Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

DICKS6.jpg
dick5.jpg
dick4.jpg
dick3.jpg
dick2.jpg
dick1.jpg

IM SURE THIS PARTY SMELLED LIKE AFTERSEX.... nervouslc

twinoftwins.jpg
Twin of Twins - Contributed

Controversial duo Twin of Twins is claiming that they are not booked for The Settlement, which will be held at the Kingston Polo Club, Caymanas, on July 9.

Speaking with THE WEEKEND STAR yesterday, Patrick 'Curly Lox' Gaynor said the duo is being advertised but was not contacted to perform on the show.

"Dem advertise wi fi di show falsely and mi nuh really waan mislead mi fans, 'cause mi ago deh a LA (Los Angeles, United States). We were never contacted and no business transactions were made," he said.

no grouse

"We are asking our fans, if their sole purpose is to see Twin of Twins, we are not going to be there. We were not booked for that show. We and the promoter have no grouse but no business was conducted."

However, promoter of the event, Tommy Thompson, is saying something completely different.

"To the best of my knowledge, they are booked for the show. I have been talking with their manager," he said.

Thompson said that the group's name has been on the event's fliers for weeks. Hence, he finds it odd that they did not contact him or his office before.

Nonetheless, he said the show will go on as planned.

"All things are in place for the show. All Jamaica is buzzing on the show. Everybody has been waiting for The Settlement and it has finally arrived," he said, noting that the show was postponed twice.

"It's going to be a show to remember. We are going to be pulling out all the stops. It's a lyrical battle and everybody is getting ready for it."

JETT GIRL MODEL SEARCH

June 26, 2010
Started By Konvict11 Comments
Fibi_Love.jpg

JETT GIRL MODEL SEARCH is looking for the best and most beautiful SwimSuit Models in the world for Jetedon Swimwear Line

STATE: Florida

DATE OF BIRTH: October 25, 1985

HAIR COLOR: Dark Brown

EYE COLOR: Brown

HEIGHT: 5'7"

WEIGHT: 130 Lbs

BUST SIZE: 36 D

WAIST: 29

HIPS: 38

DATE OF BIRTH: October 25, 1985

HAIR COLOR: Dark Brown

EYE COLOR: Brown

HEIGHT: 5'7"

WEIGHT: 130 Lbs

BUST SIZE: 36 D

WAIST: 29

HIPS: 38

BIO: My name is Fibi Love and I am a full time model newly located in Miami Beach, Florida. Modeling has been a strong passion for me, and now, I living in Miami, I am looking to further my passion here!
I have pursued modeling for a number of years, my work includes high fashion, nature, and glamorous and many more.

CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR FIBI

NEW YORK, Unites States New York Police Commissioner Ray Kelly says computer crimes cops have removed a child porn video from nearly 70,000 servers nationwide.

The clip has an IP address linking it to Jamaica, but it's unclear if that's where the video came from.

It shows a small boy and a woman engaging in sex acts. It's also unclear when it was made. Police say they launched an investigation after being contacted by media outlets. The computer crimes unit tracked the video to a company and removed it from the servers.

Kelly says the department has referred the investigation to federal law enforcement. The crime has no specific link to New York.

Dancehall artiste Mavado was reportedly involved in a vicious motor vehicle accident last night while en route to a show in Negril. The accident apparently left the vehicle that Mavado was traveling in with slight damage, and two other vehicles badly damaged. Julian Jones-Griffith, Mavados manager, indicated late last night via his Twitter page that he was driving the vehicle, with Mavado as a passenger. Their vehicle was the lead car in a convoy of vehicles carrying other Alliance crew members including Bounty Killer, Wayne Marshall, Chase Cross, Flexx, Tony Matterhorn and Boom Boom. According to Jones-Griffiths posts via his Twitter page, it appeared as though the vehicle that caused the accident was stolen, as immediately following the incident, its occupants jumped into the bushes and fled the scene. Jones-Griffith said bus infront us write off, car that hit an us was totalled, our car jus the bak door mashup, thank u Jah for givin me that vision to swing.

Brazilian heartbreak!

July 2, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION7 Comments

cry-_w370.jpg

Fans of Brazil's national soccer team react after the South Africa 2010 World Cup quarter final soccer match between Brazil and Netherlands at the Copacabana beach, in Rio de Janeiro today.

Observer writer Erica Virtue is in Brazil and posted this story about the country's reaction to the national teams 2-1 quarter final loss earlier today!

BAHIA, Brazil Brazilian hearts broke today as the team which perfected its artistry and romanticised the beautiful game crashed out of the World Cup following the teams 2-1 loss to the Netherlands at the Nelson Mandela Stadium in South Africa.

Brazilian supporters in Bahia grieved openly.

Tears ran down a womans face as the match drew to a close and she refused to be comforted by the man holding the small child who cried with her as the referees whistle ended the South Americans' dream along with much of the world.

A Brazilian man's knees shook for the remainder of the game after the Dutch scored.

Still another had his hands stuck to his head for the last 10 minutes of the match and his pained expression was replaced with a distant look as the match ended.

Hotel staff moved stoically as the match drew to a close and they watched in disbelief as the referee's whistle blew their dreams away and the red eyes of the Brazilian commentators on Ao Vivo television station showed the pain of defeat in South Africa.

Brazil, which has participated in every World Cup final since inception of the championships, took the lead with nine minutes 14 seconds on the clock and loud and exuberant whoops exploded in the lobby of the Pestana Resort Hotel in Bahia state which is hosting the World Diabetes Summit.

Robinho, accepting a pass from Felipe Melo which split the Dutch defence, sent the football geniuses of South America into the lead. The score could have been wider at seven minutes 25 seconds into the game, when the first goal was scored but the linesman ruled it offside.

Disappointed oohhs rang out from the supporters who were decked out in the green, yellow and blue of the Brazilian flag.

An entertaining first half ensued and the Dutch sought to capitalise on counter attacks, without much success. However, spectators thought the South Americans should have been be up 2-0, when Kaka was brought down in the 18 yards box but the referee allowed the game to continue. Van Perse also had a chance to equalise before the first half ended but the chance was blown.

However, hearts stopped when on nine minutes into the second half, Felipe Melos attempt to clear a Dutch free kick ended in the back of the net giving the Dutch the equalising goal.

It was now 1-1 at minute 53 and the Dutch would make it 2-1 in the 67th minute when Sneijdners header beat goalkeeper Julius Cesar.

Brazil went numb and the writing appeared to have been on the wall, when Felipe Melo was red-carded for challenge and attempt to take the ball from the Dutch player on the ground. Post match analysis on Ao Vivo was focused on Melo who was the protagonist of this quarter final game and among those analysing the game was Emerson.

Brazilians who could find their voices swore in Portuguese, and the English translation of their swears cannot be repeated.

And when I found the waiter with the famous name (Carlos Alberto) he was a disaster. It was clear that he was weeping. At a time when it is said that big men dont cry, it appears that in Brazil they do over football and it is not just men.

Women and children mourned openly too at the same place four years ago.

1. Who you think you are is important. Like attracts like. Do you like who you are?

2. What you want in a relationship is important, and when you are willing to ask for it, you will be able to create it. But only ask for what you want when you are clear about what it is. Until then, don't go around demanding things you just think you should have.

3. We get exactly what we focus on. The problem or the solution. We make a choice between them with every decision we make.

4. Tell yourself the truth about what you want, not what others (family, friends, spouse) say you should have.

5. Tell everyone else your truth about what you want. Don't be afraid to share your vision and dreams with those you love.

6. You are not defined by your relationships unless you choose to be. Consider what it says about you if you deed over you soul to one.

7. Interdependent (two independent people) relationships are the only ones that work, long term.

8. Truth is the first thing necessary to create trust in our relationships. Respect is earned from trust, and love is earned from respect. Intimacy is the gift we get when we risk telling the truth.
* See the hierarchy of a functional relationship

9. Fear of intimacy is fear of the truth. Your truth is better for you than someone else's. Just get to know what it is, so you can finally own it, and speak it..

10. If your relationship is not getting better, it is probable getting worse. Life is dynamic and nothing ever stays the same.

11. Every relationship is unique. It takes what it takes to work. If you want it to work, you have to work it. No shortcuts. No 50/50 deals.

12. It's not your job to fix your mate, and it's not his or her job to fix you. Take the relationship and what your mate says at face value and stop reading into it what you'd like to hear. We can work with what's real. It's impossible to deal with what's not real.

13. Unconditional love is an inside job. If you haven't gotten it by now, guess what...start working from within. When you can give it to yourself, you'll be ready to give it to someone else. If you can give it to someone else, you'll recognize it when it's given to you.

14. If you both are committed to creating a functional relationship, agree to start doing it today, without any judgments about the past. Be willing to work in the solution and let go of your need to control the outcome, moment to moment, one day at a time. Joy can only be experienced in the present moment

15. Most of our fears about what may happen in this relationship are really fears we experienced in past relationships, and have nothing to do with this person. Come to grips with what's real and what's Memorex! .

16. When in an argument, ask yourself Does this really PASS THE SO WHAT TEST? For you to be right does the other person have to be wrong? Think about it. Life is short. Don't waste it on arguments that have no meaning or purpose. You can always agree to disagree if you need to.
Then laugh about it, and go on to the next thing. Start observing your need to argue as just another dysfunctional, immature habit that needs to be broken.

17. When we finally learn to say we are sorry (at 3 or 93) we get to finally hear we are O.K. To error is human, and there is great virtue in all forgiveness, ourselves included. The best way to teach our children this lesson is by watching us demonstrate it.

18. Any negative, hurtful or sarcastic remark is abusive. Like a sharp knife, each word will carve out a chunk of a loving relationship that can never grow back. Please consider the source and outcome of your remarks, before you open you mouth to tell your truth.

19. Never let a day go by without saying and showing how much your relationship and partner mean to you. Never take a moment for granted. Express how grateful you are for your good fortune, however meek or humble it may be. Appreciation and gratefulness have magic in them. It seems the more we express them, the more reasons we are given to say thank you.

20. To have a functional relationship you have to be willing to risk loosing it everyday, by telling your truth. If you don't feel free to tell your truth, start asking yourself why you think it's so important to stay, and what else you are willing to loose besides your self-esteem.

For starters, you can ask your mate to tell their truth, and be willing to accept it at face value, without judgment. Now you both get to finally know the truth, and, if you each want a relationship based on what's real for both of you.

.....for optimum results, start doing this in the first five minutes of meeting anyone.

JOHANNESBURG No matter how much the United States continues to emerge as a competitive World Cup nation, there is little doubt that the international perception of American soccer will Why? Because Americans dont even call the sport by its proper name, of course. They dont call it football. They call it soccer. In the USA, football is that game that dominates winter Sundays and features Lycra, helmets and men so large they should come with their own zip code. always be doused with suspicionElsewhere, football is football. The round-ball sport, the beautiful game, with its biggest prize to be handed out here on July 11. Soccer? Pah, a silly American term created by a nation that has its own national obsession. No country has been snootier toward the USAs use of the term soccer than England. Before the Group C opener between the two sides in Rustenburg, the Sun newspaper even ran a spoof front page urging Fabio Capellos side to win the soccerball world series. But lets take a halftime break here. Coupled with their teams humiliating exit from the World Cup it might be another rude awakening to the Brits that soccer isnt an American term, it is actually an English one. And it isnt some modern fad that shows disrespect to the worlds most popular sport, it dates back to the earliest days of the games professional history. Indeed, until the last few decades, even Englishmen would routinely refer to their favorite pastime as soccer, just as often as they would say football. Clive Toye, an Englishman who moved to the U.S. and became known as the father of modern American soccer, bringing Brazilian legend Pele to play for the New York Cosmos, takes up the story. Soccer is a synonym for football, said Toye, who helped launch the North American Soccer League in the late 1960s. And it has been used as such for more years than I can count. When I was a kid in England and grabbed a ball to go out and play I would just as easily have said: Lets have a game of soccer as I would use the word football instead. And I didnt start it. To trace the origin of soccer we must go all the way back to 1863, and a meeting of gentlemen at a London pub, who congregated with the purpose of standardizing the rules of football, which was in its infant years as an organized sport but was growing rapidly in popularity. Those assembled became the founding members of the Football Association (which still oversees the game in England to this day). And they decided to call their code Association Football, to differentiate it from Rugby Football. A quirk of British culture is the permanent need to familiarize names by shortening them. My friend Brian Johnston was Johnners, said Toye. They took the third, fourth and fifth letters of Association and called it SOCcer. So there you are. So forget that English condescension and carry on calling it soccer, safe in the knowledge that youre more in tune with the roots of the sport than those mocking Brits.

WHAT IS LOVE????

July 2, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma0 Comments

What is love? It is one of the most difficult questions for the mankind. Centuries have passed by, relationships have *la*hmed and so has love. But no one can give the proper definition of love. To some Love is friendship set on fire for others Maybe love is like luck. You have to go all the way to find it. No matter how you define it or feel it, love is the eternal truth in the history of mankind.

Love is patient, love is kind. It has no envy, nor it boasts itself and it is never proud. It rejoices over the evil and is the truth seeker. Love protects; preserves and hopes for the positive aspect of life. Always stand steadfast in love, not fall into it. It is like the dream of your matter of affection coming true.   heart: what is loveLove can occur between two or more individuals. It bonds them and connects them in a unified link of trust, intimacy and interdependence. It enhances the relationship and comforts the soul. Love should be experienced and not just felt. The depth of love can not be measured. Look at the relationship between a mother and a child. The mother loves the child unconditionally and it can not be measured at all.   A different dimension can be attained between any relationships with the magic of love. Love can be created. You just need to focus on the goodness of the other person. If this can be done easily, then you can also love easily. And remember we all have some positive aspect in us, no matter how bad our deeds maybe. And as God said Love all

Depending on context, love can be of different varieties. Romantic love is a deep, intense and unending. It shared on a very intimate and interpersonal and sexual relationship.  The term Platonic love, familial love and religious love are also matter of great affection. It is more of desire, preference and feelings. The meaning of love will change with each different relationship and depends more on its concept of depth, versatility, and complexity. But at times the very existence of love is questioned. Some say it is false and meaningless. It says that it never exist, because there has been many instances of hatred and brutality in relationships. The history of our world has witnessed many such events. There has been hatred between brothers, parents and children, sibling rivalry and spouses have failed each other. Friends have betrayed each other; the son has killed his parents for the throne, the count is endless. Even the modern generation is also facing with such dilemmas everyday. But love is not responsible for that. It is us, the people, who have forgotten the meaning of love and have undertaken such gruesome apathy.

In the past the study of philosophy and religion has done many speculations on the phenomenon of love. But love has always ruled, in music, poetry, paintings, sculptor and literature. Psychology has also done lot of dissection to the essence of love, just like what biology, anthropology and neuroscience has also done to it.

Psychology portrays love as a cognitive phenomenon with a social cause. It is said to have three components in the book of psychology: Intimacy, Commitment, and Passion. Also, in an ancient proverb love is defined as a high form of tolerance. And this view has been accepted and advocated by both philosophers and scholars.   Love also includes compatibility. But it is more of journey to the unknown when the concept of compatibility comes into picture. Maybe the person whom we see in front of us, may be least compatible than the person who is miles away. We might talk to each other and portray that we love each other, but practically we do not end up into any relationship. Also in compatibility, the key is to think about the long term successful relationship, not a short journey. We need to understand each other and must always remember that no body is perfect.

Be together, share your joy and sorrow, understand each other, provide space to each other, but always be there for each others need. And surely love will blossom to strengthen your relationship with your matter of affection.

Al-MillerE20021001RB.jpg
Reverend Al Miller - file
Mi like how dem ship out Dudus quick,clap next ting di man ketch a fire inna jail cell like him puppa.lc Everybody a say dem cyaan wait fi him reach foreign fi him talk up di tings to di US people dem bout all di corruption an who him used to have business transaction wid. Bwoy it serious. Nuff politician and business smaddy supposed to out ya ah bawl inna ashes an sack cloth everyday ah hope dem name nuh call. Pon a nex' note, Al Miller what a stress yuh get yuhself inna doh. US soon sen' fi yuh fi help dem bring een dem terrorist dem.pfft

DJSpiceBcut20061016AM.jpg

What a way Spice mussi related to Donald Trump, every week she open one new business. Fuss one store, den one salon den one bar. Mi like it.clap Mi feel like di nex' step a fi yuh do one reality show whe yuh hire and fire people inna real Donald Trump style.biggrin Mi wudda like fi see how di business woman function and den a try deal wid di entertainment side a tings , plus di relationship side, den wid di mother side. Yes Jamaica cudda deal wid deh reality series deh and behind di scenes.smile

• Dogs don't ask what are you thinking.
  • Dogs don't cry.
  • Dogs love it when your friends come over.
  • Dogs don't care if you use their shampoo.
  • Dogs think you sing great.
  • A dog's time in the bathroom is confined to a quick drink.
  • Dogs don't expect you to call when you are running late.
  • "The later you are, the more excited dogs are to see you"
  • Dogs will forgive you for playing with other dogs.
  • Dogs don't notice if you call them by another dog's name.
  • Dogs are excited by rough play.
  • Dogs don't mind if you give their offspring away.
  • Dogs love red meat.
  • Dogs can appreciate excessive body hair.
  • Anyone can get a good-looking dog.
  • "If a dog is gorgeous, other dogs don't hate it."
  • Dogs don't shop.
  • Dogs like it when you leave lots of things on the floor.
  • A dog's disposition stays the same all month long.
  • Dogs never need to examine the relationship.
  • A dog's parents never visit.
  • Dogs love long car trips.
  • Dogs understand that instincts are better than asking for directions.
  • Dogs understand that all animals smaller than dogs were made to be hunted.
  • Dogs do not have problems expressing affection in public.
  • Dogs miss you when you're gone.
  • Dogs feel guilt when they've done something wrong.
  • Dogs don't criticize your friends.
  • Dogs admit when they're jealous.
  • Dogs are very direct about wanting to go out.
  • Dogs don't laugh at how you throw).
  • Dogs don't feel threatened by your intelligence.
  • You can train a dog.
  • Dogs are easy to buy for.
  • You are never suspicious of your dog's dreams.
  • The worst social disease you can get from dogs is fleas. (OK, the *really* worst disease you can get from them is rabies, but there's a vaccine for it, and you get to kill the one that gives it to you.)
  • Dogs understand what no means.
  • Dogs understand if some of their friends cannot come inside.
  • Middle-aged dogs don't feel the need to abandon you for a younger owner.
  • Dogs admit it when they're lost.
  • Dogs are color blind.
  • Dogs aren't threatened if you earn more than they do.
  • Dogs mean it when they kiss you.
EMAIL SENT IN: THESE ARE NOT APPLEZZ WORDS !!!!

Why Rush? WHY? People a Zip, oonu can please help di public at large?! Why we muss ah suffer like dutty mud so? Mi nuh know if oonu did finally hear wi cry fi mercy but Phat Khat is no longer the 8th problem because oonu get rid ah him. Now oonu please do summen bout di 9th. Him remix dem nuh soun' good, plus him chat too much! Oonu need fi eida get smaddy wid skills fi fill di slot, or, lef di slot silent an' tek a break in transmission listen to di cry ah di people. An' believe mi, wi a crying

PRINCESS AND THE FROG....

July 2, 2010
Started By TBDGlamma3 Comments

IS DATING A LESS ATTRACTIVE MAN A WAY TO ENSURE YUH NUH GET BUN?hmm

beautyandthebeast.jpg

LOOKS IS NOT EVERYTING BUT MY MAN BODY HAFFI FIT..biggrin FOOTA MUS BE A NICE PERSON..ASIDE FRAM DI FAC HIM LOVE BULLY AN BEAT UP PEOPLE..??...weird
*did he jus come fram gym? why suh much sweat foota?* hmm

DSC_0179.jpgDSC_0228.jpgDSC_0258.jpgDSC_0259.jpgDSC_0271.jpgDSC_0297.jpgDSC_0327.jpgDSC_0328.jpg

DSC_0133.jpgDSC_0134.jpgDSC_0178.jpg

SUMTING WRONG SUMWHEY A JA WHERE AS FACEPOWDA IS CONCERNED IS HOW PPL CYAA FIND DEM RITE SHADE?????? PEOPLE MI WAA UNNO TEK A REAL GOOD LOOK PAN MR NOSE FINGA NAIL DEM HOW DEM LONG...DAYUM... MUMZEL MI HAFFI HAN IT TO U... BLACK HAIR IS UR THANGGGGGGGG.. U SEE HOW U LOOK NICE ? OKAY THEN...PPL UNNO SEH WHA UNNO MAY PAN SHIZZLE CAUSE MI REALLY AT A LOSS FOR WORDS...DI CHAIN ROUN HIM NECK, DI SHOES, DI HAT... NO SAH NO SAH...NUTTIN TO SAY~lklk

p.s can someone ask Toddler how him skin look like it a fall suh ...pleeze!o

YL-Drake-20100201w.jpgIMG_4918.jpg
( l - r ) Drake, Mavado - File photos

Singjay Mavado and international superstar Drake are in the midst of building a learning center in Cassava Piece.

When THE WEEKEND STAR spoke with Mavado's manager Julian Jones-Griffith he explained that two weeks ago Drake donated US$25,000 (JA$2.15 million) towards the building of the library. The popular rapper shot the video for his latest single Find Our Love in Jamaica in April. The rapper also visited the island prior to that for vacation.

Jones-Griffith explained: "Basically Mavado and Drake shot some scenes in Cassava Piece and struck up an immediate rapport with the people there. He thought they showed him a lot of love and he was very down to earth with them and wanted to do something positive."

The idea for the learning center which includes a computer lab and a library, according to Jones-Griffith, was one Mavado had plans for so Drake decided to assist the project.

When THE WEEKEND STAR spoke to Drake he commented: "I had a great time when I was in Jamaica and the people of Cassava Piece showed me a lot of love. I just wanted to show back some love by helping out with Mavado's project on the Gullyside. It's a very positive move and something I am very happy to be a part of. Education is the key to life so to be able to assist in that process is very fulfilling."

Two weeks ago Drake gave Mavado his contribution and since then construction has started in Cassava Piece. Jones-Griffith added: "Obviously it's going to take more than what Drake gave so Mavado has contributed to it and pledges to put more towards it." Tentatively the name for the library is 'Drake and Mavado Peace Center'.

Mavado said: "I was born and grow inna Cassava Piece so mi always a look to impact di community in a positive way. We recently helped create peace between rival communities dat is going good, so we want to do sumpten new. We have been planning it for a while, when Drake was here it came up an he wanted to do sumpten to help and we mek di arrangements."

He added: "We're grateful for his contribution, it's a great gesture, he is not even a Jamaican, so for him to do dis and help build a foundation of knowledge and learning in our community is, yuh nuh, appreciated. Odda successful Jamaicans should tek a leaf out of Drake's book and gi back to di communities from weh dem born and grow."

For Mavado and his team they are looking to Corporate Jamaica to assist in the project. Jones-Griffith said: "We're reaching out to Corporate Jamaica which is always talking about transforming the garrison so it's time for them to put their money where their mouth is. LIME has already pledged to give us free Internet connection and we appreciate that."

The learning centre will be free of cost to persons from Cassava Piece as Jones-Griffith explained: "It's a community project not a business venture. People from the community are contributing to it from the ground up and are very happy about it."

Mavado has turned a peaceful leaf of late with a number of socially-conscious musical releases of late including: Messiah, Change Right Now and Can't Believe.

Baby orphaned by gunmen

July 2, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION4 Comments

A seven-month-old baby girl is now without her parents after criminals shot and killed both of them yesterday at Crescent district in Dam Head, St Catherine.

Those killed have been identified as Rosevelt Edwards, a 29-year-old employee of Kingston Terminal and 34-year-old Shauna Graham of Old Harbour, St Catherine.

"I know that the child will always remember the wickedness that took place here this morning, although it look like shi nuh know shi will never forget," a female bystander said.

Reports from the St Catherine North police are that about 7 a.m., residents heard the baby crying continuously and when someone went to investigate, Edwards was seen on the veranda in a sitting position with multiple gunshot wounds. An alarm was raised and persons went into the house where Graham was found in the bedroom also with gunshot wounds.

They were pronounced dead on the spot.

The St Catherine North Homicide Unit, which is conducting investigations in the matter, said no motive has been established for the killings.

The talk on the lips of residents of Old Harbour, St Catherine, is the fate of an infamous beggar who was punished in a rather unusual way by jerk pork vendors.

The man, who the vendors say was fast becoming a nuisance, was fed a meal of jerked sow privates - surely one he won't soon forget.

The incident took place close to Old Harbour approximately two weeks ago and still has residents talking. "All now him can't chew the piece of 'special' meat," one vendor joked when The WEEKEND Star asked him about it. "That is how him realise that a deh so him get fi eat."

Another woman in giving a rather comical description of the incident said: "Mi see him bite the meat and start to stretch it but him couldn't get fi eat it."

After realising the joke being played on him and after facing non-stop ridicule, the beggar was left feeling ashamed and no doubt, still hungry. "Him must learn fi stop beg meat. Next time it might be worse," the woman said.

Efforts to contact the beggar were unsuccessful, but word reaching The WEEKEND Star is that he has vowed never to beg pork again.

Red1.jpg
The Red Stripe Beer Vibes girls were a sight to behold last year. - Contributed

The third day of the Dream weekend band kicks off with the very wet Xtreme Wet N Wild on Sunday, August 1 and cools down in the night with Beer Vibes.

Xtreme Wet N Wild

It is all about fun, romping and a lot of water at Xtreme Wet N Wild, one of the three top events on the Dream weekend band. One of the most talked about events in Negril, Xtreme Wet N Wild gives patrons a new experience staged each year at the Kool Runnings Water Park.

According to Xtreme Wet N Wild promoter Kamal Bankay, outside of concerts held in Negril during the Emancipation weekend, as a party Wet N Wild sees the largest number of patrons. Last year, the number of patrons numbered approximately 6,000 persons.

Having been on the Dream weekend band for the second year this year, Wet N Wet got its start years ago as Xtreme Tip N Ting, and was staged at the Half Moon Beach in Hanover. Bankay said, "the first Wet N Wild, then called Xtreme Tip N Ting, was already a huge hit and then the water park was formed and we thought it would be an audacious and bold move to take it there, and the water park makes it a different party."

As well as partying, patrons attending Xtreme Wet N Wild also have the chance to enjoy the water slides and the lazy river which are open to patrons during the event. A 'wet zone' is also installed in the event where water is showered on patrons. This year, like last year, there will be two dance floors with DJs Liquid, Coppershot, 3rd Dimension, *lo**line, DJ Smurf and Richie B.

Bankay told THE WEEKEND STAR, "this year we're changing the set-up a little bit - where we put what, and we have a lot of cool ideas working through now. So the place will look different and there will be great interactive ideas for patrons. There are no inhibitions at this party, when you want to get wet, this is where you go and have a lot of fun and romping."

Last year saw entertainers Elephant Man, Bounty Killer, Mavado, Big Ship crew, Flippa Mafia, Flava Unit, Mr Lexx, QQ, Spice and others soaking up the fun alongside their fans, and the event promises the same fun this year.

Beer Vibes

Thinking outside of the box, Beer Vibes promoters Ras Promotions have a few surprises up their sleeves for the event in Negril this year. When THE WEEKEND STAR spoke to Solomon Sharpe from Ras Promotions he was tight-lipped about the event, but promised patrons a good time.

Having staged Beer Vibes for the last 12 years in Kingston, the event hit Bourbon Beach in Negril for the first time last year. According to Sharpe, it was a memorable occasion.

"The beach gives it a whole different vibe. This year, we're going with an international flavour, there are definitely surprises to come, it will be high and non-stop energy," he explained.

One of the surprises will be a new, soon-to-be announced venue, as well as the selectors. Sharpe said, "it'll be a different beach with a different type of personality. In Negril, it will be a mixture of everything. Last year, we gave you nine of the hottest selectors, this year it's about a different vibe, kinda like a remix. We love experimenting, and we always get a good response."

WetnWildF20090810C.jpg
Chrisanne Spaulding shows her beach-ready body in this sexy black swimsuit at Xtreme Wet 'n Wild at the Kool Runnings Water Park, last year.

Fears are emerging that downtown Kingston may once again become a feeding ground for robbers in the aftermath of Christopher 'Dudus' Coke's extradition to the United States.

Business operators, vendors, shoppers and even extortionists believe the commercial hub will become a haven for thieves unless the security forces maintain a very strong presence there.

THE WEEKEND STAR spoke with a number of concerned individuals who reasoned that the absence of Dudus means there will be no order and criminals, especially thieves, will use the opportunity to run amok in the area like they once did.

Head of the Criminal Investigation Branch, Assistant Commissioner Les Green, said the police were aware of people's concerns and efforts are already being put in place to hinder thieves.

"Yu memba wen people couldn't walk a town in peace? A deh so it a guh go back to now dat Dudus gone. A him did a mek di yute dem hold di order and now him gone, di yute dem naw tek no talk," one vendor who plies his wares close to the Coronation Market said, as others drew closer to give their own take on the matter.

"Police and solider affi go line every street or else a judgement a town, a now people a guh 'fraid a dung yah," another vendor added.

One particular vendor who gave her name as Patsy, said she has been selling in downtown for more than 12 years and recalled a time when violent thieves had people cowering in fear. She said in recent years, however, things got better but she now agrees with fellow vendors that such a time will come around again.

"Mi memba when man use to jus walk up to woman and cut dem two box and tek off dem jewellery or cut man inna dem face and then rob dem. Dem tings deh did stop still but mi feel seh it a guh start back again, mi naw lie. Mi know how town run 'cause mi a sell dung yah more than 12 years now and mi kinda worried mi naw lie," she reasoned.

A businnessman who owns a store on King Street went as far as to say he wishes the government would consider a permanent state of emergency as he believes it affects the thinking of criminals who may want to prey on persons and businesses in downtown.

"I wish this state of emergency could be imposed forever. I would be lying if I told you that I'm not afraid that the thieves are going to plague downtown now that Dudus is gone. I don't know the man but being in the area for a number of years I have heard that he is the person behind the so-called order in downtown. Now that he is gone it is going to be interesting to see what happens," he said.

THE WEEKEND STAR was lucky to get a comment from a man who was seen taking money from a vendor in the Coronation Market and subsequently giving her a reciept.

Asked if he shared views similar to those who spoke to THE WEEKEND STAR, the midget-height yet loud-speaking character demanded a round of liquour, claiming that would help get his thoughts together.

After imbibing on two bottles, the man said: "Hear how it go now and this a between me and you; Yu have nuff man bout di place weh naw go tek no talk and dem mek it known aready seh nobody cyaa gi dem nuh chat again cause Mr Man (Dudus) nuh deh yah. Town a guh start run wicked again, is just a matter of time. People a guh feel di effects jus' watch and see".

With that said the man left claiming he had more 'business' to attend to.

According to ACP Green, the concerns of the people have been taken into consideration and the police are, as a result, urging them not to be afraid.

"This is something we are aware of and have considered. We will be working to limit the factor of fear and so we will maintain a strong presence in the area. The people need not be afraid," ACP Green said.

Some people take this lk too seriously!

A man murdered his estranged wife after becoming "enraged" when she changed her marital status on Facebook to "single".
Edward Richardson, 41, of Mayfield Road, Biddulph, was found guilty of stabbing Sarah Richardson to death.
He killed the 26-year-old hairdresser at her parents' home in Brown Lees, Staffordshire, on 12 May, 2008, Stafford Crown Court heard.
Richardson tried to kill himself after the attack and was sentenced to life with a minimum of 17 years in prison.
Fiona Cortese, of the Crown Prosecution Service, said: "Richardson became enraged when Sarah changed her marital status on Facebook to single and decided to go and see her as she was not responding to his messages.
"He gained entry by breaking the front door window and made his way into the property.

Sarah Richardson had worked as a hairdresser in Sandbach
"Once inside he found Sarah in her bedroom and subjected her to a frenzied and brutal attack with a knife and then attempted to take his own life.
"We hope that today's guilty verdict will go some way to easing the pain of Sarah's family and friends after losing her in such a violent and abrupt way."
In a statement, Mrs Richardson's parents, Beryl and Alan Boote, said: "There simply aren't the words to describe how Sarah's death, and the awful way in which she died, has affected us. We all miss her so much.
"Sarah was the loveliest daughter anyone could wish for. She was honest, loyal and sweet, and everyone loved her.

sad

-- Edited by *~*Linkz Diva Appz*~* on Friday 2nd of July 2010 08:10:47 AM

AL Miller, the clergyman who was found in the company of extradited former strongman Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, pleaded not guilty when he appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court this morning.

Miller, who is charged with harbouring a fugitive and perverting the course of justice, had his $200,000 bail extended.

miller-frisked_w370.jpg

He was ordered senior Magistrate, Judith Pusey to return to court on July 29.

Miller yesterday took leave of absence from his position as head of the National Transformation Committee.

He was instrumental in the handing over of Coke's siblings Leighton 'Livity' Coke and Janet Coke.

AT least three former employees of Federal Capital Investment and Finance Limited have accused the company of terminating their services soon after they informed the management that they were pregnant.

But the allegations have been described as preposterous by chairman of the company Richard Virgo, who charged that the women were determined to destroy his firm which, he said, was already bankrupt.

According to the women, four workers were axed by the company after becoming pregnant between 2009 and 2010.

Natoya Kurdas, who said she was employed to the company as a loans officer for two-and-a-half years, claimed that on March 18 this year she received a letter stating that effective March 13 her services would be terminated as a result of a major scaling down of the firm. However, she said she was the only one in the company who received such a letter. At the time, she was five months pregnant.

The women said too, that last September another employee, who also worked in Kurdas department and was six months pregnant, received a letter informing her that her services would be terminated.

Two other employees received similar letters at that time, the women said. However, shortly afterwards, those two employees received a follow-up letter withdrawing the termination letter.

I know it was because of my pregnancy, said the woman who claimed she was fired in September. Some months before I had heard that someone else was fired because she was pregnant. And then the chairman called me up and asked how do I think that my pregnancy would affect my work. I was a loans officer, and so I worked on the road. I told him I didnt think it would [affect me] until further down.

She said she was advised by Virgo that she would be transferred to another department.

He said he was going to change my position from the loans department to the corrections and delinquency department, she told Chat! Shortly afterwards they had a board meeting after which they called three persons and gave us letters of termination. But out of that three, I was the only one that was let go.

The woman said that although she knew that her pregnancy was the reason for her being released, she could never prove it, so she did not take the matter to the Ministry of Labour.

I was pregnant and I knew I was the one with the most baggage and that is why they let me go, she said.

However, Virgo said the three women were simply trying to bring down his company that is already in the red.

My company is bankrupt. It is locking down. Do you know what bankrupt means? It is bankrupt with a 80 per cent delinquency, he said.

-- Edited by *~*Linkz Diva Appz*~* on Friday 2nd of July 2010 08:40:33 AM

MEMBERS of the media are now camped out at the Greater Portmore police station where popular dancehall deejay Vybz Kartel is expected to this morning turn himself over to police.

The controversial entertainer, who was yesterday named as a major person of interest by the St Catherine South Police, reported through media that he was to turn himself over to law men at 9:00 am but those promises have not materialised.

Lawyers representing the entertainer say they are still working out how their client will proceed.

Kartel, who is head of the Portmore Empire dancehall group has been named among several other persons of interests in the police division.

Since Monday police say they have detained 102 persons during  curfews imposed on Newlands and Naggo Head in Portmore, St Catherine. Cops said persons detained in curfews have been sent to the Mobile Reserve in Kingston for further questioning.

Another three were charged for various offences, including shooting and possession of marijuana.

The Portmore curfews are expected to be lifted today.

Frustrating ... hoax caller has phoned thousands of times

A RAPPER with a Jamaican accent is being hunted by cops after making THOUSANDS of bizarre hoax 999 calls.

The man dials the emergency number, but when his call is answered he begins to RAPSINGCHANT and PREACH to the operator.Audio clips of his calls were released by Greater Manchester Police today in the hope someone will recognise his voice.

The calls have been going on since January 2009, and in the last three months alone there have been 700.

Call handlers dealing with him are tied up for several minutes, stopping them from responding to genuine emergencies.

And it is costing the force up to Ł1,000 A MONTH just to answer his calls.

Officers have blocked more than 60 mobile phone SIM cards, but the man continues to make nuisance calls from unregistered phones.

Police have worked with mobile operators to establish that most of the calls are made from the Moss Side or Old Trafford areas of Manchester, which both have large Afro-Caribbean communities.

Superintendent Karan Lee, head of call handling, said: "I would hope he does not make these calls out of malice because he is putting lives at risk.

"At busy times, the line can be blocked by his calls which mean people with a genuine emergency cannot get through.

"We feel incredibly frustrated when this happens, because we are constantly striving to provide the best possible service.

"Nuisance calls are no laughing matter. I do not know what motivates this man, but it is not funny when we cannot respond to a real emergency."

Almshouse.jpg

SKNVibes.com News: Jury finds Pig Lover guilty
BASSETERRE, St. Kitts A 12-member jury this morning (Jun. 24) found William 'Scudumba' Gift of Sandy Point guilty of having sexual intercourse with a pig.

Gift, charged with the offence of Beastiality, allegedly had sexual intercourse with the animal sometime in December 2009 and was subsequently arrested and charged on December 25, 2009.

He pleaded not guilty and was on bail.

Gift appeared before Justice Francis Belle on Monday, June 14 in the High Court and was told that his case would be heard on Thursday, June 24, 2010. However, yesterday he again appeared before Justice Belle and the prosecution team, led by Director of Public Prosecution Paulina Hendrickson, rested its case after five prosecution witnesses had testified. 

Because of the nature of the case, the trial was held in camera and Gift was ordered to return to court today. 

Gift had indicated that he would take the stand today, but he did not. The unrepresented accused had decided to remain silent.

On announcement of the jurys findings, His Lordship adjourned sentencing until Thursday, July 1, 2010.

After the trial, media representatives were outside the court awaiting Gifts arrival, but he hid himself in the courts bathroom. He was assisted by a female employee of the Sir Lee Llewellyn Moore Judicial and Legal Complex in evading the press. She allowed him to use another exit instead of the main one of the building. 

However, the press caught up with Gift but did not get a comment from him, as he hid his face from view and hurriedly fled the area.

Lawd2.jpg

lawd.jpg

ISN'T PETER SWEET MARRIED???hmm  AND NOT ONLY DOES THIS BACK NEED GARLIC N COCO BUTTER IT NEED A GOOD SCRUB OFF... MI NEVA SEE DEM YAH BOWLNIZZ YAH SINCE DI COMMENCEMENT A DIS YEAR YAH... lol

Now After unu breed curruption fi decades unu feel fi abide by laws...no boss unu need fi experience di f*ckry first...

Gunmen invade Samudas home

Ministers shotgun, ammunition and US currency stolen

BY PAUL HENRY Observer staff reporter henryp@jamaicaobserever.com

Thursday, July 01, 2010

GUNMEN yesterday held up workers at the Knollis, St Catherine home of Cabinet Minister Karl Samuda, locked them in a room before making their escape with the MP's shotgun and approximately 100 rounds of ammunition about 12:00 noon.

The men also made off with a quantity of US currency after cutting open a steel safe with a blowtorch, according to the police.

Cabinet Minister Karl Samuda speaks on his cellphone as he walks past a police car at his home in Knollis, St Catherine yesterday. The police were at Samudas home to investigate a robbery in which the ministers shotgun, 100 rounds of ammunition and United States currency were stolen. (Photo: Karl McLarty)
Samuda: I really feel violated in a very real way
[Hide Description] Cabinet Minister Karl Samuda speaks on his cellphone as he walks past a police car at his home in Knollis, St Catherine yesterday. The police were at Samudas home to investigate a robbery in which the ministers shotgun, 100 rounds of ammunition and United States currency were stolen. 

"I really feel violated in a very real way," Samuda, who was not home at the time, told the Observer yesterday.

The robbery came less than 24 hours after Samuda announced that he had met with area leaders in his constituency and informed them that he would not need their help in upcoming election campaigns, even if it cost him his seat.

But there was no indication yesterday that the minister's statement Tuesday rejecting dons had anything to do with the robbery at his home.

Inspector Paul Thomas, acting crime officer-in-charge of the St Catherine North Police Division, told the Observer on the scene that investigators were following strong leads that could lead to speedy arrests.

According to Inspector Thomas, two men with guns walked onto the 100-acre property and forced four workers into the main house on the premises where they were roughed up and locked into a room.

Police said the armed men spent about two hours inside the house before escaping on foot. The house was left ransacked.

The police said they were informed that two strange men were seen on the property Tuesday, but left after they were spotted.

Samuda's family members, some with long faces, gathered yesterday evening at the sprawling property, called Hyde Valley Farm, as they discussed the break-in and robbery.

But a resolute Samuda told the Observer that the incident only highlights the need for criminality to be rooted out of the society.

"This has only strengthed my resolve to help to rid the country of criminals," Samuda said. "Every Jamaica should join in and try their best to help fight criminality."

He said Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller and other members of People's National Party, as well as members of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party called him to express their sympathy.

Samuda, who is general secretary of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and MP for North Central St Andrew, said he told the so-called area leaders that he would not support any activity that would result in breaking the law, intimidation and extortion.

"Gone were the days," Samuda said, "when persons engaged in gangsterism and donmanship could seek to find political affiliation to the JLP."

Samuda said he was following the lead of Prime Minister Bruce Golding, in what he said was his unprecedented assault on crime.

roach3.jpg
roachandgoat2.jpg
roachandgoat.jpg

RODNEY AKA GOATFACE KILLA U AN BRIDGES BOWL! HOW COME SHE GET SPESHAL TREATMENT AN ADDA FEMALES IN ALLIANCE NUH GET DEM TREATMENT STACIOUS IS CLOSE TRUE LINKAGE BUT SHE NUH GET UR ATTENTION KQUEENS IN A ALLIANCE LANG BEFORE BRIDGES AN YUH NOT EVEN LOOK PON DEM..WE KNO HOW YUH DUH. WHEN U AN YUH OOMAN INA DANCE YUH GI DEM 2 FOOT A SPACE..EVA NOTICE DAT PPL.. EVA NOTICE BRIDGES ALWAYS DEH WIDIN 2 FOOT NO GYAL DEH SIDE A HIM..AN SHE NAH DANCE UP WID NUHBADY ELSE..HOW COME U NUH DANCE WID STACIOUS R KQUEENS? 

EXHIBIT A KQUEENS DEYA BACK DEM NUH GET DI SAME ATENCHAN BRIDGES GET..

EXHIBIT B LOOK LIKE YUH WAN FOWCE IT UP ARD INA HAR...

EXHIBIT C LOOK PON BRIDGES INA DI RANGE PASSENJA (ZOOM IN PEOPLE) 1 MAN DEYA BACK... ME KNOW SHE DRIVE AN WHY SHE UP FRONT WID YOU

NOTICE DI PAWTY AH PAYDAY CLAUDIA DEH IN FRONTA DI GOAT (DWL) AN BRIDGES WEH YOU DID DEH YUH 2 FOOT POSISHAN GET TEK WEH DA NITE DEH! CRAWL INA CAWNA LIKE A TRUE ROACH

PPL COME TAWK DI TINGZ CAZ DIS TOPIC NEED FI WEEEEL UP lol

According to ForNews.com Ferris Buellers Day Off star Jeffrey Jones has been charged with a felony after failing to update his registration as a sex offender in California, the L.A. Times reported Wednesday.

Jones, 63, was arrested last week on suspicion of failing to renew his registration within five days of his last birthday, Sept. 28, 2009, the Times said.

In 2003, Jones was placed on five years probation and was ordered to register as a sex offender, in addition to mandatory counseling, after he pleaded no contest to inducing a 14-year-old boy to pose for sexually explicit photographs.

Vybz-Kartel.jpg
State of emergency is implimented to treat poor people and ghetto people like dogs. Take for example me. I am always in the public eye. Always going about my merry way, why is it that now is the time when they have an interest in me.when all human rights have been suspended? What has changed in the last 28 days about me to make me so interesting ? Interestingly enough I have not been to portmore in over two years yet it is portmore police who have taken interest in me and not st Andrew north where I have lived for the last 6 years. This is not the first time they have tried to tarnish my name. Few years ago They accused me, a man who cannot hide as I am a famous artiste as the killer of " nunu p**s". ? They dragged me to horizon, kgn central, and guncourt remand centre in one night, took me back to horizon the next day where I stayed for three days, then released me and said " oh sorry we made a mistake".it is not the whole police force just a few bad seeds who have always been trying to damage my career by slandering me.so now is the opportune time to rake vybzkartel through the coal again and punish him unjustly. Use him as the example,posters boy for " bad bwoy artiste". Me can't take it no more. If I was doing something wrong I wouldn't even feel the way I'm feeling now.BB people, Please publish all of this so Jamaica people know what I'm going through. Better they just crucify me and done.send this message to everyone, b4 dem try frame me and kill me like the people dem in west kingston reading

1.jpg
WHICH ONE A DEM SHOOZE YAH NUH BELONG PANDY FOOT WHEY IT DEH PAN?..AN NO YES DAT ONE LOOK PREGNANT!o
  •  Maywood, California, lays off all employees
, On Thursday July 1, 2010, 8:00 am EDT

Tiny Maywood, Calif., laid off every single one of its city employees on Wednesday.

But that doesn't mean the city is closing up shop. City Hall will still be open, as will Maywood's park and recreation center. Police will continue to patrol the streets.

They just won't be staffed by Maywood employees. The city can't have any staff because it can't get liability or worker's compensation insurance for them. Maywood's carrier, the California Joint Powers Insurance Authority, dropped it earlier this month in part because of several police-related claims.

Instead of declaring bankruptcy, Maywood officials decided to outsource all city functions. The Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department will patrol the streets, while the neighboring city of Bell will cover other city functions, such as staffing City Hall.

Maywood already relies on contract workers and outsources many city services. The director of parks and recreation, for instance, is a contractor, and the city's lights, landscaping and street sweeping are handled by private companies. Los Angeles County maintains the library and fire department.

Some of Maywood's 96 employees -- which include 41 police officers -- will also continue as contract workers. Elected officials, such as the city council and the city clerk, will remain on the job in the 1.5-square-mile municipality, which has about 45,000 residents.

"Odds are residents will see the same faces as in years past, just under a different administrative process," said Magdalena Prado, the city's community relations director, who is a contract worker and is keeping her post.

Maywood is billing itself as the first American city to outsource all of its city services. In an odd twist, officials say it can provide even better services because the shift will help it save money and close a $450,000 shortfall in its $10 million general fund budget.

For instance, the contract with the sheriff's department costs about half of the more than $7 million spent annually to maintain the Maywood police department, Prado said. And patrols will be increased.

"Our community will continue to receive quality services," Mayor Ana Rosa Riso said in a statement. "Maywood's streets will continue to be swept, our summer park programs will continue to operate and our waste will be collected and hauled as scheduled."

Stressed cities

A growing number of cities are looking to contract out or share services regionally as the economic downturn takes its toll on municipal budgets.

"Everything is on the table," said Chris Hoene, research director at the National League of Cities. "The fiscal stress cities are feeling mean they are looking for alternative options to deliver services that cost less money."

Some 7 in 10 city officials said they are cutting personnel to balances their budgets, while another 68% are holding off on capital projects, according to a survey the league did in May. More than half of respondents say they will make to further slash city services next year if taxes or fees are not raised.

Not everyone is distressed by Maywood's unusual plan for providing city services. While Jesus Padilla feels sorry for the workers being affected, he thinks things might improve. He's made lots of calls to the county sheriff's department when he worked as a security guard and said officers always responded promptly.

"The council made the best decision it could," said Padilla, a local activist who has lived in Maywood for more than 30 years. "It's going to be good for the city and the citizens."

ExplosionD20061226NScut.jpg
Vybz Kartel - File photos

Controversial deejay Vybz Kartel claims the police are attempting to smear his reputation.

The deejay was listed as a 'person of interest' on Tuesday by the Jamaica Constabulary Force and was expected to turn himself in yesterday.

"This is not the first time that the police force has attempted to smear my reputation," said the deejay yesterday morning in a statement sent to THE STAR.

He said that the cops, like they had done previously when he was arrested, were acting "based on half-baked assumptions and ridiculous rumours."

He further stated that; "as it happened then, I know I will be exonerated once again."

The deejay said that he had nothing to fear based on the latest development. "Fear makes men believe the worst, but I believe in our justice system, however, flawed it may be, and in the end, I will be vindicated. I remain confident that the security forces will act with professionalism in this matter."

Kartel, who's real name is Adidja Palmer, was among six persons listed by the St Catherine South police as major person of interest. The other persons of interest are: Omar Lawrence, Seymour Johnson, Paul Smith, Oneil Myurrie and Damion Perry. The release stated, "the St Catherine South police is asking these major persons of interest to turn themselves in at any police station in Portmore or any police station across the island."

When THE STAR asked the controversial entertainer how this questioning episode would affect his career, he didn't seem to expect negative reactions. He said, "my career has always been filled with accusation and tribulations. So we will overcome as always."

Kartel could possibly spend a few days to weeks in jail, which could see him missing upcoming performances in Portmore, St Ann, Nassau in The Bahamas and even Reggae Sumfest in Montego Bay.

However, while this is a possibility, he encourages his fans who might miss his performances to continue to support his Portmore Empire, which consists of fellow entertainers Jah Vinci, Popcaan, Gaza Slim, among others.

Up until press time late last night, checks with the Greater Portmore (Hundred Man) Police Station revealed that Kartel had still not turned himself in
fatjoeperformingfullylo.jpg
File Photo: Rapper Fat Joe Performing at Fullyloaded 2009
With numerous rumors surrounding the possible cancellation of the summers biggest and baddest beach party FULLYLOADED, organizers of the event Solid Agency is this week rolling out the promotional campaign with the announcement that plans for the 2010 staging are already underway and slated for Sunday August 1st.

"Fullyloaded is back this year and the keyword for patrons to pay attention to is "New". We have a new venue, new sponsorship and new ideas we gonna be bringing to the event. For the first time ever we will be staging the event on the first Sunday in the month, usually its on the last Sunday. Outside of that we have a number of sponsors coming on-board and by this weekend we will be putting out an official release confirming the venue amongst other things". Chris Campbell (Solid Agency PR Manager)

Last year the event which was staged at James Bond Beach in Oracabessa St. Mary featured performances from international award winning rappper Fat Joe, the Alliance general Bounty Killer, gully god Mavado,, J.O.P leader Aidonia, Demarco, Teflon and Iyara while reggae / pop sensation Sean Kingston made a surprise appearance.
NICOSIA, Cyprus Red-faced authorities in Cyprus searched airports, ports and yacht marinas Thursday in a hunt for a suspected Russian spy-ring paymaster who vanished after being allowed to walk free on bail. Police also examined surveillance video from crossing points on the war-divided island, fearing that the suspect may have slipped into the breakaway north of the island, a diplomatic no-mans-land recognized only by Turkey. Justice Minister Loucas Louca admitted that a judge's decision to release Christopher Robert Metsos "may have been mistaken" but said authorities were examining leads on his possible whereabouts. "We have some information and we hope that we will arrest him soon," Louca told reporters Thursday, without elaborating. Metsos, 54, is wanted in the United States on charges that he supplied money to the spy ring that operated under deep cover in America's suburbs. Ten other spy suspects were arrested in the U.S. on Sunday and nine of them faced bail hearings later Thursday. A tenth suspect has already been denied bail and is being detained in the U.S. Metsos' disappearance is a major embar****ment to Cyprus, a holiday island once considered a hotbed of Cold War intrigue, with sovereign British bases, nonaligned status and proximity to the Middle East.Authorities have promised to do everything possible to find the suspect who claimed he was a tourist traveling on a Canadian passport. Metsos was arrested Tuesday in Cyprus on an Interpol warrant while waiting to board a flight for Budapest, Hungary, but a Cypriot judge freed him on euro27,000 ($33,000) bail. Metsos failed to appear Wednesday for a required meeting with police, igniting the manhunt. Police spokesman Michalis Katsounotos said there were "no indications yet" that Metsos had left the internationally recognized south of the island and told The Associated Press that "the nagging question of why he was released on bail is best posed to the court, not the police." The American ambassador to Cyprus, Frank Urbancic, held an hour-long meeting with Cyprus President Dimitris Christofias on Thursday, but a government spokesman insisted the U.S. had made no formal complaint. "The investigation is in the hands of the Cypriot government," a spokesman for the American embassy said when asked if the United States had contacted authorities in northern Cyprus about the fugitive. Cyprus was split into an internationally recognized Greek Cypriot south and a breakaway Turkish Cypriot north in 1974 when Turkey invaded in response to a coup by supporters of union with Greece. Turkey is bound by Interpol warrants, but northern Cyprus is not and also has no extradition treaties with other countries. Its only air links are to Turkey, but it has ferries that run to Turkey, Lebanon and Syria. In 1993, businessman Asil Nadir jumped bail and fled Britain for northern Cyprus, where he still resides. Katsounotos says Metsos arrived on the island June 17, Cypriot authorities received the Interpol arrest warrant June 25, and he was arrested four days later. A Turkish Interior Ministry official said Thursday he had no information about any search warrant for Metsos, but if one was issued, Turkish police at airports and ports would be on the lookout for him. He spoke on his department's customary condition of anonymity. Turkey's Mediterranean coast is some 960 miles (1,540 kilometers) long, making it difficult to control, but Turkish authorities frequently intercept illegal migrants trying to sneak in. About 25 flights take off daily from northern Cyprus to more than a half-dozen Turkish cities. The island lies in the far eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea, a mere 45 miles (72 kilometers) from the southern coast of Turkey, about 110 miles (177 kilometers) from Syria and 145 miles (233 kilometers)from Lebanon. Crossings between northern and southern Cyprus were forbidden until 2003, when both authorities relaxed restrictions. But police on the two sides of the island have no formal cooperation deals, making it easier for smugglers and fugitives to operate. "As long as occupation continues and we have this situation with the crossing points, there is a string of problems the government is trying to deal with through all legal means," government spokesman Stefanos Stefanou said. In the United States, nine others charged in the spying case faced bail hearings Thursday in federal courts in New York, Boston and Alexandria, Virginia. A tenth defendant, 28-year-old Anna Chapman, was denied bail on Monday. She faces a potential penalty of five years in prison if convicted. Most of the others are charged with crimes that carry penalties of up to 25 years. wtflol

The Police Complaints divison is probing a case where a sergeant has been accused of physically abusing his wife for 21 years and molesting her 12-year-old sister.

The police man's wife, Mrs Cran, is said to have made a report on June 23.

When THE STAR contacted the division, a corporal confirmed that a report was made.

"There is a case of that nature. I cannot divulge much information but I know the husband has already been contacted," the corporal said.

Mrs Cran was, however, willing to share her alleged tale of pain with THE STAR. She said that she has been married to the St Catherine cop for 21 years despite being abused and disrespected for the most part.

She alleged that her husband physically abused her, managed to get a number of girls pregnant and molested her 12-year-old sister.

The marriage from the beginning, she said, was headed straight for disaster but she ignored the first sign.

"The day before our wedding I caught him kissing a girl, as in deep kissing her but I overlooked it and we still got married," she claimed.

In a letter, which she also wrote to THE STAR, Mrs Cran pinpointed several incidents which she claims occurred during the marriage.

"We had a 16-year-old young lady living with us to help with our two kids as we were both employed, what he did was to get her pregnant and threatened to shoot her if she told me he was the father," she alleged.

So bad was the abuse and disrespect that Mrs Cran claims she had to hide from her husband and flee to the United Kingdom in 2002. She said she had to leave her two young sons behind. Cran said she returned later but was again abused continuously.

Asked how she managed to remain in the marriage for so long, Mrs Cran said she did it for the sake of her two boys.

"I really don't know, to be honest, but I think I did it so my boys could have a stable home," she said.

Efforts to contact the policeman proved futile as calls to his phone went unanswered and messages left were not returned.

Name changed to protect identity.

DEEJAY Vybz Kartel has again promised to turn himself in to the police.

Having not kept the date to meet with police yesterday, there is word again that the artiste will show up at a station in Portmore today.

The controversial artiste, who is head of the St Catherine-based Portmore Empire, was on Tuesday named by the police as a major person of interest, and was ordered to turn himself in.

Chat! was unable to speak with the deejay, however, he did send a text message in which he continued to question why he was being sought by the authorities.

Jamaica full a too much hypocrite, and they just want to blame me, a part of the text message read.

The deejay maintains that there are moves afoot to tarnish his name.

In an interview Tuesday, Kartel indicated that he was interested in having the Reverend Al Miller take him in to the police. However, the reverend was reportedly locked in a meeting with Prime Minister Bruce Golding yesterday.

Miller was instrumental in the capture by the police of wanted fugitive Christopher Dudus Coke.

Dudus%27s-Mother_w370.jpg

THE 63-year-old woman lies in bed inside her Tivoli Gardens home cl**tching a radio, listening intently to each news bulletin as though her life depends on it.
A worried frown creases her forehead. She appears restless. Pauline Patsy Halliburton, mother of Christopher Dudus Coke, is terrified that she will never see her son alive again. 
Coke, who is wanted on gun and drug charges in the United States, has been on the run since May 17 when a warrant was issued for his arrest. Less than a week later, security forces traded bullets with gunmen in his Tivoli Gardens community, and when the smoke cleared 73 civilians and a soldier lay dead. Coke, who was reported to have been in Tivoli at the start of the May 24 incursion, escaped, the police said. 
Now Halliburton, who is diabetic and blind, is hungry for news of her son. Her frustration is compounded by the fact that she is somewhat restricted in her movement as a result of an amputated leg caused by the disease.
The last few weeks have been the worst in my life, she told the Sunday Observer last Wednesday. 
The last time ah see mi son and talk to him was Mothers Day (May 9). Him even send mi present come; him never miss a Mother's Day, Halliburton said.
Asked if she was in contact with Coke or if she had asked him to turn himself in, Halliburton answered: Mi afraid of what the foreign people them might do. Her reference was to the US extradition request. She, however, declined to state whether she was in contact with Coke. 
During the interview, a family member, who did not wish to be named, adjusted Halliburtons pillow, explaining that she had suffered a slight stroke shortly after the Tivoli incursion. 
Her health is failing, the family member said. 
But Halliburton boldly interjected that despite her condition, her strong faith in God would keep her.
Im strong, if not for myself but for my son.
Every night ah lay in my bed with me radio just praying and hoping that my son will be safe, she continued, adding that it has been a while since she had a good nights sleep.
In her heyday, Halliburton worked as a vendor, selling goods in downtown Kingston and supporting her three children two boys and one girl. She also used the opportunity presented by the interview to dismiss rumours that Coke was the adopted son of former Tivoli Gardens don, Lester Lloyd Coke, otherwise called Jim Brown. 
Him a nuh no adopted son; a just people love to talk, Halliburton told the Sunday Observer. In fact, she said one of Duduss sons was the spitting image of his late grandfather. 
Tivoli residents have also scoffed at the suggestion that Coke was adopted, but the police and media reports have said otherwise.
As Halliburton spoke, soldiers moved around outside her house searching for clues to Cokes whereabouts.
The lawmen had initially placed a US$20,000 bounty on Cokes head, but increased that figure to J$5 million on Friday. 
But the Coke the authorities say they are searching for is a far cry from the one described by his mother last week. 
She described Coke as a quiet and caring person.
Him hardly talk, but him care for people and try to help them. When him deh here, me nuh wanting a nothing, said Halliburton, who said her son also covered the cost of all her medication.
She said not only was her son innocent, but that she felt he was a hero.
She likened Cokes predicament to that of past who in their lifetime were regarded as outlaws by authorities, but who were later absolved by history.
All a what dem a say is lie dem telling, and that is why I am calling on the authorities to carry out a deeper investigation in my sons case, Halliburton said.
Asked what her greatest wish was, she said, Me just wish all of this problem would go away and that them would just leave him alone. 
My son is a hero. A pure good things him do for people why them love him, continued Halliburton, fighting hard to hold back tears.
She said he was also a disciplinarian.
One of my clearest memory of this was when there was a strike of teachers some years ago and some people came out to protest, and him come around and say I must come off of the road, she told the Sunday Observer.
Halliburton said Coke, at the time, also defended teachers, saying they should get greater recognition for the job they did. 
She added that she felt that a number of persons were now trying to use her son by blaming him for problems that were not of his making. 
But despite her call for her son to be left alone, the police say they have stepped up their operations to apprehend him.
In fact, last week they placed several areas across the island under curfew to restrict the movement of criminals who may be associated with the reputed community leader.
Since Coke fled Tivoli, police say, several searches in the community and surrounding areas have resulted in the seizure of more than 70 guns and thousands of assorted rounds of ammunition.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Mom-says--Dudus--a-hero
The Bog Walk police in St Catherine are searching for two gunmen who robbed a house belonging to Commerce Minister Karl Samuda yesterday.

Reports are that about midday, the men went to the house which is located along the Riversdale main road in St Catherine.

The men, both of whom were armed, are said to have held up the minister's helper and his sister-in-law. They are also reported to have roughed up one of the women and made several harsh remarks.

Reports are that the men also forced a workman on the property to use a welding torch to cut open a safety deposit box.

After entry was gained, they stole a 12-gauge shotgun, along with several boxes of cartridges.

THE STAR learnt that the minister has lived at the house for several years but was not there when the gunmen struck.

Investigations are being conducted by the St Catherine North police.

Accused on rape charge

July 1, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION1 Comments

A 36-year-old man who allegedly grabbed a teenager, placed her in his car and subsequently raped her was granted $200,000 bail in the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday.

When the case was mentioned on Tuesday before RM Marcia Dunbar-Green, his lawyer told the court that the accused was not a flight risk. She said when her client heard he was being sought, he willingly turned himself over to the police.

The man who resides in north St Catherine was told to stay away from the complainant.

Allegations before the court are that on June 17, about 7 p.m., the 15-year-old complainant was walking in the community.

The accused drove up his car dragged her inside, drove her to a lonely spot where he proceeded to sexually assault her.

A report was made to the Brown's Hall police and an investigation resulted in charges of abduction and rape being brought against him.

He is to return to court on September 7, when the case will again be mentioned.

OLD MAN DIES AT FUNERAL

June 30, 2010
Started By HABLA RUPTION12 Comments

The sad and sombre mood at the funeral for 21-year-old Simone Ford got worse on Saturday when OJ Gardener, the girl's elderly godfather, died during the service.

THE STAR was told the man, who is believed to be in his early 80s and suffers from heart trouble, fainted at the Snowden Anglican Church, Manchester, where the funeral for Ford was underway.

Police from the Cross Keys Police Station told THE STAR that the justice of the peace was inside the church when he took a deep breath and fainted. When checks were made, it was discovered that Morgan had passed away.

sudden death

The police said they were called to the scene and they have recorded Morgan's passing as a case of sudden death.

A resident of the nearby Rose Hill community told THE STAR that Morgan was a well respected member of the community. "He was a good JP and he signed the papers for me to go to college. He was very well known. He attended St Patrick's Anglican Church."

Simone Ford was one of four young persons killed on June 12, when the car they were travelling in slammed into a wall and burst into flames. She was a student of the Edna Manley School of Visual and Performing Arts and was from Lancaster district in the parish. Also killed in the accident were Richard Suckie, 23, of Marshall's district; Roshay Young, 20, of *la*hmfield Gardens and Roberta Milton, 21, of Poinsettia Terrace.

Police said about 4 a.m., Suckie was driving a 2005 Mazda RX-8 motor car with the three women aboard. On reaching a section of the roadway he lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a wall. The impact caused the car to burst into flames burning the occupants to death.
I was wondering this

An alleged attempt to blackmail telecommunications company Digicel of $4 million in cash and $2 million in phone credit and high-end cellphones, has left one man facing the courts.

The man, 19-year-old Leon Pryce, is alleged to have threatened to reveal incriminating information about the company if they did not pay him.

His alleged blackmail attempt, however, was not successful and Pryce was arrested and charged with extortion. He appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday and was remanded in custody.

The allegations are that Pryce contacted the company and told representatives that he was in possession of information that would tarnish the company's image locally and overseas. He allegedly said he had contacted a reporter from an overseas newspaper who was willing to pay US$35,000 (J$3,045,000) for the information. He also threatened to publish the information locally.

It is alleged that Pryce demanded the cash, $1million in phone credit and another $1 million in high-end phones, in order to keep the information from the public.

It is further alleged that Pryce turned up at the company's offices with a detailed contract after he was asked by Digicel representatives for a guarantee that he would not publish the information after being paid. He reportedly showed up with the contract a day later.

Pryce was given a cheque for $4 million, but was arrested the same day as he was about to leave the office by investigators from the Organised Crime Investigation Division.

When the matter came up in court, Pryce said he was a good person, and told Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey that he was recently baptised. He also asked for a chance.

The matter will be mentioned again on July 7.
«First  <  1112 113 114 115 116524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by