Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

Man sues, claims he fell after stepping in feces

NORFOLK, Va. A Poquoson man who said he fell after stepping in dog feces at a PetSmart store has filed a $1 million negligence lawsuit against the company. Robert Holloway alleges in his lawsuit in U.S. District Court that he badly injured his back, struck his head and knocked out four teeth when he slipped in January 2009 at a Newport News PetSmart. He alleges that PetSmart and its manager should have protected him from a hazardous condition created when they allowed animals to defecate on the floor.

In court documents, Phoenix-based PetSmart denied the negligence allegations.

Ohio woman gives birth to twins a week apart

CLEVELAND An Ohio couple can look forward to an annual birthday season, because their new twins were born a week apart. Jennifer Renz of North Canton went into labor while at her doctor's office on March 22. She wasn't due for another 12 weeks but gave birth at a Cleveland hospital to a 1-pound, 13-ounce girl, named Grace.

Doctors said at that point things kind of stopped, with the other baby, a boy, still in the womb. They decided not to induce labor but allow the second child more time to grow inside his mother.

Little Noah didn't arrive for another seven days, weighing in at 2 pounds, 15 ounces. Both infants are now in a neonatal intensive care unit.

Their father, Dennis Renz, said he and his wife plan to celebrate the birthdays separately.weirdweird

Deejay Flippa Mafia is currently being held in the Federal Detention Centre (FDC) in Miami as a material witness in an illegal alien smuggling case.

The deejay is alleged to have attempted to enter the United States on a boat from The Bahamas with the assistance of two men.

Flippa, whose real name is Andrew Kendrick Davis, is now being held as a prosecution witness against the men, Julio Santiesteban and Armando Amat, who are charged with encouraging and inducing an alien to enter or reside in the United States.

The artiste was arrested on March 16 and is scheduled to appear before the Duty Magistrate of the United States District Court of the Southern District of Florida tomorrow.

A summary document of the case against Davis and two other men was included in an affidavit sworn by Matthew Parker, a special agent with the Department of Homeland Security, United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE).

According to Special Agent Parker in the affidavit, during questioning; "Davis, a Jamaican national stated that he left the United States for Jamaica in December of 2009. Davis said that he knew he had no current legal immigration status in the US and that he knew he would not be able to lawfully re-enter the United States."

It further stated that, "on March 5, 2010, Davis flew from Jamaica to The Bahamas in order to see some friends and find a way to be smuggled into the United States."

While in The Bahamas, Davis allegedly met with a friend who agreed to smuggle him into the US. The friend then introduced Davis to two Cubans, Santiesteban and Amat, who had arrived to pick up a load of Chinese people that never arrived. Davis reportedly paid US $3000 (J$270,000) for passage to the United States.

The money was reportedly accepted and on March 15 an attempt was allegedly being made to transport Davis to United States on the boat. The United States Coast Guard intercepted the vessel, however, and conducted a search.

Upon boarding the vessel, Parker said that the Coast Guard found Santiesteban and Amat, and during a search later found one unaccounted person (Davis) laying down in the cabin of the vessel. The men were taken in for questioning.

Court: Woman's phone annoying, but not contempt

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. A Florida appeal court has overturned a ruling in which a woman was held in contempt and her cell phone ordered destroyed after it rang in a courtroom. The Fifth District Court of Appeal in Daytona Beach concluded that, while annoying, 28-year-old Michelle McRoy's actions did not meet the necessary legal standards for contempt.

McRoy was in an Orange County Circuit courtroom when her phone began to ring loudly. McRoy admitted she hadn't checked to see that it was turned off after her sister used it outside the courtroom.

McRoy said the judge stopped proceedings and tossed her phone into a garbage can.

The appeal court ruling found McRoy did not embar**** the judge or obstruct justice.

McRoy said she hopes to get the phone back.

Ore. suspects returning for car make arrest easy

MEDFORD, Ore. The people who witnessed a robbery attempt at an Oregon convenience store didn't need to describe the muggers. They just needed to point. The two men accused of trying to rob someone at knifepoint were arrested when they returned to get their car while officers were interviewing witnesses.

Medford police Lt. Bob Hansen says a man leaving the store late Tuesday was accosted by two men. One brandished a knife and demanded money. The would-be robbers fled when the man ran back into the store and called police.

Hansen says officers were interviewing witnesses in the parking lot when the suspects showed up. Though the men were wearing different clothes, witnesses identified them as the robbers.

The men, 19 and 20 years old, were jailed on charges of attempted first-degree robbery.

Welcome to the newest installment of Weekly Weird News! This week we have angry sex nurses, Monopoly drug busts and church pornography! Its a debauchery triple threat!

Man Pays for Drugs with Monopoly Money

A Kansas man attempted to purchase drugs with Monopoly money. Drug dealers, however, generally have no sense of humor and the man was beaten for his little joke. At the very least, this guy proved once and for all that everyone hates Monopoly.

man pays for  drugs with monopoly money

from UPI.com

Chili Finger Lady Banned from Wendys

Anna Ayala, the woman who tried to scam the Wendys restaurant chain by putting a severed finger in her chili, has been released from prison and was promptly banned from eating at Wendys. She seems kind of sad about it, but then again if she didnt want to be banned then she probably shouldnt have put a severed finger in her damn chili.

chili finger  lady banned from wendys

from MercuryNew.com

Sushi Chef Serves Whale, Gets Arrested

California sushi chef Kiyoshiro Yamamoto was arrested after a sting operation uncovered he was serving endangered whale. Protip for would be sushi chefs and criminals alike: if youre doing something you know to be illegal and someone asks you to do it for them after assuring you they arent FBI agents, theres a pretty good chance youre going to wake up the next morning in a federal prison.

rare white whale

from Reuters

Dutch Nurses: Sex Isnt Part of the Job

A union for nurses in Amsterdam would like you to know that sex isnt part of basic health care. This implies two things: people tend to hurt themselves while theyre stoned, and that the adult film industry has a very poor grasp of what a nurses job entails.

dutch nurses

from MSNBC.com

Internet Nominated for Nobel Peace Prize

The Internet has been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize. Yeah, I know, part of me died, too.

internet  nominated for nobel peace prize

from AOL News

Man Marries Pillow

A Korean man has taken the plunge by marrying his pillow. But dont worry, its not creepy. You see, the pillow has a picture of an anime girl on it, so in all actuality hes really vowing to spend the rest of his life with a cartoon image printed on the pillow. Im glad I could clear that up for you.

man marries pillow

from Metro.co.uk

Purple Snow Hits Southern Russia

Purple snow strikes southern Russia. Its sort of like a Jimi Hendrix song if his music was a terrifying reality and he wasnt a corpse.

purple snow

from rt.com

Man Breaks into Church to Watch Porn

An Iowa man breaks into a church so he can use its equipment to watch porn. I hope it gave him the best orgasm of his life because it Im pretty sure masturbating in church is one of the things God still smites people for.

man breaks into  church to watch porn

Medina, Saudi Arabia (AHN) -- A wife in Lebanon is pleading with government officials in Saudi Arabia not to execute her husband on sorcery charges.

Satellite TV fortune teller Ali Hussain Sibat, a Lebanese national, was arrested by Saudi Arabia's religious police while he was visiting the country on an Islamic pilgrimage to Mecca in May 2008.

The sorcery charges stem from broadcasts of a satellite TV show Sibat hosted in which he offered callers advice and predicted their futures.

Although there are anti witchcraft laws on the books in Lebanon, it is a misdemeanor there. There is no legal definition of sorcery in Saudi Arabia, but Sharia law frowns on horoscopes and fortune telling.

Sibat was tried and convicted in November but appealed. The original court in Medina reportedly upheld its verdict in March. Sibat had reportedly confessed to the charges, but said he had done so because he had been told that he would be sent back home to Lebanon if he did.

Sibat's wife is concerned because executions in Saudi Arabia are often swiftly carried out with little, or no, notice.

Samira Rahmoon has gone on television to beg for her husband's life. Rahmoon reportedly said that she has received unofficial word that her husband is scheduled to be executed by beheading on Friday.

Lebanon's justice minister has also appealed to Saudi Arabia's rulers to halt the execution.

Various groups have also called for Sibat's release, including Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch.

Denver, CO, United States (AHN) -- A customer at a Colorado casino won a $42 million jackpot, however managers at the casino offered her a free breakfast and $23 in lieu of the millions. The reasoning besides the alternate prize: they say the slot machine malfunctioned and that its top payout is only $250,000.

Louise Chavez feels that Fortune Valley Casino is cheating her out her winnings. Chavez, who is a home assistant and earns $12,000 a year, said state authorities are investigating the matter.

The Colorado Division of Gaming is conducting forensic testing on the machine in question to determine what award, if any, she is entitled to.

Authorities have told the woman the she probably won some kind of prize on the machine but she won't receive anything close to $42 million.

Chavez is currently waiting to hear whether the casino offers her a settlement.

7sagc2px5x.jpg

Sale, England, United Kingdom (AHN) -- Instead of babysitting her newborn great-grandson, a 66-year-old British woman will be the one monitored - by authorities.

Joan Higgins, owner of Majors Pet Shop in Sale, England, was fined $1,506 and ordered to wear a tracking device on her ankle as punishment for selling a goldfish to a 14-year-old, according to reports.

Higgins also has a seven-week curfew. She will have to be inside her home from 7 p.m. until 7 a.m. every evening until June, reports stated.

A 2006 law forbids selling live fish to anyone under the age of 16.

Higgins' son, Mark, 47, was ordered to pay $1,300 as well, and given 120 hours of community service.

The teenager was sent into the store as part of an undercover operation, according to reports.weirdweird

Malmo, Sweden (AHN) -- An inmate in a Swedish prison received an official warning from the warden for expressing himself through flatulence.

Anders Ericksson, warden of Kirseberg prison in Malmo, said numerous guards lodged complaints against the 21-year-old prisoner, accusing him of a series of fart attacks, according to reports.

Ericksson said in all his years of working within the justice system he has never seen anyone get punished for this type of behavior.

According to prison authorities, the prisoner said he had an upset stomach but did not want to offend anyone around him while he was playing cards. Instead, he walked over to the guards to pass gas.

The prisoner was given a warning and could face harsher punishment if his behavior continues.

O . . . M . . . GEEE!!! THEY REALLY ARE LETTING ANYTHING POP OFF AT CLUBS NOWADAYS . . . LOOK AT WHAT THESE TWO HOODRATS ARE DOING IN FRONT OF EVERYONE!!! (WARNING - PARENTAL DISCRETION)

1270213833eating_club.jpg

1270213777eating_clubnsfw.jpg

1270213778eating_clubnsfw1.jpg

Drake

The most-buzzed-about unsigned artist in the industry, Drake, has officially signed to Young Money Entertainment.

After a bidding war that included Universal Motown and Atlantic Records, the Canadian rapper-singer has made his home at the label founded by Lil Wayne.

The debut album from the Best I Ever Had hitmaker will be released on Young Money with distribution through Universal Republic, home to Amy Winehouse, Chamillionaire, and India.Arie.

Drakes debut album, Thank Me Later, is scheduled for a late 2009 release

Web gets April Fools' makeover of goofy hoaxes

This screen grab shows the Google.com home page on Thursday, April  1, 2010. For at least one day, Topeka is one of the most popular Web  sites in the w AP  This screen grab shows the Google.com home page on Thursday, April 1, 2010. For at least one day, Topeka 

NEW YORK The Internet got an April Fools' Day makeover, as many of the major destinations on the Web continued the annual tradition of lighthearted hoaxes.

The prank Web sites were rolled out Thursday in a collective effort to amuse, not confuse. In a way, it's the Internet's biggest holiday.

YouTube offered the curious option of watching videos in text essentially a stream of code instead of images.

The comedy video site FunnyOrDie.com was revamped as Bieber or Die, its home page riddled with the teenybopper star Justin Bieber. Last April Fools' Day, the site was "bought" by country star Reba McEntire.

Bieber was in the joke: In a video, he claimed he purchased the site and now "anything that's not Bieber dies." He also spoofs a number of famous viral videos, including "Dramatic Bieber" and "Bieber After the Dentist."

Google renamed itself Topeka, an ironic one-upmanship with the Kansas city, which renamed itself "Google, Kan." in March to help lure the company's experimental fiber-optic network.

Google is one of the most energetic April Fools' Day celebrators; last year it claimed to have invented a new technology to "index your brain." Pranks were rolled out across its myriad services, including a "vowel outage" on Gmail and a version of Google Translate for animals.

The site for Ben & Jerry's offered an even more enticing fantasy: virtual ice-cream. Starbucks poked fun at itself by unveiling new "micra" and "plenta" sizes, one absurdly small, the other as big as a bucket.

A number of sites took advantage of the recent explosion of 3-D by launching their products in another dimension. Google Maps and Google Books both unveiled 3-D versions, as did the video site Hulu.com. It added a 3-D viewing option that, when clicked, led to a mock Hulu "orientation" video.

Some news organizations, which on April 1 often have to fend off fake news, embraced the day's mockery, too. British media have stuck to the tradition for years.

One highlight: The London newspaper the Daily Telegraph reported that ferrets were the key to delivering broadband to rural areas.

Residents recently chased away a 19-year-old funeral home worker from a St Andrew community after he was allegedly caught fondling a dead woman.

The bizarre information reaching THE WEEKEND STAR is that some two weeks ago the young man was caught caressing the cold body and rubbing on the dead woman's private parts.

A police source said they have heard of the incident and are trying to verify the rather unbelievable story.

"We heard some story like that recently..We wouldn't have a formal report but it would be nice to get facts because it sounds real weird," Corporal Douglas Wright of the Area 5 police told THE WEEKEND STAR.

Attempts were made to speak with the owner of the funeral home but he is said to be off the island.

However, when the office was contacted, someone who answered the telephone laughed when asked about the incident and said, "Yu haffi talk to di boss bout dat."

Residents, however, are adamant that the case occurred and even went on to claim that such an action was not unbecoming of the character who they describe as 'freaky'.

quick errand

"A di same people dem weh him work wid come tell wi. Di same yute dem weh him par wid a work come mek wi know wat a gwaan," Kevin Saunders, a 25-year-old resident said.

Another resident, Paul Howell, said, "It sound a way eno but trust mi wi know di people dem naw tell no lie pon him ... Is a yute weh move different still eno. More time him do some tings weh nuh normal man naw do."

According to them, the accused man's co-workers visited the community and told them that he was no longer employed to the funeral home after the alleged act.

Residents said they heard that the man was one of two employees who were left to put clothes on a dead woman who was to be buried just a few days later.

One of the men is said to have told the other he was going to run a quick errand and left but returned quicker than expected and walked in on his co-worker who was said to be standing over the deceased woman with one hand rubbing parts of her body and the other hand in his pants.

"Di yute tell everybody a di workplace and dem run him and then tell we wah gwaan so we run him to," Howell said before adding, "Is a yute weh dem ketch a masturbate under one tree and deh pon him phone wid one girl aready eno, so wi know a nuh lie dem a tell pon him. Plus him not even seh a lie, when wi tell him seh him affi leave di place him jus pack up him things and lef di next morning."

Authorities in Florida have released surveillance footage of a man attacking a store clerk with a Taser. Police say the woman who works at a money transfer store was beaten, bruised, robbed and then Tased.

A 12-year-old boy accused of shooting his father's pregnant fiancée in her sleep will be tried as an adult -- but the prosecution would be open to the idea of moving him to juvenile court if the child changes his story. Jordan Brown was 11 when state police said he used a youth shotgun to shoot 26-year-old Kenzie Houk in her bed in the family's Wampum home in February 2009. He is charged with first-degree homicide.

Death at Arsenal

April 2, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma5 Comments

Emirates_802350a_1017102a.jpg

Death scene ... Emirates Stadium

A CAMERAMAN has died after a fall at Arsenal's Champions League thriller against Barcelona.

The 45-year-old, filming for ITV, hit his head while packing away just minutes after the quarter-final at the Emirates Stadium.

A post mortem has been carried out, but last night the cause of death was still unclear.

The Health and Safety Executive and the Met Police are investigating, but a Scotland Yard source said there were no suspicious circumstances. The man's name has not been released.

Club bosses are sending commiserations to his family and will print a tribute in tomorrow's matchday programme.

Police and ambulance crews were alerted to the tragedy at around 10pm on Wednesday night. The cameraman was rushed to hospital but pronounced dead.

A London Ambulance spokeswoman confirmed: "We were called to reports of a cardiac arrest. Extensive efforts were made to resuscitate the patient."

TOMORROW'S big game between Manchester Utd and Chelsea will be shown by Sky Sports in 3D at more than 1,000 pubs.

NUH UHHHHHHHH!!! YOU KNOW YOU'RE IN THE HOOD WHEN YOU SEE A SIGN LIKE THIS!!!

1270215393hood_sign.jpg

TRY TO DECIPHER THE GARRISON LANGUAGE

February 10, 2010
Started By Gamepun22 Comments

ANDREW: MMMMM, BLESS UP MI DON, HOW DA THING DEH GUH

MARK:MMMMM, YEAH MAN PROPA THING,

U KNOW SEH MI GUH CHECK DAT THING DEH AND.....AFTER MI DEH A DI YARD........MI GUH SO BUNG BANG AND THING SHE A SAY RRRRR, SO ME A SAY EEEEH, DAT YAH SEH, SO A OUT DEH ME SAY, YU ZIMMI

AND SHE A GWAAN LOCK IT OFF AND THING AND THING AND THING, U ZIMMI

MI NOT EVEN SAY NUTTIN...............MMMMMMMMMMMMMM

LOL.............THIS WORST THAN MORSE CODE INNA MILITARY LANGUAGE LOL

O . .. M . . . G!!! MAN CLIMBS THROUGH MCDONALD'S DRIVE THROUGH WINDOW . . . AND STRANGLES EMPLOYEE!!! (PICS OF DUDE WITH HIS HANDS AROUND THE MICKEY D EMPLOYEE'S THROAT)

1270125386strangle_employee.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com just received an interesting piece of news. A New Jersey man is wanted for assault and robbery.

Heres what happened. The man, photo'd above (yeah, we SNITCHIN today) ordered a Filet-O-Fish sandwich through a drive through McDonald's in New Jersey. But MediaTakeOut.com learned that the man was UNHAPPY with the wait time, so after paying for the sandwich, he exchanged words with the Drive-Through attendant.

Well the attendant started talking REAL RECKLESS over the intercom - and things went LEFT. Cause dude got out of his car, climbed through the window and proceeded to CHOKE, PUSH, and YELL at the employee.

After it was clear that the employee wasn't willing too fight, the angry customer slapped the employee in the face and walked out of the store with his Filet-O-Fish in hand.
1270125387strangle_employee1.jpg
snf02spda-280_1017029a.jpg

Revealing all in new book ... Hulk Hogan

WRESTLING legend Hulk Hogan was moments away from suicide as his life spiralled out of control.

The depressed star, with only rum and anti-depressants for company, put a gun in his mouth and came "pretty damn close" to pulling the trigger.

Only a phone call out of the blue from the daughter of boxing legend Muhammad Ali snapped him out of it and inspired him to take a long hard look at himself and his life.

Hulk was once the man who had everything - a glittering grappling and TV career, gorgeous blonde wife and two kids who worshipped him.

Hulk Hogan and family
When he had it all ... Hulk Hogan with
wife Linda, daughter Brooke and son Nick

But in his new book, My Life Outside The Ring, the 56-year-old reveals how his world was turned upside down.

Wife Linda, 50, divorced him after 23 years of marriage - eventually winning a multi-million-pound settlement.

Daughter Brooke, now 21, was refusing to speak to him, believing her mum's claims that he had cheated throughout the marriage.

And worst of all son Nick, 19, was facing jail after leaving his best friend in a vegetative state in a car crash, for which some blamed Hulk's parenting.

Since January, WWE Hall Of Fame star Hogan has been back in the ring with rival wrestling firm TNA, appearing every Saturday night in the UK on Bravo.

He has found new love with stunning Jennifer McDaniel, 34, Nick is free and he has Brooke back cheering him on.

But he says if it wasn't for that phone call from his then American Gladiators TV co-star Laila Ali, his millions of Hulkamaniacs fans would have lost their hero.

In the book, Hulk - real name Terry Bollea - remembers back to December 2007 and writes: "I'd been staring at myself in the bathroom mirror for two days straight. Two days.

"A gun was in my hand, my finger was on the trigger and I was thinking, 'It would be so easy'.

Laila Ali
Ali pally ... Muhammad's daughter Laila

"I just sat there, popping half a Xanax at a time - not the little pills, but those big horse-pill Xanax - and washing them down with the Captain Morgan rum I'd set on the counter.

"The house was empty. Too quiet. I don't do well alone. My kids were gone. My wife was gone. She had left before, but this was different. She didn't want to fix things. She'd filed for divorce.

"My mind kept running through it over and over. My daughter thinks I'm the reason Linda left. She won't talk to me.

"My thoughts drifted to my son, Nick. Nearly fourth months had passed since he got into that terrible car accident. Every day since the details of that August night played over and over in my mind.

"It's not often that a man can pinpoint the moment when life as he knew it began to unravel. For me, it was just after 7.30pm on the night of August 26, 2007."

On that day Nick and best pal John Graziano - who Hogan describes as "like a member of my family" - went driving in Hulk's yellow Supra car.

Hulk Hogan
*lo**ied ... star is tended to in the ring by TNA protégé Abyss

The vehicle spun and hit a tree backwards, leaving Nick with minor injuries, but John with a cracked skull and needing medical care for the rest of his life.

Nick was later indicted on four criminal charges and sentenced to eight months' jail, of which he served five.

In his book - released yesterday - Hogan says he sat there remembering the details of the crash, then: "I pressed the gun to my cheek. I tried not to look in the mirror.

"In between flashbacks I kept obsessing about Linda. How could she leave in the middle of all this. How could she? I even turned the pity on myself. I'm a mess. I'm in so much pain. My hip. My knees.

"I don't even know if I can wrestle any more. What the hell am I gonna do? My back hurts so bad I have to sit just to brush my teeth. In this damned chair. Right here. Look at me.

"I could feel the life draining out of me. I could feel myself bleeding. That's what it felt like, bleeding. Not from a cut on my body, but a wound somewhere deeper.

Hulk Hogan
Hulking up ... Hogan gets ready for a big match

"It had me curling my index finger on the trigger of a loaded handgun and putting it in my mouth.

"I hit bottom and I stayed there for two straight days.

"That voice in my head would not stop, 'Maybe I should do it. Only cowards commit suicide. My family would be better off without me. What about the kids. I'm gonna do this. Just pull the trigger. Why not end it. Just do it Hogan. Do it'."

Hulk - a 12-time world heavyweight champion in wrestling and star of hit reality show Hogan Knows Best - continues: "I kept my finger pressed right to that trigger the whole time.

"Just three pounds of pressure is all it would take - nothing for these big hands of mine.

"I remember how it tasted when I put the barrel in my mouth, the sound it made when the metal clicked against my teeth.

"It was real weird behaviour, like I was psyching myself up to do the deed.

"I was so depressed I just kept thinking, 'This would be so easy'.

Hulk Hogan and simon
Meeting the legend ... The Sun's Simon Rothstein with Hall Of Famer

"Add to that the haze of the pills and the booze and it's some sort of miracle that the gun just didn't go off.

"Heck, the tips of my fingers are still numb from a wrestling accident in the 1990s, which means I probably could have pulled that trigger without even knowing I'd done it. Boom! The end.

"Then my phone rang. I didn't recognise the number. It was Laila Ali. This girl I barely knew picked up on the Gladiators set that I was having a real hard time.

"Days had gone by and she was still thinking about it.

"I'd met her dad a bunch of times - he was guest referee at the first WrestleMania - and here his daughter is calling me up to see how I'm doing.

"For some reason that phone call snapped me out it.

"I've never told her this, and she might not even understand the depth of the impact she had on me, but Laila Ali saved my life."

Extracted from Hulk Hogan - My Life Outside The Ring, Hodder & Stoughton, Ł16.99.

100402-sign-hmed-230p.hmedium.jpg

Cassell told the Orlando Sentinel on Thursday he wasn't questioning patients or refusing care, because that would be unethical. "But if they read the sign and turn the other way, so be it," he said.

Cassell, 56, also provides Republican reading material in the waiting room probably not a risky move, given that Mount Dora's 10,000 residents and the surrounding area lean heavily conservative. Above a stack of GOP health care literature, a sign reads: "This is what the morons in Washington have done to your health care. Take one, read it and vote out anyone who voted for it."

A spokeswoman from the Florida Department of Health, which licenses physicians and investigates complaints, said Friday there was no law prohibiting Cassell from advertising himself this way. "Because there is no statute, there would be no grounds for a complaint," spokeswoman Eulinda Smith said. "It would be legally deficient,"

A University of Florida professor said Cassell is walking a thin line between free speech and professional obligation. William Allen, a specialist in bioethics, law and medical professionalism, said civil rights protections can prevent patient discrimination. But the law only provides for race, gender, religion, sexual orientation and disability not political opinion.

Allen said Cassell may be within his rights if he doesn't quiz patients about their politics and hasn't refused to see anyone.

Cassell has been practicing in the area since 1988. His wife, Leslie Campione, is a lawyer and GOP candidate for the county commission. Cassell says most patients have been extremely supportive, though three had complained.

stopthepresses_blog_header.jpg

Ricky Martin: 'I Am a Fortunate Homosexual Man'

NEW YORK, N.Y. -- After years of keeping quiet about his personal life, pop star Ricky Martin has announced that he is gay.

"I am proud to say that I am a fortunate homosexual man," Ricky said in a message posted on his offical Web site. "I am very blessed to be who I am."

Ricky said writing his memoir and thinking about his two twin sons led him to go public.

stopthepresses-253130894-1269899115_thumb.jpg?ymsNr5CDKJtd8E_D"To keep living as I did up until today would be to indirectly diminish the glow that my kids where [sic] born with. Enough is enough. This has to change. This was not supposed to happen 5 or 10 years ago, it is supposed to happen now. Today is my day, this is my time, and this is my moment," he wrote.

Though the 38-year-old kept his sexuality private throughout most of his career, Ricky said he drew strength from that time.

"These years in silence and reflection made me stronger and reminded me that acceptance has to come from within and that this kind of truth gives me the power to conquer emotions I didn't even know existed," he continued. "What will happen from now on? It doesn't matter. I can only focus on what's happening to me in this moment. The word "happiness" takes on a new meaning for me as of today. It has been a very intense process. Every word that I write in this letter is born out of love, acceptance, detachment and real contentment. Writing this is a solid step towards my inner peace and vital part of my evolution."

Earlier this month, Barbara Walters told The Toronto Star that her 2000 interview with the "Livin' La Vida Loca" singer, where she grilled him about coming out, was a misstep on her part.

stopthepresses-287149940-1269899116_thumb.jpg?ymsNr5CDbuy8OmUm"In 2000, I pushed Ricky Martin very hard to admit if he was gay or not, and the way he refused to do it made everyone decide that he was," she told The Toronto Star. "A lot of people say that destroyed his career, and when I think back on it now, I feel it was an inappropriate question."

Ricky also Tweeted a link to his coming out announcement on his Web site, simply writing, "my life."

WTF????? WILL SMITH'S SON JADEN IS CRAAAAZY FLEXIBLE!!!

1270213746jaden_jackie.jpg

BountyKilla.jpgmavado.jpg
(l - r) Bounty Killer, Mavado

The visas of five of Jamaica's top entertainers have been revoked, THE WEEKEND STAR understands. According to information coming from the Fraud Prevention Arm of the United States Embassy in Kingston, the visas of Bounty Killer, Mavado, Beenie Man, Adonia and selector Ricky Trooper are in the process of being cancelled.

When contacted for confirmation last night, Minister of National Security, Senator Dwight Nelson, relayed through his communications department that "he has no such information."

However, a document obtained by THE WEEKEND STAR stated that: "The Embassy of the United States in Kingston, Jamaica, is in the process of revoking the visas of the following citizens of Jamaica. The people mentioned here currently hold a US visa that we have not yet been able to physically cancel. Do not allow these passengers to board any flights bound for the United States in reliance on this visa."

revoked

The document then names Moses Anthony Davis (Beenie Man) two visas; Garfield Augustus McKoy (Ricky Trooper), two visas; Sheldon Ricardo Aitana Lawrence, (Aidonia); David Brooks (Mavado), two visas; and Rodney Basil Price (Bounty Killer) two visas, as those persons whose visas are in the process of being revoked.

BeenieManA20081003.jpgAidoniaD20063108c.jpg
(l - r ) Beenie Man, Aidonia

The document also lists the date of birth of each person, their respective passport numbers and visa control numbers.

When contacted by THE WEEKEND STAR, representatives of at least two of the persons on the list said that they were unaware of the new development.

These cancellations follow that of businessman Wayne Chen who recently found out his visa had been cancelled while he was about to board a flight to the United States of America.

It is evident that Jamaica's dancehall artiste Mavado's career has been facing a chain of mix-reactions ("good & bad"). But this time around it's 100% good news as the Gangsta was listed as "Best New Reggae Artiste" on Rolling Stone Magazine list of The 125 Plus People, Places and Things Ruling The Rock and Roll Universe.

According to EVAN SERPICK (Associate Editor), "If you think reggae died with Bob Marley and Peter Tosh, think again. Jamaica's latest star, Mavado, c****ines hip-hop-influenced beats with ominous minor-key vocals about street life and salvation. "I started singing when I was four or five years old, and people always wanted me to sing more," says Mavado, who grew up in Cassava Piece, a rough dirt-road section of Kingston.

Over the past few years, the 27-year-old singer - who has a heavily scarred face and dark, *lo**shot eyes - has catapulted to the top of Jamaica's MC circuit on the strength of songs such as the taunting "Real McKoy." Last year, he released his debut album, Gangsta for Life; his thuggish style has won him fans in the U.S., where hip-hop stations have started playing tracks like "Weh Dem a Do" and "Last Night." Jay-Z was so impressed that he cut a remixed version of Mavado's "On the Rock," stepping out of his comfort zone to rhyme in a hyperspeed flow. Mavado recently played a number of U.S. shows and was surprised to discover how many fans he has here. "The fans in the U.S. are more hyperactive," he says, "because they don't see Mavado that much."

Common toad (Bufo bufo)
Common toads sense danger

Common toads appear to be able to sense an impending earthquake and will flee their colony days before the seismic activity strikes.

The evidence comes from a population of toads which left their breeding colony three days before an earthquake that struck L'Aquila in Italy in 2009.

How toads sensed the quake is unclear, but most breeding pairs and males fled.

They reacted despite the colony being 74km from the quake's epicentre, say biologists in the Journal of Zoology.

It is hard to objectively and quantifiably study how animals respond to seismic activity, in part because earthquakes are rare and unpredictable.

Some studies have been done on how domestic animals respond, but measuring the response of wild animals is more difficult.

Even those that have been shown to react, such as fish, rodents and snakes tend to do so shortly before an earthquakes strikes, rather than days ahead of the event.

However, biologist Dr Rachel Grant of the Open University, in Milton Keynes, UK, was routinely studying the behaviour of various colonies of common toads on a daily basis in Italy around the time a massive earthquake struck.

Her studies included a 29-day period gathering data before, during and after the earthquake that hit Italy on 6 April 2009.

The quake, a 6.3-magnitude event, struck close to L'Aquila city, about 95km (60 miles) north-east of Rome.

Dr Grant was studying toads 74km away in San Ruffino Lake in central Italy, when she recorded the toads behaving oddly.

Five days before the earthquake, the number of male common toads in the breeding colony fell by 96%.

o.gif
AMPHIBIAN PHENOMENA
Common frogs (Rana temporaria) mating

That is highly unusual for male toads: once they have bred, they normally remain active in large numbers at breeding sites until spawning has finished.

Yet spawning had barely begun at the San Ruffino Lake site before the earthquake struck.

Also, no weather event could be linked to the toads' disappearance.

Three days before the earthquake, the number of breeding pairs also suddenly dropped to zero.

While spawn was found at the site up to six days before the earthquake, and again six days after it, no spawn was laid during the so-called earthquake period - the time from the first main shock to the last aftershock.

"Our study is one of the first to document animal behaviour before, during and after an earthquake," says Dr Grant.

She believes the toads fled to higher ground, possibly where they would be at less risk from rock falls, landslides and flooding.

Sensing danger

Exactly how the toads sense impending seismic activity is unclear.

The shift in the toads' behaviour coincided with disruptions in the ionosphere, the uppermost electromagnetic layer of the earth's atmosphere, which researchers detected around the time of the L'Aquila quake using a technique known as very low frequency (VLF) radio sounding.

Such changes to the atmosphere have in turn been linked by some scientists to the release of radon gas, or gravity waves, prior to an earthquake.

In the case of the L'Aquila quake, Dr Grant could not determine what caused the disruptions in the ionosphere.

However, her findings do suggest that the toads can detect something.

"Our findings suggest that toads are able to detect pre-seismic cues such as the release of gases and charged particles, and use these as a form of earthquake early warning system," she says.

Ants ignore quakes

One other study has quantified an animal's response to a major earthquake.

Researchers had the serendipitous opportunity to measure how the behaviour of the desert harvester ant (Messor pergandei) changed as the ground began to tremble in the Mojave Desert, California, on 28 June 1992.

The largest quake to hit the US in four decades struck during the middle of an ongoing study, which measured how many ants walked the trails to and from the colony, the distributions of worker ants and even how much carbon dioxide the ants produced.

However, in response to that 7.4 magnitude quake, the ants did not appear to alter their behaviour at all.

For-Profit, for African-Americans?

For-profit higher education has had no difficulty attracting black students. When the University of Phoenix announced its growth to 443,000 students in the fall, it noted that 27.7 percent of its new students are African-American.

On Thursday, a new venture announced that it will seek to become a for-profit higher education company focused on serving black students. Officials were vague about how they would do so, but acknowledged that they would be seeking one or more partnerships with existing institutions that have accreditation. That has been a popular approach of late with investors who are looking to move into new higher education markets -- since accreditation is easier to hold on to (even with a change of ownership) than to earn from scratch, and accreditation is required for students to receive federal financial aid.

One source familiar with some of the exploratory discussions about Latimer Education, as the new venture is called, said that the goal was to align with a private, financially challenged historically black college. One of Latimer's founders confirmed that working with a black college was one idea under consideration, but he said that other ideas were as well.

Latimer's three co-founders are well connected in business and education circles: Scott R. Royster, who spent much of his career as an executive with Radio One, a chain of black radio stations; Brian W. Jones, who was general counsel for the U.S. Education Department during the George W. Bush administration and has also worked in the student loan industry; and David A. Sutphen, who is a partner in a communications firm and formerly held key positions on the staffs of such prominent players in education policy making as the late Sen. Edward M. Kennedy. Jones also spent several years prior to the launch of Latimer working for Dow Lohnes, a Washington law firm that has been brokering partnerships between nonprofit colleges and for-profit entities.

The Web site of Latimer is sparse, and its profile has been decidedly low until Thursday's announcement by Maveron, a Seattle venture capital firm co-founded by the chairman of Starbucks, that it was investing in the company. Maveron was an early investor in Capella Education and has been recently investing in other higher education businesses that focus on providing educational content.

Jones, in an interview, declined to discuss many details about the new venture, including the degrees or programs it would offer. But he said it would probably have a campus and also deliver education online. "We hope to create an institution that will cater to what are often the unique needs and interests of the African-American community."

The founders saw the potential to make a niche in the for-profit sector by focusing on black students, he said. "I think the reason that the for-profits have done well, and it's not unique to African-American students, is that they serve nontraditional students well," he said. "They have been attentive to the needs of the market place, much more flexibility for the unique needs of nontraditional students who work during the day or have other commitments that make it difficult to attend a traditional institution." As for building on that record, he said, "not to disparage anything the existing for-profits are doing," but that he believes the right programming and services would attract more black students.

He said that the education programs would be "more culturally tailored or relevant to African-Americans." However, Jones said that all students would be welcome. The new programs, he said, would let students "be able to leverage all the emerging technologies that deliver a superb experience."

"The bottom line for us is that we are coming into this market because we have the opportunity to transform the higher education experience for a great many African-Americans."

Michael L. Lomax, president of the United Negro College Fund, said via e-mail that he was not familiar with the new venture but was "not necessarily surprised" by it. "For-profit education companies are targeting all segments of the market, including African-Americans," he said. "Competition is a reality of higher education, and no sector -- including HBCUs -- is immune. The fact is that there are increasing numbers of black Americans who are now and will be in the future seeking post-baccalaureate degrees, and new providers will aggressively seek to serve them."

Some advocates for low-income students, who are also critics of for-profit higher education, were alarmed by Thursday's news.

Sara Goldrick-Rab, an assistant professor of educational policy studies and sociology at the University of Wisconsin at Madison who studies student access to higher education, said she was bothered by quotes in the Maveron press release comparing the idea of a black for-profit college to black media companies. Via e-mail, she said: "Clearly, this is the 'business' of education and these folks are making little effort to pretend like it's anything else."

Barmak Nassirian, associate executive director of the American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers, said it was "no secret that the sector disproportionately targets minority communities," and he said this should be cause for concern.

While he said that he does not know specific information about Latimer, the for-profit sector in general operates "in a free-for-all in which you grab as many warm bodies as possible," earn money from the student loans these students take out to pay for tuition, and "ship them out the door."

He said that educators should be "all the more alarmed" if a for-profit is open about planning to focus on black students, many of whom are from low-income families. He also said that educators and accreditors should be much more wary of the way for-profit entities operate within or purchase nonprofit colleges -- and thus are able to use the nonprofit colleges' accreditation.

"It's a form of body-snatching, turning the institutions essentially into zombies," he said. It should be "glaringly obvious" that when a for-profit entity purchases a nonprofit entity, the changes are so significant that there should be no assumption that the values or priorities of the original institution matter anymore. But he said accreditors appear "unequipped or unwilling" to challenge these arrangements.

JUS WANT TO SAY BIG UP TO ALL MY FRENS AND FANZ ME LOVE UNUH STR88888.......BUT ME MAY HAVE TO LEAVE ...CAZ SOME PEOPLE(EDIT) NAW SHOWW THE LOVE...COMING LIKE ME NUH WORTH NUTTEN....ME  ATALK THE TRUTH LIKE ME SEE AND FEEL IT....ME JUS DEYA CAZ A UNUH ZONE PPL SAME WAY..BUT ME SOON GONE...
AND THE MOD WEH A TEK IT UP ON UR HEAD...EAT THIS THREAD

BIG UP APPLEZZ U FI GET MODSHIP...TAKE SOME A DEM PAY....

no

-- Edited by dj naz on Thursday 25th of March 2010 12:07:40 PM
bman chune in later for the well anticipated diss track from mafia7...it could be about anyone of u guys

Residents of Waterloo district, St Catherine, woke up yesterday to a fiery experience, after gunmen killed three men, injured another and firebombed a house.

Those killed are Everald Gordon, 50, Huntley Davis, 50, and a man known as 'Jimmy'. The injured man is 18 years old.

The St Catherine North police said residents heard gunshots during the night and upon arrival, the bodies of Davis and Jimmy were found metres apart, while Gordon's body was found in a house.

Police said no motive has been established for the killing, but residents said the men were killed as a result of a gang war in the community.

Meanwhile, in neighbouring Clarendon, two teenagers were shot dead and a 20-month-old baby was shot and injured yesterday.

Reports said about 10 a.m. Jevaughn Fearon and Caleta Bandoo, both 17, were sitting under a tree in Yorke Town.

A car drove up, stopped occupants identified themselves as police personnel. They brandished guns and fired shots hitting all three.

They were taken to hospital where Fearon and Bandoo died. The infant remained in hospital.

WASHINGTON (AP) - A crowd sprayed with bullets in a drive-by that killed four and wounded five had just returned from the funeral of man slain nearby and a 20-year-old is suspected in both shootings, according to authorities trying to prevent retaliation on Wednesday.Two men and a 14-year-old boy accused of driving the minivan from which the bullets were fired were charged with first-degree murder in Tuesday night's shooting, the worst in D.C. in at least 16 years. One other person who was in the van was not caught, court documents said.One of the suspects, Orlando Carter, also has been charged with second-degree murder in the March 22 death of Jordan Howe, whose funeral was earlier that day. On March 23, Carter was shot in the head and shoulder hours after his brother was charged in Howe's death, court documents said.Assistant Police Chief Peter Newshan said at a news conference that by finding out if there are beefs between two neighborhood groups he called crews, police hope to stop paybacks. Crews are more loosely affiliated than gangs, he said.

Police Chief Cathy Lanier called the drive-by an egregious type of retaliation.

"It's ridiculous and the community is tired of it," she said. "There is no excuse for it."

Both the drive-by and Howe's killing were in a neighborhood known for drugs and related violence about 7 miles from the White House. Friends and relatives of the drive-by victims returned to the scene, where a *lo**-covered gauze package lay on a sidewalk that smelled of bleach. Four teddy bears were placed by steps leading to the apartment building.

The building's owner, William Cheek, said he had just walked across the street to buy a lottery ticket when he heard gunshots about 7:30 p.m. and saw many in the group on the ground. His grandson was among the victims.

"I saw him breathe his last breath," Cheek said, a tear running down his face. "He was shot in the head."

Cheek didn't want to identify his grandson but said he was enrolled in a GED class, played basketball and hoped to become a long-distance bus driver. Court documents identified the victims as 17-year-old Tavon Nelson, 19-year-old William Jones III, 16-year-old Brishell Jones and 18-year-old Devaughn Boyd.

"They got shot right on my porch," said Cheek, a case manager at a local community center with programs on substance abuse, job training and anger management.

Carter and Nathaniel Simms, 26, were arraigned and ordered held without bail. The teen also faces a murder charge and a family judge ordered him held at a juvenile facility, saying he was a danger and a risk for fleeing. He has nine convictions dating to 2005.

Defense lawyers for Carter and Simms argued that court documents didn't list probable cause or what role the two are accused of in the latest shootings.

Carter's brother, Sanquan Carter, was charged with murder in Howe's slaying. Court documents say Howe was killed over a missing gold-colored bracelet that apparently belonged to Sanquan Carter. A witness said Orlando Carter was with his brother and was seen shooting a gun at the time of Howe's death, according to court documents.

In Tuesday's shooting, police said they arrested the three after officers chased the silver van into Prince George's County in Maryland and back into Washington and saw an AK-47 type weapon thrown from the van. Other weapons were found inside.

Police said six men and three women were shot. All were in their 20s and 30s, except for one teenager, officials said.

Ross Rauls, 26, said he had been to Howe's funeral and went with a group of friends to a wooded area afterward where they shared memories of their friend. He said he headed to the gym, while the others went to Cheek's building.

"It's sad when the last thing you say to them is 'I'll see you later,'" he said.

He said the young men shot were not gang members.

"They weren't that type of people. It wasn't gang-related," Rauls said. "It's a classic case of the wrong place, the wrong time."

Rico Scott said one of those killed, DeVaughn Boyd, was his cousin.

Boyd was a high school senior who liked to go to the mall and the movies with friends, as well as parties that featured go-go music, a mix of soul, funk and Latin styles, Scott said.

It was at least the worst shooting in D.C. since 1994, when four men fired into a crowd at the O Street Market, killing a teenager and wounding eight other people. A man was convicted of orchestrating the shooting to retaliate against people who had shot him in the stomach and robbed him several weeks earlier.

Washington reported 143 homicides last year, the fewest in nearly 50 years.

Mayor Adrian Fenty said he spoke with the mothers of three of the shooting victims and said that they were "deeply broken."

"Everybody knows what a tragedy this is in our city," he said.

DAYUMMMMMMM!!! YOU KNOW THE OTHER GIRL FROM DIDDY'S GROUP DIRTY MONEY . . . THE ONE THAT WASN'T IN DANITY KANE . . . WELL HER BODY IS THE TRUTH!!!

1270214000dirty_money.jpg

SHE'S OVER WEEZY!!! LIL WAYNE'S BABY'S MOTHER LAUREN LONDON GOT A NEW MAN . . AND HE AIN'T CUTE EITHER!!!

1270214623lauren_new_man.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com told you a few months back that actress Lauren London and Lil Wayne were NO LONGER romantically involved - despite having an INFANT child together.

Well now we found out who her man is . . . NFL Baller Michael Hamlin. He was a defensive back for the Dallas Cowboys.

We wish both of them the BEST OF LUCK together . . .

1270214936lauren_new_man1.jpg

10 Million Reasons Tiger Was Afraid of Rachel

TMZ has learned Rachel Uchitel -- the pilgrim of alleged mistresses -- settled up with Tiger Woods for waaaaaaay more than you think ... as in $10 MILLION!!

Tiger Woods and Rachel Uchitel
There were numerous reports Rachel settled on the brink of holding a Gloria Allred-style news conference for anywhere between $2 - 5 million.

But our sources -- and they are good -- tell TMZ Tiger was so concerned with the depth and detail of information from Alleged Mistress #1 that they folded like a cheap suit, and offered the huge $10 million sum in return for an ironclad confidentiality agreement.

TMZ has learned the actual settlement could fluctuate $1 million either way, depending on future circumstances. But the baseline is $10 mil.

Compare Rachel's settlement with what other A.M's received, if they got anything at all. We're told several mistresses got several hundred thousand dollars, and others got nothing. That speaks volumes about how much Rachel knows.

Insiders are saying Rachel's settlement could be a precursor to what Elin Nordegren could get if she pulls the plug on her marriage to Tiger. Reports that Elin could get $300 million under the prenup are absurd. It's more likely the prenup is in the $5 - 10 million range, with provisions for support. But insiders tell us -- with the backdrop of Rachel's settlement -- there's no way Tiger would get off cheaper than $20 mil.

FIGHTING FOR LOVE!!! WANNA SEE THE GIRL THAT NBA BALLER DERRICK ROSE WAS FIGHTING OVER . . . HE GOT HIS AZZ KICKED . . . BUT AT LEAST NOW HE HAS THIS LOVELY LADY!!!

1270125868derrick_rose_gf.jpg
Two years ago, sports writers got all in a tiff when the then top draft pick Derrick Rose got into a fight JUST BEFORE he was set to be drafted into the NBA. Here's how it was being reported then:
Multiple sources close to the Memphis basketball and football programs have told CBSSports.com that Rose was recently involved in an altercation over a girl with Tiger football player [NAME REDACTED], an altercation that - how to phrase this? - didn't go so well for Rose.

Put another way, the possible No. 1 pick in the NBA Draft spent the early part of this week looking like a person who had just been in a scrap.

Well MediaTakeOut.com learned that the chick in the center of it all is Derrick's current GF, photo'd above. According to a snitch, Derrick defended her HONOR . . . even though he lost the fight with the MUCH BIGGER football player.

In the end it worked out . . . cause Derrick and the girl are STILL TOGETHER!!!!

1270125869derrick_rose_gf1.jpg
1270125871derrick_rose_gf2.jpg

GET OUUUUUUT!!!! YOU AIN'T NEVER GONNA GUESS WHO TV PERSONALITY JACQUE REID IS GETTING MARRIED TO . . . HINT . . . HE'S A SENIOR CITIZEN!!!

1270216650jacque_reid_2.jpg
MediaTakeOut.com just learned that the lovely radio and TV personality Jacque Reid is ENGAGED - to comedian J Anthony Brown.

For those of you who don't remember, he's the comedian that's on Tom Joyner's show. And while we're not certain of his ACTUAL age, our guess is that dude is about 70!!!

Ain't that some ISH!!!

EDITOR'S UPDATE - This was NOT an April Fool's joke. MediaTakeOut.com received this statement from an OFFICIAL Tom Joyner source, "What was first thought to be an April Fools hoax turns out to be true: J. Anthony Brown and Jacque Reid are engaged."

1270216651jacque_reid_married.jpg
1270216652jacque_reid_married1.jpg

-- Edited by *~*~Sweet Applezz*~*~ on Friday 2nd of April 2010 09:27:12 AM

SHAQ'S EX SHAUNIE IS DATING A 23 YEAR OLD MAN!!! (DETAILS OF THIS 'HUSTLER' INSIDE)

1270126220shaunie_fool.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com just learned what NBA baller Shaquille O'Neal's ex- wife Shaunie's first POST-DIVORCE purchase is - some d*ck!!!

That's right y'all, Shaunie is now "dating" a 23 year old model named Marlon Yates. You may remember Marlon from numerous music videos.

Well what is Marlon up to now? We're not sure. But according to his Twitter page, he's now a "hustler".

OOOOOO - KAAAAY!!!

1270126221shaunie_newman.jpg
1270126222shaunie_newman1.jpg
1270126223shaunie_newman2.jpg

Flesh N Bone (Bone Thugs-N- Harmony) Pleads Not Guilty & Released On Bond! (One Of The Warrents Was He Allegedly Pistol Whipped His Mother)

RAPPER TI BUYS NEW $50,0000 TEETH . . . WAS IT WORTH IT??? (BEFORE AND AFTER PICS INSIDE)

1270126409ti_teeth.jpg
MediaTakeOut.com just EXCLUSIVELY learned that rapper TI just got a brand new set of veneers put on his teeth - the cost - 50 STACKS!!!

It didn't really look like he needed them to us . . .

1270126410ti_teeth1.jpg
1270126412ti_teeth2.jpg

Flippa-Mafia.jpg
Flippa Mafia - file

Deejay Flippa Mafia is currently being held in the Federal Detention Centre (FDC) in Miami as a material witness in an illegal alien smuggling case.

The deejay is alleged to have attempted to enter the United States on a boat from The Bahamas with the assistance of two men.

Flippa, whose real name is Andrew Kendrick Davis, is now being held as a prosecution witness against the men, Julio Santiesteban and Armando Amat, who are charged with encouraging and inducing an alien to enter or reside in the United States.

The artiste was arrested on March 16 and is scheduled to appear before the Duty Magistrate of the United States District Court of the Southern District of Florida tomorrow.

When THE WEEKEND STAR contacted Alicia O Valle, special counsel to the US Attorney, she emailed a document detailing the allegations against Davis. A summary of the case against Davis and two other men was included in an affidavit sworn by Matthew Parker, a special agent with the Department of Homeland Security, United StatesImmigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE).

immigration status

According to Special Agent Parker in the affidavit, during questioning; "Davis, a Jamaican national stated that he left the United States for Jamaica in December of 2009. Davis said that he knew he had no current legal immigration status in the US and that he knew he would not be able to lawfully re-enter the United States."

It further stated that, "on March 5, 2010, Davis flew from Jamaica to The Bahamas in order to see some friends and find a way to be smuggled into the United States."

While in The Bahamas, Davis allegedly met with a friend who agreed to smuggle him into the US. The friend then introduced Davis to two Cubans, Santiesteban and Amat, who had arrived to pick up a load of Chinese people that never arrived. Davis reportedly paid US $3000 (J$270,000) for passage to the United States.

The money was reportedly accepted and on March 15 an attempt was allegedly being made to transport Davis to United States on the boat. The United States Coast Guard intercepted the vessel, however, and conducted a search.

unaccounted person

Upon boarding the vessel, Parker said that the Coast Guard found Santiesteban and Amat, and during a search later found one unaccounted person (Davis) laying down in the cabin of the vessel. The men were taken in for questioning.

Davis is known for songs such as Dem Yah and Repeat. He is popularly known as the 'Flossing King' for his antics of throwing champagne and money into the crowd during performances.

There were rumours circulating previously that Davis, who mainly resided in Philadelphia, was having visa issues after a lengthy two month stay in Jamaica.

When previously contacted by THE WEEKEND STAR, he dismissed these rumours; "Dat a something weh mi nuh really waan chat bout but mi nuh travel pon visa, mi have temporary residence." He then noted that the issue is a personal matter and he is in the process of getting his green card.

He added, "In a 2005 dem seh Flippa stuck a Jamaica and that is when mi really decide seh mi ago tek up music serious and mi do Real Badman. Dem a gwaan like mi a nuh Jamaican."

WTF? ATLANTA RAPPER MAY HAVE MOLESTED A CHILD!!

1270126589oh_my.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com just received a SHOCKING report. Atlanta rapper J Futuristic appears to have once been charged with CHILD MOLESTATION!! According to Georgia police records, a man by the name of Eddie Jermaine Miller was charged in 1998 with CHILD MOLESTATION.

As the below records show, the man charged with the offense has the same name and same birthday as the Atlanta rapper. How do we know J Futuristic's gov't name and birthday, well You can see it on this promotional page (Note - his birth year on the PROMO page is stated as 1984, and not 1980 as was in the arrest sheet).

And there's more. Check out the side by side pics of accused child molester Eddie Jermaine Miller and J Futuristic, notice any similarities . . .

Oh, and in case youre wondering who dude is - hes the guy who made that song with Gucci Mane called Fist Name Last Name

Shout out to the MediaTakeOut.com readers over at Down-South.com, for helping us with the research!! Check out their blog here

1270127327j_futuristic_molest3.jpg
1270126592j_futuristic_molest2.jpg
1270126888j_futuristic.jpg

Elephant ManElephant Man European Tour Is On Tax Department Lifts Travel Ban

Its all systems go once again for Elephant Mans European tour. The popular dancehall deejay issued a statement late yesterday, outlining that he has had discussions with Jamaicas tax authorities regarding his outstanding taxes, and that they have lifted the stop order which prevented him from leaving the island on Wednesday night (March 24) for a two week European tour.

He will now leave the island later today, and stated: I want to assure my European fans that I am looking forward to performing for them, and this incident was merely a minor setback. He is booked to perform at venues in Switzerland, France, Germany and Holland, and will return to Jamaica in mid-April.

The stop order on travel is reportedly a new tactic being implemented by Jamaicas Tax Administration Services Department (TASD), as they seek to get tax-delinquent persons to settle their outstanding taxes, or make suitable arrangements to do so within a given time. Stop order notices have reportedly been issued on 50 high-profile Jamaicans (including several artistes) who are said to be said to be tax delinquent.

A 30-year-old man has a nail enter his heart in a carpentry accident.

oops

-- Edited by *~*~Sweet Applezz*~*~ on Friday 2nd of April 2010 06:29:34 AM
Cleveland Browns nose tackle Shaun Rogers has been arrested after authorities say airport security found a loaded gun in his carry-on luggage.

Drivers will have to pay more for cars and trucks, but they'll save at the pump under tough new federal rules aimed at boosting mileage, cutting emissions and hastening the next generation of fuel-stingy hybrids and electric cars.

«First  <  1176 177 178 179 180524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by