working on ... Hyah Slyce presents "STEPPING TO GLORY"..the OFFICIAL mixtape
Ne-Yo plans Emancipation weekend parties in Jamaica |
Wednesday, 15 June 2011 |
American singer Ne-Yo says he will be staging at least two parties in Jamaica over the Emancipation weekend, adding to the mix of social events planned for that holiday period. Click image above to read more. |
Etana completes 12-city US tour |
Wednesday, 15 June 2011 | |
With her second album out and climbing reggae charts around the world, Jamaican singer Etana recently wrapped up a 12-city tour of the United States, which began on May 10. Click image above to read more. ] |
!!!Click The Video & Read In Description Box!!!
Assassin scores first #1 this year |
Monday, 13 June 2011 20:29 | |
Top-flight deejay Assassin (also known as Agent Sasco) scored his first number one single of 2011 with Talk How Mi Feel, which hit pole position on the Jamaica Music Countdown charts last week. |
Mavado charged with assault |
Tuesday, 14 June 2011 | |
Popular Jamaican dancehall entertainer David Brooks, better known as 'Mavado', was yesterday charged with assault following an incident at a nightclub in New Kingston. [ Click image above to read more. ] |
Pepsi pours more than $2m into Dream Weekend |
Tuesday, 14 June 2011 | |
Soft drink giant Pepsi says it is pouring more than $2 million into this year's staging Dream Weekend one of the two four-day all-inclusive parties staged in Negril, the popular tourist resort town on Jamaica's north-west coast, over the Independence weekend. Click image above to read more. |
Lady Gaga sings for gay rights in Pope's back yard |
Monday, 13 June 2011 | |
Pop queen Lady Gaga concluded a huge European gay rights march in Rome on Saturday night with a rousing call to governments to defend gay rights. [ Click image to read more. ] |
Lil Wayne's 'Unplugged': Old Hits And A Soon-To-Be Smash |
Monday, 13 June 2011 | |
LL Cool J, Jay-Z, Lauryn Hill and now Lil Wayne. On Sunday (June 12), Weezy joined MTV's "Unplugged" hip-hop ranks with a most energetic performance. [ Click image above to read more. ] |
Emma Watson In Vogue: Finding Who She Is, Looking To Life After 'Harry Potter' |
Monday, 13 June 2011 | |
Emma Watson doesn't know who she is. A funny conundrum for an international acting icon, but quite understandable, too. The magic of Hollywood sometimes makes identities disappear. Especially for wizards. [Click image above to read more. ] |
Oh
you thought these mickiefickies were playin games?!?
For the drug cartel boss who has everything, the latest piece of military hardware is the narco tank.
Todays competitive crime mafias in Mexico are no longer satisfied with bazookas or rocket-propelled grenades or land mines. The Mexican military has discovered that gangsters south of the Texas border are building armored assault vehicles, with gun turrets, inch-thick armor plates, firing ports and bullet-proof glass
The monsters look like a cross between a handmade assault vehicle used by a Somali warlord and something out of a Mad Max movie with Mel Gibson in a post-apocalyptic no mans land. Complete with battering rams.
The assault vehicles have appeared in several confrontations with Mexican authorities. In the western state of Jalisco, soldiers confronted one of the beasts in May and managed to disable it by shooting out its tires. So far the trucks have not been seen in the cities and remain for now mostly a chilling curiosity.
Dancehall deejay Elephant Man appeared before the Corporate Area Criminal Court on Thursday facing accusations that he stole electricity from the Jamaica Public Service (JPS.). Elephant Man denied the allegations.
However, JPS investigators and police told the court that they went to residence Hill Crest Avenue apartment in St. Andrew, last week Thursday; catching him in the act of stealing electricity.
The investigators claimed that they found an illegal wire connection to his apartment & that the appliance in his home consumed about 2,200 kilo watt hours per month; totaling JA$68,000 a month. The JPS officials are still trying to determine how long the Pon Di River deejay had that illegal connection in place
Herbert and Zelmyra Fisher have an extraordinary story to tell. Theyve been married for 86 years. Together, they endured the Great Depression, World War II, the Korean War, Cuban Missile Crisis and Vietnam, they have seen the impact of the Civil Rights Movement, watched man land on the moon, the dropping of the atomic bomb, lived through the terms of 15 presidents and still live to tell about it. But there are many centenarians for whom the same holds true so what makes Herbert and Zelmyra so extraordinary? Throughout everything, they have remained married.
Married on May 13, 1924, 105-year old Herbert, and 103-year-old Zelmyra do not pretend to know any secrets to a lasting marriage. They have been married longer than any known living couple, had five children and have watched countless grandchildren and great-grandchildren come into the world. They are a sweet, aging pair that will tell you truthfully that they were married because Zelmyra did not give [Herbert] any trouble and Herbert was not much to look at [but] he was quiet and kind. After 86 years, they remain in the home where they raised their five children, sleep in different bedrooms and love each other all the same. They hold the world record for length of marriage for two living persons. Is your union built to last the test of time?
Marriage Advice:
Question: You got married very young how did u both manage to grow as individuals yet not grow apart as a couple?
Answer: Everyone who plants a seed & harvests the crop celebrates together. We are individuals, but accomplish more together.
Question: At the end of bad relationship day, what is the most important thing to remind yourselves?
Answer: Remember marriage is not a contest never keep a score. God has put the two of you together on the same team to win.
Newcastle have made Lille's Yohan Cabaye their first signing of the summer, after agreeing a five-year deal for the midfielder.
The 25-year-old helped the French side to a league and cup double last season, but told his team-mates before their final game of the season that he was bound for Tyneside.
The transfer fee is reported to be Ł4.3m.
"This is a fantastic move for me," Cabaye said.
"I have enjoyed great times with Lille but the time is right now to test myself against the best and playing for Newcastle United in the Premier League does just that.
"My first impressions of the club and the city are that it is a lovely place and the stadium is magnificent."
Cabaye's good form with Lille earned him a France debut against Norway in August.
Source: BBC Sport
-- Edited by LinkUpVideos on Friday 10th of June 2011 08:22:01 PM
-- Edited by LinkUpVideos on Friday 10th of June 2011 08:23:29 PM
Portmore Empire exodus continues as Merital Family leaves group |
Following a hectic 9 day span which saw former members JahVinci & producer, Notnice leaving the Portmore Empire, Montego Bay based Dancehall group, Merital Family has officially announced their exodus from the Gaza Camp. Click image to READ MORE. |
Jordan Henderson has spoken of his excitement at signing for Liverpool after the midfielder's move from Sunderland was confirmed this evening.
Henderson has put pen to paper on what the Merseyside club have described as a "long-term deal" having visited the Reds' Melwood training complex, undergone a medical and agreed personal terms yesterday.
Liverpool have paid an undisclosed fee for the highly-rated 20-year-old, with reports suggesting it could be up to Ł20million.
Henderson told www.liverpoolfc.tv: "I'm over the moon, overjoyed to be here and I'm really looking forward to it.
"I was flattered to know Liverpool were interested in me and, once I knew, it was a massive decision for me to make but also a massive opportunity.
"Obviously it's hard to leave your local club. I'm a Sunderland lad, I've supported them all my life.
"But I'm really looking forward to the future now and obviously this is a massive opportunity for me. I'm really excited by it."
A statement from Liverpool read: "Liverpool Football Club have completed the signing of Jordan Henderson after the 20-year-old passed a medical and agreed personal terms.
"Henderson travelled to Merseyside on Wednesday after a fee was agreed with Sunderland. He then underwent a medical examination in Liverpool before signing a long-term deal."
Henderson is Liverpool's first signing of the summer and - following the big-money captures of Andy Carroll and Luis Suarez in January - the third high-profile new recruit since Fenway Sports Group's takeover of the club and Kenny Dalglish's return as manager last season.
Currently part of the England Under-21 squad who get their European Championship campaign under way in Denmark this weekend, Henderson won his first senior international cap against France last November and his value has soared over the past year, despite a recent dip in form.
The Sunderland youth academy graduate made his Black Cats debut in a 5-0 defeat to Chelsea in November 2008.
In total he has made 79 appearances for the Wearsiders, scoring five goals, and he also spent a spell on loan at Coventry in the 2008-09 season.
He said: "My family are all Sunderland fans as well, and it's pretty tough because I've had some great years there.
"I've been there since I was seven and I'll definitely miss it but, like I say, I'm looking forward to playing for Liverpool now."
Henderson admits he cannot wait to link up with midfield colleague Steven Gerrard.
"He is one of the best players in the world, you want to be playing with him and training with him to try to improve yourself as a player," Henderson said.
"I've trained with him once (for England) and he was unbelievable, to be honest. I'm looking forward to it, and there are other good players here who can help me as well.
"Steven has been a massive, massive player for Liverpool for years now and he still is. Hopefully I can learn a lot from him."
It had been thought Liverpool striker David Ngog might travel in the opposite direction as part of the transfer.
He remains at Anfield for now, but Reds director of football Damien Comolli has indicated the 22-year-old could still be headed for the Stadium of Light.
"Sunderland have had a strong interest in David, so we've agreed to let David speak to Sunderland about his future to see if he's interested in going there," Comolli said.
"They've expressed a strong interest, so we'll see what's next for him."
Comolli conveyed his delight at the conclusion of the Henderson deal and insisted Liverpool had not paid over the odds.
"I'm very pleased because he was one of the targets we had and when you get your first target it's always a good sign because you think the others will come through as well," Comolli said.
"We are very, very pleased. He has got all the skills technically that we needed.
"He's good with the ball, he's creative, he's got good passing, he's physically very good.
"That's everything we wanted in a midfielder and he's versatile as well. For Kenny he will be the player we wanted.
"On the fee, I've read and heard a lot of things. There was a lot of speculation on how much we would pay for Jordan and none of the figures I've seen are correct so far.
"We've paid a price that we are comfortable with, otherwise we would not have done the deal."
Dalglish is likely to continue doing business in the transfer window as he attempts to rejuvenate his squad this summer.
Liverpool are believed to retain interest in Blackpool midfielder Charlie Adam, while Ipswich youngster Connor Wickham is thought to be another target.
Source: MirrorFootball
Athletics star Usain Bolt has said that he would like to play football when he retires from his current sport, and showed his trademark confidence by suggesting he is good enough to play for Manchester United.
Bolt, who gained a worldwide audience at the 2008 Beijing Olympics by setting records for both 100 metres and 200 metres, is confident he could electrify Old Trafford in the same manner.
"I really want to try soccer after I retire because I've watched football over the years and I think I could be a good contender," Bolt told the BBC. "I'm really looking forward to it and yes, I definitely think I'm good enough to play for Manchester United. I'm good enough because I'm quick, I have a little skill - I have to refine it a little bit but I should be good enough."
The speedy Jamaican met the Red Devils at their training ground back in 2009 and apparently offered sprinting tips to then-United star Cristiano Ronaldo.
Even if it isn't for Sir Alex Ferguson's squad, Bolt is expected to arrive in England next summer to compete in the 2012 Olympic games in London. For now, the world's fastest man is focusing on his 200 metre offering at Thursday's Diamond League meeting in Oslo.
If you thought Lauryn Hills relationship with her husband/baby daddy Rohan Marley was shady before
Yesterday, when news broke that Lauryn was pregnant with baby number six, we all naturally assumed the kid would be Rohans. After reading the report from our sister siteHipHopWired.com, Rohan quickly shut that down.
When cl**tch Magazines Britni Danielle picked up the tweet and asked if Rohan was sure, the convo took quite an interesting turn. Here is what Rohan, who is definitely the father of Lauryns daughter Selah, above, (and possibly not the father of her first born son Zion) had to say:
After having cleared that up, Rohan added:
While all of those tweets have since disappeared, Rohan has politely corrected at least two congratulating fans since. Which makes the situation all the more interesting. And by interesting, we mean shady.
What other information out there could be wrong? And how difficult could it have been for him to set people straight before the discovery of Twitter, if it was really that deep?
Sean Kingston is making moves towards recovery following his catastrophic jet-ski accident over the Memorial Day weekend.
Although doctors stated that it would take up to six months for a full recovery, sources close to Kingston have revealed that he is alert and awake. TMZ is reporting that despite having a breathing tube in his mouth, Kingston is improving daily by communicating with head nods and using sign language.
Kingston crashed his brand new jet ski into a bridge near Miami's Star Island last Saturday (May 28). After being thrown from the watercraft, he fell into the water where he was saved by a stranger, who noted that he was spitting up *la*hd but was coherent. He was later airlifted to Ryder Trauma Center at Miami's Jackson Memorial Hospital.
The 'Beautiful Girls' singer has since been stabilized and transferred from the trauma unit to the ICU where he is recovering from several injuries including a broken jaw and a fractured wrist.
The 21-year-old has been showered with well wishes from his celebrity friends, and is expected to be released from the hospital within the next few weeks.
Rapper Ja Rule due to go to prison in NYC gun case |
Multiplatinum-selling rapper Ja Rule is set to go to prison, but he's leaving fans with an album on the way. [ Click image to Read More. ] |
Plans afoot to improve the Sumfest experience |
ORGANISERS of the annual music festival, Reggae Sumfest, are moving to ensure a patron-friendly experience for the 2011 edition as the venue is set to undergo extensive work to alleviate problems that were experienced in the past. [ Click image above to Read More. ] |
Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer has completed his transfer to Bayern Munich, signing for the Bavarians on a five-year deal after passing a medical on Wednesday.
Bayern announced last week that they had signed the sought-after goalkeeper from Schalke, but had to wait to put the finishing touches on the transfer after he had been away on international duty with Germany in Azerbaijan.
Neuer, 25, had been expected to join Bayern since April when he confirmed he would not extend his contract at Schalke.
In the interim he was linked to Manchester United after impressing in Schalke's Champions League semi-final defeat to the Red Devils, however, he said at his unveiling he only ever intended to join Bayern.
"I feel this is the right move because I am the Germany goalkeeper and Bayern Munich is the best club in Germany,'' he told Bayern Munich's official website.
"I'm glad that everything is now behind me. I am looking forward to this challenge, the first training sessions and training camps.''
Neuer is the first major signing for new boss Jupp Heynckes with the club having also plumped for Brazilian defender Rafinha as they look to rebuild after a relatively poor season last time out.
The Bavarians only snuck into third place in the Bundesliga table, crucially qualifying for the Champions League to salvage something from a disappointing campaign, but goalkeeper proved a problem position for them.
However, Neuer believes he can help turn the club's fortunes around as he looks to cement his growing reputation with silverware.
"I know definitely what I want,'' he said. "I look forward to these five years. I know Munich and I think I will feel comfortable here. I know this is not normal for me, this is all new territory. But I look forward to it.''
Source: ESPNSoccernet
Fulham have appointed Martin Jol as their new manager following the resignation of Mark Hughes last week.
The former Tottenham and Ajax boss joins the Premier League club on an initial two-year contract, with the option to extend it for a further year.
Jol said: "I am very happy to join Fulham. It is a club with good, solid foundations and a great fan base.
"I am looking forward to being part of the Fulham family and thank the chairman for the trust shown in me."
Hughes left his role at Craven Cottage on 2 June after less than a year in charge.
The former Wales manager had joined Fulham in July 2010 and had been in talks about a new contract prior to his resignation.
Fulham chairman Mohamed Al Fayed believes Jol can maintain the club's place in the top half of the Premier League.
He said: "He [Jol] understands my vision for the club, and believes in what we are striving to achieve here.
"I know that he will dedicate himself to helping us move forward, and is with us for the long term, to help us build and progress.
"We have enjoyed three incredibly successful years, and my hopes and dreams for this club are for that journey to continue."
Jol moved to Spurs in 2004 as assistant to Jacques Santini but took over as head coach in November 2004 after Santini stood down.
But despite finishing fifth in the Premier League in two consecutive seasons, he parted company with the White Hart Lane outfit in October 2007.
In May 2008 he was appointed coach of Hamburg but left a year later to join Ajax.
Last summer he was linked with Fulham after the departure of Roy Hodgson to Liverpool but opted to remain with Ajax.
He has been out of work since quitting the Dutch club last December.
As a manager, Jol has a reputation for encouraging passing, stylish football, and is committed to bringing young players through.
"He is a trainer who has shown that he gives talented young players a chance," said Ajax chief executive Rick van den Boog.
Jol's new team will play in the Europa League next season after the west London club qualified via Uefa's Fairplay table.
Source: BBC Sport
The rumor mill has been in full swing this week regarding the last few remaining Portmore Empire members Popcaan and Shawn Storm.
Details of the rumor surfaced earlier this week with some dancehall blogs claiming Popcaan and Shawn Storm is making moves to exit the camp. However, Urban Islandz sources inside the Gaza, who has been mostly tight lipped since the recent fiasco, told us the gaza prefect and Shawn Storm are still loyal members of the camp.
Not because certain other people left means everyone is going to leave, some folks just love spread rumors and not facts, the source said in an email to Urban Islandz. Storm and Poppy will always be loyal members of the Gaza and despite the recent rumors the Gaza remains strong.
The source also dispelled talks of death threats to Corey Todd and Jah Vinci coming from inside the Empire camp.
The talks of death threats are baseless, wi nuh send threats to people, a business wi deal wid. Anyone is free to leave Empire for their own personal reasons.
Over the last two weeks, three prominent members of Portmore Empire made an unexpected exit. Vybz Kartel former business partner Corey Todd was the first to severe ties with the Empire leader, then Jah Vinci and producer Notnice follow suit shortly after.
Do you think the Portmore Empire is in trouble?
Read more: Rumor Control: Popcaan, Shawn Storm Not Leaving Portmore Empire | Urban Islandz
Purchase Raid Riddim here: http://itunes.apple.com/album/the-raid-riddim/id432958195
Emerging Dancehall artiste Andre 'Popcaan' Sutherland is now in police custody, THE STAR has been informed.
Information reaching our newsroom is that the artiste was taken into custody on Thursday by the Morant Bay police as he was suspected of being in possession of ganja.
According to the police, Popcaan was apprehended along with a group of men during a police operation carried out by the St Thomas police.
Up to late yesterday evening, THE STAR was informed that the artiste has not been charged and a bail offer is yet to be made.
Popcaan is a member of the Vybz Kartel-led group Portmore Empire. He rose to prominence in 2010 when he was featured on Kartel's hit song Clarks.
STAR Writers Crystal Harrison/Paula Gordon
In the second instalment of the interview with controversial dj Vybz Kartel, the artiste spoke about his ex-mentor Bounty Killer, and about becoming a mentor to the artistes in his Portmore Empire. We now move on to discussing his famous Sting clash with Ninja Man and the possibilities for Sting 2008.
KH: Alright, Sting with Ninja Man. How did that clash start?
(In December 2003, on Sting's 20th Anniversary, Ninja Man was roughed up onstage by friends of Vybz Kartel after physical contact between the two battling deejays. The night ended in a hail of bottles and the two were brought to court where they were charged with disorderly conduct and assault occasioning bodily harm. Both were later freed of the charges.)
VK: "You know seh a Ninja Man did really a boost di clash wid Alliance and you know I was a member at di time. Me being an authentic Jamaican, I couldn't turn down the challenge. He was the challenger."
KH: "Did you feel threatened after?"
VK: "Never."
KH: "Was it planned?"
VK: "We don't have to plan or rehearse. We're natural."
KH: "So who started the fight?"
VK: "Well, you would have to check www.youtube.com, the world can see it there (laughs)."
KH: "In clashing, a lot of harsh words are exchanged. Do you take it personally?"
VK: "Me? No man! Dats why dem waan clash mi, but mi just laugh and kill dem. Tek it to dem wid a smile."
KH: "Sting 2008, do you think you and Mavado will turn out like you and Ninja into a physical confrontation?"
VK: "No man. We don't get physical wid baby boys, only grown men. It isn't my standard to hit a child."
(Mavado and Kartel have been feuding on and off since Kartel left the Alliance. The confrontation has reached beyond words with both artistes' entourage inciting violence on different occasions. A peace conference was held last year under the guidance of DCP Mark Shields and RETV's CEO Kimani Robinson where the feuding stopped for a while. The two however are at it again.)
KH: "What are your thoughts on Mavado?"
VK: "I don't think about Mavado."
KH: "Is it personal or musical?"
VK: "It couldn't be personal. I don't get personal wid man."
KH: "Do you think you need to clash and defeat a top deejay onstage to cement your place in Jamaican music?"
VK: "No. Vybz Kartel don't have to clash anyone to cement my place. Vybz Kartel is one of di baddest deejays ever. Mi a talk 'bout in Jamaican history, I'm not being conceited or hype, I mean baddest deejays ever. Even those who don't like mi have to say that I'm one of the baddest in history."
(Despite being 'one of the baddest deejays in history', Kartel has not been able to develop on his large American fan base. Currently the artiste is without a visa to travel to the United States, this many believe, has restricted his career.)
KH: As for your visa issues, what's happening with that?
VK: "Any case that is before a council and is under their jurisdiction I can not disclose of it."
KH: Do you think not being able to travel to America hasn't allowed you to reach farther in your career?
VK: "Yeah, in that market, but nowhere else. Wherever there are more than one Jamaican gathering, Vybz Kartel is being played. I always have an ethnic market worldwide."
(A market that includes Kartel's Empire, the artiste brings his aspiring deejays/family on tours such as the one they all did in Guyana recently)
KH: How did you choose persons to be a part of your Portmore Empire?
VK: "In the initial stages I didn't choose anyone. We were just always a group, even when I was in Alliance, I always used to roll with them as a unit, then when I left Alliance, we all on the same stage. Is nutting new, it just has a name."
KH: Who are the members of the Portmore Empire?
VK: Shaun Storm, Blak Ryno, Lisa Hype, Jah Vinci and Dosa Medicine."
KH: Do you think they are talented?
VK: "I don't think so, I know and it has been proven."
(Kartel's Portmore Empire hasn't always been a cohesive unit as seen with former Portmore member Deva Bratt. Deva Bratt was taken into custody early this year in connection with an alleged carnal abuse case against a 14-year-old. The artiste was released in November, before his release Deva was supposedly kicked out of the Empire by Kartel.)
KH: What really happened between you and Deva?
VK: "Deva Brat, we don't discuss (accused) rapers."
In the fourth instalment of the interview 'di teacha' gets personal talking about his mother, religion and womenDancehall artiste Shawn Storm is basking in the success of his latest chart-topping single, My Life.
The single catapulted to the top of several local and overseas music charts after its release earlier this year, and months after, it is still among the top songs on the charts.
He had received some popularity on other singles such as Vybz Party, but none, he said, has been as good as My Life.
Success has generated an overwhelming feeling in the Portmore Empire member and this he dedicates to his 66-year-old mother, Carlene Campbell, who he cited as his main motivation and driving force, and his mentor Vybz Kartel.
According to Shawn, "My mother, Carlene Campbell, inspired me to write this song, and all the experiences in the song are true. It's really an autobiography and I poured my heart into it and Vybz Kartel endorsed it to the universe, oh!"
He further added, "Everybody seh a di baddest song mi ever do and it's real, it ah talk about my life inna real life. Mi feel proud fi sieve out da number one, yah."
In the popular 'anthem' for many youths, he sings of being in total control of his life and how he lives, and his determination to succeed. He also makes reference to his blind mother, whose eyes are affected by glaucoma.
Shawn Storm has recently been working closely with telecommunications giant Digicel, on their many roadshows for the Christmas period and he also has a number of shows lined up, including the annual Sting stage show.
JAMAICAN POLICE SHOT AND KILL MAN IN ST ANN
Minutes ago, unconfirmed news has hit us that Dancehall recording artist of the Portmore Empire, Popcaan is no longer managed by Vybz Kartel and has removed himself from the Gaza camp, following the dictator and rebel leader, colonel Corey ...Todd and fellow private Jah Vinci in arms.
Reports are that for the past two week Popcaan has not been seen with Gaza commander, Vybz Kartel.
In other news, Vybz Kartel has been stockpiling ammunition, to unleash his controversial saga to venture in film and 'tell all' book production, and other cosmetics procedure, perhaps a nose job, to gain an image of his idol, the late Michael Jackson, as rumors follow his latest image with "hair in his hair" (hair-extensions).
Beanie Sigel is trying to get back into Jay-Z's good graces. After dissing Hova in multiple outlets and mediums (i.e. interviews, songs) for close to two years, Beanie Mack is apologizing for his harsh words.
The Philadelphia MC admitted the err of his ways to XXLMag.com. "What Mike Epps say? 'Gangstas f--- up too," Sigel said. "Whatever I felt this dude Jay did wrong to me, it can't outweigh the one thing he did do for me -- he gave me an opportunity. Dude gave me an opportunity. A lot of people don't get opportunities. He gave me that. That outweighs everything. I need that in black and white. I got caught in the moment and put my feelings out there. I should have never done that."
Despite being heard on 'Adrenaline' from Philly hip-hop band the Roots' 'Things Fall Apart' album, Sigel's career took off thanks to aligning with Roc-A-Fella Records on early cuts like Jay-Z's 'Reservoir Dogs.' But after founders Jay-Z, Dame Dash and Biggs Burke went their separate ways, Beans came to feel slighted by certain members of the Roc family, particularly Hova and Memphis Bleek. Also, at one point the 'The Truth' rapper claimed Dash owed him $11 million.
But Beanie says not to expect any more vitriol coming from his side. "I was explaining the whole Roc-A-Fella s--- and a lot of feelings were going to get hurt," Sigel said of material he recorded dissing his old running mates that he no longer plans to release. "I was airing s--- out. Just the homies could listen to that when they come into the studio. I couldn't put that out. It wouldn't sit right with me."
Popular Dancehall deejay, Adidja Vybz Kartel Palmer is set to debut a short film series based on his favorite topic, his life of course according to the Jamaican Star.
The Gaza Don will be shooting 33-part series of half-hour short films; to be unveiled periodically in the upcoming months. Kartel will co-direct the series along with popular music video director, Wayne South whose know for directing the video for Vybzs popular single Life Sweet in 2008. South told the Jamaica Star, "They will mostly be narratives and in it we'll be talking about his life from the beginning of his career up until the present. It's a true-to-life review of his life then.
Additionally, South insisted that no adult content will be shown in any of the short films. "It will have a lot of content but not X-rated stuff, and it will be brought across in a tasteful manner and show Kartel's true intellect as a writer/performer and as an overall entertainer," South claimed.
For Kartel, its his first acting project since his appearance in the popular Jamaican movie, Thug Life in 2001. Regarding how the idea for this series came about, Kartel told the Star , Wayne and I were always discussing doing a movie project because we saw that Jamaica's film industry is still underdeveloped and as it is an untapped resource, we can bring it to the forefront of Jamaican pop culture like dancehall and become one of the pioneers so to speak. So basically, we both decided on the project based on our individual aspirations.
Furthermore, Kartel expects that the series will create a big buzz, as with anything surrounding the self-proclaimed World Boss. I think that this film, as with everything Vybz Kartel does, will be hugely publicized and scrutinized and that's all we need to make this project a success," Kartel implied.
South suggested that each of the episodes in the biopic, 33 film set would be named after popular Vybz Kartel singles & albums. Also, the series would feature characters who profile persons whove been influential around Kartel & have surrounded him over the years. A movie could succeed the short film series should the series become a hit.
Over the weekend, Kartel announced that he would be releasing a new book entitled Voice Of The Ghetto. Read here
(via Jamaican Star )
Jonas Bevacqua was a college dropout and a DJ who had moved back into his parents' home when he met up with Robert Wright and created a street clothing company that resonated in Southern California and the nation. According to the Associated Press, Bevacqua and Wright "sketched out some of their earliest fashion ideas in his bedroom." The two went on to found Lifted Resesarch Group (LRG), a popular street clothing brand, in 1999, and the line enjoyed a rapid rise "as a major fashion force."
[Updated, 6:18 p.m.: A previous version of this post incorrectly identified Wright as a DJ instead of Bevacqua.]
On Tuesday, Bevacqua, 34, was found dead in his Laguna Beach home, according to authories in Orange County.
According to the AP: "Deeply influenced by Southern California's skateboard, surfing and hip hop culture, [Bevacqua] said he and Wright began making clothes that reflected their interests but that no one else seemed to be providing."
By 2006, LRG had annual sales of $150 million.
The Twittersphere was buzzing about Bevacqua on Tuesday:
"I just learned about the passing of a revolutionary mind," one fan tweeted. "RIP to Jonas Bevacqua the Co-Founder of LRG, You brought much swag to this world, rest in peace," said another.
Just three days after former Vybz Kartel protégé, JahVinci announced that he would no longer be a part of Kartels Portmore Empire group, one of his biggest producers is following suit.
On Monday afternoon, Ainsley Notnice Morris confirmed reports that he too was leaving the Gaza group; in part to due to lack of communication between he & Kartel. In an interview earlier today with ZIP FM, Notnice said, "Me and Teacha alright, we just ah go our separate ways, him ah just Teacha. From February this year, him start put only Adidjaheim on his records, so mi know what that mean. Him diss me for reasons only know to him and mi caan wait sit down and wait fi him call me fi do work. Right now, is May, my girlfriend is six months pregnant and mi have to be a man and tek care of my family.
Furthermore, Notnice confirmed rumors that several men did indeed invade his apartment; stealing furniture and studio equipment from the premises. "The man dem come ah mi yard and tek weh over $2,000,000 worth of studio equipment, and a neva nuh man buy mi it a mi buy dem mi self Notnice stated. Since that incident, he & the self-proclaimed World Boss seldom spoke. "Mi see him since that and him pretend like nothing ever happen, him link mi sometime in April if link up a shocking vibes studio if record a song weh him do if Cashflow name "white liver" him call mi name a the front a the song suh people maybe have it seh everything good, but everything nuh good. Him tell mi seh one thing him know inna life is everyman deserve a second chance suh mi nuh know if a himself him a refer to mi see a number of songs weh mi and him produce together put out pan iTunes, even music video a do and him just put Adidjaheim Records," he said. Notnice, however, did thank Kartel for their partnership and claims he learnt many lessons from him.
In the midst of all the noise regarding nightclubs and threats, ace dancehall artiste, Vybz Kartelannounced today that he will be publishing a book to be released in the summer.
Kartel stated that the book has been in the making for over two years and has finally come to fruition. As a surprise to many, the intended release date of the book is July 23, 2011 on Haile Selassie's Earthstrong but may push it forward as he thinks there is a move to discredit his book before it is even released. This is due to some recent statements he has been hearing in the media from persons trying to derail his career and destroy his character.
"I think there was leak regarding some content of the book, the book is very potent, Jamaica simply cannot and will not be the same after this book is released," explained Kartel.
Unlike other books penned by other Dancehall artistes, this book will not be about Adidja Palmer's life or a glorified story based on a ficticous character. Instead, the book is titled "Voice of the Ghetto (or Gaza if you prefer) - Social Commentary for My People" which is an in depth look at ghetto life in Jamaica through Kartel's eyes, the historical causes for how Jamaica got into the problems it now has and some suggestions from Kartel on how to improve the plight of the ghetto that may astonish many.
Though the book is not about Kartel's life, it will serve to "Crack the Kartel Code" as the world will finally get to know the thoughts of one of the most captivating and mysterious personalities ever to come out of Jamaica.
"People always wonder why Kartel does the things he does? What was he thinking when he sang that song or made that statement? Where does he get his point of view from? All of my thoughts will be unveiled so if you think you knew Kartel, you will be surprised when I introduce myself to the world through this book," Kartel stated.
When asked if he will announce a conversion to Rastafarianism or confirm his lodge membership in the book, Kartel simply said, "just read it."
The book will touch on taboo topics from incest and abortion to the high cost of justice in Jamaica and even tackles class and racial prejudice head on.
"I am not sure Society and Babylon is ready for this book. Not sure if my life will be secure after this book is released. I am telling all, I am revealing all, nothing will be held back," Kartel warned. "My people have been silenced for too long, all the injustices have been hidden from the public; I am bringing it front and center, I am being the voice of the ghetto and let the chips fall where they may," the Deejay declared boldly. Whilst refusing to comment further on recent allegations made about him, Kartel responded by saying, "I am focused on making music, writing books and enhancing the Portmore Empire. My business interests are not limited to rum and clubbing but I have a diversified portfolio so while others talk, I am writing books, setting up charities and reviewing business plans."
Kartel said he is happy that he is finally putting out a product that he is sure Babylon will fight but can't ban.
Rapper/singer Sean Kingston is in critical condition in Miami following a Jet Ski accident, according to reports reaching the offices of 876radio.com.
A law-enforcement official, speaking on condition of anonymity, confirms that Kingston, 21, was thrown from his Jet Ski after crashing into a bridge in Miami Beach around 6:00p.m. local time and is now in critical condition at Miami's Jackson Memorial Hospital.
It is reported that he was unconscious under water for a while, before being rescued.
A female companion who was on the Jet Ski with Kingston whose given name isKisean Anderson is said to have also been injured.
The "Beautiful Girls" singer, who released a mixtape (King of Kingz) in February, is in Miami Beach for the city's Memorial Day weekend celebrations. Kingston was born in Miami.