Neffe: You could never cut your *lo** loose no matter what you are doing on this earth. It runs through our veins. Im gonna keep it 100. My sister decided to live a different life. Its not because oh we ghetto, we belligerent and loud. We are all cut from the same cloth. [We all came from Frankie] If you see us, we out there, its just that Keyshia keeps hers behind closed doors.
Elite: When I read it I was shocked. It was hurtful too. I had just come off of tour with Keyshia. We had 3 or 4 tours, I worked for my sister, I was her assistant for 8 months so I worked. I was shocked [by the statement]. Last time we spoke to her we didnt think it was going to be a public permanent thing. When we last spoke to my sister, we had a family dinner to discuss some family matters and she was a little upset about the whole Frankie and Neffe Show.
Neffe: She is upset about it. She did not embrace the fact that The Way It Is was done and they had picked up Frankie and Neffe. We didnt ask for that. We didnt go to her and say Sister Sister please can you give us a show. Can you give us a shot. Can we be stars. We never asked Keyshia to do anything for us. She brought us down here to make our lives better but it didnt get better, it got worse
For the record, I love my sister but you have to understand this is real life this is not a game. Shes a beautiful person. The Way It Is didnt cut us no checks. We didnt start seeing no money until the Frankie and Neffe show.
[Yele Haiti] paid Khatou-Chevassus $105,000 as an independent contractor in 2008 for "program development." That amounts to roughly one-third of all the money Yele spent that year on management and general expenses.
So what did she do for that money? Khatou-Chevassus is currently listed on Yele's web site as the organization's vice president. But according to five sources familiar with Yele's operations, in 2008 she served as Jean's personal assistant -working on his commercial endeavors as well as his charitable ones- and was involved romantically with the former Fugees star.
"She worked for Wyclef on all Wyclef matters," says one source who has worked with Jean in the past. "She did whatever Wyclef needed that day, whether it was related to Yele or not. She would do things like book flights, and she wasn't very good at it. It's a shame that she made that much money." The source said Khatou-Chevassus' salary amounted to more than three times what Suzie Sylvain, Yele Haiti's dedicated program director who is credited by many Yele Haiti insiders with actually keeping the organization running, was paid.
"Everyone knows they were in a relationship," says another source familiar with Yele Haiti. "A dozen people, including me, saw and knew. It wasn't a secret."
Donnette Campbell sits on the remains of what was her three-bedroom house. - Noel Thompson
WESTERN BUREAU:
Since Tuesday, Donnette Campbell and her two children, ages two and 16, have being sleeping on a mattress on the floor inside her neighbour's one-room house.
She was forced into this situation when a team sanctioned by the Housing Agency of Jamaica (HAJ) went to White Hall Phase III in Negril, Westmoreland, and demolished her three-bedroom board house along with others which were said to have been built there illegally.
However, Campbell claims she leased the plot of land that she was on from its owner, Leebert Brown. She produced documents to substantiate her claim. Brown's son, Denton, has confirmed that his father owns the property.
"My house was on lot 2093 and I was given several notices to remove it. On December 5th, last year, I was served a demolition notice. I leased a plot of land from Mr Brown and placed my house there. It hurts me so badly to see what they have done to me and I was not trespassing on their land," Campbell said.
On Tuesday, several illegal houses and structures were demolished, resulting in a fierce stand-off between residents and police.
Minister of Housing and Water, Dr Horace Chang, said Campbell's house could have been a matter of confusion, as his understanding is that houses were photographed and submitted to the demolition crew. "I don't know how the matter was handled, but I am sure if there was an error on the HAJ's part she will be compensated," he said.
Joseph Shoucair, the HAJ's managing director, corroborated Chang's statement. "I do not yet have a comprehensive report on that particular matter. I understand that the contractor identified her house by photograph and not by location," said Shoucair. "In the event that is so, Donnette Campbell will be fully compensated. I am already in discussions on the matter with both my portfolio minister, Dr Horace Chang and Member of Parliament, Dr Wykeham McNeil, and we have a clear understanding that where any trespass is caused there will be an appropriate remedy."
Ah Wha Dis Lawd?
People ah wha tek Lisa Hyper pon har video set? Lawd help mi. People, she a film one new video an' as usual she haffi go di extra mile wid di nakedness an' ting. But it get wussarah. Di leading male who play har man or whatsoever inna di video deh pon one piece ah positioning and kissin' inna di video. Lawd help wi!
Mi nuh know how fi say it sof', so mi juss go say it. We all saw di pictuh dem of Lisa wid one sumn 'near' har mouth, an' yuh really go come inna video deh french kiss? No sah! Mi body! Mi cyaan tek it. Talk di truth now people. Di yute shudda insis' say dem gih him one big shades, one latin wig, white face powdah and one fake nose, cause no way if him haffi go do dat him go show him face inna pictuh and video. No sah.
Killa Need A Reality Show
Mi a wondah if smaddy cyaan smart enuf fi gih Kill him own reality series. Mi say when mi watch On Stage wha day yah, mi laugh till mi nearly urinated maself. No man. Ah nuh only say him feisty, some a di tings dem mek sense too! Lawd, mi nevah know mi wudda survive di way mi a laugh. People, him mek a good point an mi a wondah if a did me one know it, but when him say it mi glad odda people did a pree it too.
Di day Beenie did go sing deh song deh bout 'Gaza him say' a di wuss ting evah fi him career. Him han' ovah di title to Kartel an' not even notice. An' Addi know say ah dat happen, cause mi pree it. Soon aftah Beenie did release deh song deh, Addi do one ad fi him Thursday night party an' call himself di King ah di dancehall. Woiii, mi nearly choke! If I laugh. Oh by di way Rodney, mi hear yuh mention say mi did a mek fun ah yuh church visit, but yuh muss know say nutten nuh wrong wid yuh ah go, is juss di possibility of seein yuh inna action inna one different setting. Mi nuh tink it wudda cum natural to yuh fi stan' up an sing normal, yuh wudda buss out ah Killa Walk an' deh nod deh wha yuh have lock inna Great Is Thy Faithfulness. Lawd. Reality series, smaddy please!
Talk Di Truth Now
People mi want oonu tell mi di truth, Magnum Kings & Queens of Dancehall tun Comedy Buss or wha? Man all ah cum dress up inna tights an' pure tings. In terms ah talent, dem few an' far between! Have mercy. Lawd bless di one an' two deh year yah wha actually ah stay true to di name ah di competition. Apart from di fact say none a di past winner dem nuh buss all now, oonu tek it a step further a recruit koonumoonu from di start. Sort it out nex' season man!
Beenie An' D'Angel Really Now
People Beenie an' Angel have one new song a profess dem love fi dem one anodda, mi nearly drop. First of all di way di song sound deaf-earsish di ongle ting missin was a L.A. Lewis chorus. It look like di 7 Star General nevah available so dem jus clobba it to death demself.
D'Angel a sing say Beenie ah har fuss man, so mi waah know wha Killa did be. An, she all a call up Barbee name. Beenie ah sing say ah nuh di food wha mek him naw lef. People a pure stress. Even if ah did juss fi hype dem shudda mek di song soun' good. No sah, D'Angel and Beenie, deh publicity stunt deh nuh ready yet.
Some A Dem Lucky Sah
What a way some universally known dancehall artiste muss glad dem have recording deal a foreign, so dat when di video did buss pon youtube ah him a beg di girl some a deh ting deh and fi cum ah him hotel room, di company say ah 'copyright infringement' an' tek it off.
Mi nearly keel ovah when di smaddy send mi di link an' mi go look. Den when mi try watch it again, it gone fi true. So it go when yuh universally known, yuh ting can get hide up inna two day. By di way, him an' him woman naw married? Even if ah inna 'secret', cause oonu muss know mi go find out anyway. Dem deh bout 100 year now. Ah wha so.Shaquille O'Neal and his estranged wife, Shaunie have reached a settlement in their divorce ... TMZ has learned.
Shaunie's mega-lawyer, Sorrell Trope, tells TMZ Shaq and Shaunie have reached agreement on all terms of the divorce, including property, custody and support.
Under the agreement, the Florida courts will have jurisdiction to officially divorce the couple. In addition, a Florida judge will handle any issues that may arise involving property division and spousal support.
Trope tells TMZ the California courts will have jurisdiction over any issues related to child custody.
As we first reported, Shaunie filed for legal separation in California back in November, just days after moving to L.A. with their kids. We've learned Shaunie just filed a petition to dismiss the separation action.
A tragic end ... two men and a woman, believed to be Kosovans, jumped from the 15th floor
Horrified concierges discovered the bodies of the two men and one woman yesterday morning after the trio jumped from the 15th floor.
It's thought the immigrants - believed to be a Kosovan family facing deportation - used furniture, including a chest of drawers, from the flat they were living in to stand on before joining hands and leaping from the veranda.
Last night eye-witness Agnes Mulholland told how she saw the bodies lying on the ground before emergency services arrived.
She said: "Two of them were lying face down but one of the men was lying face up. He had *lo** on his face. It was a very shocking thing to see."
Elizabeth Neilson, 42, who lives in the opposite block of flats, said: "I opened my blinds and saw them lying there.
"I saw two concierges standing there and three bodies lying on the ground. I was traumatised.
"I phoned the concierge and he said he couldn't say much, but that three people had thrown themselves off the veranda."
Local Mark Johnston, 24, originally from South Africa, said: "There were three bodies on the g**** covered by white sheets.
"It was like something you would see on TV. It looked like a murder scene with people shot dead."
An Asian woman, whose first-floor kitchen window looks directly onto the scene, added: "I heard a loud thumping noise. I didn't think anything at the time but it is so upsetting. It's really sad."
Emergency services raced to the scene in Springburn, Glasgow, at around 8.40am yesterday but all three victims were already dead.
One neighbour said they had lived in the high-rise for two months.
Local resident Elaine Sandford, 40, said she believed the deceased were Kosovans who faced deportation. She said: "I think they had a letter through the door that said they were coming back for them."
Yesterday the area around the flats was cordoned off and a white tent put up as police forensics officers carried out examinations - but cops said there are "no suspicious circumstances".
Last night a spokeswoman for Strathclyde Police said: "We were called to attend at around 8.40am on Sunday. Police are currently at the scene dealing with the incident.
"Inquiries are ongoing to establish the identities of the three people and post-mortem examinations will take place in due course to establish the exact cause of death."
The tragedy happened at the run-down Red Road flats complex - which is home to thousands of asylum seekers.
Many of the flats are unoccupied as the local authority is moving the residents out to new accommodation.
All eight of the tower blocks in the complex, which are up to 30 storeys high, are due to be demolished shortly.
A spokesman for Glasgow Housing Association, which owns the flats but lets them to the Scottish YMCA, said: "We were very sad to hear of this tragic incident."
No one was available from the YMCA.
Aidonia will not clash with Blak Ryno - J.O.P management |
Written by CONTRIBUTED | |
Thursday, 11 March 2010 | |
Amidst mounting speculation and spurious reports online that J.O.P recording artiste Aidonia will be clashing former Portmore Empire member Blak Ryno at the second staging of Settlement this June. Aidonia and his management would like to make the public aware that these claims are completely false and misleading. The report carried by a popular entertainment site quoted the promoter Tommy Thompson as saying "We have contacted both Aidonia and Ryno for the show and they are ready to go, but we have not signed off on a clash but it is a possibility given the vibes between the two. Aidonias brother and manager, Lav Lawrence said he was surprise by the comment. We have no knowledge of any such showdown taking place, Aidonia will not be taking part in any such event, that's not the direction we are looking to take his career." "Tommy Thompson the promoter contacted me and said he was interested in having Aidonia on the show and that's where the conversation ended. He is not booked for the event so I find it rather surprising that people are saying he is booked for a clash with Blak Ryno. Based on the recent turn of events, Aidonia has expressed no interest in doing the show and wants the public to be aware that there is no animosity between himself and Blak Ryno contrary to reports. - He added. This Saturday the deejay born Sheldon Lawrence is slated to headline the 11th Anniversary of Spring Break in Long Bay Beach, Negril alongside Tarrus Riley, Sizzla Kalonji, I-Octance and Coco Tea amongst other. Come March 27th he will depart the island accompanied by Kingston based sound system Darkcide International for a concert at the Signature Ranch in Miami, Florida. Other professional engagements includes, his Birthday Party this April in New York before jetting off on a three weeks tour of Europe. On his return plans are in place to complete the final tracks for his upcoming debut album. |
A little over a week after the highly controversial issue was placed in the international spotlight via a US State Department report, the widely circulated The Economist magazine has brought more attention. On Thursday, The magazine published a report which claimed that the American authorities have become more frustrated with the Government's foot dragging in granting a US request to hand over Mr. Coke to answer gun and drug running charges. The article titled "Seeking Mr. Coke," places the country in an extremely negative light as it outlines among other things the close connection between Mr. Coke and the governing Jamaica Labour Party. The no holds barred report says the US Justice Department has put Mr. Coke on its world's most dangerous list, accusing him of directing drug deals as far away as New York. It goes on to state that if American allegations of political links are well-founded, some Jamaican public figures may fear that Mr. Coke's arrest would lead to the disclosure of embar****ing information. According to the Economist, it is rumoured that Mr. Coke has deposited incriminating documents with lawyers, to be released in the event of his untimely death. However, it noted that in pressing for Mr. Coke's extradition, the United States must also be aware of the risk that his arrest could further destabilise Jamaica which has already been racked by drugs-related violence. |
( l - r ) Ludacris, Tifa - File photos
Young deejay Tifa has scored her first international collaboration with the remix of rapper Ludacris' 'How Low'.
The song, which is being officially remixed by Alrick and Boyd, also features Barbadian rapper Teff and Kunley from production house Ward 21.
Boyd told THE WEEKEND STAR how the collaboration came about saying, "Alrick and Boyd are signed to Ne-Yo's Compound Entertainment label and they commissioned us to do the How Low remix. We chose Tifa to be on the track cause we need a female perspective and thought Tifa was the best bet and she did really well. Kunley because of his lyrical ability as well and Teff is one of the hottest rappers out of Barbados right now."
For Tifa she's excited about the remix as she said, "It feels good and I guess it will open me up to more opportunities on the international scene."
While a pre-release of the song can be seen on www.youtube.com, the official release is set for next week as Boyd says they are still working on the track. Despite that, the remix has been playing in clubs in the United States and, according to Boyd, getting a good response.
Ludacris loves Tifa
Boyd said, "Ludacris loves Tifa and he liked what she did on the track and what we did with the remix, cause we rebuilt the track and we're still doing more work on it as we speak."
For the future, Tifa is looking to work with more international acts, hoping to work with persons such as Timbaland, Pharrel, Kanye West, Beyoncé, Missy Elliott, Rihanna and more.
In the meantime, she's happy about the way her career has been going so far saying, "2010 has started out really good for me, had the Coke Zero concert which mi shell down, been doing good at the award shows, got five out of the eight awards I was nominated for. I'm also on the Cross Country tour and the RE School tour as well."
In the studio, the deejay has been busy releasing a number of tracks including If I Could Fly, a remix of Junior Tucker's Into the Night, Nuh Friend Dem for Don Corleon, I Wish on Corleon's 'Feelings' rhythm,a track on the Old School rhythm, a gospel song titled Guided and Protected, a collaboration with Ward 21 called High Come Down and Rock Me So on Ward 21's Fyah Wyah rhythm. Next week, Tifa is also expected to release three more tracks from Ward 21.
One of the upcoming songs Tifa is most excited about, which premieres today, is her collaboration with Tami Chynn for Certified Diva. The song was produced by Washroom Entertainment, which wowed fans last year with Voicemail and Busy Signal's Dance the Night Away.
Tifa says, "I'm just happy that I get to work with talented people every day, I'm truly blessed. We've been wanting to do a collab for a good while now. I guess now is just the right time, we picked a topic, and Tami linked us up with Conroy (Washroom Entertainment) and we just went into the studio and magic happened."Lisa Hype's sexy video shoot hits the NET!!! |
Written by SImone Winter | |||||
Thursday, 11 March 2010 | |||||
Page 1 of 3 Lisa Hyper raised eyebrows during her video shoot on Wednesday for her popular Trust single. The photos have just hit the Internet and are very risque showing Lisa Hype in a variety of athletic sexual positions and indulged in full mouth-on-mouth tongue wrestling with the male lead in the video. "Ah some real life kissing mi gwaan wid pon the video shoot. He is one of my friend's cousins, and it was very romantic and very steamy," she said, laughing. Lisa Hyper's Bills single is now #8 on the HYPE TV charts and also hit the top 20 of the RE TV dancehall charts. Lisa Hyper was at the centre of a major media firestorm late last year when photos were released on the Internet showing her |
Veteran television anchor Dan Rather cites the way his comments about Dan Ratherwatermelon and President Obama went viral as an example of the dangers of "an online and cable echo chamber that claims the banner of news but trades in gossip, gotcha, and innuendo."
Discussing health care reform Sunday on television's syndicated "Chris Matthews Show," Rather said, "Obama couldnt sell watermelons if you gave him the state troopers to flag down the traffic."
"It's an expression that stretches to my boyhood roots in Southeast Texas, when country highways were lined with stands manned by sellers of all races," Rather wrote Wednesday on the Huffington Post site. "Now of course watermelons have become a stereotype for African Americans and so my analogy entered a charged environment. I'm sorry people took offense.
"But anyone who knows me personally or knows my professional career would know that race was not on my mind. Reporting on the injustices of race was part of the reason I became a reporter. I grew up in segregated Texas on the same side of the tracks as the African American community. . . . I do not take this issue lightly.
"I can understand why someone who just happened upon my comments could take offense or want clarification. But what has caused this comment to 'go viral' is the trumpeting of an online and cable echo chamber that claims the banner of news but trades in gossip, gotcha, and innuendo. Furthermore, even for those who brook no prejudice, when everything is condensed to 140 characters or a small YouTube clip, many people who got this 'news' did so without any context, just a headline that popped up on their phone or inbox."
Rather left "the CBS Evening News" in 2006 and now anchors for HDTVCOLUMBIA, S.C. When Juanita Goggins became the first black woman elected to the South Carolina Legislature in 1974, she was hailed as a trailblazer and twice visited the president at the White House.
Three decades later, she froze to death at age 75, a solitary figure living in a rented house four miles from the gleaming Statehouse dome.
Goggins, whose achievements included key legislation on school funding, kindergarten and class size, had become increasingly reclusive. She spent her final years turning down help from neighbors who knew little of her history-making past. Her body was not discovered for more than a week.
Those neighbors, as well as former colleagues and relatives, are now left wondering whether they could have done more to help.
"I'm very saddened. People like her you want to see live forever. She had quite a gift for helping others," said state Sen. John Land, a fellow Democrat who was first elected to the House the same year as Goggins.
Goggins, the youngest of 10 children, grew up the daughter of a sharecropper in rural Anderson County, about 130 miles northwest of the capital. She was the only sibling to earn a four-year college degree. Her bachelor's in home economics from then-all-black South Carolina State College was followed by a master's degree.
She taught in the state's segregated schools, married a dentist and got into politics. In 1972, she became the first black woman to represent South Carolina as a delegate to the Democratic National Convention. Two years later, she became the first black woman appointed to the U.S. Civil Rights Commission.
"I am going to Columbia to be a legislator, not just a black spot in the House chambers," she told The Associated Press in 1974 following her victory over an incumbent white man from a district just south of Charlotte, N.C.
Voters "were weary of poor representation. They were ready to accept a person who was sincere and concerned about things. Those feelings go beyond color," Goggins said.
She sat on the powerful House budget-writing committee and was responsible for funding sickle-cell anemia testing in county health departments.
The former teacher also helped pass the 1977 law that is still the basis for education funding in the state. Her proposals to expand kindergarten and to reduce student-teacher ratios in the primary grades were adopted after she left politics in 1980, citing health issues.
"She was not bashful or anything. She liked to talk. I used to say she could sell an Eskimo ice," recalled Ilese Dixon, 88, of Pendleton, Goggins' last surviving sibling. "She was just lively and smart. She thought she could fix the world."
Her colleagues say they never learned the specifics of her illness and, since she didn't talk about it, they didn't press.
Several years after leaving the Legislature, Goggins divorced and then moved to Columbia in the early 1990s, renting the brick ranch house in a quiet neighborhood off North Main Street where she lived for 16 years.
Her son said she worked several years as a case manager for the state Department of Health and Environmental Control, although a spokesman said the agency had no records of her employment. At one point, she also started a nonprofit tutoring service called the Juanita W. Goggins School of Excellence.
Neighbors said she was always a private person. One neighbor said she would return her waves, but refused to let visitors in the door.
Last year, about the same time the Legislature voted to name part of a state highway after her, Goggins was mugged near her home. She changed the locks on her door and stopped taking walks, according her neighbors and landlord.
Police found Goggins' body March 3 two weeks after she was last seen. Her landlord contacted police after a next-door neighbor realized he had not seen her lights on in some time.
Coroner Gary Watts said she died of hypothermia, probably about Feb. 20, and said he found indications of dementia. When she died, during a cold snap, Goggins was wearing several layers of clothing, yet her heat was working at the time.
She had money to pay her bills, but the utility company said it shut off the electricity for nonpayment Feb. 23. Watts said it appeared Goggins was using Sterno to cook, but her stove was still functioning when police climbed through a window and found her.
"I miss her," said Erskine Hunter, an 83-year-old neighbor who ensured Goggins' lawn was mowed and hedges were trimmed. "I don't know why I didn't go over there and hammer on the door."
Hunter said Goggins occasionally came to his home and visited with his granddaughter. She refused to let anyone drive her anywhere, and refused rides to and from the bus stop, so he often went to the grocery store for her. But he had not done that in several months.
State Sen. John Scott, whose realty company owns Goggins' home, said he and his sister tried to take care of Goggins as best as they could without prying.
"We lost a great trailblazer," said Scott, a Democrat from Columbia. "Our family's very saddened this happened to a person who's given so much."
His sister who manages the property, Linda Marshall, said Goggins declined help from the county.
"She needed someone to assist her, but anyone who tried to get close, she'd block them off," she said. "She was very fragile. This was something I always dreaded."
Why she withdrew remains a mystery even to her son. He attributes it to her illness, which was never fully diagnosed.
"That's something I've been trying to get my head around for the last 15 years," said Horace Goggins Jr., 42, of Powder Springs, Ga.
He last saw her about six months ago. She would not let him help her either, he said.
He wants to focus on her accomplishments and the good times at his mother's funeral Friday in Rock Hill.
"I would like for her to be remembered as a woman who cared about her community," he said. "I want her to be remembered as a positive role model, not only for African-American girls, but also any young girl who has a want and a desire to make a change and do something positive."
Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, right, and his wife Landra Reid attend an event at Ford's Theater in Washington in 2007. |
Reid's wife, Landra, 69, broke her back and neck in the accident, Reid spokesman Jim Manley said. Mrs. Reid was listed in serious condition at Inova Faifax Hospital in Falls Church, Va., an aide said, but she was not expected to require surgery.
The couple's daughter, Lana Barringer, 49, was expected to be released from the hospital Thursday night, Reid aides said.
"Mrs. Reid has a broken nose, broken back and broken neck. Lana has a neck injury and facial lacerations. Both Mrs. Reid and Lana are conscious, can feel their extremities, and according to doctors their injuries are non-life threatening," Manley said.
Virginia State Police said the Reids were traveling north on Interstate 95 in Fairfax County in stop-and-go traffic when their Honda Odyssey was rear-ended by a tractor-trailer loaded with rolls of plastic. The impact forced the Reid family's minivan to hit the vehicle in front of it, which in turn struck a car in an adjacent lane. The other two drivers were also taken to the hospital with non-life-threatening injuries, police said. All involved were wearing seat belts, police said.
The driver of the tractor-trailer, Alan Snader, 59, of Ohio, was charged with reckless driving, police said. He was not injured.
Manley said the Nevada Democrat went to the hospital after being told of the accident and later returned to Capitol Hill for a meeting with White House chief of staff Rahm Emanuel and House Speaker Nancy Pelosi on efforts to pass health care legislation.
Reid, 70, met Landra while they were attending Basic High School in Henderson, Nev. They were married in 1959. Lana was born two years later. The Reids also have four sons: Rory, Leif, Josh and Key.
Both the senator and his son, Rory, are on Nevada's ballot this year. The Democratic leader is running for re-election to a fifth term, while his son is running for governor.
A man accused of fondling the buttocks of a little girl as she slept, denied the allegations in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday.
The accused, who is charged with indecent assault, said he knew nothing of the allegations.
The court heard that the complainant was asleep in a bed in her room when the accused went in and fondled her buttocks. The child reportedly informed her parents of the event and the police were called in.
The accused told the court that a group of persons were sleeping in the room on different beds. He said he was not sleeping on the bed with the child. He said he had a dispute with the child's father over missing money and a missing phone and suggested that the allegations were concocted because of that disagreement.
The accused, who is a farmer, is to return to court on March 19 when he is to be tried.Dancehall artiste Spice will be shooting yet another video, this time for, her new single, Back Broad, on the recently released DNA rhythm by TJ Records.
The video shoot, which was delayed because of Spice's hectic schedule, supervising her store, Spicey Couture, and travelling overseas for shows, is now back on track and Spice said the wait will be worth it.
fashionable
"I think fans, especially my confident divas, will love the video. The concept for this video is going to be about confident women and being fashionable. The chorus is about walking the runway so, of course, you know it's gonna be about fashion, glitz and glamour and the pre-chorus talks about 'if yuh back broad yuh can bounce any gal', so it's a bad-girl image mixed with hotness. Overall, it's gonna be my most fashionable video so far," she said.
The shoot is scheduled to take place at 4 Latham Avenue, opposite from Hype TV, today, at 3 p.m.
"I also want to invite all my fans, who want to be a part of the shoot, to come out dressed to impress. I always like my fans to feel free to be a part of anything I do, so come out. It's going to be a lot of fun."
Beenie Man with son Marco-Dean and estranged wife Michelle 'D'Angel' Downer. - File
Despite doing a song together and declaring that they still are married, D'Angel said she only shares a parental and musical relationship with her estranged husband Beenie Man.
In the song, You Are My First, which was released earlier this week, D'Angel sang, "My yute yuh a mi first man/ Dat mek yuh mi husband/ No other gal can love yuh like me/ So tell mi what di hell yuh did a do wid Bar-bee?/ Mi stuck inna yuh life and dem caan get mi out/ Nuh gal caan step inna di first lady house."
As for the relationship between himself and Bar-bee, Beenie Man responds, "a music thing." He continued, "Mi have mi wife a mi yard inna lingerie, she hot/ Some gal nuh have it/ Hotness is a gift/ A you a mi wife so a you alone mi kiss."
The song comes as somewhat of a surprise, as the two went through a very bitter, public break-up in 2007, after getting married in 2006. However, in recent times, the two have made appearances on stage shows performing together. And they seemed to be on good terms at their son's, Marco Dean, birthday party in November.
With the release of their song, there has been a lot of speculations as to whether or not they are back in an intimate relationship. When asked, D'Angel said, "no, we are not."
"We have a great parental relationship and that is something that is going to be eternal. And we have to set a good example for Marco-Dean. We have to be role models," she told THE WEEKEND STAR.
"We have to show the world that regardless of what we have been through, we can deal with everything maturely and amicably, instead of a public charade when we have a situation. People have to know as adults how to settle disputes without going into the public with it."
This is their second collaboration, having done One Man in 2006. On this occasion, D'Angel said they decided to do the song for their love of music.
"It's just music. You can't be prejudice when you doing music. I want to build a legacy in music. He's a hitmaker. Beenie Man has been in music for 30 years. Who wouldn't want to do a collaboration with Beenie Man? Music is bigger than us," she said.
"Beenie is my child's father, so it is good that we can still come together and do music for the people 'cause that's what people know us for."
When asked if the song is a publicity stunt, D'Angel denied this, explaining that she does not need to do that at this point in her career.
"No, I don't have to collaborate with Beenie Man to get publicity. D'Angel is out there. We don't do music for publicity, we do it for the love of music. D'Angel is not a poppyshow. I'm above that. If I'm to do anything, it has to be from the heart," she said noting that her songs and music videos have been getting regular rotation.
Being the workaholic that she claims to be, D'Angel said she will be shooting the music video for Hot Gal A Road soon and one for You Are My First is already in the works. And, she is busy promoting songs like Come Over and Womaniser. In addition, she said she will be hosting her birthday party on April 10 at Club Jamaica Jamaica, St Ann, featuring artistes like Beenie Man, G Whizz, I-Octane, Tifa, Nesbeth and others.
Vince-Roy Bent otherwise called "Chicken" was shot dead during an alleged gun battle with members of the Joint Task Force on Thursday and an AK 47 rifle with six rounds of ammunition taken from his body. Mr. Bent reported opened fire on members of a police/military team which was carrying out operations in Palmers Cross about 11am. The fire was returned and he was fatally shot. According to the Constabulary Communication Network, Mr. Bent was wanted for several crimes committed in various communities in Clarendon. |
The incident took place in the vicinity of the Half Way Tree Transport Centre. TVJ's cameras captured the large group of male students as they hunted down another boy and tried to stab him with a knife. The group which was chasing the other boy down Constant Spring road, ran into police officers who were on patrol. They did an about turn and attempted to escape in the opposite direction. However they were chased by other police men who were in the vicinity and random pedestrians on the scene. The students were eventually cornered on Ellesmere Road by the cops. This latest act of high school hostility comes in the wake of reports of a violent feud between two other prominent Kingston schools. Thursday, Ardenne High school was forced to put in place emergency measures to ward off what was reportedly a planned mass attack on its students, by students from Excelsior High School. It is reported that students of Ardenne and Excelsior High had an altercation on Monday which prompted Excelsior students to venture to Hope Road Thursday where another scuffle ensued. The Half-Way-Tree Police have been closely monitoring the Transport Centre and its environs to prevent any escalation of hostilities between rival schools. |
An illegal firearm was also seized in the operation. Superintendent in charge of the St. Catherine North Division, Assan Thompson told RJR News that just after one o'clock the police went to a house on Mansfield Avenue in Homestead, where all ten were found. "They observed suspicious activities at a house in the area. A man who was seen in the yard ran inside the house. The police quickly cordoned the house and searched it, "Upon searching it they found four males along with six female students. These students were dressed in uniform and should have been in school at the time. Following their search a .38 revolver with five rounds of ammunition was recovered and so persons will be charged," he said. Superintendent Thompson further disclosed that the police are seeking a man whom they say is responsible for luring the girls to the house. "Arising out of this matter we are seeking one Andrew Decardova who is a Rastafarian from the Homestead community. We believe that he could have been the mastermind behind getting these students away from school to get them into this house and we know what could have happened. Luckily the police were on the alert," he said. On Thursday morning, RJR News reported that four girls from a prominent high school in St. Thomas were taken into police custody after they were reportedly caught in compromising positions with two men at a house in Duhaney Pen Thursday. One of the men is said to be a taxi driver and the other, the owner of the house. |
Our investigation found that Michael Winans Jr. orchestrated a scheme that resulted in hundreds of Detroit residents losing millions of hard-earned dollars. Promising sky-high, guaranteed returns, these scammers unscrupulously fleeced unsuspecting churchgoers who let their financial guard down.
Business honchos want Gov't to let courts settle extradition matter
THE NATION'S most powerful group of business leaders, the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ), has joined other associations and individuals in disagreeing with the Government's decision not to sign the extradition request for west Kingston strongman Christopher 'Dudus' Coke.
The PSOJ set tongues wagging islandwide yesterday as it came out with a position far removed from the stance of the Bruce Golding administration.
"This shows that the extradition issue is affecting the business community and reflects what many people have been saying: that the Government is mishandling the extradition request," Richard 'Dickie' Crawford told The Gleaner minutes after the PSOJ release was circulated.
Crawford said the PSOJ's statement argued that the questions surrounding the request from the United States for the extradition of Coke should be determined in a court of law.
The PSOJ said: "... We call on the Government to expeditiously take those steps necessary to allow the Jamaican courts to assess and determine the merits of any outstanding extradition requests by the United States, confident that our courts will have every regard for the rights of citizens, as enshrined in Jamaica's Constitution."
Fears implications
According to the PSOJ, it views with grave concern the content of the recently released US Narcotics Control Strategy Report and the implications it could have for the country.
The PSOJ said it had noted the statement made by Golding in Parliament on March 2 when he argued that the attorney general could not sign the extradition request because the procedures that were employed by the American authorities were abnormal.
In that presentation, Golding also argued that in one important respect - the interception of communication - the extradition request was found to be in violation of the Jamaican law, and rejected a call from the opposition People's National Party to have a court of law rule on the issue.
But the PSOJ yesterday sided with the Opposition.
"While we would not wish to comment on the veracity of the contentions made in the referenced report, or indeed, the prime minister's basis for the handling of the matter as set out in his statement to the Parliament, it seems to us that the proper forum for these matters to be dealt with in a transparent manner is in the courts of Jamaica.
"We believe there are sufficient safeguards available in Jamaican law and in our independent judiciary to protect the constitutional rights of all Jamaican citizens," the PSOJ added.
The private-sector group also noted: "Jamaica, being a part of the international community, acknowledges the transnational nature of crime and the need for a concerted global effort to eradicate crime and violence."
According to the PSOJ, Jamaica has demonstrated its commitment to fight criminality by signing the relevant international treaties and in enacting the necessary domestic legislation to facilitate cooperation.
"It is imperative that we continue to demonstrate our commitment by honouring our obligations under the treaties to which we are a party."
Tiger Woods may have been an equal opportunity employer -- but an online bookmaker wasn't so kind in doling out odds for the winner of Howard Stern's Golf Mistress Beauty Pageant.
Even though Stern hasn't released the list of actual competitors yet, Sportsbook.com has already listed mistress #1 Rachel Uchitel among the least likely to take home Stern's prize ... but we're guessing it's because her cardboard cutout will be participating in her place.
Meanwhile, Cori Rist and Loredana Jolie are tied as favorites to club the competition. Some other notables include Holly Sampson -- a close 3rd -- followed by Jaimee Grubbs, Joslyn James, and Jamie Jungers in 4th, 5th, and 6th.
The pageant is scheduled to go full steam ahead on March 10th -- with the contestants clawing for a $100,000 prize.
WELL I'LL BE DARNED!!! MICHAEL JACKSON'S BODYGUARDS SAY HE WAS HETEROSEXUAL . . . EXPLAIN THAT HE HAD MANY JUMPOFFS!!! (FULL STORY INSIDE) |
We don't believe he was a [pedophile] . . . he had the desires of women like everyone
We had a curtain which covered the backseat [of the car]. And so he was either making out in the back seat or chewing gum very loud
HERE IS THE VID:
I aint never really did this but right now I need all of my fans help. A lot of radio stations arent playing my records. They are not being that supportive and I wouldnt expect them to. Its on the fans and what you guys do in your power to bring me back. Thats all I need is you guys and nothing else will do that except for the fans.
I dont know what else to say. Its nothing else that I can do. Im doing everything that I need to do. Im doing me as a person and Im a better guy.
Its on yall. My singing and my music I do it for you guys and everything else but it wont be possible if Im not relevant on the radio and it wouldnt be possible for me to be an artist if I dont have the support. I cant be an underground mixtape artist. Thats where we are. I just want all my fans to help me. I love yall. Peace
SOURCE
man a beg yah now