim Reaper boot! Ah nuh fi wi fault di money yuh when deh save fi di matching leather whip, yuh haffi use pon taxi fare! Oh yeah, Candy British say fi tell yuh fi 'Gweh!'

DON'T OPEN YUH MOUTH AND LAUGH

My girl! Whaapen to yuh face?!! One a di INK memba dem go a pharmacy and see yuh wid yuh face batta bruise up! Yuh cyaan come pon TV an look so. Mi hope di make-up can covah it up, cause it nuh look good fi a try laugh and 'kikikikikikiki' wid celebrity and di whole a face a shatter like gravel! A who do yuh so? A nuh di DJ?! Could nevah!

TUESDAY NIGHT WAS A PRANK OR WHA?

Look here ladies a whe oonu get dem stylist deh from? Mi say Tuesday night when mi see oonu pon TV all mi cudda say was 'di horror, di horror, such wretched horror!' Now mi need fi point out dat two a oonu a people who mi rate not just as broadcasters but as strong black women, but wha mi see Tuesday, mi caan hold it een.

Wha deh guzzum necklace of bones wha dem put round yuh neck? Yuh nuh see smaddy a try damage yuh? One wrong move an di bone/teeth dem puncture a vital vein right deh so pon TV! Nex ting, mi cudden even see yuh face wid di big pink rose pon yuh jacket, not to mention di uncalled for black lace/ruffle shirt underneath it! No man! Stop it!

Massive mi gone and memba don't mek diss week pass an nuh tell smaddy yuh love how yuh feel! Life short. Mi INK family; Nikki Z; Princess; T. Robinson (Ohio); Hot 97, Rhona Foxx; Dizzle; Chervette (and ress mi name nexx week) big up oonu self.

Rapper Lil Wayne has sparked rumours of a feud with 50 Cent after making disparaging comments apparently aimed at the 'In Da Club' star on a new mixtape. The 'Lollipop' hitmaker appears to take lyrical jabs at his rap rival on a freestyle titled 'Louisianimal' from his The Drought Is Over mixtape. On the track, he raps: "All about a dollar, f**k two quarters" - lyrics understood by fans to be a swipe at 50 Cent's stage name. Lil Wayne continues to take aim at the superstar's endorsement of Vitamin Water, saying: "B**ch, I'll pour syrup in that Vitamin Water." He goes on to add: "I hope you die ugly, and tonight will be gorgeous."
yow simce unnu suh bad wid di sex questions dem mi wah unnu ansa deh obe yah n tekk mi how long unnu ever ave sex fah
Image: Paris Hilton

LOS ANGELES - Los Angeles police are investigating a burglary at Paris Hilton's home they say left her bedroom ransacked and about $2 million in jewelry missing.

Los Angeles police Officer Julianne Sohn said the break-in occurred around 5 a.m. Friday at Hilton's home in the Sherman Oaks area of Los Angeles. Sohn says detectives report that a man wearing a hooded sweat shirt and gloves broke in through the home's front door and ransacked Hilton's bedroom.

Hilton was not at home at the time. She had been photographed the previous night at several LA nightspots.

«First  <  1344 345 346 347 348524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by