Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

AU NATURALE!!! ANGELA SIMMONS HITS UP A RED CARPET EVENT . . . AND SHE'S NOT WEARING ANY MAKEUP . . . AND SHE AIN'T WEARING A BRA EITHER!!!

1272025562spl174318_012.jpg

1272025563spl174318_013.jpg

Bret Michaels -- Stabilized

0423_brett_michaels_EX_TMZ_01Bret Michaels is awake, in good spirits and talking ... TMZ has learned.

Ambre Lake, the Season 2 winner of "Rock of Love," tells TMZ she's spoken with people who are close to Bret who say he's stabilized and conscious. 

Lake's tale matches another contestant who has also spoken with Bret's bandmates.

We're told the next 24 to 48 hours are critical -- Bret will be closely monitored.

British family 'demanded white staff at Florida hotel'

Alleged request not to be served by 'people of colour' emerges in writ by waiter against Ritz-Carlton in Naples, Florida

Ritz-Carltons Naples hotel, Florida

Ritz-Carltons Naples hotel, where staff were allegedly prevented from serving the family. Photograph: David Alexander/Getty Images

A British family has been banned from staying at a chain of luxury hotels after allegedly requesting not to be served by "people of colour" at a Florida resort.

The demand, allegedly lodged by the family on arrival, has emerged in a claim by a Haitian-born waiter against the Ritz-Carlton hotel in Naples, Florida. The family, named by the hotel as the Morgans, are said to have checked in on 29 February.

According to the writ, the hotel at the direction of its managing director, Edward Staros recorded on its computers the "preference" that the family not be served by "people of colour" or staff with "foreign accents". The note reportedly added: "This couple is very very prejudice".

The claimant, Wadner Tranchant, 40, a naturalised US citizen who has worked at the Ritz-Carlton for 15 years, said that on 12 March the hotel "instructed the serving staff regarding the stated prejudice of the Morgan family" when they reserved a table in the restaurant. Tranchant's attorney, Michael McDonnell, told the Guardian: "As a lawyer you are required to conduct an investigation before taking a case, and we have done that. There are a number of witnesses to support his story."

Tranchant is still employed at the Ritz-Carlton despite his lawsuit against the hotel chain, McDonnell said.

The lawsuit seeks more than $75,000 (Ł49,000) in compensation for Tranchant, who was "humiliated, embar****ed, frightened, intimidated, subject to undeserved shame and suffered severe emotional distress". No date has been set for a hearing. The hotel has 20 days from when the lawsuit was filed on Tuesday to submit a formal response.

The Ritz-Carlton's website promises "world class restaurants and impeccable service" at its Naples property, a 450-room waterfront hotel with panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico, two heated swimming pools and two golf courses designed by the former world No 1 Greg Norman where rates start at $439.

Tranchant's claim states that staff in the restaurant were advised "through its computer notification system and word of mouth" of the family's "stated prejudice", and that as Tranchant began to serve them "he was prevented by his supervisors from doing so because they did not want to be waited on by a black person".

The lawsuit adds: "Other employees also encountered similar treatment on multiple occasions", with "such conduct so severe or pervasive that a reasonable person in [Tranchant's] position would find the work environment to be hostile or abusive".

The Ritz-Carlton group declined to say whether any staff had been disciplined, but confirmed the family had been contacted and "banned from staying at any Ritz-Carlton hotel". Vivian Deuschl, a company spokeswoman in Washington, said the hotel "does not tolerate or condone discrimination of any kind by its employees or visiting guests."

Bruce Seigel, the hotel's director of marketing, added: "The hotel has very strict policies in place to prohibit discrimination and ha****ment and we take very seriously any allegation of discrimination or ha****ment."

The case provoked a flurry of comments on US websites. "The hotel should be fined heavily and the money given to a charity that helps fight racism," was one view.

"Those beastly boors from Britain should have been given the boot the moment they made their bigoted request," noted another blogger.

One New Yorker posted: "I know this may sound wrong, but I have to side with the hotel on this one. They're simply doing what they're supposed to and honor the old adage about the customer always being right."

TOGETHER AGAIN!!! GUESS WHICH REALITY COUPLE IS BACK TOGETHER AGAIN . . . AND THIS TIME DUDE PROMISED TO MARRY HER!!!

1272114025spl174684_039.jpg

MediaTakeOut.com was the FIRST place in the world to tell you that American Idol's Kimberly Locke and Celebrity Fit Club's Sgt Harvey were a couple. We were also the first place in the world to tell you last month that they broke up - after Kim gave Harvey the ultimatum - to PROPOSE . . . or GET TO STEPPIN!!

Well now MediaTakeOut.com learned that Harvey has come around. According to our insider, Harvey reportedly "promised" to get engaged to Kim. And as a result, Kim took him back.

We're happy to see the two of them back together again. But what the heck is a PROMISE TO PROPOSE??? Either you propose, or you don't . . RIGHT????

1272114026harvey_kim_together.jpg

DESCRIBE YOUR ORGASM

June 3, 2008
Started By verssatyle29 Comments
me woulda like fi know how de gal dem stay pon da one ya..
1. SHOWING A BLIND PERSON SOMETHING INNA MAGAZINE

2. HAVE SEX WID SOMEONE THAT HAS ALZHIEMERS AND THEN ASK THEM IF DEM MEMBA BOUT IT

3.YUH LIGHT GET CUT OFF AND YUH FRIEND DEM SAY"SEE YUH INNA DI LIGHTS"

4. YUH MOTHER A TEACH YUH HOW FI LOOK WOMAN

5. YAAH 26 AND YUH DADDY HAFFI TELL U HOW FI WEAR CONDOM

6. ASK A DEAF PERSON FI DEM PHONE NUMBER

7. ASK A RASTAFARIAN WHATS THE RECIPE FOR BAKING A HAM

8.JEHOVAH WITNESS STOP YUH FI GI YUH A MAGAZINE AND U ASK HIM WHICH PART U CAN GET A PENTHOUSE MAGAZINE FI BUY

9.PROPOSE TO A GIRL WID A RING BOX AND MEK HAR KNOW SEH U A ENGAGE TO HAR  IN ADVANCE AND HOPEFULLY SOMEDAY WHEN U DONE SAVE UP U WI BUY HAR

10.TALKING TO A GIRL FI MONTHS, RUN OUTTA CONVERSATION AND U SAY "SO? WHATS YOUR NAME?

A dancehall dictionary endorsed by the Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB) and Jamaica Lexicography Project is currently being researched for publication in four languages in an attempt to profit from the internationalisation of dancehall, says editor Joseph Farquharson.

It will take five years to complete and include a team of four translators one editor and one research assistant, Farquharson told intellectuals at Symposium 2010 within the Department of Liberal Studies, University of Technology on Thursday.

Farquharson said it will be the first such publication by linguists whilst asserting that that the previous two known dancehall dictionaries did not adhere to rigourous scholarship. They include The Original Dancehall Dictionary by Joan Williams published in 1995 and The Official Dancehall dictionary by Chester Francis-Jackson. The problems of the existing dictionaries included out-dated slanguage and ambiguous or non-lexical definitions, said Farquharson, an advanced doctoral candidate in linguistics at the University of West Indies, Mona who holds a MPhil in European Literature (Spanish) from the University of Cambridge in the UK.

The dictionary will not only have phonetic pronunciations but include sentences which utilise the defined word. For instance, the gal dem a bawl fi mi anaconda would be translated to the girls are [crazy] about my big d*&^, he stated.

If it was The girls are demanding my large penis it really and truly would not have been in the spirit of dancehall and really one had to find the appropriate language that you are translating into, he explained to nodding intellectuals in agreement.

The dictionary is proposed to be published in English, Japanese, German and Spanish. Farquharson added that research into a French publication would be done in order to capitalise on the importance of reggae in that market. The target market are citizens of the four language groups but also universities within the UK, Germany and Jamaica that lecture on Jamaican culture.

It is a partnership between the Jamaica Lexicography Project and JTB. We are getting decent information on the culture of the country that can be sold to tourists. So it is not something put together overnight by any and everybody which can misrepresent the country. But it will be well researched and put together that the JTB can put its stamp on to say we know this is reputable and we can help to promote it, he explained. And of course to line my pocket too, he added.

Farquharsons presentation was entitled Making Culture Pay: Towards a Jamaican Dancehall Dictionary, which attempted to use the dictionary as a marketable liberal art project.

I ain't no man......

April 23, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma0 Comments
I RECIEVED THIS VIA EMAIL AND ALL I CAN SAY ISsadwow PREE...

GleaningsJ20071213PC.jpg

Get out the tissue and pass the handkerchief for I have bad news; I am not a full man.Let me give some background. I attended a gender sensitisation workshop hosted by the Male Desk of the Bureau of Women's Affairs and the UNFPA recently (keep reading Flair for stories from that).

The participants (mostly men between 13 and 25) were asked what they thought made them a man, in Jamaican terms.They spoke about various things that society, over time, had told them was what made a man. "Have nuff woman", "breed a girl by 20" and having a strong voice were among the 'necessities' for being considered a man. Alas, I have neither done, nor have, any of the aforementioned. But even with things I have done, I'm still not there.

For instance, "real man nuh keep malice" they told us. I do, however, and, therefore, if I'm to follow this reasoning, I ain't a full man! Don't know if I'm half or three-quarters, but not full.All is not lost though. At least from the physical standpoint, I am still male as many of the guys felt that without the 'rod' or 'rifle', you're not a man. And I was relieved to hear that real men don't beat women either. "A woman strength alone dem man deh have," they chirped. So score another fraction for me (maybe I'm five-sevenths by now).Main point

Jokes aside, one of the main objectives of the workshop, and the main point of this article, is to help us break away from these stereotypes, as they are doing more harm than good. They especially affect how correctly, or incorrectly, men treat the opposite sex (another main objective of the workshop). You can't relate properly to women if you don't understand yourself as a man.The counsellors encouraged the men to look inside themselves and to think things through. So I ask, why shouldn't a man be 'allowed' to malice if he feels he's been hurt badly? So what if you can't fight, or are not good with your hands (like me)? Why shouldn't your woman know more about cars than you? Why should it be considered weak if a man tells his son he loves him?

The sooner our men (and women) forget society's beliefs of gender and decide for themselves what makes them who they are, the better off Jamaica will be. For example, a man who knows that stealing is not acceptable even if it's to feed his family, won't jack your car or slash you while taking your wallet or purse.Think on these things folks while I take this not-complete-man self of mine home. Lata.

-- Edited by *~*~Sweet Applezz*~*~ on Friday 23rd of April 2010 09:38:33 PM

-- Edited by *~*~Sweet Applezz*~*~ on Friday 23rd of April 2010 09:40:14 PM

Jah-Cure_w370.jpg

REGGAE singer, Jah Cure, has found himself on the wrong side of the law again.

The singer, whose real name is Sycatore Alc**k, was arrested after he was observed by cops in the St Andrew North Police Division smoking a ganja spliff. He was arrested and charged with smoking ganja.

The singer was granted $5,000 station bail and is scheduled to appear in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court on Monday.

Jah Cure served a sentence of nine years in prison after being found guilty of rape.

ALLLLLLLLL_FISH.jpg

DI PEOPLE DEM SAY DEM YOOT YAH CROSS OVA...DEM DOW LOOK DAH WAY DO TO MI BUT UNNO PLEASE COME SHELL OUT DI TINGS CAUSE MI WELL WAA KNOW.....so now from a yoot a dance a wabble dem start wabble? NO SAH lcre

TELL ME IF DIS NUH SERIOUS !!!!

April 23, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma1 Comments

google.jpgBwoy dem ppl yah serious.... Google guh luuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu big time..... Because its now an ISSUE they changed it!!!!! lcboo

groupie3.jpg

PEOPLE DEM SAY RUM*lo** DASH OUT DAH MESSAGE YAH PAN BBM 2 NIGHTS AGO..
no sahhh
"My bbm friends that know big p*ssy Tanisha tell her tak mi name off facebook pls. I don't ofto call name unno know unno self. I'm out"

StadiumTourA20100422IA.jpg
Independence Park Ltd General Manager Desmon Brown watches as City Engineer Norman Shand does structural and other checks at the National Stadium yesterday. - Ian Allen/Photographer

An inspection of the National Stadium yesterday highlighted several obvious defects that could "weaken the structure" but the company that manages the facility disclosed immediately that it had no money to make the corrections.

"The bottom line is we have no money for any capital improve-ment," said Major Desmon Brown, general manager of Independence Park Limited (IPL).

"The money that we have can barely meet our operating expenses," he added.

Brown made the comments even as City Engineer Norman Shand, who led the inspection, pointed journalists to cracks, exposed corroded steel and exposed electrical wires throughout the 48-year-old facility, mainly in the grandstand.

Shand made it clear that the structure of the stadium was safe, but said the cracks and corrosions pointed to leaks in the cantilevered beams that cover the grandstand.

"With the water catching the steelwork, (for it to be corroded) it loses its tensile strength and that will help weaken the structure," he explained.

Follow-up action

Deputy Mayor Lee Clarke said the Kingston and St Andrew Corporation (KSAC) would study all the reports from agencies involved in the inspection before deciding on the priority areas and the necessary follow-up action.

All of this comes days before the May 1 staging of the seventh annualJamaica International Invitational track meet which will feature American stars like Carmelita Jeter, Kerron Clement, Wallace Spearmon and Sanya Richards, along with Jamaica's double world-record holder Usain Bolt and Veronica Campbell-Brown.

Reiterating that the stadium was becoming obsolete, the IPL boss said this was an opportunity to look towards constructing a modern facility.

For example, he pointed out that if there were an accident in the bleachers section, "we either have to cross the field or go outside".

The National Stadium underwent major renovation in 2002 when US$30 million was spent to give it a facelift ahead of the World Junior Championships.

Dr Herb Elliott, who represented the Public Health Department, also pointed out that the absence of food handler's permits was another major problem at the stadium.

He disclosed that several cases were discovered during the recently concluded Boys and Girls' Athletics Championships and warned that the department would be shutting down concession stands where operators could not produce permits.

EVEN as the government of the sister island of St Lucia have taken the decision to ban controversial Jamaican dancehall deejay Vybz Kartel from performing there at the end of this month, a pro-Kartel sentiment is building among the young people of that country.

The young people have taken to the social networking website, Facebook to garner support to petition the government.

KARTEL_TSPLASH_w370.jpgVybz-Kartel_w370.jpg

The page -- We Want Kartel was established on Monday and up to late yesterday afternoon 765 persons had signed up. The stated objective is to appeal the decision to ban Vybz Kartel from performing in St Lucia.

Vybz Kartel, whose real name is Adidja Azim Palmer was confimed for performances at the Hot FM-promoted Supreme Weekend show scheduled for April 30 and May 1.

The much-publicised performance had created heated public debate, particularly as Vybz Kartel had been banned from performing in a number of islands including Guyana, Grenada and most recently Barbados.

Only last year, fellow deejay, Mr Vegas was denied a work permit to perform in Grenada. Promoters in New Zealand also came under public pressure which resulted in Beenie Man being struck from the line-up of a major festival in that country.

Deejays have been coming under the microscope recently following the decision by the US Embassy to withdraw the visas and work permits of a number of these artistes.

Some of the comments on the page:

Really, what can Vybz Kartel contribute to crime thats not already there; duhhhhhhh hypocrite and bad-minded people they always think they better than everybody else why don't they just 'look pon the life they living' (eyes rolling)

The man is an entertainer, shedding the light on whats causing dem frustration with the youths dem... the authorities eh want to see it so rather blame the man for what they don't understand -- they afraid of his light... SHINE MR PALMER - SHINE!!!!!!!!

Not really a big fan of Vybz Kartel, and his "no show" at love fest in the later part of last year didn't help it, however I believe the government should STOP looking for a scapegoat like they always do and start facing and dealing with the real problem at hand.

Instead of banning the artiste or having him perform a few selected tracks, I believe promoters should allow for the proper screening of the patrons of these events, because in truth and in fact there are some very immature and senseless individuals who attend these events to deliberately cause unnecessary trouble.

"Yea man we as a nation need to stand up for wha we tink is rite I neva vote nor will i eva buh we put m in power still m mun eh doin wha deh pose to do i lookin to c d crime, teenage pregnancy, sex an all m ting stop in close i say #$@% dem mun gassa WE WANT KARTEL"

The U.S. Treasury refreshes its currency every once in a while to stay a step ahead of counterfeiters, and this time theyre refreshing the new $100 bill. The new bill will contain a security feature called Motion, where each bill will contain up to 650,000 microlenses embedded in the printing which will allow for an underlying image to shift when the bill is moved. Yep, good old Benjamin Franklin is getting a facelift and here it is (well add more pics as they become available):

new100.jpg

#gallery-1 { margin: auto; } #gallery-1 .gallery-item { float: left; margin-top: 10px; text-align: center; width: 25%; } #gallery-1 img { border: 2px solid #cfcfcf; } #gallery-1 .gallery-caption { margin-left: 0; }

Highlights of the new bill:

- 3-D Security Ribbon
- Bell in the inkwell. When you move the note, the bell changes color from copper to green.
- Portrait watermark
- Security Thread
- Color-shifting 100
- The new note will be issued on February 10, 2011

Some facts about the U.S. $100 bill:

- There are about 6.5 billion in circulation. Thats $650,000,000,000
- The average $100 bill is replaced every 5 years due to wear
- It is one of only two banknotes that do not feature a president
- The first $100 bill was issued in 1862
- The time on the clock on Independence Hall on the back side of the bill reads 4:10

WASHINGTON DC, United States The extradition issue aside, Jamaica's close relationship with the United States was apparent today as US President Barack Obama swore in 24 new citizens, all of them military personnel, including four Jamaicans.

Speaking at the ceremony held at the White House in Washington DC, Obama condemned a proposal for immigrants to carry documentation, stating that the US must remain a nation of immigrants, reports USA Today.

He called for a comprehensive immigration bill to include tighter border security and a process for the country's illegal immigrants to become citizens.

The four Jamaicans are:

- Therica Tameica Hutchinson, US Army

Born in Jamaica, Hutchinson obtained lawful permanent resident status in 1994. She enlisted in the Army in 2004 and is currently serving as a Sergeant.

- Jerdaine Devon Oldacre, US Navy

Born in Jamaica, Oldacre obtained lawful permanent resident status in 2004. In 2009, he enlisted in the Navy and currently holds the rank of an E-1.

- Andrew Hopeton Smith, US Army

Born in Jamaica, Smith enlisted in the Armys Selected Reserve of the Ready Reserve in 2009 and at present holds rank E-3 as a Unit Supply Specialist.

- Pitrianne Natoya Williams, US Navy

Born in Jamaica, Williams obtained her lawful permanent resident status in 2007. She enlisted in the Navy in 2008 and currently holds the rank of E-1 as an Aviation Boatswain Mate for Equipment

Cop tries to rob cop, busted

April 23, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION3 Comments

A policeman is now behind bars after he was held during a botched armed robbery of a female police sergeant's car.

The police report that the sergeant pulled up at her gate and was accosted by two armed men who demanded the keys to her vehicle.

The sergeant threw the keys on the ground and as the men tried to retrieve them she opened fire. The men returned the fire and ran leaving the keys.

The robbers attempted to escape in a waiting motorcar but were intercepted by other officers who reacted quickly to a 911 call.

The cop and his accomplice were held and taken into custody.

Hot Girls Grabbing Their Breasts

A woman has been sentenced to life in prison after she forced a 13-year-old boy to touch her breast.

The 34-year-old Nevada woman was accused of kissing a friends 13-year-old son in 2008, asking him if he would have sex with her and placing his hand on her breast. She denied the charges, saying she was drunk and had not forced him to touch her.

The boy is said to be undergoing therapy after this ordeal.

In a week-long trial, she was convicted of lewdness with a minor under 14 and ordered to serve a life sentence, based on Nevadas mandatory minimum sentence for this class of crime. She will be eligible for parole in 10 years.

Jurors were not allowed to know that she faced a life sentence if convicted.

Even the judge appeared aghast at the sentence he handed down, saying he had no choice to impose a life sentence but was not sure why the prosecution was insisting on charges under laws which would attract the minimum sentencing requirement (they could have charged her with a lesser offence).

The district attorney who prosecuted her defends the sentence, saying she was convicted of precisely of what she did and that the sentence is simply in line with state mandatory minimum sentences.

There is some dispute over why she was not offered a plea bargain.

The defence claims the district attorney did not offer a plea bargain, whilst the district attorney claims she did not want to negotiate a plea bargain as she felt being forced to register as a sex offender would ruin the rest of her life more surely than a conviction would.

However, even if released on parole she would now have to register as a sex offender.

The defence asserts that this extreme sentence constitutes cruel and unusual punishment:

This is cruel and unusual punishment. She put his hand on her boob while she was wearing a bra, now shes getting life.

The defence notes that she is getting a greater penalty for having a boy touch her breast than if she killed him.

GEORGETOWN, Guyana GUYANESE authorities have ordered the exhumation of a 15-year-old girl who reportedly died after church leaders tried to treat her convulsions with an exorcism.

National Security Minister Clement Rohee said the government of the South American country hired a pathologist from a neighbouring country who will arrive over the weekend to re-examine the remains of Sangeeta Persaud.

No one has been charged in her death, and a preliminary autopsy report was inconclusive.

Persaud died in late March after church leaders in a rural farming community said they spent five hours praying for her as they pressed on her stomach and head.

Persaud was eventually taken to a hospital, where she died.

The girl's mother has said Persaud had suffered from a bad cold for several years and was tested for tuberculosis. The teen was supposed to go back to a hospital on April 19 for test results
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/djwizzzle

Woman harmed for phone call?

April 23, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION6 Comments

A woman was given the option of paying $15,000 or spending six months in prison for allegedly using a knife to cut another woman in the face because of a phone call.

The accused, Sereta Grason of a Corporate Area address, appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court on a charge of unlawful wounding.

The accused woman told the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court that the complainant attacked her while she was walking with her baby because it is believe that she answered the phone of the complainant's boyfriend when she (the complainant) called him.

Grason told the court that she did not use a knife to cut the complainant, indicating instead that it was one of the keys for her house.

The complainant however told the court that Grason was lying and insisted that the accused woman had put a knife to her face and used it to cut her.

Is support beginning to wane for incarcerated reggae star Buju Banton?

With his trial delayed until June, the Untold Stories singer will have spent more than six months in jail since his December arrest when he was caught allegedly attempting to buy more than five kilograms of cocaine from an undercover law enforcement
officer in Sarasota, Florida. 

"There is still support for Buju on Facebook and on some entertainment sites but the interest is diminishing a little because he has been locked up for such a long time
without any trial. But once the trial begins, it will re-energise his fan base, but for now, like everyone else, they're waiting," one music insider said.

U.S. District Judge James Moody had pushed the date back to June, but no reason was given for the change.

Banton pleaded not guilty to the accusation in January and his lawyer, David Oscar Markus, has filed an official complaint in court, claiming the U.S. government entrapped the star into a drug deal. 

Banton faces up to 20 years in prison, if convicted. He is due in court on June 21st.

STARLEFT_1_PABSAExplosiAM.jpg
File - Vybz Kartel

A group of men found at a premises which was previously operated by Vybz Kartel as a studio at Kirk Avenue in Havendale, St Andrew, were taken to the Constant Spring Police Station for questioning yesterday.

A senior officer from the St Andrew North police told THE WEEKEND STAR that Vybz Kartel was among a number of men who were at the premises.

According to the source, among the group of men was one believed to be 'of interest' to the West Kingston police. That man was detained.

still being used

"I am not the one dealing with the issue but we are checking to see if the place is still being used as a studio because it was ordered to be shut down. A group of men were seen there one of whom is a man who is wanted by the West Kingston Police Division," the senior officer told THE WEEKEND STAR before promising to provide a further update as the investigations continue.

Vybz Kartel, however, was not taken in for questioning.

The St Andrew North police are now looking into possibilities that the premises is still being used as a studio despite last month's order from the Kingston and St Andrew Corporation (KSAC) that it be shutdown.

Despite the police's investi-gations, Vybz Kartel told THE WEEKEND STAR that the pre-mises is no longer being operated in such a manner.

requesting closure

"There is no studio at Kirk Avenue, there is no equipment at the premises to facilitate recording, the equipment has been moved to another location," Kartel explained last night.

The studio was shut down last month after the police wrote to the KSAC requesting its closure.

Superintendent Newton Amos, head of operations for the Area Five police, said the police were seeking to have the studio shut down.

Amos said representatives of the KSAC afterwards reported that a permit was not granted for the studio.

"It is a residential area and noise and obstruction is something which has caught our attention," he said. The request was granted and the studio was ordered to be shut down even though Vybz Kartel, real name Adidjah Palmer, argued that the studio was not a disturbance to the Havendale community.

"The studio is situated way in the back of the property, two metal gates and 25 metres away from the road, and its a sound proof room as all studios are," the artiste reasoned.

Rihanna

Rihanna is carrying on with her European tour after being briefly hospitalized Monday night (April 19).

According to People, the singer was taken to a private clinic after her concert in Zurich, Switzerland. [She] had an injured rib and went to have it looked at to be sure it was nothing serious, and it wasnt, her rep tells the magazine.

Rihanna is already back on her feet and doing fine. All is okay and the tour is going great, she adds.

Her trek through Europe continued on Tuesday night with a stop in Lyon, France. She is expected to play in Marseille tonight, while the North American leg of her Last Girl on Earth tour kicks off in July.

Some men reconsider fighting for Dudus
STARRIGHT_1_PF3L3CokeA2AM.jpg
file - Christopher 'Dudus' Coke is wanted in the United States on drug-related charges.

As the extradition issue concerning Tivoli Gardens strongman Christopher 'Dudus' Coke gets more intense, thugs who earlier vowed that they would fight for him are now having second thoughts.

Investigations by THE WEEKEND STAR have revealed that persons who had once claimed they would have even sacrificed their own lives to defend Dudus are now wishing they could fly away, literally.

"Jah know if mi did have a visa mi gone wid di wind ... It might sound a way my yute but dis look like is a war weh wi cyaa win," one thug, Dawgisfrom Tivoli Gardens said.

Like other persons with whom THE WEEKEND STAR spoke, Dawgis was one of those thugs who earlier vowed to defend Dudus.

"Memba seh man come in and get gun and agree seh dem wouldn't run from di war ... A fret dem a fret now, some a dem all waa run weh cause dem realise seh dis ting bigga dan we," another known thug, Dawdieexplained.

extradition process

According to the thugs, they believe the extradition process will include the works of the United States military along with local security forces and say they simply wont be able to take on such a team.

"Yu see if a did jus regular police wi woulda good trust mi ... But fi go tek on dem plus man from foreign a go too wicked ... A too much dat fi wi tek on," Dawdie added.

Other persons have also began to distance themselves from west Kingston, as they are said to be fearing the possibility of losing their United States visas, THE WEEKEND STAR also heard.

Recently, Prime Minister Bruce Golding instructed Attorney General Dorothy Lightbourne to seek a declaration from the court as to whether she was right to deny the extradition request for Coke to answer to drug and weapons charges.

distance themselves

With everyone eagerly awaiting the court's decision, there are those who have already drawn their own conclusion as to how the saga will end and are even trying to distance themselves from Tivoli Gardens, even though that may come with serious implications.

"A nuh play ting di man dem a deal wid ... Any man weh run from di gideon a go get pree (looked at) a way ...," Dawgis claimed.

Police sources are reluctant in speaking to any issue concerning or relating to the extradition of Dudus, however, after much deliberation, one high-ranking officer from the Kingston West Division said, "This is far greater than you and me but there are words on the street ... that there are men down in Tivoli that are now scared out of their wits ..."

He further said; "But they chose to live such a life so it's their problem and they will have an even bigger problem if they think they can fight the law."

Coke was featured on the United States' Justice Department's list of the world's most dangerous drug kingpins. Jamaica has been asked to extradite him to face federal drug and weapons charges in New York. He is charged with conspiracy to distribute cocaine and marijuana and conspiracy to traffiking firearms.

The Jamaican Government is contending that the United States obtained the information illegally.

Names changed
vb.jpg
Anonymous said...

A wa dem waan we fe sey...Poor Viv may his soul rest in peace...a shud a pieces him a res inna..him lucky...a hear sey him tremble like a leaf when him a ded...him did inna land dispute wid him bredda & sen man go kill him & did a try d same wid som odda rich man ova lan..but dem wud a nyam him food...bout Showa Posse...a som dwag piss unnu fe go showa wid..me shudda hav a hood..a wudda go rite ova him & ge him a piss salute..EVIL ole wicked..luk how d man handsom..but him hav d heart of d devil..unnu nuh feel shame how unnu gone inna big Cathedral wid him funeral & a only unnu alone as family in deh..a fuss me eva c recession funeral.a gudda bad dem all bad up fada fe keep it deh...NO RATINGZ roun ere 4 no dutty ole criminal..we ongle hear bout 1300 murder..whappen 2 dem deh wa dem no find..May he rot in Hell & stink like 50 ded Johncroz wid d res a him croniez....unnu no want we talk bout d ole *lo** sucka...Vampire..him shudda kill som a unnu cuz unnu no fit fe society...as a matta a fact dem shudda torture d ole **** b4 him ded...red hot som shovel & bran bran..& use plierz & pik out him toenail & finganail..& bun a fyah pan him hoodhead wid kerosene oil...a wa so sprecial bout dat de ole trash..me all surprize sey him hav family..cuz it cum een like a out a cow b*mbohole him cum....

*~*APPLEZZ*~* SAYS:- wow MY GIRL A HOW UR MOUT PEPPER SO??? MA GOSH ! MI NAH EVEN SEH NUTTIN B4 MI GET MUREDERED PON ZONE !huhwhis

Gangster gets 45 yrs

April 23, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION4 Comments
A man who the police say was behind a series of armed robberies and rape in Havendale, in Upper St. Andrew has been sentenced to 45 years in prison.

Kemar Palmer was sentenced in the Gun Court in Kingston on Wednesday.

Palmer, a resident of St. Johns Road in Spanish Town, St Catherine was linked to a criminal gang which terrorised residents of Havendale, Meadowbrook and adjoining communities in 2008.

He was found guilty on several counts of rape, robbery and illegal possession of a firearm and ammunition.

He was sentenced to 10 years for illegal possession of a firearm; 20 years for rape and 15 years for robbery with aggravation.

Deputy Superintendent Altemorth Campbell, Crime chief for the St. Andrew North Police Division, says Palmer's conviction is welcome news for residents in his Division.

He said Palmer and his cronies terrorised residents for more than a year, prompting the residents to work closely with the cops to smash the criminal network.
section_news.jpg

The police say they are extremely concerned about the seizure of a number of fake driver's licences which were reportedly taken from Kingston motorists in recent months.

Top cop for the Traffic Division of the Jamaica Constabulary Force, Superintendent Radcliffe Lewis yesterday told THE STAR that at least 50 such licences have been seized in at least eight months dating back to last year August.

According to the senior cop, investigations have found that one of these fake driver's licence can be purchased for a fee of $6,000 and can be done at two premises in the Corporate Area.

"We are investigating and are working on some very strong leads ... We have found out that they are duplicated at two places but we won't say much about the places just yet but we are going to sort them out," a tough-talking Lewis said when asked how the police plan to attack the trend.

slight difference

THE STAR was told that it takes some amount of expertise to spot one of the fake licences as like the original, they are also computer generated. There is only a slight difference in the texture of the material and this is what sets them apart.

"I have policemen who know what to look out for and based on what they tell me the texture of the fake licence is slightly different," he explained before adding that a number of motorists have fled both their vehicles and the fake documents when held.

Although unable to give an exact number off-hand, Lewis said a considerable number of Kingston and St Andrew men have been arrested and charged after being found with fake licences.

One such man, Sylvester Roper of a Kingston address was recently held in a section of the Corporate Area.

He was subsequently charged with forgery, uttering and possession of forged documents.

He appeared in court and was ordered to pay $150,000 or spend six months behind bars.

Other cases are also currently set to go before the courts.

The police say the situation is indeed alarming as the possibility exists that almost anyone can come up with $6,000, get one of the fake documents and put themsleves behind a steering wheel even if they had no prior experience in driving, thus putting themselves and others at great risk.

"This is a very serious issue and we won't stop until we put a stop to it. We can't be having people on the roads that may not have the slightest idea about proper driving ... It is extremely dangerous," Lewis said.

One man has been taken into police custody following the seizure of an illegal gun in a motor car in downtown Kingston yesterday.

His name is being withheld pending further investigations.

Information received is that about 8:15 a.m., a team of police was on patrol when the motor car was stopped on Charles Street. The vehicle was searched and a Kimber .45 pistol containing nine (9) .45 cartridges was found. The driver was subsequently arrested.

The Kingston Central Police are investigating
Five St Catherine men are now before the court after being accused of beating a man and his woman for having 'freaky sex' at home.The five have also been accused of raping the woman and forcing her to do the same 'freaky sex' for which she and her man were beaten. The men, Ricardo McDermott, Aldane Gopaul, Damion Maralen, Andre Simmonds and Kemar Laffeyette, were granted $300,000 bail each in the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday. They pleaded not guilty to charges of illegal possession of firearm and ammunition, rape and assault occasioning bodily harm. Their lawyers made successful bail applications on the grounds that the police had failed to put their clients at the scene of the crime. Resident Magistrate Marcia Dunbar-Green granted bail on condition that the men report to the nearest police station on weekdays. They were also slapped with a curfew from 7 p.m. to 6 a.m. daily. Allegations are that on March 11, about 3 a.m., the accused went to the home of the complainants. They are said to have accused the couple of doing 'freaky' sex acts at home. The men who were armed with sticks, are alleged to have started to beat the couple severely. It is said that after the beating, the woman was dragged to another house where she was gang-raped for several hours. The court was further informed that a gun was held to the woman's head and she was forced to perform oral sex. The victim is alleged to have passed out during the ordeal. A report was made to the Spanish Town Police Station and investigations by Sergeant Georgia Lowe-Cox led to the men's arrest. They are to return to court on May 25.
The single called My Cupp (yes, two P's) definitely has its swagger on. It is the latest club banger with a world of possibilities. And, contrary to popular belief, it's not done by Akon or any other foreign international act. The voice is that of 23-year-old, Richard 'Richie Loop' Webb, one of the newest artistes out of Robert Livingstone's Scikron/Big Yard outfit.

richie-loop_w370.jpg

LOOP... I always dabbled in singing but what I did was just stuff for my friendsto listen to.

Richie-Loop-&-Iceman_w370.jpg
Richie Loop and Iceman

Richie Loop, simply put, is on the cusp of getting "hotta dan 10 fireside" and he is genuinely savouring every second as he shoots towards stardom. Richie has a song that is ready to 'shot' on Billboard, he has the right image and he has a story.

It was in October of last year that he linked up with Livingstone and joined Big Yard -- not as an aspiring artiste, but as a man who sits in the studio, makes the beats and produces tracks. But less than six months later, Richie Loop has made that quantum leap from the anonymity of behind the mixing board, straight into the spotlight with a single so hot that he can barely cup it in his hands.

"I always dabbled in singing but what I did was just stuff for my friends to listen to. I never really saw myself on stage as a performing artiste," the quick-to-smile youngster told Splash. "But I guess life had something else planned for me. All I can say is what is destined for you is destined for you," he added philosophically.

Actually, it was while listening to a Lil Wayne interview on the topic of cups that Destiny came a-calling. "I said to myself that I should really write something about cups and the hook just came to me. I started writing the song and making the beat simultaneously - right there and then," Richie Loop recalled.

He knew he was onto something good when other Scikron/Big Yard artistes including Iceman and D-Major gave a listen and passed it with flying colours. Robert Livingstone then gave it the real listen, made a few essential changes and endorsed the Cupp.

Like a true student of Robert, Richie Loops is quick to spread the glory associated with the single, rather than claiming it all for himself. "It's a team effort," he emphasised. "It was really Robert who encouraged me to start voicing. He heard me singing the chorus for the D-Lynxx Question tune, 'Wha you come a mi yaad fa?' and said that since I could write and make beats then I should really consider voicing some songs. And ... the rest is history."

The team is now in the process of doing the treatment for the video. "We had a treatment already, but someone else went out and did something similar, so we went back to the drawing board," an excited Richie Loops explained.

A person who clearly doesn't put himself in a box -- or even in a cup for that matter -- this artiste describes himself as a singer, deejay, rapper and singjay. "And if I can talk words over the beats and people like it, I will do it," he declared, while a member of his 'Yard' added trying to keep a straight face, "You have to understand that Richie is really Lady Gaga's brother."

The almost overnight success of My Cupp -- which has seen quite a bit of chart activity locally, #3 on FiWi Choice, # 10 on Richie B Countdown, # 15 on Re and # 17 in Toronto, and is poised to take off overseas -- has sent Big Yard's promotional plan in a tizzy. The calls from radio stations here in Jamaica and in places such as California, Georgia, Germany, Japan, Dubai wanting the single and interviews are tumbling over each other and Richie has also found himself on a couple stages locally in recent times.

"It's been a lot of coaching regarding how to do interviews -- what to say, what not to say -- how to perform, use up the stage, get the crowd involved. And the team is an important part of this process, watching and giving their criticism," Richie Loop said.

The practise, he feels has been paying off, as he is comfortable on stage, and his only obstacle was at the recent kite festival when he was performing and tried repeatedly to put up his foot on the monitor at the front of the stage, but it just wouldn't happen. Hopefully, practise, will indeed make perfect.

Another interesting situation for him was the performance at U-Tech, at the end of which the students were bragging that the "foreign singer" had performed on their campus. Mr Cupp, as one interviewer called him throughout a recent interview, was not happy with that description.

"I know the song sounds international and that is good because that's the way we do our thing ... we make music for the world. But at the same time, I want the world to know that a yaad we say. Strictly home-grown talent from start to finish," declared 23-year-old past student of Clarendon College and Excelsior Community College.

And, on an equally serious note, he pointed out that artistes on the Scikron/Big Yard roster make sure that they record "air fare songs rather than bus fare songs".

"We do songs with visas, songs that can pass airport," Ricky Loops emphasised.

Let's see if this cupp runneth over.

STARLEFT_1_P7BJRmoreseaAM.jpg
File - Beenie Man

In his latest musical release since news of the cancellation of his US visa, Beenie Man has taken aim at critics of his professional and personal life.

The new release, Leave People Business, is a fiercely done remake of the 1989 classic by Admiral Tibet, featuring fresh vocals by Admiral Tibet himself. Admiral Tibet, (real name Kennel Allen) a reggae/dancehall legend of the 1980s is seeing resurgence in popularity these days from other covers of his music catalogue.

The original version by Admiral Tibet was heavily criticised during the '90s for labelling women as tattle tales and 'informers'. Twenty years later, Beenie Man's version does nothing to redeem either Tibet or the hit song.

redone lyrics

Beenie Man's rendition of Leave People Business (produced by Thunderbird Music) features a defiant Moses Davis responding to much publicised speculation about the extent of his celebrity fortune.

Its redone lyrics make bold declarations about the artiste's relationships with various women that differ decidedly from proclamations he made during a recent interview on Irie FM about his current relationship with dancehall diva D'Angel, and answers piercing questions about exactly how much child support he pays.

The song also sees Beenie Man demanding proof of the paternity of his children.

When asked to comment about the questionable content of the new song, a representative of Thunderbird Productions was quoted as saying, "It's good that Beenie Man is challenging unconstructive remarks made about him."

"Violent", "Controversial" and "Challenging", indeed, the new song is being hailed as one of Beenie Man's best works yet.

Leave People Business by Beenie Man is now available on Amazon.com and iTunes and is featured on Youtube.

http://blackonyxtv.files.wordpress.com/2009/03/299r3814-281-copy2.jpg

Jim Jonsin, the producer responsible for hits like Soulja Boy's Kiss Me Through The Phone and T.I.'s Whatever You Like", is filing a lawsuit against incarcerated rapper Lil Wayne.
Jonsin, who co-wrote Wayne's triple platinum single Lollipop, says he's owed over $500,000 in unpaid royalties for his contribution the song.
Jonsin appeared in a Manhattan Federal courtroom Tuesday representing his company Rebel Rock Productions to file the formal lawsuit against Wayne's Young Money imprint.
According to court documents, Jonsinreal name Mark Schaffer, says the song has garnered more than 4 million downloads and more than $4 million in ringtone sales.
He therefore is entitled to at least $500,000 of that which he says he never recieved.
Lollipop helped Lil Wayne's Tha Carter III sell over 3.2 million copies and earned him a Grammy for Rap Record Of The Year.
Lil Wayne is continuing to serve his one year prison sentence at New York's Riker's Island.

kickers ova clarks mobay seh

April 22, 2010
Started By toe2 Comments
kickers song deh mashup the place wait thil u sih dih vedio a it mad
The world's 20 most valuable soccer clubs took a kick on the shins from a stronger greenback last year. From June 2008 to June 2009 the euro and pound fell 11% and 17%, respectively, relative to the dollar. As result, the top 20 clubs have an average enterprise value (equity plus net debt) of $632 million vs. $691 million a year ago. The 8.5% decline equates to a $1.2 billion aggregate loss in value. Absent the conversion to U.S. dollars the clubs appreciated in value--2.7% in euros and 10.7% in pounds. Our team values are calculated using revenue (excluding player transfers and dispositions) multiples based on historical transactions. Operating income (earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization) fell for our top 20 from an average of $50 million to $32 million. But the bigger concern is the growing bifurcation in profitability among Europe's elite clubs. The five richest teams (Manchester United, Real Madrid, Arsenal, Barcelona, Bayern Munich) earned $556 million, an operating margin of 24%. The five poorest teams (Newcastle United, Manchester City, Borussia Dortmund, Olympique Marseille, Werder Bremen) lost a combined $54 million on revenues of $778 million. Look closer and it becomes clear that the wealthiest clubs have a big advantage over their competitors because they are global brands, which allows them to generate more revenue outside their home market from sponsorships, merchandise and broadcasting. The prime example is Manchester United, the most valuable club in the world, worth $1.84 billion. Man U's Club TV Channel is shown in over 192 million homes. The club claims 333 million followers and 139 million core fans. Beginning next season Man U will have a new shirt sponsorship with Aon ( AON - news - people ) that will bring in $34 million a year over four years, 50% more than its current deal with AIG ( AIG - news - people ). The Nike ( NKE - news - people ) swoosh will continue to adorn the shirt as well thanks to a 13-year pact with the apparel maker that pays the team $470 million plus a 50% share of profits on specific merchandise through 2015. Man U posted operating income of $150 million last year, the most of any team, while their media revenue of $164 million was tops in the English Premiership. Despite the club's huge success on the pitch since Malcolm Glazer bought them in 2005, the locals are unhappy with the $839 million of debt Glazer has saddled the club with and are hoping to raise enough money to buy him out. Another English club with a strong following outside the United Kingdom is Arsenal, ranked third on our list at $1.18 billion. The club has been embroiled in a takeover battle the past three years with American Stanley Kroenke, who now owns 29% and appears to have outgunned rival owner Alisher Usmanov. Kroenke also controls two major U.S. sports teams--the Colorado Avalanche and Denver Nuggets--and has an option to increase his 40% stake to 100% in a third, the St. Louis Rams. Arsenal boasts the highest match day revenue (gate and concessions), $165 million, save Man U. The club reached the semifinals of the Champions League and FA Cup last season helping it to post operating income of $102 million. Most Valuable Soccer Teams Real Madrid's strategy has been to load its roster with marquee players. The club also spent the most on players--$510 million last season (transfer fees and salaries), including the purchases of Cristiano Ronaldo and Kaka for a combined $222 million. Real, worth $1.32 billion, is the second most valuable club and pulls in more revenue than any other squad, $563 million. Real's media revenue increased $35 million last season to $226 million, also highest in soccer. The club's seven-year contract with Mediapro, the Spanish broadcaster, guarantees them a total of $1.5 billion through the 2013-14 season. Real's sponsorship revenue rose $14 million last season, to $195 million. Barcelona has made tremendous strides the past few seasons both on the pitch and in our rankings. Last season the club won the Spanish title, Champions League and FIFA World Club Cup. Barcelona rose from seventh to fourth on our list and is now worth $1 billion. As a result of its great season on the pitch, Barcelona's broadcasting revenues went up $59 million, to $222 million. The club achieved its stellar results with a relatively modest payroll. Reward: operating income of $113 million, third most on our list. Outside the top five on our list, the Italian clubs are making the strongest push on the pitch and to expand internationally. Instead of continuing to negotiate individual broadcasting deals, the teams are going to negotiate as a league for the contract that begins next season, hoping to increase its revenue and expand its coverage outside of Italy. Juventus, a club at the center of a match fixing scandal in 2006, rose 9% in value and is now worth $656 million, eighth on our list. The Old Lady, as the team is known in Turin, jumped ahead of money-losing Chelsea in our rankings. Juventus' broadcast revenue increased $36 million last year, and the team posted operating income of $57 million. Rival Inter Milan, on the heels of its fourth consecutive domestic championship, increased its value 12%, the most of any club on our list. Inter is now worth $413 million, good enough to be ranked tenth.

bath_giga.jpg?w=375&h=200

ATLANTIC OCEAN A terrifying creature straight out of a movie has been discovered by a submarine exploring the oceans depths!

Bathynomus giganteus sounds like a prehistoric dinosaur but is actually a type of giant isopod. According to to Fox News its a large crustacean that dwells in deep Atlantic and Pacific waters. Bart, as the isopod has come to be known, passes the time by feeding on dead whales, fish and squid.

The isopod made quite the splash when it was found attached to a submarine exploring the ocean floor. Individuals were shocked at the sight of the creature which was pinkish in color and two and a half feet long.

Bathynomus Giganteus is the largest of all isopods and its genus was first described in 1879 by a French zoologist. The first Bart was discovered when the French zoologist went fishing in the Gulf of Mexico.

Ever since the discovery, the internet has been blazing about the creature. Stories of both shock and horror, and curiosity and admiration have come to the forefront. This new discovery makes it clear that there are still countless species out there that have yet to be discovered.

United States (US) police, backed by helicopter units swooped on a group of illegal immigrants smuggled in from The Bahamas, arresting 15 from Haiti, Jamaica and Sri Lanka, smuggled in by sea by Cubans, authorities and local media said recently.

Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) said 15 illegal migrants who arrived at Haulover Beach in Fort Lauderdale, just north of Miami, late last week Monday were detained the following day, as the investigation into the incident continues.

Still investigating

Most of the migrants "are men and women from Haiti and Jamaica, and four of them are from Sri Lanka" who were smuggled into Florida "from the Bahamas," ICE spokeswoman Nicole Navas told AFP.

She said police were still investigating how many migrants escaped arrest on arrival.

Two Cubans apparently organised the operation, the ICE said.

A security guard at a condominium called the police when he saw the migrants jump out of a boat and desperately run for cover in the bushes. Witnesses told local television that police captured many of the migrants at gunpoint.

The Bahamas is a frequent stopover point for human traf-ficking operations that charge usually from US$5,000-US$10,000 to bring migrants into the US illegally.

Financial analysts want the populous not politicians to decide the fate of the stalled extradition of Christopher 'Dudus' Coke but they also want crime culled to fillip growth.

"If you have a part of the economy controlled by men affiliated with crime there will always be a disincentive for investment at any interest rate. We cannot play... with politicians who are tied up with alleged criminals, we have to have a united voice as a country on this," stated Professor Alvin Wint professor of International business and pro vice-chancellor at University of the West Indies.

He was one of six panelists speaking at the Bethel Forum entitled the Recession, International Monetary Fund (IMF) and You, on Sunday in which analysts differed on economic prospects but agreed on societal ills.

"The church is so silent on the matter that there is a constitutionally elected prime minister and an unconstitutionally elected president with more power than the prime minister. Why is the church so silent on this matter," stated Ralston Hyman analyst, radio host and financial editor for the Sunday Herald newspaper, alluding to one of Coke's aliases which is president. The Bethel Forum was held at the Bethel Baptist Church in Kingston hosted by attorney, Jeremy Taylor.

Both analysts were the latest to join mounting calls for the US request of the extradition of Coke, the Tivoli Gardens strongman, to be handled with transparency. Last month the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ) urged Prime Minister Bruce Golding to let the nation's courts decide on matters relating to extradition requests from the United States.

Chartered accountant, Dennis Chung also an advisor on the Air Jamaica divestment committee, analogised that even if interest rates went to zero per cent that theft would still be a greater disincentive for investment.

"The reason why there is no long term investment is because even if you get money at zero per cent for agriculture there is a 90 per cent chance of praedial larceny therefore our main problem in Jamaica is crime. Unless you control crime you are not going to fill the gap left by government since coming out of (fiscal) spending," Chung stated in his address.

Other panellists included Martin Henry public affairs analyst, Cheryl Hanson-Simpson personal finance consultant and Dr Anthony Allen who discussed managing personal finances within the context of the budget and the IMF.

Golding told the nation in March that the US extradition request for Coke was flawed as the Interception of Communications Act was breached. Golding said Justice Minister and Attorney General Dorothy Lightbourne had not signed the request on those grounds. But the PSOJ insisted that the matter should not be settled on a political level but should be dealt with judicially.

The US Attorneys Office had in August last year requested that Coke be formally extradited to that jurisdiction to face charges of gun running and drug trafficking in New York.

Coke was described as a major crime lord by the US authorities who stated that they had nine coconspirators who had furnished dirt on him. He is accused of illicit dealings since 1994.

But the Government has dawdled on the issue for seven months and the inaction has prompted the US Department of State to lash the ruling party for its close links to crime lords and branded it a corrupt regime in a recently released Narcotics Report.

The report also said three police commissioners had resigned over the state's unwillingness to cut the nexus between political organisations and the criminal underworld. But Golding, unfazed, told the nation he was prepared to pay the political price for standing up for Coke, who is a point man in his West Kingston constituency which is controlled by the garrison of Tivoli Gardens, Coke's stomping ground.

The US Government has since drafted a new indictment outlining further charges against Coke and is expected to forward the new indictment to the Jamaican government soon.

Jamaica in the 1970s

April 22, 2010
Started By steppz3 Comments
WE NEED ANOTHER MANLEY BADLY!!!sigh
Michael Manley's newly elected government built up close ties with Fidel Castro's Cuba and brought in a wave of social reforms. Inevitably, this attracted the negative attention of the US.
After Michael Manley won a second election, the US stepped-up it's efforts to avoid "another Cuba." Political violence and unrest exploded in Jamaica resulting in many people losing their lives. This, coupled with the cutting of economic aid from the US put a severe strain on Manley's 'leftist' PNP government.

Metters !

This content was sent by an anonymous blogger ....

Excelsior girl sex video- Click on this link to view her profile on face book video posted by her ex-boyfriend or her jealous lover on facebook

http://www.facebook.com/pages/how-shi-luk-suh-DASH/301399684385?v=photos#!/video/video.php?v=431846464055&ref=mf

IF ZONE POLICE REMOVE THIS LINK COME CHECK MI INNA MI PM AN MI SEN ON SEEN ! *DISCLAIMER* VIDEO NOT POSTED OUT OF RESPECT 4 MZJA

HERE IS A SHORT VIDEO BY DEVA BRATT 'LISA HYPE' ENJOY !

>>>DOWNLOAD YA SO<<<

-- Edited by *~*~Sweet Applezz*~*~ on Friday 23rd of April 2010 07:39:17 AM

Reggae singer, young Romain Virgo has returned to the island expressing delight at his one month promotional tour of the US. The former Rising Stars winner said it was nothing short of superb.

The artiste, known for his hits Cyaan Sleep, Wanna Go Home, Who Feels It Knows It, Love Doctor and more, still has not taken any time off since his return. He has been doing a series of follow-up interviews with local and international media, and this weekend he again leaves the island for Barbados.

"First of all I want to say the tour of the US - meeting the fans and doing the interviews and getting the fans prepped about my upcoming album - was great. I had a good time although it was a lot of work and a real learning experience. This weekend in Barbados, I want fans to have a good time at the show and expect a great performance," said Romain.

Romain's multi-genred, self-entitled debut album will be released on the VP Records label next month.
STARLEFT_1_PEXAKfirstI2AM.jpg
D-Major

Leighton Levy, Star Writer

About a month ago singer D-Major flew to New York to perform at a friend's birthday bash. From all accounts his performance was well received but, from where he stands, it is he who came away with the greater sense of satisfaction.

"People were actually singing along," he recalled, seemingly surprised that so many people in New York were intimate with his music.

The singer who specialises in Lover's Rock, but has been exploring new sounds in recent times, said people at the party were even requesting which of his songs he should sing.

experienced

The reaction to his music was quite similar in Lowe River, Trelawny, where he performed recently. The night was cold, he said, but the reception from the audience was very warm. He also experienced more of the same during the Easter weekend on a tour to the North Coast. At the Kite Festival especially, the crowd was frenzied when he performed along with his Scikron/Big Yard label-mates.

Yes, the singer born Damian Codlin is feeling the love from his growing number of supporters both here and abroad and he intends to stoke the warmth into blazing heat with the fuel being supplied by new ideas he has been working on. "Some ideas came up over the Easter weekend and I intend to develop on those in the coming weeks," he said.

New music is also on the horizon.

Meanwhile, he says he likes the energy coming from his video, Real Friends. The video has been steadily climbing Hype TV's video charts. Tempo has also fallen in love with the video where it has been getting frequent play. That song, plus several others, including So Smooth, Smooth Sailing, My Babes,featuring Sleepy Hollow, and the popular Wife Material, have been getting heavy rotation on local radio.

The singer whose female fan base rivals that of many seasoned entertainers, is quietly pleased with the path his career is now on. "This is definitely a step in the right direction," he said.

COMFORT CASTLE, NOT SO COMFY

April 23, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION0 Comments
STARLEFT_1_P2SO2FridayDAM.jpg
Ian Allen photos-A resident pours gas into the taxi that transports commuters from the breakaway into the community. The car is stuck on this side of the road and therefore cannot go into Port Antonio for petrol.

Residents of Friday, a district in Comfort Castle, Portland, are finding life very hard ever since the road leading into their community collapsed last week. In fact, even the dead are feeling the strain.

When THE WEEKEND STAR visited the quiet, rural community on Wednesday, a truck transporting cement, steel, blocks and gravel to be used in the construction of a grave for a resident who had died last week had to stop metres before the breakaway in the road.

The bags of cement and the blocks, which were needed by relatives and had to get into the community by any means, were transported across a narrow, makeshift track by men from the area.

STARLEFT_1_P3DNUFridayFAM.jpg
Men transporting cement into the community and residents trying to leave the district fight for space along the narrow path.

broken section

One such man, Rupert, told THE WEEKEND STAR, "Somebody up dere a build a grave, so dem a deliver di cement and di block dem, but dem cyaan go pass ya so. So wi jus decide fi give dem a hand." He explained that he and other men from the area had taken it upon themselves to help the residents, most of whom are farmers, to transport their goods across the narrow strip that is left of the road.

Rupert told THE WEEKEND STAR that the body of the deceased man had to be transported by foot from the community, across the broken section of the road and onto the other side, before it could be taken to the funeral home.

As for the gravel that was dumped by the side of the road, Rupert said that would have to be taken into the community by a trusty donkey, which would be loaded with bags of the gravel. The donkey, he said, would travel to the community along a parochial road.

The sizeable district, which always suffers from landslides and breakaways in the road, is one of many that lies beyond the broken road. Residents said it's not the first time the road was damaged, but it's the worst it has been.

Lauris McQueen, an elderly woman born and raised in the area, said, "Mi want dem fi fix it man, cut di road and fix it. All dis mawnin a man affi walk wid him son come cross, it dangerous man. A night time wi affi use di light from wi phone or flashlight. Dis a di worst mi eva see."

STARLEFT_1_P6HZKFridayIAM.jpg
Lauris McQueen, a long-time resident of the community, stands at the entrance to a swing bridge leading to Cornwall Barracks, the only alternative route the residents have.

$200 journey

The majority of the road collapsed last week, leaving only a narrow section. The ingenious residents have created a makeshift bridge, using feeble planks of board, held up by boulders. One misstep could send residents into the Rio Grande.

The disaster has also been affecting the residents financially, as what was once a straight $200 journey into Port Antonio is now split into two, one leg costing $70 and the other the same $200. In addition, residents also have to pay men to transport their goods across the footpath, where other cars are waiting. This fee ranges anywhere from $200 to $500, depending on the size of the load.

Collin Lawrence, another resident, explained, "Wi live inna di community, wi haffi help wi self, but wi have life risky an a bere double price di people dem affi a pay. Yu see because up here is a farming community, stuff have to go to town, so it cost a lot."

Communications and customer service manager at the National Works Agency (NWA), Stephen Shaw, said the organisation is working on a solution. "We have a contract out, valued at just over $200 million, through which three walls, including one at Comfort Castle (Friday), are being worked on. So far, we have completed upwards of 70 per cent of two, while that at Friday was just under 20 per cent."

He said the NWA intends to have "a permanent solution as soon as possible". "There is no easy or quick fix to this problem, hence further due diligence is needed and is being done."

The fatal shooting of a man by the police in St Catherine yesterday resulted in some residents of Morgan's Lane protesting along Old Harbour Road.

The dead man has been identified as Mark Sewell, otherwise called 'Squaddie', 41, of Morgan's Lane, Spanish Town, St Catherine.

"He was the vice chairman of a community group organisation. He was not a wanted man. He told the family that he received threats on his life. This is a really sad thing for the family who is now living in fear," a relative of the deceased told The WEEKEND Star.

She said her brother was a brilliant individual who was a university graduate.

Residents say Sewell was killed in cold-*lo**ed execution style as the police went to his home with a warrant.

They claim he surrendered himself and was shot and killed.

Police account of the incident differs from that of the residents.

They told The WEEKEND Star that about 6:30 a.m., a team of police went into Morgan's Lane looking for Sewell, who was a person of 'interest'.

When they reached the house Sewell came out with a gun. He pointed it at the police who took cover and fired hitting him.

A 9mm pistol was seized from the deceased. The Bureau of Special Investigations has since started a probe into the matter

Extortionists around the Corporate Area and in Spanish Town, St Catherine, who prey on bus and taxi operators have become victims of their own scheme and are now being extorted, THE WEEKEND STAR has found.

Some 'loader men' in these areas are now being forced to pay up or pay the ultimate price.

THE WEEKEND STAR learnt that the extortion situation has taken a new dimension during a conversation with a 'loader man' in downtown Kingston last week

"Corruption inna everything now eno mi boss, some a wi haffi a pay money ya now," the character interestingly revealed.

According to him this is a fairly new development and one which only affects the less respected 'loader men'.

"Yu see a yute like me now weh nun too in a di violence ting, mi jus come out ya come hustle my food so a man like me dem a go target ... Di res' a man dem have dem bad man links weh can defend dem so dem good," he explained.

big man money

Another 'loader man' who operates in the Half-Way Tree area admitted that this was also the case there.

"Yea man since wah day some man affi a pay fi load bus and taxi eno or dem cyaa work ... If dem choose fi try work and nuh pay den a gunshot, simple as dat," he said before saying he could not talk much on the issue.

Checks in Spanish Town, St Catherine, found the same situation.

" A so the ting set mi boss when we earn a money fi load de vehicle dem we have to send the big man money out a it or else you can't work," one man told THE WEEKEND STAR.

His views reflect that of others who operate in Spanish Town and spoke about the system.

" It is why when we load a car you haffi defend di money as every dolla adds up yu seet," another man said.

The 'loader men' payments vary based on the amount of money they accumulate on any given day.

Meanwhile, the police say they are yet to pick up on the activity but they they are not surprised and will be investigating.

There are also plans by the police to target the 'loader men'.

Head of the Traffic Division Superintendent Radcliffe Lewis said that the police will be working to hinder the activities of these men by slapping them with formal charges and subsequently hefty fines.

"They will be charged with breaches of section two of the Town and Communities Act. We are going to arrest them for nuisance, intercepting and obstructing passengers ... These charges come with a $5,000 fine and if after being charged they are seen again then they will be charged again, so we're making their payout much greater than their income," Lewis said, before declaring, "My aim is to mash up di business of extortionists and 'loader men

A team of police officers on routine patrol in the Grants Pen community near Yallahs in St Thomas seized a public passenger bus with four illegal guns and over fifty 9mm rounds of ammunition yesterday. Two men were arrested in connection with the seizure.

The team intercepted a white Toyota Hiace bus travelling to Kingston. The driver and his lone passenger were searched and the latter was found with seven 9mm rounds. The men along with the vehicle were taken to the Yallahs Police Station where officers there sought assistance from the Caribbean Search Centre. Members of that unit searched the bus and found four pistols - three 9mm Smith & Wesson and a 9mm Fabrique Nationale Herstal. Four magazines and fifty-five 9mm rounds of ammunition were also found in the bus.

The men are expected to be questioned in the presence of their attorneys before being formally charged for breaches of the firearms act among other things.

SMILING WHILE SEXIN

Picture%2520039.jpg
PPL DEM SAY LEXUS N DI GIRL A QUEENS LEF YAH NOW.... HEY HEYYYYYYYYYYYYY... LEXUS MI NUH KNOW A JUS DOW KNOW BOO... LEXUS U HAVE A CASE WHEY NUH DONE YET... DI OOMAN A STICK IT OUT WID U... NOT A FOLLY GRUNG DOW CHANGE GRUNG LIZZAD LEXUS... NOW MI NUH KNOW Y DI WHOLE WORLD WAA MEK SEX TAPE... LEXUS WID ALL UR STRESS N PROBLEM U GO MEK SEX TAPE... NOT EVEN LIKKLE SEX ETTYKET U HAVE ... U LIKKLE GERMS U... BOUT U A CHEW BUBBLE GUM N A LAUGH INA DI CAMERA... GYAL BIG N FAT FEVA TUMBLE BUG DAT ALL WHEN SHE A RIDE U HOOD LEXUS HAR BELLY DRAP DUNG PAN UR BELLY.... U NUH SHAME???... DI POOR GIRL WHEN SHE SEE IT  HAR HAN SHAKE SO BAD DI CAMERA DRAP A GRUNG OUTA HAR HAN... LEXUS U NUH HAVE NO SKRRRRUPLESS.. NO HOOD PRINCIPLE, NO TONGUE PRINCIPLE AN U NEVA KNOW U NUFFY CHAW BUBBLE GUM WHEN YAW F*CK?..dis likkle brute whey have dis big hood whey tuh much fi him feva big jill a oil a  run bout di place like when flee get whey heena cow pasture..ppl like all didi wudda waa half a di c**key whey u have n u a walk n waste it... waste matters lexus...

DI GOODOLE STANDUP.... LMAOOOO

April 23, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma2 Comments
834561649_hdLnu-L-4.jpg834563322_QdDNx-L-5.jpg834564353_VXauf-L-5.jpg

DIS PERSON EMAIL IN AND A ASK IS Y EVERY OOMAN INA DANCE HAVE BOW LEG ...DI STAND UP DOW BADDA ME MI JUS WAA KNOW Y EVERY BADDIE INA DANCE A DO DI POUT AND A LEAN TO DI SIDE LIKE DEMA FASHIONISTA .... A DOW WRONG SOME A DEM FI BOW UP DEM LEG CAUSE SOME A DEM HAVE RICKETS BADDDDD !!!
SOME EIDAT EMAIL THIS IN AN QUITE FRANKLY I DON'T AGREE.... PREE
ANON SAID....

why people say Shebada is Gay ?. Shebada has NEVER been linked with any man or any acts of homosexuality !!!.

Look at the facts, he is effiminate, thus anything he does goes like a woman.. but that does not make him gay.

He has never played a gay character, he has wife and kids in his roles.. and looks woman.

Look at the facts, is how him act NATURALLY makes him effeminate, and thus people say him gay.. he does not cross dress, every body wearing tight clothes now, so one cannot use that.

Chu Chu and others cross dress and try to act what shebada does naturally.

if Shebada goes to a dance, a pure woman him dance and wine out. There is no proof ot action on Shebada part that indicates that he is gay !!! he himself has said he is straight but effiminate

Effeminate: adjective

1.(of a man or boy) having traits, tastes, habits, etc., traditionally considered feminine, as softness or delicacy.

2.characterized by excessive softness, delicacy, self-indulgence, etc.: effeminate luxury.

*~*APPLEZZZ*~* SAYS;-
lc MAN NUH FI GWAAN SO THERE IS NO WAY UNU CAN CONVINE MI SEH DI MAN NAH DIG OUT A$$ KMRT GWEH FROM YA WID DAT !!! shoot
«First  <  1155 156 157 158 159524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by