Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

BREAKING NEWS!!! FAMED DESIGNER ALEXANDER MCQUEEN KILLS HIMSELF!!! (DETAILS INSIDE)

1265905781mcqueen.jpg

February 11, 2010. MediaTakeOut.com just learned that people close to British designer Alexander McQueen have CONFIRMED that he committed SUICIDE. Here is the official statement:
Mr McQueen was found dead this morning at his home. We're devastated and I hope you understand that out of respect to his family and his colleagues we're not going to be making any further statement.

This occurs just DAYS before he was to have his work showcased at New York's Fashion Week and just a few WEEKS before his hometown of London's Fashion week.

It's not clear WHY he killed himself, but British newspaper The Daily Mail has some theories. Here's an excerpt from their report:
Posts on his Twitter page reveal he had been battling with grief after his mother died last Tuesday.

On February 3rd, he wrote: 'I'm letting my followers know the my mother passed away yesterday if it she had not me nor would you RIP mumxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx...

Moments later, he added: 'But life must go on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!'

Then on Sunday, he said: 'Sunday evening been a ****ing awful week but my friends have been great but now i have to some how pull myself together and finish with the HELLS ANGLES & PROLIFIC DEAMONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!'

He appeared to have recovered slightly by this week. His final message, posted on Tuesday, said: 'I'm here with my girl annie tinkerbell wishing kerry the ****,happy birthday in NY, your 40 now girl time to slow it down we think.'

However, posts before his mother died also hint that he was having troubles. On February 1st, he wrote: 'From heaven to hell and back again, life is a funny thing. beauty can come from the most strangest of places even the most disgusting places.'

Within minutes of the Mail breaking the news of his death this afternoon, Twitter was awash with thousands of stunned posts

-- Edited by Applezzzz on Friday 12th of February 2010 01:02:43 PM

OH MY!!! RAPPER CHINGY POSTS PICS OF HIMSELF ON THE WEB . . . AND DUDE AIN'T WEARING NOTHING BUT A PAIR OF DRAWERS!!!

1265983720chingy_hacked.jpg
WELL PPL ALWAYS A SAY DEM TIRED A GAZA AND GULLY, WAT OTHER HOT TOPIC CAN WE DISCUSS TO BRING VIBES TO THE CHAT

STARLEFT_1_PNNOGDJSpiceAM.jpg
Deejay Spice - Contributed

Promoter of Magnum's Follow the Arrow, Dexton Ennis says deejay Spice has 'chickened out' of performing on the show set for February 27 at the James Bond Beach in St Mary.

When THE WEEKEND STAR spoke to the promoter yesterday he called the female deejay, a "coward" saying that Spice was asking for an exorbitant amount of money to perform.

According to Ennis, Spice is charging more money to be on the show depending on whether lyrical rival Lisa Hyper is confirmed to perform - which she is.

He said, "we were discussing Spice being on the show and dem go round and round bout it, so she basicallychicken out. Dem give me a price but dem mus be joking and dem don't consult me up to now and Spice nah sey nutten to me."

According to Ennis, while he never spoke to Lisa Hyper personally, he believes she would be willing to clash and it is Spice that seems reluctant. He said, "I know Lisa Hyper didn't mention if Spice deh on di show like dere's some kind of fear."

When contacted Spice made it clear that she wouldn't be on the show if the price she asked for wasn't met. She said, "yuh can't want something if yuh can't pay for it. If yuh nuh have di money den a so, is not a friend ting, is abusiness mi a do. If him broke and don't have di money is not my fault."

fires musical shots

A clash between the two female deejays was a well anticipated one for fans after the two began exchanging lyrical barbs shortly after Sting last year. In the songs Sting AftermathDeath Sentence and The Truth, Lisa Hyper fires musical shots at Spice. Spice recorded one follow-up song which she believed said all she needed to say about Lisa Hyper called Draw Me Out.

Thus far, for this year's Follow The Arrow, there will be no clashes but Ennis doesn't believe this will distract from his show. Last year the battlefield was set as Ninja Man and Merciless faced off as well as KipRich and the Monster Hempire. Ennis said, "I don't believe we're confined as a clash show, it's a good show with good energy. If anytime an artiste called and sey dem waan clash so and so den we'll try to set it up."

The theme for the show this year will be '20/10' in commemoration of the new decade. The show will feature 10 of the leading artistes and 20 of the hottest artistes.

The top-ten artistes on the show include Bounty Killer, Vybz Kartel, Mavado, Assassin, Anthony B, Flippa Mafia, KipRich, Merciless and others. While the 20 hottest artistes include Hero, George Nooks, Josey Wales, Twin of Twins, Professor Nuts, Admiral Tibet, Louie Culture, Face, Macka Diamond, Ikaya, Tikki, Sophia Squire and others.

trinadiddy1.jpg

Wow...I Didn't Know That Diddy Was Into Thick Chicks Again...He's Been Linked To Slim Model Looking Females For A Minute...Maybe He's Steppin His A** Game Up For 2010...Or Maybe He's Just Giving Back To The Hood...lol...Trina Looks Like She's Definitely Ready To Show That Bad Boy A Good Time...Look At Her Enjoying The Moment...And Where The Hell Is Cassie?...Didn't She Go To Miami For The Super Bowl Too?...Ah Dammit Man...Maybe He'll Take Her To The All Star Game Next Week...That's If Trina Doesn't Have Him Saying..."Cassie Who?"...

trinadiddy2.jpg

LA Lewis who was once known as a graffiti artiste by many has finally come forth to prove that hes more than just a popular name without lyrics when he decided to face off with the then Mr. Goofy who has recently changed his name to Mr. G. A few weeks ago ZJ Liquid debut song by LA Lewiswhich might be the first time many are hearing a song from the "famous"LA Lewis.

Last week we present Lisa Hyper on the OutAroad Red Carpet this week it's the man himself LA Lewis. "I paid JA$70,000 for my suit and JA5, 800for my shoes. I bought chain in the UK for which I paid Ł3,000.

outaroad_redcarpet_la_lewis.jpg

outaroad_redcarpet_la_lewis1.jpg

outaroad_redcarpet_la_lewis2.jpg

Gaza Kim 0ut , Gaza Slim In!!!

February 10, 2010
Started By jubalson28 Comments

Since Gaza Kim's ignominous exit from the Portmore Empire, Gaza fans have been wondering about her replacement, Vanessa Bling
a.k.a Gaza Slim.

The singer has already recorded three songs since joining with the Empire late last week. She has a solo song called Mean Man, a
hard-hitting collaboration called Bedroom Bathroom with Sheba, and a highly touted combination with Vybz Kartel himself called 'When You Touch Me'.

Born Vawnessa Faddler, the 18 year-old grew up in the Lawrence Tavern community in St. Andrew. She attended Oberlin High where she concentrated on business-oriented subjects before graduating in 2008. While growing up, she attended the Grant Hill Pentecostal church in Lawrence Tavern where she participated in the church choir. She was also active in the high school choir, and once she left high school, she decided that she wanted to be a professional singer.

Interestingly, she recorded her first song, Only God Knows with the controversial comedic tag team of Twins of Twins two years ago. And now that she has joined the hottest crew in dancehall today, the Portmore Empire, her stocks are on the rise.

Asked how her parents felt about her joining the Empire, she responded:

"Well, they're proud of me, they feel I have the potential to make it."

She doesn't seem ruffled by the controversies that have rocked the Empire in recent weeks.

"I am here to do my thing to the best of my ability and to hopefully learn and improve and become a better singer," she said.

Asked what she could bring to the Portmore Empire, she laughed and remarked:

"Well, I can write my own songs and I have my own unique flavour, the world will soon see that."

Vybz Kartel christened her Gaza Slim because of her thin waist line, and petite bone structure.

"I like the name very much. The first time I heard it, I laughed, then it just kind of grew on me...I always smile when I hear it called."

STARRIGHT_1_P6MCMYLTomCAM.jpgSTARRIGHT_1_PSGFKCameroAM.jpg
( l - r ) Tom Cruise, Cameron Diaz - Contributed

The recent filming of the movie 'Knight and Day' starring Hollywood megastars Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz, in Jamaica has reportedly earned the island a whopping J$135 million.

Knight and Day which was previously known as Witchita, is produced by 20th Century Fox and co-stars Paul Dano, Peter Sarsgaard, Viola Davis, Olivier Martinez, Maggie Grace and Mark Blucas and directed by James Mangold. According to a release sent to THE STAR from the Ministry of Industry, Investment & Commerce, Jamaica earned some J$135-M in investments from the just-concluded film.

Pivotal sections of the motion picture were shot at Frenchman's Cove in Portland between February 1 - 5, with a film crew of some 200 local and foreign persons. The film was also shot in Boston, Spain and Austria.

attracting high-impact film

Making the announcement at a press conference yesterday morning, Minister of Industry, Investment & Commerce Karl Samuda said the five-day production was facilitated by Jamaica Trade and Invest, formerly JAMPRO, as part of its mandate to attract high-impact film investments and affirm Jamaica's position as a premier filming destination.

Minister Samuda said he was particularly happy that 20th Century Fox had chosen Jamaica for this segment of the movie, as the investment underlines the value of this type of industry to the country. Jamaica Trade and Invest's facilitation of the film project included scouting locations, facilitating waivers and approvals, as well as VIP clearance. The film crew left the island on Saturday.

The film is tentatively scheduled for release in July of this year. According to www.loadedgunboston.comKnight and Day follows Cruise as a secret agent who pops in and out of the life of a single woman played by Diaz. It will mark the first time Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz have starred together on-screen since the 2001 film Vanilla Sky.

Yesterday, I received a call from an industry exec who responded to me questioning the delayed sentencing of convicted rapper Lil Wayne. The exec asked something like, What is Lil Wayne now, a Crip or a *lo**? Why was he wearing blue into court? Then he said hed heard that Weezy is getting death threats and he added, The Crips are waiting for him on the inside.

Rumors have swirled for years about Lil Waynes gang affiliation. The prevailing belief is that Wayne is not a member of any set but he associates mainly with the *lo**s.

It all makes sense if you recall this video that was shot in December 2008 showing Lil Waynes SUV surrounded by G Units 40 Glocc and about 30 snarling LA Crips.

According to the exec I spoke with, Lil Wayne has reason to fear for his life since hes been getting death threats from NY Crips: his affiliation with the *lo**s is well known. In a lyric from his A Millie Sold Remix, Wayne raps, yup I rep that beehive, red flag on my levis.

No one is happy to be entering the prison system, but Lil Wayne looks scared sh*tless in these pics taken of him yesterday. He looks downright shook. Is it any surprise that his attorney asked for a delay so Weezy could get dental work in Florida? Weezy and his attorneys have known about his teeth problems since last year. They had since October to get his teeth fixed.

So there has to be another reason for the 3 week delay.

Rikers Island, where Lil Wayne will call home for the next 8 months, has an equal number of Crips and *lo**s. But NY has seen more Crips migrating from the west coast. Is that why Lil Wayne wore blue to his hearing in December and again yesterday?

-- Edited by steppz on Wednesday 10th of February 2010 06:51:55 PM

KipRich tackles gossip in new song

February 10, 2010
Started By jubalson5 Comments

STARLEFT_1_PPH7GkipRichAM.jpg
KipRich - Contributed

Witty deejay KipRich has taken on the current 'suss' of the dancehall in his latest song, 'Yuh Nuh Hear'.

Stepping on a few corns, KipRich tackles the gossip that has been on everyone's lips and in the media in recent weeks. In the song, which was recorded for producer Baby G last week, KipRich takes on everything from the beating of artiste Gaza Kim, to Buju Banton's jail problems, Jah Cure's DNA scare and more.

In the song, KipRich acknowledges that he's not afraid of what anyone has to say and will speak his mind. In the song, which is often humorous, he deejays, "yuh nuh hear wha me hear Gaza Kim get beaten/ Lisa get kick out for the eaten/ Blak Ryno and Jah Vinci hold a likkle meeting and sey di money nah share even."

He adds, "Elephant and Flippa inna war, who science who/ mek who go car crash, mi know di argument contrary/Busy Signal nah sing no song to Gary/mek me self clear/ mi nuh care/cause everyting weh yuh hear me talk/a everything wah me hear."

When THE STAR spoke with KipRich he said the song was not meant in a bad way to his fellow artistes, nor has any of them come up to him saying they were offended by it. He said, "yeah done know a some things weh mi hear a talk 'bout, some tings large in di air, but people fraid to talk bout dem. Is tings weh mi hear but mi nuh fraid to talk bout. Is big in di streets but true me more outspoken me nah sey tingS behind people back and dem ting deh."

On www.youtube.com, persons have been commenting on the song loving the subject matter and the delivery. One person commented, "yo kippo maad, him can call up nuff man name and dem scared to reply ... and him put the Gary ting correct to."

Konshens new face of Mackeson

February 10, 2010
Started By jubalson5 Comments

STARRIGHT_1_P5D73KonMacJM.jpg
Konshens - File

Fast-rising star Konshens has signed on as the new face of Mackeson Stout for the next two years.

When The STAR spoke to the deejay recently he explained that he signed a regional endorsement deal with Mackeson, which entails doing advertisements, billboards and other branding as well as being a spokesperson. The ads that Konshens will be doing will be seen throughout Belize, Barbados, Guyana, Trinidad, St Kitts and Jamaica.

personality fit

"I did a couple of TV and radio ads for them last year and the response they got was good. My personality kinda fit well with their product and the direction they are going with it, so they contacted me to take it to another level, and my people and I thought it was a good look."

Sara Noel, regional export manager, Carib Brewery, said, "I am extremely proud and excited about the partnership between Mackeson and Konshens. He depicts the style and personality of a 'Mackeson Man'. I am very much looking forward to working with him across the region."

According to the artiste, an endorsement deal is good as a main part of being an artiste is the ability to 'sell' a product. He said, "this gives me an opportunity to grow in that area. I'm gonna be doing a series of charity events across the island and Mackeson will definitely be on board. The first one I have in mind is the upgrading of a youth club and after-school homework programme that some friends of mine started in Arnett Gardens. I went and saw it for myself and fell in love with the idea so you can look for that in coming weeks."

Konshens recently released the video for his song, Realest Song, which has been gaining a lot of attention in recent weeks. In the meantime, he said he is working on developing his label, SubKonshus Music, as well as putting power behind the careers of his brother Delus and deejay newcomer Darrio.

He added, "we're promoting Darrio's track, Eat Food, on the 'Bomb Drop' rhythm for Russian, and Delus' single on my label, Mek Dem Sorry, are gonna blow up soon. I'm working on the album and loads of singles, nuff shows and dem ting caw yuh know me haffi keep moving."

Amy Winehouse Sends For Blake

February 10, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma1 Comments
Amy Winehouse has invited ex-husband Blake Fielder-Civil to join her in Jamaica. The troubled star arrived on the Caribbean island on Monday (08.02.10) so she can finish her long-awaited third album, but friends of the 26-year-old singer are now concerned she won't get any work done now Blake is coming to stay. The 'Back to Black' singer is currently arranging flights for Blake - who was released from jail last February after serving time for grievous bodily harm (GBH) and attempting to pervert the course of justice - who had been ordered to stay in Britain until the end of this week to complete his drug treatment programme. Friends have tried talking her out of it - but at the moment she's more focused on work than she has been for ages A source told The Sun newspaper: "Amy and Blake want to spend some time together away from home where they have been governed by his curfew. "She is desperate for him to join her and, of course, he wants a nice holiday and some fun. Friends have tried talking her out of it - but at the moment she's more focused on work than she has been for ages."

STARRIGHT_1_P2XDAMavadoKM.jpg
Mavado - file

Mavado's Manager, Julian Jones-Griffiths, yesterday laid to rest rumours that the 'Gully Gad' was robbed in Canada on the weekend.

On Sunday, reports surfaced on the Internet that Mavado was robbed at a recording studio while doing some dubs in the country.

However, Jones-Griffiths denied those claims.

"I was sitting in a truck outside the studio. Three idiot ride up with a gun and tell me to wind down the window. When I did that, him grab mi laptop and mi phone and run off. No money, no jewels or nothing like that," he toldTHE STAR, while waiting to board his flight back to Jamaica yesterday.

laptop

"Dem have the gun and me see seh dem nah use it so mi just mek him gwaan wid it. I can buy another laptop. What's a laptop and a phone when I have life?"

At the time of the incident, he said, Mavado was inside the studio.

"No Mavado nothing. People been saying he was robbed 80 gran. Nothing like that," Jones-Griffiths said.

Since the incident occurred, he said some contact was made with the culprits for them to return the stolen items, "but dem just fraid fi meet wi," he said.

Along with Stacious, Mavado has been has on tour in Canada for almost two weeks.

But two years ago, Mavado was actually robbed while overseas. Serani was robbed of his jewellery, money and wallet in St Croix last year. Beenie Man's Rolex was stolen while in London in 2006.

http://johnjohnsaidit.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/lil-wayne-thumb1.png

As we reported this week, Lil Wayne's sentencing was delayed due to a tooth problem that he had to have surgery on before going to jail. Well his tooth has now been examined by a certified dentist and confirmed that it was a bad tooth. According to a 13 year veteren Dentist, Dr. Sherry Rudd a cracked tooth could lead to infections.
"He probably has a bad tooth, a tooth that's abscessed," Dr. Rudd explained in an interview. "With having all of [gold and diamond material] in his mouth, it's going to be really difficult to get clean because of all of the different crevices. I don't know if they're bridges or if they are all individual. But if it's going to be two weeks [from surgery to recovery], then I don't think he's going to get them all off, because of the potential damage. Without knowing what's exactly there, it's probably decayed and the decay got into the nerve, which causes the nerve to die.

If that's the case, a decaying tooth, which is possible given the rapper's reliance on Orajel, could be treated in a variety of ways."

Dr. Rudd said one such instance could be that Wayne receives antibiotics for up to a week to reduce the infection, to avoid it spreading. An abscess can infect the nerve and then drain into the surrounding gums, tissues and bone area, she said. Also, if the infection isn't properly treated prior to surgery, there can be complications with drainage into the throat area or even the eyes.

There are dentists in prison facilities who are capable of treating Wayne, she offered, but Rudd said since this is reportedly part of ongoing work Wayne reportedly has been having done, it's best to stick with his personal oral surgeon.
The full artist roster for the We Are The World 25 For Haiti) was unveiled yesterday (February 10) and a number of top rappers will be featured on the remake of the 1985 hit single.

Kanye West, Busta Rhymes, T-Pain, Lil Wayne, LL Cool J, Kid Cudi, Snoop Dogg, Nipsey Hussle, Fergie, Drake, will.I.am and Bone Thugs-N-Harmony are among the artists featured on the track, which was recorded in the same studio as the original version.

The world premiere of We Are The World 25 will take place during NBCs coverage of the opening ceremony during the 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympics tomorrow (February 12) at 7:30 PM EST.

"It warmed my heart to see that the experience during the recording of We Are The World 25 For Haiti embodied the same enthusiasm, sense of purpose and generosity as the original recording 25 years ago, Quincy Jones said in a statement. Every one of the artists who participated, regardless of genre or generation, walked into the room with their hearts and souls completely open to coming together to help the people of Haiti. Through the contributions of their voices to this new rendition of 'We Are The World,' and with the help of our partners, the We Are The World Foundation will be the most transparent not-for-profit foundation ever created."

Wyclef Jean executive produced the single along with Quincy Jones and Lionel Richie and a host of others, to benefit the Haitian earthquake relief efforts and the rebuilding of Haiti.

After the debut, fans can download the song and view exclusive footage at the relief efforts official website, World25.org.

"When I was first approached about recording a new version of We Are The World, I was lukewarm because the first effort was so iconic, then Haiti happened and I realized that this was the kind of crisis for which the song was originally written," said Richie who wrote the original version with Michael Jackson and Quincy Jones. "The new version takes the copyright to a different place while staying true to the iconic nature of the original, Richie added.

What a better way to help rescue our Haitian brothers and sisters in distress, bring a heightened awareness to that country's plight and needs, and bring some of the world's greatest talent together. The result speaks for itself so download to donate!"

All proceeds will go to the We Are The World Foundation, a newly created not-for-profit organization founded by Quincy Jones and Lionel Richie.

I am touched by the enthusiasm and support we are seeing from the entertainment community," said Wyclef Jean. "With the continued efforts of the global community, we increase our chances of successfully bringing Haiti much needed relief; and taking the next step in reconstructing a 21st century Haiti.

Thugs in some Corporate Area communities are searching the cellphones of residents to prevent them from passing on information to the police.

Police sources said they are aware of the situation and are concerned about the practice.

Fearful residents of Barnes Avenue, Rafel Avenue and Ramsey Road, communities of Maxfield Avenue, St Andrew, claim that members of the 'Stinger' gang have made it their regular duty to check the phones of residents for police contacts.

Anyone found to be in contact with the police are ordered to leave the community or suffer the consequences. In several cases, persons have been chased from their homes because of the discovery of police numbers in residents' phones.

"Dis phone searching thing start after di gang leader get shot. Him an police have shoot-out and dem shot him inna him foot. From dat dem have it seh a people from 'bout ya did a inform pon him movements," one resident of Ramsey Road who strongly requested anonymity explained.

"Di man dem a go hard. At one point it was just a one off thing now dem a do it regular," another resident added.

Head of the Kingston West Division, Deputy Superintendent Arthur Brown, could not be reached for comment, but other police sources admitted that they were aware of the occurrence.

"A di Stingers man dem thing dat, a so dem gwaan. Wi deh pon dem trail still eno is jus a matter of time. Long run short ketch dem say," a corporal said when THE STAR visited the Denham Town Police Station recently.

Residents of Lakes Pen in St Catherine also said that they are facing a similar situation as thugs have attempted to rid the community of persons they dub informers'.

One resident went as far as writing a two-page letter to THE STAR two weeks ago, outlining her fears.

At the beginning of the letter she wrote, "Residents of the Lakes Pen community are crying for help, they are all living in fear ..."

She later continued: "If we ever walk pass the police station they call you informer. Handbags have been taken away and phones to check if you are the ones calling the police. We need our community back ..."

One other resident, Minnie, told THE STAR that she was labelled as an informer by thugs from the community because she had an affair with a policeman.

She said her cellphone was checked on several occasions and she eventually left the community as the threats were becoming more and more frequent.

When the St Catherine North police was contacted yesterday, a detective corporal said they had heard of the situation. He, however, said that affected residents should make a formal report so initiatives can be devised.

*NAME CHANGED.

STARRIGHT_1_PHMFKPreachAM.jpg
Mervin Thomas poses for the camera. - Leighton Levy

There are some things people see in movies that they don't expect to see in real life. Things like cars blowing up every time they crash, people ducking bullets and those dishevelled-looking insane guys standing on the street corner holding up signs saying 'The End is Near'.

In recent weeks, Jamaica has seen its own version of the latter. He is less dishevelled, he is certainly not insane and his name is Mervin Thomas. Thomas has spent the last three years travelling to every major town and city in Jamaica spreading the word. "We are living at the end of the world and a lot of people living like it is nothing!" he said, standing in the middle of the busy intersection of West Kings House Road and Constant Spring Road yesterday, holding aloft a placard bearing the same message. "The Bible gives us certain signs that we look forward to. It clearly tells you there will be earthquakes in diverse places, wars and rumours of wars. If you go on the Internet, you can prove that there are more earthquakes now than in any other time in history."

the judgement

"The Earth is really to and fro like a drunkard," he sermonised, "it is ready to spew out the inhabitants that are not living right for God, and that is the judgement of God that's going to come, but those who are living righteous will be spared." As Thomas spoke, the wind whipped the banner he held aloft forcing him to put his right leg back bracing against the wind that threatened to topple him.

trying times

The bespectacled Thomas, who is from Montego Bay, has been ministering for about five years now but felt that "more work needed to be done". So about three years ago, he began his mission to tell people that the end of time was nigh. "I got up early one morning and I got this conviction from the spirit of the Lord to make this big banner and go to the streets and declare it," he said.

It has been a long, hard three years and the 46-year-old preacher has endured some very trying times. People have even told him he's crazy for doing what he does. "They have said it to me many times," he said. People say the worst, naughty things but, hey, they crucified Jesus, so should I expect better?"

undaunted

It gets pretty bad, he says, when people curse him calling him things like thief, coke head, drunkard and madman. It hurts when they do but he remains undaunted. "The bad things have an effect on you, it stabs you," he said, "but the good does come equally. I was in May Pen, the other day, and the first comment I had, it was about 7 o' clock, a lady came up to me and said 'Brother, we agree with you', and that kept me throughout the day. You have to know what you're about, you have to be strong."

As he has made his way across the country, he has found accommodation mainly through the help of ministers he knows who help him find somewhere to stay and a hot meal. Once, he said, a man walked up to him and gave him a "bundle of 500 dollar notes", telling him to keep up the good work.

Kingston marks the end of the journey for Thomas who plans to take his message to the Cayman Islands next and then, the rest of the world.

Who says truth isn't stranger than fiction?

5-y-o's body found in tank

February 10, 2010
Started By jubalson9 Comments

The body of five-year-old Erica Brown of Jack Lodge district, Discovery Bay, St Ann, was found in a tank in hercommunity yesterday.

Police said shortly after 2 p.m., residents and family members went in search of young Erica, who went missing on Monday. During the search, a dog Erica was last seen playing with in her yard was discovered floating in a water tank.

Residents called police who sought the assistance of the Brown's Town Fire Brigade. The water was pumped from the tank and the child's body was seen at the bottom.

Erica was reportedly last seen in her yard about 5 p.m. Monday. The Discovery Bay police are awaiting a post-mortem to determine the cause of death.

Cops cut 'Footloose' short

February 9, 2010
Started By jubalson1 Comments

STARSP761_1_P2KS7FootloAM.jpgSTARSP761_1_PAHJYFootloAM.jpg
Left: These women left very little to the imagination in their short, sheer outfits as they strolled into Footloose, held at Louise Bennett Garden Theatre, Hope Road, on Saturday night, February 6. Right: This was quite the matching couple. - Winston Sill photos

As patrons were getting into full wining gear, the police put an end to Footloose that was being held at Ranny Williams Entertainment Centre on Saturday night.

At 3 a.m. ZJ Liquid was thrilling the audience with Bounty Killer and Barrington Levy's Living Dangerously when the police walked up to the DJ booth. Without much of a conversation with the lawmen, the disc jock knew it was time to end the party, so he bade the patrons farewell. However, many of them stood for a while, seeming reluctant to leave.

Prior to the lock-off, Mix Master Marvin blazed some fire with Sizzla's Get To The Point and Bounty Killer's Look Into My Eyes. He also played a wide range of dancehall songs from the early 90s. Yet, there was little movement in the crowd.

But it was ZJ Liquid who pushed the party up a notch. Before he started playing he thanked his well-wishers for voting for him to be named the Radio Personality of the Year at the Youth View Awards that was held earlier in the night.

Then, he paid tribute to Bob Marley on his birthday with songs like Don't Worry and Redemption Song. He also played several songs from Mykal Rose, Super Cat and Shabba Ranks.

And, the obviously more mature audience seemed to appreciate every bit of the selection. They thoroughly enjoyed the sexually explicit songs that were played, as there was a lot of bending over and gyrating.

Then, he put some hip-hop in the mix with songs like Mystikal's Shake It Fast, DMX's Lose My Mind and R Kelly'sFiesta, to which the patrons did the 'Log On' dance move. In an effort to mix it up, Liquid played songs like Jitter Bug and I'm So Excited. By the time Footloose was selected, the patrons were on a high, as they danced, jumped and skipped.

As it neared the end of his set, couples were locked together as he played some groovy R&B songs. There was also a bit of ska, before he went back to dancehall.

STARSP761_1_PDIVZFootloAM.jpgSTARSP761_1_PSVGYFootloAM.jpg
Left: She was ready to strike a pose in her winter boots. Right: This woman with Red Bull in hand and other patrons were certainly feeling the party vibes.

STARSP761_1_P4GAVFootloAM.jpg
This woman was ready for the camera.

Pickaxe Stick used in vagina assault

February 11, 2010
Started By jubalson4 Comments

A man on Tuesday pleaded guilty to using a pickaxe stick to beat his former girlfriend on her private parts and legs.

When the case came up in the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate's Court, the man pleaded guilty to assault occasioning bodily harm.

Investigating Officer, Petrice Desgouttes of the Spanish Town police told the court that on January 25, the accused attacked and beat the complainant after she went to visit a relative.

Laughter erupted when the judge asked the complainant to explain what happened.

"Your honour, I went to visit his niece and he asked what I was doing there. If I was working, I told him 'no' and he called me a liar and that I am wicked. He then started to throw me on the wall and beat me wid the piece of wood," the complainant said, while showing the ugly marks on her legs.

She further explained that while being flogged with the stick, she was hit on her private parts.

The visibly shaken woman told the court that the accused man even made attempts to continue to assault her private area. "He kept jamming at my lower area (pointing to her groin) until someone came and held him, " she said.

Resident Magistrate Marcia Dunbar-Green told the accused that he was wrong and that his behaviour might have been the reason why the relationship did not last long.

A social enquiry report was ordered by the court and the accused man is to report to the Spanish Town Police Station on Fridays. He is to return for sentencing on April 6.

Up to late yesterday the Cave Valley police were yet to charge a woman and her spouse in connection with the death of the woman's two-year-old son.

The boy, Kimani Bryan, of Davis Town, Cave Valley, St Ann, died in the Percy Junor hospital in Spaldings, where he was taken for treatment after allegedly being beaten by his stepfather.

The police report that some time between 11 a.m. on Monday and 2 p.m. Tuesday, the boy was beaten by the stepfather. He was later taken by the stepfather and mother to the hospital for treatment.

It is further reported that caregivers at the hospital noticed several bruises on the boy and notified the police. The youngster subsequently died.

By the time the police arrived both mother and stepfather had left the hospital. They were later arrested by the police at separate locations in Clarendon.

Bryan was the second youngster from St Ann to die on Tuesday.

Over in Jack Lodge district in Farm Town, the body of five-year-old Erica Brown was discovered in a water tank after she went missing the previous day. Investigations are continuing in both cases.

STARRIGHT_1_PR2PTfollowAM.jpg
Promoter Ennis (centre) poses with Stacious (2nd left) and Face (second right) and two Magnum Girls at the launch of Follow Di Arrow held at Mango Ranch on West Kings House Road, St Andrew on Tuesday.

Follow Di Arrow promoter Dexton Ennis has confirmed that there will be no clashes, but promised patrons a memorable experience when the event stages its 11th anniversary on Saturday, February 27, at James BondBeach, St Mary.

Ennis said he was hoping to successfully host a top-class event, and pointed his claim to a line-up outfitted with a slew of reggae and dancehall's finest acts.

Among the list of top 10 artistes are: Bounty Killer, Sizzla Kalonji, Assassin, Moved, KipRich, Merciless, Mr Vegas, Anthony B, Flippa Mafia and Vybz Kartel who will be performing for the first time on the show.

"When you look at the line-up, what do you see? This is just one reason Follow Di Arrow will be a success," said Ennis, at the event's launch ceremony, held at Mango Ranch on West Kings House Road, St Andrew.

In addition to the top 10, patrons can come expecting great entertainment from female acts like Lisa Hyper, Face, Queen Paula, Ikaya and Stacious, all of whom are expected to bring excitement during their performances.

Over the past weeks, there have been numerous media reports linking several artistes to a possible 'lyrical showdown'. It is said that slick-talking deejay KipRich will go up against the self-proclaimed 'Warhead' Merciless, while Queen Paula insists she isn't backing, and has so far thrown jabs at Face, Lisa Hyper and several others.

Should a clash materialise, it wouldn't be the first, as previous stagings of Follow Di Arrow have played host to several battles with the latest coming between KipRich and the Monster Hemp Higher and Ninja Man versus Merciless.

However, Ennis said he's preaching a different anthem for the 2010 edition, while not entirely ruling out anything. "I don't want to confine Follow Di Arrow to a clash show. If the climate is right then I'm prepared to host that," he said.

Due to the harsh economic conditions, Ennis said he has retained ticket prices for the same as last year, and there will be constant cash giveaways by Magnum throughout the night.

STARRIGHT_1_PC6LHfollowAM.jpgSTARRIGHT_1_PTVXVfolowdAM.jpg
LEFT: Gyptian (left) poses with Mr Vegas. RIGHT: Magnum Girls - Nathaniel stewart photos

STARRIGHT_1_PNDOVfollowAM.jpg
Follow Di Arrow promoter Ennis poses with the Magnum Girls

Bounty, Buju record with DJ Khaled

February 5, 2010
Started By jubalson21 Comments

STARRIGHT_1_PENT4bujuprAM.jpgSTARRIGHT_1_PNO2TBountyAM.jpg
( L - R ) Buju Banton, Bounty Killer - File

Bounty Killer has again secured an international collaboration with the song She's Killing Me alongside 99 JAMZ's DJ Khaled, Buju Banton and Busta Rhymes.

DJ Khaled is an American record producer, radio personality, DJ, record label executive and is known for songs such as We Takin' Over alongside Akon, T.I., Rick Ross, Fat Joe, Birdman, and Lil Wayne. Khaled has made appearances in Jamaica at Fully Loaded and Bounty Killer's 'Its A Party'.

His link with Bounty Killer and the Alliance has also been long-standing; Khaled produced a track and did the intro on Bounty Killer's 2001 opus Ghetto Dictionary. And, the '5 Star General', as well as Mavado and Serani, have appeared on DJ Khaled's all-star birthday bash in Miami alongside Lil Wayne, Yung Jeezy, T Pain and many more.

no-brainer

On March 2, Khaled is set to release his third album, titled Victory for E1 Music (formerly Koch Entertainment), featuring the song with Bounty Killer. Bounty Killer said in a release, "Khaled a wi bredrin long time. Khaled a straight Alliance, he's been rolling with us for years. When he reached out to us with the track it was a no-brainer to jump on it. When he told me Buju was on it, it made it even better. Buju is on a different journey for the time being but freedom is a must and people love his music and will be happy to hear fresh material form Gargamel same way."

She's Killing Me is a twist of Buju Banton's classic song Murderer and also features the effervescent flow of Busta Rhymes, also on top form on the track. DJ Khaled and his platinum production unit the Runners are also set to produce tracks for Mavado's third album, set for an early summer release.

Mavado said, "I'm performing on a show February 13 in Fort Lauderdale, so I'll be extending my stay to get in the studio with Khaled; he has a crazy energy in the studio so we going to build offa that instead of him just sending us beats. My third album will have more of a focus on exclusive tracks. We're going for a diverse sound as my music has spread far, giving me fans from all nations and races.

STARRIGHT_1_PWJS3Belt20AM.jpg

Corporal punishment is prohibited in schools but a male teacher, 26, yesterday felt the wrath of his principal after he was seen sitting in the staffroom at the institution, at a time when the school head thought he should have been in the classroom.

Information reaching THE STAR is that the young man, who has been teaching at the prominent Clarendon primary school for less than two years, was sitting in the staffroom at 11:45 a.m. when the principal saw him and inquired why he was not in class. The teacher reportedly told the principal that he was waiting for his shift to begin. Things, however, took a turn for the worst after this intial conversation.

"The principal took a big brown broad strap and started hitting me. All now my foot is in pain. I am going to the police station 'cause he is very rude; my foot is in pain," the scolded teacher told THE STAR while crying.

The young educator continued that when he received the first two strikes, he initially thought it was being done jokingly. But after the third one, he realised that the principal was very serious. It was at this point the teacher said he started to rebel, verbally, against his strapping.

The teacher said he did not retaliate in a physical manner because he was trying to remain professional in addition to remaining true to his Christian beliefs.

"He (the principal) said to me that if I want to call THE STAR I can call them," the teacher noted.

He also said that another teacher witnessed the incident but he does not know if any of the students saw.

Since the incident, the flogged teacher has thought about reporting it to the police but the other teachers are discouraging him, as the school's reputation will be dragged down.

When contacted, the principal would not say much about the specifics of the incident.

"It wasn't an altercation, the teacher was to be in class and he wasn't. I said to him 'you should be in class'. He got boisterous and I reprimanded him," the principal said.

Asked whether or not he used a strap to reprimand the teacher, the senior school official responded: "I had a strap in my hand, something really happened but I don't think I want to make a report to the media."

Ange_main.jpg

Angelina Jolie is looking into the possibility of adopting an orphan from Haiti, it has been reported today. The actress flew over to the neighbouring country of Dominican Republic, where the sick and injured are being cared for, and while there she met with the country's president Leonel Fernandez to discuss how the relief effort is working. Sources claim she also asked about the possibility of adopting one of Haiti's many orphans. One friend explained, "Angie's made no secret of her desire to adopt again. Children in Haiti need help. It's a perfect opportunity. Ange and Brad already have three adopted children, Maddox, 8, Pax, 6 and Zahara, 5.

THE administrator running Crystal Palace has advertised that the club is for sale in the Financial Times.

P&A Partnership are seeking a buyer for the Eagles - who were placed in administration on January 26.

Below is the advert which appears in the Financial Times:

FOOTBALL CLUB FOR SALE

Crystal Palace F.C. (2000) Limited

The sale of the football club and its associated assets presents an opportunity to acquire a long established South London club (founded in 1905) currently playing in the Championship division of the Football League and currently enjoying success in the FA Cup (next match against Aston Villa in the fifth round).

The Club offers many benefits for an investor with a key asset being the well established and highly reputable academy. Prinicipal points of this opportunity are:

Established and well known brand;

26,300 capacity stadium at Selhurst Park held by way of a 25-year lease from April 2008;

Stadium freehold available;

Training ground and academy, in Beckenham, Kent, with four full size pitches, junior size pitches, state of the art gymnasium and physiotherapy facilities, held by way of a 15-year lease from August 2003

In addition to 26 players on professional contracts, there are 16 junior players held on scholarships;

Revenue streams including commercial sponsorship, Football League payments and television rights, in addition to ticket sales and stadium sub-leases;

Further revenue streams from player contracts sell-on clauses;

Projected revenue for season ending May 2010 - Ł13.8million.

An information memorandum is in the course of production and should be available during the week commencing 8 February 2010, which will comprise a synopsis of the salient points of the opportunity and will be available to interested parties following the signing of a confidentiality agreement.

Confidentiality agreements can be obtained from the Joint Administrators c/o The P&A Partnership, 93 Queen Street, Sheffield, S1 1WF TEL: 01142 755033.

The scene soon after the crash in Tower Bridge Road (Magnus Andersson)

A CYCLIST was killed after being knocked-down by a lorry on a busy road.

Cops were called to the junction of Tower Bridge Road and Druid Street at 9.30am today (Tuesday).

The cyclist was found trapped underneath the lorry, Southwark police said.

He was pronounced dead at the scene. Officers from the Catford Traffic Collision Unit are investigating the crash.

In a second incident, a motorcyclist suffered life-threatening injuries after a smash with a black cab. Afternoon traffic was stopped in Blackfriars Road today (Tuesday) so an air ambulance crew could treat the injured biker. Cops were called to scene at around 3pm outside the Global Maritime building in Borough. A Southwark police spokeswoman said the man had suffered life-threatening head injuries. She said: We await information on the welfare of the taxi driver. The man was rushed to hospital in an ambulance. A witness who asked to remain anonymous said: It happened about twenty minutes ago and they haven't moved him yet. I ran down out there but he wasn't breathing. The air ambulance has landed in the middle of the road. A Fire Brigade crew also attended the incident.

Celebrity Justice
'Biggest Loser' Star - Big Fat Liar ... Allegedly

Based on the weight of the evidence "The Biggest Loser" star Jillian Michaels is pulling a dietary fast one on the American public for profit ... according to a new class action lawsuit.

Jillian Michaels

According to documents filed in L.A. County Superior Court, the Jillian Michaels Maximum Strength Calorie Control dietary supplement is "worthless."

The lawyer who filed the suit, Melissa Harnett, tells TMZ, "Telling people you take two magic pills and then eat chocolate cake all day is a deception."

The suit alleges, "Sadly, Michaels has decided to exploit her fame and goodwill by collaborating with Thin Care and Basic Research to promote a weight loss supplement that purportedly will cause weight loss by itself, without any additional effort on the part of the consumer."

The suit asks for an injunction prohibiting the sale of the product, plus damages.
James Andre Smartt-Ford

THREE years after a teenager was brutally shot dead in front of hundreds of potential witnesses, cops are offering a Ł20,000 reward to find his killer.

James Andre Smartt-Ford, 17, was killed at a disco event at Streatham Ice Arena attended by more than 300 people on February 3, 2007.

The victim, known to his family as Dre, was at the bottom of some stairs leading on to the rink in Streatham High Road when he was approached by a black youth wearing dark clothing just before 11pm.

Two shots were fired and he staggered several metres on to the ice before collapsing.

Detectives from the Mets Operation Trident are investigating, but no one has been charged in connection with his murder.

Police are now concentrating their efforts on the Angell Town Estate in Brixton and were handing out leaflets appealing for information there on Wednesday.

A Met spokeswoman said people who either live or frequent that estate are believed to have crucial information.

Gary Trowsdale, managing director of the Damilola Taylor Trust, has joined calls for people to come forward with information.

The trust was set up in memory of the 10-year-old who died after he was stabbed in on the North Peckham Estate in 2000.

It took six years and three trials before his killers were brought to justice.

Mr Trowsdale said: One of the biggest problems we face is the wall of silence.

The fact is that these killers just melt back into their communities, and that families dont find closure as a result.

I would would urge people of South London who know anything to take responsibility and come forward otherwise this family will continue to suffer until they get closure.

Detective Chief Inspector, Gordon Allison, from Trident said: We want to hear from anyone who may remember something from that night.

These witnesses have the power to bring an end to this and to take dangerous people off the street who cause harm to the community.

Four men have been arrested and bailed to return to South London police stations pending further inquiries.

Anyone with information is asked to call the incident room on 020 8247 4554 or Crimestoppers, anonymously, on 0800 555 111

Price_main.jpg

Katie Price has compared herself to Princess Diana in a new interview, saying that she fears the press will cause her to suffer an accident similar to that of the late Royal. Asked what she most feared in life, Katie told LBC 97.3, "Dying, because I don't know how I would die. Sometimes I think it might be a Diana moment because the way the press chase me. It wouldn't surprise me if it's a car crash, and I always say that." Just keep driving that huge pink horsebox of yours, Katie. No car is ever going to be a match for that.

NANI IS HAPPY WITH LIFE AT UNITED

February 10, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma0 Comments
nani_280x390_984090a.jpg

ON FIRE ... Nani

NANI insists he has never thought about quitting Manchester United.

The Portuguese winger, 23, was linked with a move away from Old Trafford earlier this season.

But he is currently in sparkling form and is beginning to fill the void left by fellow countryman Cristiano Ronaldo.

Nani, who joined United from Sporting Lisbon in 2007, said: "I never wanted to go.

"When you are feeling low and things aren't going well, you do feel alone and there have been times like that.

"But I never thought about quitting and going back to Portugal.

"I was in a bad position sometimes and it wasn't easy to get back up again.

"Of course, your confidence does suffer on occasions and you get down.

"But I have shown I don't get depressed too easily. I am a strong personality.

"If you are not a strong character then it will drag you down.

"I am not like that. I am sure I have the quality to be one of the best in the world. I can achieve that."

Read more: http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/2847611/Nani-is-happy-with-life-at-Manchester-United.html#ixzz0fAZusTf2

DESPERATE TO KISS A GIRL

February 10, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma0 Comments
hiusemain_984247a.jpg

Girl-on-girl smooch ... Dana Delany and Julie Benz

KATHERINE Mayfair appears to be so desperate for a snog after getting ditched by Mike Delfino that she hooks up with a female stripper.

The Wisteria Lane favourite, played by Dana Delany, snogs her blonde pal Robin (Julie Benz) in an upcoming scene in the show.

It follows a highly-anticipated smacker between Dana's fellow characters Susan Mayer (Teri Hatcher) and Gabrielle Solis (Eva Longoria) in the previous series.

But Dexter star Julie says there is a reason behind the kiss.

She explained: "This kiss comes out of a funny moment where we're trying to ditch some guys."

The smooch makes Katherine question her sexuality.

Dana added: "I asked, 'Am I becoming a man?' And [creator] Marc Cherry said, 'Close'. For a woman in her fifties to make this announcement to her community is huge. I hope it sticks."

Read more: http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/tv/2847469/Desperate-to-kiss-a-girl.html#ixzz0fAWzGZmF
Snooki's new "Guido Juicehead" is even greasier than anyone she met on the "Jersey Shore" -- dude used to oil himself up for bodybuilding competitions.

Snooki's Boyfriend

But when Snook's new BF Emilio wasn't posing down in his man-panties -- dude found other ways to keep himself occupied ... like beer bongs and body paint. GTL.

Food Network Chef:  Beau MacMillanBeau MacMillan -- one of the stars of Food Network's "Worst Cooks in America" -- was arrested in Arizona on Sunday for an outstanding warrant, but according to Beau ... it's all just a big misunderstanding.

Beau tells TMZ he was pulled over on Sunday in Scottsdale for failing to come to a complete stop at a red light, when cops noticed he had a warrant out for his arrest.

Turns out Beau was busted by a traffic enforcement camera back in January -- but he claims he never got the ticket in the mail because he just moved in to a new house.

Beau says he was in New York filming promos for the Food Network when he unknowingly missed his court date on February 2 -- so a misdemeanor warrant was issued for his arrest for failure to appear.

Beau says he was booked for the warrant and released within 20 minutes, and said, "You gotta keep it in under 55 in Arizona."

Beau's arrest was first reported by Scottsdale Arizona News.

NOT ANOTHER!!!! 33 YEAR OLD MAN WAS BABYSITTING AN INFANT . . . HE POURED LIQUID DRANO ON THE BABY . . . AND BURNED HIM TO DEATH!!! (PICS OF DUDE INSIDE)

1265724267disgusting_childkiller.jpg

February 09, 2010.
Yesterday, MediaTakeOut.com told you the story of an 18 year old male babysitter who admitted to raping a 5 year old boy. Well today we've got ANOTHER terrible story. A 33-year-old man from Philadelphia was arrested yesterday and charged with murder. According to police, Aaron Pace doused an infant in Liquid Drano, and burned him to DEATH!!!

Aaron seemed like a decent dude. He was a longtime friend of the mother's family and many referred to him as 20 month old Suliaman Orrell Kirkland's "godfather."

But on February 2nd, something SNAPPED in him. He was babysitting young Suliaman when the 20 month old began crying uncontrollably. Instead of asking for help, or cradling the baby - he instead MURDERED HIM!!!

Here is what police said happened (via the Philadelphia Inquirer):
Aaron Pace, a longtime friend of the mother's family, was babysitting the boy, Suliaman Orrell Kirkland, on Feb. 2 when he doused a rag with Drano and rubbed it into the child's skin, police said.

"Why did he do it? Because the child, in the defendant's view, was uncooperative and crying, doing what 20-month-old children do," Homicide Lt. Philip Riehl said.

The child's great-grandmother, Connie Kirkland, 74, called the boy "a jewel."

"To see that he went through all this agony, I can't understand," she said.

If convicted Aaron faces LIFE in prison.

LMAO!!!! TEENAGE GIRL RAN UP A $2,000 PHONE BILL . . . THE POOR THANG ACCIDENTALLY TEXTED TO HELP HAITI . . . 200 TIMES!!!

1265724019dummy_facebook_fail.jpg

1265724020dummy_facebook_fail1.jpg
1265724021dummy_facebook_fail2.jpg

KNOCKED UP??? LIL WAYNE REPORTEDLY HAS BEEN TRYING TO HAVE ANOTHER CHILD . . . WITH HIS CURRENT GF SHANELL . . . AND WORD IS SHE'S PREGGERS!!! (DETAILS INSIDE)

1265724809shanell_preggers.jpg

February 09, 2010. Well Weezy's getting locked up today . . . but he's likely to be going in with a SMILE ON HIS FACE!!!

Why? Well according to one of MediaTakeOut.com's EXTREMELY RELIABLE snitches, he may have yet ANOTHER child on the way. The insider who asked to remain nameless but is associated with Young Money told MediaTakeOut.com that Weezy and his girlfriend Shenell have been TRYING TO GET PREGNANT for months.

The insider explained, "Wayne likes giving women children, he thinks it's the greatest gift he can give to them." The insider continued, "[Shenell] is happy to have his child too."

And word is that Shenell may have been impregnated. Our snitch tells us that at Weezy's going away party Shenell didn't drink anything and she didn't puff either . . .

BREAKING NEWS!! RAPPER LIL WAYNE DELAYS GOING TO NYC JAIL . . . OVER MEDICAL EMERGENCY!!!

1265748275weezy_bald.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com told you EARLIER TODAY that rapper Lil Wane was supposed to start a jail sentence after pleading guilty in a New York gun case.

Well today, Weezy's lawyer asked to have the prison date POSTPONED - because his teeth are rotten!!!

Word on the street is that the corrections officers told Wayne that he would NOT be allowed to wear his diamond grill in jail (for security reasons). Well that's a problem, because underneath all the gold an diamonds, Lil Wayne's teeth are COMPLETELY ROTTEN!!!

After hearing this, Lil Wayne's attorney pleaded with the judge, who agreed to postpone the intake date to March 2nd. Between now and then Lil Wayne is expected to get porcelain veneers for his teeth
1265815897baby_names.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com just got a SNEAK PEAK at the 10 MOST POPULAR baby names in the United States. The full list is set for release next week

Some of the names are VERY surprising, who knew they were so many Black Madison's and Jayden's around . . .

Here is the list for girls:
1 Madison
2 Kayla
3 Makayla
4 Michelle
5 Nevaeh
6 Jada
7 Brianna
8 Chloe
9 Alyssa/Destiny
10 Gabrielle/Imani
And here is the list for boys:
1 Jayden
2 Joshua
3 Elijah
4 Jaden
5 Justin/Christian
6 Jeremiah
7 Isaiah
8 Jordan
9 Christopher/Michael (Tied)
10 Barack
1265814727kandi_abandon.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com has a SAD piece of news te report. Since AJ's death, Kandi has had NO CONTACT with his twin daughters, whom Kandi was raising.

You'll recall that a few weeks before AJ passed away, MediaTakeOut.com published the following quote - made by Kandi to a magazine interviewer:
INTERVIEWER: Hold up. Did you just say you and AJ are no longer together?

BURRUSS: (Laughs.) We're on hiatus. He's a great guy and he's not the type to sit on his behind like a scrub, so it has nothing to do with that. Yes, he has a lot of children, and yes, I didn't know about them all at first but I got over it because as long as you handle your responsibility and spend time with your children it's not an issue for me. Another thing I want to set the record straight on is that AJ was married before. A lot of people make comments like, if he didn't marry his other children's mothers then why do you think he's going to marry you.

INTERVIEWER: When we spoke before you expressed concern about how a separation might affect your daughter. How is she handling your break?

BURRUSS: Things have changed because not only do I have my daughter living with me but now I am the legal guardian of AJ's 12-year-old twin daughters because his mother felt the responsibility was too much for her right now and she couldn't handle it anymore. He would have taken them with him, but they needed a strong female role model and wanted to stay with me.

Well what's wrong?? It's not clear. According to a member of AJ's family, they've been REACHING OUT to Kandi to try and see if they can work something out, but she's really not trying to hear from them.

That is very sad. Kandi had a relationship with those two LITTLE GIRLS that ain't have nothing to do with AJ. It would be a REAL SHAME if she cut them off now . . .

1265815061kandi_girls1.jpg

abraham_shakespeare_091208_main.jpg

WTSP
: Plant City, Florida - After days of digging, heavy equipment pushed back dirt and filled up the hole that was Abraham Shakespeare's premature grave.

On Friday, as expected, the Hillsborough Medical Examiner confirmed the human remains found buried five feet deep and under concrete belonged to the missing lottery winner.

Shakespeare's friends had long suspected he'd been killed; still, the news is hard to take.

"Now's the time for everyone to come together, his family and everything and give this man a decent burial," said Nathaniel Thomas. "From what I've seen and heard, he died in a bad way. No one deserves that."

A tip led investigators to the land off Highway 50. The house there is owned by the boyfriend of DeeDee Moore. She's the woman Polk Sheriff Grady Judd has called a "person of interest" in Shakespeare's disappearance.

After she befriended Shakespeare, Judd says Moore acquired nearly $2 million of his cash and assets.

"I tried to warn him," says Shakespeare's friend Eddie Dixon. "I said then, 'Something's not right with this woman,' and I kept telling my friend, 'Don't trust that lady.' "

Law enforcement says this is a very complicated case and so far, no one has been arrested.

Bartow lawyer Rusty Franklin had represented Moore in the past, but his office now says she is no longer his client.

Folks at a neighborhood market in Lakeland say they miss the man who used to hang out there and chat. They say Shakespeare had a heart of gold and now they want whoever took his life to pay.

Dixon believes that person is going to be Moore. "She needs to die in the Florida electric chair. That's where she needs to go."

Haiti death toll tops 200,000

February 5, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma10 Comments

haitiquake.jpg

Yahoo reports:

PORT-AU-PRINCE (AFP) The death toll in the Haiti quake has topped 200,000, Prime Minister Jean-Max Bellerive said Wednesday as angry protests over the slow arrival of aid flared on the rubble-strewn streets.

More than three weeks after the 7.0-magnitude quake, Bellerive said his tiny Caribbean nation had been ravaged by "a disaster on a planetary scale" and detailed the tragic toll suffered by his people.

"There are more than 200,000 people who have been clearly identified as people who are dead," he told AFP, adding another 300,000 injured had been treated, 250,000 homes had been destroyed and 30,000 businesses lost.

At least 4,000 amputations have also been carried out due to horrific crush injuries -- a shocking figure which is likely to strain the impoverished nation's already meager resources for years to come.

Despite a massive aid operation, a lack of coordination and the extent of the damage has hampered the distribution of food and water leading to mounting tensions among a million people left homeless.

"The Haitian government has done nothing for us, it has not given us any work. It has not given us the food we need," said Sandrac Baptiste bitterly, as she left her makeshift tent to join angry demonstrations Wednesday.
spacer.gif

Several persons had to seek medical attention last Wednesday after one woman accused another of stealing her dress during a birthday party in Vineyard Town, east Kingston.

The police are also investigating the incident in which six persons including the 'birthday girl' and one man who tried to squash the fight received injuries and had to seek medical attention.

According to reports, the party was in full swing in a yard in the community some time around midnight when things took a violent turn.

"Everybody did a enjoy themselves and out a nowhere di girl dem just kick off," Andre McIntosh, a resident said.

One woman is said to have approached another and demanded that her clothes be returned, claiming it was stolen off her clothes line two days earlier.

An argument developed and friends of both women intervened, setting the scene for what became a wild brawl. Later dozens of persons were sent scampering for cover as the warring females hurled bottles and stones at each other and knocked fists.

assault

As the birthday girl intervened, with hopes of ending the fight, she was hit with a liquor bottle in the head, knocking her to the ground and ending all hopes she had of continuing the celebrations.

Another man who also tried to intervene was also hit with a bottle.

"Yu see how life funny, di two people dem a try squash di vibes and get lick wid bottle," McIntosh said.

When the assault had ended the woman who was accused of stealing the clothes was seen running from the yard with her accuser close behind.

Their friends however reportedly stayed behind and were still locked in heated arguments while those who were injured left to seek medical attention.

When THE STAR contacted the Kingston east police, a corporal said that they were aware of the incident and would be looking to speak with the two women at the centre of the fracas by the end of this week.

"What you heard is pretty much the same thing we heard but we are going to speak to the women hopefully by the end of the week ... After that we may just lay some charges," the corporal said.

Man stabbed over baby-daddy rumour

February 10, 2010
Started By jubalson0 Comments

The soap opera-like situation in a Cross Roads, St Andrew-based community that the THE STAR reported on last week, where a young woman named some 19 men as the father of her baby, has now left a man nursinginjuries in hospital.

According to information reaching THE STAR, the man was stabbed after he and another man got into a heated argument after one accused the other of being among the 19 possible daddies.

A source close to the situation said some time after 5 p.m. last Friday, the now-injured man was in the Cross Roads area when he was accused of being one of the 19 men who the woman at the centre of the saga had shortlisted. The source further said that an argument developed, which later turned into a fight, during which a knife was used to stab one of the men. He was rushed to hospital.

Police in the area have confirmed reports of the stabbing but were tight-lipped about the specifics.

In last Friday's article, THE STAR reported that the community was in turmoil after a woman from that area pinpointed 19 men as the father of her baby girl.

Reports in that story were that the woman accused all of the men, including three brothers and businessmen from the area, of fathering her child, resulting in frequent arguments among the men fingered and threats being issued to the woman as well as her family.

The Cross Roads police, who are aware of the situation, said they were keeping an eye on the area.

Victim kills BlackBerry thief?

February 5, 2010
Started By Ares15 Comments

A man who yesterday attempted to rob a BlackBerry smartphone from a female motorist stuck in traffic on West Kings House Road, St Andrew, met a bitter end after the woman is alleged to have later hit him from his bicycle.

The St Andrew Central police said the man rode up to the woman, slapped her across the face and grabbed her BlackBerry. The man rode off but was later hit from his bicycle. He subsequently died.

Unofficial reports said the woman retrieved her cellphone from the crook after he was hit, but police could not confirm this.

Superintendent Derrick 'Cowboy' Knight, said the woman is in custody at the Half-Way Tree Police Station.

Up to late last night, she had not been charged.

People_Lil_Wayne_Mori_20100209103242_320_240.JPG

Rap star Lil Wayne has gotten a temporary reprieve from jail -- for dental surgery.

The Grammy Award-winning rapper's sentencing in a New York City
gun case was postponed Tuesday, because he needs to finish a string of recent surgeries before he goes to jail.

Lil Wayne, one of music's biggest sellers and rap's hottest stars, is poised to spend as much as a year in jail under a plea deal, though good behavior could shave that to as little as eight months.

Sentencing now is scheduled for March 2. Manhattan state Supreme Court Justice Charles Solomon said it wouldn't be put off any further.

The diminutive rapper, his hair in dreadlocks, said nothing at a brief court session Tuesday afternoon. He left in a black SUV, flanked by fellow rapper Birdman and others.

Defense lawyer Stacey Richman said Lil Wayne was headed home to Miami for dental work Friday. She declined to specify his malady.

"It is a medical situation that, like (it would for) any of us, has to be addressed," she said outside court. She said the rapper had planned to take care of it before Tuesday, but his dentist had been out of the country doing charitable work.

Manhattan Assistant District Attorney Joan Illuzzi-Orbon didn't fight the rapper's request to push back his sentencing, saying she had spoken to the dentist.

Lil Wayne, 27, pleaded guilty in October to a charge of attempted criminal possession of a weapon, admitting he illegally had a loaded .40-caliber semiautomatic gun on his tour bus in July 2007. Police found the weapon when they stopped the bus after a Manhattan concert.

Last week, Lil Wayne reinforced his place in rap's pantheon with a commanding performance at the Grammy Awards ceremony. His latest album, "Rebirth," was released Feb. 2.

Meanwhile, he is preparing himself for jail, his lawyer said.

"He's a strong man," she said.

-- Edited by ruptionlink on Tuesday 9th of February 2010 05:14:28 PM

SCENES FROM THE EME’S AWARDS

February 9, 2010
Started By MARTIAN8884 Comments
EME+Awards+Feb+4+2010+(177).JPG

EME+Awards+Feb+4+2010+(202).JPG

EME+Awards+Feb+4+2010+(147).JPG

EME+Awards+Feb+4+2010+(157).JPG

EME+Awards+Feb+4+2010+(146).JPG
STARRIGHT_1_PV36TBoltC2AM.jpg
Bolt

One of the stars of the popular VH1 reality show, For The Love of Ray J, yesterday announced on television that she and Jamaican Olympic star, Usain Bolt, are a couple.

The woman, Taneish Simpson, was a cast member of the dating show's second season, but was eliminated on episode three. The show is centred around actor and singer Ray J's search for love and features him living in a house with a group of women who vie for his attention and ultimately his heart. Ray J is the brother of singer Brandy.

Simpson, 24, was named Lava on the show and is originally from Portland, but now lives in Florida. Various Internet sources list her occupations as a model and make-up artist.

contact

On the show's reunion special which aired on the United States music channel, VH1, yesterday at 11 a.m. and 8 p.m., Simpson claimed she was now over Ray J and had moved on with her life.

She said Bolt 'googled' her and made contact. She said, "We made it official on New Year's. I actually spent New Year's in Jamaica because he requested that I come down so we could spend New Year's together."

Lava's exit from the reality show was controversial as she was eliminated because Ray J felt she was too demanding and controlling.

When contacted, a publicist for the sprinter and world-record holder said she would not talk about the runner's private life.

«First  <  1212 213 214 215 216524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by