Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.
Student suspected of committing suicide

The St Ann's Bay police are now investigating a suspected case of suicide in Priory, St Ann.

Information reaching THE STAR is that 18-year-old Tiffany Johnson, a student from Main Street, Priory, is suspected to have committed suicide at her home yesterday morning.

Reports from the St Ann's Bay police are that Johnson was last seen alive on Tuesday about 11 p.m. About 6:30 yesterday morning, a relative saw the body of the now deceased hanging by a piece of rope from a breadfruit tree in the backyard.

The police were summoned and the body was removed to the morgue.

Cops probe woman's involvement in lottery scam
The Organised Crime Investigation Division (OCID) is investigating whether or not a woman who was held with a book containing more than 1,400 names and addresses is a part of the lottery scam.

The discovery was made during an operation in the Bog Walk area of St Catherine.

Reports are that members of OCID were on operation in the Bowers Wood community near Bog Walk. Upon entering a premises, the female was seen trying to hide a book between her thighs. She was searched and the names were found properly typed. In addition to the names, the addresses, telephone numbers and what to say to the victims were written in the book.

Several cellphones were also taken from the female.

She has been taken into custody and is to be interviewed by the police.

Meanwhile, it was revealed that with pressure on the lottery scam in the western region of the island, persons have been filtering into other parishes.

A senior investigator told THE STAR that the scammers ensnared their victims by convincing them that they won the lottery.

They are given more information, but told to pay fees which amount to thousands of dollars to get their winnings which never materialise.

Lawyer arrested for fraud

June 23, 2011
Started By DJ Sarge0 Comments
Lawyer arrested for fraud

The police on Tuesday arrested and charged an attorney-at-law from Mandeville, Manchester.

He is Debayo Adedipe, who has been charged with forgery, uttering forged documents, conspiracy to defraud and money laundering.

According to the police, the charges were laid following investigations into a report received by the Organised Crime Investigation Division about an incident in 2007.

The report alleges that Adedipe and other persons conspired to forge documents that were subsequently used to fraudulently sell a property in Mandeville.

The matter is set for hearing in the Mandeville Resident Magistrate's Court on July 12.

Prodigal Son enjoys giving back

June 23, 2011
Started By DJ Sarge0 Comments

Prodigal Son enjoys giving back

Published: Thursday | June 23, 2011 1 Comment
Prodigal Son, shrouded in shadows, holds the mic for the crowd to sing along.

• Freedom Fest the launch pad for artiste's charity work

Marcia Rowe, Gleaner Writer

As two women awaited the start of the Lime Freedom Fest concert last Saturday, they used the time to display and speak about their pairs of glasses. The younger proudly announced that her "glasses were for distance", and the older of the two said her glasses were given to her for reading.

Although it is unknown if the younger woman's pair of glasses helped her, it is a certainty that the older woman's pair aided her reading. Prior to the arrival of the younger one and her entourage, The Gleaner had the opportunity to put the older woman's glasses to the test. She was asked to read the words on one of the sponsors' banners placed a couple of yards away from where she sat. Putting on the spectacles with its tag proudly announcing its newness, she read the larger fonts with confidence, "Youthlink". And after faltering briefly on the smaller prints, triumphantly announced "The Gleaner".

Later, as the concert progressed, somewhere towards the middle, Bishop Everton Thomas of the Emanuel Apostolic Church told the capacity-size congregation that "Freedom Fest represents church in action". And in continuing his "word", he told them that they should "break free and stay free" but to achieve this, people needed to "imagine, believe and do". Had it not been the imagination, belief and action of one of Jamaica's popular gospel artistes, Prodigal Son, perhaps the bishop would not have spoken such words, nor would the two women have had the chance to have their eyes tested for free or got new glasses.

In an almost-never-happened interview, Prodigal Son, spoke about his imagination, belief and his action.

making a difference

At the entrance to Emanuel Apostolic Church, the venue for last Saturday's event, Prodigal Son explained, "My original plan was to have a big birthday party, and then I said you know what, I am going to give to the less fortunate. Not just this year, I had Freedom Fest last year, but I charged $250 to enter. It was a good turnout. But I said, if the concept is Freedom Fest, then it has to be free."

"I decided that the entire event would be free with or without sponsors ... . And that was how Freedom Fest came about," Prodigal Son explained.

Freedom Fest was organised through his foundation Radical Reaching Radical. "I am radical, so I want to help other radicals in any way, in music, like we had the health fair giving out maybe over 400 pairs of tested glasses, test *la*hd pressure, test for sugar, flexology, glucose, all kind of things," the forthright gospel artistes stated.

"I am really excited to give because I know many persons have contributed to my life, growing up, so I want to give back ... I want to make a difference." he continued

Pleased by the outcome, the compassionate artiste plans to host another Freedom Fest next year at another venue.

The venue is convenient for Prodigal Son because he calls that church home but a new venue is needed "to facilitate the people".

But regardless of what "definitely they can look out for it next year, somewhere about my birth month".

With a list of sponsors in support, funds earned from Freedom Fest will go towards worthy causes such as a 24-hour soup kitchen at the Emanuel Apostolic Church.

"It cost over $2.5 million for the year just to buy food to feed people." The soup kitchen also provides breakfast for children.

But Prodigal Son said his passion is to establish a halfway house, as he was a 'street boy'.

"That's what I am working towards, as well as to work towards helping children living with cancer and aids. That's where my charity will go," he said.

Counterfeit cigarettes and that smoking tax

MARK WIGNALL

Wignall-.jpg

Thursday, June 23, 2011

Print this page Email A Friend!

Last Saturday's arrest of three policemen who were reportedly found with $350,000 worth of counterfeit cigarettes highlights a number of issues.

First, it is indicative of the increasing ability of the JCF to police itself and hold on to those considered rogue cops. Second, it places Carreras, (the company which controls 95 per cent of the import/distribution of cigarettes and which bears the brunt of the tax imposition on cigarettes) at the mercy of those in the business of illicit importation of cigarettes and who pay absolutely no taxes.

Third, it illustrates the nature of business globally that companies operating in the Orient will manufacture and label cigarettes while, to complete the illicit chain, local contacts will surreptitiously import the contraband and sell it to a ready market in Jamaica. This is reminiscent of the illicit trade in fake-label products which came out of the Eastern European (communist bloc) countries in the 1960s and 1970s. Well known and respected products like Rolex and Omega watches were poorly copied and I can remember that on the barely policed Kingston waterfront of the late 1960s and early 1970s there were a few enterprising crooks who were selling fake watches to the unsuspecting buyer.

I know because I was one of many who bought an "Omega gold watch" which a few weeks later, left a nasty-looking green residue (indicative of copper) on my hand. Eventually, not even Eastern European time could be had on the watch.

In the matter of cigarettes, there is the illicit importation of well-known brands plus the knock-offs. Neither customs duty nor other taxes that have been levied on Carreras are paid by these importers and I have personally witnessed the trade at the point where bar owners purchase from the illicit "distributors". Once these illicit imports are in the possession of bar owners, sale on the genuine products cease until the stock is used up for the simple reason that the illicitly imported stuff is cheaper.

One assumes that the local tax regime or ad hoc levies on companies like Carreras are born out of a genuine need to see a reduction in smoking. As the reasoning goes, the more expensive the product, the less will be the sales. Unlike alcoholic beverages, an integral part of the labelling of cigarettes must state the dangers of cigarette smoking. Although the dangers of alcohol consumption beyond moderation is well known, the alcohol lobby internationally has succeeded so far in avoiding more prominenty labelling other than, "(1) According to the chief medical officer, women should not drink alcoholic beverages during pregnancy because of the risk of birth defects. (2) Consumption of alcoholic beverages impairs your ability to drive a car or operate machinery, and may cause health problems. Enjoy in moderation."

Unlike cigarette labelling which is prominent, on a bottle of Jamaica's favourite, Wray and Nephew White Overproof rum which is 126 proof (63 per cent alcohol by volume), the government warning is on the back and if one is long-sighted (needing reading glasses) the typical white rum drinker is probably unaware that it exists nor could read it.

I have no problem with the reasoning behind normal taxes on cigarettes, but in a recent conversation I had with the managing director of Carreras, Richard Pandohie, he pretty much raised the same issues as he had previously related to the Observer. "We estimate that the counterfeit and contraband trade accounts for over 40 per cent of the market."

The way I see it, the government cannot apply a slash-and-burn tax regime on the company without putting into place structures to plug the loopholes on illicit imports. In other words, as Carreras has repeatedly said, for every three boxes of cigarettes sold, two are revenue to the government and one is revenue to the company. The company must be entitled to any sales which arise after the imposition of taxes.

Another way of looking at it is this. Smoking cigarettes is still legal just like consuming white rum. The government has a vested interest in keeping Carreras viable, that is, profitable. If after imposing onerous taxes on the company, for those adults who still insist that they want to smoke, it should be cigarettes on the legal market, that is, from Carreras that should be available to them for purchase and not the "bandoolo" cigarettes that now account for 40 per cent of the total market.

In fact, what the government should have done before its last levy on the company was move to plug those very loopholes or illicit importation to show equity in the system. Any temptation to make another such imposition ought to take that into consideration

I have long said that no trade in illicit drugs, no extortion operation in Jamaica can be "properly" run without the involvement of rogue cops. It could be that the seizure of a mere $350,000 worth of counterfeit cigarettes was just the tip of a much bigger operation.

That not guilty verdict on Rev Paul Lewis

Paul-Lewis23_w445.jpg
x.pngLEWIS... freed of charges of sexual assault of a minor
restore.png
left.png 1/1 right.png

It is indeed troubling that in the wake of the not guilty verdict where the Rev Paul Lewis was freed of charges of sexual assault of a minor, a 15-year-old girl, while it was alleged, her 14-year -old friend watched, evidence has surfaced that there was a DNA match between semen found on the girl's underwear and the Rev Lewis.

What happens after this? "Poor people licky licky. Dem can't help it," said a woman to me recently while we were in discussion over the matter. As far as I know, Rev Lewis cannot be tried again on the same charges after being freed in the courts.

We know that in the Jamaican courts, a case is only as strong as the links supporting it. If the police case is weak, it will not get very far. We also know that there are instances where the supporting links are deliberately made weak after "man an' man" meet and discussions are held and other matters are introduced into the equation.

Were it my child, it would not have happened because there is no way that I would have allowed any 15-year-old daughter of mine to travel from milepost 10 to milepost 11 with any Rev anyone. I am naturally distrustful of those who cloak themselves in the "glory of God" and then make claims of purity.

People with an interest in this matter must use the social networking sites to keep this one on the front burner. According to the website of Rev Paul Lewis, "Since an early age in the island of Jamaica, God has called him and anointed him to preach, deliver and minister through the power of the spirit. Blind eyes have been opened, deaf ears unstopped, tumours dissolved, and more, the all-salvation has come to many."

What sort of "all salvation" is there for the little girls?

observemark@gmail.com

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/columns/Counterfeit-cigarettes-and-that-smoking-tax_9049437#ixzz1QE6onlzW

Lisa Hyper beats gyal who throw pepper piss pon her

Written by ABENA   
  June 2011

Lisa Hype, mi know say yu change and mi love the new image, mi all hear yu pon IRIE FM ah do interview and all these things, but mi know say yu a bad gyal. The other day, one gal ambush Lisa Hyper and her friend dem ah go inna one dance and show pepper piss pon her, and she turn round and gi the gal ah beating de, she beat her like she stole something. The amount of punch, kick and box the gal get, mi a wonder if Lisa Hype did a study karate or something, the whole ah Stony Hill still ah talk bout the beating. Weh some gal feel like? She might change her ways but she still say GAZA

Rihanna Goes Shopping For Sex Toys

rihanna_toys_australia.jpgRihanna seems to be enjoying going down - under. The "S&M" singer was spotted in Australia on Thursday doing a little shopping at The Tool Shed, a popular sex shop in the heart of Sydney's gay district.

Moments before Rihanna emerged from the store with a devious grin on her face, a male assistant was spotted leaving with two black bags full of purchases.

Rihanna kept quiet about the contents of the bags but gave a smile as she left the huge store that sells everything from two-foot dildos to poles for pole dancing; the shop also carries S&M gear which seems rather appropriate.

A spokesman for the shop later said that the visit was arranged earlier in the day and they had to ensure no-one else was in the store during her visit. "I can't say what she did or what she bought, it's top secret," he added.

Rihanna's visit has fueled speculation that she will put in an appearance at the city's hugely popular gay and lesbian Mardi Gras festival.

Rihanna is currently in Australia on tour.

Photo Credit: Splash
Source: rumorfix

Doza Medicine formally announces departure from Portmore Empire

Doza Medicine

The Portmore Empire continues to experience subtraction; adding more speculation to whether or not the groups demise is imminent.

The latest departure from the group is that of Andrew Marlon Cardoza, more popularly known as Doza Medicine. Doza, known for songs such as Dem Diss on 2009s Fight Fi War Riddim & Stay Focus on the Storytella Riddim opened up on Monday about his decision to leave the Gaza group. He told one876entertainment.com that he felt ignored & left out whilst a part of Vybz Kartels crew.

I say Gaza no more because a lot of time when I was there, I felt left out, nobody paid me any mind, I have been doing me from long time, Doza intimated. His inner frustrations were seemingly unleashed in a preview video released earlier this month; deejaying his new single, Mi Lef. The song, produced by former Empire producer, Notnice, wasnt aimed at Kartel, according to Doza. But the artiste immediately received calls from Gaza affiliates & Di Teacha himself questioning him on why hed put out such a song; questioning his loyalty.

Doza claims Kartel asked him, Wah kinda song dat yu do yute, ah diss man? And yu say yu lef Gaza and no man no tell yu nothing like that,all Jahvinci ah do all song, my yute, everything good mi yute. Doza tried to reason with Kartel & asked what he did to allegedly disrespect the self-proclaimed World Boss to which Kartel has not answered.

Doza Medicine suggests Kartels paranoia & controlling ways led him to his breaking point. They say I am disrespectful. I didnt know they were words. I cant say like forget you, why I cant say I am my own boss. Is it because I voice for Notnice and he and Notnice are no longer friends, Doza stated.

When asked about possible retribution, Doza told one876entertainment.com, We know style and craft. I am fearful, I am aware of them, and know what theyre capable of, mi de de long time, mi know wah him capable of. He later questioned why Kartels yet to respond to rival, Aidonias lyrical taunts. Look how Aidonia diss you and other man call yu name and diss yu inna song, and you dont do nothing. I dont even see him, mi ah do me!

Doza joins JahVinci, Notnice & Merital Family as Empire members whove left within the last month alone.

By Jodee Brown
Jamaican Pop Culture Examiner

Buju gets 10 years

BY KARYL WALKER Online news editor walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com

Thursday, June 23, 2011

Print this page Email A Friend!

REGGAE artiste Buju Banton was today sentenced to 10 years by United States magistrate Jim Moody in the Sam M Gibbons US Court in Tampa Florida. He will be incarcerated at the FCI prison facility in Miami.

The artiste real name Mark Myrie was found guilty in February of conspiring to negotiate a drug deal in a police controlled warehouse in Florida.

Buju-looks_w445.jpg
x.pngBANTON convicted in February
restore.png
left.png 1/1 right.png

The charge of possession of a firearm in furtherance of a drug offense was dropped however.

The artiste was slapped with the heavy sentence despite pleas for leniency by his attorney, his children, movie star Danny Glover and other character witnesses.

Banton, whose real name is Mark Anthony Myrie, seemed resigned to accept his fate and calmy accepted the verdict.

His attorney David Oscar Markus has signalled his intent to appeal Banton's guilty verdict and indicated that he would move with alacrity to secure the artiste's release.

The verdict was handed down in front of a packed.

courthouse which included members of the artiste's family, his close friend Wayne Wonder, his manager Traci McGregor and reporters.

Many persons, including artistes and Banton's close friends Gramps Morgan and Delly Ranks who came to hear the verdict were turned back after court officials indicated that the courtroom was packed and Moody had already been seated at minutes to 9:00 am.

The sentencing hearing lasted just over an hour and many of Myrie's supporters and family members cried openly.

The artiste will serve his time at the penal facility in the state of Florida.

Myrie underwent two trials after the first trial ended in a mistrial in 2010. He was however found guilty of conspiracy to possess with intent to distribute five or more kilogrammes of cocaine, using the wires to facilitate a drug offense and possession of a firearm in furtherance of a drug trafficking offence.

Banton's two co-conspirators, Ian Thomas and James Mack both plead guilty after they were hedl in a sting operation attempting to purchase cocaine from federal agents in a police controlled warehouse in Tampa.

The Us government built their case around wiretap and video evidence which caught Banton tasting cocaine and making several statements of the purchasee and sale of large amounts of contraband.

Man accused of killing male lover remanded

A homosexual man accused of killing his lover at his home along Dupont Avenue, Kingston 20, because of his alleged unfaithfulness was remanded when he appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday.

Twenty-four-year-old Fabian Montique, a security guard from Coral Gardens, Montego Bay, is to return to court on July 13 for mention.

Allegations are that on Sunday June 5 about 1:35 p.m., Montique accused Michael Morris of being unfaithful.

According to reports an argument that became physical ensued.

Further allegations are that, the accused used a kitchen knife to stab Morris in the left side of his neck and the upper region of his back. He was rushed to the Andrews Memorial Hospital where he was pronounced dead on arrival.

The accused who fled the crime scene was later caught in the Half-Way Tree area and arrested.

TAMPA, Fla. Despite pleas for leniency from family members, fans and supporters, a federal judge sentenced Grammy-winning reggae singer Buju Banton on Thursday to 10 years in prison Thursday for conspiring to set up a cocaine deal.

Banton was found guilty of conspiracy to possess with the intent to distribute cocaine, possession of a firearm in furtherance of a drug trafficking offense and using a telephone to facilitate a drug trafficking offense.

Dozens of letters to U.S. District Judge James S. Moody are included in the court file for the 37-year-old recording artist, whose given name is Mark Myrie. Several of his 15 children wrote, as did a former Jamaican government official, an NBA player, other reggae artists and actor Danny Glover, who called Banton a "role model, philanthropist and spiritual leader in the community."

"Your honor, Mark Myrie is not a drug dealer," Glover wrote. "Society would not benefit from his incarceration."

Banton's attorney, David Markus, says federal sentencing guidelines call for a prison term of at least 15 years. In a court filing, Markus told Moody that is "way more than necessary" in Banton's case.

The judge did throw out a gun charge, lowering Banton's sentence from 15 years to 10. He was also ordered to serve five years of probation following his release from prison.

Markus contended that Banton deserved a lower sentence because of his limited participation in the drug buy, his charitable work in Jamaica and his otherwise clean record.

Banton's oldest son, also named Mark Myrie, wrote that his father "puts hard work, sweat and tears into his music and that is what (he) `puts on the table,' it has never been drugs....The situation is just an example of our mere imperfections as people, being at the wrong place at the wrong time."

Assistant U.S. Attorney James Preston argued during trial that Banton portrayed himself as a broker of drug deals in several conversations with a confidential informant. Preston said Banton thought he was getting involved in a "no-risk" deal in which he would introduce a friend to a confidential informant and then collect money from drug transactions.

Prosecutors acknowledge that Banton did not put any money into the drug deal nor did he ever profit from it. Markus characterized his client as "a big talker" who admitted to trying to impress the confidential informant but wasn't involved in any drug deal.

Much of the case hinged on meetings and phone calls that were video- and audiotaped by the informant, who was working with the Drug Enforcement Administration and who made $50,000 in commission after the bust.

In one video, Banton could be seen tasting cocaine in a Sarasota warehouse on Dec. 8, 2009. But he was not present during the actual drug deal on Dec. 10 that led two others to be arrested. Those two men later pleaded guilty.

Banton testified that the informant badgered him after they met on a trans-Atlantic flight in July 2009 and insisted they meet to set up a cocaine purchase. He said he was so uninterested in the informant's proposals that after they met twice, Banton didn't return the man's phone calls for months.

Banton remains wildly popular in Jamaica, and his trial his second over the drug accusations was packed with supporters that included other well-known reggae artists. The first trial ended in a mistrial last year after the jury deadlocked.

Shortly before his conviction in February, he won a Grammy for best reggae album for his work entitled "Before the Dawn."

Father's Day not just about money - Assassin
Curtis Campbell, Star Writer

redstripe2F20070303CH.jpg
Assassin

Star of the month Assassin says that he spent Father's Day in two countries.

The artiste, who was in Trinidad & Tobago over the weekend, was just in time to catch the last part of Father's Day in his native island, but says he was so tired he still missed the opportunity to see his daughter because he fell asleep.

"I was in Trinidad on Father's Day and by the time I got back to Jamaica I fell asleep, but my daughter had called me while I was in Trinidad to wish me happy Father's Day as well as to tell me about my Father's Day card that she made," he said.

The deejay, who is a proud father of one, also revealed that he has another child on the way. However, he is in no rush to get too many, saying "Three would be ok for me. The most I would go is like five."

According to the artiste, he wants all of his children to get the best education possible and the more children that you have is the least likely that such a goal would be achieved, because the resources would be exhausted.

Assassin said he grew up with his mother since he was two years old, however, he did not miss out on important lessons through constant interaction with his father. "Telephone wasn't as popular as now, so I use to visit my father on weekends," he recalled.

The artiste says that much of his approach towards fatherhood he developed through interaction with his father. "Because of my father, I became consciously and subconsciously aware of how, to conduct myself as a dad and as well as through observance," he told THE STAR.

The proud father also pointed out that even in instances where the parents are separated there is no excuse to neglect the child. According to the lyrical deejay, child rearing is not just about money, it has to do with more than that.

He also outlined that fathers should know that they are not doing their children a favour, but it's actually a responsibility that should be executed.

Nikki Z receives 'Broadcast Communications Award'
Nikki-Z-2.jpg
Nikki Z

Media personality and president and CEO of DNZ Productions Nicole Duhaney, better known as Nikki Z, received a 'Broadcast Communications Award' at the Young, Gifted & Black Entrepreneurial Awards in New York recently.

In a release sent to The STAR, Nikki Z stated ""it was an honour to be nominated amongst so many accomplished individuals. To take home the broadcaster award showed me that I am on the right path. Being a young girl who came from the projects to being one of the top Caribbean Radio Personalities is something I dreamed of and I don't take it lightly. I want to share with all races and cultures the music I was raised on, the music I saw make all my family functions lively, exciting and fun. Reggae and dancehall to me is more then a job. It's a way of life. When the music hits, you feel no pain. Those words have guided me throughout my career. I want to help take away the pain one listener at a time."

Young, Gifted & Black (YGB) association was founded in 2006 by Carl O. Gray, president and CEO, The NetLinkz Group, Inc, and founder of Unified Network of Business Professional. the YGB Awards programme places an emphasis on individuals that continued to reach levels of success through hard work and determination. There isn't a formal selection criterion to receive this award, rather a peer-to-peer acknowledgment and appreciation of individual's drive for success outlined by where they have been in life to where they are now as ambassadors of the entrepreneurial spirit.

Nicole Duhaney aka Nikki Z contribution to radio began many years ago in the United States of america (USA), but her name rose to fame in Jamaica where her soul resides, but she has brought the essence back to the States, and besides hosting her syndicated radio show 'World Caribbean Countdown' airing in three stations in Africa and across Caribbean and USA, as well as being the no.1 Female DJ on the no.1 hip hop station in Connecticut, Hot 93.7, she also is the entertainment reporter on BBC 1xtra. her DNZ Productions company, along with Hapilos Entertainment, is bringing 'Lake Fest, Love within The Music' to the east coast.

No Manatt bounce

Published: Thursday | June 23, 2011 8 Comments
Christopher 'Dudus' Coke
  • Poll shows PNP won't gain votes from extradition saga

The opposition People's National Party (PNP) should not expect any bounce in its vote count based on the Government's botched handling of the extradition request for Christopher 'Dudus' Coke and the subsequent revelations at the Manatt-Dudus commission of enquiry.

A Gleaner-commissioned Bill Johnson national opinion poll has found that nearly a quarter of Jamaica's voting population said the Manatt-Dudus affair would not affect the way they would mark their ballots in the next national elections.

The poll was conducted among 1,008 people across Jamaica's 14 parishes on May 28 and 29 and June 4 and 5, 2011. It has a margin of error of plus or minus four per cent.

A sizable 34 per cent of the persons sampled said they were less likely to vote as the Manatt-Dudus affair has impacted the way they feel about politics in general in Jamaica.

The governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), which commingled with the government apparatus in a bid to influence the outcome of the extradition request for Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, one of its key supporters, has attracted an additional 14 per cent of the voting population who say they are more likely to vote for the party.

But 22 per cent of those polled say they are no more likely to vote for the Opposition PNP.

At the same time, five per cent of those persons sampled said they are less likely to vote for the JLP. On the other hand, one per cent of the respondents said they were less likely to vote for the Opposition PNP in the elections constitutionally due by September next year.

Patty Shop Corey Todd Interview (Refix Video) - Dj Powa June 2011

Bujus lawyers argue for reduced sentence

79190 buju banto 595x335 Bujus lawyers argue for reduced sentenceJAMAICAN Grammy Award-winning reggae artiste Buju Banton wants the court to impose a prison term below the mandatory minimum sentence of 15 years at his sentencing hearing later this month.

Banton, whose real name is Mark Myrie, is scheduled to be sentenced on June 23 in the Sam M Gibbons Federal Court in Tampa, Florida, United States. The artiste was convicted in February on charges of conspiracy to distribute five or more kilogrammes of cocaine, possession of a firearm in the furtherance of a drug-trafficking crime and using the wires to facilitate a drug-trafficking offence.

The documents asking for the reduced sentence were filed yesterday by his legal team led by attorney Oscar David Markus.

The 10-year minimum mandatory sentence for the drug count and the five-year minimum mandatory consecutive sentence for the gun count are unconstitutional in this case because it constitutes cruel and unusual punishment in violation of the Eighth Amendment and also because it constitutes too severe a penalty for proceeding to trial, the lawyers noted.

The lawyers also stated that the court is well aware that, according to United States v Booker, a sentence calculated pursuant to the United States Sentencing Guidelines is no longer mandatory. The lawyers also pointed out that Bantons limited role in the drug offence entitles him to a reduction in sentence, while citing the artistes good character and clean record as it relates to the offence for which he was convicted.

Throughout both trials, it was clear that the significant players in the December 10, 2009 drug transaction were Isaac Ike Camon, a major drug dealer in Georgia, as the buyer; and Alex Johnson as the seller. Not Mark Myrie, said the lawyers.

Ian Thomas, a friend of Bantons who was instrumental in the drug transaction, was sentenced in May to 51 months imprisonment after pleading guilty and assisting the prosecution.

Bantons first trial in September last year ended with a hung jury, resulting in the second trial in which he was convicted. The artiste was arrested at his south Florida home in December 2009.

Yesterdays document also contained letters from actor, activist, and humanitarian Danny Glover, as well as from several of Bantons 15 children, asking for the courts leniency.

Bantons pending motion seeking acquittal and for a new trial will also be heard on June 23.

Nicki Minaj laughs off Rihanna rumours

By Lara Martin, US Correspondent

Nicki Minaj has laughed off reports that she and Rihanna are living together.

nicki_minaj_rihanna_rumour.jpgThe rapper told Ryan Seacrest's radio show, which airs weekday mornings on KIIS-FM, that some people didn't realise the pair were only joking when they had a Twitter conversation about sharing a home.

"We just shot the video for a song I have on the album called 'Fly'," she explained. "When I saw her I said, 'So, do you hear we're living together?' We started cracking up laughing. She was like, 'I can't believe people are this ridiculous!'"

The Pink Friday star went on to say that the "random rumour" prompted the singers to post a joke message online about their "new crib" earlier this week.

"The funny thing is some people still didn't realise we were joking," she continued. "People were like, 'Oh my God, you're so lucky! You and Rihanna living together!' You can't even be sarcastic anymore, it's hilarious!"

However, she admitted that there was always a "possibility" of the duo becoming housemates in the future. "She is a badass," she added. "You never know!"

Minaj previously described 'Fly' - which appears on her platinum debut Pink Friday - as an "empowering" collaboration between the pair, saying that it encourages women to "soar high in the face of adversity".

Source: digitalspy.co.uk

Mariah Carey and Nick Canon selling first baby pics of twins

103805-mariah_carey_nick_cannon_617_409-270x155.jpg

Popping out a couple of kids, for most of us, means you can kiss the next eighteen years of your life goodbye. But for celebrities, it usually means a gigantic payday.

Mariah Carey and Nick Cannon are putting their baby photos on the market, so let the bidding begin. The seven week-old twins, Moroccan Scott and Monroe, are Mariah and Nick's first. And so far, they're set to get around $200,000 for the photos.

The first photos were free--Mariah posted a couple of pics of her big, pregnant belly on her Twitter page. And then, she posed nude on the cover of a magazine with Nick holding her breasts as if he was steering a ship.

"Mariah and Nick are more concerned with doing the right thing than going to the highest bidder," an insider told the New York Post's Page Six.

"They're talking to a number of publications about doing it in the best and most tasteful way. Nick has said on radio he doesn't feel entirely comfortable selling pictures of his children. But the first picture remains very valuable to the paparazzi. There's not much movement going on right now."

Sure, selling pictures of your kids sounds bad, but considering all the bullsh-t they're going to put you through for the rest of your life, I say cash in while you can.

Bonafide shoots videos with Busy, Kartel

BY HORACE HINES

MONTEGO BAY, St James Las Vegas-based reggae band Bonafide last week shot two videos with local reggae acts Busy Signal and Vybz Kartel, to support the collaborations they have done with the two artistes.

On Wednesday, members of the band completed video shoots with Busy Signal with who they collaborated on Bumper, while the following day they completed another shoot with Vybz Kartel, with whom they partnered for the single, Leaving.

bonafide-kartel_w445.jpg
Busy-bone_w445.jpg
restore.png

bonafide-kartel_w445.jpg

x.pngDeejay Vybz Kartel (centre) along with members of Bonafide share a moment after shooting the video for their single Leaving.restore.png

Come tomorrow, the group is scheduled to complete another shoot with Etana with whom they recorded the single I Want To Be The One.

Montego Bay native Junior Roots, lead vocalist for the group, which is completed by his two brothers Ricky Dread and Wayne Bass, as well as Clarendon-native Kerry Ranks who hails from Clarendon, was delighted over the video shoots with Busy Signal and Vybz Kartel in Kingston.

"We are very happy about the outcome of this video and the professionalism of Busy. Glad to do the video with him, Junior Roots told the Observer last week.

He added, "Vybz was really good, really professional and helpful. He shared his experience in the video shooting with us. We really appreciate the knowledge he passed to us".

He said he was looking forward to tomorrow's shoot with Etana.

"It is two down and one to go on this trip," noted Junior Roots.

Members of Bonafide are still disappointed for not being able to deliver on last year's International Night at Reggae Sumfest, after turning up at the Catherine Hall venue after they were scheduled to perform.

But the group which has appeared on Reggae Sumfest in 2007 and 2008, indicated that they are eager to perform on the show this year to make amends for last year.

Bonafide reports that they have played at the Bob Marley Festival in California, Reggae in the Dessert in Nevada , and festivals in New Zealand played in front of over 100,00 people; Hawaii, Australia and Figi among other countries.

Movado talks about shooting incident Onstage....!!!!!!!

Merital Family Speaks Out About Leaving Portmore Empire Part 1 of 3

Merital Family Speaks Out About Leaving Portmore Empire Part 2 of 3

Merital Family Speaks Out About Leaving Portmore Empire Part 3 of 3

-- Edited by DJ Sarge on Wednesday 22nd of June 2011 01:57:27 PM

Buju's countdown - stars loved ones grow more nervous

June 2011

buju banton.jpg - 73.30 Kb

Anxiety is increasing among close friends and key supporters of Grammy Award-winning Jamaican reggae artiste Buju Banton as the reggae singer's sentencing date draws closer.

The artiste, whose real name is Mark Anthony Myrie, will on Thursday be sentenced in the Sam M Gibbons Federal Court in Tampa, Florida. The sentence comes four months after Banton's conviction on drug-related charges in February.

Yesterday, Banton's friends and supporters told the Observer that they were nervous about the possibility of him going to prison for an extended period. They also expressed concern about the emotional and financial well-being of Banton's 15 children.

"I just hope the judge doesn't give him a long time in prison," said reggae promoter and friend Hopie Miller, who lives in Florida.

"I'm anxious. You know how it is with me when it comes to Buju."

Miller said she visited Banton in lock-up on two occasions, where she broke down in tears and had to be consoled by the artiste.

Worry over Banton's sentencing has reached a fever pitch since federal district Judge James S Moody Jr pushed back the original June 16 date.

"I'm very anxious. All the experts are saying a lot of things. I hear a lot of talk, but you don't know what will happen because they are not the judge," said close friend O'niel Dunkley who resides in Florida.

"It's something we talk about a lot... I don't think he deserves what is coming to him, it's not like he was a drug pusher or anything. I feel bad for his kids."

A friend of Buju's from California, who goes by the name Nicole Rasta, added: "I feel stressed, exhausted and sorry for him. I feel like I lose someone close to my heart. And not even that, who is going to take care of his children?"

Banton was convicted on charges of conspiracy to distribute five or more kilogrammes of cocaine, possession of a firearm in the furtherance of a drug-trafficking crime and using the wires to facilitate a drug-trafficking offence.

The conviction follows an initial trial in September of last year which ended without the jurors being able to reach a verdict.

The artiste was arrested in December 2009, resulting from a covert operation.

Banton faces a mandatory minimum sentence of 15 years. However, his legal team, led by David Oscar Markus, is seeking a sentence below the mandatory minimum.

Yesterday, Markus told the Observer: "Buju remains optimistic and hopeful. He is a true warrior, from the days of the old school. I won't stop fighting for him."

The week before last, renowned actors, athletes and fellow performers joined Banton's children in making an impassioned plea for leniency in handing down his sentence. Among them were American actor Danny Glover, NBA player Etan Thomas, Vibe Magazine editor-at-large Rob Kenner and reggae artiste Stephen Marley.

'She's trying to tarnish my image' - I Octane denies DJ Amber's pregnancy claim

June 2011

ioctane.jpg - 68.12 Kb

Rastafarian artiste I-Octane says that a recent report that a popular female radio disc jock is pregnant for him is an attempt to tarnish his image.

An online publication yesterday claimed that DJ Amber is four-months pregnant with I-Octane's child. The revelation stirred quite some debate in entertainment circles.

However, the deejay last night said: "She has a motive. She out fi get rid of the brand Octane so people can seh rae rae 'cause readers have different perspectives."

"Mi and har neva have a relationship, so what is har motive?" I-Octane said.

DJ Amber, when contacted by The Star earlier, had said: "I'm pregnant for the artiste and we are no longer in a relationship."

She said she only came public with her story because she wanted to avoid rumours.

"I was contacted with a false story that I was pregnant for I-Octane and he asked me to get an abortion. He never asked me for an abortion. I gave my version of the story because I didn't want any rumours to start going around," she told The Star, noting that their relationship ended in March.

Amber said that she had been friends with I-Octane for years but only became intimate late last year. However, she said she had suspicions that he was involved with other women. She said she suspected that he was still involved with the mother of his child, and another female who also works in the media but he denied relationships with both.

"Not that I didn't have a clue, I had my suspicions. When I cornered him with the truth, he could not deny it so that was the end of the relationship right there," she said.

While he agrees that they were friends, I-Octane refuted some of her claims.

"Mi and her were good friends and do business together but apparently we go pon different page. Her approach is different from mine," he said.

After he decided that certain things would not continue, that is when he said things started getting bad.

"She seh she invest in the brand so she entitled to whatever come from it. When mi tell har seh it nah go continue, a deh so all di bad things start. She seh she a go mek the brand demolish but I never really pay it no mind 'cause mi have other things fi deal wid," he said. "All of a sudden she come drop een pregnancy."

In the meantime, Amber says that she does not believe that the news of her pregnancy and the circumstances surrounding it will have any negative implications for her.

"I don't see this affecting me negatively in any way or form. I am an independent female. I can manage on my own. I also have support from family, friends and members of the entertainment fraternity," Amber said.

For I-Octane, he claims that these are some of the challenges that come with being in the public eye.

"Remember Buju say it's not an easy road and all dem things ya come wid di territory. These are the challenges you have to face when you rise in life. Every important individual go through it with people trying to tarnish their names," he said.

Nonetheless, "Mi still love har and rate har fi weh she do fi mi," I-Octane added.

Vybz Kartel Releases Statement about his Hairstyle

The most talked about Vybz Kartel topic recently on "wat a gwaan pon dat gwaan" which can be found on all major websites, Facebook, Twitter, MySpace and even dozens of blogs are pictures of Vybz Kartel latest hairstyle that he's sporting.

Below is a statement that was released by Vybz Kartel pertaining to his Hairstyle.

vybz_kartel_photos_of_new_hair_style.jpg"FIRST OFF ID LIKE TO SAY WHAT ALL THE FUSS ABOUT MY HAIR, AS WITH EVERY OTHER THING THAT I DO HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH ANYTHING EXCEPT PLAIN OLD "BADMIND".BECAUSE WHEN I WAS INVOLVED IN THE NINJA MAN INCIDENT A FEW YEARS AGO , I HAD IN EXTENSIONS THEN, WHY DIDNT THE HULLABALOO COMMENCE THEN? BECAUSE I WASN'T ON TOP SO THE HATING WASNT NECESSARY.WHEN I DID "NEVER LOVE ANOTHER GIRL" VIDEO IN 2005 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GPl_P_vdhdk, MY HAIR WAS PERMED, WHY DIDNT THE INQUISITION COMMENCE? BECAUSE I WASN'T ON TOP SO THE HATING WASNT NECESSARY...WHAT IM SAYING IS THAT WHEN UR ON TOP, PEOPLE FIND ALL KINDS OF FAULTS AND FLAWS TO POINT OUT IN THEIR QUEST TO TEAR YOU DOWN BUT GUESS WHAT? I COUDNT CARE LESS WHAT PEOPLE SAY OR THINK ABOUT KARTEL BECAUSE IF EVERYONE LOVES YOU, UR AN OBVIOUS "KISS A*S"
.P.S. MAVADO, ELEPHANT MAN, MACHEL MONTANO (whose hair done by the same girl who did mine) I OCTANE T.O.K. ETC HAVE ALL HAD
EXTENTION PUT IN. TALK BOUT THAT"

A Statement From Vybz Kartel

June 22, 2011
Started By DJ Sarge4 Comments

A Statement From Vybz Kartel

Vybz Kartel released a statement regarding his new song 'Come Ya Nuh Mi Gal' as a fake version of the song leaked on the net.

Kartel states:
" I should not even be dignifying those allegations with a statement but since it is the politically correct thing to do, so be it. This attempt by these malicious and vindictive persons who seek to defame my character is as futile as trying to dethrone the dancehall hero from the pinnacle of the genre ... try
something else that is more believable. Better luck next time haters. "

HERE IS THE SONG

Please spare our dad' - Buju's kids appeal to judge

June 2011

buju banton.jpg - 73.30 Kb

'PLEASE, spare our dad.' This is the emotional plea from four of the 15 children of Grammy Award-winning artiste Buju Banton to Judge Jim Moody ahead of the reggae artiste's sentencing on gun and drug-related charges on June 23 in the Sam M Gibbons Federal Court in Tampa Florida.

The siblings' letters for mercy form part of a document filed last week by Banton's legal team seeking a reduced sentence for the Jamaican artiste, who is facing 15 years to life behind bars. The letters are also among others penned by the likes of renowned actor Danny Glover, NBA player Etan Thomas, Vibe Magazine editor-at-large Rob Kenner and reggae artiste Stephen Marley.

In their letters, the children pour out their hearts, as they explain what their father, whose real name is Mark Myrie, means to them.

"My father is a great person. He always make us smile when he is around...," said Jahazeil, 14. "I love my father so much. He always care about us and encourages us to do the best we can and I miss him because there is no father like him."

Banton's daughter Jodian, who at 21 is the artiste's eldest child, noted in her letter: "My father is a very hardworking man who puts a lot of time basically his entire life into his music and family."

Seven-year-old Jahleel, in his letter, said: "My father was always there for me and I will be there for him. He was the only person that understands the way I feel... My father is the world to me, and I am to him."

Eighteen-year-old Shadai described her father as "the backbone of my family".

She added: "Without him many things would not be possible. He is there for myself, my sisters and brothers, both financially and emotionally. He motivates each of us when we feel like the weight of the world is on our shoulders. How then could we picture a comfortable life without our main source of comfort?"

Banton was convicted in February on charges of conspiracy to distribute five or more kilogrammes of cocaine, possession of a firearm in the furtherance of a drug-trafficking crime and using the wires to facilitate a drug-trafficking offence. The conviction follows a first trial in September of last year which ended without the jurors being able to reach a verdict. He was arrested in December 2009, resulting from a covert operation.

Last Thursday, Banton's legal team filed the document asking for a sentence below the mandatory minimum of 15 years behind bars, which the lawyers are contending would be cruel and unusual punishment.

In his letter to the court, Glover describes himself as a friend of Banton's, and noted that the artiste is "considered one of the most influential reggae musicians" and that his "Grammy-Award winning music" addresses every aspect of life and "feeds the heart, mind, body and soul, bringing a message of hope". "Not only is Mr Myrie a great musician with a great deal of work ahead of him," Glover added, "he is also a role model, philanthropist, and spiritual leader of the community."

Noted Kenner of Vibe Magazine: "He is religious and has travelled to the Holy Land to attend prayers in Golgotha Ethiopian Monastery, Jerusalem. Mark Myrie is one of the leading voices of his generation. His music sheds light on such issues as the unrelenting violence and abject poverty pervasive in the Third World."

Meanwhile, Marley, the son of reggae icon Bob Marley, said that Banton was like a brother to him and asked the judge to be "compassionate to Mark".

Thomas, who plays for the NBA team Atlanta Hawks, described Banton as "an extremely positive inspiration" in his life and "countless people around the world, especially black men".

Said Thomas: "...His music helped keep me out of trouble and encouraged me to perform to the best of my ability, no matter the challenge. ...It is for this reason I hope to have Mr Myrie included as one of the fathers... in my book on fatherhood: a guide to being a good father. Mr Myrie willingly accepted to participate without any request for financial gain. He is truly a humble man who makes himself accessible to all who reach out to him."

Clifton Brown still 'canna cross it'
Wednesday, 22 June 2011

cliftonbrown.jpg - 119.98 Kb

Despite mounting international recognition, Clifton Brown, the star of the viral YouTube video "Nobody canna cross it/the bus can swim" remains steadfast that access to his community is still his main concern. Click image above to Read More.

Reggae Sumfest to honour Beres Hammond

Reggae Sumfest to recognise Beres for contribution to Jcan music

INTERNATIONALLY acclaimed singer Beres Hammond will be honoured by Summerfest Productions, organisers of Reggae Sumfest during this year's staging of the annual music festival in Montego Bay.

"Beres is an icon and a cornerstone of the Jamaican music industry," Summerfest's executive director Johnny Gourzong was quoted in a news release from the festival's publicist, Headline Entertainment.

Beres-Hammond4_w445.jpg
x.pngHAMMOND says he will be delivering one of the best sets locally at Reggae Sumfest
restore.png
left.png 1/1 right.png

"We at Reggae Sumfest are very pleased to be presenting this great reggae artiste and felt that he deserves to be recognised for his enormous contribution to the growth and development of our music. A Reggae Sumfest without Beres never truly feels complete," Gourzong added.

Hammond, who is easily one of Jamaica's most prolific singers ever and who has a massive fan base, will be making his return to the festival after a three-year hiatus.

Known for his soulful voice and eclectic lovers' rock ballads, Hammond's discography consists of at least 18 albums and six compilations.

He is expected to wow the Sumfest audience with his timeless hits, among them Step Aside, Can't Stop A Man From Trying, Standing In My Way, and She Loves Me Now, to name a few.

"Beres loves to perform at Sumfest because of the exceptional reception he gets. It's been a while since he has graced the stage at Catherine Hall, and he has made it clear that he will be delivering one of the best sets locally, come July," said Hammond's manager Mervis Walsh.

Reggae Sumfest, set for July 17-23 at Catherine Hall in Montego Bay, promises to be an explosive affair featuring top acts such as international sensations R Kelly and Nicki Minaj, as well as Jamaican stars CeCile, Tifa, Kip Rich, Protoje, Jah Cure, Half Pint, and Konshens.

Rihanna's sexy S&M single and video gets banned!

Rihanna's saucy new single S&M has been banned from Radio 1's playlist, and the video has been banned in 11 countries! Does it really need to be banned? Is it REALLY too sexy?

TO WATCH VIDEO CLICK HERE

Just look at this.
rihanna_sexy_m%26m_photos.jpg
If anything she's promoting healthy eating, and we all need to get our five a day don't we? Yes, yes we do. We're off down the grocers now to pick up a bunch of bananas. Thank you, Rihanna, for reminding us to be visions of health. NO SCURVY FOR US.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
rihanna_sexy_m%26m_photos1.jpg
Oooh dear you seem to have got yourself into a bit of a pickle, Rihanna. Are you stuck? Your hair looks bangin'. That's not the point, we know, but maybe some kind of Brownie or outdoorsy type will be able to help you out of those complicated knots? Maybe we should learn how to undo such tricky rope-work too, in case we're ever in a similar situation. LET'S ALL GO TO GIRL GUIDES.

Is Doza Medicine dissing Vybz Kartel on a song caled 'Mi Lef'???

Written by AKA   
June 2011

The streets are buzzing with talk that Doza Medicine has dissed Vybz Kartel in a song called Mi Lef on Notnice's new riddim. One of the best lines is when Doza boasts "mi a the devil weh no fear no cross", and that "mi a baddest ting inna the hemisphere, and mi no see no man weh mi fear".

Rihanna Fuels Lesbian Rumors: Nicki Minaj is My "Sex Partner"

nicki_minaj_rihanna_couple_girlfriends_lesbian.jpgRihanna fueled rumors shes been hitching up with gal pal Nick Minaj Thursday night after she joked that she and her frequent collaborator were sex partners.

After leaving dinner with her friends, paparazzi surrounded the Whats My Name singer, asking her if they were really more than just friends.

Youre not really roommates with Nicki Minaj are you? he asked Rihanna.

No. Were just sex partners! Rihanna joked.

Lesbian rumors between the musical duo seemed to start last month when Minaj said in an interview that Rihanna was the best fondler ever. Later, the pair were spotted being cute together as they sent messages back and forth on Twitter.

After Minaj had knocked Rihanna for misspelling her name, Rihanna quipped back: "B***h don't u hear me askin what my OWN name is??? Lol! My bad, I'll make it up to u wink (sic).

Meanwhile, Minaj hit back at rumors yesterday when she appeared on the Ryan Seacrest morning show, labeling the rumors as really insane and hilarious.

Bounty Killer & Mr. Lexx Face Off On Twitter

By Sekret Agent
OutAroad.com Writer

bounty_killer_mr_lex_clash_twitter.jpg

Recently Rihanna and Ciara had a quarrel on Twitter which got them tuns of press with one media house defines it as the #1 Twitter celebrity face off. However, Bounty Killer and Mr. Lex have dethroned Rihanna and Ciara of the #1 spot with their recent Twitter Face Off.

The face off was the talk of the day by regular users on Twitter which even escalated to Black Berry with several persons blasting the tweets from Mr. Lex and Bounty Killer.

Below are a few of the tweets by both deejay

Bounty Killer @mrlexxBout Killer n Ele telling ppl nuh play yu song when p*ssy juice rotten out yu throat u nuh sound good again dadda sound better

Mr Lex @grunggaad...U know how much time me get juggling wid both a dem song an mi neva tell a discJock or selector say don't play dem... Nope Not Never

Bounty Killer @mrlexxUnuh tell a bwoy nuh call mi name and go shave him tongue and do pop smear baby germs a kill him throat so him voice gone!!!

Mr Lex @grunggaad...Ahahaaha my tongue long? Dats really gay dude

Mek we talk bout dat since we on di topic... U trace off di whole biz, who an u neva trace yet? U have multiple

68_andre_1332240a.jpg

Andre Villas-Boas has been confirmed as Chelsea's new manager.

The former Porto boss has signed a three-year deal and is in London on Wednesday preparing to begin work.

Villas-Boas, 33, is the same age as players Frank Lampard and Didier Drogba and won the Portuguese league, League Cup and Europa League last season.

"Andre was the outstanding candidate for the job. He is one of the most talented young managers in football today," Chelsea said in a statement.

"He has already achieved much in a relatively short space of time. His ambition, drive and determination matches that of Chelsea and we are confident Andre's leadership of the team will result in greater successes in major domestic and European competitions.

"Andre will bring his coaching experience back to a club he is already very familiar with, having previously worked here for three years. He has always been highly regarded at Chelsea and everyone here looks forward to welcoming him back and working with him."

Chelsea paid the Ł13.3m compensation to release the Portuguese coach from his Porto contract, with Villas-Boas succeeding Carlo Ancelotti, who was sacked after a trophyless season.

Former Chelsea boss John Hollins believes Villas-Boas could prove to be a shrewd acquisition for the west London club, who are yet to realise owner Roman Abramovich's dream of winning the Champions League, and were beaten in the quarter-finals by Manchester United last season.

"He could be fearless," Hollins told BBC Sport. "I think it could be a breath of fresh air, bringing in a fresh approach to this maybe tired football team.

"This guy is as young as some of the players are so he will be on the same wavelength with them, but is it going to be a three or four-year programme as opposed to having to win something in his first year? That is the one thing we don't know yet, but he has won three competitions in Portugal just like that, so he could be a whizz-kid.

"It's a gamble but I think it's a calculated gamble. I still don't know if Guus Hiddink will be coming as an adviser to the young man. If he does, that will only strengthen the position."

Former Chelsea winger Pat Nevin agrees with Hollins that the appointment of Villas-Boas is a "calculated gamble".

"There is always a risk with every managerial appointment but he is highly regarded as one of the up and coming young European coaches and has been successful in domestic and European competition," Nevin told BBC Sport. "He is flavour of the moment and Chelsea have seen something in him."

Under Villas-Boas last season, Porto were unbeaten in the league, with 27 wins in 30 matches, becoming only the second Portuguese club to complete a league campaign without losing a game, after Benfica in 1972-73.

A scout for compatriot Jose Mourinho at Porto, Chelsea and Inter Milan, Villas-Boas began his managerial career with Portuguese club Academica in October 2009.

Academica were winless and bottom of the first division at the time but finished the season in 11th place.

They also reached a Portuguese League Cup semi-final before he left to take over at Porto in June 2010.

Villas-Boas, who speaks fluent English, also worked with Sir Bobby Robson during the former England manager's spell in charge of Porto.

Source: BBC Sport 

Who's The Hottest A or B?

June 21, 2011
Started By DJ Sarge9 Comments

Who's The Hottest A or B?

fluffy_girls_model_fat_weight.jpg

Post your answer below in the Quick Reply Box

UTECH student is brainchild behind Bus can swim mash-up

June 2011 

Over the last few days, a YouTube remix video of Clifton Browns Di Bus Can Swim Prime Time News interview has gone viral on the internet. The brainchild behind the video is a 21 year old UTECH student who does such mash-ups as a normal hobby.

Kevin-Sean Hamilton, better known as DJ Powa has become a household name since last months release of the People What Are Deading video; an edited array of interviews that took place during last years tragic events in Tivoli Gardens as police were trying to apprehend drug lord, Christopher Dudus Coke. The video is a memoriam; featuring a vibrant, hip-hop beat & received tens of thousands of views via YouTube.

However, Di Bus Can Swim follow up video that features Brown talking about a recent flooding in the St. Thomas area has taken Dj Powas popularity to new heights. When asked about the videos, Hamilton told the Jamaica Observer, It is just a hobby, whilst adding, I have a regular desktop PC. I dont even know the specs. I use Fruity Loops to make the beats.

The former Ardenne & Meadowbrook High School student admits he had no formal training in sound engineering or video editing, but has built Riddims since the age of 14 just for fun. Whilst at Ardenne High, Hamilton played several sports including tennis, volleyball & football. He got the name, DJ Powa from the high school nickname of Powerman, after accidentally hitting a schoolmate with a football he kicked; giving him an instant headache.

A devout Christian, Hamilton insists that music is his passion & has played regularly at weddings. I play the usual wedding music, the Luther Vandross I dont mind playing at secular functions as long as it is clear I will only play Christian music. I am a Christian disc jock, he told the Observer.

Di Bus Can Swim has played at sessions across Jamaica. Mp3s of the videos are available on iTunes and Di Bus Can Swim T-shirts are also in circulation. Even a Facebook group in honor of the hilarious video was formed this weekend and already has close to 2,000 users. You can visit the group at: http://www.facebook.com/dibuscanswim

Despite the accolades hes received, Hamilton suggests hes humbled by the attention & success. I credit God for keeping me humble, Hamilton intimated. Hes received several calls about doing potential mixtapes in the near future.

By Jodee Brown
Jamaican Pop Culture Examiner

-- Edited by DJ Sarge on Wednesday 22nd of June 2011 10:45:16 AM

"Nobody Cannot Cross It" Is Now One Of The Hottest Songs In Jamaica

"Nobody Canna Cross It" Twanging (Refix Video) was created by Dj Powa who transforms depressing news into fun and laughter. No Body Cannot Cross It has become one of the fastest rising hit songs in Jamaica which quickly surpasses the popularity of Vybz Kartel's Summer Time, Mavado's Delilah and Bounty Killer's Whine Fi DI General.

Within less than three days the news refix video for No Body Cannot Cross It got over 140,000 views while it has made also made its way onto several international news outlets.

KARTEL LASHES CRITICS IN ROLLING STONE MAGAZINE/Why Bridgez ah mad the Killer???

Written by ABENA   
 June 2011

From over the weekend, people ah send me email say Bounty Killer ah mad over Bridgez inna de worst way. Him ah wife her up bad, buy her crazy presents, and ah mek her career look good, him all plan to carry her go to Sumfest this year fi hurt up dem head. Bounty Killer ah the man still, HIM GOVERN HIM TING, look how him box up him babymother the other day when she chuck off Bridgez face, so right now, everybody can gwaan run up dem mouth, BRIDGEZ ah #1 inna Killa life. Killa used to nuff good looking gal but him head over heels fi da one ya. But yu know what surprise me, how Bridgez start own up her F***. Mi know her long time and is a girl always used to hide her F*** but it look like she change because mi see she tweet something bout she and killer one time and him tweet something and she retweet and from dem time de, mi know dem a stuck under the quiet. Gwaan ya Bridgez, do yu ting!!!!

A nuh one babymama fi di singer; a two!

I-Octane---No-Love-Inna-Them-Lyrics.jpg

Just when we did think say di baby drama was over, only to realize that a just now tings a come up to bump - we are talking about Baby Bumps - in the plural.

We lickle linky dem whisper and tell we say di resignation from the morning show di other day was because of a BELLY. And the BELLY belongs to the singer. Yep. The same singer who mek headline di odda day and a deny say a next girl pregnant fi him.

Well, fi her ex-man did clear up any doubt bout that, cause him tell the Star say a long time him did suspect say the singer and the radio personality did deh.

But what a way him love di media personality dem, eeh? Him have radio and him have television. Anybody in print? A wonder is a true dem can help push him career. 

Well whateva di reason, it sticky pon him ya now. Two girl pregnant one time, plus baby madda live a yaad wid him. A wha bout him so? Bwoy dis come in like Wikileaks.

Jay-Z is no devil worshipper

June 21, 2011
Started By DJ Sarge4 Comments

Jay-Z is no devil worshipper

By Luther Campbell

Uncle Luke, the man whose booty-shaking madness once made the U.S. Supreme Court stand up for free speech, gets as nasty as he wants to be for Miami New Times. This week, Luke debunks rumors spread on blogs and YouTube that Jay-Z is down with the illuminati.

jay_z_devil_worshipper_photos.jpgPeople who depict Jay-Z as a devil-worshipping member of a secret society known as the illuminati are whack. Hov - as they call him - has constantly battled rumors he rose to the top by making a deal with Satan. Recently, he told website Hip-Hop Wired: "When people have a certain amount of success, it needs to be explained in a way other than hard work and talent and being blessed." He is absolutely on point.

All Jay-Z has done is work his ass off. Back in the day, he was on my pay-per-view program Luke's Freakshow. At that time, he was hanging with Biggie Smalls and observing how the late rapper dealt with fame. He learned from other rappers' mistakes, and that's why he has lasted so long in the business.

Jay-Z is a loyal guy who is way ahead of the game - you don't see him starting beef with other rappers or going to jail for stupid %&%*. But because he is so successful, and married to a very successful and famous woman (Beyoncé), people search for something screwed-up to say about him.

Vybz Kartel & Corey Todd's Business Relationship Generates Over 10 Million Monthly

vybz_kartel_cake_soap_box_picture.jpgVybz Kartel then business partner Corey Todd reveals that his partnership between himself and Vybz Kartel generates over 10 million dollars each month. Mr. Todd also dismissed Vybz Kartel's statement to the press last night that both of them had "a cordial business and personal relationship to date".

"That statement is a pack of lies, why would I prematurely end a business relationship when it was generating over 10 million a month? Why would I be willing to walk away from a "relationship" of that magnitude if it were so cordial and so good? Kartel cannot call me a liar and hide behind polite words, I know the truth about who you really are," Todd said.

Todd went on to say that he just wants the world to know one thing.

"If anything happens to me, they should know where to look, that's it," he said.

BEENIE MAN AND TOYA SHOOT VIDEO

Written by 50 CAL   
 June 2011

Down Sound recording artiste Toya has recorded a single with Beenie Man, a remake of the Gem Myers' monster hit single, One Man Woman. The single, released last weekend, has been bombarding FM radio so much so that Down Sound has moved to shoot the video today.

I-Octane's Women Mi Seh Was Written For Bounty Killer

I-OCTANE SEEKS INJUNCTION AGAINST FREE WILLY MUSIC OVER UNAUTHORIZED SINGLE

i-octane-rasta-jamaica-reggae-dancehall-artiste.jpgThe Management team of I-Octane would like to make it clear that the song Woman Mi Seh on the Coach Riddim that has been released by Free Willy Music is in no way shape or form representative of the music of I-Octane.

On the request of Arthur 'Whale' of Free Willy music I-Octane had written and recorded the song as a demo to be recorded by fellow entertainer Bounty Killa. The artiste's last involvement with the song was when he personally handed it over to Bounty. Although there was no written agreement to cement the above deal, it was understood by both parties that the demo was simply a guideline for Bounty Killer.

The management of I-Octane did not hear anything about the demo after over a period of three months, when the song was written. Unfortunately, this week the demo was released by Free Willy Music, which is contrary to the initial verbal agreement.

Although the recording uses I-Octanes artistic vocals, he wishes to isolate himself from the content of the song since it doesnt represent his beliefs, practices, or image. In addition, he has never performed the song and it is not a part of his musical repertoire.

Rihanna, 50 Cent seek bone marrow for kid

rihanna_sad_girl.jpgSingers Rihanna and 50 Cent have teamed up to help a struggling couple save their ailing baby daughter who is in dire need of bone marrow transplant.

One-year-old Ayelet Galena suffers from a rare life-threatening congenital disorder.

Rihanna and 50 Cent were so touched by the young girl's plight that they immediately signed up for a *la*hd test to determine if they could be donors.

Both have also called on their fans to follow suit, reports dailystar.co.uk.

"Can you help me find a lifesaver for baby Ayelet and other patients? Get swabbed (tested) because maybe YOU can save a life!" Rihanna posted on microblogging site Twitter.

"Gossip Girl" actress Leighton Meester, rapper Pharrell Williams and rock band Linkin Park have also lent their star power to the campaign to save the little girl.

Source: dnaindia

Rihanna & Matt Kemp Call It Quits?

Written by Sweet Sweetback

rihanna_matt_kemp_kissing_break_up.jpgIf you havent seen Matt Kemp and Rihanna coupled up lately, I think I know whyRumor has it the relationship is over. Apparently theres been a lot of cheating on both sides and the couple have called it quits.

With Kemp partying in his off-season, and Rihanna traveling the globe promoting her music, the two slowly drifted apart..Kemps penchant for clubbing was also partly to blame for the demise of their relationship.

Justin Bieber 51 yearsrevealedcheck out the facts - It's Fake

PLEASE NOTE: 'The Onion News' Website Only Reports Fake News...The story below will give you more details about 'The Onion News' Website.

justin-bieber-rumor-fake.jpg

Justin Bieber, the hottie, the superb teen sensation, is all the time on bigger headlines. His popularity graph has touched those heights of fame where others have to struggle a lot to get there and this is what has been disturbing many and this is what has helped many to generate huge business with by creating rumors about this teen sensational singer.

Every other day, we get to hear fresher rumors about Justin Bieber and every time, we sink into the depth of the news, a lair of anger comes out since there lays no reality/fact in the matter and it utterly seems that the hoax has been created just to churn out business.

In a capsule, Justin Bieber appears to be a lucrative product for those who want to make good business in a short time. The latest one about him that has been targeted as a factual breaking news by a renowned news network of the USA 'The Onion News' in order to portray it as an authenticated piece to make the people believe in.

This one says that Justin Bieber is actually a 51 years old man with the heading 'Justin Bieber Found To Be Cleverly Disguised 51 Years Old Pedophile'. It was showed as shocking news for the audience with the main headlines on the website and its video news networks.

TO VIEW THE RUMORED JUSTIN BIEBER'S VIDEO CLICK HERE

Barbee VS Barbie - Barbee Talks About Dutty Love Video

Who Had Barbee Cut Out Of Sean Kingston's Dutty Love Video & Why?

By Marvin Shadi
Dirty South Hip Hop

barbee_vs_barbie.jpg

The battle of the Barbies began this past August, as a proverbial shot was fired that echoed throughout the West Indies, and then into America. The American born Jamaica raised young superstar Sean Kingston, called on Pop-Reggae starlet Barbee, widely known and loved throughout the islands, to be the primary female in his new video "Letting Go". "Jamaican Barbee," as she is called, was chosen by Sean's own mother for the role of Kingston's love interest in the video which has over 5 million views on YouTube.

The young singer looking to cross over into American pop jumped at the chance to be seen in this major production which was directed by none other than veteran video director, Little X. Young Money raptress Nicki Minaj was also featured and both of the "Barbies" were in attendance to do their "ting" in the video which was being shot in Jamaica, assuring a heavy public turnout. But when the video was premiered on BET, the principle Barbee had been strategically and mysteriously removed from over 30 frames, throughout the video. The Jamaican community, here and on the mainland, were outraged with their "original" Barbee being purged from the video while having to watch the Trini-American Barbie chat a rap in patois. The question on everyones mind is, who had Barbee cut out of the video and why?

HHW: Where are you from?
Barbee: I was born in New York and went to live in Jamaica, my mother's homeland and also Nigeria, my father's homeland. I also did some growing up in the Bronx.

Sean Paul Denies Past Relationship With Beyonce

Reggae superstar Sean Paul won't be feuding with Jay-Z, at least for now.

sean_paul_beyonce_relationship.jpgPaul is denying reports that he has plans to release a book detailing an alleged relationship with Hov's wife, R&B singer Beyoncé. The book -- a chronicle of his life growing up in middle-class Jamaica -- is rumored to expose the tryst that occurred while the 'I Am... Sasha Fierce' creator was taking a break from her relationship with Jay.

News about the book surfaced on the Internet earlier this week and the Grammy Award-winning reggae singer took to Twitter to refute the claims.

"RRR!!! THIS IS THE TWEETINATOR!!! RRR!!! SP SAY HE DON'T WRITE BOOKS. HE
WRITE SONGS!!! RRR!!! [sic]"
he wrote.

A rep for Sean Paul also told Radar Online the rumors were not true. "The reports are completely false," the rep said. "Sean is not working on a book and has never had anything more than a working relationship with Beyoncé."

The business relationship the rep speaks of occurred in 2003, when the two collaborated on the Destiny's Child frontwoman's hit song 'Baby Boy.'

Sean Paul's last album, 'Imperial Blaze,' was released in 2009. He is set to headline the UCLA JazzReggae Destival, alongside Lupe Fiasco, on May 30.

Source: theboombox

Danielle Responds To Rumours & Photos With Bounty Killa

Bounty Killer, Danielle dating rumors swirl

bounty_killer_danielle_di.jpg

Danielle responds to the rumor mills speculation of who shes dating now. The singer who recently split from her long time boyfriend, British football player Ricardo Fuller, is now linked to dancehall icon, Bounty Killa. A popular website has fueled the fire by publishing photos of the two out on the town.

According to Danielle, Im no push over and will not be side tracked from my goals. Im a very private person. All these years I have avoided putting my personal life in the media. My focus is my career and I couldnt care less what they are all saying. I know I have lived my life in a respectable manner. Who I date has always been my business, middle finger inna de air.

Danielle has recently released her videos, Jamaican Girl and Push Over, which are both in high rotation. Her latest single, Rebel produced by 2011 Grammy nominees, Sly & Robbie is definitely a song to watch.

«First  <  131 32 33 34 35524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by