NAIROBI, Kenya -- A small gang of Somali pirates fired on an approaching ship, hoping their midnight attack would bring them millions in ransom. The ragtag bandits, though, had taken on far more than they could handle: a US Navy warship.
The USS Nicholas, a guided-missile frigate, was tracking the pirates when they opened fire early yesterday in the Indian Ocean, military officials said. The Nicholas returned fire and disabled the skiff.
Navy personnel later boarded and detained three suspects. Two more bandits were found on a nearby boat.
It was not the first attack against a Navy ship, but it underscored the fact that most pirates aren't terribly sophisticated, said Roger Middleton, a piracy expert at the British think tank Chatham House.
"If you think of the kind of young men who are doing this, they go out into the middle of the ocean in a tiny boat," said Middleton. "Perhaps they just see a big ship they think is worth a lot of money."
International forces have stepped up enforcement of the waters off East Africa in an effort to thwart a growing pirate trade. Yesterday's attack took place between the coast of Kenya and the island nation of Seychelles, said Navy spokesman Lt. Patrick Foughty.
French and Dutch naval ships also have been attacked by pirates.
The US Africa Command said the five pirates seized yesterday would remain in custody on board the frigate for now.
Experts say piracy will continue to be a problem until an effective government is established on Somalia's lawless shores. The country has not had a functioning government for 19 years.
RONALDINHO ... now in Italy
Current Barcelona president Joan Laporta claims rival Sandro Rosell tried to persuade him to share a Ł7m kick-back Chelsea were allegedly willing to pay if the club sold them the Brazilian superstar in 2004.
Chelsea last night vehemently denied offering any bribe and there is absolutely no evidence to support Laporta's claims.
A Blues spokesman said: "It's total nonsense. We never made such an offer."
Laporta's claims were made in his explosive book A Dream For My Children published in Spain on Monday.
The Barca president alleged on April 25, 2004, his then vice-president Rosell told him Chelsea were offering 100m euros (then Ł70m) for Ronaldinho.
Laporta writes: "I told him to get it out of his head, that Ronnie was not for sale and I didn't want to talk about it any more but he added: 'Joan, they are giving us a commission of 10 per cent.'
"Sandro kept insisting about the offer of Chelsea pretending he didn't want it to happen.
"He reminded me that if we accepted they were giving us 10m euros to share between us. That attitude made me profoundly indignant."
Ronaldinho, now at AC Milan, was at the peak of his powers back in 2004.
Rosell resigned his post in June 2005 after a bitter fall-out with Laporta, who steps down as president at the end of his second term this June.
Laporta's book is about his seven years in charge of the Catalan giants.
And Rosell is the overwhelming favourite to win the presidential election.
The claims in the book are seen by his supporters as an effort by Laporta to damage Rosell's chances.
But angry Chelsea now inadvertently find themselves dragged into a storm not of their own making.
In a statement last night Rosell insisted he would sue Laporta unless the Barcelona president retracted the allegations made in the book.
He said: "After reading the accusations levelled at me by Mr Laporta in his book, for a supposed commission for the transfer to Chelsea FC of the player Ronaldinho, and analysing the gravity of those, I want to say that it's absolutely false that this offer was made from my part to Mr Laporta.
"The recounting of this episode, for its total and absolute falsehood, constitutes a grave attack on my honour, and for that reason I reserve my right to take judicial action."
I think Kartel has lost it. I understand borrowing Mavado's melody and chanting style and trying to make it big for himself this year but what he is doing now is just too disgusting. He has got to a point where he is killing dancehall and destroying the lives of its listeners in da process.
I understand it was hard fi him last year and he had to fight hard to buss again. He tried every trick in da book and most of it worked. Clashing wid di biggest artist of 2008 and copying each one of his moves. Mavado was di first artiste to make a big tune fi an athlete and it was not because Asafa Powell said "gully" but di man just said he liked Mavado's singing style and voice. Now Kartel decided to make a ting called Gaza when Mavado was singing about di Gully side from di start. And even Kartel did sing bout Gully side when he was hanging with Mavado and Bounty Killer. Because him realise how Mavado make it big, he created a rival side to copy every one of Mavado's moves. Kartel used this Gully vs Gaza to the extreme by influencing the biggest artistes in the world to not say he likes Kartel's music but to say he is for Gaza, "the side". These desperate measures are not only destroying Dancehall but destroying Jamaica. Kartel, who used to be da biggest artist in Dancehall has shown dat he cant buss again from just doing music but his career depends on autotune, causing controversy, imitating other artistes, engineering falsehoods and manipulating young and naive aspiring artists.
Recently Kartel sunk to da lowest with the release of the picture of his purported partner and protege performing an oral sexual act to a man who is believed to be Kartel himself. For someone who has made a following and a lot of money through singing songs against such an act (oral sex) and many other evil acts this is disappointing. Who knows how many other things he sings against but still goes on and do? The act which was depicted in that image is one such when one person does it on the other, the one receiving it also has do reciprocate so did the man in the picture bow, after the female played her part of the game?
Prominent members from Kartel's camp have been heard openly condoning dangerous acts such as bleaching and the lady mentioned before has sung a song endorsing it. In a community dat is suffering this is uncalled for and Kartel and his camp need to be held responsible for their actions. Oh, and by the way, this is camp which our distinguished athlete chooses to endorse. I dont encourage him to endorse any of the two but rather to say musics.
People see him as an ambassador. Mi bredda, you are like a diplomat and what you are doing right now no make you name look good.
Posted by YardFlex at November 26, 2009 08:20 PM
| |||||||
|
Well it turns out there's a big difference between adopting moral platitudes from thousands of years ago, and trying out their sex advice. Some of the "tips" from the Kama Sutra seem to be setting people up for serious injury should they be performed incorrectly, or in some cases, if they're performed at all.
"When a man supports himself against a wall, and the woman, sitting on his hands joined together and held underneath her, throws her arms round his neck, and putting her thighs alongside his waist, moves herself by her feet, which are touching the wall against which the man is leaning, it is called the 'suspended congress.'"
- Vatsyayana
Oh it's just a little standing position. Sounds easy enough, right ladies? Well, to most men, the idea of having sex standing up is a slippery, pride-greased slope towards repeating the phrase, "I'm so sorry," over your naked heap of a body and his own rapidly blue-ing balls. It's not like he's going to say no. If he wants to have sex with you, he'd swear he could bench press twice his body weight right up until he passed out from the 500 lbs of barbell he just dropped on his own chest. You think he's going to tell you he doesn't have the strength to hold you up for more than five seconds?
Also, "Suspended Congress" is just about the most unappealing name for a position in the history of sex.
Why it's Dangerous:
Anne Hooper warns in her Keep It Simple Kama Sutra Series that this position should not be attempted by men "that have even the inkling of a bad back!" (Exclamation-mark totally included.) Now there's a bit of medical history he's going to willingly volunteer when you've just asked him to turn you into a human sex swing.
The book goes even further by pointing out that should the man drop the woman, her tailbone could be fractured and her arms could get popped right out of their sockets, not to mention the ferocious dick-snapping that would likely occur (see "The Turning Position," below). All told, the Suspended Congress could lead to the most humiliating emergency room visit in both of your lives.
"When a man, during congress, turns round, and enjoys the woman without leaving her, while she embraces him round the back all the time, it is called the 'turning position,' and is learnt only by practice." - Vatsyayana
Translation:
This is basically a guy doing the Curly Shuffle while inside his girlfriend, which was considered the pinnacle of intimacy by all three stooges. Some may refer to this as "The Helicopter."
The ladies love this guy.
Why it's Dangerous:
While we're all for ruining tender moments with bafflingly asinine behavior, there are certain feats the human body was not designed to perform under any circumstance. Sure, the evolutionary process is largely trial-and-error, but we're fairly certain that at no point was the penis intended to function like a corkscrew, which is the precise idea behind the Turning Position.
Vatsyayana's advice is for the male to simply wing it and spin his entire body around the girl, failing to mention that if he moves too fast he can literally snap his dick in half.
Really it's hard to tell who exactly benefits from the turning position, because even if the guy is really into yoga and manages to pull it off without suffering a penile fracture, the girl's insides are in danger of being torn to pieces if the guy is anything less than gentle. Physical injury aside, guys are spending half the time making out with his partner's feet while she in turn stares down the barrel of his grundle, which we're pretty sure is considered sexual assault, consent be damned.
"To Increase the Size and Potential of the Penis: Take shuka hairs - the shuka is an insect that lives in trees - mix with oil and rub on the penis for ten nights... When a swelling appears sleep face downwards on a wooden bed, letting one's sex hang through a hole. "
- Vatsyayana
Translation:
If you're like us, you add a few extra inches when measuring your manhood because dicks should be graded on a curve. But the Kama Sutra teaches us that we don't have to be ashamed anymore with a sure-fire method of penis enlargement. All you have to do is collect some "shuka hairs," mix them with oil, and rub them on your yogurt cannon for 10 days. Make this part of your nighttime routine, and you'll be like Ron Jeremy in no time.
Which is apparently a good thing.
Why it's Dangerous:
If you're picturing the "shuka" as a hairy bug, you're way off. Shukas are ****ing wasps and their "hairs" are their ****ing stingers.
Pictured: ****ing wasp, ****ing stinger.
If a person gives you a piece of advice that begins with the phrase "rub wasp stingers on your dick," hitting said person in the face with a brick is not only legal but actually required in some jurisdictions. See, death is a rare but potential result of engaging in this lunacy when you consider that three to five percent of people are vulnerable to "some sort" of allergy to stings ("acute death" and "inflammation of the not-alive-anymore gland" being two such allergies). The rest of the population is subjected to the general discomfort of sticking your penis in a beehive.
Sure, given the massive swelling that would result from thousands of stings could actually make it larger, but that's sort of like gouging your eyes out so you don't have to wear glasses anymore. Sometimes embar****ment is better than mutilating your penis with insect venom.
"When the legs are contracted, and thus held by the lover before his bosom, it is called the 'pressed position.'"
- Vatsyayana
Translation:
While on the surface a rather harmless sexual position, the Pressed Position is a bit awkward because it brings feet in on the action like an uninvited roommate. Basically, both partners are facing each other while the girl presses her feet against the guy's chest, sort of like a crablegged dropkick only with more vaginal penetration.
Sent from the future to robo-blast your vagina in the past.
The man, with his hands comparatively free, is supposed to massage aforementioned feet with a lustful vigor, something which is hard for most of us to achieve while rubbing some chick's gnarled bootclaws.
This image is nothing like what you would experience.
Why it's Dangerous:
Most modern versions of the Kama Sutra suggest that you add reflexology to the mix, which is a type of alternative medicine focusing on pressure points in the feet that correspond to different areas of the body.
Reflexology for Dummies.
While this dabbling in holistic remedies might be how you tricked your new age girlfriend into sex in the first place, the danger posed is that you're essentially fooling around with something that people actually go to school for. Also, you're having sex with someone while essentially tickling their feet, which makes you about a hundred times more likely to get a spastic kick to the face that knocks your teeth down your throat.
And of course there's always the chance that reflexology isn't total bullsh!t and you accidentally squeeze whatever part of the girl's foot that causes her heart to shut down.
(CNN) -- Yoga instructor Sadie Nardini and her husband got an early start on their New Year's resolution: In December, the New York couple decided to have sex every day for the entire month.
Nardini and her husband, a professional photographer, initially decided to have sex like bunnies in the hopes that all the activity might help them overcome his-and-her bad habits: cigarettes and chocolate, respectively. And indeed, the nightly trysts did help. But they also found, unexpectedly, that frequent sex made them feel better in other ways, too.
Nardini says they both slept better and had more energy, and she didn't get a cold or the flu all month as she usually does in the winter. "Sex doesn't seem at first glance to be the cure for what ails you, but there's so many health benefits of having more sex," Nardini says. "Anyone can be better served by having more sex."
In fact, the experiment was so successful, the couple plans to have daily sex in January, too.
Researchers have long known that not only is sex fun (when done with the right person, of course), but that people who have frequent sex tend to live longer and have healthier hearts and lower rates of certain cancers. These studies also show that men with an active sex life have healthier sperm, and sexually active women have fewer menopause symptoms.
Watch more on the benefits of sex
The possible health benefits of sex are spelled out in a soon-to-be-published article in the Journal of Sexual Medicine.
The editor-in-chief of that journal, Dr. Irwin Goldstein, says that when you read about the physical benefits of sex, "you can't help but say, 'Holy God! Sexual activity is a very important thing to do. Human beings were really meant to do this.' " Goldstein is also the director of sexual medicine at Alvarado Hospital in San Diego, California.
In the article, which reviews several decades' worth of studies on sex and health, researcher Stuart Brody concludes that penile-vaginal intercourse -- and not other types of sexual activity -- confer the most health benefits.
For example, five years ago, Brody, now a professor of psychology at the University of the West of Scotland, asked 46 people to give a stressful speech to a nasty audience. His team measured parameters such as *lo** pressure and levels of stress hormones while the participants prepared for the speech and directly after giving it. He found that the study subjects who'd had intercourse in the two weeks preceding the speech had markedly lower *lo** pressure and lower levels of stress hormones. The same wasn't true for people who'd participated in other forms of sexual activities.
Brody says he's not surprised by the findings.
"Evolution is not politically correct," Brody says. "Evolution strongly rewards behaviors that increase the likelihood of successful gene propagation, and only one behavior -- penile-vaginal intercourse -- is potentially reproductive."
But sex researcher Beverly Whipple, who wrote an article in 2003 titled "The Health Benefits of Sexual Expression," disagrees, saying that other types of sexual activity are also associated with physical health benefits.
She adds that it's not entirely clear whether sex makes people healthier, or whether healthy people tend to have more sex.
"It's a chicken-egg situation," says Whipple, professor emerita of psychology at Rutgers University, in New Jersey. "We can't definitively say there's a cause-and-effect relationship between sex and better health."
While the underlying reasons might be unclear, here's a list of health benefits that people who have frequent sex enjoy.
1. A longer life
In a British study, men who had intercourse at least twice a week lived longer than men who had sex less than once a month. A U.S. study had similar findings, and a Swedish study examining the sex lives of 70-year-olds found that men who died before their 75th birthday had ceased having sexual intercourse at earlier ages.
The Swedish study didn't find that women lived longer if they had sex more frequently, and neither did a study in North Carolina. However, in the North Carolina study, women who reported enjoying sex more lived longer than those who didn't report enjoyment.
2. A healthier heart
In a British study, people who had intercourse twice a week or more were less likely to have heart attacks and other fatal coronary events. Those who had sex less than once a month had twice the rates of fatal coronary events, compared with those with the highest frequency of intercourse.
3. Lower *lo** pressure
In a study published in the journalBiological Psychology, people who had sex more often tended to have lower diastolic *lo** pressure, or the bottom number in a *lo** pressure reading. Brody's experiment, in which more sexually active study subjects had markedly less dramatic *lo** pressure spikes when they were put under stress, also supports the benefit.
4. Lower risk of breast cancer
A French study found that women who have vaginal intercourse not at all or infrequently had three times the risk of breast cancer, compared with women who had intercourse more often.
5. Lower risk of prostate cancer
A Minnesota study found that men who'd had intercourse more than 3,000 times in their lives had half the prostate cancer risk of those who had not. While it's not clear why this would be true, studies have found that men who had more intercourse tended to have better prostate function and eliminated more waste products in their semen. "These differences could conceivably impact prostate cancer risk," Brody writes in his article.
6. Pain relief
Whipple and others have conducted studies suggesting that more sexual activity helps relieve lower back pain and migraines.
7. A slimmer physique
A study of healthy German adults revealed that men and women who had sex more frequently tended to be slimmer than folks who didn't have as much sex. Sex burns 50 to 60 calories per encounter, Whipple says, so sex three times a week for a month would burn about 700 calories -- or the equivalent of jogging about seven miles.
8. Better testosterone levels
A group of men being treated for erectile problems saw greater increases in testosterone when, along with the treatments, they had frequent sex. Specifically, men who had sex at least eight times per month had greater increases than those who had sex less than eight times per month.
9. Fewer menopause symptoms
Menopausal women in Nigeria experienced fewer hot flashes when they had sex more frequently. Brody says this may be because sexual activity helps regulate hormonal levels, which in turn affect the symptoms of menopause.
10. Healthier semen
In three studies, men who had frequent intercourse had a higher volume of semen, a higher sperm count and a higher percentage of healthier sperm, compared with men who tended to participate in other sexual activities.
All you need is ... to do some cleaning
If both partners revel in housework they are more likely to get down and dirty in the sack as well.
Dr Constance Gager, from the Montclair State University in the US, said: "We expected that if husbands spent more time on housework, their wives would be less tired and more willing to engage in sex.
"The surprise finding was that for both husbands and wives, more time on housework was linked to more frequent sex."
The survey of 6,877 married couples identified cooking, washing, doing the laundry and paying the bills as all conducive to love making.
It did not matter how old they were or how long they had been married the findings were the same.
(l - r) Bounty Killer, Mavado
The visas of five of Jamaica's top entertainers have been revoked, THE WEEKEND STAR understands. According to information coming from the Fraud Prevention Arm of the United States Embassy in Kingston, the visas of Bounty Killer, Mavado, Beenie Man, Adonia and selector Ricky Trooper are in the process of being cancelled.
When contacted for confirmation last night, Minister of National Security, Senator Dwight Nelson, relayed through his communications department that "he has no such information."
However, a document obtained by THE WEEKEND STAR stated that: "The Embassy of the United States in Kingston, Jamaica, is in the process of revoking the visas of the following citizens of Jamaica. The people mentioned here currently hold a US visa that we have not yet been able to physically cancel. Do not allow these passengers to board any flights bound for the United States in reliance on this visa."
revoked
The document then names Moses Anthony Davis (Beenie Man) two visas; Garfield Augustus McKoy (Ricky Trooper), two visas; Sheldon Ricardo Aitana Lawrence, (Aidonia); David Brooks (Mavado), two visas; and Rodney Basil Price (Bounty Killer) two visas, as those persons whose visas are in the process of being revoked.
(l - r ) Beenie Man, Aidonia
The document also lists the date of birth of each person, their respective passport numbers and visa control numbers.
When contacted by THE WEEKEND STAR, representatives of at least two of the persons on the list said that they were unaware of the new development.
These cancellations follow that of businessman Wayne Chen who recently found out his visa had been cancelled while he was about to board a flight to the United States of America.
DJ Bambino - Contributed
One of the characters bringing some humour to the radio in the morning, ZJ Bambino, plans to ignite the summer as an all-round entertainment package with the release of his new rhythm and three CDs in the works.
Born Orett Hart Jr, Bambino plays the role as emcee, selector under the name ZJ Bambino and deejay as Trever Off Key.
Entering the arena as an artiste four years ago for fun, Trever Off Key impressed fans with songs such as To The Right a parody of Beyonce's popular To the Left. Since then Bambino's alter ego Trever Off Key has brought a lighter side to a number of other popular songs including Jasmine Sullivan's Bust The Window.
After living in Miami for a while, he returned to Jamaica in June of last year to take up his morning spot on ZIP FM. Now, Bambino is ready to take his business more seriously.
release three CDs
The artiste/ZJ has started working with D' Empire Management and plans to release three CDs by the end of this year. He told THE STAR, "the first CD which hopefully will be released sometime in April will be a collection of my songs. People have been saying they can't get the parodies I do and want them so I'm releasing them on a CD." The CD will include songs such as Butter On Yuh Bread, Fireflies as well as the Taylor Swift parody.
The ZJ also plans to release a mix CD which will showcase his skills as a selector which is scheduled to be released early summer.
Outside of that, Bambino is also working on the debut album for Trever Off Key which will show a different side to the humorous artiste. He says, "people can expect something different, I'll be singing, deejaying, remixing older rhythms. There will also be songs I had produced before while in Miami that people here are unfamiliar with."
Hoping to release the album by summer, Bambino is currently shopping around for record labels to release it on.
A number of the songs on the album have been produced by himself, producers in Miami, Sno Cone, and hopefully Ballaz Productions and Stephen McGregor. It will also feature collaborations with Wayne Wonder, Spragga Benz and possibly his soca song with Alison Hinds - among others.
"I'm hoping the album will be a good thing. I performed at the YVAS (Youth View Awards) and got a good response, so hopefully, I can catch the ear of the young generation and from there to others," he said.
Also in the works for Bambino is the upcoming release of his rhythm Caribbean Girls which features artistes such as Beenie Man, Assassin, Busy Signal, Ce'Cile, Charly Blacks and of course Trever Off Key for a song called You. Describing the rhythm as "Jamaica meets overseas", the ZJ is optimistic about it saying, "it's a summer rhythm to kick of the summer and all radio-friendly songs."SPOT OF BOTHER ... Cesc Fabregas converts Arsenal's late penalty with a fractured fibula
Now the Gunners' Spanish skipper fears he will be out for the rest of the season and miss the World Cup finals.
Fab then bravely smashed home the spot-kick before collapsing in agony.
He said: "I am not good. We have to wait but I hope I will be able to wear the Arsenal shirt again this season.
"I fear the worst which is that I broke something. I took the penalty quite strong and after that I went to get the ball and then I couldn't walk any more.
"It is the fibula. I think I put my leg between Puyol's when I was fouled, and kicked it.
"I don't think it is going to be good news. For 85 minutes it was not a gamble to play. I knew in my mind I was not 100 per cent and I knew in my mind there was something there.
"But until the penalty I was feeling quiet good. It was a gamble worth taking, it was an amazing experience, an amazing game and I will remember it all my life."
An initial scan straight after the game proved inconclusive.
Barca battered Arsenal without scoring in the first half but after two goals From Zlatan Ibrahimovic, sub Theo Walcott pulled one back after come off the bench.
For the penalty, Fabregas was then fouled by Carles Puyol, who was sent off, before firing the ball into the net.
Fabregas insisted: "The team can definitely do it without me. Barcelona have lost big players like Puyol and Pique so I don't think it is the same without them.
"We will see but it will be tough and I think that we can make it. I think this is the best team I have faced in my life. Theo made such a difference, he created a lot of problems and I think he was the best player."
Michael Jackson'sgood friend and doctor is selling a truck MJ used to ride in to visit aliens and monsters.
Dr. Arnold Klein put his 2004 Chevrolet SSR up for sale on eBay, because he says he can't bare to ride in it since the singer's death.
Dr. Klein tells TMZ Jackson loved driving over to the "Willard" house in Hanc**k Park (pictured above). It's the house where the movie "Willard" was filmed -- it's kind of the monster version of MJ's song, "Ben."
Klein says Michael believed the house was populated by aliens and monsters.
So the Chevy is now on the eBay auction block ... the highest bid so far is $9,100. Klein says it's worth $31,000.
BTW, Time Magazine ranked the SSR as one of the 50 worst trucks of all time. Do we hear $300?
WASHINGTON Historically black colleges such as Florida A&M University will get an additional $61 million over the next decade under changes in student-loan policy that President Barack Obama signed into law Tuesday.
"We need to invest that money in our students," Obama told students at Northern Virginia Community College. "By cutting out the middle-man, we'll save American taxpayers $68 billion in the coming years."
About 60 percent of the 4.7 million minority undergraduates nationwide are attending historically black colleges, according to Melody Barnes, director of Obama's Domestic Policy Council.
The additional funding will allow those institutions will be able to reduce class size and otherwise improve their scholastic programs, she said.
"Over time, these colleges and universities have tended to do a lot more with a lot less," Barnes said. "These dollars will allow them to help shore up their programs."
The federal government has long subsidized loans for college students and provided repayment to private lenders when borrowers default. Under the new law, the federal government will process all the loans and distribute grants and other aid to students rather than subsidizing banks.
Republicans complained that under the program, the government will gouge students with loans. The government will keep interest rates the same on loans, despite being able to provide the loans less expensively than private lenders, and distribute the difference in grants and other aid.
"Nineteen million college students are going to be unhappy when they find out that this latest Washington takeover overcharges them on their student loans to help pay for the new health care law and other government programs," said Sen. Lamar Alexander of Tennessee, chairman of the Republican Conference. "Any savings should go to the students, not the government."
Republicans also raised concerns about job losses from driving private lenders out of the student-loan business. For example, about 600 jobs at a Sallie Mae loan processing center in Panama City were threatened by the legislation.
US says Census data will not be used to target undocumented immigrants
BY HAROLD G BAILEY Observer writer editorial@jamaicaobserver.com
Monday, March 29, 2010
NEW YORK, USA -- The US Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the Census Bureau have denied reports circulating here that data from the current Census exercise will be used to target undocumented immigrants, among them thousands of Jamaicans.
In the three weeks since the Census Bureau began the task of counting all residents here, fears have heightened among Jamaicans and other undocumented nationals that they could be deported if they participate in the exercise.
But in a carefully worded response to enquires from the Observer, DHS spokesman Matt Chandler said "the department has no plans to target undocumented immigrants indiscriminately through raids or sweeps".
He said the focus "is on smart, effective immigration enforcement policies that focus on those criminal aliens who present the greatest risk to the security of the United States".
Shelly Lowe, a Census Bureau spokeswoman, told the Observer that "all response to Census questions are confidential". She said the Bureau "cannot share Census information with any individual, other departments of government or law enforcement agencies".
Confirming this stance, the DHS's Chandler said: "All the information collected by the Census Bureau is protected by law."
And prominent Jamaica-born attorney Marlon Hill said "the law does provide protection and confidentiality in such disclosures".
Meanwhile, Hill, who heads the Jamaica Diaspora board for the Southern United States, has urged nationals here to "take part in the census", regardless of their immigration status, as "it will strengthen us as a force to be reckoned with".
He said that there should be no concern on the part of undocumented Jamaicans, arguing that a correct count was needed to help determine the allocation of resources for their communities.
Still, none of the undocumented Jamaican immigrants with whom the Observer spoke was impressed with these assurances, and spoke on condition that only their first or last name be used.
Ray, a New York resident who has been here for almost a decade and remains undocumented, said he will not participate in the census. "It is just too much of a risk," he told the Observer. Similar sentiments were expressed by Pauline, of New Jersey, and several others who refused to give even their first names.
Doctor Donna Chirico, the professor who heads the Psychology Department of York College's City University of New York in Queens, said the fear among undocumented immigrants was "real" and posed "a deep psychological effect on their minds".
Chirico said that given the reasons -- such as economic -- for many undocumented immigrants being here, it was understandable why they feared deportation, especially with the world recession still having a serious effect on many countries.
Refusal by undocumented immigrants to participate in the US census was also posing huge challenges for urban planners and lawmakers at the local, state and federal levels.
"Urban planners and planning agencies rely on the most accurate count for such developments as housing, health care and schools," said Dr Judith DeSeana, a professor of sociology at St Johns University in Queens.
Echoing similar sentiments, Congresswoman Yvette Clarke, who represents New York's 11th congressional District in Brooklyn -- home to a large number of Jamaican nationals -- has urged full participation by everyone.
She defended the Census Bureau, saying the agency "will uphold the law, and will not disclose any information gathered", even as she acknowledged the fear factor. With only 35 per cent of her district participating in the 2000 census, the congresswoman has turned to the Church to help ally these fears, in hopes of boosting participation this time around.
Supreme Ventures Limited (SVL) says that the winner of the huge $240-million jackpot has finally stepped forward and yesterday claimed his prize.
In a release sent to the media yesterday, SVL said that the long-awaited winner of the historic jackpot is S. Gayle, a 52-year-old farmer from Manchester.
He is said to have visited the lottery company's corporate office a little over a month after the draw.
locked it away safely
The release further said that Gayle found out that he was the winner when he listened to the live draw.
Immediately after the draw, Gayle is reported to have said to his friends he was "going home to have a bath and go to bed." When he got home, he signed the back of the winning ticket and locked it away safely.
Gayle, who is said to have been purchasing lotto since its inception in 1994, said he took such a long time to claim his prize because "I decided to take the time to relax and sort myself out."
Gayle plans to invest most of the money in real estate and farming, his first love.
He is Rohan Facey, 45, of 7th Street, Greenwich Town, Kingston.
The WEEKEND Star was told that about 1:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Facey went to the court office.
offered bail
Facey was to stand as a surety for his brother Andrew, who was offered $500,000 bail for breaches of the Firearms Act.
He presented his documents and upon inspection, it was observed that one of the documents was fictitious. The police were called and following investigations Facey was charged with uttering forged documents and conspiracy by Detective Corporal Kirk Roache.
Facey is scheduled to appear in the Spanish Town RM Court on Tuesday.
Bridgez - contributed
One of dancehall's newest songbird Bridgez, said that she will be looking to take full advantage of each lesson learned, as she continues her steady rise to music stardom.
This melodic singer/songwriter has been working behind the scenes for the past four years, while knocking heads with some of music's top producers namely, Sly and Robbie, Jack Scorpio and Jah Snowcone.
Bridgez is more popularly known for the songs Tun It Up, Take My Breath Away and So Fine, but there are a number of upcoming projects on her plate, which she hopes will bring her increased attention.
"What I'll bring is my own style. I'm not gonna follow anyone even though I have my role models. I want people to see that, yes, I have my own image but it comes with the whole package. Personality, wisdom and of coursetalent," she told THE WEEKEND STAR recently.
In recent times the sprightly singer, born Bridgette Roache, has been working even harder and a collaboration with dancehall warlord Bounty Killer has been one of the results of this hardwork.
The two recently knocked heads for the single Roll Out, which was recorded on the 'World End' rhythm, at Jah Snowcone Entertainment Inc.
Bounty Killer for his part has been determined to get Bridgez the recognition he thinks she deserves.
"When you have a new product you always have to introduce (it) to the public. So, that's a part of it (marketing and collaborating) and to make them familiar with the fraternity, and to get their image out there etc.," said Bounty Killer.
Bridgez becomes the latest of a string of artistes to come through the music industry under the guidance of Bounty Killer. As the likes of Mavado, Vybz Kartel and several others have all benefited from his tutelage.
While Bridgez admits that she's learning rapidly from one of the dancehall music established acts, she is very much confident that her individual talent will earn her various rewards.
"I am learning a lot. He's teaching me how to be more diplomatic, he has brought me on a couple of shows in the country, which is to get me warm up for bigger events.
"A lot of people are wondering what's next. I mean, you can't be in Alliance and not step up your game, and I don't feel pressured because I have a great team working with, plus I believe in my own talent," she said.
Bridgez is also featured on the medley Count On Me, which is a Haiti-relief song, featuring Lady G, Cherine Anderson, Singing Melody and Deneque.
She is also busy promoting the single Pray For You, which was recorded at Stone Age Productions, in Portmore, St Catherine.
Ce'Cile - Contributed
Dancehall diva Ce'Cile left the island on Tuesday for Europe where she is set to perform at three shows in France and one in Germany. Meantime, the dancehall 'badgyal' will also be promoting another single from her European album.
The fashion-forward singer is down to perform in Lyon on April 2, Toulouse on April 3, and in Marmande at the Festival Garorock on April 4. She will then hop over to Germany where she is to perform at Manheim. While on tourCe'Cile will be backed by the European-based Soul Fire band.
promote single
While in Germany she will also be promoting the new single Talk Talk from her BadGyal album. This will be the last single to be promoted from the album, as work has already begun on a new album that she intends to drop sometime this year.
The new album, she says, will be a bit different from her previous works. "The direction will change a bit on this new album," she said. "It will be more up-tempo dancehall, danceable beats with a minor mixture of reggae and hardcore dancehall rhythms."
After spending the past few weeks voicing singles for a variety of producers, including Don Corleon and RobertLivingston of Sickron Entertainment/Big Yard, Ce'Cile hinted that when she returns from her European tour she will be working to make an even bigger impact both here and in the United States.
work different
"I really need to come back and get back on my recordings and my public appearance in Jamaica," she said. "But we are also going to work a bit different this year. We want to concentrate on going a bit more international on the American side of things."
And as she had intimated earlier this year, the days of producing one album for Europe and another for the rest of the world are over. Her next album, the second of her three-album deal with Japanese label Avex, will be done for all markets. "I have been concentrating on Europe. The next album, we want it to be just one version for everywhere."
supremo wrote | what the f u c k is fb |
|
VJ CRAIG wrote | LINKIN PARK PLEASE |
|
RAY_KING wrote | or U CAN JOIN ma PAGE ON FB fe all the latest shyt |
|
VJ CRAIG wrote | now |
|
VJ CRAIG wrote | supremo yuh alrite |
|
RAY_KING wrote | supremo check the dancehall singles section u see all a dem |
|
badnick wrote | SUPREMO...LOOK INNA DI FORUM DEM YUTE |
|
supremo wrote | gi mi dem nuh |
|
RAY_KING wrote | I AINT NEVA SCRARED |
|
mr_charm wrote |
Two men who recently attracted the country's attention when it was revealed that one of them was accused of digging out the eyes of the other during a lovers' argument, have been evicted from their Red Hills Road, St Andrew apartment.
The men, who reportedly lived together before the incident and even after the accused man was granted bail, were recently kicked out by their landlord.
It is believed that the men's eviction is directly related to the incident and the subsequent investigations by thepolice.
A correspondence sent to residents of the apartment complex, explained that the landlord had evicted the men and was sorry for any disturbances they might have caused the neighbours. The circular also asked neighbours to be on the lookout for any suspicious persons hanging around the complex and revealed that the men are not to be allowed on the property.
The allegations are that on November 22 last year, the men got into a fight after the accused man challenged the complainant about where he had been. It is alleged that the complainant had gone to a party.
The court was told that the accused attacked the complainant, and dug out his eyes, rendering him blind. It was also alleged that the accused left the complainant alone in the house and he, in his state of blindness, had to crawl to the door to seek help.
Further allegations are that the accused turned himself into the Constant Spring Police Station and admitted that during a fight, he had dug out the complainant's eyes.
When the matter was taken before the court, the complainant revealed that he did not wish to pursue the matter and had no interest in pressing charges. Before the accused was granted bail, the complainant had also sent messages to the court begging for him to be released so he could come home to care for him.
On one court date, the accused also went as far as to tell the court that he was willing to give one of his own eyes to the complainant.
An angry mob cornered and chopped a man to death outside a church, while his companions, another man and a woman had to seek refuge inside the vestry in the remote district of Kentucky, Westmoreland, yesterday.
At press time, the Westmoreland police were still trying to ascertain the true circumstances under which the man was murdered, as the residents claimed the three had gone into the community and robbed a shopkeeper. Police say their investigations have suggested otherwise.
The dead man was not identified up to late last night and police confirmed that his friends were being treated at hospital. They are to be interviewed by the Savanna-la-Mar and Bluefields police.
Residents told The Star that a Nissan car with two men and a woman entered the community yesterday and carried out a robbery. An alarm was raised and residents came running to the victim's assistance.
"From last week man a come in a di area robbing people. We decide fi kill somebody this time," an irate resident told The Star, showing no sign of remorse for the bizarre murder. The resident recalled how skilful the driver was in his bid to escape from the community. "Mi say di man reverse faster and better than how mi would drive to Savanna-la-Mar."
He said when residents descended on the strangers, they ran inside the Kentucky Anglican Church. "We did want kill all three a dem and the pastor realise it, so them quickly lock dem up in di church," he said.
smashed windows
The mob smashed some of the church windows, but the Bluefileds police arrived to rescue the woman and the man before the mob got them.
But late yesterday, senior officers dismissed the residents story, charging it was a clear case of murder. The police said the driver of the car had been operating an illegal Cash Pot business with persons in the community.
"He was owed money and when the debtor refused to pay, he took a component set and said he would return it whenever he is paid. The shopkeeper raised an alarm that robbers were in the area and residents attacked them. The man who was killed decided not to run, saying he had done nothing wrong," a senior officer told The Star.
BERLIN, Germany (AFP) A German Roman Catholic diocese said Monday that 20 of its current and former priests had been accused "in recent weeks" of sexual abuse as a scandal embroiling the Church widened.
The Trier bishopric in the west of the country said the "shocking" allegations involved crimes committed from the 1950s to 1990.
"For my part, I would like to encourage those victims who have not yet found the courage to come forward to do so," Bishop Stephan Ackermann told reporters, saying he was "stunned" by the cases that had come to light.
Ackermann said two people had already reported their cases to authorities while the Church had passed on information on an additional three to prosecutors.
Ten of the accused priests have since died, another two have retired.
Ackermann said the diocese was still conferring on how to handle three cases that fell under the criminal statute of limitations.
He said that beyond the new cases that had surfaced, three priests had been convicted of abuse in the 1990s.
Meanwhile the prosecutor's office in the central city of Fulda confirmed sexual abuse charges had been filed against a former priest who had worked in nearby Erfurt.
It said the man had been previously charged with paedophilia but declined to provide further details.
Germany's Catholic Church has been thrown into crisis in recent weeks as dozens of people have come forward alleging they were abused as minors by priests. Most cases date back several years.
Similar scandals have also erupted in the Netherlands, Austria and Switzerland, while Ireland has been rocked by revelations about cover-up efforts by the head of the Church there in the 1970s.
The Vatican has said it received 3,000 reports between 2001 and 2010 of sexual abuse of children by Catholic clergy committed over the past 50 years
Jamaicans facing more visa restrictions
Baugh cites bad behaviour as main factor
BY ALICIA DUNKLEY Observer staff reporter dunkleya@jamaicaobserver.com
Thursday, April 01, 2010
COUNTRIES in Latin America have joined the list of states that have imposed visa restrictions on Jamaicans because of the bad behaviour of some of the country's nationals.
In the past decade countries such as the Cayman Islands, Britain, and Costa Rica have imposed visa restrictions for Jamaicans, citing the number of crimes committed by Jamaican nationals and drug trafficking as the underlying factors.
Appearing yesterday before the Standing Finance Committee of Parliament, which is examining the 2010/2011 Estimates of Expenditure, Foreign Affairs Minister Dr Kenneth Baugh said Latin American countries have been following suit.
"Jamaica in particular is having a difficult time even in Latin American countries because visa provisions are being applied to us where it never existed before because of the way we behave in those countries," the foreign affairs minister said.
Dr Baugh was responding to questions posed by Opposition spokesperson on foreign affairs, Anthony Hylton, about the imposition which he described as "unfair immigration rules" in the context of the country's trading arrangements with Europe and within the Caribbean Community.
Hylton lamented that cultural groups, musicians and others were finding free movement difficult despite the presence of mutual agreements.
"It's a very difficult issue even though we signed the EPA (Economic Partnership Agreement) and other free-trade arrangements," Baugh admitted.
"The question of the movement of people and having access to territories in Europe, there is no question they will apply their own rules. We certainly will negotiate and deal with each issue as it arises because these are individual countries we are dealing with," he added.
Jamaicans, though, will have to behave better, Baugh noted.
"We have to appeal to our Jamaicans who go abroad to do business, our artistes who perform in these countries and our young people who end up living and working in many of these countries.
"Sometimes we defeat ourselves. We create our own stumbling blocks because of our behaviour.
"We have to make a special appeal to Jamaicans that the way we conduct ourselves when we go to other countries when we get opportunities is creating difficulties for others," he continued.
In response to queries from Opposition Member of Parliament for Western Hanover Ian Hayles as to whether there was a similar problem with the United States Government in terms of visa renewals and new visa applications, Baugh said the situation was normal.
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Jamaican-visas-being-affected_7517631
Sleepless nights have now ended for Nadine Hamilton as she is once again reunited with her heartbeat, Ashley - the Shih Tzu poodle which was reportedly stolen from Hamilton's Calabar Mews, St Andrew, apartment last week. The woman had immediate put up a $100,000 reward for the canine's safe return right after it went missing.
Sometime after 1 p.m. yesterday, Hamilton said a group of good samaritans from the volatile Waterhouse community in St Andrew, returned the dog.
"I got her back!" Hamilton said, bubbling with happiness and life as she spoke with THE STAR yesterday. "The guys handed her to me about a hour and a half ago."
a 'coke head' sold the dog
Hamilton explained that the group of three from the Kingston 11 community did not even ask for the $100,000, settling for an amount which was drastically smaller - $13,000. They also declined to have any photos taken of them.
"The guys told me that they saw the dog a few days before the story came out in the paper. So, after the story came out, they went back to the guy they saw with the dog asking about it but that guy, who they say is a coke head, sold the dog for $13,000," Hamilton said.
She said the guys then called and updated her on the situation, promising they would help in retrieving her dog as they had read the article in THE STAR.
Hamilton continued that the guys searched and found out who had bought Ashley from the 'coke head' and told that man that his new pet was stolen and sold to him.
"So that man said that he paid $13,000 for the dog and he would not be giving up the dog unless he got back the money," Hamilton said. The woman said she told the group of men that she would have no problem reimbursing the $13,000 if they brought Ashley to her. So said so done. In the words of the blissful pet lover, "Ashley is back in good condition."
"She is at the veterinarian being checked right now ... I want to thank all the people who called and showed their sympathy and especially to these youths from the garrison who got her back to me, big up to them. There are good people in the garrisons," Hamilton said. "A very big thank you to Inspector Glenford Miller, Detective Corporal Morgan and Constable Prendergast from the St Andrew North police, love you all. Also, a special thank you to Jamaica National for securing the money for me that one time when I was almost scammed."
Hamilton also noted that today marked the final day of nine days of fasting she had gone on for the return of her pet. "God still works miracles," she noted.