A quantity of ammunition was reportedly seized at "Big Yard", off Mannings Hill Road in St Andrew by the Constant Spring police yesterday.
Popular deejay Vybz Kartel is known to make reference to the community in a number of his songs.
Deputy Superintendent Altermoth 'Parro' Campbell, crime chief for the St Andrew North police, told THE STAR, however, that Kartel was not present at the time of the seizure.
According to police reports, about 4:40 a.m., police on patrol in the area saw a group of men exiting the premises.
Their actions reportedly aroused the suspicions of the lawmen.
The police tried to accost the men but they ran, leaving behind a bag containing two M-16 magazines, each loaded with thirty 5.56 cartridges.
The police are continuing their investigations but say the identity of the men who fled the scene are not known.
The premises was also raided earlier this week and a number of men were taken into custody. They were, however, subsequently released.
DSP Campbell said the seizure was a result of the continued presence of the police throughout the area.
"Our intense presence in the area led to this seizure ... . We have been maintaining both mobile and foot patrols and we will continue to do so," DSP Campbell promised.
Accused Cop Killer Crying In Court! Says He Can t Take Jail, Asks The Judge To Kill Him LOL
]What on earth happened to Charlie Sheen's car?
The actor's stolen Mercedes was found overturned hundreds of feet down a cliff near his Sherman Oaks, Calif., home early Friday, and police say there's no evidence anyone was in the car when it went into the ravine.
A Bentley was later found off the same road nearby Friday afternoon, and police said three other cars were broken into in the same area. Police were investigating whether the incidents were linked.
Police got an emergency call about 4 a.m. from an alert system that notifies emergency officials when there is a problem with a vehicle, Officer Wendy Reyes told the AP. About the same time, Sheen called police to report the theft, Officer Bruce Borihanh said.
Police and firefighters found the car 300 to 400 feet down a cliff, upside-down in a brushy ravine. They searched on foot and with an infrared-equipped helicopter but found no one.
No charges will be filed in Michael Jackson's death until Monday, a Los Angeles district attorney's spokesman said Friday. Attorneys for Conrad Murray say they expect the Houston cardiologist to be charged with one count of involuntary manslaughter for administering drugs to Jackson before his death June 25.
Like nearly everything surrounding Jackson's death, timing of the charges -- and whether Murray will be allowed to surrender -- has become a spectacle.
Murray's legal team has been negotiating with prosecutors, attempting to arrange his surrender for arraignment, his representative told the Associated Press. The negotiations derailed after law enforcement officials said they wanted to arrest him.
"What's the holdup? To us this is showmanship, and we are just done," his rep said. "We know he's going to be charged with involuntary manslaughter, and we are ready with a counter-argument. . . . He's not guilty."
Attempt to change residents from PNP leads to war
A dispute between two cousins aligned to different political parties is being blamed for an ongoing feud in Lakes Pen, Spanish Town, St Catherine.
Rival thugs from the community are now locked in a heated dispute as a new gang attempts to get residents to switch political allegiance, THE STAR has learnt.
This residents said this is the truth behind the heightened tension in the community in recent times and not a conflict over sand mining as reports which surfaced in the media last week claimed.
"A nuh nuttin bout no sand, di man weh dem a talk bout a do him sand business long time ... Di man dem a try switch the place from PNP to JLP and a dat a di real issue," a 25-year-old male resident who strongly requested anonymity explained to THE STAR.
Residents said the new gang is playing the role of aggressor while members of the Clansman gang, which is known to 'govern' the community, is surprisingly trying to peacefully work things out.
Investigations by THE STAR found that late last year, the reputed leader of the community was approached by his cousin who suggested that the two work together in switching the community's alignment with the People's National Party to that of the Jamaica Labour Party.
cowering in fear
The gesture was declined, resulting in the current rift, which so far has claimed the life of 38-year-old Marlene Wright, but has many cowering in fear as there has been reports of sporadic gunfire since then.
"Di news did have it seh a two woman dead roun' ya but a just one woman ... We a fret seh more people a guh dead cause di new youth dem naw back down ... Di Clansman dem a seh dem nuh inna nuh war ting and wi glad fi dat cause if dem fi get mad wi know how it go," a 36-year-old resident said. "A di first mi si di clans dem a easy so, man a fire shot afta dem a night time and dem just a easy ... Di police dem need fi do someting before dem get mad ..."
A well-respected member of the community and member of the Clansman gang, confirmed the residents' claims with THE STAR.
"Look how long we a live wid di Clansman system and we neva have no problem, no rape, no robberies and no extortion, so why we a guh change," the respected community figure questioned.
He said the original thugs from the community are trying their best to keep away from an all-out war.
"Right now di yute dem nuh deh pon dat, a war and violence di new yute dem want but wi naw go deh so ... Wi want di people and di police dem fi know seh a so it go cause if di war start yu a guh hear seh a Clansman dem a cause it," he said.
The St Catherine North and Area 5 police have heard of the situation but cannot confirm it.
"It is something we heard and are looking into ... However, whatever personal difference they may have is not really our concern ... Our concern is that the law is being broken and we have to keep things in order ... We will continue to maintain a strong presence in there and try to get things back to normal," Detective Corporal Kenneth Gayle of the Area 5 police told THE STAR.Roxroy McLean, Star Intern
As they go in search of establishing careers in music, female artistes say they are sometimes approached for sexual favours in order to guarantee their advancement in the industry. However, the women say that degradng one's self to get ahead should not be done.
For most upcoming female artistes, trading sexual intercourse for public recognition is what some male producers, promoters and engineers have guaranteed them, and should they fail to oblige, an immediate stall would be placed on their careers.
But, veteran deejay Lady G believes that it is degrading for women to throw themselves around with popular male figures in order to climb the musical ladder.
Born Janice Fyffe, Lady G told THE STAR, that it's easy for a female to detect the actions of males, who are only in it (music) for sexual pleasures
"You can tell which one is like that, without them saying a thing to you. Just by their actions, you'll sense what their true intentions are," Lady G said, while noting that certain females must also take responsibility.
"You have some females who will flirt and once that happens, you immediately send the wrong message. It's a natural thing for men to approach women on a sexual basis; it happens everywhere," she said.
Lady G, who has previously collaborated on several tracks with other male artistes, said she has no problem with two individuals getting personally involved, but she wouldn't consciously find herself in that kind of situation.
"I can understand if it's one partner. But, if she's going to throw herself around, there will be no respect. I myself wouldn't get involved in that situation," she said.
With just over a year in the business, dancehall singjay Raine Seville says she has been approached by men for sex.
career boosts
Seville, who was publicly introduced as DASECA'S first lady in 2008, has experienced a steady growth in her career. She admits that she has been approached by many of her male counterparts.
"Yea there are people in the industry who have tried after me but not necessarily promising me a career boosts," she said.
Seville agreed with Lady G's theory, saying that a woman who gets involved in such acts is of a low character.
"In my opinion, I think that they are weak and desperate. The ones doing it make it bad for us, and people will believe that every woman is like that," she said.
Popular music producer, Cordel 'Scatta' Burrell, confirmed that there are cases where males in the industry have promised female artistes advancement in their careers, if they were willing to interact with them on sexual terms.
"It does exist," he said. "There are always two sides to a story. If you know how to stand and hold your ground it will be better for you as a female. But, if someone wants to trade sex for the advancement of your career, then you can use that as a sign to know that that person isn't genuine," he said.
It is often the perception that a female artiste's hopes of getting public attention in an industry dominated by males, relies on lewd lyrics and raunchy displays. 'Queen of Dancehall' Lady Saw started out her career displaying a more bawdy character, and it propelled her to the top. Now, there are several other female artistes who seek to follow in her footsteps.
According to Burrell, this can be detrimental to the respect a female gets, because if she displays such a character, she is more likely to be targeted and preyed upon by her male counterparts.
"Females need to know that if they come off raunchy then they'll face these experiences. Often times men appraise you with the character of your lyrics," he said.
According to police reports a team of police were patrolling the area when they saw a group of men acting suspicious, the law men immediately advanced towards the men who ran leaving a bag behind which had two fully loaded M-16 magazines.
The Deejay of The Year Vybz Kartel was nowhere near the premises during the time of raid.
This will be the second raid in one since the start of the week.
VATICAN CITY - "Avatar" is wooing audiences worldwide with visually dazzling landscapes and nature-loving blue creatures. But the Vatican is no easy crowd to please.
The Vatican newspaper and radio station are criticizing James Cameron's 3-D blockbuster for flirting with the idea that worship of nature can replace religion a notion the pope has warned against. They call the movie a simplistic and sappy tale, despite its awe-inspiring special effects.
"Not much behind the images" was how the Vatican newspaper, L'Osservatore Romano, summed it up in a headline.
As the second highest-grossing movie ever, "Avatar" is challenging the record set by Cameron's previous movie "Titanic."
Generally it has been critically acclaimed and is touted as a leading Oscar contender.
Bolivia's first indigenous president, Evo Morales, has praised "Avatar" for what he calls its message of saving the environment from exploitation. But the movie also has drawn a number of critical voices. Some American conservative bloggers have decried its anti-militaristic message; a small group of people have said the movie contains racist themes.
To Vatican critics, the alien extravaganza is just "bland."
Cameron "tells the story without going deep into it, and ends up falling into sappiness," said L'Osservatore Romano. Vatican Radio called it "rather harmless" but said it was no heir to sci-fi masterpieces of the past.
Most significantly, much of the Vatican criticism was directed at the movie's central theme of man vs. nature.
L'Osservatore said the film "gets bogged down by a spiritualism linked to the worship of nature." Similarly, Vatican Radio said it "cleverly winks at all those pseudo-doctrines that turn ecology into the religion of the millennium."
"Nature is no longer a creation to defend, but a divinity to worship," the radio said.
Vatican spokesman the Rev. Federico Lombardi said that while the movie reviews are just that film criticism, not theological pronouncements they do reflect Pope Benedict XVI's views on the dangers of turning nature into a "new divinity."
Benedict has often spoken about the need to protect the environment, earning the nickname of "green pope." But he also has balanced that call with a warning against turning environmentalism into neo-paganism.
In a recent World Day of Peace message, the pontiff warned against any notions that equate human beings with other living things in the name of a "supposedly egalitarian vision." He said such notions "open the way to a new pantheism tinged with neo-paganism, which would see the source of man's salvation in nature alone, understood in purely naturalistic terms."
The pope explained in the message that while many experience tranquillity and peace when coming into contact with nature, a correct relationship between man and the environment should not lead to "absolutizing nature" or "considering it more important than the human person."
The Vatican newspaper occasionally likes to comment in its cultural pages on movies or pop culture icons, as it did recently about "The Simpsons" or U2. In one famous instance, several Vatican officials spoke out against "The Da Vinci Code."
In this case, the reviews came out after a red-carpet "Avatar" preview held in Rome just a stone's throw from St. Peter's Square. The movie which has made more than $1.3 billion at box offices worldwide, partly boosted by higher 3-D ticket prices will be released Friday in Italy.
"So much stupefying, enchanting technology, but few genuine emotions," said L'Osservatore in one of three articles devoted to "Avatar" in its Sunday editions. The plotline of aliens who live on a distant unspoiled planet and the humans who want to pillage their resources is a universal theme that can be reminiscent of past colonizations and wars, the paper said. As such, it is easy to relate to it, but also unoriginal.
"Everything is reduced to an overly simple anti-imperialistic and anti-militaristic parable," it said.
In America, the big numbers and media hype have been accompanied by some controversy.
Blog posts, newspaper articles, tweets and YouTube videos have criticized the film, with some calling it "a fantasy about race told from the point of view of white people" and that it reinforces "the white Messiah fable." Cameron says the real theme is about respecting others' differences.
An LA Times blog noted that the movie "has inflamed the passions of right-wing bloggers and pundits."
"Cameron incensed many voices on the right by acknowledging of-the-moment messages about imperialism, greed, ecological disregard and corporate irresponsibility," it said. Anti-smoking lobbies have denounced the cigarette-puffing character played by Sigourney Weaver.
Back at the Vatican, the reviews did praise the groundbreaking visuals of the movie.
Vatican Radio said that "really never before have such surprising images been seen," while L'Osservatore said the movie's worth lies in its "extraordinary visual impact."
Gyptian ... to be touring so much and getting so many performance requests is something overwhelming. - Photos by Roxroy McLean
Reggae artiste Gyptian was his usual down-to-earth self when he spoke recently with The Gleaner, promoting his latest singles.
The conscious-thinking reggae singer, born Windel Edwards on October 25, 1983, hopes to revive his name in fans' consciousness after completing a lengthy European and African tour. And with the release of Life Hard, Jah Jah World and Hold You, which have been getting reasonable airplay, the 27-year-old believes it's the start of a new stage in his career.
"There's a lot of difference in me now. First, there is maturity and the music I produce is positive music," said the singer, who hails from Portmore, St Catherine.
Major hits
In 2005 he scored two major hits in Is There A Place on the Seasons Rhythm and Serious Times, the latter especially earning him immediate public attention. Gyptian has since then carried out his musical works in the same vein and made an even greater impression on his listeners with Mama Don't Cry and Beautiful Lady.
"I have been around and know that music is the strongest thing around. How I know that music is powerful? Look where it has brought me. Music did all of this, it brought everything," he said.
For the past three years, Gyptian has toured places such as Africa, England, France and several Caribbean islands. He also released his first album, My Name Is Gyptian, in September 2006 on VP Records. In October 2008 he released his second full-length set I Can Feel Your Pain.
Early in his career, though, Gyptian had signalled his potential with the release of his lovers rock track, You Never Know. "I always knew music was my thing," said the singer, who'll be releasing his third album (not yet named) within the next two months.
Overwhelmed
Gyptian
Gyptian, who was nominated for Best New Entertainer at the 2006 International Reggae and World Music Awards, said he was humbled when he reflected on his career. "Honestly, to be touring so much and getting so many performance requests is something overwhelming. It don't seems real at times," he told The Gleaner.
"When I'm here, it's like I'm on vacation because of the reception I get overseas. The road nice yes, but it's totally different here in Jamaica. Sometimes you wonder if it's here the music make," he added.
Gyptian said he's set to go on another European tour to promote his upcoming album.It's been almost three months since 13-year-old Shanoya Davis died from rheumatic fever, yet her body is still at the morgue - unburied.
This is not for a lack of family or loved ones, however, this case is simple - Shanoya's family cannot afford to bury her.
The teenager's distraught and visibly distressed mother, Monica Morgan, told THE STAR her daughter, the youngest girl of her nine children, has yet to receive her final farewell, because the family is having tremendous difficulties footing the related expenses.
She told THE STAR, "I am a single mother. I bring di money to di parlour, jus' how I get it." She said friends and relatives have helped her by contributing $2000 or $3000 here and there and so far she has paid off the funeral cost of $100,000. The problem, however, is the storage fee.
The undertaker, she said, was very sympathetic towards her, but said she had to pay the storage fee before her daughter could be buried, as the area used for storage does not belong to him. This fee is $66,000. "I don't know where else to turn," said Morgan. "So I just came to seek some assistance. Where the body is stored, the undertaker is being pressured. Right now, I'm diabetic and my little son have sickle cell and none a wi nuh go clinic from dis happen. I jus' cyaan get di space to do it."
two weeks in hospital
Morgan said her daughter had spent two months and two weeks in hospital before passing away and explained that the condition had caused problems with two of the valves in her heart. She said since her daughter's death, she has lost the motivation to do her usual activities, therefore losing out on possible income. "I used to go country and get ackee and so and sell, but I just don't have di strength. I can't even sleep at nights," she said.
Through tears, she said her daughter was quite conscious in the moments before she passed away and even tried to hug her, though her arms were too weak to manage. She told THE STAR that of all her children, Shanoya, "a di only one fi siddung an seh mummy mi love yu." She said they were extremely close because "she is a slow learner, so she always waan deh near mi an so."
She said the undertaker has urged her to try to get her daughter buried by Sunday and she would love to see this happen. "I'm appealing for some help to finish burying my 13-year-old daughter," she said, " anything that anyone can give me."
Anyone willing to help may contact Morgan at 590-8064 or THE STAR at 932-6271.ALCOA, Tennessee (AP): The son of a well-known Alcoa pastor in Alcoa, Tennessee, United States of America, has taken out an order of protection against his father, claiming he was threatened with a gun during an argument at a church over his lack of church attendance. The order of protection was filed by 32-year-old Michael Louis Colquitt against 60-year-old Joe Colquitt, pastor of St John Missionary Baptist Church. The younger man told police his father pulled out a handgun when they met at the church to discuss church attendance. He told officers his father pointed the gun at him and threatened to kill him, his wife and family. Joe Colquitt declined to comment when contacted by The Daily Times of Maryville. A February 4 hearing was set in Blount County General Sessions Court. |
THE Jamaican Government has begun to withdraw aid workers from Haiti, citing its inability to financially sustain relief operations in the earthquake-ravaged Caribbean nation.
But last night secretary general of the Caribbean Community (Caricom), Edwin Carrington said the secretariat was not officially informed about Jamaicas pull-out from Haiti.
Both Carrington, who was finalising arrangements for another follow-up Caricom humanitarian mission to the devastated Haiti, as well as head of the Caribbean Disaster and Emergency Management Agency, Jeremy Collymore, told the Observer last night that they were in the dark about any planned decision by the Jamaican Government to pull out.
Daryl Vaz, the minister in charge of the information portfolio, told yesterdays post-Cabinet press briefing at Jamaica House in Kingston that the country had already spent close to $40 million on the Haitian relief efforts in the month of January alone.
The Ministry of National Security indicated that there would be a need to withdraw the troops out of Haiti, based on the cost of approximately $773,000 per day and the fact that up until now we havent been able to get any funding to (help carry out) this operation from international donor agencies, said Vaz.
We have done a remarkable job with the limited resources that we have in helping our sister nation during these last few weeks and based on constraints, of course which we are of all aware of, without any further funding we will not be in a position to sustain the operations that we have been carrying out there, he said.
He added that soldiers and all aid workers associated with Government would have to be recalled.
Some 59 members of the Jamaica Defence Force, including 11 officers, under the direction of Major Jamie Ogilvie, were stationed in the Haitian capital, Port-au-Prince up to last week. Also, 10 members of the Jamaica Fire Brigade and a team of 21 medical personnel, led by consultant orthopaedic surgeon Dr Derrick McDowell, have been dispatched to Haiti since the January 12 earthquake that is believed to have killed more than 150,000 people.
According to Vaz, Jamaica began withdrawing its relief team on Saturday and should complete this process by tomorrow. The minister said, however, that relief efforts would continue in terms of donations, with the Office of Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management continuing to send supplies to Haiti, including donations from civil society.
Vaz stressed that funds earmarked by Caricom immediately after the earthquake hit, were insufficient to sustain the Jamaican relief efforts.
I know that an initial amount, just when the catastrophe struck, was released... Since then, nothing has been forthcoming, he said. He was unable to immediately provide a dollar amount of the Caricom donation.
Carrington, meanwhile, said that while there continued to be some logistical problems in responding to specific needs, the reality was that Caricom in general remained committed, at varying levels, in responding to the immediate challenges to provide humanitarian aid to Haiti.
He mentioned, among committed financial assistance, those of Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana of US$1 million each, plus the numerous responses in basic needs like food, medicine, potable water, and clothing, being provided by various member states of the Community, amid ongoing assessments on other requirements.
It was not immediately clear last night if the committed financial assistance from Trinidad and Guyana had been handed over.
Both Carrington and Collymore said that they were unaware of any official complaints from Jamaican authorities about the claimed lack of Caricoms commitment to work with Prime Minister Bruce Goldings administration since Kingston had been identified as the focal point for the Communitys response to the horrific Haitian earthquake disaster.
There is no question on our part, said Carrington, of the firm commitment of the regional grouping to work as closely as possible with the Government of Jamaica in our shared concerns and collective efforts to help ease the pain and devastation in Haiti.
Carrington added that as far as he was aware, Caricom and the Golding administration remained fully engaged with respect to treating Jamaica as the primary hub for the regions responses to Haitis needs.
Teenage middle-distance track sensation and national junior representative Waquar DaCosta has been suspended from Jamaica College (JC) for wearing pants that were too tight.
In an email sent to THE STAR, a group identifying themselves as 'Concerned Parent Group' detested the move, calling the school's action against DaCosta and others - who they say were sent home for wearing white undershirts, as draconian.
suspended
A section from the email read: "There is no doubt that discipline needs to be maintained, especially among our young men, but when the captain of the track team is being suspended on the grounds of his pants being too tight, and students who are preparing for Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) (test) are being suspended for 10 days for revealing white tank tops under their uniform shirts, and others are being taken out of class all day for issues that should be secondary when it comes to preparation for final exams, such behaviour have left parents fuming."
Further in the article, the writer asked if a 'warning' could not have sufficed in the case of Dacosta, and raised the question of whether: "the future of students (should) be sacrificed under the guise of discipline, especially when the issues in question so far all seem to be frivolous?"
But JC principal Ruel Reid said parents and students have an obligation to comply with the rules of the school, especially in an area such as the proper school uniform, one which has been addressed countless times.
"We have a zero tolerance to indiscipline in any shape or form. We are resolute that discipline will be maintained," Reid said.
an influential figure
Reid said Dacosta was told that he was an influential figure on the compound and his disobeying of the no tight pants clause in the rule book would cause others to squeeze into theirs as well. As for the matter of the 10-day suspensions, the school head said no student was suspended solely for their white tank tops being exposed, "but the disrespect that they showed to the Dean of Discipline when they were approached about it."
"If you are going to represent Jamaica College you must do so with dignity, decorum and discipline," Reid said. "We are not of the view that because you are a star you are untouchable."Forty-three-year-old Diane Getfield Martin, a female bus driver, is being hailed a hero today after she managed to avert a potential major disaster in Half-Way Tree yesterday.
Driving a bus owned by the Jamaica Urban Transit Company (JUTC) that got out of control, Martin crashed the runaway vehicle into a wall at Park Plaza along Constant Spring Road less than 100 metres from the JUTC depot. Two persons were reportedly injured, and a car smashed, as the bus ploughed across the roadway, through a guard rail and stone wall, before slamming into the Park Plaza building a few metres to the left of a Mother's fast-food outlet.
"It seemed to have been a brake problem," said JUTC spokesman Reginald Allen. "She followed her training and advised the passengers to get down and found a good place to bank the bus. She put herself at greater risk to protect the passengers."
Allen said Martin, who has been a JUTC driver for three years, is to be commended by the bus company for her efforts.
The incident began to unfold shortly before 9 a.m. when the bus, in the extreme right lane, was heading along Constant Spring Road in the direction of the HWT terminus. As the bus approached the vicinity of the Pavilion Mall, it seemed to speed up, eyewitnesses said, and hit some railings protecting the sidewalk in front of the mall.
It rushed past the mall and veered towards the Total service station that was now in its path. "I was standing right here (inside the food mart) when I saw the bus hit a woman and break her leg, and then swerve away and crossed the road," said an attendant at the station. He added that he was preparing to run, because it seemed as if the bus was heading into the service station. Several gas pumps were in its path.
By this time, Martin was standing and gripping the steering wheel tightly, trying to regain control of the white behemoth that was careening out of control. She managed to force the bus away from the gas station and, as it veered across three lanes, it hit a Toyota Corona spinning it around and then lurched towards the Park Plaza wall, tearing away a portion of a stone column at the exit gate.
A Yummy bakery delivery truck, being driven by a man who identified himself as Errol, was just backing out when the bus rumbled through. It missed the delivery truck by mere centimetres before colliding with the concrete wall, breaking away pieces of it.
"I think it lick me," Errol said, the relief evident in his tired-looking eyes.
People said they could hear Martin screaming as the bus rushed towards the wall. An eyewitness, Wayne, who said he was among several persons who helped her from behind the wheel, relayed that she complained of pains to her chest and foot. Allen said from his reports she was also bleeding. She was taken to hospital but has since been released and is home on medication.
With the front of the bus crumpled against the wall and the Corona with its trunk crushed a few metres away, a large crowd converged to witness the drama.
Allen said that any compensation for damages would be made after a team of investigators submitted their findings to the JUTC legal department. He did not give a timeline for the process.
As the wrecked bus was being hauled away to the examination depot, where experts are going to try to determine what caused the mechanical failures that led to the accident, a pedestrian who had witnessed it all, started to curse loudly. He said some 'long-sleeved' JUTC employees were claiming that Martin was not skilled enough, which was why she crashed. This ticked him off, he said, because based on what he saw she was both very skilled and very brave. "If she neva do what she do, the bus woulda run inna the gas station and the whole a Half-Way Tree would a blow up," he said.
Two special constables, male and female, were arrested by the Anti-Corruption Branch (ACB) on Saturday on reasonable suspicion of breaching the Corruption Prevention Act.
Allegations are that on Thursday, January 28, the male special constable seized a quantity of illegal compact diskettes from a dealer in Morant Bay. The dealer was taken to a police station but not prosecuted.
On Friday, January 29, the woman special constable solicited the sum of $15,000 from the dealer for the male special constable and herself.
The ACB then received information of the arrangements and a sting operation was carried out during which the special constables were arrested.
Both are now in police custody. A case file is being prepared for a ruling by the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions.Alliance Crew gives it to fans twice a week | |||
Krista Henry, Staff Reporter
The Alliance crew is keeping close to fans with two weekly street dances: the new Alliance Happy Thursdays and the resurrected Bounty Sundays. Led by veteran deejay Bounty Killer the Alliance consists of members such as Mavado, Flexxx, Einstein, Bling Dawg, Serani, Chase Cross, Busy Signal, among others. Alliance Happy Thursdays has been held every Thursday, at the No Limits Sports Bar on Hillview Avenue, since November last year. Bounty Sundays is held every Sunday at Limelight, in Half-Way Tree, and was launched last Sunday. When The STAR spoke with Alliance PR representative, Julian Jones-Griffith, he said that both dances were started as a means of maintaining the Alliance fan base. He said, "me and Bounty had been thinking for a while to start a weekly event, because the Alliance fan base is so strong and we were looking around for a suitable venue. And because we travel a lot, weeks went by and we never locked it in. Then Kartel started his thing in The Building which just happened to be on Thursdays, too. So, we just left it alone because we didn't want to make it look like we were just starting a ting on Thursday because they were, we honestly had the idea for months."
launch According to Jones-Griffith, however, Alliance fans were left with nothing to do on a Thursday night and after the launch of Flexxx's Fresh video at the same venue on a Thursday, Alliance Happy Thursdays was launched. Bounty Sundays lived a short life-span back in 2008, in Majesty Gardens, when the police decided not to grant permits for the dance, as well as its rival, Beenie Tuesdays. According to an article in The STAR, reports surfaced that Beenie Tuesdays and Bounty Sundays caused disagreements between men from the top of the community, where Bounty Sundays are held, and the lower section which holds Beenie Tuesday. At the time, Senior Superintendent Derrick 'Cowboy' Knight, head of the St. Andrew South Division, said, "We are not granting any permission for none of them...That is going to cause conflict and we have to step on conflict because conflict leads to crime." Jones-Griffith spoke about the re-start of the dance saying, "Bounty Sundays started again because of demand; also, as you know, there is a huge disconnect between people who want to party and the police enforcing the cut-off time. So Bounty Sundays was always battling with that, and it gets frustrating, so we decided to take it to Limelight on Sundays. This is a licensed entertainment venue where the party will be able to continue without falling foul of that legal restriction." According to Jones-Griffith, the event is not about only Alliance music, and tries to be cost-efficient when it comes to drinks and entry. It also provides a safe partying environment. As for fans, he says they can feel free to talk to their stars saying, "despite popular belief Bounty is a people person, and the Alliance members too." |
The St Catherine North police are investigating the murder of a 33-year-old labourer who is said to be an area don and a member of the One Order gang.
Alkirk Thompson, of St Johns Road, Spanish Town, St Catherine, was shot and killed in the community last evening after he went to meet with someone.
The Spanish Town police reported that about 6:20 p.m., Thompson, who is also called 'Birdie', was at home when he went to talk to someone. Explosions were heard and after a check was carried out, he was found suffering from gunshot wounds.
The police searched the scene for forensic evidence.
Since the start of the year 13 persons have been killed in the St Catherine North police division.
(AllHipHop News) A judge has sentenced popular rapper Soulja Boy to a year of probation over an October 2009 incident in Henry County, Georgia.
The rapper was among a group of about 40 people who were shooting a video in an abandon house.
When police officers arrived to investigate complaints in the area, the group of people assembled fled on foot.
Soulja Boy born DeAndre Cortez Way, was arrested and sent to the Henry County Jail, but was quickly bonded out.
The rapper admitted to the charges in court earlier this week and was sentenced to 12 months probation and given a $1,000 fine.
The arrest hasnt slowed Soulja Boy down over the past year.
He is currently working on a book titled Teenage Millionaire, he recently wrapped up shooting on two movies with actor Nick Cannon and is producing tracks on Kanye Wests new album.
I produced a few songs for Kanyes album, Soulja Boy told AllHipHop.com. Its really special for me and I think its going to be really amazing. We were in the studio in Los Angeles. I did one track that I know people are going to go crazy over.
Information Minister Marie Laurence Lassegue's announcement came shortly after the five men and five women left a hearing at the prosecutor's office.
Under Haitian law, anyone accused of kidnapping a child is not eligible for bail, the attorney general's office said.
Conviction on the kidnapping charge carries a maximum penalty of life in prison; the criminal association charge carries a penalty of three to nine years, according to a former justice minister.
Prime Minister Jean-Max Bellerive told CNN's "Larry King Live" on Thursday night that the judge in the case has three months to decide whether to prosecute.
"We hope that he will decide long before those three months," he said. "He can release them, he can ask to prosecute them."
If a decision is made to prosecute, the case would be heard before a jury, he said.
Told that the families of the detained Americans had pleaded for him to intervene, Bellerive said he could not.
"Those people are not in the hands of the government; they are in the hands of justice," he said. "We have to respect the law. It is clear that the people violated the law. What we have to understand is if they did it in good faith."
Bellerive said the Haitian government was open to the possibility of the case being transferred to a U.S. court but said the request would have to come from the United States. "Until now, I was not asked," he said.
He expressed gratitude for the work of the vast majority of Americans who have helped in the aftermath of the January 12 earthquake that he said killed at least 212,000 people.
The Americans were turned back Friday as they tried to take the children across the border into the Dominican Republic without proper documentation. They said they were going to house them in a converted hotel in that country and later move them to an orphanage they were building there.
"We can confirm that the 10 American citizens remain in custody in Haiti," said State Department deputy spokesman Gordon Duguid. "We continue to provide appropriate consular assistance and to monitor developments in the legal case."
The Americans have said they were just trying to help the children leave the earthquake-stricken country.
Some of the detained Americans have said they thought they were helping orphans, but their interpreters said Wednesday that they were present when group members spoke with the children's parents. Some parents in a village outside Port-au-Prince said they had willingly given their children over to the Americans, who promised them a better life and who said they could see their children whenever they wanted to.
Government approval is needed for any Haitian child to leave the country, and the group acknowledged that the children had no passports.
Some members of the group belong to the Central Valley Baptist Church in Meridian, Idaho. One of the church's ministers asked for privacy and would not discuss the matter.
"I know you have many questions but we don't have answers right now," Drew Ham, assistant pastor, said in a note to reporters.
P.J. Crowley, a spokesman for the U.S. State Department, has said that U.S. officials have been given unlimited consular access to the Americans and that U.S. and Haitian authorities are "working to try to ascertain what happened [and] the motive behind these people.
"Clearly, there are questions about procedure as to whether they had the appropriate paperwork to move the children," he said Wednesday.
CNN's Karl Penhaul in Port-au-Prince, Dan Simon in Meridian, Ohio, and Jill Dougherty in Washington contributed to this report.
Mathew Knowles has been confirmed as the soon-to-be baby daddy of Alexsandra Wright's child, the woman who filed a paternity lawsuit against Bey's dad back in October.
Beyonce's mom, Tina Knowles reportedly knew about the pending beh-beh for "a couple of months" and doesn't even want DNA proof because Mathew already confessed to the affair.
Sources say Tina "particularly bitter" about it because the whole debacle is "so humiliating for her."
Poor Tina!
Looks like Nick Cannon has some more writing to do! According to reports, in a recent interview with DJ Whoo Kid, rapper Eminem confessed to having given ex-girlfriend and current enemy Mariah Carey at least one golden shower during their relationship. Says MediaTakeOut,
DJ Whoo Kid : I think Mariah Careys on line 12 [Eminem], do you wanna piss on her?
Eminem: I already did that
50 Cent: [Laughing] But that was a couple of years ago.
Do you think its true, or is Em still bitter about whatever happened between the two? Sounds like sour grapes to us.
UNO SHOULD A SHAME OF UNO DJ |
Written by Random | |
UNO SHOULD A SHAME OF UNO DJ- |
The good folks at NBC decided to have a special menu in order to celebrate Black History month, and when Questlove saw the menu he couldn't resist tweeting it questioning NBC's HR policies.
Not long after he would tweet the following:
Hopefully NBC won't take any actions against Questlove for his breaking the story, cause they were asking for it.
In other news NBC is currently hiring a new cafeteria staff..
XXL Reports:
Jay-Z has filed a suit against lenders he borrowed money from to develop a hotel in Manhattan.
The rap superstar is accusing Highland Capital Management LP and NexBank SSB of trying to bleed him for $3.7 million over a loan he took to build a new venture called the J Hotel, according to Reuters.
Hov reportedly bought the space at 511 West 21st Street back in August 2007 and took a $52 million senior loan, yet after the real estate market took a dive, Jay tried to give the land to the Highland
instead of going into foreclosure.
In a complaint filed, Jay said the investment firm didnt take the deal, causing him to pay a sizeable amount of interest fees on the loan along with carrying costs. This action arises out of the efforts by
defendants to bleed additional funds from [the] plaintiff, the
paperwork read. Defendants embarked on a bad faith course of conduct.
A new way for gay people in the Caribbean to communicate and meet up has been launched.
Rainbowvibes.com is described by its founders as "an online hub for Caribbean gay, lesbian, bisexual individuals living at home and overseas, in addition to the many others across the globe."
Matthew Raine, a gay Jamaican IT executive who lives in Canada and Andrea Rainford, a Jamaican lesbian marketing executive who lives on the island, created the site.
"The need was glaring and since it's something we craved ourselves and had the know how to get it done," explained Matthew.
"Our focus is on making the site it a fun,vibrant and meaningful destination online where our members are happy to spend time and tell their friends about it too.
"We're expecting it to do great things."
Matthew and Andrea said that "a good chunk of the funds generated" will be donated to Caribbean LGBT organisations.
The site has interactive similar to those on Facebook.
Members can create and join groups, add music, events, videos, chat, make friends, find dates, create and join discussions, write blogs and read news from the Caribbean and the World.
While Jamaica is notorious as for its homophobia, LGBT people face varying degrees of prejudice across the Caribbean region.
Sex between men in Jamaica is illegal, and punishable with up to ten years in jail, usually with hard labour.
Hatred for gay people is often publicly expressed by political and religious leaders in Jamaica.
Last month Prime Minister Bruce Golding told the BBC that he would not be granting gay people any rights and that he would not allow gay people to serve in his Cabinet.
"We're going to have to determine that for ourselves and we're going to have to determine to what extent those values will adapt over time to change; change in perception, change in understanding, as to how people live," he said.
A World Policy Institute survey on sexual orientation and human rights in the Americas said:
"In the Caribbean, Jamaica is by far the most dangerous place for sexual minorities, with frequent and often fatal attacks against gay men fostered by a popular culture that idolises reggae and dancehall singers whose lyrics call for burning and killing gay men."
Cassava Piece tense after murder
JamaicaObserver.com
Friday, February 05, 2010
A daring mid-afternoon murder yesterday has left sections of the volatile community of Cassava Piece in St Andrew tense.
The dead man has been identified as Dwight Pryce, also called Badda of Glen Drive, in the community.
Police say about 1:00 pm, Pryce was standing on a pathway when two men approached, brandished handguns and shot him repeatedly.
He died on the spot.
In recent weeks sections of Cassava Piece, which runs off Mannings Hill Road and is popularly called the Gully Side, have been experiencing an upsurge in gun violence and police report that rivals from the community are at loggerheads.
TROUBLED British singer Amy Winehouse is reportedly coming to Jamaica to finish her third album.
The Sun newspaper reported that Winehouse is due to fly out from London next week. The singer, who has publicly struggled with drink and drug addictions, is expected to stay for a fortnight.
She is understood to be under "strict instructions" from her record label to stick to the task in hand, reported The Sun. The newspaper quipped that it would advise the Jamaican High Commission to start stockpiling rum.