CLEVELAND Police were searching early Friday for a man suspected in the slayings of four children and his wife in what authorities were calling one of the city's most horrific shootings in years.
The children, aged 3 to 14, were found Thursday night in various rooms of a two-family home on Cleveland's west side, police said. A fifth child was wounded and being treated at MetroHealth Medical Center, hospital spokeswoman Susan Christopher told The Plain Dealer.
Authorities were searching for Davon Crawford, 33, police said. He is married to the adult victim, Deputy Chief Ed T****a said.
A police helicopter assisted in the search and authorities were checking transit system buses.
"It's probably one of the worst multiple shootings that I've seen in a long time," said Police Chief Michael McGrath. "I've seen a lot of previous ones, but this ranks right up there at the top."
"He's a danger to the community, so we're putting the pressure on to locate him," McGrath said. "The ideal thing is for this guy to turn himself in."
Police said there were two rental units in the house, and all the victims were killed in the upstairs apartment, where they lived. The building is on a tree-lined street of older, mostly two-story frame houses and some apartment buildings.
"This is bad. I mean, anytime you shoot children, it's bad," McGrath said. "When children have to die, it's terrible.
"This gentleman is responsible for several children being murdered, pure and simple. It's tough for anybody to see this."
India Cobb told WJW-TV she saw Crawford, whom she identified as a cousin, earlier Thursday and nothing seemed out of the ordinary.
"It didn't seem anything was wrong or anything like that," Cobb said. "He just got married ... He just had a baby girl. I don't understand what went wrong. I don't know what happened. I'm still trying to find out myself."
Outside the home, a man at a police blockade said he recognized Crawford from a police photo shown on television as the man who recently married his daughter. He said she lived on the street with her three children and with another of his daughters and that woman's twins.
"They told me both my daughters and my grandchildren are dead," said the man, Lamar Arnold, although it was not clear who had told him. "I don't want to talk about it; I just want to go to my grandson now. I want to see how he is, and that's all I care about now."
He said his newly married daughter had sent him an unusual cell phone text message at 7:47 p.m. saying "Call me, live your life, love it."
"Then I tried to call her about 12 times, and there never was an answer," he said.
Other people milled around near the house where the shootings occurred, some who were curious and some who claimed to be family and friends of those killed.
A man who answered the phone at the address cursed and hung up. A woman at a nearby convenience store was overhead by The Plain Dealer sobbing into a cell phone, "My sister's dead. My sister's dead. They are all dead."
Shortly after midnight, about four hours after the shootings, several women whom police had let into the cordoned-off area came back in tears, got into a car and left. Another woman walked away from the scene.
The Mexican man, a chef, arrived on a flight from Los Angeles to Manchester Airport and told officials he was planning a short stay to visit a friend who was opening a Mexican restaurant in north west England.
But when Border Agency officers looked into his baggage, they found a huge collection of Mexican food recipes - and a good luck card from his church wishing him well for his "new life in the UK".
Under further questioning, the 40-year-old admitted he had intended to work at the restaurant illegally and planned to bring his family over from the States if the move worked out.
The man was detained and removed from the UK the next day, after his arrival last Friday. He is believed to have been now reunited with his family in Mexico.
A UK Border Agency spokesman said: "We will not tolerate people coming here to work illegally. People wanting to visit the UK must play by the rules. Those who do not are sent back."
A mother has been jailed for "causing or allowing" the death of her 22-month-old daughter who died in a house fire after being left home alone.
Toddler Jodie Ann Brown died from smoke inhalation after an electrical fire broke out at her home in Hillfields, Coventry, on July 15 last year while her mother Michelle Brown was out.
Coventry Crown Court, where Brown 37, was jailed for seven-and-a-half years, heard she left her daughter unsupervised in an upstairs bedroom while she attended a County Court hearing.
The court was told that Jodie Ann was trapped in the unventilated room for more than three hours, during which time a "slow, smouldering fire" broke out.
Brown, who has three other children living in England and two more living in her native Jamaica, repeatedly tried to "cover her tracks" after the tragedy, the court heard.
She claimed she had left Jodie Ann in the care of a friend, telling police the child had been alive and playing when she returned from the court hearing.
The truth, however, was that she arrived home to find her daughter in a smoke-filled room covered in soot, Tim Green, prosecuting, told the court.
He said: "By the time the defendant had left court, Jodie was almost certainly dead."
He said Brown took "a dreadful risk" leaving the toddler unattended, adding: "Any person, whether they have children of their own or not, would not dream of leaving a baby alone for hours on end in a bedroom on their own."
Brown, who sobbed loudly as the verdict was returned, was also found guilty of perverting the course of justice.
LOS ANGELES (AP) -- Chris Brown has been charged with two felonies, including assault likely to cause bodily injury and making criminal threats, according to court documents.
The 19-year-old R&B singer, who is free on $50,000 bail, is expected to appear in court later Thursday.
Los Angeles police arrested Brown on Feb. 8 and booked him on suspicion of making criminal threats. Police said at the time a woman identified Brown as her attacker during an early morning dispute in an upscale Los Angeles neighborhood.
A source familiar with the situation has identified the woman as Brown's girlfriend, fellow music star Rihanna.
A phone message left for Brown's attorney and publicist was not immediately returned.
Well Soulja Boy spoke with Branson Wright of the Cleveland Plain Dealer and this is what he had to say:
Someone from Interscope Records called me and sent me the quote, Soulja Boy said. I looked and didnt really think much about it. LeBron said something like he was Jay-Z and DeShawn [Stevenson] is Soulja Boy. I took that as [disrespectful].
LeBron later stated he was only attempting to respond to the slight given to him by Wizards guard Stevenson and said he was not trying to be disrespectful to Soulja Boy.
Well, its too late to talk LeBron, because Soulja Boys coming! Literally! Stevenson responded to James comments by inviting Soulja Boy to an upcoming playoff game. Stevenson promised to have Soulja Boy at courtside in a Wizards jersey and Soulja Boy accepted the invitation.
The rapper is expected to attend either Game 3 or Game 4 in Washington and may have even placed a challenge on the table for a 2-on-2 game matchup? Huh? Wait a minute. Soulja Boy, a rapper, vs. LeBron, a top basketball star? Thats like putting Jay-Z on the court with Kobe Bryant. Oops, lets not start another challenge!
Well Soulja Boy says hes up for the challenge with LeBron and this is what he had to say regarding a 2-on-2:
Oh man, lets do it.. I cant hoop, but we all have money, and I can quickly get some training.
By the way, Soulja Boy also stated that he has never actually seen LeBron James play because hes not much of a basketball fan and more of a football fan. Maybe hed better ask somebody about LeBron before putting down his money to win, lol.
A man accused of pushing his hand under his wife's skirt to smell if she had sex with someone else received a suspended sentence in the Corporate Area Resident Maigstrate's Court yesterday.
Unlawful wounding
Rohan Pratt was sentenced to 12 months' imprisonment at hard labour, suspended for 12 months, when he answered to unlawful wounding.
The complainant told the court that Pratt, who has already been ordered to stay away from her, accused her of having an affair and has been molesting her ever since. She said on one occasion, while she was walking home, Pratt approached her and pushed his hand under her skirt.
She also revealed that on another occasion, he pulled her off the road and took away her handbag and her phone.
A lot of stress
Pratt, however, told the court that he has stayed away from his wife since being ordered to do so. He said she broke off their relationship in 2007 to be with another man, but that did not work out and he took her back. He said, "I go through a lot of stress, Your Honour. I tried to hang myself. I just ask her for happiness and she can't give that to me."
Disagreements
The complainant, however, told the court that Pratt is always quick to draw weapons when they have disagreements, and said he has used a knife to cut off her clothes. She said she has filed for a divorce as the accused has threatened her.
Pratt vowed to stay away from the complainant, but expressed a desire to see his children. The complainant said she would take the matter to the Family Court.Sean Kelly's professed ignorance has earned him a six-month term in jail.
Kelly pleaded guilty to possession of, dealing in and taking steps to export ganja in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday, but told the court that he did not know the drugs were in his bag.
Searched
The facts are that Kelly was preparing to board a flight to London when his luggage was searched and a false compartment discovered. Within that compartment, 7.16 ounces (15.75 kg) of ganja was found. Kelly, however, told the court that he had been asked to take the suitcase to London by a friend and was not aware of the contents.
Dealing in drugs
For possession of the drugs, he was sentenced to $15,000 or six months in jail, was admonished and discharged for dealing in drugs and was sentenced to $75,000 or six months in jail for attempting to export the drug.
In addition, he will have to serve a compulsory six-month jail term. If he fails to pay his fines, he will serve 18 months.A Portmore resident who shot and injured a businessman was sentenced to a total of 18 years hard labour in the Gun Court yesterday.
Dwayne Brisco of Passagefort in Portmore, St Catherine, received his sentence from Justice Bryan Sykes, who gave him 10 years for illegal possession of firearm and eight years hard labour for shooting with intent.
The Crown led evidence by Detective Constable Llewellyn Madden of the Waterford Police Station in St Catherine, that in November last year, some time in the night, Brisco and another man went to the Cool Breeze Nightclub following an altercation between a woman and a man. The man was shot and injured.
Police investigations led to Brisco and another man being charged. Both appeared in the Gun Court, where they were found guilty. However, his co-accused was not sentenced as his lawyer did not turn up at court.
Brisco's sentences are to run consecutively, meaning he will serve the full term handed down by the court.Snoop Dogg has revealed he has joined the Nation of Islam after appearing at the religious group's annual Saviours' Day event in Chicago.
The rapper, who described himself as the "leader of the hip-hop community", told followers he would share what he learned with other musicians.
He told reporters that he joined the group because he was "doing what's right and representing what's right".
It preaches self-reliance for black people within an Islamic framework.
At Sunday's event, the rapper sat on stage while Nation of Islam leader Louis Farrakhan gave a speech.
He said afterwards that listening to the speech from Mr Farrakhan was "about a mirror - it's about looking at yourself".
He added: "We're doing a lot of wrongs among ourselves that need correcting."
When asked if he had joined the movement he said: "I'm already in the Nation, that's why I'm here.
"I'm an advocate for peace, I've been in the peace movement ever since I've been making music.
"My whole thing is not about really trying to push my thing on you.
"It's just about the way I live, and I live how I'm supposed to live as far as doing what's right and representing what's right - that's why I was here today."
He would not say when he had joined the Nation of Islam.
Other rappers previously involved with the movement include NWA star-turned-actor Ice Cube.
Five minutes with Laden
The STAR spent five minutes chilling with rising star Laden recently, getting to know a few of his personal quirks.
STAR: If you could be any superhero, who would you be and why?
Laden: "Superman, because he's always trying to save people."
STAR: If you were the last man on Earth, who would be the last woman?
Laden: "Sanji. That's my girlfriend right now."
STAR: What might people be most surprised to know about you?
Laden: "Dem woulda surprised to know right now I'm a fatherless child, but I still turned out to be someone people can look up to."
STAR: If you were stranded on a desert island, what three things must you have?
Laden: "Water, food and shelter."
STAR: What most annoys you?
Laden: "Something weh nuh sound good."
STAR: If you were a car what car would you be and why?
Laden: "A Benz, cause its very luxurious and comfortable."
STAR: What did you want to be growing up?
Laden: "Mi always wish for fame. Every time I see a shooting star mi wish mi woulda end up famous."
STAR: What's your favourite colour?
Laden: "Red."
STAR: What's your favourite movie of all time?
Laden:The Harder They Come.
- Krista Henry
Would Laden 'Really Like You'?
The STAR of the month is calling all females to attempt to win a nice evening out with him. The girl must be between the age of 18-23 and MUST submit a picture and a contact number. To enter, all you have to do is write in no more than 100 words, saying why Laden would really like you.
Email your response and picture in to: ladendate@gmail.com.
Entries start today to Wednesday, March 11.
All Laden female fans enter now!!!!!!!!
Though his common-law wife begged for mercy for him, it was not enough to spare Richard Thompson from a $5,000 fine or a 30-day jail sentence.
Thompson pleaded guilty to assault in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday.
The complainant told the court that Thompson attacked her at a shop in their community. She said he tore off her shirt and then pushed her into a fence.
She explained that he called her and told her to come to his home, and she refused. She said she later went there and saw an 18-year-old couple "doing some things," and chased them out. She said she took the key to the house and refused to hand it over to Thompson. He then came after her at the shop.
When she appeared in court, however, she told Senior Resident Magistrate Glen Brown that she wanted to "follow the voice of God" and do away with the charges. After hearing the allegations and Thompson's declaration that he had "nothing to say," Senior RM Brown handed down his sentence.The St Thomas police have detained a suspect in Monday's double murder of two brothers from Bath in the parish.
The man, whose identification is being withheld pending further investigations, was picked up yesterday.
The bullet-riddled bodies of Leo Martin, 28, and Anthony Hunter, 26, were found along the Bath main road. Investigators are linking the deaths to a domestic dispute.
This is contrary to the belief of residents, who told police of an ongoing feud between thugs from Bath and Deacon, a neighbouring area.
"We have one person in custody for questioning ... We believe the murders were linked to an ongoing domestic feud and not to a feud against rival gangs," said Superintendent Jonathan Morrison, head of the St Thomas police.
Promoter Dexton Ennis yesterday announced that he was pleased to have organised a successful Follow Di Arrow show, but has issued a warning to persons who have been selling video clips of the show illegally.
Ennis' 10-year event hit a landmark high on Saturday with an incident-free event (held at James Bond Beach in St Mary) that saw two successful clashes, Kiprich versus Monster Hemp Higher and Ninja Man versus Merciless.
Growing concern
The excitement and debate that the show have generated have led to vendors downloading video clips of the event and offering them for sale on DVD. The situation has been a growing concern for Ennis.
"Them (vendors) have DVD selling the next day after the show. I am issuing a warning to all those who have it to stop," said Ennis when contacted by THE STAR.
"The only two persons who have the right to distribute video clips are CVM and Klick TV," he added.
Ennis said legal actions will be taken if persons are caught selling illegal video clips.
In the meantime, the promoter said that he has been getting a lot of praise for the success of the event.
"A just commendations me a get right now. A lot of people have been asking how I did it - they want to know the formula," said Ennis.
Close relationship
He continued: "As you see a lot of people respect me ... I have always had a close relationship with the artistes and they see me all the time, not just at stage shows."
The big fear for many promoters organising an event which includes a clash might have vanished following Sunday's outcome.
Although Follow Di Arrow and Sting proved otherwise, Ennis, who admitted to facing difficulties each year with the show, advises other promoters not to rush things.
"It's like every year I say I am not going to keep it back, and every year it gets better. I am advising promoters, if you don't understand the nature of clash, to get on top of it," he said.
Now he plans to bring something new for the patrons next year: "It's very delicate (clashes). You have to take charge. Next year, I want to have two females clashing, and Macka Diamond already says she wants somebody to clash with," said Ennis.
Macka Diamond in her money suit was exceptional at Follow Di Arrow's 10th anniversary last Sunday. - Roxroy McLean Photos
Hancock, West, Winehouse Win Big
February 10, 2008
Music's Biggest Night celebrates its 50th anniversary in golden style!
The GRAMMY Awards rang in its 50th show with a wide-ranging, celebratory telecast that honored the old, the new and everything in between as The Recording Academy paid tribute to its legacy as well as the exciting list of this year's honorees and performers.
Amy Winehouse won five awards, including Record Of The Year and Song Of The Year for her now-prophetic "Rehab," while Kanye West took home four, including the Best Rap Album award for Graduation, though Album Of The Year eluded him for the third time. That award went to longtime jazz great Herbie Hancock for his tribute to Joni Mitchell, River: The Joni Letters. Other top winners included gospel star Karen Clark-Sheard and Bruce Springsteen with three trophies each.
But the talk of the night was a live satellite performance by Winehouse, whose troubled personal life has been the talk of the music industry. She received a visa to enter the United States too late to perform on the show in Los Angeles, and was beamed in live from a London studio.
Winehouse rose above the stories and speculation with a confident performance. Dressed in a flowing black party dress (accented by tattoos), Winehouse partied seriously on "You Know I'm No Good," and followed it up with the megahit "Rehab." Her presence and panache blew the roof off with her prancing moves, knowing winks and emotive vocals. Perhaps never before has a singer's current circumstances so mirrored her music - one more element in Winehouse's success.
The moment was a highlight in a show packed with surprise performances from the start.
Following a prerecorded video clip of the great Frank Sinatra from the 5th GRAMMY Awards helping introduce the TV audience to the GRAMMY (a needed but now quaint moment as GRAMMY celebrates its 50th show), mighty soul songstress Alicia Keys opened the telecast with a triumphant shout. Singing Ol' Blue Eyes' classic "Learnin' The Blues," Keys united past with present, singing a duet with Sinatra as the master of vocalese joined her via a large screen presentation (thanks to modern digital technology). Keys ushered in the next 50 years with style and soul.
Joined by an incredible backing band that included Kodo-inspired drummers and chain-wearing dancers, Carrie Underwood delivered her GRAMMY-winning hit, "Before He Cheats," with the ferocious delivery that has become her trademark.
Resurrecting a blast from the 1980's past, Prince protégés the Time hit the stage running with hip-hop diva Rihanna joining in the fun. First up, the Time - featuring Morris Day, Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis - blasted into their mighty funk workout "Jungle Love," the trio's first performance in 15 years. Rihanna then entered stage left singing her smash hit "Umbrella," taking command like a conquering diva. Walking the catwalk with a bevy of umbrella toting dancers, Rihanna kept the fire hot with "Don't Stop The Music." The Time brought up the rear, reprising "Jungle Love" like they'd never left.
Surreal, dynamic, impressionistic and at times frightening, Cirque du Soleil's incredible interpretative performance of the Beatles' classic "A Day In The Life" was an early highlight of the evening. Introduced by Tom Hanks (who proclaimed, "we honor the power of the Beatles"), the dance troupe performed over the Liverpudlian's original track with a performance that was nothing short of sensational. Equally stunning was "Let It Be," performed by youngsters Timothy T. Mitchum and Carol Woods.
Hip-hop graduate Kanye West and German techno twins Daft Punk offered an ominous slab of anthemic techno-hop with a rousing rendition of "Stronger." As flames blasted skyward like surreal geysers, West and the Punks clamored and paraded. While West retired backstage for a costume change, Daft Punk scratched video screens - all the while providing a lesson in modern DJ production values. West then returned with a tear-jerking version of "Hey Mama," delivered over soaring strings. Singing with emotion and an obvious heavy heart, West left the stage with nary a dry eye in the house.
John Legend is known for his sheer musical talent and, together with the Black Eyed Peas' Fergie, he gave extra dimension to Fergie's epic ballad, "Finally." Fergie proved her talent is just as mighty, singing with power and purpose.
After an introduction by a resplendent Cher, Beyoncé then took control. Name-checking a litany of masterful female singers (Sarah Vaughan, Aretha Franklin, Chaka Khan), Beyoncé set the house on fire by introducing none other than Tina Turner. Looking like a million bucks, Turner launched into a masterful "What's Love Got To Do With It." Soon, Beyoncé returned and the pair teamed for the Creedence Clearwater Revival classic, "Proud Mary." From a slow grind groove to a double-barrel steamroller tempo (recalling Turner's days with the legendary Ike And Tina Turner Revue), Beyoncé and Turner commanded the audience with fine figures, fantastic singing, and stunning moves to match.
Loud, proud and powerful, the Foo Fighters joined with the GRAMMY Philharmonic Orchestra - led by Led Zeppelin's John Paul Jones - for "The Pretender," played on an outdoor stage. Dave Grohl rallied the troops, who quickly responded to his shouts (and drummer Taylor Hawkins' double-time fury) with hands in the air.
Super country guitar slinger Brad Paisley launched into "Ticks" like a good ol' boy possessed. Armed with patented white hat and custom Fender Telecaster, Paisley made the case for country in presenting his modern hybrid of Hank Williams and Lynyrd Skynyrd.
Introduced by Ludacris, who described the upcoming performance as "holy rolling [and] soul sanctifying," a special gospel performance included a mighty cavalcade of spiritual power. Aretha Franklin and BeBe Winans got it started with "Never Gonna Break My Faith," bathed in a light beaming from a glowing cross overhead. The million trombone band Madison Bumble Bees added their bra** shouts to the proceedings on "You Brought The Sunshine," followed by the Clark Sisters and Trin-I-Tee 5:7, whose mighty vocal harmonies recalled the glory days of Earth, Wind & Fire. Just when you thought the Holy Ghost had left the building, Israel & New Breed summoned the spiritual forces with the soaring "With Long Life." To bring it all back home, Franklin and the whole gospel cast united to sing "Old Landmark."
Following an archival film clip of big-band singer Keely Smith and the late great Louis Prima, Smith joined with Kid Rock and GRAMMY-nominated Dave Koz to perform "That Old Black Magic." A true meeting of talents, genres and eras, the collaboration proved to have eternal swing currency in these gifted hands.
Following Stevie Wonder's President's Merit Award to Industry Icons presentation to Motown founder Berry Gordy, Alicia Keys performed her impassioned song "No One." Beginning with just a vocal and piano accompaniment, her band would join in freeing Keys to roam the stage, lifting the audience higher as the song's intensity increased. Playing a second keyboard near the stage's edge, Keys continued to raise the temperature before giving way to John Mayer and his frenetic, melodic guitar solo.
After a brief film tribute to jazz innovator Max Roach and classical icon Itzhak Perlman, pianists Lang Lang and Herbie Hancock joined forces for George Gershwin's masterpiece "Rhapsody In Blue." Accompanied by a full orchestra, the pianists took turns stating the song's melodic themes with beguiling flair. The song's majestic middle section included brief solos from various orchestra members before the focus returned to Lang Lang and Hancock, whose declarative and gentle notes set the stage - literally and figuratively - for the fireworks that concluded the performance.
After an In Memoriam segment that paid honor to musicians lost in 2007, Andrea Bocelli appeared on stage. "I'm here to honor the memory of Luciano Pavarotti," he said, and then with Josh Groban performed Bocelli's signature "The Prayer" for "all those who we have lost this year." As Bocelli sang with warmth, Groban followed with steely energy and immense power, lifting the dramatic song to dramatic heights.
To cap the raucous evening, John Fogerty, Jerry Lee Lewis and Little Richard took the stage to form the latest rock supergroup. Beginning with a new Fogerty composition, "Comin' Down The Road," the band stormed the stage like Creedence Clearwater Revival circa 1972. The Icons of Rock performance continued with the spotlight on Lewis, singing his classic boogie-woogie blowout, "Great Balls Of Fire." Then all eyes were on a dazzling Little Richard, who cut into the instantly recognizable falsetto vocals of "Good Golly Miss Molly." The crowd exploded for Richard, who returned the love with high-pitched vocal wails full of glee. Joined again by Fogerty - who belted out an appropriately classic solo - the segment certainly set a new standard for future GRAMMY performances.
It was also an energetic send-off for a remarkable show that somehow fit the drama, tradition and music of 50 years worth of GRAMMYs into a single night. And an entertaining night it was.
Get his New Album now
$12.
99 for Album @ www. VPreggae. com
$9.
99 Download @ VPs www. PlanetReggae. com
Prices exclusive to VP Records News and Mobile Group Sign up here
+ join the VP Mobile group and get a Free Mavado Wallpaper, just text* JOINVP to 30303 *standard text rates apply, US only
CLEARWATER, Fla. (AP)The Coast Guards three-day search for two NFL players and a third man sent adrift in chilly seas ended in futility, dashing hopes they might be found after rescuers plucked one survivor from the Gulf of Mexico.
Crews c****ed more than 24,000 miles of ocean before calling off their search Tuesday for Oakland Raiders linebacker Marquis Cooper, free-agent defensive lineman Corey Smith and former South Florida player William Bleakley. The four friends had been missing since Saturday when their boat capsized during a fishing trip.
On Monday, Crews did rescue Bleakleys former South Florida teammate, 24-year-old Nick Schuyler, who managed to stay with the 21-foot boat. But Coast Guard Capt. Timothy Close said if there were any other survivors, they would have been found.
I think the families understood that we put in a tremendous effort, Close said. Any search and rescue case we have to stop is disappointing.
Searchers spotted no signs of the men except for a cooler and a life jacket 16 miles southeast of the boat. Still, family members of Cooperthe son of Phoenix sportscaster Bruce Coopermaintained hope at a Tuesday night prayer vigil in Mesa, Ariz., that he might turn up.
A King County sheriffs deputy kicks a 15-year-old girl, slams her to the floor of a jail cell, strikes her and pulls her hair in violence captured on videotape.
Prosecutors released the surveillance video Friday in the assault case against Deputy Paul Schene, who is accused of using excessive force on the girl. Schene, 31, pleaded not guilty to fourth-degree assault in Superior Court on Thursday.
The incident last November began after the girl was brought in for an auto theft investigation, according to court documents. The footage shows the attack beginning after the girl enters the cell at suburban SeaTac City Hall and kicks off one of her shoes toward the deputy.
We believe this case is beyond just police misconduct, its criminal misconduct, King County Prosecutor Daniel Satterberg said. This is clearly excessive force.
Watch the Video
Schene was investigated previously for shooting two people killing one in the line of duty in 2002 and 2006. Both times his actions were found to be justified, said Ian Goodhew, prosecutors deputy chief of staff.
Calls by The Associated Press to Schenes lawyer, Anne Bremner, were not immediately returned Friday. Bremner, however, released a statement to the Seattle Post-Intelligencer in which she said the video does not tell the whole story. Bremner had asked Judge Catherine Shaffer not to release the video to the media.
As we argued to the judge, it will inflame public opinion and will severely impact the deputys right to a fair trial, Bremner said.
In the video, a deputy kicks the girl, pushing her back toward the wall. The deputy then strongly backs the girl against the wall and slams her to the floor by grabbing her hair. A second deputy enters the holding cell, while the first deputy holds the girl face down to the floor. The first deputy appears to hit the girl with his hands. The girl is then lifted up and led out of the cell while the first deputy holds her hair.
The second officer shown in the video was a trainee at the time and is not under investigation, Goodhew said.
According to court documents, the girl complained of breathing problems after the incident and medics were called to check her. A short time later, she was taken to a youth detention center and booked for investigation of auto theft and third-degree assault, the latter accusation dealing with her conduct toward the deputy. The girl has pleaded not guilty to taking a motor vehicle without permission, Goodhew said Friday, adding she was never formally charged with assault.
Watch the Girl Describe the Incident
[video=http://www.worldstarhiphop.com/videos/video.php?v=wshh1RC34QYR3wED0L81]Schene told investigators through an e-mail conversation with his lawyer that once he was assaulted by the girl kicking her shoe at him, he entered the cell to prevent another assault, according to court documents. Schene also said the girl failed to comply with instructions in the holding area.
Prosecutors said Schene did not explain why he struck the girl after he had her in a holding position on the floor.
PRIME MINISTER Bruce Golding has described gay advocates as "perhaps the most organised lobby in the world", but has vowed not to yield to pressure to wipe buggery from the books as a crime.
"We are not going to yield to the pressure, whether that pressure comes from individual organisations, individuals, whether that pressure comes from foreign governments or groups of countries, to liberalise the laws as it relates to buggery," Golding said in Parliament yesterday.
The prime minister was closing the debate on the sexual offences bill.
Not stiff enough
Ernest Smith, South West St Ann member of parliament, created a stir when he made his contribution to the House last month.
During that speech, Smith charged that the punishment for buggery, which has a maximum seven-year sentence, was not stiff enough and that homosexuals were "abusive and violent".
Smith later called for the director of public prosecutions to instruct the police to charge members of the Jamaica Forum for Lesbians, All-sexuals and Gays (J-FLAG) with conspiracy to corrupt public morals.
However, Golding has distanced himself from Smith's comments on homosexuality and the right of J-FLAG to exist.
"I disagree with the comments he (Smith) made about the rights of persons who advocate for liberation of laws relating to sexual offences, to facilitate, to allow persons the right of choice in their sexual practices," Golding said.
Won't accept suggestions
But Golding made it clear that his government was not prepared to accept suggestions or demands for the crime of buggery to disappear from the books.
"Every society is shaped and defined by certain moral standards and the laws that evolve in that society are informed by a framework that the society recognises.
"If we start to yield; if we start to liberalise in the direction that strong organised lobby would insist that we should, then where do you draw the line?" the prime minister said.
Golding found himself at the edge of the daggers of gay-rights advocates following his "not in my Cabinet" statement that was made on BBC television.
Golding was responding to whether gays would be allowed a place in his Cabinet to which the prime minister responded, "Sure, they can be in the Cabinet but not in my Cabinet."
Yesterday, Golding said that the Government had a duty to uphold the moral framework of the country through legislation. He also promised that homosexuals would not be targeted because of their lifestyle.
"We have a duty to protect people in the country and, therefore, we will never support or condone either the acts of violence or threats of violence or intimidation in any shape or form against persons because of their sexual preferences or lifestyle," the prime minister said.
Won't peep through windows
The prime minister continued: "We will never start peeping in anybody's bedroom to see what they are doing within their own privacy. We will never start hounding down people because they may have lifestyles that we would prefer did not exist."
"But what we are not going to do is to give official or legislative endorsement that now holds that up and say this is a perfectly acceptable way to live," the prime minister said.
Meanwhile, Golding has said that as part of a menu of sexual legislation in the new bill being considered, provision was being made to sentence those persons caught in the act of buggery to life.
Grievous sexual crimes such as rape, carnal abuse and incest will attract the maximum penalty of life under the proposed sexual offences act.
Daniella Henry's letter inspired the NCB Foundation to help her school's library. - Contributed
Daniella Henry's assignment letter was a dream come true for Balmagie Primary School, as it wooed the National Commercial Bank (NCB) Foundation to donate $100,000 to help the institution's library dramatically increase its book complement.
It all started when Daniella, 11, observed that the library was underserved, and her grade-five teacher asked the class to write letters soliciting sponsorship. Daniella's letter caught the foundation's eye.
"On behalf of the school library, I am writing this letter to ask for your assistance. The school library is completely in need of more books for our information and our enjoyment," Daniella had written to NCB.
In an interview with The Gleaner, Daniella said she was elated that her plea had not fallen on deaf ears.
"It felt really great that NCB responded and I really appreciate this donation they made to the school," she said, beaming.
Daniella said that prior to the foundation's assistance, both the book numbers and subject variety were a turn-off for students who visited Balmagie's library.
Despite assistance from the Jamaica Library Service through its book-loan programme, the school still struggled to provide enough reading material, the librarian said. Sometimes, reading sessions had to be split in two to ease the cramming inside the library.
Commitment to youth
Bridgette Rhoden, public relations and communication officer at the NCB Foundation, said the project formed part of the organisation's commitment to youth education.
"We were very moved by Daniella's letter when she wrote to NCB Foundation seeking assistance on behalf of her school, teachers and friends, and especially her initiative to become an agent of change within her community," Rhoden told The Gleaner.
Evon Lennon, principal of Balmagie Primary, said the donation would encourage students to be ready for reading competitions. The book boost will also help programmes aimed at developing literacy levels, Lennon added.
Henry, along with the librarian and another schoolmate, got the opportunity to choose books that she believed would best pique students' interest.
"Life is better now as some of the computers are fixed, and we have access to Internet. The books are fun, interesting and educational," Daniella told The Gleaner. "I have learnt never to put your hope down and it is always gAs Monster Hemphire's Roundhead nervously attempted to salvage some pride with the crowd booing heavily, it was evident that Kiprich's sharp lyrics and relentless approach made him a clear winner at Follow Di Arrow's 10th anniversary at James Bond Beach in St Mary yesterday morning.
In one of two billed clashes, Monster Hemphire, who was without Ghost, came out explosively as fireworks, lighters and torches, which came from one section of the crowd, signalled the group's entrance. "A whe di b...... boy deh?" demanded General B.
Out came Kiprich in army fatigue and the two went at each other for about two minutes, exchanging harsh words before a tumultuous crowd.
Cheered heavily
When Kiprich deejayed to General B, "Valentine's Day yuh buy Roundhead bra**iere... buy Ghost underpants wid di back part whe tear," the crowd cheered heavily.
It appeared Monster Hemphire, previously Monster Empire, didn't have a response and Kiprich gave another lightning quick response: "Yuh come a call man b..... man but a whe me come fi see, General B a look b...... company and as Roundhead seh bed u jump in a it".
He followed that up with: "A three a them but a me alone. Three done mean death and unnuh gather up inna a triple, nuh get away nuh de deh caa me nozzle dem nuh cripple."
The roar at James Bond Beach shook the very earth as General B quickly left the stage, only to hear Roundhead saying "Kill him nuh General B". A huge laughter came when General B responded: "Suh whe u nuh kill him."
The positive response from the crowd, which declared Kiprich winner, appeared greater when MC Ragashanti said: "Me nah ask a who win."
NINJA vs MERCILESS
Ninja Man, who came with the intention "to settle all arguments" with Merciless, might be kicking himself right now. After totally dominating the 'Warhead' Merciless in the early goings, getting most of the 'forwards' from the crowd, the Ninja gave it away in the end.
He attacked Merciless with "Yuh talk bout Cobra a bowers, Bounty a coward, yuh nah tel dem di amount a man whe ...... u down a Riker's". Merciless appeared to have been speechless as the crowd went into a frenzy.
Ninja Man thought that was the defining moment and declared himself winner by walking off the stage. But Merciless stood strong and when Ninja Man came out for a second time that was the beginning of the end.
"You a run... me ago kill yuh inna yuh yard," said Merciless at about 6:00 a.m. For the next half hour, Ninja Man struggled to regain his dominance and the counter actions of Merciless got great responses.
General B (left) and Kiprich battle it out lyrically onstage at Follow Di Arrow. - Roxroy McLean Photos
A Sunday newspaper article suggesting that female parliamentarians were being sexually hara**ed by male colleagues yesterday caused a stir in Gordon House.
House Speaker Delroy Chuck, commenting on the column published in the February 22 edition of the Sunday Herald and entitled 'Sexual hara**ment in Parliament', said he was not aware of any such occurrence and invited any member who had been affected in this way to bring the matter to his attention.
"I have had the opportunity to discuss this with the clerk and the deputy clerk, and from where they sit and from where I sit we have had no indication of this," Chuck said.
He asked both Government and Opposition House leaders to probe the matter.
Leader of Government Business in the House Derrick Smith, who said he had read the article and found it difficult to accept it as factual, said a meeting with the three women MPs of the Jamaica Labour Party had not brought any such complaints to light.
"I had a meeting with the three ladies on this side of the House and none of them indicated to me that they had any unfortunate experience or were exposed to anything that made them uncomfortable in this House," Smith said.
Leader of Opposition Business in the House, Derrick Kellier, said he was also aware of the contents of the article but had not been able to meet with the female representatives of the People's National Party to see if there were any complaints.
Kellier promised to meet with the female Opposition MPs on the issue and report the findings.
Deputy House Leader Andrew Gallimore said he was concerned about the issue as it sought to bring members of the House into disrepute.
"I would think that as responsible members, if a problem of this nature does exist it be brought to the attention of the appropriate person so that it can be dealt with," he said. "If there is fact to the article, which is very vague, I would ask that members bring it to attention [of the House leaders] so it can be dealt with thoroughly."
IT was like a scene from a movie as a woman shook uncontrollably before throwing herself to the ground and letting out a loud wail.
".Dem kill 'Rudie'. Lord God, dem kill Rudie," the woman hollered.
The sight of her colleague's body lying on the asphalt in front of the York Plaza on Hagley Park Road in Kingston with gunshot wounds to the head was too much for the woman, identified only as 'Stacy', to bear and she had to be taken away from the scene by a female police sergeant, with assistance from members of the public.
Police identified 'Rudie' as 25-year-old cosmetologist, Sushania Young, of Jacks Hill in St Andrew. 'Stacy', police said, was employed by Young.
Young was attacked and murdered during a brazen daylight attack inside the busy plaza minutes after 11 yesterday morning. The incident drew scores of onlookers many of whom had witnessed the attack, and caused a pile-up of traffic in the usually busy Half-Way-Tree.
Police yesterday reported that Young, who operated a hairdressing parlour at the nearby Central Plaza, located off the Constant Spring Road, went to do business at Clock Tower Plaza when she received a phone call. The police reported that Young drove over to the York Plaza where she allegedly met with a man.
"It was like a movie on cable. Him and her stand up a talk then all of a sudden him pull a gun and she took off. The gunman run her down and fire about nine shots. Some a dem miss cause a when she run inna the street she trip and him go over her and shot her two time inna her head," said a man who claimed he had witnessed the incident.
Another man said Young was overheard shouting, "A whe me do? Whe you a go kill me fah?"
Young's body was bare-footed as crime scene investigators c****ed the scene for clues.
"She run out of her shoes when she see death a face her," one woman said.
The brazen attack caused a mini-stampede as persons doing business at the plaza scampered for cover. At least one store had its glass damaged from the gunman's bullets. No other person was hurt during the incident.
"The boy cold. Him kill the woman like that in broad daylight and when him done him run go down Hagley Park Road," the alleged eyewitness said.
The sight of Young's body, spread-eagled in the afternoon sun, was too much for her employees and some of her customers who were among the large crowd to converge on the death scene.
"We don't know of her and anybody involve inna no mix up so this is a shock. Rudie was a trying girl who build her business from scratch. I can bet the man who do this has never even tried to contribute nothing positive to society," said one woman, tears streaming down her face.
Other persons in the crowd cursed the woman's killer and openly wished that he met an unkind end.
"The man kill a sweet girl like that and want to walk free and enjoy life. I hope the police find him and kill him like a dog," one woman said.
"Death too good fi him. Blind him and cut him heel string. Him fi suffer till him wither away and dead," one man said
WASHINGTON The Obama administration threw open the curtain on years of Bush-era secrets Monday, revealing anti-terror memos that claimed exceptional search-and-seizure powers and divulging that the CIA destroyed nearly 100 videotapes of interrogations and other treatment of terror suspects.
The Justice Department released nine legal opinions showing that, following the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks, the Bush administration determined that certain constitutional rights would not apply during the coming fight. Within two weeks, government lawyers were already discussing ways to wiretap U.S. conversations without warrants.
The Bush administration eventually abandoned many of the legal conclusions, but the documents themselves had been closely held. By releasing them, President Barack Obama continued a house-cleaning of the previous administration's most contentious policies.
"Too often over the past decade, the fight against terrorism has been viewed as a zero-sum battle with our civil liberties," Attorney General Eric Holder said in a speech a few hours before the documents were released. "Not only is that school of thought misguided, I fear that in actuality it does more harm than good."
The Obama administration also acknowledged in court documents Monday that the CIA destroyed 92 videos involving terror suspects, including interrogations far more than had been known. Congressional Democrats and other critics have charged that some of the harsh interrogation techniques amounted to torture, a contention President George W. Bush and other Bush officials rejected.
The new administration pledged on Monday to begin turning over documents related to the videos to a federal judge and to make as much information public as possible.
The legal memos written by the Bush administration's Office of Legal Counsel show a government grappling with how to wage war on terrorism in a fast-changing world. The conclusion, reiterated in page after page of documents, was that the president had broad authority to set aside constitutional rights.
Fourth Amendment protections against unwarranted search and seizure, for instance, did not apply in the United States as long as the president was c****atting terrorism, the Justice Department said in an Oct. 23, 2001, memo.
"First Amendment speech and press rights may also be subordinated to the overriding need to wage war successfully," Deputy Assistant Attorney General John Yoo wrote, adding later: "The current campaign against terrorism may require even broader exercises of federal power domestically."
On Sept. 25, 2001, Yoo discussed possible changes to the laws governing wiretaps for intelligence gathering. In that memo, he said the government's interest in keeping the nation safe following the terrorist attacks might justify warrantless searches.
That memo did not specifically attempt to justify the government's warrantless wiretapping program, but it provided part of the foundation.
Yoo, now a professor at the University of California at Berkeley School of Law, did not return messages seeking comment.
The memos reflected a belief within the Bush administration that the president had broad powers that could not be checked by Congress or the courts. That stance, in one form or another, became the foundation for many policies: holding detainees at Guantanamo Bay, eavesdropping on U.S. citizens without warrants, using tough new CIA interrogation tactics and locking U.S. citizens in military brigs without charges.
Obama has pledged to close the Guantanamo Bay prison within a year. He halted the CIA's intensive interrogation program. And last week, prosecutors moved the terrorism case against U.S. resident Ali Al-Marri, a suspected al-Qaida sleeper agent held in a military brig, to a civilian courthouse.
A criminal prosecutor is wrapping up an investigation of the destruction of the tapes of interrogations.
Monday's acknowledgment of videotape destruction, however, involved a civil lawsuit filed in New York by the American Civil Liberties Union.
"The CIA can now identify the number of videotapes that were destroyed," said the letter submitted in that case by Acting U.S. Attorney Lev Dassin. "Ninety-two videotapes were destroyed."
It is not clear what exactly was on the recordings. The government's letter cites interrogation videos, but the lawsuit against the Defense Department also seeks records related to treatment of detainees, any deaths of detainees and the CIA's sending of suspects overseas, known as "extraordinary rendition."
At the White House, press secretary Robert Gibbs told reporters he hadn't spoken to the president about the report, but he called the news about the videotapes "sad" and said Obama was committed to ending torture while also protecting American values.
ACLU attorney Amrit Singh said the CIA should be held in contempt of court for holding back the information for so long.
"The large number of videotapes destroyed confirms that the agency engaged in a systematic attempt to hide evidence of its illegal interrogations and to evade the court's order," Singh said.
CIA spokesman George Little said the agency "has certainly cooperated with the Department of Justice investigation. If anyone thinks it's agency policy to impede the enforcement of American law, they simply don't know the facts."
The details of interrogations of terror suspects, and the existence of tapes documenting those sessions, have become the subject of long fights in a number of different court cases. In the trial of Sept. 11 conspirator Zacarias Moussaoui, prosecutors initially claimed no such recordings existed, then acknowledged after the trial was over that two videotapes and one audiotape had been made.
The Dassin letter, dated March 2 to Judge Alvin Hellerstein, says the CIA is now gathering more details for the lawsuit, including a list of the destroyed records, any secondary accounts that describe the destroyed contents and the identities of those who may have viewed or possessed the recordings before they were destroyed.
But the lawyers also note that some of that information may be classified, such as the names of CIA personnel who viewed the tapes.
The separate criminal investigation includes interrogations of al-Qaida lieutenant Abu Zubaydah and another top al-Qaida leader. Tapes of those interrogations were destroyed, in part, the Bush administration said, to protect the identities of the government questioners at a time the Justice Department was debating whether or not the tactics used during the interrogations were legal.
Former CIA director Michael Hayden acknowledged that waterboarding simulated drowning was used on three suspects, including the two whose interrogations were recorded.
John Durham, a senior career prosecutor in Connecticut, is leading the criminal investigation, out of Virginia, and had asked that he be given until the end of February to wrap up his work before requests for information in the civil lawsuit were dealt withA NINE-year-old girl pregnant after years of alleged sexual abuse by her stepfather is likely to abort twins she is carrying in a case that has shocked Brazil, reports in Sao Paulo said.
The Brazilian girl, who was not identified because she is a minor, was found to be four months pregnant after being taken to hospital suffering stomach pains, the news websites G1, pe360graus and the Diario de Pernambuco reported.
She was being cared for by a medical and psychological team in the Maternal-Child Institude in the northern city of Recife, close to her hometown of Alagoinha in Pernambuco state, they said.
"We don't know if she will develop the pregnancy up to the end because of the structure of her body. It is a big risk for her,'' the doctor who confirmed her pregnancy before she was taken to the institute, Jose Severiano Cavalcanti, told the Diario de Pernambuco.
"She doesn't have a pelvis able to support a gestation of twins,'' he said.
Abortion is illegal in Brazil except in cases of rape or if the woman's health is in danger.
The institute in Recife was unable to immediately confirm information about the case.
According to police accounts reported in the media, the 23-year-old stepfather was believed to have abused the girl since she was aged six, paying her one Brazilian real (about 77 Australian cents) for each sexual relation.
He also allegedly abused the girl's physically handicapped 14-year-old sister.
He was arrested on Thursday as he attempted to flee to another region in Brazil, and was being kept in protective custody...
Advertisements promoting aphrodisiacs could be next on the Broadcasting Commission's cutting list.
Executive director of the commission, Cordel Green, told THE STAR that the organisation is currently investigating "all products promoting sexual prowess and the appropriateness of these".
Adult nature
He said the commission would be trying to determine "whether they (the ads) are misleading or if they have been approved for the purpose they are claiming and whether the content of the advertisements are of an adult nature and if they are fit for airplay and ought to be broadcast after 9 p.m".
Green said the commission received complaints about the airing of such advertisements on daytime radio and television about two weeks ago. He, however, declined to give names, saying, "we can't single out people to say that we are investigating them. That is not a fair way for any sector to be operating."
Since receiving the complaints, the commission has been in contact with the Advertising Agencies Association of Jamaica (AAAJ) and the probe is now going through the normal channels of investigation.
Green said the commission will be engaging in further discussions with the AAAJ and other stakeholders like the companies distributing the drinks. He therefore could not say when the investigations would end and said no decision has yet been made.
Sexually charged
Drinks that fit this description and that are being locally distributed include Tantra, Mandingo and Taboo. At least two of these have sexually charged advertisements.
The Broadcasting Commission has featured prominently in the news recently after controversial decisions to ban daggering songs, songs with bleeps, sexually overt soca and hip-hop songs and songs promoting gun violence.WALKING from one "corner" to another in Trench Town, West Kingston, could cause *lo** to flow in the streets as deadly conflicts between rival gangs over the years have restricted the free movement of residents, ultimately imprisoning many in their homes.
LEVY... continued dialogue will build trust |
However, last Tuesday, for the first time in more than a decade, rival gang leaders and their "foot soldiers" sat beside each other as they committed to ending the long-standing conflict, thus freeing up access to all areas of the community.
At a meeting organised by the community members themselves, with the support of the National Transformation Programme (NTP), Peace Management Initiative (PMI) and the police, scores of men and to a lesser extent women piled inside the Trench Town Peace and Justice Centre to chart a new course for the war-torn community.
The main objective is to get major gangs like Fatherless Crew, Action Pack, Buckas and Entourage to put their differences aside so that persons from all sides of the warring factors can freely move throughout the community.
The big issue, however, which had to be resolved was that of trust, an institution eroded over the years with each grisly death of a loved one.
After the near three-hour-long meeting, the group committed to starting the process by encouraging women and children to begin moving freely through the community.
Following further dialogue, which it is hoped will bring greater trust, the men will be encouraged to follow suit.
"No six or seven men should hold the community at ransom after a nuh unu a run the country...a nuff a we lose family but we haffi put weh the past," said one man who was key in organising the meeting.
"The community need fi develop now so we can mek money," he added.
A leader from one of the main gangs said this trust would not happen overnight but will require some time because of the emotional scars inflicted over the years.
"Trust nuh come overnight it is something we haffi build but this is a first step," he said in reference to the meeting.
It was this trust that the leader of the Fatherless Crew sought to build as he guaranteed safe passage to members of Entourage who for years have not been able to travel along a particular route to get to an area of the community.
However, the Entourage leader said he was not quite ready to begin walking that route yet until a greater level of trust was developed through further dialogue.
"Me willing fi mek anything go through fi development but we can't just rush in so," he said. "Me never did plan fi deh ya so but me deh ya because me needed to be and that is a first step," he said.
Another leader expressed concern that while leaders commit to one thing "their soldiers" do not conform and this could cause greater problems.
He said some of the leaders are to be blamed for the behaviour of their subordinates.
One man said those who were leaders on the corner should get their subordinates to let bygones be bygones if this peace move was to bear fruit. "If the leader say leggo the negative vibes and them don't hear then we must deal with them," he said.
He pointed out that he was heartened to see that resources had been pumped into establishing studios in the community as he said Trench Town should not be about guns, but music.
"One time man use to come from foreign with money fi buy gun and bullets now me see man come from foreign and use money fi build studio," he said.
One woman said she wanted to see sustained peace in the community and not only a temporary commitment.
Another leader of one of the gangs said he was heartened that for the first time in many of their adult lives they were able to come together, something many had not done since they were kids playing in the streets.
"It is a joy to see man and man who use to be at it come together like this and so anything we can do to get the community back together we need to do it," he said.
Sonia Whyte, administrator of the Peace Centre, said it took a lot of strength to get the men together for such a meeting.
"The back of the dragon has been broken," she said.
She pointed out that every February when Trench Town is to host its festival commemorating the birthday of reggae icon Bob Marley, there has always been an upsurge of violence in the community. For the first time this year there were no incidents.
Following the meeting, the leader of Fatherless crew told the Observer that he was satisfied with the outcome of the first meeting as he wants to see the community "free up".
"All the man dem use to war with each other and this is a big step," he said.
Head of the NTP, Reverend Al Miller, urged the men to maintain peace in the community as he reminded them that the development so sought after for their community cannot happen in an atmosphere of war and strife.
He, however, made it clear that to have lasting peace there must be a platform of lasting truth as trust will only come with truth.
Meanwhile, Donna Parchment of the PMI gave the group's commitment to working with the community, noting that they were not there to instruct the community on what they need to do but to hear their issues and to work alongside them.
Horace Levy, also of PMI, said for sustained peace in the community they must form among themselves a council of corner leaders and others meeting regularly to chart the way forward. It is this continued dialogue, he said, which will build trust and make free movement possible throughout the community.
HYANNIS, Mass. Like most boys, 13-year-old Mykel Mendes looked up to his big brother, Jordan. The two rode bikes together, did yard work together and hung out together. But when it came to the family business _ a major drug ring _ Mykel did not want to share, police say.
Mykel, a 7th grader, is now accused of masterminding the slaying of his 16-year-old half-brother so he could take over the drug operation _ one police say they inherited from their father, who is in prison for running one of the biggest cocaine rings on Cape Cod.
Jordan was found shot, stabbed 27 times and dumped into a pit, where his body was torched. Another 13-year-old friend and a 20-year-old cousin also are charged with murder.
The killing has shaken the normal quiet of winter on Cape Cod, the summer tourist destination known for its beautiful beaches, salt water taffy and famous residents. Jordan Mendes lived just a few miles from the Kennedy compound in Hyannis Port.
A 17-year-old male student of the Dunoon Park Technical High School in Kingston is now in hospital after he was stabbed by another student at the school yesterday morning.
Reports are that about 11:30 a.m., a student was involved in a dispute with a group of boys from the school.
It is alleged that this dispute stemmed from an incident that occurred last Tuesday involving the same group of boys.
During Monday's attack, the student was stabbed in the chest. He was taken to hospital where he has been admitted in serious but stable condition. His attacker is on the run.
The Rollington Town police are investigating.Dozens of specially trained agents work on the third floor of DCM Services here, calling up the dear departeds next of kin and kindly asking if they want to settle the balance on a credit card or bank loan, or perhaps make that final utility bill or cellphone payment.
The people on the other end of the line often have no legal obligation to assume the debt of a spouse, sibling or parent. But they take responsibility for it anyway.
I am out of work now, to be honest with you, and money is very tight for us, one man declared on a recent phone call after he was apprised of his late mother-in-laws $280 credit card bill. He promised to pay $15 a month.
Dead people are the newest frontier in debt collecting, and one of the healthiest parts of the industry. Those who dun the living say that people are so scared and so broke it is difficult to get them to cough up even token payments.The way U.S. and Mexican authorities describe 44-year-old Zhenli Ye Gon, he might have sprung from some pulp novelist's overheated imagination.
Born in Shanghai, he lived in Mexico and ran a pharmaceuticals company -- a front, authorities allege, that supplied Mexican drug cartels with massive quantities of a chemical used to make the street drug methamphetamine. Police raided his luxurious Mexico City home in March, carting off what they said was $207 million, most of it in $100 bills that had been stashed behind false walls and in closets. The U.S. government called it "the largest single drug cash seizure the world has ever seen
When the law caught up with Ye Gon on Monday night, his weeks on the lam ended in an Asian restaurant on Veirs Mill Road in Wheaton -- in P.J. Rice Bistro, in Westfield Wheaton mall, near a Ruby Tuesday and a JCPenney.
This is a man who owned a fleet of luxury cars and had mistresses in several countries, according to Mexican officials. In recent years, the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration said, he gambled away nearly $126 million in Las Vegas casinos.
At P.J. Rice Bistro, where he and a female acquaintance ordered codfish and baby carrots, DEA agents showed up before dinner was served. "The police came to the table and asked him to go pretty fast," a bistro employee recalled yesterday. "They didn't stay in the restaurant too long."
Not your garden-variety Montgomery County drug bust.
In an affidavit filed in U.S. District Court in Washington in support of a drug charge against Ye Gon, federal authorities allege that, between December 2005 and August, his company, Unimed Pharm Chem de Mexico, illegally imported from overseas about 86 metric tons of restricted chemicals into Mexico "for the express purpose of manufacturing pseudoephedrine/ephedrine."
The manufacture and possession of pseudoephedrine, a cold medicine ingredient, is tightly controlled in Mexico, the United States and elsewhere because it can be used to make methamphetamine.
In all, the affidavit says, the company allegedly imported enough chemicals to produce 36,568 kilograms of methamphetamine -- with a street value, the affidavit says, of $724 million.
Ye Gon, whose case has gained huge media attention in Mexico, contends that the millions in his home were not his alone and that he was framed by corrupt Mexican politicians. He appeared in U.S. District Court in Washington yesterday, disheveled and dressed in sneakers, khakis and a yellow plaid shirt. He was ordered jailed without bond pending a hearing next month.
Outside the courthouse, his attorney, Martin McMahon, said Ye Gon has been made a fall guy by leaders of Mexico's ruling National Action Party. Repeating an allegation that Ye Gon has made in recent weeks -- a claim that Mexican President Felipe Calderón has dismissed as "pure fiction" -- McMahon said that $150 million of the confiscated money was part of an illegal "slush fund" amassed by the party in Mexico's 2006 presidential campaign, cash that his client had been forced to safeguard.
McMahon said that when an independent panel in Mexico began investigating questionable fundraising in the presidential campaign, political supporters of Calderón urged Ye Gon to travel to the United States -- setting him up, McMahon said, for the bust. "This is essentially a staged drug raid, a complete fraud," he said.