Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.
MAY PEN, Clarendon While Mike Henry, chairman of Humble Lions FC, is hoping that their star striker Kemar Mills will return to full action by February, the doctor who is overseeing the player's recovery thinks it is best to wait until next season so as to allow his skull to heal properly.
(CONTINUES
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sports/Mills-not-fit_7303124)
KEMAR-MILLS_w370.jpg

Grace%20Chicken%20Vienna%20Sausages1.jpg

FROM MI A YUTE, THIS THING HAS ALWAYS BEEN A MYSTERY TO ME, WHY WHEN U OPEN THE SAUSAGE TIN, THE MIDDLE ALWAYS EMPTY, IS SOMEONE EATING THAT MIDDLE ONE......THE OTHER DAY MI CALL GRACE AND ASK DEM AND DEM HANG UP DI PHONE PON MI........................

-- Edited by gamepun on Monday 4th of January 2010 04:41:26 PM

-- Edited by gamepun on Monday 4th of January 2010 04:43:37 PM
MAN DEM TEK WI FI EDIAT .. ALL NOW MI NUH SEE NUN A DEM EVEN TOUCH DI STAGElol

-- Edited by CRAZY-CHICKEN on Wednesday 6th of January 2010 12:40:28 AM

ZONERS!!!!! THIS MEK SENSE??????

January 5, 2010
Started By Gamepun1 Comments
THIS IS A TRUE STORY(LIKE ALL THE OTHERS)

MY FRIEND MET INNA ACCIDENT AND CALLED HIS GIRL IN FARIN TO SEND HIM MONEY

LOOK AT HIS STATEMENT...............

"baby, whens i were comes downs bonnie view hill  and and sawn a fowl ran cross road and ME accidentally felling off the bicycle and broke mi arm"

WHATS WRONG WITH THE STATEMENT??????????
With all the controversy surrounding the latest video from Jay-Z "OnTo The Next One" with supposed blasphemous images. This is bound tomake some people feel uncomfortable as well.

LilWaynebm10.jpg

According to a story reported by HipHopWired. New Orleans rapper Lil Wayne will appear in an Adult Swim cartoon titled "Freaknik" as Jesus Christ

The name "Freaknik" is taken from a former annual event held in Atlanta for mostly African American college students from around the country.

Adult Swim is known for edgy cartoons generally geared for audiences 18years of age and older. If the creators of "Freaknik" were looking toget a buzz then this should do it. The only question is, will it be apositive or negative buzz?

The cartoon which also features T-Pain and David Banner will air on Comedy Central's Adult Swim March 1st.

GET THE MP3 HERE

-- Edited by Western Alliance on Saturday 1st of August 2009 09:51:16 AM

Man stabs himself to avoid work

November 6, 2009
Started By CArlmak12 Comments

We all know there are some days when you just can't face the thought of going into work. But one man in Denver took a rather extreme approach to throwing a sickie, local police say - he stabbed himself and claimed to have been attacked by three men in a ploy to get off work.

Aaron Siebers, 29, from the Denver suburb of Edgewater, reported the supposed attack on Monday to the video store where he works. Five police agencies scrambled to the scene of the fictitious assault, including police dog units.

Siebers said that he has been stabbed by three men who were dressed in black, and were either Hispanic, or skinheads.

However, following repeated police questioning, Siebers eventually admitted that the story was made up, and the knife wound on his leg and other cuts on his body were self inflicted.

Siebers was arrested, and faces charges of false reporting and obstructing a police officer.

NEW TAXXX jamaican

December 17, 2009
Started By Raja Pedz21 Comments
IS THE NEW TAXX FAIREsad
and what do u have 2 say about it...hmm.gif
ra$$$$clat all pad and tampon dem taxx?sadsadno.giflc
i
MyturnobamaSC50widehorizontal.jpg

George Obama sits in front of his home in a slum in Nairobi, Kenya
In November 2008, I stood in a bar in Kenya watching Barack Obama give his victory speech. From the wild cheering of the crowd on TV, and his repeated appeals to them personally-"You said," "You heard," "You called"-I felt as if the people of America knew this man far better than I, even though we shared the same father.If there was a leading light in the Obama clan, he was it; and if therewas a shadowed place that no one liked to talk about, then that, Iguess, was me.

kenya_africa.jpg

Kenya, Africa

After a relatively privileged childhood, I crashed and burned in myteenage years. I had migrated from the plush suburbs of Nairobi, Kenya,to the wild chaos of the ghetto. I lost myself in drink and drugs and became a gun-toting gangster.In my early 20s, I spent a year in a Nairobi prison on robbery charges.My imprisonment included a starvation diet and 24/7 lockdowns inovercrowded, airless cells. But I came out a different man, resolved to turn my life around and find a different path.

Along with some fellow slum dwellers, I set up a youth group for ghetto kids. My passion was football (soccer), which is followed religiously throughout Africa. When we first established the Huruma Centre Football Club, none of our kids had so much as a pair of football boots, let alone any uniform. Some were so hungry when they turned up that they had no energy to play.At other times, the team had to trek for miles to matches because wecouldn't afford any transportation. In spite of all that, our playerswere passionate, and we started winning. Then, as my brother's profilegrew in America and around the world, the media came looking for hisAfrican relatives.

Eventually the press found me in my slum. My new notoriety was a blessing and a curse. Many people presume I have a direct line to the White House, but I don't. I've only met my big brother twice and have spoken to him just once since the election, to say congratulations.Still, because of our connection, I managed to pull in funds fromphilanthropists to support the work of the youth group. I raised enoughmoney to buy the team gold and green uniforms-with their own numbers onthe back. Last fall, Obama's Champs won the Nairobi Super League-a featthat, just a couple of years back, would have been unthinkable for ateam from the slums. With the sponsorship I've attracted because of mylast name, we can now afford to take buses all across Kenya for matches.

KenyaSlumR_468x301.jpg

A slum in Kenya
I still live in one of Africa's biggest slums, along with some 4.5 million others. We have little or no access to health care, no welfare, and no free schooling. The average income is less than $5 a day-and that's for those who find work as servants, taxi drivers, or garbage collectors. For the rest, there is nothing. Mybrother has risen to be the leader of the most powerful country in theworld. In Kenya I hope to be a leader among the poorest, most powerlesspeople on earth-the people of the ghetto.

Hope-it's an idea my brother talked about a lot. But it was onlyrecently that I learned again what it means to feel the true spirit ofthat word. Here, a little goes a long way.

By George Obama | NEWSWEEK Published Jan 2, 2010 From the magazine issue dated Jan 11, 2010

West Indies cricketer Jerome Taylor has been charged with assaulting a police officer and resisting arrest after a confrontation with officers in a Jamaican bar.

Taylor, 25, was released on bond on Thursday (local time) following the incident late on Wednesday at Junction, St Elizabeth, a rural town south-west of the Jamaican capital Kingston.

The fast bowler, who returned from the West Indies' recent Test tour of Australia after suffering back strain, is due in court on January 12.

He was also charged with improper conduct.

If convicted of any of the charges, Taylor could be fined or spend up to six months in prison.

On Wednesday Michelle Obama partook in a sports spectacular at the White House. As part of the Healthy Kids Fair, the first lady jumped rope, hula hooped, and hopped around. But one picture in particular captured our imagination, so we asked readers to have a little fun with it. And it's not too late! Send us your contributions and we just might add them.

Read mo

The first lady bringing home the gold.

-- Edited by Dj Quiva (Admin) on Thursday 22nd of October 2009 07:09:26 PM
ebee234ff400473abd491616cf084386.jpg

Grammy-winning rapper Lil Wayne said he saw himself studying law when asked, on The Mo'Nique Show, what he'd be doing if he didn't have a hip hop career. "I would probably still be in school because I would probably be studying something like law. No [I wouldn't want to be lawyer], but that's probably what I would be doing. I like to be powerful and that's probably something I would have done if I wouldn't had done rapping." Weezy, while speaking with Mo'Nique, went on to discuss the importance of having a good education.

Eminem Censored By UK Gay Organization

December 31, 2009
Started By KrYsIs7 Comments
53d0db1b45de435d8ec293e67a7c28a5.jpg

Rapper Eminem is bowing to gay pressure and has agreed to refrain from performing lyrics that might be perceived as being homophobic during an upcoming festival in the United Kingdom next summer.

According to UKs Evening Standard, OutRage! has agreed to refrain from picketing the concert, as long as Eminem does not use lyrics that encourage or incite hatred against gay people. Outrage is the same pro-gay organization that has protested reggae artists such as Buju Banton and sizzla among others.

1100d68797dc4326a627db461cb2ec22.jpg

Jay-Z apparently makes a special protein shake for his bodyguards everyday. The 40 year old rapper is very serious about his safety and wants his security team to always be in tip top shape. The recipe is his own and helps the six men maintain their peak condition. A source close to the Brooklyn rapper said, "Every day Jay-Z lines up his guards, hands them a protein drink of his own concoction - fresh vegetable juices, fruits, protein powder, wheat germ, vitamin supplements - then eyeballs the tough guys until every last drop is gone." Hov even requires the strict regimen continue when on tour and makes sure the recipe is brought to his hotel rooms every morning by room service.
I love her to this day," Storch said in an interview. "She's a wonderful girl. She has had a not-so-easy life. And she's dealt with the same things that the media puts everybody through and I have feelings for her as a person and we dated. We were cool and that's all that was. I consider her a friend and somebody I care about for the rest of my life."419a8551c4ac43a9824aed87f37ed851.jpg

Cosmetic Surgery Site Claims Jay-Z Had Nose Procedure Known As Ethnic Rhinoplasty

jayzplasticsurgery.jpg

Photos of Jay-Z have revealed that his nose appears to be slightly slimmer than in the past, indicating that he may have followed in hiswife, Beyonce Knowles dancing footsteps and had an ethnic rhinoplasty sometime during the past decade.

(See Make Me Heals story on Beyonce Knowles plastic surgery).

Past photos of Jay-Z, whose real name is Shawn Carter, reveal a very wide nose with a very bulbous, rounded tip. Newer photos of there cently turned 40-year old show that his nose appears to have been slightly narrowed and the round tip made less pronounced. While the difference could be the angle of the camera, it could also indicate aslight ethnic rhinoplasty.

If Jay-Z has had a nose job, he would join a long history of black performers who have gone under the knife.

Make Me Heal wishes Jay-Z the best of luck with his most recent album The Blueprint 3 and looks forward to seeing what celebrity shenanigan she gets into with Beyonce.

b702af04a115405082c38f02d7c789ab.jpg

West Coast rapper Game revealed that his upcoming R.E.D. Album will include a song with Nicki Minaj, Lil Wayne's protege signed to Young Money. Writing on his Twitter page last night, Game said Young Money's first lady made the album cut."Nicki Minaj made the R.E.D. album. gone be CLASSIC."

An angry fan responds that they won't buy the album if Minaj is on it, even though the fan bought each of the past Game albums. "RT @THEREALCAWB: @ihategame stop f*cking ignoring my tweets if you keep niki on the album im not buying and i bought all your albums you" Nicki responds to the angry fan herself: "@THEREALCAWB well don't buy it then f*ggot !!! no dis-respect to y'all gay folks but this n*gga might be mo h*mo than y'all."

cavaliers-hawks-2.jpgcavaliers-hawks-1.jpgcavaliers-hawks-5.jpgcavaliers-hawks-6.jpgcavaliers-hawks-3.jpgcavaliers-hawks-7.jpg

Usher took a break from recording his new album Raymond vs. Raymond to take in a basketball game alongside his peer Chris Brown. Akon, The-Dream, Young Jeezy, and Chris Tucker also witnessed the Cleveland Cavaliers defeat the Atlanta Hawks at Atlantas Philips Arena on Tuesday (Dec. 29).

Female deejay in sex photo
spacer.gif

A photograph is now being circulated via email of a female deejay from a popular Portmore-based musical group performing oral sex on an unidentified man.

While the man in the picture cannot be seen, the tattooed female is clearly visible. According to the caption of the email, the man is also a popular figure from the same group. The picture appears to have been taken by a cellular phone and judging by the angle, was taken by the man receiving the sexual favour.

When contacted by THE STAR last night, the woman claimed to be unaware of the photo and said it would not be affecting her career. In terms of the other party said to be in the photo, she said: "Is mi boss, ma mentor. Mi nuh have nutten more to say ... . Mi just haffi prepare miself fi it."

When contacted, the male alleged to be in the picture did not respond.

Last year sex photos and a video of popular female figures were circulated and this is the latest along those lines.

Checks were made last night on the Internet and on the popular social networking website twitter.com and a number of persons had admitted to having received the photo.

Persons were speculating whether it was actually the female deejay, examining her distinctive tattoos and questioning how this will affect her musical career.

Dancehall artiste, Spice has come out with all lyrical guns blazing at both the former Portmore Empire artiste, Lisa Hype and MC Nuffy following this week's Sting concert, Jamworld, Portmore.

Lisa Hype who released a song entitled, Sting Aftermath, immediately following Sting, hurled insults at several female dancehall artistes, predominantly Spice. Spice says:

"Lisa Hype, I mean Lisa Swipe is in no position to utter the words she did from her mouth, but I honestly feel very sorry for her. She's going through a shameful time in her life right now and is obviously looking for a dark hole to stick her head in. Lisa Swipe is calling names to keep her name out there; but my name? She ah play wid fire. She know say she nuh bad like mi likkle fingah. Di time she tek ah pick pon di female artiste dem, she need fi go clean off di discharge offah har stomach. She ah gwaan like ah me tek har pictuh an sen' it out. And it's such a pity. Outta every female artiste name whe she call, she ah di crawniest one. She feavah Geico lizard. I've been in the business for 10 years and I've never stooped so low, just to get highlighted. But Lisa doesn't know when to stop stooping and get up off her knees. It's tragic. Let me not bother to go there because she is not in my world. Lisa, as a woman-to-woman, I have never been as humiliated as you are in my life, so I have no idea what you are going through. I can only imagine. So I wish you a speedy recovery," said Spice.

In addition, Spice also spoke of her inability to perform at Sting. "Nuffy sabotaged my thing. After Pamputae performed, he knew it should have been me, but he called up General B instead. When did he expect me to perform after that? During the clash with him and KipRich. It was unprofessional and it was done purposely because before that he was following the lineup and list. I just want to apologise to my fans for not performing. I didn't get the chance to and I had a real end of year performance in store."

When contacted, Lisa Hyper just laughed:

"Spice can stay de gwaan talk, tell her say mi have her file."

http://limelinx.com/files/ba71acd8ec171b38f623f27e8216f788
                 cp DOWNLOAD cp

KARTEL **** GULLY GAL-STAYCIOUS (THE BROWN ONE WID DI BORE TOUNGE)

-- Edited by GenaraLxShyst on Tuesday 29th of December 2009 07:26:00 PM

-- Edited by GenaraLxShyst on Tuesday 29th of December 2009 07:29:15 PM
Swizz Beatz Alicia Keys Moving In Together

Alicia Keys Swizz Beatz Moving In Together Move over Beyoncé Knowles and Jay-Z,there is another hip-hop royal couple in town.After rumors swirled around that Alicia Keys and Swizz Beatz were dating,the two confirmed it by making a public appearance ,now the duo are making it really official by moving in together.According to Star,Keys and Swizz are busy shopping around for a duplex penthouse in lower Manhattan.

The place is amazing. It even has a 2,000-square-foot terrace Alicia and Swizz were holding hands as they looked around for about 20 minutes

jayz_070817_ms.jpg

Jay-Z has beaten Elvis Presley to take the record for the mostnumber one albums by a solo artist in the U.S. after 'The Blueprint 3'topped the charts. The album is Jay-Z's 11th number one. But even withis achievement Jay Z fears he is getting too old for hip hop.

Jay Z fears that he is growing too old for hip-hop, and needs to continue reinventing himself to maintain his popularity.

The 38-year-old singer says, as he approaches 40, staying relevant is harder.

In an interview to the Scotsman, the star, real name Shawn Carter, said that he needed to continue trying new things.

Hip-hop is about the gift of discovery. Its who has the newestsneakers, who has the new pants, Contactmusic quoted him as saying.

So if I go to school with Jay-Z on my iPod, they go, OK, we allknow him. You have to come to school with some new band that no-oneelse has heard of.

As an artist youre fighting against everything thats new. Sonot only are you swimming upstream, you have someone pulling on yourleg: the new guy, the weight of the new guy, he added.

YO IF UNNUH LISTEN CLOSELY UNNUH WI HEAR ERUPT CLIK MA FINGERZ PLAYIN IN DA CLUB>>>>MADD

-- Edited by KrYsIs on Wednesday 30th of December 2009 11:11:23 PM

-- Edited by KrYsIs on Wednesday 30th of December 2009 11:12:13 PM

New Years tragedy...Man killed at Black and White Affair

yardflex.gif

The dancehall welcomed the New Year with a tragedy as a male patron was reportedly shot and killed this morning at the annual Black and White Affair held at the National Arena in Kingston.

Information is sketchy, but reports are that the gala New Years Eve session was winding down close to seven this morning when shots rang out and patrons ran for cover.

It was later revealed that a man had been shot dead at the venue.

So far, there has been no official statement from the police on the shooting.

Black and White Affair is one of the premium and most successful New Years Eve shows on the calendar. Each year, patrons fly in from the US, England and other parts of the world to attend this event known for its high rollers and fashionistas of every age and from all sections of society.

Young Buck Drops 50 Cent G-Unit Diss

January 2, 2010
Started By KrYsIs8 Comments
G-Unit.jpg

Well it's a new year and Young Buck is starting it off by keeping his beef with 50 Cent and G-Unit alive. Buck released a new diss song called "Happy New Year" on which he takes aim at everyone, especially Tony Yayo and 40 Glocc. "I'm just saying, they asked for this sh*t, I ain't popping no bottles n*gga," Buck raps. "I just buried my best friend, it's f*ck everything/F*ck them G-Unit n*ggas and whatever you claim, you better bang/I feel no pain as I kill y'all -- 40 [Glocc] speaking on me, you don't know me homie/But I know Compton n*ggas that wanna do that for me/Go get Curtis now, tell him Buck said f*ck 'em because for the last two years this h*e ain't said nothing/I came from the dirt, I'm sh*tting on your label and p*ssing on your paperwork/Look b*tch you need this, here go some energy/Yayo you know you the biggest h*e in the industry/It's all over now, y'all better kill me/Yeah I been selling dope to feed my baby, feel me/Ain't no way in h*ll I'mma do this yearly/So I'mma start it off by saying 'Happy New Year'....You could give me ten million and I wouldn't come back/What the f*ck is 50 Cent is what Jimmy said/Look at yourself, even now digging up the dead/Get some help all you had left was one Buck/And you lost that and f*cked up, now it's 'Happy New Year.'"

In related news, 50 Cent recently announced that he plans to make a music video for his Young Buck slash Game diss song, "So Disrespectful." During a recent interview, 50 said "It'll be out, there'll be a visual for it. The record is working by itself, that one, you know, it just plays with no assistance from the record company because people like it and took it and personally enjoy it. But I wrote that record about people I have had issues with that were pretty cool or at some point I felt they crossed me. You know, so I wrote those different things and it came out good. People enjoy it.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

nydailynews Reports:

Elton John says he's been helping Eminem kick drugs.

"I've been helping Eminem over the last 18 months and he's doing brilliantly," John told BBC radio.

John didn't discuss any details, but in 2005 Eminem entered rehab for addiction to sleeping pills and then took a three-year hiatus.

"It's no secret I had a drug problem," he later told Vibe magazine.

"If I was to give you a number of Vicodin I would actually take in a day? Anywhere between 10 to 20. Valium, Ambien, the numbers got so high I don't even know what I was taking."

He also nearly overdosed on methadone, a heroin substitute.

Elton John also battled drugs and booze throughout his career but says he has been sober since the '80s.

The "Rocket Man" singer has counseled other celebrity addicts, including the late Michael Jackson, but says he doesn't force his advice on anyone.

"I'm there if people want my help," he said in the BBC interview that aired yesterday.

"If people ask for help you tell them where to go but there's no point advising people if they don't want to do it."
mrvegas_main.jpg

With both artists dropping albums this month, the night when Chris Brown physically abused his then girlfriend Rihanna has been brought back tothe forefront.

Yesterday on Twitter, the always vocal Mr. Vegas sounded off on the whole situation.
"Now we see why abuse women hide what the **** they go through, imaginepeople calling Rihanna a b!$%h and saying she hit [Chris] Brown first alot of us do some abusive %&%* to a woman at some point in our life,but is it ****ing right, we are so coward, and full of %&%* and the men out there who think its so ok that they would say he should be still beatin her are just p**sies who are so afraid of a real nigga fight.
And some of you women that think oh Chris Brown got hit first so she is ab!$%h,remember karma, I know it. And those who think Rihanna is sofake, how easy do we forget, what about the scars and battered face we saw a few months ago. This %&%* pissed me off so much,not just that he hits her but the public perception of this young woman, I am not perfect but I woke up. The worst think is to see people trying to justify this %&%*, oh she gave him herpes, oh she hit him first, areyou serious.
Its like the other day I was on a site with Mrs Obama and one comment was"Michelle is so ugly but I would love her to suck ma dick." Now if Ihad the power the CIA would find that MF and lock him the fu.k up forlife, just like what they would do if someone threaten the pres now this is not about what risk brown did neither am I perfect, but its sadto see what these stupid people thinks of someone that was abused. Idon't care if she gave him herpes, hiv or whatever, do like what I doif I gonna start a serious no condom relationship straight to the doc. So who is trying to use that %&%* about she gave him something, that is so damn lame and I not buying that."
Strongstatements Mr. Vegas!! It's tragic situation for both parties involvedand it's clear that they are both still in love with each other andhave not gotten past this situation. I can't imagine having this played out in the public eye. Both have interviews scheduled tonight *sigh* AmI the only one who's more than suspicious that everything is being released at the same time with these two???? *side eye*

7b26bccdc04b48b2bb1aecfe6e3917d3.jpg
Shaquille O'Neal is known for being a philanthropist, great teammate and generous with the ladies. But even Lebron James himself didn't expect a gift of this size. For his 25th birthday, Lebron James received a Rolls Royce Phantom. How expensive is that, you ask?  AOL Autos says a 2009 Phantom VI is usually priced between $380,000 and $450,000. Perhaps LeBron can repay the favor by getting Shaq one more NBA championship ring this spring.

WOW! With friends like those, who needs a job?

LA Lewis really sobolious fi true

l_fd7c76b32f4d4d5342c4d235416ccd3f.jpg

So the graffiti king finally break him silence bout him so-show at Sting. And him come with him mouth full of one bag a sobolious lie. How di hearse neva pay for and him suit neva pay for and him neva get enough ticket fi him entourage. Why LA Lewis tink say people a fool. Everybody know say a true him get a full 10 minute boo over Raga show him did fraid fi go a Sting.

No surprise here!

ladygaga-rihanna.png

MTV has announced their list of 2009's most stylish stars and, naturally, Lady Gaga and Rihannaare right at the top! Lady Gaga has used fashion to promote herselffrom the beginning, but who would've thought last year that Rihannawould be looking so chic throughout most of '09?
Curiously, the others on their list are Taylor Swift, Taylor Lautner and the Jonas Brothers. WTF! I love the two Taylors, but they're the most boring dressers!
And the Jonas bros? Random! None of those celebs belong in the same category as Rihanna and Gaga!

Flippa+Mafia2.jpg

Tuesday night January 5th 2010, dancehall's Flossing King, Flippa Mafia will set the stage for his annual Flossing Christmas, but this time, it will be with a difference.
"It's Flossing Christmas - The Repeat," he said. "This means that all those who came out to the original event last week, which was cut short by the police, can wear back their same clothes. It's the repeat, so just repeat your clothes," the affable deejay said.
Now in its second year, Flossing Christmas was staged at Rebel T HQ, but a visit by the forces which seem intent on strangling the music led to the untimely end of the event.
The Repeat will be held on a boat out at Port Royal, but there are no plans for the boat to actually set sail.
"We will be on the harbour just having a lot of flossing fun. Ladies will be free before 1:00 am," said the deejay who was recently involved in a car accident along Hagley Park Road in Kingston.
He noted that he was in good condition following the smash-up, which saw him sustaining minor injury to his hand, as a result of the vibration when the vehicle struck the wall. His Porsche Cayenne receiving damage to the front, but according to Flippa, "it can be fixed. It's nothing major".
Flippa was voted one of the top performers at the recently held Sting stageshow in JamWorld, Portmore.
Posted by Dancehallreggaeweseh.com

george obama brother kenya
George Obama sits in front of his home in a slum in Nairobi, Kenya

In November 2008, I stood in a bar in Kenya watching Barack Obama give his victory speech. From the wild cheering of the crowd on TV, and his repeated appeals to them personally"You said," "You heard," "You called"I felt as if the people of America knew this man far better than I, even though we shared the same father. If there was a leading light in the Obama clan, he was it; and if there was a shadowed place that no one liked to talk about, then that, I guess, was me.

After a relatively privileged childhood, I crashed and burned in my teenage years. I had migrated from the plush suburbs of Nairobi, Kenya, to the wild chaos of the ghetto. I lost myself in drink and drugs and became a gun-toting gangster. In my early 20s, I spent a year in a Nairobi prison on robbery charges. My imprisonment included a starvation diet and 24/7 lockdowns in overcrowded, airless cells. But I came out a different man, resolved to turn my life around and find a different path.

Along with some fellow slum dwellers, I set up a youth group for ghetto kids. My passion was football (soccer), which is followed religiously throughout Africa. When we first established the Huruma Centre Football Club, none of our kids had so much as a pair of football boots, let alone any uniform. Some were so hungry when they turned up that they had no energy to play. At other times, the team had to trek for miles to matches because we couldn't afford any transportation. In spite of all that, our players were passionate, and we started winning. Then, as my brother's profile grew in America and around the world, the media came looking for his African relatives.

Eventually the press found me in my slum. My new notoriety was a blessing and a curse. Many people presume I have a direct line to the White House, but I don't. I've only met my big brother twice and have spoken to him just once since the election, to say congratulations. Still, because of our connection, I managed to pull in funds from philanthropists to support the work of the youth group. I raised enough money to buy the team gold and green uniformswith their own numbers on the back. Last fall, Obama's Champs won the Nairobi Super Leaguea feat that, just a couple of years back, would have been unthinkable for a team from the slums. With the sponsorship I've attracted because of my last name, we can now afford to take buses all across Kenya for matches.

I still live in one of Africa's biggest slums, along with some 4.5 million others. We have little or no access to health care, no welfare, and no free schooling. The average income is less than $5 a dayand that's for those who find work as servants, taxi drivers, or garbage collectors. For the rest, there is nothing. My brother has risen to be the leader of the most powerful country in the world. In Kenya I hope to be a leader among the poorest, most powerless people on earththe people of the ghetto.

Hopeit's an idea my brother talked about a lot. But it was only recently that I learned again what it means to feel the true spirit of that word. Here, a little goes a long way.
STARRIGHT_1_PA4F2JuniorAM.jpgSTARRIGHT_1_PVM3Wbusy20AM.jpg
Winston Sill - From Left: Wada, Andrew *lo** and Busy Signal

Roxroy McLean, Star Intern

Even if they should come under a fierce 'lyrical stampede', dancehall duo Andrew and Wada *lo** are still sticking by the bashing of Busy Signal's song 'One More Night' during their Sting performance.

The duo, offspring of reggae icon Junior Reid, carved out a tsunami of lyrics which not only ridiculed Alliance artiste Busy Signal, but created fresh criticism about a phrase in the deejay's single.

Since the song's released in May, there has been some controversy among entertainers and the public in general as to what was said in the chorus. It is claimed that Busy used the name 'Gary' in a line in which he is pleading for the chance of 'one more night'.

Last Saturday, on one of the biggest stages in dancehall music, Sting, the duo, known for the songs Hustler and Money Print, went gunning with an intent to make the crowd aware of their disgust about the line.

The crowd hollered when one of the brothers said "Di gyal a call Busy and im nah ansa, still a call Busy and im nah ansa. Suh mek mi tell yuh why im nah ansa, him and Gary lock up in di (Mitsubishi) Lancer."

When contacted by THE STAR, Wada *lo** said that the song, titled Dem Wrong, was a correction of the type of material dancehall music accepts and wasn't necessarily a move to cause any more controversy.

"Wi just correct it and mek dem know seh no 'Gary' around here. No-man-to- man thing, straight," he said.

While Busy's camp has said in a previous interview with THE STAR that he actually said 'baby' and not 'Gary', Wada *lo** is saying that he finds it ironic that the members of the Alliance camp have kept quiet about the issue.

"If a Kartel or Beenie seh it dem would a jump pon it and highlight it, but through is a man inna di camp, everybody a play silent," he said.

Twin of Twins also had barbs for the 'Baby/Gary' drama during their performance at Sting, but that was expected from the duo. However, Andrew and Wada *lo**'s outburst came as a surprise.

Should Busy Signal or any other member of the Alliance respond to their outburst, Wada *lo** said that he's not concerned as their argument is factual.

"Whatever. We not looking forward to any animosity because Busy is a good artiste but him sing a wrong song. I don't know if it's a mistake or a 'fish-stake', but it's definitely the wrong stake. One that he should never make," he said.

Bolt, Walker win at World Athletics Final

CMC

Monday, September 14, 2009

THESSALONIKI, Greece (CMC) - Track and field giant Usain Bolt advertised invincible form again and joined other Caribbean World Champions Ryan Brathwaite and Melaine Walker in winners' row as the IAAF/VTB Bank World Athletics Final ended yesterday.

20090913T230000-0500_159633_OBS_BOLT__WALKER_WIN_AT_WORLD_ATHLETICS_FINAL_1.jpg
Jamaica's Usain Bolt holds his shoes in his hands as he celebrates his win in the 200 meters race during an IAAF World Athletics Final at Thessaloniki's Kaftanzoglio stadium yesterday(Photo: AP)

Jamaican Bolt sped to a meet record equalling 19.68 seconds to win the men's 200 metres while his teammate Melaine Walker also posted a meet record in landing the women's 400-metre hurdles in 53.36 and rising Barbadian world star Brathwaite dominated the 110-metre hurdles in 13.16 seconds.

All winners at the two-day meet a picked up a purse of US$30,000.

Running in Lane 5 in the men's 200 metres, Olympic and World Champion Bolt covered the field quickly and came off the turn with a clear lead, moving further away down the homestretch to crush his rivals.

American Wallace Spearmon was second in 20.21 seconds and Antiguan Pan American Games champion Brendan Christian claimed third in 20.65.

Brathwaite got a decent start in the sprint hurdles and quickened in mid-race to take control, stopping the clock just 0.02 seconds outside his personal best and Barbados national record.

20090913T230000-0500_159633_OBS_BOLT__WALKER_WIN_AT_WORLD_ATHLETICS_FINAL_2.jpg
Thessaloniki, Greece - Carmelita Jeter of the United States battles Jamaican Shelley-Ann Fraser to win the women's 100 metres at the IAAF World Athletics Final at Kaftanzoglio Stadium yesterday.

The 21-year-old Brathwaite, who created history by becoming the first Barbadian to win a global senior track and field title, won ahead of American Dexter Faulk, who clocked 13.26 for the runner-up spot.
Jamaican Dwight Thomas recovered from a bad start to secure third in 13.29 seconds.

Walker, like Bolt a reigning World and Olympic Champion, was unchallenged in her one-lap hurdles win, coming home ahead of her Jamaican teammate Kaliese Spencer (53.99) with the improving Trinidadian Josanne Lucas getting third in 54.31 seconds.

American Carmelita Jeter delivered the top performance of the day when she recorded a stunning career-best and meet record 10.67 seconds to capture the women's 100 metres.

Accelerating powerfully over the last 40 metres, Jeter dismissed Jamaican Olympic and World Champion Shelly-Ann Fraser to become the third fastest woman of all-time over the distance.

Only world record holder Florence Griffith-Joyner (10.49) and Marion Jones (10.65) have gone faster.

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has sensationally written off Englands chances of winning the World Cup - even though nine of his squad are battling to win a place in Fabio Capellos plans.

The Manchester United manager declared he cant see past Brazil to triumph for a record sixth time in South Africa next summer and said England do not have enough players with regular Champions League experience to be world champions.

His comments will draw comparison with another Scot, tennis player Andy Murray,
who faced a huge backlash when he joked that he wanted any team to beat England at the 2006 World Cup in Germany.

Jamaican sprint phenomenon Usain Bolt has confirmed his withdrawal from competition for the rest of the season.

The triple world and Olympic champion has been running on an almost empty cylinder since the closing sections of the World Championships in Berlin last month and he believes if he continues to compete in such condition he only runs the risk of picking up serious injuries.

"I have been suffering from fatigue from as early as the Zürich meet and after careful discussions with my coach and management team, even with medical advice, we felt it necessary to close the season," he said on www.usainbolt.com."The season has been long and has been challenging with early challenges I faced. In addition the risk of injury becomes greater and if I compete in the shape I am in, I may be at great risk."

The 23-year-old will close his season with a race over the 200 metres at the World Athletics Final in Thessaloniki, Greece this weekend.

He was scheduled to run 100m races in Shanghai on 20 September and in Daegu on 25 September but was forced to cancelled this Asian trip because of some tired legs which has been on the road since July 1.

The Shanghai Golden Grand Prix would have been Bolts first race back in China since his history making three gold medals and three world record performances at last years Olympic Games in Beijing, and he apologized to the fans for his absence.

"I know the Chinese fans will be disappointed, but I beg your understanding as I return home to rest and be prepared for next years exploits," he said. "I thank all of you for your support and I look forward to coming to China next year," he added.

Jamaica U-19's take first innings

July 22, 2008
Started By Chabee2 Comments

Responding to Jamaica's first innings overnight declaration score of 354 for nine declared at the Yorkshire Sports Club, Guyana tumbled to 214 all out, as off-spinner Blackwood and West Indies Under-15 leg-spinner Nelson both returned identical figures of four for 52.

At stumps, the Jamaicans had built their overall lead to a beefy 187, closing at 47 for one with Nick Blackwood on 17 and Courtney Allen on one. Guyana's innings suffered a crushing middle- and lower-order collapse. Opener Trevon Griffith stroked 69, with 10 fours and a six in a 147-minute stay at the crease but the Guyanese lost their last six wickets for a mere 11 runs from 203 for five.

When play resumed yesterday, Guyana began their reply after Jamaica's overnight declaration and Griffith, who drove pacer Gifton Wray for two elegant off-side boundaries, added 27 runs in 52 minutes on a flat track with Royan Fredericks. Fredericks (10) looked very tentative in his 32-ball innings and was bowled by left-arm pacer Romeo Dunka as he played over a full delivery.

Griffith took the fight to the Jamaicans with positive stroke play. The 17-year-old left-hander drove the pacers commandingly through the covers and disdainfully swept off-spinner Andre Creary for six as he dominated a 37-run stand with Jeetendra Sookdeo, who made 16.

Sookdeo looked uneasy against Nelson and after being befuddled by a succession of googlies from the 14-year-old, the left-hander edged a ball that bounced and spun away from him to slip and Guyana were 64 for two after the 50 was posted in 17.2 overs.

Exquisite boundaries

Jamaica batted enterprisingly at the start of their second innings with Nick Blackwood smashing Joseph for two fours and West Indies Under-19 right-hander Horace Miller thumping Heyliger for a four, a six and two more exquisite boundaries off successive balls.

Miller then, disappointingly, crashed the last delivery of the eventful over straight to cover as Heyliger made the break through at 40 for one in the seventh over. Miller's 26 lasted 23 balls and included four fours and a six.

KINGSTON, Jamaica (AP) Four Jamaican runners who had acknowledged using a banned substance have been suspended from track and field for three months.

The suspensions for Yohan Blake, Lansford Spence, Marvin Anderson and Allodin Fothergill took effect immediately after Monday's sentencing hearing assembled by Jamaica's Sports Ministry.

The four had admitted to taking a banned stimulant before Jamaica's National Championships in June. A disciplinary panel had initially cleared them, but that ruling was appealed by the Jamaica Anti-Doping Commission.

The athletes and their attorneys were not willing to comment on the outcome.

Last month, defense attorney Lincoln Eatmon said his clients acknowledged guilt to avoid a "lengthy, expensive battle."

-- Edited by keiton on Thursday 20th of August 2009 02:01:21 PM

-- Edited by keiton on Thursday 20th of August 2009 02:03:54 PM

-- Edited by keiton on Thursday 20th of August 2009 02:07:37 PM
Arsene Wenger says new Manchester City signing Emmanuel Adebayor was driven out of Arsenal by the fans.

He said: "We have lost a great player and we wish him well. He's done extremely well for the club. I don't believe that last season he got enough support. That was playing a part in my mind and in his mind, certainly, as well.

"I believe he wanted to do well but he didn't find the confidence he had the season before. There was a little resentment you could feel through last summer.

"Believe me, he's a great player and he'll show that again at Manchester City.

"Big clubs lose big players. Milan have lost Kaka and Milan will go on. Arsenal have always lost players and continued at the top level."
source:Africanunion

Fab: I could be a Gunner for life

November 23, 2009
Started By DJ Xlash3 Comments

CESC FABREGAS has hinted he could stay at Arsenal for LIFE.

The Arsenal skipper admits his name will be constantly linked with Barcelona during the club's presidential election campaign.

But Fabregas, 21, is determined to help the Gunners get back on track following Saturday's 1-0 defeat at Sunderland.

cesc_fabregas_380652a.jpg

Fergie eyes Argie wonderkid

November 24, 2009
Started By DJ Xlash3 Comments

MANCHESTER UNITED manager Alex Ferguson has set his sights on River Plate wonderkid Daniel Villalva.

The 17-year-old striker has caught Fergie's eye despite making just six first-team appearances.

Argentine Villalva has scored two goals in his brief professional career and has already represented his country at Under-17 level.

But the man nicknamed 'Keko' is refusing to get carried away with the Red Devils' interest in him.

He said: "I am calm about my future and will not let things go to my head about a move to Europe.

"I'm happy to continue playing at River Plate and want to help them become champions."

DanielVillalva_2379711.jpg
«First  <  1226 227 228 229 230524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by