Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

EMAIL SWEET U F**K.... PREEE.....

14.png15.png16.png17.png18.png19.png
20.png

-- Edited by +0p$h0++@ (Mod) on Friday 28th of May 2010 07:09:51 AM

ants+ina+u+milk.jpgraided+house.jpg
AND DEM JUS BUS INA A FORMER MINISTER OF COMMERCE HOUSE A KIRKLAND HEIGHTS AND KILL DI BREDDA.... NOW MI NEVA KNOW SEH A LOOK DEM A LOOK DUDUS FI KILL HIM.... BRUCE HOW U CLEAN UP A GUH?... ANTS INA U MILK BRUCE???... DI PEP A COME OUTA U STEP A WHA??... 
P.S.... DI PPL DEM SEH DERE IS AN INDICTMENT OUT FOR A MEMBER OF THE CABINET...PPL A NUH JLP WAR DIS ALONE..PNP INA IT TUH lc

1.png2.png3.png4.png5.png6.png7.png8.png9.png10.png
11.png
12.png
13.png
I DON'T HAVE NUTTIN FI SEH YETlc HOL ON..... reading

-- Edited by +0p$h0++@ (Mod) on Friday 28th of May 2010 07:06:26 AM

Reputed Jamaican druglord Christopher (Dudus) Coke

Reputed Jamaican druglord Christopher (Dudus) Coke, the subject of an islandwide manhunt, has reportedly volunteered to surrender himself to officials in New York.After attempts to arrest him in Kingston turned into urban warfare that left dozens dead, Coke began negotiating with U.S. authorities, federal sources said.

The 41-year-old alleged head of the notorious Shower Posse could be in custody in Manhattan by the end of the weekend. He is wanted in New York on multiple counts of drug-running and gun-running.

The Jamaican Observer newspaper quoted sources close to Coke saying he "feels it is in his best interest to be taken to the U.S., rather than to a Jamaican jail."

Meanwhile, the death toll from the street battles that failed to bring him in jumped to 73 - twice the original government estimate.

Read

-- Edited by MZJ on Friday 28th of May 2010 08:26:01 AM

abc_coke_dudus_100527_mn.jpg
WICKED BL**DLOT JAMAICAN GOVERNMENT UNNO BEEN HAVE DUDUS FROM TUESDEH  AND CLAIM HIM A GO TURN HIMSELF IN BY WEEKEND... WICKED BL**DCLOT PPL WHY UNNO A KILL OFF MI PEOPLE DEM LIKE A ONE GARRISON DEH INA DI WHOLE JAMAICA... PEOPLE UNNO TEK TO DI STREETS DEM A SOME WICKED... cs
MI STILL NEED FI FULLY CONFIRM THIS ! readingsprint.gif

Sam and Esther

May 28, 2010
Started By steppz1 Comments
sighdisbeliefnocrycrycry THIS LITTLE GIRL NEEDS AN OSCAR!!! sigh

dusu3.jpg
http://www.ocg.gov.jm/website_files/contracts_endorsed/awards-june2009.html

Ministry of Water and Housing 

Repairs and waterproofing to concrete slab roofs at Seaga Boulevard section in Tivoli Gardens Housing Scheme. 

GOJ 

INCOMPARABLE ENTERPRISES LIMITED 

OT 

$10,704,265.00 

Repairs and waterproofing to concrete slab roofs at Bustamante Highway section in Tivoli Gardens Housing scheme. 

GOJ 

OT 

$10,695,795.00 

Repairs and waterproofing to concrete slab roofs at Levy Path section in Tivoli Gardens Housing scheme 

GOJ 

OT 

$10,695,795.00 

*BRUCE GO TELL DI MEDIA SEH U NUH HAVE NO INVOLVEMENT WID DUDUS NOW NUH, PEOPLE UNNO PASS ROUN THIS DOCUMENT AN PPL WHEY LIVE INA THESE AREAS RESPOND TO MI BY EMAIL AND MEK MI KNOW IF ANY A DEM TINGS YAH DONE TO UNNO AREA... DI PHARMACY ,HEALTH CENTER AND DI WHOLE 200 YARDS... SUH ALL WHO A JUMP AND RAIL SEH DUDUS A SEND PPL GO SKULE... A GOVAMENT MONEY WHEEM GET UNDER CONTRACT WORK DISGUISE A IT HIM A USE A GI UNNO....OVA 30 MILLION FROM GOJ ALONE AND DIS NUH INCLUDE BACK DOOR PAY OUT... PPL A TIME UNNO WAKEUP*!!!!!! 
people mi want at least 100 emails saying yes or no the contract work that was paid out to these firms are/has been done....and mi a send it str8 to abc news banned
Yes i think Mavado - Gangsta For Life The Symphony Of Davivd Brooks sell more than Vybz Kartel previous ablum

tell me this isn't true

May 27, 2010
Started By DUGGYFRESH6 Comments
dem seh liv up dead star.....is that confirmed or just  rumor?
hope it nuh guh suh.............

YEAH MI KNOW UNNO WAA SUSS.. AND MI WILL RUN A SUSS TOPIC FI WHO WANT  IT BUT DI PPL DEM WHEY REALLY WAA PUT DEM HEAD TO DI WHEEL UNNO COME YAH.... DID ANYBODY HEAR SEH U.S SOLIDER DEPLOY A TIVOLI?? IS WHA REALLY A GWAAN??
DEAD.jpg
DEAD2.jpg
PEOPLE UNNO CHECKDIS plusDIS ...DUDUS FI GO DO DI TIME ENO BUT MI WAA KNOW IS WHA REALLY N CHOOLY A GWAAN... N MI HEAR SEH ALL DI US DID HAVE DEM MAN A LIVE A TIVOLI FI FEW YRS WELL... BWAAY IT STICKY PAN WE  DI SITUATION NAH ADD UP AND ALL DESE PPL A DEAD FI NOTHING

update!! dem seh Dudus was captured in the sed kirkland heights area this morning...~ still unconfirmed~... BWAAY OUR GUVAMENT ADY BES!

abc_coke_dudus_100527_mn.jpg
U.S. law enforcement officials have put Drug Enforcement Administration Air Wing pilots on alert and planes on standby as they wait out the ongoing discussions between alleged Jamaican drug lord Christopher "Dudus" Coke and the U.S. government -- and wait to see whether Coke will be brought out of hiding in handcuffs or in a body bag. 

Christopher 'Dudus' Coke is shown here around the time of his deportation from the U.S. 20 years ago. Coke was convicted of possession of stolen property in North Carolina in 1988.

(ABC News)

More PhotosUS Marshals, DEA agents and federal prosecutors are working hand in hand with senior Jamaican military and police officials in an effort to effect a surrender and extradition of Coke, who is wanted on federal drug and firearms charges, to the United States. 
At least 60 Jamaicans, including both civilians and security officers, have died since Jamaican authorities began moving in on Coke's barricaded West Kingston neighborhood in an attempt to capture him Monday. The U.S. has wanted to extradite Coke since 2009, but the Jamaican government had resisted until this month. 
The violence shows no signs of abating and has spread to adjoining neighborhoods. The police and military effort to curb it now has by some estimates "thousands" of troops on the streets. Jamaican authorities allege that Coke brought in gunmen from other parts of Jamaica and other Caribbean islands to help prevent his capture. 
Related

PHOTOS: Secret Tunnels from Mexico to the U.S. for Smuggling Drugs, Guns, and PeoplePHOTOS: How Marijuana Is Sent Through the U.S. MailMore from Brian Ross and the Investigative TeamThe 2009 U.S. indictment of Coke charges that he shipped firearms back to Jamaica from the U.S. The island nation has one of the highest murder rates in the Western Hemisphere. Nearly 1700 people were slain in 2009, out of a population of about three million, and as 2010 approaches the halfway mark about 1300 have already been killed. 
On Tuesday, U.S. authorities said they believed Coke had escaped through a ring of hundreds of cops and soldiers who had surrounded the West Kingston neighborhood of Tivoli Gardens. Jamaican and U.S. authorities report that Coke may have slipped through police lines and escaped into one of two adjoining areas, either Denham Town or Jones Town. 
Jamaican Prime Minister Bruce Golding had resisted U.S. efforts to extradite Coke, citing doubts about the use of wiretaps to gather evidence against Coke. Golding dropped his resistance to Coke's extradition during the week of May 10, 2010, under intense pressure from Jamaica's main political parties, the ruling Jamaica Labour Parties (JLP) and the opposition People's National Party, or PNP. On May 17th Golding announced that he would direct his Attorney General to sign an order that would allow Coke's arrest. 

Following that announcement, the West Kingston communities allied to Coke began non-violent protests. But even then it was apparent to authorities that Coke's supporters were gearing up for an armed confrontation. They fortified their neighborhood with sandbags, threw up road blocks, installed improvised explosive devices and electrified fencing, all in an effort to block Coke's arrest. 
Coke's forces are heavily armed with an arsenal that includes automatic rifles and hand grenades. Authorities are attempting to confirm reports that the drug gang also has rocket launchers. 

According to the indictment issued in New York in 2009, Coke is alleged to head an international criminal posse known as "The Shower Posse" that operates in Jamaica and the United States. He has been charged by U.S. authorities with conspiracy to distribute marijuana and cocaine and conspiracy to traffic in firearms. 
Coke is alleged to have sold crack cocaine and marijuana in the New York area since the 1990s and to equip his gang members with illegally procured weapons. 
Related
U.S. Report: Jamaican Prime Minister Is 'Known Criminal Affiliate' Of Hunted Drug LordSmoke, Explosions As Cops and Troops Move In On Accused Drug LordPHOTOS: Mexican Drug Gangs' Weapons of ChoiceCoke, aka "Presi," "President," "Dudus," and "Shortman," according to the indictment, is alleged to have sold more than 1000 pounds of pot and at least five kilos of cocaine during the period of the indictment, 1994 through 2007. 

Coke's posse allegedly operated out of the Tivoli Gardens neighborhood in West Kingston, which the indictment described as a garrison community, "a barricaded neighborhood guarded by a group of armed gunmen." The indictment also alleged, however, that the Shower Posse had a presence in "other areas of Jamaica, and in other countries, including the United States." At Coke's direction, Shower Posse members allegedly sent firearms back to Jamaica, which has one of the highest murder rates in the Western Hemisphere. 
Coke's "power and influence" the indictment charged, enabled him to protect his posse as it shipped dope to New York and weapons to Jamaica. Coke's alleged ties to Jamaica's prime minister and ruling party have been a major factor influencing the US inability to extradite him in the past. 
Prime Minister Golding was criticized by the political opposition in March for allegedly hiring a lobbying firm in the U.S. to fight the extradition of Coke. Lobbying documents show that the Jamaican government did hire a firm to lobby the U.S. over the treaty dispute. Golding later admitted that he approved the hiring of the firm, but said the effort was on behalf of his political party and not the government. 
Read original article here

Today in History MAY 28TH

May 28, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma0 Comments

Today is Friday, May 28, the 148th day of 2010. There are 217 days left in the year.

On May 28, 1863, the 54th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, made up of freed blacks, left Boston to fight for the Union in the Civil War.

In 1533, the Archbishop of Canterbury, Thomas Cranmer, declared the marriage of England's King Henry VIII to Anne Boleyn valid.

In 1892, the Sierra Club was organized in San Francisco.

In 1918, the Battle of Cantigny (kahn-tee-NYEE') began during World War I as American troops captured the French town from the Germans.

In 1929, the first all-color talking picture, "On with the Show," opened in New York.

In 1934, the Dionne quintuplets - Annette, Cecile, Emilie, Marie and Yvonne - were born to Elzire Dionne at the family farm in Ontario, Canada.

In 1937, Neville Chamberlain became prime minister of Britain.

In 1940, during World War II, the Belgian army surrendered to invading German forces.

In 1959, the U.S. Army launched Able, a rhesus monkey, and Baker, a squirrel monkey, aboard a Jupiter missile for a suborbital flight which both primates survived.

In 1972, Prince Edward, Duke of Windsor, who had abdicated the English throne to marry Wallis Warfield Simpson, died in Paris at age 77.

In 1985, David Jacobsen, director of the American University Hospital in Beirut, Lebanon, was abducted by pro-Iranian kidnappers (he was freed 17 months later).

Ten years ago: President Alberto Fujimori of Peru won a lopsided re-election victory in a runoff vote that had been boycotted by his opponent. Juan Montoya won the 84th Indianapolis 500, becoming the first rookie champion since Graham Hill in 1966.

Five years ago: Two bombs exploded in a crowded market in the Indonesian town of Tentena, killing at least 22 people and wounding 40.

One year ago: A white New York City police officer mistakenly killed an off-duty black colleague in a friendly fire incident in East Harlem. (A grand jury declined to indict Officer Andrew Dunton in the shooting of Officer Omar Edwards, who had drawn his gun and was chasing a man who had broken into his car.) Kavya Shivashankar, a 13-year-old girl from Kansas, spelled "laodicean" (indifference to religion) to win the Scripps National Spelling Bee.

Today's Birthdays: Rockabilly singer-musician Sonny Burgess is 81. Actress Carroll Baker is 79. Producer-director Irwin Winkler is 79. Actor John Karlen is 77. Basketball Hall-of-Famer Jerry West is 72. Actress Beth Howland is 69. Former New York City Mayor Rudolph Giuliani is 66. Singer Gladys Knight is 66. Singer Billy Vera is 66. Singer John Fogerty is 65. Actress-director Sondra Locke is 63. Country musician Jerry Douglas (Alison Krauss and Union Station) is 54. Actor Brandon Cruz (TV: "The Courtship of Eddie's Father") is 48. Country singer Phil Vassar is 48. Actress Christa Miller is 46. Singer-musician Chris Ballew (Presidents of the USA) is 45. Rapper Chubb Rock is 42. Singer Kylie Minogue (KY'-lee mihn-OHG') is 42. Actor Justin Kirk is 41. Television personality Elisabeth Hasselbeck ("The View") is 33. Actor Jesse Bradford is 31. Actress Monica Keena is 31. Pop singer Colbie Caillat (kal-LAY') is 25. Actress Carey Mulligan is 25. Actor Joseph Cross is 24.

Thought for Today: "Time does not become sacred to us until we have lived it, until it has passed over us and taken with it a part of ourselves." - John Burroughs, American author and naturalist (1837-1921). (AP)

50 Cent: Get Skinny Or Die Tryin'

Posted Thu May 27, 2010 6:27pm PDT by Billy Johnson, Jr. in Hip-Hop Media Training
Die-hard 50 Cent fans won't recognize the rap superstar in a new photo that has surfaced in US Weekly

hiphopmediatraining-377920876-1275008096_thumb.jpg?ymghKNDDWjC6pFV0The normally buff and chiseled G-Unit head lost 54 pounds for a role in Things Fall Apart, a movie he wrote and stars in, about a promising college football player who gets cancer.

"I was starving," the 6-foot artist, who reduced his weight from 214 pounds to 160, told the magazine. To lose the weight, 50 walked three hours a day on a treadmill for nine weeks and lived on a liquid diet.

When the shocking photo hit the web, some speculated that he was sick, but a longtime spokesperson said that was not the case.

"I can confirm that he is indeed okay," the spokesperson told Yahoo! Music.

hiphopmediatraining-540762427-1275008351_thumb.jpg?ymflKNDD1GO9eZR4Clearly, the rapper born Curtis Jackson takes his acting just as seriously as his music. He recently discussed having some of his tattoos surgically removed because it affected his film career, requiring him to be on set for several additional hours each day for extra makeup.

He has multiple films in preproduction, and previously appeared in Get Rich Or Die Tryin', Home Of The Brave, and Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare 2.

Things Fall Apart costars Ray Liotta, Lynn Whitfield, and Mario Van Peebles, who also served as director.

http://new.music.yahoo.com/blogs/hiphopmediatraining/277557/50-cent-get-skinny-or-die-tryin/
SeagaBookA20100304WS.jpg

Former Prime Minister Edward Seaga criticised the Government yesterday for betraying its vow to protect residents of embattled Tivoli Gardens, arguing that the assault by the security forces had caused widespread suffering for the most vulnerable.

Seaga, the former member of parliament for West Kingston who has been praised as the ideological architect of Tivoli Gardens, demanded that the lockdown be lifted to grant trapped residents access to food and medication.

"I am absolutely not happy. This is not what the minister of national security promised. He promised the people that they would not be harmed, and now they are fearful and starving for food and drink," he told The Gleaner yesterday.

"The Government should lift the embargo they have over the area and allow the people to leave to look for food and drink," he continued.

Seaga, who represented the West Kingston constituency - in which Tivoli Gardens is located - for more than 40 years, said he had been receiving calls from his former constituents about their ordeal.

"People have been calling for food and water, that they are not allowed to leave, and that they are penned in. It is a desperate situation and they are calling me. But I am powerless. I tell them to contact their member of parliament (Bruce Golding)," he said.

The army and the police attacked gunmen who had barricaded Tivoli to prevent them from arresting suspected drug lord Christopher 'Dudus' Coke.

Seaga was the leader of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) for more than 30 years and was replaced in 2005 by Golding, the current prime minister, who represents Tivoli Gardens in Parliament.

Seaga, who is still involved in the affairs of Tivoli Gardens through his chairmanship of its football team, said the ongoing offensive echoed the July 2001 security operation, which claimed more than two dozen lives.

Then, security forces, led by retired Senior Superintendent of Police Reneto Adams, invaded Tivoli, looking for gunmen and weapons.

Seaga had criticised Adams' operation as "an atrocity of the worst order".

The ex-prime minister also rejected claims that he was responsible for Tivoli Gardens morphing into what former army chief Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin described as "the mother of all garrisons". Tivoli has been labelled an untouchable crime den from which gangsters have extorted businesses, peddled drugs and killed mercilessly.

Said Seaga of that assessment: "The work that I put in was not to create any community of that sort. What I wanted to do was to create a model community, including all the social amenities you would want. These included a maternity centre, a basic school and a primary school. This is what I created."

Seaga, who is a distinguished fellow of the University of the West Indies, said the genesis of Tivoli's notoriety lay in its resistance to strongmen from adjoining areas who felt it might sway People's National Party supporters to switch to the JLP.

He said Tivoli Gardens residents had been forced to defend themselves in the past.

"You don't make decisions for the people of West Kingston. There is not one person in Jamaica who could make a decision for them, and the people made a decision to defend themselves. If it was I there, or if Santa Claus was there, they would have made the same natural decision to defend themselves," he said.

When asked if he had received any information about the whereabouts of Coke, the subject of the operation, Seaga said, "I haven't got a clue. Mr Coke is not my concern. My concern is the people."

The fatal shooting of a businessman by members of the Jamaican security forces in the upscale St. Andrew community of East Kirkland Heights this morning has led to fresh concerns about the operations of the security forces during the present limited state of emergency.

The concerns come at a time when the death toll from the security forces operation in Tivoli Gardens continues to climb and more questions are being asked about how the police and soldiers operated in the west Kingston community.

The businessman killed was identified as 58-year-old Keith Clarke, the brother of former government minister and Gleaner columnist Claude Clarke and a brother-in-law to Children's Advocate Mary Clarke.

West Rural St Andrew MP Andrew Gallimore who was quick on the scene argued that if the proper rules of engagement were followed it was unlikely that Clarke would have been killed

The official report from the police was that members of a Jamaica Defence Force team went to premises on Kirkland Close in search of alleged drug kingpin Christopher 'Dudus' Coke.

The soldiers approached a house, believed owned by one of Coke's business partners, when they were greeted with gunfire.

The reports say the soldiers returned the fire and the men fled.

According to the police, when the shooting ended four members of the JDF and a civilian were found with gun shot wounds.

The soldiers were taken to hospital while the civilian died on the spot.

The security officials also claimed that a firearm was seized by the JDF team.

However, that story failed to satisfy the residents, family members and friends who wanted to know why members of the security forces kicked open the door to Clarke's house and killed him.

Questions also surrounded the failure of the security forces to capture any of the men they said were firing at them and the inability of the soldiers to find more than one gun despite an extended period of shooting.

According to the residents, shortly after 2 a.m. yesterday, they heard an helicopter hovering in neighbourhood.

They said they heard some loud explosions and saw bright lights across the

sky before hearing approximately 20 minutes of sustained gunfire.

After a lull the gunfire resumed with sporadic shooting for the next two hours.

At day break news quickly spread that Clarke had been fatally shot.

Family members and friends who rushed to the scene begged for information without success for more than five hours as stony faced soldiers, those not covered by masks ignored all questions directed at them.

Police who arrived in the mid-morning were no better help as they extended the crime scene and prevented Clarke's daughter from going to the house to comfort her mother.

A minister of religion, an attorney and family members were also denied access to the widow for several hours.

Neither the police nor the soldiers offered any explanation for their position outside of the often repeated statement that no one could be allowed to enter or leave the crime scene.

The Bureau of Special Investigations has launched a probe of the shooting.

Unconfirmed but corroborated: Downtown Kingston shops and businesses attacked & looted. Owners and security companies complaining that JDF/JCF presence in the area insufficient.

Restaurant near Air Jamaica building on Harbour Street looted. Shutters torn off and items removed.

Cross Roads area in front of Carib blocked by Police. Gunmen and Police had engaged in shootout in front of the Post Office.

Police came under attack from gunmen while trying to clear roadblock in the 100 Lane area off Red Hills Road.

Mr. Coke himself, his Lawyers and U.S law enforcement personnel will meet with senior U.S officials between 10am and 11am this morning to finalize plans for Cokes immediate extradition to the United States. The removal of barricades later today will be an immediate indication of the success of those talks.

USAIN WHO DIS???????

May 22, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma8 Comments

usain1.jpgusain2.jpgusain3.jpgusain4.jpg

USAIN IS WHO DAH LIKKLE CHRISTIAN LOOKIN GIRL YAH?? AND MI WAA KNOW WHY SHE A SIDE U KISS DEM hmm
TivoliWarDay3V20100525RB.jpg

TivoliWarDay3L20100525RB.jpg

A soldier lays down orders to men detained by the Jamaica Defence Force yesterday. The location of the makeshift detention centre will not be revealed because of security concerns.

Colourful retired Senior Superintendent of Police Reneto Adams has called for the security forces to expand their operations to 80 other communities in Jamaica, which, he says, are besieged by criminal gangs.

"I want them (security forces) to stay in Tivoli, Arnett (Gardens), Mountain View, Olympic Gardens, Spanish Town. I want them to stay as long as possible. Then, we should invite civil society to come together to reorientate or orientate these people, because they have been trained to hate the Government, the Church and the police," he said.

He also wants a command post to be established in the centre of Tivoli Gardens for the foreseeable future.

Adams, who served in the Jamaica Constabulary Force for 41 years, said he had foreseen the latest stand-off between the security forces and criminals in west Kingston.

"I saw criminal organisations implemented with the complicity of some politicians on both sides, the private sector and other people. I have seen criminals spread their crime all over the island in a deliberate manner," he said.

Adams was himself involved in a July 2001 police operation in Tivoli Gardens, which claimed the lives of 25 persons. Adams, at that time, received sharp criticism from various sectors of society, which decried his policing tactics.

In that attack, the ex-crime fighter had prophetically declared that Jamaica "will pay dearly" for the entrenchment of thugs in Tivoli.

He says that the build-up to the latest situation and the aftermath have left him feeling "highly vindicated" about his position that the west Kingston community was a hotbed of criminality. He is not asking for an apology from his detractors, however.

"I am not demanding it. If they are contrite in their hearts and said they hoped they had supported and cooperated with me when I went there and was not blinded by politics, and that they need redemption, then I will guide them," he said.

JAMAICAN Journalists this morning completed a limited tour of Tivoli Gardens, our first view inside the community since security forces entered the West Kingston community on Sunday to arrest reputed area don Christopher 'Dudus' Coke.

Soldiers allowed us one hour inside Tivoli. Residents were not allowed to venture far out of their homes. We were not allowed in their homes. We were not allowed into Denham Town

tg-13_w370.jpg

This woman said she didn't know the whereabouts of her son. She's afraid her son died.

The closest we came to that neighbouring community was when we saw five young men spreadeagled against a wall on Spanish Town Road as the bus pulled away from the community. Security forces are currently holding more than 500 detainees in the community

As soldiers remained tight-lipped over what they maintain is an "ongoing operation", residents stuck to their story: that an atrocity took place.

"If you come back and I'm not alive it's because I've not been given the freedom of speechthey are not showing you the homes which have bodies and a lot of *lo**," said a furious Phillip Jackson, standing inside his yard on Bustamante Highway.

The claims of residents are currently impossible to corroborate. As the operation continued after the *lo**y fighting between security forces and gunmen we have been unable to venture into the community, 'for our safety reasons'.

Before today the closest the Observer came to Tivoli was yesterday as we witnessed soldiers overseeing young men clearing a roadblock in Denham Town and then marching them in single file back further inside the security cordon.

Member of Parliament Prime Minister Bruce Golding came in for stern criticism amid accusations that he abandoned the community.

"Bruce Golding wicked, go back to NDM!" shouted one woman in reference to when Golding previously left his now governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) for the National Democratic Movement (NDM).

"Dem say Dudus hold us hostage but it Bruce. Mi wanna go look for mi son. Mi don't know if 'im dead!" said another woman who threw herself on the ground in front of journalists

Jamaica's third party has called for an investigation into alleged atrocities, as have international human rights group Amnesty International. The latest death toll places the number of civilian dead at 50, including alleged gunmen, and one soldier in the assault.

However, independent observers Political Ombudsman Bishop Herro Blair and Public Defender Earl Witter who visited the community earlier this week expressed satisfaction with conditions. Residents today were also quick to praise the conduct of soldiers relative to police.

So far four firearms have been seized, a relatively low number which has raised questions as to the possible disparity between guns found and alleged gunmen.

Residents continue to complain about being held in their houses and prevented from going to work.

"We are human beings," was a universal cry in the community.

OSTRAVA, Czech Republic Usain Bolt won a rarely contested 300-metre race in 30.97 seconds in rain at the Golden Spike today.

Bolt, who holds the world records in the 100 and 200, was boosted by a solid start and cruised to an easy victory. But the wet track, marked by puddles, prevented him from challenging the world record of 30.85 set by Michael Johnson at Pretoria in 2000.

bolt-kiss-arm_w370.jpg

The IAAF does not recognise the 300 world record as it was not at major events.

Bolt ran a competitive 300 for the first time, and said he didn't plan to compete in the distance regularly.

OSTRAVA, Czech Republic (AP) Asafa Powell improved the best world time in the 100 yards to 9.07 seconds at the Golden Spike meet today.

Powell broke the previous best of 9.21 set by Charlie Greene of the United States in 1967.

powell_w370.jpg

He won the 100-metre race on a track dampened by a heavy shower in 9.83, the world's best time this season.

Organisers of the IAAF world challenge series event took the 100 yards (91.41 metres) split time.

"I was disappointed when I saw the rain but I was happy then when the rain stopped, shortly before the start," Powell said. "I'm very satisfied with the time. The weather condition didn't mean a lot. I feel good, I'm in good shape."

The IAAF doesn't recognise 100 yards for world records as it was no longer at major events.

-- Edited by jubalson on Thursday 27th of May 2010 03:48:01 PM

The entertainment fraternity is in mourning over the passing of Oneil Edwards, a member of the dancehall trio, Voicemail. Oneil, who was shot on May 9, succumbed to his injuries yesterday afternoon, while a patient in the Kingston Public Hospital.

Immediately following his shooting, artistes had united for vigils at the Mandela Park in Half-Way-Tree and then at the KPH. Chief convener of the vigils, Mr Vegas, noted at the time that "the reason so many artistes have turned out at such short notice is simply because Oneil is a good guy. He isn't mixed up, he doesn't sing gun lyrics and he doesn't preach violence. The fact that this has happened to Oneil means that it could happen to any one of us."

oneil_w370.jpg

When contacted by the Observer yesterday, Mr Vegas was in mourning.

"It's just real sad," Vegas said. "Craig, Alaine, Natel and I were at a video shoot for a tribute song to Oneil. It's a remix of the song Can't Even Walk, produced by me and Mikey Bennett. Craig had just done an interview and told the reporter that Oneil was doing better and five minutes later I got a BB message that Oneil was dead. I don't know what to say ... maybe my faith in God just wasn't strong enough," a sorrowful Mr Vegas related.

"Alaine broke down instantly ... we had to abandon the video shoot because we were all in tears. Perhaps God is showing us a sign," he said, on the verge of tears.

Deejay Macka Diamond, who was among the artistes as the vigil at the KPH, was equally filled with grief.

"We nah question God and we nah fly inna God face, but God know, me really feel it. Last night, me dream say Kartel come to me and tell me say take the show, 'because if you don't take the show hungry a go kill me'. And I get up this morning hoping that nothing bad happen to Kartel, because I know my dreams. And then later I get the call that Oneil dead. And when I look back on the dream, I realise that it was really Oneil me see ... with him hair out ... and not Kartel," Macka said.

"We just haffi look on this as a lesson and know that we can't go on as before," she concluded.

Meanwhile, reacting to the news, Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture, Olivia Grange, said she was deeply saddened. "We were all hoping and praying for Oneil's recovery. I share the deep sadness of his family, friends, group members and the wider entertainment fraternity. Oneil loved to entertain and he will be missed.

"Even as he mourn his passing, we must resolve to do all we can to stop the violence that is robbing us of young men such as Oneil," a release from her office stated.

Oneil Edwards was shot several times and critically injured at his home in Duhaney Park. One of his assailants has since been found dead and another held by police. A third remains at large. Born May 8, 1974, O'Neil a new father, is survived by his six-week-old daughter, his life partner, his mother, five sisters and four brothers.

On Thursday last, an unnamed woman expressed solidarity with Christopher 'Dudus' Coke by stating that "Dudus next to God." This affirmation portrays how she perceived both God and Dudus.

Some Christians might find it an affront to God. And it is hardly likely that the churches that will be observing Trinity Sunday in three days time will have such a formulation as they try to explain God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit. But it appears to me that this woman was mouthing a concept of God, to which some sections of the church have unwittingly ascribed. Obviously, for her, God is someone who destroys the enemies, dispenses justice quickly without going through legal human channels, provides for them and protects them. And apparently, Dudus has similar attributes. One woman proclaimed that she has six children and Dudus is the godfather, while another testified that she can leave her door open and her children are not raped.

This concept of God is not empowering and definitely one-dimensional.Rather it makes people passive, expecting handouts only. It is a mentality in some sections of the church in which the main philosophy is to give a fish rather than teaching the person to fish. It is a mendicancy syndrome. Therefore, some churches take pride in announcing what they can hand out to persons on the margins rather than challenging the economic system which impoverishes those on the periphery. And there is a similar mentality in our political system in which politicians boast in Parliament how much handouts are given for school fees, to bury dead and to feed people through the Constituency Development Fund.

Hiding behind prayer

Some sections of the church use prayer in this passive role of doing nothing but only waiting on God to do everything. Therefore, as we listen to the prayers to God about our crisis, it is always telling God what to do, as if God does not know the gravity of the crisis, rather than seeking the will of God concerning our role in confronting the tribulations.

So we would rather pray for more rain than build more dams, and channel more rivers to dams and engage in better stewardship of water. We would rather pray to God about the high murder rate rather than have God induce courage to telephone Crime Stop.

And most of our gospel music is not wrestling with issues of economic justice and equality of all. Not even Rastafarian singers will chant, "Get up, stand for your rights".

The Church has largely moved away from an activist role in society. In Rebellion to Riot: The Jamaican Church in Nation Building (2002), I showed that pre-Independence (1962) the Church was leading in nation building in the areas of economic empowerment, educating the people and holistic concept of evangelism, etc. And in the concluding chapter I suggested that we need to return to that activist role.

The Church needs to admit that the theologising that claimed that "Dudus next to God" is a reflection of the failure of sections of the church to present the proper attributes of God. God must be shown also as a God of justice who rewards the righteous and empowers persons to live a life of service and sacrifice, as well as punishes the wicked for their evil deeds.

Let us not blame so much the unnamed woman for the affirmation "Dudus next to God", but perceive it as an indictment on the church which often engages in cowardice and inaction rather than confronting evil and turning the city upside down (Acts 17:6), and serving God rather than man (Acts 5:29)

WE'VE GOT MORE PICS FROM NICKI MINAJ'S MARILYN MONROE INSPIRED PHOTO SHOOT INSIDE!!

1270992978nicki_marilyn.jpg

: 1270992979nicki_marilyn1.jpg

5860_136033514357_623609357_3204491_4127163_n.jpg5860_136007834357_623609357_3203879_5243413_n.jpg5860_136033519357_623609357_3204492_6646262_n.jpg5860_136007839357_623609357_3203880_7120854_n.jpg5860_136007819357_623609357_3203877_4468009_n.jpg5860_136007824357_623609357_3203878_4966567_n.jpg5860_136007814357_623609357_3203876_5558776_n.jpg

-- Edited by dj naz on Friday 25th of September 2009 01:11:03 PM

RABAT, May 26, 2010 (AFP) British pop star Elton John promised a memorable performance at yesterday's Rabat music festival, after Morocco's main Islamic party had called for the gay singer to be banned.

In a statement transmitted to AFP by the artistic director of the international Mawazine festival Aziz Daki, John said he would do his best to make his concert a memorable one.

ejohn_w370.jpg

Touching down in his private jet at the capital city's airport, John said he was proud and honoured to perform in Morocco, and had been waiting a long time for the opportunity to play here, the statement said.

Morocco's main opposition Islamist Justice and Development Party had called for the singer to be banned from the festival, arguing his appearance would pose "a risk of encouraging homosexuality in Morocco".

But Daki stood by his choice and said cancelling the concert on the grounds of John's homosexuality would "undermine the respect of privacy" and "breach certain values that the international Mawazine festival is based on".

TG ballers released

May 27, 2010
Started By jubalson1 Comments

Several members of former Digicel Premier League champions, Tivoli Gardens, like their neighbours, are now battling hunger and fear, even amid the detention of two of their colleagues, as gunmen and members of the security forces continue their battle in the troubled area.

Veteran midfielder Steve Green and defender Kimarlee Flemming were scooped up by members of a police-military team during a dragnet shortly after the security team moved inside the west Kingston community, as the conflict, which was started as a result of an extradition request by United States authorities for area leader Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, reached fever pitch.

Former member of parliament and president of the Tivoli Gardens Football Club, Edward Seaga, updated The Gleaner when he was contacted yesterday.

House-to-house operations

"Two of the players were held as part of the dragnet being carried out (by security forces)," Seaga shared. "Steve Green and Kimarlee Flemming were both picked up and taken in when the security forces were doing their house-to-house operations in the community.

"They are, however, no longer in detention," Seaga continued. "They were released when it was found out that they were footballers."

Seaga went on to bemoan the fact that his club has not been able to offer any sort off assistance to the players, as the state of emergency, which was enforced by the Government on Sunday evening, came into effect.

"We are hoping that the situation will get better because of the deprivation of food and drink," said Seaga, who also served as prime minister from 1980-1989. "If we were able to get in there (Tivoli Gardens), the club would be able to provide assistance but we simply cannot get inside there. No one is allowed to go inside and they are not allowed to come out."

Seaga informed that just about half of the squad lives inside the community itself and that like everyone else in there, they are deeply troubled by the events of the last few days, which have seen the death of more than 40 individuals. He added that the other players of the squad who reside outside the community were fine, as far as he knew.

"Many of them (players) live in Tivoli Gardens itself, probably about half of them. They are all apprehensive like everybody else, facing hunger and afraid to go out of where they are living," Seaga said. "The others who live outside of the community say that they are OK and have not faced any situation."

OSTRAVA, Czech Republic (AP) Usain Bolt says running a 300-metre race at the Golden Spike meet is not a stepping stone to him competing in the 400.

"No, no, no," Bolt said yesterday, a day before the race in the eastern city of Ostrava.

bolt-300_w370.jpg

The 100 and 200 Olympic and world champion said the 300 was not new for him because it's a common part of his training.

"I know how to run a race and see how fast I can go in a competition," Bolt said. "I'm looking forward to it."

Bolt said he didn't plan to compete in the 300 regularly, but he added: "It's really fun to do different events sometimes. It's always fun to try something new."

Jeremy Wariner of the United States won the 300 in Ostrava in 2008 in 31.72 seconds, and Bolt said he was inspired.

Bolt will race for the fourth time at the meet, which is part of the new IAAF world challenge series. Last year, he won the 100 in 9.77 seconds.

Michael Johnson holds the world mark of 30.85 seconds in the 300. The IAAF does not recognise it as a world record, as the distance is not used at major events.

"That's pretty fast," Bolt said of Johnson's time. He said he ran the distance in 31 seconds in training but had "no clue" what he could achieve in the race.

"I'm just going to run hard. You never know what's possible, hopefully it's not too cold and windy."

Bolt recently said he was avoiding the 400 because of the hard work needed to be the best at that distance.

"It's gonna be painful but it's not gonna be as painful as (the 400)," he said about the 300.

Bolt said he didn't plan to attack his records this season, which is without a major world competition, and didn't expect his main rivals -- Tyson Gay and Asafa Powell -- to break his record times.

"I'm not worried about world records this season," he said. "I am trying to get through the season injury free and take it as easy as possible.

"From my angle, I don't think there'll be any world records."

Bolt, Gay and Powell will race each other at the Van Damme Memorial in August in a rematch of last year's World Championships, where Bolt set a 100 world record of 9.58 seconds.

Bolt opened this season with a year's best 9.86-second win in the 100 last Wednesday at Daegu, South Korea, and snatched victory in the 200 at the Diamond League meet in Shanghai on Sunday with 19.76 seconds.

If Bolt breaks the 300 record in Ostrava, organisers said he will receive $30,000 besides an undisclosed appearance fee.

Due to the recent deadly clashes in his native country, Bolt said his best performance was not his only concern.

"It's really sad for me. It's on my mind because of family and friends," he said.

"I'm just trying to be focused really right now, it's kind of hard. I hope there'll be no more casualties in the near future."

TWELVE men who were this morning named by police as most wanted, turned themselves over to the cops hours later.

Among those who are now in police custody is Michealous Phipps, also known as 'Zeekie' the son of incarcerated Matthews Lane don, Donald 'Zeeks' Phipps.

Rohan Hope the brother of slain One Order don, Andrew 'Bun Man' Hope was handed over to Assistant Commissioner of Police Leon Rose by attorney Peter Champagnie. The attorney also turned in Mark 'Mark II' Walters.

"I had discussion with ACP Rose and handed over the two gentlemen. They went in because they heard their names were on the list and they wanted to assist the police in their investigations," Champagnie told the Observer.

Police say Hope has taken over the leadership of the Spanish Town-based One Order gang since the death of his brother in February 2006. Walters is said to be a member of a gang based in Allman Town in Central Kingston.

Cleveland 'Cassie' Downer the leader of a gang based in a community known as 'Common' which runs off Red Hills Road has also given himself up.

Other members of the Common gang who are now in police custody are Richard Francis o/c Red Head, Jermaine Smith and Audley Strachan.

Kareem Allen, the son of slain South Side don, Franklyn 'Chubby Dread' Allen has also turned himself in.

The other wanted men who gave themselves up are Horace Ramsay also called 'Pugu' of South Side, Kevin Myers, also called 'Forehead', Kevin Elliott otherwise called 'Killer' of Fletcher's Land and Andre Buchanan also called Mills of Anderson Road in Woodford Park.

Eleven other wanted men named today remain at large.

ed-cartoon-may-26_w452.jpg

THE Office of the Prime Minister (OPM) on Tuesday released details of the regulations, which will be in place during the current State of Emergency imposed on Kingston and St, Andrew since Sunday. Below are the rules.

"The regulations will vest in the Competent Authority* the power to:

w8_w370.jpg

w3_w370.jpg

* Prevent any person or persons from occupying any structure or building or blocking access to any structure or building; or interfering with any road or path.

* Divert any road or cordon any area, place or premises to prohibit or otherwise regulate access to such places.

* Establish cordons, road blocks and curfews around any area, place or premises.

* Direct persons and persons in charge of vehicles to move them to some other point in a 10-mile radius.

The regulations will allow the Competent Authority to:

* Have right of access to do work on land which is required for the preservation of peace or to regulate the supply and distribution of water, fuel, electricity, transportation and other necessities (the statutory purpose).

* Take over, on the order of the governor general, any premises or facility which provides essential services as defined in the Regulations.

* Prevent trespassing on public premises and essential services.

* Protect public roads .

* Give notice to requisition essential services.

* Take possession of premises (not including cash and securities.)

* Require persons to hand over articles or information in their possession or hand over persons who are deemed to have information or articles in their possession.

* Restrict publication of undesirable matter which may be prejudicial to the public interest or which may incite persons to commit a breach of the peace.

* Prohibit the assembling of persons.

* Prohibit the carrying of a firearm or other lethal weapon.

* Impose curfews and require persons to stay indoors and not to leave without the required permit.

* Restrict access to certain areas or

* Restrict certain persons who are suspected of acting prejudicial to the public safety.

* Prohibit the wearing of uniforms and emblems except for those engaged in lawful industrial action.

* Search premises or vehicles where persons are suspected or are likely to endanger public safety.

* Stop and search vehicles suspected of being used in a manner prejudicial to public safety.

* Question and obligate persons to answer questions to the best of their ability.

* Arrest and detain persons whose behaviour gives reasonable grounds for suspecting that he is acting in a manner prejudicial to public safety or has committed an offence against the Regulations. (Such persons to be detained up to a period not exceeding 24 hours and power to detain for a further five days on the authority of a Resident Magistrate or a police officer not below the rank of Deputy Superintendent).

* Search persons and seize any article which is suspected or intended to be used in a manner prejudicial to public order and/or public safety.

* Confine persons to residences on the authority of the Minister of National Security to prevent such persons from acting in a manner prejudicial to public safety.

The regulations give power to:

* The minister of national security to issue detention orders to exercise control over persons, conditionally or unconditionally.

* Prohibit the use of firearms and ammunition conditionally or unconditionally.

* Control places of public resort and entertainment which are specified in an order.

* Establish a Review Tribunal to examine cases of persons in detention by the minister or those who are the subject of restricted access. The Chief Justice is to appoint the Chairman of the Tribunal and the two other members are to be appointed by the Governor General.

* Restrict the grant of bail for persons who contravene or fail to comply with provisions of the Regulations and where it is believed that such persons would be likely to commit a similar offence against the Regulation.

* Deal with compensation for the use of property and equipment during the period of state of emergency.

While exercising such powers, the Competent Authority shall inform the public by the best available communication devices.

Any unauthorised person who enters or departs said roads, areas, places or premises, commits an offence under the Regulations and may be placed before the court for punishment in respect of such infringement (authorisation can be written or oral).

*The Competent Authority could be either:

The governor general, the minister of national security, the chief of staff of the Jamaica Defence Force, the commissioner of police, the deputy commissioner of police or the senior Office of Police in the parish of Kingston and St Andrew."

HUMAN rights group Amnesty International has called for a thorough investigation into the deaths of those killed in the security operation to arrest Christopher Dudus Coke.

In a release today, Amnesty said while the Jamaican police have a duty to maintain law and order, the attribution of extraordinary powers to the security forces may lead to human rights violations.

Security forces have so far accounted for four firearms seized, quite a low number compared with the number of people killed, Amnesty said.

The group said the human rights record of the police force in Jamaica is dire.

Every year the police are responsible for a high number of killings. Evidence indicates that many of these killings are unlawful," said Kerrie Howard, deputy director of Amnesty International's Americas programme

"In this context, residents of the affected areas, including those not involved in the armed confrontation, may become victims of abuses by the security forces. Only an impartial and thorough investigation of every death or injury caused by the use of force will enable the facts to be established regarding possible unlawful killings or extra-judiciary executions.

Additional police personnel have been deployed to Spanish Town in St. Catherine, Jamaica in an attempt to quell the upsurge in violence in the old capital.

More than 11 people were killed across the parish yesterday.

As a result, yesterday in Parliament, the Member of Parliament for South Central St Catherine, Sharon-Hay Webster called for the state of emergency, currently limited to
Kingston and St. Andrew to be extended to St. Catherine.

Mrs. Hay-Webster says she has been in contact with the Commissioner of police Owen Ellington who has since instructed that more members of the
security forces be sent to sections of St. Catherine.

Meanwhile, Mrs. Hay-Webster is also encouraging the security forces to show respect and regard for the human rights of citizens in the event the state of emergency is extended to St. Catherine.

As police continue their search for west Kingston strongman, Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, residents are claiming that he has gone into hiding.

THE STAR has been informed that Dudus managed to evade the major police/military operation which began on Monday and was aimed at capturing him and restoring calm to Tivoli Gardens and its environs.

However, the security forces have so far managed to only complete half of the operation as up to press time last night Dudus was still at large.

THE STAR heard two versions of how Dudus managed to escape from residents.

One female who resides close to a section of the community where the embattled don would normally hang out, claimed that he had left the community last week, days before the operation began.

"Yu see all dem dung yah a search, dem naw go find him cause him lef ya so from last week, di man a nuh fool," she claimed.

One thug who managed to survive the gunfight with the security forces and claimed to have since sought refuge in his mother's home, told a different version of how Dudus left.

According to him, Dudus left shortly before the operation began and even said it was fortunate that he did so as a building in which he was hiding, was one of the first locations stormed by the security forces.

"Is like di man get a feeling and jus cut same time ... It look like di Babylon (security forces) dem a get information pon him cause di building weh him did inna a one a di first building dem weh dem search," he said.

As for the possible route that Dudus took outside the community, neither source could say.

"Bway mi nuh know which way him tek eno but a di President dat and anything possible wid him," another thug said when contacted yesterday.

The thugs also told THE STAR that a few of their high-ranking persons were killed during the operation which saw them eventually retreating while some fled to other communities.

The media is being barred from entering west Kingston, but yesterday THE STAR visited the Darling Street Police Station which is just metres from Tivoli Gardens.

Soldiers there could be seen atop a number of buildings and walking through sections of the community, a clear sign that the security forces have restored some form of order.

At a press conference yesterday, Minister of National Security Senator Dwight Nelson, though not disclosing an official number, said a large cache of weapons and ammunition were seized in addition to army fatigue, ballistic vests and other illegal items.

Up to yesterday afternoon, the official count of dead persons was 26, however, medical sources and the Public Defender, Earl Witter, claim that more than 40 persons have been killed in the clashes.

Bookmark and Share

THE US State Department yesterday denied knowledge of any document referring to Prime Minister Bruce Golding as an affiliate of Tivoli Gardens don Christopher 'Dudus' Coke.

In his daily press briefing in Washington DC, Assistant Secretary Philip J Crowley said he was not aware of a report cited by ABC News in an article on its website, http://abcnews.go.com, Tuesday that made serious claims against Golding.

bgp_w370.jpg

The article had also claimed that the Kingston Public Hospital was taken over by criminals loyal to Coke, who is wanted in the United States to answer charges related to drug- and gun-running. That claim was eventually dimissed by Health Minister Rudyard Spencer and staff at the hospital.

But responding to questions about the article yesterday, Crowley said he was "not familiar with the report cited in that story".

"We certainly support the efforts of the Government of Jamaica to strengthen the rule of law and arrest Christopher Coke. The Government of Jamaica and the prime minister have taken bold steps in the last few days, and we continue to work closely with the Government of Jamaica to counter illicit trafficking," he told journalists.

"I would just simply say we here at the State Department (have) no information to substantiate that report," he emphasised.

He lauded Golding for the steps he had taken in the past week to serve an arrest warrant on Coke.

"...To us, actions speak louder than words. It is the prime minister who signed (authorised) the arrest decree and it is under his leadership that the Government is aggressively pursuing the arrest of Mr Coke," Crowley added.

Earlier in the day, Golding angrily denied and dismissed as "extremely offensive" the ABC News report, which was still on its website at Observer press time last night.

He also expressed outrage at a report in The Independent (United Kingdom) newspaper, which he alleged was trying to link him personally with Coke.

He said both reports "were clearly part of a conspiracy to undermine the duly elected Government of Jamaica".

THE Caribbean's biggest cruise lines, including industry giant Carnival, say they will continue visiting Jamaica despite tensions in the country's capital, Kingston.

"The disturbances in Jamaica and associated state of emergency are focused in Kingston," Carnival said in a statement, adding that Ocho Rios and Montego Bay -- where the ships make weekly calls -- were "not experiencing any issues".

Montego Bay is more than 100 miles west of Kingston while and Ocho Rios, which is located in St Ann on the country's northern coast, is more than a two-and-a-half hour's drive away.

Carnival said its 2,974-passenger Carnival Conquest called on Montego Bay Tuesday, while the 2,974-passenger Carnival Liberty is scheduled to call at Ocho Rios today, followed on June 3 by the 2,052-passenger Carnival Inspiration.

KINGSTOWN, St Vincent (CMC) Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves says the current breakdown in law and order in Jamaica is proof enough that "undemocratic power" must not be allowed to hold territorial sway.

The Vincentian leader, who is also his country's National Security Minister, said Tuesday that he was disturbed by the growing unrest in the partner Caribbean Community (Caricom) member state that has reportedly claimed more than 40 lives since Sunday.

DSC_4272_w370.jpg

Angry clashes between security forces and gun-touting civilians have been sparked by efforts to execute a warrant for the arrest Tivoli Gardens strongman Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, who is wanted by US authorities.

Gonsalves, who is due to visit Jamaica for an upcoming lecture, said he was currently reconsidering his travel plans since the situation in the country has been allowed to get out of hand.

"I always make this point. Keeping law and order doesn't give you any vote because when you're maintaining law and order there is always somebody who wants to criticise you," he said.

But, Gonsalves who is presently campaigning for a general election, went on to warn that "not having law and order will lose you plenty votes."

"More than that, (it) would make it difficult for you to enjoy any of your rights: your natural right to life and the protection or your person and the whole range of civil rights, including the right to property, the right to speak, to associate," he said, while pointing out that the State "has a legitimate monopoly on physical coercion".

He also said based on what's now happening in Jamaica, the lesson for his country is that you cannot give criminals "undemocratic power to hold territorial sway over any part of St Vincent and the Grenadines.

"Even decent people are peeved, but now all Vincentians can see the consequence of allowing this sort of thing to fester since the open warfare by ordinary citizens against the police and military was not taking place in Mexico or Columbia -- as often seen on television -- but rather, it was happening in Jamaica to the extent that the West Indies Cricket Board is wondering whether it would hold a one day international there next month," Gonsalves said.

TWO thousand residents of Tivoli Gardens in West Kingston were handed food packages and drinking water during yesterday's visit to the community by the political ombudsman, Bishop Herro Blair.

"We brought in 2,000 packages and it was very, very successful. We left without taking any back," Bishop Blair told the Observer after returning from the community, where residents have been locked in since the start of a joint police/military operation on Monday.

DSC_4258_w370.jpg

DSC_4317_w370.jpg

DSC_4338_w370.jpg

Blair was assisted by other pastors and scores of volunteers to package and distribute the products, which were donated by various groups and companies across the island.

"Certainly it went as smooth as butter. There was no fighting over what we didn't bring or anything like that, they co-operated with us," he said of the food distribution.

The ombudsman, who had visited the community on Tuesday along with Public Defender Earl Witter, at the request of Prime Minister Bruce Golding, had high praises for the security forces.

WITH the immediate threat of the overrun of the capital city by criminals backing Christopher 'Dudus' Coke behind us the million-dollar question Jamaicans were asking yesterday was: "Where is 'Dudus'?"

Officials maintained that they had no clue to the whereabouts of Coke, but in the absence of official information, speculation was rife. Usually accurate Observer sources suggested that the deposed Tivoli Gardens strongman had voluntarily surrendered himself to the United States, which wants him to face trial for alleged trafficking in drugs and guns.

dudus_w370.jpg

"The admission by Coke's lawyers that after their meeting with the US embassy in Kingston Monday night 'a window of opportunity' had been opened, is the surest sign that 'Dudus' was ready to hand himself over," the source insisted.

"The view is that Coke feels it is in his best interest to be taken to the US, rather than to a Jamaican jail where he could meet a similar fate as his father, the late Lester Lloyd Coke, alias 'Jim Brown', whom he eventually succeeded as the 'don'.

Jim Brown died in a mysterious fire at the General Penitentiary where he was incarcerated while awaiting extradition.

But there are other claims that Coke might be in Venezuela, whose leader is known to be hostile to the United States. Cynical Jamaicans also insist that Coke was moved out of Tivoli by highly connected individuals, before the military moved in to break down barricades.

Asked if he had heard of the claim that Coke had handed himself in to the US embassy, Information Minister Daryl Vaz said that was the first time he was hearing it.

"I suspect that is a rumour. If it were true I think I would have heard of it. Up till now (Observer press time) we have no idea where he is."

Coke's lawyer, Paul Beswick, who met with the US embassy personnel, said: "I am in no position to answer any question at this time. "I'm sorry."

The US network ABC reported US officials as saying Coke had slipped through the ring of hundreds of soldiers and police and escaped into nearby Denham Town or Jones Town.

PRIME Minister Bruce Golding has said that Jamaica has no plans, at this time, to seek the assistance of foreign law enforcement agents in the current war against criminals.

The prime minister was responding to queries from Opposition members of Parliament Tuesday as to whether the security forces are able to sufficiently repel the attacks, which criminals have launched against them since the warrant for the arrest of reputed West Kingston don Christopher 'Dudus' Coke was issued last week.

DSC_4375_w370.jpg

DSC_4441_w370.jpg

DSC_4345_w370.jpg

"As to whether or not we are proposing or would contemplate seeking external assistance in terms of personnel, the answer is absolutely, emphatically no," Golding told politicians during a statement to Parliament.

The question was raised by Opposition member of Parliament Anthony Hylton who wanted to know whether the security forces had indicated if their manpower was sufficient to meet the threat posed to it and whether the Government was prepared to consider the invitation of external supplementary forces if this was not so.

Responding Golding said, the security forces have assured that they have adequate manpower.

"There are weaknesses in terms of areas of equipment and so on. We have addressed some of those needs within the last ten days and other steps and arrangements have been put in place to continue that process," the prime minister said.

Continuing the line of questioning Opposition Member of Parliament Dr Morais Guy queried whether other types of assistance are being sought outside of personnel.

To that Golding said the Government was getting "significant technical and resource assistance from our bilateral partners".

"We are getting that assistance through various agreements that exist between us and that assistance is particularly elevated at this time not only because of support we need in terms of resources but also intelligence capabilities," he said.

"What I was very emphatic about is the question as to whether foreign law enforcement agents could be on Jamaican soil exercising law enforcement powers because I am not sure myself how that would be done in law and what would be their authority to do so," the prime minister added. "Apart from that, whenever a state has to resort to that kind of assistance there are certain implications I would never want to be visited on Jamaica."

A source at the Madden's Funeral Home says 50 bodies have so far been taken in from Tivoli Gardens and nearby communities in wake of the battle between the security forces and gunmen loyal to Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, the reputed drug lord wanted by the United States.

Up to Tuesday official figures had the death toll at 26, and the political ombudsman, Bishop Herro Blair, later reported that there were 44 deaths.

Blair made the announcement after carrying out an independent evaluation of the situation, at the request of Prime Minister Bruce Golding.

In the meantime, the source at Madden's said that the funeral home was capable of dealing with the number of bodies, in wake of a report that a refrigerated truck was leased to help with the storage of the dead from the West Kingston conflict.

Crooks gets caught

May 27, 2010
Started By jubalson0 Comments

HAROLD Crooks, the former commandant of the Island Special Constabulary Force who was being sought by the police on allegations of sexual assault, was arrested this morning at the Ocho Rios Pier in St Ann.

He is now in police custody in that parish.

The Constabulary Communications Network said their only information is that Crooks who was believed to have fled the island was held at the pier.

In March Crooks lawyer Vincent Wellesley said his client told him that he had left, and would not be returning to Jamaica, because he had no faith in the justice system.

Crooks was being sought by the police who are investigating allegations that he and another man sexually assaulted an underaged girl.

He had gone missing a day before he was scheduled to meet with investigators at the Centre for the Investigation of Sexual Offences and Child Abuse.

kirkland_w370.jpg

KEITH Clarke, 58, the brother of former government minister Claude Clarke, was killed early this morning in a police search for Tivoli Gardens don Christopher Dudus Coke in Kirkland Heights, St Andrew.

Residents said they heard about two hours worth of gunfire, starting sometime around 2:00 am.

Sources on the scene said the police/Jamaica Defence Force operation was an attempt to nab Coke, who is believed to have fled his home in Tivoli.

But members of the dead mans family say that the operation was not professionally carried out. Members of Jamaicans for Justice are also on the scene.

Meanwhile, the Constabulary Communications Network said this morning that four members of the JDF were shot and injured in the operation. One firearm was recovered, the police said.

THE National Democratic Movement is demanding a full and thorough investigation of the ongoing security force operation in Tivoli Gardens, West Kingston.

In a statement today the NDM Chairman Peter Townsend acknowledged that dangerous criminals existed in West Kingston and all other garrison areas and that they should be apprehended. However, Townsend complained that his party had previously warned that the operation should be carried out with greater precision to avoid loss of life. The death toll has now reached 50.

"This warning was obviously ignored and now the country has to face the horror of multiple loss of innocent lives, of residents caught in the cross fire and an embar****ing failure since only four guns have been reportedly recovered. The Movement is also wondering why the media was barred from the area in the first place," he said.

He also wants investigated a report on TVJ Prime News that bodies were buried "in secrecy" by security forces at the May Pen cemetery. He demanded that Prime Minister Bruce Golding, Member of Parliament for the area, respond directly to his constituents on the matter.

HUNDREDS of Jamaicans have rallied to the troops on the ground in West Kingston, sending them huge quantities of water and rations, to meet the challenge of feeding over 2,000 men and women trying to flush out gunmen supporting Tivoli Gardens fugitive, Christopher 'Dudus' Coke.

"We have received hundreds of calls expressing goodwill and support for the troops from Jamaicans everywhere," said Superintendent James Forbes, the man in charge of those logistics.

Rovng8_w370.jpg

Forbes, a senior officer at the Community Safety and Security Division in Kingston, said the many organisations giving "overwhelming support" included the Jamaica Chamber of Commerce, other private sector groups and service entities.

One service club, the Kiwanis Club of New Kingston, sent out a mass e-mail to its members requesting assistance in providing food and drinks for the over 2,000 lawmen on the ground, "who, through their heroic action, risked their lives for the safety of all law-abiding Jamaicans".

"The over 2,000 personnel on the ground in Tivoli are out of food and drinks biscuits, buns, sardines and corned beefs, etc," the club said. "They have been asking organisations and associations to help. The Small Business Association of Jamaica as well as members of the Kingston Kiwanis Club have already done so."

But Forbes, contacted by the Observer, explained that the massive operation to catch Coke and repel his criminal supporters could not have been foreseen when the budget was crafted earlier this year.

Furthermore, under the circumstances, the regular suppliers had not been able to meet this kind of demand, with markets not operating as normal and many staff not at work because of the violence.

"It has been a challenge sustaining the guys on the ground over the past 48 hours," said Forbes. "But we are not worried because civil society has responded overwhelmingly, they have thrown their support behind us, with water, rations and other goods to help meet basic needs."

«First  <  1130 131 132 133 134524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by