Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

EEEEK!!! RAPPER TRINA TAKES SOME VERY GRAPHIC PICS!! (WARNING - DISTURBING IMAGES INSIDE)

1270213913trina_derek_blanks.jpg

1270213914trina_derek_blanks1.jpg
1270213915trina_derek_blanks2.jpg

DSC05169.jpgDSC05172.jpgDSC05318.jpgDSC05320.jpgDSC05321.jpgDSC05322.jpg
A PLEASANT GOODEVELIN TO U GINA DI CRICKET, MAM MI COME FI MEK A COMPLAIN BOUT DI DISTURBANCE ADI EQUATAH TING DEH WHEY U WAA TRICK WI SEH A BANG...A DOW KNOW HEF A TUH MUCH HARE U DID HAVE MAM BUT IS LIKE DI HAIR DRESSAH DID A SEE DUBBLES MAM.. DI BANG DEH FRAM ONE TEMPLE TUDDY NEX AND A LIKKLE BIT PASS DI TEMPLE PAN DI LEF..NOW MAM.. BAD ENUFF WE SEE U INA DIS PINK N BLACK TING YAH.. WI NOW HAFFI A DEAL WID U GRABBIN UP U BRES DAT NUH HAVE NO GRABBIJ ABILITY N U A BITE U LIP MAM. DERE IS ALSO TWO DANKIE BITE AS FAR AS WI EYE CAN SEE PAN EACH LEG MAM... Y U DO DIS TUH WI MAM?...

Popcaan making big 'Dreams'

May 22, 2010
Started By nuff money5 Comments
STARRIGHT_1_P7JDEPopcaaAM.jpg
File - Popcaan

Garfene Grandison, Star Writer

Last year saw the rise of a few new talents in the Jamaican entertainment industry. One of these such talents is Andre Sutherland, more popularly know as Popcaan, a budding star in the Gaza Family.

It was a milestone year for popcaan in 2009 as his career took off with hits like Nuh Ordinary Girl, and then again in 2010 with New Year, Fake Friend and Up Inna Di Club.

popular catchphrases

His most famous line, "Weh you get da new Clarks deh, Dawdie" has become one of the popular catchphrases taken from the smash single Clarks, which is currently sitting atop the #1 position on Mediaguide's chart for Reggae radio singles in the US.

Popcaan is enjoying a steady meteoric rise in the ranks of dancehall's prolific deejays. He continues to enjoy a virtual hammerlock on FM radio with the sizzling success of Clarks, the high-octane collaboration with Vybz Kartel and label mate Vanessa Bling, also know as Gaza Slim.

The single is also getting major rotation on HOT 97 in New York introducing the young deejay to a new vast audience.

This rising star has been keeping himself busy in the entertainment industry, promoting his Clarks collaboration as well as his newest single Dream.

He recently shot a medley video, Gangsta City alongside Vybz Kartel and Shawn Storm. The singjay continues to pound out sizzling singles.

Last week, he performed in Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, at a club called Mystic and this week he will be jetting off to The Bahamas with members of the Portmore Empire to rock a stage show in Freeport. According to the sentiments in his new single titled Dream, Popcaan is "truly living the dream."

His latest Dream appears to be semi-autobiographical as it aims to tell the story of his journey from an average 'ghetto yout' to his current standing as one of Adidjahiem Record label's top talents.

In a recent interview with THE STAR, Popcaan had this to say:

"Is a real-life story. No fiction ting. Every ghetto youth hopes to one day rise out of the slum and become a success, I am on my way to fulfilling my dream and I want my life to be an inspiration for anyone out there trying to overcome the odds in Jamaica. It's really about my life and I know that most 'ghetto yutes' can relate to my struggles."

Popcaan has big dreams for himself and he doesn't plan on stopping here. He acknowledges that he would love to release an album one day but that isn't his main focus right now.

His new mixed tape that will be released at the end of the month is his main project. This mixed tape he claims will consist of a few new tracks, but mostly his old material.

SEWAGE-POND FISH BEING SOLD

May 22, 2010
Started By nuff money2 Comments

Can cause medical problems if consumed

A serious health problem is looming as several persons have being catching fish in sewage ponds near Old Harbour and selling them to unsuspecting customers.

THE STAR has learnt that these persons are fishing at ponds located at Old Harbour Villa, St Catherine.

"This is not a joking thing when mi say man wid hook and line a catch out the fish and go sell them and dat can't be right at all," one concerned female said.

Other persons during interviews expressed similar views and added that it's hoped that the practice will be prevented by authorities.

When THE STAR spoke to senior medical practitioner, Dr Raymoth Notice, he said that there are health implications for those who consume any of these fish.

"Health problems can occur. It is not to be taken lightly, there might be a condition called oral-faecal transmission and that can result in a form of hepatitis," Dr Notice said

He added that the fish were placed in the ponds to clear them of mosquitoes.

He further said that problems can be caused by any animals that eat organisms from such an environment as the ponds.

Several persons who spoke with THE STAR said the practice is especially prevalent on Sundays. It is said that the catchers have being expressing their delight at the large size of the fish in the pond.

Checks made by THE STAR revealed that the fish are being sold for up to $150 per pound.

The police yesterday issued a public appeal to the attorneys representing Christopher 'Dudus' Coke to turn their client in.

Through a release, the Police High Command requested that legal representatives take their client to the nearest police station for the extradition warrant to be executed.

The police also called for residents of Tivoli Gardens and Denham Town to dismantle the barricades they have erected at main entry points across the communities citing that it is illegal to erect such blockades, which hinder the security forces from carrying out their duties.

In ending, the release stated; "Law abiding citizens have nothing to fear from the presence of the security forces as the police intend to conduct our operations in a professional manner in accordance with the law and in the interest of all concerned."

Meanwhile, Prime Minister and Member of Parliament for west Kingston, Bruce Golding, has called on the members of his constituency to remain calm and to continue to go about their legitimate business despite the tension that exists. He said they should allow the courts to deal with the extradition matter.

Golding said that he is concerned about the roadblocks that have been mounted in sections of the constituency.

"I have been assured that the security forces are determined to carry out their duties in a professional manner in order to prevent any recurrence of the terrible atrocities that occurred in 2001," the Prime Minister stated through a release.

He also urged his constituents to cooperate with the security forces in the lawful execution of their duties.

DSC_0829.jpgDSC_0856.jpg

MUMZELL, WHEN IS ONLY ONE BAKKLE A LIKKA U HAVE  U DOW PUT IT OUT BOO.... DAT BLOND HAIR DONT FIT U...URE SUCH A PRETTY WOMAN N U DONT KNOW HOW FI CARRY URSELF SIMPLE...ANYHOW NAGE....NOT KAWZ GARY DEH A FARRIN DAT GI U REEZIN FI DON HIM CAPRI... U CAPRI PIRATE U..PULKA POO N PULKA PANG UP BY MUMZEL DEH IS WHEY UNNO DID A GUH? N FINALLY DI GIRL WID DI CRAWB UP UNDANEET WHEY  DI POOR TATOO MAN  CELLS DEM INA HIM FACE MUSSY DEAD MY GIRL... A TINK MEDIA TAKE OUT NEED TO SEE U BOO MI NEVA SEE DIS YET NEVA..SIMPLEX A CUD SEE DAT U NEVA WAA TEK DAH PICHO DEH... GOAT NOSE , PIG HOOF SIMPLEX...WHEY U A DUH DESSO?

_MG_6827.jpg_MG_6905.jpg_MG_6907.jpg_MG_6908.jpg_MG_6967.jpg_MG_6981.jpg_MG_6905.jpg_MG_6983.jpgDSC_0002.jpgDSC_0825.jpg

BAH-LADIN ......

May 22, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma0 Comments

huh NO COMMENTfashion%2520icon%25202010%2520011.jpgfashion%2520icon%25202010%2520008.jpgfashion%2520icon%25202010%2520007.jpgfashion%2520icon%25202010%2520009.jpgfashion%2520icon%25202010%2520014.jpg
STARRIGHT_1_PZTAUIMG491AM.jpgSTARRIGHT_1_P7SQEEdwardAM.jpg
File photos Mavado and Edward Seaga

Singjay reported to have been personally requested

Sadeke Brooks, Staff Reporter

Mavado's manager Julian Jones-Griffiths says his artiste feels honoured, as he has been requested to perform at the birthday party of former Prime Minister Edward Seaga next weekend at Devon House, St Andrew.

"Mavado was invited to Edward Seaga's birthday party. Actually Olivia Grange called and said that Mr Seaga personally requested for Mavado to come and sing at his 80th birthday party," Jones-Griffiths told THE STAR.

"It was very surprising to us. It is a great honour and we will be there for sure. There will be a lot of dignitaries there, so it is a good place for him to show that there is a good side to him," he added.

However, Jones-Griffiths was quick to make it clear that Mavado was not affiliated with any political party and he does not want the performance to be linked to that either.

At the event, he said Mavado should be singing On The Rock. In addition, he said there will be performances by the Dragonnaires, Jimmy Cliff and Etana.

THE STAR tried to get in contact with Mr Seaga on several occasions yesterday but was unsuccessful.

Meanwhile, Jones-Griffiths said Mavado has "been working on a whole heap of new songs." He said the artiste recently did a remix of Wayne Marshall's song, My Heart. He has also done work with DASECA and Sean Kingston.

In recent times, Mavado also made headlines when he appeared in Drake's music video for Find Your Loving that was shot in Jamaica. After the video premiered, Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett warned local acts to be careful about the way they portray Jamaica.

Edward Seaga.
There are suggestions that Edward Seaga, former Member of Parliament for West Kingston should be called in to help quell the unrest in Tivoli Gardens.

The proposal has come from Professor Basil Wilson, Dean of Graduate Studies at the School of Criminal Justice at Munroe College in New York.

He says this will prevent a *lo**y confrontation involving residents and the police who now have a warrant to arrest Mr. Coke.

According to Professor Wilson, assistance should also be sought from other individuals, such as Councillor Desmond McKenzie, who have significant influence on the residents.

"I think it's important for Prime Minister (Bruce Golding) who represents West Kingston to make an appeal to Tivoli Gardens and to Coke to settle this matter peacefully. I think Mr. Seaga, who is an elder Statement and who represented that constituency for many, many decades, should also step forward and appeal for sanity.

"I think they need to also call on members of the clergy to make certain that this is matter than can settled peacefully," Professor Wilson said Wednesday evening on RJR's current affairs discussion programme Beyond the Headlines.  

Gays convicted

May 19, 2010
Started By jubalson5 Comments

BLANTYRE, Malawi (AFP) A Malawi court yesterday convicted a gay couple who staged an illegal same-sex wedding of violating "the order of nature", which could land them with up to 14 years in prison.

Tiwonge Chimbalanga and Steven Monjeza were arrested on December 28, following a symbolic wedding and have been in jail ever since.

Homosexuality is illegal in Malawi, as in most African countries.

"The state has proved beyond reasonable doubt that the two were married," Magistrate Nyakwawa Usiwa Usiwa said during the more than three-hour hearing in the southern African country's capital.

The judge convicted both men of engaging in gay sex which he said was "against the order of nature", adding that their sentence would be handed down on Thursday.

In unusually graphic language, the judge convicted Monjeza of "having carnal knowledge of Tiwonge through the anus, which is against the order of nature."

Chimbalanga was found guilty of "permitting buggery", which the judge said was similarly contrary to natural order.

The couple gave no reaction as the ruling was read out. Both were well-dressed but handcuffed before the courtroom packed with local and international media, with a heavy police presence outside the court.

Prosecutor Barbra Mchenga urged the judge to hand down the maximum sentence of 14 years in prison, saying "their offence was well planned and well executed."

"The case has left a scar on Malawi's morality," she said. "The two did not show any remorse or regret for their actions. They seem to have been very proud of their action."

visa-5_w370.jpg

THE United States will be increasing visa fees worldwide, including Jamaica, effective Friday June 4.

All persons whose interviews fall on or after that date must pay the new fees. Applicants with interviews scheduled for June 4 and who have already paid according to the old fee schedule must now return to NCB to pay the difference for their applications to be processed.

Under the new fees petition-based visas cost more than non-petition based visas.

New fee scehdule:

Non-petition-based visas:

• Visitor (B1/B2) US$140
  • Crewmember (C1/D)    US$140
  • Student visas (F1 and M1) US$140
  • Treaty Trader/Investor (E1 or E2) US$390
Petition-based visas:

• Temporary skilled workers (H-1B) US$150
  • Temporary seasonal workers (H-2B) US$150
  • Intra-company transferees (L1) US$150
  • Performers (O and P) US$150
  • Fiancé-based visas (K) US$350
A release from the US Embassy said that that the increased fees were necessary, "to better reflect the actual cost of providing services". It said that until now only 94 per cent of costs were recovered by visa fees, with the monthly US$5.4 million shortfall being borne by the US taxpayer

Although the treaty trader (E1) and treaty investor (E2) visa classes are not petition-based, they will now be set at US$390 to reflect the real cost of processing document-intensive visa categories.

For more information visit the US Embassy website: http://kingston.usembassy.gov

Dudus7_w370.jpg

POLICE, despite being branded as helpless and ineffective for failing to clear blocked roads in sections of West Kingston, say Tivoli Gardens is not untouchable.

"We understand the concerns. Tivoli Gardens is not untouchable but we are going to be strategic and we will not lose sight of the main objective," a senior policeman told the Observer.

By main objective the cop meant the arrest of reputed Tivoli Gardens don, Christopher 'Dudus' Coke who has been wanted by United States authorities for gun and drugs running since August last year.

The decision to leave the barricades and avoid confrontation with armed thugs in the troubled enclave was deliberate, he said.

"Remember this is a war of wits. We could have gone in with superior force and remove them at the cost of all hell breaking loose. That is not the goal. We have to assess all angles and keep in focus where this whole thing started. The security forces know that they blockages were put up as a diversion to start chaos and switch our focus."

The police are also maintaining that their reports of residents being held hostage and their cellular phones being confiscated by thugs are true despite denials by residents who marched through downtown, Kingston yesterday in support of Dudus.

"I am sure nobody in Jamaica believes that. Do you think 600 persons just went out and bought white shirt all by themselves? We are sticking with our guns," the cop said.

Police are armed with a warrant to arrest Coke on sight but the placard-bearing protesters warned the authorities to leave their don alone as he was 'next to God'.

Downtown streets empty

May 21, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION2 Comments

ACTIVITIES in sections of downtown, Kingston moved at a snail's pace, a day after hundreds of protesters dressed in white marched through sections of the economic hub in support of their embattled don, Christopher 'Dudus' Coke.

Stores were open but there were few customers.

"Store owners are conducting business but the streets are empty," one resident told the Observer.

Sections of the capital city has been tense since Prime Minister Bruce Golding announced Monday that an order to proceed with the extradition of Coke had been signed.

Dudus case for court May 31!!!

May 21, 2010
Started By jubalson1 Comments

THE hearing for the application of the judicial review filed by attorneys representing reputed Tivoli Gardens don Christopher 'Dudus' Coke will be heard on May 31.

The hearing was set for this afternoon but was postponed because Director of Public Prosecutions Paula Llewellyn who is a defendant in the matter was only served a summons just minutes before the hearing was set to begin.

On Wednesday lawyers for Coke filed a motion for the review of the Justice minister's decision to sign the authority to proceed with the extradition of Coke before Chief Justice Zaila McCalla.

The latest development means that security forces still have the authority to arrest Coke on sight as the warrant was not stayed by the Chief Justice.

Coke is wanted by United States authorities for alleged narcotics and gun running. The US government has since last August asked the local authorities to extradite Coke to face the charges.

After eight months of dawdling Prime Minister Bruce Golding this week relented and announced that the document to begin the extradition process was signed.

GunC20052010.jpg
50 calibre Grizzly Big Boar rifle - file

The police have claimed that thugs from Tivoli Gardens are in possession of a 50 calibre Grizzly Big Boar rifle.

This weapon, described on the Internet site, www.largrizzly.com /web/guest/bigboar, as a gun that has the capacity to " blow its target to pieces", weighs over 30lb. The website also said the gun was "created for accuracy, and the match grade chamber provides unsurpassed accuracy by using a bullet that was designed to shoot straight and far." The weapon costs over US$2,000.

In a release from the Jamaica Constabulary Force, the police said they have been informed that criminal elements in Tivoli Gardens have such a weapon and have also stockpiled petrol.

This revelation comes a day after thugs from the area boasted about the artillery possessed by men from the community. In a story published in the Wednesday STAR,one thug had said, "Di man dem have some ting dung yah yu si, a show alone nuff people ago see dem gun deh inna. Some new ting mi a tell yu bout, di man dem naw play ... . Mek dem run in cause it ago wicked pon dem."

The release again urged law-abiding citizens of Tivoli Gardens and Denham Town to call the police if they need help and to report all criminal acts to them. The police also sought to assure residents that they need not fear as they would be carrying out any operation in a professional manner.

GunA20052010.jpg

FORMER Commissioner of police, Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin says Prime Minister Bruce Golding's call for the identity of the cop who acquired evidence against Tivoli Gardens strongman Christopher 'Dudus' Coke to be revealed is a massive red herring.

Golding had stated in parliament that the wiretap evidence was acquired in breach of the island's Interception of Communications Act and demanded that the cop's identity be revealed so he could be charged.

ADMIRAL-2_w370.jpg

Lewin..Constable John Doe broke no law

But Lewin, who spoke hours ago at the RJR Editors Forum, said the cop broke no laws and operated with the full approval of his superiors.

The cop is now in protective custody in the United States.

"I am going to change his name to Constable Red Herring," Lewin said. "Constable Red Herring did his job with the full knowledge and approval of his chain of command. I am satisfied that all actions taken were in conformance with Jamaican law and protocols and I stand by and defend those actions."

The Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) has argued that the cop was not authorised to disclose any information in his possession arising from interception of Coke's telephone conversations as ordered by the court. The state contends that the court never intended by its various orders that the information would be released to anyone other than the authorised officers.

Coke is wanted for narcotics and arms running by the United States authorities who have requested that the Jamaican government extradite him to face the charges in a New York court.

Coke is the reputed don of Tivoli Gardens, a community that lies within Golding's parliamentary constituency of West Kingston. Coke is a JLP supporter.

The evidence was handed over to US authorities during Lewin's tenure as police commissioner and included recorded conversations between Coke, other persons and a cooperating witness about 'dealings' in narcotics and firearms
************TEST*******************

-- Edited by *~*~Sweet Applezz*~*~ on Tuesday 18th of May 2010 06:03:18 PM

32247_393067356610_505156610_4607148_4505747_n.jpg
Tank,

JLP rejects Golding's offer to resign

-------------------------------------

The Jamaica Labour Party hierarchy has revealed that Prime Minister

Bruce Golding has offered to resign over the controversial Manatt,

Phelps and Phillips issue, but party chairman Dr Ken Baugh says the

party is not accepting Goldings offer.

wah unu seh kitahmm?????
Today, 26 year old Glenford Grant, the man accused of killing his own father was arraigned in Belize City Magistrate's court. He appeared without a shirt and wore a disoriented look. So much so, that he had to be asked by the magistrate if he understood the charges. Grant allegedly gave his 80 year old father Clifford Grant a brutal beating in his Oleander street home on Friday; the elder Grant went into a coma and never regained consciousness; he died on Saturday. Today in court, no plea was taken as it is an indictable offence and Glenford Grant was remanded until July first. Now, what would make a son beat his 80 year old father to death? According to family members, he went to ask his father for twenty-five cents to buy a cigarette. When his father replied that he had none, his son started to beat him. Grant's 12 year old niece told police that on Friday at 2:00 she heard a commotion in the living room between her grandfather and her uncle and locked herself in the bedroom and peeped through a keyhole where she saw her uncle punching and stamping her grandfather. She ran to a neighbor's house who called the police and ambulance. They found the octogenarian unconscious. He was taken to the KHMH where he remained in a coma until he died on Saturday afternoon. A post mortem conducted yesterday showed that he died from hemorrhage due to head trauma. ggrant.jpg cgrant.jpg http:// www.7newsbelize.com/sstory.php
HANGHAI, China Jamaica's Usain Bolt, the world's fastest man and the unrivalled champion at striking a pose after a big win, says a signature stance is all about personality.

The 23-year-old's trademark 'To the World' move pointing to the sky while c**king his arm as if firing an arrow has been adopted by everyone from US National Football League wide receivers to the 2012 London Olympics mascots.

ALeqM5jGgjr_FcTxIFPK8DG3_6pXc66o2w_w370.jpg

"For me a pose is just a part of you. It's just who you are. The best thing you can come up with is part of your personality. It's just what you want to do," Bolt said today with a smile at a news conference in Shanghai.

"It's nothing specific. You might see something you like or you'll do something at home. Anything is good as long as it is good for you," he said ahead of the IAAF Diamond League meet in Shanghai on Sunday.

Bolt's poses and enthusiasm have been credited with helping put the fun back in the world of athletics. In Shanghai, he will compete in his first 200m of the season.

Chinese hurdles star Liu Xiang recalled watching Bolt who won three gold medals at the Beijing Games in 2008 speed down the track at past competitions.

"He looks like someone from another planet, not like us earthlings," Liu said.

At this year's Vancouver Winter Games, speed skating triple gold medallist Wang Meng brought out her own poses, cupping her hands behind her ears, fingers spread wide, to encourage the crowd to make noise.

But Bolt was unable to offer any feedback on Wang's moves.

"Personally, I never watch the Winter Olympics," he said.

"I'm not a fan of the cold weather."

They only stole three dollars and a cell phone, but 2 brothers, 19 year old Alrick Carcamo and 25 year old Emmerson Neal were sentenced to 7 years behind bars when they were found guilty of robbery in their absence today in the Number two Magistrate's Court. Carcamo was also found guilty of keeping a firearm and ammunition without a gun license. Magistrate Sharon Fraser sentenced both Carcamo and Neal to Seven years for robbery. She sentenced Carcamo to two years for the firearm and two years for the ammunition with the stipulation that the sentences are to run concurrently and consecutive to the seven years. Carcamo, therefore, will serve a total of nine years. The incident occurred around Ten Fifteen P.M. on May 21, 2009, at BTL Park on Newtown Barracks. The complainant, 26 year old Freeman Smith, a sideman for Benny's, testified that he was approached by Neal who asked him for eleven dollars. Smith said he told Neal that he was low on cash. Carcamo then approached him and told him they only wanted ten dollars. Smith said Carcamo lifted his shirt and showed him a gun then punched him in his face. Smith said Carcamo then stole his cell phone and three dollars. Neal and Carcamo were apprehended by the police as they were about to ride off. When the police searched Carcamo they found a Nine millimeter pistol with five rounds of ammunition in its magazine. Neal who disappeared the same day the trial began is a fugitive of justice. Carcamo who testified and admitted that he was at BTL Park but denied that he committed the robbery did not appear at sentencing today. He claimed that the police did not find any gun on him. Like his brother, he is now also a fugitive. acarcamo.jpg eneil.jpg http:// www.7newsbelize.com/sstory.php
The man who says he wants to industrialize his native Belize through his music was officially announced the country's Music and Goodwill Ambassador this morning at a press briefing held at the House of Culture this morning. Moses "Shyne" Levy accompanied by label owner Irv Gotti spoke to the gathering of mostly local musicians and the press corps about his plans to globalize Belizean music and its artists. And because such an effort will require significant resources and connections, who better to do it than the man himself, Moses Levy, better known as "Shyne". Jim McFadzean was at the briefing and has this report. Diane Haylock "I want to point out very clearly that this is an honorary position." No pay with the job says NICH's Director, Diane Haylock, but who needs it. Moses "Shine" Levy "I believe with my resources in the music industry and in the music entertainment period and being a globe trotter, there are unlimited things that we can do for the arts and culture in Belize and just Belize in general." With the key declaration: "Money is no Object" out the way, the musically coined "What have you done for me lately" was right on cue. Patrick Jones, reporter "Is this just Shyne using Belize to further his own career?" Moses Levy "The day I got off the plane, the first place I went to was a juvenile home, the following week I brought Professor Charles Ogletree, Harvard Law Professor, Mentor of President Obama, to speak at Wesley College, the following week I brought Dr. Baas Drysinger, Professor at John J. Law School to speak to the women at St. Catherines and Nazarene, so this has nothing to do with an ambassadorship as I spoke earlier, this is what I'm going to do regardless of a title." Bredda David Obie "If someone offers me situation like that, in many cases I would say well let's talk with these people and let me get a vibe from them, see if I really want to do this or not, so I wasn't really happy about that evolvement, but I understand the world of politics," Moses Levy "Well, this has nothing to do with politics." Bredda David Obie "Hold on hold on, let me finish what I'm saying please. I just said that I understand the world of politics, so I understand one of the reasons how we got to this point, there's nothing wrong with that please." Moses Levy "As far as I am concerned you know, I sold a couple million records, throughout the world, so for me what I can do for my country is for my country, this has nothing to do with a music industry per se, you know, being a goodwill ambassador as well as a music ambassador, I'm here to help my country so this is not even a conversation, this is incumbent upon me to do everything in my power to help my country, that's why I am here. I could be in the Turks and Caicos right now or Japan and anyone of these fascinating luxurious place living it up that's not my commitment, that's not my life, my life is to make my country better." And the man of the music hour says, more than money, he's got what it takes to be Belize's best Music Goodwill Ambassador. Moses Levy "Besides selling millions of records I am a man with impeccable integrity which means when I say something that's what it is." Reporting for Seven News, I'm Jim McFadzean. And to prove that he is in fact going to put his money where his mouth is, Belize's Music Goodwill Ambassador announced that a percentage of monies earned from his World Tours will go directly to a fund established to develop local talent. While he didn't say what percentage, Levy said $150,000 has already been deposited to the account, a hundred thousand of which he has personally donated. dhaylock.jpg shyne.jpg bdavid.jpg http:// www.7newsbelize.com/sstory.php

-- Edited by silence989 on Friday 21st of May 2010 04:00:41 PM
A policeman who is on interdiction and working as a security guard is in serious condition in the KHMH tonight after being stabbed today. Roman Canul was working at Boundary store in Orange Walk town when Eckorth Montejo was going to pay for a shoe. But Montejo told the clerk he didn't have any money. The clerk instructed Canul to take away the shoe. But Montejo grabbed the shoe, and hit the security guard with it. Canul chased him and that's when Montero allegedly stabbed him multiple times to the leg, midsection and chest. Canul was transported to Belize City for emergency surgery this afternoon. He is under interdiction for handling stolen goods. http:// www.7newsbelize.com/sstory.php

According to one of our FAIRLY reliable sources out in Atlanta, R&B singer The Dream and his new bride Christina Milian are having marital problems. Word on the street is that the two have been spending LESS and LESS time together and people are starting to whisper.

The insider tells MediaTakeOut.com, "They don't even really live together anymore, he lives [in Atlanta] and she lives in Los Angeles. Some people are saying that they're already separated. I don't think they're [separated] yet, but its coming."

DANG . . . we really hope those two can work it out. We really like them as a couple . . .

dudus-8_w370.jpgdudus-7_w370.jpgdudus-6_w370.jpgdudus-5_w370.jpgdudus-4_w370.jpgdudus-3_w370.jpgdudus2_w370.jpgdudus1_w370.jpg

THE Opposition People's National Party (PNP) has expressed concerns about a possible threat to democracy by protests close to Gordon House in support of Christopher 'Dudus' Coke and criticised what it says is the silence of Prime Minister Bruce Golding.

The protests were sparked by the issuance of an arrest warrant for Dudus who the United States wants extradited on gun and drug trafficking charges. He is the don of the Tivoli Gardens community, nearby Parliament and also within Golding's constituency of West Kingston.

"It is apparent in this whole episode that the prospect of the capture of the Jamaican state by criminal elements is not a distant one, but represents a clear and present danger which must be responded to directly by the Government and the security forces with the support of all well thinking Jamaicans," said a statement from Peter Phillips, former security minister under the last PNP government.

Protests, which begun this morning, were also made by Tivoli Gardens and Denham Town residents against media reports that they were being 'held hostage' behind barricades erected by thugs in the area to prevent easy access by security forces seeking to arrest Dudus.

"The situation is made remarkably worse by the fact that in the face of this challenge to the authority of the state, the prime minister who is also the Member of Parliament is bafflingly silent and immobilised, the PNP said.

passapassa1420080515NS.jpg
Patrons enjoyoying a previously held Passa Passa. - File

Although a tense calm remains in sections of the corporate area since government announced that the extradition request for Christopher 'Dudus' Coke would be signed, it seems events are still being held and no shows have been cancelled.

On Monday afternoon, there was tension in downtown Kingston, with some businesses closing early as rumour spiralled that the extradition request had been signed.

extradition

There was even more tension on Tuesday, as Prime Minister Bruce Golding on Monday night, announced that the extradition request would be signed.

Speaking with THE WEEK-END STAR yesterday, Carlette DeLeon of Headline Entertainment said none of the artistes on the company's list have had shows cancelled.

"They were concerned about the prevailing situation and the tension that is present. Thus far, we are unaware of any promoters taking steps to postpone their events," she said.

Meanwhile, selector Boom Boom said people have been turning out at events he played at or attended this week, even since the tension started.

up and running

"Di events dem still on. Dem still up and running and the people dem still a come out and party," he said, noting that he will be leaving the island for shows in England next week.

"People a go get scared but as long as no shooting nah gwaan people will go out," he added.

Throughout this week, Boom Boom said he played at Uptown Mondays, Boasy Tuesdays and Giveaway Wednesdays. He also attended Weddy Weddy and he was scheduled to attend Alliance Happy Thursdays and Xpression Thursdays last night.

However, he noted that Passa Passa and Set Me Free Tuesdays, which are usually held in west Kingston, were not held.

A source from west Kingston also confirmed that the events were postponed.

"To how the place a run all a di event dem deh pon hold. People will come out but dem fraid," he told THE WEEKEND STAR.

Another promoter, Galdiez, said the tension is not likely to affect his event, Galdiez Fridaze Pool Party that will be held in Linstead tonight.

"It wouldn't affect events this side. It would more stop at Spanish Town. People still a do dem thing and go out," he said.

peace march

As for the Alliance camp, from which he hails, Galdiez says none of those artistes have had shows cancelled or postponed. He said the only event that has been postponed is the peace march that was scheduled for Monday.

When a few artistes were contacted they were only willing to disclose that none of their shows had been cancelled or postponed. But they were reluctant to give a general comment on the issue or state their names.

"Mi nuh have nutten fi seh bout dat. Mi nuh waan mix up inna dat at all," one artiste said.

LOS ANGELES, May 20, 2010 (AFP) -- A Los Angeles judge issued an arrest warrant for Lindsay Lohan yesterday after the troubled actress failed to appear for a court hearing related to her 2007 drink-driving case.

Lohan, 23, had been ordered to appear before Judge Marsha Revel to explain allegations that she has had not completed a set number of alcohol education classes stipulated under the terms of her probation.

However a lawyer for Lohan said the actress remained stranded at the Cannes Film Festival in the south of France after having her passport stolen.

Judge Revel was unimpressed and ordered Lohan's arrest when she returns to the United States.

"She should have made sure she either didn't go to Cannes or made sure to be back two days earlier," Revel said at Beverly Hills Courthouse.

A bail amount of 100,000 dollars was set for Lohan. "If she doesn't bail out she'll be in jail," Revel warned.

The judge also ordered Lohan -- who has been photographed extensively this week enjoying the Cannes party circuit -- not to drink alcohol.

She must also be fitted with an electronic bracelet which monitors alcohol intake and submit to random drug testing.

Lohan's attorney Shawn Chapman Holley told reporters that Lohan had intended to attend Thursday's hearing before being stuck at Cannes.

Holley also defended Lohan's decision to attend Cannes but would not say if the actress had traveled to France against her advice.

Revel had already extended Lohan's probation by one year at a hearing in October to address claims the actress had failed to attend enough alcohol education classes.

Lohan was arrested for driving under the influence in May 2007. After a stay in rehab, she was caught two months later for drunk driving and cocaine possession. The arrests led to her serving a mere 84 minutes in jail. She was also sentenced to 10 hours of community service.

The queen of Hollywood nights and a favourite target of the paparazzi, the former Disney child star was once considered one of the most promising actresses of her generation.

DemarcoShootE20100204RM.jpg
Demarco - File

Demarco's Show It video featuring singer Craig Jackson will be featured as the 'New Joint of the Day' on BET's 106 & Park today.

A video for the R&B flavoured song was shot in February at the Privilege nightclub in New Kingston by the popular editor turned director i.am.the.kritik.

This will be Demarco's first appearance on the popular American show. After being premiered as the new joint of the day, persons can vote for the video to keep it in the video line-up.

Demarco's manager Karl Palmer told THE WEEKEND STAR recently, "the video has been doing good, getting some plays on MTV Jams and got like six or seven million views on worldstarhiphop.com. It was also playing on a show on BET Centric."

greatest achievement

He added, "this is Starkutt's greatest achievement in music since being out there. It's great being on MTV Jams and on worldstarhiphop.com."

According to Palmer, Demarco is currently in Baltimore working and will be back this weekend. His debut album for the US market has been completed and will hopefully be released soon. Show It will be on that album which is tentatively called I'm Not Perfect. Another album will also be released exclusively in Japan on June 23rd called Standing Soldier.

VoiseMailB20050727CW.jpg
Craig Jackson(left) of Voicemail

STARLEFT_1_PXGKYmfestLaAM.jpg
Johnny Gourzong - File

Reggae Sumfest and Red Stripe have joined forces once again, after Red Stripe's decision to stop sponsoring local live-music events.

In a controversial move in late 2008, brewing company Red Stripe announced its decision to withdraw sponsorship of live-music events which they claimed facilitated "violent and anti-social lyrics." Having been the title sponsor for Reggae Sumfest for six years prior to that decision, the reggae festival was left without a title sponsor as the company paused their sponsorship plan. Now Red Stripe has returned to show its support for the island's music and culture and to Reggae Sumfest.

Johnny Gourzong of Summerfest Productions, organisers of the event, is without a doubt pleased to have Red Stripe back on board. Gourzong said: "Very pleased, very happy. Red Stripe is playing a big role and are certainly one of the sponsors to come to our rescue this year along with Digicel, Wisynco, the Jamaica Tourist Board and the hotels like Iberostar. We're definitely welcoming them back."

According to Gourzong, the 'platinum sponsor', which Red Stripe has taken up this year, is the highest level of sponsorship for the event outside of the title sponsorship.

Marguerite Cremin, head of corporate relations for Red Stripe, told THE WEEKEND STAR, "Sumfest is a very integral part of music in Jamaica. A number of people are aligned to and has an affinity with Sumfest and we realised it has an integral part of celebration. Diageo is all about celebrating life and music is a part of that celebration."

commitment

In a release, Renee Wong, assistant brand manager for Red Stripe, explained that the return is only one part of its commitment to continue the development of the Jamaican people.

Wong said: "With our re-entry in the festival comes a new approach that promises to be a treat to our consumers. We will leverage the festival in a big way that only an iconic brand and company such as Red Stripe could. Jamaica can look forward to a fantastic Reggae Sumfest which will see tremendous engagement of consumers leading up to the much anticipated three-day festival."

The company came under fire from the dancehall community when it withdrew main sponsorship from Reggae Sumfest and Sting. In a statement released in 2008, Red Stripe stated: "Over the years, a very negative trend of glorifying violence has crept into some of the music, causing much consternation among well-thinking Jamaicans and others at home and abroad. This has far-reaching and damaging implications for the industry and for the country as a whole."

Adding: "While our most recent efforts through the Coalition of Corporate Sponsors have met with some measure of success, some performers continue to propagate, through their live performances, violent and anti-social lyrics. Red Stripe will not be party to this, and thus we have taken the very difficult decision of withdrawing sponsorship from live-music events."

According to Cremin, Red Stripe's decision to rejoin the sponsorship of Reggae Sumfest is due to an improvement they have seen in communication between themselves and the dancehall community. She said, "There has been an improvement in terms of communication between Diageo, the broadcasting community, the private sector and the music fraternity. We have reached a good place and are moving forward."

Cremin says there has been regular dialogue among themselves, the artistes, their managers who all view it as a "win-win situation." Sumfest kicks off on July 18 with the Beach Party.
The Jamaica Police High Command is reporting that they have uncovered some very sinister plans by gunmen in Tivoli Gardens who are seeking to block the security forces from entering the community.

Gunmen are now placing tires atop the roof of several high-rise buildings in Tivoli Gardens and are also storing gasoline nearby, said the police.

The police believe the intention is to start massive fires on top of these buildings to ward off helicopters.

However, in an attempt at a peaceful resolution, the Police High Command says it has written to a number of attorneys who they believe to be part of Mr Cokes defense team.

The Gleaner/Power 106 News Centre understands that in those letters the Police have proposed that Mr Coke turn himself in on the condition that bail will be granted.

Mr Coke is wanted in the United States on guns and drugs charges.

Tensions have been mounting in his Tivoli Gardens base since Monday when Attorney General Dorothy Lightbourne signed off on the United States request for his extradition.

Shortly after the extradition request was signed, Director of Public Prosecution (DPP), Paula Llewellyn secured an arrest warrant which was handed over to the police on Tuesday.

Since then several roads in the community have been blocked by residents who are trying to bar the police from entering.

PARIS, France (AFP) -- A lone thief broke into a major Paris gallery and made off with a $120-million haul of modern masterpieces, including works by Matisse and Picasso, officials said yesterday.

The thief sheared off a gate padlock and broke a window to get into the Musee d'Art Moderne before carrying out the brazen night-time heist. The paintings were found to be missing just before the museum was to open yesterday.

Paris mayor Bertrand Delanoe said that one of the museum's alarms had been malfunctioning since the end of March, and that it was still awaiting repair when the thieves struck.

The major tourist attraction near the Eiffel Tower was sealed off as police sought clues to who was behind the latest stunning robbery that raised new questions about museum security in the French capital.

"According to estimates by the management of the Musee d'Art Moderne, the value of the stolen canvases totals between 90 and 100 million euros," said a spokesman for Paris city hall, which operates the museum.

Police and judicial sources had earlier said the haul was worth 500 million euros (617 million dollars), but art experts said this was unlikely.

"The Picasso might be worth 40 to 50 million euros, the Braque 10 to 20," said Didier Rykner, editor of the specialist magazine The Art Tribune.

"But in any case, we're talking about a theoretical value, they don't have a market value, because you couldn't openly sell them. They're too well known."

Video surveillance cameras recorded only one person entering through a window. Police gave few other details of what happened, although the city spokesman said an alarm system had been over-ridden.

Besides the Henri Matisse and the Pablo Picasso, works by Georges Braque, Ferdinand Leger and Amedeo Modigliani were also plucked from the walls of the city-run museum, one of the most-visited in the French capital.

The stolen paintings included Picasso's cubist Dove with Green Peas, which the Spanish artist created in 1912, and his French contemporary Matisse's "Pastoral" from 1905.

The others were Braque's Olive Tree near Estaque, Modigliani's Woman with a Fan and Leger's Still Life with Candlestick.

Delanoe expressed shock at the theft which he called "an intolerable attack on the universal cultural heritage in Paris".

WASHINGTON, USA (CMC) -- Officials in the Barack Obama administration are expressing concern that the massive oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico could spread damage to Cuba.

US State Department spokesman Gordon Duguid said that the Cuba and the United States were holding talks on how to respond to the spill, underscoring concerns about the oil reaching a strong current that could carry it to the prestine white beaches of Cuba's northern coast.

The blown-out well has been spewing oil since the offshore drilling rig Deepwater Horizon exploded off the Louisiana coast on April 20, killing 11 workers and sank two days later.

It is still unclear just how much oil is spilling from the well but government scientists have been surveying the Gulf to determine if the oil had entered a powerful current that could take it to Florida and Cuba.

BP and the US Coast Guard have said that about 210,000 gallons of oil a day is gushing from the well. The official estimate of the amount leaked to date is six million gallons.

BP has tried several unsuccessful methods to contain the oil, but earlier this week managed to insert a tube into one of the leaks and says it has been sucking about 42,000 gallons a day to the surface.

Meanwhile, United States scientists said that light oil sheen has entered the Loop Current that flows north from the Caribbean Sea and east around the Florida peninsula.

The Loop Current is described as a "fast river of water" that circulates from the Caribbean Sea into the Gulf of Mexico and under the tip of Florida.

Scientists said that the sheen comes from the oil spill from a massive underwater leak in the Gulf of Mexico.

The US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) said planes first spotted the sheen on Tuesday. University researchers and independent groups also have been tracking the sheen, amid concerns that the Loop Current could transport oil for hundreds of kilometers.

The oil could ruin beaches and marine habitats in several US states and Caribbean nations, they said.

Inside Tivoli Gardens

May 21, 2010
Started By jubalson8 Comments

LOOKING on from outside, the barricades and sand bags mounted at the entrances to Tivoli Gardens give the impression of a community at war.

However, a walk through the West Kingston power base of Christopher 'Dudus' Coke and the ruling Jamaica Labour Party yesterday offered a different picture.

Roving8_w370.jpg

"We are in fear, but it is not from what is inside the community," one woman who appeared to be in her 60s told the Observer during a tour of a section of Tivoli known as Top Ten.

The woman said that despite the perception on the outside, her community was a peaceful place.

As she spoke, a group of children was seen playing in the area.

In another section of Top Ten, scores of mostly women were seen preparing placards to join yesterday's street demonstration in support of Coke and in protest against a claim by the police that residents there were being held hostage by thugs. The police had also said that they received information that residents' cell phones were being confiscated by gunmen.

"The man no do nobody nothing. We can walk free; is lie them a tell say we cannot come out," said one woman.

Another woman, who gave her name as Mizzie, held up a cell phone and said: "See it there, we have we cellular phones. Them fi leave the youth alone; the youth is for the people."

Diehards defend 'Dudus'

May 21, 2010
Started By jubalson9 Comments
DudusMarchK20100520IA.jpg

Embattled west Kingston strongman Christopher 'Dudus' Coke received a fillip yesterday as thousands of vocal residents of Tivoli Gardens and adjoining communities took to the streets supporting him.

The protesters, mainly women and children dressed in white, started their demonstration at the intersection of Industrial Terrace and Spanish Town Road just after 8 yesterday morning.

Initially, they concentrated on the reports by the police that they were being forced to stay at home and that their cellular phones had been confiscated by thugs backing Dudus.

"Dem a talk about our phones take away and if we leave we can't come back and that is a lie," declared one angry protester.

"Anybody can come into Tivoli and see the situation. We can go and come as we want, we can walk peacefully and see mi phone here," the woman added.

Her friend rushed to address the Gleaner team as she blasted the police for their claims.

"We a no hostage, a lie the police a tell because them no like the 'Big Man'. We happy and them fi leave we alone," the scantily clad woman said.

But the focus of the protesters quickly changed as they voiced their opposition to any plan to extradite the man they call 'The President'.

"No Dudus, no Jamaica. Dudus a feed the whole a wi and them fi leave him. The police them always have problems with the Coke dem. If you have a pickney now and him name Coke, by the time him reach 20-year-old them a go accuse him," another protester charged.

The protesters also had harsh words for Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller and the party's point man on the extradition matter, Dr Peter Phillips.

"Portia must tell we if the PNP did extradite Anthony Brown and George Flash when them did wanted. How them did have them man deh free and now them want fi extradite Dudus. A just politics them a play," one woman said, referring to two men who topped the police most-wanted list in the 1970s and '80s.

Not about politics

"Dudus tell we fi wear white today and not green because this is not about politics, and the PNP, dem a play politics and Dudus only want peace," another protester said. Green is the colour of the Jamaica Labour Party which the residents of Tivoli support.

With a strong police presence and marshals from the community ensuring that persons did not block Spanish Town Road, the protesters chanted loudly for more than two hours before a shout from one of their leaders saw them heading across Spanish Town Road into the heart of downtown Kingston.

Around St William Grant Park and across East Queen Street went the crowd which was growing by the minute.

Then came the shout "mek wi march to Gleaner", signalling a sharp left turn on to Duke Street towards the North Street offices of The Gleaner Company.

But by then, the police had had enough and after allowing the demonstrators free rein through the heart of the commercial centre, the cops used their vehicles to form a line on Duke Street in the vicinity of the country's Parliament building, Gordon House.

A single explosion from a policeman's gun was enough to convince the protesters that the cops were serious and that it was time to head along Beeston Street down North Street and back into Tivoli Gardens.

There were signs of tension in sections of west Kingston shortly after Prime Minister Bruce Golding addressed the nation and declared that extradition papers regarding Christopher 'Dudus' Coke would be signed.

As THE STAR drove through the area a number of roads running off Spanish Town Road into Tivoli Gardens and Denham Town were blocked, preventing vehicular traffic and stood as a sure sign that no trespassers were welcome.

watchful

The Darling Street police remained watchful throughout the night as they stood guard in the event of any form of attack.

When THE STAR drove past the police station policemen armed with their rifles could bee seen crouching and looking towards Tivoli Gardens which is just a few meters away.

Upon approaching the community men could be seen running and jumping a fence which lead into Tivoli Gardens while the police watched their movements.

area is tense

"Not too wonderful," was the response of one the of the watchful policemen when asked how things were going.

A senior officer afterwards added, "The area is tense nothing unusual so far but we are prepared."

Residents also said several roads throughout Denham Town and Tivoli Gardens were blocked shortly after the speech.

The roadblocks are just one sign that the west Kingston residents will maintain their stance in defending their strongman.

When contacted yesterday, thugs from the community said they will be waiting and watching what develops now that the government has agreed to grant the United States extradition request for Dudus.

"Wi deh a pree dem still eno," one thug claimed before boasting of his all-black ensemble including a mask which he says will come in handy if there was an attack from security forces.

Another thug also said, "Some road bout di place block so wi deh yah a gwaan watch di vibes ... "

adamant

The thugs are adamant that they will take on the security forces if they forcefully try to get a hold of Dudus.

"A my don dat and me naw run weh from my place ... Mi a hol' it off," another thug declared.

Meanwhile police sources from the division say they are aware that persons are still willing to fight for Dudus but chose to not speak on the matter.

Coke is wanted in the US to face gun and drug trafficking charges.

-- Edited by Dagga16 on Wednesday 19th of May 2010 11:38:05 AM

POLICE are calling on residents of Tivoli Gardens and Denham Town in West Kingston to dismantle barricades and for lawyers of area don Christopher 'Dudus' to surrender their client.

Residents have erected at the main entry points and across roads in an apparent move to protect Dudus, believed to still be in the community, whom the United States wants extradited on gun and drug trafficking charges.

Roving8_w370.jpg

Police are waiting to execute a warrant for his arrest and want lawyers retained by Dudus to take their client to the nearest police station to allow the extradition warrant to be executed.

"The Police are informing these residents that it is a breach of the law to erect barricades which impede the movement of the security forces during the lawful performance of their duties," said a statement from the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) this morning.

Residents are also being asked to call police if they need assistance and to report any acts of criminality.

"Law abiding citizens have nothing to fear from the presence of the security forces as the police intend to conduct our operations in a professional manner in accordance with the law and in the interest of all concerned."

Such a call is unlikely to be heeded as yesterday residents protested in their hundreds in support of their don and against claims that they were being held hostage in the community and their cellphones confiscated by gunmen.

Persons can call Police Control at 119 or senior duty officers at 927-3168 and 946-1248 to report any concerns or any information coming to their notice.

MichaelJohnsonE20091130RM.jpg
Michael Johnson

Johnson: Bolt needs better technique

Former double World-record holder and Olympic champion Michael Johnson is convinced that sprint sensation Usain Bolt could go even faster if and when he is able to correct a few mechanical flaws.

The American, analysing footage of Bolt's 100m triumph in Beijing, along with his high-performance director Lance Walker, believes the young sprinter still has a long way to go in terms of refining his sprinting technique.

"His lateral movement is horrible," Johnson the athlete turned coach, was quoted as saying on The Guardian website (www.guardian. co.uk/sport).

"That's why you see that side-to-side movement from him as he gets out and up into his maximum velocity, the sides of his body are collapsing as opposed to having good efficient technique up top."

"His entire side of his body is collapsing, so he's not able to strike and recover. He's losing a lot of time there."

Johnson, who still holds the 400m world record, saw his 200m record of 19.32 erased by Bolt at the Beijing Olympics with a new mark of 19.30. The lanky sprinter erased his own mark a year later, setting a new record of 19.19 at the Berlin World Championships.

Bolt's exploits in the 100 metres over the last few years have been just as impressive. In 2008, the athlete set a new world record in the 100m, replacing countryman Asafa Powell's previous world best of 9.74 with a time of 9.72. At the Beijing Games, Bolt lowered that mark to 9.69, before going even lower at Berlin World Championships where he ran an astonishing 9.58.

Based on his analysis, a part of Bolt's advantage in the 100m event has to do with him being able to achieve angles coming out of the blocks, that traditionally taller sprinter have been unable to achieve.

"He's able to come out of there [the blocks] and achieve the type of angles that these guys are," Johnson said analysing the footage. Having stayed with the field up until 20 metres, once the sprinter straightens up he is tough to beat the rest of the way.

"By 20m the race is already over," Johnson was quoted as saying.

The Christopher Dudus Coke extradition affair has begun to impact the Jamaican airline industry.

Operator of Jamaica Air Shuttle, Chris Reid, says he has been forced to move two of his Beach 99 aircraft from the Tinson Pen aerodrome to the Norman Manley International Airport (NMIA) for safe keeping.

Jamaica Air Shuttle flies between Montego Bay and Kingston.

According to Mr Reid, the Airports Authority of Jamaica (AAJ) has warned that its unable to offer the required security at Tinson Pen as the facility neighbours a number of volatile communities.

Since Prime Minister Bruce Goldings admission in Parliament about the Manatt affair last Tuesday, airline bookings have plummeted as no one wants to travel to Kingston, said Mr. Reid.

He says so far, Jamaica Air Shuttle has lost US$8,000 or J$712,000 per day.

Meanwhile, officials at the Norman Manley International Airport say they have been tracking the developing Manatt, Phelps and Phillips matter.

However, they say the tense moments have not caused any noticeable difference in the number of arrivals into that facility.
An American couple living in Georgia, United States, have chosen a very unique method to search for a Jamaican child to adopt.

The couple, Delroy and Lesa Thompson, who are both teachers, have placed an advertisement on the popular networking site Facebook, seeking the attention of all pregnant Jamaican women who might possibly want to consider adoption.

When THE WEEKEND STAR contacted the couple, who has also created a website dedicated to their search, the wife revealed they wanted a Jamaican baby because "my husband is Jamaican and I love the people.We believe we can provide a loving home for a child that would become our own."

long time

She said the couple has received approval from the Child Development Agency (CDA) in Kingston, but decided to take their search to the Internet, because they realised that finding a child from a children's home could take a long time.

"Based on our research we understand that finding a baby on our own and then going through the CDA for a private adoption is less time consuming.As teachers we cannot afford the US$20,000 to US$30,000 it cost to go through an adoption agency in the United States. By thinking out of the box, we decided to use Facebook to target women in Jamaica with our interest in adopting from the island," she said.

curious persons

The couple said they have so far received 'dozens of responses' since they placed the ad less than a week ago. They said, however, that some emails were from curious persons, while others were from well-wishers. They said they did receive calls from persons who provided them with leads.

Aware of the fact that there could be persons looking to rip them off, the couple said they will not be sending money to anyone who contact them and said all arrangements would be made through the CDA office in the parish of the child's birth.

On the website they created, the couple showcases a picture of their home as well as home videos of their house and lifestyle in general. They also provided detailed information about each of their backgrounds, revealing that together they have several years of experience working with children.The couple has no children of their own but say they have nurtured 'hundreds' in their jobs as teachers. The couple's website is http://jaadopting. homestead.com/ADOPTING.html.

FALMOUTH, Trelawny Residents of Falmouth Gardens yesterday staged a massive protest in the community and later in the town's square, as they protested against Wednesday night's police killing of four young men from their community.

The placard-bearing residents, who blocked sections of the roadway leading into Falmouth Gardens with debris, said the four were murdered.

falmoth-cops_w370.jpg

"The police are liars; they killed the youth them in cold *lo** because there was no shootout," one of the protesters told the Observer.

The dead men have been identified as twin brothers Glenroy and Glendon Gordon, 17, students of Holland High School in Trelawny; taxi operator Patrick Cunningham, 26; and Robert Brown, 20, all of Falmouth Gardens.

The police, in their version of the shooting, reported that officers were on patrol in the Race Course area about 9:15 pm when they met upon a group of men travelling in a motor car. The occupants of the car, the constabulary said, opened fire at the police when the vehicle was ordered to stop.

The police said they returned the fire and the occupants were hit. They were pronounced dead at the nearby Falmouth General Hospital.

The police said that they recovered a .38 Smith and Wesson revolver and a .380 Beretta pistol from the men.

But the protesting residents maintained that the police's version of the incident is inaccurate.

They say the police who were travelling in an unmarked vehicle, opened fire on a taxi with the four people aboard.

"The police came out of the unmarked car and start shoot up the taxi. Afterwards, one of the men in the taxi ran out of the car and the policeman chased him and shot him," said one resident of Falmouth Gardens.

The protesters, who claimed that the men were robbed by the police after they were killed, called on the police's Bureau of Special Investigation to carry out a full probe into the shooting.

Dee-Andrea (left), her sis, Shernette (right)

YcTsBh951895-02.jpg

Dem party hard!

ruFADh266011-02.jpg

Donalee now crippled.
TWT8S5976651-02.jpg

-- Edited by XavHew at 21:13, 2008-02-04

-- Edited by XavHew at 21:26, 2008-02-04

-- Edited by XavHew at 21:28, 2008-02-04
Three policemen involved in the controversial shooting of four men in Falmouth, Wednesday night, have been removed from front-line duty and their firearms seized.

Head of the Trelwany police, Superintendent Linette Martin-Williams, last night confirmed the removal. The Bureau of Special Investigations (BSI) is probing the matter.

Residents claimed that the men, including two 17-year-old students of Holland High School, were killed in cold *lo**.

The dead men were identified as students Glendon and Glenroy Gordon, 17, who are twin brothers, Robert 'Gussy' Brown, 20, and Patrick 'Scrappie' Cunningham, 24.

Police reported that the the vehicle was intercepted and ordered to stop and the men came out firing on them. The fire was returned and the four were killed. Two firearms were seized in the incident, the police said.

But residents claimed an unmarked police vehicle travelled behind the car the men were in, ordered it to stop and then opened fire hitting the men.

In the aftermath of the shooting, residents mounted roadblocks in protest. These were eventually cleared by the police.
«First  <  1134 135 136 137 138524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by