Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.
The superintendent of schools in Kansas City, Mo. says almost half of the district's schools must close because they do not have enough students. He says the enrollment drop is contributing to the district's massive deficit.

Police in Aberdeen, Wash. are investigating after a van crashed into a convenience store, injuring three people including a 2-year-old girl. According to a witness the van's engine began revving before it plowed through the front of the store.

THIEVES CLONE DEBIT CARDS

March 11, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION2 Comments

Holders of debit cards from various banks in the island are being urged to practise extra security measures when using automated teller machines, as criminals have devised new means through which to capture and steal account information.

The new developments, which include the installation of various pieces of equipment which are able to clone the user's card, and copy all the required information, are forcing local banks to come up with strong measures to combat these practices. A number of the banks using the popular multi-link network have been affected.

Belinda Williams, public relations and corporate affairs manager at the National Commercial Bank, said the bank is aware of the new fraud. In an email, she told THE STAR, "The method currently being used is the tampering of ABMs belonging to the various members of the Multi-link Network with the use of devices which covertly capture the customer's ABM card information (known as skimming), and the captured information is then used to create a replica of the customer's card (cloning) and ultimately used to withdraw funds from the customer's account."

protect your PIN

In relation to this disturbing trend, she said the bank has since launched an education campaign, dubbed 'Protect Your Pin', to inform customers of the importance of keeping their personal identification number (PIN) safe. She said this was very important as fraudsters cannot access a customer's account without the PIN.

Fraudsters usually install a surveillance camera inside the machines with the aim of capturing a customer's PIN as he or she enters it. In order to combat this, bank officials are advising customers to shield their PIN at all times, including when using a debit card at a point of sale location.

RBTT has also responded to the new threat. Michael Gordon, regional security coordinator of protective services at the bank, while not revealing specific security measures, said the bank has been working closely with the police to handle suspected cases of tampering.

Both banks have issued guidelines to help customers stay safe and protected, while investigations are being carried out. The guidelines include firstly, protecting PINs, observing the surroundings and inspecting ATMs for obvious extraneous attachments, shielding keypads when entering pins, periodically checking accounts to ensure that the transactions processed to their accounts are valid.

cautions

Customers are also being urged to keep all ATM receipts, refrain from giving their cards to strangers or soliciting help from strangers at the machines and to contact their bank immediately if their card is seized by the ATM.

Gordon said that while the bank was doing its part to secure its systems, customers are also to do theirs.

Williams said the National Commercial Bank is at present trying to find a long-term solution to the problem, by sourcing and acquiring anti-fraud solutions to be implemented throughout its ATM network. She also said, "NCB has been consistently monitoring our network and working with legal authorities as well as customers in instances where cards have been fraudulently compromised by skimming and cloning activities. Investigations are conducted with a view to ensuring that our customers are satisfied and account balance/status restored."

The Fraud Squad is aware of this latest scam and just recently, two women were arrested and taken before the court after they were allegedly held attempting to install a camera and other devices in an ATM. That matter is still before the court.

Attempts to speak with a representative from the Bank of Nova Scotia were unsuccessful.
International recording artist Akon meets the media in Mumbai to talk about recording a song for Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan's upcoming movie, 'RA. One.'

NEWSMAKER-World's richest man, Slim, a born wheeler-dealer

MEXICO CITY, March 10 (Reuters) - Mexico's Carlos Slim, named the world's richest man on Wednesday, first showed a talent for business as a 10-year-old kid when he filled his pockets with pesos selling drinks and snacks to his family.

As a youngster he also kept accounting ledgers of what he earned and spent and bought a government savings bond from which he learned valuable lessons about compound interest.

More than half a century later Slim, 70, has amassed a fortune of $53.5 billion, beating Microsoft founder Bill Gates to top the list of the world's richest people, according to a new ranking published by Forbes magazine. [nN10134288]

His far-flung business empire includes some of Mexico's best-known department stores, its biggest telecoms operator, hotels, restaurants, oil drilling, building firms and Inbursa bank (GFINBURO.MX) -- making it hard to go a day in Mexico without paying him some money.

Outside Mexico Slim has holdings in such prestigious groups as retailer Saks (SKS.N) and New York Times Co (NYT.N).

His defining foray occurred in 1990 when he and his partners bought creaking state telephone company Telmex (TELMEXL.MX) for $1.7 billion. Turning it into a cash-making jewel, he spun off America Movil (AMXL.MX) and expanded it through acquisitions to become the world's No. 4 wireless operator.

While critics accuse him of using a monopoly to build his fortune, Slim has a simple philosophy about making money.

"Wealth is like an orchard," he told Reuters in 2007. "With the orchard, what you have to do is make it grow, reinvest to make it bigger, or diversify into other areas."

Cigar-smoking Slim's trademark is his "Midas" touch, acquiring struggling firms and turning them into cash cows.

In 2008, he bought a minority stake in the New York Times as the stock tanked. Now, warrants he received for lending the publisher $250 million could net him more than $80 million and could lead to a 16 percent stake in the company for Slim, who says he has no interest in becoming a U.S. media baron.

But Slim's newspaper investment has ruffled feathers in the New York media establishment. As investors speculated last week that he could move to acquire more of the Times, media mogul Rupert Murdoch said he doubted the controlling family would relinquish control to an outsider, especially from abroad.

FRUGAL LIFESTYLE

Slim learned his first business lessons from his father, Julian Slim Haddad, a Lebanese immigrant who came to Mexico in the early 1900s, opened the "Star of the Orient" general store and bought properties cheap during the Mexican Revolution.

In 1987, when stocks nosedived during one of Mexico's many crises, Slim saw opportunities where others feared disaster, picking up low-priced shares and selling when they recovered.

"We know that crises are always temporary and there is no evil that lasts 100 years, there is always an overshoot," Slim once said. "When there is a crisis that provokes an adjustment, an overreaction comes along and things get undervalued."

Slim's enormous wealth stands starkly against his frugal lifestyle. He has lived in the same house for about 40 years and drives an aging Mercedes Benz, although it is armored and trailed by bodyguards. He eschews private jets, yachts and other luxuries popular among Mexico's elite.

After studying engineering, Slim founded a real estate company and worked as a trader on the Mexican stock exchange.

His wealth growing, he opened a brokerage in the mid-1960s and a decade later he began his trademark trait of buying failing businesses, including a cigarette company. He acquired department store and cafe Sanborns, a mine operator and manufacturers of cables and tires.

By 1990 Slim had built the fortune he used with partners to buy Telmex and launch his telecoms empire. America Movil now has 201 million customers from Brazil to the United States.

Slim has handed over the day-to-day operation of his companies to his three sons and loyal business partners but remains clearly in charge when appearing with them at media events.

He has become involved in combating poverty, illiteracy and poor healthcare in Latin America and promotes sports projects for the poor, but has never voiced plans to give chunks of his wealth to charity like Gates or fellow billionaire Warren Buffett.

Businessmen, he says, do more good by creating jobs and wealth through investment, "not by being Santa Claus."

A 7-year-old boy who called 911 while armed robbers threatened his parents hugged and delivered a high five to the dispatcher who took his call. The AP's John Mone has the story from Norwalk, California.

VP Records clears the air

March 11, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION9 Comments
STARRIGHT_1_PJM4AYLMovaAM.jpgMavado.jpg
The cover of the two albums Mavado released under VP Records. - Contributed

In the wake of news that VP Records and singjay Mavado have parted ways, VP Records has decided to clear the air with a release stating that they decided to pull out of the three album deal contract with the artiste.

In Tuesday's STAR it was reported that Mavado's manager, Julian Jones-Griffith, confirmed that the artiste's contract with VP Records was terminated on March 1 due to a "mutual agreement." Jones-Griffith explained: "The agreement has been terminated so he's not obligated to deliver any more albums. This is the first time an artiste has managed to get out of a deal wid dem ... it's an eye-opener for the business that anyone could get out of a deal with VP."

Now in a release sent from VP Records yesterday they commented, "VP Records can confirm that it released Mavado from his recording agreement. Contrary to reports which have been circulated, however, it was VP that elected, in its sole discretion, not to exercise its option for a further album."

Mavado signed to VP Records late 2006 for a three-album deal. Thus far, Mavado has provided two of the albums: Gangsta For Life: The Symphony of David Brooks in 2007 and Mr Brooks ... A Better Tomorrow last March.

In the meantime, Mavado will be courting overseas labels or may release his third album independently
PPL MI FEEL SEH HIM WAS SUPPOSE TO "BABY GIMMI ONE MORE NIGHT" BUT THANX TO THE WONDERUL INVENTION OF AUTOTUNE, IT SOUND LIKE HIM SAY"GARY GIMMI ONE MORE NIGHT"
New York police arrested Frances Jasmin, charging her with leaving the scene of an accident. The two victims, Erinn Phelan and Alma Guerrero, were hit the morning of February 21. Phelan is an aide to Mayor *la*hmberg and in critical condition.

Upon focusing on gangs as one of their objective in reducing crime, police have discovered that gang members have been resting their guns and travelling with their knives.

Head of the St Andrew Central police, Superintendent Derrick Knight, told THE STAR that gang members have been carrying mostly knives since an increase in spot checks and raids.

"We have seen a recent trend where men tend to carry knives and leave their guns behind since an increase in stop and search and police raid," said Knight.

The senior cop revealed that police in his division have been taking a very low tolerant level toward people carrying knives and unable to give a suitable reason for having the instrument.

Since last year, the police have seen an increase in murders being committed by knives among other sharp and blunt instruments.

"An average of 10 persons are charged for knives each day within the division," said the senior cop. Most of the knife seizures occurred in the commercial areas of the division.

Although people can be charged for having a knife in their possession, the superintendent said because this was a lesser offence, the accused people were not usually arrested. He said since this discovery, the police have changed from this routine.

"Being charged for an offensive weapon is a minor charge and in most cases the person is charged and the weapon taken away. However, since this trend, the police have started to take away the weapon, charge and arrest the persons," said Knight.
A judge has entered a not guilty plea for a Corbin woman charged after her newborn was found dead in the trash at a state prison.

Authorities in Arizona say rapper DMX has been arrested for allegedly violating his probation by using drugs. (March 10)

Police in Los Angeles are searching for four men who allegedly broke into an apartment near UCLA's campus and robbed six students of their cash and computer equipment.

More details are emerging about the E*Trade commercial that spurred actress Lindsay Lohan to sue the financial company for 100 million dollars.

In 1996, he landed a talk show on VH1, appropriately called The RuPaul Show, where he interviewed celebrity guests and musical acts. Nirvana (even though Kurt Cobain committed suicide in 1994), Duran Duran, Taylor Dayne, Mary J. Blige, Bea Arthur, Dionne Warwick, Olivia Newton-John, Beenie Man, Bow Wow Wow, and the Backstreet Boys were notable guests. His co-host was Michelle Visage, with whom he also co-hosted on WKTU radio. On one notable episode, RuPaul brought gay porn culture to Middle America with featured guests Chi Chi LaRue and Tom Chase.

SOURCE: http://eng.anarchopedia.org/RuPaul
British: Go home! Massive protest rally in Turks and Caicos

TURKS AND CAICOS - Several thousands of people took to the streets today in Turks and Caicos, dubbed Unity Day or March in March. The message was the for the British government to go home.

The people of Turks and Caicos have had enough of British diplomats running their country and excluding them from decisions.

In August 2009, due to a bitter political battle brought by the islands' opposition party, the British took governance of the islands amidst allegations of corruption by the former local government under the Michael Misick administration.

Many people have been frightened to speak out against the UK government for fear of reprisal and economic retaliation, as in the case of a local journalist Audley Astwood. But many local islanders felt free to speak their minds today stating that, "there is safety in numbers." And the crowds did come out in great numbers on the streets of Providencials.

The people were protesting the UK's aggressive take over without a vote from the people and abolishment of all democracy. Though the UK told the world that its action in Turks and Caicos would be temporary and decisions would include the input of local islanders, the UK did not keep it's promise. Many local government officials and islanders were let go without cause, and decisions are not being shared. The UK took complete control over the finances as well as Crown land. The UK's actions in Turks and Caicos has been called many things by different word leaders, including a coup d'etat, an invasion, imperialism and hasty. One man, a dictator, HE Gordon Wetherell of the UK, makes all decisions solely without any consideration from the people. In fact, Wetherell now stakes claim in rewriting the constitution without any vote from the people or input.

The islands' economy has suffered following the UK's tax increases and accusation against many resort developers of also being corrupt whereby confiscating the resort developments. Many businesses and people, who had relied on the tourism economy, have left the islands due to the dramatic decline in tourism revenue.

The two political parties in the islands that were once at bitter odds, the PDM and PNP, have found common ground together today. Under the circumstances of the UK's direct rule and mismanagement of Turks and Caicos, the two sides have come together in unity to protest UK presence.

Also present at the rally was Galmo Williams, the Premier at the time of the UK invasion in August who had been serving for just 6 months prior to the take over.

Critics, supporters weigh in on Monica Conyers sentencing

Detroit --Monica Conyers is vowing to fight a 37-month sentence for bribery, but at least one former City Council colleague says she should be thankful she's not going to prison longer.

Councilman Kwame Kenyatta, who tussled with Conyers on the panel, says the sentence doled out Wednesday was "too light."

"She was voted to uphold the people's trust," Kenyatta said. "I feel we are held to a higher standard as elected officials not to submit to people trying to bribe us."

Conyers pleaded guilty last year to accepting at least $6,000 in cash payments to switch her vote and support a $1.2 billion sludge-hauling contract to Synagro Technologies Inc. in 2007. The bribery conspiracy charge was punishable by up to five years, but advisory guidelines used by U.S. District Judge Avern Cohn called for 30-37 months.

That disappointed Eric Walton, a Wayne State University graduate student, who said he hoped Conyers would get the full five years.

"As a taxpayer, I want to see her get what she deserves," Walton said. "As a grown woman, she should own up to the things she has done. You did it. Now pay the piper, pay the price."

Councilman Kenneth c**krel Jr., whom Conyers infamously called "Shrek" during a 2008 council blowup, said he understands some may construe the sentence as light. He wouldn't say how he feels.

"Three years is still three years minus freedom," c**krel said. "If the goal was to send a message, I think that message was still sent."

But onetime supporters and allies of Conyers said they were saddened by the prospect that the onetime councilwoman could go to prison. She's vowing to appeal.

"I don't feel well with the sentence," said former Councilwoman Martha Reeves, who added she didn't know all the details of the evidence against Conyers.

"It hurts my heart. She is a mother and a woman.

"I like Monica. I think she was very intelligent. I think from my side of the table she served well. She was the only one on council to have a law degree."

Agnes Hitchc**k, leader of the g****roots Call 'Em Out Coalition, said she's "saddened" because Conyers had so much potential.

"She started off on the wrong foot," Hitchc**k said. "It's very sad. She could have been a great City Council person for the people."

@import url(http://aranet.vo.llnwd.net/o28/themes/css/araStyleReset.css); @import url(http://aranet.vo.llnwd.net/o28/themes/css/theme300x600A06H1F0L1P0000V1_3.css)
Quantcast

dog-sled_w370.jpg

WILLOW, Alaska -- Jamaican musher Newton Marshall has made history as the first ever person from the Caribbean to enter the annual 1,150-mile Alaskan dog-sled race.

Marshall trained with three-time and reigning Iditarod champion Lance Mackey for the race regarded as one of the world's great endurance tests.

Sponsored by Margaritaville icon Jimmy Buffett, Marshall completed the Yukon Quest last year as a rookie.

Here, Marshall (right) is seen with Mackey before the competitors left at the start in Willow, Alaska on Sunday, March 7. (Photo: AP)

Eric Massa's Navy Files

A couple years ago, I got a tip about Eric Massa. It involved his aggrieved former campaign manager, Sanford Dickert, who was involved in an ugly dispute. Dickert claimed Massa had fired him and refused to pay him for work he'd done on Massa's unsuccessful 2006 run for Congress. Massa, he said, had retaliated by issuing a series of salacious charges against him, which Dickert denied, including that he had hired, and then given alcohol to, underage staffers, and also that he had made a pass at Massa's teenage son. This seemed like a personal dispute that didn't have much news value and was, furthermore, impossible for me to adjudicate. I didn't write about it. Dickert wound up filing a libel suit against Massa, and in the court documents, which you can read here, the strange and bizarre charges are all laid out.

Then came last week's news that Massa, a 20-year Navy veteran elected to the House in 2008, was under investigation by the House Ethics Committee for allegedly groping three young male staffers. Massa sort of denied it, while claiming that the House Democratic leadership had set him up. All this made the earlier episode worth revisiting. Dickert, who had since reached a settlement with Massa, declined to comment when I reached him. (Update: I see that Massa rescinded his allegations against Dickert and issued this joint statement on Dickert's blog.) But in conversations yesterday and today with some of Massa's Navy shipmates, it became clear that the behavior toward his subordinates that got Massa into trouble in Congress is part of pattern that dates to his time in the Navy.

According to Peter Clarke, a Navy shipmate, Massa was notorious for making unwanted advances toward subordinates. He tells the story of his friend Stuart Borsch, with whom Massa shared a hotel room while on leave during the first Gulf War. "Stuart's at the edge of the bed," Clarke says Borsch told him at the time, "and [Massa] starts massaging him. Massa said, 'You'll have to get one of my special massages.' He called them 'Massa Massages.'" Ron Moss, a Navy shipmate and Borsch's roommate, confirmed that Borsch told him this story at the time.

Borsch, now a history professor at Assumption College in Worcester, Massachusetts, didn't addresss that specific incident, but did confirm to me in an email that he was groped by Massa: "In 1990, aboard the U.S.S. Jouett, I was awakened when a senior officer, Lt. Commander Massa, seemed to be groping me. (I was a lieutenant at the time.) I believe he may have been drinking. I shouted at him and he left. I mentioned the incident to several other officers. I did not officially report it."

Clarke says that Massa's roommate, Tom Maxfield, was also assaulted. "Tom lived on upper bunk," Clarke say. "When you're on ship, you're almost exhausted 24-7. So a lot of times you sleep with your uniform on. Tom and Massa shared a stateroom together. Massa climbed up on the top of his bunk, which is hard to do--you never crawl up on somebody else's bunk. He wakes up to Massa undoing his pants trying to snorkel him." Ron Moss also confirmed hearing this story from Maxfield. Maxfield did not return calls and messages left for him--I'll update if he does.

Massa's shipmates didn't turn him in for fear that he would retaliate. "He was a c**ky guy, competent, but he saw himself as a future admiral," Moss told me. "It doesn't surprise me he wound up in Congress." When news of Dickert's dispute with Massa appeared in the Rochester, New York, Democrat-Chronicle in 2006, several of Massa's former shipmates considered coming forward. One of them referred to the dispute as "classic Massa" in an email that was forwarded to me. As Moss wrote to Borsch and Maxfield just before the 2006 election, when Massa first ran for Congress, "I think it is ironic that Massa is accusing this guy [Dickert] of the same thing he tried with you guys (and who knows how many others?) and I think it is pathetic that he would drag his own son into the fray in a public forum." In the end, the former shipmates did not go public with their stories.

However, Massa's behavior in the Navy was not unknown to some in Washington. Around the time of Massa's 2006 race, Clarke says he told Christopher Mansour, then chief of staff to Democratic Rep. Dale Kildee of Michigan, and now a senior official in the Interior Department, about Massa's history. Reached by phone yesterday, Monsour told me, "I just don't want to comment about this. I'd rather not be in this story at all." He added, "I've never met [Massa] or had direct interaction with him."

Massa announced on Friday that he would resign from Congress. That announcement came shortly after the House Ethics Committee had been notified of Massa's behavior in the Navy.

NEFFE COMES CLEAN . . . CLAIMS THAT SHE AIN'T
BROKE . . . SAYS IF YOU DON'T BELIEVE HER . . . YOU CAN GO TO HER HOUSE AND SEE HER 'PLAYSTATIONS AND FLATSCREENS AND STUFF'!!!

1268315896neffe_sollow.jpg

Yesterday,
MediaTakeOut.com received a report, from an entertainment
personality/celebrity that is usually VERY CREDIBLE that Neffe and
Sollow had broken up, and that Neffe was facing some financial
difficulty.

Well now Neffe has come out to say that her and Sollow are doing fine,
and that they arent broke. Heres what she told our peeps at
FreddyO.com:

I work hard for everything I have and my kids get anything
and everything they want. If you come to my house you will see that
they have Playstation 3s and flat screen televisions and any and
everything they could ever want. I am lost for words at the way the
media portrays me and my family. But I understand everybody needs
somebody to hate on. I love my family. I love my sister Keyshia, most
importantly, I love God.

At the end of the day nobody did nothing for me but God and myself.

JUST PLAIN PITIFUL!!! CHRIS BROWN BEGS HIS FANS . . . MAKE ME POPULAR AGAIN!!!

1268316139chris_popular.jpg

When MediaTakeOut.com told you guys last year that Chris Brown would NEVER be able to recover from his assault charge with Rihanna, many of you didn't believe us. Well look at what dude is resporting to now, to try and rehab his career.

The following message was posted on Chris Brown's official website:
I aint never really did this but right now I need all of my fans help. A lot of radio stations arent playing my records. They are not being that supportive and I wouldnt expect them to. Its on the fans and what you guys do in your power to bring me back. Thats all I need is you guys and nothing else will do that except for the fans.
I dont know what else to say. Its nothing else that I can do. Im doing everything that I need to do. Im doing me as a person and Im a better guy.
Its on yall. My singing and my music I do it for you guys and everything else but it wont be possible if Im not relevant on the radio and it wouldnt be possible for me to be an artist if I dont have the support. I cant be an underground mixtape artist. Thats where we are. I just want all my fans to help me.

I love yall. Peace

Chris Brown is really starting to get PATHETIC now . . . the reason his career's failing is "on the fans" . . . Dude's career is OFFICIALLY a wrap!!!

DISTURBING VIDEO!!! ANGRY HUSBAND BRUTALLY STABS HIS WIFE . . . WHILE BYSTANDERS LOOK ON STUNNED . . . AND THIS ANIMAL ONLY GOT 4 YEARS IN JAIL!!!

1268320198oh_my.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com got ahold of the below GRUESOME video. In it, it shows a Dutch man who spazzed out - and tried to murder his wife. Bystanders tried in vain to get him off. It was only after he became exhausted, that thy managed to get him free.

This incident happened in 2006. Why are we showing this to you NOW??? Well dude received only 4 years in jail - and is scheduled to be RELEASED in a few weeks!!!

Applezzzz says:
SERIOUSLY PLZ GO TO THE LINK AN WATCH DI VIDEO IT IS UNBELIEVABLE AND THE PPL DEM STAN UP AN WATCH DI MAN A TAB UP DI OOMAN FI LOOOOONNNGGG B4 DEM STEP IN ! IF A DID JA DAT DEAD !

http://www.mediatakeout.com/2010/39423-disturbing_video_angry_husband_brutally_stabs_his_wife____while_bystanders_look_on_stunned____and_this_animal_only_got_4_years_in_jail.html

WHEN JUMPOFFS ATTACK!!! R&B SINGER MONICA'S FIANCE ROCKO CHEATS ON HER . . . AND HIS JUMPOFF CALLS UP MONICA TO TORMENT HER!!!

1268316449monica_rocko.jpg
MediaTakeOut.com just received some sad news. R&B singer Monica is in the midst of some serious DRAMA in her household.

Here's what happened. Some hoodrat from Atlanta is going around and trying to peddle DETAILS of her relationship with Monica's fiance Rodney "Rocko" Hill. According to the girl, she and Rocko have been getting it in for the past few months. She claims that she's been going all around Atlanta with dude (restaurants, the studio, etc) and has been carrying on a SEXUAL relationship for months.

But it gets even worse, MediaTakeOut.com learned that the JUMPOFF and her girlfriends have gotten Monica's phone number and have begun ha****ing her. One of this jumpoff friends reached out to MediaTakeOut.com to explain how they frequently call Monica - often laughing on the phone and taunting her.

So whats Monicas response? We reached out to Monica about all this drama and tried to get some comment or insight onto how shes dealing with all this. Neither Monica or her reps responded to our inquiry.

But MediaTakeOut.com did manage to speak with one of Monica's friends who told us, "Rocko and Monica have a great deal of respect for each other, but are NO LONGER in a relationship."

Wow . . these jumpoffs nowadays are going too far. They need to be happy that Monica is too CLASSY to get gutter on them jumpoffs . . . cause if somebody called up OUR phone laughing and talking about they with OUR man . . .

OutAroad Red Carpet With G Whizz

March 10, 2010
Started By jubalson3 Comments

On the prestigious OutAroad Red Carpet this week is Da "Mi Life Soon Sort Out Deejay G Whizz.

"I am not going to tell any lies, I bought this hat for JA$1,200, vest is forJA$1,500, the shirt is also for JA$1,500, I paid JA$1,800 for my pants andJA$4,000 for my shoes. The watch was for about JA$2,500, the bracelet is for JA$5,000, I paid JA$1,000 for my tie while my earrings cost JA$1,500.

Gwhizz_red_carpet.jpg

Gwhizz_red_carpet_shoes.jpg

Gwhizz_red_carpet_hat.jpg

Gwhizz_red_carpet_watch.jpg

A 7-year-old boy talks to a 911 dispatcher in Los Angeles County as armed men break into his family's home. The boy locked himself and a sister in a bathroom. The men broke into the bathroom and fled when the boy said he called police. (March 10)

Michael Lee Chin.

For the second consecutive year Jamaican-born Canadian billionaire Michael Lee-Chin has barely made in on to Forbes Magazine's annual list of the world's richest people. 

The list which was published on Wednesday, ranked Mr. Lee at 937th out of just over 1,000 billionaires.

His net worth was placed at approximately CAD$1 billion.

Four years ago, Mr. Lee-Chin was worth $2.1 billion.

Mr. Lee-Chin, who is 59 years old, has not seen the best of times since the global financial meltdown.

Last year, he sold his Canadian wealth management and mutual fund business AIC to Manulife.

AIC Barbados also missed three deadlines to repay bondholders the nearly US50 million they invested.

Forbes magazine says the Jamaican born businessman still has a stake in Columbus Communications, National Commercial Bank and Total Finance in Trinidad & Tobago.

It says his personal real estate portfolio includes 250 acres of beach front property in Jamaica and homes in Canada and Florida.

The new richest man in the world

Carlos Slim.
And Mexican telecom giant Carlos Slim has topped Forbes magazine's billionaire's list - the first time since 1994 that an American has not led the rankings.

His telecommunications company America Movil is the parent company of Claro Jamaica.

Mr. Slim's fortune rose by US$18.5 billion last year to US$53.5 billion.

That beat Microsoft founder Bill Gates US$53 billion into second place, with US investor Warren Buffet with $43 billion at third.

Forbes said in 2009, 332 names left the list after a tough year, but the total number of billionaires on this year's list rose from 793 to 1,011.

A spokesman for Carlos Slim refused to confirm the Forbes estimate of the Mexican tycoon's wealth, saying they did not waste time on such calculations, but welcomed the result.

The year's biggest gainer, Brazilian mining tycoon Eike Batista, broke into the top 10 for the first time.

He came in at number seven, having boosting his wealth by US$19.5 billion to US$27 billion.

-- Edited by ruptionlink on Thursday 11th of March 2010 11:56:39 AM

100 wanted men on the run

March 11, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION4 Comments

THE Major Investigation Task Force (MIT) says it is in hot pursuit of more than 100 persons now on its 'most wanted' list, but bemoaned the fact that its efforts to capture these individuals are being hampered because most of the men are known only by their aliases.

The MIT's Sergeant Earl Jones said that cops had launched the manhunt as part of efforts to rid Kingston and St Andrew of crime. Ninety per cent of the men on the list are said to be wanted for murders and serious crimes.

"These men are believed to be part of several criminal gangs and are wanted for questioning in a number of criminal activities across Kingston and St Andrew," said Jones.

The MIT said at the top of their list is a man known as Errol Lee, who is of dark complexion and is 5ft 11 inches tall and frequents downtown Kingston. Lee is wanted for several murders.

Another man, who goes by the name 'Rem Rem', and who is believed to be a member of the Kingston-based Lincoln Avenue gang, is also wanted for murder.

THANKS to comedienne Elva for introducing the word 'mantourage' to the dancehall lexicon. What a wonderful word to describe an entire 'district of men' who walk aimlessly

behind homophobic artistes swearing loyalty and devotion and who have to be clothed and fed.

kartel-8_w370.jpg

It's a regular thing to see artistes roll into a stage-show with a bus load of people and when we say a bus load, we mean a bus load. Just watching them bail out is an experience in itself. It's just people on top of people -- in some cases it looks like at least four persons share a seat made for two. And this is the norm for deejays like Vybz Kartel and the Alliance.

At the recent Follow Di Arrow stage show in St Mary, the horse and pony show with the 'mantourages' -- fortunately there were a few women to balance off things a bit -- was something else. As soon as Alliance/Gully artistes worked and made their exit with their district in tow, in came the Gaza mantourage with what looked like a never-ending stream of people.

The backstage area could hardly breathe.

While enterting the venue, we observed young act, Deejay Face -- remember her from Digicel Rising Stars? She arrived with her mantourage in tow, a whole coaster bus 'full a people' all duly accredited.

At events like these, the mantourage's presence is clearly the promoter's expense, as they usually have special armbands that sometimes give them even more access than working press. Repeatedly, artistes and promoters are at loggerheads because the artistes make what promoters consider unreasonable de-mands for up to 50 backstage passes. And, what is even more distressing is when all 50 persons think it's their right to follow the artiste on stage. We have witnessed some royal battles between mantourages and stage managers.

That aside, however, there is one fascinating thing about mantourages -- they have to be maintained. How on earth do these artistes manage to feed so many hungry mouths? Day in day out? There are stories of artistes who, on their way from stage shows with their mantourage spend up to $35,000 just buying food at the popular food stops.

Our survey has shown however, that 'Dada' gets it right.

"Every day Dada mek them put on one big pot and full it up with dumplin, yam, banana and is that them eat with some veggie stew. And him buy things in bulk -- like the 100 lb bag of rice, flour sugar," one source close to Judgement Yard explained.

And then, there is their obligations when they go to "foreign" to buy clothes for the mantourage and their families and to give them hard cash as well. And we won't even mention the unmentionable.

Considering all these expenses, perhaps the artistes could make a case for themselves when the tax collectors come a-calling. The money they spend supporting these men and their familes should qualify artistes for some kind of tax break.

-- Edited by jubalson on Wednesday 10th of March 2010 02:36:14 PM

STARRIGHT_1_PWDL5Ikaya1AM.jpgSTARRIGHT_1_P2C2ZLisaHyAM.jpg
( l - r ) Ikaya, Lisa Hyper - Contributed

With the Mavado and Vybz Kartel rivalry aside, it seems female artistes have taken up the mantle, as many of them have been clashing each other in recent times.

Lisa Hyper can be credited for getting many females involved with her song, Sting Aftermath. In the song, she called the names of Spice, Pamputtae, Ikaya, Ishawna, Stacious, Baby Tash, Tifa and Timberlee. Spice responded in Draw Mi Out, but went no further.

Since then, there was the clash between Lisa Hyper and Queen Paula at 'The Settlement', which was held at Links, St Thomas, last month. Ikaya and Macka Diamond threw words at each other. And, there was also some tension between Face and Queen Paula.

"For me, clashing was not deliberate, but mi refuse fi stand aside and mek everybody chew pon mi name like Wrigleys. With everything there is competition," Lisa Hyper told THE STAR, before going on set to shoot the video for Trust.

"Di woman dem neva did a gwaan wid nutten and from mi draw dem out, everybody start gwaan good. From mi draw dem out everybody have a new song a play pon radio now. I'm doing them a favour."

Newcomer Ikaya believes the time has come for the female artistes to show that they are just as strong as the men in the music business.

versatile

"They are just letting you know that not only the men can do certain things. Just showing that we are versatile as well. The females are pushing out now and doing their thing," she said.

Like Ikaya, Face believes the women are merely showing their abilities.

"It's just for making money or uplifting our thing. Let the business know that is not only the men have potential," she said, noting that she is ready for any clash that is thrown at her. Face has new songs like Unruly and Nah Give Up. She will also be shooting the video for Gummy Grippy next week in Los Angeles.

Seasoned and well-known entertainment figure, Stampede, said the female artistes also want their share of the cake. Hence, he said, many of them see clashing as a way to get that.

"Di woman dem seh dem need fi get recognise by any means necessary. Woman stop sell themself to producer, a clash dem a clash it out now," he told THE STAR.

rivalries

He also said some women start rivalries in order to get their names in the media. Making reference to the launch of Follow Di Arrow, he said, "Queen Paula talk the things dem and she get recognition same time."

Queen Paula, who is known as a clash artiste, said she was drawn back into clashing when words were thrown at her by Lisa Hyper and Face late last year. She said she used to think most women clash, in order to get the level of attention that male artistes get. But this is no longer her position.

"I feel seh some a dem, a di songs draw dem out. People a call dem name and dem just want to defendthemselves. It create a hype and dem mek money from it. It mek show come in and it give you publicity," she toldTHE STAR.

"Before me even know Ikaya, a hear mi hear har name inna one a di song dem. Di hype mek all dem song start play."

Meanwhile, Lisa Hyper seems to be on a warpath and she already has her next rival in mind.

"Yuh can look out fi a clash between me and Ikaya. Mi a give har piece a di hype. By next week, yuh can hear songs with both of us. She a beg fi di war," Lisa Hyper said.

Ikaya hinted at nothing of that sort. Instead, she said, "In order to have a clash, you have to have a competitor and I haven't seen any."

On the prestigious OutAroad Red Carpet this week is Da "Mi Life Soon Sort Out Deejay G Whizz.

"I am not going to tell any lies, I bought this hat for JA$1,200, vest is for JA$1,500, the shirt is also for JA$1,500, I paid JA$1,800 for my pants and JA$4,000 for my shoes. The watch was for about JA$2,500, the bracelet is for JA$5,000, I paid JA$1,000 for my tie while my earrings cost JA$1,500.

Gwhizz_red_carpet.jpg

Gwhizz_red_carpet_shoes.jpg

Gwhizz_red_carpet_hat.jpg

Gwhizz_red_carpet_watch.jpg

RADICAL Muslim cleric Sheikh Abdullah al-Faisal was yesterday denied entry to the House of Representatives where he turned up to attend a debate to amend the Terrorism Prevention Act.

Al-Faisal, who is on an international terror watch list, was turned back by the police at the entrance to the Parliament building. He was told that while he was a free man, he was not properly attired to be allowed entry.

Abdullah-al-Faisal_w370.jpg

The cleric was wearing a long-sleeve shirt with regular dress pants but had on a pair of sandals.

"He was improperly dressed," head of security, Inspector Delroy Jones told the Observer yesterday.

When pressed as to other possible reasons why the cleric was denied entry to Gordon House, Inspector Jones reiterated that al-Faisal was a "free man" but explained that he also did not have a pass to enter the building.

Inspector Jones, however, refused to say whether there were any other security considerations when pressed further.

Yesterday, al-Faisal said he wanted to see how the Parliament operates. "Because it's my country," he said, adding that he was disappointed that he did not get the chance to enter the building.

A female, in whose company he was seen, was allowed to enter the building. She sat in the visitors' gallery throughout the proceedings. When approached for a comment, she refused to say whether she was related to the cleric but said he was wary of how he was portrayed in the local media.

Al-Faisal, who has in the past called for the killing of Americans, Jews and Hindus, was deported to Jamaica by private jet from Kenya in January after he sneaked into the east African country last year.

It cost more than US$500,000 to deport the controversial Jamaican on a chartered jet after Kenya spent three weeks trying to deport him.

He was arrested after Kenyan police accused him of violating the terms of his visa by preaching in a Nairobi-based mosque.

His arrest sparked a major riot by Muslim radicals and ended with seven people being killed when police fired on about 100 Muslim youth in the Kenyan capital.

The cleric spent four years in a British jail for his hate preaching and was deported to Jamaica in 2007.

Since his arrival from Kenya, local Muslim leaders have distanced themselves and have banned him from preaching in mosques here.

He is presently placed on the international terror watch list and is under surveillance by local cops who admitted that they knew when he left the country over a year ago.

Schools shun teen mothers

March 11, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION0 Comments

SOME Jamaican schools have been shunning teen mothers who have passed through the Women's Centre of Jamaica Foundation programme, denying them the chance to continue their education after giving birth.

Executive Director of the Women's Centre Beryl Weir said it is often hard to reinstate the girls after they have passed through the programme, as they are often stigmatised and refused a place back in school, even while teen fathers remain on roll.

Addressing reporters and editors at the Observer's weekly Monday Exchange meeting earlier this week, Weir said when a girl becomes pregnant in school, she is often forced to leave the education system completely because of this practice, which is partly supported by the Education Act.

"I think you are well aware that when a girl becomes pregnant in school in Jamaica, she must leave the education system -- the Education Act actually says that," Weir said. "And so she leaves. And had it not been for programmes like the Women's Centre, that girl would be left to chance. If she happens to know a teacher or someone who could get her back into the education system, or if her parents are able to pay for private tuition -- other than that, she would remain semi-literate."

According to the Education Act (Education Regulations 1980) Section 31, "a student of a public education institution who becomes pregnant shall be excluded from attending the institution during the period of pregnancy, but the minister may take such steps as may be necessary to permit her to continue her education in that institution or if convenient in another public institution".

It also states that arrangements may be made to enable students who have been suspended or excluded from school for pregnancy or other health reasons to sit important examinations in connection with the completion of their education.

Weir said 2,139 girls up to the age of 17 became pregnant in 2009. The Women's Centre takes the girls during the pregnancies, ensures they continue their education and then helps immediately after their children's births, before attempting to get those who qualify matriculated back into the school system.

It's this attempt, she said, which often proves problematic, as some principals directly refuse to accept the teens, some for fear of "contamination".

Other schools, she said, won't accept the teens who once attended their institutions, but will accept other girls from the Women's Centre.

"But the boys remain in school, that is not a problem!" Weir fumed. "As a matter of fact [the boy] is considered 'macho' by his peers and everybody else, as he 'has done a wonderful thing'."

According to Joyce Hewett, past president and co-ordinator for public education and legal reform at WOMAN Inc, this behaviour is a discriminatory action on the part of the schools.

"The girls are not voluntarily dropping out -- they are kicked out!" Hewett said passionately. "The stigma that was there in 1978 remains, where the girl is seen as the perpetrator."

But, Weir said, while some schools are shunning teen mothers, studies done show that these girls most times go on to excel in their studies, and the rate of second pregnancies is lower for those who enter the Women's Centre programme.

She said one study showed that at least seven per cent of girls from the centre went on to tertiary-level education.

"The best part is that it showed that for every dollar that the Jamaican government spent on a girl at the Women's Centre, the Government benefited by at least $7," Weir said. "So the achievement of the Women's Centre is there in the research."

She explained too, that for any given year, there are a number of teen mothers in the programme who entered the centre in a crisis situation -- pregnant, not liking themselves, being criticised by everybody and whose parents sometimes want nothing to do with them -- and who are nursed back to emotional health by the centre.

Weir proudly stated that the girls excel once placed back into the public school system.

"Many of those who get scholarships are Women's Centre students, but we don't go around saying that they are, because even in the schools nowadays their placements are kind of a secret where even after 32 years there are still school principals who will not take back the girls," Weir said. "So we tend not to broadcast what the girls are doing but they excel. It is like a complete turnaround. "

Big fare hike

March 11, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION0 Comments

COMMUTERS in the Kingston Metropolitan Region could begin paying as much as $110 to travel on Government-run Jamaica Urban Transit Company (JUTC) buses, effective April 1, a reliable Observer source said last night.

The decision has already been taken at Cabinet for an increase of $110 and $30, but that is only in principle as nothing has been set out on paper as yet, the source said.

DSC_0077_w370.jpg

The fare hike will be a 120 per cent increase on the $50 commuters have been paying to ride on JUTC buses since 2005.

Fares for children, the disabled and senior citizens, regarded as members of the concessionary grouping, will see their fares go up by 100 per cent, moving from $15 to $30, also from April 1.

The whole focus is to have the adults paying the larger amount and you still somewhat protect the concessionary groups, the source said.

However, another source said further consultations will be held on the matter, which could see a downward movement of $20 in the adult fare before the official announcement is made.

The increase in bus fares forms part of the agreement under the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for Government to sharply reduce its subsidy to the state-owned bus company, which has been operating at a loss for several years.

The JUTC last year asked the Office of Utilities Regulation (OUR) to approve a fare increase of $20 for adults, which would see it moving to $70, and that the rate for persons in the concessionary groups be moved from $15 to $20.

The OUR last November gave approval for a 40 per cent bus fare increase, but warned that despite the increase the Government would have to provide between $1.3 billion and $3 billion in subsidy to the state-run bus company.

In its recommendation to Transport Minister Mike Henry, the OUR said the subsidy would only be applicable if the JUTC was granted its request for adult fares to be increased from $50 to $70, and the fares for concessionary passengers moved from $15 to $20.

However, our source said with the IMFs push for Government to lessen its subsidies to the bus company, a $20 increase for adult fares could no longer be considered.

The struggling bus company has projected an operating loss of $1.3 billion this year, and an increase in bus fares is expected to significantly reduce the JUTCs burden on the public purse.

Last night, Reginald Allen, the JUTCs communications manager, told the Observer that last years request to the OUR for a 40 per cent fare increase related to the existing level of subsidies from the Government to the stateowned company.

But going forward under new dispensation with the IMF agreement, the indications to the company are that subsidies will be sharply reduced so there has to be an examination of other pertinent figures in respect of the companys fare structure, Allen said.

When pressed about the final figures for the fare increase, Allen said it was a decision for the Cabinet, which he said the company was awaiting to act accordingly in terms of implementation.

SPLITTSVILLE!!! FROM HOUSEWIFE BACK TO HO . . . SUPERHEAD GETS DUMPED BY EDDIE WINSLOW . . .DETAILS ON THE DIVORCE . . . AND HER FAKED PREGNANCY INSIDE!!

1268231292superhead_dumped.jpg
MediaTakeOut.com learned that Karrine "Superhead" Steffans and her husband, actor Darius McCreary have decided to divorce.

The couple had been dating on-and-off for 3 years, but actually wed just a year ago.

What happened, you ask. Well MediaTakeOut.com spoke to a person close to the couple who told us that Karrine was a "compulsive liar" who lied about just about everything and even "faked a pregnancy."

Darius reportedly had enough with her and stepped out of the marriage last month. Karrine subsequently filed for divorce.

Karrine and Darius have NO children together. Karrine has only one child, a s13 year old son from a previous relationship.

1268231294karrine_dovorce.jpg

Ever since this whole Gaza/Empire infighting has started, two songs have been playing in my head -Michael Jackson's Man In The Mirror and Bounty Killer's Seek the Devil (That's why them life so miserable.)

It's so instructive that no sooner than the Gully/Gaza ceasefire was announced, the Gaza adherents started getting at each other's throats and reports of beatings and money issues started to surface. And then the exodus from the camp began -- Lisa Hype, Gaza Kim and now Blak Ryno. Interestingly, in all scenarios, Kartel's PR machinery has done its best to make the Teacha look -- not lily white -- but bleached-out white. Kartel, they shout, knows absolutely nothing about any of the questionable practices that allegedly take place on the Gaza. Kartel knew nothing of the picture with Lisa Hype that was posted on the Internet and felt sorry for what she was going through; Kartel has never ordered the beating of any member of the Portmore Empire, including Gaza Kim and Kartel, naturally, knows nothing about Blak Ryno's house being shot up. And in fact, that particular release went further to state that anybody who does Ryno anything would be answerable to Kartel himself.

Vybz-KARTEL-2_w370.jpg

Blak-Ryno_w370.jpg

And, who are we to even suggest that this is not so?

However, the truth is that there are many persons who are just not buying the reports. A casual glance at the comments section on dancehall-inspired websites tell at sorry tale about Kartel, the Gaza and the Portmore Empire. There is some sympathy for Blak Ryno, although his recent stint in the courts where his landlord dropped a case against him, allegedly out of fear, has provided quite a lot of fodder for Internet junkies. They question Ryno's talent and his ability to further his career outside of the Empire. Jahvinci, some argue, would have a much better chance of making it solo and right now the question isn't if Jahvinci is going to ditch the Portmore Empire, but when. And the odds, they say, are that such a release distancing Kartel from anything negative in that scenario is already written and waiting to be tweaked and sent out.

Web readers clearly don't like to think that they are being taken for fools and have been calling out the writers of the releases and also Kartel himself. They have some really cute things to say about one web site owner, whose name rhymes with 'fraud'.

What is evident in all of this is that there is a credibility issue at stake and secondly, the Empire seems to be crumbling. Kartel's talent as an artiste, however, has never been questioned and perhaps it would be better if he focuses on that and leave all political aspiration alone.

Disclaimer: Views expressed are that of the author, and do not necessarily reflect my personal opinion

-- Edited by jubalson on Thursday 24th of June 2010 08:54:38 AM

Dozens of emails were sent by fans of the Gully Gad wanting to know if OutAroad.com got the letter of the girl who talked about her sexual experience with Mavado. OutAroad.com immediately performs a search via Google and ran into this story posted on backstagepazz.com It all started when Mavado went to Jacksonville on 3/19/09 at a club called Plush.

mavado-girl-confessed-groupie-jamaican-dancehall.jpgI went right over and sat next to Mavado's cousin Chase Cross an up and coming reggae artist. So me and my friend were talking to him at this time Mavado makes references to my breast and pum pum in his native patois language I laughed and responded. I could tell he was impressed by my speaking and understanding what he was saying, I asked for a picture with him giving some dude my phone for the camera. Mavado grabbed my phone and called his phone to get my number and said I'll see you after the show. After some grinding and blatant flirting I knew I wasn't going to make it to work the next morning.

The show went really well I danced with his uncle and left immediately after trying to prepare for my booty call because I was sweated out. About 3:30 a.m. I got a call from anonymous number, I answered and he told me he was at the hyatt and to call when I'm outside and he will send someone to get me.

When I got there he was chilling in some shorts and a green yellow and red netted like wife beater, he said something quickly to his boy and then he invited me to a spliff I smoked and drank some more, he turned on some music and told me to whine and take off my clothes, while I'm dancing and taking off my clothes he turned on a lamp and off the lights, he grabbed my wrist and got the spliff he stayed behind me grinding and whine to my riddim, out of no where he got aggressive and pushed me against the back of the sofa he smacked my a*s and began to pull down my thong, I stepped out of them now in just my stilettos, I turned towards him and ordered him to sit in his chair he went and sat.

I got on my knees and crawled to him, I unfastened his shorts he lifted up so I could take them off, that's when I realized just how skinny he really is I pulled out his d*ck, it was average I guess.

ReadMore-color.jpg

I began to deep throat him while jacking and slurping I could tell the slurping was turning him on, by the moans he was rubbing my head and calling me baby and when u hear a true Jamaican call you baby omg its a turn on! After I *u*ked him up for awhile I straddled him on the chair looking right in his face he grabbed yet another spliff and a condom.

He lit up while I was riding him I caught his riddim and by the look at his sex face I could tell I had him, I got up and he grabbed me asking what I was doing, I told him I wanted to turn around and ride him, I made a small joke about him not burning my back wit the spliff we shared a laugh and back to business.

Out of nowhere he pushed me off of him onto the floor and began to f*ck me from the back he smacked my ass and talked nasty nothings in my ear all the while I'm talking sh*t right back he told me to lay on my back, I laid on my back and opened wide he scissored me then put one knee behind the fold of my knee and f*cked me like that, at this time I'm feeling a little sick from the hennessy and he got me all bent up, he had to f*ck me for about 20 minutes alone in that position, he then turned me over on my stomach, he rubbed my ass for a minute then proceeded to smash from the back for about 15 more minutes at this time I'm thinking when will he finish?!?

I told him let me get on top, about 10 minutes after bouncing on him he finally bust, I laid on the floor for a sec to catch my breath got my clothes and went to the bathroom washed up and got dressed, I came out and he was smoking yet another spliff putting something in a gift bag.

I hit the spliff we had small talk about his show and our sex I told him I would see him later he said he would be back in November and he would call me, he said he looked forward to seeing me again I said the same he hugged me, kissed my lips, and gave me the gift bag it was his cd autographed, 2 100 dollar bills and about an oz of ganja and a shirt that read "I'm so special" and I rushed home to call my friend with my story to tell! I won't rate him on his size because he is average but I will give him a 10 solely on stamina and he put me in a position I never been in and the fact he treated me well.

Though he is a celeb he f**ked with passion he's a cool guy and real down to earth, what can I say, he's so special...

That scissor sh*t sounds like straight Karma Sutra. I ain't mad...

Last Thursday, when Danay Baker-Smith dressed her seven-year-old daughter, Janelle Smith, and sent her off to school, she had no idea that a few hours later her child would be dead.

In fact, just one night earlier, the 25-year-old mother was singing and dancing with her daughter.

Janelle, a grade-two student of a primary school in St Thomas, died last week after collapsing while playing in the schoolyard. No post-mortem has been conducted as yet, so her family, the school and those who knew her, still have no idea how she died.

Baker-Smith told THE STAR she was at home last Thursday when she got the call that shattered her world. "They called me from the school and said something happened to her at school and they took her out to the hospital and that I must come out there," she recalled.

She said death was the farthest thing from her mind when she received the call and thought her daughter had just received a slight injury. "I was looking that maybe is her head get burst or something, so I grabbed a towel and went to the hospital," she said.

To make matters worse, Baker-Smith received the grim news, not from a team of comforting doctors or nurses, but rather from a group of onlookers who gathered on the hospital grounds.

"When I got there," she said, "I saw a crowd discussing it and that's where I heard that she had died."

Still clinging to the smallest thread of hope, the shocked mother did not believe what she was told. "Even when I saw her lying on the bed, I was still trying to get at least one heartbeat, but I neva get none," she said.

clueless

Baker-Smith, who has two other children, ages two years and six months, has no idea what could have led to her daughter's death. She said the child had no known illnesses and was not complaining of feeling ill. She said not knowing what killed her daughter is the hardest part.

She said, "She leave here good good go to school, so mi frighten fi hear seh dat happen. I would feel better if I knew what happened, but we are still asking the question, 'what really happened?'. I just really want the post-mortem to be done because there are a lot of questions in our mind."

She explained that the family was struggling to come to grips with the tragedy. "She was everyone's eyeball, as she was the first grandchild on my side and the first granddaughter on her father's side."

Her mother described Janelle as an excellent child who was very loving. She said, "She always use to write love notes for me, seh 'I love you mommy'."

"I'm just taking it one day at a time, crying here and there when I remember her. That was her happiest week. She went to convention Sunday and she sang on the children's choir," the grieving mother said.

The principal of the school confirmed the incident and is also awaiting the post-mortem.

The father of a St Ann schoolgirl is today nursing injuries in hospital after a knife brawl in the Ocho Rios Transportation Centre, with men who attempted to extort $50 from his daughter, left him wounded and two other men dead.

Information reaching THE STAR is that leading up to yesterday's melee, the schoolgirl was at the bus park on Monday when men approached her and attempted to bully her into giving them $50. A detective from the Ocho Rios Police Station said the youngster refused and was subsequently threatened by the thugs. The student then made a report to her father.

Reports said sometime after 7:30 a.m. yesterday, the child's father accompanied by friends, went to the bus park and confronted the alleged extortionists when all hell broke loose.

knives drawn

THE STAR understands that a heated argument developed among the men following which knives were drawn.

In the aftermath of the stabbing match, one of the alleged extortionists and one of the men who accompanied the father, were fatally wounded. The deceased have been identified as 25-year-old Michael Jackson of Carib Heights and a man known only as 'Evil Head', both from the parish.The father was the only other injured person.

Investigators said they identified at least one man of interest in the matter but he is yet to be apprehended.

One police source said extortionists in Ocho Rios have been plaguing students who use the bus park, sometimes demanding various amounts of money from them depending on their size.

CONGRATS!! NBA BALLER GLEN BIG BABY DAVIS IS HAVING A BABY WITH HIS GIRLFRIEND!!! (AND WE GOT BIKINI PICS OF HIS FUTURE BABYS MOMS INSIDE)

1268230613glen_gf.jpg

Congratulations are in order. MediaTakeOut.com learned that Boston Celtics star "Big Baby" Davis is having a baby with his girlfriend Jenna.

Jenna and Glen have been dating for close to 4 years, and have been engaged for 2 years.

1268230615glen_gf1.jpg
1268230615glen_gf2.jpg

OH NOOOOOOO!!! GUESS WHICH ONE OF OUR FAVORITE REALITY TV COUPLES JUST SPLIT UP!!!

1268145749kimberley_harvey.jpg
MediaTakeOut.com just learned that American Idol finalist Kimberly Locke and her boyfriend Celebrity Fit Club judge Sgt Harvey have called it quits.

The two had been dating for nearly 2 years, and last week they decided to end things.

What happened? Well I spoke to a source close to the couple who said that it was all Sgt Harveys fault.

The insider told me Harvey didnt want to get married and Kim did, so she packed her bags.

Awww, we kinda liked those two together . . . Its a shame Harvey voted her off . . .

WHAT IN THE???? NEW STUDY FINDS THAT THE NET WORTH OF A SINGLE WHITE WOMAN IS $42,000 . . . AND THE NET WORTH OF A SINGLE BLACK WOMAN IS $5!!! (DETAILS INSIDE)

1268230368weath_trouble.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com just got its hands on a NEW REPORT created by the non-profit think tank The Insight Center for Community Economic Development. And it showed the DIRE need for increased wealth building especially for Black Women!!

Here is an excerpt:
Excluding vehicles, [working age] single black women have a median wealth of $100 and Hispanic women $120 respectively, while their same-race male counterparts have $7,900 and $9,730. The median wealth of single white women is $41,500. To put it another way, single black and Hispanic women have one penny of wealth for every dollar of wealth owned by their male counterparts and a tiny fraction of a penny for every dollar of
wealth owned by white women.

With so little in reserve, half of all single black and Hispanic women could not afford to take an unpaid sick day or to even have a major appliance repaired without going into debt.

But it gets worse, the same article finds that for ALL single Black women, the average net worth drops to only $5.

This is a very sad article to see. Check out the below charts too . . . which show that single Black men tend to fare far BETTER than women. The biggest difference . . . the financial burden of child care falls DISPROPORTIONATELY on mothers.

1268230369weath_trouble1.jpg
1268230372weath_trouble2.jpg

New York (CNN) -- Forbes magazine released its annual list of the world's richest people Wednesday, and for only the second time since 1995, Microsoft founder Bill Gates' name was not at the top.

This year, the title of "World's Richest" went to Mexican telecom mogul Carlos Slim, with a net worth of $53.5 billion.

Slim, whose holding company America Movil contains a sprawling collection of telecom assets, is the first non-American to be declared Forbes' richest person since 1994, when Japanese real estate kingpin Yoshiaki Tsutsumi held that honor. (He has since disappeared from the list entirely).

But Slim's financial edge over Gates is, well, slim, at least by billionaire standards -- just $500 million. A $1 increase in Microsoft shares, the compilers of the Forbes list noted at a press conference Wednesday, could send Gates' net worth ahead of Slim's.

Also, were it not for his extensive philanthropy, Gates would have a net worth in the ballpark of $80 billion, Forbes' Matthew Miller estimated.

Gates is the world's second richest person, with a net worth of $53 billion. Warren Buffett came in third this year, with a net worth of $47 billion.

Billionaires' total net worth rose 50 percent to $3.6 trillion. After sharply contracting the previous year, the total number of billionaires also increased from 793 to 1,011, Forbes' list showed. The number is still lower than the record 1,125 billionaires recorded in 2008.

Not only are there more billionaires than last year, but the ones at the top are even richer than last year. The top 10 billionaires have a combined net worth of $342 billion, up from $254 billion in 2009, Forbes said.

In terms of the international scorecard, the United States still boasts more billionaires than any other country -- 403, or nearly 40 percent of all billionaires. New York, similarly, has more billionaires than any city on the globe.

But America's billionaires have not rebounded from the recession as strongly as other countries' billionaires.

"The United States is not doing as well as the rest of the world in coming back," publisher Steve Forbes said.

As U.S. billionaires' dominance of Forbes' list wanes, Asian countries are seeing their ranks of billionaires swell, especially China. Mainland China has the second-most billionaires after the United States, overtaking Russia for the first time. Taiwan, South Korea, Hong Kong and India also saw significant upticks in their billionaire tallies.

Elsewhere, Turkey's billionaire community expanded notably, jumping to 28 members from 13, while Western Europe, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates underperformed by comparison.

As in years past, the Forbes list showed a severe gender imbalance in the world's billionaire population

Eighty-nine of the 1,011 billionaires are women. Fourteen of those female billionaires are self-made, including Oprah Winfrey, whose net worth dipped $300 million to $2.4 billion. Half of the world's self-made female billionaires are from China.

For three years running, Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg, 25, secured the distinction of being the list's youngest billionaire, climbing to the 212th rung with a net worth of $4 billion.

On the opposite end of the age spectrum is Switzerland's 99-year-old Walter Haefner, ranked 287th.

The year's biggest winner was Brazilian minerals magnate Eike Batista, who added $19.5 billion to his net worth in 12 months, enough to catapult him to eighth place on the list, from 64th. Modesty is apparently not one of Batista's many possessions: He has vowed to become the world's richest person.

On the flip side, German heiress Madeleine Schickedanz's bank account had a hideous year. After clocking in as Forbes' 142nd richest person in 2007, she plunged into relative penury and now "claims to be living on several thousand dollars a month," said Forbes senior editor Luisa Kroll.

About 16 percent of Americans between the ages of 14 and 49 are infected with genital herpes, making it one of the most common sexually transmitted diseases, U.S. health officials said on Tuesday.

Black women had the highest rate of infection at 48 percent and women were nearly twice likely as men to be infected, according to an analysis by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

About 21 percent of women were infected with genital herpes, compared to only 11.5 percent of men, while 39 percent of blacks were infected compared to about 12 percent for whites, the CDC said.

There is no cure for genital herpes, or herpes simplex virus type 2 (HSV-2), which can cause recurrent and painful genital sores and also increases the likelihood of acquiring and transmitting the AIDS virus. It is related to herpes simplex virus 1, or oral herpes, which causes cold sores.

Several drugs are available to treat herpes symptoms and outbreaks, including acyclovir, which is available generically or under the Zovirax brand name, and valacyclovir, known generically as Valtrex -- both made by GlaxoSmithKline PLC (GSK.L). Ganciclovir, sold as Zirgan, is made by privately-held Sirion Therapeutics, Inc.

The CDC estimates that more than 80 percent of people with genital herpes do not know they are infected.

"The message is herpes is quite common. The symptoms can be often very innocuous," Dr. John Douglas of the CDC said in a teleconference.

"Because herpes is so prevalent it becomes ... a really important reason to use condoms on a consistent and correct basis with all of your partners," Douglas said.

Douglas said the increased rate of infection in blacks is not do to increased risk behavior but likely due to biological factors that make women more susceptible as well as the higher rate of infection within black communities.

The CDC estimates that there are 19 million new sexually transmitted disease infections every year in the United States, costing the health care system about $16 billion annually.

It's an about face for Cuba, a country closely aligned with Fidel Castro, Che Guevara and a band of ever-macho, bearded rebels who long viewed being gay as illegal. The communist country is now are funding sex change operations. (March 10)

Samsung and Panasonic have begun selling 3-D TVs, inaugurating what manufacturers hope is the era of 3-D viewing in the living room. (March 10)

Jay-Z's Bodyguard Throws Fan Off Stage Like Some Cartoon After He Tries To Pull A Lil Mama! (Jay Not Having A Clue Whats Going On Behind Him)

«First  <  1194 195 196 197 198524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by