Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

Barry Heptones is dead!

November 26, 2011
Started By GA3 Comments

BARRINGTON Llewellyn, founding member of the group Heptones is dead. He was 63.

According to Earl Morgan founder of the trio Llewellyn began complaining of not feeling and was rushed to the University Hospital in St Andrew on Tuesday. He passed away on 3:15 a.m. the day after. No cause was given for his death.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/entertainment/-Barry-Heptones--dies-in-hospital_10257086#ixzz1eoyNnPXe

infographic
Click to Enlarge

Find out what excitement you could get with holidays to Spain and other great sun holidaysthis year with first choice.
View Other Infographics

More Facebook vs Google

November 25, 2011
Started By GA0 Comments

-- Edited by MZJ on Friday 25th of November 2011 09:24:32 PM

DEAR ZONE

MY NAME IS COLIN IM 42 YEARS OLD AND I LIVE WITH MY MOTHER, I HAVE NO BROTHERS AND SISTERS, SO I HAVE BEEN ALONE SINCE

EVER SINCE I WAS IN MY TEENS, IVE MASTURBATED FREQUENTLY, I WAS ALWAYS A DEADLY RIGHT HANDER, HOWEVER MOST RECENTLY IVE DECIDED TO USE MY LEFT HAND IN MY SEXUAL CEREMONY

HOWEVER IY LOWERS MY SELF ESTEEM, I FEEL LIKE IM CHEATING ON MY RIGHT HAND

WOULD THIS CONSTITUTE AS CHEATING

PLEASE HELP ME ZONE

YOUR SINCERLY

COLIN

-- Edited by gamepun on Tuesday 19th of January 2010 02:41:33 AM
33282kartel_murder.jpg

Embattled dancehall entertainer, Vybz Kartel, is now being probed in relation to five other murder cases.

Kartel, whose real name is Adidja Palmer, is now before the courts in relation to two murder cases.

However, the Head of the Criminal Investigation Branch, Assistant Commissioner Ealan Powell, said probes carried out by detectives have implicated Kartel in five additional murders that took place in the Corporate Area and St Catherine.

ACP Powell said charges are expected to be laid against the controversial DJ soon.

On October 3, Kartel was charged with murder, conspiracy to murder and illegal possession of a firearm in connection with the killing of businessman Barrington 'Bossie' Burton. 

Weeks later, the artiste was slapped with the murder of Clive 'Lizard' Williams. 

Williams was beaten and stabbed on August 16 at a house in Havendale, St Andrew.

ACP Powell said his team of detectives is also pursuing other members of the entertainment industry.

Source: Jamaica Gleaner 

popcaan 1 Popcaans Ravin Added To BBC 1Xtra Playlist

Portmore Empires Popcaan is shining despite the endless legal troubles plaguing other members of the Gaza camp.

click here to read full article

Hulk's wife received $7.44 million of the couple's $10.41 million that was held in bank and investment accounts....it's being reported.

A Facebook energy drink?

November 23, 2011
Started By GA0 Comments

It gives you social energy. It gives you taste of friendship. Its Facedrink! And you better go buy some because it will be sued out of existence any minute now. Following in the footsteps of the unofficial Mark Zuckerberg action figure, some dude named Barry Moustapha (ROFLCOPTER) has created a lawyer-magnet energy drink. Its themed with Facebook colors and proudly displays an Add as Friend button on the label. Id be suspicious this was a hoax, but theres a photo of a real bottle and reviewers confirm it leave a worse taste in your mouth than getting Poked by your dad.  Read More

nicki minaj ama awards 2012 Nicki Minaj, Rihanna, Taylor Swift Big Winners At 2011 AMAs

Trinidad native rapper Nicki Minaj took home two American Music Awards, while Taylor Swift went home the biggest winner with with three awards including the Artist of the Year trophy at Sunday nights show held at the Nokia Theatre in downtown Los Angeles.

click here to read full article and view photos

kartel_jail.jpeg

Lawyers representing Vybz Kartel are this afternoon saying they are unaware that the deejay is being implicated in 5 other murders currently being investigated by the police.

According to Christian Tavares-Finson, they are only aware of the two charges brought against him.

However, the Jamaica Gleaner is citing that the Head of theCriminal Investigation Branch, Assistant Commissioner Ealan Powell, said probes carried out by detectives have implicated Kartel in five additional murders and that detectives are also pursuing other members of the entertainment industry.

Numerous efforts by Music News to get a comment from ACP Powell proved futile.

Vybz Kartel who is currently facing two separate charges of murder has since been transferred to the Horizon Adult Remand Centre on Spanish Town Road.

Vybz Kartel, his fashion designer Mooney and Gaza member Shawn Storm along with another man are charged with the August 16 murder of Clive 'Lizard' Williams in Havendale, St Andrew.

Kartel has also been charged with the July murder of Barrington 'Bossie' Burton in Gregory Park, St Catherine.

The deejay is also facing charges of ganja possession. Vybz Kartel has been in police lockup since October 3.

-- Edited by BOOOOOOOOOM on Tuesday 22nd of November 2011 08:52:33 AM

A popular Jamaican dancehall artiste is reportedly wanted in Michigan, United States, on drug related allegations.

A law enforcement officer said the entertainer, who has had several hit songs is also wanted on at least two warrants.

The singjay, who is one of the top-ranked artistes in the dancehall is also a green card holder.

The officer said he is not the only Jamaican entertainer being sought by the US on drug-related allegations.

The latest information comes against the background of a recent statement made by head of the Criminal Investigation Branch, Assistant Commissioner Ealan Powell, that a number of entertainers have popped up on the police radar and will be arrested soon.

Powells comment came shortly after the arrest of controversial dancehall star, Adidja Palmer, who goes by the stage name Vybz Kartel.

glenroy.sinclair@gleanerjm.com

Share |

VYBZ KARTEL INVESTIGATED FOR FIVE ADDITIONAL MURDERS

vybz-kartel1.jpg

JUST WHEN WE THOUGHT THAT THINGS CUD NOT GET WORST FOR WORL BOSS...IT GOT WORST-ERER.......DI MAN DEM A PREE HIM FI FIVE MORE MURDERS!!!....DIS MAN NUH NAWMAL A PU.SS FOOT!!!....WHY EVERYTHING WORLD BOSS DO....IT HAFFI DEH PON A OVERDRIVE...MAN GI U 4,5 SONGS EVERY WEEK....NOW HIM HAVE 7 MURDER CHARGES??? THIS MAN HAVE MORE CHARGE DAN A 3310 TO POOSYc**t...SOMEBODY A LEAK LIKE BAG JUICE....NAAH LIE.....AS JAH VINCHI TELL U....WATCH YUH FRENZ WEH U SMOKE WID AND RUN JOKE WID....THATS ALL MI HAFFI SAY...

BOLT WINS WORLD ATHLETE OF THE YEAR AWARD

Usain%20Bolt40.jpg

CONGRATS TO THE BIG MAN FOR WINNING A NEXT AWARD.....YUH DESERVE IT...BUT ONE THING MI CYAAH COMPREHEND....DA DOCTA SUPPM DEH....DA D.R SUPPM DEH.....U REALLY RUN FI GET DAT????...I DONT MEAN TO SOUND LIKE IM BADMIND BUT........LOOK HOW MUCH OTHER OUTSTANDING PPL SHOW ACTUALLY MADE GREAT CONTRIBUTION TO THIS COUNTRY AND DEM NOT EVEN RECIEVE A "D" MUCH LESS A "R"??? AND U NOW...MR WORLD RECORD BREAKER GET THAT OVA DEM???.....CAN U EVEN SPELL STETHOSCOPE? LOL....MAYBE THIS DOCTA CRITERIA IS A DIFFERENT KETTLE A SWIM ROUNDS...MI NUH KNOW...

MOVADO AND FLEXX HAVE DIFFERENCES

2b001b5a_smush_flexx_n_vado-300x225.jpg

HOW DI FOCK ONE VISA CHANGE A MAN LIFE?....DA STAMP DEH INNA YUH PASSPORT BOOK MEK U SELL OUT YUH REAL FREN DEM....OMAR A GOOD YUTE....DI MAN WRITE SONG GI YUH FI WAR WID KARTEL...AND JUST BECAUSE U TUN STARBWOY AND BE A PU.SSY AND HAVE NINE LIVES....U JUST FEEL SAY U FI DISASSOCIATE U SELF FROM U FREN..DEM SAY DI MAN A PERSON OF INTEREST AND U NOT EVEN FIND OUT WAAH GWAAN....REAL COWARD!...YUTE!!! KNOW WEH YAAH DO...CAUSE RITE NOW YAAH LOSE IT....STOP HIDE BACK A YUH DUNDUS CUZIN CHASE CROSS FROCK TAIL AND SEE ALLIANCE FANS AND MEK DEM KNOW WAAH GWAAN....A WE DEFEND YUH BLUDCL.AAT GAINST GAZA FANS...AND A SO YAAH MOVE NOW??....MY ADVICE TO MR BROOKS....WHEEL AND COME AGAIN JLP

CON-FRIENDS THIS SUNDAY EVENING 

33328labourpartyj20091122ng_2_300.jpg

"ITS POLITICS TIME AGAIN!!....ARE YOU GONNA VOTE NOW"......BUJU CLASSIC!!...MI FI TELL U.... YES MI PPL!!! ITS TIME AGAIN....WHEN THEY BUY OUT UR SOULS AND MORALS FI 5 AND TEN GRAND AND YUH DEH PON COASTER BUSS INNA YUH GREEN AND ORANGE WID FLAG A HANG OFFA YUH BAXXIDE....MI PREFER STAY NUETRAL LIKE A CAR....MI NAAH TEK BAIT UP FROM NONE A UNU......UNTIL THE DAY UNU GET RID A b****c**t JPS....DEN MI WI VOTE FI UNU.....BUT A SO IT GUH....UNFAWTUNATLY NUTTIN NAAH GUH CHANGE....ONCE PPL HUNGRY AND LICKY LICKY PPL OUT DEH....POLITICS WILL REIGN

Jamaican athlete Steve Mullings was yesterday handed a lifetime ban from all sports by the three-member Jamaica Anti-Doping disciplinary panel, after he tested positive for the prohibited substance Furosemide during the National Track and Field Senior Trials in June.

The panel, consisting of chairman Lennox Gayle, former FIFA referee Peter Prendergast and Dr Japheth Ford, unanimously decided that the beleaguered 28-year-old be given a career-ending sanction.

Jamaicas-Steve-Mullings-007.jpg

"It is our unanimous decision that he be ineligible from sports for life," Gayle declared after a ten-minute break in the session at the Jamaica Conference Centre.

Last Thursday the panel found the United States-based Mullings guilty of the violation, but the sentencing was put off to give the Jamaica Anti-Doping Commission (JADCo) enough time to obtain relevant documents from the local governing athletics body.

The documents were said to contain information applicable to Mullings's two-year anti-doping ban in 2004 and were deemed to be crucial in determining the magnitude of yesterday's sanction.

Gayle explained yesterday that the panel was "satisfied that Mr Mullings is a multiple offender" and added that "a clear message must be sent to everyone. Prohibited substances must not be used".

Earlier in the afternoon, the sitting officially began an hour and a quarter after the scheduled 2:00 pm start.

JADCo's attorney Lackston Robinson told the panel that the information provided by the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association (JAAA) was incomplete, because, while it stated that Mullings tested positive for methyl testosterone metabolite in 2004, it did not classify the accompanying sanction.

That shortcoming led Robinson to refer to International Association of Athletics Federation (IAAF) rules, which point to sanctions for second time anti-doping violations.

He said that both of Mullings' breaches are "standard violations" and charged that, based on "the chart (guideline) the possible sanction is eight years to life".

He asked that the panel consider that Mullings did not attend any sitting of the case and did not present any witness in an attempt to prove his innocence. He said that the athlete should be punished to the fullest of the law and added that "a message should be sent" to potential violators.

In response, Mullings' lawyer Alando Terrelonge noted that the letter from the JAAA did not address the classification of the previous sanction.

He argued that with regards to sentencing, his client should benefit from any doubt surrounding whether he was found to have intentionally tried to enhance his performance.

Terrelonge described Mullings as a "talented athlete", who should not be punished for being absent from the hearing. He asked the panel to "not be swayed by prejudice or hostility" towards Mullings and added that a life ban would be "draconian".

He returned to the point he made during a submission over a week ago that JADCo's rules allow for an athlete to be represented even if he or she is absent.

Asked Terrelonge: "Are we penalising this young man for not coming (to the hearing) or are we interested in the justice of the case?"

He contended that Mullings' current situation is dissimilar to "extreme cases", which he said warrant life bans under the provisions of the IAAF and the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) rules.

According to Terrelonge, a four-to-six or six-to-eight-year ban, depending on the panel's interpretation of the rules, would be a more just punishment.

Furosemide is a potent diuretic that increases the release of fluids and other substances from the body and can be used to conceal the presence of other drugs.

Mullings, who is also represented by attorneys Allison Strange and Ryan Cipparone of the Florida-based law firm Bret Jones PA, has strongly denied any wrongdoing.

Meanwhile, it is likely that the sprinter will challenge the panel's ruling at the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

Source: Jamaica Observer 

Ioctane-crying-to-the-naation.jpg

"I-Octane's fusion of hauntingly sung vocals with rapid-fire rhymes...reaffirm dancehall's significance as a vehicle for compelling commentaries and praising Jah..." - Billboard Magazine, Chosen as one of the '15 Artistes Impacting The Indie Scene'.

VP Records and Scikron are proud to announce the release of I-Octane's debut album, 'Crying To The Nation,' available January 31, 2012. As one of the most-talked about artistes emerging from Jamaica, I-Octane's first full-length LP will reinvigorate the feeling of roots and dancehall at its purest. He has already proven himself as a lyricist with rapid-fire delivery, and unveils his uncanny ability to sing romantic ballads and socially aware tunes on this traditional reggae album.

'Crying To The Nation' puts I-Octane in a class of his own as one of the next generation's leaders of the conscious dancehall movement. Following in a similar vein of his predecessors Sizzla, Capleton and Buju Banton, his lyrics express sentiments of faith, romance, social justice and compassion for the ghetto youth. His brand new single L.O.V.E Y.O.U, Missing You Remix (featuring Agent Sasco) and Once More reflect his emotional sensibility, while songs like Vanity Will Come, All We Need Is Love (featuring Tarrus Riley) and the title track are filled with positive messages and political leanings, something that the current state of dancehall often lacks.

"I feel good about all the songs I've done since I have started out, but this album is very special to me because I got the chance to make the type of songs that I really enjoy and medz the music in a different creative way. My fans will get to see another side of me and after all the challenges I've faced in the industry, seeing my first album is a great accomplishment. I give thanks for that," states I-Octane.

Most of the album's tracks have never been heard with the exception of the pulsating dancehall anthems Nuh Love Inna Dem and Puff It as well as Lose A Friend, arguably his biggest and most requested song to date. The latter tune hit number #1 on Jamaica's charts - remaining at the top for approximately 16 weeks - and experienced new life again when Jamaican officials declared a state of emergency after Kingston's gruesome gang-related attacks. This year, Billboard magazine enlisted I-Octane as one of their 15 Artists Impacting The Indie Scene. In a rave review for his latest mixtape Focus (produced by Livity Movements), the New York Times adds that his recent performance at Jamaica's largest annual music festival, Reggae Sumfest, was focused and intense and stood out for bonfires getting stoked throughout the crowd. In the language of Sumfest, that's an endorsement, a big one for this young singer.

The evolution of I-Octane began when he developed a diverse catalogue of songs under the moniker Richie Rich. He had dancehall's A-List producers at the helm, like Donovan Germaine of Penthouse Records, Arrows and Cash Flow. In 2007, his breakthrough hit Stab Vampire became the number one song in his native country and received the award for Video of the Year at the Excellence in Music Awards (EME). I-Octane continued to put out hit after hit like Mama You Alone, Lose A Friend, My Life, Nuh Love Inna Dem, Nuh Ramp Wid Wi and Puff It.

In his short five year career, he has already received a total of 20 nominations and awards, including 3 wins at this year's Excellence in Music Awards (EME) for Breakthrough Artiste, Best Male Singjay and Best Reggae Song for My Life, Best Performer at the 2011 Clarendon Music Awards and Jamaica Observer's title for Male Singer of the Year. Digicel, the largest mobile telecommunications operator in the Caribbean, selected I-Octane as its brand ambassador for the company's Next Generation campaign in 2010 and as their sole entertainer for 2011. Over the past year, I-Octane kicked off an extensive tour spanning 40 cities in North America as well as the shores of Japan. In addition to his buzzworthy mixtape, he is set to release a digital EP 'Straight From The Heart' on December 6, 2011 prior to his debut album. In 2012, 'Crying To The Nation' will solidify his position as a multi-faceted reggae artiste, proving his reach beyond dancehall with his added repertoire of touching love songs and cultural tunes. This refreshing approach to the genre holds a bright future for the ever-evolving artiste.

Track Listing For Crying To The Nation:

01. Rules Of Life
02. Help I Please
03. Vanity Will Come
04. Nuh Love Inna Dem
05. Puff It
06. No More Violence
07. System A Beat Dem
08. Zion Awaits
09. L.O.V.E. Y.O.U
10. Missing You Remix (ft. Agent Sasco)
11. Once More
12. The Master's Plan
13. Lose A Friend
14. All We Need Is Love (ft. Tarrus Riley)
15. Crying To The Nation
16. Still Holding On
17. Space For All Of Us (ft. Alborosie) [Bonus Digital Release Only]

www.ioctanemusic.com
www.facebook.com/itsioctanesiiick

-- Edited by I-CO on Monday 21st of November 2011 07:54:06 PM
?controllerName=image&action=get&id=1773482&width=628&height=471

Los Angeles Galaxy goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts Jamaica's national goalkeeper, middle, celebrates with his teammates after the Galaxy defeated the Houston Dynamo 1-0 in the MLS Cup championship soccer match, Sunday, Nov. 20, 2011, in Carson, Calif. (AP Photo/Bret Hartman)

The Los Angeles Galaxy beat Houston Dynamo 1-0 in the Major League Soccer (MLS) Cup final Sunday night in what may well prove to be David Beckham's last appearance for the club.

The former Manchester United superstar's five-year contract expires in the offseason and French giants Paris St. Germain are leading the chase for the 36-year-old's signature. He is also set to receive various offers to return to the English Premier League.

Fittingly, it was Beckham who was involved in Galaxy's only goal Sunday, linking up with the club's two other big names, Robbie Keane and eventual goalscorer Landon Donovan, in the 72nd minute to secure LA's third MLS title -- and Beckham's first.

Beckham flicked a header on to Keane on the edge of the area and the former Tottenham star played in a neat through ball to Donovan, who was able to slot it past Dynamo goalkeeper Tally Hall and into the back of the net.

The game also saw the LA Galaxy's Bruce Arena become the first coach to win three MLS titles, having won two with DC United in the competition's early years.

Leading into Sunday, Keane said he hoped the final would not prove to be Beckham's last appearance in an LA Galaxy jersey.

"I've loved playing with David Beckham and hopefully we will continue to play together," Keane said, according to Sky Sports.

"I've played against David over the years and I got a taste of how good he is when he trained with Spurs last winter. But it has been a pleasure to play with him for the Galaxy."

Source: Fox News 

WHERE better to score the longest headed goal ever than in the Land of the Rising Sun?

Not that Ryujiro Ueda of second division @#$iano Okayama had to rise too far on Sunday.

When Yokohama FC keeper Kentro Seki launched a goal kick into @#$iano's half, he assumed that was the last he'd see of the ball for a while.

Just inside his own half, lanky Ueda stepped forward to make a clearance and there still didn't appear to be too much danger as his header looped back towards Yokohama's goal.

But hapless Seki underestimated the pace of the ball and one bounce... two bounce... three bounces later it had nestled into the back of his net.

Ueda's effort is the latest contender to be a world record, following on from Jone Samuelsen's long-range strike for Odd Grenland in Norway's first division two months ago.

Samuelsen's goal was listed as being from a distance of 57 yards - but Ueda has now headed himself into the record books having added a yard to that distance.

Source: The Sun 

ENGLISH PREMIER LEAGUE referees have brandished some baffling red cards this season - but this sending off in the Ukrainian top flight tops them all. 

Dnipro were 2-0 up in their Premier League match with Karpaty Lviv on Sunday when the astonishing incident took place.

Samuel Inkoom had already been booked when his manager, former Spurs boss Juande Ramos, called for the defender to be subbed in the 62nd minute.

The Ghanaian international - who has been linked with a move to Liverpool - removed his shirt as he made his way off the pitch to be replaced. 

But much to the bemusement of Inkoom, referee Oleg Derevinsky ran over to the player to brandish a second yellow card and send the 22-year-old off.

And if poor Inkoom thought he may receive the support of his manager he was wrong, as Ramos backed the busy body ref for upholding the letter of the law.

Ramos said: "Samuel was already on a yellow card and we know if you take your shirt off on the filed you'll be shown a yellow card.

"It was an unforgivable mistake on the part of our player.

"A professional can't allow himself to make such mistakes."

Inkoom meanwhile bizarrely blamed the incident on the Ukrainian weather, saying he needed to remove his shirt because it was... freezing.

He said: "It's cold here. At the moment the temperature is about zero."

Source: The Sun 

I Octane 2011 Zip FM Removed I Octane From Airwaves

This is unusual for one of reggae musics brightest stars I-Octane.

Just a week after release his new single Informer A Work, one radio station Zip FM has issued a ban on the song claiming inappropriate lyrical content.

click here to read full article & listen track

Now that Drakes sophomore album is out, he told Billboard that he wants to have a release concert in Jamaica and battle Weezy song for song. Lawdamercy!

I dont want to just do an album release concert. So, me, I go to Jamaica a lot I love Jamaican culture so what Im gonna do, Im challenging Lil Wayne to a sound clash, thats what I want to do. I dont want to just perform by myself, he told us. So I want Wayne to come out on stage with a mic and Im gonna have a mic, and were gonna have both our DJs, and were gonna battle song-for-song and see who the people love more. And thats how its gonna go.

Thats something that Im serious about, hes serious about it too. I already issued the challenge, he said. Hes serious about it, he accepted like, Man, Im ready. Im gonna eat your food. Im like, Aiight, well see.

-- Edited by SLICE BREAD on Tuesday 15th of November 2011 07:06:00 PM

GEORGIA, USA (AP) - Atlanta-area authorities say a teenage burglary suspect was pulled from a chimney by firefighters after being stuck there for more than 10 hours.

Police say the 17-year-old boy was taken into custody after being freed from the chimney around 1:30 pm Tuesday at a home in Norcross, northeast of Atlanta.

Gwinnett County police Corporal Jake Smith tells The Atlanta Journal-Constitution the teen was charged with burglary and giving false information to a police officer.

Smith said a neighbour heard someone yelling for help from her neighbour's chimney.

Authorities tell the Gwinnett Daily Post the teen was screaming when fire crews arrived and told the firefighters he had been stuck there since 3:00 am Tuesday.

Firefighters freed him by lowering a rope from the top of the chimney.

The top two teams from each of the semi-final groups will advance to round four of qualifying - commonly known as the "hexagonal".

Three teams from CONCACAF are guaranteed to qualify for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, with the fourth-placed team from the hexagonal facing off against the Oceania winner.

CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying - Round Three

Group A
United States
Jamaica
Guatemala
Antigua & Barbuda

Group B
Mexico
Costa Rica
El Salvador
Guyana

Group C
Honduras
Cuba
Canada
Panama 

SCHEDULE OF MATCHES
(home team listed first)

MATCHDAY 1
Friday, June 8, 2012
Group A
United States vs. Antigua & Barbuda
Jamaica vs. Guatemala

Group B
Mexico vs. Guyana
Costa Rica vs. El Salvador

Group C
Honduras vs. Panama
Cuba vs. Canada

MATCHDAY 2
Tuesday, June 12, 2012
Group A
Guatemala vs. United States
Antigua & Barbuda vs. Jamaica

Group B
El Salvador vs. Mexico
Guyana vs. Costa Rica

Group C
Canada vs. Honduras
Panama vs. Cuba

MATCHDAY 3
Friday, September 7, 2012
Group A
Jamaica vs. United States
Guatemala vs. Antigua & Barbuda

Group B
Costa Rica vs. Mexico
El Salvador vs. Guyana

Group C
Cuba vs. Honduras
Canada vs. Panama

MATCHDAY 4
Tuesday, September 11, 2012
Group A
United States vs. Jamaica
Antigua and Barbuda vs. Guatemala

Group B
Mexico vs. Costa Rica
Guyana vs. El Salvador

Group C
Honduras vs. Cuba
Panama vs. Canada 

MODERN DAY DANCEHALL CLASSICS

November 15, 2011
Started By kizzle3 Comments

In recent years I have identified some dancehall songs that I call instant classics.  Now as we know classic songs are those which remain popular for years.

dutty-wine-300x216.jpg

They almost never die.  Songs become classics in my mind for varying reasons.  They may be classics due to the controversy they caused, the relevance they maintain from generation to generation, among other reasons.  Here are my picks for recent instant dancehall classics and the reason they are classics in my mind.

Check out the article here. Entries from Mavado, Kartel, Tony Matterhorn & more..

What unnu think of the list? 

The law firm, STF Legal Associates which includes Tom Tavares-Finson and his son Christian, will be busy as more entertainers get in trouble with the law!

FLEXXDANCEHALL.jpg

The latest entertainer represented by the prominent attorneys is Gully Squad member, Flexx. According to Christian Tavares-Finson, the police have no further interest in the entertainer. Flexx was listed as a person of interest by the police last week and was wanted for questioning.

The law firm, STF Legal Associates currently represents Vybz Kartel, Mavado, Cali P, Flexx and Vybz Kartel's fashion designer, Mooney.

Click here to listen confirmation

Source: IrieFM.Net 

A man who conned another out of $100,000 after placing a false advertisement in the newspaper for the sale of a car was on Thursday remanded into custody for sentencing on November 17 in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court.

Fenton Stephens pleaded guilty to obtaining money by false pretence when he appeared in court and was remanded in custody for sentencing after his lawyer requested a week in order for him to reimburse the complainant.

According to police reports, Stephens placed an advertisement in the newspaper on October 2 for the sale of a Toyota Corolla. He was later contacted by the complainant and arrangements were made for the complainant to deposit the money in an account before meeting him at fast-food restaurant in Mandeville, Manchester.

However, after the complainant deposited the money, Stephens could not be found.

The complainant then reported the matter to the police and Stephens was arrested on October 31. When he was held he reportedly told the police, "Officer mi can pay back the money".

Singjay I-Octane is gearing up to release his EP titled Straight From The Heart. Coming from a successful performance in Barbados this past weekend which saw him performing to over 5000 people he has now turned his attention to this very special project which comprise seven carefully chosen tracks for which he says should connect "with people despite their class, colour or creed."

Commenting on his upcoming EP which is a labour of love for him I-Octane says "You can always meet somebody and talk to them about your experiences but very often there isn't the time to really get into it and really let them know the situation. That's why I always say music is a tool. There is no greater way for me to really touch the souls of my fans, except through my music."

i-octane_straight_from_the_heart_ep_album_reggae.jpg

And that's exactly what the EP is about words coming - Straight From The Heart. According to the singjay people will be able to relate to each track as they are taken from life experiences and will certainly offer something to meditate on.

Straight From The Heart will also be offering a few surprises for fans of the artiste as not only will they be experiencing the old I-Octane that they know and love, but they will be introduced to a different more mature artiste.

"I have been in the business for a little while now," he says adding "I've been introduced to different sounds and different producers so for me it's all about growth. I have also matured as a person so you will be able to see and feel some of those things in some of the songs."

Four of the songs on the EP were voiced outside of Jamaica, three in the US (a first for I-Octane) and the other in St. Kitts. The other three songs were produced by some of the most promising young talents in Jamaica.

Straight From the Heart provides a mixture of the authentic reggae beats infused with a more modern neo-reggae vibe. The EP is a refreshing production that sets the stage for I-Octane's upcoming debut album and this he says is exactly the way he wants it.

"These songs are definitely straight from my heart to my fans. I feel good about them and I am excited for my fans to hear them."
Straight from the Heart is slated to be released digitally on December 6, 2011.

Source: Dancehallreggaeweseh.com 

-- Edited by I-CO on Tuesday 15th of November 2011 12:31:53 PM

The ongoing circus that is the trial of embattled Dancehall superstar, Adidja Vybz Kartel Palmer may have taken another turn; this time involving the police.

According to the Jamaica Observer, six police officers assigned to the Gun Court Remand Centre could be facing corruption charges after they were allegedly caught on video taking money from one of Vybz Kartels relatives. Kartel currently sits in a Kingston-based jail where he faces two murder charges and a drug-related charge, all issues within the last month and a half.

Now its being reported that investigators from the police Anti-Corruption Branch followed one of the six police officers from the Gun Court Remand Centre to the home of Kartels relative, where he videotaped the law enforcement official taking money from her. Allegedly, the video shows the officer accepting money from the relative of the popular deejay in exchange for being allowed to visit Kartel in s restricted area of the Constant Spring jail.

As a result, the police officer, along with five other law enforcement official were transferred from the Gun Court Remand Centre while Vybz Kartel has since been moved to the Horizon Adult Remand Centre on Spanish Town Road due to the alleged incidentAdditionally, reports revealed that the officer was not searched before being allowed into an area of the lock-up off limits to the public; spending a considerable amount of time with Kartel while other law enforcement officials allowed the illegal meeting to take place.

The Portmore Empire deejay faces murder, conspiracy to murder and illegal possession of firearm charges in relation to the murder of Barrington Bossie Burton, a businessman/promoter from St. Catherine. Furthermore, Kartel, along with long-time protégé, Shawn Storm, designer, Calvin Moonie Haye and Cayro Jones were jointly charged with the murder of Clive Lizard Williams, a dancer from Waterford, St. Catherine .

All of the accused were remanded into police custody until December 2.

Check Out My Website www.jamanworldboss.com

The death of Dancehall? Who’s next!?

November 15, 2011
Started By kizzle11 Comments

What is really going on in the Portmore Empire?  Is it a group of musicians working to pursue a career in music or is it a crime ring?  Recent activities have left a number of persons thinking the latter.

The head of the Portmore Empire, Vybz Kartel was arrested and charged for murder and as if that was not enough drama for the Empire, another member of the group Shawn Storm has also been arrested and jointly charged with his leader, Kartel for the murder of Clive Williams also known as Lizard.

The body of Lizard has not yet been found.  According to the prosecution they have video and telephone evidence linking the men to the crime.  It is also alleged that, Shawn Storm played the role of the messenger in this conspiracy.  It is alleged that Shawn Storm was the one who called Lizard to his death.

My concern as usual is how this affects the music.  The music industry is constantly being plagued by a series of arrests of members of the music industry.  This really leaves us to wonder, what really is the connection between the music industry and the underworld? Is it that it is impossible for these artists to let loose certain links from where they are from?

Read the rest of the article here.

Double World Record holder Usain Bolt earlier today won his third International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) male Athlete of the Year award in Monaco.

The announcement was made in a release from the IAAF with Australian hurdlers Sally Pearson winning the female equivalent.

734623-sally-pearson-athlete-of-the-year.jpg

The athletes are to be presented with their trophies and US$100,000 awards this afternoon (local time) at a function to be held Salle des Etoiles of the Sporting Club d'Eté in Monaco that will be broadcast globally.

Bolt won five of six 100m races this past season and retained his IAAF World Championships 200m title in Daegu, South Korea and anchored the Jamaican 4x100m relay team to a gold in a World Record 37.04 seconds.

He also ended the season with the fastest 100m time of 9.76 seconds and was unbeaten in four 200m races.

Bolt told reporters, "This season was a really trying season for me, I really had to work hard and stand up my game."

"There were some close races this season, I really had to push myself. So this (award) really means a whole lot to me. Because I really came out there hard this year, and all the hard work I put in paid off," he also said.

This was Bolt's third win in four years as he also won in 2008 and 2009 and beat a field that included compatriot and training partner Yohan Blake who won the World Championships 100m title after Bolt was sensationally disqualified for a false start as well and Kenyan 800m World Champion David Rudisha who won last year.

Blake did not come away empty handed as he won the award for the Male Performance of the Year after he ran the second fastest 200m ever, 19.26 seconds at the Memorial van Damme in Brussels. 

For those who dont know, the ti-bollom is said to be a obeah slave....They are created from eggs using occult magic and they work for the master who creates it all his life....Kind of like a demonic henchman.

THE CREATURE IN THE PIC BELOW IS BELIEVED TO BE A TI-BOLLOM BY THE ONES WHO CAUGHT IT.

WHATEVER IT IS, IT'S NOT OUR EVERY DAY ANIMAL FOR SURE....ALIEN OR "TI-BOLLOM" OR ANIMAL YOU BE THE JUDGE.

298729_10150453425498064_536958063_10451311_2116358125_n.jpg

u have different stages of ratings u give to artist.......

1.Iron Baloon-ur failure to get a hit song....u suffer from the lyndo syndrome....its call the doza medicine virus
at this stage u dont even make it to a cd or a stage show....u lack an potential....ur mixtapes go in the bin

2.one hit wonder-u get a lucky break...a one tune deh a road...it get airplay....ur name gets call....u get one or two
stage show....but yet still u may struggle to find the melody or the right key to make a next hit....and it becomes more stressing
than b4

3.Yu have a likkle hype-U got two, three more songs on the road....ur name gets call more...ur trying to be consistent in the lime
light...ur getting some more small shows...u may even be in opening acts for sting and u can call for sum small island shows..u have a hype with a one
video.however the stress to  climb to the top begins here

4.yuh ting a shot!!-this is when u start to see the peak of the mountain...its there...but still a bit far...ur on some top producers riddims,
yu get some collabs wid di top names in dancehall. ur on sumfest,sting, gt taylor...ur name is bieng called more on the radio, u get bookings for
overseas shows....ur seen as a promising act for the future

5.yuh a di boss-this is where locally ur seen as a major act, if ur not on a riddim. the riddim naah shot, ur on every shows, ur fully booked locally
and overseas, ur called for several media interviews....sponsors are at ur doorsteps...u have local and overseas managements...johnny wonder actually listens
ur music and kisses ur ass.....u are on the path to greatest

6.ICon-You are the best of the best.....ur seen as a legend....probably not to all the elders...but ur there...u call the shots, u have ur recording label, u
bring several artist to stardom, u make ur own price, u are ur own man, controversy follows u, they need u to make several donations to institutions, tax ppl start
pree u hard like some whoring gyal....the ppl see u as a ambassador to the country....ur living a pop star life

7.legend-this is the point where ppl praise u because u kick the bucket.....they give u the all time praise....that they were afraid to give u when u were alive,they
do greatest hits albums, overseas companies want to buy your publishing....u actually get a grammy for ur work....they wudnt have given u when u were alive...but u got it
when ur 6 feet deep.....johnny wonder actually praises u for bieng the best(pssh)....my fren u have done it all....

Alicia Keys mixing at Yotel NYCAlicia Keys showed her mixer alter ego Mrs. DJ AK 47 recently at Yotel NYC, and shes not bad! Her selection was good,

click here to read full article & watch video

rihanna talk that talk tracklisting 4 Rihanna Says Yes I Am Pregnant With...

When asked if she is pregnant, Rihanna says yes, while speaking on the Elvis Duran and the Morning Show from her tour bus in Belgium.

-- Edited by Gamepun (Snr.Mod) on Saturday 12th of November 2011 04:21:17 PM

applebees_20111110104006_640_480-300x216.jpgAn African American waitress in Towson, Maryland is claiming that her boss ordered her to serve only Black customers who entered

VETERAN track and field administrator Howard Aris died last night during a Peoples National Party (PNP) mass rally in Port Antonio, sending shockwaves throughout the Opposition party and the country.

PNP deputy general secretary Julian Robinson told the Observer that Aris was found unconscious in PNP president Portia Simpson Millers motor vehicle and was rushed to hospital.

610x.jpg

Medical doctor Lynvale *la*hmfield, the PNPs parliamentary candidate for East Portland, confirmed Aris passing.

Members of the party told the Observer that Aris, an ardent PNP supporter and longtime friend of Simpson Miller, went to the vehicle to rest after spending some time on the stage.

One person who was in the vehicle was overheard saying that Aris seemed to have died before he was rushed to the Port Antonio Hospital shortly before 10:00 pm.

Simpson Miller, who received the news just as she was wrapping up her address to supporters, appeared too distraught to speak to the media.

Aris, was president of the Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA) until the time of his death. He was fondly called Fudge and had a distinguished career in track and field administration and shared a unique position with Jamaican track and field legend Herb McKenley.

They were both on their respective high school athletics teams (Kingston College and Calabar), were head coaches of winning Boys Championship teams, and served as JAAA president in a year which the school they once coached won the Boys Champs title.

In fact, Aris was head coach at one point, during Kingston Colleges 14-year winning streak from 1962 to 1975. That streak was broken by Calabar, under the directorship of McKenley, in 1976.

Aris, however, stood alone as having been an athlete on a winning Champs team, giving him an outlook as an athlete, a coach, and a track and field administrator.

accident-in-slu1.jpg

Remnants of crashed bus. Photo credit: St. Lucia Star

Tragedy struck in St. Lucia last evening when a bus fell over a precipice into the ocean leaving 16 dead.

The catastrophe occurred in the Choiseul community of Morne Sion around 8:00 pm.

Reports are that the bus was returning to Labayee from Choiseul after a funeral; but detoured to Delcer to pay respects to the family of the deceased. They were driving down the Morne Sion Road heading south to Choiseul village when the bus did not make the left turn, careening over the cliff and landing straight onto the beach, 120 feet below.

When rescuers arrived on the scene, three strewn bodies were seen on the beach being washed by the waves; two of them were apparently dead; but the third was showing signs of life. She was taken to the hospital but she didnt make it.

However it wasnt until the capsized bus which was partially submerged by the wave action was turned over that the full horror story struck. The first victim hoisted was a two-year old boy followed by a series of wet dead bodies. They were all put to lay on the beach.

The final count is now 16.

Emotional screams of sadness filled the air. A gentleman from Gertrine is reported to have lost his three children.

Minister of National Security and Home Affairs Guy Mayers has described the accident as one of the worst in the countrys history.

The entire country is now in a state of mourning.

accident-in-slu.jpg

Map of where the accident occurred.

accident-in-slu2.jpg

The bus drove through where the red bus is parked

accident-in-slu3.jpg

Remnants of the bus

accident-in-slu4.jpg

Residents found one body

accident-in-slu7.jpg

A section of the precipice

accident-in-slu5.jpg

The precipice the bus went over

My condelences to the families and all those who lost love ones...Jah know sad

STING 1989 Throwback Video: Sting 1989 With Wayne Wonder, Papa San, Tiger And More

Sting 1989 was dubbed as one of the best staging since the shows inception almost 30 years ago.

It was a joy for patrons to see live the lyrical prowess of Tiger, Papa San, Admiral Bailey, Johnny P, Jose Wales, Wayne Wonder and Sanchez.

iriewaiters found some footage on Youtube, thanks to the uploader goosebump61.

click here to watch

REQUEST CAN SOMEONE POST 2 KENNY ROGERS ALBUM N A LINCOLN PARK ALBUM PLZ THANK U

cpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcp

Big-wave surfer Garrett McNamara has broken the record for the biggest wave ever ridden, according to a press release issued by a public relations arm of Nazaré, a city near the ASP World Tour site of Peniche, Portugal. With evidence based on the above video and a photo yet to be released to the media, word from the McNamara camp is that his wave measures 90 feet.

If accurate, the wave estimate would dwarf previous "biggest wave ridden" candidates such as Mike Parson's 2008 frontrunner at Cortes Bank -- estimated in the 70-foot range -- or Ken Bradshaw's 1998 wave at Outer Log Cabins -- estimated at 80 feet (but lacking solid documentation). 

An informal but widely sought goal of the global big-wave community has been to conquer a 100-foot wave. If McNamara's wave earns a consensus of 90-feet, not only will he reach the record books, but will have put the elusive 10-story wave within spitting distance. 

The 2002 Tow Surfing World Cup champion had been involved in a multi-year commitment with an entity called the Portuguese Hydrographic Institute to explore the waves magnified by a massive canyon off of the Nazaré coast. Like canyons at Puerto Escondido, Mexico, or Blacks in San Diego, the underwater canyon intensifies swells into a focused location. McNamara was surfing with the United Kingdom's Andrew Cotton -- who reportedly towed McNamara -- and Ireland's Al Mennie, who viewed the feat from the channel.

"Both Cotty and I rode two big ones in the 60-foot-plus range and then when Garrett got on the rope a wave, maybe 30 feet bigger came out of the canyon, it was meant to be," Mennie said. "I had the best seat in the house as I was doing water safety on the [jet] ski as he dropped down the face of the biggest wave I've ever seen."

Other than the video above, little documentation has been released. Via Twitter, Kelly Slater wrote, "I just saw a shot of Garrett McNamara from Portugal on a stupidly big wave. He should post that thing ASAP. Looks like huge Jaws."

McNamara, who is known for chasing rare and giant waves, like the waves created by calving ice at Child's Glacier in Alaska, combined ocean-going skills honed on the North Shore of Oahu with his reputation for exploration. "I feel so blessed and honored to have been invited to explore this canyon and its special town," McNamara said. "The waves here are such a mystery."

Source: ESPN 

YOOOOO THIS NUH EASY lol

JAMAICA's quartet of Rosemarie Whyte, Davita Prendergast, Novlene Williams-Mills and Shericka Williams ran a new national record 3:18:71 to take silver in the women's 4x400 metres relay at the IAAF World Championships in Daegu, South Korea today.

Williams held off the Russian challenge (3:19.36) to cross the line behind the United States who ran a world leading 3:18.09.

http://cyaniderecords.webs.com/

http://www.myspace.com/cyanide876

http://twitter.com/cyanide876

http://www.facebook.com/CyanideRecords

http://www.youtube.com/user/cyaniderecords

305199_2144555697879_1365855887_31818525_998278857_n.jpg

«First  <  119 20 21 22 23524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by