STR8 FROM DI DESK OF KADEEM ! | |
Firstly u guys sit ere read these aweful things an turn dem into facts. Nothing is wrong wit reading wat unscrupulous, badmind, wicked ppl write to bring me dwn good people, but its what you believe in the end. Persons are making comments about me selling p*ssy, cleaning up an how my p*ssy stink .... den if my p*ssy stink an him nuh wnt me den why him waah heng on to it an all dem *lo**clat f*ckry deh c'mon these r jus groupies or groupies friends. I dont give a **** about other women cuz I knw my place an who a wife cuz if him pesting so den weh mi a do wid him 4 maself huh? Im a reasonable person I split truth. Him av nuf woman an me nuh knw weh him a tell some but my side good. Him give me ANYTING I ask for but it still dont exempt the fact that him beat woman it's the first but him learn him lesson. And no woman should accept it. Cuz as they said mi mad so I probably wud av shoot him," the email said. I do own a riffle, I shoot birds for fun family thing and friends but I also av a licened firearm. I dont intend to use it on any1 but mi head nuh really fix. Ask any1 who does knw me. Pretty face but a hat ead get it frm where I originate. Mi nuh carry badness to ppl jus split justice. Di lifestyle crazy and risky but we all make mistakes in relationships, so whos any1 to judge us. Listen di whole f*cky f*cky tlk and suss is nt me so skanks why when unuh see mi unuh nuh come tlk di tings why unuh scared when mi mek up mi pretty face? Mi caah stap rumours, but mi jus a set it straight." |
Sent: Apr 19, 2010 7:44a
Di nasty gal weh love write up bout people pon har site mi a wait fi shi write something about har artist man weh aids soon kill
sent via web
On Twitter: http://twitter.com/MrVegasMusic/status/1245112525
Sent: Apr 19, 2010 7:46a
You a hide behind yuh site & a write bout every artist inna di business & yuh nah write bout how aids soon kill yuh & yuh man
sent via web
On Twitter: http://twitter.com/MrVegasMusic/status/1245121778
Sent: Apr 19, 2010 7:48a
Jah always show me the wicked cause a him mi praise so hide as much as yuh want behind yuh site the aids tablet dem soon stop work
sent via web
On Twitter: http://twitter.com/MrVegasMusic/status/12451285701
Sent: Apr 19, 2010 7:51a
yuh right fi name yuh site so cause is a reflection of yuhself so copy this and post to your site
sent via web
On Twitter: http://twitter.com/MrVegasMusic/status/12451397553
Sent: Apr 19, 2010 7:52a
when a little dutty nasty groupie artist peggy gal start post pic with reggae music loving fans & call dem gay shi need fi hurry up and dead
sent via web
On Twitter: http://twitter.com/MrVegasMusic/status/12451462370
Sent: Apr 19, 2010 7:54a
talk about me and leave my %$^ing fans out of your nasty dutty world, start write bout you & yu artist man weh aids a kill
sent via web
On Twitter: http://twitter.com/MrVegasMusic/status/12451529843
Sent: Apr 19, 2010 7:57a
at least mi support my kids & dem mother nah drag mi inna court fi support dem so write bout how yu man nah mine him pickney dem
sent via web
On Twitter: http://twitter.com/MrVegasMusic/status/12451631953
Sent: Apr 19, 2010 7:59a
cross and miserableeeeeee,oh before mi take mi flight hey gal memba before yuh start post pon yuh site fi take yu tablets
sent via web
On Twitter: http://twitter.com/MrVegasMusic/status/1245169581
Sent: Apr 19, 2010 8:24a
When the nastiness dem see them thing nah work & mi keep rising them start diss the fans of vegas,why good people a dead & dem still around
sent via web
On Twitter: http://twitter.com/MrVegasMusic/status/12452690498
Model and video-girl Kadeem Baker did not spend the weekend in prison as some people have been alleging on websites over the weekend.
"My lawyer was adamant that I should not be jailed or else dem haffi lock her up too," Ms. Baker told one876entertainment."Mi end up on the same bench wid Rodney, and even he realized that they were trying to intimidate me, but this is what I want. I don't want to see Rodney in jail."
On Friday, she was charged with public mischief, when she appeared alongside her boyfriend, Bounty Killer, when they both appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court.
Baker, who made a high profile appearance on Digicel's Deal or No Deal last year, had asked the court that the charges be dropped as she and Bounty were attempting a reconciliation. Her lawyer requested mediation after the RM ordered that Baker be charged with creating public mischief.
Bounty, whose real name is Rodney Basil Pryce, was granted bail in the sum of $200,000, after a 10-day incarceration.
Usain Bolt, the world's fastest man over the 100m and 200m, will face off against compatriot and former 100m world-record holder, Asafa Powell, as Jamaica is set to place two teams in the USA vs The World 4x100m relay at the Penn Relays, which begins today at the University of Pennsylvania, Franklin Field, in Philadelphia.
Bolt will anchor the pro-Racers 'Jamaica Black' team, while Powell is expected to anchor the MVP-heavy 'Jamaica Yellow' outfit in the highly anticipated clash, which will also feature two teams from the USA and two from Canada.
In the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing where Jamaica broke the world record in the 4x100m, it was Bolt who handed the baton to Powell on the anchor leg. The same sequence occurred a year later in Berlin at the IAAF World Championships in Athletics, where Jamaica also won gold.
The pair will come face to face for the first time this season and will come up against the likes of Darvis Patton, Walter Dix, Travis Padgett, Shawn Crawford, Mike Rodgers, Ivory Williams and Mark Jelks, who are all in the USA's pool of athletes for their two teams.
Jamaica's athletics boss, Howard Aris, revealed knowledge of ongoing discussions concerning the possibility of two Jamaican teams, but Olympian Donald Quarrie, who is responsible for the contingent at the relay carnival, was quoted confirming the development.
"We will have two sprint relay teams for men and I should know the order by tomorrow (today), but Usain and Asafa will be running the anchor legs," said Quarrie.
At press time, Quarrie was unavailable as he was in-flight to Philadelphia and could not speak further.
However, reports are that the 'Jamaica Black' team will comprise Bolt, Yohan Blake and Marvin Anderson, with 'Jamaica Yellow' set to feature Powell, Michael Frater and Nesta Carter.
The other two places will be filled by a pool that includes Dwight Thomas, Lerone Clarke, Steve Mullings and Mario Forsythe.
Incidentally, the fastest time of the year is currently held by the Racers team, which ran 38.08 at the Gibson Relays inside the National Stadium earlier this year.
The Black River Resident Magistrate's Court had to take a short recess yesterday afternoon after an inmate attempted to rob a man during court.
According to reports, the man identified as Timbert McFarlene of a Daisy Close address, Newtown, St Elizabeth, was facing the court in relation to a housebreaking and larceny matter.
After he left the dock, McFarlane sat on the prisoners' bench, which was close to the area where persons attending court were sitting. However, shortly after the accused man went to the bench, a man jump up and shouted "Woi".
back pocket
The court was told by the man that he felt the accused putting his hand into his back pocket, which contained his wallet. The judge asked the man if he wanted to report the matter to the police, however, he declined saying that he did not lose his wallet.
McFarlene who was swiftly remanded in custody, is accused of stealing a Dell laptop and a DVD player from a woman's house.
According to the allegations, on April 15, the accused man pried open a window at the complainant's home, pushed in his hand and opened the back door.
It is alleged that the police went to the home of the accused man where the laptop was recovered. He was arrested and charged. He should return to court where the case will be mentioned on May 5.A man who the Old Harbour police said was wanted for breaches of the Firearms Act was captured during an operation in Old Harbour Bay, St Catherine, on Tuesday.
He was identified as Chadwick 'Gussie' Lewis, a 19-year-old man of Old Harbour Bay.
"Lewis is said to be a member of the 'Ants Man Gang' at Terminal Road in Old Harbour Bay," Detective Sergeant Carey Duncan said.
Duncan told THE STAR that another member of the gang, Devon Simpson, is being sought for gun-related crimes in Old Harbour and its environs.
The police said Simpson is wanted for shooting with intent along Terminal Road in August last year, when a police vehicle was shot up and a policeman injured.
An appeal is being made for persons to call 983-2255 to assist the police in their investigation.Keith 'Shebada' Ramsey, roots play icon and star of the hit play 'Bashment Granny', says he is being impersonated on popular social networking site Twitter.
The actor is distancing himself from the actions of an unscrupulous individual who created a Twitter account recently and wreaked havoc on the site for the short time the account was active. Soon after the cyber war began to heat up, however, the account was cancelled.
On the site, users 'follow' each other in order to interact and see each other's posts. The fake user, who went by the name 'Bashment Shebada', followed several persons on the site, some of whom were displeased and made it known. In these instances, the character made it clear in no uncertain terms that he would follow anyone he chose to.
expressing concern
One user,Ryan, queried why he was being followed by the actor, with the following post, "Why is Keith Shebada Ramsey following me?" To this question, Bashment Shebada replied, "Yu luddy! Yu a come gwaan like seh yu a nuh badi. Mi falla anybadi mi c."
After this retaliation, Ryan blocked Bashment Shebada, but this only seemed to anger him more. He later tweeted, "All a di man dem wha a block mi. Unnu nuh see all a di hat gal dem whe a falla mi! Me win! Ah bey!"
A scan of the site revealed many users who had blocked the fake Shebada and who were expressing concern at the fact that he had chosen to follow them.
Before cancelling the account, Bashment Shebada had made several tweets. Among these were tweets which sought to enquire how the site worked and who was on it. One tweet asked, "A how dis work now?" Another said, "People, how unnu so boring? Gimmi di met nuh! Ragga deh pan dis?"
When contacted by THE STAR, Ramsay said he was not responsible for the rude messages and was not even aware that he had been impersonated. "I wouldn't do that," he said, "I have an account, but I haven't used it for a long while, because I don't even remember how to sign in. It is not me and I am very sorry about that."
The actor said he was wrapping up his current play on the local scene and was looking forward to a new play, set to be released in the summer. He said the new play would be more "edgy" and would take him back to his Bashment Granny roots.
Several popular figures have recently fallen victim to fake Twitter accounts. These include Prime Minister Bruce Golding and Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller.
Name ChangedDebut album 'Bryan Art 20Ten' for summer release
Bryan Art has a full slate of promotions lined up for his debut album 'Bray Art 20Ten', set for release on June 1. That includes music videos, interviews and a strong Internet presence.
However, Art is not leaving out heading "into the streets" in the flesh to plug the 16-track set, which includes Get It, Murder Them a Play (featuring Queen Ifrica), Rock and Come In, Somewhere, Second Class (with Hawkeye), the acoustic track Taxi, Anyway (which he describes as "a raw track, just me and a guitar"), Sweeter Love, Ready or Not and Beautiful.
dance and sing
He says that "I find going on the street is even easier. You used to think that songs like mine would not fit in, but I can go to a dance and sing at 3 a.m. We go dance and find that even inna hours when the almshouse a gwaan, the people still listen to we," Art said.
He had that experience recently at a dance named Chicken Back Wednesdays, held in Spanish Town, St Catherine. While he waited to perform, it got later and later until he was called "in the heart of the almshouse; we almost give up". He did not have any fear about performing, though, "'cause me notice a little trend a gwaan". So he says "me never feel no way", even though he did not get to hold the microphone until 3:30 a.m.
He says that a few years ago a singer would not be welcomed after midnight and it was strictly dancehall. However, he says that "I realise that some things like Rising Stars where people sit in them yard, in them living room, and see people a do songs", there has been a change in music appreciation. And, in terms of the music that is being created, he hears chords and syncopation, as well as "a new one drop that is half one drop and half R&B".
"A few years ago, the music had to be very skeletal, just rhythm. It was just 100 per cent rhythm. Now a wider variety of music is being played in the dancehall, wider than a few years ago," Art said.
Art speaks from a background as both musician and singer, having been trained in the guitar at the Edna Manley College of the Visual and Performing Arts. He played in the band that supported Luciano up to 1997, then up to 2000 was band leader for G**** Roots, the backing unit for Bushman, which he co-founded with Rupert McKenzie.
However, he stopped his band work when he decided to divert his career path.
"I wanted to focus more on my solo career and I realised that people would not take you that seriously if you were doing that (playing guitar and singing)," he said. "Then, is a kind of move that would remind me each time what I am really about and not to confuse things. I decided I was going to stop all these gigs, focus on this and start thinking like a solo artiste and not a backing-band musician."In trying to capture a 1980s vibe, producer Mafia McKoy has done the '50 Pound' rhythm, which is a remake of Joe Gibbs' 'Entertainment' rhythm.
McKoy, who operates Loud Disturbance Records, said he decided to do the rhythm while on tour with Busy Signal last year. When Busy Signal was doing dubplates, McKoy said, the 'Entertainment' rhythm is one he worked on.
"Mi did a vibe it (the rhythm). Mi start build it when mi deh Germany, and when mi reach Jamaica in July mi basically finish the rest of it," he told THE STAR.
no rush
"The 50 Pound weh mi do, mi do it back live. It tek a very long time. Mi neva did waan rush it at the time, mi just did waan tek mi time," he said.
McKoy's rhythm features artistes like Sugar Minnott, Hollow Point, Mr Perfect, Lutan Fyah, Chuck Fenda, Gappy Ranks, Richie Brema, Gabriel, Karl Morrison, Natural Black, Norris Man, Admiral Tibet and Hawkeye.
While there are a couple veteran artistes on the rhythm, he said "The remake more inna 2010. Mi give it some modern sounds."
McKoy, as an artiste (Blaqk Sheep), says he is also working on his album called 'Alien Technology'. From the album he has already released two tracks, Wine Up featuring Mystic and Alien Technology featuring Milk.
complete the album
He said he wants to complete the album before July so that he can take it with him to Europe when he tours with Chuck Fenda, as his engineer, from July to September.
"When mi deh Europe, mi have a thing name Loud Disturbance promo tour with past, present and future projects weh mi a guh drop. Mi a guh get bout 20 minutes before Chuck Fenda, so mi a guh get fi do promotion," said McKoy, who is working with artistes like Macka Diamond, Gabriel and Mystic.
In addition, he recently released the 'Kamasutra' rhythm, which he said is doing well in England. And, for the summer, McKoy says he will be releasing the 'Yengeh' rhythm, which features Busy Signal, Gabriel, Natural Black, Mercci, Macka Diamond, Assailant and Iyara.CLARIFICATION
In a recent publication of THE STAR, reference was made to the good deeds being done by the artiste, Mr Vegas, including the launch of his jamagainstrape website.
THE STAR wishes to clarify that the website named in the story is geared towards assisting men in giving support for all rape victims.
THE STAR apologises to Mr Vegas for any inconvenience or embar****ment that may have been caused.
File - Mr Vegas
Deejay Mr Vegas is not only about music. The artiste, known for hits such as I am Blessed, is a Jamaican who wants to make a difference.
The deejay, whose real name is Clifford Smith, has always attempted to dedicate his time to giving assistance to the needy in whatever way possible. Now he is about to do a little bit more.
He is looking to launch a website, jamagainstrape.com, in the near future. The website will be geared at giving men a medium to register their disapproval of rape.
"I have been talking about the subject of rape for the past three years. I was on Sting about four years ago and I spoke about the little kids that have been raped and murdered by predators in Jamaica ... My website, when it is launched, will be about the word 'rape' in general," he told THE STAR.
The website, he said, will be followed by the start of his organisation, Jamaican Men Against Rape.
He said the organisation has not yet been formed but the decision was taken to launch the website in order to create the awareness for the campaign.
"We just have to make sure the people we are using have no criminal records," he said.
He could not give an actual date for the formation of the organisation, but promised that it will be started "as soon as we get all the elements in place and all the channels that victims can reach us."Ice Cube stopped by Jimmy Kimmel Live! on Wednesday to talk about his ESPN documentary Straight Outta L.A., the Raiders influence on N.W.A., and reports that he was dissing Dr. Dre on his new track Drink the Kool-Aid.
Nah, man. Dres my man, he said in response to the controversy. Its all compliments. Its called style and grace in hip-hop.
He also revealed that he was recently in the studio with Dre working on Detox and his new album I Am the West, due July 13.
Stranded passengers anxious to return to European countries say they are being asked to pay an average of 800 per person for airline ticket to leave Jamaica.
Casualties of the Icelandic volcanic ash that crippled travel across Europe for the past week, the vacationers, who had return tickets up to the time when the volcano erupted, are now having difficulties flying home free, even with the airline that brought them here.
"We were told when we came to the airport last Friday that we would be put on the next flight out, which is this Friday. However, on arrival here today we are being told by our tour operator L'TUR that the flights are full and we may be able to get out by Friday, April 30," said Kristina K****avina of Estonia.
Flown to Jamaica on Air Berlin out of Dusseldorf, Germany, K****avina, her husband and children, ages five and two, waited at the airport yesterday for hours trying to get seats on a Condor flight, but had to return to the resort where they had been staying for the last three weeks.
Faced with an accommodation rate of US$300 per day, the K****avinas say they just can't afford to fork out that type of money. K****avina said she was being asked to purchase four tickets in order to return home.
800 person
She said L'TUR told her they would book her family on another carrier for free when the crisis started, but that tone has now changed. "Now we are being told that a flight is available but I will have to pay 800 per person, even for the youngest child."
This family is just one of the many that sat at the airport on Wednesday literally begging for any seat that became available.
Two other vacationers booked with L'TUR, Mounir Ajjoch and Rachid Lakjaa of The Hague in Holland, said they were trying to speak to their agency for almost a week but were only contacted on Tuesday.
Efforts to get a comment from Air Berlin proved futile as phones rang without an answerBoris the bull that was not able to breed because of a low libido was saved from going to the slaughterhouse after farmer Dave Joyce came up with a novel way of boosting Boriss sex drive. He gave the bull a herbal form of Viagra with his food for a week and soon noticed the difference.
Farmer Dave said He just couldnt perform and we just thought hes got to go. He was destined for the slaughterhouse. But he is such a nice bull and we didnt really want to get rid of him so we started looking into alternative solutions. Since the herbal treatment we have never seen him so rampant. When the cows come out hes the first in there. Now he is totally on the straight and narrow and calves are back on the agenda. It means we dont have to turn him into burgers. He is on a rigid regime of the herb formula in his daily feed.
Dave Joyces assistant Rob found the herbal Viagra tablets on the internet for people who suffer from sexual dysfunction the capsules contain Horny Goat Weed, Cordyceps, Damiana, Avena Sativa and Muira Puama all of which can increase the libido.
ENGLAND An animal straight out of a movie has attracted the curiosity and interest of people all over the globe!
When someone hears of a sheep pig, skepticism is sure to follow. It sounds more like an animal youd see in a movie or in a cartoon, but a sheep pig is actually a real animal. It is your traditional curly-tailed pig covered in sheeps wool.
The animal is native to Austria and Hungary and is known in the zoological world as a Mangalitsa. The Tropical Wings Zoo in Essex, England recently took in three of the rare animals. Its part of a newly initiated education and breeding program.
A British woman is facing jail for a peck on the cheek in Dubai this week. Charlotte Adams and Ayman Najafi have already been convicted of illegal drinking and indecency following a recent incident in a burger bar and are currently facing an appeals court before the sentence is carried out.
A local woman reported the couple to police for what she described as passionate kissing and touching. A previous hearing found the pair guilty and sentenced them to a months imprisonment and deportation on release.
The couple are claiming that all they actually engaged in was a peck on the cheek as a greeting in the way that Brits have adopted continental standards over recent weeks. The pair, both from London, met in a principality while working and holidaying there.
The story came to light after an Emirati woman, who was with her children having a meal in the restaurant, saw the pair. She claimed she saw the two kissing each other in public and she called the police who came and arrested them. But later on she told the public prosecutors that it was actually one of her children who saw my clients kissing and not her. She is not sure about the incident. They both kissed each other on cheek and that is a normal greeting in their culture, not a crime.
The case is merely the latest in a long string of cases where Westerners have found themselves on the wrong end of the law in the Gulf mostly through sheer ignorance. Most famously Vince Acors and Michelle Palmer were imprisoned for three months for having sex on Jumeirah Beach, which first brought public attention to the vast legal and cultural gulf between the UK and countries in the Middle East.
Companies in the Gulf are desperate to attract Western know-how and language skills to the region in order to fill the many jobs in a Dubai that demand technical specialisms and international co-ordination, but these instance serve to highlight that the region is still a long way away from its Western neighbours in terms of culture. For all the art galleries, shopping malls and football stadia, the region is still highly informed by strict interpretation of Islamic law and young Europeans, away from home for the first time (and often paid extremely well in glamourous surroundings) find it very easy to fall foul of the law.
The case continues and is expected to reach a conclusion this week.
Natural disasters and other acts of nature around the world have given new rise to talk about the coming Apocalypse (end of the world).
Giant earthquakes such as the one that killed over 250,000 Haitians this year, and the 8.8 magnitude earthquake in Chile that knocked the earth off its axis and shortened our days, has given new life to theories about the end of our days.
Last week, an active volcano (pictured above) on the European island of Iceland near Greenland in the Atlantic ocean, erupted spewing tons of thick ash into the cirrus stratus where commercial airliners fly at cruising altitude of 30,000 feet.
For that reason, airports all over the world cancelled flights and grounded jets leaving thousands of people broke and stranded far away from home. For many travelers the earliest possible flight home could be May 12. But travelers say they are strapped for cash now and they are wondering how they will pay for hotel rooms and food. The cancellations have so far cost airlines $250 million.
Heres a photo that should give you some perspective of how bad the ash problem is in Europe. Thats not snow the car is plowing through, thats ash thick enough to choke a commercial airliners engines and send jets plunging out of the sky.
Many people think the end is near as a result of the onslaught of viruses (HIV, H1N1), deadly earthquakes, tsunamis, volcano eruptions, and other acts of nature that has killed millions of people.
Others say the natural disasters and epidemics are a sign that Nature is attempting to bring the earths human population into balance before its too late just as nature does with the animal and insect population.
They point to the fact that the recent deadly natural disasters mainly has affected densely populated areas, such as Haiti, where birth control isnt practiced as diligently as it is here in the states.
If the earth becomes over populated, the earths resources such as food and water will be quickly used up, leading to widespread famine and starvation.
If it werent for natural disasters keeping the earths population within reasonable limits, the sheer numbers of humans occupying every inch of land would eventually lead to the extinction of the human race on earth.
It is said that a volcano eruption similar to the one on Iceland killed off the dinosaur population millions of years ago (they choked to death on the ash).
Others say the natural disasters all lead up to 2012, the year that marks the end of the Mayan calendar, the first known calendar dating back to the 6th century BC (before Christ). Supposedly the calendar predicts a catastrophic destruction of earth because it records no more dates after 2012.
But they said the same thing about the year 2000 (Y2K).
New Jersey based reggae/dancehall group West Bank is all set to make their debut performance on this years staging of the Best of the Best Music Festival which will be held on May 30 at Bicentennial Park in Florida. As expected the members of the group are in high spirits as they prepare for this big occasion.
An excited group member Joe West said they are looking forward to performing on the prestigious event. According to him the band is looking forward to the chance to showcase their talent. Going up against the best of the best has seen them putting in quality time in rehearsal as they are looking forward to putting up a quality show for their fans as well as winning over new ones.
"All the members of the group are very excited to perform on Best of the Best; we have been very busy rehearsing for the show. We are going to give a very good performance because we want to show the people in Florida what we can do, is assurance coming from Joe West.
West Bank is also getting ready to drop their latest single titled A Little More Loving on the Silk rhythm which was created by Jermaine Tmar Millington. The single will be released before the end of April on the West Side Konnection record label.
A 38 year old man has died after been struck by a plane whilst he was jogging on a beach in South Carolina, the plane which was attempting an emergency landing after it had lost its propeller hit Mr Robert Gray who was listening to his iPod at the time and did not hear the aircraft behind him.
Beaufort County Coroner Ed Allen said Robert Gary Jones, 38, of Woodstock, apparently did not hear the troubled plane that struck him from behind on Hilton Head Island the plane had lost its propeller and the pilots vision was blocked by oil on the windshield.
Mr Gray was in Hilton Head for work but was supposed to fly home on Wednesday for his daughters third birthday. He was often out of town for his job with pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline, where he had been a salesman since 1997. He was also married with two children.
Joheida Fister, who is Hilton Head fire and rescue spokeswoman, said the identities of the pilot and a passenger on the Experimental Lancair IV-P plane were not released. They were not injured. The plane started leaking oil at about 13,000 feet and tried originally to make it to Hilton Head Airport, Fister said. The oil on the windshield blocked the pilots vision and he told authorities the propeller came off the plane. When he tried to land on the beach near the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa, the plane hit the beachgoer and came to rest a little farther down the beach, and I would have to say its pretty unusual,
Due to the ash clouds left after the volcanic eruption in Iceland, several entertainers have been unable to honour show dates because they are either stranded in Europe or are unable to go there as flights are unavailable.
Since the volcanic eruption in Iceland worsened last week, sending thick ash clouds into the skies, airlines in Europe have been suspending flights. Olivier Jankovec, director general of Airports Council International, in a statement said more than 6.8 million passengers have been affected. Several Jamaican entertainers are included in that group.
Popular selector-deejay Tony Matterhorn has been in the United Kingdom for the past few weeks and was scheduled to leave yesterday, but has been unable to.
"A today (Monday) mi fi leave but mi flight cancel till May 3. Right now, mi just deh yah a wait and see if dem ago free up tomorrow," he told THE STAR when contacted yesterday.
He said he was booked for a show in Chicago in the United States of America this weekend. However, he said he might stay in the country if he cannot get a flight to leave soon, as he has more shows scheduled there for late April to early May.
Tony Matterhorn is not the only entertainer stuck in Europe. Gramps Morgan communicated his dilemma via the social networking website, Twitter, last Friday.
"Hey everyone, I will be missing my show at Strawberry Hill tomorrow, in Jamaica, because of the volcano in Iceland. I'm stuck in London," he wrote.
Dancehall artiste Demarco was also gearing up to leave on Saturday for a tour that was scheduled to begin in Europe on Sunday. However, he decided to cancel his tour because of the current flight disturbance.
"A God mek mi put off my tour. Mi ting nuh deh a Europe right now. I put off the tour because of the volcano thing, and I don't know when it will be safe for people to fly again. When it is safe I will go," he said.
In the meantime, Demarco said he would be doing shows elsewhere that he got offers for and "it will give me time to do other stuff, like work on my album that is supposed to come out by June or July," he said, noting that the album would be called I Am Not Perfect.
Sharon Burke, head of Solid Agency that also does bookings for Demarco, said, "I don't know of anybody else just yet. Shaggy was supposed to go to Europe next week, but I think he is still going."
Meanwhile, Carlette DeLeon of Headline Entertainment said none of the artistes on her roster have been affected since the volcanic eruptions.
"We haven't been affected, thus far. If the eruptions continue we will have concerns. We are watching the situation closely," she told THE STAR.
"Tomorrow" which highlights some of the struggles faced by individuals on a daily basis is definitely the perfect follow up for the peoples anthem (Life Soon Sort Out) as the deejay once again seeks to motivate, encourage, and inspire everyone that lends a listening ear.
The song is currently receiving a lot of air play on major radio stations both locally and internationally, you can DOWNLOAD TOMORROW CLICK HERE .
A video was recently shot for the single in the downtown area which was directed by one of Jamaicas famed director Asha.
One word to describe G Whizz's song "Tomorrow" is truly inspirational.
Artiste said to have fled to Zimbabwe
Sizzla's publicist Olimatta Taal has pushed aside reports published in an overseas newspaper which claims that the artiste has fled from Jamaica to live in Zimbabwe because of gun and murder related charges.
The article, 'Mugabe offers Jamaican artiste farm for ZANU-PF public relations', which was published in The Zimdiaspora on Monday, claimed that Sizzla "is on the run from Jamaican authorities for gun related and robbery cases in Kingston and is preparing to set up base in Zimbabwe after he was offered a farm. Indications are that he will not be returning to his native Jamaica where he is under investigation for several violent crimes which include armed robbery and murder."
It continued, "Zanu PF is allocating a farm to Sizzla so that the Jamaican star would do international public relations for the former ruling party whose fortunes are fast waning following its drubbing at the March 2008 harmonised elections by the Movement for Democratic Change."
There were also claims that Sizzla 'was not paid for the performances he has done in Zimbabwe and allocation of a farm to him is part of Zanu PF's way of settling what it owes the reggae star'.
However, Taal has dismissed the claims and labelled the article as irresponsible journalism.
"The article is not factual and it is misrepresenting Sizzla. Sizzla is not under investigation for any of that. It is apparent that the website is a racist journalist group which is trying to discredit Sizzla and misinform the public," she told THE STAR. "I don't know The Zimdiaspora but they need to be careful 'cause they can be sued for defamation of character. It is not responsible journalism."
might return
Taal said Sizzla has been on tour in Africa since late February. In addition to Zimbabwe, he has performed in other countries on the continent, including South Africa and Ghana. She said he might return to Jamaica in May before a performance in Trinidad.
Taal did admit that Sizzla was given land for his two performances in Zimbabwe for the country's 30th independence celebration. But the land, she said, was in no way related to politics.
"The allocation of the farm land does not have any relation to any political party. Instead of giving him cash (for the performances) they gave him land. Although they want to discredit and criminalise him, it is very honourable that he would take land instead of cash," she said, noting that the land received is for the Rastafarian community.
Meanwhile, she said Sizzla has heard about the article but is not moved by it.
"He has heard about it and he laughed when he heard. He doesn't take it to heart. He knows that this is what they do. We don't plan to sue them, we just laugh at them," she told THE STAR.
"He (Sizzla) is in Zimbabwe because he loves Africa. He isn't pro-Mugabe or anti-Mugabe but he respects Mugabe as a leader.Five men in court after ...
Five St Catherine men are now before the court after being accused of beating a man and his woman for having 'freaky sex' at home.
The five have also been accused of raping the woman and forcing her to do the same 'freaky sex' for which she and her man were beaten.
The men, Ricardo McDermott, Aldane Gopaul, Damion Maralen, Andre Simmonds and Kemar Laffeyette, were granted $300,000 bail each in the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday.
They pleaded not guilty to charges of illegal possession of firearm and ammunition, rape and assault occasioning bodily harm.
Their lawyers made successful bail applications on the grounds that the police had failed to put their clients at the scene of the crime.
Resident Magistrate Marcia Dunbar-Green granted bail on condition that the men report to the nearest police station on weekdays. They were also slapped with a curfew from 7 p.m. to 6 a.m. daily.
Allegations are that on March 11, about 3 a.m., the accused went to the home of the complainants.
They are said to have accused the couple of doing 'freaky' sex acts at home. The men who were armed with sticks, are alleged to have started to beat the couple severely.
It is said that after the beating, the woman was dragged to another house where she was gang-raped for several hours. The court was further informed that a gun was held to the woman's head and she was forced to perform oral sex. The victim is alleged to have passed out during the ordeal.
A report was made to the Spanish Town Police Station and investigations by Sergeant Georgia Lowe-Cox led to the men's arrest. They are to return to court on May 25.A man who is charged with assault at common law, after allegedly chasing a six-year-old boy with a machete, was described as being 'strange' when he appeared in the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday.
He was described as behaving in a strange manner, resulting in residents of his community keeping a close watch on their boys.
"Your Honour, he is obsessed with males, he also wears the a tattoo bearing the name of one of the yute dem pon him chest," the disgruntled mother of the complainant told the court.
The mother of the accused was also called inside the courtroom and she told the court that her son was indeed 'strange'.
"I know about his strange behaviour, that is why them call him 'b man'...," the accused's mother told the court to the surprise of many.
The accused, who appeared in court with a bandage on his head after he was beaten at the Spanish Town jail, said he did nothing wrong to be in court.
"Is an argument the mother and I had. There is no truth that I ran down the child," the accused man said.
Allegation before the court are that on April 10, about 3 p.m., the accused attacked the child in the community and chased him.
The matter was reported to the Spanish Town police. He was severely beaten by residents before being picked up by the police.
Resident Magistrate Marcia Dunbar-Green yesterday told the accused that he could not be granted bail to go back in the community.
He was remanded until May 25 when he will again appear in court.