Los Angeles (E! Online) T.I. is officially King of the Clink.
The Grammy-winning rapper reported to an Arkansas federal prison today to begin serving his sentence on a weapons conviction. He surrendered two days after bidding farewell at concert in his hometown of Atlantaa show designed to tie fans over until his release.
"See y'all in 366 days," T.I. told the sold-out crowd at the ATL's Phillips Arena.
It's not likely he'll be behind bars that long, however. Last month, court officials acknowledged that T.I. would be receiving credit for 305 days spent in home detention, meaning he's likely looking at less than two months.
With little fanfare, the MC entered the double-fenced minimum-security lockup in Forrest City, situated 85 miles due east of Little Rock, at about 12:29 p.m. CT.
A black van with Georgia license plates and tinted windows was spotted being escorted by three prison vehicles into the complex. Authorities also stationed five guards at a roadblock down the street to control the flow of traffic while several other officers were assigned to keep the media at bay.
The artist otherwise known as Clifford J. Harris Jr. will bunk up with another inmate in either dormitory-style housing or cubicle housing and will pass much of his time doing menial tasks as part of a work program.
The 28-year-old hip-hopster copped to a federal felony weapons charge in March 2008 as part of a plea deal that saw him receive a light prison sentence and 1,500 hours of community service.
T.I. already fulfilled 1,030 hours of that requirement by talking to kids about the dangers of guns and drugs, taking part in a pro-voting campaign, and starring in the MTV reality show, Road to Redemption. He also paid a $100,000 fine and will remain on supervised release for three years after he's sprung.
well mi say DJ TINBEEF
The daughter of boxer Mike Tyson is in critical condition after accidentally hanging herself, according to multiple media reports in Phoenix.
Four-year-old Exodus Tyson was found hanging from a cord on a treadmill by her 7-year-old brother, according to reports. Her mother cut her down and began administering CPR before paramedics arrived.
"Apparently she and her older brother were watching TV in the TV room," Phoenix police sergeant Andy Hill told KTAR radio station. "There was also a number of pieces of exercise equipment, and somehow the little girl got herself on a piece of equipment and she ended up kind of choking herself."
Police told the media that the girl was in extremely critical condition at St. Joseph's Hospital. Mike Tyson was reportedly not at the home at the time of the accident but was rushed to the hospital.
Former NBA star Jayson Williams was arrested early Monday after authorities say he punched someone in the face outside a Raleigh nightclub, the latest legal tribulation for the All-Star who has spent years in the courtroom since an injury ended his basketball career.
Some type of dispute led Williams, 41, to hit the other person shortly before 2 a.m., Raleigh police said. Williams was charged with one count of simple assault and released on $1,000 bond.
"He was very cooperative during the investigation and very cooperative during the arrest," said Capt. T.L. Earnhardt of the Raleigh Police Department.
Joseph Hayden, an attorney for Williams, did not immediately return a call seeking comment.
Williams, who played nine seasons in the NBA for the New Jersey Nets and Philadelphia 76ers before retiring in 2000, is facing a retrial on a charge of reckless manslaughter in the 2002 shooting death of his driver, Costas "Gus" Christofi, at his mansion in Alexandria Township, N.J. According to testimony, Williams was showing visitors a 12-gauge shotgun when it went off and hit Christofi in the chest.
Williams was acquitted of aggravated manslaughter, but the jury deadlocked on a reckless manslaughter count. A retrial is pending, and he has been free on bail since the shooting. He has apologized to Christofi's relatives and given them $2.5 million to settle a civil suit.
He was convicted in 2004 of trying to cover up the shooting, but a judge has ruled he won't be sentenced until after the retrial on the manslaughter charge.
Defense attorneys have said they'll try to overturn his convictions on grounds of racial bias after the disclosure that a former employee of the Hunterdon County Prosecutor's Office used a racial slur to describe Williams during the investigation.
Last month, authorities in New York zapped Williams with a stun gun after a friend reported he was acting suicidal. Police there said they found several empty bottles of prescription drugs and several suicide notes and used the stun gun when Williams resisted attempts by officers to take him to a hospital.
Meanwhile, Williams' wife filed divorce papers this year claiming he was abusive and adulterous and had a drug problem.
Williams was a first-round NBA draft pick in 1990. He was named an All-Star and ranked second in the NBA for the 1997-98 season with 13 rebounds per game and a league-high 443 offensive rebounds.
He may be dealing with two wars, an economic meltdown, and a rapidly graying dome, but at least our Commander in Chief gets to come home to the hottest First Lady in the history of these United States. (Sorry, Martha Washington!)
Olivia Wilde edged out Megan Fox for the #1 spot. View the full list here.
This will give hope to little black girls everywhere.
First Place - Olivia Wilde
Second Place - Megan Fox
LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) Rapper T.I. will be coming to Arkansas to serve a federal prison sentence.
T.I., whose real name is Clifford J. Harris Jr., must report to Forrest City's low-security federal prison by noon on May 26, according to court filings. There, Harris will join 1,500 other inmates as he serves a year-and-one-day prison sentence after pleading guilty in March to federal weapons charges in Atlanta.
The rapper, the self-proclaimed "King of the South," had faced a maximum sentence of 10 years in prison and a $250,000 fine for each charge in his three-count indictment.
Harris will be credited for 305 days of home detention he already has served after being charged, so his stay at the Forrest City prison likely will be only two months.
R.D. Weeks, a spokesman for the prison, said Harris likely would be treated like any other prisoner coming into the facility.
"Unless there are custody or security concerns, all incoming inmates are placed in general population," Weeks told The Associated Press.
Weeks said each cell at the prison is double-bunked. Harris also will have the opportunity to use the recreation yard, as well as take part in counseling or participate in the one of the facility's 14 religious groups, Week said.
Harris, 28, was arrested after trying to buy unregistered machine guns and silencers from undercover federal agents in 2007. That came after Harris' best friend was killed following a post-performance party in Cincinnati in 2006. The rapper has said the bullets that killed his friend were meant for him.
Upon his release, Harris will be on probation for three years. He also must pay a $100,000 fine as part of his sentence.
Harris' sixth album, "Paper Trail," has sold about 2 million copies and the rapper earned a Grammy for the song "Swagga Like Us" that he performed with Jay-Z. Harris wrote the lyrics for the album while awaiting trial.
Are Eminem and 50 Cent touring together this summer? For now, fans can only hope MTV News' requests to label reps for comment had not been answered at press time but according to G-Unit member Lloyd Banks, there's been preliminary talk about possibly ramping up the Anger Management Tour again.
"I'm in and out the office, and there's conversations," Banks told MTV News recently. "I'm just as excited as the fans are. The first Anger Management Tour, I wasn't a part of."
Banks said that if Em and 50 do go out, he'll definitely be on the show with the rest of G-Unit.
Eminem was recently a guest on BBC's "Friday Night With Jonathan Ross," and he told the host that he hasn't solidified his touring plans yet.
"As far as touring, I haven't got that far to really figure it out yet. I haven't got that part," he said. "I'm kinda in album cycle right now and promoting. But we'll see how it goes."
Em has been back onstage in promotion of his new LP, Relapse, which officially drops Tuesday. He performed on "Jimmy Kimmel Live!" on Friday, will rock the Kimmel stage again this week, and he announced a special free MySpace concert in Detroit on Tuesday night.
Em's new DJ, acclaimed producer the Alchemist, told Mixtape Daily that he really gets a charge out of seeing Em do the Relapse record "Underground."
"When I first heard [Relapse], that was the song I said, 'This is gonna shut mutha----ers up.' Straight up. It would not be an issue," Al said. "Nobody would be like, 'I didn't like this, I didn't like the flow.' ... When we perform that song, Em takes a spot on the stage, and that's it. He picks a spot and dumbs out. There's not a lot of moving.
"When we're rehearing the song, you know, 'This is gonna be something crazy.' He says, 'Turn the lights down,' they put the spotlight on Em, and it's just snap rap. In the current day and age, you don't hear songs like that. It doesn't seem like any of that other sh-- going on in the world or in the music industry was going on in his mind when he [made the song]. He was strictly into the craft. I don't think anybody is f---ing with that."
Slain Konvict Muzik recording artist Dolla was buried in Atlanta Saturday afternoon (May 23) in a traditional Muslim ceremony, a friend of the young rapper told AllHipHop.com.
Hundreds gathered at Word of Faith Love Center to pay their final respects to 21-year-old Roderick Anthony Burton Jr., affectionately called Buck by his friends and family.
In keeping with the Janazah ceremony used by the Muslim faith to pay homage to the dead, several friends and family were dressed in traditional white attire.
Dollas body was wrapped in a cream-colored sheet.
The funeral was held in keeping with Dollas wishes. His cousin, rapper Scrapp DeLeon, told Atlanta CBS affiliate WGCL-TV that Dolla once told him that he did not fear death and when it came he wanted people to wear white and celebrate his life.
Scrapp, born Wilbert Robinson, was with his cousin at the time of the shooting that took his life on May 18 at the Beverly Center.
Atlanta-area music promoter Aubrey Berry, 23, has been charged with Dollas murder and is currently being held on $5 million bond.
On Friday (May 22), fans, friends and family gathered at Murray Brothers Funeral Home in Atlanta for Dollas wake.
Among those present were his Konvict Muzik labelmate Ray Lavender, Smallville actor Sam Jones III, and Oneika El-Amin, who works closely with the Konvict family and had known Dolla since he was 16.
El-Amin told AllHipHop.com she was shocked by how beautiful the young man looked in preparation for his final resting place.
I even Tweeted about it, said El-Amin, who shared with her followers at the time that he looks like a Handsome Prince, wrapped in a white sheet & a beautiful garb on his head.
Roderick Dolla Burton was buried at Westview Cemetery in Atlanta.
The Staten Island rep weighed in on Joey's recent comments and claimed the Jersey emcee copied Mef's flow.
"I was hurt by Joe's comment," Rae explained in an interview. "He seems like a cool dude, but I don't appreciate him going at Meth like that. [Joe Budden] must've been feeling himself. You don't play a legend who, like Method Man, did a lot for hip-hop...Joe bit off him anyway. When you listen to 'Pump It Up,' real n*ggas know where that flow came from. I'm not a battle rapper, but I will skin a n*gga, anybody. And, in my opinion, he isn't better than Meth, never. You gotta watch what your mouth. Joe was out of character." (Billboard)
Along with receiving heat from artists, a website was recently launched called BetterThanJoe.com which aims to mock the rapper.
Featuring diss tracks going at Joe Budden, the site asks online readers if 'You're Better Than Joe Budden?' along with playing audio and video of legends like Melle Mel calling him the 'A** crack of hip-hop.' Readers may become members of the site and join in discussion boards on whether or not they feel Budden deserves his accolades. (BetterThanJoeBudden)
Despite the controversy and including Mef's name in who he felt should be ranked high on the list, Joe recently said he may have made a wrong decision.
"I will say it was in bad taste to single him out," Budden said in an interview. "There was a large group of people I was talking about, it just so happens that he was the best fit because he was at the top. I could have went on and on and the world would have been mad at Joe Budden not just Method Man and the Wu-Tang Clan. I reached out to him and tried to apologize for the bad taste not for what I said. I stand behind what I said wholeheartedly." (Forbes DVD)
Upon hearing an earlier interview with Budden, Mef responded to Joey's initial rant.
"I heard about the joint on the Internet man and my folks advised me to take the high road 'cause like yo, I'm a smart n*gga," Method said in an interview. "So, I knew off top this dude tryin' to bait me. All these years I've been putting out joints man, all of a sudden he pick this time to come out with his little comment or whatever, nah mean? Tryin' to bait a brother 'cause he know my album 'bout to drop...Every week he picks somebody else to mess with and I ain't heard nobody ever respond to this dude unless they on that same level as him. So as far as battle rapping, Joe Budden gets it in. I'm not a battle rapper. But I'll tell you this, I'll meet any challenge from any challenger."
Garnet Silk impacted on the lives of many with his humility and powerful uplifting songs. It is with this in mind that concerned individuals in the music fraternity have decided to come together to arrange with media houses to highlight the life's work of this music icon.
All this is in an effort to keep the late Garnet Damon Smith aka Garnet Silk's memory alive.
Silk's appeal spread much further afield than Jamaica without a doubt his contributions has had international appeal and he has added significantly to our rich musical heritage.
One way of keeping Garnet Silk's memory alive is a week long activities starting from Monday, December 10 through to December 16.
For the week the committee is encouraging media houses to interview the parties concerned on Garnet, play his music as often as possible throughout the week and fans are encouraged to call in to radio stations and send in letters to the editor on what Garnet Silk meant to them.
Wu-Tang Clan's Raekwon The Chef recently spoke on the division among the iconic Shaolin rap group and why each member's solo effort helps his crew's overall image.
The rapper spoke on each member's own path within hip-hop.
"Everybody has their own focus on where they wanna be at," Raekwon explained in an interview with DJ Green Lantern. "We did the family thing for a long time for y'all. We been very loyal to that, giving y'all the Wu-Tang albums but at the same token, we need to make more money man. We got things that we gotta do and you know if somebody comes at me and offers me a situation, I gotta know that's what I'm here for. But I can't stop it and everytime be like, 'Nah we doin' a Wu-Tang album' it's like nah, we never designed this family to be like that. We told y'all from the door, each n*gga is an individual. I don't know if everybody forgot that, but that's written facts right there. We told y'all each man can carry his own weight. Each man is gonna go out there and bring more sh*t to the table for all of us." (DJ Green Lantern)
Method Man recently killed rumors about his group's alleged break-up.
"We never really split up!," Mef exclaimed in an interview. "People need to stop taking sh*t out of context. Even Ludacris, who I respect a lot, kind of upset me with a song he had where he mentioned Wu Tang broke up. No, we didn't break up! There has never been an official statement that said 'We're done' or 'I'm out.' [Before a new group album,] there's things we've got to take care of first before anybody even starts to discuss that." (New York Daily News)
Ludacris' "Let's Stay Together" from 2008's Theater of the Mind alleges the Wu parted ways.
"First Wu-Tang broke up/Now ODB's gone," Luda rapped. "Now I'm hearing Cam'ron don't talk to Jim Jones?/Who saw that sh*t coming/Certainly not me/Or a Dogg Pound break up/Or Goodie MOB?/Then Shawnna almost jumped ship from DTP/If Chingy left then came back/Than d*mn it, why can't she?/We gotta think us of all for one/And one for all/Hip-Hop/United we stand divided we fall/So why is?" ("Let's Stay Together")
The Shaolin emcees got back together for a string of concerts last summer.
The eight key members of the group reunited for the Irving Plaza concert, marking the first time in more than seven months that RZA, GZA, Raekwon, Ghostface Killah, Method Man, U-God, Masta Killa and Inspectah Deck have come together for a show. The legendary "Gravel Pit" hitmakers have long been dogged by rumors of a split, with the feud between RZA, Raekwon and Ghostface Killah reportedly being sparked by unpaid royalties from the group's various CD releases. (Star Pulse)
Konshens wishes to apologies, and inform his fans, that he is recovering well, and that he is in fact in dismay, as he was eagerly looking forward to see them, and as such at the earliest time possible, he will aim to make an
Dancehall artiste Assassin is certainly more mature and has even developed into 'Agent Sasco'.
The artiste, whose real name is Jeffrey Campbell, said Agent Sasco is a "more spiritually aware, socially conscious" version of himself.
"It's just a new branch to the whole brand. As I get more mature I try to focus on music that is not only geared at entertainment," Assassin told THE STAR.
"Agent Sasco is a mission and a movement that is giving people music that they can relate to, give them thought, create more social awareness and encourage people to think more," he said.
Assassin said he started the Agent Sasco movement with songs like Same Thing Again and Give Thanks. His other straight dancehall songs like Pree Dis and Almighty Protect Me, he said, he will leave to the interpretation of his listeners.
"Sometimes you put songs out and people find deeper meaning in them," he told THE STAR.
alter ego
While the Agent Sasco persona will release more socially aware songs, Assassin said it is not an alter ego.
"It may be similar but not entirely an alter ego 'cause that is usually outside your normal character. This has always been a part of my work, I'm just fine-tuning it now," Assassin said.
His new CD, Assassin Agent Sasco Dancehall Mixtape, was recently released and another onedrop CD is currently being manufactured for distribution soon. He also has new songs like Stimulus Package and Guinep Stain which are doing well.
Assassin, who is currently in the United States, will return to Jamaica on Wednesday after shows in Atlanta and Los Angeles. In June, he will have shows in the US Virgin Islands and The Bahamas.
| St. Vincent | St. Vincent | ||
| Limelight Nightclub/Dancing Dynomites Final | NA | ||
| Tortola Music Festival | Tortola | ||
| Manchester, Jamaica | Manchester, Jamaica | ||
| Wuppertal, Germany | Wuppertal, Germany | ||
| Oslo, Norway | Oslo, Norway | ||
| Copenhagen, Denmark | Copenhagen, Denmark | ||
| Berlin, Germany | Berlin, Germany | ||
| Milan, Italy | Milan, Italy | ||
| Rome, Italy | Rome, Italy | ||
| Bari, Italy | Bari, Italy | ||
| Toulouse, France | Toulouse, France | ||
| Bordeaux, France | Bordeaux, France | ||
| Paris, France | Paris, France | ||
| Montpelier, France | Montpelier, France | ||
| Finland | Finland | ||
| Vienna, Austria | Vienna, Austria | ||
| Geneve, Switzerland | Geneve, Switzerland | ||
| Zurich, Switzerland | Zurich, Switzerland | ||
| Amsterdam, Netherlands | Amsterdam, Netherlands | ||
| Reggae Sumfest | Montego Bay | ||
| Trinidad | Trinidad | ||
| Tobago | Tobago | ||
| Aug 4 Aug 18 - Europe Live Tour | Europe |
If you're a woman, and have not had an orgasm, pick up this book and read it. You will learn things about yourself, and perhaps learn what it means to climax. The nice thing about this book is that it doesn't cost a lot of money. Hey, what have you got to lose?
Was this review helpful to you?
This book addresses both the physiology and the psychology of a woman's orgasm along with the many things which can cause problems. With individual, step-by-step sections for a woman both alone and with a partner this book can show any woman how to LEARN to have an orgasm. I've seen this book work amazingly for two different women. Neither of them believed that this book could change anything, but it did
Students and teachers of an all-age school in St Andrew last week received the shock of their lives when a female teacher at the institution bent over and spread her buttocks in an act of disrespect to the principal.
A teacher at the school, who yesterday spoke to THE STAR on condition of anonymity, said the incident had left many at the school outraged at the very nerve of the teacher, whom term as "ghetto fabulous".
The principal would not confirm or deny the incident. However, an official at the school said that the episode occurred as the principal approached the teacher with a camera attempting to take a picture of her (the teacher) selling students snacks from her classroom. The source said this was against established rules at the school. However, the teacher had breached this guideline several times and continued to do so, despite numerous warnings.
"When the principal approached her, she (the teacher) just bent over and showed the principal her bottom, she did it twice," the source said. "She did not pull down her clothes or anything, but you still get the message."
obnoxious behaviour
The source continued: "She did this in full view of others, there were some of her students there who ran about afterwards saying that 'teacher gave principal her ..."
Information reaching The Star says that the teacher, who teaches grade-eight students, is well-known for her defiance and obnoxious behaviour.
"She nuh ave nuh manners, nuh nuttin," one person said. "Yuh tell her morning and she not even responds. She won't even dress appropriately for work. She come here dressed in rubber flip-flop, tight colourful pants, tight blouse that sometimes shows her belly. Plus, she wears the most ghetto weaves every day." The source continued: "The principal even tried going to classroom recently to carry out an assessment exercise and she shut the classroom door, locking out the principal."
Further claims are that the teacher is almost always late for her classes and exercises very little supervision over her students. One official at the school said that students who pass through the teacher's class usually play catch up in grade 9 as they are taught very little while under her tutoring. "All she does is sit, sells snacks, and stares into space, she hardly teaches anything," the official disclosed.
Attempts to get a contact for the teacher at the middle of the saga were unsuccessful.
The school official told The Star that the institution would be taking disciplinary actions against the teacher for her disrespectful display of unprofessionalism.
mi waan hear uno response pon this
di artist weh mi say a sizzla
Australia | 29/03/2009 | Jenson Button | Brawn-Mercedes | 58 | 1:34:15.784 |
Malaysia | 05/04/2009 | Jenson Button | Brawn-Mercedes | 31 | 55:30.622 |
China | 19/04/2009 | Sebastian Vettel | RBR-Renault | 56 | 1:57:43.485 |
Bahrain | 26/04/2009 | Jenson Button | Brawn-Mercedes | 57 | 1:31:48.182 |
Spain | 10/05/2009 | Jenson Button | Brawn-Mercedes | 66 | 1:37:19.202 |
Monaco | 24/05/2009 | Jenson Button | Brawn-Mercedes | 78 | 1:40:44.282 |
Pos | Driver | Nationality | Team | Points |
---|---|---|---|---|
1 | Jenson Button | British | Brawn-Mercedes | 51 |
2 | Rubens Barrichello | Brazilian | Brawn-Mercedes | 35 |
3 | Sebastian Vettel | German | RBR-Renault | 23 |
4 | Mark Webber | Australian | RBR-Renault | 19.5 |
5 | Jarno Trulli | Italian | Toyota | 14.5 |
6 | Timo Glock | German | Toyota | 12 |
7 | Fernando Alonso | Spanish | Renault | 11 |
8 | Kimi Räikkönen | Finnish | Ferrari | 9 |
9 | Lewis Hamilton | British | McLaren-Mercedes | 9 |
10 | Felipe Massa | Brazilian | Ferrari | 8 |
Pos | Team | Points |
---|---|---|
1 | Brawn-Mercedes | 86 |
2 | RBR-Renault | 42.5 |
3 | Toyota | 26.5 |
4 | Ferrari | 17 |
5 | McLaren-Mercedes | 13 |
6 | Renault | 11 |
7 | Williams-Toyota | 7.5 |
8 | BMW Sauber | 6 |
9 | STR-Ferrari | 5 |
10 | Force India-Mercedes | 0 |
Eminem recently justified the delay on Dr. Dre's long-awaited Detox album and said his studio work with the producer forced the project to be pushed back.
In addition to confirming the album does exist, Slim Shady also offered brief details surrounding the forthcoming release.
"With Dre, Dre's got a lot of material for this record," Em revealed in an interview. "And he's recorded a lot of material. I think that more so than anything, before his album, he basically put aside, he was working on his record for a good time period, I would say probably a year, a year and some change straight, he was working on his record and he basically put that on hold once we got on the road with my record, which I'm extremely grateful for you know." (DJ Semtex)
Nas, who was once a member of Dre's The Firm, previously confirmed his appearance on the album.
"I did a joint. I think it's crazy," Nas says of working with Dre. "He's someone I'd love to do a whole album with one day. He's incredible. I think he's the best producer of all time." (Billboard)
T.I. also spoke with SOHH to weigh in on Detox earlier this year.
"All I can say is look forward to it. You never know who you might hear collaborating together or what you might be able to expect from that project. I'm just telling you to look forward to it. It's going to be one for the record book. He ain't lost a step." (SOHH)
Dre previously promised appearances by Lil Wayne and Jay-Z while originally aiming to release Detox late last year.
"In a perfect world, I'm shooting for a November or December release," Dre said in an interview. "I've never set out to do that," says Dre, 43. "I just make the music feel the way I want it to feel and I don't put it out until I'm totally happy with it. Then it does what it does." (USA Today)
As of today (May 23), a release date for Detox has not yet been announced
Speaking at the pre-launch of ATI on Wednesday night at Truck Stop, West Kings House Road, St Andrew, Absolute Entertainment Limited chief, Alex Chin, said he was confident about being part of this year's Appleton Temptation Isle party series, which is set to take place August 5-9 in Negril.
After a three-year separation, both Appleton and Absolute Entertainment have reunited in an attempt to make this year's event the most memorable of all.
"It's difference in opinion and certain personalities weren't around so we decided to move forward, but we are back with full effect," Chin told THE STAR in reference to their separation.
unforgettable party
Over the years, the unforgettable party weekend has attracted numerous partygoers from all over, as they tune in to the wonderful Jamaican beaches, fashion, music, food and special mixed drinks - not to mention the wild and crazy things that take place on that week dubbed as the 'weekend that never sleeps'.
And despite the world economic crisis, Chin is still expecting patrons to come out and give full support.
"It's (ATI) there for nine years now and we are expecting the same. How can you complain when you get at least four to five thousand patrons at every event?" he said.
The event will feature 10 exciting parties over the four-day period: The Hip Hop Jouvert, Tempted, Glow, Pretty in Pink on the beach, Rhythm and Booze, Stages, The ATI Toga Party, Colours, Wild Slides and Fusion.
LOS ANGELES (AP) -- A man accused of murder in the shooting death of Dolla at a Los Angeles mall has pleaded not guilty.
Aubrey Berry entered the plea to murder and assault charges in a Los Angeles courtroom Friday morning.
The 23-year-old Atlanta resident remains jailed on $5 million bail. His attorney, Howard Price, plans to ask for bail reduction at a hearing scheduled for Tuesday.
Berry was arrested at Los Angeles International Airport on Monday, hours after police say he shot and killed Dolla in the valet area of an upscale mall. Berry's lawyer says the shooting was self-defense.
The 21-year-old rapper was a protege of Akon and recently released two songs with the hip-hop star.
LONDON (AP) -- Britain's unlikely singing sensation Susan Boyle, the frumpy church volunteer who wowed the world with her angelic voice, was on Saturday voted into the next round of a TV talent show that propelled her to global fame.
The 47 year old, who lives alone with her cat Pebbles in one of Scotland's poorest regions, will now perform in a live show on Sunday, weeks after her surprising performance of "I Dreamed a Dream" from the musical "Les Miserables" shocked judges and charmed tens of millions of people worldwide.
Boyle's performance last month on the "American Idol"-style show "Britain's Got Talent" has been viewed almost 60 million times on You Tube, and saw the shy Scot feted by celebrities, including Oprah Winfrey and Demi Moore.
The awkward looking Boyle, who says she's never been kissed, was greeted with giggles from a skeptical audience and eye rolls from the show's famously sardonic judge Simon Cowell when she appeared in April but startled viewers with her soaring voice.
In an update on her Twitter Web site, Moore wrote that Boyle's voice had "made me teary!"
Cowell and his fellow judges said Saturday that Boyle is among 40 performers they've selected to advance in the competition.
Bookmaker William Hill makes Boyle a runaway favorite to win the final on May 30.
"She had a tremendous reaction because of the phenomenon that is YouTube it's now all over the world and she's coping rather well," said the singer's brother, Gerry Boyle. "But I think some of the reality is now starting to sink in."
The youngest of nine children, Boyle grew up in Blackburn, a community of 4,750 people 20 miles (32 kilometers) west of Edinburgh, in Scotland a district blighted by unemployment and crime. Boyle had learning difficulties as a child and was bullied by other children.
As an adult, she's struggled for work but had been a regular on her local karaoke circuit and performed in church choirs.
In an interview with The Associated Press at her home last month, she said the death of her mother had inspired her to enter the TV talent show. "I wanted to show her I could do something with my life," Boyle said.
Since then, she's appeared on the "Oprah Winfrey" show and had a makeover, to tame her frizzy gray-tinged hair.
"I think she is coping very well at the moment, she is just Susan. Just as calm as you like. Just carrying on as normal," said Jackie Russell, manager of Boyle's local pub The Happy Valley Hotel, in Blackburn.
Sara Lee, a spokeswoman for "Britain's Got Talent" said that Boyle's performance on Sunday will be available almost instantly on Internet, allowing her international fans a chance to watch the singer's latest appearance.
But she refused to say what song Boyle will perform in the broadcast, which will be screened live in Britain.
INDIANAPOLIS (AP) -- Turns out actor Josh Duhamel doesn't excel in the fast lane, at least not in Indianapolis.
When the 2009 Indy 500 pace-car driver took reporters around the 2.5-mile oval Friday, he didn't exactly floor it.
"Let's see what I can do," he said during one of the runs. "One-oh-six. Coach (Johnny) Rutherford is going to bench me."
That's because the three-time Indy 500 winner and race organizers want him to hit 120 mph coming out of the fourth turn on Sunday as he leads the field to the start-finish line.
Duhamel, who will be in the movie "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" later this summer, is the latest Hollywood celebrity to drive the pace car. Others included Jay Leno, James Garner, Anthony Edwards and Patrick Dempsey.
Dempsey's a serious, if part-time, sports car racer. Emerson Fittipaldi, last year's pace-car driver, won Indy twice.
DJ Drama "Gangsta Grillz: The Album (Vol. 2)" (Grand Hustle/Atlantic Records)
DJ Drama helped boost the careers of numerous rappers such as Lil' Wayne and Young Jeezy by promoting their variety of freestyle rhymes and remixes through his popular "Gangsta Grillz" mixtape series.
The series even boosted Drama's appeal too, landing him a record deal which is rare for a DJ. Now, after overcoming racketeering charges in 2007, he returns with "Gangsta Grillz: The Album (Vol. 2)" with some of hip-hop's best.
Each song offers between four to seven rappers on a song, which would seem too excessive. But for the most part, Drama knows how to create an intriguing c****ination of rappers, matched with solid production to make it a worthy listen like the album's first single "Day Dreaming," featuring T.I., Snoop Dogg and Akon.
The highlight of the album is the Khalid-produced "Yacht Music." Over a smooth base line, Nas, Scarface and Willie The Kid rap about living the good life with Marsha Ambrosius crooning on the chorus.
Drama also reunites New Orleans rappers B.G., Juvenile and Soulja Slim on another banger "Gotta Get It," which was produced by Drumma Boy. In all, there are some downfalls with "I'm Fresh" (Mike Jones, Rick Ross and Trick Daddy) and "Sweat" (Ray J, Fabolous and LA The Darkman), but the quality songs outweighs the missteps.
CHECK OUT THIS TRACK: "We Must Be Heard," features Ludacris, Willie The Kid and Busta Rhymes where each raps about the current economic harsh times.
After more than a decade of providing a consistent string of hit albums and songs, Jay-Z is leaving Def Jam Records.
The rap mogul confirmed the amicable split Thursday (May 21). Jay-Zs departure from Def Jam puts an end to rumors regarding the buy out of his contract with the iconic label, for a reported $5 million dollars.
During his stint at the Def Jam, Jay-Z transitioned from top-selling artist to music executive.
Jay-Z albums released under the Def Jam umbrella included In My Lifetime Vol. 1, Vol. 2.., Hard Knock Life and Vol. 3...Life and Times of S. Carter as well as The Dynasty: Roc La Familia, The Blueprint, The Blueprint: The Gift and the Curse and The Black Album.
After retiring from music in 2003, Jay-Z was appointed president and co-CEO of Def Jam by Reid.
The rappers time as president resulted in the acquisition of R&B/pop hit makers Rihanna and Ne-Yo.
In 2007, Jay-Z announced his resignation from his post as president of Def Jam when his contract was not renewed.
The rapper continued his relationship with the label as he remained on the Roc-a-Fella/Def Jam roster as a recording artist.
Prior to officially stepping down, Jay-Z released his 2006 comeback opus, Kingdom Come.
A year later, the rappers concept album, American Gangster, followed.
In 2008, Jay-Z aligned with Live Nation via a wide-ranging deal, record label that included the creation of the Roc Nation record label as well as albums, touring and publishing.
Brooklyn duo M.O.P. will be releasing their new studio album, Foundation, on E1 Music (formerly known as Koch Records)/Blaze this June.
The disc will feature collaborations with Beanie Sigel, Redman Styles P, and Busta Rhymes, who will appear on the first single Blow The Horns. The video for the song is set to debut soon, with a video, shot in New York, soon to follow.
E1 Music General Manager Alan Grunblatt is excited about Billy Danze and Lil Fames latest effort. M.O.P. is one of the greatest hip-hop groups of all time, he said in a statement. I was fortunate to sign them when I was running Relativity and am thrilled to be working with Billy, Fame and Laze again.
Thanks to Alan for believing in us and allowing us to do our thing, Danze added. This is a big thing for us and a big thing for hip-hop. Right now, hip-hop needs M.O.P. It needs the foundation.
Adding to a growing list of releases on E1, rapper/producer The Alchemist and super group Slaughterhouse will also be dropping albums on the label on July 7.
Foundation hits shelves on June 30. M.O.P. will also be rocking the Rock the Bells tour and are currently prepping their new website MOPUniverse.com in the coming weeks.
Springfield, Ohio (WDTN)-- An Ohio mom is accused of having sex in her car while her two young children were in the back seat.
I've heard of being horny, but this is ridiculous. That's what a babysitter is for lady! To watch your kids while you go ELSEWHERE to get your freak on...and with parents like that, no kid should be subjected to watching them having sex. I mean, that is just child abuse!
Spin doctors Big J and Blu-Toot are now reaping some rewards as they aim to 'juggle' their way to stardom.
According to the tag team, persons have been commending their work since they appeared in THE STAR about three weeks ago.
"Since the article come out, we've been getting some attention from persons complimenting us on doing a good job," Big J, real name Jason Stewart, told THE STAR.
"Hard work finally look like it a go pay off," an excited Blu-Toot, born Terriano Jadoo, added.
THE STAR was on hand at a recent Pink and Blue-themed party held in conjunction with Fresh Fridays, a weekly party held on Hagley Park Road in St Andrew.
well-mixed
The duo was spotted working alongside experienced selectors like Gary Chucks and Arif Cooper. The St Catherine-based selectors took over musical responsibilities on the turntables at about 4:00 a.m. and brought the house down with their well-mixed selections of hip hop, R&B and old as well as new dancehall tunes.
Dancers such as Ding Dong and the Ravers Clavers and Chi - Ching Ching were seen 'dribbling' and 'sweeping' as they danced to the sound which blared through the speakers.
About 45 minutes later, when their stint ended, the selectors said they were acknowledged by a number of persons, ranging from artistes to other selectors.
According to Big J, their appearance in the paper has since led to possible bookings abroad.
"We get calls from people in England and the US since the article. People all stop complain bout di money weh wi charge," a laughing Big J noted.
Nevertheless, they say they will continue to put in the hard work necessary to reach their ultimate goal of becoming a household name in the business, both here and abroad.
Bolt roared home in 14.35 seconds, smashing the previous best recorded by Italian Pietro Mennea of 14.8 in 1983.
Britain's Marlon Devonish finished a distant second in 15.07 secs.
In the women's race American Debbie Ferguson-McKenzie clocked 16.54 secs to beat Olympic 400m gold medallist Christine Ohuruogu, who ran 17.10 secs.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/olympics/athletics/7565203.stm