Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

Big things for Mavado in 2k9?

January 13, 2009
Started By soldier00725 Comments
398  check out this link :

http://jamaicadancehallmusic.blogspot.com/2009/01/mavado-et-al-international-level-2009.html

Deejay Macka Diamond will leave the island on Friday to begin shooting a leading role  in an upcoming indie action film, Paradise Redemption.

This is the first major film role for the deejay turned author, however, she played a cameo role in the the local soap opera Royal Palm Estate last year for which she earned critical raves..
I am looking forward to the role and it should be a challenging experience because the script is 120 pages long and I am struggling to learn my lines, the Money Goddess told one876entertainment.
The deejay has also been hitting the gym hard in an effort to tone up her glutes and improve her conditioning so that she can execute the challenging action stunts she will be required to do in the film. Macka will be playing the character, Millicent, a vengeful vixen
I am excited about the stunts because the writers have made me into a woman who is pursuing vengeance, after they murder my daughter and grandson because my son-in-law is  a gangster and he gets mixed up.  I come to take revenge on the men who killed my family, mi ah go get shoot up and inna wheelchair and all when mi inna wheelchair, mi ah go fi dem, she said, laughing.
The film will be directed by Noel Howell and Courtney Boyd, and feature the acting talents of seasoned Nigerian actor ,Jim  Iyke, who has over 100 movies under his belt. The film will also stars Katore Hamilton. Filming for Paradise Redemption begins in Antigua next week.
I leave for Antigua tomorrow after which we will be having rehearsals over the weekend and then on Monday, straight shooting. The directors are so excited about the whole thing, they have never tried to take a music artiste and do anything with them, so I am giving it my all because it could open up other avenues for me, she said.

One of the directors reportedly wants to create a series of Caribbean movies, and this movie will be the first of such ventures.  The Paradise Redemption movie will also have red carpet premieres in Jamaica and New York, USA  once it is completed.
Its going to be big, she said.

Digicel offers voluntary redundancies

January 13, 2009
Started By Garrick9 Comments

Regional telecommunications giant Digicel is to cut its workforce across the region by more than 450, with Jamaica accounting for the majority of persons to be sent home.

However, Digicel says it will allow persons to opt for voluntary separation rather than management deciding who should go home.

The move comes as companies locally and internationally move to implement measures to remain viable amid the global economic crunch.

A proactive move

Digicel officials sought to make it clear yesterday that the staff reduction was a proactive move to prevent any fallout because of the current global economic meltdown.

"In the current challenging economic environment, all companies, including financially strong and fully funded companies, such as Digicel, need to ensure that they have a lean and efficient structure to strengthen their financial position and protect plans for continued growth," Colm Delves, chief executive officer of the Digicel Group, said.

Payment plan

According to Delves, Digicel expects approximately 10 per cent of its 4,500 workforce to take up the voluntary separation, which will carry an attractive payment plan.

"This will allow employees who may be considering a career change to leave the company voluntarily while receiving additional financial support and benefits," Digicel said.

"Full-time and part-time employees will be eligible to receive enhanced packages based on years of service, as well as extended health cover, pro rata bonuses and accelerated payments for stock options," the company said.

The company is also providing career transition assistance for the employees who participate in the scheme.

Digicel started operations in Jamaica in 2001.

"Digicel has experienced phenomenal growth since its initial launch and continues to evolve as a leading international mobile provider. We are now at a natural stage in our evolution to reassess our organisational structure, processes and to fully capture operational efficiencies," Delves added.

Employees have been given two weeks to apply for the voluntary separation and the company says at the end of that period, it will evaluate the applications and decide who will be allowed to leave.

Company officials said they had not yet decided what would be their next step if fewer than the targeted 450 employees take up the offer.

The voluntary separation programme does not apply to new Digicel markets, such as the British Virgin Islands, Honduras and Panama.
STARCover_1_PV2WFMoneyFKK.jpg

If you ever thought extortion was limited to adults, think again!

The police in Manchester say they are now investigating reports of schoolboys being forced to fork out coins ($10 or $20) to a group of grown men who, if not paid, hand down punishment such as jogging and other forms of exercise.

Inspector Martin Hines of the Area Three Police told THE STAR that the children are forced to do these types of activities if they are unable to pay up while on their way home from school.

He also noted that based on reports received, the ages of the affected children range from six to 13.

"In the last three weeks or so, we have received at least five reports from parents saying that men are ragging their children, so to speak, because they can't give them a $20 or a $10 coin. Based on the reports we have heard, the kids are mostly primary-school students."

Ragged

In explaining how the kids are 'ragged', Inspector Hines said, "Well, we have not spoken to any of the kids as yet, but according to what we are hearing, the kids are forced to do hard things, they are said to be forced to do push-ups, sit-ups, stand with their hands extended for a while and even run up and down the street until told to stop."

According to the police, the kids are given the 'privilege' of choosing their punishment.

Inspector Hines said the police have already began to look in the matter and have arranged to speak with some the sons of the parents who have complained to the police.

"We have been told where it happens, so we will definitely be investigating. That is definitely extortion, so if what we are hearing is true, then those guys just may be charged once we find them," Inspector Hines explained before noting that the police have already received the aliases of some of the men alleged to be involved.
Palestinians carry the body of a Palestinian killed in an Israeli attack, into

GAZA CITY, Gaza Strip Israel dropped b****s and leaflets on Gaza on Saturday, pounding suspected rocket sites and tunnels used by Hamas militants and warning of a wider offensive despite frantic diplomacy to end the *lo**shed.

Egypt hosted talks aimed at defusing the crisis, but war had the momentum on a *lo**y day on which more than 30 Palestinians, many of them nonc****atants, were killed, according to Gaza medics.

At hospitals, distraught relatives men in jeans and jackets and women in black Islamic robes sobbed and shrieked at the loss of family. Flames and smoke rose over Gaza City amid heavy fighting.

Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas predicted a "waterfall of *lo**" unless all parties adhere to a United Nations call for a cease-fire. But Israel has said the Security Council resolution passed Thursday was unworkable and Hamas, the Islamic group whose government controls Gaza but is not recognized internationally, was angry that it was not consulted.

A top Hamas leader said Saturday the Gaza war has ended chances of settlement and negotiations with Israel, though Hamas has always opposed both, and urged Arabs to pressure the Jewish state to end attacks in Gaza.

Damascus-based Hamas leader Khaled Mashaal made a fiery speech on Arab news channel Al-Jazeera, describing the Israeli assault as a "holocaust."

"We are living the hardest moments of the resistance now, we want another intifada (uprising) in Palestine and on the Arab street," he said.

Still, Hamas teams were in Cairo to discuss a cease-fire proposed by Egypt.

At least 814 Palestinians, roughly half of them civilians, have died since war broke out on Dec. 27, according to Palestinian medical officials. Thirteen Israelis, including 10 soldiers, have been killed.

Weary Palestinians watched from apartment windows as thousands of leaflets fluttered from aircraft with a blunt warning: Israeli forces will step up operations against Islamic militants who have unleashed a daily barrage of rocket fire on southern Israeli towns.

"The IDF (Israeli Defense Forces) is not working against the people of Gaza but against Hamas and the terrorists only," the leaflets said in Arabic. "Stay safe by following our orders."

The leaflets urged Gaza residents not to help Hamas and to stay away from its members. There was no immediate sign of an escalation, though earlier in the day, witnesses said Israeli troops moved to within one mile of Gaza City before pulling back slightly.

Israeli defense officials say they are prepared for a third stage of their offensive, in which ground troops would push further into Gaza, but are waiting for approval from the government. Early on Sunday, Israeli tanks were heard moving near the central Gaza border as Israeli artilley pounded the area, indicating the possibility of a larger operation.

Palestinian witnesses said Israeli forces fired phosphorus shells at Khouza, a village near the border, setting a row of houses on fire. Hospital officials said a woman was killed and more than 50 injured, most suffering from gas inhalation and burns.

The Israeli military said it did not know of such an incident. Also, Hamas security officials said fierce battles were in progress early Sunday in eastern Gaza City and northern Gaza.

The officials, speaking on condition of anonymity because they were discussing classified information, said the army also has a fourth stage planned that calls for a full reoccupation of Gaza and toppling of Hamas.

The leaflets reflected Israeli efforts to cast Hamas as the source of the conflict that has brought additional misery to Gaza's 1.4 million people, who live in poverty in the densely inhabited shard of land along the Mediterranean. Israel hopes the suffering will erode support for Hamas, which won 2006 elections and engineered a violent takeover of Gaza in June 2007, overrunning the forces of its Palestinian rival Fatah.

For now, though, the fury of the Israeli onslaught has deepened bitterness toward Israel among trapped Gaza residents. Traffic through border crossings with Egypt and Israel is heavily restricted, and many Gazans survive on international handouts or goods smuggled through tunnels that are also used by Hamas to bring in weapons.

Israel launched the offensive on Dec. 27 after years of Palestinian rocket attacks on Israel, and has attributed many civilian casualties in the past two weeks to Hamas's alleged use of civilian areas as hiding places and staging grounds for attacks.

On Jan. 3, Israeli ground troops moved into Gaza, but they have largely avoided deployment in built-up areas where they would be more vulnerable to hit-and-run assaults. Israel holds elections in one month, and its leaders know staunch support for the military campaign could dwindle if the forces take heavy casualties.

Hamas fighters launched 15 rockets at southern Israel in a daily ritual that has severely disrupted life for hundreds of thousands of civilians. Three Israelis were injured in the city of Ashkelon.

The Israeli military said aircraft attacked more than 40 Hamas targets including 10 rocket-launching sites, weapons-storage facilities, smuggling tunnels, an anti-aircraft missile launcher and gunmen. At least 15 militants were killed, it said.

In the day's *lo**iest incident, an Israeli tank shell killed nine people in a garden outside a home in the northern Gaza town of Jebaliya, said Adham el-Hakim, administrator of Kamal Adwan hospital. The nine were from the same clan and included two children and two women.

The Israeli military, however, said its forces did not carry out attacks in that area on Saturday.

Struggling to keep peace efforts alive, Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak and Abbas urged Israel and Hamas to agree to a truce.

After meeting Mubarak, Abbas warned there was no time to waste in ending the *lo**shed in Gaza.

"If any party does not accept it (the truce), regrettably it will be the one bearing the responsibility. And if Israel doesn't want to accept, it will take the responsibility of perpetuating a waterfall of *lo**," Abbas said.

Hamas and Abbas's Fatah party, which dominates the West Bank, are fierce political rivals.

Hamas officials from both Gaza and Syria are also in Cairo for separate talks with Egyptian officials on a truce. Israeli officials were in Cairo earlier this week.

U.S. President George W. Bush spoke by telephone to President Abdullah Gul of Turkey, which is involved in Mideast peace efforts, about the situation in Gaza, said a spokesman for the National Security Council in Washington.

"President Bush emphasized the importance of bringing an end to rocket fire against Israel and preventing arms smuggling into Gaza as the basis for a durable cease-fire," spokesman Gordon Johndroe said.

German Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier, on a peace mission to the region, visited the Rafah border crossing between Gaza and Egypt and saw a fireball from a large detonation in Gaza. He felt the pressure from the blast, which caused windows to rattle.

"We are standing here while the fighting is still on back there," said Steinmeier, who later traveled to Israel. "It is right and correct to be concerned about the injured and the dead, but the European foreign ministers must do more so that words can be turned into deeds."

The United Nations estimates two-thirds of Gaza's 1.4 million people now lack electricity, and half don't have running water.

The Israeli military announced a three-hour halt to operations in Gaza on Saturday to let medics use the lull to rescue casualties and aid groups to rush through food distribution.

But for the second straight day, fighting continued even during the lull.

Israel has called for the three-hour breaks in fighting for the past four days. But aid groups say it isn't enough time to do their work.

All deliveries were coming from supplies already in Gaza. U.N. officials said a halt on aid shipments into Gaza through Israeli-controlled border crossings remained in effect.

The ban was imposed Thursday after the U.N. said two of its contractors in a truck were shot and killed by Israel. The Israeli military said Saturday that its own investigation concluded that its soldiers were not involved.

Also Saturday, tens of thousands of people demonstrated in European cities and Lebanon, shouting protests against the Israeli offensive in Gaza.

-- Edited by alligcold at 18:48, 2009-01-10
1231853199laurynhill.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com is hearing that Grammy winning singer Lauryn Hill is back to her bizarre behavior again. Acording to the NY Post, she was spotted wandering aimlessly out in New Jersey.

Heres what theyre saying:
On Friday, the former Fugee was at the Essex Equestrian Center in West Orange, NJ, asking for a riding lesson. "She just wandered in right off the street She asked to get on a horse . . . [and then] wandered back out the same way she came in.

Can someone please have her wander into a mental institution so that she can get some help
WYCLEF JEAN'S SISTER GETS MARRIED, GANGSTA DJ TURN WEDDING SINGER AFTER BEING SLOTURED BY THE TEACHA.....nh

-- Edited by guccii at 14:29, 2009-01-09
Mavado + Nike: Faster than a Bullet Sportswear giant Nike has chosen Dancehall megastar Mavado to be a part of the largest consumer marketing campaign in the brand's history. Nike has commissioned Mavado to appear in an EPK (Electronic Promotional Kit) and make an original track to support the Jamaican efforts at the 2008 Olympics, starting 08.08.08 in China. Whilst the project is part of a larger campaign that includes an original mix CD and an iTunes Asafa Powell Reggae mix, Mavado's track, called "Faster than a Bullet," is the only original music produced for the project. The fast-paced beat, produced by Shane Brown, provides the perfect soundbed for Mavado's patriotic lyrics. Mavado joins an illustrious list of music names that have collaborated with Nike, such as Nelly Furtado and Timbaland. Footage for the EPK was directed by Ras Kassa and will be turned into a viral campaign via Nike's own websites and a myriad of other websites and blogs. Two edits will be made - 30 seconds and 5 minutes, and includes the fastest man on the planet, Asafa Powell, meeting his musical hero Mavado. Nike made a limited number of sneakers to help promote the campaign, which when leaked to the internet caused a frenzy, including people calling Nike to see if they will be made available at retail. Nike does not do endorsement deals with Entertainment personalities, just athletes, so they will remain as coveted limited edition sneakers. "Having Nike choose Jamaica's athletic superstar alongside one of Jamaica's biggest Dancehall stars is a huge statement," said Mavado's manager Julian Jones-Griffith. "Having the two of them representing Jamaica and the one of the most recognized brands in the world on a global stage illustrates just how far Mavado has reached." - ALLIANCE ENTERTAINMENT shoe.png nikemavado1.jpg
Rapper/mogul Jay-z Hip-Hop soul queen Mary J. Blige and music icon Stevie Wonder will be among the stars on hand to celebrate the inauguration of President-elect Barack Obama at the first-ever Neighborhood Inaugural Ball. Obama will host The Neighborhood Ball: An Inauguration Celebration, which will take place at the Washington Convention Center in Washington D.C. and air live from 8 to 10 p.m. ET Tuesday (Jan. 20) on ABC.

In addition to Jay-Z, Blige and Wonder, other performers include Beyonce, Mariah Carey, Faith Hill, Alicia Keys and Shakira.

The inaugural ball will not be the only occasion to catch a glimpse of the stars in the days leading up to the inauguration.

According to reports, celebrities such as Sean Diddy C****s, Denzel Washington, Queen Latifah and Jamie Foxx will be in Washington to see Obama take the oath of office on Tuesday to become the countrys 44th President of the United States and make history by being the first African-American to fill the position.

The day before Obama is sworn in to office, rapper Bow Wowmag-glass_10x10.gif will take the stage as part of the Disney Channels kids inaugural concert.

The event, which takes place Monday (January 19) at the Verizon Center in Washington, D.C., will honor military families while boasting performances from Bow Wow, the Jonas Brothers, Miley Cyrus and Demi Lovato.

Vocalists Usher and Rihanna will appear at the concert along with Billy Ray Cyrus, Keke Palmer and NBA all-star Shaquille ONeal.

Hosted by Michelle Obama, Kids Inaugural: We Are The Future will be simulcast on Radio Disney, and streamed on Disney.com immediately following the Disney Channel broadcast, which will air from 8 to 9:30 p.m. ET/PT, Monday.
Disney.com visitors can mark the historic occasion by visiting the kids inaugural page on the web site, which features polls, games and videos on the concert performers
1231251069souljasad.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com just got some troubling news. We were the FIRST NEWS SOURCE IN THE WORLD to tell you that last week rapper Soulja Boy was robbed at gunpoint by a group of goons. Well now MediaTakeOut.com has learned that Soulja Boy is refusing to cooperate with police.

One person with insider details spoke to MediaTakeOut.com about whats going on. They explained, [Soulja Boy] just wants the whole thing behind him. Hes grateful that no one was hurt and hes not trying to do or say anything that could cause more problems.

The insider added to MediaTakeOut.com, Soulja Boy no longer lives in [the same neighborhood] and his new home has added security.

Cant say we blame the young man for keeping his lips shut. But if that was us WED BE SNITCHIN!!!
Which Dance Buss Di Biggest Inna Di World included every dance ever make,
Some top dance include pon di river, willie bounce, signal di plane, log on, nuh linga, row di boat, tek weh yuh self, dutty wine, hot wuk very ting.
Make A MAn Side And A Woman Side, think real hard

Mi seh man dance a nuh linga
And fi di ladies dutty wine

Mi ago count it up ah di end

HYPE TV MUSIC AWARDS FOR 2008

SONG OF THE YEAR

FALLEN SOLDIER- DEMARCO
CLICK MY FINGER- ERUP
WINE GAL BEENIE MAN
PON DE EDGE- BUSY SIGNAL
ON THE ROCK - MAVADO
SO SPECIAL - MAVADO 
GULLY CREEPER -  ELEPHANT MAN
WINNER- KONSHENS
TRAILER LOAD A MONEY VYBZ KARTEL
JUST  AS I AM L.U.S.T

BEST COLLABORATION OF THE YEAR

DOH-  SERANI &BUGLE
THE MISSION DAMIAN & STEPHEN MARLEY
BONAFIDE GIRL SHAGGY & RIK ROK
WEH DEM A GO VYBZ KARTEL & JAHVINCI
BURNIN, BURNIN MS. TRINITI & BEENIE MAN

ARTISTE OF THE YEAR

BEENIE MAN
MAVADO
ELEPHANT MAN
VYBZ KARTEL
BUSY SIGNAL
L.U.S.T

NEW ARTIST OF THE YEAR

KONSHENS
FLIPPA MAFIA
BLACK RHYNO
CHARLY BLACKS
PAMPUTTAE

PRODUCER OF THE YEAR

STEPHEN MCGREGOR/BIG SHIP
DONOVAN BENNETT/ DON CORLEON
STEVE LOCKE/TRUCK BACK
LINTON WHITE/TJ RECORDS
SEAN REID/SEANIZZLE
GROUP/DUO OF THE YEAR

LUST
MORGAN HERITAGE
DAMIAN &STEPHEN MARLEY
RDX

MALE SINGJAY OF THE YEAR

MAVADO
DEMARCO
BUGLE
SERANI
MR. VEGAS

MALE DEEJAY OF THE YEAR

BEENIE MAN
VYBZ KARTEL
BUSY SIGNAL
MAVADO
ERUP
ELEPHANT MAN

FEMALE SINGER OF THE YEAR

ETANA
CECILE
ALAINE
MS. TRINITI

MALE SINGER OF THE YEAR

TERRY LINEN
TARRUS RILEY
GEORGE NOOKS
COCO TEA
BERES HAMMOND

FEMALE DEEJAY OF THE YEAR

LADY SAW
SPICE
QUEEN IFRICA
DANGEL
STACIOUS 

Also fans can vote for their favorite Dancehall/Reggae nominees for the Hype TV awards for 2008.Click on this website and start voting now, www.dancehallreggaeweseh.com. Voting ends on February 14th, 2009.

Is Beenie 'boxing' Spice off shows?

January 28, 2007
Started By STAINLESS1 Comments
IPB Image
Beenie Man is refusing to appear on the same shows as Spice - so says Spice.

Spice says thus far, Beenie has attempted to get her off two upcoming shows: one to be staged at the University of Technology (UTech), and the other, 'Follow the Arrow'.

"Beenie say him naw do no show wid me. Mi did have one next show uppa UTech and di promoter dem a call me wid pure problem and a say Beenie say if me deh pon di show, him nuh want fi deh pon it," she said. Spice says the two upcoming shows will be the first time they will share the same stage since 'the incident'.

The 'incident', as she calls it, was when someone in Beenie Man's entourage boxed her at the 'GT Taylor Extravaganza' in December. Apparently, Beenie Man was not pleased with the song which contained a line saying 'Di gal shouldn't mek di two a dem a cuss/ Beenie must stop hype because a Bounty f- it fuss' in reference to his wife, D'Angel.

The situation was further intensified after Spice claimed Beenie Man made sexual advances toward her while they were in the Bahamas last year for a show.

"Him vex true me talk say him come inna mi hotel room, so him a talk say him a go send paper dung a mi yard fi sue me. Mi have di pictures wha mi brother did tek a him pon him phone, but him neva know say my brother did in deh when him come in deh. So if it go court, me have proof," she said.

Spice alleges these are the reasons Beenie Man has also attempted to get her off 'Follow the Arrow'. The promoter, Dexton Ennis corroborated Spice's story.

Ennis says, "He (Beenie) sighted my vehicle on Sunday when I was on the road with the names of Spice, D'Angel, Beenie and Buju on it (vehicle). He called me and asked me if Spice was on the show and I told him 'yes' ... I went down by Arthur Wales' studio and him say him naw do the show with her and me must call Spice and tell her." This he did.

"He was saying she can't be on the show and all them things and I was telling him that the name of the show is 'Magnum Follow the Arrow - Uniting the People', so that can't be ... The problem is that the promoter get caught up in the middle of this. At this point we just have to seek an amicable resolve."

According to Spice, Beenie Man is a weakling. "It shows his weakness and his bad mind because he always wants to fight against young artistes and nuh want them fi strive. Him say dem crown him di King of Dancehall, but him a gwaan like dem crown him di God of dancehall. Him put di promoter dem in a position where if them want the two of us and him say him not doing the show if me on it, then them will choose him because he is the bigger artiste. But Ennis stand up and naw tek me offa di show," she said.

Spice is not the only artiste who has complained of Beenie Man attempting to take them off shows. Last year, the Twin of Twins had the same concern.

"This is pretty much the same thing that we have been saying ... Music is a normal job just like any other and no person can say they don't know a dutty co-worker who doesn't want to see them in that job. We have done nothing to provoke his attacks, we only defended ourselves and likewise, I don't see where Spice has done anything to provoke his attacks," said Patrick "Curly Lox" Gaynor.

Spice also had a few words for Beenie: "Plead my cause, Oh Lord, with them that strive with me, fight against them that fight against me. Take hold of buckler and shield, and rise up for my help," she said quoting a scripture passage. "Dem can't stop me. Dem a fight demself and it's a losing battle," she continued.

Beenie Man could not be reached before press time because he was recording.

MAN HELD FOR DANCER'S MURDER

January 14, 2009
Started By Kingnuddy3 Comments

One man has been taken into custody in connection with the death of popular dancer, Ice, whose real name was David Alexander Smith.

The man, whose name has not yet been released, was taken into custody on Saturday, but is yet to be charged.

Ice was shot dead about 7:55 a.m. on Boxing Day, moments after he exited a bar along Newark Avenue, Kingston 11. He had gone there to purchase cigarettes. THE STAR had earlier reported that investigators believed that the dancer's car was hit as when they went to the scene, there were signs of an accident. Reports are that Ice went into the bar and was shot dead when he exited.

The suspect is said to be a labourer from Content Avenue, off Waltham Park Road.

Shooting incident

THE STAR was told that statements collected from witnesses implicated the suspect in the dancer's death. He was detained while reporting as a condition of bail in a shooting incident for which he has been charged.

Reports are that while the suspect was reporting to the Half-Way Tree Police Station, a complainant was making a report about a case of robbery with aggravation, where his jewellery and other items were stolen.

The complainant reportedly identified a watch being worn by the suspect as one that had been stolen from him and he was detained and interviewed. Based on the interview, investigators determined that he was the man they had been looking for.

He is to be further interviewed and will be charged soon.

Ice, a long-time member of the Black Roses Crew, created the popular 'Gully Creepa' dance. The dance brought attention to the dancer, especially after Jamaican speedster Usain Bolt performed the move after winning the 100-metre event at the 2008 Olympics in China in August.
STARCover_1_PQZ4MboltquAM.jpg
R.I.P - GULLY CREEPS

Weds Cup A Tea!!!!

January 14, 2009
Started By DjFlamez1 Comments

Hey, people. Sorry I never wrote anything yesterday, I was a bit stunned by some terrible news, my girlfriends aunt died of brain cancer and it kinda shook me up a little. She and I were in church on Sunday and when the pastor asked if anyone had anybody they wanted to pray for, my friend, Suzie and I stood up. However, I couldnt stand for long because I was wearing a pair of stiletto high heels and I had to sit down. So yesterday, I was kinda racked with guilt the karmic payback type -- that maybe if I had stood a little longer, maybe shed be alive, but perhaps I am just being silly, or being self-obsessive again. Anyway, it shocked me into writing in English for todays Wednesday Tea introduction. Hope you like it, tomorrow I return to my skettel self.

WHY SO MANY AWARDS SHOWS?
It seems that Jamaican stars will be downing the Hennessey and the Moët et Chandon White Star champagne this year as there are no less than five awards shows set for the next few weeks. We have the EMEs, the HYPE TV, the RE TV MVP awards, the Reggae Academy and the Gleaner-sponsored Youth View awards. I dont know about you but I am pretty sick and tired of this grinding pat-myself-on-the-back-a-thon as our media personalities and stars get caught up in self-congratulation and adulation. Ho hum. When will it all end? Especially at a time when the dancehall industry is struggling to survive. A.K.A tells me that Jamaica only has one pressing plant, one place to cut stampers and that the leading radio station still does not kick over mechanical rights to artistes. What is there to celebrate?

RAGGA, GET A GRIP
I like listening to Raga just as much as everyone else, even though his use of the proper sort out phrase at every conceivable opportunity has become somewhat nauseating. But his little spat with the Broadcasting Commission is getting ridiculous. He is claiming that he is being hara**ed by the BC because of his use of the vernacular on the radio, a development that certain powerful members of society turn up their noses at. Mi believe sat Ragga just a get a bit paranoid right now. Years ago, if you are old enough to remember the great Babatunde who waged the battle of using the local vernacular in the public space of radio and won, and showed media leaders that the common people gravitated towards the use of their language on air, could spark a phenomenon which generated millions of dollars in income for the station at the time and even threatened Mutty's supremacy as the top afternoon radio talk show host at the time. What Ragga is doing is nothing new, and I believe he is confusing what should be a matter of taste and self-restraint with state-sanctioned censorship.  It's much ado about nothing.

MACKA AND BLACK-ER RECONCILE
macka3.jpgMi love fi see how the industry people support Macka Diamond party. Richie Feelings deal wid the whole thing nice, mi love how him intro Macka inna her gorgeous orange and silver outfit and she look like a real Money Goddess when she sauntered down the red carpet all the way to the designated birthday area. The cutting of the Money-O cake decorated with (what else) dollar signs alongside long-time friend Black-er.

macka8.jpgShe and Black-er have had their differences over the years but they had the dancehall classic, Bun Him, together so that counts for something. Queen Paula whose new single Daggering Shop is about to hit the road was present Other artistes such as Kiprich, D'Angel, Captain Barkey and Wickerman, Latiesha and Portmore Dancehall Queen Dahlia also came out to support the 'Money O' queen. Big up Tony Matterhorn, Code Red, and Black Shadow who bun an early fire. Special props to the Warlord who arrived early in the morning to bless up the Money Goddess as well.

ALAINE IS A WINDOW SHOPPER?
Alaine_thumb.jpgI never knew that Alaine was a window shopper, or worse, a try-them-all-on-but-fail-to-buy-any shopper. It seems that she went to a popular uptown clothes store recently and had the store attendants racing around the store getting her clothes and shoes to try on, only for her to complain about the high prices and leave without . We wonder why. Especially when everybody know say it tek two credit card fi buy her man shirt. Wah do dem?

PEOPLE WAAN FI KNOW...

When we ah go see Mavado Nike shoe deal materialise?

Why the police won't release the name of who dem suspect shoot Ice?

Why dem ah try mash up mi laptop wid de virus dem keep on a put pon one876? Kriq tell me say it look like dem haffi go redesign the site and done, so please send your suggestions to one876entertainment@gmail.com.

Kern easy, Chin queasy

January 13, 2009
Started By Garrick3 Comments
AS THE much-anticipated Cuban light-bulb hearing took centre stage in the Corporate Area Resident's Magistrate Court yesterday, a fidgeting Rodney Chin stood next to Kern Spencer.

But Spencer's focus was riveted on Senior Resident Magistrate Glen Brown, while his co-accused, Colleen Wright, appeared emotionless.

The three are the players in what has now become known as the Cuban light-bulb scandal.

The spotlight for now has been placed on Chin, who has signalled his intention to testify against co-accused Spencer and Wright in the Cuban light-bulb trial.

Before the case started, Spencer and Wright sat next to each other at the rear of the building while Brown presided over some other matters involving minor offences.

Chin later appeared and sat at the other end of the court.

He seemed a bit uneasy at first, as his fingers twitched, his bunch of keys sometimes making a tinkling sound; but soon he would settle down.

Three minutes after Chin's appearance, heads turned almost in unison as Paula Llewellyn, the director of public prosecutions, and her team of senior prosecutors, entered the court and acknowledged Brown before taking their seats.

Patrick Atkinson and Debra Martin, representing Spencer, and K.D. Knight, counsel for Wright, sat patiently, awaiting the start of the proceedings. Knight has replaced Howard Hamilton, who previously represented Wright.

Richard Small, the attorney representing Chin, appeared relaxed before the start of the case.

When the clerk of the court introduced the case, all three co-accused entered the dock, with Chin and Spencer making an apparent attempt to avoid each other's gaze.

There was a bit of humour in the courtroom when the police escorted a man outside who was taking a nap next to a group of reporters.

The accused, their lawyers and the prosecution would soon head out of the courtroom as Brown would adjourn the sitting.

The co-accused emerged among the first set of people to dash through the doors.

Dear Counsellor

I have a wife and a young baby in a rural parish but I work in the corperate area. I have several outside sexual relationships. I rotate my outside relationships so that I will have no obligations to any of these girls. I sometimes use condoms with my girlfriends but I don't use condoms with my wife. One of my girlfriends is now very sick. I heard she has AIDS. Should I be worried? I am feeling fine, I am not sick. My baby is also healthy. As a matter of fact, I can remember I only had sex with her without condoms three times.

Concerned Husband

Dear Concerned Husband

It is possible for a person to become infected with HIV the virus that causes AIDS from a first and only sexual encounter. You had unprotected sex (sex without the condom) with this woman on three occasions. that was enough time for you to become infected with HIV. The fact that you are not sick is not enough to say you are not infected with HIV. It is also possible for you to be infected and your baby is healthy. Remember, you cannot tell by looking if someone is infected with HIV. You should seek to get tested as soon as possible. If you continue to have unprotected sex you are not only putting your life at risk but also your wife and the other girls with whom you have sex. The more sex partners you have, the greater your chances of meeting one partner who is infected with HIV. You are, therefore, at risk even when you use a condom every time you have sex because condoms can break if they are not used properly.

Coco_Tea.jpgJamaican entertainers Coco T and Cherine Anderson will hold centrestage as they play a role in the inauguration ceremonies of President elect Barack Obama in Washington DC this weekend. Cherine Anderson will be performing at the 'Green Ball' alongside Michael Franti and Spearhead, on  Monday, January 19 and the Peace Ball the following day.

Coco T and his group The Roaring Lion Band along with manager and cordinator of the event Copeland Forbes will start the weekend celebrations off on Friday January 17 at the famous Zanzibar on the Waterfront on Water Street in Washington DC.

"Coco T and his Roaring Lion band will be the headline entertainer for the event, which will be preceded by performances of some other groups from different caribbean countries  and the African American Community.The sold out event is one of the most tallked about event within the DC area," Copeland Forbes told one876entertainment.

Coco T who was recently invited by the Virgin Islands Institute of Development to be the surprise guest performer and to perform his tribute song 'Barack Obama" at the US Virgin Islands inauguration Ball for the Organization of American States at 'Hall of the Americas'. The event will be hosted by the Governor of the US Virgin Islands, the Hon. John P DE Jong jnr. and the Hon. Donna M Christensen MD.

Cherine_Anderson.jpgAnderson has done well in the past year, appearing on major television networks for interviews and performing in exotic locales such as Australia. But the coup de gras to date will be the Green Ball, the event, hosted by former Vice President and Nobel Peace Prize winner Al Gore is sold out and takes place at the Smithsonian's National Portrait Center. 

Anderson is in outstanding company at "The Green Ball", with fellow performers including John Legend, Maroon 5 and Melissa Etheridge among others. 

She will also take the stage again on Tuesday, January 20, while performing at "The Peace Ball".   This special event will be held at the Smithsonian National Postal Museum, and is hosted by Harry Belafonte.   Other distinguished performers at this event include Joan Baez and Angelique Kidjo.  

In a release to one876, Anderson is quoted as saying: "It feels wonderful to be a part of an event that is so historic.  This will be one of the biggest celebrations, so I am working very hard to give a memorable performance to honor the occasion."

In the meantime, singer Hopeton Lindo recently recorded an Obama tribute called Finally We Made It which is getting favourable airplay in the South Florida region.

Firestone

In a case that federal prosecutors trumpeted as the largest ever of its kind, 10 members and associates of the Florencia 13 street gang were convicted Monday on a range of federal charges, including racketeering, drug trafficking and attempted murder.

The verdicts followed a 3 1/2-month trial in U.S. District Court in Santa Ana in which prosecutors told jurors of a widespread criminal enterprise directed by Mexican Mafia members, both on the street and in prison.

The gang controlled drug distribution in unincorporated areas south of Los Angeles and in Huntington Park and collected rent from people who wanted to commit crimes in the area the gang controlled, prosecutors alleged.

The gang drew wide notoriety for allegedly shooting indiscriminately at African Americans who came into the neighborhoods in which it operated.

The defendants convicted Monday were among 102 gang members charged in four related indictments that stemmed from an investigation dubbed Operation Jokers Wild.

To date, 76 of the defendants have either pleaded guilty or have been convicted at trial. Those convicted Monday were scheduled to be sentenced Sept. 9 by U.S. District Judge David O. Carter.

MediaTakeOut.com just learned some INTERESTING NEWS. Word on the street is that one big name record executive whos recently fallen on hard times has found a new way to make ends meet by SLANGIN COCAINE.

According to one of our snitches, the big name producer has been moving some SERIOUS weight and its got industry insiders buzzing. The snitch told MediaTakeOut.com, I couldnt believe it, hes even approached [a not-too-popular rapper] to be involved. Its crazy, but thats what the music industry in becoming.

DANG we really wish we could tell you who it is, but the FEDS might be watching. So in the interest of non-snitchedness, weve decided to leave this as a BLIND ITEM. But heres a hint dude is major and hes from Atlanta!!

bizzy bone

Bizzy Bone got brutally jacked last week:

The Los Angeles police department is claiming to have indentified Bone Thugs-n-Harmony member Bizzy Bone as the victim of a brutal beating and robbery last Monday (January 5). Authorities allege that Bizzy Bone, real name Byron McCane, was returning from a restaurant to his Universal Hilton hotel room when he was accosted by several individuals.

The gang allegedly beat and choked Bizzy during the confrontation, and subsequently acquired all the rappers jewelry before fleeing the scene.Police have charged an anti-gang worker named Marlo Bow Wow Jones with the assault. According to the Los Angeles Times, the 30 year old Jones is reputed to be a contract employee for Unity One, an anti-gang organization under the umbrella of the L.A. Bridges II gang rehabilitation program.

The group has officially terminated Jones employment while this case is pending.
At press time, police report they are looking for additional female and male suspects that participated in the crime. Marlo Jones remains in custody with bail set at $1.1 million.

Last month, the original five man Bone Thugs-n-Harmony roster reunited after 10 years. The group is currently working on a summer 2009 release of Uni 5, the follow up to their 2007 gold album Strength & Loyalty.

And to think an anti gang taskforce fella was behind this mess. Aint that a b*%ch.

BIG UP TO MEDIAZONEJA.COM!!

March 5, 2008
Started By bLaCkBeatZ147 Comments
According to Alexa, the web statistics site MZJA is the number 12th most visited site in Jamaica, take a look. Jahkno we kick out di competition lol
And we have approximately 2000 more registered members than them too.

alexaranking

ALL who proud to be a member of MediaZoneJa.com se yes I!!
If we continue we can be #1 cyblesskpluv pla

-- Edited by MZJA at 14:24, 2008-08-31

High-ranking cop dies

January 13, 2009
Started By Garrick4 Comments
Layout1_1_PB3I5GunB2004AM.jpg

Assistant Superintendent of Police Dave Hyman displays an Intra-Tech-9 sub-machine gun seized during a July 2004 police operation in Lilliput, St James. - File

WESTERN BUREAU:

Assistant Superintendent of Police Dave Hyman, who was considered one of the rising stars of the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF), has died.

The 42-year-old officer reportedly died at the University Hospital of the West Indies yesterday morning, three weeks after he was hospitalised for a cancer-related illness.

"He was a bright, intelligent, professional person and a team player," recalled his immediate supervisor, Superintendent Millicent Sproul-Thomas, head of the Kingston Central Police Division. "He was the operational officer for the division and we will remember him as always smiling, with his dark glasses on."

Overwhelmed with grief

Hyman, who also served in the St James Police Division, enlisted in the JCF in 2001 through the Graduate Entry Programme, reserved for persons (including police personnel) with a university degree.

His friend and colleague, Deputy Superintendent Dave Cameron, was overwhelmed with grief when he spoke to The Gleaner.

"It is a real loss for someone like Hyman to die so young. He was one of those persons who caught on to policing very quickly, having been someone who didn't come up through the ranks. He had a natural knack for the job," commented Cameron, who is also the assistant secretary general of the Police Officers' Association.

"He was very high-spirited and genuine, and that is why we were friends since he joined the JCF."

At the time of his death, Hyman resided in Montego Bay, St James, with his wife Shelly-Ann and daughter, Davia Faith.

MAN HELD FOR DANCER ICE MURDER

January 13, 2009
Started By Teacha15 Comments

One man has been taken into custody in connection with the death of popular dancer, Ice, whose real name was David Alexander Smith.

The man, whose name has not yet been released, was taken into custody on Saturday, but is yet to be charged.

Ice was shot dead about 7:55 a.m. on Boxing Day, moments after he exited a bar along Newark Avenue, Kingston 11. He had gone there to purchase cigarettes. Earlier reported that investigators believed that the dancer's car was hit as when they went to the scene, there were signs of an accident. Reports are that Ice went into the bar and was shot dead when he exited.

The suspect is said to be a labourer from Content Avenue, off Waltham Park Road.

Shooting incident

Police was told that statements collected from witnesses implicated the suspect in the dancer's death. He was detained while reporting as a condition of bail in a shooting incident for which he has been charged.

Reports are that while the suspect was reporting to the Half-Way Tree Police Station, a complainant was making a report about a case of robbery with aggravation, where his jewellery and other items were stolen.

The complainant reportedly identified a watch being worn by the suspect as one that had been stolen from him and he was detained and interviewed. Based on the interview, investigators determined that he was the man they had been looking for.

He is to be further interviewed and will be charged soon.

Ice, a long-time member of the Black Roses Crew, created the popular 'Gully Creepa' dance. The dance brought attention to the dancer, especially after Jamaican speedster Usain Bolt performed the move after winning the 100-metre event at the 2008 Olympics in China in August.

Busy_Signal.jpgJamaicas first ever Video Music Awards will take place shortly. The RETV MVP Video Music Awards nominations are now out. The nominees were selected by a panel comprising RETV staff and industry personnel. 

The winners will be determined by the public who will vote by sending emails with their choices, to mvp@reggaetelevision.com Viewers will email the category and that they are voting for along with the number assigned to the video in that particular category.  A panel will also have the final decision in the selection of the winners in each category.

Voting is now open and closes on February 12, 2009.  Winners will be announced in a live presentation on RETV in February.

Remember to start voting now and get your fans, friends and your myspace and facebook contacts to start voting.

Here are the categories:

BEST GOSPEL VIDEO   

Tears Fall- Goddy Goddy and Ryan Mark
Blue Waters- Carlene Davis
Head Cyaan So Hot- Prodigal Son
Trouble- DJ Nicholas
The Rock- Prodigal Son                                                 
Category B

BEST DIRECTOR 

Jason Jay Will Williams
Ras Kassa
Ras Tingle
Winston Mayhew
Scorpio 21
Dexter Pottinger
Category C

BEST DANCER IN A VIDEO 

Mystic-
Shady Squad
Ice
Ovamars
Global Bob aka Sponge Bob
First Class Dancers
Category D

BEST REGGAE VIDEO    

Nothing to Smile About- Morgan Heritage
Start Anew- Tarrus Riley
Stronger- Fantan Mojah
Bad Man Dont Cry- Shaggy
Just Like in the Movies- Natural Black
Dont Forget- Etana                                        
Category E

BEST MUSIC VIDEO (Male)   

Tic Toc- Busy Signal
Different Page- I Octane
This is How I Feel- Terro 3000
Stronger- Fantan Mojah
Mus Come a Road- Mr. Vegas
Bad Man Dont Cry- Shaggy
Category F

BEST VIDEO BY GROUP/DUO 

Get the Money/Ganga Lee- Voice Mail
Blessings a Multiply- Daville and Demarco
Jah Jah See Them a Come- Sugar Roy, Conrad Crystal and Gyptian
Dancers Anthem- RDX
Mercy Please- Black Judah
Back it Up- Leftside and Sean Paul
Category G

RETV MVP ICON AWARD: Trevor Baillie

Category H

BEST CARIBBEAN VIDEO

Fyah- Kevin Lyttle (St. Vincent & The Grenadines)
Move- KK Alese (Cayman)
Pumpin- Peter Ram (Barbados)
Defense Anthem Remix- Machel Montano and Pit Bull (Trinidad & Tobago)
Friends- Choclate Allen and Queen Ifrica (Trinidad & Tobago)
Category I

BEST DANCEHALL VIDEO

The Mission- Stephen and Damian Marley
Tic Toc- Busy Signal
Shoot Out- Mykal Rose
Gully Creepa- Elephant Man
Bottom of the Barrel- Tifa
Category J

BEST MUSIC VIDEO  (Female)

Stronger- DAngel
Messenger- Tessanne Chin
Falling Down- Stacious
Back it Up- Natalie Storm
Ride or Die- Cecile
Bottom of the Barrel- Tifa

Category K

BEST VIDEO FROM A NEW ARTISTE

Value of a Lady- Bramma
Busted- MBC
Winner- Konshens
In My Life- Terro 3000
4 AM- Ra Deal
From a Place- Sleepy Hollow Tips

Category L

VIDEO OF THE YEAR

Bad Man Dont Cry- Shaggy
Tic Toc- Busy Signal
The Mission- Stephen and Damian Marley
Messenger- Tessanne Chin
This is How I Feel- Terro 3000
Start Anew- Tarrus Riley

December 3, 2008
Started By sippinghennessey11 Comments
mavado is the boss

rihanna brown in dublin

Pull out the Vaseline - manufactured diva hopeful, Alexandra Burke, is trying to push up on Breezy, and RiRi is not having any of that:

Rihanna is keeping boyfriend Chris Brown on a tight leash - she has banned him from having any contact with British pop star Alexandra Burke, according to reports. Burke - who won the British equivalent of American Idol, X Factor, in December last year - has made no secret of her crush on Brown.

So, in a bid to keep any love rivals at bay, Umbrella hitmaker Rihanna reportedly banned Alexandra from an after-party following 19-year-old Chris gig at Londons O2 Arena earlier this month. A source tells Britains Daily Mirror newspaper, Alex was mortified. She had no idea she had been banned from meeting her idol.

Shes a massive fan of Chris Brown she said numerous times on The X Factor how much she fancies him and wants to meet him. Since she and Chris are both with Sony, she asked label bosses if they could arrange for her to meet him at the after-party.

They said that was fine, they would sort it out. Poor Alex was so excited about hooking up with Chris that she was even thinking of entering a radio competition to meet him.

Look at Lil Miss Sunshine playing dirty. We didnt know she had it in her. Sounds like shell do whatever it takes to keep them heffahs away from her man. Handle it.

Beyonce & Alexandra Burke

Stalker Females

December 31, 2008
Started By neilvm47 Comments
How do u deal wit a girl who always callin your fone, and wanna visit you, even when u ignore many of her fone calls?
http://www.alovelinksplus.com/advice/instant-attraction/ebook-cover.gif

Proven Field-Tested Secrets Most Successful "Naturals" Don't Want You To Know... To Attract Any Woman...

Download
beastmode-1.jpg Promo Style picture by Jamaicanshem

Accused priest killer begs for mercy

January 13, 2009
Started By Garrick2 Comments
The man charged with the murder of Anglican priest, Father Richard Johnson, wept openly in court yesterday as he begged the jury for a chance to help his mother.

Prince Vale, 25-year-old labourer of Stony Hill, St Andrew, said in an unsworn statement from the dock that it was not his intention to kill the priest.

The priest was stabbed several times at his home at the Anglican church rectory at Stony Hill on November 12, 2006. The medical evidence showed that two of the stab wounds to the chest were fatal.

Gave him trousers

Vale said the priest telephoned him on the day of the incident and he went to the rectory shortly before 9 p.m. He said the priest let him in, and after they went upstairs, the priest gave him a pair of trousers. He tried it on, but it could not fit him, so he gave it back to the priest who said he was going get another pair for him.

The priest returned to the room and pushed him from behind on to the bed, Vale said. Allegations are that the priest was forcing him to be intimate with him and he used his ratchet knife to slash the priest on his foot. He said the priest squeezed his throat and it was at that time he stabbed the priest and then pushed him off him.

He said he was not a killer, but at the time of the incident, "my mind was trapped, my body was trapped; I did not intend to kill anybody".

He told the jury that crime was destroying Jamaica and he was asking for a chance to excel so he could contribute to the country.

Supreme Court judge Norma McIntosh is presiding at the trial, which began last week Wednesday in the Home Circuit Court.

Layout1_1_PIYTRKernatCoAM.jpg
North East St Elizabeth Member of Parliament Kern Spencer (right), along with Patrick Roberts, the People's National Party caretaker for West Central St Andrew, makes his way to the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court in Half-Way Tree, St Andrew, yesterday. In the background, at centre, is Colleen Wright, Spencer's former personal assistant who, like him, is facing corruption charges. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

A CLASH unfolded between the defence and the prosecution in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday as the high-profile trial of North East St Elizabeth Member of Parliament (MP) Kern Spencer was again stalled.

In the exchanges before Senior Resident Magistrate Glen Brown, Director of Public Prosecutions, Paula Llewellyn, revealed that the Crown did not invite Rodney Chin to turn against co-accused Spencer and Colleen Wright in the light-bulb affair.

"It was counsel for Mr Chin that approached the Crown," Llewellyn said.

Llewellyn later indicated her intent to withdraw the charges against Chin but Senior Magistrate Glen Brown said he did not want to hear.

"If you are withdrawing the charges you withdraw but I don't want to hear about your intentions," Brown said.

Llewellyn's disclosure led to a protest by defence counsel. Patrick Atkinson, who takes instructions from Spencer, said it was unfair for his client and Wright to sit together with Chin as co-accused if he would be testifying against them.

"If he stays in the dock, it prevents us from getting what we need," Atkinson argued.

K.D. Knight, who is representing Wright, said that Llewellyn must act forthwith to drop the charges against Chin if that is her intention.

"I need to know whether my client sits with a co-accused or a potential witness. She needs to know if she can converse with Mr Chin. If he is a co-accused, she can; if he is a potential witness, she can't."

Brown told Llewellyn that if she intended to enter a nolle prosequi,they needed to know. However, Llewellyn said she would not be entering a nolle prosequi, but instead would be offering no evidence.

Meanwhile, the defence counsel also lamented that they had not been furnished with all the information by the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions for them to effectively represent their clients.

'Stream of dribbles'

But Llewellyn said that the Crown had furnished all the information it had.

Atkinson described the pace at which information was coming to him as "a steady stream of dribbles".

Brown said, in the interest of justice, attorneys representing Spencer and Wright "must get an opportunity to prepare themselves".

Atkinson, in the meantime, has said that the defence needs full disclosure as to the circumstances which led to Chin joining with the prosecution.

"We need to know if there is a bargain with Mr Chin. ... We need to know everything," Atkinson told the court.

Corruption charges

Brown later adjourned the case, saying he was doing so in the interest of justice.

A mention date has been set for tomorrow, at which time Brown said that he hoped to be in a position to set a trial date.

Chin, who is charged jointly with Spencer and Wright for their roles in the Cuban light-bulb affair, is represented by Richard Small and Heron Daley.

Along with Spencer, he is facing charges of corruption and money laundering. Wright is charged with aiding and abetting corruption.

It is alleged that the three benefited improperly from the implementation of an energy-saving light-bulb project that involved the replacement of incandescent bulbs with flourescent bulbs that were gifts from the Cuban government.

Chin's firm, Universal Management Development Company, undertook the distribution of the free Cuban bulbs after being allegedly engaged by Spencer, through Wright, who was his personal assistant.

The Crown is charging that the Government did not benefit from having the contract go to a competitive tender.

Jennifer Loves Restraining Orders

January 13, 2009

0112_jennifer_love_bn_2.jpgA 62-year-old man accused of stalking Jennifer Love Hewitt has been ordered to stay the hell away from her -- and the Universal Studios Backlot Tour -- for the next three years.

JLH told a Burbank court she feared for her life after David Nolte began sending her more than 100 ridiculously graphic letters describing violent and sexual fantasies. We've seen the letters -- they're pretty frickin' gross.

Today, a judge finally approved her petition for a restraining order -- and banned the guy from going to Universal Studios in Los Angeles, where JLH shoots the "Ghost Whisperer." The guy has also been ordered to stay away from Jennifer's mom and ex-fiance.

As recently as last month, Nolte showed up at JLH's mother's house. She also believes the guy sold his house in Colorado to move to L.A. -- just to be closer to her.

Hargitay's Lung Collapses Again

January 13, 2009

0112_mariska_exd.jpgTMZ has learned Mariska Hargitay's suffered a partially collapsed lung over the XMAS holiday and it collapsed again today.

Her rep would only confirm that a partially collapsed lung has sidelined the actress.

We're told she has been readmitted to the hospital but will not miss any episodes. We do not know her condition.

Hargitay was sledding in the Hamptons around New Year's Eve but we're now told the cause of the lung problem is unknown.

Story developing...

Cops beat the shit out of a woman

January 8, 2009
Started By Garrick17 Comments
Turns out the Josh Brolin/Jeffrey Wright arrest video in Shreveport, Louisiana was tame -- compared to this incident. A woman had the crap beaten out of her by Shreveport's finest back in 2007.

Shreveport arrest: Click to watch
Watch what happens to this woman as she's interrogated for a DUI. The cop in the video was eventually fired.

-- Edited by Garrick at 09:56, 2009-01-08
1231852691currysexsuit.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com just caught wind of a SHOCKING new lawsuit being filed. A man is claiming that NY Knicks superstar Eddie Curry sexually hara**ed him. Heres how the NY Post is describing the events:
The stunning court papers claim [NY Knicks star Eddie] Curry, a married father of three, repeatedly approached chauffeur David Kuchinsky "in the nude," allegedly telling him, "Look at me, Dave, look" and "Come and touch it, Dave."

Curry also made Kuchinsky perform "humiliating tasks outside the scope of his employment, such as cleaning up and removing dirty towels [Curry had ejaculated into] so that his wife would not see them," the Manhattan federal court suit says.

Kuchinsky, who is straight and Jewish, also alleges racial discrimination, saying that Curry hurled slurs at him including "f---ing Jew," "cracker," "white slave," "white devil" and "grandmaster of the KKK."

This here is just plain SCANDALOUS!!!!

THESE ARE THE f**kING DAYS!!!!!!!!

Kruddy To Host Y.V. Awards

January 13, 2009
Started By jepomaxxx0 Comments
Upcoming heavyweights Darkcide International's latest protege Joel Harrison more popularly known as 'Kruddy' has once again been chosen by the committee of the Youth View Awards to host this year's Red Carpet affair. The event set to unveil in the coming weeks will see the velvet ropes and interviews with some of Jamaica biggest and brightest stars being marshaled by the very charismatic 'Kruddy' alongside his new co-host Pepita Little of the hit television series 'Intense'. Kruddy no stranger to stardom also played host the previous year partnering with the very vivacious Kerry-Ann 'Keke' Lewis formerly of Television Jamaica. When 876radio.com caught up with the Excelsior High past student a very elated Kruddy said he was happy to have been chosen to host the event for the second consecutive year and also used the opportunity to extend his gratitude to Ms. Karen Clarke of the organising committee for affording him the opportunity. The very multi-talented presenter/ emcee is also slated to host one of the most anticipated high school events for 2009 dubbed 'Re-Sit - The Ultimate High School Social' to be held at Chelsea Hotel on January 30th. The event is a Katalyst Lynx Promotion.

UR TOP TEN RIDDIMS FOR 2008?

January 3, 2009
Started By Silly16 Comments
What r ur favourite riddims of 2008?

Si my top 10 below:

top10.jpg

-- Edited by Silly at 03:44, 2009-01-03

Studies have revealed that a number of adolescents are using their cellphones to access Internet sites to download sexual content.

Hi-end phones can detect unblocked wireless networking, otherwise known as WiFi, which are being used by adolescents to navigate Internet sites and record explicit content, according to Marcia Forbes, permanent secretary in the Ministry of Mining and Telecommunications.

The revelation follows the current licensing of the 2.5 GHz, which is entirely for wireless broadband. Research conducted by Forbes revealed that adolescents between the age of 10 and 18 have used their cellphones to download music videos which, she said, influenced adolescent sexuality.

Download

Forbes quoted Heather Horst and Dan Miller's transnational study, The Cell Phone: An Anthropology of Communication, which reported that adolescents used their phones to download sex positions.

"A lot of adolescents access the Internet by cellphone and search for sex and sex positions, so I am aware of the potential problems," she said.

"But, I am acutely aware of the wonderful opportunities access to the Internet can allow children."

A technician at a high school in the Corporate Area, who preferred not to be identified, told The Gleaner that many students use their phones to access the Internet and download virtually anything.

"They usually download pictures, photos and porn videos, and enter chat rooms and show their friends," he said.

He added that the students, age between 11 and 18, used the hi-end phones or portable game devices to download or stream videos for free. Households and establish-ments which do not secure their wireless Internet connection with pass-words enable persons to take advantage of such 'hot spots', as they do not restrict the wireless signal to the house.

Pornography

When Damien, a father of three, was asked if he knew his children could access the Internet using their phones, he replied: "No I didn't know, but if I thought about it I would."

Miranda Sutherland, president of the National Parent-Teacher Association of Jamaica, told The Gleaner that, like Damien, not many parents have considered how the cellphones they buy for their children could allow them access to the Internet.

Sutherland stressed that communi-cation was vital, but stated that the technology of some phones, if activated, could expose children to things such as pornography.

"This is something we need to discuss with the parents and lobby with the phone companies. But, it has to be a parent's decision as to the type of phones they give to their children," she said.

MediaTakeOut.com reported to you a few days ago that a man SLAPPED comedian Katt Williams in his face. Well Vibe Magazine found dude - and here's what he had to say:
According to him, he came to the club following a high school cabaret.

I was probably with like 16, 17 dudes, we were scattered out throughout the club, the anonymous man, who lives in Detroits Jeffrey Projects, said. Basically we were just up in there having a good time.

Williams passed the man, who was wearing a cowboy outfit consisting of a pair of $5,000 gator boots, as he headed to the stage. When Williams took the microphone and begin to freestyle, things turned ugly.

I wasnt even paying attention, the man says. I was talking to someone else while he was doing it. And then he pointed at me. I walked over to a couple of friends of mine, and they told me, Hes clowning you.

So I walked over there and asked [Katt], So what you say? I dont play that joke sh*t. So he was like, And what? He didnt even admit what he said when I asked him.

The man said he proceeded to pimp slap the pint-sized star of The Pimp Chronicles, who was recently hospitalized in South Carolina for a mental evaluation.

He was still on some comedy stuff after I slapped him, I swear, the man says baffled. After I slapped him, he jumped back and he was still talking and it was some girls holding him back. It was actually some girls in the club grabbing bottles like they wanted to do something to me too, like trying to protect him. He stopped and actually grabbed a square and was trying to light his cigarette. It was on some comedy stuff to me. He was trying to get his square lit, he took like two puffs, and he tried to charge back at me. But at this time, the security was heading me towards the door.

LMAO at Katt's hoes trying to protect him. Dude is a TRUE PIMP!!!

The details of the alleged intimate acts that took place between a priest and the man accused of murdering him were revealed yesterday in a document which was tendered in evidence and read to the jury.

The revelation was made during the trial of 25-year-old labourer Prince Vale of Tommy Hill district, Stony Hill, St Andrew, who is charged with the murder of Anglican priest Father Richard Johnson.

The priest was fatally stabbed on the night of November 12, 2006, at the Anglican church rectory at Stony Hill.

Deputy Superintendent Roy Boyd testified in the Home Circuit Court yesterday that on November 15, 2006, he interviewed Vale. He said attorney-at-law Arthur Kitchin represented Vale during the interview that was in the form of questions and answers.

Vale said he used to go to the priest's house and they would discuss work and Bible knowledge. He said that they would telephone each other as well.

Vale said during the interview, that on previous occasions when he went to the rectory, he and the priest watched television in the bedroom. He said they also watched 'blue movies'.

Questioned as to whether the priest had ever said anything to him about having sex, Vale said "yes". The accused man further said that the priest had asked him if mi could have sex with him, which he refused.

Vale told the police during the interview that on the night of the incident he went to the priest's house sometime after 9 p.m for a pair of pants and to discuss work.

He said that when he went to the house, the priest let him in. He said that he asked the priest for a drink and it was given to him.

After he tried on the pair of pants, it could not fit and he told the priest it would be better for him to keep it.

He said that after he took off the pants the priest tried to fondle him. Father Johnson, he said, touched his penis and chest but "I told him I was not in those things".

Vale said that the priest who was wearing a pair of shorts took it off and tried to make him touch his erect penis. Questioned further Vale said "mi put mi hand on it." Vale said that for about three to five minutes, the priest was trying to have intercourse with him but he told him to stop.

In response to the question "why did you stab Johnson?" Vale replied "mi never want him to ..... me." Vale said at the time when he stabbed the priest he had been lying on top of him.

Tyrese

Here we were thinking the bumper sticker we placed on our 98 Honda Accord was ridin for Obama. Nah, buddy. No, sir. Black Tys ridin for Obama with the plates on his Maserati.  Were doing something more along the lines of crawlin for Obama compared to this. SMH

More pics of Tyrese, his Maserati and a man purse (?) arriving at the Zune event in LA when you
Tyrese GibsonTyrese

Mob beats man to death

January 8, 2009
Started By Garrick11 Comments

Twenty-five-year-old Willard Whittle, otherwise called 'Jubby,' of Nugent Street, Spanish Town, and Kitson Town, both in St Catherine, was beaten to death by a mob after he was accused of stealing cellular phones from a home in the community on Tuesday.

Reports are that about 11 a.m. Whittle was painting a house at Nugent Street when he was accused of stealing cellular phones. He was held and severely beaten by a group of persons. Members of the community went to his rescue and he was taken to the Spanish Town Hospital where he died while being treated.

The Spanish Town police are investigating.

michael-jackson

MJ has a new super-stanunfortunately, it aint any of us.  Poor thang:

MICHAEL JACKSON was only interested in splashing his cash on one artist at a Hollywood store himself.

Though the singer really needs to try harder if he wants to remain anonymous in public.

His bizarre bee keeper-style head arrangement failed to mask his unmistakable face as he lifted Michael Jackson box set Visionary: The Complete Singles Collection off the rack.

We gotta help him, yall.  But, if that consists of touching him, count us out.

WHO IS YOUR FAVOURITE PERSON ON THE ZONE??????
1231423436flavdrama.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com got some unfortunate news. Apparently one of Flavor Flavs children is very upset with their father. It turns out that Flav is refusing to pay for that childs college education, and they need the money in order to graduate this May.

Heres what Flavs kid told MediaTakeOut.com:
I have just had my last conversation with my father because he has taken his final step in ruining my life. He has refused to not pay my final semesters tuition [of] $3,400 because he declared that he does not have it. This would have been my last semester at this college and I am expected to graduate in May I explained that to him 24 hours ago [and] he agreed to pay it.

[Then] he called me about 20 minutes ago [to tell] me that he does not have it. And then [he] tells me that he simply will not take the effort to get the money because he owes us nothing. He [even gad] the nerve to say in tonights conversation "if anything you guys owe me, I owe you nothing." He then told me outright "I have nothing for you at all, but I do have love and my phone is always on for you guys."

He sees us approx. 1 week out of a year and when I brought that out to him last night, his response was "so ..... I live on the west coast now this is my new life." He doesnt even call to let us know he's in town.

DANG Flav you know you got $3,400 for your child. It dont seem worth causing all this drama
I Think so expecially di one wid adams bout him kill innocent ppl
do u think that dancehall promotes slackness and if so how?

How to get 360 waves

June 17, 2008
Started By UV RAYS29 Comments
Training Your Hair for Waves Your Brush and Brushing Wave Styling & Maintenance continue. . . Big Ben's Before you even think of embarking on a wave training program, make sure your hair and scalp are in good health. If your scalp is dry or you are battling dandruff, take action to remedy your scalp problems. You should take a look at your schedule and find times of the day when you are able to devote adequate time, whereas training your waves will require lengthy effort (especially in the beginning) to persuade your hair away from immediately curling upon its departure from the follicle. First and foremost, you will need a men's hand brush. It is important to use a hand brush as brushes with handles and convex bristle placements are designed to brush through longer hair. Handled brushes do not offer the sort of control required to develop your wave pattern and locating a handled brush in the array of bristle firmness that men's brushes come in can prove to be difficult. There are many factors that one need take into account when purchasing a brush. You should first assess the texture of your hair. Fine or less curly hair will require a soft to medium bristle brush. Be wary that some brushes for these hair types may actually be too soft and will be ineffective in producing waves. If in doubt, step up to a brush with harder bristles. If you possess hair that is really, really thick or has a very tight curl pattern you should choose a brush within the hard to very hard bristle firmness range. These very firm bristles will not only be responsible for brushing your hair into the desired direction, but will be literally pulling each strand of hair along your scalp so it conforms to your head's contours and begins to wave. Another staple will be a mild, yet effective shampoo. Additionally, be sure to pick up a high quality nylon or spandex durag or stocking cap. The headgear you choose will serve two roles in the development of your waves; it will help slow the releasing of moisture from your hair and scalp and will protect your waves from the ravaging effects your pillow through a night's sleep. Brushes with wooden bases and 50% boar bristle 50% synthetic bristle composition are your best choice but will also be costly. You may find yourself going through a small trial and error process in order to find a brush that yields good results if you choose a fully synthetic bristle brush. Once you have made your brush selection you are obviously ready to begin brushing. On your first day it is advisable to have your first brushing session after your morning shower. Blot your scalp dry if you are not in the habit of doing this already. If you are accustomed to rubbing your head dry this will complicate the appearance of waves in future weeks as you will be tussling your hair out of pattern. Once the excess water has been blotted from your head, stand in front of a mirror or if you have a mirror setup that enables you to see the back and sides of your head, all the better. Watching yourself in the mirror for the first few days will be fundamental in developing good brushing form and habits. After a few days pass, muscle memory will take over and you will be brushing in good form with or without a mirror. It is worth noting that some prefer to complete their morning brushing session while in the shower. While the concept behind this (your hair being constantly doused with water) is great, beginners should refrain from this method until their brushing technique has been thoroughly established. Failure to follow good form can be counterproductive in the formation of waves. Your first application of the brush should be to the top of your head. Brush this area forward, starting at the peak of your head and finishing on the sides, right below the where the side of your head begins, or on the side about an inch and a half above the eye line. Brush through at least 50 strokes. Your second brushing area should be the back of the head down to the neck. This area should be brushed from the rear crown (where you see guys getting a bald spot) downward and extending to the sides just behind the ears for another 50 strokes at least. The final portion of the head that requires brushing are the sides. Being that this final area essentially closes the gaps between the top and back, you must compromise between the forward and downward strokes used to maintain the 360 degree circular look. Begin just below the crown of your head, right above your ear and with a diagonal motion toward your cheeks, brush through at least 50 strokes on each side. Many feel that this morning brushing session is the most important as it sets the pace for the maintenance brushing you will be doing the rest of the day. Another benefit of the morning session is that is the time when your hair will be at its most hydrated, making it much more agreeable to waving versus curling. For the remainder of the day, continue to brush in the exact same pattern that you established in the morning. If you have a few minutes as you prepare for a morning meeting, on your way out to lunch or even as you prepare for a trip to the gym in the late afternoon, try to factor in at least three additional daytime brushing sessions. Your final session will come before bed. This session is also important as you will be in the comfort of your own home and will be able to moisten your hair and scalp with a quick rinse, a warm towel wrapped around your head for three to five minutes. Perform your preferred method of moisturizing and begin to bush your soft, pliable hair with the brushing technique. After this nighttime session, throw on your durag or stocking cap so you do not ruin your hard work while you sleep. As your waves become more pronounced and defined you will probably feel the need to purchase a new brush with firmer bristles. This is due in part to your hair becoming longer and offering more resistance to the bristles and because brushes do lose their firmness with repeated use over time. Copyrighted © 2008 Landing Page Home Avoiding Bumps Contact Us hairbrushingchart.JPGwaves3602.JPG
«First  <  1337 338 339 340 341524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by