I was thrilled to spot [Precious] at a table laughing uproariously with the man sitting to her right. "I know you're having a good time and I'm sorry to interrupt," I began. My next sentence didn't come out because Sidibe shouted over the din, "Yeah, come back in five minutes!" Thinking she was joking, I laughed and pretended to walk away. When I noticed that the look in her eyes meant she was serious, I walked back to her and said, "I just wanted to congratulate you on your nomination. I thought your performance was spectacular. I even wrote a column about it." After wishing her good luck, I rejoined my friends.
Back at the table, I sheepishly related the incident to my colleague Jo-Ann Armao. "Oh! She's horrible," Armao said in her wonderfully blunt way. She told me that she saw Sidibe at the pre-c**ktails and told her that she'd seen "Precious" three times (an amazing emotional feat that only adds to my awe of Armao) and that she thought Sidibe's performance was "incandescent." What was Sidibe's response? "I guess I should say, 'Thank you.'"
Gunfire rang out near the home of "Lost" star Malcolm David Kelley this morning as cops apprehended a person suspected of breaking into his L.A. area pad ... while Malcolm was inside!!!!
TMZ has learned the L.A. County Sheriff's Dept. received a call from Malcolm -- who plays Walt on the ABC show -- to report a burglary in progress at the actor's home in Bellflower, CA at 9:28 AM.
Sources close to the investigation tell us the bad guy first attempted to knock on the front door of the house -- and when no one answered, the perp tried to break in through the back.
We're told Malcolm heard the noise and immediately called 911.
When cops arrived to the scene -- we're told the bad guy tried to flee when he heard the sirens. We're told officers fired at least one shot at the suspect outside the home -- but no one was hit.
Eventually, we're told one person was taken into custody -- and is currently being detained.
Cops are still investigating the situation.
TMZ spoke to Malcolm's rep, Dominic Friesen, who tells us, "Malcolm and his family are incredibly grateful that no one was injured during today's incident."
He adds, "While it has been a frightening ordeal, the family is working closely with law enforcement on the case and applaud their quick response and efforts."
Also has special for remaining Magnum 'Kings'
Sadeke Brooks, Staff Reporter
As he promised at the last staging of the Magnum Kings and Queens of Dancehall competition, Tanto Blacks has released a song.
The artiste, who was very popular in the competition with slangs like 'twitter', 'bluetooth' and 'budget', released his song Anything Yuh Want earlier this week. He said the song was produced by judge on the show and producer Cordel 'Scatta' Burrell.
Tanto said he decided to do the song, which he performed on the show, because "right now, the girls dem love it and some respectable man love it too. So, mi decide seh mi a guh shot off da song deh."
He said he was especially disappointed to be eliminated from the show because "people weh turn on dem TV fi see mi nah go see mi again."
Nonetheless, he is pleased that his song is on the radio and he is getting some recognition from producers.
"Mi feel good fi know seh mi tune a play pon di radio. Before, if mi did go a studio, no producer wouldn't a look pon mi. But now dem know seh a Tanto Blacks dat weh set it pon Magnum," he told THE STAR.
"Mi feel great 'bout everything weh a gwaan. I have to give thanks to Scatta, Ryan and Mixing Lab. And, mi haffi give thanks to mi fans dem 'cause without them nobody would know mi."
Although he was eliminated from the show, Tanto Blacks says he will be attending tonight's live show at Weekenz, Constant Spring Road, where he will be distributing copies of his CD. And he says: "Mi have something brand new weh mi did a guh use fi kill dem so mi haffi mek the people dem hear it," he told THE STAR, noting that he hopes to perform the song after the show is aired.
ST GEORGES, Grenada A Grenadian man, who walked into a police station here earlier this week carrying two severed human heads in a bucket, was today remanded to the Richmond Hill prison.
He faces two counts of murder.
The charges were formally read to the accused, Steve Gorrie, a 32-year-old machine operator, during a brief appearance in the Grenville Magistrates Court, in the east of the country.
They stem from an incident on Monday in which two men in their 30s former police officer Clyde Greenidge and Christopher Stafford, a farming aide were apparently beheaded.
The accused subsequently walked into a police station carrying the severed heads of the victims in a bucket and police say he calmly declared, I have two heads for all you.
The bizarre incident, which brought to five the number of people murdered here so far this year, has taken the entire country by surprise.
This morning scores of onlookers gathered outside the courtyard, some shouting insults while others expressed sympathy and concern for both the victims and the accused, as Gorrie made his brief appearance under heavy police protection.
The Bank In A Pocket video medley which was released this week promises to be another hit feature coming out of designer-turned-producer, Romeich Major's camp.
The video medley which features the likes of Versatile with the chart-topping single, Bank In A Pocket, Bounty Killer with Tired and a host of other artistes, will to be another favourite among fans.
Artiste Versatile, whose given name is Sheldon Taylor, says: "I'm hoping fans will love the video and the concept that we put together. They can also look out for a lot of big things coming from myself in the next few weeks."
School uniform theme for 'Yesterday' party tonight
The all drinks inclusive old-school party, Yesterday: Best of the '90s will have a school uniform theme for its staging tonight.
The event, which is set to unfold at the Mas Camp Village in New Kingston, will feature a number of attractions which will no doubt keep patrons entertained throughout the night.
According to Gyete Ghartey of GLK Entertainment, promoters of the popular old-school party series, Yesterday will be embarking on charitable projects for its next staging.
"We are utilising the school uniform theme and the school that is most represented at the party, will win a desktop Dell computer for the school."
Patrons have grown accustomed to the kind of entertainment and energy delivered at Yesterday parties, and tonight's staging will be no different. Three of the island's top selectors have been commissioned to spin the hits to keep patrons dancing all night long.
Reigning Digicel Rising Stars winner Brown Shuga has scored a radio hit with the single Unknown Voices on the SR and Magnified Productions label which hits out against abortion.
The single also encourages teenage mothers to exercise greater responsibility when it comes to their sexual choices.
"The disc jockeys have been showing me a lot of support for the song, and it is an important song because it is a scenario that affects so many teenage mothers. Every life is sacred, and I don't support abortion, and this song shows a typical hook-up between teenage kids and the consequences of that action. Girls and boys, use contraceptives please, and in the event that something happens, girls, bring yu yute," Brown Shuga, who is a mother said.
Brown Shuga, who recently signed a deal with the Montego Bay-based SR Productions, also shot a video for the single which is in heavy rotation on local channels. The single is also gaining popularity in the street dances in Kingston and Montego Bay.
"Right now, the buzz on Unknown Voices is great, people are stopping me in the street saying it is a great song, worse what happened in the news the other day with a mother abandoning her child in an old house, life is sacred, we need to respect each other," Brown Shuga said.
She also has a single called Rolling on the Light A Day rhythm which is getting good rotation on LINKS FM. She is managed by Kalanka, one of the directors of SR Productions. She also appeared on the popular TVJ programme, FiWi Choice Top 10 last week.
SINGER Christopher Martin is enjoying one of his best chart results to date in his collaboration with German deejay Gentleman which has allowed him entry into a market rarely charted by living Jamaicans.
The single To The Top is charting at number 5 on iTunes Reggae Singles chart in Switzerland and Martin hopes that it will propel him to tour Europe this year in support of his upcoming album. Gentleman is Europe's biggest dancehall star with singles also charting at #1 in Germany, Austria, Luxembourg, and Switzerland on iTunes Reggae Singles charts.
Digital sales are significant as they account for one-third of global music sales and the Apple-owned iTunes is the leading online music store accounting for 70 per cent of worldwide digital sales according to Reuters and Billboard.
When the Observer told Martin of his chart position he said it felt "mad". Martin charted before in Europe with Take My Wings but was particularly pleased with this result.
"It feels good," added Martin, who was studying for his final year examination for his degree in finance at University of Technology. To the Top was recorded in March this year at the Big Yard studio in Jamaica and released as a single on Gentleman's latest album Diversity, licensed to Universal Music Domestic Rock. The single was the result of both management teams expressing interest in doing a collaboration.
Martin, who gained fame via a popular television talent show a few years ago, had kept media presence by aligning with the label and management team of international reggae star, Shaggy.
Martin will release his self-titled album in mid May and support it with a Caribbean tour followed by a Japanese tour in August. "The album features Busy Signal, Assassin, Shaggy, Lady Saw, Mr Easy, and D Major," he told the Observer.
Music stakeholders, including Minister of Culture Olivia 'Babsy' Grange and music entrepreneur Charles Campbell, have lamented the waning influence Jamaican artistes are having within international reggae markets, especially Europe and Japan. Last week, less than 10 per cent of the reggae singles charts on iTunes amongst 22 listed countries were occupied by living Jamaicans -- including Gyptian, Serani, Jimmy Cliff, Maxi Priest, Third World, Shaggy, Sean Paul, and Christopher Martin.
However, the late Bob Marley dominates the charts and currently has 87 chart listing amongst the possible 220 slots in the top 10 amongst 22 country markets.
Rapper Rick Ross has responded to reports that he was robbed of a valuable chain earlier this week in California.
In an interview, Rick Ross addressed the rumors, while announcing the release of a new mixtape/EP titled Albert Anastasia with DJ Smallz, which will drop prior to the release of his official album Teflon Don.
Ross new mixtape Albert Anastasia is named after Albert The Mad Hatter Anastasia, a ruthless Italian Mafia leader who ruled New Yorks Gambino family from 1951-1957.
Ross revealed that he could possibly be hitting the road to promote Teflon Don with Sean "Diddy" Combs, who is slated to release his upcoming album Last Train to Parison June 22nd.
According to Ross, Albert Anastasia will be released over Memorial Day Weekend.
From left, the members of Cashflow Records, Dj X, Hize, Kevin Slaughter and DJ Neil. - Contributed
What started out as a hobby in 2001 has grown into a full-fledged production house for Cashflow Records.
Located in Cooreville Gardens, Cashflow Records has produced memorable songs throughout their years in the music business.
Consisting of Paul 'DJ Neil' Mitchell Jr, his brother Ernesto 'DJ X' Mitchell and Damion 'Mexican' Roy, as well as new members Kevin Slaughter and Mark Hize, Cashflow has big dreams for the future.
musical background
DJ Neil and DJ X are from a strong musical background, having been taught to play a number of instruments by their father Paul 'Father P' Mitchell. Their inborn love for music and 'Father P's tutelage set the stage for things to come.
DJ Neil told THE STAR recently, "Cashflow started out back in 2001 as a hobby. We were just doing mixed tapes at first like 'Unleash', until in 2005 we started production professionally."
Cashflow started off with rhythms such as 'Womba' with RDX, D' Angel, Delly Ranx, Mr Peppa and others, moving on to a one-drop rhythm called 'Guilty'. 'Guilty' earned the crew their first major credit, getting two hit songs in Japan including Souljah's (Konshens and his brother Delus) Pon Di Corner and Iwan's Can't Stop Reggae Music.
Other rhythms followed like 'Teardrops' and a major single with Winner from Konshens. However, it was last year's 'Better Life' rhythm that DJ Neil credited as the production crew's biggest break thus far. 'Better Life' spawned the hits like Life We Living from Vybz Kartel and The Realest Song from Konshens. Other songs soon followed including Weh Yuh Know Bout Mi from Kartel, featuring Indu.
In addition to producing, Cashflow also plays across the island. DJ Neil is the resident deejay for CVM's Hitlist, and also plays on Hot 102 while DJ X plays on jamvibes.com.
Cashflow followed up the 'Better Life' rhythm with the 'Glory' rhythm and has two dancehall rhythms ready to be released for the summer. DJ Neil said. "We have a crossover ting bout our work and we try to keep it mixed wid a little dancehall, stick to our roots of dancehall and reggae."
For the summer Cashflow will be releasing the 'Pleasure' rhythm which features Konshens, Delus, Darrio, Christopher Martin, Gyptian and Ce'Cile. There is 'The Employer' rhythm, featuring Ryno di Stinger, Lisa Hyper, the Gully Squad, ZJ Liquid and Milk.
For the future, the crew hopes to cross over on an international level, bringing its sound to the world.
Nadine Sutherland - File
After more than 30 years in the music industry, Nadine Sutherland has maintained her relevance, especially with the active promotion for her newest single Cougar.
Speaking to THE WEEKEND STAR on the set of the video shoot for Cougar, Sutherland said she will be going to the United States today for a month-long tour to promote herself and the single.
"I am getting back out there on the tour circuit and also promoting my new song. It's just more energy being put into it. I have so many years left and so many things that I want to do musically," said the singer, who recently had stints in Antigua and Dominica.
Sutherland said the level of promotion being put behind the song is also linked to the popularity it has got.
"There's really an incredible buzz on the song. Raga (Kingsley 'Ragashanti' Stewart) has had a big impact on it and it really helped the song. The word of mouth on Cougar had been so helpful," she told THE WEEKEND STAR.
"I am totally thrilled at the response it has been getting and I'm really hoping that Jamaica will love the video."
Having got her start in the music business 30 years ago as the first winner of the Tastee Talent Contest and being signed to Bob Marley's Tuff Gong label through which she released her first single Starvation On The Land a few months after, Sutherland has maintained her relevance in the music industry.
"I have to credit Rising Stars because it has opened me up to a whole new generation of people. I have made timeless music and I can say that with a lot of authority. I have at least six songs in my life that are classics," she said, while noting that her music spans many generations.
With Cougar already getting popular, Sutherland said she will be releasing two new songs in the near future.
"Once a song start do well you have to start thinking about song number two," she said.Real Name: Andre Sutherland
Birth Month: July
How did you get started in the business?
Popcaan: Through Vybz Kartel, I was bleaching at a ting name My Scheme and he came and invited me to come to the studio, that was in 2007.
What has been your greatest challenge in the business yet?
Popcaan: Mi nuh really buck up inna no greatest challenge yet.
What have you been up to lately?
Popcaan: Recording a lot, have a few videos in the making as well. I have new singles coming out like Dream for Notnice, Gangsta City for Notnice and Mama for Coolface, as well as a few more.
Do you look up to any specific artiste and why?
Popcaan: Vybz Kartel and Sizzla because di two of dem a one of a kind, a just di locks a separate dem. Di two of dem do the best type of music in the business right now to me.
Are you happy with the way things are going for your musical career right now?
Popcaan: Yes, I am.
Do you have any advice for young artistes coming up?
Popcaan: Yea, young artistes must stay true to anything weh dem a do, do it to the best of your ability and stay on top of your game at all times.
Where do you see yourself in the future?
Popcaan: Di sky is my limit, so I see myself as the next big act from Jamaica, the most influential artiste in the business. Also doing whole heap of tings for the yutes, building schools and dem tings
Mavado's sister, singer Joey Brooks. - Contributed
Wanting to step out on her own, singer Joey Brooks is ready for the music world with her sexy collaboration 'Fantasy' with deejay Stein.
The little sister of singjay Mavado and a member of his Gully Squad, Joey wants to be known in music not because of her big brother, but for her own talent.
singing in the choir
Born Camelle Brooks, Joey told THE STAR recently that she has been in love with music from a tender age. The young singer started out singing in the choir of the St John's Evangelist Church at age eight. A past student of The Queen's School and Quality Academics, 24-year-old Joey is now pursuing music full time.
The singer previously released two singles underground called Heartbeat and Move Over for Lose It Records. However, it is her collaboration with Stein, Fantasy, is produced by Jam 2, that has started to get her that much-needed buzz.
She said, "I've known Stein for a long time. He's a friend of mine and my family and he was telling my brother he wanted to do a song with me, so he came up with the concept. Everybody I know who's heard it really likes it."
Since the release of the song two weeks ago, Joey said rumours have been circulating that she and Stein are romantically involved, to which she said "That is not true, he's like family."
In the works for Joey, are some upcoming singles with Payday Music and a collaboration for an untitled song, featuring Stacious, I-Shawna, K Queens and Bridgez.
According to Joey, her love for music comes from her father who, in earlier days was a member of the group, Culture. It is her brother Mavado who is now an inspiration and guides her in her career.
love for music
"He's (Mavado) very inspiring to me. I've always looked up to him and how strong he is as a person. He is someone who has a real love for music, its his life. He's very protective of me in the business and I really like that. Right now he's just letting me grow and doesn't want me to come out as his little sister."
According to Joey, persons can expect more from her as she showcases her reggae mixed with R&B style. She is working on more singles, collaborations and doing shows.
Chris Martin - Contributed
With his college life as a finance major winding down, Chris Martin is upping the ante on his singing career with an album for the Japanese market and a tour of Africa on the immediate horizon this summer.
The album is due later this month about the same time Martin will complete his tenure as a student at the University of Technology, as he makes the transition from full-time student to full-time singer/entertainer.
blessing in disguise
"This is a blessing in disguise, it just came out of nowhere," he said of the one-album deal with Japan's Rockers Island label. "They expressed an interest and it comes up in the middle of May."
He revealed that the album will be comprised mainly his pre-existing songs as well as a few new ones.
"They'll be roughly about six new songs, but mostly songs that made me popular," he said. The album will be released exclusively in Japan and the release will be followed by a tour to promote it. He leaves for that tour in August and the trip will include shows, meet-and-greet sessions, "everything to try to strengthen the album and break out into the market fully," he said.
The past four years have been challenging for the young singer, having to balance school and a burgeoning singing career, but he believes it was a worthwhile investment now that he is weeks away from graduating. "I can't wait. I am looking forward to it," he said. "I see school as a very big investment in my life. Barring that I don't fail anything, I am finished. It's something that I would encourage everybody to do because if I can do it anybody can."
Now that he is in the final stages of study, what is the most revealing thing he has learnt about finance? "It hard," he said, laughing. "Everything in finance is related, you can't swat because you have linking terms, so you have to use past knowledge, but the most fascinating thing is how you can make your money work for you."
That phase of his life virtually behind him, Martin is now focussed on making the money that he intends to make work for him.
"With school out of the way, hopefully, we have a lot more time on our hands now to just deal with the music, and I am looking forward to it," he said. "I think I have always been doing good music but what we want to do now is break into various markets, different markets; the Spanish market, the African market, breaking into Europe the real, real way, the Japanese market, which we are doing now."
"We're trying to make music for everyone," he continued. "Just trying to step outside the boundaries of just trying to be comfortable, be uncomfortable, explore."
Nairobi, Africa, comes up later this summer but, before that, Martin flies to Germany in June to shoot the music video for To the Top, the song he did with Gentleman, and which the latter is to release as a single soon. The song also features on Gentleman's album Diversity, which was released on April 9.
The Bruce Golding-led administration is standing firm behind a recent decision to radically change how it disseminates government information in commercial media.
Information Minister, Daryl Vaz made it clear Thursday that while the government is willing to accommodate discussions with local media owners, the administration has no plans to reverse its decision to repackage its messages.
The administration seems unmoved by a scorching campaign mounted by the Media Association of Jamaica (MAJ) against its revamped radio and television messages.
Under the law, free-to-air radio and television stations are mandated to allot 30 and 45 minutes respectively, per day, to government programmes produced by the Jamaica Information Service.
Instead of utilising the time en-block, as was the norm, the administration has decided to fragment the times into five-minute programmes which are aired with high frequency.
This has infuriated media owners who complain that the radical change has disrupted regular commercial programming.
Thursday the Information Minister told reporters that the administration is being proactive in how it communicates government programmes.
He asserted that decision will stand in spite of talks now underway with media owners.
"There is nothing that we are doing that is outside the law, we have already gotten our legal advice and the fact is that the 30 minutes and 45 minutes is no longer to be used en-block and that is a straight strategy of the government to make sure that we are able to communicate more often to the people of Jamaica," Mr. Vaz said.
Mr. Vaz states that the government's position has been validated by the Attorney General's Department as well as the Broadcasting Commission leaving what he calls limited scope for the administration's position to change anytime soon.
"I have received some correspondence to which we have to respond to again just to say that the discussions both formally and informally are reaching to the point where there is not going to be much more scope, there is not much more to discuss or negotiate,"
"There are two positions on the table, one is that the government is prepared to implement the changes but it is never the best option to get into back and forth," he said.
He says he does not consider it unfair for the government to make the changes despite the existence of the Public Broadcasting Corporation of Jamaica (PBCJ).
Media managers have suggested that the PBCJ would be a better vehicle for these frequent government messages as it broadcasts 24-hours daily on cable.
Boy them sey trouble doan set like rain and for OLINT investors this is so true. The latest development comes from the fact that the Turks and Caicos Bank is going into liquidation. Yes OLINT had US$10M tied up in it.
The decision by the courts to close down Turks and Caicos Bank (TCI Bank) means that funds from investors in the foreign currency trading outfit Olint are entombed in that bankrupt entity and now subject to the process of liquidation, adding further drama to this protracted affair.
It was hard before to receive their investments, now we wonder just where this will end.
Since it's release last week, Tanya Stephens' album Infallible has been the proverbial talk of the town. The lyrical maverick's seventh studio album has been found to be nothing short of intense, inspiring and of course littered with witty innuendos.
The artiste says, "When I write, I try to stay true to the emotions I know people feel when they go through particular situations. There's nothing a listener hates more than an unrealistic situation. I hope my fans love what I have to offer on this project."
The 18-track free album which was released by the independent label, Tarantula Records, already promises to be ranked among some of Tanya's best work, with songs ranging from the somber, Still Alive, the suggestive Bury A Bone and Siddung Pon It to the more emotive Just For Me - there's something for everyone on the album.
"I like variety. That's how I grew up. I lived in a home where every kind of music was played and now, that's something that comes out in my music," said the artiste whose most compelling work spans the early 90s to the present, with hits such as Yuh Nuh Ready Fi Dis Yet, It's A Pity, Boom Wuk, These Streets and more.
"I hope everyone will continue to download and play the album because it's free and this is something that I wanted to do for the fans for showing their support through the years, and I want to say thanks to everyone for showing so much love since the album's release," she said.
DOWNLOAD HERE: http://www.mediafire.com/?ml5tyuzmnei
No students turned up on Thursday morning as they were advised by administrators not to return until next week. School officials are hoping the time away from the school will help to relieve the fear from the minds of the students. RJR News understands that about 9 o'clock Wednesday morning, a group of other boys from an adjoining community in Frankfield went to Lampard in search of a teenage boy to retrieve an illegal gun. It is said that the teenage boy who was armed spotted the group and opened fire. This reportedly occurred in the vicinity of the Basic School. Pandemonium broke amongst teachers and students at the school, after they heard the explosions. Teachers' attempts to calm the frightened children proved futile and so parents were called. The teenaged boy managed to scare off the group of boys who fled the area. He too escaped. People in the town of Frankfield expressed shock and horror that such an incident could occur in the community just days after six year-old Evon Spencer was found murdered at his home. |
Yardflex commentary
We are observing with alarm the closure of a few music outlets with the latest being the Liguanea based Mobile Music which is now going through a closing down sale process.
Derrick Harriott was also quoted in the story as saying he is surviving through loans from friends and a little royalty.
He feels that the authorities are not doing enough to protect the intellectual property of artistes and its main stakeholders.
Its a sad reality and this problem is being faced the world over, but in Jamaica it is even more chronic. Bootleggers are not afraid to come out on the streets and sell the illegal stuff.
They are even now walking around with their little boom boxes and peddling their wares.
The funny thing about it is that we have observed them on the streets, DVDs and CDs spread out in front of them and police officers passing to and fro with them comfortably doing business there.
Maybe its that we dont really understand the lawbut shouldnt there be some kind of respect for the cops in terms of doing illegal stuff.
Its sad that producers and artistes invest so much in their craft and at the end of the day cant even reap anything from it.
While we see with them too, we have to acknowledge one argument put forward by someone who supports the bootlegging business.
According to her she will buy an original CD and only like one song on it, but when she buys from the man in the streets, she gets all the number ones on one CD for a minimum cost!
Its a vicious cycle and the sad thing is that there seems no real solution in sight, except to produce your CDs and DVDs with an anti piracy software of something.
Peace out.
It was a weekend of electrifying performances from the artiste, Mr. Vegas. The singjay who has been busy scorching things up across the Caribbean and the USA yesterday, (Tuesday), returned from a series of ICC World Cup Twenty20 Cricket-related performances.
To commence his weekend, Mr. Vegas alongside Shaggy, Fayan Lyons and the Forever Blessed crew, which includes singer, Natel, dancers, Boricia and the Jamaican "Michael Jackson" gave an intense performance at the ICC World Cup in Guyana on Friday.
"That show was great. After each performance, you could hear the thousands in the crowd roaring for more from the artistes. It was an amazing feeling," said Mr. Vegas about the performances at the matches which took place in Guyana between Pakistan, South Africa, Australia and India.
Immediately after his performance Mr. Vegas headed to the airport for yet another performance in Baltimore on Saturday night, where he performed for a packed and frenzied venue of fans.
There was still no time to rest for the chart-topping I Am Blessed artiste - he was on the first flight out of Baltimore on Sunday and headed back to the Caribbean for another ICC World Cup show in St. Lucia. The show which also featured the likes of Bunji Garlin, Fayan Lyons and the Forever Blessed Crew proved to be the perfect union of Soca, dancing and Dancehall and the crowd couldn't get enough.
Still, the performances didn't come to an end there. Mr. Vegas rounded off his extended weekend with high energy, in Antigua on Monday night, where he gave a remarkable performance to another packed venue. He returned to the island yesterday.
Dancehall/reggae veteran Sugar Minott is said to be gravely ill, as doctors have reportedly diagnosed him with a heart condition.
Minott has reportedly been diagnosed Angina Pectoris, a heart condition where there is a severe chest pain caused by lack of *lo** and oxygen supply to the heart muscle, which is generally due to obstruction or spasm of the hearts *lo** vessels.
As a result of his medical condition, Minott is unable to travel, and will not be performing tonight at Kingston Class Reunion in Toronto, Canada; but the show will go on, and he has asked his daughter Tamar Minott to perform his catalogue.
He is now resting under doctors supervision.
PRIME Minister Bruce Golding has sent condolences to the people of Nigeria over the death of their President Umaru Yar'Adua, who passed away yesterday at the age of 58.
Golding said YarAdua will be remembered for his work to promote peace and stability in Africa through his support of Nigerian peacekeeping efforts.
We join the people of Nigeria in mourning the great loss of their leader who had been ailing for several months. It is our hope that his work to ensure peace and prosperity in the region will be continued,"Golding said.
The body of an unidentified man was found in a metal drum yesterday morning on Asquit Street, in theKingston 12 area.
The STAR was told by the Constabulary Communication Network that the discovery was made around 7:45 a.m. by residents in the area. When the police arrived, they found that the hands and feet had been bound and had several chop wounds all over the body along with a number of other bruises.
The body is of dark complexion, slim build and about 173 centimetres (5 feet 8 inches) tall. The police also theorised that the dead man was in his early 40s.
The Denham Town Criminal Investigation Bureau is conducting investigations.
The 22-year-old Bardbadian singer is busy with her European tour, but that doesn't mean she isn't leaving time for fun. Rihanna was recently spotted in Paris doing some shopping at a Louis Vuitton boutique as well as a sex shop called Toy's Me. She looked beautiful while out and about in Paris sporting a trench coat and boots.
Rihanna is no stranger to all things sexual. You can tell from her recent performances on stage with all that crotch grabbing along with her playful yet sexual lyrics in her song "Rude Boy," that this girl likes to have some freaky fun. She owns her sexuality like none other, just another reason to love her.
The world of dancehall is made up of countless stars but few wonders. While most like to be in the spotlight, for entrepreneur and music lover Johnny Wonder, working behind the scenes and making things happen is what he does best.
Johnny Wonder is a name known to everybody in dancehall circles, yet few outside are familiar with the name. The Sunday Gleaner recently spoke to the humble Wonder about his work for the last 25 years bringing Jamaican music to the world. Growing up as a teenager in New York immersed in the popular culture of hip hop, Wonder never grew up imagining he would have been a frequent visitor to the Caribbean and a lover of Jamaican music.
At the age of 15, Wonder made his first contact with local music while hanging around Washington Square Park listening to the likes of Black Uhuru, Sly and Robbie, Gregory Isaacs, Dennis Brown and others. The reggae fever soon caught the youngster who, in the 80s, opened two reggae retail stores in Manhattan and playing out on his own sound system, Street Life International, at popular reggae joints. Wonder soon linked with legendary producer, King Jammys, who was then making a name for himself in the business.
hooked on ja
In the mid-80s, Wonder made his first trip to Jamaica and was hooked. Working with the likes of Risto Benji, Junior Cat, Pan Head, Bounty Killer, Wonder, alongside King Jammys and VP Records, started distributing reggae/dancehall music to the world. Wonder found himself in the late90s working with TVT Records, an independent US record label founded by Steve Gottlieb. In the midst of distributing music, Wonder found time to manage the early careers of Bounty Killer, Elephant Man and the Scare Dem Crew.
After a brief break from reggae in the late 90s, Wonder couldnt stay away for long.
I came back into reggae in like 2002 and I would send out emails with records I liked, Johnny Wonder told The Sunday Gleaner. I went back to work for VP Records and that didnt work out so what I do now is do an email blast and distribute music, working with artistes, taking them around and promoting them. I work with everybody. We push reggae music and artistes and go into the streets with dem when they are nobody, push them to mek dem become stars. Been doing that since Jammys days.
Wonders email blasts, which are done under his company, 21st Promotions, send local music to the globe. From local to international disc jocks, everyone seems to get their music from Johnny Wonder first. Wonders email list has 2,600 contacts from Hawaii to Europe, the United States, Australia anywhere there is a love for Jamaican music.
Now the email blasts its ridiculous, its big. Even right now I got eight or nine things in my email I gotta download. Now I dunno what I did but everybody wants me to send out their things, he said.
While its been years of hard work in the streets doing promotions, Wonder said he has no plans of leaving the business.
Reggae is just something I have a passion for, he said. Reggae and dancehall is a challenge. I like to see people come from nothing to something. I do it for the love of music and trying to help it out.
Outside of his email blasts and promotions, Wonder has also done DVDs chronicling and highlighting young talent. The first DVD, Dancehall Draft Picks Volume One, showcased then young stars Busy Signal, Aidonia, Mavado and others, which was released for VP Records. According to Wonder, the DVD did well and he is now editing volume two, which was produced by Hapilos Entertainment and will be released independently.
For the future, Wonder has big dreams for Jamaican music.
Im working on everybodys projects. I want to release records and compilations and albums and working on digital distribution like what we used to do, he said. I know there is a market for it so I wanna fill that void.
One of Wonders latest accomplishments is having been added to the Reggae Grammy Committee from where he plans to continue making a difference in reggae music.
A man is on the run and a correctional officer dead following a fatal stabbing at Phase One, Seaview Gardens, St Andrew, after the deceased was reportedly caught by the other at the home of his child's mother.
The incident occurred at an area of the community known as 'Vietnam' on Monday.
Dead is Michael Andy, 36, of the community.
Police reports are that Andy visited Eagle Pathway, another section of Phase One, to see his girlfriend around 12:45 a.m. when another man, said to be the woman's ex-boyfriend, turned up.
Police said an argument developed between the two men and a knife was used to stab Andy several times. He later died at the Kingston Public Hospital.
Residents, however, gave a different version of the incident, saying the deceased man was 'Joe Grind'.
spied on lovers
They said the alleged attacker, who is being sought by the police, revealed the ordeal before fleeing the community. He reportedly told the residents that he suspected his child's mother and Andy were in a relationship and so he conducted his own investigations.
A source from the Seaview Gardens Police Station admitted to hearing the explanation.
Residents said the man spoke about hiding in the closet on the day of the incident and then met up with Andy when he visited the house.
"Yea man! Di man come talk wah gwaan before him run weh. Everybody know seh di girl a him babymother and a deh him sleep most nights. Him seh him hide in a di closet and all drop asleep and hear moaning and when him look, him see seh a Joe in action," one resident told THE STAR.
The incident has since become the hot topic on the lips of residents, some of whom blame the deceased for his own death by claiming he was wrong to go to the house.
"Him should a neva gone there. Di baby daddy nuh live deh eno, but him always deh bout. Di yute should a smarter than that," another resident said.
CANADIAN police say the arrests of more than 70 people including alleged members of the Jamaican Shower Posse have failed to prevent street gang activity in that country, reports the Toronto Star.
The newspaper quoted critics of law enforcement who said that such operations which cost millions have failed. The operation earlier this week involved 1,000 police officers and 105 search warrants.
Meantime, police named two alleged leaders of the Shower Posse gang held in the pre-dawn raids on Tuesday. Courtney Ottey is accused of violating his bail having been under house arrest since November on charges including participating in a criminal organisation.
He has been charged with trafficking cocaine and failing to comply with a recognisance.
The other, Derrick Smith, is accused of supplying firearms and drugs. Police said Smith regularly sending back money to Jamaica.
The notorious 'Stinger' gang is again the source of fear and discomfort for residents from communities off Maxfield Avenue, St Andrew, as it has now demanded that all residents get permission to entertain visitors.
The last time the gang - which comprises a large number of severely bleached faced men, made headlines - they were reportedly using force to search the residents' cellphones.
Now, in their latest brazen tactics, there is said to be a new 'anti-informant' initiative.
"Di man dem seh dem a try weed out di informer dem 'bout di place, eno. So this a just a next way weh dem come up wid," said a resident who requested anonymity.
According to the source, the gang members came up with the latest strategy after it was suspected that a family gave information to an 'outsider', who then contacted the police, following a dispute about a month ago. This was said to have led to the arrest of one of the thugs.
The arrested man was later freed by the police, as no statement was given against him, even though another man was said to have been stabbed, THE STAR was told.
orders from the top
After the incident, word was said to have been sent from top mobsters that persons should get permission before inviting strange persons to the community.
"Di man dem seh dem nuh want no strange face in a dem community 'cause dem a informer - at least a dat dem seh. Mi naw lie. Wah day yah, my cousin come link mi from country and me neva really ask dem still. Mi did just tell dem seh mi family a come stay wid mi fi a while," another resident, who gave his name as Howie, said.
Failure to comply with the new order can result in severe beatings, residents said. While residents say they are complying with the thugs' orders, many persons are complaining among themselves.
When THE STAR contacted the western Kingston police, they admitted the Stinger gang was wreaking havoc in sections of the division.
During a recent visit to the Denham Town Police Station, crime chief for the division, Deputy Superintendent Leslie Ashman, told THE STAR that the police were working towards dismantling the gang once and for all.
"They are giving a lot of trouble," DSP Ashman said. "We are working on some things, and we need to get them."
February 14th, 2010 at 9:49 pm
[...] THE WONDER OF REGGAE (JOHNNY WONDER & 21ST PROMOTIONS) | JJEVAF**** Caribbean wonder | Pxleyes Photoshop Contest Watchellen datlow Tails of Wonder and Imaginationbook giveawayNo Wonder Girls gaining fame in Taiwan with their entertaining I wonder what the NZ version would say « Red AlertCouple will spend Valentine's Day on the ice | Bradenton Sarasota Google Wave and collaboration using P2 « Johnny Chadda .seIneffective Affiliates Fail to Satisfy and Perform! | One Little Matador (Official Remix) (Prod By Dj Wise & Dj Notah) H.P Sharing Wonder: Jennifer Kaban (video) : A Blog Around The ClockThe Unknown Risks of Flab On Your Stomach | dudegeek.com View the Contact Powered by Terms [...]
February 15th, 2010 at 2:27 am
[...] Go here to see the original: THE WONDER OF REGGAE (JOHNNY WONDER & 21ST PROMOTIONS) | JJEVAF**** [...]
February 15th, 2010 at 9:18 am
[...] post: THE WONDER OF REGGAE (JOHNNY WONDER & 21ST PROMOTIONS) | JJEVAF**** Share and [...]
February 15th, 2010 at 4:55 pm