Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger admits he is still furious at France's capitulation at the World Cup finals.
Wenger, who worked for the French media in South Africa during the finals, has joined the chorus of disapproval at his nation's World Cup campaign.
France bowed out in the group stages after they failed to win any of their matches against Uruguay, Mexico or South Africa.
The camp suffered during the tournament as Nicolas Anelka clashed with coach Raymond Domenech, and then a subsequent player strike followed after the Chelsea man was sent home.
"As a coach, when there is a conflict of egos, jealousy or suspicion you can't do anything but improve communication between players," Wenger explained in L'Equipe.
"It is the coach's duty to unravel trouble, but without the players' participation, you can't do anything. That is why a group needs strong leaders.
"The coach doesn't have access to the privacy of the group. Without intelligent players, you can't win. My players are intelligent.
"My anger is growing with each day that passes by, which should not be the case. How can a group reach that point? All year long the players are talking about the World Cup.
"How then, two days before a key match, can we reach extreme acts (strike) for such laughable reasons (solidarity to Anelka's ban)? It will remain forever a mystery to me. The group has become completely mad, forgetting the objective.
"Anyway, there is no possible working without authority. It is better a bad boss than no boss. We have to set back that culture in the French team, and send a strong message to the future players, that it should never happen anymore.
"I have been deeply traumatised with what I have seen. The French team is everyone's dream, it is unique and magic. What happened is a kind of destruction.
"We were ready to see them playing bad, but they went beyond this."
Wenger also criticised the decision to announce that Domenech would be leaving, to be replaced by Laurent Blanc, before the tournament had started.
He continued: "Before the World Cup I said: 'Having a coach reaching the end of his contract is putting a thorn in his finger'.
"You don't have anymore authority. The players know they will not need you any more later.
"In the French team, there were pretend words of unity for a while, but it never materialised on the pitch.
"There was neither solidarity, nor unity. You can't cheat people about unity just with words.
"When you defeat Faroe Islands 1-0 during the qualifiers, you can't hope to defeat Argentina 4-0 in the World Cup."
Wenger thinks modern life is partly to blame for some problems, adding: "We saw how it is difficult for national team players to live together.
"I have players in a lot of different teams and the echoes are all the same: 'There is a new problem: how can we spend 40 days all together...'
"The players entered an era of distant communication thanks to the internet or phones, but they don't talk any more together."
Dutch football great Johan Cruyff said in an interview published Saturday that of the two teams in the World Cup final he "sees the most of me" in Spain rather than the Netherlands.
Vicente Del Bosque's team "radiates an aura of 'we want the ball and we want to dictate,"' Cruyff said in an interview with Dutch daily De Telegraaf.
The former midfield star and architect of Dutch "total football" of the 1970s made the comments as his country whipped itself into a football frenzy ahead of Sunday's final in Johannesburg.
An orange tram was riding around Amsterdam and the Defense Ministry announced that two F-16 fighter jets, including one painted orange, will escort the team's plane home once it reaches Dutch air space on Monday. The same orange F-16 roared low over Amsterdam's Arena stadium moments before the Netherlands thrashed Hungary 6-1 in its final World Cup warmup.
Staff wore orange shirts in markets and shops across the nation of 16 million, and people hung the national red, white and blue flag along with orange banners from their homes.
On Sunday, fans will mass in front of giant screens in cities like Amsterdam, the capital, and Maastricht in the south, where authorities had to hire security staff from neighboring Belgium and Germany.
If the Netherlands win Sunday, the team will tour Amsterdam's web of canals in an open-topped boat on Tuesday and tens of thousands of fans are expected to line the route. City officials have made videos of the condition of a handful of house boats along the route to help assess claims in case they are damaged by over-exuberant fans clambering onto their roofs.
The Netherlands is in the global football showcase final for the first time since losing back-to-back title games in 1974 and 1978 to hosts West Germany and Argentina. Spain is in its first World Cup final.
Cruyff, star of the 1974 Dutch team and later a standout player and coach at Barcelona, praised Spain coach Vicente Del Bosque for forging a cohesive team out of stars drawn from rival clubs Real Madrid and Barcelona.
However Cruyff also praised Netherlands coach Bert van Marwijk for reaching the final.
"You have to admire this team," Cruyff said of the Netherlands. "It is not built from the best players in the world, but it functions as an extremely strong team."
He picked goalkeeper Maarten Stekelenburg, whose athletic one-handed save to deny Kaka in the quarterfinal may have kept his team in the tournament, and versatile winger Dirk Kuyt as the heroes of Oranje.
"At crucial moments, Stekelenburg saved the team," Cruyff said, "and whenever the team had a problem with the lineup Kuyt was the solution."
Cruyff, who now divides his time between Spain and his country of birth, did not predict who would win.
"I have links with both the Netherlands and Spain," he said. "Whatever the result, I win."
In Paul Vlaar's rural church, the candles, the piano, even the pastor's robes were orange for a day.
Vlaar kicked off his sermon to about 300 orange-clad worshippers by praying for Dutch teamwork to lead to victory in the World Cup final against Spain in Johannesburg on Sunday. During the service, Vlaar kicked a football down the aisle and "You'll never walk alone" was played on the orange piano.
Vlaar's orange-colored corner of the Netherlands was one small snapshot from a nation gripped by a football frenzy triggered by the country's first final appearance since losing back-to-back finals in 1974 and '78 to hosts West Germany and Argentina.
Vlaar said the football-themed mass was not out of place in his small Roman Catholic church north of Amsterdam.
"All the things come together," he said. "There was sport, there was faith, there was love. It was top!"
The football fervor was just as strong in Spain, where newspaper ABC featured the country's flag and just one word on its front page: "Spain!"
Spain, the reigning European champion, is in its first World Cup final. With a lineup of stars from Real Madrid and Barcelona, coach Vicente Del Bosque's team is favored to win.
Downtown Madrid was festooned with flags and the central Cibeles fountain, often a scene of celebration after Real Madrid wins, was draped in a flag.
A giant TV screen was set up next to Cibeles, facing northwards up the Paseo de la Castellana boulevard where up to 250,000 fans are expected to watch and cheer the match live.
Prime Minister Jose Luis Rodriguez Zapatero praised the national team in an article in leading newspaper El Pais on Sunday, saying it was an example to the nation of how teamwork can create a positive unity of purpose.
"That's the Spain we want, a creative Spain, true to itself, innovative and inventive, that speaks to the world with a new language," Zapatero said. "The team has shown us how to go forward through effort and creativity."
Eugenia Ribera, 16, who was sporting a Fernando Torres jersey, said she felt proud and anxious.
"This is a day to remember, our team has made us so very proud," she said. "The whole country has woken up full of expectation."
Jose Herrero, 18, who was riding a bicycle while wearing a red and yellow Spain jersey, was confident after Spain disposed of Germany in the semifinal.
"We are going to win the World Cup, how amazing. It's the greatest thing that has happened in my lifetime," he said.
Rafael Sorian, 24, said he thought Spain would win 2-1.
"If we don't do it this time, I don't know when we'll be able to do it again at this level," he said.
The Dutch capital, Amsterdam - along with cities across the nation - were being decked in orange. Giant footballs were suspended from orange garlands strung across streets. Orange balloons were strung across the cash registers in the Albert Heijn supermarket on the Koningsplein.
Fans began arriving at a giant screen behind the Van Gogh Museum around noon - more than eight hours before kickoff in South Africa. In The Hague, bar owners at a central square prepared for their busiest night of the year and fans, one wearing an orange cowboy hat and blowing an orange vuvuzela, milled around.
At a souvenir shop on one of Amsterdam's canals, store owner John Dewit stocked up on sun glasses with orange frames, orange hats and orange T-shirts.
"They are going like hot bread," Dewit said. "This is great extra business."
At the Ovidius coffee shop and bar, barman Mark Heeren had orange fuzz on the cash register.
Heeren said he had mixed feelings about the match. His father is Spanish from the Las Palmas on Grand Canary Island and his mother is Dutch. Both Spanish and Dutch are his native languages, in addition to German and English.
"I don't know who I'm for," Heeren said. "If the Netherlands loses, I'll be happy for Spain. I'm in the middle."
It was not only the streets that were abuzz with finals fever.
Hup Holland Hup! - a traditional chant when the national team plays - was one of the top trending topics on Twitter as fans retweeted "huphollandhup" to bring their team luck.
Back in Obdam, 52-year-old nurse Tinneke Vellird prayed for a little divine intervention.
"Spain is very difficult, they have a good midfield," she said. "I hope that God will help us to win the game."
Vybz Kartel - File
Vybz Kartel and the recent voicing of his love for 'Clarks' footwear has caught the attention of at least one newspaper in the United Kingdom.
An article published in The Sun yesterday thanked the artiste for making the brand overwhelmingly popular in Jamaica.
The author John Coles begins the article by saying, "One of Britain's most traditional shoe brands has become a massive hit in Jamaica - thanks to a reggae rapper."
He then continues, "Clarks shoes are now must-have items on the Caribbean island with prices soaring, shops selling out and thieves targeting them. Local music star Vybz Kartel released a single called Clarks earlier this year, with the cover carrying pictures of his favourite styles - Wallabees, Desert Boots and Desert Treks.
The author even uses a line from Vybz Kartel's Clarkes.
He writes, "the rap features the catchy chorus line: "Everybody haffi ask weh mi get mi Clarks," before going on to mention that the deejay has since released follow up singles titled Clarkes Again and Clarkes 3 (Wear Weh Yuh Have).
According to the article, Clarks is a 185-year-old family-run company from Street, Somerset in the UK and were on the verge of closing down their main factory in 1996 in the midst of the loss of some 400 jobs and a drop in sales. Sales would eventually increase thanks to the feet of trendy entertainers.
"... they enjoyed a huge boom the following year when Oasis superstars Liam and Noel Gallagher started a trend for their Desert Boots. Thousands of indie fans followed in their footsteps and stars including The Beastie Boys, Patsy Kensit, The Spice Girls, Paul Weller and Jarvis c**ker also sported the shoes," the article states.
The article also quotes Kartel as saying he has more than 50 pairs of Clarks.
Jamaican culture
"Clarks is as much a part of the Jamaican culture as ackee and saltfish and roast breadfruit, I swear to you. Policemen wear it, gangsters wear it. Big men wear it to their work. Schoolchildren wear it to school. I personally have more than 50 pairs of Clarks. I have more than there are states in America."
Michael Borge, marketing director for Clarks in North America, confirmed the company has seen increased demand in Jamaica in recent months, the article also states before adding that "the popularity of the brand is also rising in Britain as Kartel's song is regularly played on black music station BBC 1Xtra by DJ Robbo Ranx."
In the meantime, however, deejay Vybz Kartel, real name Adidja Palmer, remains in police custody here in Jamaica, as he turned himself in last week after he was among six persons listed by the St Catherine South police as a major person of interest.
Dancehall duo RDX -Winston Sill photos
Equiknoxx comes with a lively beat for their latest rhythm release called Jim Screechie. The follow-up to its Infantry rhythm, Jim Screechie, has both new and established artistes.
Released at the end of June, Jim Screechie has been getting strong airplay with its upbeat dance vibe. Equiknoxx's Gavin Blair told THE WEEKEND STAR, "Well, I started the rhythm like long time ago, probably two years ago and parked it. Then the other day around three months ago, Akane, a Japanese artiste, came to us to get tracks for her album. So I made her a track, then I liked her vibe, we had some chemistry and we bucked up on that rhythm and she voiced on it and then we called in Timberlee. After that we decided to make it into a juggling."
He added, "Everybody loves it, we have been getting some good feedback from Japan, Trinidad and England especially, we are also planning a medley video, which will feature all the artistes on the rhythm."
The title track for the rhythm Jim Screechie, which talks about cheating from Spice has been getting a lot of attention. In the song, Spice deejays in a whisper during the verses and switches to singing in the chorus, deejaying, "Me and you have cheating lock ... mi man nuh deh yah a stall him a stall." In Jackhammer, Aidonia rides the rhythm well discussing his sexual prowess as he deejays, "Di girl a jiggle up her body mek di c**k start crow." Beenie is also all about the girls for Beat Dem Badd.
Akane and Timberlee represent for the girls in Move forming a Japanese and Jamaican connection as Akane gives a somewhat convincing accent on the song as she says, "From Kingston straight to Japan, yuh know hot girls love style and fashion." For the Girls from RDX, the duo sings for the ladies while in Everybody Clap, T.O.K gives its take on recent issues in the music business. Also on the rhythm are newcomers JOE, Kemikal as well as Versatile.
In the works from Equiknoxx are singles from the likes of Aidonia, Spice, Naviono, J.O.E., Kemikal as well as Bunji Garlin and Fayan Lyons.
Timberlee
DETAINED danchehall act Vybz Kartel will have to spend another 30 days behind bars after the authorities extended his five-day detention order.
The entertainer was yesterday served papers informing of his further detention, his lawyer, Christian Tavares- Finson told the Observer this morning.
Tavares-Finson however said that the legal team would be seeking the entertainer's release at the Emergency Powers Review Tribunal set up in the wake of the calling on May 23 of a State of Public Emergency to combat criminals loyal to accused drug lord and former Tivoli Gardens strongman Christopher 'Dudus' Coke.
"We will be going to the tribunal to get him released," Tavares-Finson said.
Vybz Kartel's five-day detention order was scheduled to end today, his lawyer said.
Kartel was detained last week Friday and underwent intense questioning after turning himself to the Greater Portmore Police Station, some three days after the police named him and five other men as major persons of interest.
The artiste, whose given name is Adijah Palmer, was questioned in relation to criminal gangs in Portmore, St Catherine.
Due to the extension of his detention, the artiste will now miss several bookings, both local and overseas, including the annual summer show Reggae Sumfest in a few weeks time.
When Kartel turned in himself last week, his detention was extended from 24 hours to five days.
REGGAE MEET ROCK & ROLL
Beenie man is back , hot again. He have a song name "I'm Drinking" which is taken over the dancehall seen in the dancehall Reggae communities all over jamaica.
But this time he is taken a even bigger move , with dancehall music.
He have a new song name "SO TWISTED" it's not your regular dancehall song, it's a twist with a little DANCEHALL and ROCK & ROLL, mixed together to give the dancehall music an even bigger push while still keeping it's culture at the sametime.
As he said at the end of the track "JUST A LITTLE BIT OF ROCK" . Yes DOC! you're right!!! a little Rock&Dancehall <<<<.
It's already spreading in the Rock & Roll /POP & HIP HOP communities outside jamaica.
Songs that cross over normally do bigger international like : Sean Paul - Gimme the light, and Gypcian - Hold yu
It's one of that song as your hear it, you will pause for a minute,,,,,, because your ears will be stimulated by the unigue style and sound, then you will start going crazy dancing and enjoying the party.
It has been said that UNIVERSAL, plan to launch a music video for the "SO TWISTED" debut on MTV/VH1/BET sometime this year.
Just think which Jamaican artist have the carisma and energy plus international appeal to do THIS?
None other that the Doc him self!!!
It's has been said , they was thinking who could try this Sean Paul or Shaggy , but the label say, Beenie man is the only one could do a cross over and still keep his ratings tall, because Beenie man is use to taken chances.
It's also been said by good source , that Beenie man is been set for a VH1 Reality Show, this falll.
Beenie man is back bigger and better for the summer!!!!!!!
First he give you: "SIM SIMA" "GIRLS DEM SUGAR ft MYA" "FEEL IT BOY ft JANET JACKSON" & "I'M SERIOUS ft T.I"
Now he's giving you: "SO TWISTED ft Mystique GP"
The Right Brain vs Left Brain test ... do you see the dancer turning clockwise or anti-clockwise?
If clockwise, then you use more of the right side of the brain and vice versa.
Most of us would see the dancer turning anti-clockwise though you can try to focus and change the direction; see if you can do it.
LEFT BRAIN FUNCTIONS
uses logic
detail oriented
facts rule
words and language
present and past
math and science
can comprehend
knowing
acknowledges
order/pattern perception
knows object name
reality based
forms strategies
practical
safe
RIGHT BRAIN FUNCTIONS
uses feeling
"big picture" oriented
imagination rules
symbols and imagespresent and future
philosophy & religion
can "get it" (i.e. meaning)
believes
appreciates
spatial perception
knows object function
fantasy based
presents possibilities
impetuous
risk taking
Which side you use more
Parents of hearing-impaired children who opposed the use of Patois in sign language to teach deaf children have had second thoughts on what they saw as a controversial learning method.
Since 2000, the Jamaica Association for the Deaf (JAD), in partnership with the the Ministry of Education, agreed on a policy embracing Jamaica sign language (JSL) to teach deaf children.
The policy was developed in response to the challenges faced by teachers of deaf students who relied on the Ministry of Education's curriculum, which favours students with normal hearing.
For years, teachers of hearing-impaired children had the challenge of finding creative ways to educate their students, which resulted in them making modifications to the the ministry's curriculum to meet their students' needs.
During a recent conference on bilingual deaf education held by the Jamaica Association for the Deaf (JAD) at the University of the West Indies, Mona campus, several educators from schools for the deaf reviewed strategies dealing with differences between JSL and the English language.
JAD Executive Director Iris Soutar said JSL's use differed from regular sign language given its unique use of several facial expressions and body language employed to communicate information to deaf students.
She told The Gleaner a decision to adopt a bilingual approach in which JSL was used to teach deaf children came from recognising two languages - Jamaican sign and English - were used in the classroom.
Both languages needed
"Although deaf children would acquire naturally a sign language the same way hearing children learned to speak or acquire a spoken language, for them to become literate and function in our education system, they must also have fluency in English as a written language," she said.
Soutar said the reality facing deaf children was that JSL was the conversational language, while English was viewed as a written medium. The executive director noted, kids needed to be fluent in both if they were to be academically successful.
She said JSL, which was used to teaching deaf children English, had resulted in several students from these institutions successfully sitting the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate and Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations.
However, Soutar admitted that convincing both parents and teachers that JSL would benefit children attending the island's schools for the deaf was initially met with resistance.
"When we made the decision in 2000 to embrace a bilingual approach, we had to do a hard sell to our parents and our teachers. The first five years, between 2000 and 2005 were spent convincing them deaf children had to be bilingual," said Soutar.
Donna Harris, who teaches deaf preschool children, agrees with Soutar that while some parents still had mixed feelings about using JSL in the classroom, attitudes were slowly changing.
"Some parents are not very receptive to sign (language), as we still have this stigma about disability in Jamaica, and there are parents who'd rather not be part of it," said Harris, who herself is deaf.
Harris said this attitude usually changes after parents, on observing JSL's positive effects on their children's development, take a more active part in their tutelage.
"I do believe persons are becoming more receptive to deaf persons, not only in the schoolroom, but generally, as I see more attention being given to deaf persons, and to sign language," said Harris.
"I just hope persons respond a little faster in giving a lot more attention and help, as I'm becoming a little impatient."
DETAINED danchehall act Vybz Kartel should know if he will be freed for the weekend when his detention order expires tomorrow.
Kartel was detained last week Friday and underwent intense questioning after turning himself in to the Greater Portmore Police Station, some three days after the police named him and five other men as major persons of interest.
The artiste, whose given name is Adijah Palmer, was questioned in relation to criminal gangs in Portmore, St Catherine.
Chris Tavares-Finson, one of Kartel's lawyers, said he was hopeful the deejay would be released.
"His detention order is up tomorrow. We are hoping that they will release him," Tavares-Finson told the Observer moments ago.
If released, the artiste should be able to honour a booking he has to perform in Ocho Rios.
Kartel is also booked for a show in the Bahamas, Tavares-Finson said. The artiste is also slated to perform at Sumfest.
But Kartel's release is not guaranteed. Security Minister Dwight Nelson can extend the entertainer's detention on advice from the police under the current State of Public Emergency under which he was detained. The State of Emergency was called on May 23 as a result of the upheaval by gunmen loyal to accused drug lord Christopher 'Dudus' Coke.
When Kartel turned in himself last week, his detention was extended from 24 hours to five days.
"Let's wait and see," said Tavares-Finson.
The cure for bites from North American coral snakes is about to disappear. Find out why an unprofitable antivenom may end up costing lives.
As venomous snakes go, the coral snake is a clumsy biter. Unlike pit vipers such as rattlesnakes and cottonmouths, which have gruesomely efficient fangs that articulate forward during a strike and inject venom like hypodermic needles, the brightly colored coral snake has small, rear-facing fangs that guide venom into a wound. This process doesn't always work well experts estimate that 25 percent of coral snake envenomations are dry bites which is perhaps why the coral is so unaggressive. The snake is found throughout Florida, as well as in parts of Alabama, South Carolina, Louisiana, Texas and Arizona, but there are generally only about 100 or so bites each year.
What the coral lacks in belligerence, it makes up for in neurotoxicity. Unlike bites from pit vipers, which cause immense pain and swelling at the wound site, coral snake victims usually report little pain after being bitten. But the effects begin to show within hours, with symptoms such as tingling sensations in the extremities, dysarthria (slurred speech) and ptosis (droopy eyelids). Then a victim's lungs shut down. "The venom acts as a neuromuscular blockade to the lungs," University of Florida professor of medicine Craig Kitchens says. "Without antivenom, you need artificial respiration or you die."
Unfortunately, after Oct. 31 of this year, there may be no commercially available antivenom (antivenin) left. That's the expiration date on existing vials of Micrurus fulvius, the only antivenom approved by the Food and Drug Administration for coral snake bites. Produced by Wyeth, now owned by Pfizer, the antivenom was approved for sale in 1967, in a time of less stringent regulation.
Wyeth kept up production of coral snake antivenom for almost 40 years. But given the rarity of coral snake bites, it was hardly a profit center, and the company shut down the factory that made the antivenom in 2003. Wyeth worked with the FDA to produce a five-year supply of the medicine to provide a stopgap while other options were pursued. After that period, the FDA extended the expiration date on existing stock from 2008 to 2009, and then again from 2009 to 2010. But as of press time, no new manufacturer has stepped forward.
Antivenom shortages are a surprisingly common occurrence. The entire state of Arizona ran out of antivenom for scorpion stings after Marilyn *la*hm, an envenomation specialist at Arizona State University, retired in 1999. *la*hm had been single-handedly making all the scorpion antivenom for state hospitals. Recently, Merck & Co, the only FDA-licensed producer of black widow antivenom, has cut back distribution because of a production shortage of the drug. In a 2007 report, the World Health Organization listed worldwide envenomations as a "neglected public health issue."
New scorpion and black widow antivenoms are currently in the pipeline, thanks to efforts by several poison-control associations to speed foreign drugs into the market through FDA research programs. There is also a coral snake antivenom produced by Mexican drug manufacturer Instituto Bioclon that researchers believe could be even more effective and safe than the outgoing Wyeth product. But that drug, Coralmyn, is not currently licensed for sale by the FDA. The tests required for licensing would cost millions of dollars, and for such a rare treatment (there are 15 times as many scorpion stings per year as coral snake bites), it could take decades for Bioclon to make its money back.
If you thought the life of most musicians was comparable to the blissful and blinged-out existences of Kanye and Rihanna, you've clearly not heard much about our ever-desiccating music industry. According to the latest Nielsen research, only 2.1 percent of the albums released in 2009 sold even 5,000 copies -- that's just 2,050 records out of nearly 100,000, and to fewer people than go to a small liberal arts college.
As if that weren't bad enough, even the bands who do move units end up paying through the nose, mouth, eyes and ears for management, legal fees, producers and other expenses, leaving most of them scrounging to pay for record advances and, if they can afford it, health care.
From the outside, it often sounds fun to be in a band. But before picking up that guitar or microphone, take a look at where the money from a record goes.
SLRP: The suggested list retail price of a CD is currently $16.98, while the standard wholesale price -- what retail stores pay the label per CD -- is about $10. Once the retailer gets the CD, they can sell it for however much they'd like -- hence "suggested." Artist's royalties are a percentage of the retail price. Superstars can get 20 percent of the SLRP, but most get 12 percent to 14 percent.
Packaging charge: 25 percent of the SLRP goes back to the record company immediately for what's called a "packaging charge" -- that's the label literally charging the artist for the plastic case in which his or her CD is sold.
Free goods: In essence, "free goods" are a roundabout way for labels to discount records so stores will be more inclined to buy them. So rather than sell Best Buy 100,000 records at the regular wholesale price, the label will sell them 100,000 records for the price of 85,000. The artist is then paid for the 85,000 CDs, not the actual 100,000 sold to the retailer.
Reserves: Records, especially records by newer artists, are generally sold with the caveat that retailers can return to the label whatever copies they don't sell for a full refund. Thus to ensure they don't lose too much money on artists, record labels will sometimes pay artists for only 65,000 copies out of 100,000 copies, just in case 35,000 (25,000 if you consider the free ones) are returned. If the retailer ends up selling all their copies, the label will then pay the artist the balance owed, which can sometimes take years.
The excitement level among party patrons for Appleton Extatic Fridays is now at fever pitch, and the promoters are scheming for total party madness to take over this Friday (July 9).
This week's session, appropriately themed 'Rum in The City', will essentially set the stage for the ultimate climax at next month's ATI party series in Negril, Westmoreland. The excitement, the dances, the music and the drink mixes are all precursors to the party mayhem that will take place in the resort town from July 30 to August 2.
One key feature of this week's Extatic Fridays will be the Appleton Mug Madness that will run through the night, a most fitting warm-up for the madness set to take place at ATI.
The team charged with creating and maintaining the vibes with the turntables will be Coppershot Sound System and Renegade from Miami, Florida. There are special games each week for patrons to get involved in, and this Friday is no different. For some lucky partygoers, there will be ATI season band giveaways for those participating in certain activities. As always, ladies enter free before 12 a.m., and males pay $700.
Extatic Fridays is one of Kingston's most lively and well-supported party events. It draws patrons from all across the city to a cozy, aesthetically pleasant setting and delivers the very best in music, food, and overall entertainment.
THE United States Department of State this morning announced an impending increase of fees associated with applying immigrant visas and citizenship services.
The changes will be implemented worldwide next Tuesday.
These increases will affect immigrant visa and citizenship service applicants in all countries in the world, and are not specific to individuals seeking services in Jamaica.
All persons whose appointments fall on or after July 13th will be required to pay the revised fees.
Persons who have already paid fees based on the previous fee schedule will be required to pay the difference at the Consular Cashier at the embassy prior to their interview.
Individuals who are unable to pay the required fees or the difference will be rescheduled for an appointment at a later date or time.
In a release to the media the Department of State said the revision of the fees was made to reflect the actual cost of providing immigrant visa and citizenship services.
First time applicants for an adult US passport will pay US$135, while renewals will now cost US$110. Minors will be required to pay US$105 for first-time and renewals.
Addition of visa pages will now cost US$82 and consular reports of births abroad will be priced at US$100.
Passport cards will cost adults US$30 and minors US$15.
Notarials will cost US$50.
Documentation of renunciations are now priced at US$450.
Immigrant Visas for immediate relatives or family-preference will cost US$330 while employment-based visas will be sold for US$720
US embassies will now charge US$305 for special or diversity visas and US$74 for an immigrant visa security surcharge.
Domestic reviews of affidavits of support will cost US$88 and determinations of returning resident status is priced at US$380.
Gunmen from sections of west Kingston say they are regrouping in an effort to maintain peace and order in the area despite the absence of a don.
Through a release which was issued yesterday, the Police High Command claimed to have information that gunmen from the area were trying to continue along their violent ways, and even added that several threats have been made on the lives of police personnel.
Consequently, the high command is advising that the threat level against the police force remains high.
"Police intelligence is indicating that criminal elements from gangs which operated in western Kingston are regrouping in order to resume their criminal activities. This regrouping is being done primarily in Denham Town and comes against the background of continued and effective police operations being carried out in western Kingston, especially in the Coronation Market area," the release said.
security forces
Despite the frightening claims of the police, thugs from Denham Town confirmed that some amount of regrouping has begun in the community, but were quick to point out that they are merely working to maintain peace and order once the presence of the security forces diminishes.
Denham Town neighbours the former Christopher 'Dudus' Coke stronghold of Tivoli Gardens, and is almost synonymous with the community.
"Some a di man dem start forward in back fi real, but di man dem mostly stay inna fi dem acre cause di soldier dem still in a di place and drive through suh no man nuh want di attention," one known thug, Bulla Ranks, explained. "Wi naw deal wid violence still eno, a just fi continue protect our place cause when di police dem gone any card can play so wi naw lef our place open fi nobody attack wi."
Another thug, 3 Star, said despite Dudus' absence, they will do whatever it takes to ensure that 'law and order' remains in the community and that the 'system' remains in effect.
"A di system mek west Kingston and whole heap a place did a run smooth and wi want di place fi continue run wid law and order, not because di boss gone wi a go sit back and watch di system mash up ... Him might deh a jail now but wi know him nuh want dat suh if a even dat wi can do fi him wi ago try do it," he explained.
On Labour Day, the security forces launched a massive offensive on Tivoli Gardens and other sections of west Kingston after thugs barricaded themselves inside and transformed the area into a fortress.
Hundreds of gunmen, some of whom were from other parishes and who were even paid, gathered in west Kingston and vowed to defend Dudus, who is now in the United States awaiting trial on charges relating to gunrunning and drug trafficking.
incursion
The incursion reportedly led to the death of more than 70 persons including, three members of the security forces. Asked about reprisal attacks on the security forces, the once-defiant thugs seemed a bit on the timid side with their responses. "Right now wi nuh business bout police and soldier, a jus' our place wi a worry bout," Bulla Ranks said.
"Police and soldier do dem ting and wi still deh yah. Wi jus a give Jah thanks fi life still," 3 Star added.
The security forces also recovered more than 80 illegal guns and thousands of rounds of ammunition after taking control of Tivoli Gardens. It is, however, being speculated that a large number of weapons remain there.
When asked if and how guns would be used to maintain the law and order they desired within west Kingston, the thugs chose to not comment and said that would be like committing suicide.
judgement
In explaining, Bulla Ranks said, "Yu nuh see seh a judgement dung yah, if me fi stay talk bout gun in a west Kingston now might as well mi call a police and tell him weh fi find them."
Meanwhile, in ending, the release from the high command reminded "criminal elements and those who sympathise with them that the police remain undeterred in the fight to defeat organised crime".
Names changed.
'Some a di man dem start forward in back fi real, but di man dem mostly stay inna fi dem acre cause di soldier dem still in a di place and drive through suh no man nuh want di attention.'
AL-QAEDA, Yemen (AFP) Surrounded by mountains and weighed down by poverty, a Yemeni town bears the dubious honour of carrying the same name as Al-Qaeda.
The residents of Al-Qaeda, 220 kilometres (135 miles) northwest of the capital Sanaa, say the name has brought shame on the town.
Al-Qaeda (Arabic for 'the base') was once a commercial hub where custom duties on trade between north and south Yemen were collected decades ago, according to older residents.
"The name of the town of Al-Qaeda has nothing to do with the organisation headed by (Osama) bin Laden," Colonel Abdullah al-Shaddadi, the local security chief, told AFP.
But the inhabitants have been faced with "suspicion" because of the name ever since the rise of the jihadist group led by bin Laden, whose ancestral homeland is Yemen, Shaddadi said.
"There are many of them who are lucky enough to receive scholarships to study abroad, but they face trouble because Al-Qaeda is their hometown," the security chief said.
"One of Al-Qeada's inhabitants travelled to an Arab country for medical treatment, but airport authorities detained and interrogated him, and then sent him back after finding the name of Al-Qaeda in his passport," he said.
But the link has also brought a measure of fame to the town as "foreign journalists come to visit only for its name," he said.
In an attempt to clear the record, Shaddadi said the town "has many people who drink alcohol and consume drugs," both of which are strictly forbidden in Islam. "How could those be followers of bin Laden?"
He insisted Al-Qaeda was "absolutely free of jihadists and extremists."
The Arabian peninsula country as a whole has been the target of a string of attacks claimed by Al-Qaeda militants on foreign missions, tourist sites and oil installations.
The militants, believed to be regrouping in lawless parts of the country, especially eastern Yemen, have suffered setbacks amid US pressure on the government to crack down.
While extremism is not an issue in this town of 70,000 people, of whom 90 percent live below the poverty line, Al-Qaeda has become a safe haven for drug traffickers and alcohol dealers.
Those are taking advantage of the deteriorating economy and "recruit its people to merchandise drugs," another security official said.
"A number of drug, hashish and alcohol dealers have been detained throughout various Yemeni provinces, but most of them come from Al-Qaeda city," the official said on condition of anonymity.
Amid charges of complicity with criminal gangs, Shaddadi complained of how one of his men was slapped by a local official and forced to release a murder suspect.
Even though poverty stares them in the face, hospitality towards strangers is a must for the people of Al-Qaeda.
"Al-Qaeda is a beautiful place but there are those trying to tamper with its beauty and turn it into a base for criminal gangs," said resident Ahmed al-Sabri, 45.
"Twenty years ago, Al-Qaeda residents knew nothing about bandits and criminals who kill innocent people. But today, armed groups have been formed to rob and kill with impunity," he said.
Across Al-Qaeda, which has no paved roads and where cheap motorbikes are the most common means of transportation, all the talk is of chaos and government negligence.
"The state cannot do anything about the sewage that passes next to my home which has left me and my family with all sorts of illnesses. No a month passes without a family member being hospitalised," lamented an elderly man.
1. Eminem, Recovery, 313,000. The album logs its second week at #1. It also holds at #1 in the U.K. Nine songs from the album are listed on Hot Digital Songs, topped by "Love The Way You Lie" (featuring Rihanna), which holds at #1.
2. Drake, Thank Me Later, 105,000. The former #1 album logs its second week at #2. Four songs from the album are listed on Hot Digital Songs, topped by "Find Your Love," which dips from #9 to #11.
3. Various Artists, The Twilight Saga: Eclipse, 65,000. The album rebounds from #10 to #3 in its fourth week. Muse's "Neutron Star Collision" re-enters Hot Digital Songs at #140.
4. The-Dream, Love King, 58,000. This new entry is The-Dream's second album in a row to debut in the top five. Love Vs. Money debuted and peaked at #2 in March 2009. Two songs from the album are listed on Hot Digital Songs, topped by "Love King," which debuts at #97.
5. Various Artists, NOW 34, 45,000. The album holds at #5 in its third week. The compilation has sold 189,000 copies.
6. Justin Bieber, My World 2.0, 41,000. The former #1 album rebounds from #8 to #6 in its 15th week. Three songs from the album are listed on Hot Digital Songs, topped by "Somebody To Love," which vaults from #23 to #10.
7. 3OH!3, Streets Of Gold, 41,000.This new entry is 3OH!3's first top 10 album. Its 2008 debut album, Want, peaked at #44 (but has sold a healthy 457,000 copies). Three songs from the album are listed on Hot Digital Songs, topped by "My First Kiss" (featuring Ke$ha), which dips from #11 to #13.
8. Jack Johnson, To The Sea, 35,000. The former #1 album dips from #7 to #8 in its fifth week. "You And Your Heart" drops from #151 to #158.
9. Miley Cyrus, Can't Be Tamed, 33,000. The album slips from #3 to #9 in its second week. "Can't Be Tamed" drops from #12 to #21 on Hot Digital Songs.
10. Lady Antebellum, Need You Now, 30,000. The former #1 album rebounds from #12 to #10 in its 23rd week. This is the album's 22nd week in the top 10. Three songs from the album are listed on Hot Digital Songs, topped by "Need You Now," which dips from #35 to #36.
JAMAICAN police are planning to start a programme to train their own cadaver sniffing dogs to boost their investigating capabilities.
Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP), Les Green said police was looking to start the programme following the completion of an operation in Tivoli Gardens in search of bodies.
Police during their search were aided by a search team and sniffer dogs from the United States.
"The operation using the sniffer dogs was successful and we believe that starting a programme to train our own sniffer dogs would only help to boost the local authorities capability," Green told the Observer.
Green said the US search team that spent two weeks in Jamaica was called on to aid police following the discovery of a body buried in a shallow grave in the West Kingston community on June 9.
Detectives from the Major Investigation Task Force said the body, which was also found near a section of the community known as Rasta City, was in a kneeling position, with hands and feet bound and mouth gagged.
Police said the person appeared to have been shot.
Police has since carried out several other searches and have found a number of shallow graves and other items resembling bones but tests have returned negative findingsMany of the island's top young DJs are expected to turn out at the Heineken Green Synergy auditions this weekend, with the opportunity to play at premium parties awaiting the winner.
The highly-anticipated DJ competition has its first audition today at Club Beavers in Mandeville.
Auditions continue on Saturday, July 10, at Pier One in Montego Bay and Monday, July 12, at Quad in St Andrew. Auditions will run from noon. and 8 p.m. each day.
The competition takes a new format this year, a DJ reality-TV series, is the first of its kind.
Keri-Ann McKenzie, Heineken brand manager, said there are lots of surprises in store this year.
"With Heineken being the world's number one premium beer, we will introduce international music elements as part of our series this year, and I think viewers are really going to love what we have in store," said McKenzie. "I know fans will love the new format of the show and can expect to see even more competition from the DJs. That should generate excitement and entertainment," she said.
"We're looking for the ideal Heineken DJ who can represent the brand, a DJ who is skilful, creative and can play across all genres and cultures. Heineken is available right across the world and enjoyed by persons from varying backgrounds, so we are looking for a DJ who can play in the club in New York, at an international concert in Europe, while also being able to provide the best of our own reggae and dancehall music here in Jamaica."
Persons interested in auditioning can email: apply@heinekengreensynergy.com."
Heineken Green Synergy is in its seventh season. The reigning champ is DJ Jagga of Portland.
Second stop in Digicel's series of 'Feel Good Family Fun Day'
Residents of the Coleyville community in Manchester were on Saturday, July 4, treated to an exclusive family day out, as part of Digicel's series of Community Feel Good Family Day Outs. Residents came out in droves to share in the excitement and festivities, in what proved to be an eventful and exciting day.
According to Shelly Ann Curran, senior sponsorship manager at Digicel, "It was a very warm feeling to be able to further connect with our customers on a personal level." She added that "events like these simply reinforce Digicel's commitment to our customers and allow us to continue to share with them in their everyday lives; an event like this truly shows that we are indeed Jamaica's biggest family."
Curran continued: "Activities for the day included face-painting for the kids, domino tournaments and football among other games. What's also wonderful about these events is that we really get the community involved, so entertainment was provided by local community artistes along with D'Angel, and local dishes were prepared by community chefs from ingredients that we provided. It was a very successful and exciting day for everyone."
During their visit, Bryce Basic School, also in Coleyville was given a facelift, courtesy of the Digicel, with the school receiving a mural in honour of local Jamaican folklores such as Anancy and cultural icon Ms Lou.
Digicel Jamaica has embarked on a series of Community Feel Good Family Fun Day across the island, with the first stop being Darliston, Westmoreland earlier this month.
Residents of each community visited will be treated to family activities such as domino tournaments, six-a-side football and cricket competitions, face-painting and other games for the children.The weekly Tuesday night party returned this week at the relaunch of Blitz inside the Quad, New Kingston.
Having started two years ago, at the Office in New Kingston, before changing location to Cuddyz and later to the Plush nightclub, Blitz was absent from the party scene for three months when Plush closed its doors.
Blitz promoter Darren Virtue told THE WEEKEND STAR, "we just found a new venue at the Quad and so far its going good. Tuesday was the best Blitz in a good while even before the relaunch."
Music was provided by ZJ Ice, Xclusive, Wah Wah from Darkcide and Tony Matterhorn, with a number of artistes partying the night away.
"People have finally found back their Tuesday night balance of fun and vibes," Virtue addedAndrew Collins, head of Invyte Productions, the organisers of Miss Jamaica Universe 2010, has dismissed as "rubbish", claims that Yendi Phillipps, the newly crowned queen, was paid to enter the competition and promised the win.
Following last Saturday's coronation show, in which Phillipps was announced as the new Miss Jamaica Universe, the Internet has been buzzing with reports that the pageant was fixed and that the organisers had guaranteed Phillipps the crown.
One page on the popular networking site, Facebook, saw many of Phillipps' heated fans and detractors squaring off and trading insults over the topic. Many argued that the pageant was not fairly judged and that Phillipps should not have been allowed to enter, while others heaped congratulations on the new queen.
Surprise, surprise!
One picture posted on the site, showing Phillipps wearing her new crown, drew much attention, with one user posting: "Why am I not surprised." Another wrote: "Surprise, surprise! - in the most sarcastic voice known to man." Yet another user asked: "Why is she acting surprised? She dun know she would win already."
Another angry user debated that Phillipps should not have been allowed to enter the pageant. She said: "How the hell she did her best when she didn't need to try and win. She has experience where it was concerned whereas the others didn't. She should not have entered full stop!" This sentiment was also echoed by another user who said: "Yu a tell me seh none a de rest a contestant dem never measure up to choose someone else? Come on man! I saw the contest and I know there were other girls there who could be given a chance too."
Attempts to get a comment from Phillipps yesterday proved futile.
When contacted, Cox said he had not heard of this recent spate of rumours, but said Phillipps herself had told him from the start of the pageant that persons were saying it was fixed.
He said, "That is rubbish! We had a distinguished panel of judges and they made their decision based off her question and answer, her physique and the other criteria that we demanded of them. That is just rubbish." He said Phillipps, in the eye of the judges, was the best person to represent the pageant and he was supportive of their decision.
But while most were critical, there were some persons who offered encouraging words to the queen. One such person wrote: "Congratulations Yendi, yu tried hard an yu won again. Don't be upset about who is spreading propaganda, yu just do what u have to do an do your best. You are going to be a winner an always a winner. I wish you all the best an great luck."Popular local singer Aisha Davis is to return to court on August 26 to stand trial for unlawful wounding.
The date was set in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday.
When the matter was first mentioned, the complainant told the court she and Davis are co-tenants and share a kitchen. She informed the court that she was assaulted after she had a disagreement over the usage of kitchen utensils and the division of kitchen space.
partially unconscious
The complainant told the court that Davis often spoke to her in a condescending manner. She alleged that on the day in question, Davis attacked her and knocked her partially unconscious.
The complainant said she was dragged along the ground, pinned down and repeatedly punched in the face while on the ground.
She said she was rescued by her boyfriend who was elsewhere in the house, but came to her aid after hearing the uproar. She said when she regained full consciousness, her boyfriend told her he had to remove a knife from her attacker's grasp. The Grants Pen police are said to have been called to the location.
Davis was a member of the Ashe Performing Arts Ensemble, however, she is better known for her collaboration hit with Anthony B in 2003, Someone Loves You Honey. She also has a current single with Aidonia called My Heart is HersThe matter was withdrawn in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court after Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey informed the investigating officer that properly investigations were not done. D'Aguilar said she had purchased the cannon to add to her antique collection and did not know anything about it being stolen.
The court earlier heard that one of two missing cannons that were stolen from a heritage site in Runaway Bay, St Ann, was found at D'Aguilar's home in the Kingston 10 area. The other cannon was reportedly found in Constant Spring, St Andrew.
former medal winner
D'Aguilar, a folk singer, is known for songs such as Santa Ketch Up Inna Mango Tree. She was also a former festival gold and silver medal winner, but it was probably her work with the late Miss Lou in Jamaican theatre that propelled her to prominence.
RM Pusey told the accused the matter was dismissed saying, "You may or may not hear about this case again."Popular Morant Bay, St Thomas businessman Ludlow McQuinnie and two other men, a father and son, have been detained for breaches of the Firearms Act.
This following a series of operations in the parish in which four illegal firearms were seized.
Police said the series of events began shortly after 1 a.m. when the cops searched the home of 25-year-old Mark Tomlinson in Wilmington and found a 9mm Tech Nine sub-machine gun and a .38 revolver.
Investigations led the lawmen to the home of his 50-year-old father, Frank, where they found a 12-guage shotgun. While interrogating the older Tomlinson, investigators discovered that the firearm belonged to McQuinnie.
That discovery led the police to carry out an operation at McQuin-nies's home in Highbury, near Morant Bay. His personal 9mm Beretta pistol, nineteen 9mm rounds and a quantity of 12-gauge cartridges were seized.
Preliminary checks on that firearm revealed that McQuinnie had not renewed the licence for it.
Senior detectives at the Morant Bay police say Tomlinson and his son will be charged for illegal possession of firearm and ammunition.
The businessman also faces similar charges, plus the additional charge of aiding and abetting the offence of illegal possession of firearm.
This charge is as a result of his personal shotgun being found in the possession of the father.When Uroy Parry's father returned home in Wilberforce district, St Ann, he noticed a foul odour. He had no idea however, that the odour was coming from the decomposing body of his son, who had apparently been dead for at least two days, inside.
The grim discovery was not made until the following morning, when, concerned about the stench, Parry and a neighbour went in search of its origin. What they saw was shocking. The body of the 37-year-old man was discovered, slumped on his bed. Though it is suspected that he died from a heart attack, possibly caused by a pre-existing condition, an autopsy is to be carried out soon.
left early
One of Parry's cousins told THE STAR that the man's body was discovered two Thursdays ago, and he was alive up to the Monday of that week. He said: "He lives with his father and older brother, but his father was not there at the time." He said Parry would often leave early in the mornings for work and so when no one saw him for a few days, they simply thought he had left early and, perhaps returned home late at nights.
He said: "His father said when he came home the Wednesday, he smelled a stench, but him neva pay it much attention. So the Thursday now, him and a neighbour decide fi check it out." THE STAR was told that a neighbour had borrowed a movie from Parry, and when he tried to return it, he got no answer at the home.
When the neighbour and Parry's father walked around the house searching for the source of the odour, they realised it was extremely strong at Parry's window. THE STAR was told that when they knocked the window, flies came up. It was then that they realised that something was dreadfully wrong.
The cousin told THE STAR, "When they broke off the door, they saw him in his bed, like he was watching TV, and you could see like di phone jus drop outta him hand."
The police were contacted and the body was removed from the home. The Brown's Town police confirmed knowledge of the incident.
Parry's relative told THE STAR that the incident has been the talk of the neighbourhood, who are in awe of the fact that a dead body could go unnoticed for so long. He also said relatives who flew to Jamaica for the funeral have since gone back home, upon hearing that they will have to wait until the post-mortem is complete before burying him.For many Jamaicans, the World Cup is a highly anticipated event. Even though Jamaica has only managed to reach the world stage once, this has not stopped Jamaicans from aligning themselves to a team.
Although most persons have no actual ties to the team they support, this does not stop the flood of emotions that follow when their pick is eliminated. While others can deal with disappointment well, some choose to turn off their phones, avoid their friends and develop steely exteriors to respond to ridicule.
Craig, a young man in his 20s told THE STAR that both his teams, Brazil and Argentina, have been eliminated from the contest. He said: " I've been bringing dem since I was little, before me even know what World Cup was about. I was so pissed. Especially the Argentina match. How you fi get four-love and a play ball?"
Another man, Jonathan, told THE STAR that when Brazil was eliminated last week, he did not take any calls from his friends. He said: "When di match done and mi see dat wi really lose, mi stop ansa mi phone, 'cause mi know di man dem jus' a call fi laugh." He said in previous world cups, he went as far as shedding tears when his team was eliminated." It's just a thing when you love a sport, yu jus support dem full-hundred."
This emotional attachment to teams does not apply to just men, however, as Alicia, a 23-year-old woman, told THE STAR that she was on the verge of tears when she thought the Dutch team was going home." When I saw that Brazil took the lead, I almost couldn't watch", she said. The student said she supports the Netherlands because some see them as underdogs and she wants them to win for this reason. "Trust me, if they lose, I think I'll be depressed for a few days. It's that serious to me."
Jamaicans show emotion for football teams
'When di match done and mi see dat wi really lose, mi stop ansa mi phone, 'cause mi know di man dem jus' a call fi laugh'.Residents of Gordon Pen in St Catherine say they welcome the curfew in their community. However, they want to see the security forces recover some guns.
"It is very good they are here and even killed one gunman, but where are the guns? We need to see the guns," a male resident said.
His views were echoed by other residents who claim the presence of the security forces allow them to sleep well. "Why we are concern about the guns is because we have been living under the guns for so long, we are tired of it man," a woman told The WEEKEND Star.
The WEEKEND Star visited the community and observed a strong police-military presence. No vehicle that went into the area was allowed to go through without being searched.
Meanwhile, the Bureau Special Investigations is still probing Tuesday's police killing of Aaron Dixon, 23. Dixon, who was on the St Catherine police's most-wanted list for murder in Gordon Pen, was killed in Eltham Park.
The trial of 34-year-old May Pen businesswoman Althea Morgan-Carr continued yesterday with the main prosecution witness testifying that on two occasions she accompanied the accused to obeahmen in Manchester and St Elizabeth.
She said Morgan-Carr's reason for going to the obeahmen was to be freed of charges of possession and attempting to export cocaine.
The witness, a teacher, was testifying in the Home Circuit Court at the conspiracy to the murder trial of Morgan-Carr and her co-accused Stephen Smith and Calgette Gilbert, also from May Pen, Clarendon.
Prosecutors Jeremy Taylor and Annette Hanson are marshalling evidence before Supreme Court judge Carol Lawrence-Beswick and the seven-member jury that in January 2005 the three conspired to murder Inspector Lorraine Elleston.
The policewoman had charged Morgan-Carr in September 2004 after she was found with cocaine at the Norman Manley International Airport.
numerous attempts
The witness said Morgan-Carr made numerous attempts to bribe Elleston and to get someone at the court's office to destroy the file. When her attempts failed, she sought the help of obeahmen. She said Morgan-Carr asked her to get someone to kill the policewoman because she did not want to go to prison.
She said Morgan-Carr called her several times and asked her to accompany someone to the courthouse to point out the policewoman.
The witness said she reported the plot to the police because while she was in agreement with the "bribery" she was not in agreement with the murder. She, in February 2005 at Morgan-Carr's request, went with Smith to the Corporate Area Resi-dent Magistrate's Court to point out Elletson. She said she looked in the courtroom but did not see the policewoman.
The witness admitted under cross-examination by attorney-at-law Geroge Soutar, who represents Morgan-Carr, that she went to prison for false pretences committed in 1996. She said when she met Morgan-Carr in 2004 they were at the Central Village lock-up. She said she was arrested in 2003 in connection with a visa racket involving school trips.A man employed to the Jamaica Urban Transit Company (JUTC) as a driver and who pleaded guilty to stealing diesel oil from a bus he was assigned to drive, was sentenced to nine months' imprisonment at hard labour in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court on Wednesday.
Charged with simple larceny is Garth Miles.
The court heard that on May 21, about 5 a.m., Mills had just started working when he reportedly drove off route and went home. It is alleged that the accused was caught sucking the diesel oil from the bus and transferring it into a bath pan. It is alleged that he also had a five-gallon container on hand.
Miles told the court that he was guilty but asked for leniency. He told Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey that he was the sole provider for his two sons who live with him.
Before sentencing, RM Pusey told Miles the JUTC and other entities that use oil have been suffering greatly at the hands of thieves. She said this has been destroying the JUTC for years.A policeman charged with breaches of the Firearms Act was granted $300,000 bail in the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate's Court on Tuesday.
Constable Jerome Bryan, 22, from the St Andrew Central Division, is charged with possession of a restricted weapon, illegal possession of ammunition and possession of a chilum pipe.
In applying for bail attorney-at-law Roy Stewart told the court that his client was remorseful about his action and had fully cooperated with his colleagues. "Your honour he is very sorry for what happened. He told the investigators that he had the items in his house. He is a bright young man having graduated from Glenmuir High School with nine subjects. He is indeed sorry," Stewart told the court.
Resident Magistrate Marcia Dunbar-Green granted bail on condition that Bryan reports to the Bridgeport police twice weekly, surrender his travel documents and stay home between 7 p.m. and 6 a.m. daily.
The court heard that the accused was held in Westport, St Catherine, on June 20, with a magazine and a BB gun, a chilum pipe and several rounds of ammunition. He appears in the Gun Court on July 16.
Future Fambo - File
The 'Major Lazer' character moves from music to Cartoon Network, recruiting Jamaican deejays to voice the characters.
Grammy winning producers, Diplo and Switch, created a stir last year with their 'Major Lazor' character and their first dancehall album Guns Don't Kill People ... Lazers Do.
gun-toting commando
The character, which is used on the artwork of their Major Lazer series, is a fictional Jamaican cartoon gun-toting commando who fights zombies. The Major Lazer character will soon be the latest addition to 'Adult Swim' with its own series on the Cartoon Network.
Cartoon Network is the name given to television channels world-wide created by Turner Broadcasting which shows primarily animated programming. Cartoon Network is available across the globe in countries such as Australia, France, Germany, India, Pakistan, among others.
Diplo told THE STAR, "Cartoon Network approached us with the idea, we got a plot written and we should start airing in September. It's a live-action thing like the music videos we've done with him and they liked the attitude and the animation, the way it looked."
Thus far, the producers and the show have auditioned 40 actors to play the various roles including local deejays such as Leftside, Future Fambo, Bugle, Vegas, Mr Lex, among others.
Diplo added, "the show is gonna be very weird, kinda out there and really funny. A crazy world of 80s vampires and zombies via Jamaica. The show is mainly in English and patois, the accent might be heavy so we might have to use sub-titles."
When THE STAR spoke to Future Fambo, aka Future Troubles, he explained that he auditioned for the role of the main character - Major Lazer himself three weeks ago. "I was approached to do it, the Major Lazer character you know drinks hard, smoke hard, parties hard, he's like an outlaw and the character fit Future Fambo," he said.
The interview was conducted over the telephone and Fambo is confident about his chances. He said, "everything is looking great."
Fambo recently released a collaboration with Beenie Man called Drinking Rum on the 'One Day' rhythm and will soon be releasing Swaggaholic for Stephen McGregor. He is also looking forward to the release of his second album for Seanizzle.
Diplo and Switch have been doing more recording locally with acts such as Busy Signal, Vybz Kartel (who they did the popular Pon Di Floor with), Beenie Man, among others. Diplo says, "we want to build a fan base around the world. The way we marketed the Major Lazer thing was so that it could move beyond the album to every aspect."
A curfew has been imposed in sections of the Corporate Area as of 4:00 am today. The curfew will remain in effect until 4:00 am Sunday.
The boundaries of the curfew are as follows:
North along Bay Farm Road between Penwood Road and Waltham Park Road.
South along Spanish Town Road between Penwood Road and Hagley Park Road.
East along Waltham Park Road into Hagley Park Road between Bay Farm Road and Spanish Town Road and;
West along Penwood Road between Spanish Town Road and Bay Farm Road.
During the hours of the curfew persons within its boundaries are required to remain within their premises unless otherwise authorised in writing by a member of the security forces, who is in charge of enforcing the curfew.
A WOMAN who, along with her boyfriend, held up gas station staff in Harbour View, St Andrew, and robbed 400 phonecards and snacks two years ago, pleaded guilty to the crime Tuesday.
She is 22-year-old Tracy Ann Miller, also called Terry Ann Brown, of Rema, St Andrew.
Miller pleaded guilty to charges of illegal possession of firearm, shooting with intent and robbery with aggravation. She will be sentenced on July 23.
The facts of the case are that about 2:45 a.m. on February 7, 2008, Miller and her companion targeted the service station. After the robbery, she and her boyfriend escaped in a motor car.
The police, who were alerted, gave chase when they spotted the car, but came under gunfire from Miller. The chase ended in Rema, where the couple jumped out of the car and escaped.
Several hours later, Miller turned up at the Kingston Public Hospital suffering from a gunshot injury to her back. She was held by the police and, when questioned, gave a false name and address.
Miller's trial began on Monday in the Gun Court before Supreme Court judge Marjorie Cole-Smith. When the trial resumed Tuesday, she changed her plea.
Her accomplice is still at large.An 18-year-old woman, accused of giving birth and then stuffing the baby into a plastic bag and hiding it under her bed, was granted $100,000 bail with a surety in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday.
The accused, charged with infanticide, appeared before Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey.
Allegations are that on June 25, about 8:45 p.m., the teen, a student, gave birth to a baby boy but did not want anyone to know she had been pregnant. The child was placed in a plastic bag and hid under her bed. Sometime after 11 p.m. she fell ill and told her father to take her to the hospital because she was having a heavy period. At the University Hospital she was examined and it was confirmed that she had given birth.
It is alleged that when the doctor contacted family members, they said they did not know she was pregnant. The dead baby was found by a relative during a search.
The teen returns to court on July 28.