Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

Rihanna, Ciara Fight And Make Up On Twitter

Note to any aspiring haters out there: Rihanna is not one to be trifled with.

rihanna_ciara_twitter_fight.jpgFirst, she flogged members of the media in her video for her current single "S&M," then she went all scorched-earth on censors in the U.K., who changed the title of that song to "Come On" without her knowledge and earned a fierce rebuke for their efforts. (Rihanna personally vowed to have the title changed back ... and, less than a week later, it was.)

And on Friday, she turned her wrath upon Ciara, after the singer dared dis RiRi during an appearance on E!'s "Fashion Police" with Joan Rivers.

"I ran into [Rihanna] recently at a party. She wasn't the nicest," Ciara told Rivers. "It's crazy, because I've always loved and respected what she's done in fashion. It wasn't the most pleasant run-in."

Of course, things were about to get a lot less pleasant. Soon after Ciara dared speak her name, Rihanna took to her Twitter account to strike back brand-new rival ... in less than 140 characters.

"My bad, Ci, did I forget to tip you," Rihanna wrote, including the hashtag #howrudeofme for extra spite.

Of course, that earned a response from Ciara, who wrote, "Trust me, Rihanna, you don't want to see me on or off the stage."

Rihanna replied first with a taunt ("U gangsta huh? Haaa" (link and then, after thinking about it for a minute, went for the jugular, making fun of Ciara's recent sales woes by writing, "Good luck with booking that stage you speak of."

Ciara tried to laugh off the slight, while Rihanna, perhaps feeling a twinge of remorse after vivisecting her latest foe, posted an apology: "Ciara baby, I love you girl! You hurt my feelings real bad on TV! I'm heartbroken! That's why I retaliated this way! So sorry!"

Ciara accepted RiRi's apology and suggested the two work out their problems "in person." Rihanna has yet to respond.

Source: mtv

I-Octane Rubbishes Claims of Hair Extensions

ioctane_hair_style.jpgRising superstar I-Octane has categorically denied ever putting extensions in his hair in the wake of statements made by fellow entertainer on Thursday.

"I can't control what another artiste chooses to say," I-Octane stated. "But I've been growing my locks for several years now and the people at Jus Natural in Portmore can vouch for that."

When prodded to respond about how he feels about the allegation, I-Octane made things very clear. "In this industry you come to expect that people will do and say anything. Is music mi a deal with and I won't allow anyone to shift my focus from that. As far as I'm concerned, it doesn't make sense for me to spend a lot of time thinking or even talking about this issue. Jah teach me that you empower what you focus on, and as mi seh, music is my focus. Nobody can draw me out or try to involve me inna mix up. Anyone who has been following my career can look at me through the years and see that my locks grow natural. Its not an overnight thing. As a matter of fact, people a suffer all over the world. Mek wi focus on dem type a tings."

In response to questions as to whether he would respond in a song, the singjay laughed. "No sah! Mi nuh haffi do nuttn. Memba dat in mi song mi seh Touch not the Lord's anointed. Mi nuh haffi do a ting."

The artiste is in Orlando, Fla. preparing for a show on Friday (May 13th). He will then be heading to England next week for two shows, one in Birmingham on Friday, May 20th and on Sunday, May 22nd in London, England. He is also one of the headliners for Best of The Best in Miami on Sunday, May 29th.

Rihanna's new man: Colin Farrell

rihanna_sexy_photos_new_man_boy_friend.jpgRihanna is reportedly considering moving in with new love Colin Farrell, according to sources.

The pop superstar and Hollywood icon have been romantically linked for the past two months. Rihanna met Colin when they both appeared on a British talk show in December. The pair hit it off straight away and decided to swap cell phone numbers.

Now, insiders have extended on these rumours, suggesting the union is increasing in intensity.

"Rihanna's told friends she's so in love with Colin that she's thinking about moving in with him. They've already said 'I love you' to each other, and Colin asked her last week if she'd like to live with him. Rihanna seems really keen," the source told more! magazine.

Rihanna split from baseball star Matt Kemp towards the end of the year, with her hectic schedule thought to be part of the reason for the breakup. It is thought the Barbadian's busy life is occasionally proving a stumbling block in her new relationship, meaning the blossoming romance sometimes falters.

"Rihanna's got a crazy work schedule, so seeing him has been tricky. But she seems to really like Colin, so she flew for four hours just to have dinner with him. Rihanna says it was totally worth it to see Colin - she just can't get enough of him," they added.

Source: stuff.co.nz

Rihanna reveals her sexual fantasies

The R&B singer confesses to being a sexual masochist, something she is not proud of but believes to be the result of abuse she received as a child.

rihanna_dark_room.jpgR&B pop sensation Rihanna will fill the front page of the next edition of Rolling Stone magazine, within whose pages she makes some revealing confessions about her sex-life: "I live feeling like I'm somebody's girl," says the singer.

In a totally spontaneous and honest way, Rihanna opens up to the publication about her most intimate secrets: "I love to be tied up and spanked," she reveals.
"Using whips and chains is too planned... you have to stop and look for the whip. I prefer them to use their hands," she adds.

During the interview the singer also says she has to make so many decisions on a daily basis, that in her private life she likes to feel like someone else is in charge. She also declares herself a masochist, something she confesses to not being very proud of, but which she attributes to the abuse she suffered as a child.

Rihanna tells Rolling Stoneshe was just nine years old the first time she saw her father smoke crack: "I was always terrified on Friday because he could come home drunk. That was payday, and half of it went on alcohol," says the artist.
Unbelievable as it may seem, Rihanna says she lives on a diet of chips, cheetohs and KFC, though she is fully aware of the damage this could have: "your tits and ass are the first to go".

Source: eitb

Beyonce And Jay-Z In Trouble Over Sean Paul Fling?

jay-z-beyonce-sean-paul-gossip.jpgThe people over at MediaTakeOut shovel so much manure they were probably gardeners before getting into the gossip biz. The latest heap of bull their pushing is an outlandish rumor that dancehall performer Sean Paul is preparing to release a tell-all book that will detail his alleged fling with Beyonce.

"Word is that Sean Paul dated Beyonce during a time when Jay-Z and Beyonce were on the outs," the site reports.

An insider explains, "Jay-Z was very jealous ... to this day he has a problem with [Sean Paul]."

"And get this ... Sean is planning on telling everything!!! He'll graphically talk about every nook and cranny of his relationship with Bey," MTO adds.

RumorFix spoke with a rep for Sean Paul who not only says their client isn't writing any silly book, but also that the Sean never dated Beyonce. "These reports are completely false. Sean is not working on a book and has never had anything more than a working relationship with Beyonce."

Back to garden MTO, we need some tomatoes for our salsa.

Source: rumorfix

Rihanna Defends 'Man Down' Video's Violent Scenes

'U can't hide your kids from society, or they'll never learn how to adapt!' singer tweets.
By Gil Kaufman
MTV

rihanna_with_gun_man_down_jamaica.jpg

A day after the Parents Television Council and other groups decried the violent murder scene in her new "Man Down" video, Rihanna took to the air and to Twitter to defend her clip from detractors.

"I'm a 23 year old rock star with NO KIDS! What's up with everybody wantin me to be a parent? I'm just a girl, I can only be your/our voice!" she wrote on Thursday. "Cuz we all know how difficult/embar****ing it is to communicate touchy subject matters to anyone especially our parents! And this is why! ... Cuz we turn the other cheek! U can't hide your kids from society, or they'll never learn how to adapt! This is the REAL WORLD! ... The music industry isn't exactly Parents R Us! We have the freedom to make art, LET US! It's your job to make sure they don't turn out like US."

The PTC took issue with the opening scene in the video, in which Rihanna is shown shooting an unarmed man in the back of the head in the middle of a crowded train station. Viewers later learn that the act was in retaliation for a previous sexual assault.

The PTC, the Enough Is Enough campaign and the entertainment think tank Industry Ears released a statement on Wednesday condemning the video for what the group said was an apparent enticement to young women to turn to violence.

" 'Man Down' is an inexcusable, shock-only, shoot-and-kill theme song," said Industry Ears co-founder Paul Porter.

The PTC lamented that Rihanna had a "golden opportunity" to use her celebrity status to send an important message to young girls and victims of rape and domestic violence with the clip, but had missed the mark. "Instead of telling victims they should seek help, Rihanna released a music video that gives retaliation in the form of premeditated murder the imprimatur of acceptability," said the PTC's Melissa Henson.

The singer later pleaded with her fans to stop making threats against members of the PTC, writing, "We love it, they don't ... that is all, and the world keeps turning."

She also called in to the BET show "106 & Park" on Thursday night to defend the clip, saying she didn't set out to spark any controversy, but isn't surprised she did.

"Rape is, unfortunately, happening all over the world and in our own homes, and we continue to cover it up and pretend it doesn't happen," Rihanna said. "Boys and girls feel compelled to be embar****ed about it and hide it from everyone, including their teachers, their parents and their friends. That only continues to empower the abusers."

T.O.K's Bay-C Responds to Kartel's Statement on Hair Extensions

tok_group_reggae_dancehall.jpgRecently the self proclaimed Dancehall Hero Vybz Kartel sent out a statement in which he addresses the gossip about his new hairstyle. However Vybz Kartel uses several other artistes as examples which states: .P.S. MAVADO, ELEPHANT MAN, MACHEL MONTANO (whose hair done by the same girl who did mine) I OCTANE T.O.K. ETC HAVE ALL HAD EXTENTION PUT IN. TALK BOUT THAT".

A few days ago I-Octane sent out a press release advising the public that he has never worn hair extensions. Bay C from TOK also responded saying, "To all who seem to be confused, TOK have NEVER worn extensions. To each his own, it's not for me to judge. Having said that let me make it clear....mi a RASTA!!! Lion of the tribe of Judah! DON'T confuse the mane of a LION with the tail of a HORSE!!! BOMBRUSH say that!!!

Music

Managing a Brand He Made Himself

Ports Bishop

The dancehall reggae artist Vybz Kartel. His new album, Kingston Story, will be released on Tuesday.

SHORTLY before 10 p.m. on the final night of Best of the Best, a reggae and hip-hop concert held over the Memorial Day weekend in Veterans Park in Miami, DJ Nuffy, the master of ceremonies, began to introduce the dancehall reggae artist Vybz Kartel. But Vybz Kartel wasnt actually in the park, in Miami, or even in the United States. He was more than 500 miles away at Jamaica Jamaica, a fancy nightclub just outside Ocho Rios, because he has been denied a United States visa.

Niketa Thomas

In addition to his music Vybz Kartel said he is developing beverage and clothing brands.

And now for your feature presentation, the biggest thing in Jamaica, DJ Nuffy roared, adding him look like Michael Jackson. The sly remark referring both to the artists enormous celebrity in the Caribbean diaspora and to his controversial practice of lightening his skin drew laughter and mischievous cheers from the crowd of some 10,000 who stared intently at a screen on the stage where artists including DJ Khaled, Busta Rhymes and I-Octane had performed just moments before. Lets welcome via satellite, live to you, Vybz. Vybz. Vybz.

The crowd shouted Kartel in unison as his image filled the screen. He wore a purple suit with a loosely knotted silk tie and button-down shirt, his pale brown tattooed face framed by aviator glasses and a mane of black hair extensions. Yo, Miami, you know what time now? he asked, checking his wristwatch as the stuttering digital beat for Touch a Button, his chest-thumping challenge to rivals, started to play. Before long Vybz Kartels rapid-fire flow had the audience spellbound.

Over the last few years Vybz Kartel (pronounced Vibes Cartel) has become the most talked about figure in dancehall, a genre that is to the roots reggae of Bob Marley as hip-hop is to R&B. More than any of his predecessors or his peers, Vybz Kartel understands that he is not just entertaining an audience but managing a global brand. At a time when major-label interest in the genre is at a low ebb, and most dancehall artists release a smattering of singles, he will drop a full album, Kingston Story, on Tuesday on the Brooklyn digital label Mixpak Records. Although there will be no P.R. blitz to push the work, Kartel, 35, is highly skilled at creating controversy and leveraging the media exposure into new opportunities. The secret of his success may be that Vybz Kartel doesnt worry about conforming to expectations; hed rather break the rules.

Kartel has remixed the notion of what it means to be a dancehall star, said the Jamaican novelist and essayist Colin Channer. Hes a pop artist in the sense of somebody like Madonna or Lady Gaga, who are aware of how transforming their image makes them attractive to different segments of the public.

When asked how he maintains his international notoriety while rarely leaving Jamaica, Vybz Kartel laughed and said, with his usual braggadocio, We work with what we have, and we make miracles like Jesus.

The satellite-feed performance is only the latest example of this artists innovative approach to advancing his career. I feel very special, Vybz Kartel said by phone two weeks after the performance. A lot of artists dont have any visa now, but I am the one they approached. The job was pulled off, and I was the first to do it. (He said he had his United States visa taken away six years ago over what he calls allegations; United States officials are not required to explain the grounds for denial of a visa.)

But the show almost didnt happen. A week before the concert Vybz Kartels longtime business partner, Corey Todd an American businessman who formerly worked with the Pimp Juice drink brand owned by the rapper Nelly gave a series of interviews on Jamaican television accusing Vybz Kartel of threatening his life. He publicly severed ties with Vybz Kartel, dissolving the ventures that the two had built together, including Street Vybz Rum and the popular Kingston night club the Building, where the satellite performance was supposed to have been staged. Two of Vybz Kartels top collaborators the singer Jah Vinci and the producer Not Nice also jumped ship with Mr. Todd.

I didnt threaten anybody, Vybz Kartel responded. That is definitely a lie, and we are going to pursue that matter in court. No legal action had yet been taken.

Vybz Kartel (born Adidja Palmer) made his name through a prodigious output of music, flooding iTunes with two or three new releases each week, with songs like Ramping Shop and Jeans & Fitted becoming international hits on radio. Im the Jay-Z for Jamaica, dont call me a faker, he rhymed a few years ago.

Page .1

-- Edited by DJ Sarge on Monday 20th of June 2011 09:03:23 AM

Can Vybz Kartel's Business Empire Survive Split With Partner?

June 2011

By Patricia Meschino, New York

Portishead
"I always wanted to be the Russell Simmons of dancehall," says  Vybz Kartel pictured here in late-May outside the offices of of his upcoming reality TV show in Kingston, Jamaica.  (Photo: Patricia Meschino)

Vybz Kartel (born Adidja Palmer), 35, is arguably Jamaica's most popular dancehall reggae artist but his greatest skill may be his knack for spinning his controversy-fueled stardom into several prosperous businesses including a rum brand, a line of footwear and even condoms. Now, with an acrimonious break from his primary business partner, just weeks prior to the June 21st release of his latest album "Kingston Story" on Brooklyn based hip hop-electro producer Dre Skull's Mixpak Records, can Kartel's Gaza Empire remain in tact?

On May 23 Corey Todd, an American living in Kingston and Kartel's partner in Unlimited Daggering, the company that owns and distributes Street Vybz Rum (which commands 1-2% of Jamaica's $65 million annual island-wide rum sales, according to a spokesperson for National Rums of Jamaica), announced the demise of their three-year old association, alleging Kartel had threatened his life.

Portishead
Spirits Division: Vybz Kartel's eponymous Vybz Rum.

In an interview with Billboard in Kingston just hours after Todd's announcement, Kartel said their split stemmed from "irreconcilable differences," adding, "Vybz Kartel will not be associated with the Street Vybz Rum brand and Todd cannot use my image for anything." Lawyers representing each party are currently negotiating a settlement of Unlimited Daggering's assets, which includes the Kingston nightclub The Building.

Christina Aguilera
Vybz Cartel's controversial Cake Soap, from the man who lightened his own skin.

Kartel plans to introduce another rum beverage in July 2011 with Dennis Gordon, his partner in Vybz Cake Soap, a controversial product developed from the artist's most debated action to date, the intentional bleaching of his chestnut brown skin, a dubious transformation initially celebrated in his hits "Straight Jeans and Fitted" (video below) and "Cake Soap".

Regarded as one of dancehall's cleverest lyricists (though his penchant for simplistic X-rated rhymes oftentimes obscures that talent), Kartel, a.k.a. the Teacha, issued a statement on May 28 simultaneously refuting Todd's allegations while explaining that the headline grabbing, dramatic alterations in his appearance, including numerous tattoos festooning his neck, face and arms, non-corrective teeth braces, hair extensions and especially his blanched complexion, are diversionary tactics while he pursues his true calling: articulating concerns for Jamaica's poor.

In the statement he denounced the gritty gangster anthems upon which he built his reputation, initially as a writer for his mentor turned nemesis Bounty Killer in the early '00s. Kartel now says he will execute his newly declared mission through uplifting song lyrics, his charitable Gaza Education and Literacy program and a forthcoming book "Voice of the Ghetto (or Gaza) - Social Commentary for My People", available on July 23, 2011, the birthday of Rastafarian deity Haile Selassie I, which heightens speculation that the Gaza leader's next move may be to grow dreadlocks and (outwardly) adopt the Rastafarian way of life.

The term Gaza originally denoted the Waterford area of Portmore, a Kingston suburb where Kartel grew up, its volatility reflected by its Palestinian namesake. The Gaza name also encompasses Kartel's various businesses, his stable of artists and basically any habitat he occupies. In late 2006 Kartel and fellow dancehall star and Bounty Killer protégé Mavado, tagged as Gully for the gully that runs through the impoverished Kingston community of Cassava Piece where he was raised, became reluctant poster boys for Jamaica's societal ills through their deeply divisive, violence-laced lyrical battle fought through a prolonged, tense exchange of diss songs.

Portishead
When Vybz Kartel's war of words with Mavado led to violence on the streets, Jamaican Prime Minister Bruce Golding stepped in to help squash the beef.

When Jamaican schoolchildren reportedly began engaging in classroom confrontations defending Gaza or Gully's supremacy, amidst escalating pressure from police and government but away from the media spotlight, the duo declared a truce. On December 7, 2009 they performed together, unannounced, at West Kingston Jamboree, an annual concert promoted by Christopher "Dudus" Coke who was extradited to the US in June 2010 to face gun and drug trafficking charges. Two days after that concert, the pair met with Jamaica's Prime Minister Bruce Golding and formally acknowledged an end to their rivalry.

Kartel estimates he employs 30 people through his assorted Gaza enterprises, which include a forthcoming Vybz Wear line of self-designed tees, belt buckles, and dog tags, and Addi's Shoes, the latter inspired by his massive 2010 hit "Clarks" (featuring Popcaan and Gaza Slim, which prompted a dramatic increase in Clarks' prices throughout Jamaica.

Portishead
Vybz is taking merchandising to a whole new level.

"I always wanted to be an entrepreneur, the Russell Simmons of dancehall; the Vybz Kartel brand is generating revenue, paying taxes and showing corporate Jamaica that dancehall is a viable economic force because of the influence the music wields here," said Kartel who will star in his own reality dating show, Teacha's Pet, on Jamaica's CVM TV network in September, sponsored by Jamaica's telecommunications giant Lime and renowned beer brand Red Stripe Bold.

However, further dissension within the Empire threatens to topple its once imposing structure. Kartel's former collaborator in the label Adidjaheim/NotNice Records, producer Ainsley "NotNice" Morris (responsible for Kartel's steamy single "Rompin Shop", featuring female deejay Spice, which peaked at #76 on the R&B/Hip Hop chart) announced on May 30 he too had severed ties with Vybz. Notnice's exodus follows the departure of several acts from the label, each claiming lack of payment and promotions, most notably singer Jah Vinci who is now managed by Todd. Kartel has renamed the label Adidjaheim Records with digital distribution through IODA and Zojak Worldwide, its publishing handled by Adidjaheim Publishing, administered through Jack Russell Music.

Meanwhile, Dre Skull is exploring available options for Kartel's return to the states (he's been without a US visa since 2005) to facilitate the promotion of "Kingston Story," digitally distributed by Seed. The lead single "Go Go Wine", in its second week at US radio (May 24-30) earned 64 spins on 18 stations

"The album is Dre's version of dancehall, as a white guy from New York working with Vybz Kartel the black youth from Kingston, well, not so black anymore," quips Kartel. Unlike his earlier albums, which are chiefly compilations of hit singles recorded on popular dancehall riddims, "Kingston Story" boasts 13 previously unreleased, exclusively fashioned tracks, fusing cosmopolitan electro accents, near-symphonic interludes and assorted sonic shadings with Jamaican dancehall's staccato, over which Kartel deftly lays his dense patois rhymes, primarily celebrating carnal pleasures.

Vybz Kartel - Mi Remember by Mixpak

Also included on "Kingsotn" is "Yuh Love", the pair's initial collaboration from 2009 and Mixpak's biggest selling single to date, currently ranked no. 7 out of 1,000 Kartel songs available for purchase on iTunes. "We will partner with another independent or a major for the fall physical release for the widest distribution possible," said Skull. "We are doing dub plates (customized recordings) for sound systems, about 1,000 radio drops, and possibly a few satellite concert dates for key US cities."

"An exclusive line of tee-shirts will be available with the album's release," the entrepreneurial Kartel, of course, hastens to add. "I am a dancehall superstar, so why not make a buck off what I'm doing?"

Dakaration Records has produced their first Riddim and Single titled Nameless Swagg

263164_10150225921383656_131272108655_7191439_1519272_n.jpg
Dakaration Records has produced their first Riddim and Single titled Nameless Swagg
Dakaration is one of Jamaicas leading entertainment websites and was recently awarded the Best Entertainment Website in the Clarendon Awards Show. Since Dakarations emergence, we have further expanded our community and services into an entertainment portal, providing the latest in news on the entertainment scene both locally and internationally, and providing our services with a competitive edge.
The creativity and style of our Dakaration Team has influenced the expansion of our entity and the creation of our first rhythm called the Nameless Swagg Riddim. It has the influential feel of the summer with a cool, nice vibe and is something we thought would be good for a summer release, especially with the two biggest summer events Appleton Temptation Isle (A.T.I) and Smirnoff Dream Weekend yet to be held.
The first track featured on our riddim was done by an upcoming artist known as Zagga and is titled Nameless Swagg, which was produced by Kevaughn Dj Russian Nugent.
Support US as we will be releasing other artistes on the riddim.
LISTEN ON YOUTUBE:
Follow us:
Twitter:
@Dakaration_Com
@SirDakaration
@MrDakaration
@DjRussian
Download Link:
http://www.box.net/shared/6rxs1jompv8a62d71icc

Vybz Kartel Hits The Cover Of 3 Major US Print Publications All In One Week

248913_208220309214758_160456930657763_505373_5556539_n.png
When was the last time a Jamaican artists was featured in three major US print publications within just a couple of days (not to mention Dazed and Confused, Riddim etc.)? Must have been when Sean Paul came out with »Dutty Rock«. (via Peter Dean Rickards)
Looks like besides being a superb self-promoter you can even follow »all of Vybz Kartels Blackberry updates« online now he seems to have the right team around him to get that kind of main stream attention just before the Dre Skull-produced album »Kingston Story« dropping early next week.
The difference with Vybz Kartel is that he managed to get that kind of main stream attention without the help of any PR agency he is his own. And with the Dre Skull-produced album »Kingston Story« about to drop early next week, he pushes self-promotion to another level. You can even follow »all of Vybz Kartels Blackberry updates« online now.
»Vybz Kartel has remixed the notion of what it means to be a dancehall star«, said the Jamaican novelist and essayist Colin Channer. »Hes a pop artist in the sense of somebody like Madonna or Lady Gaga, who are aware of how transforming their image makes them attractive to different segments of the public.

Default Kartel & him Trini GF

June 2011
Vybz Kartel has a Trinidadian GF

I recently had a brief chat with my old friend aka the new girlfriend of Vybz Kartel about their relationship and this is the result:
Thirty-five year old Adidja "Vybz Kartel" Palmer has found himself a 21 year old sweetheart. The lucky lady is Francisca Maria Stoute from Princes Town, Trinidad & Tobago.
Francisca or Mrs. Kartel (as she refers to herself as) has also lived in Arima, Trinidad. She has been back and forth between the US and Trinidad (where she was born and spent most of her life), but currently resides in Daytona Beach, Florida.
"Mrs. Kartel" has been such a big fan of the controversial dancehall artist that she even tattooed his name on her lower back years before she even met him!
The two met on Twitter when she sent him a photo of her tattoo. They eventually exchanged messages on Facebook in September 2010 and met face-to-face the following December.
One thing she says she learnt about the "Gaza Thug" subsequent to meeting him is that "he real cool and down to earth, enjoys pop music and gets manicures & pedicures (he has very clean hygiene)."
Remember where you heard it first!

Music

(Page 2 of 2)

Like Jay-Z he is as much an entrepreneur as an artist. He said he is planning to release a book analyzing his lyrics, similar to Jay-Zs best seller, Decoded. Vybz Kartel is constantly making headlines with his X-rated lyrics, his leaked sex tapes, his well-documented arrests and for lightening his complexion in a culture with a long tradition of black pride. The skin-bleaching brouhaha is an enlightening case study.

Blog

ArtsBeat

The latest on the arts, coverage of live events, critical reviews, multimedia extravaganzas and much more. Join the discussion.

How you going to liberate the black people when you bleach out your skin? asked Vybz Kartels erstwhile mentor Bounty Killer, voicing a widely repeated question. Youre supposed to be proud to be a black man.

In February the New York radio D.J. Dubmaster Chris of 93.5 FM banned Vybz Kartels music on his show during Black History Month. If you dont stand for something, he said, youll fall for anything.

But Vybz Kartel parlayed the publicity into his first-ever live morning show interview on Hot 97 FM, one of the most influential hip-hop radio stations in America. This music stuff what people say about me good or bad I dont take it personally, Vybz Kartel explained later. Its business.

While working on Kingston Story the producer, Dre Skull, said he saw firsthand how Vybz Kartel took care of his business. Most of the album was recorded in Not Nices bedroom studio during a series of four one-night sessions. One of the most exciting things about this record is that we did it with no A&Rs, no outside songwriters and no other producers, said Dre Skull, who runs Mixpak from his apartment in Brooklyn.

Dre Skull was also impressed with how prolific a songwriter Vybz Kartel is. Your average U.S. artist might do 300 songs over the course of a really successful career, he said. Kartel must have written three or four thousand songs, if you add it all up. The man is a master of his craft.

Mr. Channer, who organizes the annual Calabash International Literary Festival in Jamaica, agrees. Kartel is one of the best writers in any form to come out of Jamaica in the last 15 years, he said. Its just that he likes to write about nothing but sex and guns.

Vybz Kartel recently announced that he would no longer record songs with violent lyrics in favor of more cultural fare but added that explicit sex, as with the new albums Go Go Wine remained fair game.

He got his break in the late 1990s writing hits for Bounty Killer, one of the most popular dancehall artists of the last decade. He rose to prominence as a performer in 2003 with the song New Millennium, which featured his trademark intricately constructed polysyllabic rhymes delivered in densely coded patois the diametric opposite of mainstream hits. His career has been marked by run-ins with the law. Last July he was detained by the police as a person of major interest shortly before the accused drug lord Christopher Coke was extradited to the United States where he is now on trial.

Why was I in jail? he asked. They said I was a gang leader. It was ludicrous. And I dont mean the rapper.

But there is no doubt that he exerts a powerful influence over his listeners. His 2010 hit Clarks, he said, offers proof of his clout in the global marketplace. The catchy song about the storied British shoe brand long a staple among dancehall fashionistas received worldwide airplay, sparking a rush on Clarks retailers in Jamaica and elsewhere. This month the company announced a 19 percent uptick in sales in the United States last year, pushing profits past £100 million (about $164 million) for the first time in its 186-year history.

Those Clarks people, they are like me, they know how to capitalize on whats happening, Vybz Kartel said. Thats why I decided to come with my own shoe line. Cause I got a knack for making things move off the shelf. Although his rum and condom lines have been discontinued, he said hes developing new beverage and clothing brands.

Meanwhile he said his line of cake soap a detergent usually used for laundry is selling briskly. When people were talking about whether I bleached my skin, I made a joke that I used cake soap, he explained. I made some songs about it, and cake soap started to sell like hot bread in Jamaica. Recognizing an opportunity he rushed his own brand of cake soap to market.

Mr. Channer, the novelist, likens Vybz Kartel to Anansi, the trickster character of Afro-Caribbean folklore. Many cultures have a trickster figure, he said. The trickster finds a way to get something when there seems to be nothing.

Throughout the controversies, Vybz Kartel seems to be enjoying a laugh as well as a tidy profit. Its fun for me to watch people hate me, and its flattering to watch people love me, he said. But 10 years from now the public is going to love somebody else. Vybz Kartel is going to become irrelevant, and I can accept that. Thats why a lot of artists are bitter, cause they cant accept that. Get over it. Stop trying to be Kartel. You cant. Its all about making that money while Im in the limelight.

Page .2

Vybz Kartel discusses his upcoming album 'Kingston Story' and what it's like working with Dre Skull. Kingston Story, the Dre Skull (Mixpak Records)-produced new album from ace dancehall deejay Vybz Kartel, is set to be released in June 2011, and on this album, Kartel is said to be taking Jamaicas traditional singles-based riddim culture a step forward to produce what is being described as an expansive concept album that will revolutionize Jamaican music in both form and format.

The result is a robust body of genre-spanning music encompassed on Kingston Story, music that not only elevates Kartels repertoire, but also shows the world that contemporary Jamaican styles translate better than ever to crossover rhythmic radio.

Vybz Kartel for Great Fete Weekend 2011

249299_10150197289104728_11931859727_6670786_5912145_n.jpg

5 nights of fun in Tobago

Free Drinks Wednesday
July 27
Golden Star, Crown Point
Retro Thursday
July 28
Pigeon Point Beach
Fantastik Soca Friday
July 29
Pigeon Point Beach
Wet Fete Saturday
July 30
Pigeon Point Beach
Breakfast Party Sunday
July 31
Golden Star, Crown Point

Headlining the event is the dancehall lyricist Vybz Kartel, perhaps one of the most talked about entertainers on the dancehall music scene. Sandbox Entertainment event manager, Kevan Gibbs, broke the news exclusively to the VIBE. Gibbs was quick to point out, however, that Kartel is only one of the headliners at this years Sandbox Great Fete Weekend, but refused to divulge who else was coming for this years event. All I can say is that the regions top entertainers will be there, from soca, pop and dancehall. He also stated that the addition of Vybz Kartel to the magic of the Wet Fete Saturday was just another way of adding value to this years five-day-weekend.
Party crews should also look out for the return of the Last Crew Standing Competition on Sunday night, with a whopping prize of $20,000 cashwhich will be paid in full, on the spot at Golden Star, once the winning crew is declared at 9am on Emancipation Monday morning. To enter the Last Crew Standing, crews must register in advance and attended at least three of the previous four nights during the weekend.
Great Fete Weekend kicks off on July 27, with Free Drinks Wednesday at Golden Star in Crown Point, before moving to Pigeon Point Beach on Thursday with a great retro flavour and yet to be announced local and foreign artist. Fantastic Soca Friday is packed with local entertainers and after party shuttles to Plymouth Jouvert on Saturday morning. Gibbs points out that the stars of Great Fete Weekend are the DJs, the party crews and the patrons themselves. This is not a come-and-stand-up-and-watch-the-stage type of thing. Is about music, is about fun, is about the experience, Gibbs said. First edition season passes go on sale this week at a first-come, first-served basis at a starting price of TT$450 for all five nights. For ticket and sponsorship information call 788-6409 or 685-8530.

Busy Signal.. Busy with Tours

June 20, 2011
Started By DJ Sarge2 Comments

Busy Signal.. Busy with Tours

busy-signal.jpg
Busy Signal

Busy Signal... keeping busy as always is expected to grace the stage in Germany, Belgium, Norway and the Netherlands early July. As expected you can expect a good performance from Busy. No US tour dates as yet though.. dude still have that issue to sort out...will it ever?...anyway if you are in any of the following zones at the same time indicated ..go check out Busy

Friday 01 to Sunday 03 July 2011
Summerjam Festival 2011 Cologne

Saturday 02 July 2011
BLESSED REGGAE FESTIVAL 2011 Amsterdam, Netherlands

July 13, 2011
Rockefeller, Oslo, Norway

Thursday 14 to Sunday 17 July 2011
Dour Festival 2011 Dour, Belgium

'Jackass' star Ryan Dunn dies in fiery Pa. crash
Monday, 20 June 2011 

RyanDunn.jpg - 102.64 Kb

"Jackass" star Ryan Dunn, who along with his cast mates made Americans cringe and snicker through vulgar stunts in their multimillion-dollar TV and movie franchise, was killed early Monday in a fiery car crash. He was 34. Click image above to Read More

Bounty Shows off His New Tattoo

June 20, 2011
Started By DJ Sarge2 Comments

Bounty Shows off His New Tattoo

Bounty Killer the man who steps on morals that "wobble". If you are not clean and upright and you are in the Jamaican Dancehall Business..and bounty knows you... then chances are he might let you know that you are not doing right. This is why I was a bit surprised that Bounty would seen advertising his "Tattoo" .."its wobbly", though its for Tattoo Philip, one of the Tattoo artiste that works on Vybz Kartel himself. ..the "drag queer"?
IDK.. he perhaps might not have a problem with Tats cause they are not new to him ...but don't try and bleach to let it show more clearly now bounty cause we cant make out clearly what u got there still...

ROFL

VybzKartelSouljaBoyFader.jpg?width=510

Vybz Kartel & Soulja Boy both share the cover for FADERs Summer Music issue. In it, Vybz breaks down his new new look while SB discusses his role in the remake of Juice.

Vybz Kartel is one of the most famous men in Jamaica, a prominent, powerful artist with steadily brewing controversy. Photographer Michael Schmelling and writer Eddie Stats Houghton went down to Jamaica to find out both about Kartels new album and get the straight story behind his skin bleaching and body modification obsession. 
n the grand tradition of FADERs annual jam-packed Summer Music Issue, we are pleased and proud to announce this years featuring Vybz Kartel and Soulja Boy. Both cover stars are prolific artists with huge followingsthough we feel they still have tons of room to grow. Vybz Kartel is one of the most famous men in Jamaica, a prominent, powerful artist with steadily brewing controversy.

Photographer Michael Schmelling and writer Eddie Stats Houghton went down to Jamaica to find out both about Kartels new album and get the straight story behind his skin bleaching and body modification obsession. Photographer Dorothy Hong and writer Felipe Delerme visited Soulja Boy in his Atlanta penthouse, where he drank lean and smoked pot incessantly, smiled infectiously and talked about how hes been a millionaire since he was a teenager. With three mixtapes already out this year, plans to play Tupac in a remake of Juice and possibly the whitest teeth the world has ever seen, theres little chance hell be slowing soon. Inside the magazine, we also have full features on the legendary DJ Harvey (your favorite DJs favorite DJ) and the dusky BBQ-ready dudes in Woods.

Weve got looks at a ton of new artists like Jhene Aiko, Fat Trel, Grimes and Clams Casino, too. Theres a full FADER guide to art, books, movies and more this summer, looks at the best swimsuits, thoughts on interning for reclusive genius Terrence Malik, a beautiful fashion feature shot in Mexico and much, much more. Our table of contents is redesigned; nerds, it will blow your mind. All this drops on newsstands and iPads on June 21st, a wee from tay. Stay tuned for all the content from FADER #74 to live on theFADER.m an
souljaboy_fader_dorothyhong.jpg
Music

Ports Bishop

The dancehall reggae artist Vybz Kartel. His new album, Kingston Story, will be released on Tuesday.

SHORTLY before 10 p.m. on the final night of Best of the Best, a reggae and hip-hop concert held over the Memorial Day weekend in Veterans Park in Miami, DJ Nuffy, the master of ceremonies, began to introduce the dancehall reggae artist Vybz Kartel. But Vybz Kartel wasnt actually in the park, in Miami, or even in the United States. He was more than 500 miles away at Jamaica Jamaica, a fancy nightclub just outside Ocho Rios, because he has been denied a United States visa.

Blog

ArtsBeat

The latest on the arts, coverage of live events, critical reviews, multimedia extravaganzas and much more. Join the discussion.

Niketa Thomas

In addition to his music Vybz Kartel said he is developing beverage and clothing brands.

And now for your feature presentation, the biggest thing in Jamaica, DJ Nuffy roared, adding him look like Michael Jackson. The sly remark referring both to the artists enormous celebrity in the Caribbean diaspora and to his controversial practice of lightening his skin drew laughter and mischievous cheers from the crowd of some 10,000 who stared intently at a screen on the stage where artists including DJ Khaled, Busta Rhymes and I-Octane had performed just moments before. Lets welcome via satellite, live to you, Vybz. Vybz. Vybz.

The crowd shouted Kartel in unison as his image filled the screen. He wore a purple suit with a loosely knotted silk tie and button-down shirt, his pale brown tattooed face framed by aviator glasses and a mane of black hair extensions. Yo, Miami, you know what time now? he asked, checking his wristwatch as the stuttering digital beat for Touch a Button, his chest-thumping challenge to rivals, started to play. Before long Vybz Kartels rapid-fire flow had the audience spellbound.

Over the last few years Vybz Kartel (pronounced Vibes Cartel) has become the most talked about figure in dancehall, a genre that is to the roots reggae of Bob Marley as hip-hop is to R&B. More than any of his predecessors or his peers, Vybz Kartel understands that he is not just entertaining an audience but managing a global brand. At a time when major-label interest in the genre is at a low ebb, and most dancehall artists release a smattering of singles, he will drop a full album, Kingston Story, on Tuesday on the Brooklyn digital label Mixpak Records. Although there will be no P.R. blitz to push the work, Kartel, 35, is highly skilled at creating controversy and leveraging the media exposure into new opportunities. The secret of his success may be that Vybz Kartel doesnt worry about conforming to expectations; hed rather break the rules.

Kartel has remixed the notion of what it means to be a dancehall star, said the Jamaican novelist and essayist Colin Channer. Hes a pop artist in the sense of somebody like Madonna or Lady Gaga, who are aware of how transforming their image makes them attractive to different segments of the public.

When asked how he maintains his international notoriety while rarely leaving Jamaica, Vybz Kartel laughed and said, with his usual braggadocio, We work with what we have, and we make miracles like Jesus.

The satellite-feed performance is only the latest example of this artists innovative approach to advancing his career. I feel very special, Vybz Kartel said by phone two weeks after the performance. A lot of artists dont have any visa now, but I am the one they approached. The job was pulled off, and I was the first to do it. (He said he had his United States visa taken away six years ago over what he calls allegations; United States officials are not required to explain the grounds for denial of a visa.)

But the show almost didnt happen. A week before the concert Vybz Kartels longtime business partner, Corey Todd an American businessman who formerly worked with the Pimp Juice drink brand owned by the rapper Nelly gave a series of interviews on Jamaican television accusing Vybz Kartel of threatening his life. He publicly severed ties with Vybz Kartel, dissolving the ventures that the two had built together, including Street Vybz Rum and the popular Kingston night club the Building, where the satellite performance was supposed to have been staged. Two of Vybz Kartels top collaborators the singer Jah Vinci and the producer Not Nice also jumped ship with Mr. Todd.

I didnt threaten anybody, Vybz Kartel responded. That is definitely a lie, and we are going to pursue that matter in court. No legal action had yet been taken.

Vybz Kartel (born Adidja Palmer) made his name through a prodigious output of music, flooding iTunes with two or three new releases each week, with songs like Ramping Shop and Jeans & Fitted becoming international hits on radio. Im the Jay-Z for Jamaica, dont call me a faker, he rhymed a few years ago.

Page .1

VYBZ KARTEL GHETTO YOUTH (NEW YORK TIMES LEAKS NEW TRACKS) FROM KINGSTON STORY ALBUM

Sizzla insists new singles arent aimed at Kartel & Beenie Man

date.png June 18th, 2011 

sizzla1

Jamaican Reggae superstar, Sizzla Kalonji has publicly stated that two of his recent singles that have become YouTube sensations were not disses aimed two of Dancehalls biggest names.

The singles, Big 50 Calibah & Diss Rasta were released last month; containing strong lyrics condemning skin bleaching & talking about the title of King of Dancehall. Both songs were considered by many as lyrical shots fired at Dancehall artistes, Vybz Kartel & Beenie Man respectively. However, Sizzla told the Jamaica STAR that neither track was aimed a one particular person; rather they were anthems to warn people that popularity should not be used as an excuse to lead people astray. Not because you are of great popularity and fame doesnt mean that you should disrespect your elders and our culture, and those who laid the foundation for us, Sizzla intimated.

In Diss Rasta, Sizzla seemingly questions Beenie Mans self-proclaimed King of the Dancehall title; deejaying Sey him a King fi Dancehall a gonna tek wey the crown cuz him walk and pure round town Sey him a Moses him naah gi di gal dem him rod. The song is allegedly a response to Beenie Mans single Nah Talk Too Long, where he deejays, Mi nuh fraid a bald head nor Ras inna Turban.

Big 50 Calibah was initially thought of a sharpshooting lyrical damnation of Vybz Kartel; containing lyrics such as Tell badman bout dem fi bleach, bwoy a wah dat?, tell badman go bore tongue, bwoy a wah dat? Tell badman go bore navel, bwoy a wah dat? Gunshot fi dat!

However, Sizzla insists hes not trying to start a lyrical clash with anyone but will step up if called out. It all depends, Im not afraid of any lyrical confrontation, why should I be, Kalonji claimed. Furthermore he claims given his countless songs speaking about black consciousness and social issues give him authority to sig out about issues within Jamaican culture. To me, music is a joy suh mi jus freestyle and set dem straight, its their business if dem vex, so excuse me Im just setting you people straight, Sizzla told the STAR.

Sizzla is currently promoting his new album entitled, The Scriptures pt. 1, which is produced by John John. The album is scheduled for release next Tuesday.

By Jodee Brown
Jamaican Pop Culture Examiner

Ragashanti returns to airwaves with Tambareen Radio

date.png June 18th, 2011 

Controversial Jamaican talk show host, Kingsley Ragashanti Stewart has returned following a three month hiatus from local airwaves; unveiling his brand new internet radio station, Tambareen Radio.

Ragashanti, whose popular daytime talk show Ragashanti Live was taken off air in March due to alleged violations, claims that Tambareen Radio is about promoting a high energy atmosphere; filled with music and talk shows. The idea is to reach the wired Jamaican community and the wired community that is affiliated with the Jamaican diaspora internationally, he told the Jamaica STAR.

According to Raga, the station is currently on a test run & has not officially been launched but already has a daily following of between 50 & 60 thousand viewers. He also intimated that the station will offer no holds barred, entertaining programming whilst covering various topics.

Shows such as Morning Rock with BJ the DJ, The Overdrive: with DJ Chris Cross and Ricky Redz, Seriously Speaking with Michelete and Randy as well as Buss It Out with Ragashanti and the Mix Up Family will be aired on Tambareen Radio. Additionally, the online station hosts a night program entitled Out A Road; featuring adult content & currently airs on late nights, Mondays, Wednesday & Fridays.

With relation to Buss It Out, Ragashanti stated that there are plans for that show to be aired on LIME TV, starting June 24. He told the STAR, I am excited about Tambareen Radio and also Buss It Out being on LIME TV because it allows me to function in a space where I am less likely to find myself in confrontational scenarios with certain people and a certain entity. HE also said that LIME TV will allow Jamaicans the ability to have regular access to entertainment from Raga & the Mix Up Family.

As for his daytime talk show Ragashanti Live, the show remains absent from national radio. The Broadcasting Commission ordered the show off-air in March; citing multiple violations committed by the show. Fans were outraged & protested outside the Broadcasting Commission headquarters. Raga says he can relate to how his fans feel, saying, The people understand my form of entertainment, they know its not a self-improvement class and they know Raga keep it real and they miss that.

You can listen to Tambareen Radio via USTREAM at: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/tambareen-radio or visit their website at: http://mixupyaad.com/

By Jodee Brown

Reggae Sumfest adds R Kelly, to honor Beres Hammond

date.png June 18th, 2011 

BeresHammond

Reggae Sumfest 2011 has announced two new developments relating to their show next month.

Firstly, it was confirmed yesterday that R&B legend, R Kelly will perform at this years Sumfest show in Montego Bay. Kellys appearance at this years International Night on July 22nd will mark the second time hes travelled to Jamaica. Executive producer of Reggae Sumfest 2011, Johnny Gourzong expressed delight with being able to book the I Wish singer for the event. The Reggae Sumfest team is excited to be presenting R Kelly on the Sumfest stage. We have been trying to contract him for the last five years and it is great to see that it is finally happening. We are expecting a spectacular performance from Mr. Kelly, Gourzong intimated.

R Kellys first Jamaican appearance was at a 1996 concert at Jamworld in St. Catherine. Since then he has belted out countless hit songs such as I Believe I Can Fly, Ignition, Happy People & Step In The Name Of Love. R Kelly joins the likes rapper Nicki Minaj and reggae artistes Mavado, Beenie Man, Tanya Stephens and I-Octane on the five-day events lineup card.

In other news, iconic Reggae singer, Beres Hammond will be honored at Sumfest; recognizing him for his various contributions in the music industry. His resume includes at least 18 albums and six compilations. Some of his most memorable hit songs include Tempted to Touch, Double Trouble, Cant Stop A Man From Trying & I Feel Good.

Beres is an icon and a cornerstone of the Jamaican music industry, Gourzong intimated during a press release from Sumfests publicist, Headline Entertainment. He added, We at Reggae Sumfest are very pleased to be presenting this great reggae artiste and felt that he deserves to be recognized for his enormous contribution to the growth and development of our music. A Reggae Sumfest without Beres never truly feels complete.

By Jodee Brown

Buju's countdown - stars loved ones grow more nervous
Monday, 20 June 2011

buju banton.jpg - 73.30 Kb

Anxiety is increasing among close friends and key supporters of Grammy Award-winning Jamaican reggae artiste Buju Banton as the reggae singer's sentencing date draws closer. Click image to Read More.

Blackryno.jpgOn Sunday afternoon resurgent dancehall artiste Ryno was threatened by men allegedly aligned to the Gaza camp. The artiste while at a recording session said his phone rang and men claiming to be Gaza affiliates said.

hey bwoy a yuh cause all a dis ah yuh mek the whole a di man dem a lef Gaza and a diss teacha memba yaw guh dead.

Focused on his career and his newly formed Garrison Records, Ryno says he wants to make it clear that he will not be in the least intimated by Vybz Kartel or any of his associates.

If any a dem feel seh dem a God tell dem try something A seemingly unfazed Ryno responded.

I am not supporting or condoning any violence but I left that camp and have since refused many shows from promoters just to avoid any unnecessary confrontation with them them fight down me music and me low dem and seet deh, dem still a go out of them way fi look trouble.

Ryno and Corey Todd Makes Peace

Meanwhile, Ryno and Kartels former business partner Corey Todd has decided to make peace and put their differences behind them. The two met last week at an undisclosed location to quell the tension, following last years public brawl. The peace initiative was orchestrated by a mutual friend who was also instrumental in the truce that now exist between the Aidonia led J.O.P camp and Ryno.

Later this month Ryno will depart the island for the three-day St. Kitts Music Festival from June 23-25 where he is expected to share the stage with a number of local and international acts including: The Commodores, Fantasia Barrino, Bunny Wailer, Yellow Man, Maxi Priest, Cocoa Tea, Gyptian, Jah Cure, Konshens among others.

UTech student is brain behind humorous Bus can swim and People what are deading videos

TWENTY-ONE-YEAR-OLD University of Technology (UTech) student Kevin-Sean Hamilton, better known as DJ Powa, is the talented Jamaican behind the viral YouTube videos Canna Cross It (Di Bus Can Swim) and People What Are Deading. 

The videos are 'mashups' of TVJ news clips and have received over 100,000 views on YouTube. They have also been featured on Tosh-O on Comedy Central. 

PIC-1.jpg 

Yesterday, Hamilton appeared surprised at the overwhelming popularity of the videos which, he said, were "done for fun".

"It is just a hobby," Hamilton told the Sunday Observer. "I have a regular desktop PC. I don't even know the specs... I use FruityLoops to make the beats."

The release of People What Are Deading was planned to coincide with the one-year anniversary of the security forces' May 2010 operation in Tivoli Gardens to apprehend accused drug trafficker Christopher 'Dudus' Coke. The video is a cleverly edited memoriam in which Hamilton spliced news clips featuring interviews with residents of the West Kingston community over an infectious beat.

He uses almost as a chorus, a voice clip of a female resident whose declaration to the TVJ reporter that 'the people dem what are deading' elicited much laughter when it was first aired last year.

The follow-up video, Canna Cross It, features a TVJ interview with a young man in Yallahs, St Thomas during a recent episode of flooding. That video has surpassed its predecessors popularity as it is now being played at parties.

The mp3s of the videos can be found in the iTunes store and he also has Deading and Bus Can Swim T-shirts.

Hamilton attended both Meadowbrook and Ardenne High schools. He is currently pursuing a marketing degree with a minor in economics at UTech.

He said he has no formal training in sound engineering or video editing, but has been composing rhythms since 2004 with no particular goal.

The name DJ Powa, he disclosed, came from 'Powerman', a nickname he was given by a high school coach after he kicked a football which hit a schoolmate with such force that it gave the youngster an immediate headache.

Hamilton, who said he is a devout Christian, lives with his father, step-mother and sister, all of whom are very proud of him. He is a well-rounded individual, having played football, tennis, badminton and volleyball while at Ardenne.

But music is his passion, and he has regular play dates at weddings. "I play the usual wedding music, the Luther Vandross... I don't mind playing at secular functions as long as it is clear I will only play Christian music. I am a Christian discjock," he said.

Hamilton is mostly unaffected by the overwhelming level of attention he has been receiving since the release of the videos. "I credit God for keeping me humble," he said, and revealed that he has been contacted by individuals to participate in various projects, including mixtapes.

He has even been asked by a funeral home proprietor to edit funerals.

"I am open to blessings," he said. "In five years I hope to be married, definitely married, and establish a studio. I play the drums, so I will probably form a band."

Source: Jamaica Observer

ER: CAUGHT ON TAPE: MAVADO & FRIEND ALTERCATION WITH COP AT QUAD NIGHTCLUB

Elephant Man is the latest dancehall artist to join the list of artiste to tour to Zimbabwe Africa after announcing a concert in Harare on June 24, 2011.

Elephant Man will join a long list of international stars who have performed in Zimbabwe over the last year including Joe Thomas, Luciano, Akon, Sean Paul, Ciara, Fat Joe, Sizzla, Lil Kim and Sean Kingston.

Bounty is still cross and perhaps miserable at the fact that a person of Vybz Kartel character still exist amongst his midst. The Ground God tweeted recently a pic of Kartel at which he refers to as a Shemale.. aka tranny Bounty is leading the effort to crush Kartel and his chracter.. he has been trying this for some time now..

There was the RTI weekend and ATI, now make way for Lesbian Temptation Isle (LTI). A new party series catering to lesbians is being planned in Montego Bay, St James, at the end of this month.

Scheduled to take place from June 30 to July 3, LTI will be held in Ironshore, Montego Bay. The weekend is being advertised on popular social networking site Facebook.com as, "The biggest lesbian party weekend ever!" and "It's not just a party. It's a lifestyle."

According to the weekend's Facebook page, which was founded last year, LTI will have four parties over two days. The parties include: 'Ocean Temptation (Under The Influence)', 'Lost Planet (Extreme Conditions)', 'Lez Glow (All-White)' and 'Master and Mistress (Dominatrix Affair)'. The season band, which includes entry to all four parties, is $8,000 with each party being $2,500. VIP bands are $13,000. According to the group's page, there are 300 season bands available, and 100 bands per individual party.

The site, since its inception, has 550 'likes' on Facebook and has a 'secret' group where persons can join and learn more about the event. When THE WEEKEND STAR called the numbers advertised on the page, the group and weekend were described as being extremely private.

bands going fast

Sales for the party are seemingly going fast, as seen by a comment from the organiser on the page which said: "I never knew the season bands would have been going so fast, thanx for the support people. Bands start selling on June 1, you can call to reserve like everyone else. We courier every armband to the respective buyer. Thanx again, this weekend will be hotttt!!"

Persons have been commenting on the page saying, "This is going to be awesome' am loving this page so far and as for the party' I can't wait for it to really happen. Straight people have ATI, I think it's full time the gay community has something for ourselves where we don't have to worry about men looking us or putting argument to us. We can actually be around friends who we share a common interest in; FEMALES! I am so digging this event and its page/profile."

Another person added: "Yep, dis party can't miss me and wifey, you said it all, so need I say more?"

The privacy of the event is emphasised on the page, which states: "An invitation will be sent to persons with a security code once you've purchased your armband. The invitation will be used to collect your armband on the day of the event. Please be advised that this is to ensure that only persons within our community are attending this event."

A special guest celebrity appearance is also being hinted to take place on the final night of the event. There will also be a Sexiest Stud and Sexiest Femme competition.

JAHVINCI AND NOTNICE GETTING NEW OPPORTUNITIES SINCE LEAVING EMPIRE

date.png June 16th, 2011 

Notnice

Former Portmore Empire members, JahVinci & Notnice have expressed renewed optimism since leaving Vybz Kartels camp last month.

JahVinci, who left the group 3 weeks ago; citing business & personal differences intimates that hes received mass support from persons within the music industry since his departure. The singjay told the Jamaica STAR, Fi mi a more supporter cause everybody a seh good move. The entire music industry a big mi up. Dem seh mi will go far because of leaving. He even claimed some of those artists have expressed interest in future collaborations, though he didnt name any in particular. Anything is possible because mi free but mi a gwaan focus pon my work and build my career, JahVinci said.

The Watch Yuh Frenz singer suggested that hes enjoyed a sense of freedom since leaving the Portmore Empire. Mi feel better, mi feel free, mi feel relieved. Mi a get fi voice songs weh mi did always waan fi voice and dem seh a foolishness. Mi songs a get mixed faster and mi a get a whole heap a airplay. Everybody a seh a good move and dem willing fi work wid mi, JahVinci claimed.

Not only is he relieved, but so are international promoters who previously complained that his previous booking prices were ridiculous. Kartels former business associate, Corey Todd said in an interview with Entertainment Report 3 weeks ago that Di Teacha is notorious for overcharging for his protégés shows.

JahVinci expressed his appreciation to the fans for their support throughout his transition & revealed that a video for his single In My Life is soon to come. This week, Jahvinci released two more singles, produced by Notnice entitled Wah My Money & Oh Why.

Notnice also expressed his pleasure with growing opportunities coming his way following his departure from the Gaza camp. Mi nuh get one person a seh nutten bad. Even some a di diehard Gaza fans a seh a long time yuh fi lef deh so. Mi start get more calls from music people wanting to work, the former Empire producer told the STAR. He also intimated that new projects & Riddims are in the works but wouldnt elaborate on any specifics with those new works.

Mavado Walks Free From Charges

June 17, 2011
Started By DJ Sarge7 Comments

David "Mavado" Brooks was freed on Thursday June 09, 2011 when he appeared in the St Anns Bay Resident Magistrate court in Jamaica. Mavado was charged with malicious destruction of property by the St Ann Police last month.

The charge stemmed from a fight outside a night club in Runaway Bay on May 22, where he was arrested, charged and subsequently offered $50,000 station bail.

Mavado was freed along with his manager Julian Jones-Griffith on Thursday, after the complainant in the case told the court that she no longer had an interest in the matter.

Forbes released their annual Best-Paid Celebrities Under 30 list this week with Lady Gaga's meat purse holding an estimated $90 million in cash money. Beyonce, Rihanna and Lil Wayne made the list as well raking in a combined total of $79 million.

Forbes tallied the earnings of the young stars between the months of May 2010 and 2011. Nine musicians made the cut, with Justin Bieber being the youngest and the 29-year-old Queen B the eldest of the group on the list. Beyonce popped up at No. 8 after earning $35 million. Forbes noted that was low placement for the diva due to the fact she spent most of the past year off the road and recording her new album, '4,' due June 28. The earnings come from mostly non-music related ventures like her fashion label Dereon and promotional contracts with L'Oréal, DirecTV, General Mills and more.

Rihanna earned $29 million placing her at No. 11, thanks to her chart-topping fifth studio album, 'Loud,' and tour behind it, which will continue throughout the summer. Lil Wayne just barely made Forbes' list with his $15 million in earnings in the past year, which is quite the feat considering he was incarcerated at New York's Rikers Island through November 2010, for gun possession charges. Jail didn't stop him from releasing an album -- 'I Am Not a Human Being' -- that nabbed the No. 1 spot on the charts and crowned him the first rapper since Tupac Shakur to have a No. 1 album while in prison.

Other music acts on the list included Taylor Swift (No. 5, $45 million), Katy Perry (No. 6, $44 million), as well as Carrie Underwood and Miley Cyrus who tied little Weezy for the end spot, earning $15 million each.

Forbes Best-Paid Celebrities Under 30:

1. Lady Gaga, $90 million
2. Justin Bieber, $53 million
3. LeBron James, $48 million
4. Roger Federer, $47 million
5. Taylor Swift, $45 million
6. Katy Perry, $44 million
7. Cristiano Ronaldo, $38 million
8. Beyonce Knowles, $35 million
9. Lionel Messi, $32 million
10. Rafael Nadal, $31 million
11. Rihanna, $29 million
12. Dwight Howard, $28 million
13. Dwyane Wade, $26 million
14. Carmelo Anthony, $25 million
15. Maria Sharapova, $24 million
16.-17. Kristen Stewart, $20 million; Robert Pattinson $20 million
18.-21. Carrie Underwood, $15 million; Miley Cyrus, $15 million; Lil Wayne $15 million

who still ina Gaza??

June 15, 2011
Started By rayonxelnt6 Comments

mi jus curious still so if mi mek dis post ina d wrong segement modz unu correct me

big man ting still who still lef ina gaza caz mi did feel sey dosa n merital did still dey dey but now mi a c preview a dosa a diss gaza n merital a talk a bagga tings ina video

mi knw sey dotta coppa n skool boy used to sey gaza but when mi a check it a good while mi nuh hear dem a say gaza in dem tune n ting

ala sheba n gaza indu if a neva fi d best a d best video ting mi nevn did memba sey there was a gaza indu much more from d tune dey bout "too rude" from d sounique label mi nuh hear nuttin bout sheba

so as mi topic say who still ina Gaza???

RECENTLY DANCEHALL STAR VYBZ KARTEL SPOKE TO ROLLING STONE MAGAZINE AND THIS IS WHAT HE HAD TO SAY:

THIS IS JUST AN EXTRACT OF THE FULL INTERVIEW-------

You're also about to star in a reality show to air on Jamaican TV in the fall. What's it about?
This will be another first for dancehall music: a reality show similar to Flavor of Love. Twenty girls from all over the world, vying for the quote-unquote love of Vybz Kartel, vying for my heart. Wherever that is.

What are the do's and don'ts for a lady who'll date you?
The biggest do it might sound very chauvinistic but I love submissive females. Can I say that?

Your nickname is "The Teacha," and you recently gave a lecture about your life and your art at the University of the West Indies in Kingston. Could you give up dancehall for a professorial post one day?
Sorry, UWI. I love to teach, but not at dancehall's expense I'll never give it up.

Would you visit the real Gaza?
That's what I would love to do can you hook it up? I heard it's very complicated, as far as the borders and getting through.

It can't be much more complicated than getting your U.S. Visa back, and you haven't had one of those in years.
Ha! I already gave up on that, a long time ago.

What might surprise people about Adidjah Palmer?
Everything I do surprises people. Tomorrow I might put in color contacts, or go right back to being black. What you can expect from Kartel is the unexpected.

2pacconfession-e1308163397850.jpeg

man has admitted to shooting rap star Tupac Shakur in 1994 after allegedly being paid $2,500 dollars by James "Jimmy Henchman" Rosemond inside Manhattan's Quad Studios in November of 1994.

Dexter Isaac, a former friend of Rosemond, is an inmate currently serving life in prison for murder, robbery and other offenses.

Isaac came forward Wednesday (June 15th) with the information on the eve of what would be Tupac's 40th birthday.

He confessed to his involvement in the November 30th, 1994 shooting of Tupac Shakur to AllHipHop.com, after Jimmy Henchman identified him in a statement, relating to Henchman's indictment for dealing numerous kilos of cocaine.

"I want to apologize to his family [Tupac Shakur] and for the mistake I did for that sucker [Jimmy Henchman]," Dexter Isaac told AllHipHop.com from prison. "I am trying to clean it up to give [Tupac and Biggie's] mothers some closure."

Henchman, who is currently on the run from Federal officials, claimed that Dexter Isaac, along with other incarcerated inmates were cooperating with the government in an investigation of his alleged drug dealing activities.

"If the government is relying on informants like Winston Winnie Harris, a convicted drug dealer and Jamaican deportee, who came to me and motioned via hand signal that he was forced to wear a wire and begged me to skip town or Dexter Isaac who is serving life in prison plus 30 years, then Im sure I will not be offered a fair trial," Henchman said in a statement released to AllHipHop.com in May of 2011.

Dexter Isaac told AllHipHop.com that he decided to confess to the robberies to prove Jimmy Henchman's involvement, in addition to clearing his conscious for the shooting.

Isaac said he was comfortable going on record relating to the robbery and shooting, since the statute of limitations had expired. Legally, no one can be prosecuted for the assault at this time.

Isaac was a lifelong friend of Jimmy Henchmen, who helped the former mogul set up his first company, Henchman Entertainment, in 1989.

Isaac claims he never cooperated with the government in any investigation, and Jimmy Henchman's allegations infuriated him.

Isaac, who is also from Brooklyn, has long been suspected of being involved in the Quad shooting of Tupac Shakur, along with an associate name Spencer "Scooter" Bowens, who is also serving a life sentence.

According to the confession below, Dexter Isaac not only knows what happened to Tupac Shakur's jewelry, but he claims he is also in possession of the Hip-Hop star's chain that was taken during the altercation on that infamous night on November 7, 1994.

The shooting on November 30th, was the start of a deadly feud that resulted in the murders of both Tupac Shakur and Notorious B.I.G.

Their murders have never been solved.

Isaac was indicted by the government in 1998 and was subsequently sentenced to life in prison for murder, robbery, fraud and witness intimidation charges.

Eminem collaboration aiming to top U.S. chart

Thursday, 16 June 2011

eminem.jpg - 70.63 Kb

Eminem has a good shot at taking the top spot on the U.S. pop album chart next week, although an 11-year-old talent show contestant could steal his thunder. Click image above to Read More.

Ne-Yo seeks local talent - Launches Caribbean leg of his record label
Thursday, 16 June 2011 

ne-yo.jpg - 73.11 Kb

R&B superstar Ne-Yo has launched the Caribbean leg of his record label and yesterday, announced plans to have a series of parties in Negril for Emancipation weekend. Click image above to Read More.

Vybz Kartel have released (May 28, 2011) a statement regarding accusations made by his former associates in the past few weeks.

"Many of you have heard or seen the recent accusations made by my former associates in the past few weeks. I dont know why all of these individuals, think the most appropriate action to take after a philosophical difference occurs is to go to the press and attack me. 

I can only say that I am reminded of Bob Marleys admonishments when he said man is so unjust, you dont know who to trustyour best friend can turn out to be your worst enemyI shall say no more, other than who the cap fit, mek them wear it. I am issuing this statement because I think these accusations are due to a breach of confidentiality as certain individuals got wind of my upcoming projects and initiatives and they know they cant stop me without resorting to underhanded tactics. 

See Jamaica, Vybz Kartel has been carrying a secret for a very long time and I think it is time that I reveal it before persons try to derail the projects that I have put together by continuing to make false reports about me in their attempt to have me muzzled.two years ago, I had an epiphany whilst on stage. I saw thousands of people screaming for Kartel, jumping up and down, listening to ever word that I uttered on stage, it was like the people were eating out of the palm of my hands. At that moment, something strange came over me, as I heard the people screaming for more, I suddenly realized that my calling was to be more than a Deejay. 

I realized that the people were not eating out my hands but they wanted to hear Kartel speak because finally somebody was telling their story in a profound no holds barred manner. Whether I was addressing sexuality,poverty, police brutality, injustice,the trials and tribulations of the ghetto I was finally giving ghetto people a voice a big voice like society never heard before.

I know I am not the first that has ever attempted to do this. Because when I researched I saw that Marcus, Sam Sharpe, Paul Bogle all spoke directly to the powers that be on behalf of the people but were ostracized and in some cases killed. Later, Marley, Tosh, Jacob Miller did the same thing and all died young under unique somewhat mysterious circumstances. I have seen what they have done to ancient Rastamen, Peoples Telecom, the Marcus Garvey Political Party and other entities that attacked Babylon head on.

I did not want the same fate to reach me at the time, I did not want them to muzzle me also, so I took a decision that I felt I had to, I had to trick Babylon. I realized if I kept doing outrageous and outlandish stuff, they would write me off as just an attention seeking artiste and not realize that since July 26, 2009 behind closed doors I have been writing my book and setting up my GEL (Gaza Education and Literacy) program. So they put the spotlight on me, not knowing that they were actually putting the spotlight on themselves because Vybz Kartel is not about braces, bleaching and hairstyles but I am about elevating the cause of Ghetto people. 

Please understand Jamaica sometimes you have to trick Babylon with confusion. If I revealed my intentions two years ago, do you think the people that control the media would report everything I do? Babylon, you have been tricked. For 500 years, the system has been using reverse psychology to trick my people,I have now used reverse psychology to trick them Lets see societal hypocrisy for what it is. Now that my book is going to be released, now that most of my songs will have a more cultural overtone as i have already taken the decision to stop deejaying gun lyrics, now that I am going to be providing educational opportunities for young people,will you be giving me the same attention?

In so far as business is concerned, I dont agree that rum and a night club is an Empire. The Portmore Global Empire has been in the works for some time with proper infrastructure currently being put in place. I had anticipated certain moves and I have been in consultation with Attorneys in Pembroke Pines, Florida about proper branding, contracts, representation and protecting my legal rights globally. The team I have been working with are all degreed in the areas of Finance, Marketing, Mass Communications and have the expertise that I will need it is funny when I hear "nobody can tell Kartel anything" when I have trained consultants who have aided me in planning my future projects. I have not finalized any decisions as yet but I have invested considerable resources to take my business endeavours to another level, so again, like Bob Marley said, half the story has never been told. 

Now I know a lot of my fans are probably surprised but understand this,I feel called by a power greater than me. Black people have been suffering too long, we have been in poverty too long, we have been brutalized too long and Vybz Kartel is now advising the world that I will use the spotlight that you have put on me to highlight their cause. I am not naïve and I know based on recent interviews on TV that my life and freedom is more in danger than ever before because I have no intention of easing up on the system or their agents. However, I am at peace with this decision.The Gaza ladies, you are still my babies, so dont worry, the black race must procreate so I will giving you more Dumpa Truck to drive in, you can still Get Wild and you will still ride your 10 speed bicycle in Slow Motion. I will never stop deejaying for you. The thugs, you all built Kartel, so I will never alienate you but you may be getting some new messages from me.

It is unfortunate that I have been forced to prematurely make this statement as my book was slated to be launched on July 23, 2012 His Imperial Majestys Earthstrong, my GEL program was for the September 2011-2012 academic year but the forces against me are rising on TV and in the newspaper so after consultation with the few trusted advisers I have left, I decided to make this release so that if they take my life or my freedom, the projects will continue. Keep in mind that the greatest black man that ever lived, Marcus Garvey, was betrayed by trusted individuals and endured continuous character assassination, so I guess I am in good company. We nah stop say Gaza4Life, we just upgrading the message."

- Adidja Vybz Kartel Palmer

http://www.rollingstone.com/music/ne...itics-20110613

http://www.rollingstone.com/music/ne...0110613?page=2  

Controversial Jamaican Dancehall Star Vybz Kartel Takes On His Critics

'The way I deliver the lyrics makes up for the rawness, the slackness, of what I'm talking about,' he says

Vybz Kartel
Scott Gries/Getty Images
By Baz Dreisinger
June 13, 2011 4:55 PM ET

Look up "controversy" in the Jamaican dictionary and you might find a photo of Adidjah Palmer, a.k.a. dancehall star Vybz Kartel. The 35-year-old launched his career over a decade ago as a ghostwriter for Bounty Killer and has since dominated Jamaican airwaves with outré, tongue-twisting tunes about everything from X-rated antics to ghetto politics. He's dominated gossip columns, too, whether for his much-hyped feud with fellow dancehall deejay Mavado, which ended in a meeting at the Prime Minister's office; the name of his crew Gaza, a name he also bestowed on the neighborhood outside Kingston in which he grew up; or his chameleon-like appearance: Kartel's ever-lightening skin has generated plenty of angst about so-called "skin bleaching" in Jamaican culture. On June 21st he releases Kingston Story (Mixpak Records), a collaboration with Brooklyn-based hip-hop/electro producer Dre Skull. The no-holds-barred artist talks music, business ventures and cultural politics with Rolling Stone.

Choose Rolling Stone's Cover: The Sheepdogs vs. Lelia Broussard. Vote Now!

How did you and Dre Skull come to record an album together?
A while back, he had a track sent to me, asking me to voice on it. And it was a bad dancehall track authentic. I thought he must be a Jamaican living abroad. When I spoke to him and found out that it was a white man from New York, I couldn't believe it I was awe-struck. The track became a single, "Yuh Love," and he offered to do an album together. So he flew into Jamaica several times and we recorded it. It's different from every other album I've done.

Because many of the tracks have as much a hip-hop feel as a dancehall one?
It's Dre's interpretation of dancehall music, so it has American influences it's a fusion. And I love that fusion. It affected me lyrically it opened up my vocabulary and made me want to say more than just gun lyrics or just talking about F***[ing].

You're especially known for controversial tunes about that last topic.
Yes I am. But there is an art to the sex track: As raw as it is, I deliver it in such a way as to be palatable. Take, for example, [the Billboard-charting single] "Ramping Shop." The melody, the flow it's smooth. The way I deliver the lyrics makes up for the rawness, the slackness, of what I'm talking about.

Thanks to songs like that, you're often criticized for having a negative influence on Jamaican society for promoting sex and violence in a country with an extraordinarily high murder rate.
In a third-world culture like Jamaica, crime and violence is rampant because of lack of social infrastructure for ghetto youth. There is corruption on all levels of society, from political corruption to corruption within the police force and the overall private sector, and all of that has led to the [decline] of society. Then society wants artists to take the blame, and be scapegoats labeled as role models? No, man, F*** that! I don't want that title.

Photos: Intimate Photos of Bob Marley During the Golden Age of Reggae

So you see yourself as a scapegoat?
Let me break it down for you. I live in [the wealthy Kingston neighborhood] Norbrook. The kids in Norbrook listen to the same Vybz Kartel lyrics that the ghetto youth listen to, so why aren't the kids in Norbrook behaving like the ghetto youth in Tivoli or Jungle? It has to do with social upbringing it's society. And it starts with the family, which is why I always say "family first." My kids listen to my lyrics and I don't see them running rampant. It's the fault of society, of postcolonialism, of politicians and then people want to blame artists. I refuse to take that blame.

If you had to compare yourself to someone in hip-hop, who would it be?
Jay-Z, because I am a lyrical prodigy and I am also an astute businessman. I have done things business-wise that no other dancehall deejay has even tried to do.

Such as?
I started Street Vybz Rum, and I have a club in Kingston, The Building. For the future, I am working on a new tonic wine, which will hit the streets by Autumn. Vybz Wear is my clothing line and it will launch for the summer: belt buckles, limited edition t-shirts, sneakers called "Addis," dogtags but we prefer to call them "Gaza tags." And I also have my cake soap brand a face soap that lightens the skin and removes blemishes.

NEXT: Vybz Kartel responds to criticism of his skin bleaching

It is said that confession is good for the soul but for 18-year-old Oshane Blair it has cause d him to face multiple charges.

Blair is alleged to have told members of his community and the police about the rape of a 75-year-old.

The accused of a Harkers Hall district, St Catherine, address is charged with burglary, rape, buggery and assault occasioning bodily harm.

He was remanded when he appeared in the Linstead Resident Magistrate's Court last Wednesday to answer the charges. Allegations are that on July 7 about 2 a.m., the accused broke into the house of the elderly woman and the acts of violence were carried out against her.

The complainant is said to have been severely beaten during the ordeal.

carried out the act

Following the incident the police were called by concerned residents who claimed that the accused confessed to them that he carried out the act.

During last week's court case the RM was told by the police that the accused man also gave confessed doing the crime to them.

Having heard the allegations, the accused was remanded to reappear in court on September 2.

He was not represented by an attorney when he appeared.

Quarterfinal 

Saturday, June 18, 2011

4:00 PM  Costa Rica vs Honduras - New Meadowlands Stadium

7:00 PM  Mexico vs Guatemala - New Meadowlands Stadium

Sunday, June 19, 2011

2:00 PM  Jamaica vs United States - RFK Memorial Stadium

5:00 PM  Panama vs El Salvador - RFK Memorial Stadium

«First  <  132 33 34 35 36524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by